Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (92)
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Business Meals (70)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (69)
Good for a Date (55)
Romantic (51)
Notable Wine List (49)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Good for Groups (44)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Great for Lunch (34)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Cozy (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Private Room (22)
Comfort Food (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Authentic (14)
Casual (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Family Style (10)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Fun (8)
People Watching (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Historic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2690 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Consistently excellent; always great service and food. I have never been disappointed, nor have any of my guests, even one who is a vegetarian was happy! I have heard from others that the salmon is as good as the steaks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The evening was superb in every way except for the loud, obnoxious diner who was seated with a number of people ... luckily, we were a few booths away; otherwise we would have had to move or leave. Staff handled him well - it is always difficult to deal with customers...and perhaps this guest is a regular...still no excuse for boorish behavior....
All this being said - delicious meal, work was done despite the 'fly in the soup' and we'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was phenomenal the food was out rages The appetizers were perfect and the steak was cooked to perfection

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Another great dinner at The Capital Grille. My friend and I met for a pre-show dinner. We had the pre-show menu, I had the New York Strip and my friend had the pork chops we shared the mashed potatoes and creamed spinach. It was wonderful. For dessert she had the creme Brule and I had a bowl of peach sorbet. My friend loved everything about her creme Brule and I nearly cried when I had to leave some the peach sorbet behind. It was amazing, so refreshing and Spring-like on a cold, snow blocked day. Thanks to Bill Sheridan for his expert care and also for choosing a cabernet that will bring us back very soon.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

As always another superb meal. The lamb chops were a pleasant surprise especially with the
cherry topping. The chowder was full of clams and very savory and what can I say about the
chocolate souffle that was not already said?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a great bottle of wine at the bar and the bartender was great. Our waitress Bonnie started out fine but once we got our entrees we never saw her again. I needed more water and my husband needed butter. She walked through the restaurant but never even looked at us. We waited about 20 minutes for the check and never saw her. We finally saw the bartender who got our check. We put our coats on and the bartender brings our credit card back and Bonnie comes over and asks if we are ready? We looked at her in disbelief. The manager comes over to apologize and Bonnie chimes in and asks if there is a problem. We say she never checked on us after the entrees and she gets a real attitude. The manager turns to her and tells her to be quiet and asks us for her side. She rudely interrupts us and I finally say that we are the customer and she needs to be quiet. The manager tell us to go to the hostess stand and to his credit he makes adjustments to our bill and profusely apologized. We have NEVER been treated so rudely by a waiter or waitress. We were dressed to the nines and there was no reason she should have acted in such a way. Completely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A little over rated. Service was a little slow and please someone tell the waiting staff how to serve wine. I expect to have the cork to check and the waiter should have served the wine with a napkin to avoid drips on the table cloth.

Good food though even though I ordered a Bernese sauce and it never came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great value for theatre goers. Food & service always excellent.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was enjoyable . The ambiance was lovely, very masculine decor. The med/rare tenderloin and lobster were both somewhat chewy but tasty. I would go again - perfect for a pre or post Broadway show.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Had a wonderful dining experience beginning with the wonderful server, Mike, at the bar who prepared a beautiful Stoli martini with infused pineapple vodka. Our server, Michael and his assistant Mohammed were both excellent and our water glass was always filled, our bread basket was full and the service was wonderful. We both loved the lamp chops and mashed potatoes and spinach. The creme brulee dessert garnished with fresh berries was delicious. The manager Nick came over to check that everything was to our satisfaction. They know how to run a great restaurant. This is a great place to dine before or after the theater.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Let me begin by saying that we love this restaurant and dine here often when we are looking for a more upscale experience. The food last week, however, was truly appalling. We both ordered steaks cooked medium, and they came out rare and flavorless. We sent them back to be properly cooked and seasoned. They both came back black on one side and coated in salt. (Fortunately, most of the salt was on the black side, so cutting that off made the rest of the steak marginally edible.) Not the fault of the attentive waitstaff, but it took two requests to get a manager to the table. We had a vantage point overlooking the kitchen and could see the first request relayed to the manager, so not sure why we had to ask again 10 minutes later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Of the best service I have ever received at a steak house in NYC. Diana was amazing and the food was wonderful as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Tenderloin and lobster tail was amazing. Cappuccino was perfect. Loved the tablet app wine selection. Perfect place for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Bachelorette

