Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Pre/post Theatre (43)
Business Meals (41)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Good for a Date (35)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Romantic (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Private Room (7)
Authentic (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
People Watching (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Waterfront (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2800 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 10 hours ago

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Had an early dinner at 4:00
for an early 7:00 show. Hostess was very patient w walking directions from port authority. Bartender was very terrific offering samples of Pinot grigio to choose from. Our waitress was beyond sweet, charming and informative.
She also reminded us of th time so we wouldn't be late for our show.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Superb waitress & customer service, romantic ambience, good food, great drinks and a real pleasure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent steak and pre-theater menu is great. Great for all occasions and simple elegant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I love coming to The Capital Grille with friends -- mostly celebrating birthdays with them. I take them to The Time Life Building location because of the pre-theatre dinner, and my familiarity with some of the staff. The icing on the cake this month (and next month) is their Generous Pour promotion, to go along with the pre-theatre dinner which makes it a win/win. While not inexpensive, it is a great deal for a quality meal, accompanied by wine. The food is always perfectly prepared, the staff is attentive, the ambiance is lovely, and the noise level is well within reason. This is my go-to place for celebrating with my friends and family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great atmosphere and the Wine Selection is phenomenal everything was Cooked to Perfection!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Always a winner! Great lamb chops, filet mignon, spinach, mashed potatoes. Outof this world creme brulee and flourless chocoate cake. Ed Sullivan - best waiter!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This restaurant has great food that is prepared to your wishes. The menu is mostly seafood and steaks. The service is excellent and the wait staff is attentive and available. I recommend this restaurant and will return in the future. I have eaten at other Capital Grilles in different cities and have not been disappointed with the food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Bonnie was a wonderful server. Our food was delicious. we had the bone in Filet Mignon and it was incredible. my daughter was in a steak place and wanted chicken. But it was very delicious. excellent dessert too. portions are huge

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food, service, and ambiance were superior, and we will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great meal and service... though I don't understand why the table for two in front of the restroom is there. Room was fairly empty, so why you would sit anyone there escapes me! I was reseated, but it bothered me the hostess put my wife and I there to begin with..,. a small wrinkle in an otherwise excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great experience. Went for our anniversary. They had a nice card and champagne waiting for us. And a nice dessert tray to finish off the meal. The summer menu included a shaved brussel sprout salad that was delicious. I also had the tuna tartare that was delicious as well. Very fresh and light. One of our favorite restaurants that we choose for special occasions. They did not disappoint once again. Above and beyond what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Fitz was a very attentive server. Caesar salad was yummy. My husband's medium rare steak was cooked perfectly and my scallops were nicely done. Wonderful service and food. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

My server Edgar was amazing!
Will definitely ask for him again.
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We enjoyed a relaxed dinner the other night at The Capital Grille at the The Time Life building. We enjoy a waiter with some personality but it was not to be that night. P

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My wife and I were in the City to see a couple of Broadway plays. In between our matinee and 8pm show we had dinner at the Capital Grille. Our waiter Micheal was great and very attentive. The manager Melissa made our visit a wonderful experience. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner celebrating our friend, Lois, birthday. You are her favorite restaurant as well as mine. Once again, our server, Rikki, was outstanding. He made everything go smoothly and informed us about each wine in the "Generous Pour" . We enjoyed each of them and look forward to coming back to have our favorites. Keep up the great work!

Will

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This was our first time eating at Capital Grille. We were beyond impressed. We went for our anniversary. The atmosphere was warm and cozy. The staff was very warm, friendly and knowledgeable. The food was amazing! We would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Food is always great here as is the wait staff.
Steaks are cooked to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

As a regular diner at this Capital Grille, I always appreciate the attention paid to me when I am dining alone. On this occasion, I had tickets for a Broadway show and needed to be served quickly and leave within 60 and 75 minutes. I ordered from the pre-theatre menu and with the assI stance of my server Brienna, they made it happen. And the meal was excellent. My only complaint is that they have changed the Kona Coffee rub and it is not a good change. Otherwise, this is still my go-to place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

It was an anniversary

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our first time there & we would highly recommend it. Best filet ever!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My best friend was in town for a visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Beautiful place. Dark cozy and intimate with an old time feel. Our server Harrison was phenomenal. The food was delicious. Portions were generous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Pre fathers day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We came in for dinner between the matinee and the dinner performance. The food was good as always, but the servers were less enthusiastic about our presence. We've been here many times and had a lovely time with excellent service so we will not be put off by this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Every aspect of the dining experience is superior- decor, service, quality and quantity of food and drinks. Done there once and I'm sure you will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was delicious! But your menu is very pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Was efficient & fun with easy location in midtownp

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food and Vodka martinies out of this world! Never disappoints and always immpresive for predictable enjoyment with friends, family and clients! Look forward to the next reason the be at the Capital Grille - perhaps tomorrow:)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Absolutely incredible. Worth every penny! I can't say enough about the food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

AMAZING!! When I booked the reservation, I noted that we were celebrating our anniversary . They went all out and wished us verbally a "happy anniversary" and escorted us to our table where they had sprinkled little heart shaped confetti on the table along with a special hand written card wishing us a Happy Anniversary! What a nice touch! The decor was beautiful with rich wood paneling and great layout. Best of all, food was OUTSTANDING! Everything was delicious along with a great plate presentation. Both my husband and I said that this was one of the nicest restaurants we have ever visited in NYC and we would highly recommend and would definitely return!! A+++

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent dinner. The staff went out of their way so we could have a wonderful celebration with champagne and special desserts .

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The dinner we had at capital grill Saturday night was outstanding. Our server Diana was phenomenal, she attended to all our needs. The food was perfect, we have never had a substandard meal there. They are always on their game and always consistent .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Organic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Capital Grille is always great. For the 1st time, our service was not we are used to. We have been many times and would not hesitate to return. Next time we would ask that our food order be returned to the kitchen, and they start from the beginning. Don't be put off; we have been here 12-15 times in the last few years and love it.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great steak very nice restaurant excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Outstanding experience in every regard at The Capital Grille in Manhattan. Absolutely impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary. We were treated by a beautifully decorated table, lovely card and champagne! It made our dinner very special. The waitress was so sweet, patient and helpful. We enjoyed our dinner rather than being rushed through it. The food was very good -- although the creamed spinach was lacking flavor. The lamb chops were cooked perfectly and so was my husbands steak. We did not go home hungry!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Really nice..my daughter's birthday and high school graduation selibration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Usually love this place but our server pretty muchessed up every part of our meal from our drinks to every course that followed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.