Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - Seattle

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the Cobb Building at 4th & University. Join us for happy hour Monday through Friday from 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

1301 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 382-0900

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet Available.

Executive Chef:
Josh Westcott

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 24 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Good for a Date (54)
Romantic (43)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Notable Wine List (41)
Business Meals (40)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
2101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Kona crusted bone-in NY strip was perfectly prepared. Save room for the coconut cream pie. Service wasn’t terrible but could have been better. I’d definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

The wait for the table was long even after a reservation but after that the experience was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Pre theatre dinner. Always a good choice. Steaks are delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Starting from the Hostess to the mixologists’ and finally our server Rod, everything and everyone was fantastic. We have visited the Capital Grill throughly the nation and we keep coming back to the Seattle location every time we visit... Highly recommended!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

It was very nice evening at Capital Grille. There for a Valentine’s Day date. Checked in for an 20:15 reservation. Maître d’ informed us they were running 15 to 20 minutes behind. We went to the bar and were speedily served cocktails—the wait for our table didn’t bother us. Good service, good food, good drinks, good atmosphere. Stayed very late and weren’t made to feel like we were taking up space. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great dinner on Valentine’s Day! And let’s face it, normally holiday dinners suck - overpriced, below average quality, rushed, etc... Capital Grille pulled it off. Great service, great food, stiff drinks. A good 5⭐️ experience even on a extremely busy night!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

We were a party of 12, and for all of us it was our first time there. I know I speak for all of us: we had an excellent experience on every level: great food, great service, beautiful ambiance. The place isn't cheap, but it was certainly worth it. I will be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2018

Food was delicious, every bite a treat but the lighting was very poor. We had to use our phones as flash lights to read the menu. When the food came I couldn't tell if when I cut my steak I was cutting off a piece of meat or piece of fat. We moved the small lamp on the table next to our plates but this made very little difference. As much as I dislike going to downtown Seattle I do intend to go back. Likely for lunch or in the summer when it is daylight outside.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2018

Food was fantastic, other than dessert. I ordered creme brûlée and it was very dry - certainly Not custardy as you would expect. It was unacceptable. Also, service was very slow. We had play tickets for 7:30 and arrived at 5:15. This should have been ample time for dinner. We had to walk away from our desserts at 7:00. The Capital Grill staff did comp our cocktails, which was nice. However, this did not make up for the stress of trying to get to the play before they closed admittance (before opening song).

Also, we were seated in a booth that had issues. The group behind us was noisy and “active”. It was like sitting on an airplane with a kicking child behind us. Plus, the booth felt like it was going to dislodge from the floor. Needed to be rebuilt, I think. Very uncomfortable and greatly affected the enjoyment of our dinner.

We are loyal Capital Grill customers, even frequenting the Capital Grill in Minneapolis. This time, and the only time for us over the years, we were disappointed.

K. Warner;
Karen.warner@comcast.net

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2018

Great service and experience. Plus made our 25th Wedding Anniversary super special. The entire meal was excellent. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2018

Always a pleasure to be at the Capital Grille. Food, service and value always on top.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Outstanding experience. Will definitely be back. Was a great dining location for the theater.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Loved the old school decor. The food and service were flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Everything about the experience was terrific: cocktails, appetizers, wine list, steak and sides, dessert, and coffee. No problem splitting the main course. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable yet not overly intrusive. One of the nicest dining experiences we have had in some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Outstanding service, great food. Good location close to the 5th Avenue Theatre and Benaroya Hall. A go-to place for special occasions, or just a great meal.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 6, 2018

I eat here once a week for client lunches and my food is prepared perfectly coupled with the the great service and menu selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2018

One our favorites for great food and service! We are never disappointed with either a special dinner for 2 or a large group dinner celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2018

Beautiful restaurant. Crowded and tight reception area that is a bit too dark. Very attentive service staff. Loved the options for lobster along with Dungeness crab add ons for main courses. All the appetizers and shareables can be meals in themselves 😀 when combined. The waitstaff made no qualms about sharing items or splitting dishes either, which often high end restaurants do. Love the filet, lobster Mac and cheese (keeps us coming back), and veggies. Cesar salad was over dressed and next time we’ll ask dressing on side to avoid tartness.

