About The Capital Grille - Seattle

1301 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the Cobb Building at 4th & University. Join us for happy hour Monday through Friday from 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 382-0900

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet Available.

Executive Chef:
Josh Westcott

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Wagyu Cheeseburger
Ribeye Steak Sandwich
Bone-In Kona crusted dry aged sirloin
Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries
Fresh Squeezed Mint Lemonade
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Clam Chowder
Fried Calamari
Salmon Amuse
French Onion Soup
Merlot
Porcini Crusted Delmonico Steak with 12 year aged Balsalmic
 Capital Cheeseburger
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Shallot Butter Sauce
Filet Mignon, 10oz., Au Jus cooked Rare+
Smoked Salmon On Onion Pita Crisp
Pan-fried Calimari and Proscuitto Wrapped Mozzarella
Maine Lobster Roll
Filet Mignon
Dry Aged Steak
Truffle Fries
Creme Brulee
lobster roll
Cedar Planked Salmon with Tomato Fennel Relish
Wagyu Burger
Lobster Pot Pie
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Sirloin Steak
flourless chocolate cake
porterhouse steak
Lobster Bisque
Filet Oscar W/ Lobster Mac & Cheese
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 15 Year Balsamic
Pepper Steak
Crab Cakes De Nom Nom

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 24 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Steakhouse
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Seattle / Eastern Washington
3 More
Best Service
Seattle
Steakhouse
Seattle
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (76)
Notable Wine List (42)
Fit for Foodies (42)
See All
Romantic (42)
Good for Groups (31)
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Late-night Find (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Hot Spot (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food, great service, and quiet (we ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 3 days ago

Good food, great service, and quiet (week night).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I love this place. they provide very go ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

I love this place. they provide very good customer service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood platter app,is outstanding. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The seafood platter app,is outstanding. High quality,fresh,well presented. Absolutely delight full . The steaks were nicely seasoned and cooked as desired

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

So AMAZING! The food, the service, and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

So AMAZING! The food, the service, and everything was amazing. They even gave us a tour of the dry aging area. So cool!!! :-)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner celebrating our so ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a great dinner celebrating our sons 20th birthday. Our server was wonderful, and the whole staff was very attentive. The food was excellent and we were completely satisfied on our meals and portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fantastic lunch for a special o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had a fantastic lunch for a special occasion last week and it couldn't have been more wonderful! Celebration champagne, fantastic lunch and delicious coffee. The service was perfection - I can't wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't eaten here in awhile. Shared a co ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Hadn't eaten here in awhile. Shared a combo of dishes with dining companion. Recommend the wedge salad. Lobster/crab cakes also good. Parmesan truffle fries okay, but there are lots of places with awesome fries. Sliced filet with wild mushrooms: I'll swear they were criminis. Steak was charred on outside, still pink in middle. Should have had a sauce on the side.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service very slow

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Service very slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and were treated with champagne, dessert, the red carpet. Our server was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Looking forward to celebrating our weddi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Looking forward to celebrating our wedding anniversary with a nice dinner.

Aside from sitting next to a very loud table (with language nobody should have to listen to) my wife ordered the salmon. She ordered it medium well but it came very dry and more on the side of "well done".

The manager very graciously apologized and offered to try again. The next time the salmon came, it was about as close to sushi as you could get. Very raw in the middle.

Needless to say, my wife did not try a third time.

The manager was nice and gracious and apologetic. The waiter was friendly. They gave us a free dessert (chocolate lave/molten cake) for our troubles, but sadly it was over cooked and not that good. And in the end our entire meal was comped (I ordered the French onion soup and the filet and my wife had a salad).

