About The Carlton

500 Grant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Pittsburgh, within walking distance of the Convention Center & four major downtown hotels.
A Pittsburgh favorite for over 20 years. Recipient of the Wine Spectator of Excellence 1995-2006 and The Dirona Award 2000 - 2006 (Distinguished Restaurants of North American).
The Carlton has a spectacular cuisine, complimented with an extensive wine list served by polished waiters in a beautiful atmosphere. Pittsburghers know the value of the Carlton making it the spot for business meetings to celebrations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 391-4099

Website:
http://www.thecarltonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is validated with Dinner if parked after 5:00pm in the One Mellon Center Garage (Ross Street entrance).

Public Transit:
T-Stop & bus stop

Executive Chef:
Mark Swomley

Private Party Facilities:
The Carlton offers private space to accommodate from 25 to 40 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bill, Janet or Russ: 4123914099

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Pasta
  • Scallops
  • Oreo Brownie Fudge Cheesecake
  • Mahi Mahi
  • Rack of Lamb
  • Restaurant Week
Duck Pasta
Scallops
Oreo Brownie Fudge Cheesecake
Mahi Mahi
Rack of Lamb
Restaurant Week

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 6:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Best Value
Pittsburgh
Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
7 More
American
Pittsburgh
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Best Value
Pittsburgh
Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
American
Pittsburgh
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (56)
Notable Wine List (47)
Romantic (44)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Lunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Cozy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
918 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

When you first walk in you only smell be ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 3 days ago

When you first walk in you only smell beer and ciggs..we were sat quickly. The server was non existant, the bus boy got our drinks. I was suprised we were sat without a menu. This place didnt feel friendly. I felt like we were not welcome. The food was ok. Except mine was burnt. My son has a lot of allergies so i asked that he have the crab cakes and fish sticks with no sides, so of course the server brought fries with the fish and a slaw on the crab cake. When i mentioned the no sides request he said well it comes with it.. And of course he played and didnt eat it. As i looked at my bill, i was getting charged for things i didnt order. A total waste of money..will not be back. 1st and last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Excellent Service not pushy but attentiv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent Service not pushy but attentive, with a great Wine List.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful meal, and great service by Bob ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful meal, and great service by Bobby. He knew his wines, too, and recommended a great glass.

We will definitely come back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was outstanding as always. Our ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was outstanding as always. Our waiter was attentive and charming but not overbearing. This is our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Carlton has become my favorite place ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

The Carlton has become my favorite place to meet co-workers for lunch & celebrate special occasions. The service is always excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good! We each had fish dis ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was very good! We each had fish dishes! We prepared and lovely presentation ! Server was excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Carlton delivered another personaliz ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The Carlton delivered another personalized special-occasion-night-out of excellence for our family. Bobby's commendable service, along with the chef's elegant and delicious food, the warmest of welcomes by the hostess, the stylistic flare of the bus boy, and even a special visit by Russell, the manager, altogether created an unforgettable celebration of birthdays and a milestone anniversary! The Carlton staff again made us feel as warm as though we were joining them in their own homes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food and service were exc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

As always, the food and service were excellent. This is a place for adults: where you can have a wonderful meal and enjoy a private conversation. The music level is unobtrusive and the noise level is low. Service is attentive. Diverse wine list with some excellent values. Great place for a birthday or anniversary dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are originally from Pittsburgh and w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We are originally from Pittsburgh and we worked for Mellon so the Carlton was our happy hour place and special dining place etc. We had my parents 50th wedding anniversary there also.

We get to Pittsburgh about 2 times per year and I must admit you were off my radar for a few years.

i was disappointed as to the cleanliness (i.e. dust etc.) and smell of stale beer or something Not the way I was hoping my dining experience since I was at the Capital Grille the night before

Our server was attentive at first and made a good suggestion for my dinner of filet adding crab and asparagus if was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The Carlton is a Pittsburgh favorite tha ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Carlton is a Pittsburgh favorite that we have been going to for many years. Great food, great service, outstanding wine selections and attentive staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful..Consistent.. No surprises. I ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Wonderful..Consistent.. No surprises. I have been dining for business lunches at the Carlton for many years...Keep up the great work...Ron Owen

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy dinner at The Carlton an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We always enjoy dinner at The Carlton and request a table with Bobby, one of the best servers there. Their prices are reasonable and the appetizer portions are big enough for a dinner, at least for me. The only complaint I have is that they tend to overcook fish for my tastes and I never remember to ask for it to be less done.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant with consistently a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent restaurant with consistently amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, we had a great meal at The Car ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

As usual, we had a great meal at The Carlton. We went with friends and took the limo to the Brian Wilson Show. We like the new Limo Van. It is elegant and much easier to get in ad out of.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but the whole restaurant s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was good but the whole restaurant seems kind of dated. It was a week night and it was totally dead. Reminds of the big heavy lunches that used to exist in the business world about 30 years ago.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

It is always a pleasure to dine at The C ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It is always a pleasure to dine at The Carlton. This dinner was no exception. Was Restaurant Week and we had the 3 course menu including wine. All was superb. When I told our waitress how much I loved my dessert she even brought me one to take home. We always celebrate special occasions at the Carlton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Prime Rib!!! My favorite restauran ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best Prime Rib!!! My favorite restaurant in downtown Pittsburgh!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to dinner during Restaurant Week ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went to dinner during Restaurant Week . This is our favorite restaurant and the food was excellent. But the service was not as good. We were rushed through the meal even though the restaurant was not full.

