About The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

310 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hans Cys

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for Father's Day on Sunday, June 19. Enjoy our Bone-In Tomahawk Ribeye for a celebration to remember.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Wisconsin
6 More
Best Overall
Milwaukee
Best Service
Milwaukee
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Steakhouse
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

special occasion (68)
romantic (50)
notable wine list (40)
See All
fit for foodies (39)
great for lunch (27)
good for groups (22)
neighborhood gem (9)
hot spot (9)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
946 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous spot to celebrate our daughter' ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fabulous spot to celebrate our daughter's graduation from Marquette. Everything was outstanding and the dessert and picture frame with picture was the icing on the cake. Well done Capital Grille!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When in Milwaukee

Dined on May 22, 2016

Had a great time at the Capital Grille in Milwaukee. The food and the service were outstanding!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great celebration

Dined on May 22, 2016

very festive place for college graduation. special touches includes confetti on table, nice card, congratulations dessert and a photo of family in a frame. so nice and unexpected. great food and service! friendly!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistent. Very attentive servic ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Always consistent. Very attentive service matched with terrific food. Rarely do they miss a beat and they didn't tonight, again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very special occasion, my son ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was a very special occasion, my son graduated from medical school. Everything was completely perfect! The food, service and atmosphere were all outstanding. Thank you capital grille for a very memorable evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Not so good

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Seems this particular location is not up to par compared to other larger city Capital Grill locations. The staff who greets the guests are not trained it seems in typical hospitality skills. No issue just general observation. The waiter got a couple of items mixed up and the steaks were not of Capital Grill quality. Overall it just seems this location might be an impostor of a real Capital Grill.

food5
ambience5
service5

First Class dining experience...service ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

First Class dining experience...service was outstanding and the food was as delicious as expected from the restaurant ambiance and menu description!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff could not have been nicer. Friend ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Staff could not have been nicer. Friendly, relaxing atmosphere. We will return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is my wife and I favorite restaurant. From the amazing drinks, to the do die for bone-in filet. On top of that amazing service all around. The dinner could not have been any better. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Winner and New Fan

Dined on May 8, 2016

This visit was to celebrate Mother's Day. A first time for my boyfriend and he loved it...the atmosphere, the service and the food was GREAT! My mom and I always enjoy dining at TCG...if you want great food, service and atmosphere, this is the place to go!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Supper club ambiance

Dined on April 29, 2016

Supper club ambiance

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Milwaukee Gem, everything was wonderfu ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

A Milwaukee Gem, everything was wonderful. The waiter provided his opinion of several items on the menu, which I always find helpful. Everything was wonderful. A lovely experience. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service. Great ambi ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Great ambiance. Worth the price! The extra birthday touches made it special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Place for Special Night

Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent Food and Service. The staff was wonderful. The 50th Birthday dinner was perfect. Thank you CG!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Not a great first-time experience...

Dined on April 4, 2016

My experience at The Capital Grille was less than satisfactory. Service was poor on a slow Sunday evening -- food was OK. Probably wouldn't return since Milwaukee has so many excellent restaurants to choose from these days.

food4
ambience4
service4

The food was exquisite., would have enjo ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was exquisite., would have enjoyed a more attentive coffee top off!

food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable hospitality and superior se ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Unbelievable hospitality and superior service! We were seated early and were greeted immediately by our server Brian. Since it was our first time there they gave us a complimentary scallop for both my wife and myself and with just how good that tasted I knew we were in for a real treat. Brian was very informative with helping us select our entrées and we were not disappointed. The food was 5 star as well as the continual service. Thank you Capitol Grille staff, we will be coming back!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous brunch with great attention to ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fabulous brunch with great attention to detail on the service and the entrees, salad and dessert were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is delicious and the service wa ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food is delicious and the service was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best bartender in Milwaukee...MICHAEL is ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Best bartender in Milwaukee...MICHAEL is fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5

Never a bad meal

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Never a bad meal

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a Tad Disappointed

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

I have been to the Capital Grille many times before - it is such a treat to eat there. This time I ordered the Caesar salad for lunch. Unfortunately, my salad was soggy...way too much dressing. But, the chocolate flourless cake was as yummy as ever. So dense and chocolaty and sinfully rich...love it! Will be back at Capital Grille again soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter was very friendly, and experi ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Our waiter was very friendly, and experienced. It was a very nice touch for our b-day celebration [last of the sixties for us] from the table decorations, fab dessert and a picture to capture the moment....something we'll remember forever. Just awesome.....very nice amenities! We'll be back! Mega thanks.....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a wonderful dinning experience

Dined on March 9, 2016

The dinning experience is always wonderful. The food is always fabulous and every person I have taken has always wondered why they have never gone before. The staff is beyond perfect and is one the the reasons I like to take new faces. They make you feel like royality without having to wear a crown. The Food, the entire menu, is always the best. You must try it for yourself.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Capital Grille... Is it as fancy as the name?

