Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About The Cellar - Fullerton CA

In 1969, artistic craftsmen of Disneyland fame created a romantic rendezvous in the cellar of the old California Hotel. The Cellar is the perfect setting for an intimate and romantic evening of fine dining. Patrons will find themselves enjoying fine French cuisine while comfortably seated in soft velvet-backed chairs upholstered in rich mellow leather and surrounded by a dimly lit interior. Intimate and cozy, the dining room is elegant amid structured arches and cave-like walls, decorated with wine casks and silver lanterns. Culinary excellence abounds with only the finest and freshest foods prepared in a lighter version of classical French cuisine, and finely crafted cocktails which set a benchmark for all of Southern California!

Join us for a full dining experience, or simply stop by for some of the best cocktails in Orange County and perhaps a small plate or two!

305 North Harbor Blvd
Fullerton, CA 92832
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Contemporary French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dining reservations from 5:30 to 9:30pm daily.
Bar and Lounge open from 5pm daily and open until at least midnight.
Happy hour in the Bar and Lounge from 5pm to 6pm daily.

Cross Street:
Wilshire Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 525-5682

Website:
http://www.cellardining.com/

Parking Details:
We have complimentary Valet service located adjacent to the Restaurant. There is also plenty of Free parking in the general area.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Cellar - Fullerton CA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Romantic (28)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Cozy (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
1714 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a place we save for special occasions. Service and food were great. Manhattan and martini were excellent to start with. We had the chefs cut pork chop & the catch of the day fish (John Dory).

We were disappointed in the salad (bland tomatoes & mozzarella was tasteless). We also were disappointed in the bread and butter offered (only white).

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Good atmosphere, authentic food and friendly crew members.
I will visit again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Had not been there in many many years!
Food was delicious, service was excellent!!
Definitely will return....

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was over priced, under seasoned, cold and the choices were limited. We were a party of four, with reservations for 7:30. By the time we ordered, (2) appetizers & (1) entrée were no longer available. I would never recommend anyone spending their hard earned money on the experience & food offered at the Cellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Drinks were amazing! Truffle butter in the lobster bisque and truffle mac n cheese was awesome! One of the steaks was ordered well done and was presented as medium after being cut into. The sea bass with sake beet purée was delicious. The chocolate soufflé had minimal flavoring but had a good texture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food that we ordered was ok but the prices do not match the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2017

This was our first time at the incredible Cellar. The ambiance is dark, romantic and vintage. The cocktails were incredible and our wine was excellent (and well-priced for a special occasion). Very good food and just a perfect place to spend our anniversary. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

The whole thing about the cellar was great. But our server Laura was the best. Her ability to explain all the dishes. To how they are prepared and what ingredients were in each dish. But most of all her personality and service was over the top. Not once did our wine glasses go empty. She was on top of everything. The food was out of this world. Very romantic place. If I would have a complaint about one thing. The lighting over the booths, a little too bright for my liking. But that won't keep us from coming back. 5 stars all the way around.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had a very nice time. Our waiter was great and attentive. The food was very good. The only suggestion would be to extend the main course menu a little as the selections are somewhat limited. Again, the food that we did order was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

What a great and intimate place to celebrate any occasion. Loved it! Would go again if we lived closer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We celebrated our daughters 21st Birthday and the meal was incredible! From the French Onion soup to the final course of Chocolate Soufflé, everything was so wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

My friend had been coming here for 15 years and brought me. Had their specialty Chateaubriand - amazing, best ever. The restaurant was a bit hard to find from the address. It is through the courtyard, to the right, down the stairs. Some signage would be helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Food was delicious, service was slow. Spent a total of 2 hours there, when I only like to be somewhere no more than an hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Celebrated a birthday. Service was amazing. Food was absolutely the best. The drinks delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great place, very attentive costumer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great place. Service was awesome, food was great. There were some loud people but still not tok loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Love this place, complete surprise when we walked in and the look of the place, great decor complimented by the staff. Started our night at the entry bar, bartender was a perfectionist on making drinks. Table was ready, moved there and service was great, food was awesome.

Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Overall - the server did an impeccable job. He carried this venue. The OpenTable description does not accurately reflect the quality and caliber of this place. It's very tired, musty, and rough; however, whatever shortcomings this venue has, the server over came them with a natural ease. I recommend that you GO here knowing that it's a casual venue, NOT an elegant experience. It's not French by any means. It's not cheap by any means. It cost the same as Mastro's Steakhouse without the fineness. What you do get here is GREAT service and good food in a dark subterranean 1960's style decor, which if you are an old schooler like me, it reminded me of old times. This place 30 years ago was The Bomb for this area, nothing better nearby.

