About The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

310 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hans Cys

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

flourless chocolate cake - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Filet Mignon Topped With Butter Poached Lobster Tail - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Gorgonzola And Black Truffle Wagyu Burger* - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Citrus Glazed Salmon - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Bourbon - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Shrimp Cocktail - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Oysters - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
New England Clam Chowder - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Lobster and Crab Cakes - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Balsamic Porcini Mushroom Crust  - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Lobster Bisque - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Steak Sandwich - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Lamb Chops - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Lobster Stuffed With Crab And Shrimp - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Wisconsin
Best Food
Wisconsin
Best Service
Wisconsin
10 More
Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Steakhouse
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
Best Food
Milwaukee
Best Service
Milwaukee
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Best Value
Milwaukee
Steakhouse
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (28)
See All
Business Meals (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Notable Wine List (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Historic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Authentic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1050 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great as always. This is my favorite pl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Great as always. This is my favorite place to go. There was confusion on our order and we were given 2 extra steaks on the house. Very generous gesture.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went for our 2 year anniversary. The am ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for our 2 year anniversary. The ambience was great. The server, Adam was very accommodating, went above our normal expectations and made our dinner memorable. The food was outstanding also. We will definitely visit again when in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As a non meat eater, it's always a chall ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

As a non meat eater, it's always a challenge to dine at steak houses. Capitol Grille offers tasty food options and an accommodating kitchen. This particular night, the restaurant was packed and, we had to wait 15 minutes for our table, and were seated at a too-large table for 6, which made conversation for 4 awkward. I think this had to do with the Badger game, but it was nonetheless not ideal. I admit to being surprised at the crowd considering the high price tag

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We met friends here for a birthday celeb ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

We met friends here for a birthday celebration. They had confetti on the table as well as a birthday card. Many employees (at least 3) wished her a happy birthday. Our food was all wonderful, although a bit pricey seeing everything was ala carte. The steaks and sauces were all very tasty. Dessert was a plate that was chocolate screen printed with another happy birthday message with flourless chocolate cake on one side and cheese cake on the other. Memorable night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As always, lunch at The Capital Grille w ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 1, 2016

As always, lunch at The Capital Grille was delicious and the staff was attentive. We are going back next week...can't wait to have the lobster mac 'n cheese which is out of this world good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual - service and food were outstan ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 28, 2016

As usual - service and food were outstanding! Try to conduct all business lunches at Capital Grille

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 15th Wedding anniversary was great. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our 15th Wedding anniversary was great. Capital Grill thought of all the little details and made my wife feel very special.

Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, perfect. From the service to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As always, perfect. From the service to the food to the extra birthday touches - Capital Grille delivers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving day. Wife had to work and t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving day. Wife had to work and too much for me to cook.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First time here, for Thanksgiving dinner ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

First time here, for Thanksgiving dinner. The turkey meal was outstanding -- almost like home. The booth was very comfortable, and the staff all very professional! Enjoyed the decor -- nice mix of English club and hunting lodge. Any place with a portrait of Golda Meir is OK by me! Creative dessert menu, though I was probably too full to enjoy completely. My friend and I said we'd definitely like to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the first time we went out for T ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is the first time we went out for Thanksgiving and we were very happy with our decision and choice of restaurants. We had a small group of 3 with one being my 93 year old mother-in-law who loves Thanksgiving. It was a joy to see that she had such a nice experience and truly enjoyed the meal and day. I would happily have Thanksgiving at Capital Grill next year. The restaurant was full with many families, but noise was not an issue. The environment was warm and inviting and the thanksgiving meal was one of the best Thanksgiving feasts I have had the pleasure to enjoy. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They took fabulous care of us on Thanksg ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

They took fabulous care of us on Thanksgiving. Even had a congratulations dessert for my son who had just graduated from boot camp. We had not even requested it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always amazing food and service, expensi ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always amazing food and service, expensive but will be back for special occasions!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service, as always, was imp ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food and service, as always, was impeccable. Thank you for another wonderful celebration! We go every year for birthdays and anniversaries and can't imagine going anywhere else. Please do not ever get rid of the Lobster Bisque! It truly is amazing!

