Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Business Meals (61)
Pre/post Theatre (57)
See All
Good for a Date (50)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Notable Wine List (40)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Good for Groups (38)
Romantic (32)
Bar Seating (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Great for Lunch (23)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Casual (17)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fun (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Live Sports (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2940 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Excellent environment. Wait staff very attentive. Food was very good. Very enjoyable experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter George was great! Very attentive, presented menu well, next time I will ask for him.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent. Food delicious and friendly and efficient staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Our food was poorly done and tasteless. I had the scallops main dish. The scallops were just ok, perhaps a bit overcooked and dry. The risotto was dry and tasteless. The potatoes au gratin were a disaster - dry, tasteless, and with heaps of bacon bits (too much) over them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

So so....
Meat was not thaaat good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great steaks and ambience for business.
A little buy and noisy. Chicken doesn't light a candle to the steak.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Horrible noise, felt like I was in a sports bar, with group next to me literally screaming at each other. I like a good time, but this is supposed to be a fine dining restaurant, not a frat house. Someone who appeared to be a manager was on the floor, but did nothing about it. Service was virtually nonexistent during my meal. When the waiter did finally come by and ask how everything was I told her how disruptive the groups was...she just looked at me and walked away. OK, I guess that’s New York. I’m from Seattle. The Capital Grill there is a first class restaurant. Food was average. All in all, a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a lovely time at Capital Grille, even though we were a tad bit too loud laughing (sorry), we were having fun and our waiter, Anthony was fabulous! They always have professional staff here (at least based on my experiences). Can never go wrong with this restaurant. Ambience is splendid. Plenty options for all dietary preferences. And great for almost any occasion for adults! Definitely one of my favorites!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I enjoyed my ribeye steak with asparagus as a side. The booth seating was comfortable and restful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Just not good enough to warrant the prices and high rating on open table. Nice enough place, but not a place I would go Back to. Everything was average, even the meat was over sauced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The best steak I've ever had! My husband and I both had the Kona rubbed steak.... It was delicious and perfectly cooked! The service was impeccable! I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Amazing food and service. The food was delicious and came out quickly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellently service. Very accommodating to gluten free dining

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 12, 2017

This Capitol Grill not only is in a fantastic location, but the service and food are above normal for this group of restaurants (not a chain, but a group of excellent restaurants.) Our waiter Edgar was more than superior. Please ask for him and you will be rewarded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Delicious food and our waiter, Josue, was very attentive and professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We are frequent visitors to this location because we live around the corner. They never seem to fail in providing a quality dinner and good service. Our waiter was new so it was not an issue as we know the menu up and down. The only pitfall was that they have changed items on the menu that we love (side lobster tail, cream corn). This forced us to order the soy glazed brussel sprouts which we did no like, thank god the Sam's mashed made up for it. Hopefully they will bring them back in the future. All in all I love the Capital Grill and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had such a great time at the Time Life location! Anthony, our waiter, was attentive and didn't miss a beat! We got lucky to sit at a table in a private room which was not only special but worked out perfectly for my Grandpa who wears a hearing aid and is very hard of hearing. I have eaten here numerous times for birthdays and special occasions and we will continue to come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Lump crab cocktail is amazing. Very accommodating with special requests and super at dealing with annoying picky eaters without making other diners crawl under table in embarrassment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Girls night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had a really great night loved the food very relaxing atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Steak was cooked just right. Service was outstanding, our waiter Ed went the extra mile to ensure our meal was perfect. Great location and ambience. Portions were reasonable and priced reasonably.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2017

I have been to the Capital Grille many times over the years. This was the first time I ordered a filet migon that was not cooked as requested. My husband and son's were cooked the way they ordered it. I ordered mine med/well and it arrived rare. I asked the waited to have it cooked more and I waited a while for it to be returned. My husband and son were more than half done.
When he returned it, it was still rare in the center but I accepted it and ate some of it. Everyone was almost done eating so returning it again was not an option. I just said it was ok.
I would not return again, if it were not for the fact that we had always enjoyed ourselves and the food over the past several years.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We sat in the bar area and Jason the bartender educated us on fine wines. He's passionate and very knowledgeable about wine and it shows. We picked a great night. Thank you Jason for our great experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

We had an amazing time! I celebrated my birthday and the host, server (Sarah), and the bartender made my night really special. Our table had confetti on it and a nice card wishing me a happy bday. Bonnie brought me a tea while I waited at the bar because my stomach was upset. :)

Sarah, our server, really made the night special and made excellent wine and dessert recommendations (like the coconut cream thingy). She knows her food/wine pairings!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

My fiancee and I celebrated our 4 year anniversary at The Capital Grille and it was a wonderful dining experience. The attentive service is AMAZING! The food was INCREDIBLE! Our waitress was Sarah Hanson. She made great suggestions for drinks and steak choices. Everything we had was great. She even allowed us to view the private dining rooms, as we expressed to her that we were considering Capital Grille for our wedding reception dinner. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The steaks stole the show! Skip seafood and do yourself a favor and get a steak.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

My sons 30th birthday. Sat up stairs in private room (table of 6). Food and service was exceptional. Only been to this location a few times but will become a regular. Special shout out to Jon and Nicole who made it even more special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Great service and great pre theater dinner special for $38 pp keeps us coming back. There is also a very good list of wines by the glass for all price points. The portions for pre theater are a little smaller than the normal menu (8 oz filet instead of 10 oz filet and the strip looked noticeably thinner). But we aren't huge eaters and for 3 courses which includes 2 sides - mashed potatoes and creamed spinach it didn't matter.

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Didn't live up to my expectations, and we have previously dined at a Capital Grille in another city. Too many large groups meant the wait staff had little time for a table of two. Wine list was good, and the recommended wine did pair with the crab cakes very well. Citrus glazed salmon was too salty, however, and had no citrus flavor. To thank us for waiting 45 minutes between the appetizer and the entree, our waiter brought us an extra, complimentary side dish; unfortunately, the cost of this dish was added to the bill, so it wasn't complimentary after all.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The Food was great and the service was even better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Good quality as always, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Consistent with other Capital Grille locations, the décor is warm, elegant and dominated by wood and leather. The servers are well trained and professional . The food is well prepared and consistently good.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

The food was great. However, the AC was broken and the restaurant was very uncomfortable. What frustrates me is that the restaurant was unapologetic. The staff acknowledged it, but didn't apologize for the inconvenience, mention what the issue was or anything. They couldn't have seemed to care less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Loved our meal at Capital Grille! Wait staff was very professional

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Delicious food, excellent service, lovely decor. A wonderful restaurant for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food and even better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Wait staff very attentive. The recommendations were excellent as well. The steak was perfectly cooked. Cocktails were great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Honeymoon it was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Service and food excellent. We had theater menu which was very reasonable. Excellent restaurant .

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great! Service was perfect and the food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.