About The Capital Grille - Scottsdale

16489 North Scottsdale Rd.
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Open Saturday, July 4th and closed Sunday, July 5th

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 348-1700

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Travis Garner

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact Linda Kammeyer at 480-348-1700.

Restaurant Photos

porterhouse steak
Green beans
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster Tail
Dry Aged Top Sirloin Steak
Chef's Seasonal Fruit Sorbet
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato And Basil With 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Grilled Swordfish With Lemon Shallot Relish
Smoked salmon
Proscuitto wrapped Mozarella
Red Wine
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Fresh Oysrers On The Half Shell
Mohito
Classic Cream Brûlée
Maine Lobster Roll
Orange Glazed Salmon
Wagyu Burger
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Lobster Pot Pie
Filet Migon

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:45PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Private dining accommodations for up to 60 guests. Corporate Breakfast Events and Saturday/Sunday morning/afternoon Restaurant Exclusives are available.

The Capital Grille - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Phoenix / Arizona
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Phoenix / Scottsdale
4 More
Best Service
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Steakhouse
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

special occasion (69)
romantic (53)
notable wine list (47)
See All
fit for foodies (38)
great for lunch (34)
neighborhood gem (22)
good for groups (20)
great for outdoor dining (11)
great for brunch (10)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service our waiter Chris was very ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great service our waiter Chris was very attentive, friendly, efficient couldn't do more to make the evening special.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We go back every time we have a chance!! ...

vip
 (México)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We go back every time we have a chance!! The food is always delicious and the service always impeccable it doesn't make you feel at all like a large corporate restaurant chain service, au contraire!! They always know what wines I enjoy and the way I like my meal served

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm still waiting for my wine.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I'm still waiting for my wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bar tables are the best with action ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The bar tables are the best with action around the bar, tv's and your own lively conversation. The service was top notch, the food was excellent and the ambiance is great!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We rate few restaurants outstanding, if ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We rate few restaurants outstanding, if there was a higher rating for the evening we experience, we would rate them that rating across the board. Thank you for a special evening even better than OUTSTANDING.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Where do I begin.....Service was fantast ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Where do I begin.....Service was fantastic.Our Server Justin made the birthday celebration a winner. Food was great, as usual. Nothing but an A plus. I will always celebrate my birthday lunch at Capital Grille.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best venue to share any special occasion ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Best venue to share any special occasion. The Capital Grille talent treats you like royalty! Janet our server, provided flawless service and the Chef specially made us lobster mashed potatoes which were out of this world! Overall, I give The Capital Grille an infinite star rating! We'll definitely be returning for the fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place very quiet Excellent for bus ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice place very quiet

Excellent for business meeting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

My steak was under cooked and lukewarm. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My steak was under cooked and lukewarm. My wife's fish was cold and tasteless. Ceaser salad was nothing but stalks.

For a 47 dollar steak I would expect the food to be much better.

We will never go back or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The service and food were extraordinary. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service and food were extraordinary. We had the porchino mushroom rubbed steak which was fabulous.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as usual. The service was ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food was great as usual. The service was outstanding. Thanks,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Shelby was very efficient, fr ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our server Shelby was very efficient, friendly and remembered us from previous visits.

The delicious watermelon and tomato salad was perfectly refreshing... And a refreshing change as well from the usual green salad.

The lobster roll is one of the best in the area. The mini tenderloins needed no knife.

Another relaxing and perfect dining experince at the Grille. Kudos to all!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed The Capital Grille, my ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I really enjoyed The Capital Grille, my fiancé and I celebrated my birthday there. Kevin our server did an amazing job. They decorated my table nicely and added a birthday card. The food was amazing and you must get the lobster mac n cheese, you will not be disappointed. And to top off the night they even gave me a $50 certificate to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed with our meal. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We were very disappointed with our meal. Appetizer came out cold, salad was tasteless, filet was OK and it came with a lobster tail so small that it looked like a large shrimp. Scalloped potatoes were crunch. Wait person was very nice and attentive. Hard to want to go back when there are so many great steak places in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The meal while expensive was quite ordin ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The meal while expensive was quite ordinary. My rare filet looked like my wife's medium steak. The Caesar salad was drenched in salad dressing and while they apologized they did not pay for their mistake.

Then a coconut pie with caramel sauce was recommended for dessert and we got what amounted to a bowl of whipped

Cream with caramel sauce. The expected flavor of coconut was undetectable but the meal with one beer, one martini cost us $200 with tip.

