Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About The Cellar - Fullerton CA

In 1969, artistic craftsmen of Disneyland fame created a romantic rendezvous in the cellar of the old California Hotel. The Cellar is the perfect setting for an intimate and romantic evening of fine dining. Patrons will find themselves enjoying fine French cuisine while comfortably seated in soft velvet-backed chairs upholstered in rich mellow leather and surrounded by a dimly lit interior. Intimate and cozy, the dining room is elegant amid structured arches and cave-like walls, decorated with wine casks and silver lanterns. Culinary excellence abounds with only the finest and freshest foods prepared in a lighter version of classical French cuisine, and finely crafted cocktails which set a benchmark for all of Southern California!

Join us for a full dining experience, or simply stop by for some of the best cocktails in Orange County and perhaps a small plate or two!

305 North Harbor Blvd
Fullerton, CA 92832
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French American, Contemporary French, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dining reservations from 5:30 to 9:30pm daily.
Bar and Lounge open from 5pm daily and open until at least midnight.
Happy hour in the Bar and Lounge from 5pm to 6pm daily.

Cross Street:
Wilshire Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 525-5682

Website:
http://www.cellardining.com/

Parking Details:
We have complimentary Valet service located adjacent to the Restaurant. There is also plenty of Free parking in the general area.

Private Party Contact:
Events@cellardining.com: (714) 525-5682

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Cellar - Fullerton CA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (33)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Special Occasion (26)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Cozy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Authentic (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Business Meals (7)
Historic (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I love the ambiance for our 3rd year anniversary dinner. Its definitely for couples and its romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always fantastic. All those who think 2 hours for dinner is too long, grab your dinner at Dennys where they'll hand you your menu as you seat...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great experience for a nice night out. Food and atmosphere were outstanding. Our server was a little green, but he still did his best to make our evening enjoyable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and our server Laura was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. It was the perfect location. The food, service and ambiance was excellent! The food was served timely and it was delicious. The server Andrew took very good care of us! A great dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Went back to The Cellar after several years and found it to be a great improvement over our last visit. All of our appetizers and entrees were very good. The only thing that I would not recommend was the Caesar salad, which had a lot of onion and the dressing was not a Caesar I would recognize. Service was excellent as was the wine list. Knowledgeable sommelier made some great recommendations. Overall, a very nice evening at The Cellar. We will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 19, 2017

OMG! just amazing service. Our sever Andrew Pina, was amazing . His suggestions were on the spot accurate in what was good. He knew the menu like he made he it himself. It was My wife and I 7th anniversary and his service & suggestion of cocktails made it even more special. We already started suggesting to our friends to book reservations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers Day

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Took my father for dinner on Saturday before Father's Day. Waited at the bar for our table before being seated. The bar is small and the selection of happy hour drinks are limited. The restaurant was quiet and great for table conversation. The food was excellent. The soufflés were amazing. One can't go wrong with key lime or salted caramel. Overall, The Cellar is recommended for special occasions and fine dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were graced with a cozy booth that we learned was where Richard Burton proposed to Elizabeth Taylor! This highlighted our special occasion where we wanted to be somewhat secluded and have a place to talk of intimate matters. Our waiter was friendly, informative, and just the right amount of conversation. We are friendly and talkative by nature, but also needed our own privacy. Our waiter performed this give and take quite well!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 13, 2017

There for our 25th it was fabulous . The food was terrific as well as the service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful experience as always. We waited in the bar for our friend to arrive and the service there was wonderful. Once seated, our experience was as we have always remembered at the Cellar. We will return many times in the future.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I have gone to The Cellar many times. We have always loved the delicious food, ambience and great service. However, the last couple times including this time, the service has been horrible. This time was especially bad. No one was clearing plates. It was taking forever to get cocktails and food. Service was just horrible and this time I had clients with me. They commented on the horrible service as well. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The lobster bisque is my death row food. I come here every time I'm in town. The wait staff always know the wines well and are amazing when it comes to pairing. This time, an excellent pairing of champagne with the bisque and also a really fruity zinfandel with the cheese platter that enhanced the Humboldt Fog expertly. I am never disappointed. The staff are also very professional, knowledgeable, and friendly. This place is an Orange County classic.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Over all was great. The soufflé however was very over cooked. I was disappointed because was my fist time having one. I would not have know if my friend had not said something. It was vey dry. That's why my very good rating on food. I would highly recommend this place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Very nice dinner place, food is great, service is awesome; however, it's expensive.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Given the prices and the hype, we were expecting more. Less than satisfied. Service was a bit slow. Food menus were finally given to us 20 minutes after being seated. I doubt we will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Service and menu ordering were excellent. Very personal as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Cory and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary Dinner there in the Grotto Booth with our two best friends Roger and Taylor and it was nothing less then amazing as usual. We have been coming there for 25 years to celebrate...... which is half our lifetimes (smiles). Once again a ultra amazing experience. Our young waiter I believe his name is Andrew was so gracious and welcoming (blonde tall adorable) and our wine sommelier (she just as beautiful young blonde) as amazing as well. The two as a team made our evening a memorable and joyous event and I could not of think of celebrating 25 years of Life, Love and Laughter anywhere else in this world. Thank you.
Mark

