About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (93)
Business Meals (72)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (69)
Good for a Date (54)
Notable Wine List (51)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Romantic (47)
Good for Groups (45)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Great for Lunch (31)
Bar Seating (24)
Cozy (24)
Private Room (20)
Casual (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Authentic (13)
Open Kitchen (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Family Style (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Historic (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Late-night Find (7)
People Watching (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Fun (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2670 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We come to this restaurant more often than any other for a dependably great evening meal, especially before a Carnegie Hall concert or Broadway performance. The pre-theater meal at $39 (for salad, entree, side, and dessert) is unbelievably fine -- the steak alone usually costs more. All you have to do is to request the pre-theater menu and order before 6:30 p.m. We will be back often!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant was booked for a group of out-of-town business associates who were meeting nearby. The restaurant read the notes I left in my booking, followed up and accommodated a couple of last minute changes. One person in the group didn't eat meat and was pleased to see the fish and vegetable options. Great place to impress with menu items to please a broad range of palates. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, good atmosphere. You must remember to ask for the post/pre theater menu. It is not automatically given to you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing place for either family time, date, or business meetings. The service and the quality of food are amazing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Had the Cesar salad, bone in fillet, sautéed spinach, bottle of wine and coconut cream pie. Here are my notes: Friendly attentive staff

First time for a bone in fillet, nice Sautéd spinach. The fillet was tender and flavorful. Highly Recommend the coconut cream pie unlike any you have had before. Not too sweet, nice presentation and enough for 3 or 4. Nic stopped by to check in on me , nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I eat at this location often. Recently I planned a (significant) birthday party for a friend's wife. Everything was wonderful. The wine list is extensive, therefore enabling everyone to have what they enjoy. The management and staff are superb, and when necessary always accommodating. I highly recommend The Capital Grille in the Time Life Building.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great restaurant. Service was impeccable will definitely suggest to others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great experience. Welcome letter for the staff to my wife who was celebrating a Birthday, along with confetti on the table - nice touch. The bone-in filet was spectacular as was the sea bass. Great food and an incredable

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First timer, and very impressed. EXCELLENT customer service, 2 in our party ran 1/2 late. The young lady who checked us in was so accommodating and friendly, she advised to keep her updated. We sat at the bar, had a drink and waited for our party to arrive. One they arrived we were seated quickly. Our server Brianna was excellent, she was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. From appetizers to desert, the food did not disappoint. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I was surprised and disappointed they never cleared the empty tables around the room. Customers left for the theater and they left the tables full of everyone's dirty dishes. Very unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food. Steak was excellent. Lobster tails were also very good. Very clean, quiet although very busy, waiter was very attentive as was the entire staff. Great professional service. Well worth the expense. Prices were high but to be expected for a very good restaurant in Manhattan. Not over the top. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We went for an early dinner following a matinee on Broadway as we usually do since we like this place so much. My friend had the pre/post theater menu (you have to ask for it) and had the double cut lamb chops (3) with a starter of Cesear Salad and ice cream for desert. I had oysters to start and the seared red snapper special. Although the Capital Grille is a steakhouse, it is also great for fish and seafood. My red snapper was a large boneless filet that was cooked to perfection. We also had great service thanks to Rikki who took great care of us. We shall return soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was great as usual. Melissa Trumbull stopped by to say hello. She makes the whole experience that much better! Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love this place and the team

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Took my girlfriend there for Valentines Day...just like everyone else that was there! Service was amazing and we got seated right away despite a packed waiting area. The food came out right away. Was not as good as I was expecting for the price. Service and atmosphere is what you are paying for if you dine here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The front of the house was amazing... I was running late for my reservation and they were able to change the time for me....👍 but our waiter was ok he didn't check on us, no personality... also it was Valentine's Day and everyone got a rose expect us.....👎 but beside that it was a good restaurant.

Would I eat here again NO!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I love Capital Grille. One of the best steak joints in the country. Always consistently good. This time food was just good, not great. It was Valentine's Day, so I will give them a pass and will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place, fabulous, caring staff. Great food! They make you feel welcome and special.

No negatives at all. Always a first choice when looking for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was perfect! The service and food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent restaurant week menu! Will go back soon..

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was our first time at Capital Grille and we enjoyed everything about it. Our waiter Phil was very friendly and professional. The food was great as were the desserts. We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went for restaurant week 3 times now. They have an amazing deal that is unbeatable. Great food at a good price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always a treat dining at Capital Grille--outstanding food from appetizers to desserts plus a warm, quiet atmosphere and friendly, attentive service. On the pricey side, of course, but worth it especially for a nice occasion.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food and service, would recommend and return in the future..

