About The Carlton

500 Grant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Pittsburgh, within walking distance of the Convention Center & four major downtown hotels.
A Pittsburgh favorite for over 20 years. Recipient of the Wine Spectator of Excellence 1995-2006 and The Dirona Award 2000 - 2006 (Distinguished Restaurants of North American).
The Carlton has a spectacular cuisine, complimented with an extensive wine list served by polished waiters in a beautiful atmosphere. Pittsburghers know the value of the Carlton making it the spot for business meetings to celebrations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 391-4099

Website:
http://www.thecarltonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is validated with Dinner if parked after 5:00pm in the One Mellon Center Garage (Ross Street entrance).

Public Transit:
T-Stop & bus stop

Executive Chef:
Mark Swomley

Private Party Facilities:
The Carlton offers private space to accommodate from 25 to 40 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bill, Janet or Russ: 4123914099

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Pasta
  • Scallops
  • Oreo Brownie Fudge Cheesecake
  • Mahi Mahi
  • Rack of Lamb
  • Restaurant Week
Duck Pasta
Scallops
Oreo Brownie Fudge Cheesecake
Mahi Mahi
Rack of Lamb
Restaurant Week

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 6:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Pittsburgh
American
Pittsburgh
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
3 More
Best Value
Pittsburgh
American
Pittsburgh
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (60)
Notable Wine List (48)
Fit for Foodies (42)
See All
Romantic (41)
Good for Groups (30)
Great for Lunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent restaurant with consistently a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent restaurant with consistently amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, we had a great meal at The Car ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

As usual, we had a great meal at The Carlton. We went with friends and took the limo to the Brian Wilson Show. We like the new Limo Van. It is elegant and much easier to get in ad out of.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but the whole restaurant s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good but the whole restaurant seems kind of dated. It was a week night and it was totally dead. Reminds of the big heavy lunches that used to exist in the business world about 30 years ago.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

It is always a pleasure to dine at The C ...

vip
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It is always a pleasure to dine at The Carlton. This dinner was no exception. Was Restaurant Week and we had the 3 course menu including wine. All was superb. When I told our waitress how much I loved my dessert she even brought me one to take home. We always celebrate special occasions at the Carlton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to dinner during Restaurant Week ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went to dinner during Restaurant Week . This is our favorite restaurant and the food was excellent. But the service was not as good. We were rushed through the meal even though the restaurant was not full.

We have been to the Carlton many times and this is the first time I did not give it 5 star rating in every category.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

always excellent food, drinks, and servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

always excellent food, drinks, and service!

a favorite restaurant for decades.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed Pittsburgh Restaurant Week speci ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Enjoyed Pittsburgh Restaurant Week special. Fantastic service. Good food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous as well as the win ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was fabulous as well as the wine. the only problem was our server. He took forever to even greet us and then when did he didn't even day hello he just rushed past us and said ill bring bread. We didn't even realize he was the server and not just a buss boy until he awkwardly pulled out his pen and said "ok" and stare at us. We did no see him again until the check. The manager and the rest of the staff brought our food and subsequent wine. Great exerperience all around except for the gentleman who was supposed to take care of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We went during restaurant week and order ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went during restaurant week and ordered off the special menu with the wine pairings. The food with the wine was terrific. This is one of our favorite restaurants and we can't wait to return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite. Great wine list. Food ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always a favorite. Great wine list. Food is always delicious and the service from Russell was attentive. Everything was as it should be with no surprises or complaints! Will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is restaurant week in Pittsburgh. Th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It is restaurant week in Pittsburgh. The Carlton had a Prix fixe menu with wine pairings that my wife and I chose to try. 1st course - Lobster Pierogies, very tasty, Strawberry Salad, also enjoyable we split these, each were paired with a white wine a Chardonnay. Our 2nd courses - I had the Veal Cacciatore and my wife had the Grouper. Both were excellent. Only minor comment was that the veal sauce which was atop the pasta was slightly salty. Wine pairings we a Cabernet with the Veal and Sauvignon Blanc with the Grouper. The Cabernet was my favorite. We finished the meal with sharing the dessert courses and coffee. Banana Bread Pudding served with Vanilla Ice Cream and a Chocolate Mousse Torte. Both were enjoyed. Afterward, we took a nice walk through town to the Allegheny River to put a cap on the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place to dine before catching a sh ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great place to dine before catching a show at the downtown theaters. Food always good. Service very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the Carlton, always a great experie ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Love the Carlton, always a great experience and meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was very friendly and courteou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The staff was very friendly and courteous. The food was good (my rice was a little over done, but the flavor was amazing) staff went above and beyond to make sure my fiancé had a great birthday experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a bad meal at this traditional old ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Never a bad meal at this traditional old-school restaurant in downtown Pittsburgh. We each had the Prime Rib on Saturday night which was absolutely wonderful. Flavorful, perfectly cooked and tender as can be. At $30 which includes potatoes and vegetable, this is worth every penny. The rest of menu is also reasonably priced and well executed. One of the best wine lists in Pittsburgh with very fair pricing. Be warned, this is not the spot to do tequila shots and get goofy. It's comfortable and refined with professional service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As aways, Carlton was excellent. In bui ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As aways, Carlton was excellent. In building parking validation, excellent recommendations by waiter. It is our go to comfortable place, and has been for 32 years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lunch for two. Food consistently great. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Lunch for two. Food consistently great. Service always outstanding. This is my favorite for lunch and dinner when Downtown Pittsburgh.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time dining and will definitely re ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First time dining and will definitely return! Lobster & Crab gnocchi app was delicious. Filet and Sea Bass really good as well. Douglas was our waiter and did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been to The Carlton many times. Ex ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Have been to The Carlton many times. Excellent every time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good - service as always is good. O ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very good - service as always is good. Oddly they were dismantling the room while we were eating. We had an 8:00 reservation. Kind of put a damper on the mood..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. H ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Had an elegant dark wood steak house decor with a wine list to match. We were in town from New York for the weekend and enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always have a great meal here. Service w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Always have a great meal here. Service was not the best I have had there, but still was able to get the the show on time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I hadn't been to The Carlton in years an ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I hadn't been to The Carlton in years and won't be back for many more. The service was an abomination beginning with a 20 minute wait for a menu through an even more lengthy wait for our dinner.

