About The Capital Grille - Scottsdale

16489 North Scottsdale Rd.
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Open Saturday, July 4th and closed Sunday, July 5th

Cross Street:
Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 348-1700

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Travis Garner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact Linda Kammeyer at 480-348-1700.

Restaurant Photos

porterhouse steak
Green beans
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster Tail
Dry Aged Top Sirloin Steak
Chef's Seasonal Fruit Sorbet
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato And Basil With 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Grilled Swordfish With Lemon Shallot Relish
Proscuitto wrapped Mozarella
Smoked salmon
Red Wine
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Fresh Oysrers On The Half Shell
Mohito
Classic Cream Brûlée
Maine Lobster Roll
Orange Glazed Salmon
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Filet Migon

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private dining accommodations for up to 60 guests. Corporate Breakfast Events and Saturday/Sunday morning/afternoon Restaurant Exclusives are available.

The Capital Grille - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Service
Phoenix / Arizona
Steakhouse
Phoenix / Arizona
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Service
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Steakhouse
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

Special Occasion (75)
Romantic (57)
Notable Wine List (52)
See All
Fit for Foodies (41)
Great for Lunch (33)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Brunch (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My steak was perfect on the inside but b ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My steak was perfect on the inside but burned on the outside, not seared. And it wasn't allowed to rest. Very tough to cut and eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

steak was slightly overdone, ordered med ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

steak was slightly overdone, ordered medium, yet only had pink next to the bone. waiter offered to redo it but i didn't want to wait. Wifes chicken too was dry and not the usual moistness.

au gratin potatoes were wonderful.

wine flight was fun and enjoyable.

waiter , Chris was great and informed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We decided to sit and eat at the bar. Th ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We decided to sit and eat at the bar. This is always fun, especially if Oscar is working. Awesome service, great wine, perfect steaks and very relaxed setting at the bar. You can meet new people and as noted, Oscar is the BEST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had lunch many times at the Capital ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I've had lunch many times at the Capital Grille and each time it has been a very pleasant dining experience. The lunch menu offers many choices -- almost too many! It is tough to make a decision. The $20 lunch combination is hard to beat. The food is excellent, as is the attentive service. The restaurant is classy and elegant and a truly lovely location for lunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and service! Our waitr ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always great food and service!

Our waitress Jill was fabulous. One of the best steak places in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is amazing but our server Jill ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food is amazing but our server Jill made the dinning experience truly memorable

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here numerous times, and th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have been here numerous times, and they have always been great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, as always. This is the 6th or ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful, as always. This is the 6th or 7th year we have observed my husband's birthday with lunch and the Generous Pour at The Capital Grille, Scottsdale. Jose is our favorite server and always takes wonderful care of our group. Can't wait until the next time!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly greeting and seated immedi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very friendly greeting and seated immediately. Chris, our waiter was over the top. Great suggestions for wine and the menu. Also very attentive to our needs though out the dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Andy R. took care of us and was fabulous ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Andy R. took care of us and was fabulous. My wife and I are very familiar with Capital Grille, several locations. We are also rather knowledgeable when it comes to wines. But with their "Generous Pour" in full swing, Andy provided some insights regarding food pairing that helped to make the evening even more pleasurable. Great food, great attention to detail and service and, indeed, generous pour... a good night and great restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our annual luncheon including t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This was our annual luncheon including the generous pour. We missed the scallops being on the menu this year, but did enjoy the lobster and mac plate. Jose is always the best waiter we have ever had and we can't say enough good things about his service. He knows just when to check on our needs and is most generous with the generous pour. Wines this year were very good. Enjoyed them all.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Salad that looked like it came from a ki ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Salad that looked like it came from a kit. Brussel sprouts that were smothered in some heavy sauce surrounded by bacon, ruining the vegetable. Average steak. Lots of competition folks - you have a beautiful dining room but that's not enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

My wife and I had not been to the Capita ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and I had not been to the Capital Grille for many years and our recollection of it was not outstanding. Last weekend we were most pleasantly surprised to learn that our recollection was wrong. The atmosphere, service and food were all excellent. It was our opinion that this dining experience was superior to most of the other dining opportunities Scottsdale has to offer. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for birthday dinner. The meal was d ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Went for birthday dinner. The meal was delicious. Would recommend the lobster crab cakes for an appetizer and lobster mac and cheese for a shareable. Also our server Danny was exemplary. Their unique way to celebrate birthdays is awesome as well would suggest to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another excellent dinner, at one of our ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Another excellent dinner, at one of our favorite restaurants, to celebrate a 35th anniversary. Always great service, not intrusive, but reasonable attentiveness. We enjoyed the summer event, The Generous Pour, a tasting flight of 7 very good wines. We started with the lobster crab cakes and they were spectacular, with nice pieces of lobster and sweet, fresh crab. My wife ordered seared tenderloin with lobster tail; I had the sliced Filet Mignon with wild mushrooms. Prepared exactly as we ordered. Foolishly, ordered the Parmesan Truffle Fries as a side. Delicious, but easily enough for 2-3 more people. A surprise finish for the dinner was a mini-cheesecake and a chocolate cake on a decorated serving plate with "Happy Anniversary". We were awed as usual at Capital Grille.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect from start to finish. Andy is th ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Perfect from start to finish. Andy is the person you want to help you. He is the best of the best. His attitude, attention, and passion is perfect to make your experience simply the best. We started with oysters from the north east. Very sweet and perhaps the best oysters I've ever had. I love the seared ahi tuna. You won't need a knife on this. We finished the dinner with coconut sorbet. Perfect combination and an excellent experience all the way around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular from appitizers to drinks an ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Spectacular from appitizers to drinks and steaks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the best experience here our waitre ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had the best experience here our waitress Jill was amazing thank you so much for the great food love the crab cakes the best I've have ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

