About The Cellar - Fullerton CA

305 North Harbor Blvd
Fullerton, CA 92832
View Larger Map

In 1969, artistic craftsmen of Disneyland fame created a romantic rendezvous in the cellar of the old California Hotel. The Cellar is the perfect setting for an intimate and romantic evening of fine dining. Patrons will find themselves enjoying fine French cuisine while comfortably seated in soft velvet-backed chairs upholstered in rich mellow leather and surrounded by a dimly lit interior. Intimate and cozy, the dining room is elegant amid structured arches and cave-like walls, decorated with wine casks and silver lanterns. Culinary excellence abounds with only the finest and freshest foods prepared in a lighter version of classical French cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: Dinner from 5:30 - 9:00 PM, Bar until Midnight
Friday and Saturday: Dinner from 5:30 - 10:00 PM, Bar until 1 AM
Closed on Monday.

Cross Street:
Wilshire Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 525-5682

Website:
http://www.cellardining.com/

Parking Details:
We have complimentary Valet service located adjacent to the Restaurant. There is also plenty of Free parking in the general area.

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Wine room that is Perfect for a Private Party environment. It seats a Maximum of 15 people. We also offer our semi - private Chandelier Room, which can hold up to 25 people. Should you have a larger party, we can arrange a quite corner in our main dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Jen Pizano: 7145255682x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chateaubriand
charcuterie
Charbono
French Onion Soup
Jumbo Grilled Shrimp
King Salmon
Seared Jumbo Diver Scallop
Truffle Grilled Cheese With Short Ribs
Short Rib Macaroni & Cheese
Pinot Noir
Truffled Mac N Cheese Over Braised Short Rib
Decaf Coffee
Chocolate Hazelnut Souffle
Pork Belly Slider
Baked Brie In Puff Pastry

The Cellar - Fullerton CA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Orange County
Notable Wine List
Orange County
Romantic
Orange County
5 More
Special Occasion
Orange County
Best Ambiance
North Orange County
Notable Wine List
North Orange County
Romantic
North Orange County
Special Occasion
North Orange County
Best Restaurants in Fullerton ›

special occasion (54)
romantic (51)
notable wine list (35)
See All
neighborhood gem (27)
fit for foodies (26)
late-night find (10)
good for groups (9)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrated a family evening together, an ...

Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated a family evening together, an annual treat. Nice to dress up and go out -- and give the kids a once-a-year chance to try the best escargot in OC. Besides our tables' two chateaubriands, we enjoyed scallops and Chef even prepared a truly exceptional meal for our one vegan at the table on very short notice. A wonderful experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal! Our server, I believe h ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful meal! Our server, I believe her name was Janice, was attentive and had a warm demeanor. We enjoyed an exquisite family dinner. All of the food was well-prepared, and the Lobster bisque and Baked Alaska were worth a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been guest of the Cellar for many ...

Dined 4 days ago

We've been guest of the Cellar for many years; always enjoy the food, service and valet parking.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My only frustration with our experience ...

Dined 4 days ago

My only frustration with our experience was the fact that with a reservation we were still seated near the entry/reception area of the restaurant. I just don't think we were able to enjoy the total ambiance as the traffic and phone ringing detracted from what could have been a 100% positive experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

Overall the food was good but the scall ...

Dined 4 days ago

Overall the food was good but the scallop entree was small ( 3 scallops) more like appetizer size as was the onion soup was a cup not a bowl. The restaurant smelled musty. It was our anniversary and we ordered the soufflé which again was small. After we had paid our check ( about $100 per) the chef remembered it was our anniversary and sent out a one person size creme brûlée. The cocktails were great as was the Chardonnay that the bartender recommended. I am glad we dined here but for the money there are better places.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and a wonderful atmosp ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and a wonderful atmosphere made this experience a memorable one. Went on a date and she was speechless as everything was romantic and just perfect. Food was outstanding and service impeccable. The beautiful decor and dimly lit restaurant just made the night magical. Would absolutely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

What we liked: The restaurant had a nic ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

What we liked: The restaurant had a nice old world atmosphere, great wine and some amazing dishes, like the cod. Filet was cooked perfectly. Individual souffles were great. Our waiter was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. What we did not like: We were seated in the walkway near the restaurant and told we could not move even though the restaurant was fairly empty the entire time we were there. That made our table noisier. Entree prices were at the top of the price range for restaurants in our area so I had extremely high expectations which were not 100% met. With that said, I would consider dining here again and would recommend the restaurant to others, with the note that they specify wanting a table that is not in the walkway when they make the reservation. Also, there is a dress code for the restaurant, but apparently not for the bar since people in the bar were wearing jeans and a t-shirt.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent location for a special occasio ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent location for a special occasion. Very attentive service. Questionable credentials for the sommelier though - he never tasted the wine. Food was delicious - especially the lobster bisque. Big problem trying to pay with a gift card. Had to leave my credit card and come back as we had theater tickets and it was taking forever for server and manager to figure out how to run the gift card. Did comp a couple of drinks for our trouble.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best experience I have had this year, ve ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Best experience I have had this year, very romantic setting with the lighting just perfect. Food was amazing, staff was attentive and genuine. I will be recommending this venue to all my friends and will be back regularly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