We did enjoy the calamari appetizer- very nice preparation. The salad came an eternity later not made with the dressing on the side so another wait ensued...

Finally our entrée came out- a very mediocre halibut dish. The manager did remove it from the bill after informing us that 11 people had raved about the halibut- they were either raving mad or starving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Wonderful food and excellent service! We ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful food and excellent service! We often call ahead to request the seafood wellington, which is something all seafood fans should experience at the Carlton.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very good lunch, was able to have good ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A very good lunch, was able to have good conversation with a group. Classy place

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my 2nd time having dinner there ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was my 2nd time having dinner there & the food was just as great as the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Carlton is a great restaurant. Our ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Carlton is a great restaurant. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the wine was out of this world.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good but nothing was exce ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything was good but nothing was exceptional. For the price and the location I expected a step up. No biggie, no complaints except the butter tasted like nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Everything about this restaurant is grea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is great and is always consistent. Highly recommend for special occasions and before theater a must to enjoy limo drive over clove this place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was amazing as always!! One of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The meal was amazing as always!! One of the best restaurants in Pittsburgh!! Wish we would have had room for dessert!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever we eat at the Carleton we have ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Whenever we eat at the Carleton we have an outstanding meal, great service and the limo to take us to the theater after dinner and to pick us up at the theater at the end of the show.

We are never disappointed, and look forward to returning to the Carleton soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food, excellent service. Atten ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fantastic food, excellent service. Attentive, not rushed. Amazing wine selection. Best meal I have had in ages. The manager paid a visit, the waiters were proffessional. There but none intrusive. The price was very reasonable for the superb quality of the food. Ambiance was spot on. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because of traffic and our plans to atte ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Because of traffic and our plans to attend an event, out time to dine was shorter than planned and shorter than what I like. Our server was aware of our plight and went out of his way on a very busy night to assure we not only had time for our meal, but enough time for dessert and still had time to get to the event on time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to The Carlton several time ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We have been to The Carlton several times, both just the two of us and with friends. Never had a bad meal or bad service. The waitstaff has always been what you expect at a high end restaurant. We always fine the menu unique and appealing, making it difficult to make a decision. Somehow we never make a wrong one.

We also love the limo service to the shows and free parking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The first time I have ever been disappoi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The first time I have ever been disappointed at The Carlton. I had the Copper River Salmon and regret not sending it back. It was dry, tough and flavorless. I had to cut it with a knife! I will still go back to The Carlton though. This was an exception, not the norm. Our server could not have been better. The atmosphere was fine. I sat there gabbing with 3 friends for 2 hours and did not feel like they wanted us to leave.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant decor is dated, the major ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The restaurant decor is dated, the majority of the clientele is older and the atmosphere is subdued, but the food was excellent and the staff is friendly and professional. As an added bonus the limo service to the theater is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The carlton is our go to restaurant. Goo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The carlton is our go to restaurant. Good atmosphere great staff great wine list with great food all reasonably priced. They also validate parking. Great place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All That We Hoped For

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We picked the Carlton to celebrate our 44th Wedding Anniversary. We were not disappointed. Our exceptional experience began at the greeting kiosk and it soared even higher with each encounter with the Carlton's Associates.

The food was delectable and filling. We were treated to a delicious desert by management in celebration of our anniversary.

We will return with friends. Something this good should be shared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone is so nice, starting with the w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Everyone is so nice, starting with the woman at the desk checking the reservation. Wait staff always pleasant and efficient, food selection is good and always comes out hot and delicious. All this with a capacity crowd of Penguin fans all season! They take care of our parking fee and provide a limo service to the game!! How can you not love this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.