We have been to the Carlton many times and this is the first time I did not give it 5 star rating in every category.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

always excellent food, drinks, and servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

always excellent food, drinks, and service!

a favorite restaurant for decades.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed Pittsburgh Restaurant Week speci ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Enjoyed Pittsburgh Restaurant Week special. Fantastic service. Good food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous as well as the win ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was fabulous as well as the wine. the only problem was our server. He took forever to even greet us and then when did he didn't even day hello he just rushed past us and said ill bring bread. We didn't even realize he was the server and not just a buss boy until he awkwardly pulled out his pen and said "ok" and stare at us. We did no see him again until the check. The manager and the rest of the staff brought our food and subsequent wine. Great exerperience all around except for the gentleman who was supposed to take care of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We went during restaurant week and order ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went during restaurant week and ordered off the special menu with the wine pairings. The food with the wine was terrific. This is one of our favorite restaurants and we can't wait to return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite. Great wine list. Food ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always a favorite. Great wine list. Food is always delicious and the service from Russell was attentive. Everything was as it should be with no surprises or complaints! Will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is restaurant week in Pittsburgh. Th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It is restaurant week in Pittsburgh. The Carlton had a Prix fixe menu with wine pairings that my wife and I chose to try. 1st course - Lobster Pierogies, very tasty, Strawberry Salad, also enjoyable we split these, each were paired with a white wine a Chardonnay. Our 2nd courses - I had the Veal Cacciatore and my wife had the Grouper. Both were excellent. Only minor comment was that the veal sauce which was atop the pasta was slightly salty. Wine pairings we a Cabernet with the Veal and Sauvignon Blanc with the Grouper. The Cabernet was my favorite. We finished the meal with sharing the dessert courses and coffee. Banana Bread Pudding served with Vanilla Ice Cream and a Chocolate Mousse Torte. Both were enjoyed. Afterward, we took a nice walk through town to the Allegheny River to put a cap on the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place to dine before catching a sh ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great place to dine before catching a show at the downtown theaters. Food always good. Service very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the Carlton, always a great experie ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Love the Carlton, always a great experience and meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was very friendly and courteou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The staff was very friendly and courteous. The food was good (my rice was a little over done, but the flavor was amazing) staff went above and beyond to make sure my fiancé had a great birthday experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a bad meal at this traditional old ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Never a bad meal at this traditional old-school restaurant in downtown Pittsburgh. We each had the Prime Rib on Saturday night which was absolutely wonderful. Flavorful, perfectly cooked and tender as can be. At $30 which includes potatoes and vegetable, this is worth every penny. The rest of menu is also reasonably priced and well executed. One of the best wine lists in Pittsburgh with very fair pricing. Be warned, this is not the spot to do tequila shots and get goofy. It's comfortable and refined with professional service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As aways, Carlton was excellent. In bui ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As aways, Carlton was excellent. In building parking validation, excellent recommendations by waiter. It is our go to comfortable place, and has been for 32 years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lunch for two. Food consistently great. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Lunch for two. Food consistently great. Service always outstanding. This is my favorite for lunch and dinner when Downtown Pittsburgh.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time dining and will definitely re ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First time dining and will definitely return! Lobster & Crab gnocchi app was delicious. Filet and Sea Bass really good as well. Douglas was our waiter and did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been to The Carlton many times. Ex ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Have been to The Carlton many times. Excellent every time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good - service as always is good. O ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very good - service as always is good. Oddly they were dismantling the room while we were eating. We had an 8:00 reservation. Kind of put a damper on the mood..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. H ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Had an elegant dark wood steak house decor with a wine list to match. We were in town from New York for the weekend and enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always have a great meal here. Service w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Always have a great meal here. Service was not the best I have had there, but still was able to get the the show on time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I hadn't been to The Carlton in years an ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I hadn't been to The Carlton in years and won't be back for many more. The service was an abomination beginning with a 20 minute wait for a menu through an even more lengthy wait for our dinner.

We did enjoy the calamari appetizer- very nice preparation. The salad came an eternity later not made with the dressing on the side so another wait ensued...

Finally our entrée came out- a very mediocre halibut dish. The manager did remove it from the bill after informing us that 11 people had raved about the halibut- they were either raving mad or starving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Wonderful food and excellent service! We ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful food and excellent service! We often call ahead to request the seafood wellington, which is something all seafood fans should experience at the Carlton.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in the world. I've dined ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of the best in the world. I've dined in many top restaurants from Hong Kong, Europe and South America.

There are very few that I would rate better than the Carlton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A very good lunch, was able to have good ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A very good lunch, was able to have good conversation with a group. Classy place

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my 2nd time having dinner there ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was my 2nd time having dinner there & the food was just as great as the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.