About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Crystal Morris

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Cosmo - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Tenderloin - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Filet Migon Topped With Lobster Tail - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
14 oz Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin  with Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Field Greens Salad - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Truffle Parmesan Fries - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Lobster and Crab Cakes - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Open-Faced Chicken With Tomato And Arugula - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Lobster Roll With Truffle Fries - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Steak Au Poivre - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Chocolate Hazelnut Cake - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Stoli Doli - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Habanero infused vodka - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Au Gratin Potatoes - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
1/2 Of A Bone In Ribeye - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
14 Oz Bone- In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin W/ Butter Poached Lobster - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
the iceberg wedge salad - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Bread Basket - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Waygu Beef Carpaccio With Lobster Croquette - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Mashed Potatoes And Green Beans - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Ceasar Salad And A Glasss Of Zinfandel Wine - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Fried Calamari - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Surf & Turf / Shrimps With Petit Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Sliced Filet Mignon With Mushrooms And Onions - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
House Made Grapefruit Soda - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
flourless chocolate cake - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Halibut And Fillet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Food
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Service
Minneapolis - St. Paul
9 More
Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Steakhouse
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Overall
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Food
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Service
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Steakhouse
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

Special Occasion (70)
Good for a Date (48)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
See All
Notable Wine List (38)
Romantic (38)
Business Meals (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Worth the Drive (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Cozy (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (9)
People Watching (8)
Private Room (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fun (6)
Healthy (5)
Historic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jeff was a great waiter. Always seated ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Jeff was a great waiter. Always seated in front of restaurant so lot's of traffic and noise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We always enjoy dining at the Grille. We ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We always enjoy dining at the Grille. We typically dine before a show and enjoy the ambiance and great food the Grille offers. This evening was no exception. We shared a large and wonderfully spiced order of calamari to start, and enjoyed a glass of prosecco which was crisp and dry. My husband ordered Lamb Chops and I had Steak Oscar as a main course. Each was cooked to perfection. We ordered Brussels sprouts on the side and these were nicely roasted and very tasty. Our server John was very helpful in choosing complementary wines. To round out the evening, we each had a cappuccino.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and Tom gave us outst ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food was great and Tom gave us outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious and a special dining ex ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Always delicious and a special dining experience for family and friends. Ideal before theatre dining, they especially make sure we are on time for the theatre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant's process for keeping pac ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

The restaurant's process for keeping packaged leftovers from your own dinner, in their frig during theatre productions, for you to acquire when returning to The Capital Grill after the show, was great. We will be back...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Flawless steak, great wine suggestions, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Flawless steak, great wine suggestions, exceptional service end to end including valet, host staff, bar, and one of the better servers I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice place to go for Thanksgiving. Expen ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nice place to go for Thanksgiving. Expensive but "all" was worth while.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Will always be my favorite place for a n ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Will always be my favorite place for a nicer dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal. Michelin caliber service. Th ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Phenomenal. Michelin caliber service. The steak was great but the sides were even better.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Capital Grille never disappoints. D ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Capital Grille never disappoints. Diane Forsberg (one of the managers) is always excellent and our server, Carina was great. We dine at this restaurant almost monthly and I use it for both family and entertaining business clients. I also used it for my wedding reception last year. My only constructive point is that the person running the door is usually curt. In this case, the host staff was discussing the fact that our table was still occupied by diners that were "still in the middle of their entree". This made me feel like we would miss our show and made me anxious. When I inquired because of overhearing this, the man at the door reminded me that I was 15 minutes early and was very short. I expect better from a restaurant when I am spending $175 per person. The young man with the pony tail is invariably aloof although he was not here on this particular evening. The noise level was very high in the back of the restaurant which made it hard to talk at our larger round table. Be sure to ask for a booth or the upper level to avoid this.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was exceptional!

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our waiter was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful dinner and great serv ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and great service as usual.

Thanks for the nice evening.

Jane

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The Steak with Butter poached lobster wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The Steak with Butter poached lobster was fabulous! And they added a special anniversary desert! This is a top notch resturant and will not dissapoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good all around menu; nice options, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Very good all around menu; nice options, very good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Slow service and we ate a late dinner, s ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Slow service and we ate a late dinner, so it was by no means the dinner rush. I ordered the scallops and they were grossly overcooked. My husbands meal was good, lobster and tenderloin. I wasn't impressed at all with this visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We went to The Capital Grille to celebra ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We went to The Capital Grille to celebrate my husband's birthday with three other couples. The service was impeccable, the food was delicious and the atmosphere was perfect. The whole experience made me think of when my parents would dress up to go out for a special dinner with friends - I felt like we had stepped back in time - beautiful linen table cloths, a warm serene decor, the whole experience was just lovely. We had never been to The Capital Grille before and we will definitely go back - thank you to The Capital Grille you're a gift to Minneapolis!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time we have been there. First ti ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Second time we have been there. First time was one of the Best dining experiances of our lives. This time the food was over cooked and the server was slow and busy with others. A good portion of the meal was comped but I would have preferred everything being perfect.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

