About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Crystal Morris

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

14 oz Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin  with Shallot Butter
Cheesecake
Mashed Potatoes And Green Beans
Ceasar Salad And A Glasss Of Zinfandel Wine
Surf & Turf / Shrimps With Petit Filet Mignon
Cosmo
Tenderloin
Filet Migon Topped With Lobster Tail
Field Greens Salad
Truffle Parmesan Fries
Lobster and Crab Cakes
Open-Faced Chicken With Tomato And Arugula
Lobster Roll With Truffle Fries
French Onion Soup
Steak Au Poivre
Chocolate Hazelnut Cake
Stoli Doli
Habanero infused vodka
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Au Gratin Potatoes
1/2 Of A Bone In Ribeye
14 Oz Bone- In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin W/ Butter Poached Lobster
the iceberg wedge salad
Bread Basket
Waygu Beef Carpaccio With Lobster Croquette
Fried Calamari
Maine Lobster Roll
Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers
Sliced Filet Mignon With Mushrooms And Onions
House Made Grapefruit Soda
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
flourless chocolate cake
Creme Brulee
Filet Mignon
Halibut And Fillet Mignon

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Service
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
6 More
Steakhouse
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Overall
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Food
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Service
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Steakhouse
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

Special Occasion (109)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Notable Wine List (60)
See All
Romantic (60)
Good for Groups (34)
Great for Lunch (22)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Allen Wichter the managing partner runs ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

Allen Wichter the managing partner runs an unbelievable restaurant

Tony Langworthy is the absolute best waiter we have ever had at any restaurant we have eaten at all around the world.

Great experience and the food was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Utterly superb! Started with the soup sp ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

Utterly superb! Started with the soup special - lobster bisque - had huge clumps of lobster. Paired that with the bone in rib eye with the porcine rub and the balsamic glaze. For me, it's the best steak ever! Service was impeccable and friendly, which was a delight because I was dining alone. If it had not been culinary perfection I could complain about the prices, which are high, but how can you argue with such a splendid meal?

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This is one of the very last truly speci ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

This is one of the very last truly special event restaurants in the Twin Cities - elegant without pretention, excellent cuisine, and well worth the admittedly high prices. And our server, Carina, was a gem!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was absolutely incredible. L ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service was absolutely incredible. Lynn was amazing and completely made our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nicole was our server once again. It's ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nicole was our server once again. It's top notch. The food was out of this world. Love this place. It's a real treat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience celebrating ou ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a great experience celebrating our anniversary. We were surprised to have received a dessert on the house following our meal. We highly recommend dinner at the Capital Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lynn and Bjorn were great wait staff. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Lynn and Bjorn were great wait staff. They made the dinner extra enjoyable with their attentiveness and reading of what we needed. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If I'm ever celebrating a special event, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

If I'm ever celebrating a special event, I always choose Capital Grille. The food is always outstanding and the service is superb. The waitstaff and chef went out of their way to make my cousin feel special on her birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful restaurant! Three coupl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! Three couples dined there for 2 birthday celebrations. Starting off with a wonderful server, the birthday ladies each received a red rose. After a fabulous meal (everyone loved their choices of different varieties of steaks) we were also given a complimentary dessert of crème brulee cheesecake and chocolate torte. The whole experience was fabulous! I highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation for my parents 49th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I made a reservation for my parents 49th wedding anniversary. They knew they were going to have a great meal, but I called ahead and talked to the front of the house staff and made arrangements for a few extra surprises. By all accounts the dinner was spectacular and the staff more than exceeded my expectations for making the evening one my parents would not forget. Thank you Capital Grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our wedding anniversary. From ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Celebrated our wedding anniversary. From the greeting of Joe the manager, to the impeccable service and great food, you really felt appreciated and not just a number at the base of a hotel tower. The Capital Grille is the choice!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated a birthday. Service was impec ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Celebrated a birthday. Service was impeccable. Food, as always was fantastic - everything cooked perfectly and presented well. Dessert was especially delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Calimari is my favorite!! Lobster Mac an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Calimari is my favorite!! Lobster Mac and cheese is a must share!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. I highly re ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. I highly recommend the lobster seafood bouillabaisse. The flavor was great and it had lots of big pieces of seafood and lobster. Service was superb as usual. Shoutout to our server Dave; he's amazing😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of 10 and this was a spec ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a party of 10 and this was a special occasion. 4 of the couples had never been to the "Generous Pour" event and were looking forward to it. The food was fantastic. The service however was lacking. We were all disappointed with the following: When drinks were ordered, one person did not want to do the wine event and ordered a martini. Everyone was served the generous pour first set of wines but he had to ask several times for his martini. Next, when the main courses were presented (and they were all steaks), the server was extremely slow to pour any of the red wines...and then only poured 2 at first. I was about to get up and contact the server to complain when, halfway through the meal, we finally got the final red wines. Lastly, the server, on her own, decided when to "cut people off"! My wife and I who suggested we go to Capital Grill for the event were completely embarrassed! Our friends were anything but "drunk". We had been at the restaurant for over 3 hours and as adults, we all had arranged for someone else to drive! None of us was about to drive home! One of the guests noted that the server quipped that she stopped serving since the checks were paid..... however, none of had yet to be presented with the bills! In fact one couple had just ordered dessert. We expected better service than this for a group that spent about $1500 with tips. I do not recall the name of the server but it was a woman and I suspect the restaurant can figure out who handled a 10 person party on the night in question. I think that person should have a discussion with the manager. We look forward to this event all year and this year we were sadly disappointed in the service and more importantly, embarrassed with the way our friends were treated.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We go to the Capital Grille every year f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We go to the Capital Grille every year for our anniversary (17 years) because we went there on our honeymoon and they treat us like old friends everytime. We go other times throughout the year & are always extremely pleased with the ambience, food, service, everything! This place is tops in the Twin Cities area! The Generous Pour is fabulous also!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful server very attentive. Best re ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful server very attentive. Best restaurant hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about our experience was to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything about our experience was to notch. We were seated right away. Wait staff was right there to help us. Our server Amayrani was super. She had suggestions for every question we had. What can I say other than everything was super. Thank you Capital Grill and staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time. Good food and servic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always a good time. Good food and service as we've come to expect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

