About The Capital Grille - Scottsdale

16489 North Scottsdale Rd.
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Open Saturday, July 4th and closed Sunday, July 5th

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 348-1700

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Travis Garner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact Linda Kammeyer at 480-348-1700.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

porterhouse steak - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Green beans - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster Tail  - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Dry Aged Top Sirloin Steak - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Chef's Seasonal Fruit Sorbet - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato And Basil With 12-Year Aged Balsamic  - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Lobster Mac And Cheese - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Grilled Swordfish With Lemon Shallot Relish - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Proscuitto wrapped Mozarella - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Smoked salmon - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Red Wine - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Fresh Oysrers On The Half Shell - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Mohito - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Classic Cream Brûlée  - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Orange Glazed Salmon - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
Filet Migon - The Capital Grille - Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ

Private Dining

Private dining accommodations for up to 60 guests. Corporate Breakfast Events and Saturday/Sunday morning/afternoon Restaurant Exclusives are available.

The Capital Grille - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Good for Birthdays (25)
Business Meals (20)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Private Room (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Historic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great. And, Nicole and staff we ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 hours ago

Food was great. And, Nicole and staff were amazing

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Capital Grille does not disapp ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

As always Capital Grille does not disappoint. Our server Nicole was attentive and proficient and made our night wonderful. GREAT steaks and everything else!! Love Capital Grille!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only issue was drinks at the bar while w ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Only issue was drinks at the bar while we waited for our table cost the same price as dinner. Wouldn't order three double Jameson's and Sprite again. Next door, same drink, way cheaper. Other than that, food was amazing and service was spot on.

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

My wife's favorite birthday dinner spot ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife's favorite birthday dinner spot when we were in NY and now that we are in Scottsdale Az it has continued. We both have visited the restaurant on our birthdays and have bright guests and all have thoroughly enjoyed the dinners. Across the board every time 5 stars on every aspect of each visit. Everything about the evening from arrival to exiting is nothing but outstanding. Wonderful food , staff , ambience and evening. No reason to go to any other steak house in Arizona, absolutely none!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice experience. Would recommend it ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice experience. Would recommend it. Steak was perfect

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated 39 years of mar ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife and I celebrated 39 years of marriage at the Grill and like always, it was phenomenal! We felt so special from the moment we arrived! The service, as always, along with the food was exceptional. We were treated with a wonderful desert at the end of our meal and had our picture taken by one of the staff to commemorate our special night.

Thanks to everyone who had a part in making our night wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated promptly in a booth that was rque ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Seated promptly in a booth that was rquested. Waiter promptly arrived at table with menu and wine list. We were asked about drinks and given time to look at menu. Wait staff brought water and bread before our food order was taken. Waiter gave us the two specials and asked if we had questions. Food came in a timely manner and appearance was great. The manager talked to us twice, once about our experience and lastly to give us $50 certificate for a future visit. We we be back soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I love dining here. Warm ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband and I love dining here. Warm & welcoming staff at the hostess desk, bar & dining room. Great service, impeccable wine list, and decadent menu. I was disappointed that the scallops dish was recently taken off the menu, however I ordered an African lobster tail, and it was cooked perfectly. I guess I have a new menu favorite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance, onion soup was amazing, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Lovely ambiance, onion soup was amazing, but the salmon was not good...it had a heavy layer of spicing which ruined the flavor.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic food and service as ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely fantastic food and service as always. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Server wasn't very ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was outstanding. Server wasn't very attentive and never asked for additional drinks. I'll be back for sure but will make sure we get a different server. Our bill would've been a lot larger if she ever came back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

white wine was served at room temp, wait ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

white wine was served at room temp, waiter advised it had to be at 45degrees, once we returned the wine, general service went down hill. Bread basked was removed 2 twice without asking, no hot towels as all other tables received. We've had issues with service in the past and will now look for a new place for our special occasions

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Superb service. It was our anniversary ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Superb service. It was our anniversary and the table was decorated and dessert very special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant. Had a great exper ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Had a great experience as always. Everything was perfect! Thank you Capital Grille.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good meal. Treated with a smile, bartend ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good meal. Treated with a smile, bartender was friendly, server was professional and anticipated everything. Evening was pleasant and would go back. For my money it is the best steak/seafood place in North Scottsdale.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Service was good but the salads were ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The Service was good but the salads were pathetic. My wife and I both ordered a wedge salad and when he brought them out he said " I had them cut up for you to save you the trouble "

It is supposed to be a WEDGE! It was obviously scraps of iceberg lettuce and mostly yellow scattered on the plate. A little blue cheese dressing in the middle and a couple small tomatoes (no bacon at our request) but NO BLUECHEESE! I HAVE NEVER HAD A WEDGE SALAD THAT DID NOT COME WITH CRUMBLES OF CHEESE. I wanted to cut it up fresh. I asked if they forgot the cheese and he said "it does not come with cheese, would you like some on the side"? I think it was $12 salad and our bill for 2 of us was almost $500 with tip. Send your chef to Flemings so he can learn how to make a wedge salad!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We were celebrating a friend's birthday. ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's birthday. I mentioned it when making the reservation. Such a pleasant surprise to see the table strewn with rose petals and confetti and then a lovely dessert to end our scrumptious meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Es garantía en calidad y atención, nunca ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Es garantía en calidad y atención, nunca falla! El servicio y la atención siempre muy esmerada, ya saben que vino me gusta y lo trajeron a la mesa en cuanto llegamos.

