Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Business Meals (59)
Pre/post Theatre (57)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Good for Groups (36)
Notable Wine List (36)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Romantic (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Bar Seating (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Casual (15)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Fun (8)
Seasonal (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2907 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Good quality as always, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Consistent with other Capital Grille locations, the décor is warm, elegant and dominated by wood and leather. The servers are well trained and professional . The food is well prepared and consistently good.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great. However, the AC was broken and the restaurant was very uncomfortable. What frustrates me is that the restaurant was unapologetic. The staff acknowledged it, but didn't apologize for the inconvenience, mention what the issue was or anything. They couldn't have seemed to care less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Loved our meal at Capital Grille! Wait staff was very professional

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Delicious food, excellent service, lovely decor. A wonderful restaurant for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food and even better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Wait staff very attentive. The recommendations were excellent as well. The steak was perfectly cooked. Cocktails were great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Service and food excellent. We had theater menu which was very reasonable. Excellent restaurant .

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great! Service was perfect and the food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Estaba de viaje con mi Hermano

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Server was great, had to send a steak back as it was no where close to how it was ordered. For upwards of fifty bucks for a steak I would expect it to be right the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Awesome service. Kenny was excellent server. Maria excellent hostess. Melissa very good manager. Food wonderful. Great atmosphere. Even by NCY standards an impressive steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great pre theater menu! Delicious lamb chops, salmon served with salad and a side - creamed spinach, mashed potatoes and dessert. Excellent service by Ricky and Muhamad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Have dined at capital grill before and very satisfied but ordered lobster and it was broiled and the driest I have ever eaten. Parts of it were crispy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We went to e the Capital Grill for the Great Pour event. I am only sorry that we went towards the end of the event as we would go again. The food was great, the service greater and the wine even greater. This is clearly my favorite restaurant and Saturday just proved why. The steaks we had were cooked to perfection as was everything else we had. Thanks for a wonderful evening celebrating my wife's birthday.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We let the restaurant know that it was our anniversary. They went all out by sprinkling hearts and red confetti on the table, writing us an anniversary card and then bringing us a special dessert acknowledging our anniversary. The food was delicious and the service attentive. We had a wonderful pretheatre dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Excellent all around. Nicely mixed drinks. Succulent oysters. Perfectly done steaks. Server Diana is a jewel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We went there for our anniversary, we were suprised to find our table was beautifully decorated with rose petals and a celebration card to wish us happy anniversary! 👍🏻😍🌹 It was very touching. The foods were excellent. The steak wasn't what we ordered but it tasted good. We will definitely come back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had yet another great evening especially since we had only made reservations 5 minutes before arrival. Many thanks to Adrienne Lawrence who brought great service and good humor to our evening.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Our evening at the Capital Grille was amazing. The food was delicious, the atmosphere "old World" the service spot on. I recommend this restaurant for a great night out

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We are always treated very well by our server Ed Sullivan and the entire staff. Food is great and we think this is one of the best places to go in NYC. We were celebrating some special occasions and the extra touches that were provided made it an extra special dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were given tickets to a play for our wedding and couldn't have picked a better restaurant for our dinning. Somewhat expensive but you're in the heart of NYC. Steak was excellent and the drinks were, too. Letting them know the time of your play helps keep things moving but not rushed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Never fails to impress! I took my friend here for his birthday. We decided to sit at the bar for dinner. The bartender was friendly and provided great service to us. Every dish was excellent as well as the wine-- can't go wrong coming here that's why we keep coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were visiting New York to celebrate our 20th Anniversary and chose The Capital Grille for our first dinner out. It was also the last day of NYC Restaurant Week so that certainly made it appealing as well. Oh My Goodness....Restaurant Week or not....the food was fabulous and well worth it; even at regular menu price. The service was outstanding and special thanks go out to our waiter, Bill Sheridan, for making our experience a truly memorable one! Excellent Service and we certainly appreciate it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent service with little touches like offering a dark napkin so your dark clothes won't be spoiled with white lint. We went for dinner during restaurant week and received a great meal for the money. Loved the sauteed green beans. Not sure of the value proposition with their regular prices, but still a great pick if what you're looking for is a traditional steak house.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I have been to the Capital Grille many times in 15 years of working in that neighborhood. The food is always outstanding for lunch or dinner. Great steaks. Great desserts. Drinks are very good, as well. Birthdays are especially fun. Highly recommended as one of the best places to dine in the Times Square area.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. Highly recommend. Reasonably priced as well. Wonderful NYC experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We came here for Restaurant Week and it was a total steal! The food and service were impeccable and the wine was great. I had the NY Strip Steak and my husband had the salmon. Both were really flavorful and decent sized servings. We had chowder and a wedge salad, both of which were also very good. For dessert we had the flourless chocolate cake and crème brulee and they both tasted amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Such excellent service and quality dining. At the top of my list of restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Awesome. First time here and I was not disappointed. Service was exceptional and food was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Making a reservation was easy and a follow up call which was a nice touch.
The quality of the beef was good.
We were disappointed in cooking skills. Rare steak was cooked more than rare medium.
Lobster Mac & C: Mac was raw and lobster juice was not used in cooking it. Much less lobster than in Santa Ann CA location.
Maybe just an off night. I am a Capital Grille fan so will return.

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

When doing business in Manhattan, The Capital Grill is always on top of my list. The atmosphere there and service are always superb, and most of the time so is the food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

El mozo un mal educado. La comida regular. Pesima relacion precio-calidad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

we loved the restaurant . the ambiance was relaxing with beautiful lighting. the waiter was the first of all restaurant week to acknowledge my special food requests and suggest alternatives. his name was ed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Thanks for a great RW meal. The Generous Pour is very generous. Tried 6 of the wines. Liked 3. Try it. Great value. Princess great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Wonderful dinner tonight customer service at it's finest will for sure come back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

It was my husband's birthday! We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Always an amazing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere for a romantic evening! The service waa superb and the food was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Super tolles Steak, laden in 20 iger eingerichtet. Auch für Wein ist die Auswahl toll!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.