About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $10 begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Adam Bartos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

We invite you to make our dining room yours on Thanksgiving Day. Alongside our full menu, we'll be offering our Executive Chef's take on Thanksgiving favorites.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Good for a Date (67)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
See All
Good for Birthdays (53)
Business Meals (52)
Romantic (50)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Notable Wine List (33)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Authentic (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (10)
Fun (7)
Disabled Access (6)
People Watching (6)
Casual (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
3034 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

The Capital Grille is always a great dining experience for us. We go a couple of times a year for date nights and for anniversary dinners.

The food is always delicious and we have never had a bad plate of anything. You must try the Au Gratin potatoes.

The waitstaff are some of the best in the industry. Knowledgeable, courteous and patient, they add the extra touch a nice meal requires. We’ve had John several times now and make requests to have him if he’s available.

If you’ve never been, you will need to make a reservation, preferably a day or more in advance depending on your desired day and time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined a day ago

Excellent all the way atiunf

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined 4 days ago

As always the Capital Grill is a perfect restaurant. I had lunch there this time and was so pleased with the food and service. I had a lobster and crab cake sandwich on Brioche bun. A perfect 10.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect evening. Great seating. Outstanding service. Excellent food. Patz n Hall chardonnay was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The six of us had dinner las t night for our fortieth anniversary. The service was stellar. However, a couple of things kept the experience below what we have come to expect from this restaurant which saddens me. First, no more complimentary valet parking, which is an annoyance more than a big deal but when you spend $800 on dinner for six that exta 10 bucks per car (we came in three cars) plus tip, was....... a very average amuse bouche. I tried a new appetizer advertised as garlic shrimp on crostini which was very flavorful shrimp on soggy bread chunks, not what I expected and definitely knife and fork which I don’t usually associate with appetizer course and not easily shared. Our main courses were then delivered before I had finished my appetizer and while everyone else was putting their last mouthful of soup or salad in their mouth, not optimal. The salads were a success but my husband said the usually delicious French onion soup was far too salty. I had the steak au poivre, usually I have a filet and am more than delighted. The strip was overcooked, with no pink to be seen in the steak ordered medium. My husbands porcini rubbed steak, one of his favorites was much more grisly and fatty than he was used to, not Well marbled but un trimmed. My son had the same steak with the same problem. My daughter and daughter in law had the tuna and halibut which they said were delicious though the tuna was a bit overcooked. The sides were delicious but while three usually are plenty for six we felt we should have ordered four, that portions were smaller than in the past, though prices certainly were not smaller. We each had a cocktail and shared a bottle of moderately priced wine, my son in law had two craft beers. My husband and I had a complimentary dessert, delicious, but again, less generous than in the past, while our children shared two other desserts which they enjoyed, though the famous Capital Grille cheesecake is about half the size it used to be. I am sad

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Great food and fantastic service. The Capital Grille will not disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Was a bit disappointed with tonight's dining experience. We were out celebrating a special occasion... our son's graduation. First was we were seated and as usual there were white napkins on the table but I was wearing black pants and have always been offered or automatically given a black napkin when seated. I consider that the sign of an upscale restaurant. I have ALWAYS been given a black napkin when dining here... well not tonight. After obviously not touching my napkin I actually had to ask for a black napkin when our waiter finally appeared. He seemed a bit put off with my request. He also never took my white napkin away. It was a busy night and our waiter was busy with another table that was obviously more of a money maker, but the other waitstaff picked up the slack with filling water and delivering food. Other staff delivered our food to the table. We had already been eating awhile after our meal was served before our waiter finally appeared to ask how everything was. Tonight just wasn't the attentive service we've received in the past. We did receive a complimentary dessert because of our special celebration, which was nice, but in the past we were also offered a glass of champagne or similar. Also when we arrived, there was graduation confetti on the table yet when our waiter finally arrived he said happy birthday, so he was obviously not tuned into our table. So with that, the napkin, etc., I just didn't feel like the service and evening was up to par. We still had a delicious dinner and nice time... it was just a bit disappointing they weren't on their game tonight. We may try another place for dinner next time.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Very enjoyable anniversary dinner. However, prices seem very high without the benefit of an expense account.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Nice food. Quick service that helped us get to a show on time. The server asked whether we were seeing a show and made sure we got out in time. Also, ask if you can get the burger from the bar menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Appetizer and Main course Bland. Dessert was Fantastic! Not the best experience overall.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

The team went all out for my girlfriend's birthday. They greeted her at the host stand with a Happy Birthday. Decorated our table. Gave us each a glass of champagne. And free dessert! Top notch and made my girlfriend's birthday extra special. Thank you!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

One of my 2 favorite steaks in the Cities. Service is always great. It was my wife's birthday and several employees acknowledged her birthday. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Beautiful, classic restaurant in downtown Minneapolis. Close to theaters on Hennepin. Great food. Great service. Great drinks. You can actually have a conversation here...noise level is very low.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

