Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About The Capital Grille - Scottsdale

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring over 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

16489 North Scottsdale Rd.
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Open Saturday, July 4th and closed Sunday, July 5th

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 348-1700

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Travis Garner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact Linda Kammeyer at 480-348-1700.

Private Dining

Private dining accommodations for up to 60 guests. Corporate Breakfast Events and Saturday/Sunday morning/afternoon Restaurant Exclusives are available.

The Capital Grille - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Good for a Date (58)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
See All
Notable Wine List (50)
Romantic (49)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Business Meals (46)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Worth the Drive (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Private Room (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Fun (9)
People Watching (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Historic (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1546 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Was disappointed that a high end steak house serves USDA choice streaks. My New York strip was just average, no flavor and chewy. Our server had a large table that occupied most of his time and felt ignored. The air conditioning was right on me and made my steak ice cold in no time. The table behind us asked to be moved because it was so uncomfortable. Have been to Capital Grill many times and feel the quality is going down hill.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

A great dining experience! Food, service, setting all wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a favorite, they can't treat you nice enough. Flower pedals on your table if you're celebrating a big occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We go to the Capital Grille to celebrate special occasions. This time we had 7 people during Restaurant Week. We mentioned we were celebrating a graduation on open table and that we had a bit of a time crunch. We were immediately shown to our table. There was confetti sprinkled on the table. Our son was given a special congratulations dessert. The food as usual was great and the service was excellent. Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Capital Grille has exceptional food and staff. While for us dining at CG is a special occasion, we can see its potential for a romantic meal for a young couple. Service is impeccable, making you feel welcome and valued. It would be nice if all patrons respected the white cloth atmosphere CG maintains.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Found the food and service what you would expect from a fine dining experience

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The food was perfection, the wine delicious and the entire experience sublime! Having our favorite waiter Jose was the icing on the cake.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great restaurant week value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Our server Nicole was wonderful. The Food was delicious. You can't beat the Arizona restaurant week deal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Went for restaurant week. One meal came out incorrect, wrong entree. Surprised with the $10 surcharge for the kona crusted steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We enjoyed great food and service celebrating my husband's birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

wonderful Patio, food was perfect, overaLL excellenr

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Chris our server was wonderful. Awesome food. Noise was somewhat loud, but the food made up for it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

As always, everything was wonderful -- food, service, ambience, low noise level where 4 of us could talk without yelling!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Always the best in the area. Not inexpensive but worth it. Impeccable service. It's great to have table talk and be heard......Don't miss this place for an outstanding dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for my birthday and the Capital Grille team with their attention to details made it extra special. I thought the handwritten card with Birthday confetti on the side of the table was tasteful and touching. I appreciated the personal follow up call the following day as well. The food is always superb at Capital Grille. However while great food can be found at many restaurants, the service at Capital Grille in Scottsdale is what makes this our new must go to restaurant for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went to Capital Grille for the first time on Mother's day. The service was great as well as the food selection. I will be going back to the Scottsdale location for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was a 1st time guest, I can't wait for trip # 2! The experience is truly 1st class from start to finish. The ladies at the door, bartenders, and servers all delivered service with a smile. We even had management stop in to say hello asking if they could bring us anything additionally. Great staff!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We always go out to a higher level restaurant for my Kid's birthdays. We have done Shulas, Donovans and several others. I have been to other Capital Grilles but not this one. Both my daughter and son were very happy with the service, food quality and also the staff actions. I wasn't surprised except that the price was so much better than the other places I mentioned. My daughter has a new favorite restaurant and she is a hard grader.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Enjoyed celebrating a birthday, food was wonderful especially the deserts. Our waitress Jill was on top of everything from greeting us, checking in on us & to making suggestions. We have been to the Las Vegas grill several times, first time here. Will return and request Jill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 12, 2017

They were aware it was our anniversary and treated us with a special touch, decorated the table, paced the food service perfectly, did not rush us and our waitress, Jill, made the evening a treat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellent tried and true steakhouse!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Really overpriced. This is a nice white tablecloth restaurant but the food is really not worth the money. The service is good and I guess you would say the Ambiance is fine but for the amount of money that you pay go down to Cafe Monarch and get something besides a steak. In addition to steak wasn't even all that great nor were the Fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 4, 2017

They were wonderful! Table set with rose peddles, a celebration desert and framed photo. Plus the food was fabulous!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great evening . The room where we we seated was extremely cold but the staff listenened to our concern and made the temperature pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 1, 2017

