Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - Seattle

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the Cobb Building at 4th & University. Join us for happy hour Monday through Friday from 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

1301 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 382-0900

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet Available.

Executive Chef:
Josh Westcott

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Mother's Day for an exceptional prix fixe brunch and endless mimosas. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as our Pan-Seared Salmon with Citrus Crab Salad.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 24 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Good for Birthdays (28)
Romantic (27)
Business Meals (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (9)
Private Room (9)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Historic (5)
Casual (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1853 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 15 hours ago

Fantastic food and fantastic service. Worth the money for the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

I have eaten there many years but sadly I think it is going downhill.... the valet parking used to be free now they charge... We were headed to a play I was very explicit of when we needed to leave waitress was great at dropping the check and then never returned.... I don't know about all of you oh when I insisted that she run the bills so we could get out and make it to the play She instead wanted to clear the table nothing drives me more crazy then being in a hurry and not having people listen for no particular reason... I hope they get it together as this I hope they get it together as this was

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

We ordered the salad special - Tenderloin salad. Yum! It was incredible! Will definitely request it on my next visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

It was my birthday. They had a birthday card and confetti (tastefully) placed on the table when we got there. Marcus our server was professional and timely. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our brunch there was excellent from the moment we used valet parking to finishing our meal!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

So disappointed. My experience at the location in Phoenix was worlds different and better than what I encountered tonight in Seattle. While the steak was good the potato was a pathetic, dry little bump. Outrageous prices for what was delivered. I never complain about cost except when quality is not delivered. Never going back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 10, 2017

April 9th was the second time we celebrated my husband's birthday at Capital Grille. Two years ago, we dined at Capital Grille-Indianapolis and it was superb. This year, we dined at Capital Grille - Seattle while vacationing in British Columbia and the Pacific Northwest. The meal and the experience was equally divine.

We even came back the next day for lunch just to have dessert as we were too full from an excellent meal of Filet Medallions with Bernaise and Crab, mashed potatoes, asparagus, and sauteed spinach. All, accompanied by complimentary champagne and two small sample desserts.

Ben, our waiter, was wonderful. He was attentative, helpful, yet did not hover or linger in our space or intrude on our time together. The young lady and gentleman who aided him in delivering and/or removing plates, refilling our drinks, and keeping the table tidy were equally proficient.

Overall, we enjoyed another pleasant meal celebrating a milestone birthday. Thank you, Capital Grille-Seattle . We will visit you again as our travels lead.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Overall always amazing

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The steak I ordered which was your porterhouse was not that good. It says prime aged and the meat was defiantly not that. It was dry and not tender. And was lacking in flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The meal was delicious and our server (along with every other employee) were phenomenal. The only negative I have to say is that the prices were much higher than what I saw on their website so the sticker shock was a little overwhelming. Overall, we had a great evening: the cheesecake with the burnt sugar top was out-of-this-world!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Expensive for the quality of steak you receive.
Service was good, but overall food and value was lacking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food-Service--Ambience-All excellent
> The seafood platter was worth the trip and oysters were fresh and good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Our waiter this time was Oscar. He is a perfect compliment to the environment. He kept the linens free of crumbs - thank you!! My guest was running about 20 minutes late and Oscar was attentive with hot tea, the local paper and available once my guest arrived!!! Major kudos to the professional staff!

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent service and the food was delicious. This was our first time at the Capital Grille and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

They made the evening seamless from the valet parking, to hatcheck, to immediate seating to speedy service on drinks, appetizer, entree and dessert. And apart from the logistics, the food and the beautiful ambiance were outstanding. I've been coming to Seattle for over 20 years but this was my first try at Capital Grill. It will be on my must-dine list from now on!! A special kudo to the wonderful staff - a treat to be with motivated workers...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

