About The Carlton

500 Grant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Pittsburgh, within walking distance of the Convention Center & four major downtown hotels.
A Pittsburgh favorite for over 20 years. Recipient of the Wine Spectator of Excellence 1995-2006 and The Dirona Award 2000 - 2006 (Distinguished Restaurants of North American).
The Carlton has a spectacular cuisine, complimented with an extensive wine list served by polished waiters in a beautiful atmosphere. Pittsburghers know the value of the Carlton making it the spot for business meetings to celebrations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 391-4099

Website:
http://www.thecarltonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is validated with Dinner if parked after 5:00pm in the One Mellon Center Garage (Ross Street entrance).

Public Transit:
T-Stop & bus stop

Executive Chef:
Mark Swomley

Private Party Facilities:
The Carlton offers private space to accommodate from 25 to 40 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bill, Janet or Russ: 4123914099

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Pasta - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Scallops - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Oreo Brownie Fudge Cheesecake - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Mahi Mahi - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Rack of Lamb - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Restaurant Week - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
Duck Pasta - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
Scallops - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
Oreo Brownie Fudge Cheesecake - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
Mahi Mahi - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
Rack of Lamb - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
Restaurant Week - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Value
Pittsburgh
American
Pittsburgh
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Value
Pittsburgh
American
Pittsburgh
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Notable Wine List (30)
Special Occasion (29)
Romantic (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Business Meals (14)
Worth the Drive (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Historic (3)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Cozy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a pleasure to dine at the Carlton ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a pleasure to dine at the Carlton. Service( Bobby) was attentive and professional. Food as always excellent.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Carlton is our favorite restaurant i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Carlton is our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. The staff is friendly accommodating and professional. They've never let us down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place to dine. Always pleased wi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

A great place to dine. Always pleased with the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A tremendous Pittsburgh downtown restaur ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A tremendous Pittsburgh downtown restaurant. Staff is very nice and highly professional. Food and wine list excellent. Consistently, great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the Carlton several times ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I have been to the Carlton several times mostly before Penguin hockey games. Atmosphere is great, Jeff Joyce is always there and very friendly. The food is great and specials are always interesting. The Carlton has a limo that takes us up the hill to the hockey game and they validate parking even if there is more than one party driving in the group.

Great value! Awesome bar in the back for apres hockey drinks and discussions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine list. Excellent waitress. Foo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great wine list. Excellent waitress. Food was amazing. Great value. We will be back next time we are in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Authentic, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was excellent as usual. I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The experience was excellent as usual. I had the buffalo shrimp pasta which was outstanding. The only negative was they don't validate parking day during lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have been at the Carlton a few times b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I have been at the Carlton a few times before and my experience was very good.

This time we had 5:15 reservations so that we would have sufficient time for the 7:00 p.m.

Pens game faceoff. Didn't happen! Arrived and seated at 5:25, waiter showed at table 5:35, drink order made and arrived 5:40 still no menus. 5:45 received menus, 5:50 placed order,

6:05 food arrived. food was superb. No waiter to be found. Finally 6:35 bus personnel cleared

table. Waiter arrived 6:40 asking if we wanted anything else. "No time game starts in 20 minutes'' Waiter leaves and returns with check 6:50, paid with card, 6:55 received receipt, 7:05 caught shuttle to arena, 7:21 in seats 10 minutes into first period...

Suppose reservations should have been made for 3:30

Very disappointed. Waiter seemed to not be interested in our presence.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great lunchtime dining when the experien ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great lunchtime dining when the experience must be special. The barramundi is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in town for a football game and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were in town for a football game and wanted a nice sit down diner with friends. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable. Two orders for prime rib were cooked to perfection. The Carlton supplied us with a limo ride back to our hotel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great food, wine, service and amb ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always great food, wine, service and ambiance! A Pittsburgh tradition that never disappoints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Doug, the waiter, had a superior knowled ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Doug, the waiter, had a superior knowledge of the menu & his recommendations were perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A busy Friday & the restaurant was havi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

A busy Friday & the restaurant was having a wine tasting.

Very nice experience & accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our dinners at the Carlton were excellen ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our dinners at the Carlton were excellent. Food and service were top notch. They also provided limo service to our play and back. A great evening all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good and Service was A++. Will definite ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Good and Service was A++. Will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time as visitor to Pitsburgh. Had ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 7, 2016

First time as visitor to Pitsburgh. Had never seen Pompano on northern menu before. One of our party asked for an off the menu item and was accommodated. Over all excellent including being able to talk as a table of six. Great service by Enzo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a pleasure to dine at the C ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 6, 2016

It is always a pleasure to dine at the Carleton. In addition to an interesting menu with items not always found in most restaurants it is always cooked to perfection and served by attentive staff. The wine list is the best in town and the relaxed atmosphere always makes for a pleasant event

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food; excellent service. The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent food; excellent service. The food is always well prepared and well presented at the Carlton. Always a good meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and nice atmosphere. We ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent food and nice atmosphere. We like to go before the hockey games, there is a complimentary limo ride to the arena if you like!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When you first walk in you only smell be ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 26, 2016

