About The Capital Grille - Seattle

1301 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the Cobb Building at 4th & University. Join us for happy hour Monday through Friday from 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 382-0900

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet Available.

Executive Chef:
Josh Westcott

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Porcini Crusted Delmonico Steak with 12 year aged Balsalmic - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Wagyu Cheeseburger - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Ribeye Steak Sandwich - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Bone-In Kona crusted dry aged sirloin - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Fresh Squeezed Mint Lemonade - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Clam Chowder - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Fried Calamari - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Salmon Amuse - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Merlot - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
 Capital Cheeseburger - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Shallot Butter Sauce   - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Filet Mignon, 10oz., Au Jus cooked Rare+ - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Smoked Salmon On Onion Pita Crisp - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Pan-fried Calimari and Proscuitto Wrapped Mozzarella - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Dry Aged Steak - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Truffle Fries - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
lobster roll - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Cedar Planked Salmon with Tomato Fennel Relish - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Sirloin Steak - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
flourless chocolate cake - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
porterhouse steak - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Lobster Bisque - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Filet Oscar W/ Lobster Mac & Cheese - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 15 Year Balsamic - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Pepper Steak - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Crab Cakes De Nom Nom - The Capital Grille - Seattle, Seattle, WA

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 24 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Service
Seattle
Steakhouse
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (37)
Business Meals (29)
Romantic (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Private Room (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorite restaurants downtown ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants downtown! Always a great meal and the best service.

Their Lobster Bisque is the best I've ever had. Their desserts are fabulous!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and quick service even th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and quick service even though they were pretty busy

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The relaxed jeans no sports coat dress c ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The relaxed jeans no sports coat dress code is sad when we are all dressed up. This restaurant is lovely and then the folks walk past our table in ripped jeans, baseball caps, untucked shirts. I am sitting in my Eileen Fisher wondering why this fancy place allows the lowering of the dress code. It cheapens the occasion and makes us want to find another place to dine, when we do love this place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. I loved the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. I loved the lobster bisque!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so disappointed in this meal. I h ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I was so disappointed in this meal. I haven't been to a Capital Grill in several years, and only been a few times to the location in Denver, which we loved. We have very few dates nights, so I was excited to be out with my husband without the baby. I ordered my steak medium and it was served done. They promptly took it to get me a new steak which of course I appreciated. My husband felt awkward about eating although I urged him to... Not an ideal eating situation.

The bill did not reflect this error and I felt any small amount would have gone A LONG WAY for me! When you're paying $60 for a fillet, you expect perfection. The rest of the food was really just so so to be honest. Nothing spectacular. The desert crust was stale. My bacon spinach salad was the best part unfortunately. Paying $300 for dinner- we expect more, and again the slightest reflection in the bill from them, would have gone far with me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We had the most delicious dinner! Our on ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had the most delicious dinner! Our only complaint was that we were seated near the door which was chilly. Highly recommend for a special night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. We had a nice family Tha ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great service. We had a nice family Thanksgiving outing. The service was great, Drew made it a very good experience. We've decided to make this a family tradition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My family came from New York to visit my ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My family came from New York to visit my son who lives in Seattle. Usually, I host and cook the thanksgiving dinner but did not see that as an option this year. This was our first family vacation during thanksgiving and I wanted a classy, delicious dinner. We wanted to dress up and go out. Capital Grille in Seattle met our needs! Will be there again next year!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was after a NFL game and place was pa ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 21, 2016

It was after a NFL game and place was packed. We still got excellent service and smiles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crab cakes are amazing

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Crab cakes are amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It took 30 minutes to seat us despite a ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It took 30 minutes to seat us despite a reservation, steak was slightly overcooked and tasted OK, but for $60+ it should have been incredible. Overall, a thoroughly mediocre experience from service, seating, food and enjoyment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Arman our waiter was great along with th ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Arman our waiter was great along with the bus boy. Very attentive, friendly and not pushy. Great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster was chewy and very little flavor ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Lobster was chewy and very little flavor. The steak was better. Metropolitan Grill is better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

We came in to celebrate my parents new h ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We came in to celebrate my parents new house, we requested Luis and was sad to hear he left. We got Joel tonight and man was it an incredible experience. The way himself and Jose our busser made us feel throughout the night was second to none. The service every time we come in is over the top, the food is amazing and the atmosphere is even better. I'm happy to see the steaks are coming with a side now. The one issue which has always been an issue is the valet employees. Not only are they lousy but $10 really? After spending $1,000+ on dinner, being charged for valet is a bit ridiculous. Kudos to Luis and Jose, we can't stop talking about what a night you made for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. The calamari appetizer w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was great. The calamari appetizer was the best I have had anywhere in the country. Meals are a little pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our lunch very much. The ser ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch very much. The service was a perfect pace. We were checked in on but not hounded. It was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Seattle. This time I went for a business meeting and they found out it was also my birthday. They celebrated by bringing a birthday card, champagne and dessert. WOW!! Not to mention, the lunch I had was literally the BEST salmon I've ever had. I highly recommend this restaurant not only for their exceptional service, clean environment, and attention to the details, but also for their Citrus Glazed Salmon. It's a must-have. In fact, I want it right now.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Our seating location w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Very good food. Our seating location wasn't the best, but the service, and timeliness was great. I will return again, with clients and friends.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Popped in for lunch for the Wagyu cheese ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Popped in for lunch for the Wagyu cheeseburger and wine pairing special and it did not disappoint! Truffle fries were amazing too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When you're in the mood for meat, this i ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2016

