About The Capital Grille - Seattle

1301 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the Cobb Building at 4th & University. Join us for happy hour Monday through Friday from 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 382-0900

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet available after 5:00 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Josh Westcott

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for Father's Day on Sunday, June 19. Enjoy our Bone-In Tomahawk Ribeye for a celebration to remember.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM 9:45PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 24 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Steakhouse
Seattle
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (97)
romantic (62)
fit for foodies (58)
See All
notable wine list (57)
great for lunch (36)
good for groups (27)
neighborhood gem (19)
vibrant bar scene (11)
hot spot (11)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Repetitive and uneventful is the definit ...

Dined 4 days ago

Repetitive and uneventful is the definition of "boring". But just because the unchanging high level of service and outstanding food is the only thing I have received here time after time, including twice this week, I wouldn't call it boring. Call it a "must visit"

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, wonderful surprises like ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great service, wonderful surprises like free dessert and champagne for our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Evening Dining

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We have eaten at the Capital Grill several times and this was the first time that it was not a great experience. Having made the reservation on line and then confirming once by email and once as a result of a call from the restaurant we assumed that they knew we were coming. We arrived 10 minutes early and were shown to a table at the very front of the restaurant and across from the bar. It was also next to the gathering place for people waiting to be seated etc. Sitting at such an add on table our service was very slow. When I asked the the waiter he quickly put me in my place be telling me that he was busy with tables in the back part of the restaurant. The food as as usual very good but the way we were treated no so much.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyday or Special Occasion

Dined on May 21, 2016

Capital Grille is the perfect dinner spot for special occasion or just dinner out. We went with our son and his girlfriend just before the Billy Joel concert. Wonderful service, attentive to our time constraint and great food.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very close to Benaroya Hall and the staf ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Very close to Benaroya Hall and the staff is obviously well trained to be sensitive to the need to "make a show (concert/event)." We will be dining at Capital Grille again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as always! Great food, great servi ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great as always! Great food, great service, great staff, great environment. The best!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Evening at the Capital Grille

Dined on May 18, 2016

As always the food was fantastic and the service excellent. We just made one suggestion and it was done immediately. Always enjoy the Capital Grille

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They make special occasions special!

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

You can't beat this place for special occasions. They decorate the table with sparkle confetti and give you a signed card. The dessert platter that they present at the end of the meal is completely special and very, very tasty! We have had Omar as our server several times, and he is a gem. Very friendly and accommodating, personable and just an all-around nice guy. Capital Grille is my go-to place for any special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The valet parking service was excellent. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The valet parking service was excellent. The waiter was well schooled, professional, and provided specific information about each item we asked about. Very nice experience and we'll return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an exceptional restaurant in eve ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This is an exceptional restaurant in every way. Service is exceptional, food great, we are especially found of the artichoke soup. But honestly everything is great. Good value for the cost. We have tried several of the shareable sides all of which are excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classy joint

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Thank you for making our anniversary special . Classy place, great food , great service .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steakhouse

Dined on May 9, 2016

Our new best Steakhouse. Great menu selections. We had six people in our party and everyone ordered something different. The steaks just melt in your month and the Chilean Sea bass was outstanding. Everyone loved the sides, I especially loved the mashed potatoes the very best I've ever had. The ambiance was perfect. The wait staff was excellent. Will definitively be returning soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing Service and the Lobster Frittata was great

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our Service was amazing from the time we walked into Capital. There were several waiters waiting on us, our main server Andrea was happy and helpful and very thoughtful. Her manager Charlie was comical and a delight as he suggested to us the delicious Medium Rare Salmon. We had a great time and will definitely go again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome Steak Dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

Cocktails before dinner were great - loved the blue cheese stuffed olives in my Martini! Salads, sides and steaks were all done perfectly delicious. Mushrooms were a bit dry but tasty. Our server was very attentive and friendly with a great sense of humor. The steaks are always fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb service

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great service, great food and wonderful atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The $20.00 lunch menu was an outstanding ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

The $20.00 lunch menu was an outstanding value. We had the artichoke bisque with the tenderloin sliders. Waiter allowed us to substitute asparagus (my favorite) for the fries. The sliders were like getting 2 petite filets, very filling and perfectly cooked. What we didnt spend on main course, we spent on wine and was definitely worth it. We'll be back.

food4
ambience4
service5

Good reception at the hostess desk. Grea ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good reception at the hostess desk. Great service from Luis, our waiter. My Kona rubbed steak was wonderful. The oysters were also great. My wife's filet was ok. Her calamari was just so-so as the breeding was too thick. Overall very enjoyable.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Luscious Steak

Dined on May 1, 2016

Steak was delicious, and the service was top notch!!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Prices are very high and portions are su ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Prices are very high and portions are subsequently a bit too large. Food and service was excellent though.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eating in Seattle