Thank you!!!! We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal in every aspect! Lobster ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fantastic meal in every aspect! Lobster mac n cheese is to die for! Filet was melt in your mouth delicious and the creme brûlée was amazing as well. Our waitress was very attentive and courteous. Definitely recommend dining here for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was extremely attentive! From ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The staff was extremely attentive! From giving us black napkins so we wouldn't get lint on our pants to making sure our orders were exactly the way we requested.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was exquisite and the meal w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The service was exquisite and the meal was excellent. My wife had a memorable experience for her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food on our visit was excellent, exc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food on our visit was excellent, except for the brussels sprouts, which were a little bit under-cooked. They were still tasty though. Our server, Abigail, was great. When I told her we were celebrating my friend's birthday, she offered a complimentary birthday dessert, which came with a long-stem red rose for the birthday girl! A very lovely experience overall. It was my first visit, but I will certainly be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed my recent dining experience for ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Enjoyed my recent dining experience for lunch with a client at Capital Grille. Hostesses and waitstaff were exceptionally prepared and friendly, aiming to and succeeding at pleasing my guest and me with service and tasty food. Will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was excellent, service outstanding ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Steak was excellent, service outstanding. Wedge salad, truffle fries and flourless cake- delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attended a conference at the Milwaukee C ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Attended a conference at the Milwaukee Center with three friends and we wanted a nice dinner one of the nights. The Capital Grille was very conveniently located and we had a wonderful dinner. One of the other attendees recommended a few menu items and she was right on the money with the recommendations. Notably the mashed potatoes ( who would have thought!) and coconut cream pie for dessert. I personally loved the butternut squash soup. My friends had different cuts of beef and raved! Our server (Bryan) was attentive without being intrusive and gave thoughtful recommendations. Will return for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently outstanding food and servic ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Consistently outstanding food and service in a great venue. My favorite Milwaukee restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy a night out at Capital Gri ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Always enjoy a night out at Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very much overpriced on every item - fro ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very much overpriced on every item - from drinks through the menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Probably the best steak I had in long ti ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Probably the best steak I had in long time. Great waitress named Sara. Always an A+ experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food is great, but the pri ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

As always the food is great, but the prices are quite high. It's a great special occasion place or a place to impress business guests.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the place - the service and food we ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Love the place - the service and food we're outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a classic steakhouse experience a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Always a classic steakhouse experience and the lobster tails were amazing.

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress Sara was extremely pleasant ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our waitress Sara was extremely pleasant and very attentive. Our steaks were prepared fantastically and exceptionally tasty. It is a restaurant well worth the trip downtown for a special occasion (Anniversary, Birthday, etc).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good consistent food every time. They k ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Good consistent food every time. They know how to cook a steak.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience at Capital Gri ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had a great experience at Capital Grille that included a very attentive server and outstanding entrees. The filet was perfectly prepared and a superb cut, and the sea bass was delicious, although I generally prefer a lighter sauce. The lobster/crab bisque was an interesting change with a little more of a tomato base and a bit spicy than I generally see. A lot of nice seating in this classic restaurant. Well done!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great dinner for our anniversary. We d ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great dinner for our anniversary. We did not get seated at our reservation time but all went well once we had a table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great time for dinner. Our steaks ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Had a great time for dinner. Our steaks were great. The chicken was dry but they were nice enough to take it off our bill. It was my daughters birthday. They had nice great. Service was great. Would recommend.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and ambiance was excellent. I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food and ambiance was excellent. I would recommend this as a great dining experience in Milwaukee. A little pricey.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

ambiance, food, attention to detail, eng ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 15, 2016

ambiance, food, attention to detail, engaging staff, wine list, dessert, EVERYTHING WONDERFUL

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Capital Grille NEVER disappoints!! Dinne ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Capital Grille NEVER disappoints!! Dinner was amazing and our server was fantastic too! Love it here :)

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is nothing quite so wonderful as b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 14, 2016

There is nothing quite so wonderful as being treated like you are special on a special occasion.

When you celebrate at the Capital Grille, they are overly attentive, and really make you feel special. That's on top of great service, fabulous food, and wines! It just doesn't get much better than the Capital Grille.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and amazing food as alwa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing service and amazing food as always! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Good. We had a wonderful time. I w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very Good. We had a wonderful time. I would certainly recommend The Capital Grille in Milwaukee to travelers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.