Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Pre/post Theatre (43)
Business Meals (41)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Romantic (24)
Great for Lunch (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Private Room (12)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Authentic (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fun (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Casual (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Waterfront (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2775 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It was an anniversary

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our first time there & we would highly recommend it. Best filet ever!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My best friend was in town for a visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Beautiful place. Dark cozy and intimate with an old time feel. Our server Harrison was phenomenal. The food was delicious. Portions were generous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Every aspect of the dining experience is superior- decor, service, quality and quantity of food and drinks. Done there once and I'm sure you will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We came in for dinner between the matinee and the dinner performance. The food was good as always, but the servers were less enthusiastic about our presence. We've been here many times and had a lovely time with excellent service so we will not be put off by this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was delicious! But your menu is very pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Was efficient & fun with easy location in midtownp

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food and Vodka martinies out of this world! Never disappoints and always immpresive for predictable enjoyment with friends, family and clients! Look forward to the next reason the be at the Capital Grille - perhaps tomorrow:)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Absolutely incredible. Worth every penny! I can't say enough about the food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

AMAZING!! When I booked the reservation, I noted that we were celebrating our anniversary . They went all out and wished us verbally a "happy anniversary" and escorted us to our table where they had sprinkled little heart shaped confetti on the table along with a special hand written card wishing us a Happy Anniversary! What a nice touch! The decor was beautiful with rich wood paneling and great layout. Best of all, food was OUTSTANDING! Everything was delicious along with a great plate presentation. Both my husband and I said that this was one of the nicest restaurants we have ever visited in NYC and we would highly recommend and would definitely return!! A+++

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The dinner we had at capital grill Saturday night was outstanding. Our server Diana was phenomenal, she attended to all our needs. The food was perfect, we have never had a substandard meal there. They are always on their game and always consistent .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Organic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent dinner. The staff went out of their way so we could have a wonderful celebration with champagne and special desserts .

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Capital Grille is always great. For the 1st time, our service was not we are used to. We have been many times and would not hesitate to return. Next time we would ask that our food order be returned to the kitchen, and they start from the beginning. Don't be put off; we have been here 12-15 times in the last few years and love it.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great steak very nice restaurant excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Outstanding experience in every regard at The Capital Grille in Manhattan. Absolutely impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary. We were treated by a beautifully decorated table, lovely card and champagne! It made our dinner very special. The waitress was so sweet, patient and helpful. We enjoyed our dinner rather than being rushed through it. The food was very good -- although the creamed spinach was lacking flavor. The lamb chops were cooked perfectly and so was my husbands steak. We did not go home hungry!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

2nd visit in three weeks...very good food, I would like a little more attention to details (keeping our water glass filled). Great value menu Pre-Theatre

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This is one of a number of Capital Grills we have enjoyed. Steaks were done as ordered and the service was attentive without being overbearing. We were there on a holiday weekend and were a bit surprised how busy it was.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were celebrating my husband's birthday and had a very pleasant experience. Capital Grille knew it was my hubs bday and had a special bday note at the table and it came with a bday dessert! Our server was Jason who was superb and his staff were amazing as well. I highly recommend this establishment for any occasion. :) we will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Had the prefixe menu. Really delicious with good choices. Great service and quick if you are pressed for time(Theater. ) Also a great restaurant to take your time and enjoy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Went for the pre theater dinner which is a tremendous value. Although my steak was very good it was not as good as the one I had on a previous visit to one of their other restaurants in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

very good food, nice theater menu to get you a real good meal and a great price in time to see your show

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great steaks perfectly cooked

Excellent wine lists with ratings over 90

Bill took care of our food sendit

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We went to the Capital Grille prior to going to a Broadway show. We asked for the pre theater menu which is a price fixed menu . I had the 8 ounce filet mignon that was cooked medium rare. It was delicious. My husband got the strip steak which he enjoyed. The chocolate cake and sorbet were also very good. We had great service by Jose. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great meal. Celebrating Mothers Day with wife an daughter

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was in NYC over Mothers Day, so wanted a place close to hotel that would also be quiet enough the carry on a conversation.
We have had good meals with previous Capitol Grills, so booked this.
Mothers Day Brunch was a prix-fixe 3 course menu.
It included Cocktails (mimosa, Bellini and another one) and 3 options each of appetizer, main and dessert. Coffee and tea were also included.
Food was good, service attentive. Despite being Mothers Day, it was not overbooked, and we had an relaxed, unhurried brunch.

If we are back in the area of NYC, we wouldn't hesitate to try for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Capital Grill is our favorite restaurant in NYC. It's pre-theater dinner is fantastic value, and it is always delicious! We are treated well, food is great, and it is quiet enough to hear yourself talk! All makes for a winner of a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great service. Great food. Great drinks. I shall return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Bonnie our server was just the best. The food is always consistent. They are thoughtful and pay attention to details more so than many other NYC restaurants. But I wish they would bring back their original warm spinach salad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This place never fails to please me and impress others! The pre theater menu is a wonderful way to experience steak, lamb chops, fish with a salad or soup and a side dish plus dessert. The service is always spot on, especially if you are fortunate to have Ed Sullivan as a waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My family and I have eaten here many times and have never had a bad meal. Definitely try the lobster mac n cheese yum so r the French fries. Steaks cooked to perfection Very sufficient wine list. The staff is very knowledgeable and very sufficient. It's one of our favorite places in the city to eat

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great drinks, food and service can't ask for more!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delicious as always. Make sure to ask for the prix fixe pre-theatre menu as they will not offer it if you don't request it, and it's quite the bargain!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We chose Capital Grill based on our previous experience at other locations in Minneapolis and Las Vegas. We were however, extremely disappointed with the quality of the food and inexperienced wait staff during this visit. 4 of the 7 ordered the French Onion soup, all of us were disappointed with what we received. There was virtually no broth, way too much cheese and wet bread. 1 salad was served with what appeared to be a tomato hidden under a block of bland mozzarella cheese. 1 guest ordered the Steak and Lobster only to be served with a hard 3" piece of hardened overcooked, reheated lobster. Another guest tried to enjoy the roasted chicken but found it so dry and overcooked she wasn't able to enjoy it. In addition, the waiter never brought us any of the side dishes that we had ordered. Our waiter tried his best to explain but eventually told us they're having staff issues in the kitchen. When we asked to speak with the manager, we were told she's too busy - trust me there were maybe 3 tables that were occupied, I can't imagine what she was doing other than maybe trying to get something to happen in the kitchen. By the end of the evening they did end up coming 4 of our meals but it ruined our night as this was our one night to celebrate while in NY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was just ok. Nothing really special to say about the place and food.
I hope that open table is going to give the 100 point for making and honoring my reservation at the capital grille.
Cheers,

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday. The table was prepared and he was definitely spoiled. Food and service were fantastic! A must visit in the city. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. Steak was juicy, very flavorful and cooked to perfection. Sides were delicious. Service was prompt and professional. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My friend recommended this restaurant to me and it was worth every penny. A little pricy but worth it. I would.d definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.