Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 6/18
Time
11:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 40 times today

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

4.6
3308 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Business Meals
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 246-0154
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Peter Menard
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Two garages available for parking.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

View Private Dining Details
What 3308 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Great food - great service - always exceeds expectation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We came for the great food and allure that preceded The Capital Grille, what we got was and is what I would assume a true Michelin restaurant would be. Service and staff are beyond words to describe. Appetizers were incredible, salads fresh and crisp, steaks tender and full of flavor just like the sides, and the deserts?? Stuttering good. We came to celebrate my daughters graduation from 8th grade, we left commenting about our waitress (True Class Trough and Through)! There are many great steak houses in the city, we’ve been to most, something about this one and I can’t say what exactly, was extraordinary!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Love this place for business lunch as it is formal but not noisy and tables are not so close to each other. Food is always good. Today we tried the coconut cream pie. It is out of the world! Best coconut cream pie I have ever had.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

I am from Dallas and have been to Capitol grill in several cities. This is the worse service I have recievedm. I had to wait a while before my waiter came over. I sat with an empty drink several times and seemed to always be an afterthought to our waitress.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Lobster roll difficult to eat and with little taste

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The food was absolutely delicious! The service was outstanding. Our anniversary celebration was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

It’s always nice to dine where the restaurant is engaged and empowered to provide the very best food and service. Your absolute enjoyment is their highest priority.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Food and service was excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

We tried pre-theatre menu.
Good value and food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Always a good setting for good conversation, with excellent service and good food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

From pre-dinner drinks at the bar, to great food and service, to the complimentary birthday desserts, it was a great evening for our group of five people. Thanks very much!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Girls night

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 30, 2018

My guest and I had a great time last night. We had the New York Strip Steak and the Swordfish with King Crab topping, the Brussel Sprouts with Soy Sauce and Mashed Potatoes as sides and everything was delicious. But the Brussel Sprouts stood out as amazing. Thanks to Angela and her partner, whose name I didn't get (my apologies) for their cheerful and excellent attention to us. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

I ate with clients and they loved the quality of the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The pre-theater menu is the best value in Midtown. Dinner was great in every way.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Wonderful steak and spinach. Bread basket is fabulous! Delicious creme brûlée. Excellent pre theater menu. Terrific service. Try the infused vodka - the stoli doli

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Outstanding service and food, our server Jeffrey was professional, courteous, extremely efficient.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Fantastic service and the food was amazing. I highly recommend and will be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Always lovely to dine in a Capital Grille, but this establishment is particularly excellent. Everything was perfect, the service and the food could not have been better and we could not have had a better time. Thank you, Capital Grille! We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Steak was good but probably not worth $60 but service was dissapointing. Our server, Jason had a tendency to dissapear for long periods of time. Waited 10-15 mins for a desert menu and another for him to come back - we decided to pass on desert at that point

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Amazing restaurant! Was our first time and New York and will definitely be coming back here on our next visit. Sarah was so helpful and made sure we enjoyed our time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Service for one, especially a woman dining alone, can sometimes be slow and inattentive. Not so The Capitol Grille on Saturday night. Pleased with service, the taste and temperature of the filet, the wine.

Construction on the street requires a temporary sidewalk that obscures the front of the restaurant so it's not so easy to find right now but worth the effort.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The steak is very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Usually I am a huge fan of Capital Grill. I have been there many times and frequented a number of locations. This time they were not as great. The overall temperature of the location was hot. For the first time even I had to send my steak back because it was undercooked. I could tell the minute I looked at it. In addition the waitress seemed extremely busy that night. She was great. Don’t get me wrong, but it seemed like she was running around quite a bit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Exceptional

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Went to celebrate my birthday. Everything was excellent, great food and wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Great dinner with friends before the theater

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We decided to celebrate my birthday at Capital Grill because it is hands down one of my favorite places to dine... the food, service and overall experience is great!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Enjoyed a friend’s birthday dinner after a show.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Our server Jeffrey took excellent care of our party of 10 and made our celebration special.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Too bad the entrance is under construction. Our waitress was in. Bad mode.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It was a little disappointing, because it was Mother’s Day and dinner was just like any other day. When we went to the diner for breakfast, they gave out roses to all the women, but there was nothing special for mothers at the Capitol Grille. While the dinner and the service are generally excellent at this restaurant, as they were on this day-the filet mignon was delicious-, we were disappointed that there wasn’t a little something included to recognize moms for the holiday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great food! Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Everything was wonderful, from the ambience to the service to the food. Our waitress, Nicole, was wonderful. She has served us before and we specifically requested her again and she helped make the night even better. She is an excellent server and has an excellent personality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I would have liked a better table as I prefer corner tables, but it was ok.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Don't order from the wine list. Ordered a bottle of white wine took them 20 minutes to come back to say they did not have. Ordered another and they said"we will see if we have". Disappointing that they have a huge wine list and they have no clue if they have the one you pick out.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Food and service are always dependably excellent. Great wine list. They need to improve the quality of their bar cherries...a small detail and only mention as all the other details are failsafe

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Josise was awesome. He truly made our visit a memorable one. They also made me feel very special for my birthday, with a complimentary champagne, a birthday card and confetti on the table. Thank you for making our visit to NY such an incredible time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

My ribeye steak was delicious. The string beans and tomatoes were good as well as the spinach. My date had the fish special and left her plate clean lol

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

My friend took me here for my Birthday and we tried a lot of appetizers and did something different. Great birthday cakes, too. Nicely decorated table for my birthday. We go here a lot for the past eleven years. Always have great food, especially steaks. Go there. It never disappoints. Neighborhood gem.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
83