About The Cellar Restaurant

220 Magnolia Ave.
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
View Larger Map

The area’s most acclaimed Fine Dining Classical Italian cuisine with an extensive wine list set in an historic building. CIA Graduate chef and his wife are hosts. 2013 OpenTable Top 100 in United States for "BEST SERVICE" and "MOST ROMANTIC"

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
US 1 (RIDGEWOOD AVE)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(386) 258-0011

Website:
http://www.thecellarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Public lot on East side of building and extensive street parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Sam Moggio

Private Party Facilities:
"Patio Room" seats up to 20. Located on the ground floor. Frequent choice for business meetings and pharma. presentaions.

Private Party Contact:
Lina Moggio: 386-258-0011

Additional:
Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

The Cellar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Food
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Value
Orlando / Central Florida East
9 More
Notable Wine List
Orlando / Central Florida East
Romantic
Orlando / Central Florida East
Special Occasion
Orlando / Central Florida East
Italian
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Overall
Daytona Beach
Best Food
Daytona Beach
Best Service
Daytona Beach
Best Ambiance
Daytona Beach
Most Booked
Daytona Beach
Best Restaurants in Daytona Beach ›

Special Occasion (42)
Romantic (36)
Notable Wine List (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (7)
Historic (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I celebrated our 11 year wed ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our 11 year wedding anniversary and decided to dine at a nice Italian restaurant near Daytona Beach. The service ,the food,the ambiance was all great. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone visiting the Daytona Beach area

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This our favorite restaurant for both da ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This our favorite restaurant for both date night and special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful presentation of dishes. Servi ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful presentation of dishes. Service was without flaw. Because of the cosy atmosphere the noise level is high and impossible to have a private conversation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our anniversary and we were loo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was our anniversary and we were looking for something special.. We found it. The food was superior and Joseph our server was top notch. My appetizer was a lamb ravioli with a cream mushroom sauce, melt in your mouth. The main course was sea scallops on risotto, vegetable medley ( that included some golden beets) and a small portion of au gratin potatoes. All were delish. The ambiance was perfect, a nice quiet corner without the noise that you have of chain restaurants.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my wife there for her birthday on ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I took my wife there for her birthday on a Wednesday at 6 p.m. It's a bit pricey for what you get.

As we reached the bottom of the stairwell into the cellar, we both detected a bit of a musty odor. The tables were arranged too close together for my preference. My snapper was overcooked. My wife's salmon was cooked perfectly. The plates were "over-stacked" with too many different vegetables/flavors going on. Acoustics are not good, as loud people conversing can be annoying. Early on there was a woman halfway across the room who was complaining to her male companion about how she had been disrespected by someone. It's hard to have a normal conversation with the noise which get louder as the room begins to fill with people around 6:30. You can order a half portion of a pasta dish as an appetizer, so we ordered the Ravioli Marco Polo. We both thought it was too al dente and too doughy. The wine list was fairly extensive, but it had only a few choices of Italian wines with the DOC and DOCG certifications . . . disappointing for an Italian restaurant. The service was outstanding. Our water glasses were kept full, and the wine was appropriately poured for us. The kitchen was fast with all courses. We were pleasantly surprised when the server placed a lit candle on my wife's "lava cake," to celebrate her birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I was so pleased to find this amazingly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I was so pleased to find this amazingly quaint restaurant in Daytona! The food, service, ambience were impeccable. It's truly a rare find and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The couple that own this place have the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The couple that own this place have the restaurant in their home but what a great job they did with the layout and design. Aside from that it is a hidden gem in Daytona and if you love different variations of Italian food this is a definite place to stop

The foods were all prepared fresh the wine list extensive and the service was right there.

Will definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've dined at the Cellar many times over ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I've dined at the Cellar many times over the course of 2 years, driving 77 miles South to enjoy their rich gems and morsels. This occasion it was phenomenal!!! My guest and I shared the Gnocchi special appetizer and it provided flavors of Italy. For the entree, I had the OssoBucco and my guest had the Snapper special. Both were to die for!!