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great dining experience! Our waiter was wonderful. Food was delicious and we enjoyed a lovely meal. Chilean sea bass was amazing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My buddy and I went here for restaurant week. This is our 1st time. We really found the food to be tasty. I had the salmon, which the sauce was to die for and a cesar salad and my buddy had the sirloin and ice berg lettuce with bacon and blue cheese. But what we liked mostly was our waiter was absolutely awesome; very attentive and funny. We felt very welcomed also because the owner spent time chatting with us and told us about the theatre menu which we look forward to when we return. I thanked her for participating in Restaurant Week and look forward to this experience again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I came here for the restaurant week menu and it was delicious. This is definitely one of those steakhouses you check out using restaurant week and then add to your list of restaurants that you'd come back and pay non-restaurant week prices for. The dry-aged steak was delicious and needed nothing - which is how you know a steak is good. I'd definitely recommend the food here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Had a private room - wait staff was amazing. Not pretensious at all

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food and service were great. Mr. Jose Ortiz provided great service.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Very attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

a great restaurant week option to experience high end dining at a very reasonable price. the food was generously portioned & super delish. nice decor/atmosphere & excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Please eat there...you won't regret it! Best steak ever and the mashed potatoes are something extraordinary. Everyone is as sweet as can be also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Ed Sullivan! Remember that name! His service was above and beyond! And I hope I get him the next time my husband and I dine at The Capital Grille Time Life! This was my second time there and I still have no complaints! Thank you Capital Grille for nailing it again 2 times in a row!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Tried it during restaurant week lunch and loved the food so much that I went back for dinner few days later! Steaks are phenomenal and loved the creme brûlée!!! Must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I brought my husband here to celebrate his birthday before we took in a Broadway show. He was so impressed by the handwritten birthday card on the table when we arrived. Our server Princess was absolutely wonderful and made a point to know our names. Our steaks were cooked to perfection and the wine menu was outstanding. We will definitely go back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was great and our waiter Ryan was such a pleasure!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service the servers were extremely helpful and accommodating. The food was delicious. They ran out of the creme Brule desert but they substituted for cheesecake and it was delicious

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Nick the service manager was great - very attentive and made sure we were taken care of. Food was delicious as always - get the Sam's mashed potatoes!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a 7:45pm reservation and was there by 7:30pm. Waited at least almost 25 mins before getting seated. We were served by Michael and his service was impeccable. Good food, however lobster mac n cheese was so so. Although crunchy but it was dry and not enough cheese. I feel Del Frisco has the best mac n cheese. One star minus was that they didn't give us the bread basket until we saw another table having them. Anyhow we didn't care for and having so much food in the table. Overall everything was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good food and prompt service, just to be expected from a New York establishment. The steaks were well made and tasted delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent meal. Friendly and attentive service. Reservation time was honored. Lovely start to date night with my husband. Great steaks - perfectly cooked.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always have a great steak at Capital Grille. Nice for special occasions and good value during restaurant week

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was great. Loved the Lobster & Mac. The steak kept my husband quiet which meant it was excellent. Will return soon.

One thing I didn't understand was the napkin colors, some people had white and others had black.???

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Have been several times for lunch. Service was particularly poor today--wait staff arguing over covering our table. Aside from waiting almost an hour for our meals, we had to send entrees back for two diners in group. Wait staff members (2) we had were a bit rude. I more than likely will not go back.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Steak came out kind of cold. Not sure why, I asked for a medium and it took awhile to come out. Maybe someone forgot to bring it out?? Friend's salmon was pretty delicious though! Server came by twice- once to take our order and once to give us the check. Had to ask for a refill and he dropped it off without stopping. Wasn't asked how our food came out or how everything was (which is why I just ate the steak). Being a server myself, I know sometimes it get busy and you get behind. A simple "sorry I wasn't around, it's a little busy today" would have made me feel a little better about the lack of attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very nice experience the second time at this venue. Well taken care of my our waiter Phil!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I love the ambiance and atmosphere the waiters are friendly and courteous the food is great i dont like vegetables but i eat them when i go here and the drinks are cool and refreshing and the ladies room is clean and spacious overall experience marvelous and splendid

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Our experiences at the Capital Grille are almost always excellent, but this time it fell woefully short. My wife wanted her steak cooked well done and it arrived medium rare, I asked them to hold my steak while they cooked hers correctly and when they brought them back mine was over cooked and had to be redone, so the goal of eating together was defeated. The steak they finally brought me was cooked right, but had no char on the outside and was the thinnest steak of I've ever had in a steakhouse and it certainly didn't taste like a quality dry aged steak. I think I'll avoid during Restaurant Week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The first waiter we saw is/was always GReAT! Tall guy with long hair. I think EDWARD? But then mostly saw short dark haired gentlemen who was abrupt and short at every turn. And in general the service was very slow and not very attentive. We had to flag sown

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.