About The Carolina Strip Club

902 Gervais St. Suite C
Columbia, SC 20201
View Larger Map

The Carolina Strip Club is the newest steakhouse to hit the scene in the Historic Vista of Columbia, South Carolina. Within short walking distance of the Capital, four star hotels, the Colonial Life Arena, the Metropoliton Convention center, the Koger Center, and chic nightlight, we offer the best steaks, seafood, and burger in town! As you enter you will realize that our playful name stops at the door as a well-trained, fine-dining staff prepares you for a culinary experience that offers a classic steakhouse feel with a young professional atmosphere. Make your reservation today!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm, Sunday 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln St & Gervais St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 764-4017

Website:
http://www.carolinastripclub.com/

Entertainment:
Our feature entertainment is our favorite local pianists providing you with enjoyable, lively, and romantic dinner ambiance.

Catering:
With advance notice, we are happy to accommodate your business by bringing food to you! We offer our full menu, in addition to anything that our chef can prepare for you to make your event special.

Parking Details:
We recommend parking in our local garages and taking a short walk to us! Should you have any further questions please give us a call at 803-764-4017!

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
visit us online at www.carolinastripclub.com for more details!

The Carolina Strip Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Columbia
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

special occasion (13)
good for groups (7)
romantic (7)
See All
neighborhood gem (4)
fit for foodies (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (2)
notable wine list (2)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Shanna was an excellent waitress-very at ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Shanna was an excellent waitress-very attentive but not intrusive. Jed, the chef, was very personable and accommodating. We both had the small ribeye-cooked as we requested and seasoned appropriately. The collards are the best in town! My favorite item, however, is the crispy shrimp appetizer-with the pickled ginger, I could make those my meal. We find this to be one of our favorite restaurants in Columbia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very quiet, nice piano playing, food was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very quiet, nice piano playing, food was pretty good, not the best steak in town, but solid. The collard greens were on point however! Our table was a 2 top, and was between a tall table and the door to the kitchen, so probably the least ideal spot in the whole place. We were very envious of many of the other tables. Other than that, it was a great date night location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

My friend and I both got the filet migno ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My friend and I both got the filet mignon. It was decent and the rest of the food was pretty good. Service was great. They had a gentleman playing softly on the piano to provide that more intimate experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Salmon was delicious but the risotto was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Salmon was delicious but the risotto was like glue. Husbands steak was perfectly cooked but very fatty. Wine was overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The waitress, bartender/manager and two ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The waitress, bartender/manager and two customers thought it would be appropriate to continuously inform my date they thought he was good looking and if he and I were a couple. It made the dinner uncomfortable to say the least. Very inappropriate for staff to engage in and instigate this type of behavior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The Trio (steak, chicken, shrimp) appeti ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The Trio (steak, chicken, shrimp) appetizer was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

This visit our server Shanna offered an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This visit our server Shanna offered an enjoyable and relaxing experience after a long day. I always leave excited for our next visit!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Love it!! The food was great and fillin ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Love it!! The food was great and filling. The atmosphere was nice and service was dynamic. Will definitely be dining there again

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steaks!!! Enjoyed the live pia ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent steaks!!! Enjoyed the live piano tunes!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special occasion at Carolina Strip Club

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Nice ambiance very friendly service the ribeyes steaks had good grill flavor the asparagus were juice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The only problem we had was how long it ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The only problem we had was how long it took to get the food! It was an hour before we got appetizers and another hour to entrees. We know it wasn't the waitresses fault but the there were very few other patrons in the restaurant so there is no reason it should have taken that long. We love the food there and were glad it wasn't busy so we could enjoy conversation but it was ridiculous for the food to take that long to get to us!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We had 7:00 reservations on a Friday to ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had 7:00 reservations on a Friday to celebrate our anniversary and let our 8 year old daughter accompany us. This was our first visit. The server was so nice and made our little girl feel welcome as well. The piano player was a great touch. We had the green bean fries with wasabi ranch which were addictive! The bread was delicious!!!! The manager came over to speak with us and make sure all was well. She was very personable and even sent over 2 glasses of champagne for my husband and me for our anniversary. They prepared a plain burger for our daughter but wasn't seasoned for our kid. She can be picky and I didn't expect a kids menu or kid friendly menu so not an issue but just be aware of yours is like mine. The sides were very tasty and the proper temperature when brought out. They were collards (my husband raved), Gouda Mac n cheese, roasted brussel sprouts, and garlic mashed potatoes. My husband had the 12 oz NY Strip and said it was just average. I had the 6 oz filet and ordered it medium but was medium well. It had good flavor but was dry to me. All in all, I'm not sure we will return even though everyone was so great. The food just wasn't enough to bring me back for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Mix in some bread.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Mix in some bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Of course, it is a steak restaurant, the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Of course, it is a steak restaurant, the best choices will be steaks.

