About The Celestial Steakhouse

1071 Celestial Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Four star, Four diamond dinning with a stellar view of the city.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4;00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Monastery Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 241-4455

Website:
http://thecelestial.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Free private parking lot across the street from the restaurant. Valet parking option.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Incline: located above the lounge, seats 20-60 guests. The Berkshire: Located in the main dining room, seat 10-26 guests. The Cambridge: Located in the main dinning room, seats 10-24 guests. The Ascott: located in the main dinning room, seats 6-10 guests.

The Celestial Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
3 More
Romantic
Cincinnati
Scenic View
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

scenic view (58)
special occasion (54)
romantic (48)
See All
fit for foodies (13)
notable wine list (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
good for groups (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
882 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service2

The view was great but food and drinks a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The view was great but food and drinks are overpriced. Good for a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great views and great food, always a ple ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great views and great food, always a pleasure to go to The Celestial

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Service and Scenery

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Celestial Steakhouse is an excellent place for a romantic dinner with a scenic view. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The interior of the dining area may need an update though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Atmosphere needs updating BAD. Service was great.

Dined on May 7, 2016

When I dine at place with high prices for food and drink I expect to be blown away. Or at least impressed by the atmosphere and over all quality of the experience. The best part of our experience was the service from Tim, our waiter and the view. I grew up in Cincinnati so I've seen the city from every angle possible. So it no longer impresses me. The food was nothing better than just ok. The owner needs to renovate and update the place. The carpet needed replaced ten years ago. Alot of the furniture needs some refinishing work. The windows are terribly Sun damaged and need some work or replaced. When you charge high prices for food and drink that you can get for half the price elsewhere, you can only justify the prices by saying that your paying for the atmosphere. Which unfortunately is at least twenty years past needing done. We won't be back unless it's for a reopening after an extensive renovation.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time Visitors

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my wife there for a Mother's Day treat and was not disappointed. This was the first time we ate at the Celestial Steakhouse, and we will be back. The food and service were first-rate. The view overlooking the Ohio River was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You have to go hear at least once.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Very relaxed atmosphere. Food was outstanding. Our server Tim was beyond outstanding. This was my first time there but we will definitely be returning. Steaks were tender and juicy. The Crab Cake appetizer was soooooo good I could have even two of them myself. Like I said, you have to go here at least once.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food and service were excellent!

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Meh

Dined on April 30, 2016

Pretty good, but should be exceptional for the price. Highly recommend spending a few more dollars and going to the Precinct instead. The Precinct is so much better its almost an entirely different genre than the Celestial.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were celebrating our son's college graduation on April 30th and chose The Celestial Steakhouse for our dinner. We were greeted promptly and shown to our table with an amazing view of the city. Victor was our waiter - very professional & friendly. Food was timed well and terrific. Victor surprised my son with a "Congratulations" dessert - I had made a note on my reservation we wanted a table with a view because we were celebrating a graduation, but was surprised they took note! Love the knotty pine and charming setting. Will definitely visit again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The salads were very small but tasty. Th ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The salads were very small but tasty. The entrees were good. The bread was nothing special. And the dessert options were null. The dessert we chose tasted like it was out of a box.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely Anniversary

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I went to the Celestial for our anniversary dinner. We received excellent service and food was delicious. We both had the filet which was cooked exactly as requested and even my husbands medium well was not dry or chewy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Short ribs were other worldly. Will orde ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Short ribs were other worldly. Will order again and again. Ambience was comforting. Wait service perfect.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 1, 2016

My husband and I ate here for his birthday . the view was great, so was the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great view...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The celestial offers a great view and higher end dining, so we were expecting a better experience. The interior is in terrible need of an upgrade...worn carpeting, smelly in areas and very dated. We ordered an appetizer that never arrived due to the server "forgetting". It was our anniversary and we had much higher expectations than what was delivered. For the price, we expected much more.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

The Lobster Bisque was mediocre at best. ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Lobster Bisque was mediocre at best. Lacking any Lobster. I would not order it again. The Steak and eggs were phenomenal. I will come back for that.

food2
ambience5
service4
value3

View always great, food was disappointing

Dined on March 26, 2016

I have loved the Celestial for years. The view was spectacular, as always. Windows did need to be cleaned and somewhat took away from view. Food was disappointing. Nothing was terrible just not noteworthy. Steaks were just ok.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

