About The Carlton

500 Grant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Conveniently located in downtown Pittsburgh, within walking distance of the Convention Center & four major downtown hotels.
A Pittsburgh favorite for over 20 years. Recipient of the Wine Spectator of Excellence 1995-2006 and The Dirona Award 2000 - 2006 (Distinguished Restaurants of North American).
The Carlton has a spectacular cuisine, complimented with an extensive wine list served by polished waiters in a beautiful atmosphere. Pittsburghers know the value of the Carlton making it the spot for business meetings to celebrations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 391-4099

Website:
http://www.thecarltonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is validated with Dinner if parked after 5:00pm in the One Mellon Center Garage (Ross Street entrance).

Public Transit:
T-Stop & bus stop

Executive Chef:
Mark Swomley

Private Party Facilities:
The Carlton offers private space to accommodate from 25 to 40 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Bill, Janet or Russ: 4123914099

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (bar only), Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Pasta
  • Scallops
  • Oreo Brownie Fudge Cheesecake
  • Mahi Mahi
  • Rack of Lamb
  • Restaurant Week
Duck Pasta
Scallops
Oreo Brownie Fudge Cheesecake
Mahi Mahi
Rack of Lamb
Restaurant Week

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 6:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Carlton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Pittsburgh
Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
American
Pittsburgh
4 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Value
Pittsburgh
American
Pittsburgh
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (58)
fit for foodies (49)
romantic (46)
See All
notable wine list (44)
good for groups (32)
great for lunch (24)
neighborhood gem (15)
vibrant bar scene (9)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
873 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this restaurant is grea ...

Dined 5 days ago

Everything about this restaurant is great and is always consistent. Highly recommend for special occasions and before theater a must to enjoy limo drive over clove this place

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was amazing as always!! One of ...

Dined 5 days ago

The meal was amazing as always!! One of the best restaurants in Pittsburgh!! Wish we would have had room for dessert!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whenever we eat at the Carleton we have ...

Dined 5 days ago

Whenever we eat at the Carleton we have an outstanding meal, great service and the limo to take us to the theater after dinner and to pick us up at the theater at the end of the show. We are never disappointed, and look forward to returning to the Carleton soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, excellent service. Atten ...

Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food, excellent service. Attentive, not rushed. Amazing wine selection. Best meal I have had in ages. The manager paid a visit, the waiters were proffessional. There but none intrusive. The price was very reasonable for the superb quality of the food. Ambiance was spot on. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because of traffic and our plans to atte ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Because of traffic and our plans to attend an event, out time to dine was shorter than planned and shorter than what I like. Our server was aware of our plight and went out of his way on a very busy night to assure we not only had time for our meal, but enough time for dessert and still had time to get to the event on time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to The Carlton several time ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

We have been to The Carlton several times, both just the two of us and with friends. Never had a bad meal or bad service. The waitstaff has always been what you expect at a high end restaurant. We always fine the menu unique and appealing, making it difficult to make a decision. Somehow we never make a wrong one. We also love the limo service to the shows and free parking.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The first time I have ever been disappoi ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The first time I have ever been disappointed at The Carlton. I had the Copper River Salmon and regret not sending it back. It was dry, tough and flavorless. I had to cut it with a knife! I will still go back to The Carlton though. This was an exception, not the norm. Our server could not have been better. The atmosphere was fine. I sat there gabbing with 3 friends for 2 hours and did not feel like they wanted us to leave.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The restaurant decor is dated, the major ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The restaurant decor is dated, the majority of the clientele is older and the atmosphere is subdued, but the food was excellent and the staff is friendly and professional. As an added bonus the limo service to the theater is great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The carlton is our go to restaurant. Goo ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

The carlton is our go to restaurant. Good atmosphere great staff great wine list with great food all reasonably priced. They also validate parking. Great place

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All That We Hoped For

Dined on June 10, 2016

We picked the Carlton to celebrate our 44th Wedding Anniversary. We were not disappointed. Our exceptional experience began at the greeting kiosk and it soared even higher with each encounter with the Carlton's Associates. The food was delectable and filling. We were treated to a delicious desert by management in celebration of our anniversary. We will return with friends. Something this good should be shared.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone is so nice, starting with the w ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Everyone is so nice, starting with the woman at the desk checking the reservation. Wait staff always pleasant and efficient, food selection is good and always comes out hot and delicious. All this with a capacity crowd of Penguin fans all season! They take care of our parking fee and provide a limo service to the game!! How can you not love this place!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere!

