About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Crystal Morris

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

14 oz Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin  with Shallot Butter
Cheesecake
Mashed Potatoes And Green Beans
Ceasar Salad And A Glasss Of Zinfandel Wine
Surf & Turf / Shrimps With Petit Filet Mignon
Cosmo
Tenderloin
Filet Migon Topped With Lobster Tail
Field Greens Salad
Truffle Parmesan Fries
Open-Faced Chicken With Tomato And Arugula
Lobster Roll With Truffle Fries
Lobster and Crab Cakes
French Onion Soup
Steak Au Poivre
Stoli Doli
Chocolate Hazelnut Cake
Habanero infused vodka
Au Gratin Potatoes
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
1/2 Of A Bone In Ribeye
the iceberg wedge salad
14 Oz Bone- In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin W/ Butter Poached Lobster
Bread Basket
Waygu Beef Carpaccio With Lobster Croquette
Fried Calamari
Maine Lobster Roll
Sliced Filet Mignon With Mushrooms And Onions
House Made Grapefruit Soda
Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers
Wagyu Burger
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
flourless chocolate cake
Creme Brulee
Filet Mignon
Halibut And Fillet Mignon

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Food
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Service
Minneapolis - St. Paul
11 More
Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Notable Wine List
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Steakhouse
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Overall
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Food
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Service
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Steakhouse
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

special occasion (116)
fit for foodies (68)
romantic (68)
See All
notable wine list (65)
good for groups (37)
great for lunch (25)
hot spot (19)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Capital Grille never disappoints! Food i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Capital Grille never disappoints! Food is great, wait staff is great, even the hostess!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great! Can't w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service were great! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. I had the porcini ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful experience. I had the porcini rubbed tenderloin and my wife had the filet. Mine was good but my wife's filet was exquisite. I would also highly recommend the prosciutto wrapped mozzarella. The Service is always amazing!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Had a fabulous dinner! Loved the menu f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had a fabulous dinner!

Loved the menu for Resturant week, have been trying to get in for years during this week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They always go above and beyond to excee ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

They always go above and beyond to exceed expectations at this place. It is my favorite restaurant in the Twin Cities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Michael did a terrific job fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our server Michael did a terrific job for us. We have a special needs son and he was able to present the salad to him the way he wanted. The food was very good and service was timely.

My wife had to head back to work and was able to bring dessert (plus) to go. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To me, Capital Grille is the best steakh ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

To me, Capital Grille is the best steakhouse in Minneapolis. Everything from the moment you walk in and until you leave is top notch. This was a Restaurant Week visit, and that is the best deal in town. The offerings are perfect and delicious. At the same time, Capital Grille offers "A Generous Pour" which allows you to sample various wines to accompany your meal. Our server Chris had incredible knowledge of the wines and his suggestions were right on.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for "Restaurant Week", plu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were there for "Restaurant Week", plus it was our 63rd Anniversary. Our very good friends, Tom and Karen joined us, and all our meals and service were outstanding.

The menu choices for "Restaurant Week" were extremely attractive as well.

I thought it was the best "Restaurant" meal that I've had in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We received excellent, prompt service. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We received excellent, prompt service. The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went during restaurant week and enjoy ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We went during restaurant week and enjoyed our meal. The salad and entree were excellent. The sugar crust of the creme brûlée was a little 'soggy' in places but the flavor was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another wonderful meal had by all in our ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Another wonderful meal had by all in our party. The filet was out of this world.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet Mignon is fantastic, cooked to per ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Filet Mignon is fantastic, cooked to perfection. Espresso cake is also my go-to dessert. Great service. Best place to go during Mpls StPaul Magazine Restaurant Week.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food and service as usual! T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Incredible food and service as usual! The Capitol Grill is fine dining at its best!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! A fun Mpls. Ret ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and service! A fun Mpls. Retaurant Week experience!!!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic. I had the filet ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was fantastic. I had the filet mingon, I didn't need a steak knife. The dessert was wonderful. Only thing I would change is take a few tables away, it was very dificult to get by people in chairs. I sat way on the end by the door, I am very claustrophobic, if the door was not there I would not have been able to sit there.

The atmosphere is great with all the big pictures hanging Lovely place. We will come again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been frequenting this establishmen ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We've been frequenting this establishment for years. The service is bar none, and the food is always cooked the way you want. What more can you ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and service was over the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was great and service was over the top. It was my daughter's birthday and we celebrated in style.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic! The staff was so ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was fantastic! The staff was so nice and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the ambiance and were disappo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We enjoyed the ambiance and were disappointed with the food. We would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We were very disappointed with the food. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were very disappointed with the food. There was very little flavor in the dry-aged steak and the scallop w/cous cous yet the price sure suggested that the flavor would be abundant. The steak tartar was poorly executed (large chunks of steak that again, had very little flavor). The caprese salad dide was comprised of two whole tomatoes topped with one slice of mozzarella each. We have dined often at The Capital Grille, but this was our last. Sorry, CG, we are through.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

We celebrated our 5 year anniversary at ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We celebrated our 5 year anniversary at the Capital Grill on July 9th, 2016. The table was ready when we arrived early. The table was decorated with little red hearts for the occasion. The waiter was superb and provided champagne for us to toast our anniversary. We ordered the Chilean Sea Bass and a 10 oz. filet to share. Each was divided and presented on a separate plate for each of us. The Tomato and Mozzarella salad was enormous and I took home half of it and it kept well overnight in the fridge. We also shared a half portion of au gratin potatoes which was just the right amount for two people. My medium rare filet came out perfectly. My husband's medium-well was more medium and very red in the center. My portion of sea bass was cooked just right, but the half that my husband received was rubbery and disappointing.

