About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.
* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Restaurant Photos

Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake
Sam's Mashed Potatoes
 Seared Citrus Glazed Salmon
Bread Basket
Caesar Salad
Filet Mignon
Clam Chowder
Double-cut Lamb Rib Chops
Lemon Sorbet
Cheesecake
French Greens Beans With Shallots
Bone-In Aged Sirloin Steak
Breast Of Chicken Confit
Creme Brulee
Lobster Mac & Cheese
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Shallot Butter Sauce
New England Clam Chowder
Double Cut Lamb Rib Chops
Lobster Salad
Fresh Creamed Spinach
Field Greens, Tomatoes & Fresh Herbs
Lobster Mac'n'Cheese
Hamburger
Citrus Glazed Salmon
crabcake
Classic Crème Brulée
Filet Mignon 10Oz
The Capital Grille Handcrafted Ice Cream
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake
Ceaser Salad
Delmonico Steak
Tomato Soup & Grilled Cheese Sandwich"
Maine Lobster Roll
Wagyu Burger
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Lobster Pot Pie
Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin
Bone-In Kona Crusted Sirloin With Shallot Butter
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
biscotti
Salmon
Coconut Cream Pie

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (77)
fit for foodies (48)
good for groups (42)
See All
notable wine list (36)
great for lunch (35)
romantic (34)
neighborhood gem (17)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was Outstanding!!! The bone i ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everything was Outstanding!!! The bone in filet was incredible!!! Tender and delicious !!! We loved Princess, our server, she was lovely!!

food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Excellent food as always. Rather shocke ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food as always. Rather shocked at the very slow service.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, food and service were first r ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

As always, food and service were first rate. I lunch there frequently and it is always a pleasurable experience. Brought my nephew for lunch and he really enjoyed it.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this is the best Capital Grille in NYC. ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

this is the best Capital Grille in NYC. The food, service and ambiance is better here than at any Grille. For a high end Steak house it delivers every time.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was a little slow just this time ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was a little slow just this time. This is one of my favorite NYC picks.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect! Definitely recommend!

Dined on June 11, 2016

Perfect! Definitely recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch!

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything was great as usual. We worked with a young lady, her name started with Mc....she was awesome. Nicholas Savino was extremely professional. He is a great addition as a Manager. Very friendly and genuine. Thanks for everything, as it is much appreiated! Alan

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good!

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Pre Theater menu is a great bargain for NYC. The steak is the same one that later in the evening is considerably more for exactly the same steak- without the rest of the meal! Dine before 7PM and ask for the special menu! You won't regret it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a winner!

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

I have written a review on this restaurant so many times before and they all say the same thing - excellent on every point! If you love steak then this is for you! We ordered once again the filet mignon! It was prepared exactly the way we like it! The rest of the meal was superb as well! The bread basket is always a delight! We celebrate many special occasions here! Highly recommended!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5

Salad was good but onion soup was like d ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Salad was good but onion soup was like dishwater. No flavor and too much mozzarella uncooked. Service was impeccable though.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall: Lovely!

Dined on June 1, 2016

This place was quiet, romantic, relaxed, and just delicious. The staff was very nice to us, even though we were obviously slightly out of our league here. We had the house wine, which was great. And I had a steak, which melted in my mouth.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

This was our first time at Capital Grille, but it won't be our last. I ordered the Cobb salad. The steak was the best I ever had. My companion had the crab & lobster burger. It was wonderful. The service was excellent. Beautiful decor. The manager even visited our table to see how our meal was. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the most amazing food. KENNY was ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

We had the most amazing food. KENNY was the best waiter I've ever had in my entire life. Go to capital grille and REQUEST KENNY to be your waiter!!!

food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Dissapointed

Dined on May 28, 2016

I was disappointed . The spinach salad had no taste and had large bacon slices in it instead of small chopped crispy pieces. The lamb chops were too sweet; there was either some sort of cranberry or raisin sauce that did not belong on lamb chops. The asparagus had some sort of a lemon taste that no one at the table liked and were inedible. The chocolate cake desert was decent. The service was quite good . I only wish the food had matched the service. Unfortunately I cannot recommend this restaurant to anyone.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good service. Fresh Oyster appeti ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Very good service. Fresh Oyster appetizer very good; steaks a bit pricey, but tasty.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great prix fixe

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

We love coming here for the pre-theatre menu! You can't go wrong and it is still so much food! An appetizer, entrée, side and dessert for $39?? Unbelievable and cooked to perfection. We always have leftovers. Came with three girlfriends to celebrate two of their birthdays. A great night as always. Our steaks were cooked as we ordered them - as they always are.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service! Great food!

