The Capital Grille - Seattle

4.7
2192 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Business Meals
  • Good for Anniversaries
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the Cobb Building at 4th & University. Join us for happy hour Monday through Friday from 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(206) 382-0900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Josh Westcott
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
University
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
$10 Valet Available.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 24 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

View Private Dining Details
What 2192 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

I held a private dinner in the enclosed dinning room on Tuesday, June 19 and everything was fantastic. The room was very quiet and the round table made it easy to converse with everyone at the table. The service was excellent - just like you would expect from a very fine dining restaurant - four servers arrived at the same time and presented the meals in an orchestrated fashion. The food was also fantastic. It was probably the best business meal I have ever held. I would highly recommend the Capital Grille.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Solo - sat at the bar and the Bartender made my meal. Her recommendations were perfect and the conversation was even better. Had the boned-in filet and the creamed corn. The meal was outstanding. The Corn is new to Capitol Grill and it was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Request server Christopher,the best

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter Chris was exceptional!! He listened and had excellent customer service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

This was a great spot to celebrate my husbands birthday. They made the occasion memorable with all the little details from complementary champagne and the wonderful dessert. Definitely great experience, definitely will come back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great choice for our sons graduation dinner. Fancy and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Family meal with two children, ages 8 and 10. Everyone found something on the menu that appealed to them. Food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Fantastic evening - service was impeccable and the food excellent as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We had a lovely dinner. Our server was more than attentive and the manager was as well. The pineapple martini is delicious! I highly recommend it. The chocolate cake with ice cream and cherries was my favorite part of the meal. This is definitely a great place to try if you are traveling to Seattle!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

First rate and delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Excellent high end steakhouse with fantastic food and superb service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Senior prom

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Food was good. Service was good at first, but wait staff seemed to forget about us for a long time after dinner was over, and before desert. Ambiance was good, if not my thing. Pretty expensive for what we had but quality was good. I expected "outstanding" quality for the price, however.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Graduation party of six. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were the most important guests in the restaurant. The service was flawless, the wine list impressive and the meal delicious! The waiter recommended the ribeye steak, which turned out to be exactly the right choice!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Food was exceptional. As was the Service. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Going to Jame Taylor Concert with Friends and had a fabulous meal!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Being a Capital Grille enthusiast, I chose this location when I was in town on a business trip. I invited several colleagues that I have worked with over decades. The seafood was excellent. The vintage wine suggestions was also excellent ! Our Waiter was wonderful and intuitive. Did I mention we had a 2 yo in tow and they knocked out of the park. Thanks CG this will be a memory for years.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Had a wonderful dinner, once again, at the Capitol Grill Sunday night. Food and service were excellent, as always. I had the halibut and my husband had the salmon, both were delicious! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We were made to feel very uncomfortable by the host manager when he talked down to one of the employees. It is not kid friendly there and they sure let you know with their snide comments.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 29, 2018

The food was excellent but the experience was less than what was expected. Although or waiter attempted to do his best it seemed as though the restaurant was short of experienced support staff. Honestly, I think the service would have been better at chili’s. The waiter was over extended; the Maitra d was polite but I’m got the impression this may have been his first night on the job.

I don’t think I have ever given a negative review but for $300.00 I would have expected a lot more.

At least the food was very good - but most Seattle restaurants have great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

John our waiter was amazing - he was attentive, gave wonderful descriptions of our food which were spot on. And the food was very good. It was a very enjoyable event celebrating our daughter's graduation with family and friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Graduation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The Food was great especially the Ribeye, quite possibly the best I’ve ever had! Definitely a must have!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We were at the restaurant to celebrate our 27th Anniversary. Arriving early we pondered our options. Thinking we may be able to slip in early we inquired at the front. Not only were we seated immediately, but the wait staff was as attentive as we have come to expect at this location. Dinner was excellent and the wait staff were wonderful about making sure we had a wonderful 27th. Great place for dinner no matter the occasion. Our thanks to all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

It was my first time dining at this location. Tim made sure I had a nice location for a business dinner. Quiet and comfortable. Overall expectations for this restaurant were a 5 star plus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

very expensive but worth the money!
great stakes!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Service was great, table and setting great. Food was over priced and steak a bit grisly. Dessert was wild berry, pastry on top was not fully cooked and the scoop of ice cream compared to the tart was so small, a bit disappointing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

A must do if you're in Seattle!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Service was outstanding. John took really excellent care of us.
Good things: Dungeness crab cocktail was probably the best I've ever consumed. Most delicious crab ever. Our ribeyes were cooked exactly as requested.
Not so good things: The Grey Goose martini up with a twist tasted watered down. The dressing on the wedge salad was bland -- I could not find any blue cheese. The baked potato accompanying the steak was served with butter only. No option for sour cream.
We made the mistake of ordering the flourless chocolate cake thinking it was a lava cake. It was good for what it was, but was ordered unintentionally.
Great ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was perfect for Mother's Day brunch! Our table for 6 was beautiful, service was outstanding, and the menu was exquisite. Best flourless chocolate cake ever!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very nice service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

They made my birthday celebration really special!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The live worm in my food was absolutely cringeworthy. Glad I spotted before I began eating the otherwise great looking lobster roll. This should not happen anywhere, let alone at a place where you shell out $60 a person for a business lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The salmon and lobster were cooked to perfection. It was a birthday celebration and the staff made it a fun and festive outing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The prawn cocktail was fresh and amazing! Next time though, I will order the blue cheese wedge salad with dressing on the side as was dressed too much for my taste. Less is more. Maybe always serve the dressing on the side to accommodate individual tastes. Our Servers were great. Thank you! Laurel Scott

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great ambiance, service and food - enjoyed it thoroughly - the dry aged steaks are amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Amazing food and service. They went the extra mile to ensure my birthday was memorable. One of my favorite dine out experiences to date! Thanks again!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We enjoyed our dinner, and our server was attentive and warm. However, upon arriving to the restaurant, we sat at the partially empty bar to order some drinks before our table was ready. We, two women, sat at the bar for a good 5 minutes without anyone offering us a wine list, or to take our order. There were empty seats at the bar. Then, 2 men sit down one chair over, and the bartender immediately asked them what they would like to drink and offered a wine list. It was only then that the bartender off-handedly offered to make us a drink. We ordered, our table became ready and we were told our drink order would be cent out to our table. However, when our waiter when to pick them up, he discovered the order was never entered in. Poor bar service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Have been to the Capitol Grill for both lunch and dinner. Food and service are always excellent. Great spot for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
55