About The Celestial Steakhouse

1071 Celestial Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Four star, Four diamond dinning with a stellar view of the city.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4;00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Monastery Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 241-4455

Website:
http://thecelestial.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Free private parking lot across the street from the restaurant. Valet parking option.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ribeye Steak
Ribeye Steak

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Incline: located above the lounge, seats 20-60 guests. The Berkshire: Located in the main dining room, seat 10-26 guests. The Cambridge: Located in the main dinning room, seats 10-24 guests. The Ascott: located in the main dinning room, seats 6-10 guests.

The Celestial Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati
1 More
Scenic View
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Scenic View (39)
Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (30)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
915 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had the Celestial Oscar filet, and it ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I had the Celestial Oscar filet, and it was AMAZING. My husband's steak also received two thumbs up, and he's a bit of a steak snob.

Our server forgot to bring my husband's second bourbon, but he ended up not charging us for either drink, so we were fine with that.

An excellent experience! Less foodie, more old school, which can be lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great view, great service, great food. B ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great view, great service, great food. Be sure to tell them of your special occasion and they will treat you with a surprise desert!

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic view of the east side of city ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic view of the east side of city and great food. Quiet place

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Has popped to top of our list for specia ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Has popped to top of our list for special occasion dining. Best we have had in Cincinnati . Surpasses Jeff Ruby's places.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the few places in town where you ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

One of the few places in town where you can enjoy a drink, while listening to good jazz.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was terrific. My wife and I ca ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was terrific. My wife and I came here for our anniversary and I read some mixed reviews beforehand. We both had the filet with crabmeat on top and it was every bit as good as the similar meal offered by a few Jeff Ruby places. My only complaint was that after we were served, I could tell our server must have gotten busy or something because we were not checked on again until we were finished and asked for our check. Otherwise it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My only negative comment is that the res ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My only negative comment is that the restaurant was not very busy and has an outstanding view but we were seated upstairs away from the window with the view.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional service from Tim. Exceptiona ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Exceptional service from Tim. Exceptional cuisine from the chef. One of the best views in the city.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty View, located in a neat like area ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Pretty View, located in a neat like area of Mt. Adams. Pricing but new that coming in. Waiter started off not the friendliest but warmed up. Our seats were semi private but a larger party was seated in close proximity which created some extra noise. Overall nice.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I made reservations for our 17th wedding ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I made reservations for our 17th wedding anniversary. We loved the food! Although for someone who doesn't eat seafood, there wasn't a great choice of appetizers. I got the onion straws as an appetizer. My husband loved the shrimp! Our meals were great and we will definitely come back! The only negative comment I have is that the carpet was pretty worn and it and the wood chopped on wooden columnes, so it could probably use a remodeling upgrade. Other than that, we enjoyed it and will come again. We usually go to one of the Jeff Rubys but I wanted to try something different. I wasn't sure if my husband would like it bc he loves Carlos and Johnnys, but he enjoyed himself and loved the food! Thank you for helping us had a wonderful anniversary dinner and the view was beautiful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful view, very nice atmosphere , g ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Beautiful view, very nice atmosphere , great service and delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I didn't ask (no fault of waiters) but m ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I didn't ask (no fault of waiters) but music level could be moderated (lower)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and the view were amazing!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food and the view were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience again. Celebrated our32 ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great experience again. Celebrated our32nd wedding anniversary and were treated royally. We have come here on several wedding anniversaries. Definitely a special occasions place. Go and spend the $...it's worth for the view, the service andthefood

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pros: awesome view, great service. My lo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Pros: awesome view, great service. My lobster bisque was ok but all other food was really good. They did a good job on cocktails too. Free and easy parking (we went on a Tuesday).

Cons: nothing really , just noted that some of the furniture and carpet looked a little dated.

They had some soft rock/ 80s music as ambient music which was interesting for a steakhouse. But nice change from the normal jazz and Sinatra stuff

Good place and we'd go back for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent. Start to finish. I'll go bac ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent. Start to finish.

