About The Celestial Steakhouse

1071 Celestial Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Four star, Four diamond dinning with a stellar view of the city.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4;00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Monastery Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 241-4455

Website:
http://thecelestial.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Free private parking lot across the street from the restaurant. Valet parking option.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ribeye Steak
Ribeye Steak

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Incline: located above the lounge, seats 20-60 guests. The Berkshire: Located in the main dining room, seat 10-26 guests. The Cambridge: Located in the main dinning room, seats 10-24 guests. The Ascott: located in the main dinning room, seats 6-10 guests.

The Celestial Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati
Scenic View
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Scenic View (42)
Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (31)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (4)
Waterfront (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Dancing (2)
Historic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
927 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Celestial sits atop Mt. Adams with a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Celestial sits atop Mt. Adams with a great view of downtown Cincinnati. The window arrangement in late afternoon puts you in direct sunshine which can be uncomfortable for any person looking into the sun or feeling its heat. Prices are high for the level of decor since I paid about $120 for dinner for two and my date had a salad! It would appear that maintenance on the wood surfaces is in need of repair for some surfaces. The food was excellent, but you would expect that for a $38 8-ounce steak.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

I go to The Celestial a couple of times ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

I go to The Celestial a couple of times a year and normally rave about their food, but this was a disaster. It was my birthday and I was looking forward to the lobster bisque, which is Normally the best in the country. This time, a can of Campbell's tomato soup would have been better!!!! No lobster, no flavor, have I mentioned a can of soup? My husband's medium steak was Well-done, Carmelized Brussel sprouts were sitting in a soup full of liquid, certainly not Carmelized, and mashed pots were Luke warm. Manager took off my husband's dinner, but we still had to pay $100 for my dinner, which was just ok. Not sure what happened in the kitchen other than it completely fell apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

We went to The Celestial after researchi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We went to The Celestial after researching some different restaurants on Open Table. I am so glad that I did. We were celebrating our 22nd wedding anniversary and this restaurant couldn't have been a more perfect choice. The ambiance, service and food were all outstanding. The view was spectacular! Our server even brought us out a dessert since and volunteered to take our pic as a remembrance. We left with such a good feeling that we definitely recommend and will go back even if we are not celebrating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best view in town from the top of Mt. Ad ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Best view in town from the top of Mt. Adams over downtown, river, and Kentucky. Steaks are still awesome and the service is still outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent view food service, atmosphere ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent view food service, atmosphere , unsurpassed

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view from the second floor was beaut ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The view from the second floor was beautiful for out of town guests. The decor is dated--tears in the carpet etc. and the food was overpriced. I had the Sea bass and it was extremely dry. My table mates had steak dishes and they were pleased. I would recommend once but not a second time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Our waiter, Bisert was very accommodatin ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Our waiter, Bisert was very accommodating and pleasant. He made our 48th wedding anniversary very enjoyable. The complimentary dessert for our celebration was very special.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed my early birthday dinner. Th ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We enjoyed my early birthday dinner. The view, service and fillets (steaks) were wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a very nice time and enjoyed the ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had a very nice time and enjoyed the meal very much. We stayed at the bar where Steve took care of us. He was fun and knowledgeable about the menu. The chandelier is beautiful and while we were there a two hour storm came in from the south and we had front row seats. At one point we couldn't even see any other buildings outside of the massive window. Most of the time there is no better view of the city.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The steaks were very good. The sides we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The steaks were very good. The sides were not that great. Stay away from any of the "mashed potato" type dishes. The baked potato was good.

There was only one other table in the restaurant with diners. We waited LENGTHY periods of time for our food, and for beverages, etc.

It has potential. The view is wonderful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Fantastic service and the quality of foo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fantastic service and the quality of food was wonderful. We took my mother there for her 60th birthday and she was very pleased.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We greatly enjoyed our new waitress and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We greatly enjoyed our new waitress and dinner was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the Celestial Oscar filet, and it ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I had the Celestial Oscar filet, and it was AMAZING. My husband's steak also received two thumbs up, and he's a bit of a steak snob.

Our server forgot to bring my husband's second bourbon, but he ended up not charging us for either drink, so we were fine with that.

An excellent experience! Less foodie, more old school, which can be lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great view, great service, great food. B ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great view, great service, great food. Be sure to tell them of your special occasion and they will treat you with a surprise desert!

