About The Capital Grille - Seattle

1301 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the Cobb Building at 4th & University. Join us for happy hour Monday through Friday from 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 382-0900

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet Available.

Executive Chef:
Josh Westcott

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 24 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Business Meals (36)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Good for Birthdays (25)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Romantic (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Private Room (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Seasonal (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Cozy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Historic (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1791 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waitress was terrific- great sugges ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Our waitress was terrific- great suggestions on food and wine. A great treat for a birthday dessert with complimentary champagne.. Made my day !!!

Tags: Special Occasion, , Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, the service was very good. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, the service was very good. We had a group of 15 and they put us in a private room that was very quiet from the rest of the restaurant. Food courses came out quickly, our server was very attentive. The price is a bit on the high end but food was very good and selection was good also.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had one of the plates and it was very go ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Had one of the plates and it was very good - a little overpriced for lunch. Our waiter was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Capital Grill has become our favorit ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The Capital Grill has become our favorite spot for a great meal in Seattle. The food and the service is the best in town and the location makes it our favorite for a meal before catching a show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went to the capital grill with a grou ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to the capital grill with a group of friends after the seahawks game. The manager was extremely rude to us, after we told him one of the $60 steaks which was ordered did not taste very good. Under cooked and chewy. We did not want a refund or a new steak, we just told the manager when he asked how our meal was. I won't be going back there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Before making reservations, I confirmed ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Before making reservations, I confirmed with the host that seating would be prompt as soon as the arrival of our party. We arrived for our reservations and was told our table would be ready in 10 mins. After almost an hour of waiting we were finally seated with just about 15 minutes left till midnight to celebrate and toast to the new year. Dissapointed and realizing that we wouldnt get drinks in time according to our waitor, most of the table declined on drinks and we went ahead to place our food orders. Shortly after was the countdown so we raised our glasses of water to toast to the new year.

Although the night started out a little dissapointing, we got our food and that was pretty much the turning point of the evening. The servers were well dress and very professional. Our party was very pleased by the service and presentation of each dish. I must say that the ribeye was amazing. The best steak ive had in a long time. Lobster mac was great. I tried the lamb and the tuna steak, which was also very satisfying.

Overall, it was good. If we didn't have to wait for almost an hour i think we all wouldve have a much better time. Thank goodness for the chef and cooks and servers. They really pulled it together. We will be back for dinner but maybe not for special party occassions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Great ambiance with delectable dinner an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great ambiance with delectable dinner and drink choices.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old School Steak House. Classic service, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Old School Steak House. Classic service, decor and food. All around, old fashioned style, upscale dining. Refreshing retreat from the modern open kitchen, no reservation style of today's new restaurants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was amazing. My friends and I r ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was amazing. My friends and I really loved the food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We always enjoy our New Year's Eve gathe ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We always enjoy our New Year's Eve gathering at the Capital Grille. Going on 6 or 7 years now. The food is always very good and they take care of you. They always provide excellent service and fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We had a great New Year's dinner with ou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great New Year's dinner with our daughter and her 6 year old. They immediately gave him a sack of things to read and color which kept him entertained!

The steaks were really some of best, if not the best we have ever had! The crab cakes were awesome!! The service was spot on!

(the only complaint was the size of the baked potato....my wife LOVES baked potatoes and was expecting a large spud, instead it was a normal size - she got over it lol)

We enjoy the Met and El Gaucho's, but this might be our new "go to" place for special occasions!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Service. One of the best resta ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent Service. One of the best restaurants in Seattle. Food is above average and a great place for drinks. The interior is well put out and high class feel. Make reservations in advance.

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE THE PLACE AND ALL THE SERVERS AND B ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

LOVE THE PLACE AND ALL THE SERVERS AND BARTENDERS ESPECIALLY TATE AND CARL AND JOEL OUR SERVER.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille is noted for exceptional ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Capital Grille is noted for exceptional service and food. This visit reaffirms our experience! The tuna tartar tower with fresh avocado with mango sauce and siracha made for a sweet, heat with the luscious tuna. A seared tuna with jasmine rice is served with 3 different dipping sauces allowing one to experience three different entrees; ginger, wasabi and soy! The 21 days aged, bone-in filet was so tender it could be cut with a butter knife. My choice of preparation was with blue cheese and enhanced the aged protein.

I would be remised if I did not mention the exceptional service by the Capital Grille staff. They are attentive without being overbearing, knowledgeable without being arrogant and just plain friendly!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the service from Andrea was excell ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

While the service from Andrea was excellent, the food was far below my expectations. I brought my team from work to the Capital Grill based on a favorable recommendation from a colleague. My steak was over cooked, and while I didn't confirm (out of embarrassment), I could tell my guests entree was less than appetizing. They both did not finish their entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Love this place: excellent value for th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love this place: excellent value for the ambience, service and delicious food, which does not mean it's inexpensive but does mean you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best rib-eye sandwich I have ever had. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Best rib-eye sandwich I have ever had. Also, try the mint lemonade.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Had lunch with out of town friends. Fre ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Had lunch with out of town friends. French onion soup, lobster salad, clam chowder, green salad, grilled garlic prawns and citrus salmon were wonderful. The plates are well worth the $22. the coconut cream pie was out of this world.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Fantastic steaks. Pricey ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service. Fantastic steaks. Pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really nice food and serves

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Really nice food and serves

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall not bad. It was however the sma ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overall not bad. It was however the smallest baked potato I have ever seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was wonderful. Had to wait abo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was wonderful. Had to wait about 15 minutes past our reservation time for our table. No where to wait as the entrance area is very small and crowded. The music was very loud and hard to have a conversation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was superb and so was service. We ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was superb and so was service. We had a great Xmas Eve!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to the Capital Grille for a fami ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went to the Capital Grille for a family dinner on Christmas Eve. We had excellent service and a very good dinner. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I cannot fault the food. As all other re ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I cannot fault the food. As all other reviewers said, the food is excellent.

