About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Crystal Morris

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Good for a Date (65)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
See All
Romantic (45)
Business Meals (44)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Worth the Drive (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Lunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Authentic (11)
Private Room (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Historic (6)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Family Style (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2729 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was my first time there. Great experienc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Was my first time there. Great experience! However, next time I think I should order my Filet Mignon medium vs medium/well it was too dry for me. Overall, everything else was really good - I would recommend this place to others.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Capitol Grill has the best steak in town ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Capitol Grill has the best steak in town! You can cut the fillet with a fork and was perfectly seasoned and cooked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille once again does not d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

The Capital Grille once again does not disappoint. We had a fantastic dinner there with attentive service and amazing food. The lobster mac and cheese and the Filet Oscar are so delicious and we finished our meals with the best Creme Brulee EVER!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, , Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly enjoyed our lunch at The Capital G ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Truly enjoyed our lunch at The Capital Grille during Restaurant Week. First time there, and celebrated a birthday with a friend. We both left impressed and ready to come back. The Creme Brulee was especially wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was so professional and frien ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server was so professional and friendly. Definitely will return here!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and great food equal ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding service and great food equals a wonder evening out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. Food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. Food was excellent and service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cory was wonderful. Food was wonderful ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Cory was wonderful. Food was wonderful as usual. It was very loud this time and hard for us to hear each other.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love it!!!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Love it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent! Our ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were excellent! Our table was in the center of other tables, so it was relatively loud and there was a lot of traffic around our table. While the food and service were good, it's not unique steakhouse fare. With other good steakhouses downtown, I would not recommend the Capital Grille as something special or a must visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is the 5th year that we have dined ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

This is the 5th year that we have dined at Capital Grille in celebration of my daughter's birthday and, as always, it was an excellent experience in all regards. The service was fantastic, the food delicious and the ambiance perfect for our special occasion. Our waiter even provided us with a special birthday dessert to the delight of our daughter! We will be back again next year to enjoy the Capital Grille "experience"!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I got engaged here on F ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

My boyfriend and I got engaged here on Friday! It was beautiful, the food melted in our mouths, champagne was light and airy, wait staff were super kind and attentive. We will be back to celebrate!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Got a lobste ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service. Got a lobster for the table as our appetizer. Had the bone in NY strip, lobster macaroni and cheese, asparagus and coconut cream pie. Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding job!

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate a birthday. The tab ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to celebrate a birthday. The table was decorated with Birthday confetti and we were offered a complimentary glass of champagne. The service was outstanding and continued to be throughout the evening. I had the Filet and my son had the porterhouse. They were cooked as ordered and were delicious. We shared some sides and even though we ordered 1/2 portions, we still took them home. The creamed spinach and the Brussel sprouts were very good. We will definitely return! Great food, great experience, great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent and the service was very prompt. Additionally, staff was very accommodating when expanding our reservation with little advance notice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to celebrate my husband's birthd ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to celebrate my husband's birthday, and from the moment we arrived we received very wonderful personalized treatment - from birthday greetings, to a tastefully decorated table, to our delicious meals and finally the out of this world special birthday plate/desserts. We will definitely be going back here to celebrate in the future. Food was amazing and service was top-notch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and our server ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was outstanding and our server Chris was excellent! A night we will remember!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cory Hays is an amazing server! Thank yo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Cory Hays is an amazing server! Thank you for taking great care of us and making the dinner a personalized experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a Valentines Day dinner here, and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had a Valentines Day dinner here, and it included a rose and a nice photo to remember the evening. The steak is superb, Minnesota has some great steaks and these are top notch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service by Todd and amazing fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wonderful service by Todd and amazing food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and wine were exquisite as always!! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and wine were exquisite as always!! Our server, Sandy is always the best!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an excellent steak restaurant! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is an excellent steak restaurant! The food is outstanding and the wait staff is exceptional.

