About The Carlton

500 Grant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Pittsburgh, within walking distance of the Convention Center & four major downtown hotels.
A Pittsburgh favorite for over 20 years. Recipient of the Wine Spectator of Excellence 1995-2006 and The Dirona Award 2000 - 2006 (Distinguished Restaurants of North American).
The Carlton has a spectacular cuisine, complimented with an extensive wine list served by polished waiters in a beautiful atmosphere. Pittsburghers know the value of the Carlton making it the spot for business meetings to celebrations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 391-4099

Website:
http://www.thecarltonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is validated with Dinner if parked after 5:00pm in the One Mellon Center Garage (Ross Street entrance).

Public Transit:
T-Stop & bus stop

Executive Chef:
Mark Swomley

Private Party Facilities:
The Carlton offers private space to accommodate from 25 to 40 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bill, Janet or Russ: (412) 391-4099

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Pasta - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Scallops - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Oreo Brownie Fudge Cheesecake - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Mahi Mahi - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Rack of Lamb - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Restaurant Week - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA

Report a photo problem

Duck Pasta - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
Scallops - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
Oreo Brownie Fudge Cheesecake - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
Mahi Mahi - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
Rack of Lamb - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA
Restaurant Week - The Carlton, Pittsburgh, PA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Notable Wine List (27)
Romantic (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Business Meals (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Historic (3)
Live Sports (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1046 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was incredible. A superb dini ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was incredible. A superb dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal in Pittsburgh! Kudos to Kevin ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Best meal in Pittsburgh! Kudos to Kevin Joyce for a job well done.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great, food was great, the o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was great, food was great, the one thing that prevented it from getting a five would be the chairs at the table were very unstable.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant week value was excellent. Me ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Restaurant week value was excellent. Menu variety very good. Wine selection and value outstanding.

Tags: Spicy, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Carlton for restaurant week. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We went to Carlton for restaurant week. Have been there many times before. The waiter did not automatically bring the restaurant week menu with the other- we had to ask for it. All food exceptional except for the short rib starter. Service was very good but very slow and we had a baby with us. We will definitely be back as this is one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I enjoyed my Dining experience. No comp ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I enjoyed my Dining experience. No complaints. I enjoyed my filer minion better than Morton's Steak House.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorites in Pittsburgh. An e ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

One of my favorites in Pittsburgh. An excellent, accommodating restaurant with a delightful staff that has stood the test of time. "I'll be back!"

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Pittsburgh Restaurant Week a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We went for Pittsburgh Restaurant Week and we enjoyed all their choices from the limited menu. We also looked at the regular menu and everything there looked good as well. Our server was great and very attentive. I'd definitely consider going back once we check out more spots around the city.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great but it to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food and service was great but it too way too long for the food to come.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I went with a group of friends from wor ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I went with a group of friends from work for restaurant week. I cannot say enough great things about our server, Russell!! He was amazing!! Our food was fabulous and we had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is consistently awesome. Win ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This place is consistently awesome. Wine list is extensive are wine is priced to be of tremendous value

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has been a city staple b ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This restaurant has been a city staple but I had never gone. It had a great deal for restaurant week so we went. It was excellent. The food was great, the service superb, it was relaxed yet elegant. Unlike other restaurants were you need to scream to be heard or where you are elbow to elbow with a stranger, this place had space and a pleasant hum. The prices were very reasonable and the wine selection is extensive. It is now my favorite place to dine in Pittsburgh

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening, as always. Love the Carlt ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great evening, as always. Love the Carlton!

Especially appreciate the window tables.

Lamb chops were amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food and excellent service with En ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

great food and excellent service with Enzo. Never a dissapointment!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again an outstanding dinner at The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Once again an outstanding dinner at The Carlton. I have dined there several times and always find delicious new choices on the menu, excellent service and a chance to actually speak to and hear my dining companions. Their shuttle service to and from the theater and free parking only add to making them a "go to" choice for city dining.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely the best in Pittsburgh. Now ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Absolutely the best in Pittsburgh. Now also a wine shop. Buy your wine to take home or drink with dinner for a small corkage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Carlton never disappoints. The food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The Carlton never disappoints. The food is always delicious and flavorful. The staff is the best.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the food was fine, as always; the servic ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

the food was fine, as always; the service was slower than it usually is. we arrived at noon, placed order about 12:10 and got salads about 12:50. Took longer that one would normally have for lunch time,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Reservation was for 8:30, showed up at 8 ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Reservation was for 8:30, showed up at 8:25, only to be told they were just seating the 8:00 reservations. No apology what so ever. We were told we could wait at the bar. The bar staff and servers argued back in forth over the bar several times. Awful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The Carlton is well known well establish ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Carlton is well known well established restaurant that is consistently always fabulous. The service, the food, and the ambiance are always wonderful and we continue to go for every birthday, Holiday, anniversary and just because.....Enzo is the top server and ensures it is always right (and im known to be picky!!). I recommend the Carlton full-heartedly and you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations for 2 at 830 on NYE. I'm no ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Reservations for 2 at 830 on NYE. I'm not sure what the point of having a reservation was-- pretty sure I could have given them any name and they would have just added it to the list. Waited at the bar. Standing room only. The bartender and one of the waiters got in an argument in front of everyone. We were not seated until 9. They were so understaffed and the overall feel of the restaurant was unwelcoming unless you were one of the obvious "regulars." Our appetizer- a lobster and crab gnocchi- was delicious. Exactly the caliber of food I was expecting based on reviews, but that is where it ended. My main course, the duck pasta, was in a sickeningly sweet sauce. I will say they did not skimp on the amount of duck. But instead of the crisp, delicious layer of fat on the duck, it was soggy from soaking up that sweet sauce. I barely ate any of it. The only consolation was that even with ordering a bottle of wine our bill was only around $100. I was excited to try out a new restaurant, but I will stick with Monterey Bay for all my special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

