About The Cellar - Fullerton CA

305 North Harbor Blvd
Fullerton, CA 92832
View Larger Map

In 1969, artistic craftsmen of Disneyland fame created a romantic rendezvous in the cellar of the old California Hotel. The Cellar is the perfect setting for an intimate and romantic evening of fine dining. Patrons will find themselves enjoying fine French cuisine while comfortably seated in soft velvet-backed chairs upholstered in rich mellow leather and surrounded by a dimly lit interior. Intimate and cozy, the dining room is elegant amid structured arches and cave-like walls, decorated with wine casks and silver lanterns. Culinary excellence abounds with only the finest and freshest foods prepared in a lighter version of classical French cuisine, and finely crafted cocktails which set a benchmark for all of Southern California!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: Dinner from 5:30 - 9:30 PM, Small plates until 11PM, Cocktails until Midnight
Friday and Saturday: Dinner from 5:30 - 9:30 PM, Small plates until 12AM, Cocktails until at least 1 AM
Closed on Monday.

Cross Street:
Wilshire Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 525-5682

Website:
http://www.cellardining.com/

Parking Details:
We have complimentary Valet service located adjacent to the Restaurant. There is also plenty of Free parking in the general area.

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Wine room that is Perfect for a Private Party environment. It seats a Maximum of 14 people. We also offer our semi - private Chandelier Room, which can hold up to 25 people. Should you have a larger party, we can arrange a quite corner in our main dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Events@cellardining.com: (714) 525-5682

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Each guest will enjoy our delicious Pre-Fixe menu at $99.95 per person, we will not have our regular menu available during these dates. The dining experience will be set at 1 hour and 50 minutes.
We thank you for joining us for Valentine’s Day and look forward to making your evening special!

The Cellar - Fullerton CA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (36)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Cozy (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Historic (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Private Room (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (3)
Fireplace (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was a cool spot. Food was just ok and pr ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Was a cool spot. Food was just ok and price was high.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I found this restaurant completely by ch ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

I found this restaurant completely by chance and it was so amazing. I'm glad I came to The Cellar. I loved every single thing about it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cellar has yet to let me down. I lov ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Cellar has yet to let me down. I love the food and I can't stress enough how much I love the ambience. I feel like I'm in my own world when I'm there and am always sad to step back out to reality when I leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and great service. Very ro ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Awesome food and great service. Very romantic setting

Tags: Bar Seating, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is Very cozy and their servi ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This place is Very cozy and their service was great.

Great place for private group and good for date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was exactly what I was lookin ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This place was exactly what I was looking for, to have my anniversary dinner. Beyond what I expected it's soooo amazing..

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Request private booths for a date! The o ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Request private booths for a date! The other dining rooms seem more business casual but the private booths in the back are really nice and set a very romantic ambience.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful classic cocktails, superb food ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Wonderful classic cocktails, superb food in a cellar speakeasy. The server started the evening with an introduction and stated the table was ours for the evening so take our time....and we did. I suggest this is not a place for a quick bite before a show but a destination in and of itself. It's pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We really love this restaurant and go he ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We really love this restaurant and go here for special occasions as it is expensive. Food is excellent . We were celebrating a birthday last night. They were very busy and the service was not as good as when we were there in May. We ordered coffee with the soufflé and it was lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our waitress was extremely slow. Our. Ce ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our waitress was extremely slow. Our. Cesear salad was so small we could hardly find it on our plate and not a Caesar salad at all. Filled with lettuce and lots of onions...period.

Expensive and very small portions. My husbands salmon was about 2".

The bread was ordinary sliced bread.

We were very disappointed and will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Don't bother with this has-been restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Don't bother with this has-been restaurant if you are looking to celebrate a special occasion with quality food. The restaurant has a unique and desirable concept, but the food is mediocre all around. This place is in dire need of a chef / menu overhaul if they hope to survive. They are simply milking the reputation of their one-time greatness and fooling unsuspecting diners with low quality ingredients and inattentive service.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

It was a lovely evening. Albert got us s ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was a lovely evening. Albert got us seated early and Mark was an excellent server. Although my filet was over cooked they replaced it and it was great. I think the only thing that really fell short was the dessert. I had a chocolate creme brule, and it had no flavor. I think for Christmas Eve the dessert should have been spectacular. Overall it was very nice and I'm sure I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A solid choice for a special dining expe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A solid choice for a special dining experience. Classic food fare that is dependable and well prepared.

