About The Carmel Room - Rampart Casino

221 N Rampart Blvd
Las Vegas, NV 89145
View Larger Map

Steak. Wine. Cocktails. Classic.

The Carmel Room is the marriage of superb steaks, fresh seafood, contemporary cuisine, classic table-side preparations, and fine wines and spirits in the Ultra-American style.

Outstanding architecture accented by dark woods and intimate dining coves creates a comfortable backdrop for memorable gatherings of family, friends and business associates.

Complemented by a friendly, gracious service team, the Carmel Room delivers extraordinary dining experiences with a true personal touch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm (last seating at 8:15 p.m.), Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (last seating at 9 p.m.)

Cross Street:
Summerlin Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(702) 507-5955

Website:
http://theresortatsummerlin.com/dining/index.php

Entertainment:
Adjacent to the Carmel Room, Round Bar features soloists and duets nightly.

Rampart Casino's Addison's Lounge features great dance bands and headline entertainment on Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
Custom Catering.

Parking Details:
Valet service and covered parking garage located adjacent to the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
The Library at the Carmel Room offers elegant private dining for up to 18 guests. Perfect for business dinners, family celebrations and lively gatherings of friends.

Several semi-private dining coves comfortably accommodate two to six guests for initimate evenings and casual conversations alike.

Large parties, business gatherings, intimate rehearsal and wedding dinners and other custom dining functions also gladly offered. Please call us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Terry Janjua: 7025075955

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Carmel Room - Rampart Casino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Summerlin
Neighborhood Gem
Summerlin
Romantic
Summerlin
1 More
Special Occasion
Summerlin

special occasion (27)
neighborhood gem (19)
romantic (17)
See All
good for groups (13)
scenic view (11)
notable wine list (8)
fit for foodies (7)
great for brunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (3)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Since we have eaten at The Carmel Room o ...

Dined 5 days ago

Since we have eaten at The Carmel Room once a month for the last 2 years, all the servers know us. It feels special!

food5
ambience5
service5

Unexpected ambience in Vegas. Dine amo ...

Dined 5 days ago

Unexpected ambience in Vegas. Dine among waterfalls and trees! The food is top rate at a reasonable price, great Prome steaks and the staff is friendly.

food1
ambience2
service3
value1

It was indicated on our reservation it w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was indicated on our reservation it was my wife's birthday no effort was made by the staff to do their usual birthday wishes. The prime rib was very tuff, the new york steak was smaller than in the past visits to the old Carmel room. The new location has lost its cozy and upscale ambiance that the original Carmel room had. Not planning to return in the future.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Just not consistent

Dined on May 21, 2016

Been here about a dozen times because you can get comped when you play in the casino. Sometimes the food is great, but usually it isn't. It's so hit-or-miss I don't think I will go back (even for free).

food1
ambience1
service5
value1

The food was disgusting, filet full of f ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was disgusting, filet full of fat, potato undercooked.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Mother's Day Outing

Dined on May 9, 2016

Upon entering The Carmel Room and being seated, we noticed that the menu was very limited. The amount of money spent did not compare to the food food selections. It was disappointing how compressed the list of items on the menu were. The food was not that great. If you are looking for a steakhouse The Carmel Room in the Rampart Casino is not it.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Change Not For the Best

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The change in location to Ceres was a bad move. The Carmel Room has lost its charm completely. The ambiance is gone and there is no value to the dining experience. Sad to see it go!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Servers, Great Food

Dined on April 29, 2016

You always feel comfortable at the Carmel. Service is great and also the food. Been going there many years and hopefully will continue to do so. Terry and the servers treat us as family and always go out of the way to meet all needs of the customers.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jonathon

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Jonathon and the rest of the waiters were very attentive to our needs. The food, once again, was the best (!) and we had an enjoyable time. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic service and great food.

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Fantastic service and great food.

food1
ambience3
service5

Outstanding and professional svc from th ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Outstanding and professional svc from the entire staff The food was another matter; appetizers were re-thawed several times, the bisque's color was heavily laden w/none descriptive substance. The ravioli was tasteless - while the boulaibase was heavy with salmon meat so heavy that it couldn't be consumed. The highlight of the meal was the creme broulei which was very well prepared and presented. The wine list featured primarily US wines, especially when ordered by the glass

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good, food,and service! Love the ne ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Very good, food,and service! Love the new Carmel house salad! I'll be back many times!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant

Dined on March 11, 2016

I love dining at the Carmel Room I always feel special I love the new location great ambiance too. Great service too

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to Carmel Room for many years...

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

The dinner was the best ever. Highly recommend the Carmel salad with avocados plus the veal medallions with lobster. Chef Nicole really outdid herself this time and so, so artistic in the placement of food design. Our waiter, Rupert, is the best and & James is always so helpful.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service!

