Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

301 5th Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday -Friday: 11:00am – 3:45pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wood Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 338-9100

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $8

Executive Chef:
Travis Hall

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Business Meals (42)
See All
Good for a Date (42)
Romantic (39)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Notable Wine List (32)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Cozy (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Private Room (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Authentic (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fun (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Dancing (2)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1667 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Really disappointed with my visit. Even though we made reservations for 7:30 (are arrived at 7:15pm) , we didnt get seated till 8pm. Really seems to defeat the purpose of having a reservation if you still have to wait around for 45 minutes to get a seat. In addition, the food was horrifically overpriced for the quality. Really really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

I brought my boyfriend to this restaurant for his birthday and we both agree it was the best experience. There was a birthday card on the table and dessert at the end. The waiter was perfect and very knowledgeable. We ordered calamari which was perfect. The bone-in Filet was probably the best mentioned meal. We both ordered it with Sams mashed potatoes and a lobster tail. Our waiter couldn't have been better. Thank you for such an experience. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

I booked a table for a birthday. They service and promptness was impeccable. The Brussels sprouts and steals were orders were on point too. This place is expensive but is worth it for a special occasion with your special someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went for Mother's Day dinner. Made reservations in advance. Requested a corner table and DID get a corner table. I called in advance and spoke with the wine sommelier because my mom can't have wine with added sulfates, he was so helpful and knowledgeable about the specific wine that would be perfect for her and made with all organic ingredients. It was delicious and worth it (the Mollydook Two Left Feet, a red blend.) The woman who took care of our table, Jade, was fantastic and tolerated my dad and his dad jokes and references which was very nice lol. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We dined there on Mother's Day and should have expected service to be slow. Service was very slow from the food coming to having our water glasses refilled. They also ran out of a few items which surprised me given that this is an annual occurrence and could have been forecasted. My mom still enjoyed it but I don't think our experience validated the high cost of the meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Family Mother's Day dinner. It was great! Food was delicious, service was fantastic. Our Mom loved it and spent the evening calling friends to tell them how much she enjoyed the Capital Grille.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great 8 oz filet mignon with mashed potatoes and starter of kale, nut salad. Delicious chocolate expresso cake for dessert with coffee. Koy, our waiter, was attentive, patient. The alcoholic drink could have been added for 8 dollars instead of 12. And a small side vegetable would have completed the entree. But, it was a great deal for 49 dollars.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's day brunch massively overbooked. If CG wants to maintain status as premier restaurant, cut and space reservations, raise price. Restaurant was slammed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very expensive for a very average meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Incredible Mother's Day brunch! Hit a home run with this one for wife and mother in law!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Katie, our server, was awesome as usual! She is a great added touch to a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Took my husband for his Birthday. They made it so special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Made reservations specifically to have the Chilean sea bass. My reservation was on a Friday evening. At the 9:00 hour they were out of the sea bass but my waiter offered a Halibut dish as a substitute. The Halibut was not up to standard and I asked to replace it with the Salmon. It was also not up to what I would call the standard of a great fish dish. Although I was less than impressed with the quality of food, my partner ordered the filet and was extremely satisfied with her selection. For the price of our experience I was disappointed at best.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We were given a gift card by our children for our anniversary. We enjoyed the evening although it was a bit noisier than we would have liked. The food was very good and the service from Bruce and Quinton was excellent. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Went in planning on ordering whole main lobster and waiter kept insisting African lobster tails would be a better choice. They were NOT. They were tasteless and overcooked. A very dissapointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great service, great food , always have a good experience at capital

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great .....as usual !!!! Wonderful service and good food !!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Best steak house in Pittsburgh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food is always wonderful, and the service is always perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

3 PF 4 GUESTS GOT THEIR STEAKS RARE AND HAD TO BE REDONE. THE STAFF WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO ASSURE US ALL WOULD BE DONE TO CORRECT THE SITUATION. 3 NEWLY COOKED STEAKS WERE BROUGHT TO THE TABLE WITH ALL NEW HOT PLATES OF SIDE DISHES. GREAT JOB.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our server Taylor was absolutely incredible, he was so thoughtful and attentive; the level of service he provided was spectacular. My family and I were there for my sister's college graduation, and I indicated that in the reservation notes. When we arrived, there were graduation decorations on the table, a hand written congratulations note card to my sister, a champagne toast and a complimentary dessert. Just a wonderful experience all around, not to mention the food and drinks being cooked / prepared perfectly! I'd highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

College graduation celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The overall experience was very poor compared to our past visits. Our server was not very engaging from the start and then lost our order causing a very long wait with no explanation. When she finally did explain and re-take the order, she was somewhat apologetic and assured us the manager would stop by. That never happened. Our food was hastily prepared and definitely not up to normal standards. No offer of any compensation was made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Exceptional quality. Expect to pay over $75/ person for appetizer, entree and a couple of drinks, but worth every penny.
Seafood, meat perfectly prepared. Service was impeccable. Easy walk to Cultural district venues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was just ok didn't really get to eat like that our meal took over 45 minutes to come.and when it did come it was still raw and I ordered chicken. So that was upsetting since it was my first time and my birthday. But over all I hear it's great for lunch.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had four of us and a great meal. We all had the bone-in filet. Was awesome. Our waiter James, was fantastic and always made sure everything was perfect. Great place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent service! Wonderful cocktails! Reservations were easy and had immediate seating. Huge wine selection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was great. Our server, Jade was very attentive and knowledgeable and friendly. We came on Easter Sunday, early for our reservation, and were seated right away.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Two high recommendations: enjoy the coconut cream pie. It's great! The bone-in filet was exceptional, charred and cooked perfectly.
Despite these two delicious items, the rest of the meal was fair to poor. The add-on South African lobster tail was dry, tough and tasteless. We sent it back. The new tail came and tasted no better. Au gratin potatoes were undercooked and lacked sufficient sauce, and frankly, flavor.
Our server was gracious but was too busy to be as attentive as prices require. Not her fault, management's failure.
We probably will not return as we find Ruths Chris as week as Morton's have much better food quality and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a great meal! I would suggest they offer a smaller filet than 10 oz. that's a lot then you can't enjoy the sides. The Brussels sprouts were delicious! No dessert this time. Too full!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Had a wonderful meal here. Shareable sides are a bonus. Get the coconut pie!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Business meeting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We decided to try the Capital Grill when coming to Pittsburgh for a concert. Great experience. Outstanding service and great food. Will now be one of our top restaurants of all time!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent downtown Pittsburgh location. The food was outstanding and the atmosphere was quite enjoyable.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

First time dining at Capital Grille in Pittsburgh. Service was excellent and the food was phenomenal. I highly recommend dining at Capital Grille.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I made reservations for my fiance and I and i must say I was not impressed. It took about 15 minutes for us to be seated. No one bothered to ask what the occasion was for (our 5th anniversary). The waiter offered alcoholic beverages several times after I specifically asked for a non alcoholic beverage. The service wasn't all that great I've had better at the Le mont and Ruth chris.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food is always very good and staff is very pleasant

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We were there celebrating our Anniversary (although no decorations on our table or anything special like it was a few years ago when we were there for our anniversary)
Our table was in the bar area....very loud. Food arrived barely warm. Chicken very dry and steak (rib) was an uneven cut, therefore part was over cooked (was ordered medium). The best part was the lobster bisque and the field greens salad...overall experience was fair at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dined here for a special occasion-my wife's birthday. This was our first visit and Matt our waiter was very efficient and attentive and really made us really feel welcome. Capital Grill is highly recommended not only for a special occasion but for any occasion or just a night out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.