About The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


310 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hans Cys

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (88)
Good for a Date (64)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
See All
Good for Birthdays (51)
Romantic (48)
Business Meals (46)
Notable Wine List (42)
Worth the Drive (30)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Groups (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Cozy (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Fun (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Authentic (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (7)
People Watching (6)
Private Room (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Our first time and for sure not the last time. Everything was just right and we'll definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Service at all Capital Grilles is always top notch. First time at the Milwaukee restaurant and the service was a notch above.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent and the service was as well great restaurant

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

One of my best dining experiences. Our server, Sophia F, was amazing. It's a bit pricey, but for what we got, well worth the treat.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The meal was not up to expectations & the service was inconsistent. I must point out that the restaurant was exceptional in responding to the situation. The chef himself apologized for the preparation of my meal & apologized that my friend had to dine alone as my meal was not done correctly. They comped both meals. I have dined here on other occasions & all were excellent. It was just one of those days. I will definitely return. I do appreciate the staff & their response.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Absolutely amazing tomahawk veal chop!!! The best I have ever had

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This was the perfect place for our anniversary dinner. The special touches of confettti at the table along with a personal card made it all the more special. The ambiance was great, the wait staff was excellent. A great choice for that special moment. I will be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The staff went above and beyond for my wife and I anniversary dinner. They food was amazing, our waiter was awesome. Everyone from the hostess to the chefs treated us well. They really made our anniversary special and one to remember.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

A solid place to have a good steak. The menu is reminiscent of most higher end steakhouses - not particularly unusual. The wine list was notable - fairly priced with a generous selection - even a few older cabs. The food was well prepared and seasoned. The staff was well trained and stuck closely to the script. I would have like to have seen a little more individualized customer interactions and personality. Overall an enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Love fine dinning! When we dine I like a good steak. I don't cook much red meat otherwise.
Best Steak I have ever had right here!. great service! just really worth the money.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Visited Capital Grille for "Downtown Dining Week". The food and service were outstanding and it was a great value with many options. Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for Class A restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. Definitely recommended, especially for the value provided by the dining week menu!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Went with 5 other friends and really enjoyed our meal. The food was superb, the service was top shelf, the atmosphere was upscale but comfortable, and free valet parking was a real plus. Would highly recommend for a nice night out.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The service as great. As always, the food was excellent. They have a nice lunch menu at a very reasonable price.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Food was fantastic as always, didn't much care for being seated in a table by the exit door in front of the kitchen actually there shouldn't even be a table there, other than that the atmosphere is great!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Overall great value with the downtown dining week menu. Food was cooked exactly as ordered, and had lots of flavor. The cocktail prices I felt were expensive compared to other similar restaurants such as Wards or Rare. I will be a repeat customer

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Love this place, the food was great along with our excellent server name Brian. If anyone gets the chance to go please ask for him and you will not be disappointed at all.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Went for downtown dining week. Drinks were great, as was service and food. Prices are pretty exorbinant, but food and ambience were wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food is consistently first class at The Capital Grill. On this occasion I was somewhat disappointed by the service. Our waiter was in a hurry even though we clearly were not. He also had difficulty reading cues even when they were direct.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Celebrated my father's birthday. The hostess wished him a happy birthday as soon as we arrived, there was a birthday card at the table for him
And dessert was served beautifully with a candle.
Food was delicious. Overall, a great experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Dinner was wonderful, service was very good. Downtown dining week apparently was a hit because it was full of people on a Wednesday evening. This place never fails me, will definitely go again, and try the lunch menu next time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We went for Milwaukee dining
We were immediately seated
Waiter was very nice
Pricey but good

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We went during Milwaukee Dining week and all three of us tried the $12.50 lunch. For appetizers, two of us had salad, one had clam chowder. Salad was chilled and well dressed, it would have been better with a few croutons or some radishes or carrots for crunch. The soup was very rich and creamy. Two of us had the dry aged sirloin hash, one had citrus salmon. The sirloin was very tender and flavorful, the hash consisted of potatoes, onions and red/green bell peppers. Salmon was cooked perfectly and the citrus glaze took a few bites to warm up to. All of our entrees were excellent, we would order them again. For dessert two of us had creme brulee and one had the flourless chocolate espresso cake. The brulee was a generous portion, top was well browned and produced that beautiful cracking sound as we broke through the caramelized sugar, the custard was super smooth. The flourless cake was delicious, and not overly sweet, the portion size was perfect.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Everything was exceptional from the greeting to the service and food. I have been to Capitol Grills across the country and have never been disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great place to meet friends

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our food was fabulous! Service was great! I love dinning at the Capital Grill!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This is the best restaurant I have been to in a long time. From the food to the service it was just excellent. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 6, 2017

It was nice lunch, very god service, outstanding foods! We for sure will be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We are a retired group that used to work together at a downtown business. We really enjoyed the Downtown Dining Week offerings. This is such a nice restaurant with great food. Our server was very nice and efficient. Had a lovely lunch.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Service was wonderful as was the food. It was a great time catching up with coworkers since the place is very friendly and relaxing. Thanks for a great afternoon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The food and service are consistently excellent. The attention to detail makes all the difference.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Prompt seating, food was delicious, well prepared and tasty.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great value for downtown dining at lunch. Waiter was very attentive. Delicious salmon and lobster bisque.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We went here for the downtown dining week. I had the salmon and it was cooked perfectly! I would recommend this place to anyone celebrating a special occasion or date night. I would love to go back for dinner one night since we only experienced lunch but it is a really good place to eat!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I tried their Downtown Dining menu which was not only a deal, but the soup, salmon, and cake were all amazing. Definitely worth a trip back for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Food, service were excellent. I had filet mignon, my wife had chicken. The only complaint is being seated near the front entrance, it was much noisier than our first visits, especially since this was an an anniversary celebration.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food and wine. Steaks were done exactly as requested. A little pricy.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We went for Downtown Dining Week. This really makes going to an ala carte restaurant affordable. As always bar tab can double your total bill, leading to sticker shock.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had a 4:00pm reservation. Valet is not available until 4:00 pm and the doors do not open until 4:00pm.
Not a good option for health accomodation requiring inability to stand for long.
Really disappointed at their lack of concern.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.