Joseph, our server was top notch, as he always is! The wine list contains some wonderful Italian wines that will satisfy any palate. I maintain a 500 bottle inventory of wines from Italy, France and California. I prefer to select from The Cellar's inventory since they do possess some top notch Wineries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best Italian food in Florida. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

By far the best Italian food in Florida. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat at our table for almost 2 hours and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Sat at our table for almost 2 hours and during that time frame we had food in front us for maybe 25 minutes, tops. It is Italian, feed me like it is Italian. And if you want a pre or post dinner drink, don't eat here. They don't exist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Another outstanding dinner at the Cellar ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Another outstanding dinner at the Cellar. It's our special occasion place and we are never disappointed. My duck and my husband's veal were perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. When Lina learned that it was my birthday she treated us to a lovely little dessert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 30th Ann ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 30th Anniversary at The Cellar and it was the perfect choice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best restaurant in Daytona are ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Still the best restaurant in Daytona area! Great food and good Napa and other wines. Our guests were very happy and I love the Espresso while others eat desert! I heartily recommend The Cellar!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just returned from wonderful evening at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Just returned from wonderful evening at the Cellar. We always celebrate special occasions here. Our server Jasmine was very professional and attentive.

Look forward to our next return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Cellar is one of my wife and my favo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The Cellar is one of my wife and my favorite restaurants in the Daytona Beach area, when we're looking for a very special dining-out evening. It's definitely not an "every day" type of place because the bill can climb quite quickly if you pick a nice bottle of wine from their extensive wine list, and some of the entrees aren't what you'd call inexpensive. That said, the food is truly excellent, and the ambiance of the dining rooms is one-of-a-kind for the area, and there's a lot of interesting history to the building itself. It's not impossible to get in for dinner without a reservation, but we'd highly recommend it. It's not a large restaurant, which is a major plus for us, and they always seem very busy. If you don't mind splurging a little for an exceptional meal, you won't leave disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. I was impressed with the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I found this restaurant by an Internet s ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I found this restaurant by an Internet search for a romantic restaurant to take my wife to for her birthday while we were on our Florida vacation. We were not disappointed !! The food was awesome, the service was excellent, and the ambiance of the restaurant was welcoming and outstanding. It was by far the best meal we had on the entire trip and provided us with lasting memories of my Wife's Birthday. Thank You again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Just delightful to be there. Never disap ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Just delightful to be there. Never disappoint, always consistently delicious. The best restaurant by far. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at the Cellar, it is ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great time at the Cellar, it is nice to find a spot with formal dinner setting. The reservation was a breeze. The service was excellent. The dinner menu had lot of options. The wine list deserves a special mention. The food was excellent, and appetizing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful restaurant with outstanding ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

A wonderful restaurant with outstanding food and a perfect amount of attention from the waiter. The wine list is extensive, the fresh hand made pasta was delectable and the desserts are special. Enhancing it all was the cozy atmosphere of being in a cellar!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town on vacation celebrating ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were in town on vacation celebrating our 10 year anniversary. The Cellar was the perfect place to go, romantic, excellent food, and extensive wine list. The elk was our favorite thing and was wonderful, tender, and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best food I have had in a long time.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Best food I have had in a long time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once a larger party came, my table becam ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Once a larger party came, my table became less of a priority to my waitress. They did explain that the food would take longer to be served (as it is made fresh), but there was a solid 30 to 40 minute wait between the appetizer and the entrée. My bill took a while to be brought as well and when I asked for a refill for an empty cup, it took 5 minutes (I timed it) to get me my drink. I had already been sitting for a few minutes with an empty cup before I got my waitresses attention.

Overall it was a great experience for the food part, but the service could be better.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our party of 3 had an amazing dinner her ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our party of 3 had an amazing dinner here. Perfect ambiance - and the best food in Daytona. Our server, Nicole, was magnificent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Come prepared to disconnect from your ce ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Come prepared to disconnect from your cellphones and enter the home of your hosts. The dining area is cozy and intimate; it's easy to pretend you're in the cellar of an Italian villa. The menu was appetizing, but we were surprised to not find any offerings of soup. Nonetheless, the salads and entrees were amazing. Beautiful presentation, not too little on your plate, and not too much. I enjoyed the snapper, and my husband the filet mignon. The bread was also remarkable, like mountain bread miraculously baked at sea level, served with authentic, green EVOO. Delicious. The wine list is amazing-- trust your server for recommendations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best Restaurants in Volusia C ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One of the best Restaurants in Volusia County ! We have never been disappointed. Have compared similar dishes at other highly recommended restaurants and the Cellar always wins.

