Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today
Special offers available. See details

The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh

4.7
2036 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Good for a Date
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday -Friday: 11:00am – 3:45pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(412) 338-9100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Donato Collucio
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Wood Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet Parking $8
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Join us for Father's Day on Sunday, June 17. Enjoy our Wagyu Bone-In NY Strip for a celebration to remember.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 2036 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Ambiance, food, service- everything was perfect!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Had a porterhouse that was very dry when cooked rare (unusual for Capital Grille) but they made it right with a nice fillet and all was fine from then on.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We have eaten at Capital Grille many times but this experience was not what we expect. The salads were very small and the caeser had no croutons. We waited over an hour for our main course and the veal chop was over cooked and dry. The manager apologized and compted dessert. It was apparent that the restaurant was not able to handle the crowd tonight.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fantastic Mother’s Day Brunch. Our server, Katie, was great - very attentive and wonderful personality. Filets cooked perfectly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s day brunch. Fantastic experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers Day brunch is best in Pittsburgh...do not miss it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great Easter brunch. On time, service was prompt and responsive. Food was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Such a great experience! Delicious food and great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My mother had an amazing Mother’s Day brunch!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Best steak in the city. Service was exceptional. We were seated in the bar area (right side of restaurant when entering) which was way too noisy for a romantic meal for my wife and I. the half wall that separated the tables from the bar was not enough to tamp down the noise.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

My Son’s college graduation was perfect; Maria was top-notch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Best meal every, great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

We went with another couple to celebrate a wedding anniversary . Great restaurant for a special occasion, table was decorated with confetti and also a card expressing best wishes for our anniversary! Then a champagne toast was brought to our table, another special touch. Now the food, it’s been almost a week and we are all still raving about our steaks. Excellent. At the end of the meal another surprise with a dessert on a “happy anniversary “ platter! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Our server Maria was absolutely lovely! She smiled the entire time and made the experience that much more memorable. Thank you, Maria!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The Capital Grille absolutely lives up to it's price point. From the moment you walk in, you are instantly transported back to a golden age of dining. The bar and dining area are filled with energetic conversation as the wait staff gracefully flit from table to table.
The Manager, Nick, paid close attention to the special request on our reservation, and knocked it out of the park. It is refreshing to be in a modern restaurant where the management is empowered to elevate their guests dining experience. Our waiter, Koy, was the perfect combination of attentive, knowledgeable and warm.
I can't wait for the next time I can stop in to have dinner here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This was a MA graduation dinner celebration for my daughter. Katie was our server and she deserves 10 stars for going above and beyond. She made the experience so enjoyable. The food was superb - this kitchen is on point.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent cuisine and service Maria our Server is fantastic!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Food great as always. Waitress was posing vs serving. Forgot a couple of things and was not up to CG standard.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

The food and service was extraordinary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Our service was amazing. We were celebrating admin prof day (belated) for my assistant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Our server Amber was delightful! Very professional, swift and warm personality. We live in Hawaii and came to Pittsburgh for my brother’s college graduation. Tori, the Pastry Chef sent us out this beautiful creation of assorted desserts for my brother. Being that we are in the service industry, my parents were blown away by the level of service and attention to detail. This was our best meal in Pittsburgh. Anytime we’re in Pittsburgh, this is a must especially with Amber! Please thank them again on our behalf. Mahalo (Thank you in Hawaiian)
Rayna Akau

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

It was our anniversary and we had a rose on the table when we were seated. We also received a free dessert that said “Happy Anniversary” in chocolate. The food was amazing and our service was top notch. It was the best way to spend an anniversary. It’s a restaurant everyone must try!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Celebrating graduation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

We celebrated our friend Leaving Pittsburgh and moving to New York. In my Reservation I asked for Brown Raisin Bread and it was there right after we sat down! It is my friend’s FAVORITE, so she was so happy. Our meals were excellent! Then our waiter James brought a two person dessert over to cap off the meal!! Great experience at Capital Grille!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Excellent service and delectable food - oysters- plump and fresh, the lobster tails - tasty and sautéed spinach -cooked to perfection!
They never disappoint...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Nice private room and very good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Our server J was absolutely wonderful!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Outstanding menu, great service by James with added recommendations that were excellent. Need to add to your attend list. Keep up the good work.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We went here for dinner after getting married at the courthouse. It was incredible all around! The food was fantastic. It’s one of the only places I’ll order a steak because it’s so good that nowhere else can compare. The lobster mac is heavenly. I love their wine list- we are able to order a great bottle with confidence. Per usual, the service was wonderful. They definitely made us feel special and put our romantic evening over the top. I’m excited we have such a great spot to return to for every anniversary now!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Superb! They treated us like royalty. We will definitely be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Absolutely love the Capitals Grille! Wish I could eat there weekly!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great job by Amber and her crew in suggesting food and drink and attending to our needs.

All 5 dinners were excellent. The Stolli drink was terrific (thanks to Amber for recommending). Plus, and most important, we celebrated 2 birthdays - my wife and my youngest son - and both were made to feel special. Terrific job all around. Thanks Amber and crew!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Excellent food, and experience. I’ve gotten the Filet - Oscar three times now, and it’s still my favorite dish of all time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Great food, excellent wine list and great service. Always can count on the CG!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Birthday -great time. Food was very good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Totally AWESOME everything was superb. I'll be back for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Our server Ryan was outstanding and attentive, the busser Q was incredibly friendly and engaging. Everything was A++ except we were seated by the door and it was cold from the constant draft and the cast iron shrimp was over cooked and rubbery. Wine excellent my family and I had a wonderful time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary and the made everything special. The food was fabulous

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

If I'm paying $50 for a steak the least they can do is keep the ladies room stocked with toilet paper and paper towels. Both were out while I was there. I alerted the staff, and 15 minutes later the bathroom still had not been serviced

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Fantastic dinner for a small family celebration. CG was very kind to recognize our special evening. Bruce, our server, was very conscientious and professional. We don’t get into town often but will return again on our next visit.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
51