When you first walk in you only smell beer and ciggs..we were sat quickly. The server was non existant, the bus boy got our drinks. I was suprised we were sat without a menu. This place didnt feel friendly. I felt like we were not welcome. The food was ok. Except mine was burnt. My son has a lot of allergies so i asked that he have the crab cakes and fish sticks with no sides, so of course the server brought fries with the fish and a slaw on the crab cake. When i mentioned the no sides request he said well it comes with it.. And of course he played and didnt eat it. As i looked at my bill, i was getting charged for things i didnt order. A total waste of money..will not be back. 1st and last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Excellent Service not pushy but attentiv ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Excellent Service not pushy but attentive, with a great Wine List.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful meal, and great service by Bob ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wonderful meal, and great service by Bobby. He knew his wines, too, and recommended a great glass.

We will definitely come back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was outstanding as always. Our ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was outstanding as always. Our waiter was attentive and charming but not overbearing. This is our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Carlton has become my favorite place ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The Carlton has become my favorite place to meet co-workers for lunch & celebrate special occasions. The service is always excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good! We each had fish dis ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was very good! We each had fish dishes! We prepared and lovely presentation ! Server was excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Carlton delivered another personaliz ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The Carlton delivered another personalized special-occasion-night-out of excellence for our family. Bobby's commendable service, along with the chef's elegant and delicious food, the warmest of welcomes by the hostess, the stylistic flare of the bus boy, and even a special visit by Russell, the manager, altogether created an unforgettable celebration of birthdays and a milestone anniversary! The Carlton staff again made us feel as warm as though we were joining them in their own homes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food and service were exc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2016

As always, the food and service were excellent. This is a place for adults: where you can have a wonderful meal and enjoy a private conversation. The music level is unobtrusive and the noise level is low. Service is attentive. Diverse wine list with some excellent values. Great place for a birthday or anniversary dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are originally from Pittsburgh and w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We are originally from Pittsburgh and we worked for Mellon so the Carlton was our happy hour place and special dining place etc. We had my parents 50th wedding anniversary there also.

We get to Pittsburgh about 2 times per year and I must admit you were off my radar for a few years.

i was disappointed as to the cleanliness (i.e. dust etc.) and smell of stale beer or something Not the way I was hoping my dining experience since I was at the Capital Grille the night before

Our server was attentive at first and made a good suggestion for my dinner of filet adding crab and asparagus if was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The Carlton is a Pittsburgh favorite tha ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Carlton is a Pittsburgh favorite that we have been going to for many years. Great food, great service, outstanding wine selections and attentive staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful..Consistent.. No surprises. I ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Wonderful..Consistent.. No surprises. I have been dining for business lunches at the Carlton for many years...Keep up the great work...Ron Owen

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy dinner at The Carlton an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We always enjoy dinner at The Carlton and request a table with Bobby, one of the best servers there. Their prices are reasonable and the appetizer portions are big enough for a dinner, at least for me. The only complaint I have is that they tend to overcook fish for my tastes and I never remember to ask for it to be less done.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant with consistently a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent restaurant with consistently amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, we had a great meal at The Car ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 25, 2016

As usual, we had a great meal at The Carlton. We went with friends and took the limo to the Brian Wilson Show. We like the new Limo Van. It is elegant and much easier to get in ad out of.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but the whole restaurant s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was good but the whole restaurant seems kind of dated. It was a week night and it was totally dead. Reminds of the big heavy lunches that used to exist in the business world about 30 years ago.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

It is always a pleasure to dine at The C ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 20, 2016

It is always a pleasure to dine at The Carlton. This dinner was no exception. Was Restaurant Week and we had the 3 course menu including wine. All was superb. When I told our waitress how much I loved my dessert she even brought me one to take home. We always celebrate special occasions at the Carlton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Prime Rib!!! My favorite restauran ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best Prime Rib!!! My favorite restaurant in downtown Pittsburgh!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to dinner during Restaurant Week ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went to dinner during Restaurant Week . This is our favorite restaurant and the food was excellent. But the service was not as good. We were rushed through the meal even though the restaurant was not full.

We have been to the Carlton many times and this is the first time I did not give it 5 star rating in every category.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

always excellent food, drinks, and servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 18, 2016

always excellent food, drinks, and service!

a favorite restaurant for decades.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed Pittsburgh Restaurant Week speci ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Enjoyed Pittsburgh Restaurant Week special. Fantastic service. Good food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous as well as the win ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was fabulous as well as the wine. the only problem was our server. He took forever to even greet us and then when did he didn't even day hello he just rushed past us and said ill bring bread. We didn't even realize he was the server and not just a buss boy until he awkwardly pulled out his pen and said "ok" and stare at us. We did no see him again until the check. The manager and the rest of the staff brought our food and subsequent wine. Great exerperience all around except for the gentleman who was supposed to take care of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.