About The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


310 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hans Cys

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (90)
Good for a Date (66)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
See All
Business Meals (51)
Romantic (51)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Notable Wine List (43)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Cozy (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Casual (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
People Watching (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great Beer (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Ordered the salmon salad. Salmon not cooked all the way..asked for it to be cooked a few additional minutes. Waitress took it back to the kitchen. Returned with it on a new plate. still not done. Very disappointing.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

My friend's birthday. The food was wonderful! Great steaks that melt in your mouth.
Great service too. Best steakhouse in Milwaukee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

This was the first time we had such a large party with us (12) and Capital Grille did not disappoint! Everyone and everything was amazing! Our server Bryan was incredible and everyone that assisted was also great! Not to mention the food and cocktails which were second to none! A big thank you to the kitchen staff and the front of the house for making this such a memorable time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Superb meal we really enjoyed the meal and our evening at Capital Grille

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

4th time there. First three, VG-Excell., this one not so good. Service uneven. 3-4 servers, but each one would only do what their job required them to do. Example: Entrees were brought out, no steak knives for all 4 of us. Asked for them-waited at least 2-3 minutes, regular server comes over to see if we needed anything, we then got the knives. Same with drinks. Salads were good, bisque had chewy lobster and tasted odd. Reserv. were at 5;30, told them our show was at 8:00. ten min. walk away. Entrees didn.t arrive till 6:50 to 7:00. did not complete eating until 7:25. No time for dessert. Again-right hand didn't tell the left hand what was going on. Staff very friendly, but at times clueless.
For these prices, I expect consistency and more professionalism, especially when compared to the three previous times there.
This review was also given to the Capital Grille

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Bar none, absolutely the best dinner experience. Food choice and preparation is spot on. CG delivers every time and this time they excelled.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great place with great food. Everytime we eat here the food is perfect and the staff is over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

excellent quality food, Beverages and service.
Our Server Marcelo M. was attentive, entertaining and made us feel welcome with every part of our experience. we were not Rushed at any time and enjoyed a wonderful evening at the Capitol Grille

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Everything was perfect, as always. Our server, Jessica, was a delight. We so appreciate being pampered every time we stop in. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Food was excellent as usual. Sophia is the best server ever, 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I have been to this restaurant before and the food and service was far better than this time. Interestingly, the restaurant was not as busy as the last time we were here, but my experience was far last time. Not sure why the change, as I don't consistently eat at this restaurant because it's not close to my home.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was delicious. I had the filet and my daughter had the roasted chicken. Both were excellent. The mashed potatoes are the best I have had!!! Definitely will be back!!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

We go here for our anniversary every year. We always have the best service and food. They make our night very special and we are NEVER disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Amazing!

We were seated at a booth with decorations to celebrate our event. Our waiter brought a rose for my wife. The Capital Grill made this an event to remember our special day,

Service and food are outstanding.

We will go back and recommend to those visiting Milwaukee

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Awesome experience at Capital Grille! Food , wine and service were incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was great and service was exceptional! Our waiter, Troy, did a fine Jon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Relaxing, romantic, delicious food and atmosphere. Celebrated our 33rd anniversary. There was a cool wine event going on and now that we know what it is all about we will most definitely come next summer for the wine event once again! How fun!! We were there 2-1/2 hours and didn't want to leave! Had a memorable night! Capital Grille is now our favorite steak place in Milwaukee ! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 22, 2017

They always go above & beyond to make your dining experience special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife and I came to enjoy The Generous Pour for the second time. Adam, our waiter, was simply amazing. He is so friendly and allowed us to take our time ordering without feeling the pressure of rushing thought the meal. All in all, a lovely experience...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Whenever I fill out one of these surveys for The Capital Grille, I always wish there were more than five stars to give! Food, staff, ambience - everything was perfect for my birthday celebration lunch. I always expect great things from The Capital Grille and they always exceed my expectations. A special thanks to Lindsey and Sara - you are great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Never a disappointment! The standard in Milwaukee as far as we know and have been to a lot of places !
You will always enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

From the second walking in we were treated awesome. Adam our waiter was what you expect from a place of this caliber. He went above and beyond the call of duty to make our first time visit worthwhile. The food was awesome and service impeccable. Keep up the great effort guys

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My parents were celebrating their 53 wedding anniversary. The staff gave them a card, had a special dessert, and had decorations on the table. Not many restaurants make such an effort to make a special occasion feel special but Capital Grille really knows how to do it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our first time and for sure not the last time. Everything was just right and we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Service at all Capital Grilles is always top notch. First time at the Milwaukee restaurant and the service was a notch above.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was as well great restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 21, 2017

One of my best dining experiences. Our server, Sophia F, was amazing. It's a bit pricey, but for what we got, well worth the treat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The meal was not up to expectations & the service was inconsistent. I must point out that the restaurant was exceptional in responding to the situation. The chef himself apologized for the preparation of my meal & apologized that my friend had to dine alone as my meal was not done correctly. They comped both meals. I have dined here on other occasions & all were excellent. It was just one of those days. I will definitely return. I do appreciate the staff & their response.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Absolutely amazing tomahawk veal chop!!! The best I have ever had

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food
Outstanding service
Lobster/crab cakes were wonderful
Lobster mac and cheese was quite good
Steaks were spectacular

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This was the perfect place for our anniversary dinner. The special touches of confettti at the table along with a personal card made it all the more special. The ambiance was great, the wait staff was excellent. A great choice for that special moment. I will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The staff went above and beyond for my wife and I anniversary dinner. They food was amazing, our waiter was awesome. Everyone from the hostess to the chefs treated us well. They really made our anniversary special and one to remember.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

A solid place to have a good steak. The menu is reminiscent of most higher end steakhouses - not particularly unusual. The wine list was notable - fairly priced with a generous selection - even a few older cabs. The food was well prepared and seasoned. The staff was well trained and stuck closely to the script. I would have like to have seen a little more individualized customer interactions and personality. Overall an enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Love fine dinning! When we dine I like a good steak. I don't cook much red meat otherwise.
Best Steak I have ever had right here!. great service! just really worth the money.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Visited Capital Grille for "Downtown Dining Week". The food and service were outstanding and it was a great value with many options. Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for Class A restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. Definitely recommended, especially for the value provided by the dining week menu!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Went with 5 other friends and really enjoyed our meal. The food was superb, the service was top shelf, the atmosphere was upscale but comfortable, and free valet parking was a real plus. Would highly recommend for a nice night out.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The service as great. As always, the food was excellent. They have a nice lunch menu at a very reasonable price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Food was fantastic as always, didn't much care for being seated in a table by the exit door in front of the kitchen actually there shouldn't even be a table there, other than that the atmosphere is great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Overall great value with the downtown dining week menu. Food was cooked exactly as ordered, and had lots of flavor. The cocktail prices I felt were expensive compared to other similar restaurants such as Wards or Rare. I will be a repeat customer

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.