About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Crystal Morris

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us Easter Sunday for an exceptional prix fixe brunch. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as Shrimp and Grits and more.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (92)
Good for a Date (77)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
See All
Business Meals (64)
Romantic (52)
Pre/post Theatre (51)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Notable Wine List (38)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Worth the Drive (32)
Cozy (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Groups (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Authentic (15)
Private Room (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
People Watching (7)
Historic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Family Style (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2767 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent wait staff and extremely cordial and cooperative. High marks for attentiveness and service. Very impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food and the drinks were fabulous. They are known for their steaks and for very good reason. David was our server. He did an excellent job with recommendations and was very helpful, highly suggest you sit at one of David's tables. Try the Lobster Bisque!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent service lobster bisque outstanding Tuna done absolutely perfectly More expensive than other fine dining but worth the cost when splurging

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was outstanding. Service was great. Went early with a four year old and an one year old. The staff was very helpful and on their game. They act like they get young children in there all the time. Bone in fillet mignon was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Seared Chilean Sea Bass was spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Met my brother who was traveling on business on a Sunday night around 6:00. Reservation was super easy, parking garage right across the street and very easy to get to. Had a few drinks in the bar before dinner and the house pinapple vodka was amazing!! Dinner was presented perfectly and loved the Calamari, Chilean Sea Bass , and the Kona Steak. The service was very accommodating and nailed my brothers high maintenance needs. I highly recommend to all with a taste for quality fine dining!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Delicious food and welcoming experience. What a great way to finish out the work week! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Capital Grills (tried 3 of them) are always efficient, provide good service with excellent food, usually a pretty good wine list, very slightly tipped toward steakhouse ambience and fare, but a notch above. The Minneapolis version is a little crowded for seating, noise level a little high, but with elegant, friendly, down-to-earth service. Food quality is top notch. The downtown location is convenient to visitors. It is worth repeating often.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The service was superb, made my prospect and I very comfortable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service and very timely before we had to leave for show. Food taste very good but meats a little overcooked and too salty. It is a shame that a first class steakhouse overcooks steaks like most other local restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very Poor service. Plates not removed from table in timely fashion. Second wine pour from bar not put in fresh glass. Water glasses dirty. We waited 15 minutes after we sat down for a waiter to greet us. Never go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Never fails to impress. Impeccable service from all staff. Great menu. Consistent food from the kitchen. They accomodated my kids who were dining with me for my birthday. Daughter wanted a hamburger but it was so thick we asked them to split it and they took it away so quickly and fixed it, we were amazed. Son wanted lamp popscicles for dinner, not on the menu, but they made some for him and it was outstanding. We skipped dessert due to tired kids but they brought out a nice sample plate for my birthday with a sparkler and a small espresso cup of ice cream for us all. Super nice touch. LOVE this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great! Food was excellent. Service even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our experience at The Capital Grille was outstanding. As always the food and service were excellent. I would recommend the sliced filet oscar with crab and bernaise sauce-a great indulgence I always feel like a valued customer at Capital Grille. It is definitely my go to restaurant for steak and special occasions as well as when I want a luxury experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Dining at it's finest - from the décor to the food and especially the staff, Capital Grill was an excellent dining experience. Bjorn is the absolute BEST server there is!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Party of 6 all Irish, we had a wonderful meal. All parts of the meal from starters ,mains ,sides , and desserts were very tasty and good portions. Most us had the various steaks and these were cooked as closely as we could have expected to the way we requested.
The coconut pie was delicious, as was the addition chocolate and cheese cake that they threw in also.
One main complaint was the pressure placed on us to get orders in. One got a sense of getting us in and out in a hurry. We settled in and took our time. The prices meant we were going take our time and enjoy our meal. Overall excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

As always the food and service were excellent. I love the wine list on an iPad that can be sorted/searched. The list of wines that are rated at 90+ points is very convenient for finding a good bottle that you have never tried.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food is always outstanding - service is above the norm and I am never disappointed

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We always enjoy dinner at the Grille before a show at one of the Hennepin theaters. The quality of the food and combination of flavors are excellent and portion sizes are quite generous. The servers are always polished, professional, and very personable, and we are consistently greeted by a manager during the meal, which is a very nice touch. We just love the ambiance and are pleased to be surrounded by other satisfied and happy customers.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Bjorn is a great waiter. Bjorn is very good at what he does and he clearly enjoys it. We work across the street yet can't get out of the office for a proper lunch very often, but when we can, we head to Capital Grille. The wedge with sirloin is my go-to; it never disappoints. This week we tried the coconut pie. Split between the two of us, it was (happily) too large of a portion but we still finished every morsel. We're headed back tomorrow for lunch and I'm getting one to go for my mom's bday this wknd; she's going to lose her mind. DELICIOUS! See you tomorrow, Bjorn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always fabulous food. Steak cooked to perfection. Service was good not excellent, however they were busy.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful food and service as always!! This is such a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service at this restaurant is unbelievable! Any time I have been there for a special occasion they have gone above and beyond. The best place to get steak in Minneapolis in my opinion. Great wine list and the ambiance is cozy, warm, and inviting. Great place for a romantic dinner or to catch up with friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a wonderful experience dining at Capital during restaurant week. The food was fantastic, our server was friendly and attentive, and gave great recommendations. We loved every minute of our date night!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Extraordinary dining experience, Highly attentive wait and valet staff, along with a high class atmosphere makes The Capital Grille my top dining choice to date!

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great experience during Restaurant Week. Service is amazing and the food was delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Had a fabulous dinner here during Restaurant Week. Wonderful value for the three-course meal. Service was flawless, and all of our food was delicious. Steaks were a bit more medium-rare rather than the requested medium, but very tender and flavorful. Would love to have a printed wine list rather than having to navigate the iPad. Free valet parking much appreciated.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Lori was amazing and did once make us feel like we were restaurant week scum

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

It was some awesome steaks!!!! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Lynn, our server, was outstanding and made my birthday lunch extra special. In addition to the candle in my dessert, she gave me a long stem rose 🌹 for my birthday lunch.
The sirloin steak was tender and perfectly seasoned.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Was my first time there. Great experience! However, next time I think I should order my Filet Mignon medium vs medium/well it was too dry for me. Overall, everything else was really good - I would recommend this place to others.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food was amazing and our server Ryan was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Capitol Grill has the best steak in town! You can cut the fillet with a fork and was perfectly seasoned and cooked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great service!!!! Restaurant week made it a GREAT value. The vegetables left a negative spot( green beans under cooked mixed with tomatoes?!?!) we are foodies, but that was not a positive. We enjoy new things.... not that!

Tags: People Watching, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The Capital Grille once again does not disappoint. We had a fantastic dinner there with attentive service and amazing food. The lobster mac and cheese and the Filet Oscar are so delicious and we finished our meals with the best Creme Brulee EVER!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This was the first time my wife and I went to The Capital Grille. We thought that all of the food was delicious. The steak was definitely better than the chicken, but we would absolutely go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Truly enjoyed our lunch at The Capital Grille during Restaurant Week. First time there, and celebrated a birthday with a friend. We both left impressed and ready to come back. The Creme Brulee was especially wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our server was so professional and friendly. Definitely will return here!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My husband and I took full advantage of the Restaurant Week menu. The service is always spectacular and this visit was no exception.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Outstanding service and great food equals a wonder evening out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.