Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

The Cellar - Fullerton CA

4.6
1830 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
In 1969, artistic craftsmen of Disneyland fame created a romantic rendezvous in the cellar of the old California Hotel. The Cellar is the perfect setting for an intimate and romantic evening of fine dining. Patrons will find themselves enjoying fine French cuisine while comfortably seated in soft velvet-backed chairs upholstered in rich mellow leather and surrounded by a dimly lit interior. Intimate and cozy, the dining room is elegant amid structured arches and cave-like walls, decorated with wine casks and silver lanterns. Culinary excellence abounds with only the finest and freshest foods prepared in a lighter version of classical French cuisine, and finely crafted cocktails which set a benchmark for all of Southern California!

Join us for a full dining experience, or simply stop by for some of the best cocktails in Orange County and perhaps a small plate or two!
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French American, Contemporary French, Contemporary French / American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dining reservations from 5:30 to 9:30pm daily.
Bar and Lounge open from 5pm daily and open until at least midnight.
Happy hour in the Bar and Lounge from 5pm to 6pm daily.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(714) 525-5682
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Scott Rosales
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Wilshire Blvd.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have complimentary Valet service on weekends, located adjacent to the Restaurant. There is also plenty of Free parking in the general area.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1830 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.8
service
4.8
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. Our server Mark was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The occasion was to celebrate Fathers Day with three generations. Grandfather, Father, Son along with wives and Grandmother. It was a great venue which my Grandparents had not been to in over twenty years. I would highly recommend this place for those with a discerning pallet. Great food, great wine and a great atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

I loved the food and the service was great thanks to Adrain who was are waiter

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Awesome creamy lobster bisque. Tender filet mignon “Oscar” style with Bernaise sauce and scallops. Great atmosphere in a hideaway downstairs location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We celebrated our 60th anniversary and it was perfect. The service was outstanding and very helpful. We asked a lot of questions which were answered very well. Also, our waiter made a lot of recommendations. He did not disappoint. The food was outstanding and unique. Also, they had special cocktails, which we tried. Our kids took us there and it is pricey. I can't think of a better place to celebrate a special occasion so I'll start saving up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

It is a rare find, filled with ambiance, and the food was wonderful. The wine selection was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Haven’t been in 16 years and was worried it changed. I was pleasantly surprised that it was the same class act. Went there for my one year anniversary and my wife wants to come back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Fantastic food, amazing service. A little pricey, but worth it for that special someone who deserves a special meal and special treatment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Our dinner was wonderful. Of course the food and service were superb as expected and as it always is.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

I celebrated my 15th wedding anniversary here. The filet mignon was cooked very perfectly. My wife and I really enjoyed it, even the asparagus and carrots were good as well. I also purchased a bar exam liquor drink and my wife got the martini drink, they were excellent and a great choice. The waitress was great and she answered all of our questions we had, plus she made us feel right at home and comfortable. I will recommend this restaurant to all of my family and friends. I will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

It was our 24th wedding anniversary. Everything was perfect.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Very good food overall liked the atmosphere! I would recommend that those who like French Food and fine dining come here, the prices aren't outrageous for what you get

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Great place. Take my wife here for special occasions. We love it.

Food is delicious. Service is great. Real cool. Ambiance/vibe.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Everything was great. We hadn't come here for many years, so there was a bit of sticker shock. But we'll come again for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

I love this place. My go to restaurant for special occasions so for my 40th birthday here’s where I celebrate. The food and service is always superb!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very nice experience. Interesting ambiance, very good food and drink. Our waiter, Mark, was courteous and helpful. Most important, he did not rush our evening dining experience. Menus were not given until we had our drinks, etc.
The lobster bisque was wonderful as were our entrees.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Our anniversary was incredible! Coming back next year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Wonderful ambiance, quiet, dark and cozy. Food is always excellent, and service impeccable. Bar and wine list is extensive. The Cellar is expensive - but worth it - especially for special occasions!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Back to The Cellar for our anniversary dinner. Another great experience. The food was perfect. I had a filet and my wife had lamb shank. Both were perfectly cooked and tasty. The service was, once again, exceptional, with Malynn being perhaps one of the best servers we've ever had at The Cellar in over 8 years of going there. She was attentive, helpful and never intrusive. As always, the drinks from the bar were well made and always a little unique. It was a great experience and that's why we keep coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

My wife & i where celebrating our anniversary, This place was a very pleasant discovery. it is unique. the food was delicious, well prepared and presented.m we would go there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food and service was excellent, will definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

