About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Adam Bartos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (105)
Good for Anniversaries (85)
Good for a Date (79)
See All
Romantic (66)
Pre/post Theatre (62)
Business Meals (60)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Notable Wine List (49)
Worth the Drive (42)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Groups (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Cozy (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
People Watching (8)
Fun (7)
Casual (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Private Room (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Historic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Family Style (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
2924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Check your bill. Got charged for a different type of soup than I ordered; I assumed they were the same price, and didn't say anything. When I looked after leaving, the soup I was charged for was $5 more expensive than what I ordered.

Good food, but since that was my first time there and I was overcharged, will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous meal and service. We had Lynn as our server. She did exceptional job.
Helped us pick out a decent and inexpensive wine. We split the Veal Tomahawk and the unbelievable Lobster Mac n Cheese. The crab and lobster cakes were also a winner.
To top it off, we split the cheesecake. What a meal! We will be returning.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing service! Lynn was awesome! The quality of the food was great. Definitely worth every penny for a quality dinner paired with great service. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Birthday bash

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful celebratory meal with family. Service was top-notch. Becky and her team were attentive but not over the top. Food was fantastic!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

I love Capitol Grille and will always recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely food and service! We will certainly return. The steaks were fantastic. It is a beautiful building and the servers are top notch!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was fabulous and the staff recommendations were amazing. I thought the staff were fantastic with my grandchildren- the waitress and all the people that dealt with us at the table...friendly, smiling, interacting with the kids. We loved it!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Worst experience ever at Capital Grille! Their generous pour event usually is great but they "cut us off" because they wanted our table for a big party. Lynn was an inattentive server and we spent almost 3 hours here. Fail! Tim the manager was an abomination! Avoid! So disappointed in this restaurant for the first time ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Jeff is an amazing server and always provides a superior experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We sure had a great time, food was AMAZING, the staff was OUTSTANDING (Tony our server).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The Capital Grille always delivers a fabulous meal with excellent service. During the summer The Generous Pour wine offering is a must. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Dinner is always awesome at capital Grille; excellent food, fabulous service, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Our food was fantastic! We had the Caesar salad, filet w Kona rub and the creme brûlée. Our server, Becky, was extremely nice and very professional. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Had a great time celebrating restaurant week out here. Service and food were outstanding. A little bit noisy for holding a conversation, but was expected with such a busy spot. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Love the restaurant week menu! Hope they continue to offer it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Service was impeccable. Our waiter, Dave M, was great. Food was probably the best we've had at any restaurant we've ever gone to. We were treated like royalty even though we're not. Perfect night out with fantastic food to enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Fabulous experience for restaurant week! Loved our waiter, Dave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I have travelled all over the world on business and have enjoyed some fantastic dinners. The filet mignon at the Capital Grille was one of the best I have EVER eaten. Top notch service and attention with smiles, (very rare these days), and lovely traditional decor and seating.

As long as you know you will be spending money eating this delicious food, you will enjoy yourself. It's a little distressing spending $44 for the same bottle of wine I can get at Cub for $11.99, (just did it today), but again the quality of the food and the ambience are what we go there for and we are pleased every time!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food was great-steak cooked perfectly mid-rare!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Generous pour was excellent and a very good value. I really enjoyed the restaurant week menu. My steak was excellent like usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had never been before and wanted to try it for Restaurant Week. We got there prior to our reservation time and sat in the bar, the bartender was friendly. We were escorted to our table at our reservation time. Our server, Becky, was incredible!! Very nice and willing to explain any aspect of the menu to us if we had any questions. We will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

As always, Capital Grille didn't disappoint. I took an employee there for a lunch to say "job well done". Our waiter Chris was very attentive and personable and made us comfortable from the start.

We both had the fresh mint lemonade, it was delicious and thirst quenching.

Since it was restaurant week we opted for that menu which offered a 3 course lunch for $25. We both started with the lobster bisque (my favorite bisque in the city) and then I had the signature burger - it was prepared exactly as ordered and melted in my mouth. My employee had the steak salad, he enjoyed it immensely.

My guest and I both left the restaurant pleasantly satisfied. I highly recommend this restaurant for lunch and dinner. You can always expect exceptional service and the food (especially the steaks) are the best in the city.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 17, 2017

As always we were extremely pleased with our entire meal: soup/salad, entrees, dessert, and wine!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 17, 2017

I was seated and served upon promptly. My sever Ryan was very friendly and knowledgeable. I enjoyed the Restaurant Week special with The Endless Pour. Every bite and sip was superb and worth every penny!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our waiter,Ryan was wonderful. He was very attentive and fulfilled our every need. All the staff members were polite, friendly and welcoming. The lunch for restaurant week was very good. All in all it was a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I've been here for restaurant week in the past, and it's usually between ok and great. Last time around, it was terrible. The wife's steak was very dry. My steak came out rare when asked for med rare+. The quality of the Marat was very disappointing for a high end steakhouse. Again, I've had fantastic steaks here before, but a place like this shouldn't be hit and miss. Will try Ruth's Chris next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We decided on thiscrestsurant because they were featuring "The Generous Pour". However, our waiter was not generous with the wine pours. We had to ask several times for more wine and he just didn't seem enthusiastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was the hottest day of the year, the place was packed and the air conditioner had trouble keeping up - it felt a little stuffy until the crowd started to thin out a bit after 8PM. The food was fantastic from start to finish. Service was solid. Tables are a little jammed into the space, but that's not unusual downtown. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have never had a bad experience at the Capital Grille. I especially appreciate how accommodating they are to theater goers, allowing us to pick up both our car and our leftovers after the show. Wait staff is both attentive without being intrusive and knowledgeable. And of course the food is excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

It was amazing as always. Our server David was great. It is a favorite of our family when we want a special night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Service was just wonderful. Very attentive without being intrusive on our time together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The service was outstanding. The atmosphere is very classic and comfortable. Everything was delicious, especially the fantastic sides. The lamb chops were perfectly prepared and delicious. The NY strip steak was very good but not great. For the price, I think it fell short of expectations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great meal, service was spectacular. Wine recommendation was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Yet another homerun for the Capital Grille! What can I say? As usual, service was impeccable and food was beyond reproach. We have eaten meals in some of the nicest restaurants in the US and Europe and Capital Grille consistently holds up a similar standard. Food offerings are somewhat limited, but that is what you expect coming to a steakhouse/grill. I would highly recommend this if you have not tried it-bit pricey, but not disappointing like some restaurants are when you get the bill and compare your experience. Would definitely recommend at least an occasional visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always great service and great food. From the time you walk in til the time you leave, its spot on. Very warm, rich decor. Great job!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great as usual. We had a good time, as usual. all good

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a magical evening for our parents' 50th anniversary celebration. The food and service was phenomenal!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I'd mentioned in my reservation that we were celebrating our anniversary; multiple staff members wished us a happy anniversary during our time at the restaurant, and they surprised us with complimentary champagne and miniature desserts. It's a little cheesey, but it was quite nice.

The food, of course, was great; we wanted to eat more, but were stuffed. It's by no means a cheap date, but the expense does pay for great service and food.

The restaurant was busy but not completely full on our weeknight visit; we could easily converse without needing to raise our voices, but didn't feel conspicuous talking normally, as is the case in some uncomfortably quiet locations.

Our table was square, but each edge had a flap that could fold out to convert the table into a circle. Unfortunately, the flap on my edge was broken such that it wouldn't stay folded up / collapsed against the underside of the table, and instead hung down and rested on my legs. Upon my request / after our first course, the staff rotated the table so the faulty edge/flap was no longer in our way.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.