About The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh

301 5th Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday -Friday: 11:00am – 3:45pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wood Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 338-9100

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $8

Executive Chef:
Travis Hall

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Steak and Lobster Tail
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Lobster Pot Pie
Seafood Tower Two Tiers
Wagyu Burger
Maine Lobster Roll
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Sesame Crusted Tuna With Rice
Lobster Salad
Filet Oscar
South African Lobster Tail
Prociutto
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 15 Year Balsamic
Parmesan Crusted Fries Drizzled With Truffle Oil
Coconut Cream Pie
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake & Cheesecake
Asparagus

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (101)
Notable Wine List (52)
Romantic (51)
See All
Good for Groups (46)
Great for Lunch (39)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Family Style (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1385 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

dinner before concert.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

dinner before concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable conference dinner. Our s ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very enjoyable conference dinner. Our service and food were excellent and the restaurant was absolutely packed. Our server brought us dessert as our dinner was delayed, which we had barely noticed! A great experience and will definitely be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my birthday with my husband a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Celebrated my birthday with my husband and friends. Enjoyed the most perfect Cosmo before enjoying a huge tuna steak and

to die for lobster mac and cheese. Definitely a perfect spot to celebrate any special occasion. And if you are a dessert lover, you will go crazy for the coconut cream pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great atmosphere!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My ribeye was extremely fatty, wine was ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My ribeye was extremely fatty, wine was excellent, service fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Lunch menu is fantastic - - I had the s ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Lunch menu is fantastic - - I had the shrimp (JUMBO!!!) over mushroom risotto and it was fantastic!!!!!! Wine list is exceptional as well and the Kim Crawford Chardonnay paired nicely with this dish.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the filet and my husband had the b ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I had the filet and my husband had the bone in filet. Both pieces of meat were cooked to perfection, melt in mouth. Fantastic wine list and our server was personable and attentive. I recommend Capital Grille highly!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

steak and sides are delicious! service i ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

steak and sides are delicious! service is exceptional

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have eaten at CG in a number of differen ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Have eaten at CG in a number of different cities! This was the worst service I have ever experienced! Took an hour to get a bottle of wine and they still didn't take our food order!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We usually go to another steak house in ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We usually go to another steak house in town that has been around for years. We are from Pittsburgh but live in Central PA and we were in for the weekend.

Thought we would try some place new. We were very pleased with everything,

Comfortable place to sit and talk without someone right beside you.

Great time

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic. Everything cooked to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was fantastic. Everything cooked to perfection. Our server was wonderful as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress, Rebecca, was great. Enjoye ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our waitress, Rebecca, was great. Enjoyed it a lot. Great steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Style and service definitely on the decl ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Style and service definitely on the decline over the past few years. This experience turned us away forever.

Service dining was slow and server attitude was rushed and unwelcoming. I ordered steak median. It can back rare. I requested the steak returned and cooked to medium. After a very long time to return it, the steak was well done. When I expressed my dissatisfaction with preparation to well done to server I sat with the steak for an inappropriate period of time. Manager came to our table apologized and removed the cost from our bill. That was not a solution for me. Spouse's steak was held in kitchen while my steak was being over cooked. It was returned dry and overdone.

Bar was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The meal was excellent. Tara, our serve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The meal was excellent. Tara, our server, was most helpful and a delight!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous dinner. Bone-in Filet is excel ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fabulous dinner. Bone-in Filet is excellent, ribeye too. Love the lobster Mac N Cheese and wine list. Eat here quite often and love it! Great friendly place with great service and Stoli Doli.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've enjoyed Capital Grille many times. ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We've enjoyed Capital Grille many times. Unfortunately, service this time was very slow. Food was excellent, but we waited a very long time to place order, then for salad, for main course, and even to pay bill. We wondered if they were short staffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Matt took great care of us for our anniv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Matt took great care of us for our anniversary dinner. We will definitely come back and ask for him to take care of us. The food was excellent and price was reasonable for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great hospitality for special occasions. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great hospitality for special occasions. Pricy, but nice for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. Will not return. Bon ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Very disappointed. Will not return. Bone in rib eye had no flavor. Roasted mushrooms were so strong with garlic that it turned my stomach. It was a little too dark and hard to see the menu & the food and way too noisy. Definitely not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

