About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Restaurant Photos

Lobster And Crab Burger - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Lobster Mac & Cheese - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Shallot Butter Sauce   - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Sam's Mashed Potatoes  - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
New England Clam Chowder - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Double Cut Lamb Rib Chops - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Lobster Salad - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Bread Basket - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Fresh Creamed Spinach  - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Field Greens, Tomatoes & Fresh Herbs - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Lobster Mac'n'Cheese - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Hamburger - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Citrus Glazed Salmon - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
crabcake - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Classic Crème Brulée - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
 Seared Citrus Glazed Salmon - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille Handcrafted Ice Cream - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Ceaser Salad - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Filet Mignon 10Oz - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Caesar Salad - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Delmonico Steak - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Tomato Soup & Grilled Cheese Sandwich" - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Parmesan Truffle Fries - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Clam Chowder - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Bone-In Kona Crusted Sirloin With Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Breast Of Chicken Confit - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
French Greens Beans With Shallots - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Bone-In Aged Sirloin Steak - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
biscotti - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Salmon - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Coconut Cream Pie - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Lemon Sorbet - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Double-cut Lamb Rib Chops - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Notable Wine List (38)
Business Meals (36)
See All
Good for Groups (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Romantic (28)
Good for a Date (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Cozy (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (8)
Casual (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Private Room (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Fun (4)
Historic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Family Style (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
2388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Steak was cooked perfectly, lobster was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined a day ago

Steak was cooked perfectly, lobster was over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Table sucked. Food very good/excellent. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Table sucked. Food very good/excellent. Good service - timely, friendly, accurate. Very loud.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great stop for service. One gri ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great stop for service. One gripe - The Mediterrian Salad was lettuce and 1 olive. I didn't say anything because our server was awesome and everything else was fine.

Note: Don't mix entree salads for the same table (we had 2) in the same bowl. Individuality reigns supreme. Like your cocktails. ;-) Keep up th good work.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We have tried many steakhouses in Manhat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We have tried many steakhouses in Manhattan, and always come back to Capital Grille. Their steaks are consistently excellent, and they know how to cook them. If you ask for medium rare, it will be genuine medium rare. The portions are ample, the wine list is very good, and the sides are just right for the menu. Our kids love the lobster mac & cheese. All the servers seems to be quite informed and professional. And the noise level, while high in the bar, is (unlike many steakhouses) moderate in the dining room, so that you can have a conversation. For a steakhouse, it's a best bet.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience for the evening. The f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great experience for the evening. The food and wines choices were amazing and our waiter allowed us time to enjoy our meal and friends. Would come back again for another meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a great night with great food and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was a great night with great food and great service! We were celebrating a birthday and the staff made a point of recognizing my girlfriend's special occasion. There was a birthday card and confetti waiting on the table when we arrived! Then the Service Manager came to our table and brought us two glasses of champagne for the celebration. On top of all that, our food was outstanding!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Muy buen lugar , excelente servicio , me ...

 
 (México)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Muy buen lugar , excelente servicio , me gustaría que lo cerrarán más tarde por qué hay tanto que hacer en NY que cenamos tarde por lo general

Tags: apto para niños, Cocina creativa, Conversación tranquila, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Capital Grill Thanksgivin ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went to the Capital Grill Thanksgiving evening for their Thanksgiving entree of a traditional Turkey dinner. They did not have any turkey. My wife's wedge salad had a hair in it. Guillermo, the server, was fantastic and took care of our bill with some significant discounting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a wonderful dining experience. W ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. We were in NY for the Thanksgiving holiday and having dinner at the Capital Grille was perfect.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went for Thanksgiving dinn ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My wife and I went for Thanksgiving dinner. The Cap grille was pretty busy so the service was slower than usual and the noise was louder than usual. Server forgot a couple of things and needed reminding (example, my glass of wine). Overall, not bad, but not the service or quality that I typically receive at the Cap Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a reservation for 8pm. Waited 20 Min ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had a reservation for 8pm. Waited 20 Minutes to be seated. Between the main dish and the side dishes ordered there was a solid 20 Minutes wait time - Absurd!

The only positive to this experience: we ate a Thanksgiving meal as a family. Laughed up the ridiculously poor service, drank a fabulous wine and went home.

That said: Never Again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Attended on Thanksgiving evening. Had t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Attended on Thanksgiving evening. Had to wait to be seated, then lady whom sat us, tutted that we passed our coats to her to check in. Then the waitress we had was more interested in quickly serving and turning the table. We had to slow the service down as it was a bit Diner like. The quality of food was ok, but the service was awful. Its such as shame as Capital Grille at Wall Street's service is great. Maybe I stick to the Wall Street Branch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Wow Fantastic steak one of the best ive ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Wow

Fantastic steak one of the best ive had. would go back today if I could

Well done and thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Filet was good. Lobster bisque good. Au ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Filet was good. Lobster bisque good. Au gratin potatoes were runny and strange.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went there with the family for dinner po ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went there with the family for dinner post theatre. Service was great, food was spectacular. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The 24 oz porterhouse was not 24 oz. the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The 24 oz porterhouse was not 24 oz. the steak was over cooked. Also, food was out on our table and then we waited about 7 minutes for plates knives and forks to eat.

I have been to Capitol Grill a few times before and chose it to celebrate a birthday for my girlfriend. It was a mistake and will not be recommending this place nor returning. I was embarrassed.