Dined on March 6, 2016

I enjoy this restaurant for the friendliness of the staff to the romantic vibe when your with the one you love. I especially enjoy the intimacy and privacy when you are dining. The food this night was prepared very well for my boyfriend. A delicious , tender filet mignon cooked to perfection. However I experienced a little difference in my filet. It was a little over cooked and lacked flavor. Now would this one time make me give a bad review... No I will not. It was 1 out of the 10 things I love about the restaurant. Will I be back, of course I will. The only thing I regret is not getting a glass of their pineapple infused vodka. To top off the night, I was treated like a queen when the staff put my coat on for me, what a feeling. Thank you Capital Grille.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on March 6, 2016

The first time I dined at capital Grill it was just my husband and myself. We love fine dining. We decided to take our two teens for our next dining experience. I must say that our kids loved it. They simple loved it. The food is well worth the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

pre-Springsteen concert dinner

Dined on March 4, 2016

Waiter did a great job providing great service and delivering great food during time crunch dinner prior to Bruce Springsteen concert. Steaks were superb as were the side dishes of brussels sprouts and mashed potatoes. The concert was wonderful too!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

service was long between appetizers and ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

service was long between appetizers and main course

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner celebrating a birthday!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Dinner out celebrating a birthday. Sophia Fernandez made our group feel most welcomed and ensured our dining experience was outstanding! Thank you Sophia!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food paired with Amazing wine! ...

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

Excellent food paired with Amazing wine! I Love The Capital Grille! We decided to try the lollipop lamb chops as an appetizer and I was so blown away by the Amazing flavor & seasoning, I ordered another one as my entrée along with a spinach salad. We had a bottle of Trefethen Dragons Tooth and it was Fantastic! Love Love Love The Capital Grille!

food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Disappointed

Dined on February 21, 2016

We have dined at Capital Grille many times prior to this visit, each time booking through opentable. This time they said our request for a booth and what we were celebrating was not transmitted to them. We were sat at a table for six people not four, so conversation was difficult without yelling across the table. Service was quite slow, and there were large gaps of time between courses. Very disappointed in the entire night.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delish as usual, service was gr ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food was delish as usual, service was great (Jessica), overall experience was positive.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had our Valentine's dinner at the Cap ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had our Valentine's dinner at the Capital Grille. Service was amazing, and steak one of the best I ever had. Can't wait to return for another special event!

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

UPTOWN ATMOSPHERE.

Dined on February 14, 2016

UPSCALE. CLASSY AND SOPHISTICATED. SPECIAL OF THE DAY STEAK $60.00. FOR THIS PRICE, THE BONE IN TENDERLOIN SHOULD HAVE BEEN PREPARED IN SOME EXQUISITE WAY. IT DID NOT INCLUDE ANY SIDES. THAT IS NOT TO SAY IT WAS NOT GOOD. IT WAS VERY GOOD BUT VERY EXPENSIVE. THE LOBSTER BISQUE WAS OKAY; NOT GREAT.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Unbelievable

Dined on February 14, 2016

I am 31 years old. I've eaten food every day of my life. Multiple times per day! I've eaten some food I've thought 'this is the best food I've ever eaten'. Then there was The Capital Grille experience. . This food, every bite, of everything we ordered, was absolutely perfect. I told my wife to get the 60 dollar bone in filet because it was a special occasion and I wanted her to be able to say that she got a 60 dollar steak at least once in her life. I had no idea steak could taste as good. I've never had dry-aged steak before. My dry aged porterhouse was perfection. We asked the waitress to relay the message that we wanted a touch of red, but not a full med rare and the steaks were absolutely perfect. I don't know what you do to the mashed potatoes, but the flavor was amazing. My lobster bisk soup had what seemed to be a full lobster tail in the cup. I'll get the bowl next time. Like I said, I've eaten good my entire life, and never thought any dinner would be worth 200 dollars for a couple. . But The Capital Grille opened my eyes to the highest level of food appreciation. I'm already looking for a reason to come back. We will be back soon. THANK YOU.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went with my husband and took our son with his girlfriend. Nice experience. Good food. Pricy. Disappointed that restaurant didn't do anything special for guests for Valentine's Day. Nice touch would be to give female guests a single red rose. Would have also been nice to be offered a special Valentine's dessert. First restaurant I've ever been to for Valentine's Day that didn't do something special with a Valentine theme. Without that, our meal felt like any other meal on any other day. Had I known, I would have chosen somewhere else.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Scallops and Risotto A Bit Dry

Dined on February 14, 2016

This is always one of my favorite spots and hadn't been there in quite some time. I love their lobster bisque, however tried their scallop and mushroom risotto dish for the first time, and I wasn't too impressed. I recently ate at Baccus and had their scallops, which rate much better in my mind. Possibly the busy night, but I felt the dish itself was a bit dry. Was disappointed for the first time!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Brian N hands down amazingly attentive, ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Brian N hands down amazingly attentive, polite and accommodating. Never felt rushed or pushed and his suggestions were spot on for our meal. First time there hands down a home run! Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5

Ask for Sophia. You will not be disappoi ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Ask for Sophia. You will not be disappointed!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been to the Capital Grill many times and this time did not disappoint. We had an outstanding dinner. Our server, Sophia, was exceptional. She was perfect on the timing as well as making great suggestions. Perfect service. Our food was wonderful. The Lobster Bisque had large chunks of lobster in it and the sea bass was melt-in-your-mouth good. We also had the Porcini Dusted Ribeye, which we've had before, and it was excellent as usual. I love going to Capital Grill.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.