About The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

310 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hans Cys

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

flourless chocolate cake
Gorgonzola And Black Truffle Wagyu Burger*
Citrus Glazed Salmon
Creme Brulee
Bourbon
Shrimp Cocktail
Oysters
Filet Mignon Topped With Butter Poached Lobster Tail
New England Clam Chowder
Lobster and Crab Cakes
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Balsamic Porcini Mushroom Crust
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Lobster Bisque
Steak Sandwich
Lamb Chops
Maine Lobster Roll
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Stuffed With Crab And Shrimp

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Wisconsin
Steakhouse
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
7 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
Best Service
Milwaukee
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Steakhouse
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

special occasion (110)
romantic (79)
fit for foodies (69)
See All
notable wine list (62)
good for groups (41)
great for lunch (38)
hot spot (16)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for brunch (10)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
981 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Brian, was knowledgeable and ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our server, Brian, was knowledgeable and provided outstanding service and wonderful recommendations. The food and specialty drinks were incredible, too. I will definitely revisit when I'm back in Milwaukee for business or pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Captial Grille for Father's ...

Dined 5 days ago

We dined at Captial Grille for Father's Day dinner and it was excellent. The food, the drink and our service was exceptional. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is always excellent, and lobster ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Service is always excellent, and lobster mac and cheese is to die for!

food5
ambience4
service5

Always sumptuous food and outstanding se ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Always sumptuous food and outstanding service. Attention to detail is beyond compare.

food5
ambience5
service5

Crème brulee is amazing!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Crème brulee is amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined on June 9, 2016

We went here for downtown dining week and had a very nice lunch. The food was delicious and the service impeccable!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SPECIAL... ALL CAPS

Dined on June 9, 2016

Whether you want something for a special occasion or not, this is the place to treat yourself. The Capital Grill food and service is what anyone could enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not impressed

Dined on June 9, 2016

The quality of the food was not as good as the prior times I have been here. It was less rich.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and superior service. Our ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent food and superior service. Our filet was cooked to perfection and the creamed spinach and Caesar salad were great additions.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Everything was wonderfu ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent food. Everything was wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Place

Dined on June 8, 2016

If you are looking for fine dining, ambience along with excellent food, Capital Grille is "The Place". We have never been disappointed in the food, wine, service or ambience of this great place. Their steaks will never disappoint and their special rubs are excellent, along with all their sides and desserts to top off a wonderful eating experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grill as Great as Ever

Dined on June 8, 2016

Always enjoy the Capital Grill. Food is wonderful. Service is professional. Always go there for our anniversary as well as visits from out-of-towners.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week not their best

Dined on June 8, 2016

We had lunch during restaurant week in Milwaukee. As always the service was impeccable. The food is usually the same, but this time lacked something. I had the sirloin hash which is similar to a stew my wife and guest had salmon. They were both on the bland side. I this expect that from Capitol Grill. I will say this is due to the chef making mass quantities of food for restaurant week. We dine here on special occassions throughout the year so we will be back, but will not go for restaurant week again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was warm and upscale at t ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

The atmosphere was warm and upscale at the same time with classic steakhouse decor. Service was impeccable and every course of food was cooked to perfection. We even got black napkins in place of white for our clothing. I find that to be a lovely touch and sign of attention to detail. A+.

food4
ambience5
service5

Downtown Dining menu is excellent and as ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Downtown Dining menu is excellent and as always the steaks were excellent.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Downtown Dining treat

Dined on June 6, 2016

Great bargain at a very pricey place. Good food and worth the time to check out the restaurant. It was very busy due to the specials. Our hard rolls were harder and not as warm as I thought, so I asked for replacements. The waitress seemed a bit taken back by my request but complied informing me that that was the nature of a hard roll. True, but, I may have lost a tooth on those. Other than that and some feelings of being rushed, it was pleasant. The specials may have caused the less than relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good beef hash, clam chowder, and t ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Very good beef hash, clam chowder, and terimasu. Salad was fresh but ordinary, salmon was good but didn't stand out. Loved the bread basket. Server was attentive and professional although a little on the serious not cheerful side. We had a very nice time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on June 6, 2016

Service was attentive but not intrusive. The sirloin hash was very good and substantial for a Dining Week lunch special. Great ambiance, open but not cavernous. Everyone in our party enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Restaurant