HOSTED AN APPRECIATION LUNCHEON & THE CA ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

HOSTED AN APPRECIATION LUNCHEON & THE CAPITAL GRILL MADE IT SUPER SPECIAL WITH CHAMPAGNE & DESSERT @ THE END OF THE MEAL!!! WOW/ CAN'T THINK OF ANY OTHER RESTAURANT THAT UNDERSTANDS THE MEANING OF GOING THE EXTRA MILE LIKE THE CAPITAL GRILLE!!! THANKS A MILLION....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service our waiter Chris was very ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great service our waiter Chris was very attentive, friendly, efficient couldn't do more to make the evening special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We go back every time we have a chance!! ...

vip
 (México)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We go back every time we have a chance!! The food is always delicious and the service always impeccable it doesn't make you feel at all like a large corporate restaurant chain service, au contraire!! They always know what wines I enjoy and the way I like my meal served

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm still waiting for my wine.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I'm still waiting for my wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bar tables are the best with action ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The bar tables are the best with action around the bar, tv's and your own lively conversation. The service was top notch, the food was excellent and the ambiance is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We rate few restaurants outstanding, if ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We rate few restaurants outstanding, if there was a higher rating for the evening we experience, we would rate them that rating across the board. Thank you for a special evening even better than OUTSTANDING.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time. Great time!!!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a wonderful time. Great time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Where do I begin.....Service was fantast ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Where do I begin.....Service was fantastic.Our Server Justin made the birthday celebration a winner. Food was great, as usual. Nothing but an A plus. I will always celebrate my birthday lunch at Capital Grille.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best venue to share any special occasion ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Best venue to share any special occasion. The Capital Grille talent treats you like royalty! Janet our server, provided flawless service and the Chef specially made us lobster mashed potatoes which were out of this world! Overall, I give The Capital Grille an infinite star rating! We'll definitely be returning for the fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place very quiet Excellent for bus ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice place very quiet

Excellent for business meeting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

My steak was under cooked and lukewarm. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My steak was under cooked and lukewarm. My wife's fish was cold and tasteless. Ceaser salad was nothing but stalks.

For a 47 dollar steak I would expect the food to be much better.

We will never go back or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The service and food were extraordinary. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service and food were extraordinary. We had the porchino mushroom rubbed steak which was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as usual. The service was ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food was great as usual. The service was outstanding. Thanks,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Shelby was very efficient, fr ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our server Shelby was very efficient, friendly and remembered us from previous visits.

The delicious watermelon and tomato salad was perfectly refreshing... And a refreshing change as well from the usual green salad.

The lobster roll is one of the best in the area. The mini tenderloins needed no knife.

Another relaxing and perfect dining experince at the Grille. Kudos to all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed The Capital Grille, my ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I really enjoyed The Capital Grille, my fiancé and I celebrated my birthday there. Kevin our server did an amazing job. They decorated my table nicely and added a birthday card. The food was amazing and you must get the lobster mac n cheese, you will not be disappointed. And to top off the night they even gave me a $50 certificate to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed with our meal. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We were very disappointed with our meal. Appetizer came out cold, salad was tasteless, filet was OK and it came with a lobster tail so small that it looked like a large shrimp. Scalloped potatoes were crunch. Wait person was very nice and attentive. Hard to want to go back when there are so many great steak places in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The meal while expensive was quite ordin ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The meal while expensive was quite ordinary. My rare filet looked like my wife's medium steak. The Caesar salad was drenched in salad dressing and while they apologized they did not pay for their mistake.

Then a coconut pie with caramel sauce was recommended for dessert and we got what amounted to a bowl of whipped

Cream with caramel sauce. The expected flavor of coconut was undetectable but the meal with one beer, one martini cost us $200 with tip.

That's way too much for a meal like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Steak was overlooked but could not send ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Steak was overlooked but could not send it back since waiter never reappeared. Only 2 tables occupied but they put us right next to each other. Very poor service. I asked for the check when I made the reservation and again to the hostess who assured me I would get the bill. Instead they gave it to my guests. Very disappointing evening all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Went for our anniversary, staff at Capit ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Went for our anniversary, staff at Capital Grille made it very memorable. Food was outstanding as was the service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday lunch!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I was treated to lunch by my best girlfriend. Everyone should have the pleasure of spending their birthday meal at the Capitol Grill in Scottsdale. Jose, our server, was fantastic, taking excellent care of us, making us feel "special". The food was outstanding. This is the place to spend any special occasion. Or...just feel like a special meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Return visit

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

My wife and I go to Capital Grille several times a year. Our experience is always very good and we keep returning. This time we decided on seafood dishes and came away pleased, as usual. I had pan seared scallops and my wife ordered the citrus salmon. Both were excellent. However, as good as the food was the service was better. Our waiter, Giovanni, was outstanding and attented to our every need with enthusiasm. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.