What a Let Down

Dined on March 12, 2016

We have come to think of the Celestial as our go to place for special occasions and celebrations. We have dined there on anniversaries and birthdays as well as to celebrate college graduations and fair wells. 3/12/16 such an occasion. Upon arrival we were told our seats were in the lounge. After expressing a preference for the dining room, we were seated in an area I had been in before. It is so narrow and the tables so close together, I thought they only crowded so many tables together for Sweetest or Valentines Days. Not great and even worse if you have any difficulty standing or sitting, which I do, from a total knee replacement. Our server must have found me difficult because the service was less than great . If a diner asks if they are under an ac vent, would you inquire if they were cold and offer to correct the situation if you could? I would. I finally asked a busboy about the temperature he offered to check on it and indeed it stopped running constantly. We both ordered the lobster bisque. We both felt the flavor was off somehow. Also it contained NO pieces of lobster. We have had this dish here more than once, this was definitely not the usual. Our steaks were good, although the béarnaise and crab on the steak Oscar was skimpy. The other steak had been requested with butter on top. Not a big deal, but it wasn't there. How much we spent is not the point. Being disappointed in something you thought you could count on is the point. We were planning to take a close friend and her fiancé to 'our special place' to celebrate their e engagement. Now I don't feel confident about the food or the service.

food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our anniversary, and all our ...

Dined on March 7, 2016

We went for our anniversary, and all our expectations were met and exceeded! The steaks were succulent and perfectly done, our waitress was extremely attentive, and the view is as good as advertised. We went on a Sunday evening, so it was not crowded as all, and the quiet atmosphere was very pleasant.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice meal, great view

Dined on March 6, 2016

Haven't been here in probably 15 years. Looking for a nice view got out of town guests. Reviews looked decent, do we made a reservation. Our table was ready, right by one of the many windows. Waiter was attentive and helpful. All of us ordered steaks. Two had lobster bisque ( excellent), one ordered mussels ( cooked nicely and must face 30 in the bowl, to share), and one got a house salad. Had some prosecco with the first voyese( very good), and a nice cab with dinner. Steaks were very good. Cooked as we asked and very flavorful. Sides were sized got one and also very good (roasted asparagus, baked potatoes, Brussels sprouts). Great live jazz coming from the bar, plus the superb view made up for a somewhat dated interior.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such an amazing dining experience

Dined on February 27, 2016

I had such a good birthday here! Between the wine, the music, the view and the outstanding food and service I would definitely recommend. Our server Steve was very helpful very polite and very nice! He took good care of me and my family and was very diligent in his work!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined on February 27, 2016

Went for our 20th wedding anniversary. Great view and delicious food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing steak... crab cake appetizer was ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Amazing steak... crab cake appetizer was great as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cabin fever escape

Dined on February 20, 2016

I was in a wheelchair and hadn't been out of the house for 2 weeks. We were accommodated nicely with a ramp by the maitre d. The view was killer and only improved after sunset. My steak was perfect as was the service

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good but not the best in the city

Dined on February 20, 2016

We chose this location for the view specifically. When we were first seated, we were at a table in the middle of the room. Our server was kind enough to move us to the window when we asked. The food was quite good overall- our steak was prepared well and the sides were good. The restaurant just felt a bit out of date/run down. When choosing a romantic place to go, we will probably pick somewhere else next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wedding Anniversay

Dined on February 19, 2016

I asked my wife to marry me at the Celestial have enjoyed many dinners there since our marriage. It has always been a special place for us! We decided to make this our dinner destination to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. The view, the service, the food and the wine were all exceptional. My wife said it was one of the best steaks (filet) that she has had and my short rib was fantastic. The Celestial is a Cincinnati gem.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on February 12, 2016

We came here for our anniversary and this restaurant did not fail to impress. The service was fabulous - our waiter neither hurried us or ignored us; he came at just the right time. The wine was excellent and the food was divine! And the view! Oh the view! What a fantastic scene to look upon - the city was all lit up! I asked for a table next to the window and I got one on the second floor. I will definitely come here again.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Mediocre at Best

Dined on January 17, 2016

Food (Strip steak and Filet) was mediocre at best. Familiarity with wine list was basically non-existent. Service was adequate. For a $330 dinner/drinks/wine should have been outstanding. The view doesn't make up for overpriced food, over marked up wine, and average service. Cincinnati has plenty of great restaurants and steak houses. This one isn't worth the visit. Disappointed is an understatement. Back to The Precinct.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

love it best steak I've ever had still

Dined on January 16, 2016

The only reason the noise level was high this visit was one group of people who drank too much (I know because I could hear them declare how much they were overdrinking and planning to). The bar staff was great. I was at the bar for an appetizer while waiting on the rest of our party. The waiter was wonderful. The steaks were cooked perfectly again and the best any of us have had. I won't name more expensive places it's better than. You can't beat the view.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Worthy

Dined on January 3, 2016

Arrived on a Sunday at opening time and we were the only customers. No noise to speak except my party of friends. Service was attentive and friendly. View of city was great. There was plenty of dinner items to select from and the food tasted exceptional. This was my second visit and I highly recommend The Celestial to anyone.

