About The Carlton

500 Grant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Pittsburgh, within walking distance of the Convention Center & four major downtown hotels.
A Pittsburgh favorite for over 20 years. Recipient of the Wine Spectator of Excellence 1995-2006 and The Dirona Award 2000 - 2006 (Distinguished Restaurants of North American).
The Carlton has a spectacular cuisine, complimented with an extensive wine list served by polished waiters in a beautiful atmosphere. Pittsburghers know the value of the Carlton making it the spot for business meetings to celebrations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 391-4099

Website:
http://www.thecarltonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is validated with Dinner if parked after 5:00pm in the One Mellon Center Garage (Ross Street entrance).

Public Transit:
T-Stop & bus stop

Executive Chef:
Mark Swomley

Private Party Facilities:
The Carlton offers private space to accommodate from 25 to 40 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bill, Janet or Russ: 4123914099

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (bar only), Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Pasta
  • Scallops
  • Oreo Brownie Fudge Cheesecake
  • Mahi Mahi
  • Rack of Lamb
  • Restaurant Week
Duck Pasta
Scallops
Oreo Brownie Fudge Cheesecake
Mahi Mahi
Rack of Lamb
Restaurant Week

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 6:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Value
Pittsburgh
Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
7 More
American
Pittsburgh
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Value
Pittsburgh
Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
American
Pittsburgh
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (44)
fit for foodies (39)
notable wine list (36)
See All
romantic (36)
good for groups (27)
great for lunch (18)
neighborhood gem (14)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I hadn't been to The Carlton in years an ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I hadn't been to The Carlton in years and won't be back for many more. The service was an abomination beginning with a 20 minute wait for a menu through an even more lengthy wait for our dinner.

We did enjoy the calamari appetizer- very nice preparation. The salad came an eternity later not made with the dressing on the side so another wait ensued...

Finally our entrée came out- a very mediocre halibut dish. The manager did remove it from the bill after informing us that 11 people had raved about the halibut- they were either raving mad or starving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Wonderful food and excellent service! We ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful food and excellent service! We often call ahead to request the seafood wellington, which is something all seafood fans should experience at the Carlton.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very good lunch, was able to have good ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A very good lunch, was able to have good conversation with a group. Classy place

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my 2nd time having dinner there ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was my 2nd time having dinner there & the food was just as great as the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Carlton is a great restaurant. Our ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Carlton is a great restaurant. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the wine was out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good but nothing was exce ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything was good but nothing was exceptional. For the price and the location I expected a step up. No biggie, no complaints except the butter tasted like nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Everything about this restaurant is grea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is great and is always consistent. Highly recommend for special occasions and before theater a must to enjoy limo drive over clove this place

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was amazing as always!! One of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The meal was amazing as always!! One of the best restaurants in Pittsburgh!! Wish we would have had room for dessert!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever we eat at the Carleton we have ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Whenever we eat at the Carleton we have an outstanding meal, great service and the limo to take us to the theater after dinner and to pick us up at the theater at the end of the show.

We are never disappointed, and look forward to returning to the Carleton soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food, excellent service. Atten ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fantastic food, excellent service. Attentive, not rushed. Amazing wine selection. Best meal I have had in ages. The manager paid a visit, the waiters were proffessional. There but none intrusive. The price was very reasonable for the superb quality of the food. Ambiance was spot on. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because of traffic and our plans to atte ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Because of traffic and our plans to attend an event, out time to dine was shorter than planned and shorter than what I like. Our server was aware of our plight and went out of his way on a very busy night to assure we not only had time for our meal, but enough time for dessert and still had time to get to the event on time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to The Carlton several time ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We have been to The Carlton several times, both just the two of us and with friends. Never had a bad meal or bad service. The waitstaff has always been what you expect at a high end restaurant. We always fine the menu unique and appealing, making it difficult to make a decision. Somehow we never make a wrong one.

We also love the limo service to the shows and free parking.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The first time I have ever been disappoi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The first time I have ever been disappointed at The Carlton. I had the Copper River Salmon and regret not sending it back. It was dry, tough and flavorless. I had to cut it with a knife! I will still go back to The Carlton though. This was an exception, not the norm. Our server could not have been better. The atmosphere was fine. I sat there gabbing with 3 friends for 2 hours and did not feel like they wanted us to leave.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant decor is dated, the major ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The restaurant decor is dated, the majority of the clientele is older and the atmosphere is subdued, but the food was excellent and the staff is friendly and professional. As an added bonus the limo service to the theater is great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The carlton is our go to restaurant. Goo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The carlton is our go to restaurant. Good atmosphere great staff great wine list with great food all reasonably priced. They also validate parking. Great place

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All That We Hoped For

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We picked the Carlton to celebrate our 44th Wedding Anniversary. We were not disappointed. Our exceptional experience began at the greeting kiosk and it soared even higher with each encounter with the Carlton's Associates.