First time visiting The Capital Grille and using Open table to book reservation. My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and wanted to go somewhere nice. We are so glad we picked this place. When we first arrived they had a table set up for us with some rose petals and a sign that said Happy Anniversary. Daniel was our server and he was truly the best. Very friendly and attentive. Our glasses were never empty and he made sure to check on us frequently. He even called me by my name which I'm guessing he got from the reservation I made which truly shows how prepared they are for their guest. As for the food that was AMAZING as well! So delicious. At the end of our meal Daniel offered to take a picture of us and even had it printed out right then and there. Perfect ending to our anniversary dinner that we can look back at now. Overall it was a great first experience and I'm sure we will visit again. It is pricey but definitely worth it for the great service and food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Saturday evenings are not always the best times for restaurants, but I was happily surprised by the service and the food at The Capital Grille last weekend with two friends from out of town. Our table was ready when two of us arrived and the staff at the front desk was not perturbed even though it was a very busy time at the restaurant. We were given the choice of waiting for our straggler at the table or in the bar. We opted for the bar and when our pal arrived 20 minutes late we were seated immediately with no hassle. The food was first rate and well prepared. The wait staff was pleasant and knowledgeable. A swell evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Classy ambiance, great stakes, delicious side dishes, attentive service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always a hit ! Again Loved the steaks, & the lobster bisque is to die for have it in the bowl for $15!! Both my friends & I love the fantastic bread basket it is wonderful with European type breads. If you have a special meal Capital Grill is the place to go, great table setups for that special event like birthdays, anniversary's! The water glass is never empty! We cannot wait till the The Glass of Wine & Burger Deal with Truffle fries offer comes again it is great at $25 ! Hurry since it only runs for part of the year. Their Kona rubbed beef is killer, hey get the truffle fries by themselves they are to die for! Capital Grill Scottsdale Location is type of restaurant you will Love every time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our experience this time was not as good as we have had many times previously. Hostess seating us offered a table right next to a large party of men when all of the tables in the area were empty. We did have a reservation so it was not a drop-in visit. Our server was not fully familiar with the menu items and did not provide the usual high level of professional service, i.e. she remove plates and utensils before we were finished. The lobster rolls ordered by two of us were overdone and skimpy and the lobster/crabmeat burger was also overcooked. The lobster salad was good but could have benefitted from extra dressing which was not offered. We look forward to more enjoyable visits to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Limited menu. If you want a steak there are no smaller cuts and very expensive for what you truly get. They seem to be charging high dollars for large pieces of meat. I would rather see a mid line priced steak and half the size as an option. Side dishes seem smaller than they used to be. This restaurant seems more about up selling now than good quality food and decent price. $100 per person is getting to pricey for everyday dining and sadly there's not much that would bring me back for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Birthday awesome😃😃😃🎂🎂🎂

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Chris Garcia was our server and he and his crew did an excellent job. Food was
FANTASTIC!!! Can't wait until we can go back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Love those killer steaks, & the lobster bisque is to die for!! Both my spouse & I love the fantastic bread basket it is wonderful with European type breads. If you have a special meal Capital Grill is the place to go, great table setups for that special event like birthdays, anniversary's! The water glass is never empty, The Glass of Wine & Wagyu Burger Deal with Truffle fries offer is great at $25. Their Kona rubbed beef is killer, hey get the truffle fries by themselves they are to die for! Capital Grill Scottsdale Location is type of restaurant you will Love every time!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 21, 2017

For the first time we were all very disappointed. We (8) were seated adjacent to the kitchen which was very, very loud most of the time. We requested to be moved and told it would be 15 minutes or more which was fine. Then we were told that the table wasn't vacating and were asked to remain where we were, which we did ... we were hungry. From the time we requested to move our server never returned nor did anyone offer drinks, etc. Nor did any Manager come over and express apologies or try to console us in any way. When we agreed to stay we finally got service (still nothing from the manager). The food was outstanding as usual but the service and ambiance was at best just decent ... certainly not worth the $500+ luncheon tab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Salmon was raw and had to be sent back - took about 15 min for salmon to come back. In meantime everyone else finished eating. We didn't have any alcohol , And bill came to $150 plus tip on top of that. It's very dark inside like an "old boys club"

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Our ladies' birthday celebration was perfect! The service was excellent and all of the special touches to make our celebration special were most appreciated. Thank you so much! We look forward to our next birthday celebration at the Capital Grille.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Outstanding food and great service as always but we should have selected an inside table. Was a little too warm on the patio but the severs did everything they could to try and bring some shade by moving umbrellas and tables.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.