Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (79)
Business Meals (58)
Pre/post Theatre (54)
See All
Good for a Date (52)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for Groups (31)
Romantic (29)
Great for Lunch (24)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Comfort Food (14)
Cozy (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Casual (12)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fun (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2873 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service with little touches like offering a dark napkin so your dark clothes won't be spoiled with white lint. We went for dinner during restaurant week and received a great meal for the money. Loved the sauteed green beans. Not sure of the value proposition with their regular prices, but still a great pick if what you're looking for is a traditional steak house.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been to the Capital Grille many times in 15 years of working in that neighborhood. The food is always outstanding for lunch or dinner. Great steaks. Great desserts. Drinks are very good, as well. Birthdays are especially fun. Highly recommended as one of the best places to dine in the Times Square area.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. Highly recommend. Reasonably priced as well. Wonderful NYC experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Such excellent service and quality dining. At the top of my list of restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome. First time here and I was not disappointed. Service was exceptional and food was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

When doing business in Manhattan, The Capital Grill is always on top of my list. The atmosphere there and service are always superb, and most of the time so is the food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

we loved the restaurant . the ambiance was relaxing with beautiful lighting. the waiter was the first of all restaurant week to acknowledge my special food requests and suggest alternatives. his name was ed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Thanks for a great RW meal. The Generous Pour is very generous. Tried 6 of the wines. Liked 3. Try it. Great value. Princess great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful dinner tonight customer service at it's finest will for sure come back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was my husband's birthday! We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful atmosphere for a romantic evening! The service waa superb and the food was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Super tolles Steak, laden in 20 iger eingerichtet. Auch für Wein ist die Auswahl toll!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Our entire experience at The CAPITAL GRILLE was outstanding. We dined at the restaurant during summer restaurant week and we took advantage of the 3 course pre fixe meal. There were several and varied pre-fixe offerings to choose from which all appeared to be from the regular menu. The salads were fresh and delicious. We chose steak that simply melted in your mouth and a delectable salmon entree as well. The creme brûlée and flourless chocolate cake we had were scrumptious. The portion size of all 3 courses was quite generous. All members of the staff from the hostess to the waiters went out of their way to make us feel welcome and valued. The wait staff could not possibly have been more attentive and accommodating. This is most definitely a restaurant that we will return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great service and food. Brianna was very nice, helpful, and funny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our service from Stephanie was outstanding as was our food. If you go before Labor Day try the generous pour. The winds are exceptional and well worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Dinner was amazing
I had the bone in kona crusted steak and it was perfect.
We took advantage of the generous pour and it was terrific.
The friends that we were dining with, thought it was great as well.
Great night!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was great but no one waited on us for over 20 minutes once we were seated. We asked for something from the guy that did bring water, but he didn't get it. We had to get the manager to get someone to pay attention to us. After that it was fine. They did give us free dessert and take care of us well after that. The initial experience was rather unpleasant and concerning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Have eaten here several times and for good reason. Great steakhouse with the feeling of a private club. Excellent selection of steaks and seafood with the usual support cast of sides. Most recent visit was on a Saturday night to celebrate a birthday. With four or less diners you can be seated in one of the "almost" private rooms where it is blissfully peaceful and conversations can be heard. Special requests are gracefully handled. A standby for me on special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was cooked exactly as we ordered it. We participated in the generous pour amd the wine pairings were fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Went for a friend's birthday during restaurant week. The food was amazing but the service was lacking a bit. The table was always half cleared with plates and empty glasses everywhere. Some of the front of house staff were visibly fooling around in the dining room which seemed really unprofessional. Particularly the flamboyant dark-skinned guy with glasses. Will definitely come back for the food but hopefully management can teach the staff better standards of service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! My server Harrison was on point and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I took my husband here for his 40th birthday. The food was as delicious as always, but it was the service we received that made our visit so phenomenal . I felt like they went above and beyond to help ensure that my husband had an amazing birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was delicious and service was wonderful. Would recommend this restaurant to any steak lover.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

food was good but service was non existent. also, i was rushed through courses & presented with a check without asking if i wanted coffee, which i did. it's very apparent that solo diners, especially during restaurant week, are considered subpar patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent service, excellent food. Elegant restaurant and very attentive service

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

This review is for restaurant week. We were party of 6. The restaurant didn't appear to be busy. However, three out of six steaks were overcooked. It took awhile for the food to arrive. The waitress offered to make us new ones but we didn't want to wait. It was our lunch hour and we had to go back to work.

The portions were good sizes. Service was fine. The waitress was good about filling our beverages

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Dinner was amazing. We had the lobster bisque, crab cakes, and ribeye and filet steaks. The drinks from the bar were also great. The only demerit I give the evening is that we had to wait 30 minutes for our 8:30 reservation for which we were on time. Besides that everything was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great service and food, as always. Came for date night and we ended up getting the Generous Pour wine tasting with the Restaurant Week specials. Great evening! Definitely try the lobster and crab cakes - delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Always great food. The coconut cream pie is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great attention to detail. They made our Anniversary so special with confetti on the table, an Anniversary card and a special dessert! The service was excellent and the menu and quality of food was wonderful. This restaurant is highly recommended. Just love restaurant week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The NY Strip Steak with bone was not tender. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Went with family friends for Restaurant Week, had been to different location in Chicago years ago. Food was spot on and our server as well as all staff were incredibly kind and attentive.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The appetizer were wonderful, however only this we liked... the entrees were just ok nothing special and the deserts too much sweet...
we went expecting an amazing lunch but was far away...
I don't think that value the price...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Birthday
Consistent
Ed Sullivan gave great service
My favorite place for family gatherings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

A bit disappointed here...dropped in for a meal on a Sunday night - the restaurant was not busy at all. They handed us several menus including a special one for a wine tasting feature "extra pour". We inquired about it but the hostess had no clue and he young man who brought us bread had no clue either. Enter our waiter...before anything he introduced himself and assured us our dining experience would be more fun than a trip to Disney World - huh? We had cocktails (overpriced and very weak) and then ordered from a very well thought out restaurant week menu. Portions were small and of course prepared ahead of time, but still decent. The steaks were fine, as were the beans as a side (you only got one side with the restaurant week menu). The mashed potatoes were rather gluey. Desert was fine, nothing special. We did the wine "extra pour" thing and it turned out nicely. I think the Disney World comment will be a forever joke with my dining party. It certainly was not anywhere near as much fun as a trip there, but certainly as pedestrian.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is great for pre-theatre. The food is always great!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Capital Grille Time-Life is one of our favorite spots in mid-town. We always go for the Generous Pour as it's a great way to taste a variety of wines and refine your palate. Last year was a great experience with friends. This year the waiter rushed us through as if anxious to turn over the table. Even when we asked him to slow the pace so we could enjoy the wines and our friends, we were rushed. Steaks were good. Two sides come with the restaurant week menu. In our case, each was one half of a small bowl for the four of us. This was a surprise as we thought the bowl was for each couple, not for the whole table. So, if you go for the generous pour - which you should - make sure you get a waiter who will allow you to dine at a non-marathon pace.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent Experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Never Fails. We meet regular at the Capital Grille. Hostess station is always pleasant. They have always seated us where we ask. They keep a note re: our favorite #1 'waitron'.
As always, Friday nights dinner was excellent

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.