About The Cellar Restaurant

The area’s most acclaimed Fine Dining Classical Italian cuisine with an extensive wine list set in an historic building. CIA Graduate chef and his wife are hosts. 2013 OpenTable Top 100 in United States for "BEST SERVICE" and "MOST ROMANTIC"

220 Magnolia Ave.
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
US 1 (RIDGEWOOD AVE)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(386) 258-0011

Website:
http://www.thecellarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Public lot on East side of building and extensive street parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Sam Moggio

Private Party Facilities:
"Patio Room" seats up to 20. Located on the ground floor. Frequent choice for business meetings and pharma. presentaions.

Private Party Contact:
Lina Moggio: (386) 258-0011

Additional:
Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

The Cellar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
See All
Romantic (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Cozy (9)
Historic (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (0)
Sort By:
S
513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Perfect for a romantic dinner. Very quie ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect for a romantic dinner. Very quiet with excellent service from waiter. Highly recommended! Very accommodating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We weren't very pleased with metrodie. S ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We weren't very pleased with metrodie. She wasn't very hospitable and professional.

For restaurant like this you need to have a more professional one.

The food were great.

Thanks

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoy this restaurant. It is ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We really enjoy this restaurant. It is warm and friendly with great food and good service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant was exceptional. My hus ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 31, 2017

This restaurant was exceptional. My husband and I were so impressed we made a reservation for Valentine's day. The restaurant is in a cellar but there is a very nice dining room where one does not have to traverse stairs which was good for my husband. Service was superb. The waiter was there when one wanted something and he disappeared when we were eating or talking. The wine we had (a Super Tuscan) was really very good. The wine list is very extensive so for wine lovers it is a dream. Can't imagine anyone not liking it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place in Daytona Beach for special ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Best place in Daytona Beach for special occasions. Never disappointed with food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, impeccable service and v ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent food, impeccable service and very warm atmosphere

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a classy restaurant with food yo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a classy restaurant with food you do not ordinarily find in nearby restaurants. I usually try something new and I am never disappointed. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this Restaurant. My wife ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time at this Restaurant. My wife and I were celebrating our 15 year Wedding Anniversary and looking for a cozy, local type of restaurant that offered more of a fine dining experience. This place was perfect and we were both very happy with the entire experience. The food was exceptional! The owner recognized from my reservation it was our anniversary. She came to our table and said Happy Anniversary and gave us a free dessert. We cannot wait to go back for another dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a big fan of the Cellar for years. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I was a big fan of the Cellar for years. It's seems something has changed. The staff is not as attentive and forgetful. They have reduced the quantity and quality of the portions.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Attentive service, great advice on wine ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Attentive service, great advice on wine selection, and meal was terrific!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was tasty and good. The ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food and service was tasty and good. The owner was nice, greeted us down stairs then seated us quickly. Our server was knowledgeable and great with his descriptions of each plate. We had a couple glasses of wine with 2-apps and 2-dinners. The food was favorable, tasty, done right. The portions were all a little on the smaller, light side. Our total bill was $111 for 2, then add tip. We felt the restaurant did a great job for the area, it's tough to find restaurant's/service in the Daytona beach area.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Took my wife and father-in-law, for my ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Took my wife and father-in-law, for my wifes birthday. ..the staff was very attentive and professional. ..it had a speak easy type of style to it...the food was excellent, along with their long wine list...will be back soon. ..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding! Best we've found i ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was outstanding! Best we've found in Daytona Beach.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

This is our go to soot in Daytona. It ne ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This is our go to soot in Daytona. It never disappoints. Great food served be great people.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Memorable service

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Memorable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience. Great food, s ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Always a great experience. Great food, service all in a beautiful historic building. Put it on your to do list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food well prepared and presented (S ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Good food well prepared and presented (SSue loved the rack of lamb cooked as ordered), good wine selection, great servers, cordial owner, can't wait to return. "Nuff said"!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine meal - Osso Bucco was a delight. W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Fine meal - Osso Bucco was a delight. Wife had a fine veal picante. She said it was the best EVER. Very nice meal. Fabulous wine list, too.

Will go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live in NYC and travel around the wor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We live in NYC and travel around the world and we are super picky about food and restaurants. It better be very good. The Cellar is a true GEM! Ambiance, service, waiter demeanor, menu, wine list, and finally the most delicious and creative food! MUST go and try for yourselves! You won't be sorry. I promise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my mother to The Cellar to celebr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I took my mother to The Cellar to celebrate her 69th birthday. Everything was great--the food, the setting and the wine. It was a relaxing and memorable evening for the four of us. I have lived in the Daytona Beach area for a number of years, and this was my first time to The Cellar. I will be back with friends, family and business associates. Bravo and Grazie!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went to The Cellar to celebrate my Bi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We went to The Cellar to celebrate my Birthday. I was excited because I had excellent food the previous 2 times. To start we had 3 Lobster Specials & Carpaccio di Manzo. All appetizers were excellent. 2nd course we had (1/2 portion) Pappardelle con Grancio e Pesto & Pappardelle con Salsiccia; both were very good but very small portions. Entrees' consisted of Duck Breast; he thought it was very good although he was very sick in night & early morning. My husband had the Salmon special & said it was excellent. My sister and I had the Ribeye steak special ($45). It was the worst piece of meat I have ever tasted. It was about 1 1/2" thick & when I cut in center it was like sawing wood. I asked for med rare & got well done, same as other guest. This piece of meat had absolutely no taste! I told the waiter our steaks were terrible, he said he would talk to manager. The manager never came to the table! Our waiter returned & said the steak would be comped. I did not find out until the next day that only one steak was comped.