Dined on February 22, 2016

First time I was there. Atmosphere was quiet, great table by window. But the most outstanding thing was the service. The staff was most attentive, but not overly hovering. Food was wonderful. A little pricey for what I would normally spend for a meal out, but overall worth it. I will definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Old School With Potential; Needs Character

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I had a nice dinner here for Valentine's Day. Our server Andre was definitely old school, having worked for the Carmel Room for 10+ years. He paid us plenty of attention, made sure our wine glasses were full and kidded around with us a bit. We enjoyed him. The restaurant recently moved into a large space that has potential, with floor to ceiling glass looking at the lovely landscaping. But they've not done much with it yet--just old carpet and tables, with unimpressive chandeliers. Food was solid but in no way spectacular (also expensive). They're still working on the wine list, although we got a steal with the BV Tapestry Reserve for $85. Overall a pleasant dining experience, but they could do a lot more with the space and the food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Try It Again

Dined on February 15, 2016

People who wrote negative reviews should give this another shot. Our food was perfectly prepared, served in a timely and professional manner, and delicious. This is not a 5 Star restaurant, but it's not far off. We were advised that the room will be renovated in the near future to make it more intimate and comfortable. Staff was attentive, professional, and very knowledgeable. It's not the old "Carmel Room", but it will get better. We are locals and plan to go back again and again.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiters were superb & food delicious

Dined on February 15, 2016

Waiters were superb & food delicious

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Original Room

Dined on February 15, 2016

My Lady and I have been to the Carmel Room twice. The Original Carmel Room (about 5 years ago), and recently, at Ceres Restaurant. I remember the very Romantic evening we had 5 years ago. The Ceres Restaurant is buffet style. Yes, the food was delicious and the service was great. WHAT HAPPEN TO THE AMBIANCE???

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Very disappointing!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I had been to the Carmel Room for the first time las Oct. the food was great but the ambiance is what was a treat. Felt like old Vegas. Couldn't wait to take my husband for Valentines. When we arrived at the hotel, I could not locate the restaurant! The signs were still up but NO restaurant. After finding someone to ask, they had moved it to a completely different part of the hotel! Your site should have notified us when booking. There were NO signs anywhere in the hotel stating the restaurant had moved. It was moved to a large room where they have their breakfast buffet. There was no charm to the room. The service was slow and the food was just so so. It was a total waste of an evening for Valentines Day. Definatly will not return and have told all my friends who I had previously raved about what I thought was a true gem. Very very disappointed.

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Not what you think..

Dined on February 14, 2016

I really do not have any thing good to say about this place other then pick some place else to eat!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The night was perfect!

Dined on February 13, 2016

1st Valentine's Day together, so made reservations. The night couldn't have been more perfect and the entire dining experience was fantastic. When we arrived, they called my date by his first name, which I thought was a wonderful added touch. The bacon wrapped scallops and shrimp were to die for and the Butternut Squash was "spot on"! Thank you for a perfect evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WONDERFUL ALL AROUND

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Terry escorted us to our seats as he has always done. He came by and checked on us to make sure all was okay. It was better than okay. The food was absolutely delicious. We had a filet which was cooked to perfection and the lamb chops which melted in my mouth. The baked potato was big enough for us to share and was extremely tasty. The service was fantastic. Bashar was very attentive and we always had our water glasses filled. It was my husband's birthday and they gave him a cake with a candle and made him feel very special. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Will definitely be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

Really enjoyed food except for broccoli ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Really enjoyed food except for broccoli side - prime rib was perfect and plentiful. Decor wasn't as nice as previous restaurant location. Service was superb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Location for The Carmel Room

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

The Carmel Room has been relocated to the Ceres restaurant location in the JW Marriott Hotel, from its original location inside the Rampart Casino. It's a VERY long walk from the casino to the new spot---a little tough for those with back or hip problems- maybe a people mover transport would be appropriate... However, the service, the food and the ambience are wonderful, the room being very pretty, and not as compact as the old location, which leads to more room between dining parties. Anyway, the maitre'd, James, our server Camile, and the other staff were really nice and accomodating, making the evening a good experience. Our entrees were prepared exactly as ordered, delicious and very enjoyable. Side dishes and desserts were plentiful and wonderful. All in all, a restaurant to return to, if we can avoid the very long trek to find the place from the casino area where it used to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine in the Carmel ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine in the Carmel Room. Food is always excellent, being greeted by Terry is always is great beginning and Jonathan is a treasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Sad to say...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Well, the last time was probably the last time. The food is really great, and the staff are OUTSTANDING, I love those guys! Unfortunately, the current location is a big step down from the old location, like a mid-range restaurant with exclusive prices. It needs to have a dress code. Someone (the current owners?) seem to be doing whatever they can to ruin the experience. I'll be back when it moves back to the old location.

food2
ambience2
service3
value4

Disappointing!

