About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Adam Bartos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (82)
Special Occasion (78)
Good for a Date (70)
See All
Romantic (56)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Business Meals (46)
Pre/post Theatre (42)
Notable Wine List (38)
Worth the Drive (33)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Groups (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fun (7)
People Watching (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2961 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Capital Grille is an amazing dining experience for those special occasions in your life. Perfect dinner location before a show at the State Theater or Orpheum!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Met with friends we hadn't seen for quite some time. Food as always, was delicious. Recommended Chardonnay was wonderful; disappointed in the suggestion for the Cabernet. Nice relaxing meal; as usual, asked if we needed quicker service (i.e., going to play, etc). Not needed, and we were not rushed at all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a great night, delicious food, always have to order the lobster Mac & Cheese! And Stoli-doli's ! But, not a cheap night out- Our service was excellent, meat was cooked perfectly and our server made sure our Dairy Free- Vegan, was just as happy as the rest of us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely outstanding. The food and service was simply the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service (Lynn was our server) was impeccable. The food was prepared and presented to perfection. There is absolutely nothing I would wish to be changed. We were treated so very special. They made it an anniversary to remember! Thank you Lynn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food, great ambiance and great service. My wife and I truly enjoyed our wedding anniversary dinner and we would highly recommend The Capital Grille.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent ambiance and excellent meal. Tony, our server, was top notch and went out of his way to make everyone he was serving feel special. He obviously enjoyed his job. The food, wine and mixed drinks were all wonderful! We left feeling that the money was well spent for my birthday dinner and I even received a complimentary birthday dessert that was exceptional!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Absolutely love the food!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

My wife and I came to celebrate our 2nd anniversary and were greeted at the door with a "happy anniversary." They had placed heart shaped confetti on our table and brought us champagne. We had Tom as our server and he was fantastic! He was knowledgeable on the menu, asked the right amount of questions without being pushy, and backed off at just the right time to give us privacy.

My wife and I were having a hard time deciding if we wanted dessert as we were stuffed from the great meal. Surprisingly, that decision was made for us as theu brought a dessert plate that had "happy anniversay" written in chocolate.

My only gripe is that the calamari was a little clumped together, but hardly a big deal. Overall, a fantastic evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We love the Capital Grill. Their steaks are the best and the service is wonderful. Such a nice place I wish they had a dress code, no jeans.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The best steakhouse in town hands down! I have been to all of the "steak" restaurants and this out performs them all in service, food AND ambiance. The menu has more options and the sides are extremely good (no need to have 2 inch thick asparagus to impress). Not inexpensive but definitely worth every penny you spend!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great place for an upscale dining experience. You can't go wrong with any cut of steak. I would recommend medium rare with porcini rub. Lobster is tender and sweet. Attentive service, fast valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The dinner actually wasn't up to its normally high standards, but the manager really made it right and we would continue to recommend them in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Fantastic service as always. Made our anniversary super special, look forward to the next time we can dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The evening was everything we'd hoped for. You made our Minneapolis visit very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We have not been to the Grille for a couple years. What we love is that not much has changed. Amazing steak; attentive and perfect service, a wine list to die for, and great atmosphere. What surprised us was the other patrons. I've always thought of Capital Grille as one of the exclusive dining experiences in the Twin Cities. As such, we like to get dressed up and "make a night of it". There were many people in jeans, shorts, golf attire, baseball hats, etc. I almost felt over dressed. I am not sure if I am being a crotchety old man who wants the classic experience (and who needs to get with the times), but I missed the special feel that this used to bring to the dining experience. It did make people watching interesting, though, and....wow! I will always get my ribeye delmonico style!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Went for the annual Generous Pour event. We wouldn't miss it. Great food, great wine, great service. The Capital Grille Minneapolis NEVER disappoints.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The 10 ounce filet was more like 6 ounces. Hasbrows were pathetic. The ones that come in a box from Costco are better. Recommend Mannys, Ruth Chris or Oceanaire over Capital Grille. Had dessert at a different restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food. Outstanding service. Personable too. Will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great dinner. Steaks, Brussels sprouts and caprese were all excellent. Wonderful place to celebrate a special event. Confetti on the table and 2 wonderful surprise desserts helped complete the meal. Only complaint is the noise volume of the restaurant as it became busier. Detracts from the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary at Capital Grille on 8/12/17. From the minute we walked in the door, the staff treated us like royalty. Beautiful heart confetti on the table, complimentary champagne, complimentary amuse bouche, fabulous dinner and complimentary dessert. Wow. We love this restaurant. Consistently amazing food and outstanding service. Todd is a great server. The entire staff works together to insure the best service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We try to get to the Capital Grille once a year for our anniversary and they never disappoint us. The staff and food are exquisite and the ambiance is perfect. We always look forward to our next visit. Thank you, Captial Grille, for providing an one-of-a-kind experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excelente atención y comida maravillosa, 100% recomendable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 8, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Minneapolis! The ambiance, service and food is top notch!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

awesome place. It's my go to when I have an event to attend. I rarely eat anywhere else. I love this place.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our service, food and overall enjoyment was fantastic. Highly recommend Capital Grille and will come back again soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We went there for our anniversary dinner. Everything was great, the food, the service. This is a very classy place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Incredible food, outstanding service. This is really the only game in town when you want the absolute best of food, service, ambiance and quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent steaks and service. I've never had bad food at any Capital Grill. Expect to pay for the food and service, it's not the place to go on a budget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We dine at The Capital Grille several times per year. It is by far the best steakhouse we have ever experienced. The food is amazing! Our steaks are done exactly as they should (they even do half-levels as Medium+). The sides are just as indulgent as we had the creamed corn and Au Gratin Potatoes. The tomato, fresh mozzarella and basil salad was ultimately fresh. Lastly, our server (Lynn M) was spot on with her service. No too frequent, not too infrequent. They even had a birthday dessert prepared for me. Hands down the best dining experience we have had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Awesome! Capital Grille is always top of our choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was excellent! Best steak I ever had and the service great as well. There for our anniversary and we got a free glass of champagne, desert and they gave my wife a rose. Can't wait to go there again.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

As always, The Capital Grill did not disappoint! Left in a food coma, and the cheesecake was to die for. Ask to have Dave as your server - he was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Check your bill. Got charged for a different type of soup than I ordered; I assumed they were the same price, and didn't say anything. When I looked after leaving, the soup I was charged for was $5 more expensive than what I ordered.

Good food, but since that was my first time there and I was overcharged, will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Fabulous meal and service. We had Lynn as our server. She did exceptional job.
Helped us pick out a decent and inexpensive wine. We split the Veal Tomahawk and the unbelievable Lobster Mac n Cheese. The crab and lobster cakes were also a winner.
To top it off, we split the cheesecake. What a meal! We will be returning.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Amazing service! Lynn was awesome! The quality of the food was great. Definitely worth every penny for a quality dinner paired with great service. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Birthday bash

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful celebratory meal with family. Service was top-notch. Becky and her team were attentive but not over the top. Food was fantastic!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.