Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About The Cellar Restaurant

The area’s most acclaimed Fine Dining Classical Italian cuisine with an extensive wine list set in an historic building. CIA Graduate chef and his wife are hosts. 2013 OpenTable Top 100 in United States for "BEST SERVICE" and "MOST ROMANTIC"

220 Magnolia Ave.
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
US 1 (RIDGEWOOD AVE)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(386) 258-0011

Website:
http://www.thecellarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Public lot on East side of building and extensive street parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Sam Moggio

Private Party Facilities:
"Patio Room" seats up to 20. Located on the ground floor. Frequent choice for business meetings and pharma. presentaions.

Private Party Contact:
Lina Moggio: (386) 258-0011

Additional:
Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

The Cellar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (18)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (9)
Historic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I went here for our anniversary. It's a very cozy place with outstanding food and service. The only complaint we had was it was so loud it was difficult to have a conversation. Great place for a special occasion but a little expensive to go very often. We would go again for some other special dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

We have dined here on several occasions. We were looking forward to taking our son. He is from Charleston. The evening started out ok. Our appetizers came, he had the crab cake ... it was outstanding, our salads were just alright (nothing you couldn't do at home)
My gnocchi bologneese dish was tasty but the gnocchi were too tough or thick( did not eat all) My son ordered the fish that was featured that evening(small portion) it was oily and he couldn't even pierce any of the vegetables with his fork...he left most of his meal on the plate...Underwhelming!
The waitress never checked on us or asked how things were. When we said something about our son's dish we were told "that's how chef cooks the dish"this was per Lena,chef's wife who works front of house. Our son has cooked for a lot of famous people while in Charleston. So glad he didn't have the arrogant attitude that these people seem to have when a dish doesn't live up to a customers expectations

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Amazing, authentic Italian cuisine. It is perfect for a rainy or cold night. Amazing selection of wines. Food is so fresh and the ambiance is quiet and romantic.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Wonderful food, impeccable service, lovely restaurant! Highly recommend!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Our experience was as always when we dine at the Cellar, PERFECT! First time we have ever had Thea as a server. Thea was the very BEST we ever had. We look forward to our next visit in the very near future.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The Cellar never disappoints. The menu is varied and all the food is superbly prepared. In addition, the service is top notch. By far our favorite in Daytona Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Lovely evening with friends at this cozy restaurant. Food was amazing. Service was perfect. Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The Cellar is a wonderfully fine dining experience. The menu is filled with specialties that are hard to find anywhere else in central Florida. The ambiance is warm, cozy and romantic. I dined on the pheasant and rabbit sausage and it was an amazing dish. I highly recommend the Cellar . The staff and service was phenomenal. This is one of Florida's best kept secret.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was amazing. Best rack of lamb I have ever had. I took my wife for our aniversary while visiting drom D.C. and it did not disapoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Extremely clean restaurant with fabulous selection of food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Everything about the restaurant was just excellent! The ambience was fantastic the food was delicious and Joseph supplied excellent service to our table. It was an early Mother's Day dinner that turned out just excellent

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We don't understand all of the hype. On our trip to Daytona, this was number 4 on our 'what dinner we liked best' out of the five dinners we had in the Daytona area. Out of the 2 Italian restaurants we tried, this was number 2. We don't drink wine so we can't comment on the selection. The bread and oil was standard fare for Italian. The pasta we had was lacking flavor. We found the decor a bit old. Perhaps we went on an 'off' night so we say, give it a try.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

My meal was fantastic, my wifes, not so. She said it was bland, she is a food critic. Seemed pricey for pasta , not worth $. Ambiance was fantastic. Great find, but for only special occasions, not regular dining. Too pricey on just about everything. Servers seemed rushed as well, no real patience with customers, maybe because it was an 8:00 resv. And closing at 9:00 on sunday, it shouldnt matter, but it showed. Not good

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent food, atmosphere, and service by Joseph. Met the Chef and his wife- both own the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excell as always! Door is outstanding ad Lena overseeing restaurant is classy and customer focused. Merchant if Venues drinks are unique ad a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful food and service. All homemade pastas. Authentic Italian food. Great variety.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Private Room, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Clearly this is one of the best dinner experiences you will ever have. The food is always exceptional and fresh.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing experience! It was my husband and my first time to dine here. The experience was wonderful. We hope to go back the next time we visit Daytona! Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Visiting in the the area. Wonderful meal..excellent service...highly recommend

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was amazing. Very cozy and romantic atmosphere. Will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Never disappointed, always high quality experience!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Pricey, but not exceptional. I can cook better, I used to like to come for lunch, but the dinners were nothing special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 29, 2017

From beginning to end, the service was remarkable! Starting off with the appointment reservation was scheduled and having the table ready. Waiter told us of the specials and gave us a book of wine selection. Being attentive of our drinks the whole evening and making sure they were never empty. Food came out and both plates looked amazing. Wife had the lamb while I had the filet mignon. Both delicious! Chardonnay (glass) was perfect temperature and remained so the whole evening. Couldn't have asked for a better evening for this newly wed couple!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

By far the best restaurant in Daytona. We travel from New England every March and make this restaurant our first stop. This year we stopped several times. Food is fabulous....along with service. Can hardly wait to return next March.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Todo estuvo excelente!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Another great meal, just that simple!! The service and food are second to none. And don't even start on the wine list.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food and great atmosphere.
You will not find a better assortment of homemade desserts anywhere in the area.

Wonderful service!

We will be back at least once a month.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always a special place for dinner...service is great..food delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had a fantastic meal, and the staff was awesome, especially Richard, our waiter. Ask for him, you won't be sorry. Lina, the hostess and half owner also suggested (at our request) a great bottle of wine that would go well with our veal, and her suggestion was spot on perfect!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very nice food, excellent wine selection, great service, highly recommended

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Almost everything was superb, especially the service (Cesar and the hostess) and overall ambiance. The carpaccio was excellent and the ravioli also fine. My 'osso bucco' was actually a braised lamb shank, ample and very tasty but not what I had anticipated.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This restaurant never fails to please. The food is creative and absolutely delicious. The service is attentive but not hovering. Very nice wine list and it is a lovely setting.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our second visit and we are going to put it on our "todo list" at least once a month. EVERYTHING was A+.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One word captures our experience at The Cellar... Perfect! It was wonderful from the very first bite to the final sip of espresso. It is worth the money! Bon appetit

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Was here for vacation. First time eating at the Cellar. It was amazing. Food was delicious and services was beyond Great. Definitely will be coming back

Thanks!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Location is awesome but the food was just okay. We had the fish special and the salmon. Salmon was definitely better and for the price the food was not over the top.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Cellar is my favorite restaurant in the Daytona Beach area. The cuisine is creative and delicious. The chef offers the most wonderful and unique ingredients. The service is exceptional and attentive. Can't say enough about this great spot.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Perfect for a romantic dinner. Very quiet with excellent service from waiter. Highly recommended! Very accommodating.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We weren't very pleased with metrodie. She wasn't very hospitable and professional.
For restaurant like this you need to have a more professional one.
The food were great.
Thanks

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We really enjoy this restaurant. It is warm and friendly with great food and good service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.