About The Capital Grille - Seattle

1301 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the Cobb Building at 4th & University. Join us for happy hour Monday through Friday from 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 382-0900

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet Available.

Executive Chef:
Josh Westcott

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Wagyu Cheeseburger
Ribeye Steak Sandwich
Bone-In Kona crusted dry aged sirloin
Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries
Fresh Squeezed Mint Lemonade
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Clam Chowder
Fried Calamari
Salmon Amuse
French Onion Soup
Merlot
Porcini Crusted Delmonico Steak with 12 year aged Balsalmic
 Capital Cheeseburger
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Shallot Butter Sauce
Filet Mignon, 10oz., Au Jus cooked Rare+
Pan-fried Calimari and Proscuitto Wrapped Mozzarella
Smoked Salmon On Onion Pita Crisp
Maine Lobster Roll
Filet Mignon
Dry Aged Steak
Truffle Fries
Creme Brulee
lobster roll
Cedar Planked Salmon with Tomato Fennel Relish
Wagyu Burger
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Lobster Pot Pie
flourless chocolate cake
Sirloin Steak
porterhouse steak
Lobster Bisque
Filet Oscar W/ Lobster Mac & Cheese
Crab Cakes De Nom Nom
Pepper Steak
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 15 Year Balsamic

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM 9:45PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 24 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Service
Seattle
2 More
Steakhouse
Seattle
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (83)
romantic (51)
fit for foodies (51)
See All
notable wine list (46)
good for groups (29)
great for lunch (28)
neighborhood gem (20)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole experience from start to finis ...

Dined 20 hours ago

The whole experience from start to finish left my wife and I with a memorable anniversary dinner. The food was delicious and cooked perfectly. The ambiance was a relaxing and romantic atmosphere. The Capital Grille went above and beyond expectations. Their kind hospitality will be truly remembered. As we were seated, we were presented with a thoughtful note with a warm anniversary greeting. It was followed with complimentary champagne and a absolutely delicious Salmon Hor d'oeuvre. This kind of warm hospitality really adds to the whole dining experience. Our server Matthew was exceptional. From the moment he presented himself it was a good first impression. His kind personality and knowledgeable recommendations helped us know exactly what to order. For dessert he recommended the Coconut Cream Pie. It was the best one we ever had. It was creamy & not overly sweet. The crust was delicious & flaky. It was perfect. As full as we were. It was so delicious. We devoured it! It didn't end there. Matthew definitely surprised us with a thoughtful dessert plate with "Happy Anniversary" stenciled in chocolate that was accompanied with a Creme Brule Cheesecake & Seasonal Berries as well as a delicious mini chocolate cake. Again, such a great experience at The Capital Grille. The entire staff was fantastic and hats off to Chef Josh for a excellent dinner. Coming to Seattle this has to be one of the highlights of our vacation. We will definitely come back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Server Joel and manager Steve made my bi ...

Dined 2 days ago

Server Joel and manager Steve made my birthday dinner very memorable. The service was awesome and food was amazing. I felt special and left with a good feeling and full stomach thanks to Capital Grille and their great staff.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I had yet another great meal ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I had yet another great meal at the Capital Grille. I ordered the filet and she got salmon. Both cooked & seasoned to perfection. Also, their Caesar Salad is highly recommended -- one of the best I can remember having (and I always order it). Great selection of wines by the glass and if the Kushi oysters are on the menu, order them. I think it's one of the best steakhouses I've been to. Highly recommended.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I will definitely be back!

