Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - Seattle

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the Cobb Building at 4th & University. Join us for happy hour Monday through Friday from 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

1301 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 382-0900

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet Available.

Executive Chef:
Josh Westcott

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 24 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Business Meals (26)
Romantic (25)
Notable Wine List (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Groups (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (6)
Casual (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1956 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

We have eaten at some of the finest restaurants in the US. From NY to Chicago and all of them in New Orleans but I just ate the finest dinner I've ever had. Outstanding food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Four of us were visiting Seattle and wanted a good steak, checked the reviews and went here. Nice booth, allowing us to have conversations. Great martini, very good wine list, great steaks, and awesome truffle fries. Service was outstanding, gracious, even when we commented the truffle fries did not taste very truffly (they replaced, and all was good) or in sending back one of the split steaks for a bit more cooking. Not cheap, but good for a special night out.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

I requested a bar seat. Upon arrival this was not available. My friend and I (2 women) were seated around a corner hidden from view at a tiny table. Our waiter barely acknowledged us and once our food arrived he totally ignored us while totally fawning over the others in his area!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been here many times, and they never disappoint! The steaks are always cooked to perfection!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Our meal was excellent and the service extraordinary. This was our first time at this restaurant, but we will be back. It reminded us of some European restaurants with its professional waiters.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Outstanding steak; great service. Prompt seating with reservation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Started off rough waiting at the bar for our reservation to become available. We spent a 1/2 hour trying to flag the two bartenders down for a cocktail, but they never responded. Saved some dough I guess. Our server at the table was excellent!

Capital grille is not a pub. The gent screaming for the Texas Football team in double OT with the Trojans should have been asked to quiet down as he was actually very loud. I never write reviews as I let it run off my back. But this one bothered me.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The theatre menu is terrific. Nice wine list, and the service is stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had some issues with the Salmon, had to send back twice, was undercooked both times. By the time we got it back I'm afraid it was severely overcooked and dry. Steak was ok at best... Overcooked to well done on the edges, decent in the middle.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Two weeks ago my spouse dined at The Capital Grille with colleagues and was very impressed. The problem is, is that this place apparently only does one thing well, which is steak. We had salmon and chicken. The salmon was completely overcooked and obviously not fresh, very fishy. I left most of it for their trash bin. The chicken was okay, but both dishes lacked any flavor whatsoever. The chefs here rely on butter and salt. Nothing flavorful, remarkable or delicious. The white wine list was abysmal. I tasted three white wines and finally just ordered a glass of Prosecco. The bread and the service is wonderful, which is the best thing about the place. The ambiance is 'old gentleman' club feel: dark, wood, leather and giant paintings of important rich men - if you are impressed by that sort of thing. We left extremely disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Capital Grill is always "simply outstanding". Great people, great service and the food never disappoints!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The Capital Grille never disappoints. Their attentive service is outstanding. I would highly recommend it for special occasions as they truly make them memorable. The salmon oddly enough (after all this is a steak house) was absolutely wonderfully prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Very good service, very flavorful steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Just going to echo what everyone else has said. Spectacular food and drinks and while a little on the pricey side its a great spot to celebrate and anniversary. I would recommended this restaurant to any one looking for an upscale place to celebrate a special moment.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Have dined here many times for both special occasions and just for the heck of it. Always enjoyable and great service. We did note that some of the food this time was kinda bland but still cooked to perfection, just not much seasoning. And you get plenty of food for the buck.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our server was outstanding. Patient, attentive without being intrusive and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Christopher Clarke gave us an amazing service! Food was fabulous and drinks were delicious. Our friends enjoyed their wedding anniversary! Thank you! :-)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were trying to figure out where to take our 34 year old son and his new bride for his birthday dinner. Capital Grille was the perfect spot! Not too stuffy for 30 somethings but quiet and elegant for the older crowd. The service was great and the food even better! All in all a fun night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The soup is very delicious and the service is excellent, and it's good for friends chatting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

They treated us with great care (Anniversary) including little bites from the Chef before dinner and a wonderful desert mix after we had finished our meal

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great service from entire staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great staff, attention and attitude. that equates to great management.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Five star food and service. The food was so good that everyone amazed. Very attentive servers.
Very unique and exceptional experience .

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We always enjoy our time at Capital Grille. This time we came in for the Generous Pour and as usual we were not disappointed. The wine pairings were spot-on, the food as always utterly delicious and our waiter's (Josh) recommendations were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

I've been to your restaurant many times, mostly for business. The one thing that I find irritating is the constant interruption by wait staff, management, etc. Yesterday I had my conversation interrupted at least 4-5 times unnecessarily. I think your folks should learn when it's appropriate, not necessary to interrupt ongoing conversation. I'm there for work and looking forward, I'm going to go elsewhere to have a business conversation. Why can't management ask on the walk out, about the service instead of interrupting an ongoing conversation?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 16, 2017

On vacation in Seattle! This place topped all the other restaurants we visited on our trip. We are from Nebraska and I've got to say we got good steaks but the steaks at Capital Grille topped our steak experiences! Great cocktail drinks and wine list! Will definitely be back again if we ever visit Seattle!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Outstanding among Seattle fine restaurants on all counts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Fantastic Food. I had the Chef's suggested Bone-In Ribeye with Asparagus. My wife had the Halibut. Both dishes were outstanding. The service was also beyond expectations. I highly recommend the Capital Grille in Seattle!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Myra and I so enjoy the waitstaff. Always consistently friendly and so knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 8, 2017

My favorite business lunch spot in Seattle that has great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The bone in rib eye was delicious, melted in your mouth. Rod, as in Rod Stewart was gracious and caring. A great night as expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The porcini rubbed ribeye with balsamic reduction was quite delicious. We enjoyed "The Generous Pour" wine pairing, something we make a point of doing every year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

From the moment we walked in until the moment we finished our dessert everything was superb! The waiters were extremely kind and knowledgeable of their menu which was helpful since I have a horribly long list of food allergies! Service was A+! I tried Lobster Mac and cheese for my first time ever and I foresee myself returning for more of the lobster mac every time I visit Seattle . I also had the seared citrus salmon with almonds and green beans... my oh my what a delight that was! The salmon was so flavorful and delicious while it melted in my mouth; I have zero complaints other than I wish my salmon turned out as well! I highly recommend The Capital Grille!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Nice, old school dining. It's downtown Seattle so prices are high. Service is good, just not great (waiter not cognizant of dropping a sleeve in food twice during the meal).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 28, 2017

A bit on the pricey side, but excellent value given the quality of the service and food. Traditional meat-and-potatoes with some other option dining. My personal favorite is their traditional burger with ground bacon and onion added to the sirloin. Perhaps the best rib eye around for the money.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food was delicious and service impeccable. Business lunch, atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Capital Grille went above and beyond to make my lunch a special occasion. After being turned away by a another restaurant because of our group of 10, I was able to make a last-minute reservation with Capital Grille. They happily accommodated our group, set up a beautiful table, gave us attentive service, wonderful food, and went above and beyond with the desserts and champagne. It was a memorable experience for me and my guests, and I can't thank them enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Omar was a great serve and did a great job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was excellent as usual. We only ordered appetizers, salads, and wine. For a light dinner, the food was wonderful, but it was a little pricey for what we ordered. I'll go back anyway.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our evening, as always, was wonderful! Great food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.