About The Capital Grille - Scottsdale

16489 North Scottsdale Rd.
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Open Saturday, July 4th and closed Sunday, July 5th

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 348-1700

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Travis Garner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact Linda Kammeyer at 480-348-1700.

Restaurant Photos

porterhouse steak
Green beans
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster Tail
Dry Aged Top Sirloin Steak
Chef's Seasonal Fruit Sorbet
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato And Basil With 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Grilled Swordfish With Lemon Shallot Relish
Proscuitto wrapped Mozarella
Smoked salmon
Red Wine
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Fresh Oysrers On The Half Shell
Mohito
Classic Cream Brûlée
Maine Lobster Roll
Orange Glazed Salmon
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Filet Migon

Private Dining

Private dining accommodations for up to 60 guests. Corporate Breakfast Events and Saturday/Sunday morning/afternoon Restaurant Exclusives are available.

The Capital Grille - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Phoenix / Arizona
Steakhouse
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Scottsdale
5 More
Best Service
Scottsdale
Best Ambiance
Scottsdale
Notable Wine List
Scottsdale
Steakhouse
Scottsdale
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Central Scottsdale ›

Special Occasion (55)
Romantic (39)
Notable Wine List (37)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Great for Lunch (23)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fun (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Forgot how nice it is. Great service wit ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined a day ago

Forgot how nice it is. Great service with a nice lunch menu. Will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Filet Mignon was unfortunately dry for m ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Filet Mignon was unfortunately dry for medium rare but had good flavor. Sides were tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great service! Everyone was very friend ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service! Everyone was very friendly and attentive. The food was as good tasting as it appearance .

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent wine, steak and fish. The best ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent wine, steak and fish. The best part was Chris, who took care of us. Great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very well managed place with attentive m ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very well managed place with attentive management and entertaining waiter. Food was all top notch with no holes in any of the courses. Definitely one of the top Capital Grilles in the Country

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated a birthday with family and th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrated a birthday with family and the table was prepared to show a celebration and the food is & was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here for restaurant week - a wond ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

We ate here for restaurant week - a wonderful value for such a high-end steak house. We loved it. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. My husband started with the soup - it was very good, and I had a salad, also excellent. For a main course, my husband had the filet, and I had the NY strip. Both were done perfectly, tender, tasty, and simply mouth-watering. Desserts were excellent too. The restaurant is very intimate and would be a great place for a special occasion or to bring someone you want to impress - or simply to indulge yourself. We plan to indulge ourselves again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good for the most part, service une ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food good for the most part, service uneven tonight. We had a waiter that seemed fairly new and did not speak English as a first language. The service was pretty uneven for Capitol Grille...usually it's much better..but it is restaurant week and they were pretty busy. We eat here often, so I doubt that will change, but honestly, I have had much better service in the past. The kona NY strip was excellent..I did not care for the sides they served for restaurant week...the potatoes were cold and gummy and the green beans were good, but also served room tempe. I really did not like the flourless chocolate espresso cake, but it's probably just my taste...it's too over the top dark choc. for me. The brulee was good, nothing outstanding.

usually we do not go here on Az Restaurant Week but wanted to see what it was all about. Overall, I would skip this special menu offering next time and just come on a normal night. I think the service and food are better then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Still full. It was delish! The service ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Still full. It was delish! The service was great, the food was incredible but need to stay away from the bread!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Capital Grill for Restaurant ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Capital Grill for Restaurant week. The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. The choices they had for Restaurant Week were excellent. The portions were regular size and the presentation was beautiful. Even though the choices are limited if you take part in the Restaurant Week menu, the portions you get here are the same as you would if you were paying full price for it. It was a wonderful dinner and we will be back often!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for restaurant week and so the v ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

We came for restaurant week and so the value was incredible. $44 for 3 course meal with impeccable service and a great steak can't be beat! We were celebrating a special occasion and our server went above and beyond to make it an exceptionally memorable event. It exceeded my expectations by far. It has a dark steakhouse upscale ambiance which was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was delicious and service was very ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

Steak was delicious and service was very attentive. Had a most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I dine at Capital Grille, it ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Every time I dine at Capital Grille, it is always a wonderful experience! Our server Jill went above and beyond to make our evening extremely special.

The lobster bisque was so delicious!

Great food great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a great evening at Capital Grill. Pe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Had a great evening at Capital Grill. Perfect steaks.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 52nd wedding ann ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We were celebrating our 52nd wedding anniversary. From the moment we walked in, we attended to as if we royalty. Waiting for on our table, were red rose petals and little red hearts, spread out it in a lovely fashion. We felt so pampered and many of your staff came to our table and brought us congratulations. Our waiter was Shawn and he served us so well. He even brought a yummy desert as a grand topper to our celebration. We couldn't ask for a better reception from all your staff, from receptionist to being attended to by Shawn. We look forward to a return visit, knowing it will be just as nice as the one on our actual anniversary date of September 19. Thank you so much.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice, inviting surroundings. Servi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Very nice, inviting surroundings. Service is professional and dependable. My wife had the Ahi which was quite good with an assortment of sauces. I had the Ribeye which was cooked correctly. My only hesitation was that the steak was not as seasoned and flavorful as say a Fleming's steak. This may be your preference, in which case you'll be very happy with their steaks.