Dined on June 23, 2016

I will definitely be back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always enjoy the Capital Grille. Our wa ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Always enjoy the Capital Grille. Our wait person today was bartender, Tate who always takes great care of us. Always great staff...also includes Casey and many others. Will be back often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our service was exceptional! Our waiter ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Our service was exceptional! Our waiter made lots of suggestions when asked and all were great. This is more of a traditional steakhouse than a romantic restaurant, but the decor was pleasing and the booths comfortable. Only drawback is that our booth was situated close to the bar and there was a sports game on. At times the crowd, including staff were hollering at the tv. It didn't last long, but definitely detracted from the ambience. This restaurant is pricey but the food was very good.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ALWAYS enjoy my evenings at The Capital ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

ALWAYS enjoy my evenings at The Capital Grille! Outstanding each and every time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, The Capital Grille has excell ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

As always, The Capital Grille has excellent food, service and ambiance! We appreciate the professionalism of the wait staff. Great experience all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Resturant. We always enjoy eating ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great Resturant. We always enjoy eating at the Capital Grill. Even though a bit pricey, good value considering the quality of their food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is excellent and consis ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

This restaurant is excellent and consistent from drink to dessert. It's because from the management to the busboys(&girls), everyone is committed to providing the best service and product. Our server, was able to get me an appetizer that was off the menu; and the manager came by to make sure everything was to my liking (as l preferred it). The bartender made my drink better than I could with same ingredients that I have at home. I've never been disappointed at this restaurant; whether here in Seattle or in DC. Thx

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service and food. They made an ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent service and food. They made an effort to get a wonderful table for my boyfriends birthday. Great wine, amazing steak and a complimentary desert duo with a birthday candle. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Wait staff made us fee ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Great experience. Wait staff made us feel special with complementary hourdures and dessert for our anniversary.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for a Special Occasion

Dined on June 11, 2016

We went to the Capital Grille to celebrate my son's college graduation. They asked ahead of time if it was a special occasion and then went out of the way to make it so. When we arrived the table was decorated with Congrats Grad glitter. There was a nice card for my son. The food was excellent. We started with the large seafood appetizer. We like seafood and this was easily enough food for 8 or more people. My lamb was cooked to perfection -- moist and beautifully presented. Others had salmon and steak and their dishes were equally as good. They capped the evening off with champagne and a special dessert they made for my son for the occasion. Matthew, our waiter, was excellent. He was attentive, but didn't hover. I appreciate the black napkins so you don't get white fuzz all over your dark clothes. They have an extensive wine list.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

An outstanding experience with excellent ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

An outstanding experience with excellent food and an amazing selection of wine. I dined by myself and was seated at a table meant for four during a busy evening and was treated like a king. Well done in all respects and I will be returning to this location many times in the future. Very pricey meal for one person and worth every penny.

food5
ambience5
service5

So good! Will be back often

Dined on June 8, 2016

So good! Will be back often

food5
ambience5
service5

The bone-in fillet was outstanding!

Dined on June 8, 2016

The bone-in fillet was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience and will return in ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent experience and will return in the immediate near future. Classy and our sever Arun was awesome and my husband and I will ask for him when we return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Capital Grille is amazing. Our experienc ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Capital Grille is amazing. Our experience was positive and exciting from the moment we arrived. We were greeted pleasantly by the host. The bartender was genuinely nice and cheerful, The food was exceptional, the steaks were cooked to perfection. Our server Aaram was super friendly and made our evening special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came in for dinner on a Saturday night with an

Dined on June 5, 2016

unannounced birthday celebration. Once our server was advised of our intent to celebrate our friend's birthday, they turned the evening into a wonderful experience including a dessert course with complimentary champagne. And, the food and spirits were perfect -- we couldn't have asked for better. We turned our wine selection over to the waiter with instructions to bring us a good Cabernet "with a Franc bottom" and were introduced to a new vineyard with an incredible Cab blend that we've since hooked up with on their web site. If it's not yet obvious, we had a marvelous experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good, the service was ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was very good, the service was incredibly attentive. My date and I had a show to attend, so we were pressed for time. We didn't have time for desert, but without asking the waitress put a desert in our take out bag. She was amazing! I would definitely go back and suggest it to anyone that's in town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

seattle nite out

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

matthew was the perfect server and made for a terrific nite. i hope staff appreciates his skills

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience5
service5

The dinner in general did not reflect th ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The dinner in general did not reflect the prices. Although the service was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Repetitive and uneventful is the definit ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Repetitive and uneventful is the definition of "boring". But just because the unchanging high level of service and outstanding food is the only thing I have received here time after time, including twice this week, I wouldn't call it boring. Call it a "must visit"