20 years ago best ever, Tonight it was terrible.’ I will not go back. Slow service to get food, waiter forgetful, food very salty andWe mentioned it and they did nothing. Do not go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Such great service!!! Jimmy was our waiter but everyone who helped and brought out our drinks and food were awesome too! Drinks were great! I love how intimate the atmosphere is. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This was my first time dinning at The Cellar. I enjoyed the drinks, food and service. Everything was great and I will definitely go back soon. The atmosphere was very romantic, it’s a great place for a date.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 30, 2018

The appetizers and deserts were excellent. Nice wine list. Service was excellent. Down side our meal Halibut was over cooked and much to salty. Based on our meals would not recommend this restaurant. Very disappointed )-:

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Very unique and delicious and is my new favorite place
Had escargot and scallops and my date got wagu beef - I love the potato chip with Creme fraiche and caviar at the outset - not really like a potato chip - and Creme brûlée yum!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Excellent service and amazing Filet Mignon. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

We requested for

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The Chateaubriand, even though cooked to medium rare, was dry and clearly not prime quality. Vegetables were overdone and mushy. I would be embarrassed to serve them in my home. The Chocolate Soufflé was sweet but lacked any chocolate flavor. The salted caramel sauce was insipid and watery. The waiter seemed to struggle with the specials for the evening. The only saving
grace, the drinks were excellent. This is plainly NOT one of Orange County’s best restaurants. We will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

It was my first time visiting The Cellar and it was amazing! The food, service and just our overall experience. I brought my best friend here for her birthday and we really enjoyed everything.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

A quiet space reflecting the description is just the choice if you are looking to dine quietly with mid-century lyrics playing in the background. The food is excellent if a bit limited on the menu, but it still is calling us back, as this was our first visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

My wife (42 years married) and I had one of the finest dinners ever. 14 April 2018. The food, service was superb. She ordered the Duck, I had the chateaubriand with scallops. The only thought I could offer is don’t change the menu it doesn’t justify changing. Thank your staff for us, we will return soon.
Tim Kling

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Waiter was wonderful. Food was great. Salted carmel souffle to die for. And you've got to
try the lobster bisque.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

I’ve always loved The Cellar. The food was wonderful. And so was the service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

First time at the Cellar. The reason we went there was we heard it could accommodated gluten free customers. Nice comfortable restaurant without a lot of noise. The food was very good and the servers were very attentive. Overall an excellent experience. The only complaint I have is my own fault. My wife ordered a Mint Julip type drink (can't remember the name) but it was a very smokey drink. Very good, but it killed my tastebuds for the wine which followed with dinner. (My bad)

My wife had the French onion soup which was very thick and rich. For the main course we decided to try the Chateaubriand for two. It was cooked medium rare and served with Roasted fingerling potatoes and carrots. Since my wife is gluten free she could not try the Demiglace which was excellent over the cuts but unfortunately one of the few items that was not gluten free. For desert I had the Vanilla Souffle with Grand Marnier Anglaise. Which was a perfect end to a fine meal. My wife had the Crem Brulee.

My recommendation for the gluten free crowd (or anyone else for that matter) as most of their menu is gluten free, without compromising taste.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Husbands 40th bday
Such wonderful service and ambiance. We had a fabulous time. We were seated in a special booth were Liz Taylor had been proposed too twice 😍

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

This was just the right spot for a date. My date absolutely loved it. Great ambience, food was amazing. I recommend the lamb. Patrick, out server was an absolute delight. Will most definitely be going back and recommend this place to any person on a date or special occasion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Our server, Andrew, was very helpful, attentive, and kind the whole night to our large party. The handcrafted cocktails were amazing. You can't even really taste the alcohol. I especially loved my scallops dish and the red snapper special. It was so nice of them to give a creme brulee to the birthday people in our group. The decor was so great especially since I love the Pirates of the Caribbean ride. :D Thank you so much for a wonderful night and memory.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

This is the second time my wife and I visited the Cellar and each time is an outstanding experience. Their food is outstanding only exceeded by their service. The price is fair, but not somewhere we could afford to eat often, except for special occasions, still the food is great, and cannot wait to visit again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Great ambiance as you are entering into a true cellar. Brace yourself for the dark, but your eyes slowly adjust to see a really nice restaurant with a medieval-antique-old english-cave. Not cheesy, just really different. Excellent service. Drinks and food also excellent. One member of the group said it was the best fish dish they ever had. We all had a long day in an industrial setting, so coming to the Cellar was a great way to change the scenery and have a great meal together.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
46

Tweets by The Cellar - Fullerton CA