This was our first meal at the Carlton. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first meal at the Carlton. Overall, our experience was fair. We arrived on time for our reservation on New Year's Eve and had to wait 15-20 minutes to be seated. There was really no space to wait and the bar was full. After being seated we again waited 5-10 minutes before our server came. Overall, the service was slow. Two members of our party ordered prime rib that was excellent and I ordered a Mahi Mahi that was good. We ordered coffee with desert but our server did not ask if we wanted cream, gave us cream, nor checked in on us to see if we needed anything.

We will not return. Food was good but not good enough to make up for lack of service. Not sure if this was an anomaly for the holiday but they clearly did not have adequate staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We went for New Year's Eve, quite busy a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went for New Year's Eve, quite busy and I don't feel they had enough severs! Waited 10 minutes before we were asked what we would like to drink, 25 minutes before getting a menu and our drinks. Once we were served our dinner the steak and the fish was very hot but everything else was actually cold! We were going to send it back but seeing how we waited a little over an hour to get our meal the first time, and had reservations for an evening event, we choose to send a review! The food that was hot was absolutely amazing! Disappointed the rest was actually cold! Again, the waiter was not very attentive, I feel he was extremely busy with to many tables. He answered all our questions but was always in such a hurry. My wife and I were very disappointed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

My wife and I went for an early New Year ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I went for an early New Year's Eve dinner! Service was amazing!! The oysters and crab cake appetizers were the best!!! Prime rib was mediocre! My wife had the salmon fish which she loved!! Then we were complimentary shuttled by a limo to the penguin game!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

the Carlton lived up to expectations. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

the Carlton lived up to expectations. The food, service and atmosphere was great and I would recommend this restaurant for a great night out.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent meal, with great service. The ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent meal, with great service.

The Carlton standard.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding as always.

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was outstanding as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our go to place and once again didn't di ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our go to place and once again didn't disappoint us. Nice to be recognized by everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Carlton is absolutely my favorite re ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The Carlton is absolutely my favorite restaurant before theater in cultural district. The menu is outstanding with each choice better than the other. All the nooks and crannies are conducive to groups and create a festive atmosphere for anniversaries, birthdays or retirement or seasonal get together soon. Thank you Carlton ..You are one of the best parts of Pittsburgh!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Seasonal, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant environment, terrific service an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Elegant environment, terrific service and superb food. Wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was lovely. We celebrated a special ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It was lovely. We celebrated a special birthday and as always the food was excellent and the staff attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food and wine were excelle ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As always the food and wine were excellent. Chilean sea bass and pork chop were our choices. The chef did a great job. Enzo our waiter is the best. Efficient and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was a disappointment. Al ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The experience was a disappointment. Although the restaurant was not busy, we waited a very long time to be served. Service was very slow throughout. We were served the wrong wine and were overcharged for the bottle of wine we purchased. It was our anniversary and the experience dampened our evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

ALWAYS GREAT....." BOB " OUR SERVER WAS ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

ALWAYS GREAT....." BOB " OUR SERVER WAS EXCLLENT......ALL FOOD WAS TERRIFIC

AND PROMPT ALLOWING US TO GET THE PENS GAME AT.....7 10 PM.....

BEEF TENDERLOIN WAS AWESOME......ALWAYS OUR FAVORITE......

MR JOYCE OPERATES A WONDERFUL RESTAURANT......." THANKS "

Tags: Live Sports, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been eating here for ears. Hopefully man ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Been eating here for ears. Hopefully many more. Never disappointed

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good, as always, but servi ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food was very good, as always, but service was slow, overwhelmed by the big holiday party tables and Pens fans. The place was overbooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Our go-to spot pre-Pens games. Wonderfu ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our go-to spot pre-Pens games. Wonderful menu. Our dinner (Filet and veal chop) was superb. Our waiter, Doug, is THE BEST!! Great wines at great prices. And the Pens won!! Great spot for the holidays...very festive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect waitstaff took care of all our n ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Perfect waitstaff took care of all our needs. Didn't rush us let us enjoy our lunch. Food was prepared taste and appearance great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dining experience! Food ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Always a great dining experience! Food is great. Service superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, we had a great meal and aweso ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

As always, we had a great meal and awesome service from our favorite waiter, Bobby. Worth waiting for a table that is "his". Attention to detail - remembers what we like - attentive but not annoying!! Food is always a plus!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.