About The Capital Grille - Seattle

1301 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the Cobb Building at 4th & University. Join us for happy hour Monday through Friday from 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 382-0900

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet Available.

Executive Chef:
Josh Westcott

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Wagyu Cheeseburger
Ribeye Steak Sandwich
Bone-In Kona crusted dry aged sirloin
Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries
Fresh Squeezed Mint Lemonade
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Clam Chowder
Fried Calamari
Salmon Amuse
French Onion Soup
Merlot
Porcini Crusted Delmonico Steak with 12 year aged Balsalmic
 Capital Cheeseburger
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Shallot Butter Sauce
Filet Mignon, 10oz., Au Jus cooked Rare+
Smoked Salmon On Onion Pita Crisp
Pan-fried Calimari and Proscuitto Wrapped Mozzarella
Maine Lobster Roll
Filet Mignon
Dry Aged Steak
Truffle Fries
Creme Brulee
lobster roll
Cedar Planked Salmon with Tomato Fennel Relish
Wagyu Burger
Lobster Pot Pie
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Sirloin Steak
flourless chocolate cake
porterhouse steak
Lobster Bisque
Filet Oscar W/ Lobster Mac & Cheese
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 15 Year Balsamic
Pepper Steak
Crab Cakes De Nom Nom

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 24 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Steakhouse
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Seattle
2 More
Best Service
Seattle
Steakhouse
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (34)
Notable Wine List (33)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Late-night Find (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (3)
Private Room (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is always delicious

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food is always delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very good food, atmosphere, and service. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food, atmosphere, and service. Nice touches for the birthday celebration.

Unfortunately, a poor experience in the bar afterward - the bartender tried to charged $24 for a glass of "house" wine...really?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The Capital Grille - Seattle was incredi ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Capital Grille - Seattle was incredible. I have eaten at The Capital Grille restaurants in Vegas, Scottsdale, Boston, and now Seattle. The steaks were incredible and you have got to try the Lobster Mac and Cheese. You can't miss for a great meal at The Capital Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We walked in a few minutes prior to our ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We walked in a few minutes prior to our reservation time but they were most kind to seat us immediately. I had a delicious steak and my wife had King Salmon. The presentation, and taste, of our meal was 5 star and we were most pleased with our dinner plans for the evening.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor is classic steak house as is t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The decor is classic steak house as is the service. One of the ways I judge restaurants is by their lobster bisque, and theirs was excellent. The steak was of high quality and came just like I ordered it. It was a very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to be at "The Cap." A ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Always a pleasure to be at "The Cap." Always excellent service, food is perfectly prepared, atmosphere is great and always excellent bar...especially Tate and Karl. Fun to be here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Fun, Private Room, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After enjoying Seattle's Capital Grille ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

After enjoying Seattle's Capital Grille with my sister in July, I knew I had to take my husband. We've eaten in another of their locations, but Seattle was special. We had a trip back to Seattle in September and that was the first reservation I made. So many times when you return to a restaurant the experience isn't quite as good as you remember it, however, our recent visit promoted my husband to state it was one of the top five meals of his life. We've eaten in wonderful establishments from coast to coast and internationally, so that's quite a statement. I can honestly say it was as good as I remembered it. The quality of the food and service is simply outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After many, many celebrations for both p ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

After many, many celebrations for both personal and business at Capitol Grill in downtown Seattle, this was my first less than stellar experience. Truly, nothing stays the same. Capitol Grill appears to moving itself to compete with more middle of the road steak restaurants which I assume is reflective of the overall financial stability of the parent company rather than the individual restaurant itself. This was evidenced by the addition of sides with the entry and our servers comment on this move was made to make the entrees a better value. I do not go to Capitol Grill because it is a good value. I go for the experience. It was also a bit disconcerting to find upon arriving at the curb that valet parking is no longer included in the dinner, nor was it charged to the evenings check. While I do certainly do not mind paying for downtown parking, it certainly would have been appropriate for our server to have informed us of this when we presented our parking ticket when paying the check. Good thing that after tipping the valet $20, we still had cash left to pay. I will certainly be pushing more of my dollars toward El Gaucho in the future which seems to be stepping up its game rather than trying to play in the middle field.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very professional staff , super great he ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Very professional staff , super great help, awesome prepared food..

Andera was exstrodinary

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service & food. We were tired fro ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great service & food. We were tired from a day of being tourist and were worried they might be snooty when our teenagers refused to dress up. But there was a diverse group, dress code wise, in the restaurant and the wait staff could not have been any more accommodating and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was great. Like the steakhouses o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Waiter was great. Like the steakhouses of old elegant, beautiful wood, in restaurant and bar, without the gigantic portions but certainly ample. Is pricey but lovely for celebrations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous as always. Impeccable food and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Fabulous as always. Impeccable food and service. Perfect for a business dinner or special night out (the is our spot for anniversaries).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Andy was a great bartender with lots of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Andy was a great bartender with lots of personality and knew how to make a great In-Fashion. Loved the Lobster Mac and Cheese. Will definitely go again if I am in Seattle.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server was over the top! He was alwa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our server was over the top! He was always 2 steps ahead. I believe his name was Jason, the end of the evening was a bit foggy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great service, and quiet (we ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good food, great service, and quiet (week night).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Luis was absolutely terrific! We thoroug ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Luis was absolutely terrific! We thoroughly enjoyed the evening!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. they provide very go ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I love this place. they provide very good customer service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood platter app,is outstanding. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The seafood platter app,is outstanding. High quality,fresh,well presented. Absolutely delight full . The steaks were nicely seasoned and cooked as desired

