Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About The Cellar - Fullerton CA

In 1969, artistic craftsmen of Disneyland fame created a romantic rendezvous in the cellar of the old California Hotel. The Cellar is the perfect setting for an intimate and romantic evening of fine dining. Patrons will find themselves enjoying fine French cuisine while comfortably seated in soft velvet-backed chairs upholstered in rich mellow leather and surrounded by a dimly lit interior. Intimate and cozy, the dining room is elegant amid structured arches and cave-like walls, decorated with wine casks and silver lanterns. Culinary excellence abounds with only the finest and freshest foods prepared in a lighter version of classical French cuisine, and finely crafted cocktails which set a benchmark for all of Southern California!

305 North Harbor Blvd
Fullerton, CA 92832
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: Dinner from 5:30 - 9:30 PM, Small plates until 11PM, Cocktails until Midnight
Friday and Saturday: Dinner from 5:30 - 9:30 PM, Small plates until 12AM, Cocktails until at least 1 AM
Closed on Monday.

Cross Street:
Wilshire Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 525-5682

Website:
http://www.cellardining.com/

Parking Details:
We have complimentary Valet service located adjacent to the Restaurant. There is also plenty of Free parking in the general area.

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Wine room that is Perfect for a Private Party environment. It seats a Maximum of 14 people. We also offer our semi - private Chandelier Room, which can hold up to 25 people. Should you have a larger party, we can arrange a quite corner in our main dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Events@cellardining.com: (714) 525-5682

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Cellar - Fullerton CA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (40)
Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Cozy (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Historic (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Private Room (7)
Business Meals (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Fireplace (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great Beer (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Dancing (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Cellar is an institution. It doesn't have the most novel or revolutionary menu, and it doesn't change often -- but the food is amazing and the wine list is exceptional (if not particularly large).

It's one of my five favourite restaurants in the world.

Yes. The world.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Amazing Service
Amazing Food
Amazing Experience
Amazing Ambiance

Be sure to eat here if you are in the area, you won't be disappointed. Tip.... Ask for a Jedi Mind Trick Drink. A custom made drink made from your favorite spirit and flavors... Very big kudos to the bar tenders, they are top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fantastic recommendation from the sommelier for a wine, fit perfectly with our chosen entrees.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 29, 2017

My first visit to The Cellar to dine with friends did not disappoint... the atmosphere, food, and service were all outstanding. With an extensive wine and beer menu, and hand crafted cocktails we got off to a very pleasant start. Out server kindly gave us a brief history of the place, originally the underground kitchens of a hotel built in the second decade of the last century. It was a very slow midweek night, so our foursome had the cozy, low-ceilinged dining room almost to ourselves. The room was perhaps a bit contrived, but altogether elegant. Our appetizer of a grouping of five noble artisan cheeses was splendid, as was the first course of lobster bisque. The salads were fresh and crisp, the dressing light and not drenching the greens. The bread basket was only okay, but there was a variety and each type was fresh and warm. Our entrees were presented beautifully and each was delicious. We opted for a small chocolate souffle to share for dessert, with a caramel liquid glaze poured into and over it. Exquisite. It was an expensive dinner, the entrees particularly priced a bit on the high side, but not so much that they will keep me from returning on my next visit to southern California.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was our first visit to The Cellar. We had a wonderful experience.we will be back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service was exceptional! Food was very good! Atmosphere was fun!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Wednesday night with no corkage fee is a great idea. The duck was great. Slow and casual dinner was much appreciated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This place was dark in an old building the food was good but the service from the server was slow and not professional or great since we don't live close by we probably won't be back there The ladies bathroom had only one working stall

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our server Damien was absolutely amazing. The food was great. Wish the portion size was bigger only because it was so good. Definitely going back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Birthday dinner for Grandma. It was too dark to be comfortable and the pace of the meal was super slow. Probably better for drinks with friends or as a random date place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We had a leisurely, comfortable, well cared for evening for my husband's birthday. Very knowledgeable and attentive waiter. Outstanding food.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Lovely atmosphere. Food was good, especially the mocktail the bartender made special. After dessert, waitress went on to other tables & since restaurant is very dark, it was hard to get her attention to get my check.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 21, 2017

My Favorite restaurant by far. Food was excellent, drinks were great. My family and I really enjoyed it. And the service was impeccable, Highly recommend this place for all.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The service was great. Each server was very attentive and answered questions promptly. They were very informed about the menu and polite. I would recommend this place to anyone willing to spend a lot of money for a small dish. I do wish the portion size was bigger especially because of the high price. The ambiance is fantastic and warm.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Valentine's Day Weekend Celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love the atmosphere. I wish it were closer to home, haha.
It was our second trip and we'll be back .

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Top notch environment. Real great food that created a memorable experience. Very impressed with my first time at the cellar.

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went with my girlfriend for Valentine's Day dinner and it was divine. We got there 30 minutes before our dinner reservation so we drinks at the bar. The cocktail selection is outstanding, Dustin (spirits manager) and crew create their own specialty drinks and let me tell you, you can't go wrong with any choice! Dinner was a delicious prix-fixe menu which made it easy to sit back, enjoy our bottle of wine and just take in the moment...thank you Rob (sommelier) for sharing your thoughts and recommendations on Napa!