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Been here couple of times for special occasions and never disappoint! Will definitely back for more:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Jeans & flip flops were common among many guests, plenty of staff but our plates sat empty for 30 mins until asked to be picked up. Octopus salad special was burnt and tough and not eaten but when advised to the waiter he only took off 50%. Service changed after we told the waiter we would not eat the octopus and we were ignored there after.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Love this place! Very unique and romantic ambiance. Great cocktails! Fantastic service!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 19, 2017

If you don't mind that it's a little on the spendy side, and you're looking to have a real special occasion ... then you'll love it. Has great ambiance, amazing food and classical drinks. The chateaubriand was to die for and don't forget to try the soufflé for desert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious food, beautiful ambiance, and amazing service!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant was a bit crowded (well, it was Mother's Day), but the staff made all effort to get folks to their tables in a timely fashion. We had a slight issue and the management and the server were incredibly nice and accommodating. My ood was ok (salmon eggs benedict), lobster bisque was excellent! Mark was an incredible server and overall the day was lovely for our family. Thank you, The Cellar, for making the day so special.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent fine dining in downtown Fullerton. The Lobster Bisque is worth the trip by itself and the Chateau Briand was perfectly cooked and a great meal for 2. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We've been to the Cellar many time and it never disappoints. The cozy atmosphere and excellent service are only surpassed by the excellent food. Marc was our waiter (again) and he is simply fantastic. Attentive without imposing and very helpful. The food was amazing. My wife had a NY steak that was superb and I had a porterhouse pork chop that was perfect. The bar was hopping and the noise intruded just a bit into the main dining room at times but not enough to be a problem. Looks like a fun place to hang out. We'll be back. Again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Been here a few times but it had been a couple years. We arrived a 1/2 hour early hoping to enjoy a cocktail in the bar before dinner. But parking was horrible. Vallet was full and they turned us away. We circled around for a 1/2 hour only to find parking two blocks away making us late for our reservation. This put a damper on the whole evening. The ambiance is great, but we thought the food and service were just OK. Maybe it was an "off night." I'd go back for cocktails and appetizers in the bar and pass on dining there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Sent my daughter and her friends here for dinner before Prom. They LOVED every last detail. Staff was SUPER nice to them and made them feel very special. My daughter even said that one of her favorite things about Prom was dinner. Thank you so much!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I've been to The Cellar a few times but it has been over a decade ago. I remember it to be pricy so not a destination unless expecting to impress. Other tables when we were sat had a nice selection of breads on their tables. Our bread showed up about 15 min after we had been sat and we were told it was because they were making more butter. The bread that did finally arrive at our table was akin to stale sliced Weber bread and the butter was unsalted whipped butter with absolutely no flavor. The menu looked great and we were excited to receive our entrees. An hour later we were starving for our entrees. I chock it up to an off night given my previous experiences and the wait staff kept checking on us anxiously. The other tables that had been sat before us were waiting with awkward frustration as well. When the food finally arrived we were very disappointed with the quality. My swordfish was pretty good but nothing to write home about. The sauce was fabulous but the fish itself was a little dry and lacked flavor. It could have been canned tuna. My girlfriend ordered the pork porterhouse and after a few bites was done. It was dry and chewy and forcing herself to eat the entire meal would probably have resulted in TMJ. They new something was wrong when she just had them take it away but we aren't trypically ones to complain, especially in an upscale environment. We left very disappointed and ended up eating frozen burritos after a $200 meal. Given my last experiences and a comment I overheard about a new cook I give them the benefit of the doubt and wouldn't have said anything except I was asked. Unfortunately my gf isn't as unforgiving as I am so probably won't be given the opportunity to give them another chance. It's unfortunate because I had a lot of fabulous meals there in the past. Not sure what else to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The Cellar has been and remains one of my favorite restaurants in Orange County. The service is superb, the drinks are divine and the food is phenomenal. Took my SO for a fancy date night and we absolutely loved every part of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Dinner was great
Food delicious
Service awesome
My only critique is the restaurant needs a good cleaning and dusting
The air vent next to my husband was caked with dust and lint yuck
Otherwise this place rocks!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We had a fantastic meal of Chateaubriand served by a delightful and informative Andrew. We were seated at a remarkable small booth away from the main dining area which was perfect for our 30th anniversary dinner. The wines were amazingly well priced and a fine selection as well!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We started our dinner with the shrimp cocktail. The texture of it was very strange. We asked our waiter to please send it back. Our waiter Mark was very kind and helpful. We didn't want to make a fuss over it. The manager came and apologized and explained that they had a new supplier and won't be using them again. Mark also treated us to a soufflé at the end of our meal. The rest of the dinner was great and the staff handled the situation really well. The salmon entree was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Bearnaise Sauce for my fillet was very bland. No terragon flavor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

All that was ordered was excellent. Service was excellent. Hard to find if one comes from the front of the building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Overall very nice. Ladies restroom needed cleaning.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

A HIDDEN GEM! My wife and I had heard of it in passing and had seen it on its official website. Never had we dreamt of the amazing dining experience that was to come. Through a small and dimly lit path of downward leading stairs, we found a large closed door. Upon opening it we were visually entertained by its decor and a feeling as if we had been here before. The ceilings were low and made to look as if we were inside a cave with casks of wine embedded in its walls. Through our waiter we discovered it was designed by the same Disney Imagineer's responsible for the Pirate of the Caribbean. As avid fans of Disney we were pleased with this discovery. With great food, ambiance, service and a varied history... the rest of the dining experience must be discovered on your own.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This place is amazing. The service is wonderful. I definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Service was great and the food was wonderful. Great ambiance.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.