About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.
* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Restaurant Photos

Lobster And Crab Burger
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake
Lobster Mac & Cheese
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Shallot Butter Sauce
Sam's Mashed Potatoes
New England Clam Chowder
Double Cut Lamb Rib Chops
Lobster Salad
Bread Basket
Fresh Creamed Spinach
Field Greens, Tomatoes & Fresh Herbs
Lobster Mac'n'Cheese
Hamburger
Citrus Glazed Salmon
crabcake
Classic Crème Brulée
 Seared Citrus Glazed Salmon
The Capital Grille Handcrafted Ice Cream
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake
Ceaser Salad
Filet Mignon 10Oz
Caesar Salad
Delmonico Steak
Tomato Soup & Grilled Cheese Sandwich"
Wagyu Burger
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Filet Mignon
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Clam Chowder
Bone-In Kona Crusted Sirloin With Shallot Butter
Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Cheesecake
Breast Of Chicken Confit
French Greens Beans With Shallots
Bone-In Aged Sirloin Steak
biscotti
Salmon
Coconut Cream Pie
Lemon Sorbet
Creme Brulee
Double-cut Lamb Rib Chops

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown West ›

Special Occasion (92)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Good for Groups (60)
See All
Romantic (53)
Great for Lunch (47)
Notable Wine List (46)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food as expected server was good bu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 18 hours ago

Good food as expected server was good but help was disorganized and gave the wrong steaks to the diners and were clumsy in rectifying the situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was excellent and the service was t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was the best, it was our anniversary and they made the evening especial with their attention to detail from the hearts in the table to the desert..

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food - steaks were just right, ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food - steaks were just right, wine recommendations right on, and crisp attention to detail. Had a great time catching up with family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LUNCH MEETING APPROVED: Having a lunch m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

LUNCH MEETING APPROVED: Having a lunch meeting at this location was excellent. The waiter immediately could tell we were there for business first, and was not pushy or constantly checking/interrupting. The noise level was moderate providing the comfort to speak normally without your voice carrying. I had the Cobb salad with my steak cooked medium-rare along with iced-tea. I will return for dinner entrees and drinks. See you sooner than later.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice large tables with a lot of open spa ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Nice large tables with a lot of open space for a non crowded feeling. Our waiter was fun and knowledgable and the service was great! Excellent wine list and they even had several years of Screaming Eagle available , should you be so inclined! My favorite is the kona crusted steak, lobster Mac and cheese and mild mushrooms. Will definitely be back! Great birthday celebration!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter, Ed Sullivan, surprised us wi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our waiter, Ed Sullivan, surprised us with treats when he learned we were celebrating a birthday, which helped make it a very memorable occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to this well known restaurant fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We went to this well known restaurant for a special birthday. The birthday decorations and the special card acknowledging our special event was a nice touch. The service was great, very friendly and attentive. The bread basket fantastic! The food.....eh. I am a steak lover and ordered my steak medium per the waiters suggestion, pink center. As my steak "rested" on my plate instead of the kitchen, I watched it go from medium to medium well with very little sign of "pinkness". It was tough and overcooked. I should have ordered it medium rare. The dessert on the birthday plate also, very nice . For the cost of this dinner keeping in mind everything being ala carte like most steak houses, I would not run back here, too many other great steak places in the city. I was disappointed and didn't want to be. I was looking forward to a great meal.☹️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I found the meal to be distasteful due t ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I found the meal to be distasteful due to the fact that everything, including my steak, was overly flavored (syrupy-sweet). Very disappointing dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We had probably one of the worst meals e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had probably one of the worst meals ever at the Capital Grille in NYC (Time-Life). The first steaks were both cooked incorrectly, they returned w/ 2 new steaks (possibly the same ones) that were not much better. Since it was 11pm, we ended up eating them and the 2 cold sides, though we should have returned them.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value4

