About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Crystal Morris

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

14 oz Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin  with Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Mashed Potatoes And Green Beans - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Ceasar Salad And A Glasss Of Zinfandel Wine - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Surf & Turf / Shrimps With Petit Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Cosmo - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Tenderloin - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Filet Migon Topped With Lobster Tail - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Field Greens Salad - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Truffle Parmesan Fries - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Lobster and Crab Cakes - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Open-Faced Chicken With Tomato And Arugula - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Lobster Roll With Truffle Fries - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Steak Au Poivre - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Chocolate Hazelnut Cake - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Stoli Doli - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Habanero infused vodka - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Au Gratin Potatoes - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
1/2 Of A Bone In Ribeye - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
14 Oz Bone- In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin W/ Butter Poached Lobster - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
the iceberg wedge salad - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Bread Basket - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Waygu Beef Carpaccio With Lobster Croquette - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Fried Calamari - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Sliced Filet Mignon With Mushrooms And Onions - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
House Made Grapefruit Soda - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
flourless chocolate cake - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis
Halibut And Fillet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Food
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Service
Minneapolis - St. Paul
11 More
Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Notable Wine List
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Steakhouse
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Overall
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Food
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Service
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Notable Wine List
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Steakhouse
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

Special Occasion (92)
Notable Wine List (51)
Romantic (49)
See All
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for Groups (28)
Good for a Date (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (4)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Old Fashioned was far too watery, bu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Old Fashioned was far too watery, but the food was good, if a little overpriced.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

First time experience to celebrate a fri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

First time experience to celebrate a friends birthday. Unforgettable

experience, excellent service from waiter (John), superb food and wine.

Worth every penny!! :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service for our fam ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food and service for our family get together. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in the Twin ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

One of the best restaurants in the Twin Cities. While this is a small chain it does not feel that way at all. Incredible attention from the time you walk in until you leave. The staff and management should all be commended on how they treat their clients. Very special place. Food is wonderful. They have a terrific hamburger--it's not on the menu! So don't tell them I told you.

Steaks and fish and seafood are just tops. You cannot go wrong here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The sales manager, Dianne, went overboar ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The sales manager, Dianne, went overboard to make sure our experience was EXCELLENT! The food and service and private room were just what we needed!!!!

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual CG was up to their reputation. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

As usual CG was up to their reputation. They started the night with a free birthday glass of champagne and finished with a free dessert. The steaks are the best and their side vegetables are always a must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, cocktails and service. Never ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food, cocktails and service. Never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service excellent. Help for di ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food and service excellent. Help for disabled person with walker lacking. Stood leaning on walker for 10 minutes while waiting for car. THERE IS NO RAMP INSIDE restaurant to reach some seating. Manager and reception desk needs to be more responsive to needs of disabled

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I've been to CG many times, and my overa ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I've been to CG many times, and my overall experience has been very positive. Great food, great service, good vibe to the restaurant - honestly everything you should expect of a high-end steakhouse.

On this visit (9/4/16), upon being seated, our waiter came to the table immediately and said "We noticed you haven't been here since November of 2014 and that night you had a bad experience with a server not being as attentive as he should have been. We want to apologize for that, so tonight your appetizers are comped." What? Wow.

My wife reminded me of that visit (it hand't been our most recent, but apparently only our most recent OpenTable reservation) and I did remember the scenario that wasn't really terrible service - just not what you'd expect at CG.

Regardless, the food and service on this most recent visit were absolutely fantastic. The server didn't need to comp the appetizers (or the unexpected dessert) but their attention to detail and commitment to customer service 2 years after a hiccup was impressive. That's the type of thing I think sets a place like this apart and help them create loyal customers for life. We were truly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 12 year annivers ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We were celebrating our 12 year anniversary and everyone was wonderful as always.

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a bad experience at this restauran ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Never a bad experience at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you Capital Grille for making our ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Thank you Capital Grille for making our anniversary dinner so special!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was superb as usual. And the servic ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was superb as usual. And the service by Dave was excellent. Every time we go to Capital Grille we leave impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Attended The Generous Pour. Nice select ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Attended The Generous Pour. Nice selections of special white and red appellations with no tasting constraints - well worth the price, though sappointed the Stags Leap Cab offering was depleted. However, dinner was stellar and surpassed expectations. Both steaks (21-day with peppercorn courvesier sauce, and 45- day Dry-aged NY Strips with Kona Koffee rub) were perfectly cooked to order, tender and flavorful. Lobster crab cake appetizer was superbly prepared and delicious. Sides of potato au graten and (requested) sautéed spinach pleased. Bjorn (server) and bus assistant, Angel, provided welcoming and responsive service. Thoroughly enjoyed dinner and the special event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second time visiting Capita ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was our second time visiting Capital Grille for our anniversary and again they did an outstanding job. We had heart confetti waiting on our table and were offered a complimentary champagne toast after being seated. While service overall was a little slow, the food was perfection and when our server did come see us, she was very knowledgeable and thoughtful. We also received a fantastic complimentary dessert with a Happy Anniversary message written on the plate. This is becoming our favorite special occasion tradition! Thank you, Capital Grille!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent as always. Great food, great ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent as always. Great food, great service and still our favorite splurge restaurant. This was our second visit this summer for the annual Generous Wine Pour event, which no wine fan should miss. $28 for unlimited and good wine...actually a value. Mark your calendar for next summer!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Allen Wichter the managing partner runs ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Allen Wichter the managing partner runs an unbelievable restaurant

Tony Langworthy is the absolute best waiter we have ever had at any restaurant we have eaten at all around the world.

