Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Mother's Day for an exceptional prix fixe brunch and endless mimosas. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as our Pan-Seared Salmon with Citrus Crab Salad.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (79)
Pre/post Theatre (60)
Business Meals (60)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Good for a Date (48)
Romantic (46)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Notable Wine List (37)
Good for Groups (32)
Great for Lunch (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Private Room (23)
Bar Seating (17)
Cozy (16)
Authentic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Open Kitchen (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Casual (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Family Style (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
People Watching (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (0)
Sort By:
S
2731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, great food and service. Our favorite restaurant when we go to the theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was good but certainly not great for the price. This was our third experience at a Capital Grille in 3 different locations and our experience was always the same. Ambiance was great. Service was great. However, the food was average and certainly not of a caliber that one would expect given the prices. We have had much better quality food at other restaurants with comparable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been there plenty of times and the experience was always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated my friend's birthday. He was so happy that we chose Capital. We all enjoyed the food. The staff were excellent and hospitable. Will definitely pass the word around my friends. Will also come back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

great, friendly, professional service. food is always reliably good. they even served the calamari appetizer to each of us individually.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Disappointing steak...medium rare should not be dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The quality of the food, particularly filets mignon has changed over the years. The meat is now topped with butter as opposed to dry seasoning. The quality of meat has no flavour..we will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Phenomenal place to take a client to lunch. This Capital Grill location is my 'go to' spot whenever I am meeting clients in the Rock Center area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The meat was horrible. I think they are using choice instead of prime

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food was delicious best place for great steak. Everyone in our party enjoyed the great atmosphere, would go back again

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Excellent food and service, never disappointed . This place is great and food always delicious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Ambiance of a private club. Wonderful! Service was perfect. Food was too. You feel pampered here. It's a bit on the expensive side, but to us it was well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Awesome food, great service. I always enjoy dinning at Capital Grill.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great service and very attentive to your needs. We had a show after right after dinner and they got us out promptly. Excellent steaks and extensive wine list. Must go experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Thanks to Bill Sheridan and the team at the Capital Grille for feeding us such good food and getting us out in time for our Broadway show. I had the lump crabmeat cocktail, caesar salad, New York Strip Steak, creamed spinach and mashed potatoes, which were as good as ever, but I thought the lump crabmeat was really excellent. I also chose to only have scoops of peach sorbet for dessert, the other two flavors being raspberry and mango which are very good, but I love their peach sorbet. I will be back soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Pre theatre lunch here with a friend and our two sons. Terrific staff, very friendly, great salads, and a nice house wine. Highly recommended

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Very bad experience. The appetizers were fine and around that part of the meal we got good service. After the steaks arrived we didn't get any service and there were no wait staff even walking around our area. My steak was swimming in butter and has a lot of strings in the meat. I wanted to return it but there was no one to ask that from. When I signaled to a different waiter that happened to look over our way and told him I was dissatisfied with my dish our waiter finally showed up and kind of briskly said - what do you want to do about it? No apologies for neglecting the table for so long, no empathy. They ended up taking it off the bill, but the experience was terrible, and we won't be returning. The bill was $400, and really doesn't justify it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was great!! Atmosphere was really good. We will return to this location!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Suprised my wife with reservations to the Capital Grille for her 40th birthday and the place was amazing. Great service and food was fantastic! 5 Stars!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We went pre theater and the meal was outstanding! Delicious food, excellent service and great value.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food. Great service. Ed Sullivan and team did a fabulous job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Always superb! Pre theater menu is excellent with a choice of two steaks and lamb chops and chicken or fish. Creme brûlée for dessert is amazing. Wonderful bread basket. Service is impeccable. Ed Sullivan is a skilled waiter.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It was a special birthday celebration for my husband and we made note of this on our reservation. There were "special sparkles" scattered on the table and a birthday card for him. We had learned about asking for the prix fixe dinner menu and requested it. This was an excellent value. The steak and salmon selections on it were very good and all 3 courses were also very good. In addition to the dessert that was included in the prix fixe menu, they also brought out a delicious cheese cake dessert with a candle on it! All the staff were attentive and polite. Our server was friendly & personal but also professional. This was a great choice for our family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Made a reservation for an important business lunch. Seated next to an extremely noisy table, struggled to hear one another speak. Myself and a colleague ordered a lump crabmeat cocktail appetizer, which was never delivered, and my salmon was extremely undercooked. It was my first meeting with these colleagues at my recommendation, and their first dining experience. Overall, I felt extremely dissatisfied with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great find in NYC. We weren't sure where to eat, so we looked up reviews. Capital Grille had great reviews, and we were not disappointed. Service excellent, restaurant classy with quiet, calm atmosphere. We ordered from the pre-theater menu, and everything was delicious and perfectly cooked. Even the bread on the table was excellent. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent decor, exquisite service and even better food. The waiter was attentive yet not overbearing. He was friendly, polite and diligent. The food came in a timely manner and was delicious. We had a very good time.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was a great meal before going to the theater. The price fixed pre theater menu is perfect. Portions are a bit smaller than the traditional menu. For us, it was just right. We enjoyed it without leftovers. That makes it easier to eat 3 courses. Eat course was delicious. Our waiter was superb. We will be back the next time we are in NYC.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Travel to NYC with kids.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great place for steak with excellent service. Would definitely come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Awesome place great steak and butter poached lobster