All the food was heavy on the salt, fren ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

All the food was heavy on the salt, french onion soup was the saltiest ever. Potatoes served with the meal were a bit over cooked. Service was good but not particularly fast. I do not feel the pricing reflects the value.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktail menu is not on the restaura ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The cocktail menu is not on the restaurant's website and should be. The unusual and vibrant cocktails are unforgettable.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Down at heel. The door, the banister, th ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Down at heel. The door, the banister, the cave-like interior need dusting, painting. It feels musty (doesn't smell that way) and out of date. My food was excellent, but my husband was unhappy with his food. The dessert choices seems odd to me: chocolate soufflé with key lime sauce?

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance

Dined on May 28, 2016

The Cellar is a place to go when you want to have a nice meal in a restaurant with an amazing and cozy atmosphere. The waiter was very friendly and attentive. If you want a nice romantic evening, then check this place out. Then go for a little walk in Fullerton at night where the trees are decorated with lights so it has a nice vibe to it. The food was good, the cocktails were great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience at the cellar is ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The overall experience at the cellar is outstanding. Everything I ate was amazing and unique. The lobster bisque soup was incredible. The drinks from the bar were also incredible, I sampled some of my friends' drinks and there I loved each one I tried.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is one of our all time favori ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This place is one of our all time favorites. Still waiting for a dish that's just good but not great. Everything they serve is just fantastic and the restaurant atmosphere alone makes it worth returning time and time again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I come often for drink but this was my f ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I come often for drink but this was my first time for dinner. The filet mignon was perfection. I will definitely be back to try more of the menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Perfect Wedding Anniversary Dinner!

Dined on May 12, 2016

We came to the Cellar for our 48th Wedding Anniversary celebration and had a wonderful evening. When we were first seated, we were near a larger group, which was having a good time but a little too loud for a quiet Anniversary dinner. The staff was VERY understanding, and moved us to the "Grotto", which was quieter, and perfect for our Anniversary. Monica, our server, was a joy to have, and was very attentive to whatever we asked - an excellent representative of the restaurant, she was very informative about all of the menu items, and we enjoyed her very much! The food was simply outstanding and delicious. Each course was prepared and served perfectly. The Lobster Bisque was probably the best we have ever had, and the Filet was cooked to perfection, and we could almost cut it with a fork. The soufflés were just amazing. Out entire experience at the Cellar made for a perfect Anniversary. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Faithful...

Dined on May 8, 2016

You can count on the Cellar for excellent food, drink, and atmosphere every time. This visit was for Mother's Day brunch. The service was perfect in s dry way. I highly recommend The Cellar in Fullerton!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant in Fullerton!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Definitely the neighborhood gem and the best restaurant in North Orange County. Superior service, excellent Sommelier, food is exquisite. This is definitely the restaurant to go to for a special and memorable evening. Mr. Dudley does it right!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Literally, a hidden gem

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We are local residents and dine at The Cellar on a semi frequent basis. It is an unusual location, below ground, which is why I say it is literally a hidden gem. There is ample seating, but it is not an overy large establishment, so Open Table reservations are strongly recommended for peak weekend hours. The bar is smaller than usual, but space is limited so a handful of side tables are available but fill up quickly on a busy evening. The Cellar is renowned for its true, eclectic hand crafted cocktails. Although they will make any of the usual suspects, they specialize is "speakeasy " specialty cocktails that are fun and unique. Tell the bar staff what flavors you like, what liquors you enjoy and they will make something unusually delicious. I asked them to tweak one of their signature cocktails to my liking and I was quickly in my groove. The kitchen specializes in Chateaubriand, their signature beef dish. Perfect serving for two. Be careful of serving temperature you order, why kitchens use their own interpretation of Medium Rare, Medium, etc is so beyond me. Their MR is RARE +. Sides and sauces are great, but we sent back the mushrooms cause they had enough garlic to wipe out all of Transylvania. Excellent mashed potatoes and Demi Glaze. No Chef's Special butcher cut this night so can't evaluate. Ample beef options, one pork (chop) (will try next time) a couple of fish offerings, I'm not a salmon fan, would love to see halibut and/or sea bass, no chicken dishes. I'm a pasta guru, but their offerings do not float my boat, perhaps replace one of them with a chicken and veggie pasta dish with white sauce or marinara for not beef eaters. But I don't come here for pasta. Great wine BTG or bottle, reasonable prices, great selection. A nice Late Night bar menu, I'm anxious to try their steak sandwich! The Cellar is a great alternative to the usual suspects and you will dig the bar. This establishment is family owned, husband and wife team, please support them.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely come back

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I took my mom and dad out for mothers day. I will come back. Mark was our waiter, he was and very knowledgeable.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Hard to Find - but worth it!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Amazing craft cocktails and an impeccable wine list. The server mentioned they were out of avocados for the salad. Hello this is California! Save room for dessert to share, delicious. Service was very attentive. Odd, no chicken item on the menu...

