Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About The Cellar - Fullerton CA

In 1969, artistic craftsmen of Disneyland fame created a romantic rendezvous in the cellar of the old California Hotel. The Cellar is the perfect setting for an intimate and romantic evening of fine dining. Patrons will find themselves enjoying fine French cuisine while comfortably seated in soft velvet-backed chairs upholstered in rich mellow leather and surrounded by a dimly lit interior. Intimate and cozy, the dining room is elegant amid structured arches and cave-like walls, decorated with wine casks and silver lanterns. Culinary excellence abounds with only the finest and freshest foods prepared in a lighter version of classical French cuisine, and finely crafted cocktails which set a benchmark for all of Southern California!

Join us for a full dining experience, or simply stop by for some of the best cocktails in Orange County and perhaps a small plate or two!

305 North Harbor Blvd
Fullerton, CA 92832
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Contemporary French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dining reservations from 5:30 to 9:30pm daily.
Bar and Lounge open from 5pm daily and open until at least midnight.
Happy hour in the Bar and Lounge from 5pm to 6pm daily.

Cross Street:
Wilshire Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 525-5682

Website:
http://www.cellardining.com/

Parking Details:
We have complimentary Valet service located adjacent to the Restaurant. There is also plenty of Free parking in the general area.

Private Party Contact:
Events@cellardining.com: (714) 525-5682

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Cellar - Fullerton CA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (47)
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Special Occasion (30)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Cozy (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Historic (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Authentic (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Fireplace (5)
Private Room (5)
Fun (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined 4 days ago

Cory and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary Dinner there in the Grotto Booth with our two best friends Roger and Taylor and it was nothing less then amazing as usual. We have been coming there for 25 years to celebrate...... which is half our lifetimes (smiles). Once again a ultra amazing experience. Our young waiter I believe his name is Andrew was so gracious and welcoming (blonde tall adorable) and our wine sommelier (she just as beautiful young blonde) as amazing as well. The two as a team made our evening a memorable and joyous event and I could not of think of celebrating 25 years of Life, Love and Laughter anywhere else in this world. Thank you.
Mark

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Been here couple of times for special occasions and never disappoint! Will definitely back for more:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Jeans & flip flops were common among many guests, plenty of staff but our plates sat empty for 30 mins until asked to be picked up. Octopus salad special was burnt and tough and not eaten but when advised to the waiter he only took off 50%. Service changed after we told the waiter we would not eat the octopus and we were ignored there after.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Love this place! Very unique and romantic ambiance. Great cocktails! Fantastic service!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 20, 2017

If you don't mind that it's a little on the spendy side, and you're looking to have a real special occasion ... then you'll love it. Has great ambiance, amazing food and classical drinks. The chateaubriand was to die for and don't forget to try the soufflé for desert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Delicious food, beautiful ambiance, and amazing service!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant was a bit crowded (well, it was Mother's Day), but the staff made all effort to get folks to their tables in a timely fashion. We had a slight issue and the management and the server were incredibly nice and accommodating. My ood was ok (salmon eggs benedict), lobster bisque was excellent! Mark was an incredible server and overall the day was lovely for our family. Thank you, The Cellar, for making the day so special.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent fine dining in downtown Fullerton. The Lobster Bisque is worth the trip by itself and the Chateau Briand was perfectly cooked and a great meal for 2. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Been here a few times but it had been a couple years. We arrived a 1/2 hour early hoping to enjoy a cocktail in the bar before dinner. But parking was horrible. Vallet was full and they turned us away. We circled around for a 1/2 hour only to find parking two blocks away making us late for our reservation. This put a damper on the whole evening. The ambiance is great, but we thought the food and service were just OK. Maybe it was an "off night." I'd go back for cocktails and appetizers in the bar and pass on dining there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sent my daughter and her friends here for dinner before Prom. They LOVED every last detail. Staff was SUPER nice to them and made them feel very special. My daughter even said that one of her favorite things about Prom was dinner. Thank you so much!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I've been to The Cellar a few times but it has been over a decade ago. I remember it to be pricy so not a destination unless expecting to impress. Other tables when we were sat had a nice selection of breads on their tables. Our bread showed up about 15 min after we had been sat and we were told it was because they were making more butter. The bread that did finally arrive at our table was akin to stale sliced Weber bread and the butter was unsalted whipped butter with absolutely no flavor. The menu looked great and we were excited to receive our entrees. An hour later we were starving for our entrees. I chock it up to an off night given my previous experiences and the wait staff kept checking on us anxiously. The other tables that had been sat before us were waiting with awkward frustration as well. When the food finally arrived we were very disappointed with the quality. My swordfish was pretty good but nothing to write home about. The sauce was fabulous but the fish itself was a little dry and lacked flavor. It could have been canned tuna. My girlfriend ordered the pork porterhouse and after a few bites was done. It was dry and chewy and forcing herself to eat the entire meal would probably have resulted in TMJ. They new something was wrong when she just had them take it away but we aren't trypically ones to complain, especially in an upscale environment. We left very disappointed and ended up eating frozen burritos after a $200 meal. Given my last experiences and a comment I overheard about a new cook I give them the benefit of the doubt and wouldn't have said anything except I was asked. Unfortunately my gf isn't as unforgiving as I am so probably won't be given the opportunity to give them another chance. It's unfortunate because I had a lot of fabulous meals there in the past. Not sure what else to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The Cellar has been and remains one of my favorite restaurants in Orange County. The service is superb, the drinks are divine and the food is phenomenal. Took my SO for a fancy date night and we absolutely loved every part of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Dinner was great
Food delicious
Service awesome
My only critique is the restaurant needs a good cleaning and dusting
The air vent next to my husband was caked with dust and lint yuck
Otherwise this place rocks!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had a fantastic meal of Chateaubriand served by a delightful and informative Andrew. We were seated at a remarkable small booth away from the main dining area which was perfect for our 30th anniversary dinner. The wines were amazingly well priced and a fine selection as well!