Wow! Great dining experience! Double Lam ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wow! Great dining experience! Double Lamb Chop and mash potatoes paired with a great cabernet were out of this world! Gabe at the bar was by far one of the best bartender I have every experience! If I could give a 6 star, I would in heartbeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As a CG wine locker owner, I have been t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

As a CG wine locker owner, I have been to many CG's and always am treated as a loyal customer. Not so at this particular location. Our waiter, Bill delivered our 3 meals; my sea bass was cool, the other dishes were at the correct temperature. I took one bite and had to wait for quite a few minutes to get Bill's attention. Rather than apologizing, he grabbed the dish and gruffly walked off with it. Many minutes later he returned with the same piece of fish and immediately disappeared. This time it was heated to an extreme temperature (microwave?) and very over cooked. Bill was nowhere to be found so we finally called the manager over, got an apology and a freshly cooked piece of fish. By the time I finally got my dinner, my companions had already finished theirs. I know it's NY, but you don't serve a $46 sea bass cold and then act like it's the diner's fault.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Had theater tickets and their pre-theate ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Had theater tickets and their pre-theater menu is terrific.

Food was delicious, service was fantastic.

Love this restaurant!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ambiance and great value on th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellent ambiance and great value on the pre-theater menu. Attentive service, not rushed. Would recommend and return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef does not know what a medium rare sh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Chef does not know what a medium rare should be - tried to force us to eat the steak he cooked imagining that it was medium rare when in fact it i is medium well. He cut through the steak and showed a little pink in the middle hahaha little pink is medium well chef!!!

Hair in Lobster Mac and Cheese which was disgusting - Manager apologizes and took it out! Generous Pour was good and Cheesecake is always good! Will never return to this location anymore and will always stick to my Westbury location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Nicholas is a great manager! Thanks.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Nicholas is a great manager! Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pre theater, service was great not rushe ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Pre theater, service was great not rushed but noted the 7:30 theater plan.

Prix fixe dinner best value ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations for my sister in-la ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We made reservations for my sister in-law's birthday for a party of three! She enjoyed the food, it's presentation, service, ambiance and overall dining experience. She was particularly impressed by the birthday surprise she experienced! She could not say enough about the staff and overall experience. Thank you for making her birthday a special one!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome. Our favorite place. Se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was awesome. Our favorite place. Service was very slow for some reason. Not usually like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our experience at the Capital Grille was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Our experience at the Capital Grille was outstanding. Our server, Kenny Handler was very helpful and made our dining experience unforgettable. What a wonderful, delicious meal!

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive, but the food is excellent. H ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Expensive, but the food is excellent. Highly recommended for any special event.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We were celebrating our 50th anniversary ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were celebrating our 50th anniversary. Our table was decorated, a special card was propped up on the lamp and we were served complementary champagne to start our evening. Everything about our meal and experience was exceptional. Special thanks to our waitress Diana. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at this restaurant ac ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Another great meal at this restaurant accompanied by superlative service by Brandon. We would follow Brandon to any restaurant he works in as long as the food matches his service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 3 friends and I had an incredible nig ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My 3 friends and I had an incredible night last Friday, August 19th. We were there for the Generous Pour and it turned out to be the last night of Restaurant Week, so we took advantage of that as well. The food was as great as usual and the wines served as part of the Generous Pour ranged from good to excellent. Our wonderful server, Sarah Stone, was as amazing as usual. She kept things moving and took great care of us with wit and verve. We left with full stomachs, a little tipsy and extremely happy. Thanks again to the Capital Grille Time Life. I will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Capital Grille during Restaur ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went to Capital Grille during Restaurant Week in NYC. We had been to several other restaurants during the week and ate their special menu offerings. Capital Grille served normal portions and regular menu items at the Restaurant Week price. The food was excellent, the service impeccable, and the ambience very elegant. We highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was one of the best steak dinners i h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

it was one of the best steak dinners i had in the city and i enjoyed it very much!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great sirloin. Porterhouse a little bit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great sirloin. Porterhouse a little bit overcooked. Wine by the glass too expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Firstly, our ‪‎appetizer did not impress ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Firstly, our ‪‎appetizer did not impress at all. It was a quartered ‪‎lettuce with ‪‎Blue Cheese sauce & ‪‎bacon bits. Really? A quartered lettuce?

