About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Adam Bartos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (95)
Good for Anniversaries (86)
Good for a Date (76)
See All
Romantic (64)
Business Meals (56)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Pre/post Theatre (51)
Notable Wine List (44)
Worth the Drive (38)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Groups (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Cozy (18)
Hot Spot (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Authentic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fun (7)
Casual (6)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
2944 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

We have not been to the Grille for a couple years. What we love is that not much has changed. Amazing steak; attentive and perfect service, a wine list to die for, and great atmosphere. What surprised us was the other patrons. I've always thought of Capital Grille as one of the exclusive dining experiences in the Twin Cities. As such, we like to get dressed up and "make a night of it". There were many people in jeans, shorts, golf attire, baseball hats, etc. I almost felt over dressed. I am not sure if I am being a crotchety old man who wants the classic experience (and who needs to get with the times), but I missed the special feel that this used to bring to the dining experience. It did make people watching interesting, though, and....wow! I will always get my ribeye delmonico style!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for the annual Generous Pour event. We wouldn't miss it. Great food, great wine, great service. The Capital Grille Minneapolis NEVER disappoints.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

The 10 ounce filet was more like 6 ounces. Hasbrows were pathetic. The ones that come in a box from Costco are better. Recommend Mannys, Ruth Chris or Oceanaire over Capital Grille. Had dessert at a different restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food. Outstanding service. Personable too. Will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great dinner. Steaks, Brussels sprouts and caprese were all excellent. Wonderful place to celebrate a special event. Confetti on the table and 2 wonderful surprise desserts helped complete the meal. Only complaint is the noise volume of the restaurant as it became busier. Detracts from the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary at Capital Grille on 8/12/17. From the minute we walked in the door, the staff treated us like royalty. Beautiful heart confetti on the table, complimentary champagne, complimentary amuse bouche, fabulous dinner and complimentary dessert. Wow. We love this restaurant. Consistently amazing food and outstanding service. Todd is a great server. The entire staff works together to insure the best service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We try to get to the Capital Grille once a year for our anniversary and they never disappoint us. The staff and food are exquisite and the ambiance is perfect. We always look forward to our next visit. Thank you, Captial Grille, for providing an one-of-a-kind experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excelente atención y comida maravillosa, 100% recomendable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 8, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Minneapolis! The ambiance, service and food is top notch!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

awesome place. It's my go to when I have an event to attend. I rarely eat anywhere else. I love this place.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our service, food and overall enjoyment was fantastic. Highly recommend Capital Grille and will come back again soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We went there for our anniversary dinner. Everything was great, the food, the service. This is a very classy place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Incredible food, outstanding service. This is really the only game in town when you want the absolute best of food, service, ambiance and quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent steaks and service. I've never had bad food at any Capital Grill. Expect to pay for the food and service, it's not the place to go on a budget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We dine at The Capital Grille several times per year. It is by far the best steakhouse we have ever experienced. The food is amazing! Our steaks are done exactly as they should (they even do half-levels as Medium+). The sides are just as indulgent as we had the creamed corn and Au Gratin Potatoes. The tomato, fresh mozzarella and basil salad was ultimately fresh. Lastly, our server (Lynn M) was spot on with her service. No too frequent, not too infrequent. They even had a birthday dessert prepared for me. Hands down the best dining experience we have had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Awesome! Capital Grille is always top of our choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was excellent! Best steak I ever had and the service great as well. There for our anniversary and we got a free glass of champagne, desert and they gave my wife a rose. Can't wait to go there again.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

As always, The Capital Grill did not disappoint! Left in a food coma, and the cheesecake was to die for. Ask to have Dave as your server - he was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Check your bill. Got charged for a different type of soup than I ordered; I assumed they were the same price, and didn't say anything. When I looked after leaving, the soup I was charged for was $5 more expensive than what I ordered.

Good food, but since that was my first time there and I was overcharged, will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Fabulous meal and service. We had Lynn as our server. She did exceptional job.
Helped us pick out a decent and inexpensive wine. We split the Veal Tomahawk and the unbelievable Lobster Mac n Cheese. The crab and lobster cakes were also a winner.
To top it off, we split the cheesecake. What a meal! We will be returning.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Amazing service! Lynn was awesome! The quality of the food was great. Definitely worth every penny for a quality dinner paired with great service. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Birthday bash

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful celebratory meal with family. Service was top-notch. Becky and her team were attentive but not over the top. Food was fantastic!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I love Capitol Grille and will always recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Lovely food and service! We will certainly return. The steaks were fantastic. It is a beautiful building and the servers are top notch!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food was fabulous and the staff recommendations were amazing. I thought the staff were fantastic with my grandchildren- the waitress and all the people that dealt with us at the table...friendly, smiling, interacting with the kids. We loved it!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Worst experience ever at Capital Grille! Their generous pour event usually is great but they "cut us off" because they wanted our table for a big party. Lynn was an inattentive server and we spent almost 3 hours here. Fail! Tim the manager was an abomination! Avoid! So disappointed in this restaurant for the first time ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Jeff is an amazing server and always provides a superior experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We sure had a great time, food was AMAZING, the staff was OUTSTANDING (Tony our server).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The Capital Grille always delivers a fabulous meal with excellent service. During the summer The Generous Pour wine offering is a must. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Dinner is always awesome at capital Grille; excellent food, fabulous service, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Our food was fantastic! We had the Caesar salad, filet w Kona rub and the creme brûlée. Our server, Becky, was extremely nice and very professional. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Had a great time celebrating restaurant week out here. Service and food were outstanding. A little bit noisy for holding a conversation, but was expected with such a busy spot. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Love the restaurant week menu! Hope they continue to offer it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Service was impeccable. Our waiter, Dave M, was great. Food was probably the best we've had at any restaurant we've ever gone to. We were treated like royalty even though we're not. Perfect night out with fantastic food to enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Fabulous experience for restaurant week! Loved our waiter, Dave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I have travelled all over the world on business and have enjoyed some fantastic dinners. The filet mignon at the Capital Grille was one of the best I have EVER eaten. Top notch service and attention with smiles, (very rare these days), and lovely traditional decor and seating.

As long as you know you will be spending money eating this delicious food, you will enjoy yourself. It's a little distressing spending $44 for the same bottle of wine I can get at Cub for $11.99, (just did it today), but again the quality of the food and the ambience are what we go there for and we are pleased every time!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food was great-steak cooked perfectly mid-rare!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Generous pour was excellent and a very good value. I really enjoyed the restaurant week menu. My steak was excellent like usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.