Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About The Capital Grille - Scottsdale

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring over 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

16489 North Scottsdale Rd.
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Open Saturday, July 4th and closed Sunday, July 5th

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 348-1700

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Travis Garner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact Linda Kammeyer at 480-348-1700.

Private Dining

Private dining accommodations for up to 60 guests. Corporate Breakfast Events and Saturday/Sunday morning/afternoon Restaurant Exclusives are available.

The Capital Grille - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Business Meals (29)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Romantic (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
People Watching (8)
Authentic (7)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Casual (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1625 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The Capital Grill in Scottsdale, AZ is the finest Capital grill I've been to. The staff is always friendly and courteous and manages to make my occasion special, even if my teenagers are throwing tantrums about being dragged to a nice meal. The servers and server assistants are always on their game. I am not sure how this place is so well managed, however, they make it look easy. I'm sure its very difficult to keep such a great staff. Their food is quite good, although I have to admit I've been so many times, I grow a little weary of the same menu items. Fortunately the staff can mix things up and produce almost anything on their menu in different combinations.

Example, I had a wagu beef burger and lobster tail. WOW what a combo! That should just be a thing on their menu :)

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

We came for our 9 year anniversary and also for the Arizona Restaurant Week experience. This was our second visit and the experience is just awesome. The service, the food, everything was outstanding. They really know how to take care of the customers. We will be back!! We are both full with the amount of food we received each and can't believe that it was 44 a person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent experience. An elegant but comfortable atmosphere . Please try the lobster mac and cheese it will not disappoint.

One concern is that we felt rushed toward the end of our dessert. We were asked if we wanted another cocktail but did not offer coffee with our or after our dessert. Overall will definitely return to meet up with friends or for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter was terrific. He was solicitous while not hovering. My filet mignonette was great - the mashed potatoes were great. The flourless chocolate cake was very good as was the wedge. Our waiter was Gio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

As always Capital Grille delivers another flawless experience. Food was terrific, we were celebrating our anniversary and restaurant week. Very comfortable atmosphere, our waiter Jose Jimenez was spot on. Steak was perfectly cooked. Wife enjoyed her Salmon. Mentioned it was really big. Very satisfying wine list. Complimentary champagne toast and decorated dessert plate were a great personal touch on their part

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

Capital Grille treats its customers right. Food is consistently delicious. Recently had the Southwest Salad with Filet Mignon and it was very tasty, steak prepared perfectly. Lobster salad was great too. Service by Mary was excellent. All in all, a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

I think Capital has the BEST filet in all of Scottsdale. Chris our server was incredible as usual, and the food was perfect. Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Always have a great experience at Capital Grille. We were lured in this week for Restaurant Week- a fantastic value at $44. Enjoyed a wedge salad and a caesar salad, and both ordered the filet, which was perfect. The prixe fix included yummy sides as well as desserts. Especially recommend the Joseph Phelps' Pinot Noir which was an excellent value.

Service was slightly off the usual high mark. Our server was clearly less experienced and the pacing less than ideal. Don't need to ask how the meal is 3x, and please wait until after we have swallowed the first bite of food. I'm sure he will improve with time and training.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 19, 2017

I made the reservations and made a note that it was my husband's birthday. When we arrived the table was decorated and there was a card for my husband on the table. This set a festive mood right away and made our family feel special. Our waiter was knowledgable and helped us make great food selections. We dined during restaurant week and the $44 menu was an excellent value. I was impressed. Our food was, not only delicious, but cooked absolutely perfectly. We had a group of 4 who all ordered steaks. We requested medium well all the way to medium rare and each steak was perfect. I even received a call the next day from the restaurant to check on our experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2017

GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE, atmosphere is great for spending time with friends. No rush to leave

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service and food very good but we were seated in the back room in a corner under a/c vent.
No way for server to get around the table so everything is passed across the table reaching in front of the other guest. In future I would request a different table and not in the back room.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We came for restaurant week and the menu was very nice. My wife and I both ordered fillets and my wife's was a little undercooked and both lacked flavor. Everything else about the dinner was great though and I'd honestly come just for the bread and dessert as they have an in-house bakery. Service was top notch as always.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food and service . Worth every dollar . Never had a bad meal or bad service. They treat you like a special customer every time. Jill our server was very special.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We go there on a regular basis and generally we enjoy our meal and the service. However, on this visit, things were different. There weren't enough service people for the amount of customers. Water was never refilled and only toward the end of the meal was the iced tea replenished. There were several tables that had requested wine and they got most of the wait staff's attention. We ordered a hot desert and when it came out, it was cold. They took it back and when it was returned, it was still cold. They did take it off the bill though. It is normally a very nice place to dine. However, they certainly weren't prepared on this occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 13, 2017

THE CAPITAL GRILLE IS A LOVELY AND HISTORIC SETTING WHEN CELEBRATING A SPECIAL TIME!
THE STAFF AT THE CAPITAL GRILLE HAS THAT SPECIAL TOUCH THAT MAKES EVERY GUEST FEEL
AS IF HE OR SHE IS THE ONLY ONE THAT MATTERS IN THE ENTIRE RESTAURANT.

