Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - Seattle

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the Cobb Building at 4th & University. Join us for happy hour Monday through Friday from 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

1301 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 382-0900

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet Available.

Executive Chef:
Josh Westcott

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us Easter Sunday for an exceptional prix fixe brunch. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as Shrimp and Grits and more.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 24 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for a Date (36)
Business Meals (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Romantic (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Great for Lunch (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Private Room (10)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (5)
Family Style (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1839 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and the food was delicious. This was our first time at the Capital Grille and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

They made the evening seamless from the valet parking, to hatcheck, to immediate seating to speedy service on drinks, appetizer, entree and dessert. And apart from the logistics, the food and the beautiful ambiance were outstanding. I've been coming to Seattle for over 20 years but this was my first try at Capital Grill. It will be on my must-dine list from now on!! A special kudo to the wonderful staff - a treat to be with motivated workers...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great service. Omar took care of us and didn't skip a beat. It was a weekday and busy but not over-crowded. Will be back in the future to celebrate again. It's expensive just for a date night but worth the price if you're celebrating something special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

I've eaten at many different Capital Grill locations and typically I like this brand very much, however at the Seattle location I keep having the same issue which makes me not want to return. Time and again as I cross the threshold from the street to the reception area I am faced with hosts that are not well skilled in ... shall we say hospitality? For me the people in front of one's own face should take precedent over the phone. With a reservation, first come should mean first seated ... ya, my tables have always been waiting. If hosts decide to seat incomplete parties and stragglers show up piecemeal this does not put their individual accommodation ahead those parties who show up on time and complete. Lastly to the hostess from last Wednesday I would encourage you take your sourness and get your job back as a stevedore. You're not not suited to front of house work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great experience. Celebrated a friends birthday. The service was amazing, the food was great. They made my friend and me feel very special and added to the celebration!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Outstanding as always ...
Great steaks - great service - great wine list.
Valet parking makes a downtown dinner easy.
Never go wrong place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Service and food were terrific. Great servers. Steaks were cooked perfectly. No disappointments. Pricey though excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The service & food were amazing. What a fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The Capital Grille was very good - but it was VERY DARK inside. The menus were difficult to read , but everyone at the table had a cell phone / flashlight. The server was very knowledgeable and was very helpful. The food was great. All 10 of us had a great meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Absolutely perfect. Incredible food and service. Our server should train all servers in the industry. Don't skip dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic service from Deveaux. The type of service that you get from a server that understands space and professionalism. Not overbearing, was attentive to when he should come over to take order, ask how things were going, and he was very polite. The guy deserves some appreciation. On to the food: I ordered the 14oz NY strip Poivre with baked potato. It was fantastic. Cooked to perfection. My Wife ordered the Chicken and Mushroom Risotto. Risotto was cooked to perfection and the flavor was very good. Ended the night with the Flourless Espresso Cake with Raspberry..... excellent as well. Pricing is slightly high in my opinion however the service made up for it

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

All was excellent & birthday touchespecially for friend were impressive!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

food was excellent service was even better great place to entertain clients

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great ambiance, delightful staff, wonderful food, but pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It was great as usual. My friend and I love to go here because we are treated so well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

A new "go-to destination" ; everything was "right", from their concern and delivery for a Gluten-Free diner, to the Stellar Service from Christopher, to the "spot-on" luncheon !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great experience at Capital Grille! Attended lunch for a co-worker's 50th Birthday and it was wonderful. Table was decorated, had champagne on the house and the service was fantastic. Great food, great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 28, 2017

As always the service and food were impeccable at the Capital Grille.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great Atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great Tuscan wine steak and lamb. Prompt service.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

MY BEST DINNER OF THE YEAR...................from start to finish.

Steaks very high quality.........................super Martini's

and the oysters..........................oh my....

