About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.
* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Restaurant Photos

Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake
Lobster Mac & Cheese
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Shallot Butter Sauce
Sam's Mashed Potatoes
New England Clam Chowder
Double Cut Lamb Rib Chops
Lobster Salad
Bread Basket
Fresh Creamed Spinach
Field Greens, Tomatoes & Fresh Herbs
Lobster Mac'n'Cheese
Hamburger
Citrus Glazed Salmon
crabcake
Classic Crème Brulée
Filet Mignon 10Oz
The Capital Grille Handcrafted Ice Cream
 Seared Citrus Glazed Salmon
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake
Ceaser Salad
Caesar Salad
Delmonico Steak
Tomato Soup & Grilled Cheese Sandwich"
Maine Lobster Roll
Wagyu Burger
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Lobster Pot Pie
Filet Mignon
Clam Chowder
Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin
Bone-In Kona Crusted Sirloin With Shallot Butter
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Cheesecake
French Greens Beans With Shallots
Bone-In Aged Sirloin Steak
Breast Of Chicken Confit
biscotti
Salmon
Coconut Cream Pie
Double-cut Lamb Rib Chops
Creme Brulee
Lemon Sorbet

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (62)
fit for foodies (36)
great for lunch (35)
See All
good for groups (31)
notable wine list (27)
romantic (25)
neighborhood gem (16)
vibrant bar scene (12)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Stopped by for quick lunch--- excellent ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Stopped by for quick lunch--- excellent !!! Reasonable for great food you get !

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

sliced filet steak was dry and served co ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

sliced filet steak was dry and served cold . the lettuce used in both ceasar and fruit salad not fresh . fruit salad had some not fresh lettuce and three cherry tomatoes and cant figure out why they called it fruit salad

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Capital Grille never disappoints. Thi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Capital Grille never disappoints. This upscale steak chain is consistently excellent in whichever location you choose. The ambiance, the service and the food is everything you would expect from a fine dining restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Besides fast becoming my favorite restau ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Besides fast becoming my favorite restaurant, it's the perfect place to bring someone - or a group - who want to hear one another when they talk, even if it's across the table or booth. The acoustics are wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch service and food.

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Top notch service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my first time at Capital Grille ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This is my first time at Capital Grille in NYC. I have eaten at other Capital Grille's outside of NYC and found them to be well worth it. The food was excellent and the service was attentive. I ordered strip steak and it was served well done as I requested. The steak was delicious and I also ordered string beans. The waiter came to the table many times to ask me whether I needed anything and was very prompt with the check. I recommend the restaurant and will return here in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille is a reliably great exper ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Capital Grille is a reliably great experience -- the staff at this busy midtown location made a celebratory dinner great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time I've been to the Capital Gril ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Every time I've been to the Capital Grille, I have had a great experience. The food is fantastic, the service is wonderful. The last two times, we have gone for the pre-theater dinner menu, and it's amazing. The steak has been cooked to perfection (but there are non-steak options available as well!), the mashed potatoes are delicious and the crème brulee is one of the best I've ever had. Even the bread basket is phenomenal. :) The service has been consistently excellent, and I'm looking forward to my next dinner at the Capital Grille!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Harrison our waiter was excellent and fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Harrison our waiter was excellent and food did not disappoint!

Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and dining experience... ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic food and dining experience... A total 10 out of 10. Our server, Ronnie was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Filet came out very rare( ordered med we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Filet came out very rare( ordered med well)

Sent back 2x and by then dry and pieces out not edible

Salads, dessert and wine great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Best pre theatre steakhouse in Midtown. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Best pre theatre steakhouse in Midtown. The prix fixe menu was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was excellent throughout our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our server was excellent throughout our meal. However, should you expect Manhattan Clam Chowder on the menu in NYC? Unfortunately its not an option even with 3 NYC locations. It is New England chowder as all Capital Grille menus are the same created by the Executive Chef in Orlando, FL. whom I called yesterday.