Tags: late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Very disappointing

Dined on January 2, 2016

My husband ordered his steak medium well, and it came out medium (very pink in the middle). Not a great flavor to it, either. I ordered the sea bass, and it was overcooked and not seasoned well. The wine was good, and we had a nice view of the city. We will not go back to this restaurant or recommend it to anyone.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as always. Better than The P ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Outstanding as always. Better than The Precinct.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Loud

Dined on December 30, 2015

We made reservations on line and they tried putting us upstairs in a very loud bar room. We were switched to dining room but the chair was broken seat. Needs some upgrading for the quality of four stars.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Waiter

Dined on December 24, 2015

We had Victor and he was outstanding He was personable and was on top of everything. The young man who was his helper did a good job also and handled himself well as he was younger

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Christmas Eve dinner with family of 5, b ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

Christmas Eve dinner with family of 5, been a long time since I dined at Celestial (guessing 20+ yrs) day of, went on line and read recent reviews. Very nervous from poor reviews almost canceled the reservation, glad we didn't. Had an early reservation, it wasn't too crowded when we arrived, were seated at a nice table on the glass, beautiful day, great views and city sunset. In our area it appeared that there was one main server, she had some help and did a great job, for food I had the bone in rib eye special, pricy at $70 (much more than steaks on menu), but one of the best I've had in the city including; Ruby's, Carlo & Johnny's, Embers and Tony's. Family was happy with shrimp and pasta, sea bass and petite filet, all done to their requests. Really like that celestial allows you to bring your own bottle for a corkage fee ( wish more in town would do) , Brussels sprouts l and duck fat fries were fantastic sides. I agree the restaurant could use a little TLC, looks a little tired, carpets should be cleaned/replaced (only reason I even looked was from other reviews) and windows could use a cleaning( guessing not an easy thing to keep up) , when busy, I can see were service may be an issue although not an issue for us. Not sure if the 20% gratuity for party of 5 was standard or a Xmas eve thing, that was the biggest negative of the evening. Can't beat the view, arguably best in town, we had very good food, very good service, and a nice Christmas Eve meal. We will be back.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great evening

Dined on December 20, 2015

We haven't been to the Celestial for quite some time. The food was very good. The steak is not great but the side choices are excellent with many of those only seen on their menu and not available at any other restaurant. The view is amazing. It's a little hard to find. The bar seems a little limited in choices. I would say you get great value for the money.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

celestial mt adams

vip
Dined on December 18, 2015

this place is outdated. patrons were sparse. the waiter was very rude and hard to understand due to his accent. the restaurant has no drinks menu, wine list or dessert menu. the dessert was described very differently than what arrived. this Christmas dinner with friends was not all that is should have been . my friends and I will not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celestial birthday dinner

Dined on December 18, 2015

My son treated me to a wonderful birthday dinner at the Celestial. The food and service were awesome. It is certainly a birthday I will always remember. We thoroughly enjoyed the scenic view of the city. The atmosphere was great. I enjoyed the fact that it is a dining experience geared toward adults rather than families with small children.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent.

Dined on December 15, 2015

The staff was very accommodating to us. They were able to get us in and out and to our play on time! Food was wonderful and the view was priceless.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it here...

Dined on December 5, 2015

We go to the Celestial every year for our anniversary and especially since we have been making reservations through Open Table, we have not been disappointed. We always request to be seated in a certain part of the restaurant and that works out nicely. They also recognize us with a special dessert for our anniversary.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1

dinning experience

Dined on November 28, 2015

we were seated in the incline room which we initially thought great but waiter was not used to waiting tables i guess no decaf coffee ran out of salads and drinks and wine arrived very untimely or not at all manager never visited table to see if everything was ok overall bad experience soup cold and 2 of the 3 entrees were not satisfactory at all served poorly and one was too bland overall bad experience we will not be returning tom

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.