When you're in the mood for meat, this is is as good as it gets. Steaks perfectly cooked, perfectly seasoned. Service is outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food and a nice, classy but no ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Very good food and a nice, classy but not stuffy ambiance. I can't say there are many comparable or better food options in Seattle but the ones that are often are not as pricey. The value is a tough question, but It's a grade "A" experience to be sure still.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The service, food and atmosphere combin ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The service, food and atmosphere combined to make our business meal one that communicated value to our customer. I would happily return for business or personal dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Capital Grille is consistently excellent ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Capital Grille is consistently excellent in every city we have run across one. You can depend on good food and a great wine list. It's real butter and nice bread they start you off with as well. The Caesar salad is great, meat cooked perfectly and servers are sharp.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. The steaks a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. The steaks are delicious but large. Fortunately our waitress arranged for two diners to split one steak. The wine list has lots of interesting choices. We will visit again the next time we are in Seattle.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Capitol Grill is one of our favorite ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The Capitol Grill is one of our favorite places to eat in Seattle. Only half a block from the Fairmont Hotel, handy to Benaroya Hall and the Fifth Ave Theatre, it's convenient to walk to and has valet parking for drivers. The bar is always lively, the wine list is comprehensive, and the steaks are the best. But I always get the lobster-crab cakes which are always delicious. Whatever you order, make sure you get a side of mashed potatoes, which are like tasting gastronomic gold. So yummy! Service is always spot-on. It's expensive but worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital is class act with 5 Star service ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Capital is class act with 5 Star service. We have been SO pleased it their services, lunch, dinner and anything in between!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had 8 guests for an important busines ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We had 8 guests for an important business meeting. We were seated exactly next to the kitchen. It couldn't have been any louder if we had sat IN the kitchen. Very very expensive meal and we couldn't hear one word that was said. Our guests were from Europe - difficult to connect with. We asked to be moved and were not accomodated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

A wonderful place for a cool, classy eve ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

A wonderful place for a cool, classy evening (or lunch). We were going to a concert at Benaroya Hall and it was the perfect spot for an elegant dining experience. The menu spans steak to seafood. Something for everyone!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A great place to go prior to an evening ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

A great place to go prior to an evening at the symphony. Joel our server was very attentive and helpful with dinner and drink selections. The ribeye with a balsamic reduction was excellent as were the scallops.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the worst experience I have had ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 17, 2016

This was the worst experience I have had at the Capital Grille. 40 minutes went by before we got our drinks or ordered our food. The filet was dry, the seafood grill was pretty good. They made up for the slow service by sending us an appetizer without checking if we wanted fried food or not and since neither of us eat fried food, we sent it back. Overall a poor experience and I won't be back in a hurry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Cozy atmosphere and great steaks! T'Shov ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Cozy atmosphere and great steaks!

T'Shovie took excellent care of us! Thanks T'Shovie!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bernie Sanders walked in while we were e ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Bernie Sanders walked in while we were eating but he didn't pay our tab. Otherwise the experience was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server was very aggressive in up sel ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The server was very aggressive in up selling all choices from wine to entrees. Made for a very unrelated experience.

We won't be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was excellent as always. Our real ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was excellent as always. Our real issue was that out plates were cleared after dinner and desert without anyone asking. My son was still eating dinner and they took his side dish away and kept trying to take his plate even though it was obvious he was still eating. We had uneaten food left as well and no one asked if we wanted it boxed up to take home, they just took it. Same thing after desert. Maybe asking before you clear the table would be helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

What a wonderful way to start our evenin ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

What a wonderful way to start our evening of the Seattle Symphony and Yo Yo Ma! We celebrated my hubby's birthday (the tickets were a gift from our daughter)--they had a hand written card on the table--and staff came by and said Happy birthday. No embarrassing singing--my hubby would have been upset by that!

The food and service were magnificent!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Food and service were very good. Portio ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food and service were very good. Portions were overly large. I'd be more likely to recommend if smaller plates were available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The meal was very good as usual. We had ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The meal was very good as usual. We had unusually slow service though, even though we mentioned early on that we had a 8pm show to make (we came in at 6pm and thought we had plenty of time). Waiters for other tables would come 3 or 4 times before our waiter would come to take our food order. I hope this was just a fluke!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The Capital Grille was one of my highlig ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The Capital Grille was one of my highlights of my trip to Seattle! Amazing service and great food! We mentioned to them that we were there to celebrate our anniversary and they decorated our table with hearts before they seated us. After our meal, they also brought in complimentary dessert with the words "Happy Anniversary" written out in chocolate powder (?) on the plate! Our server was great as well! I asked him to take a couple of pictures for us and he helped us find the perfect spot for the photo. I would absolutely come back for another dinner!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had excellent service and very good f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had excellent service and very good food in this beautiful restaurant. It's got great steaks and limited but good seafood. elegant room, good steaks, decent wine list -- just an expensive, good, clubby meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.