About The Capital Grille - Plano

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

7300 Dallas Parkway
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
Legacy

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 398-2221

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet available for both Lunch and Dinner.

Executive Chef:
Aaron Valimont

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Romantic (41)
Business Meals (40)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Groups (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Private Room (14)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fun (8)
People Watching (7)
Healthy (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything we had was great. The Open Ta ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything we had was great. The Open Table booking had no issues. Even though the Valets are not part of this restaurant, they were very fast and use up to date technology.

Wonderful bread and butter actually. Meals were just soo good and just the right size to be able to finish without leftovers but not feel cheated. It is very pricy for us. But I see the difference in quality in the whole experience. I would come more often if I could afford it. But definitely will recommend this place for everyone.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not my first time at The Capital Grille ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Not my first time at The Capital Grille in Plano, and there is a reason I keep coming back. Great food, out of this world service, and a wine list that covers anything you could want are just a few of the reasons. If you been to one of the other locations, know that if you liked it there, you will like it here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, great food and wine, ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service, great food and wine, great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best server I've ever had! Anthony maybe ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Best server I've ever had! Anthony maybe? Very knowledgeable! Can't say enough about him! he gave us his card, i don't have it with me, but will and repost if need be... will def request him next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, service, and the atmosphere i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, service, and the atmosphere is nice. We would definitely recommend coming here however our steaks were a little over done. Besides that everything was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have celebrated my birthday several t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

We have celebrated my birthday several times at this restaurant and they have always gone over and above our expectations. Unfortunately, that was not the case for Valentine's Day. No flowers on the tables or anything designating this was a special occasion. Service was quick but hurried as well. Presentation of food was a little sparse too. Hope this information helps for next year's Valentine's Day!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Celebrated valentine day with six others ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrated valentine day with six others. Perfect Evening. Everyones food was outstanding. Great service. couldnt ask for a better evening

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great Valentine's Day dinner with ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a great Valentine's Day dinner with my wife. Service from Amanda was excellent, food was excellent. We always have a perfect experience at Capital Grill. Thank you for your attention to every detail.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, an excellent meal at the Cap ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Once again, an excellent meal at the CapitL Grille! Valentine's Day lunch was busy but we did have reservations and were seated fairly quickly. From the grilled salmon, to the ribeye sandwich to our friends who chose the lobster rolls, no one was disappointed at our table. All the food was prepared perfectly. This continues to be our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best part of meal was porcini ribeye, a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best part of meal was porcini ribeye, a Chef's suggestion. I thought the waiter rushed us through dinner, and the food was very expensive. Cocktails were just okay- nothing special. The lobster mac n cheese was just okay and the meals are so big, you only need a half order of one side for 2 people. I would go back for lunch but way too expensive for dinner. There's much better restaurants offered.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Appears that recent steakhouse openings ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Appears that recent steakhouse openings have drained some talent (or focus) from Capital Grill. Overall experience has gone from one of best in DFW to more typical experience - while very good isn't what it used to be. Professionalism and courteousness of hosts has dropped dramatically, wait staff slipped to average while food remains very good. Still a great place for business dinner, but not at the top of our list anymore for those personal "special occasions"...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent; our server, Brandon, ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was excellent; our server, Brandon, was outstanding -- so thoughtful and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience! I've been to 7 other ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great experience! I've been to 7 other Capital Grille's. Nice to have one down the street for daddy/daughter date/Valentine's Day dinner. Bring your wallet :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an incredibly disappointing experie ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

