Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

301 5th Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday -Friday: 11:00am – 3:45pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wood Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 338-9100

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $8

Executive Chef:
Travis Hall

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us Easter Sunday for an exceptional prix fixe brunch. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as Shrimp and Grits and more.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (59)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
See All
Business Meals (52)
Notable Wine List (43)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Romantic (38)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Cozy (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Private Room (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Historic (6)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server "J" is simply the best. He makes the overall experience great. Even when the place is busy and sometimes takes longer to get our food, he staying in contact with us the whole time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is very good. A bit loud for conversation. Service was sub-par... had to stand up from the table and find the waiter to get my check. Typically, this has been my experience. Food has exceeded expectations but service is un-even. Depends on the server. Servers are polite but seem to get distracted and not available when needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good service. Good food. Worth it for a special occasion meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food and an awesome service, love love love!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Did not like the salmon salad. The greens, mango and avocado were all smushed together. Not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

My wife and I ate here for our 30th anniversary. We both ordered the filet, both were very over cooked. We each only ate half as they were hard to chew. The service was excellent as always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The steaks and appetizers are fabulous. Our service was ok. It is usually much better but was a super busy night. The ambiance is great for special occasions and everyday dining. Very classy!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Kate was awesome!!! ...as always She hadbern it's us for years & is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great steaks, relaxing environment. Service was very good. Primarily for business dinners and special occasions, in my opinion.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food and service were excellent as usual. The atmosphere was lively without being rowdy. the bar is good and the bar tenders very attentive.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food is awesome, services is spot on. Thank you for a great meal as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Was disappointed when we ordered a strawberry daiquiri and our server came back and told us that the bartender was too busy to make one. yet we could see them making other drinks that were time consuming. Was so disappointed that we decided not to have dessert or after dinner drinks. So we went else where to spend our evening. 🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was excellent. One of the best ribeyes I have had anywhere. Great service that was attentive, but not overdone. Very nice ambience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Service level was below par even though there was a waiter and an assiatant assigned to the table. The restaurant did not appear to be busy so the lack of attention was noticable by me and my business guests.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Excellent service by Greg! He was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I've always been a big fan of the capital Grille. Have generally had great experiences at this particular location. Was a little disappointed about the wine situation. Over double to triple mark up. They also offered a Italian wine selection and substituted with a cheaper alternative. They did correct the problem but it really raises some concerns. Otherwise the food was consistent although my veal chop was undercooked. Lesson learned. Stick with the dry age steaks. The lobster mac & cheese was decadent and service was very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was an awesome place to celebrate our birthdays !

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We came for a birthday dinner but will definitely come back 'just because!' The steaks are outstanding. Must-try appetizers are the prosciutto wrapped mozzarella and the tuna tartare. Server recommendation: ask for Kenny G!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food and service are always top notch. First time I had the lobster bisque and it was perfect. The creme brûléed cheesecake is my favorite dessert I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent meal and very generous portion sizes. Friendly waitress who did not rush us through our meal. I had salmon but the rest of my party had steak and raved about it. Overall an wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our server, J, was phenomenal. The food was great as always but his professionalism and knowledge made our night complete. Harkened back to days gone by when servers actually cared about their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

our au gratin potatoes were filled with onions we asked our waiter if it had any he said "no only on the top".... i am allergic to onions...they were gross!!!!...my wifes filet mignon was to be prepared med-well it was way over cooked no flavor....my ny strip was correctly done....our table didnt have a candle on it like everyone else's....our waiter was avg. @ best...for almost $ 250 including tip and parking we will spend our $$$$ elsewhere next time....

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The meal was excellent. Best steak in Pittsburgh. Our service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Capital Grill was very good. I took my girlfriend for Valentines Day. The food was well prepared and out in a descent time. The staff was very friendly and more than happy to answer any questions I had about the menu or specials.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best steaks and ahi tuna in Pittsburgh! Never a mediocre experience, always top notch, quality food and service!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Worth the trip to downtown Pittsburgh for a Valentine lunch. Lobster bisque was delicious with large pieces of lobster, and the lobster roll was flavorful and overstuffed with fresh lobster salad. My husband had the Capital Grill cheeseburger, that was tender and flavored with bacon and a sweet onion marmalade. Although the restaurant is well known for their steaks, (as well they should be) we were so glad that we went for lunch and tried some other delicious menu items. Service was attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

For the past few years each time we return to Pittsburgh to visit family, we have had dinner at the Capital Grill - always with a group of 6 or more. We have never been disappointed. The food is excellent with great menu selections and the service and staff are friendly and accomodating. We travel quite a bit and have been to Capital Grilles in sevral other cites and our experineces have been consistenly good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our server Kenny G was awesome! Food was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We celebrated our Anniversary at the Capital Grille. It was fabulous. They had decorated our table and presented us with a fabulous desert. The filet and veal were outstanding. Our waitstaff really went the extra mile!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

All was well - dinner was great
Staff attentive
Food and drinks excellent

Tags: Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Celebrating our sons White Coat Ceremony at the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent service by Ryan. We will surely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great food, great service. We had a group of 12 and the staff was great.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

One steak had to be sent back as it was well done instead of medium. I had a bone in filet medium rare and it was fatty, cold and raw. Mushroom side was also raw. iPad wine selection is cheesy.

My previous visit my wife and I added a South African lobster tail and it was like a piece rubber.

Ruth's Chris is much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The service was a bit slow, but the food was excellent. The restaurant has great ambiance and was a good place for a business discussion.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wait staff seemingly disappeared for long stretches and over enthusiastic bus boy continuously interrupted our conversation to scrape bread off of the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I highly recommend this restaurant as I take all my special clients for top rated service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Cocktails were terrible. We ordered a spicy margarita and all I could taste was the tequila. It came garnished with cucumber and peppers and I was so excited when I saw it, but what a disappointment when I tried it. It didn't have any flavor, except for the tequila. My husband ordered a grape mojito and it was just as bad, no flavor, this was very sweet from simple syrup and not from the grapes. The appetizers were great but the food was average. Good wine list. Great dessert too. If the drinks would have been better it would have been a totally different experience.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I ordered the Cobb Salad with Filet. It was very disappointing. The salad was wilted and over-dressed. The filet was 4 1"x 1" pieces of meat that were not cooked to my order. All this for a mere $20.00. I was disappointed to say the least.

Tags: Live Sports, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Special restaurant for special occasions; great service, great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.