About The Cellar - Fullerton CA

305 North Harbor Blvd
Fullerton, CA 92832
View Larger Map

In 1969, artistic craftsmen of Disneyland fame created a romantic rendezvous in the cellar of the old California Hotel. The Cellar is the perfect setting for an intimate and romantic evening of fine dining. Patrons will find themselves enjoying fine French cuisine while comfortably seated in soft velvet-backed chairs upholstered in rich mellow leather and surrounded by a dimly lit interior. Intimate and cozy, the dining room is elegant amid structured arches and cave-like walls, decorated with wine casks and silver lanterns. Culinary excellence abounds with only the finest and freshest foods prepared in a lighter version of classical French cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: Dinner from 5:30 - 9:00 PM, Bar until Midnight
Friday and Saturday: Dinner from 5:30 - 10:00 PM, Bar until 1 AM
Closed on Monday.

Cross Street:
Wilshire Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 525-5682

Website:
http://www.cellardining.com/

Parking Details:
We have complimentary Valet service located adjacent to the Restaurant. There is also plenty of Free parking in the general area.

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Wine room that is Perfect for a Private Party environment. It seats a Maximum of 15 people. We also offer our semi - private Chandelier Room, which can hold up to 25 people. Should you have a larger party, we can arrange a quite corner in our main dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Jen Pizano: 7145255682x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chateaubriand
charcuterie
Charbono
French Onion Soup
Jumbo Grilled Shrimp
King Salmon
Seared Jumbo Diver Scallop
Truffle Grilled Cheese With Short Ribs
Short Rib Macaroni & Cheese
Pinot Noir
Truffled Mac N Cheese Over Braised Short Rib
Decaf Coffee
Chocolate Hazelnut Souffle
Pork Belly Slider
Baked Brie In Puff Pastry

The Cellar - Fullerton CA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Orange County
Romantic
Orange County
Special Occasion
Orange County
3 More
Best Ambiance
North Orange County
Romantic
North Orange County
Special Occasion
North Orange County
Best Restaurants in Fullerton ›

romantic (51)
special occasion (50)
notable wine list (33)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
neighborhood gem (22)
late-night find (10)
good for groups (8)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (2)
hot spot (2)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was amazing. Food was good too.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was amazing. Food was good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We found this restaurant super cool for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We found this restaurant super cool for anyone who likes cool atmosphere, great service and good food. This "laid back, this is who we are" kind of restaurant that has been around through all the trends, kind of place is perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great. The filet mignon ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was great. The filet mignon was tender! The service was first class!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had the chateaubriand and it was EXCEL ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I had the chateaubriand and it was EXCELLENT!! Service was EXCELLENT! Dessert was EXCELLENT!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything about this place is perfect. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything about this place is perfect. Worlds best Shirley temples.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent sevice. We shared the 8 Oz fil ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent sevice. We shared the 8 Oz filet which was like butter. Pan seared salmon was top notch. Truffle Mac was also a winner. Great drinks. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sophisticated but relaxing atmosphere, g ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Sophisticated but relaxing atmosphere, great for special occasions and intimate socializing. Exceptional gourmet food, somewhat pricy but perfect for important occasions and decadent indulgence.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an outstanding meal at The Cellar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had an outstanding meal at The Cellar to celebrate a special occasion. The cocktails were delicious and our meal was excellent. Our server was charming and professional, but there were several minor errors made with our meal (like bringing us soup instead of salad and providing the wine list quite a long time after we had requested it), which caused me to give a 4 star rating for service rather than a 5-star rating. My impression was that the staff was experiencing a slightly "off" night and that the service would normally be at a 5-star level, though.

Altogether I'd recommend The Cellar to anyone who wants to celebrate a special occasion or to have a romantic date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Menu was limited but well executed. Sim ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Menu was limited but well executed. Simple steak house faire with bone marrow doesn't stand out anymore. The service however was very slow, which may be part of the experience, but not what we had in mind.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

The service was a bit slow and the atten ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service was a bit slow and the attention to detail somewhat unbecoming a restaurant of such iconic history. Whether this expectation is lost on the xgen cannot be said. Wait staff either needs training commensurate with the Cellar or Ryan needs to spend more time onsite, engaged.

By far the best bartenders and cocktails in all the area, Napa Rose not even a contender.

