About The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh

301 5th Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday -Friday: 11:00am – 3:45pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wood Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 338-9100

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $8

Executive Chef:
Travis Hall

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Steak and Lobster Tail - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Seafood Tower Two Tiers - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Sesame Crusted Tuna With Rice - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Lobster Salad - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Filet Oscar - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
South African Lobster Tail - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Prociutto - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 15 Year Balsamic - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Parmesan Crusted Fries Drizzled With Truffle Oil - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Coconut Cream Pie - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake & Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Asparagus - The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (86)
Romantic (42)
Notable Wine List (42)
See All
Good for Groups (39)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Private Room (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The baker, Tori, made the most amazing c ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined a day ago

The baker, Tori, made the most amazing cake for our Wedding Shower. Thank you again!!!

Amazing food, great service, and your baker is a dream!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, The Capital Grille exceeded o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

As always, The Capital Grille exceeded our expectations. We dined there with good friends who were visiting from Aruba (where restaurants are plentiful and food is divine). They LOVED it and we're more than pleased with our recommendation. Can't go wrong at The Capital Grille!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just did not live up to quality and serv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Just did not live up to quality and service levels of other Capital Grills we've eaten at.......specifically Philadelphia and Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was thanksgiving so I knew it would b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was thanksgiving so I knew it would be exceptionally busy. Didn't wait much past our reservation time to be seated, however we were not greeted for close to ten minutes by our server, but the gentleman who brought us water was promptly there to fill our glasses. Food was great, but service was slow. Ordered drinks, waited 15 minutes, ordered apps, waited 10 minutes after the apps were on the table just to order entrees. Entrees were delicious, but they came to the table about 50 minutes after I had finished my salad. Even with the busy holiday, that seems like someone made an error somewhere along the line in either the ordering or the preparation. Excuses were made without anything being mentioned, so the server was definitely aware of the timing issues. His attitude was good but maybe he had too much going on at that point in time to give the service I'm accustomed to when it comes to this particular restaurant. All in all though, capital grilles food doesn't disappoint. I'll try to get an earlier reservation if we go back for another holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We have gone to the Capital Grille quite ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have gone to the Capital Grille quite a bit and always had fantastic service, however, we were very disappointed in our service Thanksgiving day, numerous errors, slow service and cold food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Would've given them 5 stars all around e ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Would've given them 5 stars all around except for the valet - left a bad taste - but food and service was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Thanksgiving Day.....2:15 reservation. C ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving Day.....2:15 reservation. Called the day prior to cite a dairy allergy. Took about 15 minutes to see a waiter ......returns maybe 20 minutes later to take order. We reiterate the allergy and ALL 6 of us order the Thanksgiving special which earned the response "great, that is easy". 50 minutes later an assistant mgr comes out and says the Turkey is infused with butter........re-order and 20 minutes later food arrives. I think we ran out of water 3 times as well. Really rough......waiter seemed annoyed from the get-go. Been to many Capital Grille's around the U.S........worse ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Seafood Appetizers and soup were great . ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Seafood Appetizers and soup were great . Steak way over cooked unfortunately . Nice atmosphere . Would still go back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Had an amazing birthday experience! Took ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had an amazing birthday experience! Took my parents here to celebrate my father's birthday and they went above and beyond!! Besides the always on-point food and service, Marjorie our server, was outstanding! All four of us were more than impressed, THANK YOU Capital Grill!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every aspect of the evening was outstand ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Every aspect of the evening was outstanding.......the wine, the food, the service and the overall ambience of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the Capital Grille in Pitt ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time at the Capital Grille in Pittsburgh. Everything was perfect! From the minute you walk in they go above and beyond to make you feel special. Great cocktails and fantastic wine selection. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time back this fall for dinner, b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Second time back this fall for dinner, both times were very good. The waiter/ server was a bit better and friendlier the first time. Steelers game on Sunday so we ate there Saturday night at 7:30 pretty busy and a good vibe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Waitress was slow. Have eaten here many ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Waitress was slow. Have eaten here many times. Typically, very good. This was an exception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Talk about special treatment - we were t ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Talk about special treatment - we were treated like royalty! The service here alone always has me coming back, not too mention the flawless dinner we had. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we have been going to The Capitol Grill ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

we have been going to The Capitol Grill for some time

and always find it a rewarding experience

Tags: Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I ordered the sirloin and butter poached ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I ordered the sirloin and butter poached lobster tails. Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bread was hard and tasted stale. Steaks ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Bread was hard and tasted stale. Steaks were delicious! Had a table right near the door so ambiance wasn't the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We drop by a couple times a year. Food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We drop by a couple times a year. Food and service were exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is about the best service I've had ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is about the best service I've had in this city. Wonderful atmosphere and truly a delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent.