Dined on May 19, 2016

We had a very enjoyable lunch for our party of 12. Great service and everyone said their food was delicious!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to celebrate our daughter's Mast ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We went to celebrate our daughter's Master degree. The meal was wonderful and the waiter outstanding. Our one problem was with the hostess staff . We had reserved a table for 8:00 PM to celebrate a graduation. We did arrive a bit few minutes early and we assured we would be seated at 8:00. 8:00 came and went. We had one person who needed to make a train and the hostess staff just said the people at our table were still sitting there. They finally gave us a smaller booth after I asked if there was anything they could do. We were the only party not seated and they kept asking my name as if it was a new problem. The waiter was great and served an appetizer to the person who needed to leave.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Such a nice touch ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Everything was great. Such a nice touch having the GM Melissa come by to check on our experience.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for after an event at Radio City M ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great for after an event at Radio City Music Hall. Private upstairs room was perfect.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

food is great and price is surprisingly ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

food is great and price is surprisingly not high. Pricy wine list for business occasion, while you can still find good but a lot cheaper ones to go with your great food. Convenient commute. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and meal were just wonderful. A ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service and meal were just wonderful. A sincere and warm staff only enhanced the experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner. Food was on spot. Service ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great dinner. Food was on spot. Service was outstanding. Wine list excellent. We went pre theater, had a wonderful dinner and had ample time to stroll to theater. Tremendous dining experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service, consistently delicio ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Impeccable service, consistently delicious food and beautiful ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service is always excellent!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food and service is always excellent!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place for pre-theater dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

From the time we entered the restaurant everything was superb... the menu, the food, service, etc. Highly recommend it.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Lunch

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

This was a lunch meeting with a client in Midtown. Nice selection of both beef and non beef menu items. I had the seared tuna, super fresh with original sauce selections, like white soy sauce, rice vinegar and wasabi oil. Server happily substituted fresh broccoli for ginger rice. My companions had the Asian black cod special, which they both agreed was excellent. Server was charming, friendly and non obtrusive, perfect for a business venue. Value was ok given that it's NYC midtown. I always enjoy Capital Grille.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak is excellent as is Stoli Doli.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Steak is excellent as are the Stoli Dolis. My dinner was wrong and I had to wait at least another 20 minutes to get the right one. Everyone finished before me but waiter comped our three coffee and shared dessert. Very generous

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3

Food was quite good.. But no cares for p ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was quite good.. But no cares for presentation of food. They put our filet mingle on the plate without any presentation or cure.

food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated a birthday and they decora ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We celebrated a birthday and they decorated the table. Service and food was great!

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful visit! Our server was outstand ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Wonderful visit! Our server was outstanding!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice evening

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

I had the NY Strip but I was a little disappointed in it. It was cooked the way I like it (Med. well) but I like a 'char' on the outside of my steaks & it didn't have that. It was as if it was broiled instead of grilled. But the vegetables, asparagus & au gratin potatoes were wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ordered was fantastic.... ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything we ordered was fantastic.... The service was amazing. You cannot go wrong here if you're visiting the city and looking for a little slower paced, intimate dinner experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We came for pre theater dinner. Grandpa ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We came for pre theater dinner. Grandparents plus grandchildren. Our server was wonderful and accommodated our different arrival times and different levels of ordering. The steak was delicious. Okay, generally don't go to any kind of chain, but this was delicious. It was very welcoming and relaxing.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

These guys are outstanding

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

These guys are outstanding

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food

Dined on April 15, 2016

Overall - Capital Grille wasn't bad but I've experienced better in the past as far as service and food - regardless of the order. Here is a response by one of my guest: "I did not like that the fish I ordered, it was swimming in that sauce and I'm sure we ordered crab cakes".

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

The restaurant continues to live up to my highest standards in both food and service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Wonderful restaurant and excellent service! From the moment we stepped in, while having dinner and even as we left, the service was exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. The food cons ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

The service was excellent. The food consistently good and all my guests were very pleased. We have been to Capital Grille many times over the years and have never been disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service5

We needed a place close to our hotel and ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

We needed a place close to our hotel and the theatre district to have a dinner before our show, and although we rarely frequent chain restaurants, we thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed. The decor was warm and club-like, our server was personable, professional, and very helpful, and to be honest...our steaks were excellent! What a pleasant surprise!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.