Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 21 times today
Special offers available. See details

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

4.7
1405 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Special Occasion
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(414) 223-0600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Hans Cys
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Join us for Father's Day on Sunday, June 17. Enjoy our Wagyu Bone-In NY Strip for a celebration to remember.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 1405 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Everything ordered was perfection. Don’t miss the lobster mac!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

It was a fantastic experience! Our first time at a Capitol Grille anywhere! It exceeded my expectations! We ate here as a celebration of my son graduating from Marquette University.
The food was delicious!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We were compressed for time (before my daughter’s graduation) and Sara was fantastic. She not only got us out on time , but we didn’t miss anything; cocktails, apps, salads and mains all in leads than 90 minutes for a part of 14. She was magic. My daughter was floating and it was a huge blessing to us. Thank you Sara. You made this dinner so memorable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Everything was wonderful, as usual. Except, for the first time ever, we noticed that the stoli Doley drinks were noticeably weak compared to in years past.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Awesome service! They make you feel like you are the only diners there. 1st class all the way!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We have been going to CG for many years it is our #1 choice and we consider this spot to be the best in the area.
Tonight was below par for CG . Main course was ill prepared for CG . It usually is perfection !!! Maybe to busy ??? Short staff in the kitchen???? We will return !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Outstanding in every possible way!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Really great. Ran out of Sonoma Coutrer. But our waitress was outstanding

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The cast iron garlic shrimp and the lobster bisque were both excellent. Three of us had the 10 oz filet mignon which were all again excellent. Our fourth diner had the sesame seared tuna which he has had before. It was disappointing. He felt it was a different grade or type of tuna than previous visits. Our server was on again, off again attentive. Three of us ordered and received our cocktails before our server came back to get the wine order for our fourth. Then it took a while until she actually got her wine. The service was better and server more attentive as the evening went on.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The steak we ordered was supposed to be prime, but it was not very good. The green beans were almost raw, and not tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Celebrated our 25th Anniversary! They always make it a big deal with a red rose on the table and a special complementary dessert! This is our go to special occasions restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great for "date night." Late reservation and all, the service and food were amazing.
Always love "The Capital Grille," no matter the city.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We celebrated our 30th Anniversary dinner here. Great food and service and they had the table decorated with a long stem rose and little sequined hearts - very sweet. Food was great and service too. They brought us a lovely dessert and two glasses of champagne at the end. We thought this was a nice touch - and free, however, when we got home we realized they automatically charged us $24 for the two glasses of champagne. That spoiled the whole evening, especially since we didn't ask for the champagne, and left our waitress a big tip. If celebrating a special evening, be wary of anything you didn't order that they bring to the table and you assume is gratis.....may want to check your bill!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

As always, five stars are not enough to rate how much we enjoy eating at The Capital Grille. How about I give them ten stars...enough said. :-)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Our waiter, Aaron, was wonderful, as always. He was very attentive and knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

It was our wedding anniversary and the dinner and staff were exceptional!! Jessica was super. Our only criticism was the lobster bisque did not seen the same. We remembered larger chunks of lobster. Would recommend larger but fewer pieces of the lobster.
We also love the little touches - red rose, the card and picture, and of course the creme brulee!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

It was what we expected from the Capital Grille. Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Outstanding! Excellent food! Superb service! Great restaurant to celebrate my birthday!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

I am always impressed when I dine at the Capital Grille. The steaks are marvelous and the lobster mac and cheese is incredible! Service is always first class and I always wish I had room for desert! I highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Excellent food & service!! The server was very friendly & attentive to our needs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

I can count on excellent service, good cuts of meat & a wonderful ambiance at Capital Grille.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We got a terrible table, so it ruined the ambiance for us. There shouldn’t be a table located where we sat. Honestly, I think they overbooked so stuck an extra table in. Basically, it was right in the entrance. For the price point of this restaurant, I would expect more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Excellent meal, as usual and expected. Capital Grille always delivers best in class steaks and service. Our server Marcelo was attentive and friendly. Definitely a go to for business or pleasure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Wonderful experience. Attentive staff. Excellent food. Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The Tomahawk bone in ribeye was absolutely phenomenal. Service was flawless. It’s not cheap, but you do get what you pay for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Amazing! Sophia and Maria were both fantastic servers! Lindsey the GM stopped by as well and made us feel so welcome! Always a positive experience at The Capital Grille!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

We went to celebrate an anniversary. All seven of us were completely satisfied with everything. Most of us had one of the specials, bone in fillet or tomahawk ribeye. The food is to die for! The service was top notch and cocktails were great! This was not our first time here and it won’t be our last!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Amazing. Food and service was outstanding. We went for our anniversary and they were so wonderful. A rose on the table, champagne toast and complimentary dessert. The whole experience was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Over priced

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We went for Easter Brunch which was a pre fixed menu and all the things on the menu looked delicious, but we all had the fillet which were so good. I really like this place, from the valet to the wait staff all are nice and happy that you are dining with them. Plus delicious drinks and delicious food. We had a great time, thank you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Excellent, casual midweek birthday celebration. Food and service both excellent. We were there early (6:30) on a weekday, so it was not very busy and, thus, quiet, but am guessing it is not too bad whenever, especially if you snag a nice booth. Not inexpensive, but cost/value ratio was good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Booked a last minute birthday lunch for my Mum, literally 40 minutes before hand.

I selected the birthday option on opentable, but added no further details.

On arrival they had added birthday confetti to the table and a little card/note. I was so pleasantly surprised. Had I maybe planned in advance and called ahead to request I would have maybe expected this but not when booking through an app 40 minutes prior.

We had an excellent meal from the lunch menu, Mum had a set menu and I had a steak. All delicious food. We were stuffed, but then they kindly brought out a trio of desserts with a candle for my mum. (They had by this point established who’s birthday it was)

Exceptional service which exceeded expectations

Also worth noting there is free valet parking during the day it seems, I had steady paid for street parking

We’ll be back again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Very good steak house. Excellent and lengthy wine list with higher end wines available by the glass. Good cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great menu fresh food amazing experience and wait staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Waiter was amazing. I was greeted with champagne, a treat from the chef and star confetti on the table. Food was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The Capital Grille and their entire Staff never fails to execute at the highest possible level. They treat their regular guests like family, and as evidenced by very low employee turnover, Internally they treat their staff well too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

My cousin birthday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great food and great service as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Always great food and service. They really make you feel like you are the only table in the restaurant. Decorated table for birthday ahead of arrival which made the meal that much more special.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
36