I'll go back, Filet Mignon was terrific,

Service and view was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been to the Celestial in a whil ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I hadn't been to the Celestial in a while and it was nice to come back to... The steak and the Salmon were very very good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

IT was just sad that we were the only di ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

IT was just sad that we were the only dining party in there. Felt awkward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Exceptional service and attention to det ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Exceptional service and attention to detail. Very caring staff who bends over backwards to make you feel welcome. Music in the bar was fantastic! What a gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We entertained neighbors as a 'thank you ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We entertained neighbors as a 'thank you' for many past courtesies. Our table had a spectacular view of the city. The server, Jon was very attentive but not hovering. Everyone's entrée was memorable; my wife had a salmon dish, our guests had steak and I had the best pork chop of my life. The before dinner gin martini was perfect and the wine was very good. This is a place to take out-of-towners for a memorable view of the city and a great time. And, it's nice for us locals too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a pleasure!

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always a pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was excellent. Thi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food and service was excellent. This along with a beautiful view made for a great dinner for my wife and I.

The decor is very dated; however, it was a nice evening.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were celebrating my lady's birthday, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were celebrating my lady's birthday, great place, great food, great view.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, the waiter was o ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was excellent, the waiter was outstanding, and the view is incredible. The prices aren't cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for. The Celestial is an awesome spot for celebrating special occasions!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and view is always wonderful! Trea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and view is always wonderful! Treat yourself to some dessert...delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never been to a place like this bef ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I've never been to a place like this before. I've been to lots of high end restaurants but this place is the best thus far, hands down. I loved everything about this place and I'll recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, but the decor re ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was very good, but the decor really needs updating. Chairs were broken, carpet worn, windows not clear. There were only about 10 people in the restaurant at 7:30 which says something.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Overpriced for the quality of food, but ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Overpriced for the quality of food, but I wasn't expecting better since a premium is paid for the view at most restaurants of this type. Wait staff service was very good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food (top quality steaks) as a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food (top quality steaks) as always and phenomenal service. A perfect spot for our group to catch up and enjoy each other's company. Also, if not the best, definitely one of the top martinis in Cincy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancé and I enjoyed dinner there for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

My fiancé and I enjoyed dinner there for his birthday. I requested and got a window seat. Very beautiful view overlooking downtown. The food was great, the atmosphere was very nice and our waiter was great. I would definitely recommend this to everyone.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful views of the City of Cincinnat ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Beautiful views of the City of Cincinnati and first-class service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So-so

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was good, but not for hat it cost. Our waiter was condescending and barely around, but the rest of the wait staff was very helpful so it evened out. Overall was underwhelming.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The view was great but food and drinks a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The view was great but food and drinks are overpriced. Good for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great views and great food, always a ple ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great views and great food, always a pleasure to go to The Celestial

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service and Scenery

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Celestial Steakhouse is an excellent place for a romantic dinner with a scenic view. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The interior of the dining area may need an update though.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere needs updating BAD. Service was great.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

When I dine at place with high prices for food and drink I expect to be blown away. Or at least impressed by the atmosphere and over all quality of the experience. The best part of our experience was the service from Tim, our waiter and the view. I grew up in Cincinnati so I've seen the city from every angle possible. So it no longer impresses me. The food was nothing better than just ok. The owner needs to renovate and update the place. The carpet needed replaced ten years ago. Alot of the furniture needs some refinishing work. The windows are terribly Sun damaged and need some work or replaced. When you charge high prices for food and drink that you can get for half the price elsewhere, you can only justify the prices by saying that your paying for the atmosphere. Which unfortunately is at least twenty years past needing done. We won't be back unless it's for a reopening after an extensive renovation.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

First Time Visitors

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my wife there for a Mother's Day treat and was not disappointed. This was the first time we ate at the Celestial Steakhouse, and we will be back. The food and service were first-rate. The view overlooking the Ohio River was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You have to go hear at least once.

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Very relaxed atmosphere. Food was outstanding. Our server Tim was beyond outstanding. This was my first time there but we will definitely be returning. Steaks were tender and juicy. The Crab Cake appetizer was soooooo good I could have even two of them myself. Like I said, you have to go here at least once.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meh

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Pretty good, but should be exceptional for the price. Highly recommend spending a few more dollars and going to the Precinct instead. The Precinct is so much better its almost an entirely different genre than the Celestial.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.