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

So AMAZING! The food, the service, and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

So AMAZING! The food, the service, and everything was amazing. They even gave us a tour of the dry aging area. So cool!!! :-)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner celebrating our so ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a great dinner celebrating our sons 20th birthday. Our server was wonderful, and the whole staff was very attentive. The food was excellent and we were completely satisfied on our meals and portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fantastic lunch for a special o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had a fantastic lunch for a special occasion last week and it couldn't have been more wonderful! Celebration champagne, fantastic lunch and delicious coffee. The service was perfection - I can't wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't eaten here in awhile. Shared a co ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Hadn't eaten here in awhile. Shared a combo of dishes with dining companion. Recommend the wedge salad. Lobster/crab cakes also good. Parmesan truffle fries okay, but there are lots of places with awesome fries. Sliced filet with wild mushrooms: I'll swear they were criminis. Steak was charred on outside, still pink in middle. Should have had a sauce on the side.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service very slow

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Service very slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and were treated with champagne, dessert, the red carpet. Our server was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Looking forward to celebrating our weddi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Looking forward to celebrating our wedding anniversary with a nice dinner.

Aside from sitting next to a very loud table (with language nobody should have to listen to) my wife ordered the salmon. She ordered it medium well but it came very dry and more on the side of "well done".

The manager very graciously apologized and offered to try again. The next time the salmon came, it was about as close to sushi as you could get. Very raw in the middle.

Needless to say, my wife did not try a third time.

The manager was nice and gracious and apologetic. The waiter was friendly. They gave us a free dessert (chocolate lave/molten cake) for our troubles, but sadly it was over cooked and not that good. And in the end our entire meal was comped (I ordered the French onion soup and the filet and my wife had a salad).

So I applaud the service. Just not the chefs and their ability to cook salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

We came here to celebrate a special occa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We came here to celebrate a special occasion and two glasses of complimentary champagne was brought to our table. My date really enjoyed the lamb and I really enjoyed the seafood stew.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

ALWAYS a perfect evening at Seattle's Ca ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

ALWAYS a perfect evening at Seattle's Capital Grille!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was fine, the jackets they make ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Service was fine, the jackets they make their servers wear are reaally ugly. The salmon I had was almost inedible as it was way overcooked. And it was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

The Service was great, however the when ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The Service was great, however the when we arrives we were not greeted with warmth or a smile from the hostess. She was very cold and acted like we were a burden to book a table so late, which was 9:15 at night. That was the only think that ruined the experience and quite frankly, if I wasn't hungry, I would have left because of her attitude.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was all fantastic and the servi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was all fantastic and the service was exceptional. Most of our party had the New York strip with the porcini mushroom crust and 15-year ages me balsamic while others reveled in the filet with the Kona crust and shallot butter. We all had different salads (we couldn't help but to share with each other) and shared the Brussels sprouts, potatoes, and asparagus. Thank you for the experience, Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High class, old-school steakhouse--exact ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

High class, old-school steakhouse--exactly as promised. The food was great (lobster salad for me). Wait staff can be a little overattentive, but other than that, I love Captial Grille for a business meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In the numerous steak houses I've freque ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

In the numerous steak houses I've frequented, this one is a standout. You almost didn't need a knife to cut through the Porterhouse (served perfectly rare, as requested). The venue is classic - we sat in a booth. The service was well-timed, and the server was knowledgeable, attentive and gracious. A perfect meal. The one hiccup was the loud group of men enjoying (too many drinks I think) at the bar - we were seated very near to them. It was a bit distracting where other tables away from the bar might be best if you want a quieter meal. I don't get a chance to visit Seattle often, but will definitely return to the Capital Grille if I do, and I encourage those who haven't yet had the chance to eat there, to do so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining experience was very enjoyable! Ro ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Dining experience was very enjoyable! Round table for 5 adults, able to converse easily & share bites of meal. Steak was cooked perfectly according to our request. Scallops were delicious, seared just right. Spinach salad w/ warm bacon dressing was dressed just right - not too little or too much. Maybe lighting could've been a touch brighter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Capital Grille is always a great spot ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A Capital Grille is always a great spot to have a casual lunch at the bar - the Seattle location is no different. Food and drink always consistently top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The Capital Grille is ALWAYS excellent - ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The Capital Grille is ALWAYS excellent - have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an outstanding place to eat. 5 s ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is an outstanding place to eat. 5 stars does not do it justice. Excellent host, lovely ambience, excellent value for money wine package (the Generous Pour) and perfectly cooked food. Cannot recommend it highly enough

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great spot to visit after seein ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was a great spot to visit after seeing a show at the 5th Avenue Theatre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Usually shy away from chains, even good/ ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Usually shy away from chains, even good/great ones when traveling. But- dinner was excellent. Great sides, great drinks, nice people. Epitome of a great steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious steak and seafood. Minor issue ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Delicious steak and seafood. Minor issue with coffee. Server and manager very accomaditin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.