About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Report a photo problem

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Lobster And Crab Burger - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Lobster Mac & Cheese - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Shallot Butter Sauce   - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Sam's Mashed Potatoes  - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
New England Clam Chowder - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Double Cut Lamb Rib Chops - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Lobster Salad - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Bread Basket - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Fresh Creamed Spinach  - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Field Greens, Tomatoes & Fresh Herbs - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Lobster Mac'n'Cheese - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Hamburger - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Citrus Glazed Salmon - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
crabcake - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Classic Crème Brulée - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
 Seared Citrus Glazed Salmon - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
The Capital Grille Handcrafted Ice Cream - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Ceaser Salad - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Filet Mignon 10Oz - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Caesar Salad - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Delmonico Steak - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Tomato Soup & Grilled Cheese Sandwich" - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Parmesan Truffle Fries - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Clam Chowder - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Bone-In Kona Crusted Sirloin With Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Breast Of Chicken Confit - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
French Greens Beans With Shallots - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Bone-In Aged Sirloin Steak - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
biscotti - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Salmon - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Coconut Cream Pie - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Lemon Sorbet - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY
Double-cut Lamb Rib Chops - The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building, New York, NY

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Business Meals (51)
Pre/post Theatre (51)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Romantic (26)
Great for Lunch (22)
Cozy (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Bar Seating (12)
Private Room (12)
Casual (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Authentic (6)
Historic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Family Style (5)
Fun (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Capital Grill is always reliable. Th ...

vip
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

The Capital Grill is always reliable. The brussels sprout and bacon sad was just perfect and the filet mignon and lobster were very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and food as always and lov ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and food as always and love the pre-theater option and menu

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding services. Everyone is frien ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding services. Everyone is friendly, nice and polite with great smile. Nice table surprise with décor and hand written note for my best friend's birthday. Given a personal care service. Food was great, highly recommended, especially the Lobster Mac and Cheese. We both had steak and cooked just perfectly to the way ordered. So delicious. A birthday cheesecake was another surprise. "Happy Birthday" written with choc source and a candle on top. Thanks for putting the personal thought and care to your customers. We had a good time and love every minutes we were there. Thanks again.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our 2 time here and I loved it s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

This is our 2 time here and I loved it so mush I took my best friend and my daughters boyfriend. Who also enjoyed it

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is top notch. Food is excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Service is top notch. Food is excellent and portions are generous. Pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every aspect of our lunch was FABULOUS!! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Every aspect of our lunch was FABULOUS!!! Excellent food! Exceptional service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite - whenever I want to h ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Always a favorite - whenever I want to have special dinners with family and/or friends. Consistently excellent!

Tags: Romantic, , Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille - NY-Time-Life Buildi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The Capital Grille - NY-Time-Life Building is the best in Manhattan. I have dined at other locations but none compare to this location. The food is outstanding, service is excellent and it is quiet so you can converse with your friends without shouting. If you go, ask for the pre-theater menu. At $39.00 for a 3 course dinner, it is a great value. I and a friend had the Lamb ribs (3 very meaty ribs) and my other friend had the filet mignon. All were prepared to perfection. The sides of spinach and mashed potatoes were also excellent. For desert, we had ice cream and sherbet. I highly recommend the strawberry ice cream. Portions are generous. I look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Party of 7 were in NYC to see a play at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Party of 7 were in NYC to see a play at 8:00 pm and time was limited - notified our server when

we arrived and she made sure we ordered and had plenty of time to enjoy our dinner and she had the bill ready before we asked so we would not be late for the show. We will definitely go again when we can relax and enjoy the atmosphere longer.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The steak was perfectly done, the Chilea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The steak was perfectly done, the Chilean Seabass was awesome and the service was terrific. We are looking forward to going back again after our next theater visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Got there at 5pm for dinner before a sho ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Got there at 5pm for dinner before a show. Ordered off the "pre-show" menu. Soup or salad, entrée, side and dessert for 38 bucks! It was really amazing, the NY Strip was the best I've ever had...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very expensive very dark lighting wine l ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very expensive very dark lighting wine list you need a degree to unstand

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

I highly recommend this restaurant- grea ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I highly recommend this restaurant- great location, delicious food and friendly and attentive service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks for making my proposal to my now ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Thanks for making my proposal to my now Fiancé a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was exceptional. The food wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our server was exceptional. The food was good the steaks were a little over cooked. We were on our way to Jersey boys and our server did a great job getting us out on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak I've ever had!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Best steak I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is good, the location exc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The restaurant is good, the location excellent but the prices compare with quality and service have a huge gap!!, i won't return to the restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Unfortunately this is the 2nd straight t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Unfortunately this is the 2nd straight time coming to this location and leaving with bad experience.

Service was extremely poor, and client left early sick from the food.

I am extremely disappointed as I always put your restaurant on the top of my list when taking clients out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Service was excellent; we were running l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was excellent; we were running late and only had an hour to dine - our server got everything to us in plenty of time. My mom loved her filet mignon. I asked for the sesame crusted tuna seared on the outside and totally rare on the inside - it came halfway cooked instead. Edible, but not what I asked for, and we didn't have time for me to ask for another. We had the tomato/mozzarella/basil for an appetizer, something in the dish began making me sick immediately after eating it and lasted for two days, compromised my time at the theater afterwards. I shared the dish with my mom and she was not affected, so in fairness it may be my own sensitivity. We went at holiday time and saw a lot of families, a nice change from expense accounts. I've been to other Capital Grille locations, and they are a first class act, no attitude, plenty of privacy, enough noise dampening so you can actually hear your dinner companions.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Holiday dinner. Good food and service.