So I applaud the service. Just not the chefs and their ability to cook salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

We came here to celebrate a special occa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We came here to celebrate a special occasion and two glasses of complimentary champagne was brought to our table. My date really enjoyed the lamb and I really enjoyed the seafood stew.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

ALWAYS a perfect evening at Seattle's Ca ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

ALWAYS a perfect evening at Seattle's Capital Grille!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was fine, the jackets they make ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Service was fine, the jackets they make their servers wear are reaally ugly. The salmon I had was almost inedible as it was way overcooked. And it was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

The Service was great, however the when ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The Service was great, however the when we arrives we were not greeted with warmth or a smile from the hostess. She was very cold and acted like we were a burden to book a table so late, which was 9:15 at night. That was the only think that ruined the experience and quite frankly, if I wasn't hungry, I would have left because of her attitude.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was all fantastic and the servi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was all fantastic and the service was exceptional. Most of our party had the New York strip with the porcini mushroom crust and 15-year ages me balsamic while others reveled in the filet with the Kona crust and shallot butter. We all had different salads (we couldn't help but to share with each other) and shared the Brussels sprouts, potatoes, and asparagus. Thank you for the experience, Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High class, old-school steakhouse--exact ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

High class, old-school steakhouse--exactly as promised. The food was great (lobster salad for me). Wait staff can be a little overattentive, but other than that, I love Captial Grille for a business meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In the numerous steak houses I've freque ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

In the numerous steak houses I've frequented, this one is a standout. You almost didn't need a knife to cut through the Porterhouse (served perfectly rare, as requested). The venue is classic - we sat in a booth. The service was well-timed, and the server was knowledgeable, attentive and gracious. A perfect meal. The one hiccup was the loud group of men enjoying (too many drinks I think) at the bar - we were seated very near to them. It was a bit distracting where other tables away from the bar might be best if you want a quieter meal. I don't get a chance to visit Seattle often, but will definitely return to the Capital Grille if I do, and I encourage those who haven't yet had the chance to eat there, to do so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining experience was very enjoyable! Ro ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Dining experience was very enjoyable! Round table for 5 adults, able to converse easily & share bites of meal. Steak was cooked perfectly according to our request. Scallops were delicious, seared just right. Spinach salad w/ warm bacon dressing was dressed just right - not too little or too much. Maybe lighting could've been a touch brighter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Capital Grille is always a great spot ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A Capital Grille is always a great spot to have a casual lunch at the bar - the Seattle location is no different. Food and drink always consistently top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The Capital Grille is ALWAYS excellent - ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The Capital Grille is ALWAYS excellent - have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an outstanding place to eat. 5 s ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is an outstanding place to eat. 5 stars does not do it justice. Excellent host, lovely ambience, excellent value for money wine package (the Generous Pour) and perfectly cooked food. Cannot recommend it highly enough

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great spot to visit after seein ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was a great spot to visit after seeing a show at the 5th Avenue Theatre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Usually shy away from chains, even good/ ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Usually shy away from chains, even good/great ones when traveling. But- dinner was excellent. Great sides, great drinks, nice people. Epitome of a great steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious steak and seafood. Minor issue ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Delicious steak and seafood. Minor issue with coffee. Server and manager very accomaditin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I met our son for lunch. We ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My wife and I met our son for lunch. We both had the lobster bisque special; at least a full claw of meat in the small cup. The sherry added at the table was a delicious touch. Our son had the prime rib sandwich which was of generous size so that he took some with him. My Mediterranean salad with shrimp was quite good, although too many Kalamata olives for my taste, as they are pretty strong flavored. Our waiter, T'Shovie Smith, was a joy to interact with.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an outstanding meal from start ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was an outstanding meal from start to finish. My expectations are high when returning to a Capital Grille location and Seattle did not disappoint. While one of our entrees did not arrive as expected, it was immediately rectified with the utmost professionalism. The manager himself was an integral part in the rectifying of the situation.

