About The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh

301 5th Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday -Friday: 11:00am – 3:45pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wood Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 338-9100

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $8

Executive Chef:
Travis Hall

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Steak and Lobster Tail
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Lobster Pot Pie
Seafood Tower Two Tiers
Wagyu Burger
Maine Lobster Roll
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Sesame Crusted Tuna With Rice
Lobster Salad
Filet Oscar
South African Lobster Tail
Prociutto
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 15 Year Balsamic
Parmesan Crusted Fries Drizzled With Truffle Oil
Coconut Cream Pie
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake & Cheesecake
Asparagus

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $38 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
7 More
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (85)
Notable Wine List (43)
Romantic (36)
See All
Great for Lunch (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Groups (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Hot Spot (9)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went on a Tuesday after work with a grou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Went on a Tuesday after work with a group of 8. Sat right away. Food was great! Loved the sides - lobster mac & cheese and brussel sprouts with bacon were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Despite making or reservation weeks in a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Despite making or reservation weeks in advance, we were seated at a table near the very loud kitchen, surrounded by a number of large parties, making it hard to carry on a conversation. Our server was nice, but the food runner literally plopped our food in front of us saying "Here's your food." And disappeared before I could cut into my steak. I've been to The Capital Grille many times, and this was by far my worst experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Another great meal at the Capital Grille ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Another great meal at the Capital Grille. We live going for restaurant week and this place never disappoints. Tuna tartar was delicious as was the wine. We had a late reservation and our server was good, but we did not see much of him (had other tables). The rest of the support staff were amazing. It was nice to see other servers and assistants still providing top notch service right before closing time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service , hostess was ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service , hostess was also very accommodating and helped make our group experience thoroughly enjoyable, thank you Toni! Tiffani was wonderful, missed Chery but Brandon was also excellent! Thank you Capital Grille!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, though the filet ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good, though the filet mignon was slightly my over done.

The main entrees took awhile to receive so they comped us a bottle of wine, which was a very nice touch.

The atmosphere was nice but WAY too dark to the point I needed a flashlight to read the menu.

Service was good but not personal enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We had dinner during restaurant week. W ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had dinner during restaurant week. When the waitress approached our table and we indicated we were here because of restaurant week her comment was, "Oh, you are for that? And literally stampeded away to get that menu. She literally rushed us to get our order and every time she approached the table she interrupted our conversation as opposed to waiting for break in the conversation. Seems like she just wanted to get us out of there. I ordered a steak medium well and it came back "RARE". When I brought it to her attention she said, "That is what you ordered and chastised me" I have never ordered anything rare! Needless to say, my other guests ate and were almost finished by the time my streak came back. Although they did not charge me it was awkward eating when everyone else was almost finished. She quickly brought the check and wanted us to leave so she could get another table of guests. It all started because we asked for the restaurant week menu. I entertain and have many business dinners at Capital Grills around the country and they are very good. If restaurant week is burden to them they should not offer it! It will be sometime before I go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Took wife here on honeymoon, hands dow ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Took wife here on honeymoon, hands down greatest restaurant experience of our lives. I ordered bone-in steak, was cooked perfectly and the taste was out of this world , best steak I ever had and I'm huge steak eater. The service was great we had multiple employees greet us at table from time to time including the cook and the manager. I will say I have never been treated so well in a restaurant before and I can't wait to make it back again. It was an amazing time and made our honeymoon so memorable..THANK YOU SO MUCH

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated Anniversary our server was fa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Celebrated Anniversary our server was fantastic as well as the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious m, fast service and f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was delicious m, fast service and friendly atmosphere. Will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding quality of food and excellen ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Outstanding quality of food and excellent service. Always a win.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed lunch for restaurant week. The f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Enjoyed lunch for restaurant week. The food was wonderful. It was busy but with the reservation we were seated quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good value for the money we spent. Have ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good value for the money we spent. Have been here before -- will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Lunch with clients. Great downtown optio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Lunch with clients. Great downtown option. Food, service, ambiance are all top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I came here during Restauran ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My wife and I came here during Restaurant Week. I had the bone-in NY strip. Cooked perfectly with excellent flavor. The mashed potatoes, clam chowder and wedge salad were all very good. The chocolate espresso cake was a nice way to finish the meal. The service was at the level you would expect from a restaurant like this with the waiter topping off the wine regularly. I should also mention that the dirty martini with blue cheese olives was top notch as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went during restaurant week, a bad id ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went during restaurant week, a bad idea. The special menu was limited, more so than you would expect for $35 each. 14 oz rubbed NY strip was delicious and to order. My wife's salmon was more mundane, dry, apparently overcooked, though the glaze was unique and delicious. Accompaniment to the five feature entrees was green beans and smashed potatoes, no substitutes,acceptable but not memorable. Choice of two basic salads or a clam chowder was supplemented by a +$5 lobster bisque, which I ordered. Again, a good choice, better than my wife's oddly bland and butter rich clam chowder. Two desert choices, a cheese cake or a chocolate cream cake, were small and rich, they appeared to be pre-frozen prepared portions.

