About The Celestial Steakhouse

1071 Celestial Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Four star, Four diamond dinning with a stellar view of the city.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4;00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Monastery Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 241-4455

Website:
http://thecelestial.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Free private parking lot across the street from the restaurant. Valet parking option.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ribeye Steak - The Celestial Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH
Ribeye Steak - The Celestial Steakhouse, Cincinnati, OH

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Celebrate the holiday season with The Celestial! Enjoy a corporate four-course dinner in one of our private rooms for 15% off when you reserve before November 30th!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Incline: located above the lounge, seats 20-60 guests. The Berkshire: Located in the main dining room, seat 10-26 guests. The Cambridge: Located in the main dinning room, seats 10-24 guests. The Ascott: located in the main dinning room, seats 6-10 guests.

The Celestial Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Scenic View (43)
Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (29)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Cozy (7)
Live Music (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Historic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Dancing (3)
Waterfront (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
962 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unfortunately 6 waiters and half the kit ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 11 hours ago

Unfortunately 6 waiters and half the kitchen staff quit at 730pm on Saturday, Dec 10th 2016. Our waiter was great, but after 2 hours without any food (only bread) we had to leave. The manager was very unfriendly too and yelling at his employees. About 10 couples were leaving early too and everybody was talking about how poor the service was. Unfortunate because this place is usually great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

No food for 2 hours, not even bread!!!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 12 hours ago

No food for 2 hours, not even bread!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Forget how wonderful this place is!!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Forget how wonderful this place is!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

20% autograt on a table for 5 resulted i ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2016

20% autograt on a table for 5 resulted in a $120 tip for a slow waitstaff that we had to ask three times for bread. If you take out the wine that was almost a 50% tip on our food order. #feelingfleeced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The Celestial was very nice, the view wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The Celestial was very nice, the view was great. I bought a Cincy Saver for the night, unfortunately we could not use it on a Saturday (still don't understand that policy, though it is noted on the certificate- I overlooked this). I would not have come if I did not purchase the coupon, so that was disappointing. The steak was great, but I did not find that my meal stood out more than other steakhouses I have been to. I love a good "Oscar Style", but I found the toppings here a little over the top (a great steak speaks for itself!) Overall we had a nice experience, and we had a great view. My mom was happy, and that's the most important thing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Celestial Steakhouse bills itself as ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The Celestial Steakhouse bills itself as ‘…Cincinnati’s only “Four Star” & “Four Diamond” award winning steakhouse. The Celestial Steakhouse is a business-casual, fine-dining restaurant and lounge offering excellent cuisine through a diverse menu, stellar service…’, from their website. I experienced neither excellent cuisine or stellar service.

My wife and I went there early Sunday, November 27th, for our anniversary. It was not crowded at all. There were two other tables and a group. Maybe 12 people maximum. Over the course of our dinner, I noticed at least two servers. We ordered simple drinks and it took a long time to get them, especially with the size of the crowd and wait staff. We both ordered steak. My wife a filet and an Oscar filet. They took a long time coming. Both were undercooked. We ordered them medium. I found it hard to believe that a “…Four Star & Four Diamond…” steakhouse would undercook both steaks. My wife sent hers back. I like my a little redder than she does, so I kept mine. The steak was warm. The garlic mashed potatoes were less warm and seemed to have a crust. There was very little crab on the top of my steak. It looked more like a couple of crumbs of blue cheese. When they finally served my wife’s steak, I was almost done with my meal. I ate it because I didn’t want it to get any colder. The second time around the steak and potatoes were much better.

I left a message for the manager to call me. I didn’t want to have a conversation then, because we had other plans. As of now, I have still not been contacted.