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic view of the east side of city ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic view of the east side of city and great food. Quiet place

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Has popped to top of our list for specia ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Has popped to top of our list for special occasion dining. Best we have had in Cincinnati . Surpasses Jeff Ruby's places.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the few places in town where you ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

One of the few places in town where you can enjoy a drink, while listening to good jazz.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was terrific. My wife and I ca ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was terrific. My wife and I came here for our anniversary and I read some mixed reviews beforehand. We both had the filet with crabmeat on top and it was every bit as good as the similar meal offered by a few Jeff Ruby places. My only complaint was that after we were served, I could tell our server must have gotten busy or something because we were not checked on again until we were finished and asked for our check. Otherwise it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My only negative comment is that the res ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My only negative comment is that the restaurant was not very busy and has an outstanding view but we were seated upstairs away from the window with the view.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional service from Tim. Exceptiona ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Exceptional service from Tim. Exceptional cuisine from the chef. One of the best views in the city.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty View, located in a neat like area ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Pretty View, located in a neat like area of Mt. Adams. Pricing but new that coming in. Waiter started off not the friendliest but warmed up. Our seats were semi private but a larger party was seated in close proximity which created some extra noise. Overall nice.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I made reservations for our 17th wedding ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I made reservations for our 17th wedding anniversary. We loved the food! Although for someone who doesn't eat seafood, there wasn't a great choice of appetizers. I got the onion straws as an appetizer. My husband loved the shrimp! Our meals were great and we will definitely come back! The only negative comment I have is that the carpet was pretty worn and it and the wood chopped on wooden columnes, so it could probably use a remodeling upgrade. Other than that, we enjoyed it and will come again. We usually go to one of the Jeff Rubys but I wanted to try something different. I wasn't sure if my husband would like it bc he loves Carlos and Johnnys, but he enjoyed himself and loved the food! Thank you for helping us had a wonderful anniversary dinner and the view was beautiful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful view, very nice atmosphere , g ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Beautiful view, very nice atmosphere , great service and delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I didn't ask (no fault of waiters) but m ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I didn't ask (no fault of waiters) but music level could be moderated (lower)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and the view were amazing!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food and the view were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience again. Celebrated our32 ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great experience again. Celebrated our32nd wedding anniversary and were treated royally. We have come here on several wedding anniversaries. Definitely a special occasions place. Go and spend the $...it's worth for the view, the service andthefood

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pros: awesome view, great service. My lo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Pros: awesome view, great service. My lobster bisque was ok but all other food was really good. They did a good job on cocktails too. Free and easy parking (we went on a Tuesday).

Cons: nothing really , just noted that some of the furniture and carpet looked a little dated.

They had some soft rock/ 80s music as ambient music which was interesting for a steakhouse. But nice change from the normal jazz and Sinatra stuff

Good place and we'd go back for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent. Start to finish. I'll go bac ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent. Start to finish.

I'll go back, Filet Mignon was terrific,

Service and view was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been to the Celestial in a whil ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I hadn't been to the Celestial in a while and it was nice to come back to... The steak and the Salmon were very very good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

IT was just sad that we were the only di ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

IT was just sad that we were the only dining party in there. Felt awkward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Exceptional service and attention to det ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Exceptional service and attention to detail. Very caring staff who bends over backwards to make you feel welcome. Music in the bar was fantastic! What a gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We entertained neighbors as a 'thank you ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We entertained neighbors as a 'thank you' for many past courtesies. Our table had a spectacular view of the city. The server, Jon was very attentive but not hovering. Everyone's entrée was memorable; my wife had a salmon dish, our guests had steak and I had the best pork chop of my life. The before dinner gin martini was perfect and the wine was very good. This is a place to take out-of-towners for a memorable view of the city and a great time. And, it's nice for us locals too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a pleasure!

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always a pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was excellent. Thi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food and service was excellent. This along with a beautiful view made for a great dinner for my wife and I.

The decor is very dated; however, it was a nice evening.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were celebrating my lady's birthday, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were celebrating my lady's birthday, great place, great food, great view.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, the waiter was o ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was excellent, the waiter was outstanding, and the view is incredible. The prices aren't cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for. The Celestial is an awesome spot for celebrating special occasions!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and view is always wonderful! Trea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and view is always wonderful! Treat yourself to some dessert...delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never been to a place like this bef ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I've never been to a place like this before. I've been to lots of high end restaurants but this place is the best thus far, hands down. I loved everything about this place and I'll recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, but the decor re ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was very good, but the decor really needs updating. Chairs were broken, carpet worn, windows not clear. There were only about 10 people in the restaurant at 7:30 which says something.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Overpriced for the quality of food, but ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Overpriced for the quality of food, but I wasn't expecting better since a premium is paid for the view at most restaurants of this type. Wait staff service was very good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.