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Holiday dinner. Good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Worst waiter we have ever had. Very rude ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Worst waiter we have ever had. Very rude. Very ignorant of wines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with six members of our family. It was our first time at this restaurant. Our waiter was very good. Food was excellent. The dining experience exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 6 year a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 6 year anniversary on Christmas Eve and the entire dining experience was above and beyond!

Our hostess was very kind but I forgot her name. I remember our hostess being a very pretty black girl who was chocolate shaded with a very stylish French braid!

Our bartender Mike was very charismatic and personable and made an excellent Cosmopolitan and Manhattan 46 for my husband and I.

Our server Princess was outstanding and really made us feel special and accommodated!

My husband loved his steak and my salmon was made just right!

If I had one critique it would only have to be the sautéed spinach but other than that it didn't ruin the evening!

Thank you so much for an amazing time and we look forward to returning to The Capital Grille to celebrate our birthdays in February!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've always had the finest experience ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We've always had the finest experience at the Capital Grill. The food, service and ambiance is consistently outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were at the capital grille on Christm ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were at the capital grille on Christmas Eve. We have been several times before and the service and food never disappoint! This time was no exception however we have never had service this good ever! Our server, Diana, went above and beyond for our family of 4. She was incredible! Thank you Diana for making our Christmas Eve dinner experience so amazing! I wish she could have sat down with us that's how awesome she was! Plus the food was incredible as always! We will continue to come back to one of our favorite restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server didn't pay attention. She cer ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our server didn't pay attention. She certainly had a lot to say, but in the end did not deliver a single thing that would make the experience positive. The tuna was ice cold (vs room temp or slightly above). We received steak knives 15 minutes into the meal. And to add insult to injury, the server chased after us on our way out of the restaurant to (using her words) "clarify my writing on the tip amount" which, incidentally, was unmistakably clear. All of these things notwithstanding, we elected still, to leave 20% on all but the tax amount.

Needless to say, I find myself a bit perplexed by the level of service and the lack of professionalism in a place where I'd expect to find anything but that which we encountered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

It was a phenomenal evening. The atmosph ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was a phenomenal evening. The atmosphere & service was A+ and the food was simply outstanding. We will definitely return again !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed in that although my wife sp ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Disappointed in that although my wife specified steak to be very well done, it came out pink. This delayed dinner and created others to start eating ahead of her.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Would have given service 5 stars if not ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Would have given service 5 stars if not for chaos to get seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was pretty good other than se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Everything was pretty good other than seating us 30 minutes beyond our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely fantastic night. I organized ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic night. I organized a dinner to celebrate my sister's 50th birthday. It couldn't have gone better.Excedptional service and food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille is always a favorite no m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Capital Grille is always a favorite no matter what city they are located in. The steaks, appetizers, salads, soups and side dishes are all uniquely prepared and the quality of the food is excellent. The service is always 1st class.

I only have a problem with the wine list being served on an IPad. It's just not the same as viewing a printed list. Flemings is the first time I encountered the electronic list and I never liked their method either.

Please provide me with a printed wine list when asked.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Repeat customer for a reason. Very well ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Repeat customer for a reason. Very well run establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall review would have been highe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The overall review would have been higher if not for the excessive wait time even though I had made reservations. I checked in 15 minutes prior to my time and did not get seated until a half hour later than my reservation time. I spoke to several ladies at the front and all kept saying they will check me in and get a table but nothing happened. I saw parties of the same number (4) arrive later but sit sooner than my party. As this was a business lunch, it was very inconvenient. With so many other restaurants in the area, I would not expect this to happen.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Was quieter than I typically remember; I ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Was quieter than I typically remember; I did request a table in an "quieter" area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Sorry Bobby Van's -- but I thought food ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Sorry Bobby Van's -- but I thought food and service was better at the Capital Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for pre theater special. The strip ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great for pre theater special. The strip steak was excellent. And the service was superb. It was a special occasion and they made it special. Will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought the service was slow and not a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I thought the service was slow and not attentive enough for the price point. I have dinned in several Capital grill locations through out the country and this by far was the worst. I had made reservations in ample time, we waited on arrival, we were stuffed in the back of the restaurant in a table in the corner that impeded on the walking path of the server, I asked to be moved right away and we were relocated to a booth at the front of the restaurant and it just got worse from there. The place seemed unorganized with regard to reservations, seating and service stations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Late seating by 30mins. Appetizers that ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Late seating by 30mins. Appetizers that we ordered were never brought out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

I eat at Cap Grille monthly in Tampa, so ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I eat at Cap Grille monthly in Tampa, so I am very used to the service and upscale dining experience this chain has to offer. This however was completely different than Tampa. The hostess acted as if I were a bother and the bartender was rude. Our waitress was good, but still too busy to accommodate our needs. We felt as if we were being pushed so they could turn over the table the entire meal. When 3 people spend hundreds of dollars to eat, we expect way more than this. Wish we hadn't have gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.