About The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

301 5th Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday -Friday: 11:00am – 3:45pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wood Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 338-9100

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $8

Executive Chef:
Travis Hall

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Steak and Lobster Tail - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Seafood Tower Two Tiers - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Sesame Crusted Tuna With Rice - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Lobster Salad - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Filet Oscar - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
South African Lobster Tail - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Prociutto - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 15 Year Balsamic - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Parmesan Crusted Fries Drizzled With Truffle Oil - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Coconut Cream Pie - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake & Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Asparagus - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for a Date (52)
Business Meals (44)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Notable Wine List (37)
Romantic (32)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Great for Lunch (13)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Seasonal (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Private Room (8)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Historic (6)
Authentic (6)
Casual (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I ordered the Cobb Salad with Filet. It ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

I ordered the Cobb Salad with Filet. It was very disappointing. The salad was wilted and over-dressed. The filet was 4 1"x 1" pieces of meat that were not cooked to my order. All this for a mere $20.00. I was disappointed to say the least.

Tags: Live Sports, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Special restaurant for special occasions ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Special restaurant for special occasions; great service, great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Monthly dinner with friends

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Monthly dinner with friends

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Servers Katie and Q were wonderful. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Our Servers Katie and Q were wonderful. They were there with our every want and need. We enjoyed the Capital Grill and will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner during "Restaurant Week". ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Great dinner during "Restaurant Week". Great service and perfect table - Can't wait to visit again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very nice dinner. Our server w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

It was a very nice dinner. Our server was a large part of making our dinner special. He was friendly, informative and all around top notch. The food was very good but I would not say exceptional. For the price I would have expected to be "wowed" and was not. I will return but will opt for a different menu choice. It is a good choice for a special evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server Kenneth was awesome. Please s ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server Kenneth was awesome. Please send him our thanks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, we had a delicious meal with ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

As always, we had a delicious meal with outstanding service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have not been disappointed on any occ ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We have not been disappointed on any occasion we have had when dining at this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing. Our steaks were c ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was amazing. Our steaks were cooked perfectly. The noise level was a little loud which made conversation difficult. The overall service was good, what you should expect from a high end restaurant. Only complaint is that we waited 40 minutes before our order was taken.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Tiffany was so wonderful, and we had suc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Tiffany was so wonderful, and we had such a great experience. We always come in at least once during restaurant week, and this was truly one of our best visits. All of the food was absolutely perfect, and it was timed perfectly too. We didn't feel rushed, and we weren't worried about being late getting back to work. We're already looking forward to the next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal for Restaurant Week. Our ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fantastic meal for Restaurant Week. Our server was great. Food was wonderful, we were in and out in less than an hour for a 3 course meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. The best filet mignon and mashed potatoes! And amazing service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lax service, didn't get a drink untill 4 ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Lax service, didn't get a drink untill 45 minutes after seating. He checked on us 3 times over a span of 3 hours, didn't feel like it was worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We chose The Capital Grille for a "girl' ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We chose The Capital Grille for a "girl's night out" during Pittsburgh Restaurant Week. We requested (when we made the reservation) to be seated next to another table of friends, and our request was honored. The service was superior and the food was every bit as good as I remembered from previous visits. I had a perfectly done medium rare filet, and those at our table who chose salmon raved about their dish. ( And if you go, don't pass up a chance to try the mashed potatoes!) Thank you, Capital Grille for a great dinner and a lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the Capital Grille numero ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I have been to the Capital Grille numerous times and I have never been disappointed, except for this time. I understand that it was restaurant week, but I have gone to the Capital Grille for the last 3 restaurant weeks and still had good service. Unfortunately, this time, my service was terrible. The waitress tried to rush us through our meal and did not come back once throughout the entirety of our meal. I even told her "we are in no rush" before we got our meals so that she would stop rushing us through our meal. That didn't help. I asked for my steak to be cooked rare plus and she did not understand the difference between rare plus and rare. I tried to explain, but my steak still came out rare. This should not happen at a restaurant that is a steak restaurant, let alone the Capital Grille. She did not come back to the table to ask us how our food was once, so I just ate it without complaint before it got cold. I wanted another glass of wine with my meal, but because she did not come back, I ordered wine with my desert. I understand that people have off nights, so I still tipped over 20%, but I am truly disappointed in the quality of service that I received. I received the type of service that I would expect from somewhere like a TGI Friday's or Applebee's. Side note: I went to Morton's for Christmas Eve and it was WAY BUSIER than the Capital Grille was during restaurant week, but I still had exceptional service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

