Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - Seattle

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the Cobb Building at 4th & University. Join us for happy hour Monday through Friday from 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

1301 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 382-0900

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet Available.

Executive Chef:
Josh Westcott

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 24 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Business Meals (28)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Notable Wine List (24)
Romantic (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Cozy (6)
Casual (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Historic (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1914 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Disappointing at best. Food was good but not great. Waitress seemed disinterested & distracted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

I must mention the service first. From the moment our party of 8 walked in we were treated like royalty. We were celebrating our friend's upcoming wedding and our waiter, Matthew was so attentive and funny. When you come to Capital Grille you must ask for Matthew! We had complementary wine and dessert that was so good. The food was amazing! Can not recommend this place more!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good, the ambiance quiet and professional. However, the service was slow, and our waitress twice mixed up who had ordered what - although the proper orders were brought to the table, and we all received what we ordered. But it is embarrassing when you have clients you are trying to impress.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

A good effort, and the fact that i was not thrilled is at least partly my fault. But the overall experience of dinibg alone here was not enjoyable.

Service tended towards saccharine/sweet, and my server was missing at two key moments. Others pitched in, but it felt awkward.

Most important is that i actually do not like dry-aged beed all that much. The result, even at medium rare, is dry. Steak shoukd be succulent, not paper-like. I will try hard to remember thus, as i have encountered it befotmre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My wife's and I first wedding anniversary. The staff went above and beyond for us. Rose pedals on the table, greeting card wishing us a happy anniversary and complimentary champagne and dessert. My dry aged steak was prepared perfectly and my wife's lobster was delicious and beautiful presented. Couldn't have asked for a better night and restaurant. Absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for a top notch place to take a special someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great restaurant, nice service, great waiter John, but it would be even better if there was no burn on the steak. Although John asked us if we wanted another steak, but the first one was still acceptable, and we didn't want to waste the great meat. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Fantastic meal with absolutely fantastic service by our waiter Ben! He was not only knowledgeable about the wine but also what it would pair well with our food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Cant say enough good things about our evening at the Capital Grill. Lobster bisque starter was creamy and well stocked with lobster. Bone in filet was tender and flavorful - perfectly prepared at the exact requested temperature. Desserts were equally scrummy and Rod, who looked after us, did a terrific job of making us feel welcome and comfortable throughout. A great experience and one we will repeat. One note - it's not cheap, but then quality never is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a great time. The food was good and the atmosphere was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The Capital grille is a great place. The drinks are amazing. The bartenders are great. Parking right next door. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Amazing food and incredible service. Easily had one of the best dinners I've ever had. We will be coming back for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wonderful food and amazingly attentive staff. Better than the other upper level chain steak house restauraunts in the city, and a better value.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Capital Grille was one of our best dining experiences in Seattle. We were expecting it to be less so due to all of the other local non-chains, but we were pleasantly surprised by the great menu. The creme brule foie gras was a treat, the creamed spinach was really fantastic, and the service was spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Very nice treatment for our Anniversary. Complimentary dessert and champagne toast was Avery nice touch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We love to eat here before the show at the 5th Ave. Theatre. They always have steaks that are cooked to perfection, along with Great service!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Old world steak restaurant that is stuck in the past. The prices were unreasonably high, the service was sub par and she was rude to us for mistakes the restaurant made. I have been to all the other high end steak restaurants in town and this was the last one on my list. I will not be returning. Try Jaks for a great neighborhood feel and far better food. Try El Gaucho for high end and similar $$$, but far superior service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our server Taylor was fantastic, and the food was outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The filet was cooked just right. The halibut was tasty. Our waiter, Ron, did a great job. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Always a treat! Excellent food, ambiance, service. We appreciate the attendance to our needs, and the adaptability to our requests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Disappointed. I've been here many times in the past, but not for a little while.
I ordered the special steak for $85. It was not as good as the steaks I've had in the past that cost $35 less.
We arrived early for our 5:45 reservation and for some reason we were seated in the bar area. It was almost like they didn't have a table reserved for us.
It's too bad they don't have the free valet parking anymore. It's $10 now. Combined with overall increased menu prices, it's much more expensive now.
Server was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Daughters college graduation and they made it very special for us...Very nice indeed. Our Waiter Rod was spectacular!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I really like this place. We were in a group..... some didn't like the mushrooms and one person's lobster bisque was cold even after they asked for it to be heated up. The seafood platter, steaks and lobster we ordered were excellent. They really treated our birthday celebrants well. Highly recommend the Capital Grille.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Steak was very good but sides were less so. Overall not as good a value as I would have expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Unfortunately, my $60 filet was not cooked correctly. I won't be going back for their steak again. :( Excellent service though!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Thank you for a wonderful mean!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Went to the Capital Grill in Seattle for our 40th Anniversary. The restaurant made the meal and the evening extra special! Everything was excellent: food, service, ambiance. The price was a bit steep, but worth it. We'll go back despite the cost.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Always a joy to dine at the Capital Grille. Thanks guys and gals for making this another awesome experience! Fabulous food, exceptional service and we made a great memory there today!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The Maine Lobster Salad is a must have. I am still thinking about it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2017

They closed the Capital Grill in LA and were on vacation in Seattle so we wanted to get our favorite lunch sandwich but it was not the same.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and I have dined at The Capital Grille in both Jacksonville, Fl and Las Vegas, NV . We were excited to find one here in Seattle.
We were not disappointed. The service was excellent ( thank you Anna) and the food was delicious... I believe the steak tartare that I had was the best I ever had in any restaurant...

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

As always, great food and great service. My steak was cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Dark, cold, grim, pretentious high end steakhouse. Portions and prices were ridiculously huge. Most of our party enjoyed their food, but my roast chicken was very, very dry. Servers were attentive if not especially friendly. If you want to escape Seattle and pretend you've been transported to a stuffy, hoggy, vastly overpriced East Coast steak house, this is the place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We celebrated our 30th Anniversary and The Capital Grill not only acknowledged the occasion but help us celebrate with a great meal. Our server Taylor was fantastic offering ideas and suggestions. We enjoyed a Ribeye and a Filet and both were cooked perfectly. This was out first time but definitely not the last time visiting the Capital Grill

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Typical Capital Grille meal. Excellent NY strip. Staff was friendly, including busser. Valet parking makes it easy as Seattle is difficult to navigate at rush hour.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Service was good. Staff was strange in the way it seemed they were staring at our table a bit much. Also the awkward forced convo with the maitre d/manager I could've done without. Not my first pick, but my sister works close by and this was her late Mother's Day dinner so ¯\_( ツ)_/¯.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Not very many choices for those with a small appetite. If I wanted to add chicken or salmon to the side Caesar salad they would have charged me the same price as the big plated chicken or salmon meal. When the offer was made by the waiter, it was pretty clear they didn't prefer to do a substitution like that at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have eaten at numerous Capitol Grills all around the country. The food here was just ok. The portion small. I was very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Poor service. Server needs to know difference between ale and lager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was the best. We sat at the bar. Perfect amount of food with a shared main course pineapple martini to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Roberto gave us one of the best service I've ever received in seattle
Food was good
We left happy with our choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.