About The Capital Grille - Scottsdale

16489 North Scottsdale Rd.
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Open Saturday, July 4th and closed Sunday, July 5th

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 348-1700

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Travis Garner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact Linda Kammeyer at 480-348-1700.

Private Dining

Private dining accommodations for up to 60 guests. Corporate Breakfast Events and Saturday/Sunday morning/afternoon Restaurant Exclusives are available.

The Capital Grille - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for a Date (43)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Good for Birthdays (32)
Romantic (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Business Meals (26)
Bar Seating (22)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Cozy (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Private Room (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Authentic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (6)
Historic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We always go here for a wonderful lunch with good friends or out-of-towners. The Bar Lunch Menu cannot be beat. Food and service impeccable. Treat yourself and someone special to a wonderful dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Another outstanding meal Good service We enjoy every time - Great Calamari

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Good food but you can get just as good food for a lot less money elsewhere.

Note; the Au gratin potatos "to share" were grossly over-salted.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My birthday and our server Jill was outstanding.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great steak - as always. Service is outstanding. Attention to detail. Consistent outstanding service. Wish the price point was more reasonable but it is Scottsdale.....

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always delicious steaks done right with excellent service

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Restaurant is lovely, staff is great. ambience is nice. Food is good but not great. It sounds good on the menu, but left us disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always consistent one of our fav spots for celebrating

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food and service was good, but very expensive. Noise level was fine.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Another outstanding meal at Capital Grille... The food was perfectly prepared and presented - kudos to the Chef, and Joe G and team provided excellent service to ensure we completely enjoyed our dining experience. Well done! !!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

service is always outstanding, restaurant runs like a well oiled machine ,each guest receives attention...from the moment you enter the restaurant to the moment you leave you are greeted with a smile and know you in for a special evening...Capital Grill spoils you

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Waited over 25 minutes longer than our reservation time before we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very disappointing to have what I thought to be a special Valentine lunch at Cap Grille. I had a 12 noon reservation and waited at the door for over 20 minutes (along with 10 or more other guests) to be seated out on the patio. The two women at the podium seemed overwhelmed. We overheard a conversation at a table nearby that did not have a reservation and the party of 3 were seated and served before we were. The white wine was not very chilled and the service was extremely slow. Perhaps the restaurant took on more diners than they could accommodate. Disappointing experience....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and the best service

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The more we eat at Capital Grille the more we enjoy it. It has become our go-to steak place in a field with many fine restaurants. Service and quality are consistently outstanding and we are guaranteed a great experience. Side dishes are terrific- we enjoyed the creamed spinach and the mashed potatoes which were plenty to serve all 4 of us. Bone-in filet was special, yet one of our party always orders the sea bass and it is superior. Definitely recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Nice venue. Food was very good but that was my expectation. Service level was slow and not attentive enough.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Typically, Capital Grille "Wows" me and me guests with every aspect of a great restaurant experience. This was not the case this past Wednesday evening. I booked a table for 2 through OpenTable and requested a quiet, private table. This was a 2nd date and we both wanted time to talk and get to know one another better. We were sat at an isle end-cap table right in the restaurant buzz. The constant parade of servers trying to make certain we wanted for nothing continually interrupted our conversation. If our goal for the evening was just to eat food, it may not have been so awkwardly uncomfortable. I know that technology is a hot trend, but neither of us enjoyed the wine and cocktails selections spewed from a tablet left on the table. To us it removed the elegance and personal touch of the beverage service. It's a great restaurant but not when relaxed personal conversation is what you seek.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Exceptional Service and food. And it is quiet so you can converse with friends at the table.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Awesome dinner great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The GM was fantastic and omniscient about wines, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went with friends on Saturday and usually service is great whenever we have been there but it was extremely busy due to the Phoenix Open being near-by and I think we had a new waiter working the outdoor cigar smoking patio. After a long time waiting for our Stoli-Doli's, which are awesome Martini's, our waiter returned with out them not realizing we had ordered them and then he was gone quite a while again to take our orders. By then we had gone through an entire basket of delicious bread. My husband and I shared the tomato mozzarella salad which was very good and different than your usual caprese salad, great 15 year old balsamic dressing. My husband had the dry-aged NY strip, medium rare and cooked perfectly. One of our friends had the Wagu Beef burger which he totally enjoyed and our other friend had shrimp cocktail that had several huge jumbo shrimp and she also had the lobster mac-n-cheese which she said was amazing. I ordered the beef tenderloin with lobster which I was sorry I ordered, the beef tenderloin was 2 very small pieces of filet cooked a perfect medium rare and 2 very large shrimp sized lobster tails that were a little dry and tough. I also wasn't expecting it to be on top of a white sauce. It was tasty but I would have enjoyed it better with just a clarified butter on the side. My husband and I shared a side of the brussel sprouts which are absolutely delicious and for me was the best part of the meal. We ordered creme brulee which was good, topped with a little fresh fruit and was light.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I cannot say enough great things about our night. The food was fantastic, the pace was perfect and our server was a rock star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. The whole experience from bar through to dining was first class. Food was excellent. All had steaks and were all cooked as we asked. Great dining experience & glad we chose here to end our trip to Scottsdale. Special mention to the front desk girls & Oscar behind the bar, first class.Will definitely be back if in the area again.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service was excellent. If anything, the service people are overly exuberant and tend toward hovering. My wife and I certainly prefer that to having to search for wait people when they are needed. The food, my wife ordered salmon and I the lamb chops, was also very good. We both thought the food was prepared as ordered. I recommend the lobster bisque. It is filled with lobster bits and seasoned to perfection.

