About The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

310 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hans Cys

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

flourless chocolate cake
Filet Mignon Topped With Butter Poached Lobster Tail
Gorgonzola And Black Truffle Wagyu Burger*
Creme Brulee
Citrus Glazed Salmon
Bourbon
Shrimp Cocktail
Oysters
New England Clam Chowder
Lobster and Crab Cakes
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Balsamic Porcini Mushroom Crust
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Lobster Bisque
Steak Sandwich
Lamb Chops
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Stuffed With Crab And Shrimp

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Wisconsin
Best Food
Wisconsin
Best Service
Wisconsin
11 More
Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Best Value
Wisconsin
Steakhouse
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
Best Food
Milwaukee
Best Service
Milwaukee
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Best Value
Milwaukee
Notable Wine List
Milwaukee
Romantic
Milwaukee
Steakhouse
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (63)
Fit for Foodies (44)
See All
Notable Wine List (43)
Good for Groups (31)
Great for Lunch (26)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1016 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good consistent food every time. They k ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good consistent food every time. They know how to cook a steak.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time for dinner. Our steaks ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a great time for dinner. Our steaks were great. The chicken was dry but they were nice enough to take it off our bill. It was my daughters birthday. They had nice great. Service was great. Would recommend.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and ambiance was excellent. I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food and ambiance was excellent. I would recommend this as a great dining experience in Milwaukee. A little pricey.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

ambiance, food, attention to detail, eng ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

ambiance, food, attention to detail, engaging staff, wine list, dessert, EVERYTHING WONDERFUL

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Capital Grille NEVER disappoints!! Dinne ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Capital Grille NEVER disappoints!! Dinner was amazing and our server was fantastic too! Love it here :)

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is nothing quite so wonderful as b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

There is nothing quite so wonderful as being treated like you are special on a special occasion.

When you celebrate at the Capital Grille, they are overly attentive, and really make you feel special. That's on top of great service, fabulous food, and wines! It just doesn't get much better than the Capital Grille.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and amazing food as alwa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing service and amazing food as always! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Good. We had a wonderful time. I w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very Good. We had a wonderful time. I would certainly recommend The Capital Grille in Milwaukee to travelers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

MY WIFE AND I WENT THERE AS ONE OF THE T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

MY WIFE AND I WENT THERE AS ONE OF THE THINGS WE DID FOR OUR 45TH ANNIVERSARY. We had a good time and wonderful meal.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, outstanding food and great se ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

As always, outstanding food and great service. We had reservation for 7pm on Saturday and were seated by 710. The bar atmosphere is great, valet parking a real plus. We have dined here probably 10 times and almost without exception the food and service have been top-shelf.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my girlfriend for our birthdays - f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Took my girlfriend for our birthdays - food was excellent; they even had confetti on the table and brought us a dessert! Nice touch! Service has always been excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our host Peter Balistrarie was excellent ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

our host Peter Balistrarie was excellent! Your attention to our special occasion was an excellent touch and appreciated.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the service from our server, Adam t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

From the service from our server, Adam to the manager, Louis taking us on a tour of the kitchen - to the incredible steaks, we had a great time. They had a rose and a Happy Anniversary card on the table when we arrived. Then when they brought our dessert that we had ordered, they also brought plate with another complimentary dessert with the words, "Happy Anniversary" spelled out in chocolate on the plate. We highly recommend The Capital Grille!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went there for our Anniversary and you ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I went there for our Anniversary and you just can't go to a better restaurant. Everything was awesome. It is pricy, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 2 year a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 2 year anniversary this past weekend and it was completely amazing. Capitol Grille took a photo of us, provides champagne, and decorated the table with roses. I was pleasantly surprised. This will be the only place we celebrate our future anniversaries. Can't wait for year number 3.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is mine and my wife's favorite rest ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is mine and my wife's favorite restaurant. We go every year for our anniversary. The steak is awesome. The lobster mac n cheese is to die for. This restaurant goes out of their way for our anniversary every year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My total Capital Grille experience has a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My total Capital Grille experience has always been excellent, hence I return repeatedly! Now I've got my friends going there as well. We always enjoy the experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW! The staff took our mediocre night, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

WOW!