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The food was was very average, not extra special

Dined on May 7, 2016

Ambiance is very good. Service was very pleasant, but poor. Bread and butter was forgotten. Parmesan cheese had to be asked for. Etc. Service was extremely slow. I had to ask if we should send out for Chinese food. Very much not worth the money spent!!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Super!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food, ambiance, and service were perfect as always. The room was quite warm - still - actually. A bit of cool circulation would have been nice.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

You must try the escargot, bone marrow, ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

You must try the escargot, bone marrow, and the lobster bisque. Perfect space and ambience, very cozy. And the staff were very attentive.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was too salty

Dined on May 4, 2016

The dining environment was nice. Service was good. I'm not impressed with the food. Overall, everything is too salty and my taste is already on the high end of how salty I like my food. If I think it's salty, it's usually even worse for others. The restaurant was little hard to find. The signs could use some improvement. I don't think I will go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Had high hopes but was very disappointed.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The sixties called and want you to stop butchering their classics. Sandy escargot in a thin broken sauce with little bits of raw onion. Chateaubriand ordered medium rare, arrived raw in the center. Bread was cold and stiff on the edges. Service was unbearably slow and kind of creepy. Took more than twenty minutes to get a drink. The shrimp cocktail was excellent. The creme brulee was very good and the craft cocktails were the best thing all night. I wrote to the manager about a couple of weeks ago about my experience, and he hasn't bothered to reply. The cellar just fails on so many levels. If you really must go, only order the cold foods and fancy cocktails.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent French Restaurant

Dined on May 1, 2016

The Cellar was a wonderful, authentic environment. And the food is absolutely amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Fullerton

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food--filet mignon. Even better service. Quiet. Romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic, Romantic

Dined on April 7, 2016

The Cellar is just that. As you descend the stairs to this romantic experience, you're taken back in time. The dimly lit Cellar has phenomenal food and an amazing wine list. Robert, the house Sommelier, is like talking to an old friend as helps you select the perfect bottle of wine. Very memorable experience! Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Disappointing

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Service was very slow even though the restaurant was not very busy in a weeknight. Excellent cocktail list with edgy recipes of classics The rest of the experience is completely forgettable. I understand it takes time to cook good things but nothing in the plate was that special. Go there on a date for the 'cellar' ambiance but not for the food.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service2

Decent food selection. Excelent cocktail ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Decent food selection. Excelent cocktails and appetizers. Service not so good. Waiter was very polite but he mixed up the dishes among attendees half the time. And it took a very long time to bring everything out, even though the restaurant was half empty. We even had to ask for water twice.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Tiny portions of food

Dined on March 20, 2016

The Portions were tiny. We do fine dining every week and this place was a disappointment. My gf who weighs just 98 pounds even left hungry . After spending almost 200.00 We both left hungry and irritated and got pizza down the street. The best part of the night was the cigar bar across the street and the pizza after.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and fine service!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Delicious food and fine service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazed

Dined on March 17, 2016

The Cellar is fantastic. My fiancée and I went to the Cellar for our 1 year anniversary and it was absolutely the perfect place. We were accompanied by my best friend and his wife. The libations were phenomenal. I feel like any choice I made from their list would have been fantastic. Each of us had a different drink and loved each one. The food, though, was superb. I have never had a cut of beef that was so juicy, with so much flavor and so tender as that night. My fiancée had the filet mignon and was astounded. If that wasn't enough, the setting was perfect. I liked the dim lighting and I really appreciated the noise level. It was quiet enough to really have an intimate dinner with just the people I care most about. This place blew my already high expectations out of the water.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true gem in Fullerton

Dined on March 12, 2016

We were 30 minutes early, but that was not a problem even though they were very busy. Table was wonderful, service was top notch and the food was to die for. I'm hoping to become regulars, but since it is a bit of a truck to get there from Redondo Beach, we will have to make it our special occasion destination.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Losing its luster

Dined on March 6, 2016

I have gone to The Cellar about once a year for the last six years and I guess it is a victim of the times. It used to be fine dining with professional servers. However, on this most recent visit, I noticed the menu had been greatly reduced in choices and the quality was not as exceptional in the past. My salmon was cooked on one side and almost raw on the other, also served skin side up which I had never seen before. Not to mention it came with different sides than what the waiter explained. A small point, but these are details that would not happen in the past. Again, it is a sign of the times, but, to me, “fine dining” does not mean to show up in torn jeans and a hoodie. I would say about a third of the people in my dining area had on jeans (many with “fashion” tears). I still give it four stars as it is still a great place but it's been trending in the wrong direction.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service is very good. Speci ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food and service is very good. Specially the soups and there greatest hit cocktails are delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cellar is the tops

Dined on March 5, 2016

We were celebrating two birthdays and a retirement so this was a very special occasion. The chef and servers did not disappoint. From the cocktails to dessert (including comped creame brûlée for the celebrants) everything was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not what I remembered. Management not ready 4 biz

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Unfortunately slow service. Over 3 hr. meal just too much. Management did not seem to be respectful of business and seemed very understaffed. Did offer discounted bill which showed that they may acknowledge the problem.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.