About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Crystal Morris

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Report a photo problem

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Cosmo - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Tenderloin - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Filet Migon Topped With Lobster Tail - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
14 oz Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin  with Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Field Greens Salad - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Truffle Parmesan Fries - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Lobster and Crab Cakes - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Open-Faced Chicken With Tomato And Arugula - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Lobster Roll With Truffle Fries - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Steak Au Poivre - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Chocolate Hazelnut Cake - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Stoli Doli - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Habanero infused vodka - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Au Gratin Potatoes - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
1/2 Of A Bone In Ribeye - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
14 Oz Bone- In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin W/ Butter Poached Lobster - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
the iceberg wedge salad - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Bread Basket - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Waygu Beef Carpaccio With Lobster Croquette - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Mashed Potatoes And Green Beans - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Ceasar Salad And A Glasss Of Zinfandel Wine - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Fried Calamari - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Surf & Turf / Shrimps With Petit Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Sliced Filet Mignon With Mushrooms And Onions - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
House Made Grapefruit Soda - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
flourless chocolate cake - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Halibut And Fillet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Good for a Date (53)
See All
Business Meals (46)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Romantic (41)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Authentic (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Private Room (8)
People Watching (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Fun (7)
Historic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jeff was an excellent server!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Jeff was an excellent server!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our first time dining at Capita ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first time dining at Capital Grille and is was a great restaurant for special occasion dinner. Our server, Carina, was absolutely wonderful from entree recommendations to drink and wine recommendations. Our table was ready early, and the food was fabulous. Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not have enjoyed this experience m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Could not have enjoyed this experience more. Everything was spectacular. Impeccable service, beautiful presentation and best meal ever.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a wonderful evening at the C ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We had such a wonderful evening at the Capitol Grille with our friends, who like us were celebrating an anniversary. Our table had anniversary-type decorations, complimentary glass of champagne, wonderful appetizer, great staff and an attitude that "tonight is special and we want to help you celebrate"! Thank you Capitol Grille for a very lovely evening.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Tapas, Private Room, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a remarkable experience for a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, a remarkable experience for a special occasion! Thanks to all!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't eat meat or dairy. I asked if I ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

I don't eat meat or dairy. I asked if I could get a vegetable plate made and they were gracious about it. I got a platter of 6 delicious and interestingly prepared vegetables. We were celebrating our anniversary and were given a glass of champagne to start and a dessert plate after. And another note for vegans. Unlike some other steak houses, the place does not smell like a Wildling campsite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining here is always a great experience ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Dining here is always a great experience. It is our pre-theater choice every time. We have excellent service and always finish fully satisfied with every detail and on time for the curtain.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent service!! ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service!! Consistently wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very poor service, food was not warm eve ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

very poor service, food was not warm even though the steak was tasty. We have eaten here a number of times over the years and our last 2 times it has been very bad. We will not go back and we have told our friends of our experience. They find it hard to believe, as we would've felt also if it hadn't happened to us. Thanks, ron

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a wonderful time celebrating two ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We had a wonderful time celebrating two special birthdays at Capital Grille. The staff took care of celebratory details without us asking, took the time to congratulate our birthday guests and ensure they had a great experience. Ryan, our waiter, was great about recommending food and drinks and was a joy to spend time with.

We continue to dine at Capital Grille for great food and great service.

Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual The Capital Grille was tremendo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As usual The Capital Grille was tremendous. Just as expected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Still my favorite restaurant in town. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Still my favorite restaurant in town. Terrific service from Jon as always. Dustin and the bartenders are always fantastic too. Lobster cakes are the best. All steaks are fantastic as well but went with the Kona NY Strip this time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again hands down my favorite beef p ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Once again hands down my favorite beef place in town! Having just come off 2 disappointing meals at 2 other high-end steak houses in town, it was such a relief to feel satisfied and knowing we got a terrific meal for the money we spent. Still our favorite - the Calamari - while the breading wasn't as crisp as usual - hands down the best in town and we try it everywhere. All of our other standard sides and salads were great. Tried the clam chowder this time and that was even a nice surprise. But the Ribeye's where the star of the show. Perfectly prepared and seasoned. Oscar style was a nice touch on a couple, while I prefer mine just seasoned and grilled. Had an amazing lobster tail on the side which was AWESOME! I can't not mention Jon the waiter. He was extremely busy but managed to keep everything perfectly timed. We never waited or wanted for anything. He is outstanding! Will be back in a few weeks with some clients. Can't wait!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille is one of the very be ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The Capital Grille is one of the very best restaurants in Minneapolis. If you have had enough of the "pretty food" restaurants and want a terrific steak, crab/lobster cakes, shrimp cocktail etc, this is as good as it gets. Consistently outstanding. You will never be disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I chose The Capital Grill ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I chose The Capital Grill for our New Years Eve meal and it was outstanding! We started with the lobster and crab cakes - they had great meat, yum!! We had a NY strip which was fabulous, but my husband can't stop talking about his amazing tenderloin and lobster tail. He said the best meal he's ever had. We are from out of town, but we will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and atmosphere. Service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good food and atmosphere. Service was fantastic. Great place for a fine dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ryan was awesome!!! Helped us decide cou ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Ryan was awesome!!! Helped us decide course by course, but wasn't pushy and we never once felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place! Best cheesecake in the met ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great place! Best cheesecake in the metro!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business Lunch. Quiet place. Our serve ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Business Lunch. Quiet place. Our server was good. Food was mediocre. Overheard other waitstaff making unprofessional/snarky comments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at Capitol Grille! The service was impeccable and the food was spot on! It was my husbands and my birthday, a nice glass of champagne and a tasty dessert! Thank you so much 💕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit there, and we were enamo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our first visit there, and we were enamored. First class service. The food was all filled with unique, delectable flavors; it was simply the best ahi tuna we've ever tasted. The food was superb.

Everyone was kind, courteous, and highly professional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific service and food.

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Terrific service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wine selection and servi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food, wine selection and service. Definitely worth the drive from the suburbs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Christmas Eve tradition... never disappo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve tradition... never disappoints. Thank you Ryan - great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, attentive front desk ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent service, attentive front desk host/hostess, our server Lynn was superb, food wonderful, will definitely return soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Ryan really made our celebrat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our server Ryan really made our celebration special. He sent us a round of champagne for a toast prior to the meal as well as a round after with our dessert which he also gave us on the house. The gestures were appreciated and we really loved how it added to our evening

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

good food, good service and the people / ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

good food, good service and the people / staff were friendly

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another excellent experience food is top ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Another excellent experience food is top-notch service is excellent plan on spending $80-$100 per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service staff was great and the envi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The service staff was great and the environment was ok. For some reason the food was average and I wasn't blown away. Everything was prepared correctly but the it just didn't seem to be like the old Cap Grille? Not sure what was missing.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband loves the chocolate cake dess ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My husband loves the chocolate cake dessert. They discontinued this and would love to see it come back. See what you can do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fine relaxed dining for that ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Absolutely fine relaxed dining for that special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I ate the best steak I have had in years ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I ate the best steak I have had in years here. We eat out a lot, and this was one of the best meals and best experiences we have had. The waiter was wonderful and attentive, and everyone went out of their way to make the experience extraordinary. I mean, where else can you put your leftovers in their fridge so you can pick it up after the show?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food outstanding, the atmosphere is ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food outstanding, the atmosphere is classy, the service attentive and accommodating.

Our server, Ryan, made us feel special by doing little extras, as well as providing excellent service. For once I can say it's worth the price.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good food and great service. Price ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Very good food and great service. Price was high and the room was very noisy. Hard to have a conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and fabulous service. Celebr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great food and fabulous service. Celebrated a birthday and they cooperated with a complementary birthday dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding, but that bill ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was outstanding, but that bill was really expensive. Worth it? It was really expensive....

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

There were 4 for a Christmas lunch. I th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 13, 2016

There were 4 for a Christmas lunch. I think I was the only one unhappy. I ordered the salmon avocado salad. The salmon was not done. It was brought back to me on a freezing cold plate with the salad still in the form of the container it was refrigerated in. Salmon is never good reheated. I think the waiter removed my meal from the check but I didn't pick up the check so I'm not certain. He implied he would.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have eaten here before and like the l ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have eaten here before and like the location. We had a great waiter who while not overly attentive he was checking on us every so often to make sure we were doing okay and that our food was good. We would like it if their menu would include smaller meat portions especially with their steaks. We split the salad and potato and we each had a steak but would have liked a smaller size since we really don't want to take it home. It's a nice place for a nice evening out in downtown Minneapolis and we will go again in the future.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Jeff was a great waiter. Always seated ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Jeff was a great waiter. Always seated in front of restaurant so lot's of traffic and noise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We went here before the Vikings game on ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We went here before the Vikings game on 12/1. It was busy but the service was great and the server had a great personality. The food was excellent as expected. This Capital Grille location is so consistent and good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.