Never disappointed with the Minneapolis Capitalnl Grille. The service and dining experience is at the perfect pace, and the food is excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

The group had bone-in beef tenderloins oscar, bone-in lamb ribs oscar and lobster tail. All were prepared perfectly and were melt in your mouth delicious. As was lobster bisque and clam chowder. Fine dining at its best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Excellent food and service. Thank you for the wonderful anniversary surprises. The lobster was a treat too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

We went for my mom's wedding dinner and The Capital Grille team made it amazing...from our awesome server, Todd, to the food, the complimentary champagne, the beautiful congratulations dessert...We LOVED IT!
Thank you!!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on October 29, 2017

I generally rate The Capital Grille 5 stars. But there were some hic-cups.
First off they no longer off complimentary valet/parking.
Second they never acknowledged our anniversary.
Third there were toddlers running around the dining area and infants crying in the adjacent area.
This was very distracting and took away from our special evening.
The service was not as seamless as in the past. We got the impression the server was new.
They have a very comprehensive wine-by-the-bottle selection but not so much by-the-glass.
As an example: Only one Malbec.
All of this is a departure from what we're used to at The Capital Grille.
I hope it was a one-off.
The food though, was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great place for anniversart

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on October 28, 2017

My wife and I went late this past Saturday evening to celebrate a job promotion. The food (she had the lamb and I had the veal) and service were excellent as usual. Unfortunately, the Timberwolves game was ending just as we were leaving and, as a result, we waited nearly a half hour for the valet in the very cold and jammed alcove area. We later learned that some of the basketball teams' "posses" and some theatergoers eat before going to the wolves game and then leave their cars with the restaurant valet until the game is done. So, although Capital Grille is one of the top restaurants in Minneapolis, I'd suggest that you don't time your departure to coincide with the end of a wolves game or show.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food quality is always outstanding. Lobster Mac is exceptional. Wine list is extensive and service is always top notch. A must stop every time I am town.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Excellent food and a very attentive waiter. The wait staff is empowered to ensure the patrons have a memorable evening. Exceptional wait staff.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Ryan served us for our business lunch yesterday. The service, presentation, and overall food selection was excellent. I would highly recommend the ribeye sandwich for lunch. Melt in your mouth goodness.

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

Excellent meal! Wait staff was attentive, suggested good merlot, and tasty sides for steak. The sauteed spinach was a bit salty but well cooked. The birthday dessert was very good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on October 23, 2017

Absolutely AMAZING time...as usual! We had Ryan as our server and he was fantastic, fun, very high attention to detail, and attentive. He made our evening very memorable. We love Capital Grille for the ambiance, the impeccable wine list, service and food that melts in your mouth. I would/do recommend this restaurant to all family and friends. It is a bit pricey but completely worth it... everyone should enjoy this establishment at least once in their life.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

We had a gathering for a friends birthday dinner. The floor manager was excellent as out table was not ready on time. We appreciated the complementary appetizers and great wait staff that catered to our table. This is one of the reasons I love coming here. As always, we will be back for the great food, staff and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

We had a wonderful Anniversary dinner- our waiter did a great job- always attentive but not overbearing. Food was excellent and a great wine list. We will come back again- Thanks

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

As always food and service was wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on October 21, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary last evening at capital grill and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The host was accommodating to make sure we had a table away from the kitchen as requested. Our server made sure our anniversary was special with some nice touches and made our evening one to remember.. The food, as always was wonderful too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on October 21, 2017

I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT The Capitol Grille!
GREAT People
GREAT Food
GREAT Cocktails
GREAT Valet
GREAT Location

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

The food was excellent right along with the service. I am already planning my return trip, well done.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Fabulous as always. Everyone in our party of eight thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Steaks are always perfectly prepared. Staff is accommodating and professional. We will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

It was the final day of Restaurant Week and this was out first visit to Capital Grill. The service was totally amazing as the food. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Perfect in every respect! Attentive staff but not intrusive, great food, perfectly timed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Server Chris was very nice to us, and the food came out perfectly one after another.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Service and ambiance was nice. The restaurant week selections did not well reflect the best choices of the establishment, I don’t think. My wife had the salmon and I suppose she enjoyed it. I had the burger because I don’t eat fish and the other options were boring. The burger was okay but frankly I’d rather have a burger at Wild Bills in Woodbury or 5 Guys. Their french fries were awful. I really enjoy the creme brûlée.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
·Dined on October 18, 2017

Went for Minneapolis restaurant week - nothing short of amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

Our waiter Jeff was outstanding. The food was top notch but Jeff made the night. Can’t say enough about his service, recommendations, and demeanor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful steak dinner during restaurant week and it was an amazing value. Food and service was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

Consistently great food. Impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.