About The Capital Grille - Scottsdale

16489 North Scottsdale Rd.
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Open Saturday, July 4th and closed Sunday, July 5th

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 348-1700

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Travis Garner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact Linda Kammeyer at 480-348-1700.

Restaurant Photos

porterhouse steak - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Green beans - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster Tail  - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Dry Aged Top Sirloin Steak - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Chef's Seasonal Fruit Sorbet - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato And Basil With 12-Year Aged Balsamic  - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Lobster Mac And Cheese - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Grilled Swordfish With Lemon Shallot Relish - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Proscuitto wrapped Mozarella - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Smoked salmon - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Red Wine - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Fresh Oysrers On The Half Shell - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Mohito - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Classic Cream Brûlée  - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Orange Glazed Salmon - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Filet Migon - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ

Private Dining

Private dining accommodations for up to 60 guests. Corporate Breakfast Events and Saturday/Sunday morning/afternoon Restaurant Exclusives are available.

The Capital Grille - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Scottsdale
Best Service
Scottsdale
2 More
Best Ambiance
Scottsdale
Steakhouse
Scottsdale

Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (27)
Notable Wine List (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Romantic (19)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Private Room (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (3)
Historic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service here was absolutely exceptio ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

The service here was absolutely exceptional! Our server, Jill, made sure everything was perfect. The food was amazing as well. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, as always. F ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service, as always. Friends from England enjoyed their first visit to the Capitol Grille!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the steaks, & the lobster bisque is ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Love the steaks, & the lobster bisque is to die for!! Both my spouse & I love the fantastic bread basket it is wonderful with European type breads. If you have a special meal Capital Grill is the place to go, great table setups for that special event like birthdays, anniversary's! The water glass is never empty, The Glass of Wine & Wagyu Burger Deal with Truffle fries offer is great at $25. Their Kona rubbed beef is killer, hey get the truffle fries by themselves they are to die for! Capital Grill Scottsdale Location is type of restaurant you will Love every time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very efficient and organized, comfortabl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Very efficient and organized, comfortable dining experience with food that is reliably excellent. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

was able to have a nice enjoyable dinner ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2016

was able to have a nice enjoyable dinner and conversation without being rushed

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Just happened to luck into dining here w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Just happened to luck into dining here while on a short visit to Scottsdale. Good was delicious and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great way to celebrate Thanksgiving!

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great way to celebrate Thanksgiving!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food could not have been better and serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food could not have been better and service was even better than the food. This is fine dining and the prices reflect it. I recommend for special occasions, but really could not afford this place on a regular basis.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Was a wonderful dining experience -- tha ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Was a wonderful dining experience -- thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not cooking on Thanksgiving is wonderful ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Not cooking on Thanksgiving is wonderful, especially when you can have a great turkey dinner at the Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

In a word- simply fantastic! Food was a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 22, 2016

In a word- simply fantastic! Food was amazing, wait staff was awesome!

Thank you for a memorable and delicious evening!

Tags: Historic, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kudos to Colin who left us take our time ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Kudos to Colin who left us take our time. We met with a friend who we hadn't seen in 50 years. What a great evening, relaxing, catching up, and enjoying superb service and menu. Thank you Colin!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I went during election n ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My daughter and I went during election night to get away from it all, and had a nice quiet evening with good conversation, good wine, great service!

The mushroom risotto was a bit too salty for my taste, but loved everything else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille is a high-end steakho ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The Capital Grille is a high-end steakhouse - with both excellent food and very professional service. The staff really attend to the art of great service (with no hint of stuffiness) - they're warm and attentive and also know how to fade into the background so you can enjoy a fine meal with your dining companions.

The steaks are top quality and the preparation can run from simple (grilled) to fanciful (Oscar-style or Kona-coffee crusted or Gorgonzola/Truffle crusted) but nothing is out of balance. The appetizers, salads, soups, side dishes, and desserts complement the main courses quite well.

