About The Cellar - Fullerton CA

305 North Harbor Blvd
Fullerton, CA 92832
View Larger Map

In 1969, artistic craftsmen of Disneyland fame created a romantic rendezvous in the cellar of the old California Hotel. The Cellar is the perfect setting for an intimate and romantic evening of fine dining. Patrons will find themselves enjoying fine French cuisine while comfortably seated in soft velvet-backed chairs upholstered in rich mellow leather and surrounded by a dimly lit interior. Intimate and cozy, the dining room is elegant amid structured arches and cave-like walls, decorated with wine casks and silver lanterns. Culinary excellence abounds with only the finest and freshest foods prepared in a lighter version of classical French cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: Dinner from 5:30 - 9:00 PM, Bar until Midnight
Friday and Saturday: Dinner from 5:30 - 10:00 PM, Bar until 1 AM
Closed on Monday.

Cross Street:
Wilshire Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 525-5682

Website:
http://www.cellardining.com/

Parking Details:
We have complimentary Valet service located adjacent to the Restaurant. There is also plenty of Free parking in the general area.

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Wine room that is Perfect for a Private Party environment. It seats a Maximum of 15 people. We also offer our semi - private Chandelier Room, which can hold up to 25 people. Should you have a larger party, we can arrange a quite corner in our main dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Jen Pizano: 7145255682x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chateaubriand
charcuterie
Charbono
French Onion Soup
Jumbo Grilled Shrimp
King Salmon
Seared Jumbo Diver Scallop
Short Rib Macaroni & Cheese
Truffle Grilled Cheese With Short Ribs
Pork Belly Slider
Chocolate Hazelnut Souffle
Baked Brie In Puff Pastry
Pinot Noir
Decaf Coffee
Truffled Mac N Cheese Over Braised Short Rib

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $65.00

Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Free Corkage

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $65.00

Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $65.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy a three course menu for two, including a bottle of wine to enjoy at your t. Special valid Aug 19, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Entire regular wine bottle list 50% off with purchase of any 1 entree per table. Special valid Aug 22, 2016 - Dec 21, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

Free Corkage

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Free Corkage. Half off wine by the bottle & free corkage Wednesday nights w/ entree purchase. Special valid Aug 24, 2016 - Nov 30, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

The Cellar - Fullerton CA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Orange County
Special Occasion
Orange County
Best Ambiance
North Orange County
2 More
Romantic
North Orange County
Special Occasion
North Orange County
Best Restaurants in Fullerton ›

Romantic (59)
Special Occasion (54)
Notable Wine List (36)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Groups (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Cozy (1)
Authentic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1466 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely Laura was the best server we've e ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely Laura was the best server we've ever had. She Made our 40th wedding anniversary a perfect evening. Great story teller. So pleasant. And she made sure we had the perfect table.

Food was excellent in all categories. We had escargot, chateaubriand, French onion and lobster bisque soups, and chocolate soufflé. We were very pleased with the quality, taste, and preparation. The best.

The bar tender and asst manager were so friendly and sincerely made sure we were entertained and happy. They treated us as though we've know them all our lives. Their custom and unique bar concept is a must experience.

Just sorry we took so long to try this restaurant. It's a must try.

Thanks

Manny and Joanie

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and different place. Enjoyed the foo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fun and different place. Enjoyed the food and ambience. Wait staff was awesome. My wife and I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. From cocktails to appet ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love this place. From cocktails to appetizers to main course. Service is outstanding. Friendly, informative but never over baring!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great quite atmosphere good food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great quite atmosphere good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Please review my YELP review for EXCELLE ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Please review my YELP review for EXCELLENT details!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Cellar is a nice romantic hide out. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Cellar is a nice romantic hide out. For a date night without the children, I highly recommend it. From the appetizer to the dessert, everything was very tasty. For an unusual drink definitely try the "Brush Fire"

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was perfect for a romantic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The ambience was perfect for a romantic dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The food was prepared perfectly and had a table side presentation that was equally delightful. From the escargot and Cesar salad, to the filet mignon with grilled shrimp over garlic mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus, to the creme brûlée and strawberry soufflé, the meal was perfect. The only thing that could have been improved was the service. It was abnormally slow. We went the entire evening wondering when our drinks would be replenished. Overall it was an absolutely great experience. I have already referred several friends to The Cellar for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The Chateaubriand, Cesar's salad, bar dr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The Chateaubriand, Cesar's salad, bar drinks, soufflé and coffee were all great.

Very polite and friendly service. Loved our waitress Laura.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The place was cozy dark and intimate som ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The place was cozy dark and intimate somewhat expensive but well worth it .