The remainder is so so, the starters lacked some freshness, particularly the soups, probably in the warmer for too long, turning saltier and thicker.

The ribeye was reasonable, the temperature was correct, and it was aged, I would prefer a longer dry age.

Service was good, not intrusive and cordial. The ambience is tradicional and dated with wood paneling and dark.

Overall, a reasonable place, but not my first choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Terrible experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were there with our family celebrating our daughter's graduation from South Carolina. We had a party of 6 and were shown to a booth that was not big enough. We were given a chair to put at the end of the table. OK. The room we were seated in was very dark. As the daylight faded it became clear that our table would be very dark. We asked about the lights and our waiter said they didn't work, but offered to get us candles etc. Another party was seated and their waiter turned on another set of lights, but our table was still in the dark. We then moved to the next table which had a little bit better lighting. We ordered a bottle of wine and our dinners. My daughter and I ordered the Tuna. Our waiter recommended it be cooked barely seared. We agreed. When our food arrived her tuna was cooked completely through. Mine was a little better, but was no where near barely seared. We ordered another bottle of wine. No luck. They didn't have another bottle. Our waiter was gracious and none of it was his fault. There are some serious flaws at this restaurant and it was expensive. I am happy to pay for good food and a good experience. This was not it. I would recommend you stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Great service and dinner, would highly r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great service and dinner, would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a find. Enjoyed every bite. We h ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

What a find. Enjoyed every bite. We had a wheelchair in our party they were very accomadating and made sure we were comfortable. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and awesome food.

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

We hosted a business dinner in April 2016 for 12 people in the private room. The service was great; the water glasses, drinks and appetizers were consistently flowing. There were only a few food options but everyone loved what they ordered. The appetizers were good but difficult for groups, meaning they were not finger foods, small and there were no chips or bread with them. We had our annual meeting here last year as well. I enjoyed the private room much better, the table was in a square and you could see everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The name catchs your attention

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The strip steaks were flavorful and the salads and she crab soup were tasty. The service was a little spotty and it was a slow night in the restaurant, but all in all an OK experience. We were told later that there were better steakhouses in Columbia, but we had a pleasant meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Good steaks without the noise

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We celebrated a birthday here in March. The steaks were excellent albeit a little on the salty side. The service was attentive. Plus, they treated my 7 year old with appropriate respect. The only thing I would ding them on is that there are several "premium" sides and salads that we weren't told about (or that was mentioned in the menu). There is a 2.00 up charge for these items. Any time you have that, it should always be mentioned by either the server or the menu. Otherwise, I would return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was great. Very nice, knowledgab ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Service was great. Very nice, knowledgable and his timing was perfect. Steaks were superb.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Fabulous!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

This was our second visit to Carolina Strip Club and it was as fabulous as the first time. The staff is wonderful, food amazing and environment fabulous. If you haven't been, this is a must try place!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible. We waited for ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

The service was terrible. We waited for over 20 minutes to order and our food took over an hour and 15 mins to come out after that. We ordered 2 medium rare filets, neither was cooked correctly (both way over) and the place was empty. Also, the qualiry of yhe food is not on par with other similarly priced steakhouses. Outback and longhorn have better quality. The servers did not even come by to refill water or drinks while we waited. Place is over priced, do not waste you time kr money. No compensation was offered by the restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

We had the Spinach and Prime Rib dip appetizer, it was EXCELLENT!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great Service, Good Food

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Arrived and reservations were ready. Got seated and ordered drinks. Food selection was good.as well as service thanks to Vale. Food presentation was good, and steaks were cooked exactly as ordered. Were not rushed to finish and leave. Great spot for a good steak and conversation with friends.

Only wish they had Valet Service since parking around there is a bit difficult.

Would return, and have told other about this hidden treasure.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We travel to a lot of different places a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We travel to a lot of different places and eat at some of the finish restaurant s , your food has always been wonderful .

Service was not good , slow . With a little re-decorating and a new waiting staff , your restaurant could be excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Valentines weekend

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Took my granddaughter on our annual date. She loves steak and ordered the filet with crab, I had the prime rib. Neither she nor I were impressed. The prime rib had a slightly odd smokey flavor. The salad greens were about 2 days past prime. Service was fairly slow and somewhat indifferent. We were in the upstairs room and they had several TV's on with basketball games. Will not go back.