Dined on June 5, 2016

We went to the restaurant to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary after going there for our 25th anniversary. I don't think we will be waiting until our 35th wedding anniversary to visit it again--we will go more often. The food was fantastic and the service was great. We did have to wait a little time for our table because the party before us stayed and visited at the table for longer than expected, but the manager apologized (many times) and bought us a round of drinks for waiting. It was totally not necessary, but a very nice gesture. I will recommend this restaurant to all of my family and friends and can't wait to go back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tremendous downtown dining Milwaukee

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a truly memorable meal. The wine, the steak the service could not have been better. We will return soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant Milwaukee has to off ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The best restaurant Milwaukee has to offer. Outstanding in every way.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and atmosphere. Never a disap ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great meal and atmosphere. Never a disappointment. Sofia was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great at everything!

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was my 2nd time eating at The Capital Grille for Downtown Dining. Both years their service has been amazing and the food is sooooo good! There are some places who don't have the best of service to people participating in Downtown Dining; however The Capital Grille is so welcoming and treats you just like they would anyone else. I highly recommend them!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, even better food

Dined on June 4, 2016

The service and food was great. I had the Kona ages bone in New York strip and my wife had the filet. Both were done perfectly and we agree they were probably the best steaks we've ever had. We will return for more special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining At its Best

Dined on June 4, 2016

We have come to love this fine dining experience and look forward to booking when we have special events or out of town guests. The steaks are melt in your mouth quality, sides are appropriate, and service always sublime. Keep it up!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille always consistent

Dined on June 4, 2016

Despite this being a chain restaurant, I get the local vibe and the staff is largely responsible for that. The food was well prepared despite it being the prix fixe menu for the annual Milwaukee Downtown Dining event. The service was attentive without being bothersome. I will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Downtown dining week for lunch and it wa ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Downtown dining week for lunch and it was amazeballs!! Great service, great food and we will certainly return!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy Birthday

Dined on June 3, 2016

Angel provided great service. Table was decorated for our birthday celebration. Food was excellent. Only negative is that we stood in the bar for 10 minutes and were never even acknowledged. We went elsewhere for a cocktail before dinner. In their defense the seats at the bar were almost full but there was still room for us to be served.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a Pleasure to Dine There

Dined on June 3, 2016

It is always a very special dinner whenever we dine there. The staff is attentive but not over bearing. We went there for Milwaukee Downtown Dining and enjoyed our meal with friends who had never been there before. They were impressed by the delicious entrees offered for the event.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner is great again

Dined on June 2, 2016

The Caesar and Wedge salad were very good. The Filet Mignon and Dry Aged NY Strip were top rated. The sides of French beans Mashed Potatoes were excellent as was the Chocolate Espresso Cake

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and atmosphere. The custo ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere. The customer service is almost unmatched.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food, loved it! Definitely get ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Awesome food, loved it! Definitely get the flourless chocolate espresso cake!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great steak

Dined on June 2, 2016

Great anniversary or birthday restaurant , though pricy. Special occasions for sure. A bit noisy though. Would recommend for romance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience! The staff is ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Always a great experience! The staff is top shelf for sure!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Deb's birthday

Dined on May 28, 2016

Brian, our waiter was outstanding. Great explanation of the "many" meal/drink choices. Food was great, - the lobster was the best! Definitely a place we will be going back to.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous spot to celebrate our daughter' ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fabulous spot to celebrate our daughter's graduation from Marquette. Everything was outstanding and the dessert and picture frame with picture was the icing on the cake. Well done Capital Grille!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When in Milwaukee

Dined on May 22, 2016

Had a great time at the Capital Grille in Milwaukee. The food and the service were outstanding!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great celebration

Dined on May 22, 2016

very festive place for college graduation. special touches includes confetti on table, nice card, congratulations dessert and a photo of family in a frame. so nice and unexpected. great food and service! friendly!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistent. Very attentive servic ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Always consistent. Very attentive service matched with terrific food. Rarely do they miss a beat and they didn't tonight, again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very special occasion, my son ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was a very special occasion, my son graduated from medical school. Everything was completely perfect! The food, service and atmosphere were all outstanding. Thank you capital grille for a very memorable evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.