About The Celestial Steakhouse

1071 Celestial Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Four star, Four diamond dinning with a stellar view of the city.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4;00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Monastery Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 241-4455

Website:
http://thecelestial.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Free private parking lot across the street from the restaurant. Valet parking option.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Incline: located above the lounge, seats 20-60 guests. The Berkshire: Located in the main dining room, seat 10-26 guests. The Cambridge: Located in the main dinning room, seats 10-24 guests. The Ascott: located in the main dinning room, seats 6-10 guests.

The Celestial Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (44)
Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (12)
Authentic (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (10)
Historic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Live Music (9)
Private Room (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Dancing (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Waterfront (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1022 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was good the service was above ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good the service was above average, the seating was absolutely miserable. We were stuck in one of the "hallway" seats. Why they feel like this is a good place for inexpensive table is beyond me. The view is great but that is it, the table is Tiny and the chairs are uncomfortable and you have to suck in your gut to get up should you need to leave your table for anything. It is at the end of a closed-off hallway that reminds me of an airplane aisle.

Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

For a period of time, my husband and I c ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

For a period of time, my husband and I celebrated our anniversaries at the Celestial. This year we wanted to share that occasion with our dearest friends. They loved it. The service was wonderful. The food was outstanding. In fact, one of our guest had been a cook for the Army years ago and he raved about the food. More, I felt at home, relaxed. Our server was great. He was not intrusive and allowed us time to review the menu and visit with our guests.

Then there was the view. WOW, was all we heard all night.

Thank you for being available for us all those years ago and now.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. Everything was good and a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was great. Everything was good and a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I proposed to my girlfriend at dinner th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I proposed to my girlfriend at dinner there. I couldn't ask for a better atmosphere to do so. The lighting, the view, the food, it was perfect.

Thank you

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. The staff was g ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The staff was great and the dinner was fantastic. The escargot was the best we've ever had!! We would highly recommend this steakhouse.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view, delicious food, and exemplar ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great view, delicious food, and exemplary service. The doorman was very helpful with my elderly mother, and the wait staff was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable experience. This was our ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very enjoyable experience. This was our third time there and the evening is alays great !

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

This was sad. It was one of our favorite ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was sad. It was one of our favorite places to go but tonight the meal was terrible. Wife's salad was just average. Steaks were just ok. No wow in the flavor & dessert (strawberry sabayon) was AWFUL. We have gift certificates so we will give it one more shot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Our food of dinner was on News Year Eve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our food of dinner was on News Year Eve was outstanding. The drinks spectacular and the service incredible. The view of the Cincinnati sky line lit up is incredible, worth the price of dinner alone. Celestial is our favorite place to go for dinner in Cincinnati. Looking forward to returning again soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife ordered a medium well steak, on ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife ordered a medium well steak, on the first try the steak was well done. When the waitress saw the steak she said "that's way over cooked I will take it back". The next one out was very, very rare. The waitress was standing next to the table and apologized. She took that one back and said I will have the manager come over. He did not come over, she asked him two more times to stop at our table. He stood by the hostess stand and did not stop over once, even after I asked to speak with him. By the way it was not busy when we were there, only 4 other couples in the restaurant. The waitress apologized and said I don't blame you if you never come back, and I never will. On the way out I told the manager standing at the hostess stand how horrible he made the dining experience, all he said was have a nice day you need to leave now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Wonderful food and a beautiful view over ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful food and a beautiful view overlooking Cincinnati

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and the best food in ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Outstanding service and the best food in the TriState Area. Great Music in the bar area. The view is like none other in the world. Truly the finest staff, food, location, and view. The entire experience was second to none. I have entertained and dined in the finest cities and this place is one of our favorites.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The young man who refilled our water gla ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The young man who refilled our water glasses did an outstanding job. Unfortunately this was the highlight of the meal. Other service was abysmal and the restaurant was not busy. We waited for more than an hour to see our food and once served, there was no follow up from the wait staff, no inquiry if the meals were tasty, if we wanted another drink, etc. My drink was incorrect. The risotto was a tasteless mass of glue and the remainder of the meals were adequate at best, certainly not worthy of the price. It was Christmas Eve and if the problem was being short staffed, the restaurant sould have done better to close its doors for the night.