Overpriced for what was served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Overall a great experience. Temperature ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Overall a great experience. Temperature was cool at the start but as the restaurant filled up it got warmer (evening of 1/14/2016)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is excellent; parking not so much.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

Parking is a real challenge. There is no valet service available. It's located in the busy Vista area of Columbia SC. They are considering options to offer valet service in the future. Hopefully it will happen.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OK food, more training for service

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

My wife and I ordered rare steaks. They were well seasoned and were rare. However the sides of pasta were ice cold. The server was friendly but needed training. Did not know how to serve drinks and appetizer dishes were still on the table after the entree dishes were cleared. The kitchen was somewhat slow. This place has potential but needs work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Service good but seedy

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Seedy need update. Food marginal for price. Cold spaghetti

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

It's good we had the Restaurant Week special.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

First the good stuff: My favorite late 60's and early 70's background music! The filet mignon was fantastic and cooked to perfection. The accompanying mushroom risotto was excellent. The shrimp that accompanied the steak were forgettable. The house pinot noir was good and a generous pour.

Now the not-so-good stuff: The she crab soup was horrible. It didn't bear any resemblance to the Southern she crab soup that I have eaten and loved my entire life. Traditional she crab soup should be rich and creamy, with lots of pieces of crab (and sometimes shells!) and served with sherry. This soup, whatever it was, was thin and dark brown and peppery, with only a few slivers of crab. They offered bananas foster as a dessert option (not part of the Restaurant Week special ). It is one of my favorite desserts, so I was thrilled to see it on the menu. This bananas foster was good. But it only had a few pieces of banana and a small scoop of ice cream and was hugely overpriced at $9.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Some-what Hidden Gem

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

My first visit in 2014 paved the way for many happy returns. The atmosphere is that of the old steakhouse genre...dark, warm, private and moderately quiet. I've only eaten in the bar area, but the same looks like it holds true throughout. Always a fabulous steak, I think the ribeye I had this past week may well have been my all time best. Do it, treat yourself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was not overly impressed. The location ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

I was not overly impressed. The location is great but that's the best that I can say about this restaurant. The food was bland and did not appear nor taste fresh. My steak was steamed not seared. The service was not up to par and they were only moderately busy but she was very nice! The atmosphere left a lot be be desired. Management was a bit aloof and did not appear genuine. The prices were not worth the food or service. Overall I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone and would probably not visit it again unless there were some major changes...starting with Mgmt. and the kitchen staff. I've had better food and service at Longhorns.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

*Good Food, Great Price*

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

We have visited Carolina Strip Club previously and knew the food was great! We brought my in-laws for a post Christmas dinner and they enjoyed it as well. The only issue was that there was a group of about 40 people in the upstairs so the kitchen was a little slow. Our server let us know that early on and kept us updated about delays. If you are looking for a great steak at a great price, this is the place! The salads and sides are pretty amazing too! I highly recommend Carolina Strip Club to anyone visiting the Columbia area.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Romantic setting paired with live piano

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Romantic setting paired with live piano

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Carolina Strip Club

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

The food, service, and ambiance was very good! We went here to celebrate a graduation with family members. Everyone enjoyed their meal and experience at the Carolina Strip Club!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fit for a foodie

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

The service was impeccable Sam was attentive and very personable. I had the 20 oz ribeye with the Gouda Mac it was one of the best meals I've had. My wife had the salmon with the mushroom risotto it was phenomenal. Over all this place was great and even better value because the portion sizes are huge.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Could have been better...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

My husband and I had dined in the space when it was another named restaurant. The paint and decor are very basic. The outdoor space would be nice for drinks, but not sure if that is the business they are going for. Yes, there are white table cloths (inside). Yes, there are steaks. The menu is printed in both light and lighter inks. The steak choices were printed in light ink, and the prices were printed even lighter. Lighting is dim. Do not assume because the space looks like a pub that the prices are in keeping with pub food. My porterhouse was $41.00 with one side. It was a 20 oz steak, but there was a good bit of gristle, fat, and bone.My husband opted for the filet which was $28.00 . He didn't complain, but didn't rave either. I expect that many people will go, have an ok meal, but not return as regulars.We had to ask for bread, although there were bread plates set up on the table. The core end of the romaine was left in my Caesar salad, which I would not expect in an upscale restaurant. Our waitress was nice. There is a large number of restaurants in the Vista area, which have steaks on the menu, like DeVino's, Motor Supply Company, Oak Table, Colas, Blue Marlin, Ruth Chris, etc. There were very few people there on a beautiful Friday night evening. Not sure if their reputation is getting around in the Columbia area, but better meals can be had elsewhere and more appropriately priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Disappointed

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

After much hype, we tried the Carolina Strip Club. It was early evening, but we were told several items were already not available. There was hardly anyone there yet. Our waiter apologized several times during our stay about the slow service and lack of selections. The steaks, for the price, were particularly disappointing. I expected a thicker cut which would have allowed them to be cooked to the desired rareness. Thin always is overcooked. My wife mentioned that her French onion soup was more like stew and did not have much flavor, nor did her rice pilaf. So many better places to get a good steak in Columbia!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.