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We were five put in the darkest corner. ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We were five put in the darkest corner. Decor needs update. We have been their in the past and it was the greatest. After yesterday will not be back. Menu was limited and over priced for what we received. One dish was pasta and it was over done and over dressed. Another was trout over done. Salad for the birthday girl had to be sent back because of the pepper tasting that was not in the ingredients on the menu. Finally the desert cream brutal was thinner that water, the chocolate what was so grainy hard to eat. Our waiter was great but their service was terrible because we had to wait for our food because they had to do a presentation for another table and there was not enough help to pull covers from the food. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

Overall...food was good..a tad over pric ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Overall...food was good..a tad over priced. Waiter was very attentive.. but kitchen seem over worked.....waited for several large parties to be serviced first. Ambiance..had not been back to the Cellar in many years..clean but a bit old looking. I had to laugh though ..... on the electronic menu I read before we visited the restaurant it said..... ..."business causal attire"... .. had not seen so many patrons in flip flops, shorts and golf shirts...maybe " business causal" has gone the way of the electric typewriter. I may go back but in more casual clothing.....

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Very nice ambience, adequate service. It ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very nice ambience, adequate service.

It took 30 minutes for our cocktails to arrive.

Food was just mediocre , and way overpriced.

$36 for linguine with 6 tiny shrimp...really?

Their famous Mac and cheese lacked the crusty too, and truffle oil, if present, was tasteless.

We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was great and our server was excell ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was great and our server was excellent! Nice, quiet, romantic dinner. I've been here twice now and this restaurant forces you to slow down and enjoy your meal. With two small kids at home it's easy to eat and run, but that defeats the purpose of this visit. A nice bottle of wine, great food, and great company made for a wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great fine dining experience! Looking fo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great fine dining experience! Looking forward to another amazing night here.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time I've dined here and second t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Second time I've dined here and second time I've been incredibly disappointed. Service was very slow, and even though we had the last available reservation of the night our server (Mark) still had little-to-no knowledge about the specials of the day (you'd think after serving a few tables he'd be able to remember what the specials are without reading from his pad). At a so-called "fine dining" restaurant you'd expect the server to have knowledge of the days' specials at least by the end of his shift. I ordered the "catch of the day" which was a seared ahi tuna entree with a cauliflower and pea couscous. The tuna was over seared and completely void of any flavor. The plate was decorated beautifully with a squid ink soy sauce and another sauce that I couldn't really identify but it seemed to have sat in the window so long that I literally had to scrape the sauces from the plate if I was going to be able to taste them at all. The couscous was a good idea but again there was absolutely no flavor. It's like they haven't heard of salt or seasoning of any kind. When you're talking about $40-$50 entrees this is ridiculous, making totally amateur mistakes that any novice home cook could point out. I won't be returning to dine there ever again. I would stop by the bar again because they do have delicious cocktails, but as far as fine French Food goes this place is a joke that should stop kidding itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Good choice for a special occasion dinne ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good choice for a special occasion dinner. Excellent service, relaxed pace, and reliable execution of special entrees you don't find everywhere. Especially notable -- the chateaubriand for two, complete with sauces and side veggies, and the chocolate shuffle for dessert. The real cellar dining environment is an experience too.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

If you are looking for a romantic date s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

If you are looking for a romantic date spot, you should try out The Cellar. They have various drink menus (wine, beer, cocktails), their dinner menu is excellent, and their service is outstanding. Our waiter was educated with our dinner and drink selections and was extremely polite. You will pay more in entre prices (compared to chain restaurants), I recall their prices being between $30-$50 per plate, but their dishes are excellent. I had the catch of the day which was ahi tuna shipped from Hawaii earlier that day. You will pay for the quality of freshness for your entre. The ambiance is dark and intimate (dim lighting by small lamps and candles). The staff is also aware of their seating arrangements and they do not seat parties next to each other. I thought it was a courteous action because the last thing I want is to have open tables and have another couple sit right next to me. This place is hidden (as it is underground) in the Downtown Fullerton area. It is the complete opposite of the Downtown Fullerton Party atmosphere and a perfect place for special occasions. I would strongly recommend this restaurant and I hope to be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was amazing. Food was good too.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was amazing. Food was good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We found this restaurant super cool for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We found this restaurant super cool for anyone who likes cool atmosphere, great service and good food. This "laid back, this is who we are" kind of restaurant that has been around through all the trends, kind of place is perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great. The filet mignon ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was great. The filet mignon was tender! The service was first class!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had the chateaubriand and it was EXCEL ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I had the chateaubriand and it was EXCELLENT!! Service was EXCELLENT! Dessert was EXCELLENT!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything about this place is perfect. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything about this place is perfect. Worlds best Shirley temples.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent sevice. We shared the 8 Oz fil ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent sevice. We shared the 8 Oz filet which was like butter. Pan seared salmon was top notch. Truffle Mac was also a winner. Great drinks. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sophisticated but relaxing atmosphere, g ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Sophisticated but relaxing atmosphere, great for special occasions and intimate socializing. Exceptional gourmet food, somewhat pricy but perfect for important occasions and decadent indulgence.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an outstanding meal at The Cellar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had an outstanding meal at The Cellar to celebrate a special occasion. The cocktails were delicious and our meal was excellent. Our server was charming and professional, but there were several minor errors made with our meal (like bringing us soup instead of salad and providing the wine list quite a long time after we had requested it), which caused me to give a 4 star rating for service rather than a 5-star rating. My impression was that the staff was experiencing a slightly "off" night and that the service would normally be at a 5-star level, though.