It will be quite a while before we consider returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was delicious and the city view ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was delicious and the city view from our table was lovely. Service was uneven. When we arrived, it was several minutes before anyone came to the host stand to greet and seat us. Our waitress served us the wrong bottle of wine., but did correct the situation when we pointed it out. For the price, I think other restaurants do a better job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Wife and I were here for Christmas Eve d ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wife and I were here for Christmas Eve dinner and also last year. The food is amazing. The steaks were some of the best I have ever had. The sides are all delicious and usually enough for two to share. The waitress was very friendly and attentive. I think we will be making this place our once a month date night stop. Everything has been excellent so far. Plenty of parking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, mediocre over priced foo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great ambiance, mediocre over priced food, terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Went here with my wife for Christmas Eve ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went here with my wife for Christmas Eve. We have eaten here several times and have always been pleased. This time was a little disappointing, though. First , it should be noted that they were not overly busy. With that said, they put us at a small table in the corner of the room - even though there were several standard tables for two available and still empty when we left.

The other disappointment was the service. The wait staff seemed unorganized and overwhelmed. Even to the point that I had to ask for a water refill after they walked by several times. I wrote most of this off due to being a holiday. I figured the better staff were probably off and the "rookies" we're working. Overall, it was still a good experience with great food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food, great view, good service ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent food, great view, good service. Elegant setting but decor could be updated.

Tags: Private Room, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We go to this restaurant every year at C ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We go to this restaurant every year at Christmas and always have a wonderful experience. Thanks to everyone for making another wonderful Christmas season memory.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pleasantly surprised. The decor is a bi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. The decor is a bit dated and worn, the windows that provide a great view - dirty, but the food overcame these short comings. Steaks were perfect, salmon tasty and husband's mixed wild game excellent. We will return.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great time

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to The Celestial numerous ti ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I have been to The Celestial numerous times. Last went in 2013. Wow...what a change. Food was not nearly as good and Service was lacking. The waiter needs some skills sharpened! To me, this WAS one of Cincinnati's gems. Very disheartened.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was great but the service wasn' ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was great but the service wasn't. I would expect fantastic service but it was actually very disappointing. Very unorganized. We had to ask to get refills and we got attitude every single time. We waited at least a half hour to order our entrees. We were never asked once how the meal was. Probably not going to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Whatever issues The Celestial had last w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Whatever issues The Celestial had last weekend seem to have been resolved. Service was prompt and courteous. Steaks were done just as we asked. The neighbors were a bit loud on a phone call about a medical procedure and then had an argument about it but that is hardly within the restaurants's control. I only let it impact the rating because the tables are so close together that we truly could hear every word. One less table in that area would have at least allowed us to get in and out of our chairs without disturbing those around us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Age has its perks. The kids have OTR and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Age has its perks. The kids have OTR and The Banks. Those of us of a certain age enjoy the ambiance of a beautiful wood paneled dining rooms with gleaming white table cloths, low lights, and a spectacular view. The food is excellent. The service is attentive. If you're over 40 and have friends visiting from out of town, this is the one spot I'd make sure to take them.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, People Watching, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food & service

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent food & service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best view in the city!

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Best view in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

As always every thing was top notch. Ama ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 15, 2016

As always every thing was top notch. Amazing view of Cincinnati, great service, outstanding meal and always a touch of class. I'd noted that it was our anniversary when I made the reservation to get a table by the window reserved. We were seated at the perfect secluded window seat. at the end of the meal the waiter brought out a complimentary piece of Chocolate raspberry cheese cake with a Happy Anniversary message written in Raspberry sauce on the plate. That was a nice touch that was much appreciated.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Authentic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the worst dining experiences I ha ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 11, 2016

One of the worst dining experiences I have ever had - incorrect orders, cold food, overcooked steaks, extremely slow service. On a positive note, the cocktails were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Unfortunately 6 waiters and half the kit ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Unfortunately 6 waiters and half the kitchen staff quit at 730pm on Saturday, Dec 10th 2016. Our waiter was great, but after 2 hours without any food (only bread) we had to leave. The manager was very unfriendly too and yelling at his employees. About 10 couples were leaving early too and everybody was talking about how poor the service was. Unfortunate because this place is usually great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