don't miss this establishment.....................YUUUUM

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The salads are overpriced. The chicken ceasar used to come in a parmesan crust but does not anymore. $20 seems to high for the current quality.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Amazing food and service every time we eat here! Our server was Rod, and he was extremely attentive! Perfect evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Regardless of location The Capital Grille never fails to provide me with excellent choice of well prepared food offered by efficient and friendly staff. I've visited locations in Chicago, Ft Worth, Denver, Ft Lauderdale and Seattle and have yet to be disappointed. A friendly hostess invites me into their warm club like environs. A server quickly gets my drink order shortly and explains their current menu and any new features. They don't have the most steaks nor the most seafood, but they do offer a wide variety of each with multiple, delicious preparations. The coconut pie is not to be missed before they offer a warm towel to wipe away any meal residue. Can't ask for much more than that.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, People Watching, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We dine regularly at this location and have found it to be great for multiple reasons, not least of which is the food itself. The folks in the back work very hard to make sure that things go right on the floor, and it pays off. Thanks to all!!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had a bad night. Usually very customer service oriented, but swamped with everyone arriving at once. Our 5:30 (arrived 5:20) reservation wasn't seated until 5:45. Staff defensive rather than apologetic. Long wait for food and wine and then everything came at once. Timing very off. Should have known when manager is doing valet! I always dine here and they usually do a very good job with great food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Steak was great. Potato was small. Cream spinach was a two out of ten. Restaurant was cold. Wore coats throughout the entire meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our first, long overdue, dinner date. (We've been dating several months now and always planned to have dinner out but never have). We had to move our reservation twice then we were about 10 minutes late. They still accommodated us with a great table. Service was perfect (not a lot of interruptions) so we were able to enjoy our time together. Good martinis are hard to come by. From the perfect amount of dryness to the twist itself, and the bourbon my date had, we were happy from the start. The food was spectacular. And finally, we were the last ones there, closing it out. They didn't bother us at all to leave. But we got the hint watching everything get cleaned. It was a perfect evening. We'll definitely be back 😊

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were at Capital Grille for dinner before the symphony, but really, dinners here should be when you have lots of time to relax and enjoy the good food and excellent service that is attentive without being annoying. Is this place kid friendly? We celebrated a family birthday for my husband here about six years ago. Our grandson was three. It could have been a disaster, but the restaurant arranged the party in a room that was perfect for three generations to relax and enjoy. The waiter even took a family photo. So, I recommend this restaurant for special occasions or just a night out, with or without children. And, it's not just steaks. I don't eat red meat very often, so I ordered the ahi. Best ever.

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was excellent and well worth its price. Unfortunately we were told we had to leave for a private event and it would have been nice to have a heads up that this was happening. Otherwise, the service was great.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was, of course, amazing. The porcini crusted dry-aged ribeye is by far my favorite. What really stuck our was the amazing service. We really felt like honored guests. It really made the evening special

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I went there for pre-Valentines dinner. I ordered flowers for the table and it was actually there. VERY romantic evening. Will always go back to Capital Grill

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Humberto was our server and he is top-notch outstanding. From the moment we walked in the door to the moment we left, everyone could not have been nicer. Someone even stopped by our table during lunch to ask how everything was. Lunch was for my friend's birthday; the table was decorated with glitter and a personal, handwritten birthday card was left for her. We were served complimentary bubbly as well as a delicious dessert plate. We were even given hot towels at the conclusion of the meal. Capital Grille deserves a gold star for excellent service as well as delicious food. The Cobb salad is very tasty. Humberto is our favorite server!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Once again a very memorable dining experience. Great steaks and no charge to split which itself is worthwhile. Good soups and salad and a fair wine list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cool place. Cool environment. Cool Service. Great food. Cost, not so cool. Other reviews did say it was expensive, it is. Although it is a cool place I struggle with the overall value. If this place was on the water with incredible views I might be able to overcome the price tag.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I'll be comparing them against my experiences dining at Metropolitan Grill just a few blocks away. We arrived ahead of our reservation and were seated within 5 minutes...nicely done. Good table towards the back and well positioned to take in the sights of the wine library with a view peeking into the kitchen. Our waiter Ben, was really engaging and a good ambassador for the restaurant. Varied offerings with food choices and something for everyone. The lamb chops are yummy, the NY steak was dry for being prepared med-rare, but still tasty. The wine list is a little turn-off as presented on an IPad type of device. For the clubby, old world steak house feel, I'd drop the high tech approach and go back to the same paper menu as the menu. Very nice all the way to dessert. A group in the private dining room commanded the attention of our waiter and left us marooned table-side for far too long. Given the great service prior, perhaps it was not the waiters choice. This was a special night out and we were prepared for a big check; which was indeed lofty. Given that, it seems a little cheesy to whack guests with a $10 parking charge. Believe me, more than enough was spent from wine-dinner-dessert to remove the hotel style car fee without hurting someone's livelihood. Really good place overall but next time it's back to the Met.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Dropped $250 and got a nice case of indigestion because of the loud and unruly group at the adjacent table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent service and ambience. Ladies expect to have your napkins placed into your lap with a flourish, a classy touch. If you're craving a charred, juicy filet The Capital Grill is a solid choice. Ordered medium, mine did not disappoint.

They serve tasty artisan cocktails and host an extensive wine list. I had the "Stoli Doli" a take on a pineapple martini, and would definitely have it again. I also like that it's open for lunch with a full menu.

Parking is limited but I believe they offer valet after 4pm. Otherwise expect to park up the street and around the corner in one of a few public lots.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent service by Joel and his crew combined with fabulous food made our evening very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.