Also, top notch service. I had reserved a table for our party without thinking about the fact that one of our party members is disabled and might have difficulty going down a long flight of stairs. In spite of my goof up, the staff took special attention and care to accommodate us. Kudos to the Cellar staff for their professionalism, friendliness and care. We had our meal on Christmas Eve and special occasion dining can be hectic for staff, yet, in spite of our special circumstances, the staff never made us feel unwelcome or that we were an inconvenience. Their excellence service continued throughout our meal.

As for the food, classic French fare with some modern touches. Though we only had a limited prix-fixe menu due to holiday dining, there were some excellent choices, offering something for everyone. For soup lovers, the lobster bisque is a must try. I've had lobster bisque in quite a few restaurants and theirs is one of the better ones.

Overall, we had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner at The Cellar.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Staff was amazing. Food was great. Will ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Staff was amazing. Food was great. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been dining at the Cellar for ov ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We have been dining at the Cellar for over 30 years and never disappointed by the excellent service and food. A special occasion restaurant for everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like the old time charm of this restau ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I like the old time charm of this restaurant the ambiance is good and the bar is excellent. It has been a couple of years since I have been here and the food as good as I remember. We had a large party (10) and the main entrees were a mixture of seafood and steaks and they were all very good. Overall the food including deserts were very good. The value taking everything into account was also good for a special occasion restaurant. The issues for me were around the service which was extremely slow and inefficient, amplified by the kitchen which was also very slow.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was excellent except my filet migno ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Food was excellent except my filet mignon was a bit cold but flavorful and tender. Service was challenging. When waiter was there very attentive and knowledge but he would disappear for long stretches of time. Twice we had to ask for water cups to be refilled as he was not attentive to that. My cocktail went empty and when he finally asked if I wanted another, the time has passed.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

This restaurant is beautiful and the foo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This restaurant is beautiful and the food amazing! It's definitely a place to take your significant other to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not at all French- there bouillabaisse w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Not at all French- there bouillabaisse was cold and checolate soufflé over cooked . Eve their bread was soft loaf bread -not at all French. Didn't like the good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

The food is wonderful and taste great. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food is wonderful and taste great. The ambiance is fun and light hearted.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Historic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service and informative on his ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent Service and informative on history of cellar. Sat in the John Wayne booth.

Will be back often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a amazing restaurant. The food wa ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 21, 2016

It was a amazing restaurant. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. Yeah it's pricy but worth it. The coolest part was that it was underground.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

the food was delicious .for me the only ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

the food was delicious .for me the only things i do not like is :tables are very close and is very noisy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Ha! How would you feel after you paid a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ha! How would you feel after you paid a $438.00 bill, left an $80 tip, sipping your coffee and the manager walked up tot he table and said "I hope you enjoyed your dinner, but we need your table now..."! Tasteless and so uncouth. Never have we been so embarrassed or humiliated. The rest of the experience doesn't even matter! Spend your money elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I would not recommend this restaurant to ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant to others. It is way overpriced! Needs to be renovated and updated. Wait staff was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Our party of 5 attended in celebration o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our party of 5 attended in celebration of a birthday. The staff was highly courteous and eager to please from the beginning as they had to switch us to a larger table while giving us a mini-tour of the restaurant. The cocktails are innovative and a unique experience - quite tasty. The wait staff was helpful with both food and wine selection (the menu is brief, the wine selection extensive). The courses were served with panache and were quite tasty. This small upscale restaurant is expensive, but well worth it!

There is no-charge valet parking available (excepting tip) that always has an open space available.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very disappointed by the place and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was very disappointed by the place and left with a lot of frustration.