Ask about the paintings and who they represent. Great conversation starters for Seattle history.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2018

The booth behind me moved so much I had a hard time eating my meal. The guy was moving around like an earthquake...The service was good but probably could have been more helpful with the menu. The green bean dish was not good at all and for the money a huge disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2018

We had friends from out of town and this place was great for our group dinner. Service was excellent and steaks cooked to our liking. It was packed on Saturday night so glad we made reservations for our party of 14.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 26, 2018

The Capitol Grill was amazing accommodation our large party on short notice and making for an unforgettable dining experience. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Our waiter was so good. Very attentive. The food was amazing. I had the wedge salad and NY steak. Delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2018

The food is great along with the presentation but the service is awesome!

Tags: Bar Seating, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 23, 2018

All good. Timely preparation and service. Food delicious. Attentive service. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2018

Our dinner was amazing and our waiter Rod was fantastic. Lots of great recommendations and suggestions. We’ll definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Great food. Great service. Perfect ambiance for business dinners, dinner with friends or just a quiet dinner with family. Beautiful wine collection. Bar is a fun meeting place with great drinks and Seattle’s best bar tenders and a great place to have a fun meal for couples and people dining alone. Atmosphere is very nice, yet comfortable. Food and drink service is impeccable!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2018

Outstanding service and delicious steak. Also has great Whole30 food options and they are willing to bring clarified butter for your baked potato. Amazing!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 17, 2018

Capital Grull never disappoints ! Excellent Service and food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2018

Cannot say enough good things about our meal here. We celebrated our Anniversary here and they made us feel like royalty. (Truthfully we are just your average Joes!) The server was knowledgeable and attentive. The chef and GM both came over to wish us a Happy Anniversary. The filet special was fantastic and the bread assortment was diverse and interesting. Thank you for such a memorable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. The food was amazing, as was the service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2018

What a fantastic place to eat! I had the Salmon and it was cooked perfectly...like buttah. The service was great and the ambiance was warm and inviting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Excellent customer service and always feel well taken care of with requests and assistance. Appreciate the professional but cozy atmosphere

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Absolutely amazing experience. You must get the Lobster Mac and Cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Greatly enjoy the service and food. They were very prompt and made my nephew feel extra special. We were celebrating his graduation from Dental school and they greeted him with a glass of champagne. Great way to start an amazing dinner. Also, we were glad that we weren’t charged service or extra charges. We had the pleasure to tip them well.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Had a relaxed evening with a very knowledgeable staff, extensive menu/wine list, and impeccable service. The Kale salad was outstanding as well as the calamari to start. Too many luxurious choices for your main course. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Excelente lugar y personal muy amable, y la comida de lo mejor

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Everything about dinner at The Capital Grille is outstanding! Have been to The Capital Grille in other states and this one is equally good. Appetizers were great and the chef’s special Porcini Rubbed Steak with a Balsamic sauce was huge and cooked to perfection! Try the “add-on” of the Lobster MAC and Cheese ....it was delicious. Our waiter was terrific as was the overall service. This restaurant “chain” never fails to deliver a spectacular meal. Can’t wait to visit another .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Ambiance is just special, quiet peaceful place to enjoy great food , conversation, with over the top service . We had the best steak, maybe ever , in Seattle and the east side.
Restaurant was packed for New Year ‘s eve
but still quiet.
Also a big plus is the valet parking at the front door , only 10$ !!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We had a 5:45 reservation but were there early. They readily accommodated us. If you want beef this is the place to go. Many offerings. We both selected the 10oz. filet mignon since it was the smallest offering ounce-wise. It was done perfectly, medium rare, and is the best steak I've had. The vegetables that came with it, in my case green beans, were delicious as well. I felt it was a very good price point for what you got. Service was attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.