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Great food and atmosphere!

food5
ambience5
service5

The Carlton is, by far, my favorite rest ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

The Carlton is, by far, my favorite restaurant in the Pittsburgh business/cultural. I have never had anything other than an excellent dining experience in all respects.

food5
ambience5
service4

The food and ambiance we're fabulous. W ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The food and ambiance we're fabulous. We come here often and are never disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience I've had in a lon ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Best dining experience I've had in a long time. Easily Accommodated friend's allergy requests. Service and food were top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good food and service. We went before ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Good food and service. We went before the Pens game. It's convenient and a good value. It's a wine friendly place. Modest cork fee and great selection. However, the room needs to be updated. The carpet is old and worn. Not a good first impression. Otherwise, it's great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delightful evening. The chef ma ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a delightful evening. The chef made a special vegan meal for our daughter and she loved it! We always enjoy the Carlton and the food is excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The things they do to fish is outstandin ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The things they do to fish is outstanding. The menu is always changing with different ways of preparing the same fish week after week. If I were wealthy I would eat here at least once a week. The food is well worth the price. Michael is a wonderful and friendly waiter who knows the menu and wine list inside out.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent draft beers, one service issue

Dined on May 10, 2016

Don't remember the option of having a draft beer last time I was there but there were several options and it was hard to choose which to have. I was disappointed that it took so long to receive the check. I asked for it when the entrees were served (we needed to leave shortly) but we sat for another 20 minutes before it was finally presented. Not sure what I could have done to get the message across, but there is no excuse for it taking more than 5 minutes - when the customer specifically requests it, they obviously don't plan to have another drink or dessert.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great "before game" dining! Delicious me ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Great "before game" dining! Delicious menu, served hot, quickly and by friendly staff. Thanks!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

my favorite

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

nothing more to say, then I eat here often. many of our friends consider it the best restaurant in the burgh.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Slow service. Little attention. Not the ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Slow service. Little attention. Not the typical Carlton experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and Great Service

Dined on April 30, 2016

We don't go often but when we do, the Carlton doesn't disappoint!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are new to the Pittsburgh dining scen ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We are new to the Pittsburgh dining scene. We were in town to celebrate our son's engagement and found The Carlton on Open Table. We had a bit of trouble finding it as we were not aware that it was on the second floor of the BYN building. The food was well prepared and beautifully presented. The staff was very cognizant of our time constraints in order that we arrived timely for the engagement party. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The soup was about the best I've had in ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

The soup was about the best I've had in years (Beef and Bean) and Michael, our server, was outstanding.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food!!! Great perk having a li ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Delicious food!!! Great perk having a limo to the Pens game.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

My biggest gripe is having to continue f ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

My biggest gripe is having to continue following up with the restaurant to post points earned for the visit. It is becoming the rule and a huge inconvenience, smh.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great service. Everyone was wonderful.