We didn't have room for dessert, but the waiter brought out a complimentary anniversary plate of dense chocolate espresso cake, berries with whipped cream and a cheesecake with a crème brulee type top. It was a perfect touch to a lovely dinner.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was phenomenal. Wait staff were ver ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was phenomenal. Wait staff were very professional. We celebrated our 10 year anniversary and loved every minute of our experience. A must for steak lovers as I have never had such a great steak. Thanks capital grille for making our special day the best it could be.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions are very generous. ..definitely ...

 
 (Fargo)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Portions are very generous. ..definitely consider sharing plates especially if your from out of town and not equipped to take home left overs! Food was delicious just wish our server would have been more up front about portions, we felt so wasteful having to leave so much food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

An elegant restaurant with excellent ser ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

An elegant restaurant with excellent service. An urban feel, a good place to celebrate or relax with friends

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my birthday there. The lobste ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Celebrated my birthday there. The lobster bisque and mac & cheese were my favorites! Also loved the bday dessert. Really enjoyed the wine list being on a tablet so you could see more details. Plus great service! A little spendy but great for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at the Capital Grille to celebrat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We ate at the Capital Grille to celebrate our anniversary. Our server started our experience with a restaurant provided glass of champagne anniversary toast and everything got even better after that. This was our 1st time dining at the Capital Grille. We had a wonderful meal and a very memorable time. Our waitress was great! We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always I was impressed with the excel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

As always I was impressed with the excellent service and food. They met all my needs and requests.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went there for our anniversary (they ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went there for our anniversary (they knew in advance). Our waiter (Dave) has been there 8 years - very friendly and attentive but not 'stuffy'. They were 10 minutes late in seating us and he was very apologetic. They provided some awesome extras - glass of champagne for each, an appetizer and dessert with Happy Anniversary written on the plate in chocolate syrup. The food matched Dave's excellent service. We highly recommend Capital Grille.

As a word of caution, it is located in a somewhat rough neighborhood. We took the light rail and 'uncomfortably' walked 6 blocks from the station to the restaurant. We discovered they provide free valet service so will definitely use that next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was more than excellent, it ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was more than excellent, it was superb. They were very careful to accommodate my fathers allergies to sesame seeds. I ordered the scallops, which were not cleaned properly ,and still contained grit.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Open Table had my name wrong on the rese ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Open Table had my name wrong on the reservation - Capital Grille is always the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Grille many times. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We have been to the Grille many times. This was one of those evenings that should have been relaxed, but because we were running late, it was more stressed than we had anticipated. Luckily, Dave, our server came to the rescue. He managed to create a well orchestrated dining experience that was very satisfying and got us out the door to our show, with time to spare. I had the crab/lobster cakes which were wonderful. My husband had a filet cooked to perfection. We enjoyed fresh salads and shared hash browns (not on the menu) to round out the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go there after shows and on special o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We go there after shows and on special occasions. We've never been disappointed with the food or service.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there on our anniversary a few week ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Went there on our anniversary a few weeks back. Had a filet and my wife had lobster. This particular location salted our food beyond what would be considered normal. Ordered my steak medium and it came out well done. Completely unacceptable for over a $200 meal. They did provide us with a small desert at no charge. Oh well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

In Minneapolis probably the top place to ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

In Minneapolis probably the top place to eat, second best steak in town. Good for business dinner or to impress a date. The wine list seems to have been paired back, still plenty of choices but seems to have less selection of foreign wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All staff were kind, efficient and welco ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

All staff were kind, efficient and welcoming. This was my first visit here and I will definitely return. The food was prepared perfectly and the bread was so delicious I skipped dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good as usual but the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was very good as usual but the service, which is normally very good was not at all good. The server was slow, not very clear, and almost seemed afraid or nervous. Not the best for a business lunch.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Our standby for special occasions. Alw ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Our standby for special occasions. Always a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Sandy Erickson was our s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great service. Sandy Erickson was our server and she was fantastic. I'd noted that it was my husband's birthday in advance and there was birthday confetti on the table. Then awesome little desserts (two!) before we left. We had surf and turf and it was very good. We'd definitely go again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

seated in the back room which wasn't as ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

seated in the back room which wasn't as fun but everything else was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Always an exemplary experience! Our go t ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Always an exemplary experience! Our go to when expecting the finest dining in Minneapolis.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.