About The Cellar Restaurant

220 Magnolia Ave.
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
View Larger Map

The area’s most acclaimed Fine Dining Classical Italian cuisine with an extensive wine list set in an historic building. CIA Graduate chef and his wife are hosts. 2013 OpenTable Top 100 in United States for "BEST SERVICE" and "MOST ROMANTIC"

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
US 1 (RIDGEWOOD AVE)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(386) 258-0011

Website:
http://www.thecellarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Public lot on East side of building and extensive street parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Sam Moggio

Private Party Facilities:
"Patio Room" seats up to 20. Located on the ground floor. Frequent choice for business meetings and pharma. presentaions.

Private Party Contact:
Lina Moggio: 386-258-0011

Additional:
Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

The Cellar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Food
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Service
Orlando / Central Florida East
9 More
Best Ambiance
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Value
Orlando / Central Florida East
Fit for Foodies
Orlando / Central Florida East
Notable Wine List
Orlando / Central Florida East
Romantic
Orlando / Central Florida East
Special Occasion
Orlando / Central Florida East
Italian
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Overall
Daytona Beach
Most Booked
Daytona Beach
Best Restaurants in Daytona Beach ›

Special Occasion (31)
Notable Wine List (27)
Romantic (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sat at our table for almost 2 hours and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Sat at our table for almost 2 hours and during that time frame we had food in front us for maybe 25 minutes, tops. It is Italian, feed me like it is Italian. And if you want a pre or post dinner drink, don't eat here. They don't exist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Another outstanding dinner at the Cellar ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 5 days ago

Another outstanding dinner at the Cellar. It's our special occasion place and we are never disappointed. My duck and my husband's veal were perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. When Lina learned that it was my birthday she treated us to a lovely little dessert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 30th Ann ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our 30th Anniversary at The Cellar and it was the perfect choice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best restaurant in Daytona are ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Still the best restaurant in Daytona area! Great food and good Napa and other wines. Our guests were very happy and I love the Espresso while others eat desert! I heartily recommend The Cellar!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just returned from wonderful evening at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Just returned from wonderful evening at the Cellar. We always celebrate special occasions here. Our server Jasmine was very professional and attentive.

Look forward to our next return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Cellar is one of my wife and my favo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The Cellar is one of my wife and my favorite restaurants in the Daytona Beach area, when we're looking for a very special dining-out evening. It's definitely not an "every day" type of place because the bill can climb quite quickly if you pick a nice bottle of wine from their extensive wine list, and some of the entrees aren't what you'd call inexpensive. That said, the food is truly excellent, and the ambiance of the dining rooms is one-of-a-kind for the area, and there's a lot of interesting history to the building itself. It's not impossible to get in for dinner without a reservation, but we'd highly recommend it. It's not a large restaurant, which is a major plus for us, and they always seem very busy. If you don't mind splurging a little for an exceptional meal, you won't leave disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. I was impressed with the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I found this restaurant by an Internet s ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I found this restaurant by an Internet search for a romantic restaurant to take my wife to for her birthday while we were on our Florida vacation. We were not disappointed !! The food was awesome, the service was excellent, and the ambiance of the restaurant was welcoming and outstanding. It was by far the best meal we had on the entire trip and provided us with lasting memories of my Wife's Birthday. Thank You again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Just delightful to be there. Never disap ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Just delightful to be there. Never disappoint, always consistently delicious. The best restaurant by far. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at the Cellar, it is ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great time at the Cellar, it is nice to find a spot with formal dinner setting. The reservation was a breeze. The service was excellent. The dinner menu had lot of options. The wine list deserves a special mention. The food was excellent, and appetizing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful restaurant with outstanding ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

A wonderful restaurant with outstanding food and a perfect amount of attention from the waiter. The wine list is extensive, the fresh hand made pasta was delectable and the desserts are special. Enhancing it all was the cozy atmosphere of being in a cellar!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town on vacation celebrating ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were in town on vacation celebrating our 10 year anniversary. The Cellar was the perfect place to go, romantic, excellent food, and extensive wine list. The elk was our favorite thing and was wonderful, tender, and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best food I have had in a long time.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Best food I have had in a long time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once a larger party came, my table becam ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Once a larger party came, my table became less of a priority to my waitress. They did explain that the food would take longer to be served (as it is made fresh), but there was a solid 30 to 40 minute wait between the appetizer and the entrée. My bill took a while to be brought as well and when I asked for a refill for an empty cup, it took 5 minutes (I timed it) to get me my drink. I had already been sitting for a few minutes with an empty cup before I got my waitresses attention.

Overall it was a great experience for the food part, but the service could be better.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our party of 3 had an amazing dinner her ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our party of 3 had an amazing dinner here. Perfect ambiance - and the best food in Daytona. Our server, Nicole, was magnificent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Come prepared to disconnect from your ce ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Come prepared to disconnect from your cellphones and enter the home of your hosts. The dining area is cozy and intimate; it's easy to pretend you're in the cellar of an Italian villa. The menu was appetizing, but we were surprised to not find any offerings of soup. Nonetheless, the salads and entrees were amazing. Beautiful presentation, not too little on your plate, and not too much. I enjoyed the snapper, and my husband the filet mignon. The bread was also remarkable, like mountain bread miraculously baked at sea level, served with authentic, green EVOO. Delicious. The wine list is amazing-- trust your server for recommendations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best Restaurants in Volusia C ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One of the best Restaurants in Volusia County ! We have never been disappointed. Have compared similar dishes at other highly recommended restaurants and the Cellar always wins.