Dined on April 1, 2016

Great service. Everyone was wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Great food. Great se ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great experience. Great food. Great service!

food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Fabulous service

Dined on March 26, 2016

Our server was Bobby. He was well versed in the menu and extensive wine list. Attentive and friendly. One of the best servers we have ever had. My husband and I have three children so date nights are sacred. We purposely book the latest reservation possible when we dine to avoid families. We want to enjoy the ambience and each other without hearing kids. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the hostess who seemed bored and irritated that she had to look up from her phone. The Carlton was practically empty when we got there and she seated us right next to a group with several children. The food was very good. The duck was a bit gamey but overall very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at The Carlton on a weekday

Dined on March 23, 2016

Our experience was very pleasurable. The food was excellent and the menu had many delicious sounding choices. We were attending the theater, and the server met the need to eat in a timely manner, without seeming to hurry our meal. I would recommend this restaurant very highly to anyone,

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and great service. Gre ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Always great food and great service. Great for client entertaining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good, not great

Dined on March 19, 2016

The restaurant is located inside an office building so no view to speak of. Food and service were good, not great. With so many other great restaurants to choose from in Pittsburgh, I'm not sure how this one competes. I now understand how they were able to get us in on a Saturday night on very short notice. The atmosphere is interesting, I felt like I was stepping back in time a bit. It is not a bad place to dine, just not my first pick, especially for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinner at The Carlton

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Our second time at the restaurant. I have had steaks both visits and both were great. This time I had the New York strip, perfectly cooked rare, and finished Oscar style with crab and grilled asparagus. The steak was about an inch and a half thick, and absolutely wonderful. Our waiter was professional, and attentive, without being invasive. The restaurant was fairly quiet, but far from empty. Just mostly small groups and couples. This has become one of my favorite places to dine in Pittsburgh which is saying something with all the choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have a wonderful dinner at The Ca ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Always have a wonderful dinner at The Carlton, whether it's to celebrate a special occasion or to have an enjoyable dinner before attending a show or concert. The food is fabulous and the convenience of parking on site makes the whole evening thoroughly enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I had heard good things, and I was NOT let down...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The Carlton is a prime dining spot to, easily, reach a number of post-dinner show spots (the Theatre District, etc. - even venues down to the CONSOL). I had heard many good things, but I'm much more of an I'll-believe-it-when-I-see-it kind of epicurean myself. Overall, The Carlton is worthy of the praise. First off, if you're enjoying your first time here (especially on an off-hours/weekend, as we were) keep in mind that the Ross Street entrance to the BNY Mellon building is what you want. I reserve but one minor "issue" before I get into the absolutely wonderful dining experience that we had. From an initial reservation phone call, to our reception, to our server, etc. - the staff is overly rehearsed. They were extremely attentive and adept, just overly rehearsed. As for the food, I enjoyed a Mahi Mahi dinner. As a native of Florida, my expectation is to, quite literally, see the fishing craft my dinner is brought in on before it immediately hits and expert grill. That said, the dinner entrée I enjoyed at The Carlton is the very closest I've ever come to a similar experience here in the Northeast. Upon dessert, I chose to press my "Floridian" luck, and chose the Key Lime Tart. Again, I was not let down. Finally, at the conclusion of dinner, and needing to arrive to our post-dinner show in a timely manner, The Carlton offered us complimentary limousine service to the venue. For such a dining experience, my expectations were met and slightly exceeded. The Carlton offers a wonderful ambiance and panache, but, as is usually the case for us all, enjoys a bit of room for minor improvements. As a bottom line, make NO mistake, I will be a repeat client of this establishment without doubt. They are every bit worth your time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

great service with high prices

Dined on March 16, 2016

We had exceptional service but I found the prices to be pretty high for Pittsburgh. We went there because it was convenient to the Consol energy center.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Upscale dining

Dined on March 16, 2016

Joel was on his game with recommendations. My wife and I had seafood, Sea Bass & Scallops. Both were very well prepared as we like our seafood slightly cooked. Perfectly done ! I would recommend this dining experience to all. Being from Cleveland it rates as good as the fine eateries in CLE. Appreciate the shuttle to CONSOL Energy, Thank you :) Bill & Monica O'Loughlin

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite

Dined on March 16, 2016

Good food. Can be noisy when full. Excellent wine list at reasonable prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Special Occasions Treat

Dined on March 10, 2016

Want to treat someone for a special occasion? If so, The Carlton is the perfect solution. Great food, great service and a menu with a vareity of selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.