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, wonderful surprises like ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service, wonderful surprises like free dessert and champagne for our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A birthday dinner event was suitably cel ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

A birthday dinner event was suitably celebratory with table decor, complimentary flutes of champagne and a gift photo.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Evening Dining

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We have eaten at the Capital Grill several times and this was the first time that it was not a great experience. Having made the reservation on line and then confirming once by email and once as a result of a call from the restaurant we assumed that they knew we were coming. We arrived 10 minutes early and were shown to a table at the very front of the restaurant and across from the bar. It was also next to the gathering place for people waiting to be seated etc. Sitting at such an add on table our service was very slow. When I asked the the waiter he quickly put me in my place be telling me that he was busy with tables in the back part of the restaurant. The food as as usual very good but the way we were treated no so much.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyday or Special Occasion

Dined on May 21, 2016

Capital Grille is the perfect dinner spot for special occasion or just dinner out. We went with our son and his girlfriend just before the Billy Joel concert. Wonderful service, attentive to our time constraint and great food.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very close to Benaroya Hall and the staf ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Very close to Benaroya Hall and the staff is obviously well trained to be sensitive to the need to "make a show (concert/event)." We will be dining at Capital Grille again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as always! Great food, great servi ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great as always! Great food, great service, great staff, great environment. The best!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Evening at the Capital Grille

Dined on May 18, 2016

As always the food was fantastic and the service excellent. We just made one suggestion and it was done immediately. Always enjoy the Capital Grille

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They make special occasions special!

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

You can't beat this place for special occasions. They decorate the table with sparkle confetti and give you a signed card. The dessert platter that they present at the end of the meal is completely special and very, very tasty! We have had Omar as our server several times, and he is a gem. Very friendly and accommodating, personable and just an all-around nice guy. Capital Grille is my go-to place for any special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The valet parking service was excellent. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The valet parking service was excellent. The waiter was well schooled, professional, and provided specific information about each item we asked about. Very nice experience and we'll return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an exceptional restaurant in eve ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This is an exceptional restaurant in every way. Service is exceptional, food great, we are especially found of the artichoke soup. But honestly everything is great. Good value for the cost. We have tried several of the shareable sides all of which are excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classy joint

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Thank you for making our anniversary special . Classy place, great food , great service .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steakhouse

Dined on May 9, 2016

Our new best Steakhouse. Great menu selections. We had six people in our party and everyone ordered something different. The steaks just melt in your month and the Chilean Sea bass was outstanding. Everyone loved the sides, I especially loved the mashed potatoes the very best I've ever had. The ambiance was perfect. The wait staff was excellent. Will definitively be returning soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing Service and the Lobster Frittata was great

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our Service was amazing from the time we walked into Capital. There were several waiters waiting on us, our main server Andrea was happy and helpful and very thoughtful. Her manager Charlie was comical and a delight as he suggested to us the delicious Medium Rare Salmon. We had a great time and will definitely go again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome Steak Dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

Cocktails before dinner were great - loved the blue cheese stuffed olives in my Martini! Salads, sides and steaks were all done perfectly delicious. Mushrooms were a bit dry but tasty. Our server was very attentive and friendly with a great sense of humor. The steaks are always fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb service

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great service, great food and wonderful atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The $20.00 lunch menu was an outstanding ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

The $20.00 lunch menu was an outstanding value. We had the artichoke bisque with the tenderloin sliders. Waiter allowed us to substitute asparagus (my favorite) for the fries. The sliders were like getting 2 petite filets, very filling and perfectly cooked. What we didnt spend on main course, we spent on wine and was definitely worth it. We'll be back.

food4
ambience4
service5

Good reception at the hostess desk. Grea ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good reception at the hostess desk. Great service from Luis, our waiter. My Kona rubbed steak was wonderful. The oysters were also great. My wife's filet was ok. Her calamari was just so-so as the breeding was too thick. Overall very enjoyable.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.