We are definitely going back to try the rest of the menu. Oh and a big shout out to Andrew Piña! Andrew was courteous, attentive and made the experience that much more memorable.

Thank you to everyone there for making it a beautiful night for us!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We hadn't been to The Cellar for a few years. Decided to try the Valentine's Day Pre Fixe menu. $99 per person. Food was good, but the portions were too small. Not a good value. We'll try The Cellar again for their regular menu. No more Pre Fixe for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I haven't been to the cellar in quite some time and was very disappointed in the 4 course tasting menu we were required to have on February 11th. The vegetable ravioli consisted of two small deep fried pasta pockets that had obviously been cooked quite some time before they were served to us as they were barely warm and were doughy and stale . Course two was an arugula and melon salad I could have made at home. My dish for course three was a duck confit that was very good - just not good enough to make up for the first two courses. I hope this was a one-off bad evening as the other nights we had dinner there were much better. Those nights are the only reason the Cellar is not getting a "no" in the recommend section of this review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day and it was overpriced for the food that came out. Still a fun experience and the location was great. Food and price just didn't pair well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Filet was okay. Duck same but very small portions on pre-select menu. Red velvet dessert like hostice cupcake w butter frosting. Waiter couldn't remember drink order. Loved it years ago!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's dinner with my fiancé, our server was helpful when selecting choices from the menu. It was our first time here and will come back. Food was amazing.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent romantic atmosphere mixed with a relaxed var vibe. Amazing meal and great staff who all seem to have a special passion for quality. Will go here as often as my wallet will permit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went for valentine's day expecting the regular menu, however it was prefixed for $99/person. Had the duck confit as the main course, which turned out to be dry and small, very disappointed. Definitely overpriced. Would recommend the regular menu, but avoid V-day in the future.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Hadn't been here in years. I had read reviews and didn't really know what to expect from the staff or the food. This restaurant was a favorite of my wife years ago. It was our anniversary and we choose The Cellar over The Summit, The Five Crowns and the City of San Francisco. It's a different atmosphere - as it is subterranean. I really think we enjoyed our time here over the other 2 restaurants. That is based on the atmosphere, service and food quality. Patrick (our waiter) was very attentive and friendly. We ordered a bottle of Australian Pinot. Very good. I'm trying to find the wine locally now. Our order was the Chateaubriand for 2. ($91) It was the tenderest cut of beef I've had in years. The slices were over an inch thick and you could cut the meat with a fork. The vegetables and potatoes were seasoned well and cooked perfectly. The manager came over; introduced himself and made sure everything was to our liking. There were several other couples, a business dinner party and a family gathering in our room - but we didn't feel crowded. We will be back again. I don't know if the negative reviews about service, prices and food quantity were "fake" or just "sour grapes", but my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Very cozy place to dine with good food and drinks and great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The server was not familiar with the specials, nor what accompanied the entrees. We were seated at 6:45, waited some time for appetizers and cocktails, and the entrees were not served until 9:00pm. The rib eye was ordered medium rare but served rare. The manager made apologies, but overall it was just a very disappointing experience with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

First time here. Simply awesome. Looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Cocktails were excellent. Lobster bisque was very good, escargot was mediocre, bone marrow was just okay. My wife enjoyed her mahi mahi, my seafood soup was way (way) overpriced at $37. Ambience is warm, but things are looking a little threadbare. I'm sure in its day it was quite the place, and could be again with some sprucing up. We'd return, but probably just for drinks at the bar. Dinner for two with a total of three cocktails was $230 with tip. Not overly expensive for a nice meal, but this meal didn't measure up.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Remarkably less than when I ate there before. Service is very good! Entree was fine, good filet mignon. Caeser salad, not classical style - added roasted corn and a bit too much red onion, overwhelmed the dressing! Crime brûlée was cold, not even the caramelized sugar was warm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Delicious food but poor, disorganized service. There is a somewhat limited pricey menu selection but go for the subterranean grotto atmosphere!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Was a cool spot. Food was just ok and price was high.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I found this restaurant completely by chance and it was so amazing. I'm glad I came to The Cellar. I loved every single thing about it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Cellar has yet to let me down. I love the food and I can't stress enough how much I love the ambience. I feel like I'm in my own world when I'm there and am always sad to step back out to reality when I leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My wife and I have been at The Cellar before and it was incredible. This time it was a bit on the flat side. The filet mignion kept coming out a little rare for medium and I noticed others were getting the same result. Also some items were 86. Honestly our server was great, but the back of house was lacking. I could have gone somewhere else for half the price and better flavor. The cellar let me down this time for $100 + bill. Desert, tea, soups were awesome, but the main meal was a little cold and too fleashy for medium. Even a couple two tables over experienced the same thing. U know the one where she had a full plate and his was empty but brought out in the same fashion as if his had something in it. My wife and I usually celebrate ❤day a month before. Because on ❤️Day service stinks at most places. I expected more from here. Did management change or new chef??
The ambience, meal choices, and drinks are still great.
Sincerely
Mark (Fullerton Resident)

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Awesome food and great service. Very romantic setting

Tags: Bar Seating, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This place is Very cozy and their service was great.
Great place for private group and good for date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This place was exactly what I was looking for, to have my anniversary dinner. Beyond what I expected it's soooo amazing..

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.