According to the staff, there's a flying black pest that there's no way to get rid of, which seems implausible. My first impression was the rougher than expected crowd at the bar and the black flying pests, which gave me great pause. Again, let me repeat that the server who has been there for decades was so flawless in his presentation that he well surpassed the great anxiety that we developed initially. Well Surpassed! So long as he is working there, I will return with a well-adjusted mindset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The good was amazing. Our server was amazing too. It just took so long for the food and desert to get prepared. We went in at 7:40pm and came out at 11pm!! The wait ruined the experience. There were other people who complained and wanted to leave as well

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Wonderful as always. Great food and drinks just an all around fantastic experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Server was nice but took a long time to deliver meals the bar service was very slow We had thought they forgot to put our order in and our server mentioned our anniversary but there was no other acknowledgement.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The bartender made great cocktails. Our servers were excellent and fun. Food was good but overpriced. The wait for the entire meal was 3 hours which was way too long.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

So great!! Will be back! Nice and dark not to loud. Awesome waiter!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Menu choice limited especially the side dishes and desserts. My dish was excellent but other dishes were subpar. Decor a little outdated but since it is dark you do not notice it.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

It was great as usual. We had Andrew Pina as our server before. Always makes the experience even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Realy disappointed with the services here. I booked a reservation for 8:30pm for my girlfriends BIRTHDAY. When we arrived we were seated roughly 10-15 minutes after, as they had to prepare the table. After sitting it took almost another 15 minutes for a waiter to come take our order and bring us water. He took our order for a lobster bisque, porterhouse, and ribeye steak; after taking our order he said he would come back with some bread in the meantime. About 15-20 minutes later we are told they are out of the ribeye and if I would like to order something else (knowing they made us wait so long just to tell us they are out of something they offered a %25 discount off our meal.) By this point, we are almost 45 minutes in from our reservation time and all we have is a cup of water and still no bread, no lobster bisque, nothing. I asked if our bread was coming out which he said it is in the oven NOW. By now I am pretty ticked off as I went above and beyond to plan the perfect night for my girlfriends birthday, in which everything was according to plan until we ended up at this restaurant for dinner. About an hour into our reservation we decided to walk out. I spoke to the manager explaining our situation and how ridiculous it was that we didn't even get our bread yet and its an hour into our reservation and all we have is a cup of water. He was kind enough to offer me $150 gift card if we wanted to give them a chance next time, but this doesn't make up for my girlfriends BIRTHDAY dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 3, 2017

First time at the Cellar; here for our wedding anniversary. Newly renovated kitchen had timing issues; sadly food took much longer than expected. The large nearby booth was loud and spoiled the evening's ambiance. They eventually left early as they waited over 30 minutes without food service.

Would consider returning only for Happy Hour...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

The Cellar was the perfect spot to celebrate my dad's birthday! The service from Andrew and the rest of the team was impeccable. Great suggestions, always ready to answer any questions we had, and very polite and entertaining. The crafted cocktails were delicious! The main courses were cooked to perfection. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food, service, ambiance was top notch. I celebrated my one year anniversary with the love of my life and you can count on us being regulars after this spectacular experience ❤️❤️❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We came here to celebrate our anniversary and The Cellar made it an exceptional celebration. Everything was on point from the service, ambiance, drinks, and especially the food. We were greeted warmly by the staff and were seated in a quiet booth where we felt we were having a private dining experience. Everything we had was delicious and we look forward to visiting this restaurant again very soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Took my girlfriend here for a special occasion, and we had the best time we'd had at a restaurant in a very long time. The architectural aesthetic and layout of the restaurant building, both inside and out, were awesome - the restaurant is set in the cellar of a 100+ year-old building. When you walk in, it feels like you've entered a speakeasy from 1900. On top of the great ambiance, every item of food we got was incredibly delicious, and their cocktails were on point. The service was bar none. When we left the restaurant, we were both in agreement that we would definitely need to come back soon! We found our new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

If you want a quiet but romantic place on a special occasion, The Cellar is the place to be in downtown Fullerton. The place feels like you are in Europe, loved it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We were seated immediately and greeted by a friendly and helpful waitress. She made great recommendations. The food was superb. Always excellent lobster bisque and grand Marnier souffle were the highlights.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I love the ambiance for our 3rd year anniversary dinner. Its definitely for couples and its romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always fantastic. All those who think 2 hours for dinner is too long, grab your dinner at Dennys where they'll hand you your menu as you seat...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great experience for a nice night out. Food and atmosphere were outstanding. Our server was a little green, but he still did his best to make our evening enjoyable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and our server Laura was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. It was the perfect location. The food, service and ambiance was excellent! The food was served timely and it was delicious. The server Andrew took very good care of us! A great dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Went back to The Cellar after several years and found it to be a great improvement over our last visit. All of our appetizers and entrees were very good. The only thing that I would not recommend was the Caesar salad, which had a lot of onion and the dressing was not a Caesar I would recognize. Service was excellent as was the wine list. Knowledgeable sommelier made some great recommendations. Overall, a very nice evening at The Cellar. We will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 19, 2017

OMG! just amazing service. Our sever Andrew Pina, was amazing . His suggestions were on the spot accurate in what was good. He knew the menu like he made he it himself. It was My wife and I 7th anniversary and his service & suggestion of cocktails made it even more special. We already started suggesting to our friends to book reservations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.