Food on par with establishments of equal offerings. Still a great choice for good food and drinks but service attention could take a que from Disney.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Celebrated a family evening together, an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Celebrated a family evening together, an annual treat. Nice to dress up and go out -- and give the kids a once-a-year chance to try the best escargot in OC. Besides our tables' two chateaubriands, we enjoyed scallops and Chef even prepared a truly exceptional meal for our one vegan at the table on very short notice. A wonderful experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful meal! Our server, I believe h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful meal! Our server, I believe her name was Janice, was attentive and had a warm demeanor. We enjoyed an exquisite family dinner. All of the food was well-prepared, and the Lobster bisque and Baked Alaska were worth a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been guest of the Cellar for many ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've been guest of the Cellar for many years; always enjoy the food, service and valet parking.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My only frustration with our experience ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My only frustration with our experience was the fact that with a reservation we were still seated near the entry/reception area of the restaurant. I just don't think we were able to enjoy the total ambiance as the traffic and phone ringing detracted from what could have been a 100% positive experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall the food was good but the scall ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall the food was good but the scallop entree was small ( 3 scallops) more like appetizer size as was the onion soup was a cup not a bowl. The restaurant smelled musty. It was our anniversary and we ordered the soufflé which again was small. After we had paid our check ( about $100 per) the chef remembered it was our anniversary and sent out a one person size creme brûlée. The cocktails were great as was the Chardonnay that the bartender recommended. I am glad we dined here but for the money there are better places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Excellent service and a wonderful atmosp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent service and a wonderful atmosphere made this experience a memorable one. Went on a date and she was speechless as everything was romantic and just perfect. Food was outstanding and service impeccable. The beautiful decor and dimly lit restaurant just made the night magical. Would absolutely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What we liked: The restaurant had a nic ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

What we liked: The restaurant had a nice old world atmosphere, great wine and some amazing dishes, like the cod. Filet was cooked perfectly. Individual souffles were great. Our waiter was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. What we did not like: We were seated in the walkway near the restaurant and told we could not move even though the restaurant was fairly empty the entire time we were there. That made our table noisier. Entree prices were at the top of the price range for restaurants in our area so I had extremely high expectations which were not 100% met. With that said, I would consider dining here again and would recommend the restaurant to others, with the note that they specify wanting a table that is not in the walkway when they make the reservation. Also, there is a dress code for the restaurant, but apparently not for the bar since people in the bar were wearing jeans and a t-shirt.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent location for a special occasio ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent location for a special occasion. Very attentive service. Questionable credentials for the sommelier though - he never tasted the wine. Food was delicious - especially the lobster bisque.

Big problem trying to pay with a gift card. Had to leave my credit card and come back as we had theater tickets and it was taking forever for server and manager to figure out how to run the gift card. Did comp a couple of drinks for our trouble.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Best experience I have had this year, ve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Best experience I have had this year, very romantic setting with the lighting just perfect. Food was amazing, staff was attentive and genuine. I will be recommending this venue to all my friends and will be back regularly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the food was heavy on the salt, fren ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

All the food was heavy on the salt, french onion soup was the saltiest ever. Potatoes served with the meal were a bit over cooked. Service was good but not particularly fast. I do not feel the pricing reflects the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The cocktail menu is not on the restaura ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The cocktail menu is not on the restaurant's website and should be. The unusual and vibrant cocktails are unforgettable.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Down at heel. The door, the banister, th ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Down at heel. The door, the banister, the cave-like interior need dusting, painting. It feels musty (doesn't smell that way) and out of date. My food was excellent, but my husband was unhappy with his food. The dessert choices seems odd to me: chocolate soufflé with key lime sauce?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Great ambiance

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The Cellar is a place to go when you want to have a nice meal in a restaurant with an amazing and cozy atmosphere. The waiter was very friendly and attentive. If you want a nice romantic evening, then check this place out. Then go for a little walk in Fullerton at night where the trees are decorated with lights so it has a nice vibe to it. The food was good, the cocktails were great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The overall experience at the cellar is ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The overall experience at the cellar is outstanding. Everything I ate was amazing and unique. The lobster bisque soup was incredible. The drinks from the bar were also incredible, I sampled some of my friends' drinks and there I loved each one I tried.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is one of our all time favori ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

This place is one of our all time favorites. Still waiting for a dish that's just good but not great. Everything they serve is just fantastic and the restaurant atmosphere alone makes it worth returning time and time again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come often for drink but this was my f ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I come often for drink but this was my first time for dinner. The filet mignon was perfection. I will definitely be back to try more of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Perfect Wedding Anniversary Dinner!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We came to the Cellar for our 48th Wedding Anniversary celebration and had a wonderful evening. When we were first seated, we were near a larger group, which was having a good time but a little too loud for a quiet Anniversary dinner. The staff was VERY understanding, and moved us to the "Grotto", which was quieter, and perfect for our Anniversary. Monica, our server, was a joy to have, and was very attentive to whatever we asked - an excellent representative of the restaurant, she was very informative about all of the menu items, and we enjoyed her very much! The food was simply outstanding and delicious. Each course was prepared and served perfectly. The Lobster Bisque was probably the best we have ever had, and the Filet was cooked to perfection, and we could almost cut it with a fork. The soufflés were just amazing. Out entire experience at the Cellar made for a perfect Anniversary. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Old Faithful...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