Altogether I'd recommend The Cellar to anyone who wants to celebrate a special occasion or to have a romantic date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Menu was limited but well executed. Sim ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Menu was limited but well executed. Simple steak house faire with bone marrow doesn't stand out anymore. The service however was very slow, which may be part of the experience, but not what we had in mind.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

The service was a bit slow and the atten ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service was a bit slow and the attention to detail somewhat unbecoming a restaurant of such iconic history. Whether this expectation is lost on the xgen cannot be said. Wait staff either needs training commensurate with the Cellar or Ryan needs to spend more time onsite, engaged.

By far the best bartenders and cocktails in all the area, Napa Rose not even a contender.

Food on par with establishments of equal offerings. Still a great choice for good food and drinks but service attention could take a que from Disney.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Celebrated a family evening together, an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Celebrated a family evening together, an annual treat. Nice to dress up and go out -- and give the kids a once-a-year chance to try the best escargot in OC. Besides our tables' two chateaubriands, we enjoyed scallops and Chef even prepared a truly exceptional meal for our one vegan at the table on very short notice. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful meal! Our server, I believe h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful meal! Our server, I believe her name was Janice, was attentive and had a warm demeanor. We enjoyed an exquisite family dinner. All of the food was well-prepared, and the Lobster bisque and Baked Alaska were worth a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been guest of the Cellar for many ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've been guest of the Cellar for many years; always enjoy the food, service and valet parking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My only frustration with our experience ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My only frustration with our experience was the fact that with a reservation we were still seated near the entry/reception area of the restaurant. I just don't think we were able to enjoy the total ambiance as the traffic and phone ringing detracted from what could have been a 100% positive experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall the food was good but the scall ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall the food was good but the scallop entree was small ( 3 scallops) more like appetizer size as was the onion soup was a cup not a bowl. The restaurant smelled musty. It was our anniversary and we ordered the soufflé which again was small. After we had paid our check ( about $100 per) the chef remembered it was our anniversary and sent out a one person size creme brûlée. The cocktails were great as was the Chardonnay that the bartender recommended. I am glad we dined here but for the money there are better places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Excellent service and a wonderful atmosp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent service and a wonderful atmosphere made this experience a memorable one. Went on a date and she was speechless as everything was romantic and just perfect. Food was outstanding and service impeccable. The beautiful decor and dimly lit restaurant just made the night magical. Would absolutely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What we liked: The restaurant had a nic ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

What we liked: The restaurant had a nice old world atmosphere, great wine and some amazing dishes, like the cod. Filet was cooked perfectly. Individual souffles were great. Our waiter was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. What we did not like: We were seated in the walkway near the restaurant and told we could not move even though the restaurant was fairly empty the entire time we were there. That made our table noisier. Entree prices were at the top of the price range for restaurants in our area so I had extremely high expectations which were not 100% met. With that said, I would consider dining here again and would recommend the restaurant to others, with the note that they specify wanting a table that is not in the walkway when they make the reservation. Also, there is a dress code for the restaurant, but apparently not for the bar since people in the bar were wearing jeans and a t-shirt.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent location for a special occasio ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent location for a special occasion. Very attentive service. Questionable credentials for the sommelier though - he never tasted the wine. Food was delicious - especially the lobster bisque.

Big problem trying to pay with a gift card. Had to leave my credit card and come back as we had theater tickets and it was taking forever for server and manager to figure out how to run the gift card. Did comp a couple of drinks for our trouble.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Best experience I have had this year, ve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Best experience I have had this year, very romantic setting with the lighting just perfect. Food was amazing, staff was attentive and genuine. I will be recommending this venue to all my friends and will be back regularly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the food was heavy on the salt, fren ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

All the food was heavy on the salt, french onion soup was the saltiest ever. Potatoes served with the meal were a bit over cooked. Service was good but not particularly fast. I do not feel the pricing reflects the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The cocktail menu is not on the restaura ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The cocktail menu is not on the restaurant's website and should be. The unusual and vibrant cocktails are unforgettable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Down at heel. The door, the banister, th ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Down at heel. The door, the banister, the cave-like interior need dusting, painting. It feels musty (doesn't smell that way) and out of date. My food was excellent, but my husband was unhappy with his food. The dessert choices seems odd to me: chocolate soufflé with key lime sauce?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Great ambiance

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The Cellar is a place to go when you want to have a nice meal in a restaurant with an amazing and cozy atmosphere. The waiter was very friendly and attentive. If you want a nice romantic evening, then check this place out. Then go for a little walk in Fullerton at night where the trees are decorated with lights so it has a nice vibe to it. The food was good, the cocktails were great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.