It is my recommendation that you do not have dinner at Celestial Steakhouse. For the price, there are several other steakhouses in the city where you can get a great steak and service together.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great steaks and ambience that is for su ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great steaks and ambience that is for sure. Only recommendation is to upgrade their Blue Point Oysters . They were teeny timy. Smallest I have EVER seen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was mediocre at best. For 120 f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our food was mediocre at best. For 120 for two people we expected a little more. The quality was poor, the food boring and overall it was disappointing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Outstanding atmosphere and service! Food ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Outstanding atmosphere and service! Food was absolutely wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Professional staff, great food.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Professional staff, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak I've had in a while. Wonderfu ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Best steak I've had in a while. Wonderful service. Incredible view.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great view, very professional ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Good food, great view, very professional and elegant service. We'll be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were extremely disappointed in the fo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were extremely disappointed in the food quality. We both had the surf & turf. The lobster tail was overcooked, dried out, and charred from the grill. The filet was not tender, was cooked to medium rather than medium rare and was very charred on the outside. The meal tasted 'burnt' for lack of a better word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

There wasn't anything exceptional about ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

There wasn't anything exceptional about the food. The price is certainly just for the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

We were celebrating our 46th Wedding ann ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were celebrating our 46th Wedding anniversary . Took advantage of the cincysaver so cost would be more affordable. Looking out over the city at sunset was amazing. We were one of two tables occupied at 6pm.. early dinner?. The medium- well filets were more like "well done" and charred. Dry , but edible. We are not ones that send food back unless totally nonedible. We were given a delicious serving of chocolate cake on a beautifully decorated plate and a 5% disc. for our special event. Would return for special celebration.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My fiancé and myself where very disappoi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My fiancé and myself where very disappointed with the meal. We had heard good things about The Celestial Steakhouse. Since my fiancé is a steak man I wanted to surprise him with going to The Celestial Steakhouse after visiting the Cincinnati Art Museum . We had to send the mushrooms back because all you could taste was the garlic. The server did replace the mushrooms with a new serving, which was to our liking. The sweet potato casserole was "Terrible". It had no taste of sweet potato whatever. I told the server about it, but all he did was apologize, but didn't offer a replacement or to remove it from our bill. that night.

The night lights were beautiful from where we were setting and the service was great, except for the sweet potato issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food with the best view in town!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food with the best view in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful!we had not been to The Celesti ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful!we had not been to The Celestial in many years and it was as good as we remembered.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is good - our server was not the be ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food is good - our server was not the best - took a while to get menus

glass of wine had a fly in it, sent it back came - back with a fly in it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Had dinner with a friend visiting from o ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had dinner with a friend visiting from out of town. It was perfect for catching up, seeing the beauty of the city and the food and wine were perfect. The waitstaff was very accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We haven't been to the Celestial for yea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We haven't been to the Celestial for years; we were very happy to give it another look. The atmosphere was casual but very up scale. The views are to die for; 180 degree view of the Ohio River, Downtown Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky. Food was excellent, large bar area with more views. I would recommend to anyone looking for great food and river views of Cincinnati.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious steaks, beautiful view of down ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Delicious steaks, beautiful view of downtown Cincinnati, and quiet atmosphere. I always try to visit The Celestial when I'm in town to visit relatives and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not a very enjoyable experience ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was not a very enjoyable experience. My steak came out not cooked to order so they sent back and I waited a long time while my date was almost finished with his meal. The waiter was extremely busy with too many tables but did his best. There was a group in the next room that were extremely loud so it was annoying. I will not go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

There for our 5th anniversary. Some spec ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2016

There for our 5th anniversary. Some special requests were not obliged. Food delivered 10 minutes apart. Disappointing for a very special occasion. Might want to do some deep cleaning on the windows and chandeliers too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food is excellent and the service is top ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food is excellent and the service is top notch. Incredible view of the Cincinnati skyline and downtown area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, everything was good. The table ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Overall, everything was good.

The table location and view was great.

They could use a person to help keep water glasses full.

The Celestial is getting a little run down. It could use a makeover.

The two tiered bar area is very nice.

