About The Capital Grille - Minneapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Hennepin Theatre District.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

801 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 692-9000

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
The Capital Grille will cater parties of 20 to 100 guests with outstanding food & service.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking begins each evening at 5 p.m.

Public lots available:
Lasalle Plaza
30 South 9th Street
Next to YMCA and in our building


Park & Shop Parking Ramp
24 8th St. South

Lasalle Court Parking Ramp
811 Lasalle Avenue

Executive Chef:
Crystal Morris

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact our Sales and Marketing Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (89)
Good for a Date (66)
Pre/post Theatre (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Romantic (58)
Business Meals (58)
Notable Wine List (43)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Worth the Drive (36)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Groups (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Cozy (22)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Authentic (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Tasting Menu (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Private Room (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
People Watching (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Fun (5)
Historic (5)
Family Style (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2867 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was excellent! We loved the cocktails and prosciutto wrapped mozzarella bites with tomatoes in balsamic were amazing. Steak tender and flavorful. But SAVE ROOM FOR DESSERT!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

The shrimp is not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Service and food were excellent was a very enjoyable time for our group

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

After visiting Capital Grille and reading reviews here, I cannot help but think that most people feel obliged to rate the food highly just because they are paying a fortune for it...

Service is really excellent. Only 2+ Michelin star restaurants and a few iconic hotel restaurants can beat the service. The ambience is rich and beautiful - it has that old wealth dark wood panelling look that is very warm and relaxing.

But the meats (I had the sliced filet Oscar with lump crab and béarnaise) was just good, and doesn't come anywhere near the quality and variety that's available at Burch Steak.

I cannot recommend this restaurant as a good value for money choice.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Perfect meal and experience. We had wedge salad; iceberg lettuce, homemade Bleu cheese dressing, perfectly cooked squares of bacon/pork belly, and the best early summer cherry tomatoes ever. And then, lobster rolls...I love lobster rolls and try them whenever they're on menu. Capital Grille's are my favorite, hands down.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This Capital Grille never disappoints. Far beyond a mere steak house, even the steaks are impossible to replicate. The truffle fries were irresistible at lunch, the waiter was a delight, and the tables allow for calm conversation in an elegant setting with a friendly attitude. I return over and over again for lunch and for dinner and will continue to do so. The Capital Grille has become known as one of our true go-to places for important celebrations - when we want to ensure that we will have a great meal and a great experience.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent A+ all around, fantastic food, great service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The Capital Grille is my favorite restaurant for high end service and food. It is definitely the best steak restaurant in the twin Cities. We had an excellent meal and outstanding service. We all had different steaks and they were done perfectly and extremely tasty! I highly recommend the brussel sprout salad as it is fabulous as is the creamed corn side. Every need was attended to and the food was delicious. Definitely a 5 star experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great staff, decor and the food was top notch. Filet is a must and if you like something hot the Calamari / hot peppers is the perfect appetizer. You will not regret eating here.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very nice evening celebrating for two couples celebrating the same anniversary date. Capital Grille treated us to champagne and dessert! Server was very helpful and the food was wonderful!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Wonderful experience! Great food and service! The staff was so friendly. Definitely great for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Birthday dinner before the theater

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This place is fantastic! We had unbelievable service. The food was incredible. Everything about the place was extremely classy. I can't wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Really enjoyed celebrating a birthday dinner. Food and service were superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Lynn was amazing

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The service was impeccable. Everyone's was very kind .
The food was delicious , fish a little rich and the music in our booth a little loud , but they made us all feel so special !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Chef's choice Filet Lobster Oscar. Incredible! Followed by berries and creme fraiche. Great atmosphere, great meal.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Had an absolutely fabulous experience celebrating my boyfriend's birthday. Not a single complaint about anything. An absolute gen!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

For Any Occasion - Go!! You will Not Regret it one bit!! Professionalism is what you expect - and YOU Will Get That! Enjoy and Memories will be cast! Tom