Always a good experience. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

From the time you enter the door till we ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

From the time you enter the door till we left we enjoyed our dinner. We were celebrating a job promotion. The table was decorated and a card was left at the table for our honoree.

We were greeted by the hostess who took us to our table and sat us . The server arrived quickly after we were seated took our drink orders and explained the menu and the price fix menu.

We had several different starters, salads, clam chowder and lobster bisque everyone enjoyed the starters.

Main dish most everyone enjoyed the filet so well prepared. So very juicy and tender. The sides were mash potatoes and green beans.

We all enjoyed a variety of deserts all mouth watering.

Capital grill does not disappoint. It's a must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal, food was good and s ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We enjoyed our meal, food was good and service was great. We were put in a back room that we had been in before so we have not seen how the normal dining room is - next time we will request a different table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu and the quiet ambience.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The menu and the quiet ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were welcomed by the Hostess with a " ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were welcomed by the Hostess with a "Happy Anniversary" and our table was decorated with hearts and glitter. It was a very nice way to start our evening. Andy, our Server, could not have been better. He was outstanding! He smiled, made us feel very welcome and could not have done more to make our evening a success. The little extras (glass of champagne and a dessert) really made the evening complete. We were at Capital Grille last year for our Anniversary and will definitely be going there next year.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lobster salad was delicious!! Jose is a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Lobster salad was delicious!! Jose is a fabulous waiter!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High end in terms of pricing and value. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

High end in terms of pricing and value. Very memorable evening with friends. Top notch service and wide selection of meat dishes to choose from. Highly recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my wife's birthday and the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday and the Grille didn't disappoint. Service was superior and our server was very helpful explaining the nights specials and the special deals on wine (which we tried and were very happy with). Food was excellent and the added bonus of a complimentary birthday dessert topped off another memorable night at the Grille.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food, as always, was great. For a Mo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The food, as always, was great. For a Monday evening, they were quite busy, but the service staff was always very responsive. They made suggestions as to specials but were not pushing anything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I have dined at CG Restaurants from Stam ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I have dined at CG Restaurants from Stamford Ct, New York City, Charlotte, NC and Seattle, Wash. and happy to report the consistency of the Steaks they have compared to other steak houses I tried. They just know how to cook a Pittsburg style steak. PERIOD.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My steak was perfect on the inside but b ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My steak was perfect on the inside but burned on the outside, not seared. And it wasn't allowed to rest. Very tough to cut and eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

steak was slightly overdone, ordered med ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

steak was slightly overdone, ordered medium, yet only had pink next to the bone. waiter offered to redo it but i didn't want to wait. Wifes chicken too was dry and not the usual moistness.

au gratin potatoes were wonderful.

wine flight was fun and enjoyable.

waiter , Chris was great and informed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We decided to sit and eat at the bar. Th ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We decided to sit and eat at the bar. This is always fun, especially if Oscar is working. Awesome service, great wine, perfect steaks and very relaxed setting at the bar. You can meet new people and as noted, Oscar is the BEST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had lunch many times at the Capital ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I've had lunch many times at the Capital Grille and each time it has been a very pleasant dining experience. The lunch menu offers many choices -- almost too many! It is tough to make a decision. The $20 lunch combination is hard to beat. The food is excellent, as is the attentive service. The restaurant is classy and elegant and a truly lovely location for lunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and service! Our waitr ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always great food and service!

Our waitress Jill was fabulous. One of the best steak places in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great and the waiter was kn ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was great and the waiter was knowledgeable and funny. We were dropping our son off to college and they surprised him with a desert plate with congratulations written out in chocolate. The steaks were excellent and the ambiance fun.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is amazing but our server Jill ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food is amazing but our server Jill made the dinning experience truly memorable

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here numerous times, and th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have been here numerous times, and they have always been great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, as always. This is the 6th or ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful, as always. This is the 6th or 7th year we have observed my husband's birthday with lunch and the Generous Pour at The Capital Grille, Scottsdale. Jose is our favorite server and always takes wonderful care of our group. Can't wait until the next time!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly greeting and seated immedi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very friendly greeting and seated immediately. Chris, our waiter was over the top. Great suggestions for wine and the menu. Also very attentive to our needs though out the dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Andy R. took care of us and was fabulous ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Andy R. took care of us and was fabulous. My wife and I are very familiar with Capital Grille, several locations. We are also rather knowledgeable when it comes to wines. But with their "Generous Pour" in full swing, Andy provided some insights regarding food pairing that helped to make the evening even more pleasurable. Great food, great attention to detail and service and, indeed, generous pour... a good night and great restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our annual luncheon including t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This was our annual luncheon including the generous pour. We missed the scallops being on the menu this year, but did enjoy the lobster and mac plate. Jose is always the best waiter we have ever had and we can't say enough good things about his service. He knows just when to check on our needs and is most generous with the generous pour. Wines this year were very good. Enjoyed them all.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Salad that looked like it came from a ki ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Salad that looked like it came from a kit. Brussel sprouts that were smothered in some heavy sauce surrounded by bacon, ruining the vegetable. Average steak. Lots of competition folks - you have a beautiful dining room but that's not enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

My wife and I had not been to the Capita ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and I had not been to the Capital Grille for many years and our recollection of it was not outstanding. Last weekend we were most pleasantly surprised to learn that our recollection was wrong. The atmosphere, service and food were all excellent. It was our opinion that this dining experience was superior to most of the other dining opportunities Scottsdale has to offer. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.