Needless to say I will not return as well as our companions...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Treated a friend to birthday dinner and ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Treated a friend to birthday dinner and he loved it! We all had a starter - and everyone was happy. The avocado with shrimp and crab salad was terrific! The mushroom risotto was gobbled and everyone cleaned their plates. The affogato was delicious! We will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Italian food in a nice and cozy at ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great Italian food in a nice and cozy atmosphere. It does get a little noisy as mentioned by some of the other reviewers but it wasn't too bad on the night of our visit. I highly recommend the Cellar if you're looking to have a nice dinner out with great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent, good value for t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was excellent, good value for the quality. Our server was new and learning, but very attentive. Over all, a lovely experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was decent, service was great, but ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food was decent, service was great, but table about 20ft from us talking in normal voices was so annoying we had to move our table around the corner and we could still hear all of their conversation. Terrible acoustics!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The Cellar is by far, one of the best re ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Cellar is by far, one of the best restaurants I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. The food and service were second to none.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted a special night out, we definitely chose the right place. We loved our meal, our server was great and the night was just what we had wanted. Thank you for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine dining exemplified. From the moment ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fine dining exemplified. From the moment you enter the restaurant is top notch. Highly professional waitstaff, good wine list, great menu options. Food was as good as expected for the price, which is fairly high. All in all an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went in this restaurant for dinner, ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We went in this restaurant for dinner, after reviewing many restaurant in the area. We were enjoying our appetizers and drinks, immediately after placing our dinner orders at the same time. We waited almost 45 minutes and still no dinner orders. We were told, by our waitress, that the kitchen was backed up on customers orders. Nonetheless, the restaurant did the right thing and took care of the entrees. Next time in the area, we will give this restaurant another try as the food was delicious. This could be a one time fluke, I believe. Our waitress was fast and efficient. We felt so bad for her, as obviously it wasn't her fault (we believed). We gave her a nice tip for trying and also for being honest with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A very delightful evening with good frie ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 4, 2016

A very delightful evening with good friends and very good food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was very impressive but t ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The atmosphere was very impressive but the employees were more so. Very polite and professional. The food was exceptional. People had said it is pricey but if you can supply quality then it is worth it. I highly recommend.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing formal restaurant with unique en ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Amazing formal restaurant with unique entree's not found anywhere else in Daytona Beach. Yes, they even have pheasant and rabbit! Service is impeccable, and the food is expertly prepared. Not a tourist-trap hangout, The Cellar is where we locals go to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always celebrate our anniversary at T ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We always celebrate our anniversary at The Cellar. Never disappoints. Food, atmosphere, service always excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We don't get there often enough. It is a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We don't get there often enough. It is a special evening to go there. Always great. Service is

always excellent as are menu choices.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We drive in from Orlando to come to the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We drive in from Orlando to come to the Cellar... it is certainly worth the drive!! The BEST filet mignon ever!!! Everything was perfect... and ALL OF THE FOOD deliciously prepared!! The Cellar is the best food you will find in Daytona, hands down!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our 11 year wed ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 19, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 11 year wedding anniversary and decided to dine at a nice Italian restaurant near Daytona Beach. The service ,the food,the ambiance was all great. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone visiting the Daytona Beach area

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This our favorite restaurant for both da ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This our favorite restaurant for both date night and special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful presentation of dishes. Servi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful presentation of dishes. Service was without flaw. Because of the cosy atmosphere the noise level is high and impossible to have a private conversation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our anniversary and we were loo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was our anniversary and we were looking for something special.. We found it. The food was superior and Joseph our server was top notch. My appetizer was a lamb ravioli with a cream mushroom sauce, melt in your mouth. The main course was sea scallops on risotto, vegetable medley ( that included some golden beets) and a small portion of au gratin potatoes. All were delish. The ambiance was perfect, a nice quiet corner without the noise that you have of chain restaurants.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my wife there for her birthday on ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I took my wife there for her birthday on a Wednesday at 6 p.m. It's a bit pricey for what you get.

As we reached the bottom of the stairwell into the cellar, we both detected a bit of a musty odor. The tables were arranged too close together for my preference. My snapper was overcooked. My wife's salmon was cooked perfectly. The plates were "over-stacked" with too many different vegetables/flavors going on. Acoustics are not good, as loud people conversing can be annoying. Early on there was a woman halfway across the room who was complaining to her male companion about how she had been disrespected by someone. It's hard to have a normal conversation with the noise which get louder as the room begins to fill with people around 6:30. You can order a half portion of a pasta dish as an appetizer, so we ordered the Ravioli Marco Polo. We both thought it was too al dente and too doughy. The wine list was fairly extensive, but it had only a few choices of Italian wines with the DOC and DOCG certifications . . . disappointing for an Italian restaurant. The service was outstanding. Our water glasses were kept full, and the wine was appropriately poured for us. The kitchen was fast with all courses. We were pleasantly surprised when the server placed a lit candle on my wife's "lava cake," to celebrate her birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.