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Capital Grille is definitely the best steak house in New York. I've tried several others but none measure up to the excellent service, ambiance and the steaks are cooked exactly as ordered. Also, if you mention what kind of special occasion it will be, the staff will make sure to add some complimentary details that make it special. Our occasion was a birthday and the table was decorated with confetti balloons, complimentary prosecco and a birthday dessert. Nice touch!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Everything was perfect! Meal was timely before broadway show. Waitress anticipated our tables needs. Meal was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Consistently excellent; always great service and food. I have never been disappointed, nor have any of my guests, even one who is a vegetarian was happy! I have heard from others that the salmon is as good as the steaks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The evening was superb in every way except for the loud, obnoxious diner who was seated with a number of people ... luckily, we were a few booths away; otherwise we would have had to move or leave. Staff handled him well - it is always difficult to deal with customers...and perhaps this guest is a regular...still no excuse for boorish behavior....
All this being said - delicious meal, work was done despite the 'fly in the soup' and we'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service was phenomenal the food was out rages The appetizers were perfect and the steak was cooked to perfection

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Another great dinner at The Capital Grille. My friend and I met for a pre-show dinner. We had the pre-show menu, I had the New York Strip and my friend had the pork chops we shared the mashed potatoes and creamed spinach. It was wonderful. For dessert she had the creme Brule and I had a bowl of peach sorbet. My friend loved everything about her creme Brule and I nearly cried when I had to leave some the peach sorbet behind. It was amazing, so refreshing and Spring-like on a cold, snow blocked day. Thanks to Bill Sheridan for his expert care and also for choosing a cabernet that will bring us back very soon.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

As always another superb meal. The lamb chops were a pleasant surprise especially with the
cherry topping. The chowder was full of clams and very savory and what can I say about the
chocolate souffle that was not already said?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Consistent and unassuming. It is a stalwart of midtown although they could use a decent lunch special every now and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a great bottle of wine at the bar and the bartender was great. Our waitress Bonnie started out fine but once we got our entrees we never saw her again. I needed more water and my husband needed butter. She walked through the restaurant but never even looked at us. We waited about 20 minutes for the check and never saw her. We finally saw the bartender who got our check. We put our coats on and the bartender brings our credit card back and Bonnie comes over and asks if we are ready? We looked at her in disbelief. The manager comes over to apologize and Bonnie chimes in and asks if there is a problem. We say she never checked on us after the entrees and she gets a real attitude. The manager turns to her and tells her to be quiet and asks us for her side. She rudely interrupts us and I finally say that we are the customer and she needs to be quiet. The manager tell us to go to the hostess stand and to his credit he makes adjustments to our bill and profusely apologized. We have NEVER been treated so rudely by a waiter or waitress. We were dressed to the nines and there was no reason she should have acted in such a way. Completely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.