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! The grilled chicken caeser ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent! The grilled chicken caeser salad was the best I've ever had. I will be going back!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Good quality food - great bread choices ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Good quality food - great bread choices - in an old world but not stuffy environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We paid $55 for a Chilean Sea Bass Oscar ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We paid $55 for a Chilean Sea Bass Oscar and it was TERRIBLE. Very fishy, overcooked, and served maybe luke warm. The crab on top was cold. We sent it back thinking it was just overcooked, but it came back the same maybe worse. The 10 oz filet was good, and the Au Gratin potatoes were very good. My wife's Sea Bass ruined the meal and one of the few dates we get to have. C- Just not good. We are 2-3 bites of the Bass overall and they didn't make any adjustment to our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We really enjoyed ourselves. It was our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We really enjoyed ourselves. It was our first time there. Our food was great. The steaks were cooked to perfection. Tina seemed in a bad mood or tired. Our reservation was at 9:15 so she may have already had a long day. Brandon was great. He was in a good mood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was great, but this was definitely ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was great, but this was definitely the worst service I have ever had at a Capital Grille. We felt completely ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

We were at the Capital Grill for our ann ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were at the Capital Grill for our anniversary. This is the best place to go for a special occasion. The food was excellent and the staff does a fine job of seeing to your every need. This has become our favorite stop. We are already looking forward to out next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Over cooked filet. Cold beans

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Over cooked filet. Cold beans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

The Capital Grille is consistently excel ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The Capital Grille is consistently excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best of the best........................ ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Best of the best...................................................................................................................................................

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic, stalwart, consistently great, a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Classic, stalwart, consistently great, always a solid value. Special occasion (father, good friends). Will definitely return. I love the capital grille. Seafood fresh and well prepared. Steaks exactly as expected. Expensive but well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was fantastic and the service was outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love everything about this restaurant, e ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Love everything about this restaurant, especially Chef Donato Collucio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service! Nice waiter. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent food and service! Nice waiter. Great steaks and seafood!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with drinks at the bar and re ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We started with drinks at the bar and received great service, the bartender was engaging, attentive and mixed a perfect Martini. We were then seated at our table which they prepared special for our birthday celebration. Our server was perfectly responsive, know the menu and offered great suggestions. Her service was flawless. Over all the evening was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service and ambiance. We ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambiance. We brought our largest customer for dinner and it was an exceptional event.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. If you are looking ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 30, 2016

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. If you are looking for great steaks, this is the place to go. Our server, Maria, was very well versed in the menu and helped guide us through all of the delicious choices. The cocktails, steaks, and sides are fantastic. Make sure you save room for dessert - we didn't do this and were very upset!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal except for wife's chicken whi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great meal except for wife's chicken which was cool when served. Prompt response by management got the meal fixed and taken off our bill. Very pleased with how they handled the mistake.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is completely overpriced. My fi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food is completely overpriced. My filet was over cooked, another was undercooked...

T

I don't mind paying for great food , but this was not great. Sides were nothing special. We got two veggies, truffle fries, and the best one was lobster mac. But there are better steaks at many other places in Pittsburgh. You are also charged for parking which you are not at other high end steak houses in the area. Pass on this over priced less than average food. The bright spot was our server Estelle- she did a good job. There were 8 at our table- no one was wowed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

dinner before concert.

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

dinner before concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable conference dinner. Our s ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very enjoyable conference dinner. Our service and food were excellent and the restaurant was absolutely packed. Our server brought us dessert as our dinner was delayed, which we had barely noticed! A great experience and will definitely be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.