About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.
* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for Father's Day on Sunday, June 19. Enjoy our Bone-In Tomahawk Ribeye for a celebration to remember.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (114)
fit for foodies (71)
romantic (70)
See All
good for groups (68)
notable wine list (58)
great for lunch (46)
vibrant bar scene (25)
hot spot (18)
neighborhood gem (18)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service! Great food!

Dined on May 19, 2016

We had a very enjoyable lunch for our party of 12. Great service and everyone said their food was delicious!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to celebrate our daughter's Mast ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We went to celebrate our daughter's Master degree. The meal was wonderful and the waiter outstanding. Our one problem was with the hostess staff . We had reserved a table for 8:00 PM to celebrate a graduation. We did arrive a bit few minutes early and we assured we would be seated at 8:00. 8:00 came and went. We had one person who needed to make a train and the hostess staff just said the people at our table were still sitting there. They finally gave us a smaller booth after I asked if there was anything they could do. We were the only party not seated and they kept asking my name as if it was a new problem. The waiter was great and served an appetizer to the person who needed to leave.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Such a nice touch ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Everything was great. Such a nice touch having the GM Melissa come by to check on our experience.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for after an event at Radio City M ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great for after an event at Radio City Music Hall. Private upstairs room was perfect.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

food is great and price is surprisingly ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

food is great and price is surprisingly not high. Pricy wine list for business occasion, while you can still find good but a lot cheaper ones to go with your great food. Convenient commute. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and meal were just wonderful. A ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service and meal were just wonderful. A sincere and warm staff only enhanced the experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner. Food was on spot. Service ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great dinner. Food was on spot. Service was outstanding. Wine list excellent. We went pre theater, had a wonderful dinner and had ample time to stroll to theater. Tremendous dining experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service, consistently delicio ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Impeccable service, consistently delicious food and beautiful ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service is always excellent!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food and service is always excellent!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place for pre-theater dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

From the time we entered the restaurant everything was superb... the menu, the food, service, etc. Highly recommend it.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Lunch

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

This was a lunch meeting with a client in Midtown. Nice selection of both beef and non beef menu items. I had the seared tuna, super fresh with original sauce selections, like white soy sauce, rice vinegar and wasabi oil. Server happily substituted fresh broccoli for ginger rice. My companions had the Asian black cod special, which they both agreed was excellent. Server was charming, friendly and non obtrusive, perfect for a business venue. Value was ok given that it's NYC midtown. I always enjoy Capital Grille.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak is excellent as is Stoli Doli.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Steak is excellent as are the Stoli Dolis. My dinner was wrong and I had to wait at least another 20 minutes to get the right one. Everyone finished before me but waiter comped our three coffee and shared dessert. Very generous

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3

Food was quite good.. But no cares for p ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was quite good.. But no cares for presentation of food. They put our filet mingle on the plate without any presentation or cure.

food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated a birthday and they decora ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We celebrated a birthday and they decorated the table. Service and food was great!

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful visit! Our server was outstand ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Wonderful visit! Our server was outstanding!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice evening

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

I had the NY Strip but I was a little disappointed in it. It was cooked the way I like it (Med. well) but I like a 'char' on the outside of my steaks & it didn't have that. It was as if it was broiled instead of grilled. But the vegetables, asparagus & au gratin potatoes were wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ordered was fantastic.... ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything we ordered was fantastic.... The service was amazing. You cannot go wrong here if you're visiting the city and looking for a little slower paced, intimate dinner experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We came for pre theater dinner. Grandpa ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We came for pre theater dinner. Grandparents plus grandchildren. Our server was wonderful and accommodated our different arrival times and different levels of ordering. The steak was delicious. Okay, generally don't go to any kind of chain, but this was delicious. It was very welcoming and relaxing.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

These guys are outstanding

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

These guys are outstanding

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food

Dined on April 15, 2016

Overall - Capital Grille wasn't bad but I've experienced better in the past as far as service and food - regardless of the order. Here is a response by one of my guest: "I did not like that the fish I ordered, it was swimming in that sauce and I'm sure we ordered crab cakes".

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

The restaurant continues to live up to my highest standards in both food and service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Wonderful restaurant and excellent service! From the moment we stepped in, while having dinner and even as we left, the service was exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. The food cons ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

The service was excellent. The food consistently good and all my guests were very pleased. We have been to Capital Grille many times over the years and have never been disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service5

We needed a place close to our hotel and ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

We needed a place close to our hotel and the theatre district to have a dinner before our show, and although we rarely frequent chain restaurants, we thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed. The decor was warm and club-like, our server was personable, professional, and very helpful, and to be honest...our steaks were excellent! What a pleasant surprise!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service

Dined on April 8, 2016

This restaurant is consistently top notch. Always a pleasant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined on April 8, 2016

Our favorite go-to after work! We love the food, the booths, but most of all, the team members! Very friendly and professional - very well managed restaurant!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Delicious food. The filet mignon is esp ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Delicious food. The filet mignon is especially good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lamb chops!

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Ordered a terrific meal from the pre theater menu. Superb Casear sald, mixed greens, lamb chops - double rib - and creamy mashed potatoes and spinach. Excellent creme brulee and flourless chocolate cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a delicious meal. The service was ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Always a delicious meal. The service was great too!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Consistently excellent

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

The sirloin steak was PERFECTLY done (rare to medium rare) and my request for extra anchovies for the cesear salad was honored. Excellent meal with my friends to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always delicious

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

We always enjoy our meal at Capital Grille. pre Theater menu is a great deal. Ask for it and take advantage.

food4
ambience4
service5

Always a great meal and service

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Always a great meal and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great night

Dined on March 17, 2016

Me and my partner ate here for my birthday and it was an excellent evening. The food was fantastic, the service was great and overall I thought the price wasn't too bad either. There was a nice touch too with a free 'happy birthday' dessert which was very tasty! Overall, I would definitely recommend this to people.

Tags: special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent, the food deli ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

The service was excellent, the food delicious, and the value of the 3 course prixe-fixed menu was outstanding. Lots of choices for each of the courses. Must be at the restaurant before 7PM to take advantage of this special, though.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Capitol Grill is one of my go to restaur ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Capitol Grill is one of my go to restaurants and it does not disappoint . The food is consistently good be it Miami , New York , or Chicago . We had the grilled salmon and it was very tastey . I would definitely recommend this restaurant in any of the aforementioned cities .

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our server was outstanding .

Dined on March 12, 2016

Overall, I would rate the Capital Grille as superb. The food was what you would expect from high end restaurant. The service is what made the difference. Our server was excellent....personal , professional and efficient. She did a great job!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Must

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great food, great service, good atmosphere. Remember to ask for the pre-theater menu. It is not automatically given and it's a bargain not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

We have never been to a restaurant that is more consistent than the Capital Grille. We go for the $39 pre-theater dinner: salad, entrée, vegetable sides, and dessert. Much mention this: it was my birthday. At some point I must have given my DOB. When we arrived there was beautiful confetti on the table with a birthday card. The maître d' came by to wish me a happy birthday. The waiter was terrific. Much to our surprise, the restaurant brought a beautifully presented a Happy Birthday round piece of cheesecake. We were quite impressed. Kudos to Capital Grille.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!!! Everything from the cocktails ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Amazing!!! Everything from the cocktails to the amazing food .. (Tuna was to die for!!!) I highly recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Classic

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

This is an excellent steak house with attentive service and a traditional, yet comfortable atmosphere. Tables are spaced generously for a feeling of privacy. The meal was enjoyable from cocktails to appetizers to main course. The desserts sounded delicious, but we were too full to indulge!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.