About The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building

120 West 51st Street, Time Life Bldg.
New York, NY 10020
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.
* If you are making a reservation from outside of the U.S., please email newyorktimelife@tcgdine.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 246-0154

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Two garages available for parking.

Executive Chef:
Peter Menard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today. Can accommodate up to 35 guests per private dining room.

Restaurant Photos

Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake
Lobster Mac & Cheese
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Shallot Butter Sauce
Sam's Mashed Potatoes
New England Clam Chowder
Double Cut Lamb Rib Chops
Lobster Salad
Bread Basket
Fresh Creamed Spinach
Field Greens, Tomatoes & Fresh Herbs
Lobster Mac'n'Cheese
Hamburger
Citrus Glazed Salmon
crabcake
Classic Crème Brulée
 Seared Citrus Glazed Salmon
The Capital Grille Handcrafted Ice Cream
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake
Ceaser Salad
Filet Mignon 10Oz
Caesar Salad
Delmonico Steak
Tomato Soup & Grilled Cheese Sandwich"
Wagyu Burger
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Filet Mignon
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Clam Chowder
Bone-In Kona Crusted Sirloin With Shallot Butter
Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Cheesecake
Breast Of Chicken Confit
French Greens Beans With Shallots
Bone-In Aged Sirloin Steak
biscotti
Salmon
Coconut Cream Pie
Lemon Sorbet
Creme Brulee
Double-cut Lamb Rib Chops

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event. Our event planning staff has the experience and materials to work with.

The Capital Grille - NY – Time Life Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (99)
Good for Groups (63)
Fit for Foodies (60)
See All
Romantic (53)
Great for Lunch (51)
Notable Wine List (45)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2300 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was awesome. Our favorite place. Se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was awesome. Our favorite place. Service was very slow for some reason. Not usually like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our experience at the Capital Grille was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our experience at the Capital Grille was outstanding. Our server, Kenny Handler was very helpful and made our dining experience unforgettable. What a wonderful, delicious meal!

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive, but the food is excellent. H ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Expensive, but the food is excellent. Highly recommended for any special event.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Another great meal at this restaurant ac ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Another great meal at this restaurant accompanied by superlative service by Brandon. We would follow Brandon to any restaurant he works in as long as the food matches his service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 3 friends and I had an incredible nig ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My 3 friends and I had an incredible night last Friday, August 19th. We were there for the Generous Pour and it turned out to be the last night of Restaurant Week, so we took advantage of that as well. The food was as great as usual and the wines served as part of the Generous Pour ranged from good to excellent. Our wonderful server, Sarah Stone, was as amazing as usual. She kept things moving and took great care of us with wit and verve. We left with full stomachs, a little tipsy and extremely happy. Thanks again to the Capital Grille Time Life. I will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Capital Grille during Restaur ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went to Capital Grille during Restaurant Week in NYC. We had been to several other restaurants during the week and ate their special menu offerings. Capital Grille served normal portions and regular menu items at the Restaurant Week price. The food was excellent, the service impeccable, and the ambience very elegant. We highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was one of the best steak dinners i h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

it was one of the best steak dinners i had in the city and i enjoyed it very much!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great sirloin. Porterhouse a little bit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great sirloin. Porterhouse a little bit overcooked. Wine by the glass too expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Firstly, our ‪‎appetizer did not impress ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Firstly, our ‪‎appetizer did not impress at all. It was a quartered ‪‎lettuce with ‪‎Blue Cheese sauce & ‪‎bacon bits. Really? A quartered lettuce?

Our ‪‎entreé‬ did not improve the dining experience. The ‪sirloin‬ ‪steak‬ looked really good when it arrived. The outside was grilled to perfection. However, when I cut into it, my medium rare steak looked very peculiar. I put a piece in my mouth & wondered whether the meat was pre-cooked & finished on the grill. It didn't taste like meat at all! It tasted more like tender rubber. Is this how American steakhouses do steak?

Finally, I ordered a ‪‎Generous Pour‬ & it didn't seem very generous at all. There was a line on the glass indicating how much wine should be inside but it was only 2/5 of their ‪goblet‬.

Nonetheless, the ‪service‬ was ‪excellent‬. Our server took good care of us & was very professional. The ‎bread‬ basket was good. Their ‎fries‬ were good. Their ‎dessert‬ (‪‎Créme Brulee‬ & ‪‎cake‬) was good too.

I hope that their Restaurant Week offering is not a real depiction of their kitchen's ability because I am severely disappointed & Never Returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

The service was excellent and so was the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was excellent and so was the food, best hamburger and fries in New York City!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak was not seasoned well. For thi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The steak was not seasoned well. For this price might as well go to STT steakhouse, Delmonicos, Porter house and even better Peter Luger.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was excellent as always! It wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was excellent as always! It was only surpassed by the service of our server---Brandon. He was one of the most professional waiters I have seen in a long time. Brandon is definitely the good will ambassador for the Capital Grille in the Time Life Building.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, service, setting. Pr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outstanding food, service, setting. Pricey but that is to be expected. Love the place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Celebrated shared birthdays and the staf ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Celebrated shared birthdays and the staff couldn't be nicer. We were presented with complimentary glasses of champagne and a lovely cheesecake for dessert. The food was great as usual but the service was 2nd to none. A great evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

From the moment we walked in we were tre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

