About The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


310 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hans Cys

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (27)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Business Meals (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
Casual (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Troy was the highlight of the evening, well, just behind the 16 oz. bone-in filet. Excellent attention to detail, and drive for servicing customers as family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful in every respect! Honestly could not have been a better dinner. Spectacular service, atmosphere incredible, food off the chain! Can’t wait to return!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

We went last week Friday for my birthday and it was our 2nd time there. Capital Grille out did themselves by decorating our table, gave a dessert platter with Happy Birthday written in chocolate, gave a red rose and even a birthday card. They made me feel really special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Sara our waitress was attentive friendly knowledgeable and professional. A perfect waitress. Marita our water person was also friendly and attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food and service wonderful as always. Delicious mashed potatoes with goat cheese and cranberry reduction with filet. They are so accommodating making my husband the spinach salad even though it's no longer on the menu. Nice surprise was creme brûlée for our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2017

This was our 3rd or 4th time dinning with you each and every one was a fantastic experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 11, 2017

We had a very nice dinner. The food was delicious and the staff was very professional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Good food, nice location but over priced for what you get, $11 for some mixed greens and a tomatoe, $14 for 8 grilled asparagus.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Outstanding
Great food and service.
Sarah was great

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Excellent very good 🤣🤣

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 30, 2017

It was the great experience we have enjoyed on many occasion. Keep up the excellent service and food quality.
Thanks,
André

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Amazing! Thank you very much, went for my wife's birthday, met the family there. Awesome

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fabulous as usual!! Everything was perfect-the cocktails and food, the service, all made for a magical experience. Thanks CG!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I don't recall her name, but our waitress was excellent. She was attentive and friendly and professional. The hostess that greeted us at the front door was also very friendly and remembered us from previous visits.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Love love The Capital Grill - I go as often as I can.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We always have a great meal when ever we dine there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Went two nights in a row!!! Service - Ask for Sara W.; she was the best and made the meal for me. Food was excellent, maybe slightly better that other Capitals.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Sara was attentive, professional, and friendly. She is our favorite waitress.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Valet parking is awesome
Dark, comfortable room with quite a taxidermy collection.
Music too loud, but noise level otherwise was ok.
Good service
Cocktails perfect.
We had steak and lobster. The steak was excellent and the lobster as well. However they each arrived at the table all alone on their plates. For $105 for the two entrees, a more attractive plating is expected.
Coconut cream pie for desert with outstanding coffee ended the meal.

We will return for more?

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food was great and the really accommodated my 11 yr old who can be a picky eater. Only real issue was that the calamari looked like it was frozen and just stuck in a deep fryer. Tasted fine but lacked originality.
Other issue, which is not unique to this Capitol Grille, is that the portion size of the meal (beef most particularly) is so large that you cannot really take advantage of a great dessert menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Adam was wonderful as our server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service was exceptional and staff was great. A definite repeat when back in Milwaukee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Loved the ambience! Felt like I was in San Francisco or New York! I mentioned it was our anniversary when I made the reservation and our table was decorated with a rose and glitter! Complimentary dessert really sealed the deal! Oh, and our food was amazing, too! Kudos, Capital Grille!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The Capital Grill does a wonderful job of spoiling you on your anniversary. Was really wowed!! The food is really good and the service fantastic! Offers complimentary Valet parking.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Ordered the salmon salad. Salmon not cooked all the way..asked for it to be cooked a few additional minutes. Waitress took it back to the kitchen. Returned with it on a new plate. still not done. Very disappointing.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

My friend's birthday. The food was wonderful! Great steaks that melt in your mouth.
Great service too. Best steakhouse in Milwaukee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 17, 2017

This was the first time we had such a large party with us (12) and Capital Grille did not disappoint! Everyone and everything was amazing! Our server Bryan was incredible and everyone that assisted was also great! Not to mention the food and cocktails which were second to none! A big thank you to the kitchen staff and the front of the house for making this such a memorable time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Superb meal we really enjoyed the meal and our evening at Capital Grille

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The summer "Generous Pour" was generous and delicious! A great way to try new wine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

4th time there. First three, VG-Excell., this one not so good. Service uneven. 3-4 servers, but each one would only do what their job required them to do. Example: Entrees were brought out, no steak knives for all 4 of us. Asked for them-waited at least 2-3 minutes, regular server comes over to see if we needed anything, we then got the knives. Same with drinks. Salads were good, bisque had chewy lobster and tasted odd. Reserv. were at 5;30, told them our show was at 8:00. ten min. walk away. Entrees didn.t arrive till 6:50 to 7:00. did not complete eating until 7:25. No time for dessert. Again-right hand didn't tell the left hand what was going on. Staff very friendly, but at times clueless.
For these prices, I expect consistency and more professionalism, especially when compared to the three previous times there.
This review was also given to the Capital Grille

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Bar none, absolutely the best dinner experience. Food choice and preparation is spot on. CG delivers every time and this time they excelled.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great place with great food. Everytime we eat here the food is perfect and the staff is over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

excellent quality food, Beverages and service.
Our Server Marcelo M. was attentive, entertaining and made us feel welcome with every part of our experience. we were not Rushed at any time and enjoyed a wonderful evening at the Capitol Grille

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Everything was perfect, as always. Our server, Jessica, was a delight. We so appreciate being pampered every time we stop in. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Food was excellent as usual. Sophia is the best server ever, 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I have been to this restaurant before and the food and service was far better than this time. Interestingly, the restaurant was not as busy as the last time we were here, but my experience was far last time. Not sure why the change, as I don't consistently eat at this restaurant because it's not close to my home.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was delicious. I had the filet and my daughter had the roasted chicken. Both were excellent. The mashed potatoes are the best I have had!!! Definitely will be back!!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

We go here for our anniversary every year. We always have the best service and food. They make our night very special and we are NEVER disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Amazing!

We were seated at a booth with decorations to celebrate our event. Our waiter brought a rose for my wife. The Capital Grill made this an event to remember our special day,

Service and food are outstanding.

We will go back and recommend to those visiting Milwaukee

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Awesome experience at Capital Grille! Food , wine and service were incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.