About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $10 begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Adam Bartos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (92)
Good for Anniversaries (91)
Good for a Date (82)
See All
Good for Birthdays (60)
Business Meals (59)
Romantic (57)
Pre/post Theatre (49)
Notable Wine List (40)
Worth the Drive (35)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Groups (26)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Cozy (12)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
People Watching (9)
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Our waiter Jeff was outstanding. The food was top notch but Jeff made the night. Can’t say enough about his service, recommendations, and demeanor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed a wonderful steak dinner during restaurant week and it was an amazing value. Food and service was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is always awesome here and the service is amazing. The flourless chocolate cake is delicious. It is my favorite place to go out to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Always had great meals here. We usually go for dinner, we both had filet mignon cooked to specified orders. Our steaks were flavorful, esp. with the porcini rub and aged balsamic vinegar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Bjorn was a great server with lots of personality!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoy coming for restaurant week. Otherwise we could never afford to eat here. This time the medium steak was well done. Other than this the meal was wonderful.

We aren't happy about them changing the complementary parking to $10.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Went during restaurant week to end the weekend with my siblings for a siblings dinner. Everything was amazing and our server was great! We walked out of there stuffed and satisfied.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

They must have new management. Bathrooms aren't kept up as nice as they used to be. Also food was ok but for $52.00 for a Kona crusted New York strip I would have expected a better presentation instead of a messy plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent, server was excellent, but recommend not seating a family with a toddler or young kids next to a couple out celebrating their anniversary.

I would seat families with kids all in another area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Can never go wrong, always better than expected. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 12, 2017

We were not emailed information regarding our NEED to sit it bar area!!!! We we emailed the special deal for Waygu burgers with special wine!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Went for my birthday dinner and everything was wonderful! The special touches the staff included made it a night to remember!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food is always amazing and our server Ryan was he best ever!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday. I had arranged a meal from the dinner menu in advance to be prepared and served during lunch hours. The celebrant, who happens to be blind, was personally escorted to the table by the hostess, which was greatly appreciated by both he and I. The table was scattered with birthday confetti. The mojito was one of the best he has ever had. The Porcino Rubbed Bone-in Ribeye with 15-Year Aged Balsamic had excellent taste, was prepared as ordered and very tender. I usually have to cut up his meal, but when they noticed I was going to do it they offered to take the meal back to the kitchen and cut it for him. They did a better job with bite size pieces than I would have done. The lobster roll was very good (just not as good as eating fresh in Maine, but that was not expected). Service was attentive and not obtrusive. I love the lavosh crackers they provide in the bread basket. Rolls were warm. They provided a complimentary birthday dessert, which was beautifully plated - flourless chocolate mocha cake, cheesecake , fresh berries and a lit candle. The birthday boy felt very special and appreciated all the attention. All the staff were friendly and there to make sure we had a great experience. After the visit I received a personal note from our server, which I am embarrassed to say I can't remember his name right now, but know I have his business card. Without looking I'm guessing Cody? Overall a very pleasant experience - relaxing, good food, quiet, and I appreciate a tablecloth, cloth napkin, silverware set as it should be and an always full water glass.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Always enjoy delicious food and excellent service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This was our first visit to Capital Grille. Food was amazing and the service was really good. Especially considering the fact that we sat in the bar area (my husband wanted to burger and that is only served in the bar). We really enjoyed our experience. Our server was great!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We always look forward to dining at Capital Grille. The entire experience... service, hostess, management & the FOOD... all exceptional! They never disappoint.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Absolutely fantastic food. Always my first stop when in Minneapolis.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Great spot to bring customers to entertain them in the hopes to "seal the deal"

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Our service was excellent! The waiter was always there when needed. The food and wine were very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our group dinner at Capitol Grill was exceptional in every way. The staff and the food were flawless!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Never disappointed in Calital Grille - the food, atmosphere and service is superb!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent service as always! Perfect place for anniversary, birthday, or taking that special person to. All the food is fantastic, and the top notch staff is very attentive to make your evening memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