good taste

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food, great service. Omar took care of us and didn't skip a beat. It was a weekday and busy but not over-crowded. Will be back in the future to celebrate again. It's expensive just for a date night but worth the price if you're celebrating something special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I've eaten at many different Capital Grill locations and typically I like this brand very much, however at the Seattle location I keep having the same issue which makes me not want to return. Time and again as I cross the threshold from the street to the reception area I am faced with hosts that are not well skilled in ... shall we say hospitality? For me the people in front of one's own face should take precedent over the phone. With a reservation, first come should mean first seated ... ya, my tables have always been waiting. If hosts decide to seat incomplete parties and stragglers show up piecemeal this does not put their individual accommodation ahead those parties who show up on time and complete. Lastly to the hostess from last Wednesday I would encourage you take your sourness and get your job back as a stevedore. You're not not suited to front of house work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great experience. Celebrated a friends birthday. The service was amazing, the food was great. They made my friend and me feel very special and added to the celebration!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Outstanding as always ...
Great steaks - great service - great wine list.
Valet parking makes a downtown dinner easy.
Never go wrong place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Service and food were terrific. Great servers. Steaks were cooked perfectly. No disappointments. Pricey though excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The service & food were amazing. What a fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The Capital Grille was very good - but it was VERY DARK inside. The menus were difficult to read , but everyone at the table had a cell phone / flashlight. The server was very knowledgeable and was very helpful. The food was great. All 10 of us had a great meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Absolutely perfect. Incredible food and service. Our server should train all servers in the industry. Don't skip dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic service from Deveaux. The type of service that you get from a server that understands space and professionalism. Not overbearing, was attentive to when he should come over to take order, ask how things were going, and he was very polite. The guy deserves some appreciation. On to the food: I ordered the 14oz NY strip Poivre with baked potato. It was fantastic. Cooked to perfection. My Wife ordered the Chicken and Mushroom Risotto. Risotto was cooked to perfection and the flavor was very good. Ended the night with the Flourless Espresso Cake with Raspberry..... excellent as well. Pricing is slightly high in my opinion however the service made up for it

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

All was excellent & birthday touchespecially for friend were impressive!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

food was excellent service was even better great place to entertain clients

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great ambiance, delightful staff, wonderful food, but pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It was great as usual. My friend and I love to go here because we are treated so well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

A new "go-to destination" ; everything was "right", from their concern and delivery for a Gluten-Free diner, to the Stellar Service from Christopher, to the "spot-on" luncheon !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great experience at Capital Grille! Attended lunch for a co-worker's 50th Birthday and it was wonderful. Table was decorated, had champagne on the house and the service was fantastic. Great food, great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 28, 2017

As always the service and food were impeccable at the Capital Grille.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great Atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great Tuscan wine steak and lamb. Prompt service.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

MY BEST DINNER OF THE YEAR...................from start to finish.

Steaks very high quality.........................super Martini's

and the oysters..........................oh my....

don't miss this establishment.....................YUUUUM

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The salads are overpriced. The chicken ceasar used to come in a parmesan crust but does not anymore. $20 seems to high for the current quality.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Amazing food and service every time we eat here! Our server was Rod, and he was extremely attentive! Perfect evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Regardless of location The Capital Grille never fails to provide me with excellent choice of well prepared food offered by efficient and friendly staff. I've visited locations in Chicago, Ft Worth, Denver, Ft Lauderdale and Seattle and have yet to be disappointed. A friendly hostess invites me into their warm club like environs. A server quickly gets my drink order shortly and explains their current menu and any new features. They don't have the most steaks nor the most seafood, but they do offer a wide variety of each with multiple, delicious preparations. The coconut pie is not to be missed before they offer a warm towel to wipe away any meal residue. Can't ask for much more than that.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, People Watching, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We dine regularly at this location and have found it to be great for multiple reasons, not least of which is the food itself. The folks in the back work very hard to make sure that things go right on the floor, and it pays off. Thanks to all!!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had a bad night. Usually very customer service oriented, but swamped with everyone arriving at once. Our 5:30 (arrived 5:20) reservation wasn't seated until 5:45. Staff defensive rather than apologetic. Long wait for food and wine and then everything came at once. Timing very off. Should have known when manager is doing valet! I always dine here and they usually do a very good job with great food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.