Even though we were 15 min early for our reservation, we were seated 30 minutes late, after 45 minutes in the bar. Oddly, we were then moved to a table in the bar, apparently the dining room was overbooked. The bar was noisey, crowded, with low and heavy pub chairs.

The only notable point of the meal was the wait staff, which, while obviously overworked, remained friendly, helpful and efficient.

Overall it was equivalent to dining at a Longhorn Steakhouse that was more crowded and not as comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

This restaurant is a five star. The atmo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This restaurant is a five star. The atmosphere,friendly staff and food was excellent. I would recommend this place for any type of occasion

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant week lunch and the serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great restaurant week lunch and the service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for their restaurant week lunch spe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Went for their restaurant week lunch special. The sirloin was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best filet I've had in a while. Every o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best filet I've had in a while. Every one enjoyed their meal. Definitely a must when in Pittsburgh!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, Good, Good, Good, ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Good, Good, Good, Good, Godote. What is the meaning of life? Why do we have a belly button?

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Although the corner room was dark & real ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Although the corner room was dark & really loud, we are always impressed with our service and our meals! Next time we will request not to sit there!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent every time, service is impecca ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent every time, service is impeccable and food is cooked to perfection

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy Capital Grill. The wine s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I always enjoy Capital Grill. The wine sampler deal is very good. The sea bass and tune are always reliable. Very consistent from city to city so you know what you are getting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and even better service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent food and even better service. Would come back here in a heartbeat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant week specials made the ex ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The restaurant week specials made the excellent food more affordable😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined at the restaurant for Restauran ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We dined at the restaurant for Restaurant Week. The food was terrific and the service was great. The restaurant was a bit noisy, which is unusual for this restaurant, so conversation was a little challenging. Still, another great experience at The Capital Grille.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food especially the steak which wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food especially the steak which was perfect. Very attentive service. The wait for our entrees was a bit excessive for lunchtime, however.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great waitress Delicious food Nice table ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great waitress

Delicious food

Nice table

Accommodated us with a booth

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Omar ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Omar did a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my husband's birthday with ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday with friends and had a great experience. Food and service were outstanding: the others loved their steaks and I had a delicious salmon dish. We were there during restaurant week, which included dessert, and they even brought the birthday dessert (which we took home) in addition to the included one, and Happy Birthday was stenciled in chocolate sauce! Much better than the other steak houses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu for restaurant week.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellent menu for restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place to dine but expensive. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful place to dine but expensive. For us it is a special evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Their steaks are some of the most delici ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Their steaks are some of the most delicious I've ever had. A very elegant and decadent restaurant. Rachel, our waitress, was fabulous! Try it out for Restaurant Week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Consistently one of my favorite places. ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Consistently one of my favorite places. Food is always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as it has been. Service was ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Not as good as it has been. Service was rushed, didn't even explain the wines when ordering their "Generous Pour" wine flight. The steak was cooked correctly but came out cold. They also stopped carrying the 28 day dry aged delmonico, which was their best offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Bruce and his assistant TAYLOR? were exc ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Bruce and his assistant TAYLOR? were excellent evening was great

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice place. Great for a business lu ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very nice place. Great for a business lunch. Stick with the steak on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Capital Grille went beyond expeditions o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Capital Grille went beyond expeditions once again. It was our wedding anniversary and made it such a special night...roses at the table, glasses of champagne, & dessert. Our entrees were delightful...i had scallops and my husband had steak...so good! It was definitely a memorable evening. Thank you Capital Grille!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went above and beyond to acknowledge our ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Went above and beyond to acknowledge our anniversary. Unfortunately, our entrees were over cooked. An enjoyable evening nonetheless with top notch service and mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.