Great experience and the food was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We asked about an appetizer that we had ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We asked about an appetizer that we had eaten when we visited Capital Grille before. The chef graciously made it for us even though it wasn't on the menu. That is great service and it tasted as great as we remembered. We will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I cannot even put into words how much I ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I cannot even put into words how much I recommend the capital grille. The food and service were absolutely outstanding. On top of that they did everything and then some to make our engagement celebration dinner memorable. I did not do them a favor by making a reservation less than 24 hours in advance but they came through in major ways. Thank you Capital Grille!

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server Lynne Meza was fantastic.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Server Lynne Meza was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Utterly superb! Started with the soup sp ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Utterly superb! Started with the soup special - lobster bisque - had huge clumps of lobster. Paired that with the bone in rib eye with the porcine rub and the balsamic glaze. For me, it's the best steak ever! Service was impeccable and friendly, which was a delight because I was dining alone. If it had not been culinary perfection I could complain about the prices, which are high, but how can you argue with such a splendid meal?

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This is one of the very last truly speci ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

This is one of the very last truly special event restaurants in the Twin Cities - elegant without pretention, excellent cuisine, and well worth the admittedly high prices. And our server, Carina, was a gem!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was absolutely incredible. L ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service was absolutely incredible. Lynn was amazing and completely made our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nicole was our server once again. It's ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nicole was our server once again. It's top notch. The food was out of this world. Love this place. It's a real treat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience celebrating ou ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a great experience celebrating our anniversary. We were surprised to have received a dessert on the house following our meal. We highly recommend dinner at the Capital Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lynn and Bjorn were great wait staff. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Lynn and Bjorn were great wait staff. They made the dinner extra enjoyable with their attentiveness and reading of what we needed. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If I'm ever celebrating a special event, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

If I'm ever celebrating a special event, I always choose Capital Grille. The food is always outstanding and the service is superb. The waitstaff and chef went out of their way to make my cousin feel special on her birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful restaurant! Three coupl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! Three couples dined there for 2 birthday celebrations. Starting off with a wonderful server, the birthday ladies each received a red rose. After a fabulous meal (everyone loved their choices of different varieties of steaks) we were also given a complimentary dessert of crème brulee cheesecake and chocolate torte. The whole experience was fabulous! I highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation for my parents 49th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I made a reservation for my parents 49th wedding anniversary. They knew they were going to have a great meal, but I called ahead and talked to the front of the house staff and made arrangements for a few extra surprises. By all accounts the dinner was spectacular and the staff more than exceeded my expectations for making the evening one my parents would not forget. Thank you Capital Grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our wedding anniversary. From ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Celebrated our wedding anniversary. From the greeting of Joe the manager, to the impeccable service and great food, you really felt appreciated and not just a number at the base of a hotel tower. The Capital Grille is the choice!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated a birthday. Service was impec ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Celebrated a birthday. Service was impeccable. Food, as always was fantastic - everything cooked perfectly and presented well. Dessert was especially delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Calimari is my favorite!! Lobster Mac an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Calimari is my favorite!! Lobster Mac and cheese is a must share!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. I highly re ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. I highly recommend the lobster seafood bouillabaisse. The flavor was great and it had lots of big pieces of seafood and lobster. Service was superb as usual. Shoutout to our server Dave; he's amazing😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of 10 and this was a spec ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a party of 10 and this was a special occasion. 4 of the couples had never been to the "Generous Pour" event and were looking forward to it. The food was fantastic. The service however was lacking. We were all disappointed with the following: When drinks were ordered, one person did not want to do the wine event and ordered a martini. Everyone was served the generous pour first set of wines but he had to ask several times for his martini. Next, when the main courses were presented (and they were all steaks), the server was extremely slow to pour any of the red wines...and then only poured 2 at first. I was about to get up and contact the server to complain when, halfway through the meal, we finally got the final red wines. Lastly, the server, on her own, decided when to "cut people off"! My wife and I who suggested we go to Capital Grill for the event were completely embarrassed! Our friends were anything but "drunk". We had been at the restaurant for over 3 hours and as adults, we all had arranged for someone else to drive! None of us was about to drive home! One of the guests noted that the server quipped that she stopped serving since the checks were paid..... however, none of had yet to be presented with the bills! In fact one couple had just ordered dessert. We expected better service than this for a group that spent about $1500 with tips. I do not recall the name of the server but it was a woman and I suspect the restaurant can figure out who handled a 10 person party on the night in question. I think that person should have a discussion with the manager. We look forward to this event all year and this year we were sadly disappointed in the service and more importantly, embarrassed with the way our friends were treated.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We go to the Capital Grille every year f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We go to the Capital Grille every year for our anniversary (17 years) because we went there on our honeymoon and they treat us like old friends everytime. We go other times throughout the year & are always extremely pleased with the ambience, food, service, everything! This place is tops in the Twin Cities area! The Generous Pour is fabulous also!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful server very attentive. Best re ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful server very attentive. Best restaurant hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about our experience was to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything about our experience was to notch. We were seated right away. Wait staff was right there to help us. Our server Amayrani was super. She had suggestions for every question we had. What can I say other than everything was super. Thank you Capital Grill and staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time. Good food and servic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always a good time. Good food and service as we've come to expect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

As always, our experience at Capital Gri ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

As always, our experience at Capital Grille was exceptional. The manager, Allen, made us feel so welcome and Dave, our server was outstanding. The food is always of highest quality and never disappoints. A wonderful time was had by all😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jon is the server we request and he make ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Jon is the server we request and he makes the entire experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.