As always, our experience at Capital Gri ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

As always, our experience at Capital Grille was exceptional. The manager, Allen, made us feel so welcome and Dave, our server was outstanding. The food is always of highest quality and never disappoints. A wonderful time was had by all😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We requested a table change after being ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We requested a table change after being seated in a dark room with cold air blowing on us. We thoroughly enjoyed the food and had outstanding service. Our server made excellent menu suggestions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Before the theatre and they were all awe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Before the theatre and they were all awesome. Steaks and oysters were fantastic.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, I enjoyed my birthday ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent service, I enjoyed my birthday at this restaurant and would recommend it..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at the Capital Grille was very mu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dinner at the Capital Grille was very much in line with what you would come to expect from such an establishment. While expensive enough to somewhat question the value from a price/performance perspective, our table had quite a great experience on a special occasion. The "Generous Pour" wine event was active while we were here and many of us took advantage of the great wine flight offered. In addition, many of the specials (namely the 16oz bone-in fillet mignon) really impressed - as many of us felt it bested what Manny's/Murray's/and others have to offer. Overall, great experience, great staff, awesome food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server Katie P was really on top of ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our server Katie P was really on top of things and made the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The Capital Grille is top notch for stea ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The Capital Grille is top notch for steak, seafood, and service. Our waiter, Dave, was friendly and funny and not stuffy or formal which sometimes happens at high end steak places. The sides were all delicious, we tried brussel sprouts, mushrooms and lobster mac n cheese. Desserts were equally tasty and large enough to share. It is very expensive but for a special occasion, it's a dependable choice for celebrating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service Food was outstanding ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent service

Food was outstanding

Can't wait to return

We where going to a show ang they were very mindful of our time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With a group of 12 coming in for a birth ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

With a group of 12 coming in for a birthday celebration, everything was set up and we felt like we received special treatment the whole night from the staff. The table was roomy enough, service timing was perfect, food was amazing and the staff was friendly & accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille never disappoints! Food i ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Capital Grille never disappoints! Food is great, wait staff is great, even the hostess!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great! Can't w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food and service were great! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. I had the porcini ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful experience. I had the porcini rubbed tenderloin and my wife had the filet. Mine was good but my wife's filet was exquisite. I would also highly recommend the prosciutto wrapped mozzarella. The Service is always amazing!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Had a fabulous dinner! Loved the menu f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had a fabulous dinner!

Loved the menu for Resturant week, have been trying to get in for years during this week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They always go above and beyond to excee ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

They always go above and beyond to exceed expectations at this place. It is my favorite restaurant in the Twin Cities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Michael did a terrific job fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our server Michael did a terrific job for us. We have a special needs son and he was able to present the salad to him the way he wanted. The food was very good and service was timely.

My wife had to head back to work and was able to bring dessert (plus) to go. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To me, Capital Grille is the best steakh ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

To me, Capital Grille is the best steakhouse in Minneapolis. Everything from the moment you walk in and until you leave is top notch. This was a Restaurant Week visit, and that is the best deal in town. The offerings are perfect and delicious. At the same time, Capital Grille offers "A Generous Pour" which allows you to sample various wines to accompany your meal. Our server Chris had incredible knowledge of the wines and his suggestions were right on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for "Restaurant Week", plu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were there for "Restaurant Week", plus it was our 63rd Anniversary. Our very good friends, Tom and Karen joined us, and all our meals and service were outstanding.

The menu choices for "Restaurant Week" were extremely attractive as well.

I thought it was the best "Restaurant" meal that I've had in a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We received excellent, prompt service. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We received excellent, prompt service. The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went during restaurant week and enjoy ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We went during restaurant week and enjoyed our meal. The salad and entree were excellent. The sugar crust of the creme brûlée was a little 'soggy' in places but the flavor was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another wonderful meal had by all in our ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Another wonderful meal had by all in our party. The filet was out of this world.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet Mignon is fantastic, cooked to per ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Filet Mignon is fantastic, cooked to perfection. Espresso cake is also my go-to dessert. Great service. Best place to go during Mpls StPaul Magazine Restaurant Week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.