About The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh

301 5th Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday -Friday: 11:00am – 3:45pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wood Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 338-9100

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $8

Executive Chef:
Travis Hall

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (52)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
See All
Business Meals (45)
Notable Wine List (38)
Romantic (35)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Good for Groups (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Cozy (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Open Kitchen (10)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Private Room (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Historic (6)
Authentic (6)
Fun (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The meal was excellent. Best steak in Pi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

The meal was excellent. Best steak in Pittsburgh. Our service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grill was very good. I took ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

The Capital Grill was very good. I took my girlfriend for Valentines Day. The food was well prepared and out in a descent time. The staff was very friendly and more than happy to answer any questions I had about the menu or specials.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steaks and ahi tuna in Pittsburgh! ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Best steaks and ahi tuna in Pittsburgh! Never a mediocre experience, always top notch, quality food and service!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the trip to downtown Pittsburgh fo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Worth the trip to downtown Pittsburgh for a Valentine lunch. Lobster bisque was delicious with large pieces of lobster, and the lobster roll was flavorful and overstuffed with fresh lobster salad. My husband had the Capital Grill cheeseburger, that was tender and flavored with bacon and a sweet onion marmalade. Although the restaurant is well known for their steaks, (as well they should be) we were so glad that we went for lunch and tried some other delicious menu items. Service was attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For the past few years each time we retu ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

For the past few years each time we return to Pittsburgh to visit family, we have had dinner at the Capital Grill - always with a group of 6 or more. We have never been disappointed. The food is excellent with great menu selections and the service and staff are friendly and accomodating. We travel quite a bit and have been to Capital Grilles in sevral other cites and our experineces have been consistenly good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Kenny G was awesome! Food was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our server Kenny G was awesome! Food was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated our Anniversary at the Cap ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We celebrated our Anniversary at the Capital Grille. It was fabulous. They had decorated our table and presented us with a fabulous desert. The filet and veal were outstanding. Our waitstaff really went the extra mile!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All was well - dinner was great Staff a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

All was well - dinner was great

Staff attentive

Food and drinks excellent

Tags: Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating our sons White Coat Ceremony ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Celebrating our sons White Coat Ceremony at the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service by Ryan. We will sure ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent service by Ryan. We will surely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service. We had a grou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great food, great service. We had a group of 12 and the staff was great.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One steak had to be sent back as it was ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

One steak had to be sent back as it was well done instead of medium. I had a bone in filet medium rare and it was fatty, cold and raw. Mushroom side was also raw. iPad wine selection is cheesy.

My previous visit my wife and I added a South African lobster tail and it was like a piece rubber.

Ruth's Chris is much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The service was a bit slow, but the food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The service was a bit slow, but the food was excellent. The restaurant has great ambiance and was a good place for a business discussion.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Wait staff seemingly disappeared for lon ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wait staff seemingly disappeared for long stretches and over enthusiastic bus boy continuously interrupted our conversation to scrape bread off of the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I highly recommend this restaurant as I ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I highly recommend this restaurant as I take all my special clients for top rated service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cocktails were terrible. We ordered a s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Cocktails were terrible. We ordered a spicy margarita and all I could taste was the tequila. It came garnished with cucumber and peppers and I was so excited when I saw it, but what a disappointment when I tried it. It didn't have any flavor, except for the tequila. My husband ordered a grape mojito and it was just as bad, no flavor, this was very sweet from simple syrup and not from the grapes. The appetizers were great but the food was average. Good wine list. Great dessert too. If the drinks would have been better it would have been a totally different experience.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I ordered the Cobb Salad with Filet. It ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I ordered the Cobb Salad with Filet. It was very disappointing. The salad was wilted and over-dressed. The filet was 4 1"x 1" pieces of meat that were not cooked to my order. All this for a mere $20.00. I was disappointed to say the least.