That's way too much for a meal like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Steak was overlooked but could not send ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Steak was overlooked but could not send it back since waiter never reappeared. Only 2 tables occupied but they put us right next to each other. Very poor service. I asked for the check when I made the reservation and again to the hostess who assured me I would get the bill. Instead they gave it to my guests. Very disappointing evening all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Went for our anniversary, staff at Capit ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Went for our anniversary, staff at Capital Grille made it very memorable. Food was outstanding as was the service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday lunch!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I was treated to lunch by my best girlfriend. Everyone should have the pleasure of spending their birthday meal at the Capitol Grill in Scottsdale. Jose, our server, was fantastic, taking excellent care of us, making us feel "special". The food was outstanding. This is the place to spend any special occasion. Or...just feel like a special meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Return visit

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

My wife and I go to Capital Grille several times a year. Our experience is always very good and we keep returning. This time we decided on seafood dishes and came away pleased, as usual. I had pan seared scallops and my wife ordered the citrus salmon. Both were excellent. However, as good as the food was the service was better. Our waiter, Giovanni, was outstanding and attented to our every need with enthusiasm. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Place setting, everything was set to cel ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Place setting, everything was set to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very professional staff & management. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Very professional staff & management. Great menu for Restaurant Week. The Kona NY was delicious. We will be back very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food is excellent and the service is ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The food is excellent and the service is wonderful. The ambiance is perfect for a romantic dinner or a night out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 35th anniversary and the tabl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

It was our 35th anniversary and the table was set with rose petals, heart confetti and an anniversary card. The dessert was served on an anniversary plate. The service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great meal at the best steakhouse in Scottsdale .

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Ask for Eric Lewis for your service and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal at Capital Grill During Rest Week!!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

As always another great meal! Went out with my spouse and another couple to celebrate their daughter's first time to the grill! We all had the rest. week steaks which was a filet which was perfect! 2 picked clam chowder soup and 3 picked the wedge salad with blue cheese dressing and apple wood bacon crumbles! Wonderful bread basket with lots of chilled butter for the hot rolls! We all had the creme brulee's along with one having a chocolate flourless cake.

Service was great as always even being a busy rest. week night and a full rest.

Wine service was the best as always! Our server Jenn was top notch in her execution of wait staff skills all night during our dinner, even in a busy bar area with lots of dinner tables!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We enjoyed a special Friday night dinner here. We were seated at 6:00 which was perfect because the place was quiet and not crowded yet. The service & food were excellent. It was restaurant week so we chose from the special menu and everything was wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service that evening was not up to the u ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Service that evening was not up to the usual quality.

Perhaps out waiter was still in training?

My wife asked to have the rest of her salmon to take home but when she opened the container it contained chocolate cake! Not their best night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great restaurant

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We went during restaurant week - which was busy but still terrific service and a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband had the bone in ribeye and it ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

My husband had the bone in ribeye and it was cooked to perfection. I had the salmon and it was wonderful. The waiter Eric Lewis was superb!! He halved our sides so we wouldn't have too much food! We cannot wait to go back and we will definitely ask for Eric's section 😀😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Filet

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

My hubby and I dined here for Restaurant Week and we were happy! I indulged in the Wedge with the Filet and Mashed. For dessert I almost ate every last bite of the Flourless Torte-It was decadent to the nth degree but I had a full belly from the 3 course meal. We usually seek out steak at Flemings or Steak 44 so this was a departure. It is a little more formal and quiet at CG but we were pleased with our service and meals.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a very nice experience - certainly return

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice return visit - our waiter Andy was excellent. The food was good and we certainly had a memorable evening. Keep up the good work.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my wife got her birthday. First cla ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Took my wife got her birthday. First class all the way around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Capital Grille seldom disappoints. A no ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Capital Grille seldom disappoints. A notch above Morton's in food quality. Restaurant Week is always a great bargain!

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great oysters, steak and wine. Enjoyed ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great oysters, steak and wine. Enjoyed the dinner very much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Capital Grille - Scottsdale -new Top Favorite!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

After living in the area the entire time the Cap Grille has been open, we never found our way to it. Today, as part of AZ Restaurant Week, we took advantage of the offers. WOW! Loved the atmosphere and restaurant interior. Andy was our waiter, and he is a true professional. Very knowledgeable, personable, and engaging. He was very helpful and attentive. Sounds like he may be able to allow us to see the dry aging room - shhhhhh. Would love it. From A to Z, this AZ Rest. Week experience was outstanding and memorable. Can't wait for the next visit, as well as the Wine event this summer.

Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our recent visit found everything to be ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our recent visit found everything to be enjoyable once again. It is mostly quiet, an occasional large table makes it a bit louder, as you think of old traditional steak houses.

The meat here is superb and they cook it exactly the way you order it. The sirloin was bone-in, very strongly beefy, with a pleasant crust and a wonderful sauce. The filet was buttery textured with superb delicate meat flavor that you expect in a filet. My dining companion really like the very soft mashed potatoes which are still not my thing but we both enjoyed the green beans.

Desserts were creme brulee and flourless chocolate espresso cake. The brulee was light and creamy with a perfect crust. The cake was intense! If you do not like espresso, avoid it. I thought it was terrific. It was far less dense than flourless cake usually is, very creamy, intensely espresso with some powerful chocolate.

The service was excellent; attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Springtime Lunch on the Patio

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Wonderful service on the patio today and in the bar area from Jenn. Always looking forward to the fantastic bread basket with Europe style hard breads. Great lunch menu with unique specials during spring time this year. Try the patio for lunch or dinner during the cooler time of year here in AZ. We loved having a few cigars on the patio with my friends and family!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can't say enough about Capital Grille. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I can't say enough about Capital Grille...the food is perfection...the lobster mac n cheese is to die for..outstanding service

I adore the lobster salad...lots of lobster and the dressing is light and fabulous

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.