About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Crystal Morris

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (107)
Good for a Date (90)
Business Meals (75)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Pre/post Theatre (68)
Romantic (63)
Notable Wine List (50)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Worth the Drive (39)
Cozy (32)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Bar Seating (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Authentic (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Private Room (14)
Tasting Menu (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
People Watching (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Historic (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Casual (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Fun (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Family Style (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2845 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Top to bottom awesome experience. Our server Sandy was one of, if not the best we've ever had at a restaurant. She found out we were celebrating my return home from a deployment and made us feel so welcome and appreciated. The food was phenomenal. Honestly one of the best meals we've ever had.
We will be coming back for sure!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Honestly, it's a toss up one night I'm a Manny's guy and other night's I'm a Capital Grille guy...The service is top notch, the food is excellent and honestly there is a lot less dches even on a Friday night so book it when you can...and if you leave a bad review then we all know your that dche I'm talking about!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great, service great , made birthday special with complimentary champagne and dessert!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Fantastic food and excellent service! Very friendly and accommodating. They even offered me half portions of the sides because I was worried there would be too much food! Steak was sooo delicious and the wine that I had was wonderfully balanced and complemented the food well. Just what I needed!
The venue was a little loud, although that could have just been the table next to me.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Outstanding steaks and seafood. 5 stars and best in Minneapolis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We had a great time and the staff made us feel like the important people there! The food was excellent and we will be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food was good but the prices were high. Our server was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server and service were top notch. The steak was slightly under cooked. Our server jumped through hoops to fix the problem. The vegetables had cooled while steak was re-grilled, so new warm veggies were provided, plus a "complimentary" dessert. We look forward to coming back.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sunday brunch was upscale. The fixed menu price included a selection of a starter, main entree, and dessert. We like this type of menu. Each course has four or five selections prepared well. The service was professional as always.
This restaurant has presence, authenticity and history. The atmosphere is conducive to fine dining.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was looking for a good option to take my wife for Mother's Day and The Capital Grille had some reservations open. Had heard of it as a place for fine dining and, although I was looking for a brunch, I was intrigued by their price fixe menu for the day. We each started with a Caesar salad and my wife had the Shrimp with Cheese Grits for her entree while I had the Lobster Frittata. I didn't try the grits, but the frittata was light and airy and the hollandaise sauce was a nice touch. For dessert I had a flourless chocolate torte which melted in my mouth! A tasty and pleasing meal overall and surprisingly filling. Would recommend The Capital Grille to all my friends!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing food and services. Top notch in customer service. We were satisfied from valet to desert. I am repeat customer.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As usual they were at the top of their game. We had a great evening!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great meal after attending my son's college graduation. The food was excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

For a special evening I would always think oh Capital Grille

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A great restaurant and outstanding service. From the Maitre d ' to the server we were treated like family. They took their time while with you and made you feel like they truly cared about you having a wonderful evening , and we did. While the Capital Grille is known for great steaks, their Chilean Sea Bass is simply amazing. I highly recommend eating here, be advised the price certainly reflects the quality of the restaurant. Besides our entree my wife and I each had 3 drinks, and a desert. We also split an appetizer and a side dish, with tip our bill came to $300
It was certainly worth it, but I thought others may want to know.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Fantastic anniversary evening for a pre-theater show experience. Food and service both top notch. Definitely on the expensive side, but well worth the price

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food came a bit too fast but otherwise a great experience. Please work on timing the meals.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The Kale salad was awesome and the salmon was light and seasoned. Very good experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great steak, service, and wines. Sides are amazing, staff is great

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

First time at this restaurant, was very impressed. Great service, amazing food. We enjoyed your dinner!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The was one of the best meals I've had. The filet was to die for! Cooked perfectly. My all time favorite was the coconut dessert. That was the best dessert I've ever eaten hands down. Ryan was a great waiter, very attentive, funny and helpful. The clam chowder was amazing but I was I didn't order it so I had room for other food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Service was top notch. Steaks were amazing. Wine selection was enormous. A bit noisy in the dining room for intimate conversation but all and all a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Usually have dinner here. First time lunch experience. Excellent service and food. Definitely a recommendation for lunch if in Minneapolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 4, 2017