You can count on the Cellar for excellent food, drink, and atmosphere every time. This visit was for Mother's Day brunch. The service was perfect in s dry way. I highly recommend The Cellar in Fullerton!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant in Fullerton!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Definitely the neighborhood gem and the best restaurant in North Orange County. Superior service, excellent Sommelier, food is exquisite. This is definitely the restaurant to go to for a special and memorable evening. Mr. Dudley does it right!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Literally, a hidden gem

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We are local residents and dine at The Cellar on a semi frequent basis. It is an unusual location, below ground, which is why I say it is literally a hidden gem. There is ample seating, but it is not an overy large establishment, so Open Table reservations are strongly recommended for peak weekend hours.

The bar is smaller than usual, but space is limited so a handful of side tables are available but fill up quickly on a busy evening. The Cellar is renowned for its true, eclectic hand crafted cocktails. Although they will make any of the usual suspects, they specialize is "speakeasy " specialty cocktails that are fun and unique. Tell the bar staff what flavors you like, what liquors you enjoy and they will make something unusually delicious. I asked them to tweak one of their signature cocktails to my liking and I was quickly in my groove.

The kitchen specializes in Chateaubriand, their signature beef dish. Perfect serving for two. Be careful of serving temperature you order, why kitchens use their own interpretation of Medium Rare, Medium, etc is so beyond me. Their MR is RARE +. Sides and sauces are great, but we sent back the mushrooms cause they had enough garlic to wipe out all of Transylvania. Excellent mashed potatoes and Demi Glaze. No Chef's Special butcher cut this night so can't evaluate. Ample beef options, one pork (chop) (will try next time) a couple of fish offerings, I'm not a salmon fan, would love to see halibut and/or sea bass, no chicken dishes. I'm a pasta guru, but their offerings do not float my boat, perhaps replace one of them with a chicken and veggie pasta dish with white sauce or marinara for not beef eaters. But I don't come here for pasta.

Great wine BTG or bottle, reasonable prices, great selection. A nice Late Night bar menu, I'm anxious to try their steak sandwich! The Cellar is a great alternative to the usual suspects and you will dig the bar. This establishment is family owned, husband and wife team, please support them.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will definitely come back

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I took my mom and dad out for mothers day. I will come back. Mark was our waiter, he was and very knowledgeable.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hard to Find - but worth it!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Amazing craft cocktails and an impeccable wine list.

The server mentioned they were out of avocados for the salad. Hello this is California!

Save room for dessert to share, delicious.

Service was very attentive. Odd, no chicken item on the menu...

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was was very average, not extra special

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Ambiance is very good.

Service was very pleasant, but poor. Bread and butter was forgotten. Parmesan cheese had to be asked for. Etc.

Service was extremely slow. I had to ask if we should send out for Chinese food.

Very much not worth the money spent!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Super!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food, ambiance, and service were perfect as always. The room was quite warm - still - actually. A bit of cool circulation would have been nice.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

You must try the escargot, bone marrow, ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

You must try the escargot, bone marrow, and the lobster bisque. Perfect space and ambience, very cozy. And the staff were very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was too salty

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The dining environment was nice. Service was good. I'm not impressed with the food. Overall, everything is too salty and my taste is already on the high end of how salty I like my food. If I think it's salty, it's usually even worse for others. The restaurant was little hard to find. The signs could use some improvement. I don't think I will go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Had high hopes but was very disappointed.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The sixties called and want you to stop butchering their classics.

Sandy escargot in a thin broken sauce with little bits of raw onion. Chateaubriand ordered medium rare, arrived raw in the center. Bread was cold and stiff on the edges. Service was unbearably slow and kind of creepy. Took more than twenty minutes to get a drink. The shrimp cocktail was excellent. The creme brulee was very good and the craft cocktails were the best thing all night.

I wrote to the manager about a couple of weeks ago about my experience, and he hasn't bothered to reply.

The cellar just fails on so many levels. If you really must go, only order the cold foods and fancy cocktails.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Excellent French Restaurant

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The Cellar was a wonderful, authentic environment. And the food is absolutely amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Fullerton

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food--filet mignon. Even better service. Quiet. Romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic, Romantic

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The Cellar is just that. As you descend the stairs to this romantic experience, you're taken back in time. The dimly lit Cellar has phenomenal food and an amazing wine list. Robert, the house Sommelier, is like talking to an old friend as helps you select the perfect bottle of wine. Very memorable experience! Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.