Everything was fantastic, as we've come ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Everything was fantastic, as we've come to expect from The Capital Grille. We've been there for dinner a few times and always leave with full bellies and "lickin' our chops" .. Yum Yum. Service has always been friendly and attentive. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just perfect! Everything is thought of t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Just perfect! Everything is thought of to the very last detail. This is now my favorite restaurant and I absolutely will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the Winter Restaurant Week in Pit ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

It was the Winter Restaurant Week in Pittsburgh & the food, service & value were spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was sweet. Tho the waiting time for t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

It was sweet. Tho the waiting time for the entrees are longer than expected. The overall experience is amazing.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great at Capital Gril ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food is always great at Capital Grille but this time it seemed like the portions were smaller than the last Restaurant Week. My steak was not hot, only lukewarm.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always delicious and amazing! Wonderful ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Always delicious and amazing! Wonderful ambiance, food, and service!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Historic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were never rushed! Great meal, great ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were never rushed! Great meal, great service, and great company! The filet is top notch and the cheesecake has mev wanting more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice atmosphere and food. Disappoi ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Very nice atmosphere and food.

Disappointed though in the dressing. Tasted cheap and store bought, not characteristic of a restaurant of this kind.

Portions are inconsistent. I have eaten here before and sometimes they are "good portion" size and sometimes they are half that... It is a gamble.

But the food is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service. Quite pric ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food and great service. Quite pricy but you get what you pay for. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was great and the service was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our dinner was great and the service was excellent. We love the ambiance. Nice lace to meet new friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WONDERFUL restaurant! THE standard in se ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

WONDERFUL restaurant! THE standard in service and making every occaision feel special in Downtown Pittsburgh! Great bar menu for a quick lunch, or come as you are for an outstanding dinner that you won't soon forget! Celebrate your most special occaisions here in style and comfort, or just come and spend some time with your friends at the bar during the big game. Menu, cocktails, and wine list are all OUTSTANDING. Come for the food and spirits, but stay and come back again because it feels like Downtown Pittsburgh has rolled out the red carpet just for you! The service and the people here are simply amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT FOOD AND SUPER SERVICE. SEVERAL O ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

GREAT FOOD AND SUPER SERVICE. SEVERAL OF THE NEW ITEMS ON THE MENUE WERE OUTSTANDING.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Re-stored my faith in this location--gre ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Re-stored my faith in this location--great service (thank you Darla!) and the food was outstanding. Perfect cadence to the meal and went a little beyond on things like bringing my vegetarian daughter her own brussel sprouts less bacon without us asking!

Thanks to all--keep up the good work.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing dinner as always at the Capital ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Amazing dinner as always at the Capital Grille! Awesome service provided by Bruce. Food was amazing. Lobster Mac is unbelievable

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Capital Grille again was a stellar l ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The Capital Grille again was a stellar location for a business lunch! My guest and I were greeted and seated quickly at a private table as per our request. Our Waiter BRUCE was on point. Very informative of the menu items, as well as additional options that we had. Our Strip Steaks were perfectly prepared. Seasoned to perfection. Our French Green Beans were delightful as well. Since we had some extra time we both enjoyed desserts including Creme Brûlée and Creme Brûlée Cheesecake! I can't wait to host another business event at the Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though the Capital Grille is rather ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Even though the Capital Grille is rather expensive, the food (and especially the steaks and all of the trimmings that go with it including appetizers, salads and sides) is excellent. The service was a bit unimpressive (the waitress Katie was somewhat inattentive and unimpressive).

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Everything we had was great except for t ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Everything we had was great except for the kale salad, which was a bit boring (just add an ingredient or two) and the au gratin potatoes (remove all that garlic, it cheapens the dish to food court levels). Otherwise, great restaurant !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to Capital Grille many times ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have been to Capital Grille many times and have never had anything but a 5 Star experience until New Year Eve. I took 3 friends who were going to a Capital Grille for the first time and most likely will never return. We were in a 5 Star restaurant and got 3 Star food and fast food service. I could not apologize enough for how horrible the entire evening ended up being.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Wonderful service and food. Made our spe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful service and food. Made our special Nee Years Eve a perfect evening

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great steaks - birthday confetti and car ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great steaks - birthday confetti and card was a nice touch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We met several friends here for a holida ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We met several friends here for a holiday week dinner. The menu has many nice tempting options. The four of us all went with various steaks but there is a lot for non meat fans too. Decadent sides and nice starters although $10 for a cup of soup is outrageous.

Drink and wine prices are fairly reasonable but do we really need to be handed a computerized table so that we have to guess what icon to push and which list to scroll down? This was annoying.

Overall a nice classy spot worth visiting a couple of times a year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Filet Minion was over cooked, tasted bur ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Filet Minion was over cooked, tasted burnt even though I ordered medium rare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.