As always everything was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent restaurant for a business dinner. A near perfect experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I was celebrating my birthday and had always wanted to dine at the Capital Grille. I was very impressed with the comfort throughout our experience, and professionalism shown by all the staff. They were even gracious enough to give our son a free birthday dessert after we had mentioned that his birthday was two days before mine. Their flourless chocolate torte was the best I'd ever eaten! I would absolutely dine here again!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The service impeccable.
I had the salmon salad - it was out of this world good.
Keep up the good work - I will recommend to everyone :-)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food. Friendly and professional

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were celebrating your anniversary. When our server found out, we received 2 glasses full of "bubbly." We also received a complimentary dessert that had "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate on the plate. The food and service were top notch. A fantastic place to "Wine & Dine."

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Went to dinner before seeing Wicked with my mom and sister. Our service was impeccable, the food was delicious and the stoli doli is a must! Excellent experience! Our server had so much personality and was awesome at her job!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Went with a small group (6) before a show at the Orpheum. Our server was excellent--total pro and lots of fun. We allowed ourselves plenty of time for dinner before show (hate to be rushed) and the meal was paced exactly to our tempo. Food was excellent. Everything was cooked to order (even the vegetables). We ordered salads and sides to share, and split entrees and this was no problem for our server or the kitchen. Super convenient to Hennepin theatres and easy-peasey walk to downtown hotels.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Took my staff there before going to see Wicked.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great food with great atmosphere at a fair price. My favorite place restaurant in the Twin Cities!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Big group but our servers did a fine job. We had a server caused wine accident but they offered to pay for cleaning, comped us a bottle of wine and gave us 3 desert platters. Well done. Food was great, highly recommended for business dinners

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This is a very expensive place to eat, but the food was delicious. My filet mignon was done perfectly. They offer several different toppings for the meats but I think it would have been best just by itself. The wait staff is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We went for an anniversary dinner. They give you a rose, champagne and free dessert. This was our third time here and we love the service and being spoiled on our special day!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The sliced filet Oscar was incredibly delicious & perfectly prepared. Our server Sandy was engaging & knowledgeable about the menu. The lobster mac & cheese was good, but only had 2 small pieces of lobster. The complimentary dessert was a very pleasant surprise. I look forward to my next meal there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

It was bad. There was a couple sat beside us and they were drunk from the twins game. They were arguing and the lady tried to stabbed her husband with the knife and she ends up spilling out her glass of wine. The sever just shook her head and did nothing. So, finally I said to the server she needs to do something about the situation and grab her manager or something. It was my first time and we were with a client from Tennessee, also celebrating a birthday. It was awful experience I couldn't eat my steak ended up taking it home. The manager told the couple to leave and they didn't pay a dime. Never had such experience I don't think I will be back

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The service was outstanding! We were greeted warmly by all of the staff and offered a complimentary champagne toast for our anniversary. The manager and server were very attentive but gave us appropriate space too. We were never rushed. The shrimp crostini appetizer was our favorite. Our steaks were very good, but mine was a bit overcooked--medium instead of med-rare--and a smidgen on the salty side. We were also a bit surprised that at the end of the meal we were brought a "happy anniversary" dessert sampler plate and then charged $5 for it. It wasn't the dessert I would have chosen, but not a big deal. The gesture was appreciated. I mention it, though, because I could see how some might find that annoying. Overall, we had a lovely 20th anniversary celebration.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Over the years, I have dined at The Capital Grille on many occasions, especially before or after going to the theater, and never once was I or the people with me disappointed with any aspect of the total dining experience that we had at the restaurant. The restaurant in Minneapolis is truly a first class institution, and I have been dining at the original (first) Capital Grille in Providence, RI, since it opened there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.