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Been there many times before. It's usually great. This time our waiter was not good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great service by the waitstaff and sommelier. Best pre-theater menu with some excellent options and good size portions. Love the quiet elegance where the tables are spaced far apart and the ceiling is very high so you can actually talk. for the first time we had to send back a steak as it was too tough to eat, but they replaced it quickly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We come to this restaurant more often than any other for a dependably great evening meal, especially before a Carnegie Hall concert or Broadway performance. The pre-theater meal at $39 (for salad, entree, side, and dessert) is unbelievably fine -- the steak alone usually costs more. All you have to do is to request the pre-theater menu and order before 6:30 p.m. We will be back often!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This restaurant was booked for a group of out-of-town business associates who were meeting nearby. The restaurant read the notes I left in my booking, followed up and accommodated a couple of last minute changes. One person in the group didn't eat meat and was pleased to see the fish and vegetable options. Great place to impress with menu items to please a broad range of palates. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great food, good atmosphere. You must remember to ask for the post/pre theater menu. It is not automatically given to you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Amazing place for either family time, date, or business meetings. The service and the quality of food are amazing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Had the Cesar salad, bone in fillet, sautéed spinach, bottle of wine and coconut cream pie. Here are my notes: Friendly attentive staff
First time for a bone in fillet, nice Sautéd spinach. The fillet was tender and flavorful. Highly Recommend the coconut cream pie unlike any you have had before. Not too sweet, nice presentation and enough for 3 or 4. Nic stopped by to check in on me , nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I eat at this location often. Recently I planned a (significant) birthday party for a friend's wife. Everything was wonderful. The wine list is extensive, therefore enabling everyone to have what they enjoy. The management and staff are superb, and when necessary always accommodating. I highly recommend The Capital Grille in the Time Life Building.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great restaurant. Service was impeccable will definitely suggest to others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great experience. Welcome letter for the staff to my wife who was celebrating a Birthday, along with confetti on the table - nice touch. The bone-in filet was spectacular as was the sea bass. Great food and an incredable

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First timer, and very impressed. EXCELLENT customer service, 2 in our party ran 1/2 late. The young lady who checked us in was so accommodating and friendly, she advised to keep her updated. We sat at the bar, had a drink and waited for our party to arrive. One they arrived we were seated quickly. Our server Brianna was excellent, she was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. From appetizers to desert, the food did not disappoint. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I was surprised and disappointed they never cleared the empty tables around the room. Customers left for the theater and they left the tables full of everyone's dirty dishes. Very unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food. Steak was excellent. Lobster tails were also very good. Very clean, quiet although very busy, waiter was very attentive as was the entire staff. Great professional service. Well worth the expense. Prices were high but to be expected for a very good restaurant in Manhattan. Not over the top. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We went for an early dinner following a matinee on Broadway as we usually do since we like this place so much. My friend had the pre/post theater menu (you have to ask for it) and had the double cut lamb chops (3) with a starter of Cesear Salad and ice cream for desert. I had oysters to start and the seared red snapper special. Although the Capital Grille is a steakhouse, it is also great for fish and seafood. My red snapper was a large boneless filet that was cooked to perfection. We also had great service thanks to Rikki who took great care of us. We shall return soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was great as usual. Melissa Trumbull stopped by to say hello. She makes the whole experience that much better! Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love this place and the team

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Took my girlfriend there for Valentines Day...just like everyone else that was there! Service was amazing and we got seated right away despite a packed waiting area. The food came out right away. Was not as good as I was expecting for the price. Service and atmosphere is what you are paying for if you dine here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The front of the house was amazing... I was running late for my reservation and they were able to change the time for me....👍 but our waiter was ok he didn't check on us, no personality... also it was Valentine's Day and everyone got a rose expect us.....👎 but beside that it was a good restaurant.
Would I eat here again NO!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I love Capital Grille. One of the best steak joints in the country. Always consistently good. This time food was just good, not great. It was Valentine's Day, so I will give them a pass and will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place, fabulous, caring staff. Great food! They make you feel welcome and special.
No negatives at all. Always a first choice when looking for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was perfect! The service and food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent restaurant week menu! Will go back soon..

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was our first time at Capital Grille and we enjoyed everything about it. Our waiter Phil was very friendly and professional. The food was great as were the desserts. We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went for restaurant week 3 times now. They have an amazing deal that is unbeatable. Great food at a good price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always a treat dining at Capital Grille--outstanding food from appetizers to desserts plus a warm, quiet atmosphere and friendly, attentive service. On the pricey side, of course, but worth it especially for a nice occasion.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food and service, would recommend and return in the future..

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.