Great place to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very tasty, $100.00 for lun ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was very tasty, $100.00 for lunch with one appetizer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food, excellent wait staff and gre ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food, excellent wait staff and greeters

Noisy

iPad for wine ordering is hard to navigate (and after a day of looking at computers, I don't want to do that at dinner)

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Attentive service, and excellent ribeye ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Attentive service, and excellent ribeye and filet mignon. Great wine list. I highly recommend this place for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'll be back This was our 10th time at t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I'll be back

This was our 10th time at the Cap

The staff is the best

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Historic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Paper napkins and heavy silverware was j ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Paper napkins and heavy silverware was just the first clue that I chose the right spot for our business lunch. I would definitely love to come back for an evening dinner date with my boyfriend as the atmosphere was magical and the food was mouthwatering. I had their Captil Grille cheeseburger medium rare and the meat was perfectly grilled warm pink/red. It was so damn good! The truffle fries were even better than Crave as they served it in a metal silver holder that kept them warm that it was still piping hot to my colleagues after I decided to share with them some fries after 15 minutes into our eating time. Amazing!

The staff was so polite and caring making recommendations and giving us a few laughs.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I recently celebrated an anniversary at ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I recently celebrated an anniversary at Capital Grille. The staff was friendly and went beyond anything I could have imagined to celebrate our special day. They decorated our table and had a special anniversary dessert created for us! The lobster bisque was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazing, great service and wine ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food is amazing, great service and wine list! Valet parking is a plus, and ambiance is very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, atmosphere and our waite ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food, atmosphere and our waiter was awesome!! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grille Never Disappoints. Enjoyed a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Grille Never Disappoints. Enjoyed a Sazarac cocktail with my son and wife for his 21st birthday last week. As always, the food was excellent and impeccably-paced by our waiter of he evening, David. The additional serving staff, especially Segundro, kept us watered and breaded without rushing to clear or leaving us stuck with dishes longer than we would have liked. That is an art mastered by the Grille's staff, and every bit as important to the fine dining experience, as the foods taste or temperature. You're not just paying a premium for a hunk of meat and a side dish, but for a symphony of food and service. We could not have been more pleased with the performance. Thank you, Grille!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille continues to be my favori ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Capital Grille continues to be my favorite restaurant in Minneapolis. While there are a few other very good steakhouses, none of them have the consistent execution that Capital Grille does. The servers are the best in the business and the bartenders are fantastic as well. I am always excited when I have a reservation at Capital Grille.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've ordered a very good bone in T bone ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I've ordered a very good bone in T bone steak which was 100% served as ordered. The service was very friendly and I will be back there when I stay in Minneapolis again

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dylan was truly impeccable with his serv ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Dylan was truly impeccable with his service, style, knowledge and smile! The food was exquisite and the staff accommodating in that my work colleague arrived late from MSP Airport and we were one of only 2 tables dining on a late Sunday evening. We never felt rushed, more like we were special guests.

Thank you for a lovely evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I flew in from Los Angeles to take a fri ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I flew in from Los Angeles to take a friend (and her husband) to dinner. It was a congratulatory event as she had just transferred to Minneapolis to take a senior management role with a large company there. While the food and service were both very good, the noise level was unbelievable. I have NEVER eaten in a restaurant where we struggled so much to have a civil conversation. My guests commented on it as well and it was embarrassing. They really need to determine a way (they do exist!) to eliminate/reduce the noise levels. Sorry, I would never return. Regrettably, I would not recommend this restaurant either. We shouldn't pay over $400 for the three of us to scream at each other to be heard. It was just NOT a relaxing dinner. The #1 rating on Trip Advisor just can't be correct. There HAS TO BE other restaurants in Minneapolis/St. Paul with comparable food and service that permits a normal conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Great Experience, all the food was fabul ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great Experience, all the food was fabulous and the service (Dave) was outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous waiter and food is amazing

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fabulous waiter and food is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, food and atmosphere ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent service, food and atmosphere

Perfect for special occasions

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went before show. Wait staff very cogniz ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went before show. Wait staff very cognizant of that with great service. Filer of beef excellent as were Sam's mashed and date's salmon. Easy walk to Orpheum and free valet (they even keep your meal leftovers for you to retrieve after show when get car!). Recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.