Our ‪‎entreé‬ did not improve the dining experience. The ‪sirloin‬ ‪steak‬ looked really good when it arrived. The outside was grilled to perfection. However, when I cut into it, my medium rare steak looked very peculiar. I put a piece in my mouth & wondered whether the meat was pre-cooked & finished on the grill. It didn't taste like meat at all! It tasted more like tender rubber. Is this how American steakhouses do steak?

Finally, I ordered a ‪‎Generous Pour‬ & it didn't seem very generous at all. There was a line on the glass indicating how much wine should be inside but it was only 2/5 of their ‪goblet‬.

Nonetheless, the ‪service‬ was ‪excellent‬. Our server took good care of us & was very professional. The ‎bread‬ basket was good. Their ‎fries‬ were good. Their ‎dessert‬ (‪‎Créme Brulee‬ & ‪‎cake‬) was good too.

I hope that their Restaurant Week offering is not a real depiction of their kitchen's ability because I am severely disappointed & Never Returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

The service was excellent and so was the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was excellent and so was the food, best hamburger and fries in New York City!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak was not seasoned well. For thi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The steak was not seasoned well. For this price might as well go to STT steakhouse, Delmonicos, Porter house and even better Peter Luger.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was excellent as always! It wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was excellent as always! It was only surpassed by the service of our server---Brandon. He was one of the most professional waiters I have seen in a long time. Brandon is definitely the good will ambassador for the Capital Grille in the Time Life Building.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, service, setting. Pr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outstanding food, service, setting. Pricey but that is to be expected. Love the place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Celebrated shared birthdays and the staf ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Celebrated shared birthdays and the staff couldn't be nicer. We were presented with complimentary glasses of champagne and a lovely cheesecake for dessert. The food was great as usual but the service was 2nd to none. A great evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

From the moment we walked in we were tre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

From the moment we walked in we were treated like we were the only customers the staff needed to worry about. The service was excellent. The food was delicious. The steaks were incredible and the mashed potatoes were awesome! Finished dinner with the tastiest desserts. All in all the experience was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant has an ambient atmospher ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant has an ambient atmosphere. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and gave us some really good recommendations. She asked us if we re seeing a show. When we told her that we were seeing a show afterwards, she made sure that dinner was served in a timely, yet not rushed fashion. The food was delicious in generous portions. We will come back again, as we have in the past.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant week menu was excellent. Ever ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Restaurant week menu was excellent. Everything was delicious. Very enjoyable evening.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went for restaurant week. Dry-aged bone- ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went for restaurant week. Dry-aged bone-in strip was cooked perfectly. The generous pour is a great way to supplement your meal. Service was great. Our waiter kept coming back with bottles to refill our generous pour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Great value for restaurant w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Good food. Great value for restaurant week. Also had a theatre menu which was of great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible meal! In honor of a member of ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Incredible meal! In honor of a member of my party's birthday, the staff decorated the table and provided a hand written note and champagne. Samantha was truly exceptional in making our experience so memorable. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, people and service! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Outstanding food, people and service! Outstand food, people and service. Outstanding food, people and service. Outstanding food, people and service. Outstanding food, people and service. Outstanding food people and service. Outstanding food, people and service. Outstanding food, people and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I tried Capital Grille for the first tim ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I tried Capital Grille for the first time during NY restaurant week. It was an excellent value. Starting with signature crafted cocktails- then on to wedge salad and our entrees- Everything was delicious. I was skeptical as the restaurant is part of a chain. No problem- excellent- I would happily return to dine at the Capital Grille- great food, drink and service. We leisurely dined for almost 3 hours- I expected them to turn the table- did not happen. Great experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.