Pasta, salads, fish, Veal....all wonderful ! Service is top notch, professional, friendly & attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and atmosphere were top notch. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food and atmosphere were top notch. Our server Nicole was great, she knew the menu and everything she suggested was spot on. This is a top spot to dine!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice for me and my wife for ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent choice for me and my wife for date night while on vacation

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the environment is ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was amazing, the environment is excellent. We will be going again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Best place in Central Florida, alway ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The Best place in Central Florida, always outstanding...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was very good. Th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service was very good. The ambiance is good, particularly since it is in a cellar. The tuna special was very good as were the veal dishes. The salads were very different and flavorful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A completely wonderful dining experience ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

A completely wonderful dining experience from the food, to the service, to the atmosphere -- everything was uniformly great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Nicole was amazing. Nicole wa ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our server Nicole was amazing. Nicole was attentive in a non obtrusive way to our conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only Florida restaurant where I rea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The only Florida restaurant where I really love to take friends and family . So exceptional.

One bite of their pasta and you realize what you have been settling for. It's shocking how good it is. Of course, all their dishes are carefully prepared and presented as if they we entertaining their friends and family.

Never disappoints, always special. Delightful .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent all around the meal was prepar ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

excellent all around

the meal was prepared and served well, and well above the usual preparation--

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Italian dining. Even a basic ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Outstanding Italian dining. Even a basic pasta was amazingly executed - I could have eaten it as an entree! Unique and charming atmosphere, well staffed - trust your servers wine suggestions! Was staying in Daytona for weekend away but will be driving up from home in Orlando just to eat here again soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance, menu items, superb and com ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The ambiance, menu items, superb and comprehensive wine list, and expertise of the kitchen will satisfy even the most discriminating individual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cellar always has the best food. Th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The Cellar always has the best food. The pasta is simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint downstairs venue with good menu. ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Quaint downstairs venue with good menu.

But the noise level on this Friday evening was too much for me. I carry a sound level meter on my smartphone (professional necessity). The routine din was 86 decibels. That is only one tick away from a heavy machine operator 3 feet from his/her equipment.

Not conducive to enjoy an expensive dinner.

In my mind there is a difference between energetic and frenetic. The two male waiters contribute to the noise by bellowing at each table.

There are physical things to improve the situation (softer fabric and ceiling, quiet music, etc).

But the best menu in the world isn't enjoyable when you have to shout to your date 3 feet away thru dinner. There are a few tables of 6. They had to shout to communicate.

One staff member said it was quieter during the week. The place deserves another try but on a Tuesday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Interesting place with good food

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Very small place with about a dozen tables. Luckily for us when we first arrived at 6:00 there was only a few tables occupied so it was quiet and cozy. By 7pm the place was full and it was quite noisy and we were sandwiched between two 'loud' ladies - my husband and I prefer a more quiet atmosphere for fine dining. My husband absolutely loved his dishes (half a portion of meat raviolis for his appetizer (not on the appetizer menu but they will do half of a pasta dish as your appetizer if you ask for it) and the snapper & jumbo shrimps (Duetto Verde e Nero) for his main dish - I loved my prosciutto and melons dish for my appetizer and the lamb (Osso Buco D'Agnelo con Risotto alle Verdure) was very tender but I would have prefer a nice tomato or beef sauce with it - I'm not a really big fan of risotto. My big disappointment was my chocolate mousse which had too much salt in it since I was looking for a bittersweet taste to end my meal and was a bit shocked to taste something salty at that finishing stage of my meal - it was nice of them not to charge me for it. They do make an awesome cappuccino. I also love the fact that I could order half a bottle of wine (really nice Etude Pinot Noir) since my husband doesn't. Our lady server was very nice and helpful and accepted my opinion of my dessert with grace as was the manager, which I was very grateful and showed that they really care.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Experience

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I had dinner at The Cellar Restaurant to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed! We made reservations about 2 weeks in advance and were seated immediately when we arrived. The food, service, WINE and atmosphere were all excellent! We definitely recommend this restaurant to others!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, European ambience, excellen ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great place, European ambience, excellent cuisine and unobtrusive service. I think the pasta dishes could be more reasonably priced so that more people would order these as a pre-cursor to the main dish as you would in Italy. Instead I think people order the pasta as a main dish (which is fine as it is excellent) and they miss out on the other main entree dishes. The main entree dishes are unique and also excellent. Overall it was a fine dining experience and I would highly recommend. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top noche Italian

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I find many Italian restaurants boring. Not so with The Cellar. The avocado and crab and shrimp appetizer was very nice as was the duck. Efficient service and a great wine list made this a memorable evening meal. I will head back here next chance I get.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was perfect. Homemade pasta s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything was perfect. Homemade pasta sets it apart from

Most places. Such attention to detail and spectacular wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, and atmosphere were outst ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food, service, and atmosphere were outstanding. A superb dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and service. Neve ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Consistently good food and service. Never had anything that wasn't pleasing to palate or the eye.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Restaurant for Special Occasion

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

...or when you just want to have a lovely evening out with great food, excellent service and beautiful ambiance. This restaurant was a wonderful find in Daytona. Wished I lived closer, if I did I would go as often as I could. Can't say enough good things about this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic find on our only night in Daytona Beach

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We were so happy to find the Cellar when we had only one night in Daytona Beach for dinner. All of the staff were gracious and welcoming even though we were the last table seated for the night. All of the food we tried was wonderful. They serve half orders of pasta which was perfect because we can't resist homemade pasta! Everything we tried was wonderful. The owner Lena was a lovely host and it was obvious that she pays attention to every detail. I will definitely go back next time I am in Daytona Beach!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.