We visited for my boyfriend's birthday d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We visited for my boyfriend's birthday dinner and it was the best decision ever! The food was fantastic (he had the Porcini Mushroom Ribeye, I had a NY Strip, we split the mashed potatoes)! A little pricey, but worth every penny! Our waiter, Todd, was what every waiter should be; there when you need him, not interrupting, and humorous. At one point he had escorted my boyfriend in the direction of the restrooms and had found out it was his birthday and then delivered us a complementary dessert sampler before we left. I cannot say enough about the Capital Grille -Minneapolis location.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food - fabulous service - look ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Excellent food - fabulous service - looking for a place to impress that new client, co-worker or someone special in your life...you've found it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had the best anniversary dinner. M ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had the best anniversary dinner. My husband and I both ordered the filet mignon and they were cooked perfectly and so tender. I had the lobster bisque soup which was so delicious. Our friend had the lamb chops and he could not stop talking about how awesome they were to eat. Our waiter brought us a complimentary dessert and it was outstanding. The cocktails were nice and strong.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for a Vikings game and s ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were in town for a Vikings game and saw high praise for Capital Grille. It did not disappoint! Great food and location-walking distance from the hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As we expected it would be, the special ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

As we expected it would be, the special birthday dinner for my wife was wonderful. The Capital Grille is always her first choice, and the food, atmosphere, and service was excellent. The wine list, presented on an iPad, is a great way to make a wine selection. We have never been disappointed by the Capital Grille and will continue to make it a part of our lifestyle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to a few of the Capital Gril ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I have been to a few of the Capital Grille restaurants and this one is as good as I expected. Great service and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was outstanding and Tom was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The service was outstanding and Tom was incredibly knowledgeable about food and wines. Our entire party had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere, great expe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great experience, as usual, right down to the valet parking service. A class operation. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food and service. Steaks cooked ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Fabulous food and service.

Steaks cooked to perfection!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent service!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice food and service for a special ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very nice food and service for a special birthday celebration. We enjoyed the evening

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last Friday night we had a fabulous meal ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Last Friday night we had a fabulous meal of salad, au Gratin potatoes, steak and lobster! The kitchen was kind enough to split each of the items for us in the kitchen. We had great wait staff, no pressure kind of service We will go back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in Minneapolis for a wedding on ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were in Minneapolis for a wedding on Saturday. My husband and I went to Capital Grille for a nice dinner the evening prior to the wedding. We had traveled for 7 hours and were in need of a relaxing dinner and a cocktail to ease the stress of rush hour traffic. We arrived early the dinning room opened at 5PM, so we checked in with the hostess and went to the lounge for an adult beverage. The bartender was very friendly and professional; he made us feel right at home. We were seated and our server quickly welcomed us and advised of the specials and the menu layout. We had an appetizer, 2 side dishes and shared a sliced beef filet with onions and mushrooms. The steak was cooked to perfection and was so tender that we could slice it with a butter knife. The lobster and crab cake appetizer wth corn relish was delightful, as there was more seafood and not tons of bread or cracker crumbs. We were able to get a half oder of both of the side dishes, asparagus and lobster macaroni and cheese, which was plenty for the two of us. The server was attentive to our needs and shared with us that he had visited the city that we call home and chatted with us about various points of interest in our area. We got a desert to go, as we stuffed after eating our dinner. The flourless chocolate espresso cake was a total hit with my husband. This is a must when visiting Minneapolis. Thank you to the bartender, server and the chef for our very pleasurable dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Cuisine is fabulous at the Capital G ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The Cuisine is fabulous at the Capital Grille and so was the service. Tom was our waiter and he was very attentive and helpful with the menu. The portions are wonderful. Being a connoisseur of calamari, I found theirs to be very tastefully prepared. The Capital Grille offers fine dining at its finest. A must have treat!

Tags: Private Room, Fun, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. Outstanding food pr ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Outstanding service. Outstanding food preparation. Expensive, but you do get treated and fed well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is such a great favorite downtown M ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This is such a great favorite downtown Minneapolis spot. Perfect for business meals or a date. Love the menu!

Host was so nice, I asked for a quiet spot in my open table reservation and he was so sweet to help with the perfect location! Thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, decent service, but very expe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Good food, decent service, but very expensive. I've paid half the price at other restaurants for equally good food. Probably won't go back because of the price.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My wife and I went to the Capital Grille ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My wife and I went to the Capital Grille to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. It was a great choice, and we both had a great time. I honestly don't know if I've ever been treated so well by staff as I was at the Capital Grille. They took amazing care of us, and it made our anniversary feel really special. Also, the steak that we shared was incredible - we took the server's recommendation, and it was one of the best steaks we've ever had. I would highly recommend the Capital Grille to anyone for a special occasion, a romantic date night, or whenever they're able to go. We'll certainly be going back again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as always, our go-to place in Mpls ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great as always, our go-to place in Mpls. Food is outstanding have never had a bad meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server and his support team was very ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our server and his support team was very attentive and provided outstanding service. Food was first rate. The complimentary valet parking was very much appreciated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated our anniversary and it was lo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary and it was lovely. We couldn't have been treated any better. Dinner was delicious. Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food (and cocktails/wine) a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Always great food (and cocktails/wine) and great service. Terrific Restaurant Week menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.