The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

4.8
3248 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(612) 692-9000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Adam Bartos
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
8th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking for $10 begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

View Private Dining Details
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

This is my favorite place for steak in Minneapolis, but everything on menu is outstanding. Service was perfect- shout out to our waiter, Michael. He was perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Always such great service and food at the Capital Grille! They do an excellent job in Minneapolis! We had the Waygu Strip and it was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

I attended this restaurant for fathers day and was not let down by the rich atmosphere and antique decor. I had the Wagyu which was brought out before hand and shown to be of high quality. The service was immaculate and the food very palatable. Overall would highly recommend for special occasions or an intimate dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Cory did a great job. Food on par. Overall good experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Loved the way they helped us celebrate our anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

We arrived to a table topped with rose petals because we were celebrating. We enjoyed a delicious cocktail and a glass of champagne. We decided to split a steak as we were seeing a show later that evening and didn’t want leftovers. A small side of mashed potatoes arrived with the steak even though we didn’t order it. Our waitress was right to think that we’d enjoy the steak better with an accompaniment such as the potatoes. Our waitress was most correct. The steak went down much better than with the potatoes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

The food and service here remains outstanding. We e been going here for years before we go to the theater. Portions are big. The restaurant is very gracious about splitting portions of all courses.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Always a great experience both in the Service and Food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Fantastic steak. Wonderfully charred, and perfectly cooked. I can always count on the Capital Grill to deliver a fantastic meal. I would say that $95 for one person is a bit steep. That would be my only negative comment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Excellent food! Expensive! Went there for son's birthday and I put that in the reservation; they did a great job of making him feel special and as the "guest of honor". Although a bit spendy, we were very happy with our meals.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Server was great. The experience was rocky at the beginning but it got better quickly once the server introduced herself

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Outstanding meal, great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

23rd anniversary, Lynn was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

As always, impeccable service from front end staff to table service and bus staff. Awesome. Food always outstanding, even when asking for menu 'tweaks' to accomodate our children. Food was served timely, and server was great in being there when needed and not hovering. Memorable as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Jon did a great job a little too dark in the restaurant and noisy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

I ordered the Sirloin with lobster tail and Sam's mashed potatoes and lobster mac n cheese and it was well worth the money spent! The food was gourmet and the service was outstanding! My boyfriend took me for my 23rd birthday and I was given a complementary dessert for my special day. I was beyond happy and satisfied with my meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

We had a great dinner with great service. Tony did an incredible job.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Had a great night. We were very well taken care of!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

This is a steak lovers paradise. They know how to cook a steak and the meat is excellent. I chose the sliced fillet with onions and mushrooms and figs. My husband chose the big T-bone and he loved it. The salads were OK. The martini was shaken at the table which was special. Only criticism was the dessert I chose banana sorbet and it was too heavy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Probably the best overall experience and food I’ve ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Steak was perfect - tasty and tender, each of the other elements perfect as well : French onion soup, brussel sprouts, pear salad, and beet salad. Will return. The anniversary dessert was a delicious and delightful surprise.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

All was great as it usually is at Capital Grille except my wife’s veal chop came out raw inside when she asked for medium. So they took both our entrees back so we could dine together.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Friday Night 5/18. 6 of us outstanding service and food. Steaks were great as were the Scallops . Highly recommend the Capital Grille. Minneapolis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Our server Jeff was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

The experience was awesome I love how they had the table set up for us

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

The food was very good. A perfect place to celebrate a special accomplishment for my work team. The service was good as well, but we had to wait a long time to get the check, even with my credit card sitting on the table. I ended up flagging down another server to ask if he could help us get it. I am not sharing this as a complaint, just to share the unexpected experience at the end of the meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

We celebrated my daughter's college graduation here. I had to add people to the reservation three times (13 people total), including two hours before our reservation. The staff worked hard to accommodate our large group. The food was fantastic and the service was top notch. They made it a very special night for my daughter, including table decorations and a complimentary dessert. I highly recommend this restaurant for a group celebration!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great service as always but the food this time was mediocre at best. My sons steak was over cooked and mine was lacking in flavor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Over the years this has become my go to restaurant when downtown for a show or for special occasions. I probably have dinner here at least 4 times a year. The service is always impeccable and the food is always excellent. The only wish I have for this restaurant is a revamp of the dining room, as it is too dark, woody and clubby for my taste. If the dining room were as open and light as Manny's it would be perfect. As it is, I prefer the food here to the other steakhouses downtown and when I choose a place to eat, the first and foremost consideration is the quality of the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great attention to detail-made a graduation dinner extra special with nice, classy touches, great food and excellent service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I've been to to Capital Grille on three occasions. The last was the best. On all occasions the food was truly excellent. On past occasions the service was good but the attentiveness diminished over time. Tonight we had Cory and he was absolutely outstanding. He could not have been more accommodating, attentive or professional. A true professional who understands how to take a good restaurant to great by providing exceptional service. Thank you Capital Grille and Cory for the wonderful evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Ryan our waiter was excellent, he made our Anniversary even more memorable. I will be back. Food was the best combination of flavors!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great all around experience

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2018

My burger was overcooked and the Waiter's service was not great. He disappeared after delivering the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Ryan did a great with a great attitude. Another great night at Capital Grill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great menu, drinks & desserts! Coffee was excellent! Our waitress was attentive and got us out in time for the show at the Orpheum.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
82