About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Crystal Morris

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Mother's Day for an exceptional prix fixe brunch and endless mimosas. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as our Pan-Seared Salmon with Citrus Crab Salad.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (100)
Good for a Date (82)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
See All
Business Meals (65)
Pre/post Theatre (59)
Romantic (55)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Notable Wine List (46)
Worth the Drive (40)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Cozy (28)
Bar Seating (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Lunch (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Authentic (17)
Private Room (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Hot Spot (13)
People Watching (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Historic (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Fun (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Family Style (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2800 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding dinner wonderful atmosphere and Corey our server was very good

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We chose this restaurant for its proximity to the Orpheum Theater. Such a good choice! Excellent food and pleasant, quiet atmosphere. The wait staff was wonderful--never was a water glass empty and the waitress gave superb suggestions on both food and wine. A true dining pleasure!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual did not disappoint and the food is so good. Service was impeccable!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

Probably one of the best restaurants ever. Can only go for special occasions however due to the price. But you get what you pay for. The waiter was the best I have ever had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall good

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I went here for my wife's birthday because of the amazing service and wonderful food. They have a valet service in case you need to drive so parking will be a breeze. As soon as you walk in you are greeted with great smile. We were seated immediately so there was no wait based on our reservation. The brunch menu was very affordable. A 3 course meal with mimosas for $49. Our server Cody was very nice and he had a genuine conversation with us. We ordered cesar salads with a filet mignon and New York strip. The strip came with an egg on it. Yum! We were running late to the Twins game so they put the dessert in the cooler for us. We came back after the game and the dessert was patiently waiting for us. I recommend this restaurant to all of friends and colleagues.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Capital Grill is in my top 5 of favorites. Food is always​ wonderful , in the 17 pulse years in dinning at Capital Grill I have never had a bad meal. Amazing customer service. 🍴🍾🍷

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was the first time we've dined at The Capital Grille but it won't be the last. The atmosphere, food and service were top notch. A superb dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Pretty much what you would expect from an upscale steakhouse. The food, service, and wine were all very good. My only complaint is that they pack the dining area so full that it was difficult for wait staff to maneuver.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful evening at the Capital Grill. Cory, our wait staff, was exceptionally accomodating, very professional, and ensured we had a great meal before getting is out of there in time for our show at the Orpheum. Excellent service, excellent food. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Perfect as usual from the decor, to the cleanliness, to the service, to the food and drink, and the ambience! Did I miss anything?

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Just fabulous and absolutely delicious! Wonderful service! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful lunch prior to seeing a show at the Orpheum. The lunch menu offers a very good value, we can recommend the french onion soup & wedge salad as well as the herb-roasted chicken plate. All of the waitstaff were very attentive and we enjoyed excellent service from our waiter, Bjorn. They made our birthday celebration complete with a complimentary birthday desert plate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Unquestionably the best fine dining experience I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My first visit to Capitol Grill was with friends from LA, Tx. Wa.ND. We were
Going to the theater across the street. It was an evening to remember
. Your staff was fantastic which added to our dining experience. The food was so delicious
I ordered the lamb chops and as I was eating I took out my smart phone and sent pictures to friends . One insisted that I bring him a taste of the lamb. chop so I did
He has raved about that chop and hinted that it would be nice if I treated
Him a trip to Capitol Grill for his birthday. I surprised him this week and I
Invited 3 of his best friends to meet us for dinner this week. Only two of us has
Had the honor of dining at the Capitol previously. What a fantastic evening we had and once again your staff outdid themselves.
I love the Capitol Grill and I will continue to wine and dine my friends.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Anniversary dinner with friends. Bjorne was amazing. The food was amazing. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent experience. Food exceptional and service outstanding

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Everything was perfect! My two neices 12 years old and 9 years enjoyed their fancy lunch experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The Capital Grille never disappoints! Everything was amazing! We had the lobster and crab cakes for the first time. I will have to order that every time now. We CONSISTENTLY receive First Class service here. They also give you a nice dessert for your birthday! Excellent presentation.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Family Style, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always a great steak and outstanding service. have been there several times now. would like to see just a little more variety in the apps and sides, but no complaints. Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

They always treat us great and we like the valet parking. This is the spot we always use when going to the theater.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food and drinks!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We went before attending a play at the Orpheum- food was great- service lacking, which was unusual for this place- until this time we have had fabulous service- perhaps an off night- we think server was new

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great service, great ambiance and great time. We love having dinner in the bar you can order off the bar menu or the main menu. My husband loved the burger.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Always voted one of the Top 10 in Minneapolis. For a good reason, always an enjoyable experience. If you are tired of "art food", foam and dots all over your plate then you come here for solid steaks, seafood, shellfish and good food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Capital Grille and were hesitant initially because it is nicer and higher priced. Turned out, we could not be happier with our food and the service. It was the best dining experience both of us have had and we absolutely will be returning and would recommend this restaurant. It was also well worth the money. Love this place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Delicious food, knowledgeable staff, fairly priced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Fantastic all around! Excellent service, never rushed. Wonderful food! All 4 of us were so happy with our dinners.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Excellent wait staff and extremely cordial and cooperative. High marks for attentiveness and service. Very impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food and the drinks were fabulous. They are known for their steaks and for very good reason. David was our server. He did an excellent job with recommendations and was very helpful, highly suggest you sit at one of David's tables. Try the Lobster Bisque!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent service lobster bisque outstanding Tuna done absolutely perfectly More expensive than other fine dining but worth the cost when splurging

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was outstanding. Service was great. Went early with a four year old and an one year old. The staff was very helpful and on their game. They act like they get young children in there all the time. Bone in fillet mignon was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Seared Chilean Sea Bass was spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Met my brother who was traveling on business on a Sunday night around 6:00. Reservation was super easy, parking garage right across the street and very easy to get to. Had a few drinks in the bar before dinner and the house pinapple vodka was amazing!! Dinner was presented perfectly and loved the Calamari, Chilean Sea Bass , and the Kona Steak. The service was very accommodating and nailed my brothers high maintenance needs. I highly recommend to all with a taste for quality fine dining!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Delicious food and welcoming experience. What a great way to finish out the work week! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Capital Grills (tried 3 of them) are always efficient, provide good service with excellent food, usually a pretty good wine list, very slightly tipped toward steakhouse ambience and fare, but a notch above. The Minneapolis version is a little crowded for seating, noise level a little high, but with elegant, friendly, down-to-earth service. Food quality is top notch. The downtown location is convenient to visitors. It is worth repeating often.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The service was superb, made my prospect and I very comfortable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service and very timely before we had to leave for show. Food taste very good but meats a little overcooked and too salty. It is a shame that a first class steakhouse overcooks steaks like most other local restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.