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This is the second time I've been here and I was not disappointed. There are times you get a great meal, you go back, and something is different or changed to where the experience isn't as good as the first. Here I was just as happy the second time as I was the first. We started with the fresh oysters and their minuette sauce is to die for. I could have probably drank the sauce. I got the porcini rubbed bone in ribeye with 15 year balsamic. To say it melted in my mouth would be an understatement. Perfectly cooked, perfectly seasoned, every bite I think my eyes rolled back into my head. I had to get the coconut dessert again as well. Don't try anything other desssert until you've had this. It's amazing and decadent and I love it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Excellent meal, service was great, loved it. we were headed next door to the State Theatre for a concert so we were quite excited to get a great meal so close to the venue, definitely we will go back again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Top to bottom awesome experience. Our server Sandy was one of, if not the best we've ever had at a restaurant. She found out we were celebrating my return home from a deployment and made us feel so welcome and appreciated. The food was phenomenal. Honestly one of the best meals we've ever had.
We will be coming back for sure!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Honestly, it's a toss up one night I'm a Manny's guy and other night's I'm a Capital Grille guy...The service is top notch, the food is excellent and honestly there is a lot less dches even on a Friday night so book it when you can...and if you leave a bad review then we all know your that dche I'm talking about!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was great, service great , made birthday special with complimentary champagne and dessert!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Fantastic food and excellent service! Very friendly and accommodating. They even offered me half portions of the sides because I was worried there would be too much food! Steak was sooo delicious and the wine that I had was wonderfully balanced and complemented the food well. Just what I needed!
The venue was a little loud, although that could have just been the table next to me.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Outstanding steaks and seafood. 5 stars and best in Minneapolis.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We had a great time and the staff made us feel like the important people there! The food was excellent and we will be back soon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food was good but the prices were high. Our server was attentive.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server and service were top notch. The steak was slightly under cooked. Our server jumped through hoops to fix the problem. The vegetables had cooled while steak was re-grilled, so new warm veggies were provided, plus a "complimentary" dessert. We look forward to coming back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sunday brunch was upscale. The fixed menu price included a selection of a starter, main entree, and dessert. We like this type of menu. Each course has four or five selections prepared well. The service was professional as always.
This restaurant has presence, authenticity and history. The atmosphere is conducive to fine dining.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was looking for a good option to take my wife for Mother's Day and The Capital Grille had some reservations open. Had heard of it as a place for fine dining and, although I was looking for a brunch, I was intrigued by their price fixe menu for the day. We each started with a Caesar salad and my wife had the Shrimp with Cheese Grits for her entree while I had the Lobster Frittata. I didn't try the grits, but the frittata was light and airy and the hollandaise sauce was a nice touch. For dessert I had a flourless chocolate torte which melted in my mouth! A tasty and pleasing meal overall and surprisingly filling. Would recommend The Capital Grille to all my friends!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing food and services. Top notch in customer service. We were satisfied from valet to desert. I am repeat customer.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As usual they were at the top of their game. We had a great evening!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great meal after attending my son's college graduation. The food was excellent .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

For a special evening I would always think oh Capital Grille

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A great restaurant and outstanding service. From the Maitre d ' to the server we were treated like family. They took their time while with you and made you feel like they truly cared about you having a wonderful evening , and we did. While the Capital Grille is known for great steaks, their Chilean Sea Bass is simply amazing. I highly recommend eating here, be advised the price certainly reflects the quality of the restaurant. Besides our entree my wife and I each had 3 drinks, and a desert. We also split an appetizer and a side dish, with tip our bill came to $300
It was certainly worth it, but I thought others may want to know.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Fantastic anniversary evening for a pre-theater show experience. Food and service both top notch. Definitely on the expensive side, but well worth the price

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food came a bit too fast but otherwise a great experience. Please work on timing the meals.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The Kale salad was awesome and the salmon was light and seasoned. Very good experience.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great steak, service, and wines. Sides are amazing, staff is great

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.