From the moment we walked in we were treated like we were the only customers the staff needed to worry about. The service was excellent. The food was delicious. The steaks were incredible and the mashed potatoes were awesome! Finished dinner with the tastiest desserts. All in all the experience was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant has an ambient atmospher ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant has an ambient atmosphere. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and gave us some really good recommendations. She asked us if we re seeing a show. When we told her that we were seeing a show afterwards, she made sure that dinner was served in a timely, yet not rushed fashion. The food was delicious in generous portions. We will come back again, as we have in the past.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant week menu was excellent. Ever ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Restaurant week menu was excellent. Everything was delicious. Very enjoyable evening.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went for restaurant week. Dry-aged bone- ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went for restaurant week. Dry-aged bone-in strip was cooked perfectly. The generous pour is a great way to supplement your meal. Service was great. Our waiter kept coming back with bottles to refill our generous pour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Great value for restaurant w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Good food. Great value for restaurant week. Also had a theatre menu which was of great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible meal! In honor of a member of ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Incredible meal! In honor of a member of my party's birthday, the staff decorated the table and provided a hand written note and champagne. Samantha was truly exceptional in making our experience so memorable. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, people and service! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Outstanding food, people and service! Outstand food, people and service. Outstanding food, people and service. Outstanding food, people and service. Outstanding food, people and service. Outstanding food people and service. Outstanding food, people and service. Outstanding food, people and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I tried Capital Grille for the first tim ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I tried Capital Grille for the first time during NY restaurant week. It was an excellent value. Starting with signature crafted cocktails- then on to wedge salad and our entrees- Everything was delicious. I was skeptical as the restaurant is part of a chain. No problem- excellent- I would happily return to dine at the Capital Grille- great food, drink and service. We leisurely dined for almost 3 hours- I expected them to turn the table- did not happen. Great experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed the food and the waiter ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I really enjoyed the food and the waiters were excellent. I should have asked for their names. This was my first visit and look forward to visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went here for restaurant week. It was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We went here for restaurant week. It was an amazing value and the food was phenomenal. I will def be going back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gabe the bartender is AWESOME! I will c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Gabe the bartender is AWESOME! I will come back just to sit at the bar with him! Food was good and the staff was nice, friendly and did a wonderful job. Nice to visit during restaurant week. The mac and cheese is amazing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server Richard James was wonderful. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server Richard James was wonderful. We had an accidental spill and he quickly changed the table linen and was so sweet. This was our first time and we were celebrating my son's 18th birthday and it was really a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and service. Enjoyed the gene ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food and service. Enjoyed the generous pour getting yo taste various wines. Our server was terrific!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 5 for the Generous Pou ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a group of 5 for the Generous Pour event. We also ordered off the theater menu (which for some reason they try to keep a secret) so it was quite a bargain. Food was very good but entrees were served and then we waited 5 minutes for the sides. Reason stated was that it was super busy on that Saturday night. Unusual for what we have come to expect from them. A fluke, but still strange.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Outstanding food, outstanding service. W ...

 
 (Leicestershire)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding food, outstanding service. We are on a flying visit from the UK to see Cats on Broadway and choose this as our pre show dinner venue. We weren't disappointed, everything about it exuded 'class'. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining at CG was great. Below is what I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Dining at CG was great. Below is what I ordered:

Steak- really good

Wedge-delicious

Calamari- yum!

Chocolate cake- too rich. The creme brûlée was delicious.

Generous pour- well worth it!!

Customer service was superb!!! Our sever Richie was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious, and we were seat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was delicious, and we were seated in a cozy smaller dining room. Our server, Princess was her name was the best, patient, caring and attentive. It was a very enjoyable evening and look forward to going back again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille is the best. My co-worke ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Capital Grille is the best. My co-workers and I always go to the Capital Grille for lunch and dinners. Great steak and fish. They always deliver the best food and service. We frequent it at least every month to every two months. Great desserts. Also, great for Restaurant Week.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to dine, the service, food a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great place to dine, the service, food and drinks are always superb! Great atmosphere and the background music is enjoyable! Enjoyed the "Generous Pour Summer Wine Event." It is one of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here to enjoy lunch at restauran ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We came here to enjoy lunch at restaurant week. The deserts are amazing, both chocolate and brulee. The steak is very tender, we all love it very much. We ordered seasonal soup but not so liked it because it is a kind of common seafood soup, just not suit us well.

We love the environment very much!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Part of an anniversary celebration and i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Part of an anniversary celebration and it couldn't have been nicer. Service was friendly and impeccable. It was bonus to order from the National Restaurant Week menu, but I would have cheerfully paid full freight.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly the best meal I've ever had. The s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Truly the best meal I've ever had. The service, the quality, the ambiance! I'll be back next week!! Thanks for a magical night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our restaurant week meal at The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Enjoyed our restaurant week meal at The Time-Life location as much as at any steak house I have eaten at in NYC. Service was outstanding. Huge wine list, mostly American, with a lot offered by the glass. Perfect cosmopolitan shaken at the table. Warm rolls to start. Then shared a lobster mac+cheese with a lot of big chunks of lobster and the wedge salad with their own creamy, blue cheese dressing and crisp bacon pieces. The NY strip, ordered medium, came rare which was more to my taste as this cut was very tender served that way. Ended with a slice of their luscious chocolate espresso cake along with an espresso with a nice cap of crema on top. Not cheap, but well worth the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Front desk ignored us, then ignored our ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Front desk ignored us, then ignored our request for a table instead of a booth bc we need an accessible location, the seated others who came in later before us, then finally seated us but at a booth, then made us wait again in an awkward location before reluctantly giving us a table. Annoying and unacceptable.

Server and food were good once we were finally seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Good food. Great service. Nice atmosphe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good food. Great service. Nice atmosphere. I would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful server Amanda and nice Manager ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wonderful server Amanda and nice Manager Nick. Everything was perfect. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.