Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

301 5th Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday -Friday: 11:00am – 3:45pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wood Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 338-9100

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $8

Executive Chef:
Donato Collucio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $38 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Business Meals (32)
See All
Romantic (32)
Good for a Date (32)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Cozy (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Private Room (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Great for steak and occasional unique items like a lamb tomahawk chop! The environment is suited for jeans/collared shirt up to full suit/tie and I've enjoyed business meals, date nights and group dinners there.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Superb Service, everyone! Delicious creme corn soup; great caesar salad; oysters were loved; the lump crabmeat on top of the filet oscar was plump, white, and so sweet. I thought the bernaise sauce was more of a hollandaise (bland). Filet SO tender and cooked to perfection at medium rare. The creme brûlée cheesecake mini and the mini chocolate flour less cake on the
"celebration platter" for birthday celebration were oh so yummy !! Worth the splurge if you're not used to spending few extra dollars on AMAZING food, service, and atmosphere !

Tags: Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Lunch was perfect = service outstanding = the downside of the afternoon was No valet at lunch time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful drinks, appetizers were great-the sweet corn chowder is a must have! Bone in filet was a wonderful choice. A very nice meal all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I both had delicious steaks, maybe the best we've ever had. Our waiter and the other wait staff were attentive .

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

This Resturant is very nice to look at. The food was not nearly as good. I had a filet that was ordered to be cooked just on the light side of medium and came rare with cold blood red center. Once they cooked the steak some more it was very dry. A steak house that can't get the temperature correct on a steak is not what I was looking for at $115 a plate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

The staff was very accommodating and quite friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food and ambiance was outstanding ! But then again its The Capital Grill I always expect
That when dining there. Unfortunately for us My wife and I were served by Jade The restaurant
was not very crowded due to it being a Sunday and our service still was terrible. We had been served by this young lady once before and it was lacking to say the least but as a rule i don't blame the server due to the fact that some things are beyond their control. That being said on a slow Sunday evening I could not find my server to replenish my cocktail. I finally gave up and when she did appear asked for the check and proceeded to walk down to Morton's for dessert and coffee . The desserts are decadent but worth the extra time on the treadmill! We now live in town so the walk was pleasant but we would have preferred to stay at Capital Grill. We will be returning soon ( We now live two blocks from the restaurant.) Although we will ask whom our server is in advance from now on due to the fact that it soured a perfectly beautiful evening. As far as our server i would recommend a career change, Maybe the post office or the DMV where customer service is not critical job function

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We came here to celebrate our 39th anniversary and had a spectacular dinner! Tiffany O. was our server, and could not have been more informative, professional and friendly! We will definitely return and ask for her service!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our waiter Matt did a great job. Restaurant was busy but we were seated on time. Food and beverages were excellent. Typical wonderful dining at Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Another great dining experience and great service by James, staff and management. We
will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Absolutely fabulous all the way around. So glad this was our choice for my oldest son's 32 birthday. Every single item he had - was the best he'd ever tasted. Same the rest of us. Made me so happy! My daughter-in-law and grandson, my youngest son and I also enjoyed each and every thing. The service was outstanding and you made my grandson feel very special. He was quite content the entire time we were there; I don't think anyone even realized there was a 2 1/2 year old in the restaurant! Five stars from this family - and we will be back! Thank you so very much for making that one of the very best dinner events I've had with my family!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We were leaving for a fourth person to arrive
Arrive 20 minutes after the reservation time
Waitress kept asking us if we were ready to order even though we had told her we would like some time to visit and to enjoy cocktails
Cocktails took 20 minutes to arrive
At the end of the meal which was 15 minutes before closing time the lights in the restaurant were turned on full as a clear signal that it was time for us to leave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was good as usual at The Capital Grille. The service was both first class but still friendly - achieving a great balance that made the evening outstanding for us.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Lobster roll is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We were Celebration our wedding anniversary. Capital Grill is our most favorite restaurant, wherever we are. It's simply the best dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I reserved a table at the Capital Grille for a business dinner and was very happy I did. The service and food was excellent. The steaks were cooked perfectly too. A excellent meal!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Outstanding service! Great fixed price lunch menu. A superb experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Poor booth/table location. Server was overwhelmed with too many tables. Long delays from beginning to end. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Very good, as usual . One of our favorites in Pittsburgh .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Awesome as always! Rebecca was amazing and had a great sense of humor 😂 definitely will be back for her and Shirley's service.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Overcooked meat, small portions, inattentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 14, 2017

One of the best filet mignons I have ever had. Our waiter was very attentive and friendly. Would definitely recommend!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great service and the food was really good !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Had 2 lb lobster not worth 60.00 wasn't sweet or tender

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Food was great. Tina is an amazing server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great location and I like eating in the bar area. Our server, Ryan was very professional and provided us with insight on which selections might be the best on the menu. Overall, excellent meal and service.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our server was named Christopher and he did an amazing job. Very knowledgeable on the menu and was more than accommodating. Great food and great experience! I would definitely recommend requesting him when dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Ryan our waiter was FANTASTIC. Loved his sense of humor.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My son and i had lunch here for his 21st bday while in town for the Penguins Stanley cup game and it was a fantastic dining experience. The staff was attentive and the food was cooked to perfection. Capital Grille did not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Taylor was excellent. Delicious meal as always.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Fabulous as usual. Service was great and food was fantastic. We were celebrating a friend's retirement and the wait staff was very attentive and the food was delicious. Two of us got the pairings lunch special--I got the salmon--nice portion perfectly cooked on a small bed of green beans along with the watermelon salad--yummy. The retiree got the shrimp over soba noodles --4 very large shrimp over noodles in a ginger broth- and the watermelon salad-she was very happy with her meal as well. Our other co-worker got the tenderloin cobb salad and she isn't much of a meat eater but raved about the tastiness of the steak. Also they brought out a congratulation dessert for us to share--a small cheesecake with berries--very good and a chocolate cake which was more fudge like than cake but was divine. Overall very nice going away luncheon for a cherished co-worker at a reasonable price to boot!

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great service, steaks were good, one just slightly overcooked. Sides of Brussels sprouts were sweet and savory melting in your mouth. Cheesecake was rich and delicious topped with fresh berries. A nice evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It was an amazing experience, from the moment we stepped into the restaurant. The hostess was very accommodating and friendly. Tina our server was exceptional and very attentive, she helped make our anniversary special.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A very classy, business casual, restaurant, in the heart of beautiful Pittsburgh. We didn't know exactly what to expect. I made reservations with a notation that this was our anniversary dinner, the staff certainly took notice, from the front desk wishing us "happy anniversary" to the table set with heart confetti, the assistant server, and server, greeting us the same way. Once we were finished with dinner, we "thought" about dessert, and so had the Capital Grille. The wonderful waitress surprised us with a complimentary dessert platter (seen in the picture) complete with candle, 2 types of desserts (plenty after a big dinner) and "Happy Anniversary" stenciled in chocolate. Just when we thought "WOW, this is great", a manager showed up with a greeting & a rose for my wife.

This is the type of restaurant that "doesn't exist anymore". A real treat. I recommend it highly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food and attentive service. Incredible steak....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Christopher is an outstanding server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I have patronized the Capital Grille for years and went for a special occasion. After we placed our orders, the waiter returned to the table to advise that they were "out of" the first item listed on the menu (filet and poached lobster tails) and we also out of the creamed spinach. While I understand these things happen in the restaurant business, I expected more from Capital Grille at 6:30 on a Sunday night. I mean, how can a steak house be out of the filet? Especially a top notch steak house like the Capital Grille? My faith in this great restaurant has been shaken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.