Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - Seattle

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the Cobb Building at 4th & University. Join us for happy hour Monday through Friday from 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

1301 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 382-0900

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet Available.

Executive Chef:
Josh Westcott

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 24 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Business Meals (32)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Romantic (27)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (10)
Private Room (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
People Watching (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Historic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Family Style (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1883 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

The Maine Lobster Salad is a must have. I am still thinking about it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I have dined at The Capital Grille in both Jacksonville, Fl and Las Vegas, NV . We were excited to find one here in Seattle.
We were not disappointed. The service was excellent ( thank you Anna) and the food was delicious... I believe the steak tartare that I had was the best I ever had in any restaurant...

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, great food and great service. My steak was cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Dark, cold, grim, pretentious high end steakhouse. Portions and prices were ridiculously huge. Most of our party enjoyed their food, but my roast chicken was very, very dry. Servers were attentive if not especially friendly. If you want to escape Seattle and pretend you've been transported to a stuffy, hoggy, vastly overpriced East Coast steak house, this is the place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated our 30th Anniversary and The Capital Grill not only acknowledged the occasion but help us celebrate with a great meal. Our server Taylor was fantastic offering ideas and suggestions. We enjoyed a Ribeye and a Filet and both were cooked perfectly. This was out first time but definitely not the last time visiting the Capital Grill

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Typical Capital Grille meal. Excellent NY strip. Staff was friendly, including busser. Valet parking makes it easy as Seattle is difficult to navigate at rush hour.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Service was good. Staff was strange in the way it seemed they were staring at our table a bit much. Also the awkward forced convo with the maitre d/manager I could've done without. Not my first pick, but my sister works close by and this was her late Mother's Day dinner so ¯\_( ツ)_/¯.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Not very many choices for those with a small appetite. If I wanted to add chicken or salmon to the side Caesar salad they would have charged me the same price as the big plated chicken or salmon meal. When the offer was made by the waiter, it was pretty clear they didn't prefer to do a substitution like that at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We have eaten at numerous Capitol Grills all around the country. The food here was just ok. The portion small. I was very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Poor service. Server needs to know difference between ale and lager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was the best. We sat at the bar. Perfect amount of food with a shared main course pineapple martini to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Roberto gave us one of the best service I've ever received in seattle
Food was good
We left happy with our choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day brunch. Great special menu and service! Thank you for making it a special day for my mom!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Been going here for years. Done forever. Leave it too the tourists. So many better choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I were in Seattle for the U2 concert. We were staying at the Fairmont and CG was just across the street. We have had such good experiences with Capital Grille and this was no different.
Thank you

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a lovely time with fantastic food. Service was exceptional and each wait staff was so charming. It is rare to have great food and great service. The only downside is the price but for a great steak, what else would you expect. Highly recommend it...

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was delicious. We were not rushed and our server was not intrusive so we were able to enjoy our conversation. A lovely, early Mother's Day dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

It was my friend's birthday and we were royally treated. She enjoyed the confetti on the table, dessert, and special card from the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

One of the best steaks and best glutton free menus I have ever seen. Service was amazing... waiter knew his menu, wine and glutton free options. Even knew to ask if I was glutton intolerant or allergic. Expensive but experience was well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

You frequently go to the Capital Grille before the symphony. There theater dinner 3 course meal is always delicious and a good value. Cocktails superb and the wait staff are excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was the best dinner and , service that I have ever had. Thanks so much for a great evening

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Not as good as last time. Ambiance and service were top notch. Steaks were okay, but the sides were not good. I'd try it again down the road.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our waiter Drew wa awesome. We celebrated BIRTHDAY and this was a great place for it. The steaks were amazing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Went for dinner pre-theater. Food was wonderful, service was great. We weren't rushed, but our waitress was conscious of making sure that we were comfortably ready to leave when we needed to do so.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Filet Oscar always a winner here. Amazing crab cakes too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great spot. High quality food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Unfortunately, my experience was not all that good. First, my steak was considerably under cooked. I did send it back, but that kind of spoils a romantic dinner for two. I will say the service was good. ...but for a $230+ dinner for two...I can think of better places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent service from when you arrive to when you leave and food prepared perfectly as always!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful ambience - old world charm that made it seem we were dining in Munich or eastern Europe.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Always a wonderful experience. Great food and consistently outstanding service. They do a really first class job of birthday celebrations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Capital Grille was delicious as always and the service was impeccable. They have changed their Tenderloin Cobb Salad presentation but our server let us know we can ask to have it deconstructed like they used to do (they toss it all together now except for the tenderloin). Will definitely return for more delicious lunches!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Capital Grille is very consistent with their food quality and service. This visit, I ate at the bar with a friend and Carl was exceptional. Nothing beats having a great steak while watching your favorite sporting event.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

the homie Humberto served up the goods proper. try the chilean sea bass - its lit, fam.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fantastic food and fantastic service. Worth the money for the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I have eaten there many years but sadly I think it is going downhill.... the valet parking used to be free now they charge... We were headed to a play I was very explicit of when we needed to leave waitress was great at dropping the check and then never returned.... I don't know about all of you oh when I insisted that she run the bills so we could get out and make it to the play She instead wanted to clear the table nothing drives me more crazy then being in a hurry and not having people listen for no particular reason... I hope they get it together as this I hope they get it together as this was

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We ordered the salad special - Tenderloin salad. Yum! It was incredible! Will definitely request it on my next visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

It was my birthday. They had a birthday card and confetti (tastefully) placed on the table when we got there. Marcus our server was professional and timely. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our brunch there was excellent from the moment we used valet parking to finishing our meal!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

So disappointed. My experience at the location in Phoenix was worlds different and better than what I encountered tonight in Seattle. While the steak was good the potato was a pathetic, dry little bump. Outrageous prices for what was delivered. I never complain about cost except when quality is not delivered. Never going back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 10, 2017

April 9th was the second time we celebrated my husband's birthday at Capital Grille. Two years ago, we dined at Capital Grille-Indianapolis and it was superb. This year, we dined at Capital Grille - Seattle while vacationing in British Columbia and the Pacific Northwest. The meal and the experience was equally divine.

We even came back the next day for lunch just to have dessert as we were too full from an excellent meal of Filet Medallions with Bernaise and Crab, mashed potatoes, asparagus, and sauteed spinach. All, accompanied by complimentary champagne and two small sample desserts.

Ben, our waiter, was wonderful. He was attentative, helpful, yet did not hover or linger in our space or intrude on our time together. The young lady and gentleman who aided him in delivering and/or removing plates, refilling our drinks, and keeping the table tidy were equally proficient.

Overall, we enjoyed another pleasant meal celebrating a milestone birthday. Thank you, Capital Grille-Seattle . We will visit you again as our travels lead.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.