On top of that Open Table was notified that I did not show for my reservation. Which was false.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Overall excellent!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Overall excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband, daughter & I went to the Cap ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My husband, daughter & I went to the Capital Grille before a show. We requested the theater prefix menu. The menu is usually only for Monday-Friday but if you request it on a Saturday you may order from it (we did not realize this at the time). All three of us ordered the filet cooked medium off this menu. My filet and my daughter's were cooked well done - no pink. Our server apologized and took away. When we received the meat again it was still raw in the middle. The third time was correct. We did get fresh sides. My husband was completely done by now. Our server was very friendly and apologetic but that was it. No manager stopped by and we paid in full for our meals. I would have expected better from The Capital Grille.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

What an enjoyable evening! The food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

What an enjoyable evening! The food was outstanding - our NY Strip and filet was one of the absolute best I have ever had! Our server, Josue, provided attentive service without hovering and but at the same time was extremely personal... in addition he kept in mind that we had theater tickets!!! We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience because the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Wonderful dining experience because the waiter was wonderful and the food was perfectly cooked.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A disappointing steak that had to go bac ...

vip
 (Berlin)·Dined on November 14, 2016

A disappointing steak that had to go back to the kitchen and atrocious aka inattentive service that was unforgivable as the hour was early and the restaurant empty, made this a less than memorable dinner for our overseas guest.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Not impressed; over priced. Food was ok ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Not impressed; over priced. Food was ok; but nothing outstanding. Our waiter Fitz was very nice and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful food and fantastic service fro ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful food and fantastic service from Fitz!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although you must know you have to ask f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Although you must know you have to ask for it, the pre-theater dinner menu is an outstanding value at $39 for a three course dinner. There are 3 or 4 choices for each course and offer something for every diner. I had the caesar salad for an appetizer (you have to ask for anchovies if you want them) and the double cut lamb chops (3) for my entree. They were cooked to perfection and so large I could barely finish them. For desert, I had the Flourless expresso chocolate cake which was excellent. Service was outstanding. I look forward to returning for another great dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Disappointed this time - had to send bac ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Disappointed this time - had to send back a salad that was inedible which threw the timing off for everyone getting their courses at the same time. Server was fantastic but she had to compensate for what we felt was an "off" night in the restaurant. Incredibly busy very early on - waited an hour for first course to arrive. Out sense is we won't go back again. Too many other great steak houses around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a wonderful dining experience wit ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience with gracious service and delicious food. Kudos to Jose our waiter! The dark paneled walls add an old world club ambiance. Beef entrees at their finest! My husband's first visit and we will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was just right. The price and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was just right. The price and quality of food and service was perfect!

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful night. Juliana & Nock went out ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Wonderful night. Juliana & Nock went out of their way to make me feel special. They are wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place for dinner in NYC - clos ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent place for dinner in NYC - close to Broadway, Times Square and shows.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the 'daily special' steak - descri ...

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I had the 'daily special' steak - described as the 'best steak that you'll ever eat"

It wasn't! In fact, I sent the first one back because of dryness and the second one wasn't much better (and was returned).

The food for the other diners was very good though.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent meal; lobster bisque was delic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent meal; lobster bisque was delicious. Bone in fillet mignon was cooked to perfection. Our server, Ryan, was great; helpful and fun.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

waiter was terrible. did not know the m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

waiter was terrible. did not know the menu, did not clear salad plates before entrée and never checked back with us after receiving our meals. we were one of about 4 tables in the whole restaurant on a Sunday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

The server and the food were outstanding ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The server and the food were outstanding! We had a large group and everyone enjoyed the evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Didn't expect much being near Time Squar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Didn't expect much being near Time Square, but everything was excellent. Tuna tartare, NY Strip with a Kona Coffee crust, Sushi grade Tuna steak, brussell sprouts with bacon, cheesecake! All was excellent. Would definitely recommend. Don't look at calories on the menu!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am a frequent diner to the Capital Gri ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I am a frequent diner to the Capital Grille and have never been disappointed. Our server this time was Nicole who was exceptional. Will be back soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was altogether very good but fou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was altogether very good but found it quite pricey! Wine selection is very ample but you have to know your wines to be able to select a fairly good sensibly priced one. Fortunately I am knowledgeable about wines and selected a reasonably good and fairly priced one. Otherwise you may end up with a very expensive one as the sensibly priced wines are very limited. But overall its an excellent restaurant mostly geared to cater to the expense account business crowd. I ended up paying some $500 + tip for our family party of five, no cktls but one bottle of wine @$60. By the way, our waiter Ronnie was impressive and truly made our dining experience there very pleasant.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

I took my wife there for an early birthd ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I took my wife there for an early birthday celebration, prior to seeing Franky Valli at the Lunt-Fontaine Theater, I have eaten at the Capital Grille in DC quite a few times, so I knew what to expect. She was pleasantly surprised at the special set up they did for her birthday. The food as always was on the money, but what surprised me the most was the champagne and dessert they brought out. It was delicious and just made our dinner reservation that much more special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital grille was outstanding me and my ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Capital grille was outstanding me and my wife celebrate our wedding anniversary there this oct 15th she had always wanted to go to the capital grille and was very satisfied with the whole experience.my wife is still talking about how beautiful it was. My steak was the best ever had and I have been to many steak houses.compliments to the chef. My wife had scallops.would we celebrate their again.YES.i felt they gave me 50 percent off the meal. Price more than reasonable thanks for everything C.G. HOME OF THE PERFECT STEAK.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, the waitress was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food was delicious, the waitress was very attentive but not bothersome and informative. Pricing is a bit high but overall, a great dinner experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was an absolutely excellent restaur ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 12, 2016

This was an absolutely excellent restaurant. The steaks were just fantastic and the atmosphere was formal but not stuffy. Staff were great and attentive and we would go back in a heart beat. Diana was our server and really made our evening special.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.