Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

301 5th Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday -Friday: 11:00am – 3:45pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wood Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 338-9100

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $8

Executive Chef:
Donato Collucio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 35 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Notable Wine List (32)
Romantic (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Business Meals (29)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
People Watching (7)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1788 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (México)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and waiter.
Awesome wine list.
Chocolate flourless desert very good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

The quality of the food, wines and attentive service at this high-end chop house is most notable. We indicated celebrating a birthday and they made the event very special. The service staff were busy, which prevented their serving items ordered from the sides menu (something experienced at Ruth Chris or Flemings). We had a couple of large, boisterous groups nearby, which affected the ambiance making it difficult for our table of 4 to carry on a normal conversation; we used hand signals to communicate at more than one point during the meal. Overall, The Capital Grille was a great venue to enjoy our special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great meal for two, the steaks were superb. The wine list was extensive and approachable without being pretentious. Lobster bisque was available off menu and delicious. Despite being the eve of the Steeler's home opener IN Pittsburgh, the wait staff hustled and made sure everyone was taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had reservations for the dining room, but found 2 very good end seats at the bar and decided to stay at the bar for dinner. The servers were absolutely fantastic, very attentive and very personable. Food was fabulous, but very overpriced. Enjoyable evening celebrating our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service staff were excellent! Loved everything about our dinner experience!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent dinner, great service and very accommodating staff. Celebrating an anniversary and they added very nice touches. Only downside I find there wines by the glass while excellent choices very aggressively priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Dessert was a little disappointing
The coconut cream pie was all whipped cream barely any coconut

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Overall experience was good as always. This time however my wife's filet was very overdone made worse by the crusted layer of porcini rub which had also been overcooked...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Service was just ok, entrees took forever to come out of kitchen. 1 steak plus salmon over cooked. For price, execution must be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The food was great but we were seated at the worst table conceivable. We were at the intersection of 4 main aisles as well as near the end of the bar. It ruined what would have been a good meal. Don't know why we were treated like unwanted stepchildren, but we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

One of the worst meals I've had in quite awhile. Ordered the filet oscar style, medium rare. The waiter explained that it would be red inside, warm. It was raw, with only barely the outer perimeter browned. The steak itself was chewy and sinewy. The hollandaise sauce tasted like it was out of a packet - of thick consistency and with heavy flour. The temperature of the sauce was luke warm. The green beans that I ordered as my side dish were overcooked to the point of mush. I was there on business, entertaining a client, therefore I didn't complain at the time, but will not be going back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Nick, John, and Ty are always so accommodating. Thank you so much for the wonderful evening with my family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service was fantastic. Food was good but a little overpriced. We had dinner with another couple that we dine with often and everyone enjoyed their food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Had areally great meal celebrating my son's birthday. The desert they created for his birthday was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our weekend get-together with old friends started off with a terrific dinner at the Capital Grille in downtown Pittsburgh. Wonderful food, great service, and a classic ambiance. Very satisfying evening. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This is one of my favorite "special occasion" restaurant. Rebecca was an excellent server and extremely attentive. My filet was cooked to perfection(as it always is). It was a friend's birthday. There was a thoughtful card at the table and she received a lovely, tasty dessert with a lit candle. Very nice!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

38th anniversary dinner this time... Always top notch food and preparation. Steaks are the best of anywhere I've ever eaten. (Need to order steak here even if vegetarian.) I like the atmosphere with open kitchen-style dining room - reminds me of favorite places in Charleston. Service was attentive, anticipatory and unobtrusive. Did a wine flight instead of a bottle - very good choices and lots of fun. CG does up anniversaries with complimentary card, flutes of Champagne and small desserts. My wife loved it! Our waiter Jay was the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Was a great experience. Staff were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 22, 2017

August 22, 2017

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We typically have superior service at Capital Grille, tonight was the exception. Waiter seemed to be overworked even though restaurant was not full. Food was as good as always, but service was underwhelming

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Don't know if it was because it was restaurant week but steak was burnt, two of us added grilled shrimp and it was overdone. Portions of side dishes were small for four people.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We went for restaurant week and definitely felt rushed...and my husband thought his steak was just ok...and we have dined here numerous times so we know what the normal service is like...this has always been our #1 restaurant so I'm hoping this was just because it was restaurant week and not the new norm. Our waitress was asking to take plates before we were even ready

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had a great experience during Restaurant Week! Great value for a 3 course menu, but also wonderful service...the perfect combination!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

steak was overcooked and disappointing...should have sent it back....service was outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Enjoyed dinner. The restaurant week selections were good. Steaks were delicious!
Service was attentive and not rushed. All enjoyed dinner at the Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The service was amazing! Alfonzo was wonderful and made our evening that much more special. My only complaint is that my steak came back medium rare when I asked for medium. They took it back and it was a quick fix. Everything else was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

It was noisier than usual! Not the experience I am used to at the Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Server had specific instructions for personalized cake and totally botched it. 5 of 10 steaks in our party were the wrong temperature. Extremely disappointing for a prime steakhouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Lunch was fabulous! What a treat to have a burger from a steak house - definitely a lunch I'll have again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Went here for our anniversary and for the Restaurant Week menu. Food was delicious (Filet Mignon and Filet + Shrimps). Drinks were also very good. As for the service, 6 stars! Our table had been decorated with little hearts, every server wished us a happy anniversary and we got 2 complementary champagne glasses to celebrate. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, and great service! My first visit to the restaurant.I decided to try it, as it was listed as one of the options during Pittsburgh's Restaurant Week. I will be back!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Food was really good , waiter could have been more friendly, other then that he did a good job, I would differently come back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Wonderful opportunity to thank my staff for jobs well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

My crew came down for lunch during restaurant week. Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Restaurant Week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food was great, the atmosphere was nice, service above and beyond. The only drawback was that our food took 40 minutes to come from the kitchen. The manager did comp our meal.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The menu and food is very good but the prices limit it, for me, to a special occasion or specially priced promotion event. It is pretty noisy but the ambiance is lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 15, 2017

First time there. Food was excellent. Wine- outstanding. Our server was above and beyond. Restaurant was dark - hard to see menu and background noise was very high.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

My boyfriend & I wanted to take advantage of the Restaurant Week menu, and it definitely did not disappoint! The food was exceptional and the service was even better. 10/10 would recommend, especially if you can make it for restaurant week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Had good food & nice time as per usual. We select it for birthdays because it is one of our favorites for steak.It was very busy for a Tuesday night & was a bit loud where we were seated, but overall it was very nice experience. Our waitress, Shirley was ver y attentive & friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.