Our reservation was at 6:45 Xmas Eve. We made our reservation a month in advance and we arrived 5 minutes early. The small waiting area was jammed with people waiting to be seated. They sat maybe 4 groups ahead of us.

As we followed the person through the very crowded restaurant, I knew we were doomed. We are locals and have been here before. To be any closer to the kitchen would have been IN the kitchen. Our table for 2 was against the wall with a folding room divider between us and the door to the kitchen.

We watched the racetrack of waiters coming out of the kitchen with their arms full of dinners, we watched the line of waiters coming back into the kitchen carrying all the dirty dishes. We heard all the dishes clanking in the kitchen, I envisioned them being piled up to be washed.

There was a water station right next to us which constantly had waiters grabbing pitchers of water.

It was exhausting to watch and hear all this activity which was happening inches from our table.

It was so busy, so distracting and so noisy we couldn't talk to each other, so we watched it all take place.

It would not have helped to ask to be moved, every table for 2 was full(and there weren't many).

It was a big mistake to come here Xmas Eve. Because we were so unhappy we didn't order a second glass of wine, dessert or coffee.

I wanted this to be special but instead we left with a very bad feeling. We looked forward to it, we dressed up, we wanted a holiday feeling. None of this happened.

We paid a lot and the ONLY good thing was we brought home our leftover mashed potatoes and mushrooms and had them the next night for dinner.

My hope is that they will seat less people and make this a dining experience to be remembered rather than forgotten. It was a zoo.

Previous visits weren't like this, we had a most memorable anniversary here in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food-mediocre, ambiance-okay/loud, servi ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food-mediocre, ambiance-okay/loud, service-attentive. There are steak houses in Seattle that are far better in every category.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great restaurant, but we thought the win ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great restaurant, but we thought the wine list was really higher than other nearby places with same wines.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service is on point. Clearly knowled ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The service is on point. Clearly knowledgeable staff on proper service etiquette however very casual and friendly. Food was perfectly cooked and wine was poured exceptionally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like to order steak when going out for ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I like to order steak when going out for dinner & ours were delicious! Very tender & flavorful. The veggies & seafood were delicious as well. The wait staff was attentive, efficient & friendly. This was part of a Christmas experience gift for our family. Great overall experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome meal and services by all staff.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Awesome meal and services by all staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I dine at Cap Grille almost 4x per month ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I dine at Cap Grille almost 4x per month as my company is one block down. For this experience, I took my family, however the kitchen was slow and my steak was under cooked. Normally, the waiter have me cut in to confirm, but this time they did not and it was under cooked. I will start to dine here less as I feel the quality have declined.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

To start the review I need to qualify ou ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

To start the review I need to qualify ourselves first. We dine out at minimum three nights a week and we have enjoyed a steak at just about every steak house in Seattle Tacoma. Tonight was our first time at Capital City Grille. The food was outstanding and the experience was made even better by our guide Joel. From the glass of champagne to get started to the amazing pineapple infused vodka martini, my wife isn't a fan of seafood so we went with the the motsarella wrapped proccuttio. It's a steak house so had to go with the filet Oscar and the strip on the bone. I will keep you guessing on what we had for dessert but think tropics. No idea what took us so long to come here ( we are south siders) but we will be back and often thank you chef and thank you Joel for guiding us thru the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We truly enjoyed our first visit to The ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We truly enjoyed our first visit to The Capital Grille! We were celebrating my husband's birthday and our whole experience was flawless. The atmosphere was cozy and elegant, the food was truly delicious, and the service was attentive and very professional. Our server was Joel, and he was exceptional! Based on recommendations from reviewers and also that of Joel, we ordered steak entrees. Both were fabulous! We will definitely return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service. Staff was friendly and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Awesome service. Staff was friendly and very welcoming. Food was outstanding. Relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was visiting family, and decided for a ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I was visiting family, and decided for a last minute restaurant within close range of our hotel. Most places were stating 60-90min waits. Since my aunt and her family has never been to a Capital Grille and she's frequently asked me about my experiences with the chain, I thought it be nice to give her that experience. From the entry greeting of the hostes to the very end as we exit, the service was excellent. The food was good, every steak was cooked as each person requested, the steak taretare was delicious. The wait staff was cordial and friendly, even at a very busy dining time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The overall experience was lovely. The ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The overall experience was lovely. The steaks and salmon were great. We were a bit disappointed in the baked potato that came with the entrees......tiny with just a wee bit of butter and chives. If I had known I would have ordered more of the truffle fries which we sampled as an appetizer...they were devine! Desserts were great.

It was a nice place to meet friends and quietly visit.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My god the steaks!! So delicious. Pri ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My god the steaks!! So delicious. Pricey so if you're on a budget but so delicious

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable evening. I have been prev ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very enjoyable evening. I have been previously for lunch but this was my first dinner. I will definitely go back on my next visit to Seattle. Excellent service, very friendly staff, delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive service, quality steaks and ta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Attentive service, quality steaks and tasty sides along with several great cocktails.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner at ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner at the capital Grille. The service was perfect and the food was excellent. The waiter brought out a special anniversary dessert for us which was much appreciated. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.