Dined on April 26, 2016

Whenever we visit Seattle we make Capitol Grille a stop. The food, wine, ambience and service are notable and make for an outstanding evening. A special shout out to DeVeaux (I hope I got the spelling correct) our service professional. He was outstanding. This restaurant is a keeper.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best salmon in Seattle

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

My friend loved his steak, but the salmon continues to be so good, large serving that is buttery with a citrus glaze. It was even good carefully reheated the next day at home. Excellent salad and indescribably yummy burnt creme.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Gayle and I did in fact enjoy our meal a ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Gayle and I did in fact enjoy our meal at the Capital Grill. It was wonderful celebrating Gayle's birthday in the lounge amongst the lively tables next to us on Friday night. Gayle showed up early and was seated and I joined her but forgot to check in with the staff. But we both had a wonderful time.

food5
ambience5
service5

The server did a great job and the seafo ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

The server did a great job and the seafood tower was the best !!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Before the play

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

My bone in fillet was outstanding. Service as always was extraordinary as Josh took great care of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service and food. Andrea took care ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great service and food. Andrea took care of us and we had a 2.5 year old!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderfully served, and delicious food!

Dined on April 1, 2016

We always come to The Capital Grille when we are going to the 5th Avenue. The pre-theatre menu is excellent, although we sometimes just enjoy the regular menu! Service is usually excellent, and the noise level is usually very low. Just great all around, special restaurant!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

I had the porcini rub ribeye based on th ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

I had the porcini rub ribeye based on the server's recommendation- Delish!!!! Hubby had the steak and lobster tails- very good as well. The Parmesan truffle fries were superb. The cheesecake was awesome! While the place wasn't packed it was loud. Service was great. A good place for an excellent dinner.

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Very expensive but good food and service

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

This restaurant is, in my view, for a very special occasion because it is so expensive. They do have entrees for non-meat eaters, but the steak is the draw and it is very good. The service is first rate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An above-and-beyond dining experience!

Dined on March 21, 2016

From the time I entered, the staff went above and beyond to make me feel comfortable and to meet my dietary requirements, even bringing me small items that fit my diet to compliment my meal. Excellent service, kindness and wonderful food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Top tier restaurant with consistently gr ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Top tier restaurant with consistently great service and great food selection. Our favorite place for important occasions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the building and vibe!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great food and service. Will definitely be back when in Seattle!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect. We arrived about 20 minutes ear ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Perfect. We arrived about 20 minutes early and they had no problem seating us. Our waiter, Christopher, had great recommendations for wine, whiskey, appetizers, and sides. It was 8 on a Friday night and he managed to make us feel like we were his only table. The manager DeVeaux was also a peach. We were there on the last night of our honeymoon and they went above and beyond to make sure it was memorable. We will be back!

food5
ambience4
service5

Staff was great. We ordered off menu an ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Staff was great. We ordered off menu and it was not an issue (steak and fried lobster). Everything was cooked properly

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good place that excels at service

Dined on March 16, 2016

My last visit confirmed once again that Capital Grille is a great place to go for business lunch (I'm sure for other meals as well, but that is when I usually end up there). Service was very good, and the food is always well prepared. Hostess noted our special request (quiet table or booth) on the reservation and accommodated it, sat two of us when we arrived, and our guest was promptly shown to our table when she got there. Staff was helpful, efficient, and didn't get in our way once we started in on the business of our discussion. Exactly what we wanted.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on March 11, 2016

It was the first time at The Capital Grille and I found it to be a wonderful experience. The ambiance was great, the noise was minimal and the food was delicious.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Not What Expected

Dined on March 11, 2016

Cocktails are OK. Appetizers appear to be around 30 years old (in style, not age of food, although the scallops were close to 30 I bet). The aged strip was OK, not exceptional. the Scallops were over cooked, perhaps a blessing since they had a strong 'fishy' odor from sitting around too long

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food! Highly recommend to anyo ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent food! Highly recommend to anyone. We had a table of 12 and all our food was served at one time. I'll be back next time I'm in town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a special occasion

Dined on March 6, 2016

This restaurant is great for a special occasion. The atmosphere is quiet and beautiful. The service is impeccable. They truly strive to make your evening magical. We even witnessed an engagement while we were there. So it is a great place to celebrate a special event in your life, whether it be proposing to your girlfriend or celebrating someone's birthday. A great place overall!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

A really great place. The ambience is pe ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

A really great place. The ambience is perfect, classy but not too stuffy. Best cheesecake we've ever tasted and we live most of the year in NYC!

food4
ambience5
service5

Great service; good very good with a few ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great service; good very good with a few issues with beef doneness at level requested.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.