MY HUSBAND AND I CELEBRATED MY BIRTHDAY HERE AND WERE MOST PLEASE WITH THE KINDNESS AND GENEROSITY OF ALL WHO WERE THERE TO MAKE THE EVENING MEMORABLE.

SCOTTSDALE LOCATION HAS PORTRAITS OF AZ'S GREATEST ... THOSE WHO HAVE MADE THE AREA ONE THAT IS A CHERISHED SITE! THE ENVIRONMENT HUGS YOU AS YOU ARE SERVED IN
THE MOST LOVELY WAY! FOOD ? EVERYTHING IS EXPLAINED IN A TASTY WAY AND WHEN SERVED, THE FOOD IS ALWAYS DELIGHTFUL.

AN EXTRAORDINARY EVENING FOR ALL WHO ENJOY THOSE WHO "RAISE THE BAR" AND NEVER
DISAPPOINT! THANK YOU!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We love Capital Grille and have been celebrating birthdays there with friends for years. We had our usual fabulous time and the lobster salad is the best in the valley!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I asked the waiter to butterfly my 10oz med well filet. He said the chef could make it beautifully without butterflying. I was skeptical, especially when my wife asked him to ensure that didn't mean we would be "waiting forever." It couldn't have been cooked better, I would eat here again no question!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Other than it initially took about 15 minutes before any server came over to even take a drink order, everything else was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had the most fabulous time celebrating a birthday. The food was great and the service was spectacular!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great food, amazing service, and good value. It's always good to know that this upscale restaurant will always treat you with more intentionality and class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Capital Grill is always good. The food, service ambiance is always consistently excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great service! Food excellent.
Crab cakes a must.
Wine special was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Nicole and the staff as always treated us well. The food and the service were excellent

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This is not an inexpensive restaurant - but you get what you pay for. Although The Grill is known primarily for its steaks, there are plenty of other choices, including salads and fish. Our meals were uniformly outstanding. The service is gracious and friendly, but not overbearing. This place doesn't sit high atop a mountain. It's located in one of Scottsdale's innumerable malls so if you're looking for beauty and atmosphere, this isn't your destination. If your aim is to find well-prepared delicious food, try this place. You won't be sorry.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food was excellent as always. I ventured away from my normal Steak sandwich amd fries and ordered the main lobster salad instead. WOW was that GREAT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great food and service. Excellent pacing to the meal. Such nice touches for a celebration, the complimentary champagne and dessert very much appreciated. I had the salmon, which was marvelous and cooked just as I asked, with the accompanying green beans, perfectly done. Though this is luxury dining it did not feel stuffy, which I don't tolerate very well. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We come every year to the Capital Grille for the Generous Pour. As always, it was outstanding food and wonderful wines.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and were delighted to be greeted with table graffiti, a nice card welcoming us and they included a top tier dessert with their compliments. Food and service are always top notch at Capital Grille Scottsdale.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Service and excellent tasting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Wonderful experience and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. We celebrated 3 birthdays and had a great time . Great.place to go for special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 11, 2017

A perfect 10! Seared Ahi Tuna and Citrus Glazed Salmon were done just right. The special occasion was topped off with a "to die for" dessert. Don't miss this gem in North Scottsdale.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Capital Grille is one of the best places in the Valley to go for dinner. Superb service is the key here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

All four of us tremendously enjoyed our dinner. The steaks were all cooked to perfection and the onion bread and the potatoes were memorable!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always great atmosphere, service and food. Pricey but worth it

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Told them we were celebrating a birthday when making the reservation and there was bday confetti and a card on the table. They spoiled our birthday girl with a dessert and gave all of us glasses of champagne too. Wonderful...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Fabulous Birthday lunch celebration!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in the Scottsdale area. We dine here more frequently than at any other venue. The ingredients and preparation are always spot on. The wine list is extensive and fairly priced. The managing partner is always on the premises to assure customer satisfaction. The decor is comfortable and appealing. We enjoy special occaisions and inner with friends at the Capital Grille.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and had a great time! The food was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We celebrated both of my daughters birthdays(7/26,7/28) and everything was perfect! It is expensive, but well worth it for a special occasion. We will always chose it for future occasions!
It is nice to have a special place not too far from home. We chose it over Dominicks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.