Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 21 times today
Special offers available. See details

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

4.6
3282 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Pre/post Theatre
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 246-0154
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Peter Menard
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Two garages available for parking.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Join us for Father's Day on Sunday, June 17. Enjoy our Wagyu Bone-In NY Strip for a celebration to remember.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 3282 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

The steak is very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Exceptional

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Went to celebrate my birthday. Everything was excellent, great food and wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great dinner with friends before the theater

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed a friend’s birthday dinner after a show.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Our server Jeffrey took excellent care of our party of 10 and made our celebration special.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Too bad the entrance is under construction. Our waitress was in. Bad mode.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It was a little disappointing, because it was Mother’s Day and dinner was just like any other day. When we went to the diner for breakfast, they gave out roses to all the women, but there was nothing special for mothers at the Capitol Grille. While the dinner and the service are generally excellent at this restaurant, as they were on this day-the filet mignon was delicious-, we were disappointed that there wasn’t a little something included to recognize moms for the holiday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great food! Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Everything was wonderful, from the ambience to the service to the food. Our waitress, Nicole, was wonderful. She has served us before and we specifically requested her again and she helped make the night even better. She is an excellent server and has an excellent personality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I would have liked a better table as I prefer corner tables, but it was ok.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Don't order from the wine list. Ordered a bottle of white wine took them 20 minutes to come back to say they did not have. Ordered another and they said"we will see if we have". Disappointing that they have a huge wine list and they have no clue if they have the one you pick out.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Food and service are always dependably excellent. Great wine list. They need to improve the quality of their bar cherries...a small detail and only mention as all the other details are failsafe

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Josise was awesome. He truly made our visit a memorable one. They also made me feel very special for my birthday, with a complimentary champagne, a birthday card and confetti on the table. Thank you for making our visit to NY such an incredible time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

My ribeye steak was delicious. The string beans and tomatoes were good as well as the spinach. My date had the fish special and left her plate clean lol

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

My friend took me here for my Birthday and we tried a lot of appetizers and did something different. Great birthday cakes, too. Nicely decorated table for my birthday. We go here a lot for the past eleven years. Always have great food, especially steaks. Go there. It never disappoints. Neighborhood gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

The Capital Grill really knows how to make you feel special on a celebratory day. We celebrated our 39th anniversary and they made it special! Edgar was an amazing waiter with superb attention to detail and a wonderful sense of humor. Their Filet Mignon is among the best! Love, the CG.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I have been to this location a few times and really enjoyed it. Full disclosure: most of those times were during their "Generous Pour" event in the summer. Love that.
Anyway, this time was not as enjoyable. There were 7 of us (adults) and we were crowded around a circular table where the chairs barely fit, we had to squirm to get into the chairs (let alone out of them) and we almost blocked an aisle. This location was not that busy on this night that they should have found a better place for us I think. I made the reservation well in advance.
Then our wait-staff person was just not as "upbeat" as ones I've had in the past. I realize personalities are different for everyone, but still...and he did not speak loudly enough for a table of our size. The restaurant was not super noisy.
It was also frustrating to not have an actual Wine List in hard copy form. Only an iPad device, and as the guest who was choosing our wine is not familiar with iPad technology, it was very difficult and frustrating to try to choose/compare, etc. Even for me, and I know the technology. I'm old fashioned and like a hard copy list/book. (and no sommelier came over to help us) Then after finally choosing a wine--they told us they were out of that one. Oy!
SO...all that to say, have had better experiences here. However, the food is delicious and it won't stop me from going back. I definitely will return for the Generous Pour this summer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Everything was wonderful. Loved the electronic wine list, food was perfect from start to finish, and George was attentive and kind! Will definitely be coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Nice evening out - enjoyed sitting in the booth as it’s a little more intimate although a little too close to the kitchen ! Otherwise , good service and excellent food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Excellent dinner and service. We have been there many times and have never been disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Guillermo was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

I invited a friend who was visiting from Seattle and we had a wonderful time. Our steaks were great and my friend particularly loved the new Brussel Sprouts addition to the menu. Many thanks to Sara and for making it such a memorable dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great place! Nice ambiance and private seating for a delicious meal :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great food and service. Would recommend highly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The hostess went out of her way to give us a booth when we requested one. The service and the food was excellent! We will go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great atmosphere, Dinner was excellent, wine list was superb. Would definitely go again. We had steak and salmon. Both were cooked perfectly (medium rare for steak). I would definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Excellent Steak House! Superb meat quality and greatly cook!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

My brother was in town. I chose the CG; he sometimes has grilled fish. When he saw the steaks he couldn’t resist. CG is always good and very consistent. Great food and service. Highly recommended

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

The server at the bar prior to sitting. Was amazing

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Have had great luck before at Capital Grille but this time they undercooked both our filets and then charred them the second time. Service was just average. The wrong beverage was brought to me at first. On the positive side, the desserts were great!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The swordfish was insultingly small, i can't even believe you would charge $55 for a piece half the size of a cellphone. I was very disappointed with that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

They always make you feel special at the capital Grille. Our server Diana was outstanding she made my wife’s birthday even more special than what it was. Her attention to detail and her friendly attitude is a complement to work.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We never have had a bad meal here yet. The food is always delicious and service always great. Would recommend to anyone. Had our daughters engagement dinner at the one on Long Island. They did a wonderful job. Having her rehearsal dinner there also.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Very bad experience considering the price point of this restaurant. We had gone for a special occasion. Part of our order was late, the scallops we ordered were rubbery, and after asking for specifics on our desert order, they brought something different. Would take issue so much except that they charge $50 an entre. At more than $100 a person for a full dinner, one would think the service and food quality would be much better. We've eaten several times at the Capital Grille in Paramus and had an excellent experience. We were very disappointed in the Manhattan location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Second time there was just as great as the first! We will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Had dinner here before the Sebastian show. Food was excellent as well as the service!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Ed Sullivan, our server, Rocks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Fantastic food, wine, service and facility.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

After our broadway show, we wanted a quiet yet decent meal. The restaurant was convenient and comfortable and quiet. My husband wanted a steak and I wanted a seafood or vegetarian option. The scallops were very delicious, and he loved the surf and turf (filet tournados and lobster tail). The ambience and service was wonderful, and highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
83