What an incredibly disappointing experience. If it wasn't for a great waiter, we would have walked out. Looking back, we should have. We made our reservations weeks ago, but when we got there, we were told "running a bit behind - it'll be 10 minutes." At 30 minutes, they tried to seat us in the bar where there were 10 people standing around (and leaning on) our table. 10 minutes later we were offered a high traffic table near the entrance that wasn't ready because it's not typically used. Nice. Finally got a decent table and 10 minutes later we got our water. It was over 60 minutes between when we should have been seated and we got anything to eat. In the meantime, I had to eat a granola bar because my blood sugar had dropped too low. Nobody was available to order a sugared soda. The "chef's recommendation" porcini-rubbed rib eye was so over-seasoned and standing in a pool of vinegar, that it was inedible. The replacement was literally, LITERALLY half fat. Not well-marbled, but huge chunks of fat and gristle. I was too hungry to complain at the time, but looking at the leftovers under daylight, I've NEVER seen a worse cut. Also, we ordered the gluten free potatoes (we made our allergy known and ordered from the gluten free menu), but got the ones with the gluten topping. When the check came, we were charged for the bottle of wine we ordered, but more expensive than the wrong one we actually received. Our crab was missing from the leftovers. Sigh. Again, our waiter was excellent and tried to make up for some of the problems he knew about, but none of this was remotely acceptable for a $50 dinner much less a $300+ dinner. No manager ever came by to apologize or even ask how things were, and it took 4 tries to leave an email message because their website kept crashing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Service not up to par. Very busy, inatte ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service not up to par. Very busy, inattentive service, order didn't come out correctly. Normally love this restaurant but not as good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was top notch! Steaks were slig ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was top notch! Steaks were slightly overcooked but not to the point of needing to be sent back. Lobster Mac and Cheese tasted good and was recommended but contained almost no lobster. Still a very good experience overall and I will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We always have an awesome experience at ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We always have an awesome experience at Capital Grille. Food and service are always top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed with the food. I real ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very disappointed with the food. I realize it was valentines day weekend but that is no excuse. The steaks were just not very good. Not cooked right and very little flavor or juice. The special fish, dover sole with crab had little or no flavor. I had the lamb. It was great but when I asked for mint jelly, they had none. Poor kitchen planning. You should always have mint jelly available if you are serving lamb. The friends that we invited to come with us will probably not come back. Said they far preferred Three forks in Fort Worth.

As for the Valet parking, when our guests called for their car they got no reply that it was out front so they waited and then when we finally went to get it, they had put it back and we had to wait. Most places that do phone valet respond, letting you know your car is ready. Plus valet was blocking the handicap parking and making people wait. We will probably go back. Have dined at numerous Capital Grilles in numerous states but this was the most disappointing experience.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Chad and his team were outstanding! We'l ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Chad and his team were outstanding! We'll be back to see him.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time, service was outstandin ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a great time, service was outstanding and the food was excellent! Had the New York Strip with Kona seasoning - wow! The Port-soaked cherries on the warm chocolate cake was delightful.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here to celebrate my anniversary ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went here to celebrate my anniversary and they always make it special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

5 Stars all the way. From our server Eri ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

5 Stars all the way. From our server Eric to the General Manager Minh - they made a nice experience into a comfortable one. Great job from top to bottom

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Rocky and our server went out of th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Chef Rocky and our server went out of their way to make our experience wonderful! The food was amazing, as always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally love this place. But this one t ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Normally love this place. But this one time was a disaster. Seated next to a big family table of screaming children. Slow service. Server Unknowledgeable about wine selection. Food arrived literally cool and overlooked filet. They brought replacements after awhile and finally management started to take notice. Then we get the $150 bill and there was zero accommodation for our displeasurable experience. Ugh. Will try again though because this was a rare occurrence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Restaurant recognized and added touches ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Restaurant recognized and added touches for the special occasion we were celebrating. Wait staff was very helpful with menu choices and attentive during the meal, and worked well as a team to provide a high level experience. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The customer service and environment wer ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The customer service and environment were fantastic but both my wife, who ordered the filet, and I, the salmon, left thinking we paid a good deal of money for food that we both thought was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Our sever Anthony was wonderful! Our me ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our sever Anthony was wonderful! Our meal was very well paced (not rushed) and the food was presented as ordered and was outstanding. We always love dining in your restaurant but tonight was very nice. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille is our go-to for special ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Capital Grille is our go-to for special nights and for a solid meal. However, this experience was not up to our standards as the steaks tasted low quality (like I purchased it from Kroger or Target) and my lobster tail tasted like it had frost bite. For a $300 meal, I was very disappointed. As previously stated, we come here for special nights (typically once a quarter or more) and usually love it but tonight was a big disappointment.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent service but food was subpar. I ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent service but food was subpar. It is my second bad experience in Plano. The Uptown location is far better.