I did think $ 8.00 for two coffees was a bit excessive.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Expensive but excellent steakhouse. Food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Expensive but excellent steakhouse. Food and service were very good. Our waiter was prompt and courteous , answering our questions about the menu.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was Outstanding!!! The bone i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Everything was Outstanding!!! The bone in filet was incredible!!! Tender and delicious !!! We loved Princess, our server, she was lovely!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food as always. Rather shocke ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food as always. Rather shocked at the very slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

As always, food and service were first r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

As always, food and service were first rate. I lunch there frequently and it is always a pleasurable experience. Brought my nephew for lunch and he really enjoyed it.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

this is the best Capital Grille in NYC. ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

this is the best Capital Grille in NYC. The food, service and ambiance is better here than at any Grille. For a high end Steak house it delivers every time.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was a little slow just this time ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was a little slow just this time. This is one of my favorite NYC picks.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Perfect! Definitely recommend!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Perfect! Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top Notch!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything was great as usual. We worked with a young lady, her name started with Mc....she was awesome. Nicholas Savino was extremely professional. He is a great addition as a Manager. Very friendly and genuine. Thanks for everything, as it is much appreiated!

Alan

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Pre Theater menu is a great bargain for NYC. The steak is the same one that later in the evening is considerably more for exactly the same steak- without the rest of the meal! Dine before 7PM and ask for the special menu! You won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a winner!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I have written a review on this restaurant so many times before and they all say the same thing - excellent on every point! If you love steak then this is for you! We ordered once again the filet mignon! It was prepared exactly the way we like it! The rest of the meal was superb as well! The bread basket is always a delight! We celebrate many special occasions here! Highly recommended!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salad was good but onion soup was like d ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Salad was good but onion soup was like dishwater. No flavor and too much mozzarella uncooked. Service was impeccable though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Overall: Lovely!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This place was quiet, romantic, relaxed, and just delicious. The staff was very nice to us, even though we were obviously slightly out of our league here. We had the house wine, which was great. And I had a steak, which melted in my mouth.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This was our first time at Capital Grille, but it won't be our last. I ordered the Cobb salad. The steak was the best I ever had. My companion had the crab & lobster burger. It was wonderful. The service was excellent. Beautiful decor. The manager even visited our table to see how our meal was. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the most amazing food. KENNY was ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We had the most amazing food. KENNY was the best waiter I've ever had in my entire life. Go to capital grille and REQUEST KENNY to be your waiter!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dissapointed

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I was disappointed . The spinach salad had no taste and had large bacon slices in it instead of small chopped crispy pieces. The lamb chops were too sweet; there was either some sort of cranberry or raisin sauce that did not belong on lamb chops. The asparagus had some sort of a lemon taste that no one at the table liked and were inedible. The chocolate cake desert was decent. The service was quite good . I only wish the food had matched the service. Unfortunately I cannot recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Very good service. Fresh Oyster appeti ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very good service. Fresh Oyster appetizer very good; steaks a bit pricey, but tasty.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great prix fixe

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We love coming here for the pre-theatre menu! You can't go wrong and it is still so much food! An appetizer, entrée, side and dessert for $39?? Unbelievable and cooked to perfection. We always have leftovers. Came with three girlfriends to celebrate two of their birthdays. A great night as always. Our steaks were cooked as we ordered them - as they always are.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Great food!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We had a very enjoyable lunch for our party of 12. Great service and everyone said their food was delicious!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to celebrate our daughter's Mast ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We went to celebrate our daughter's Master degree. The meal was wonderful and the waiter outstanding.

Our one problem was with the hostess staff . We had reserved a table for 8:00 PM to celebrate a graduation. We did arrive a bit few minutes early and we assured we would be seated at 8:00. 8:00 came and went. We had one person who needed to make a train and the hostess staff just said the people at our table were still sitting there. They finally gave us a smaller booth after I asked if there was anything they could do. We were the only party not seated and they kept asking my name as if it was a new problem.

The waiter was great and served an appetizer to the person who needed to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was great. Such a nice touch ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Everything was great. Such a nice touch having the GM Melissa come by to check on our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for after an event at Radio City M ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great for after an event at Radio City Music Hall. Private upstairs room was perfect.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

food is great and price is surprisingly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

food is great and price is surprisingly not high. Pricy wine list for business occasion, while you can still find good but a lot cheaper ones to go with your great food. Convenient commute. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Service and meal were just wonderful. A ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Service and meal were just wonderful. A sincere and warm staff only enhanced the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner. Food was on spot. Service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great dinner. Food was on spot. Service was outstanding. Wine list excellent. We went pre theater, had a wonderful dinner and had ample time to stroll to theater. Tremendous dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable service, consistently delicio ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Impeccable service, consistently delicious food and beautiful ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service is always excellent!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food and service is always excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for pre-theater dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

From the time we entered the restaurant everything was superb... the menu, the food, service, etc. Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.