Dined on January 15, 2016

New location at Marriott does not have the same ambiance as previous location in the Rampart Casino... Mixed grill was very salty; onion soup was disappointing....I used to LOVE this restaurant....maybe there's a new chef?? will not go again ...

food5
ambience1
service5
value1

destruction

Dined on January 8, 2016

They took one of the best steak houses in town and turned it into a coffe shop with outrageous prices. No atmosphere no ambience not enjoyable. We had been going every month for the last 2 years but will not be back. It is ridiculous that you charge steak house prices for a Dennys atmosphere. One of the main reasons we would go is because of the service with the employees which is no longer available because of the fact that have to walk so much further to get anything. I know I can not be the only one that feels this way because we have never gone and been the only ones waiting to be seated upon opening.

food1
ambience4
service1
value1

You're Better Off At McDonalds

Dined on January 7, 2016

For $200 for my wife and myself, one would expect a lot more. The new location is beautiful and Terry was as charming as a maître de, but that's the last good thing I can say. We sat there for a good 10 minutes before our waiter approached to get a drink order. There were only three other tables occupied. I asked for blue cheese stuffed olives in my martini but it was delivered without any. When asked for them, he apologized and promptly brought me garlic stuffed olives instead. With diner I has a glass of wine and would have ordered a second but he never returned during our diner. My $45 steak was about 1/2" thick and looked like it came out of the Promenade kitchen, the casino's casual dining restaurant for $7.95. It was dry and luke warm. My wife did enjoy her Dover Sole. The "tater tots for adults" were sent back. They were nothing but deep fried dough balls which were discussing. When the bill came, it was over $200 since everything is ala cart. I was offended. I don't mind paying top dollar for a top meal but this one was junk. I'll never set foot back into this place again. If you value your own money, stay away from this place.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Mislead

Dined on January 1, 2016

We made a reservation for The Carmel Room to celebrate New Years Eve with a nice dinner in an intimate atmosphere. Arriving at the JW Marriott we discovered the location of The Carmel Room is under construction with signs directing us to Ceres. Ceres is normally a breaksfast/brunch restaurant with a cafeteria type feel. We would of never made or kept our reservation if we had known this. The food was overcooked and overpriced. The atmosphere was cold, quiet and with no energy.

food2
ambience
service3

New Years Eve... dinner. Atmosphere ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

New Years Eve... dinner. Atmosphere was bordering on 'cheesy.' Lights too bright... furnishing average. Service average. Ordered 1xFilet and 1xSirloin. Filet was a good cut of beef, cooked to order. Sirloin was grossly overcooked, no flavor - could have gotten a better cut from 7-11's meat market, if they had one. Both requested no Yorkshire pudding; but true to form, filet came with it. Split a large baked potato which was delivered too cool to melt butter. HUGE disappointment. My recommendation: PASS

food1
ambience1
service2

Steaks were overdone and dry and the wai ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Steaks were overdone and dry and the waiters never checked back on us. A $48 dollar filet should have been perfection. Shrimp Cocktail was fishy and Rissotto was overcooked.

food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Disappointed

Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I were seated early evening on New Year's Eve. The place was quite, maybe 25% capacity. My wife had the Filet dinner, I had the Halibut. The service was absolutely Top Shelf, and the meal was fantastic, right up until the Main Course. While my wife thoroughly enjoyed her Filet, my Halibut had been clearly over cooked to the point where it was almost un-chewable. I'm sorry, but I can't recommend The Carmel Room at this time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Same great food

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

Even though the Carmel Room has changed location within the casino/hotel complex, the food and the service are as exceptional as ever. I liked the less crowded environment which means no more elbow to elbow dining experience as in their last location.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

YOU HAVE LOST A GREAT PLACE TO DINE

Dined on December 26, 2015

We have eaten at the Carmel Room many times before. Since they have moved the ambiance is gone. The service has gone down hill and one waiter came up and said I will be back to take your order and 15 minutes later another waiter came up and said I can take your order. My food was delivered cold. The mashed potatoes, steak and prawns were all cold. The Mat're'd was very pleasant and offered apologies for the bad service and food. At least someone cared. We will never go back.

food4
ambience1
service5
value4

Bob

Dined on December 26, 2015

My girlfriend and I were frequent diners at the original Carmel Room. We spent many a romantic evening dining in a quiet intimate setting. Much to our disappointment the "new" Carmel Room was less than satisfactory . The setting and noise level resembled a buffet dining experience. Our servers James and Lee were superb as usual. Unfortunately my girlfriend and I will not return to the "new" Carmel Room nor will we recommend the restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

A very nice experience.

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

A very nice experience.

food4
ambience4
service4

We had a very pleasant meal !

Dined on December 6, 2015

We had a very pleasant meal but we were surprised to learn that the Carmel Room was no longer in the Carmel Room. We were advised when valeting our car that it is now in the Ceres Restaurant. Ceres is a very pleasant room but often with not so wonderful food. The Carmel Room at Ceres is very nice with the same Maitre d' as usual, the same waiter and the same food. You should let people know where to go when they make a reservation so that they will not be surprised as we were.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5

Still a great restaurant but...

Dined on December 1, 2015

The food and service are still great, and it now has a nice view and more room, but the new digs aren't as classy as the old location.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.