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We started our dinner with the shrimp cocktail. The texture of it was very strange. We asked our waiter to please send it back. Our waiter Mark was very kind and helpful. We didn't want to make a fuss over it. The manager came and apologized and explained that they had a new supplier and won't be using them again. Mark also treated us to a soufflé at the end of our meal. The rest of the dinner was great and the staff handled the situation really well. The salmon entree was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The Bearnaise Sauce for my fillet was very bland. No terragon flavor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

All that was ordered was excellent. Service was excellent. Hard to find if one comes from the front of the building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Overall very nice. Ladies restroom needed cleaning.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

A HIDDEN GEM! My wife and I had heard of it in passing and had seen it on its official website. Never had we dreamt of the amazing dining experience that was to come. Through a small and dimly lit path of downward leading stairs, we found a large closed door. Upon opening it we were visually entertained by its decor and a feeling as if we had been here before. The ceilings were low and made to look as if we were inside a cave with casks of wine embedded in its walls. Through our waiter we discovered it was designed by the same Disney Imagineer's responsible for the Pirate of the Caribbean. As avid fans of Disney we were pleased with this discovery. With great food, ambiance, service and a varied history... the rest of the dining experience must be discovered on your own.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This place is amazing. The service is wonderful. I definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Service was great and the food was wonderful. Great ambiance.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Simply superb in every way - service, food quality, ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fish was raw, ordered Vanilla Soufflé, got chocolate soufflé.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

A bit difficult if you have physical limitations. You have to call the restaurant from outside and hope they answer the phone and then they will come up and take you down in the freight elevator. Once downstairs though, it is a very nice experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Cellar is an institution. It doesn't have the most novel or revolutionary menu, and it doesn't change often -- but the food is amazing and the wine list is exceptional (if not particularly large).

It's one of my five favourite restaurants in the world.

Yes. The world.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Amazing Service
Amazing Food
Amazing Experience
Amazing Ambiance

Be sure to eat here if you are in the area, you won't be disappointed. Tip.... Ask for a Jedi Mind Trick Drink. A custom made drink made from your favorite spirit and flavors... Very big kudos to the bar tenders, they are top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fantastic recommendation from the sommelier for a wine, fit perfectly with our chosen entrees.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 29, 2017

My first visit to The Cellar to dine with friends did not disappoint... the atmosphere, food, and service were all outstanding. With an extensive wine and beer menu, and hand crafted cocktails we got off to a very pleasant start. Out server kindly gave us a brief history of the place, originally the underground kitchens of a hotel built in the second decade of the last century. It was a very slow midweek night, so our foursome had the cozy, low-ceilinged dining room almost to ourselves. The room was perhaps a bit contrived, but altogether elegant. Our appetizer of a grouping of five noble artisan cheeses was splendid, as was the first course of lobster bisque. The salads were fresh and crisp, the dressing light and not drenching the greens. The bread basket was only okay, but there was a variety and each type was fresh and warm. Our entrees were presented beautifully and each was delicious. We opted for a small chocolate souffle to share for dessert, with a caramel liquid glaze poured into and over it. Exquisite. It was an expensive dinner, the entrees particularly priced a bit on the high side, but not so much that they will keep me from returning on my next visit to southern California.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was our first visit to The Cellar. We had a wonderful experience.we will be back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service was exceptional! Food was very good! Atmosphere was fun!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Wednesday night with no corkage fee is a great idea. The duck was great. Slow and casual dinner was much appreciated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This place was dark in an old building the food was good but the service from the server was slow and not professional or great since we don't live close by we probably won't be back there The ladies bathroom had only one working stall

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our server Damien was absolutely amazing. The food was great. Wish the portion size was bigger only because it was so good. Definitely going back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Birthday dinner for Grandma. It was too dark to be comfortable and the pace of the meal was super slow. Probably better for drinks with friends or as a random date place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We had a leisurely, comfortable, well cared for evening for my husband's birthday. Very knowledgeable and attentive waiter. Outstanding food.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Lovely atmosphere. Food was good, especially the mocktail the bartender made special. After dessert, waitress went on to other tables & since restaurant is very dark, it was hard to get her attention to get my check.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 21, 2017

My Favorite restaurant by far. Food was excellent, drinks were great. My family and I really enjoyed it. And the service was impeccable, Highly recommend this place for all.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The service was great. Each server was very attentive and answered questions promptly. They were very informed about the menu and polite. I would recommend this place to anyone willing to spend a lot of money for a small dish. I do wish the portion size was bigger especially because of the high price. The ambiance is fantastic and warm.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Valentine's Day Weekend Celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love the atmosphere. I wish it were closer to home, haha.
It was our second trip and we'll be back .

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.