The quality of the appetizers, salads, steaks and sides was stellar. We will return without a doubt and recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romance, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Kimberly, was fantastic, pro ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our server, Kimberly, was fantastic, providing excellent service as well as fun, friendly conversation about the area (we were on our last visit to Seattle before moving there permanently). We ate a lot of seafood which was good but nothing too outstanding (only one type of oyster, prawns a bit over-cooked) but I loved the tomato saffron broth that came with the bouillabaisse. My partner asked for his seared tuna to be cooked a little more and they were more than happy to accommodate. We will definitely be going back to try some beef dishes since their specialty is in-house dry-aged meat. They offered an extensive drink menu on a tablet with a very simple, user-friendly interface. Though we didn't plan on ordering dessert, Kimberly gave us a beautiful, complimentary welcome-to-Seattle plate with a cheesecake and a chocolate espresso cake, both of which were TO DIE FOR. If anything, I'll definitely be back for more dessert!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Exceptional service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Exceptional service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were outstanding. Our ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Our waiter, Matthew, was awesome. We have had great experiences at Capital Grilles in Seattle, Miami and Milwaukee. Our previous visit to the Seattle Capital Grille almost a year ago had some "hiccups," which were properly handled all around at the time. This visit was back to normal for the Seattle Capital Grille, i.e. outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience from start to finis ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The whole experience from start to finish left my wife and I with a memorable anniversary dinner. The food was delicious and cooked perfectly. The ambiance was a relaxing and romantic atmosphere. The Capital Grille went above and beyond expectations. Their kind hospitality will be truly remembered. As we were seated, we were presented with a thoughtful note with a warm anniversary greeting. It was followed with complimentary champagne and a absolutely delicious Salmon Hor d'oeuvre. This kind of warm hospitality really adds to the whole dining experience. Our server Matthew was exceptional. From the moment he presented himself it was a good first impression. His kind personality and knowledgeable recommendations helped us know exactly what to order. For dessert he recommended the Coconut Cream Pie. It was the best one we ever had. It was creamy & not overly sweet. The crust was delicious & flaky. It was perfect. As full as we were. It was so delicious. We devoured it! It didn't end there. Matthew definitely surprised us with a thoughtful dessert plate with "Happy Anniversary" stenciled in chocolate that was accompanied with a Creme Brule Cheesecake & Seasonal Berries as well as a delicious mini chocolate cake. Again, such a great experience at The Capital Grille. The entire staff was fantastic and hats off to Chef Josh for a excellent dinner. Coming to Seattle this has to be one of the highlights of our vacation. We will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server Joel and manager Steve made my bi ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Server Joel and manager Steve made my birthday dinner very memorable. The service was awesome and food was amazing. I felt special and left with a good feeling and full stomach thanks to Capital Grille and their great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had yet another great meal ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My wife and I had yet another great meal at the Capital Grille. I ordered the filet and she got salmon. Both cooked & seasoned to perfection. Also, their Caesar Salad is highly recommended -- one of the best I can remember having (and I always order it). Great selection of wines by the glass and if the Kushi oysters are on the menu, order them. I think it's one of the best steakhouses I've been to. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I will definitely be back!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy the Capital Grille. Our wa ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Always enjoy the Capital Grille. Our wait person today was bartender, Tate who always takes great care of us. Always great staff...also includes Casey and many others. Will be back often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our service was exceptional! Our waiter ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our service was exceptional! Our waiter made lots of suggestions when asked and all were great. This is more of a traditional steakhouse than a romantic restaurant, but the decor was pleasing and the booths comfortable. Only drawback is that our booth was situated close to the bar and there was a sports game on. At times the crowd, including staff were hollering at the tv. It didn't last long, but definitely detracted from the ambience. This restaurant is pricey but the food was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

ALWAYS enjoy my evenings at The Capital ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

ALWAYS enjoy my evenings at The Capital Grille! Outstanding each and every time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, The Capital Grille has excell ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

As always, The Capital Grille has excellent food, service and ambiance! We appreciate the professionalism of the wait staff. Great experience all around!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Resturant. We always enjoy eating ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great Resturant. We always enjoy eating at the Capital Grill. Even though a bit pricey, good value considering the quality of their food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is excellent and consis ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This restaurant is excellent and consistent from drink to dessert.

It's because from the management to the busboys(&girls), everyone is committed to providing the best service and product. Our server, was able to get me an appetizer that was off the menu; and the manager came by to make sure everything was to my liking (as l preferred it). The bartender made my drink better than I could with same ingredients that I have at home.

I've never been disappointed at this restaurant; whether here in Seattle or in DC.

Thx

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.