The restaurants was unusually noisy on this night. The crowd from the WM golf tournament filled the bar, drank too much and brought the celebration into the dining area. I mentioned the noise to the wait person and he said, "you should go into the bar and waiting area." My point; you might want to eat in Sedona on the weekend of WM golf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a great meal with fantastic service. They go above and beyond to make sure your dining experience is top notch. Very accommodating and the food is on point!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Awesome great food service fun

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Can always count on Capital Grille for q great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Every year three friends meet at the Capital Grill. We spend the afternoon and enjoy our birthdays. We have never been disappointed and will always return, God willing. Thank you for taking such excellent care of us. We could lunch anywhere, but always come back to you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great place to dine at the bar and make new friends with your neighbor diners. Staff is pleasant and wine knowledgeable....very enjoyable!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

GREAT service and GREAT food!! They even did a celebration cake and champs! 😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very disappointed overall. Food was excellent. However we were placed in the back overflow room. I requested a different table but was rudely told that main dining room and lounge tables were filled. I could possibly accept this but it was the rudeness that was disappointing. We have always considered capital grill our favorite place and have gone there fairly often. However this experience changed our minds. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great place for a business and/or upscale meeting.One of thise rare places where one can hear and understand his dining partner's conversation .

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 24, 2017

One of the best places i have ever eaten at will b back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Jill was great, best part of the evening! Meal and wine was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was great. And, Nicole and staff were amazing

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Steak (filet mignon) was done to perfection (as usual).

Outstanding service (as usual)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 19, 2017

As always Capital Grille does not disappoint. Our server Nicole was attentive and proficient and made our night wonderful. GREAT steaks and everything else!! Love Capital Grille!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Only issue was drinks at the bar while we waited for our table cost the same price as dinner. Wouldn't order three double Jameson's and Sprite again. Next door, same drink, way cheaper. Other than that, food was amazing and service was spot on.

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My wife's favorite birthday dinner spot when we were in NY and now that we are in Scottsdale Az it has continued. We both have visited the restaurant on our birthdays and have bright guests and all have thoroughly enjoyed the dinners. Across the board every time 5 stars on every aspect of each visit. Everything about the evening from arrival to exiting is nothing but outstanding. Wonderful food , staff , ambience and evening. No reason to go to any other steak house in Arizona, absolutely none!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very nice experience. Would recommend it. Steak was perfect

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife and I celebrated 39 years of marriage at the Grill and like always, it was phenomenal! We felt so special from the moment we arrived! The service, as always, along with the food was exceptional. We were treated with a wonderful desert at the end of our meal and had our picture taken by one of the staff to commemorate our special night.

Thanks to everyone who had a part in making our night wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Seated promptly in a booth that was rquested. Waiter promptly arrived at table with menu and wine list. We were asked about drinks and given time to look at menu. Wait staff brought water and bread before our food order was taken. Waiter gave us the two specials and asked if we had questions. Food came in a timely manner and appearance was great. The manager talked to us twice, once about our experience and lastly to give us $50 certificate for a future visit. We we be back soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband and I love dining here. Warm & welcoming staff at the hostess desk, bar & dining room. Great service, impeccable wine list, and decadent menu. I was disappointed that the scallops dish was recently taken off the menu, however I ordered an African lobster tail, and it was cooked perfectly. I guess I have a new menu favorite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Lovely ambiance, onion soup was amazing, but the salmon was not good...it had a heavy layer of spicing which ruined the flavor.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely fantastic food and service as always. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was outstanding. Server wasn't very attentive and never asked for additional drinks. I'll be back for sure but will make sure we get a different server. Our bill would've been a lot larger if she ever came back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

white wine was served at room temp, waiter advised it had to be at 45degrees, once we returned the wine, general service went down hill. Bread basked was removed 2 twice without asking, no hot towels as all other tables received. We've had issues with service in the past and will now look for a new place for our special occasions

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Superb service. It was our anniversary and the table was decorated and dessert very special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Had a great experience as always. Everything was perfect! Thank you Capital Grille.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good meal. Treated with a smile, bartender was friendly, server was professional and anticipated everything. Evening was pleasant and would go back. For my money it is the best steak/seafood place in North Scottsdale.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.