All food items were good. The house salad was a little sparse.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The server was very friendly and took pi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The server was very friendly and took pictures of me and my date with the sunset view. The food was not up to par at all. If I pay more than $40 for a steak then I expect higher quality. My 8 oz filet was stringy, over cooked, and had a thick burnt char covering outside I don't plan to ever return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Must have seen better days. Not much goi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Must have seen better days. Not much going on at 7 on a Saturday night. The service was sub par. We were seated looking over top of a couple that had prime viewing seats. Very strange seating arrangement. Wanted some Riesling and had few choices. Didn't like the flavor and the waiter seemed offended we didn't reorder any more alcohol. The steaks were excellent ,but for 125 you would think you would get a salad at least ,tried it, but never again.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Tonight we heard that Cybele McGazi was ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Tonight we heard that Cybele McGazi was playing. Dropped previous plans and made reservation. Although a small crowd it was mighty. We sat there for 90 minutes plus. Talking about how to bring more friends in for a Wednesday night of fun. Enjoying everything until the last 30 minutes . Then some loud mouth local started trying to coach the performer. In fact the last 10 minutes stood over her and took over the piano. When we asked to speak to the manager. The response was well she finished at 9.30 pm anyway. Not an appropriate response in my opinion. Certainly will plan another visit and will re-evaluate then.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

I am on the fence regarding recommendin ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I am on the fence regarding recommending this establishment.

The service was disjointed with multiple servers throughout the evening. I got the feeling that no one was there to make sure I and my guess had an enjoyable evening.

There also seemed to be a long time between courses and when the final course arrived it was barely room temperature.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We had a pleasant evening - it was like ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We had a pleasant evening - it was like going back in time. Very quiet - none of the constant background chatter found in contemporary bars/restaurants. Attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great view and great service. Celebratin ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Great view and great service. Celebrating relative's 81st birthday. Helped make our occasion memorable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been here before and everytime i ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We have been here before and everytime is phenomenal. Our waitress, Alex, was very good, friendly and efficient.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. Great waiter ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was outstanding. Great waiter service and view overlooking was also great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed when dinning here. If ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Never disappointed when dinning here. If there was something negative to write it would be the restaurant needs some updating.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The Celestial sits atop Mt. Adams with a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The Celestial sits atop Mt. Adams with a great view of downtown Cincinnati. The window arrangement in late afternoon puts you in direct sunshine which can be uncomfortable for any person looking into the sun or feeling its heat. Prices are high for the level of decor since I paid about $120 for dinner for two and my date had a salad! It would appear that maintenance on the wood surfaces is in need of repair for some surfaces. The food was excellent, but you would expect that for a $38 8-ounce steak.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

I go to The Celestial a couple of times ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I go to The Celestial a couple of times a year and normally rave about their food, but this was a disaster. It was my birthday and I was looking forward to the lobster bisque, which is Normally the best in the country. This time, a can of Campbell's tomato soup would have been better!!!! No lobster, no flavor, have I mentioned a can of soup? My husband's medium steak was Well-done, Carmelized Brussel sprouts were sitting in a soup full of liquid, certainly not Carmelized, and mashed pots were Luke warm. Manager took off my husband's dinner, but we still had to pay $100 for my dinner, which was just ok. Not sure what happened in the kitchen other than it completely fell apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

We went to The Celestial after researchi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We went to The Celestial after researching some different restaurants on Open Table. I am so glad that I did. We were celebrating our 22nd wedding anniversary and this restaurant couldn't have been a more perfect choice. The ambiance, service and food were all outstanding. The view was spectacular! Our server even brought us out a dessert since and volunteered to take our pic as a remembrance. We left with such a good feeling that we definitely recommend and will go back even if we are not celebrating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best view in town from the top of Mt. Ad ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Best view in town from the top of Mt. Adams over downtown, river, and Kentucky. Steaks are still awesome and the service is still outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent view food service, atmosphere ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent view food service, atmosphere , unsurpassed

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.