No food for 2 hours, not even bread!!!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 11, 2016

No food for 2 hours, not even bread!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Slow service from waiter--3 hour dinner! ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Slow service from waiter--3 hour dinner! Food was good and atmosphere was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The food was very tasty, the atmosphere ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was very tasty, the atmosphere was prime, the views spectacular. The timing of our service was awful. There was a good thirty minutes between placing our order and getting our appetizers. Thirty minutes between appetizers and salads, thirty minutes between salads and entrees. If I was with a big group, that might not be too bad, I guess you could drink and talk, but for a small group of four, it was too long and infuriating. Made the experience boring. On the plus side, there was so much time between courses, we could eat more cause the last course was pretty much digested before the next one came out. I probably won't go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

The food was amazing, but it took a lit ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was amazing, but it took a little over 90 minutes to receive it. We almost left without eating as we had tickets for a play. Their was no recompense made for this and they were not overly apologetic.

I do not beleive I will ever eat here again or at least not on a night when we have any plans after.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was great but we had to wait 45minu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was great but we had to wait 45minutes until our main came. We had 10minutes to eat this due to a 7pm theatre booking we had. I requested a box for the left over food, the server took sooo long to return I ended up leaving half of my $50 steak. I was told upon confirming the booking we would receive a free desert as it was our 5 year wedding anniversary. Needless to say I was charged on my bill for this. We didn't have time to question/complain. Disappointing start to a important evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Friday evening visit with 6, very pleasa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Friday evening visit with 6, very pleasant, spectacular view in the evening, waiter was very accommodating and efficient, pleasant and well informed about the restaurant, offerings and local information. 4 ordered steak and remarks were complimentary but not raving, 2 salmon which was excellent cut, properly cooked with brussel sprouts and spaetzle. Salmon entree did not have a definitive flavoring/seasoning.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Forget how wonderful this place is!!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Forget how wonderful this place is!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

20% autograt on a table for 5 resulted i ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2016

20% autograt on a table for 5 resulted in a $120 tip for a slow waitstaff that we had to ask three times for bread. If you take out the wine that was almost a 50% tip on our food order. #feelingfleeced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The Celestial was very nice, the view wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The Celestial was very nice, the view was great. I bought a Cincy Saver for the night, unfortunately we could not use it on a Saturday (still don't understand that policy, though it is noted on the certificate- I overlooked this). I would not have come if I did not purchase the coupon, so that was disappointing. The steak was great, but I did not find that my meal stood out more than other steakhouses I have been to. I love a good "Oscar Style", but I found the toppings here a little over the top (a great steak speaks for itself!) Overall we had a nice experience, and we had a great view. My mom was happy, and that's the most important thing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Celestial Steakhouse bills itself as ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The Celestial Steakhouse bills itself as ‘…Cincinnati’s only “Four Star” & “Four Diamond” award winning steakhouse. The Celestial Steakhouse is a business-casual, fine-dining restaurant and lounge offering excellent cuisine through a diverse menu, stellar service…’, from their website. I experienced neither excellent cuisine or stellar service.

My wife and I went there early Sunday, November 27th, for our anniversary. It was not crowded at all. There were two other tables and a group. Maybe 12 people maximum. Over the course of our dinner, I noticed at least two servers. We ordered simple drinks and it took a long time to get them, especially with the size of the crowd and wait staff. We both ordered steak. My wife a filet and an Oscar filet. They took a long time coming. Both were undercooked. We ordered them medium. I found it hard to believe that a “…Four Star & Four Diamond…” steakhouse would undercook both steaks. My wife sent hers back. I like my a little redder than she does, so I kept mine. The steak was warm. The garlic mashed potatoes were less warm and seemed to have a crust. There was very little crab on the top of my steak. It looked more like a couple of crumbs of blue cheese. When they finally served my wife’s steak, I was almost done with my meal. I ate it because I didn’t want it to get any colder. The second time around the steak and potatoes were much better.

I left a message for the manager to call me. I didn’t want to have a conversation then, because we had other plans. As of now, I have still not been contacted.

It is my recommendation that you do not have dinner at Celestial Steakhouse. For the price, there are several other steakhouses in the city where you can get a great steak and service together.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.