There are lots of greats steak restaurants in Dallas. I'm sorry to say the Plano CG is not one of them.

Filet was tough, creamed spinach wasn't cooked properly and sea bass was just ok. Darden should take a look at this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

I thought it was a nice night but i was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I thought it was a nice night but i was coming for a bday for a friend.. it was good except for the fact the steak was sent back 2 times. The first two times I asked for medium and they made it well done. Finally they apologized and brought the steak out medium. I was just upset that after waiting such a long time that they did not comp that steak. I don't understand making the mistake 2 x before bringing out the steak. The first time I tried to cut the steak to make sure and before I started cutting they left. So they didn't stay long enough to see if steak was cooked to the medium level. Second time I made sure they didn't run off and still made the steak well done.

I just didn't understand this level of disregard at a very high end steak house.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Went for our Anniversary and staff was a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went for our Anniversary and staff was amazing! General Manager went around the tables, introduced himself and made sure all guests were doing well. Andrew Rodriguez was our waiter, he was very sweet, informative and gave us a wonderful experience. Food was great! For appetizers we had the PROSCIUTTO WRAPPED MOZZARELLA and it was absolute delish! For our main course we had the DRY AGED PORTERHOUSE STEAK - 24 OZ and the FILET MIGNON - 10 OZ and it was both cooked properly and to order. Side dishes we ordered the AU GRATIN POTATOES and SAUTÉED SPINACH With Garlic Confit. Cocktails were decent, I would recommend the In Fashion. Andrew was sweet and gave us champagne to toast our anniversary . Overall, it was a great experience and we would definitely come back again.

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Dirty silverware. Slow, albeit friendly ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Dirty silverware. Slow, albeit friendly service. Steak quality was really poor. First attempt came out bloody, and even after second attempt, looked like hamburger meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We always spend our birthdays here! Ever ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We always spend our birthdays here! Everyone is great and the food is fantastic!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful celebration with our ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a wonderful celebration with our family for my mother-in-law's birthday. Our server, Daniel, was outstanding! Everything was perfect!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to the restaurant, the exper ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

First visit to the restaurant, the experience was super. The setting, the food, the music and service was exceptional. My date was pleased with lead to an awesome evening.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marco was a fabulous waiter and my husba ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Marco was a fabulous waiter and my husband had a chef special dish wish was outstanding!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chose the restaurant as a last minute st ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Chose the restaurant as a last minute stop and so glad we did. Excellent food and even better service. Manager stopped by to visit. Great find!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the relaxed feel of Capital Gril ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We love the relaxed feel of Capital Grille. They made it a special time for birthday celebration with my wife. Our server was excellent and attentive, but not over-bearing. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The cocoanut pie was over the top. The grilled chicken was tasty and moist with good balance of herbs. The atmosphere was romantic yet energetic and fun. We love this place and will be returning again. Thanks for making it a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fun, Cozy, Healthy, Private Room, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not impressed with the food didnt ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was not impressed with the food didnt like the lobster not good at all! Serice was very good! The steak was lack luster as well kinda fatyy for a filet! My wifes steak was overcooked! Would not recomend or revisit, too many good choices that do it right instead of going to some place that charges too much and does it wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I would not recommend Capital Grille for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I would not recommend Capital Grille for a quiet, romantic dinner. It was loud and the bones in the fish was a disappointment.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.