Tags: Live Sports, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Special restaurant for special occasions ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Special restaurant for special occasions; great service, great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Monthly dinner with friends

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Monthly dinner with friends

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Servers Katie and Q were wonderful. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our Servers Katie and Q were wonderful. They were there with our every want and need. We enjoyed the Capital Grill and will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner during "Restaurant Week". ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great dinner during "Restaurant Week". Great service and perfect table - Can't wait to visit again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very nice dinner. Our server w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a very nice dinner. Our server was a large part of making our dinner special. He was friendly, informative and all around top notch. The food was very good but I would not say exceptional. For the price I would have expected to be "wowed" and was not. I will return but will opt for a different menu choice. It is a good choice for a special evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server Kenneth was awesome. Please s ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our server Kenneth was awesome. Please send him our thanks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, we had a delicious meal with ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

As always, we had a delicious meal with outstanding service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing. Our steaks were c ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was amazing. Our steaks were cooked perfectly. The noise level was a little loud which made conversation difficult. The overall service was good, what you should expect from a high end restaurant. Only complaint is that we waited 40 minutes before our order was taken.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

We have not been disappointed on any occ ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We have not been disappointed on any occasion we have had when dining at this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tiffany was so wonderful, and we had suc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Tiffany was so wonderful, and we had such a great experience. We always come in at least once during restaurant week, and this was truly one of our best visits. All of the food was absolutely perfect, and it was timed perfectly too. We didn't feel rushed, and we weren't worried about being late getting back to work. We're already looking forward to the next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal for Restaurant Week. Our ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fantastic meal for Restaurant Week. Our server was great. Food was wonderful, we were in and out in less than an hour for a 3 course meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. The best filet mignon and mashed potatoes! And amazing service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lax service, didn't get a drink untill 4 ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Lax service, didn't get a drink untill 45 minutes after seating. He checked on us 3 times over a span of 3 hours, didn't feel like it was worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We chose The Capital Grille for a "girl' ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We chose The Capital Grille for a "girl's night out" during Pittsburgh Restaurant Week. We requested (when we made the reservation) to be seated next to another table of friends, and our request was honored. The service was superior and the food was every bit as good as I remembered from previous visits. I had a perfectly done medium rare filet, and those at our table who chose salmon raved about their dish. ( And if you go, don't pass up a chance to try the mashed potatoes!) Thank you, Capital Grille for a great dinner and a lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the Capital Grille numero ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I have been to the Capital Grille numerous times and I have never been disappointed, except for this time. I understand that it was restaurant week, but I have gone to the Capital Grille for the last 3 restaurant weeks and still had good service. Unfortunately, this time, my service was terrible. The waitress tried to rush us through our meal and did not come back once throughout the entirety of our meal. I even told her "we are in no rush" before we got our meals so that she would stop rushing us through our meal. That didn't help. I asked for my steak to be cooked rare plus and she did not understand the difference between rare plus and rare. I tried to explain, but my steak still came out rare. This should not happen at a restaurant that is a steak restaurant, let alone the Capital Grille. She did not come back to the table to ask us how our food was once, so I just ate it without complaint before it got cold. I wanted another glass of wine with my meal, but because she did not come back, I ordered wine with my desert. I understand that people have off nights, so I still tipped over 20%, but I am truly disappointed in the quality of service that I received. I received the type of service that I would expect from somewhere like a TGI Friday's or Applebee's. Side note: I went to Morton's for Christmas Eve and it was WAY BUSIER than the Capital Grille was during restaurant week, but I still had exceptional service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Everything was fantastic, as we've come ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Everything was fantastic, as we've come to expect from The Capital Grille. We've been there for dinner a few times and always leave with full bellies and "lickin' our chops" .. Yum Yum. Service has always been friendly and attentive. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just perfect! Everything is thought of t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Just perfect! Everything is thought of to the very last detail. This is now my favorite restaurant and I absolutely will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the Winter Restaurant Week in Pit ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

It was the Winter Restaurant Week in Pittsburgh & the food, service & value were spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was sweet. Tho the waiting time for t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

It was sweet. Tho the waiting time for the entrees are longer than expected. The overall experience is amazing.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great at Capital Gril ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food is always great at Capital Grille but this time it seemed like the portions were smaller than the last Restaurant Week. My steak was not hot, only lukewarm.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always delicious and amazing! Wonderful ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Always delicious and amazing! Wonderful ambiance, food, and service!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Historic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were never rushed! Great meal, great ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were never rushed! Great meal, great service, and great company! The filet is top notch and the cheesecake has mev wanting more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice atmosphere and food. Disappoi ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Very nice atmosphere and food.

Disappointed though in the dressing. Tasted cheap and store bought, not characteristic of a restaurant of this kind.

Portions are inconsistent. I have eaten here before and sometimes they are "good portion" size and sometimes they are half that... It is a gamble.

But the food is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.