Warning - unless you have the appetite of a sumo wrestler, you will be bringing a nicely packed set of leftovers home. I took the leftover steak, diced it and sauteed it with quinoa, diced parboiled sweet potatoes, and fresh kale for an amazing dinner the following night. Quality beef makes for a good meal - and they certainly know how to handle it well.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous service combined with excellent ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fabulous service combined with excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have had dinner here once a year when ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We have had dinner here once a year when we visit. It has always been our favorite restaurant. This year we were disappointed with our dinner. Our filet was not up to par. Our bottle of wine, a Red blend was served way to cold. Also the service wasn't as good as usual. Maybe it was an off night in the dining room. The bar service in the bar for our before dinner drink was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Good Food and Eric was an excellent pers ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Good Food and Eric was an excellent personable server

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

SPECTACULAR EVENING FOR OUR ANNIVERSARY. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

SPECTACULAR EVENING FOR OUR ANNIVERSARY. PARKING IS VERY TIGHT, ALMOST MANDATORY VALET

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome selections, service was outstand ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Awesome selections, service was outstanding and experience ovall outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wine, Waygu, & World Series. What a com ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wine, Waygu, & World Series. What a combination. The Waygu Burger is Paired with a fantastic wine. The cost of the meal which comes with Parm truffle fries is$25.00 IT's almost like getting the food for free when you purchase a glass of wine.

The food and service was perfect. Just what you expect from the Capital Grille. We also had a nice visit with Travis (the executive Chef) and Sabrina Who stopped by.

Tags: Live Sports, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was marginally cooked and not ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The steak was marginally cooked and not easy to eat. Way overpriced and not worth the cost or trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went there for a birthday celebration. T ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Went there for a birthday celebration. The staff was terrific. The table was decorated in a celebratory fashion. Very nice.

Food was fabulous. Service was excellent. All in all a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful service on the patio today and ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful service on the patio today and in the bar area from Jenn. Always looking forward to the fantastic bread basket with Europe style hard breads. Great lunch menu with unique specials during spring time this year. Try the patio for lunch or dinner during the cooler time of year here in AZ. We loved having a few cigars on the patio with my friends and family!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great well prepared f ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excellent service, great well prepared food and a quiet interesting ambiance.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were very good. I w ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The food and service were very good. I was really disappointed that even though I noted it was my husband's birthday when I made the the reservation, the staff didn't mention it or do anything special. It's the little things that make a celebration special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From Brian to Matt to Jamie, and everyon ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 19, 2016

From Brian to Matt to Jamie, and everyone else, all are so pleasant and make your event so much more memorable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent light supper of appetizers and ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent light supper of appetizers and fantastic breads!

Andy was superb and very much fun as our waiter… very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter (Danny) was amazing. really i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The waiter (Danny) was amazing. really in touched of our needs.

Tags: Private Room, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I asked for medium well steak, came out ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I asked for medium well steak, came out a little charred on the outside and no pink on the inside. Other than that, delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a delightful restaurant and nois ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This is a delightful restaurant and noise level is subdued so normal conversation is easy and pleasant. Joe our waiter was especially good. Our food choices were perfectly prepared. The perfect dining experience!! Its a plus to have experienced career waiters!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are never disappointed when we dine a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We are never disappointed when we dine at Capital Grill. Service is excellent and they make sure to treat you as Special!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb as usual! Jamye and Matt are the ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Superb as usual! Jamye and Matt are the beat!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Forgot how nice it is. Great service wit ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Forgot how nice it is. Great service with a nice lunch menu. Will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Filet Mignon was unfortunately dry for m ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Filet Mignon was unfortunately dry for medium rare but had good flavor. Sides were tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great service! Everyone was very friend ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great service! Everyone was very friendly and attentive. The food was as good tasting as it appearance .

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent wine, steak and fish. The best ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent wine, steak and fish. The best part was Chris, who took care of us. Great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very well managed place with attentive m ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very well managed place with attentive management and entertaining waiter. Food was all top notch with no holes in any of the courses. Definitely one of the top Capital Grilles in the Country

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated a birthday with family and th ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Celebrated a birthday with family and the table was prepared to show a celebration and the food is & was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here for restaurant week - a wond ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We ate here for restaurant week - a wonderful value for such a high-end steak house. We loved it. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. My husband started with the soup - it was very good, and I had a salad, also excellent. For a main course, my husband had the filet, and I had the NY strip. Both were done perfectly, tender, tasty, and simply mouth-watering. Desserts were excellent too. The restaurant is very intimate and would be a great place for a special occasion or to bring someone you want to impress - or simply to indulge yourself. We plan to indulge ourselves again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.