Tags: Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our 50th anniversary and I woul ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for our 50th anniversary and I would say it was one of the best nights ever. The service was excellent and the food even better. We were seated in a smaller room so it was nice and quiet. They treated us especially well as they knew it was a very special evening for us. I now know where we will be spending every Christmas Eve for many years to come.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited on Xmas eve for lunch. Disappoin ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Visited on Xmas eve for lunch. Disappointed that they didn't have their normal lunch menu; we were unaware that lunch menu was only Monday-Friday. Calamari was very good. My chicken entree was dry. Other guests had salmon, which was better. A little disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome service and food. Absolutely a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Awesome service and food. Absolutely a fabulous dining experience. I had the salmon, cooked perfectly while my date had the filet. Service was so attentive. We love this place!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been eating at the Capital Grill ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We have been eating at the Capital Grille for many years - even in DC before moving to AZ. The food is always wonderful, staff friendly and knowledgeable. A great experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille never disappoints, an ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The Capital Grille never disappoints, and our firm's Christmas luncheon was no exception. The place was so busy it was tough to park. Even though it was holiday busy, our waiters were attentive and the food was hot and delicious as promised. A wonderful celebration of the season!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food great service you get wha ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food great service you get what you pay for👍

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and our waiter Eric took grea ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food and our waiter Eric took great care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday and Christmas Dinner. Great foo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Birthday and Christmas Dinner. Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a hit ! Again Loved the steaks, & ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always a hit ! Again Loved the steaks, & the lobster bisque is to die for have it in the bowl for $15!! Both my friends & I love the fantastic bread basket it is wonderful with European type breads. If you have a special meal Capital Grill is the place to go, great table setups for that special event like birthdays, anniversary's! The water glass is never empty, The Glass of Wine & Wagyu Burger Deal with Truffle fries offer is great at $25 Hurry it only runs for part of the year. Their Kona rubbed beef is killer, hey get the truffle fries by themselves they are to die for! Capital Grill Scottsdale Location is type of restaurant you will Love every time!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Pricey for standard ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent service. Pricey for standard lunch but nice for special occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Every part of the evening was exceptiona ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Every part of the evening was exceptional. Porchini rubbed bone in ribeye was excellent as usual. Sides are amazing as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our organizations first visit t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was our organizations first visit to Capital Grill.

The atmosphere was exemplary and conducive to great conversation.

Our entire dining experience for all of our employees was very

memorable. The food was superior, customer experience superb

and our host/waiter could not have been more caring and accommodating.

Thank you for a wonderful evening that our employees will remember for

years to come.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eric was very good ....food was plentifu ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Eric was very good ....food was plentiful. m Atmosphere is nice. Nice place for dining out.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Definitely a first class restraunt! Eve ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Definitely a first class restraunt! Everything is great, food, service, and facility.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service here was absolutely exceptio ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The service here was absolutely exceptional! Our server, Jill, made sure everything was perfect. The food was amazing as well. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always celebrate special events at Ca ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We always celebrate special events at Capital Grille ... excellent food, excellent service, excellent atmosphere. they always make special occasions more special.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service, as always. F ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always. Friends from England enjoyed their first visit to the Capitol Grille!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the steaks, & the lobster bisque is ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Love the steaks, & the lobster bisque is to die for!! Both my spouse & I love the fantastic bread basket it is wonderful with European type breads. If you have a special meal Capital Grill is the place to go, great table setups for that special event like birthdays, anniversary's! The water glass is never empty, The Glass of Wine & Wagyu Burger Deal with Truffle fries offer is great at $25. Their Kona rubbed beef is killer, hey get the truffle fries by themselves they are to die for! Capital Grill Scottsdale Location is type of restaurant you will Love every time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very efficient and organized, comfortabl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Very efficient and organized, comfortable dining experience with food that is reliably excellent. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

was able to have a nice enjoyable dinner ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2016

was able to have a nice enjoyable dinner and conversation without being rushed

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Just happened to luck into dining here w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Just happened to luck into dining here while on a short visit to Scottsdale. Good was delicious and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great way to celebrate Thanksgiving!

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great way to celebrate Thanksgiving!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.