The food and the service are always outs ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food and the service are always outstanding. The wait staff is very attentive, but not intrusive. The rib-eye steak sandwich at the Capital Grille is my favorite lunch. They also have a fantastic lobster macaroni and cheese.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went on a Tuesday after work with a grou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Went on a Tuesday after work with a group of 8. Sat right away. Food was great! Loved the sides - lobster mac & cheese and brussel sprouts with bacon were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Despite making or reservation weeks in a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Despite making or reservation weeks in advance, we were seated at a table near the very loud kitchen, surrounded by a number of large parties, making it hard to carry on a conversation. Our server was nice, but the food runner literally plopped our food in front of us saying "Here's your food." And disappeared before I could cut into my steak. I've been to The Capital Grille many times, and this was by far my worst experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Another great meal at the Capital Grille ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Another great meal at the Capital Grille. We live going for restaurant week and this place never disappoints. Tuna tartar was delicious as was the wine. We had a late reservation and our server was good, but we did not see much of him (had other tables). The rest of the support staff were amazing. It was nice to see other servers and assistants still providing top notch service right before closing time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service , hostess was ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food and service , hostess was also very accommodating and helped make our group experience thoroughly enjoyable, thank you Toni! Tiffani was wonderful, missed Chery but Brandon was also excellent! Thank you Capital Grille!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, though the filet ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was very good, though the filet mignon was slightly my over done.

The main entrees took awhile to receive so they comped us a bottle of wine, which was a very nice touch.

The atmosphere was nice but WAY too dark to the point I needed a flashlight to read the menu.

Service was good but not personal enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We had dinner during restaurant week. W ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had dinner during restaurant week. When the waitress approached our table and we indicated we were here because of restaurant week her comment was, "Oh, you are for that? And literally stampeded away to get that menu. She literally rushed us to get our order and every time she approached the table she interrupted our conversation as opposed to waiting for break in the conversation. Seems like she just wanted to get us out of there. I ordered a steak medium well and it came back "RARE". When I brought it to her attention she said, "That is what you ordered and chastised me" I have never ordered anything rare! Needless to say, my other guests ate and were almost finished by the time my streak came back. Although they did not charge me it was awkward eating when everyone else was almost finished. She quickly brought the check and wanted us to leave so she could get another table of guests. It all started because we asked for the restaurant week menu. I entertain and have many business dinners at Capital Grills around the country and they are very good. If restaurant week is burden to them they should not offer it! It will be sometime before I go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Took wife here on honeymoon, hands dow ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Took wife here on honeymoon, hands down greatest restaurant experience of our lives. I ordered bone-in steak, was cooked perfectly and the taste was out of this world , best steak I ever had and I'm huge steak eater. The service was great we had multiple employees greet us at table from time to time including the cook and the manager. I will say I have never been treated so well in a restaurant before and I can't wait to make it back again. It was an amazing time and made our honeymoon so memorable..THANK YOU SO MUCH

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated Anniversary our server was fa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Celebrated Anniversary our server was fantastic as well as the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious m, fast service and f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was delicious m, fast service and friendly atmosphere. Will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding quality of food and excellen ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Outstanding quality of food and excellent service. Always a win.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter was great. Very personable a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our waiter was great. Very personable and had great suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Enjoyed lunch for restaurant week. The f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Enjoyed lunch for restaurant week. The food was wonderful. It was busy but with the reservation we were seated quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good value for the money we spent. Have ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good value for the money we spent. Have been here before -- will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Lunch with clients. Great downtown optio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Lunch with clients. Great downtown option. Food, service, ambiance are all top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I came here during Restauran ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My wife and I came here during Restaurant Week. I had the bone-in NY strip. Cooked perfectly with excellent flavor. The mashed potatoes, clam chowder and wedge salad were all very good. The chocolate espresso cake was a nice way to finish the meal. The service was at the level you would expect from a restaurant like this with the waiter topping off the wine regularly. I should also mention that the dirty martini with blue cheese olives was top notch as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went during restaurant week, a bad id ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went during restaurant week, a bad idea. The special menu was limited, more so than you would expect for $35 each. 14 oz rubbed NY strip was delicious and to order. My wife's salmon was more mundane, dry, apparently overcooked, though the glaze was unique and delicious. Accompaniment to the five feature entrees was green beans and smashed potatoes, no substitutes,acceptable but not memorable. Choice of two basic salads or a clam chowder was supplemented by a +$5 lobster bisque, which I ordered. Again, a good choice, better than my wife's oddly bland and butter rich clam chowder. Two desert choices, a cheese cake or a chocolate cream cake, were small and rich, they appeared to be pre-frozen prepared portions.

Even though we were 15 min early for our reservation, we were seated 30 minutes late, after 45 minutes in the bar. Oddly, we were then moved to a table in the bar, apparently the dining room was overbooked. The bar was noisey, crowded, with low and heavy pub chairs.

The only notable point of the meal was the wait staff, which, while obviously overworked, remained friendly, helpful and efficient.

Overall it was equivalent to dining at a Longhorn Steakhouse that was more crowded and not as comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

This restaurant is a five star. The atmo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This restaurant is a five star. The atmosphere,friendly staff and food was excellent. I would recommend this place for any type of occasion

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant week lunch and the serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great restaurant week lunch and the service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for their restaurant week lunch spe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Went for their restaurant week lunch special. The sirloin was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.