I'll start with the positives. The food and cocktails are FANTASTIC. My wife and i absolutely loved them. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

But now my frustrations...

1) The service

The service was very friendly buy very unattentive. we felt forgotten and neglected all night.

We came for my wifes birthday. i told them ahead when i made the reservation. the hostessed asked to confirm it with me at my arrival, and then......nothing.

No one ever checked our water glasses once . Something that simple says a lot about the management here.

2) under cooked food.

This is a small quip, but the potatoes that came out with my dinner were undercooked and hard.

Normally i wouldn't be so bothered except this is not cheap experience. when you charge a premium then your customers deserve a premium experience. that's not what we got and that's why i left frustrated and won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

The Swordfish special was very good. My ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The Swordfish special was very good. My Pork Chop was delicious. We have a very nice Chardonnay. The service was very attentive and helpful. We will come again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Restaurant was a very cool cellar settin ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Restaurant was a very cool cellar setting that had old world charm - feeling almost castle-like. Service was excellent, food was delicious and the handmade cocktails were tasty, and interesting. Bathrooms needed a good cleaning and can be a turn off in a nice restaurant like this, but the rest of the atmosphere made up for it. We arrived at about 7pm on Thursday and were the only ones there, but it had filled up by the time we left so a later dinner spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster bisque is to die for

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Lobster bisque is to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This place is phenomenal, our food was i ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This place is phenomenal, our food was impeccable, drinks were fantastic, and the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Oh my God the food was to die for. Abso ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Oh my God the food was to die for. Absolutely wonderful..everything was fabulous. I think we ate everything on the menu, or at least tried to. The Lobster Bisque was delicious, and the Beet salad mouth watering and sweet. The sautéed mushrooms, the mac and cheese with truffles, the steak and the seafood linguini were the best. Loved the deserts, and all of the awesome different types of drinks..ask for Under the Apple Tree, that alone was an experience in its self. Thank you for making the night perfect for us, our waitress was the bomb.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to take someone sp ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is a great place to take someone special. The ambiance is wonderful. We had a leisurely dinner and never felt rushed. Our server was helpful and courteous. The food was very good but they did not have everything that was on the menu...they were out of the special and missing one of the ingredients on a main course. This was explained by our waiter and other suggestions were made. Overall it was a lovely evening and I would go back again for another enjoyable meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First time back to the cellar in about 2 ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

First time back to the cellar in about 20 years. Used to go there with my wife's parents. Missed having proper maitre D greet us. Server nice but didn't have enough others servers helping to give us proper attention. Decor looks and is old. Don't expect update but expect things to looks well dusted and painted, and good material on furniture. Food good but many things too old fashioned. Need to find way to modernize classic dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was A+, service was gold star, it's ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was A+, service was gold star, it's pricy but this is one of few places I can justify this kind of price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was good but everything was s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our server was good but everything was slow. Remote booth was nice but very warm. Also a wedding in an adjacent restaurant was noisy through the walls plus they had filled the valet to where we couldn't park there. Taste of the lobster bisque was excellent although temp could have been warmer. Sommelier was helpful. Food was okay but not up to expectation. We won't be going back.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

It is difficult to find but that is part ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It is difficult to find but that is part of the ambiance. All staff pleasant and attentive while still allowing a no rush private dining experience. The portions are great not like the usual small portion French restaurant items. The food was beyond excellent! The Chateaubriand was to die for and the lobster bisque the best I have had anywhere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner! A ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner! Amazing food, great wine list, and hand-crafted cocktails. They also have a bar and happy hour menu that looks fantastic. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the staff was friendly my wife ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Although the staff was friendly my wife and I both thought the service was a little slow for a fine dining restaurant, particularly since the restaurant wasn't busy. My wife's salmon was dry, not to mention the bread was also dry. All in all, we thought the restaurant was a bit pricey for the overall value of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Cellars had been change with ownership I ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Cellars had been change with ownership I believe but still pretty nice restaurant.

Server Laura S. was excellent service like jewel of the restaurant.

We will visit again when she is available.

Sure appreciated her service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.