The staff took our mediocre night, to an AMAZING night. One that will not be forgotten. We went there to celebrate my wife's birthday, had such an delicious meal that we are trying to find a Capital Grille be us.

If we are ever back in Milwaukee again, here's where I would make reservations for and recommend undoubtedly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my birthday at the Capital G ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Celebrating my birthday at the Capital Grille every year is a treat I wait for all year long. The staff goes out of its way to make my birthday lunch very special. They never disappoint. Can't wait for next July 23rd. lol

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was for our 25th anniversary. Awesome ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Was for our 25th anniversary. Awesome servers. Very nice touch with the rose and letter on the table for our anniversary. Complimentary desert and champagne as well. Food was to die for. I definitely had a food coma moment after dinner. If you want a top notch experience then this is the place, hands down

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an excellent meal recently at Cap ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had an excellent meal recently at Captial Grille. Our server was very knowledgeable & very friendly. The food was wonderful, but because of everything separate it gets expensive. A very nice time for a special occasion. Thank you for having us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed the meal. We were not in a hurr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Enjoyed the meal. We were not in a hurry so that may explain why the service was slower.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I used Open Table to make my reservation ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I used Open Table to make my reservation, I was able to let the restaurant know we were celebrating my daughter's 21st birthday, the entire staff was very accommodating from the moment we entered the restaurant. The table was decorated beyond my expectations and our waitress was most helpful in deciding on what wines to try. The happy birthday dessert was very tasty. I will return for dinner and other special events in the near future. Thank you for a most wonderful memory shared by me and my daughter.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always loved The Capital Grille, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have always loved The Capital Grille, in Milwaukee and multiple locations. Our service this time was below par. It was also interesting that although we celebrated a birthday, only confetti was on the table. Maybe things have changed...we used to always receive a dessert, a card (card not expected as we let the restaurant know late that it was a birthday)...but it was a bit disappointing but the caliber of restaurant and our previous experiences.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our server, Peter Balistrieri, was outst ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server, Peter Balistrieri, was outstanding and helped make my mother's 82nd birthday celebration a truly special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter did a great job.....

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our waiter did a great job.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious but pricey. The s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was delicious but pricey. The sides should be included for the price. We will be back to dine again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was above and beyond and the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was above and beyond and the food was incredibly delicious! Wow. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Capital Grill always serves up a sup ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The Capital Grill always serves up a superb meal. It is an outstanding, classic steak house that is perfect for business and large groups. A great place to impress a client. I have at times treated myself to a great steak at the bar as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I am from Maryland. So many restauran ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I am from Maryland.

So many restaurants CLAIM to have a Maryland style crab cake. Capital Grille has a COMBINATION crab and lobster cake that is closer to any actual Maryland style crab cake I have found yet. This opinion includes both Chicago and Milwaukee markets.

Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server, Brian, was knowledgeable and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our server, Brian, was knowledgeable and provided outstanding service and wonderful recommendations. The food and specialty drinks were incredible, too. I will definitely revisit when I'm back in Milwaukee for business or pleasure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we walked into the resta ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

From the moment we walked into the restaurant we knew this would be special. Our Grey Goose martinis, dirty with blue cheese stuffed olives, were wonderful. We ordered the seafood tower and it was outstanding. They even removed the lobster from the shell so we didn't need to fight to get it out. Our steaks were cooked to perfection and the wine list allowed me to choose a pinot that was outstanding and wonderful with our meal. The sides were great. The brussel sprouts were outstanding.

This was truly an amazing experience!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined at Captial Grille for Father's ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We dined at Captial Grille for Father's Day dinner and it was excellent. The food, the drink and our service was exceptional. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always excellent, and lobster ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Service is always excellent, and lobster mac and cheese is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always sumptuous food and outstanding se ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always sumptuous food and outstanding service. Attention to detail is beyond compare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Crème brulee is amazing!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Crème brulee is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We went here for downtown dining week and had a very nice lunch. The food was delicious and the service impeccable!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SPECIAL... ALL CAPS

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Whether you want something for a special occasion or not, this is the place to treat yourself.

The Capital Grill food and service is what anyone could enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.