Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Pre/post Theatre (63)
Business Meals (58)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Good for a Date (54)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Romantic (43)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Notable Wine List (33)
Good for Groups (28)
Great for Lunch (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Private Room (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Authentic (15)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Casual (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
People Watching (8)
Family Style (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Fun (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Healthy (4)
Historic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
2754 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Had the prefixe menu. Really delicious with good choices. Great service and quick if you are pressed for time(Theater. ) Also a great restaurant to take your time and enjoy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for the pre theater dinner which is a tremendous value. Although my steak was very good it was not as good as the one I had on a previous visit to one of their other restaurants in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

very good food, nice theater menu to get you a real good meal and a great price in time to see your show

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Great steaks perfectly cooked

Excellent wine lists with ratings over 90

Bill took care of our food sendit

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We went to the Capital Grille prior to going to a Broadway show. We asked for the pre theater menu which is a price fixed menu . I had the 8 ounce filet mignon that was cooked medium rare. It was delicious. My husband got the strip steak which he enjoyed. The chocolate cake and sorbet were also very good. We had great service by Jose. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great meal. Celebrating Mothers Day with wife an daughter

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was in NYC over Mothers Day, so wanted a place close to hotel that would also be quiet enough the carry on a conversation.
We have had good meals with previous Capitol Grills, so booked this.
Mothers Day Brunch was a prix-fixe 3 course menu.
It included Cocktails (mimosa, Bellini and another one) and 3 options each of appetizer, main and dessert. Coffee and tea were also included.
Food was good, service attentive. Despite being Mothers Day, it was not overbooked, and we had an relaxed, unhurried brunch.

If we are back in the area of NYC, we wouldn't hesitate to try for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Capital Grill is our favorite restaurant in NYC. It's pre-theater dinner is fantastic value, and it is always delicious! We are treated well, food is great, and it is quiet enough to hear yourself talk! All makes for a winner of a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great service. Great food. Great drinks. I shall return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Bonnie our server was just the best. The food is always consistent. They are thoughtful and pay attention to details more so than many other NYC restaurants. But I wish they would bring back their original warm spinach salad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This place never fails to please me and impress others! The pre theater menu is a wonderful way to experience steak, lamb chops, fish with a salad or soup and a side dish plus dessert. The service is always spot on, especially if you are fortunate to have Ed Sullivan as a waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My family and I have eaten here many times and have never had a bad meal. Definitely try the lobster mac n cheese yum so r the French fries. Steaks cooked to perfection Very sufficient wine list. The staff is very knowledgeable and very sufficient. It's one of our favorite places in the city to eat

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great drinks, food and service can't ask for more!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delicious as always. Make sure to ask for the prix fixe pre-theatre menu as they will not offer it if you don't request it, and it's quite the bargain!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We chose Capital Grill based on our previous experience at other locations in Minneapolis and Las Vegas. We were however, extremely disappointed with the quality of the food and inexperienced wait staff during this visit. 4 of the 7 ordered the French Onion soup, all of us were disappointed with what we received. There was virtually no broth, way too much cheese and wet bread. 1 salad was served with what appeared to be a tomato hidden under a block of bland mozzarella cheese. 1 guest ordered the Steak and Lobster only to be served with a hard 3" piece of hardened overcooked, reheated lobster. Another guest tried to enjoy the roasted chicken but found it so dry and overcooked she wasn't able to enjoy it. In addition, the waiter never brought us any of the side dishes that we had ordered. Our waiter tried his best to explain but eventually told us they're having staff issues in the kitchen. When we asked to speak with the manager, we were told she's too busy - trust me there were maybe 3 tables that were occupied, I can't imagine what she was doing other than maybe trying to get something to happen in the kitchen. By the end of the evening they did end up coming 4 of our meals but it ruined our night as this was our one night to celebrate while in NY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was just ok. Nothing really special to say about the place and food.
I hope that open table is going to give the 100 point for making and honoring my reservation at the capital grille.
Cheers,

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday. The table was prepared and he was definitely spoiled. Food and service were fantastic! A must visit in the city. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. Steak was juicy, very flavorful and cooked to perfection. Sides were delicious. Service was prompt and professional. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My friend recommended this restaurant to me and it was worth every penny. A little pricy but worth it. I would.d definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our meals were served at 7:25 even after they acknowledged multiple times that we had theatre tickets for 8pm.
Supposedly due to computer error. But one might expect a server to check on such matters as part of her job.
Most unenjoyable meal I've had in a long time because there was no chewing nor savoring the flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our waiter, Jeffrey, helped to make our Anniversary dinner very special. The Capital Grille staff was very thoughtful and had decorated our booth and prepared a handwritten congratulations card. They also prepared a special Anniversary dessert. Our advice, skip the overpriced and over hyped restaurants and give the Capital Grille a try. We are big fans because of the elegant atmosphere, great food and terrific service. Great Value!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building is one of my favorite steak houses in NYC. Steaks cooked to perfection! Seafood fresh.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good food. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

As always, great food and service. Our favorite restaurant when we go to the theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was good but certainly not great for the price. This was our third experience at a Capital Grille in 3 different locations and our experience was always the same. Ambiance was great. Service was great. However, the food was average and certainly not of a caliber that one would expect given the prices. We have had much better quality food at other restaurants with comparable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We have been there plenty of times and the experience was always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We celebrated my friend's birthday. He was so happy that we chose Capital. We all enjoyed the food. The staff were excellent and hospitable. Will definitely pass the word around my friends. Will also come back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

great, friendly, professional service. food is always reliably good. they even served the calamari appetizer to each of us individually.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Disappointing steak...medium rare should not be dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The quality of the food, particularly filets mignon has changed over the years. The meat is now topped with butter as opposed to dry seasoning. The quality of meat has no flavour..we will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Phenomenal place to take a client to lunch. This Capital Grill location is my 'go to' spot whenever I am meeting clients in the Rock Center area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The meat was horrible. I think they are using choice instead of prime

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food was delicious best place for great steak. Everyone in our party enjoyed the great atmosphere, would go back again

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Excellent food and service, never disappointed . This place is great and food always delicious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Ambiance of a private club. Wonderful! Service was perfect. Food was too. You feel pampered here. It's a bit on the expensive side, but to us it was well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Awesome food, great service. I always enjoy dinning at Capital Grill.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great service and very attentive to your needs. We had a show after right after dinner and they got us out promptly. Excellent steaks and extensive wine list. Must go experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Thanks to Bill Sheridan and the team at the Capital Grille for feeding us such good food and getting us out in time for our Broadway show. I had the lump crabmeat cocktail, caesar salad, New York Strip Steak, creamed spinach and mashed potatoes, which were as good as ever, but I thought the lump crabmeat was really excellent. I also chose to only have scoops of peach sorbet for dessert, the other two flavors being raspberry and mango which are very good, but I love their peach sorbet. I will be back soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Pre theatre lunch here with a friend and our two sons. Terrific staff, very friendly, great salads, and a nice house wine. Highly recommended

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.