The food was delectable and filling. We were treated to a delicious desert by management in celebration of our anniversary.

We will return with friends. Something this good should be shared.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone is so nice, starting with the w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Everyone is so nice, starting with the woman at the desk checking the reservation. Wait staff always pleasant and efficient, food selection is good and always comes out hot and delicious. All this with a capacity crowd of Penguin fans all season! They take care of our parking fee and provide a limo service to the game!! How can you not love this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Carlton is, by far, my favorite rest ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The Carlton is, by far, my favorite restaurant in the Pittsburgh business/cultural. I have never had anything other than an excellent dining experience in all respects.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and ambiance we're fabulous. W ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food and ambiance we're fabulous. We come here often and are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Best dining experience I've had in a lon ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Best dining experience I've had in a long time. Easily Accommodated friend's allergy requests. Service and food were top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service. We went before ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Good food and service. We went before the Pens game. It's convenient and a good value. It's a wine friendly place. Modest cork fee and great selection.

However, the room needs to be updated. The carpet is old and worn. Not a good first impression. Otherwise, it's great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had a delightful evening. The chef ma ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a delightful evening. The chef made a special vegan meal for our daughter and she loved it! We always enjoy the Carlton and the food is excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The things they do to fish is outstandin ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The things they do to fish is outstanding.

The menu is always changing with different ways of preparing the same fish week after week.

If I were wealthy I would eat here at least once a week.

The food is well worth the price.

Michael is a wonderful and friendly waiter who knows the menu and wine list inside out.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent draft beers, one service issue

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Don't remember the option of having a draft beer last time I was there but there were several options and it was hard to choose which to have.

I was disappointed that it took so long to receive the check. I asked for it when the entrees were served (we needed to leave shortly) but we sat for another 20 minutes before it was finally presented. Not sure what I could have done to get the message across, but there is no excuse for it taking more than 5 minutes - when the customer specifically requests it, they obviously don't plan to have another drink or dessert.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great "before game" dining! Delicious me ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Great "before game" dining! Delicious menu, served hot, quickly and by friendly staff. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

my favorite

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

nothing more to say, then I eat here often. many of our friends consider it the best restaurant in the burgh.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Slow service. Little attention. Not the ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Slow service. Little attention. Not the typical Carlton experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Delicious and Great Service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We don't go often but when we do, the Carlton doesn't disappoint!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Very pleasantly ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food and service. Very pleasantly surprised!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We are new to the Pittsburgh dining scen ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We are new to the Pittsburgh dining scene. We were in town to celebrate our son's engagement and found The Carlton on Open Table. We had a bit of trouble finding it as we were not aware that it was on the second floor of the BYN building. The food was well prepared and beautifully presented. The staff was very cognizant of our time constraints in order that we arrived timely for the engagement party. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The soup was about the best I've had in ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

The soup was about the best I've had in years (Beef and Bean) and Michael, our server, was outstanding.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food!!! Great perk having a li ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Delicious food!!! Great perk having a limo to the Pens game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My biggest gripe is having to continue f ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

My biggest gripe is having to continue following up with the restaurant to post points earned for the visit. It is becoming the rule and a huge inconvenience, smh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great service. Everyone was wonderful.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Great service. Everyone was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great experience. Great food. Great se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great experience. Great food. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Our server was Bobby. He was well versed in the menu and extensive wine list. Attentive and friendly. One of the best servers we have ever had. My husband and I have three children so date nights are sacred. We purposely book the latest reservation possible when we dine to avoid families. We want to enjoy the ambience and each other without hearing kids. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the hostess who seemed bored and irritated that she had to look up from her phone. The Carlton was practically empty when we got there and she seated us right next to a group with several children. The food was very good. The duck was a bit gamey but overall very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Dining at The Carlton on a weekday

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Our experience was very pleasurable. The food was excellent and the menu had many delicious sounding choices. We were attending the theater, and the server met the need to eat in a timely manner, without seeming to hurry our meal. I would recommend this restaurant very highly to anyone,

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and great service. Gre ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Always great food and great service. Great for client entertaining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, not great

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The restaurant is located inside an office building so no view to speak of. Food and service were good, not great. With so many other great restaurants to choose from in Pittsburgh, I'm not sure how this one competes. I now understand how they were able to get us in on a Saturday night on very short notice. The atmosphere is interesting, I felt like I was stepping back in time a bit. It is not a bad place to dine, just not my first pick, especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.