It was my date's 70th birthday (yes, 70-year-olds date). I'd notified the restaurant of the special occasion in Open Table's notes. She was greeted at the door with "Happy Birthday!" There was confetti on our table. She was served a complimentary trio of small desserts with "Happy Birthday!" written in chocolate on the plate. We were made to feel special all evening without undue interruption. Thankfully, they didn't sing to her. Most importantly, the food (she, steak and lobster; me, veal chop) and all the service were outstanding as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Great Restaurant in every way! The servers here are always fantastic as are the host staff. Food always prepared well and served perfectly. Stoli doli drink is the best cocktail ever. This is our go-to restaurant for pre-theater downtown and we have never been disappointed. The lobster mac n cheese is the best anywhere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 21, 2017

It was quite uncomfortable standing outside the restaurant with capital grill staff rudely giving leftover bags to customers. I count on the Capital Grill to be part of my total theatre experience and to use the restroom before and after the show. Our bill was $550.00, I would think you could stay open an extra hour for your loyal customers. In the winter this would totally be unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

I have always wanted to eat here and finally had the chance before a play. Our waiter was wonderful. Asking questions to then help guide us on what to order. He recommended half orders of dishes to share so we could try a couple. He recommended the Rib Eye and let me say-it was fabulous. Known for the cocktails-we did ask for beer. He said -Girls after my own heart! He made my first time dining a real treat! Cannot wait to go back.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Capital Grille is an amazing dining experience for those special occasions in your life. Perfect dinner location before a show at the State Theater or Orpheum!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Met with friends we hadn't seen for quite some time. Food as always, was delicious. Recommended Chardonnay was wonderful; disappointed in the suggestion for the Cabernet. Nice relaxing meal; as usual, asked if we needed quicker service (i.e., going to play, etc). Not needed, and we were not rushed at all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was a great night, delicious food, always have to order the lobster Mac & Cheese! And Stoli-doli's ! But, not a cheap night out- Our service was excellent, meat was cooked perfectly and our server made sure our Dairy Free- Vegan, was just as happy as the rest of us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Absolutely outstanding. The food and service was simply the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service (Lynn was our server) was impeccable. The food was prepared and presented to perfection. There is absolutely nothing I would wish to be changed. We were treated so very special. They made it an anniversary to remember! Thank you Lynn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food, great ambiance and great service. My wife and I truly enjoyed our wedding anniversary dinner and we would highly recommend The Capital Grille.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent ambiance and excellent meal. Tony, our server, was top notch and went out of his way to make everyone he was serving feel special. He obviously enjoyed his job. The food, wine and mixed drinks were all wonderful! We left feeling that the money was well spent for my birthday dinner and I even received a complimentary birthday dessert that was exceptional!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Absolutely love the food!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

My wife and I came to celebrate our 2nd anniversary and were greeted at the door with a "happy anniversary." They had placed heart shaped confetti on our table and brought us champagne. We had Tom as our server and he was fantastic! He was knowledgeable on the menu, asked the right amount of questions without being pushy, and backed off at just the right time to give us privacy.

My wife and I were having a hard time deciding if we wanted dessert as we were stuffed from the great meal. Surprisingly, that decision was made for us as theu brought a dessert plate that had "happy anniversay" written in chocolate.

My only gripe is that the calamari was a little clumped together, but hardly a big deal. Overall, a fantastic evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It’s always a guarantee of a great meal when coming to Capital Grill. They were having a wine tasting event which was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We love the Capital Grill. Their steaks are the best and the service is wonderful. Such a nice place I wish they had a dress code, no jeans.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The best steakhouse in town hands down! I have been to all of the "steak" restaurants and this out performs them all in service, food AND ambiance. The menu has more options and the sides are extremely good (no need to have 2 inch thick asparagus to impress). Not inexpensive but definitely worth every penny you spend!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great place for an upscale dining experience. You can't go wrong with any cut of steak. I would recommend medium rare with porcini rub. Lobster is tender and sweet. Attentive service, fast valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.