Pasta, salads, fish, Veal....all wonderful ! Service is top notch, professional, friendly & attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and atmosphere were top notch. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food and atmosphere were top notch. Our server Nicole was great, she knew the menu and everything she suggested was spot on. This is a top spot to dine!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice for me and my wife for ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent choice for me and my wife for date night while on vacation

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the environment is ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was amazing, the environment is excellent. We will be going again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Best place in Central Florida, alway ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The Best place in Central Florida, always outstanding...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was very good. Th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service was very good. The ambiance is good, particularly since it is in a cellar. The tuna special was very good as were the veal dishes. The salads were very different and flavorful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A completely wonderful dining experience ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

A completely wonderful dining experience from the food, to the service, to the atmosphere -- everything was uniformly great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Nicole was amazing. Nicole wa ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our server Nicole was amazing. Nicole was attentive in a non obtrusive way to our conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only Florida restaurant where I rea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The only Florida restaurant where I really love to take friends and family . So exceptional.

One bite of their pasta and you realize what you have been settling for. It's shocking how good it is. Of course, all their dishes are carefully prepared and presented as if they we entertaining their friends and family.

Never disappoints, always special. Delightful .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent all around the meal was prepar ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

excellent all around

the meal was prepared and served well, and well above the usual preparation--

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Italian dining. Even a basic ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Outstanding Italian dining. Even a basic pasta was amazingly executed - I could have eaten it as an entree! Unique and charming atmosphere, well staffed - trust your servers wine suggestions! Was staying in Daytona for weekend away but will be driving up from home in Orlando just to eat here again soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance, menu items, superb and com ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The ambiance, menu items, superb and comprehensive wine list, and expertise of the kitchen will satisfy even the most discriminating individual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cellar always has the best food. Th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The Cellar always has the best food. The pasta is simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint downstairs venue with good menu. ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Quaint downstairs venue with good menu.

But the noise level on this Friday evening was too much for me. I carry a sound level meter on my smartphone (professional necessity). The routine din was 86 decibels. That is only one tick away from a heavy machine operator 3 feet from his/her equipment.

Not conducive to enjoy an expensive dinner.

In my mind there is a difference between energetic and frenetic. The two male waiters contribute to the noise by bellowing at each table.

There are physical things to improve the situation (softer fabric and ceiling, quiet music, etc).

But the best menu in the world isn't enjoyable when you have to shout to your date 3 feet away thru dinner. There are a few tables of 6. They had to shout to communicate.

One staff member said it was quieter during the week. The place deserves another try but on a Tuesday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Interesting place with good food

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Very small place with about a dozen tables. Luckily for us when we first arrived at 6:00 there was only a few tables occupied so it was quiet and cozy. By 7pm the place was full and it was quite noisy and we were sandwiched between two 'loud' ladies - my husband and I prefer a more quiet atmosphere for fine dining. My husband absolutely loved his dishes (half a portion of meat raviolis for his appetizer (not on the appetizer menu but they will do half of a pasta dish as your appetizer if you ask for it) and the snapper & jumbo shrimps (Duetto Verde e Nero) for his main dish - I loved my prosciutto and melons dish for my appetizer and the lamb (Osso Buco D'Agnelo con Risotto alle Verdure) was very tender but I would have prefer a nice tomato or beef sauce with it - I'm not a really big fan of risotto. My big disappointment was my chocolate mousse which had too much salt in it since I was looking for a bittersweet taste to end my meal and was a bit shocked to taste something salty at that finishing stage of my meal - it was nice of them not to charge me for it. They do make an awesome cappuccino. I also love the fact that I could order half a bottle of wine (really nice Etude Pinot Noir) since my husband doesn't. Our lady server was very nice and helpful and accepted my opinion of my dessert with grace as was the manager, which I was very grateful and showed that they really care.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.