About The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

310 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hans Cys

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

flourless chocolate cake
Gorgonzola And Black Truffle Wagyu Burger*
Citrus Glazed Salmon
Creme Brulee
Bourbon
Shrimp Cocktail
Oysters
Filet Mignon Topped With Butter Poached Lobster Tail
New England Clam Chowder
Lobster and Crab Cakes
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Balsamic Porcini Mushroom Crust
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Lobster Bisque
Steak Sandwich
Lamb Chops
Maine Lobster Roll
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Stuffed With Crab And Shrimp

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Wisconsin
Best Food
Wisconsin
Best Service
Wisconsin
12 More
Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Steakhouse
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
Best Food
Milwaukee
Best Service
Milwaukee
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Best Value
Milwaukee
Notable Wine List
Milwaukee
Steakhouse
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

special occasion (90)
romantic (64)
fit for foodies (54)
See All
notable wine list (51)
good for groups (36)
great for lunch (30)
hot spot (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
991 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I used Open Table to make my reservation ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

I used Open Table to make my reservation, I was able to let the restaurant know we were celebrating my daughter's 21st birthday, the entire staff was very accommodating from the moment we entered the restaurant. The table was decorated beyond my expectations and our waitress was most helpful in deciding on what wines to try. The happy birthday dessert was very tasty. I will return for dinner and other special events in the near future. Thank you for a most wonderful memory shared by me and my daughter.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always loved The Capital Grille, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have always loved The Capital Grille, in Milwaukee and multiple locations. Our service this time was below par. It was also interesting that although we celebrated a birthday, only confetti was on the table. Maybe things have changed...we used to always receive a dessert, a card (card not expected as we let the restaurant know late that it was a birthday)...but it was a bit disappointing but the caliber of restaurant and our previous experiences.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our server, Peter Balistrieri, was outst ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server, Peter Balistrieri, was outstanding and helped make my mother's 82nd birthday celebration a truly special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter did a great job.....

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our waiter did a great job.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious but pricey. The s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was delicious but pricey. The sides should be included for the price. We will be back to dine again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was above and beyond and the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was above and beyond and the food was incredibly delicious! Wow. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Capital Grill always serves up a sup ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The Capital Grill always serves up a superb meal. It is an outstanding, classic steak house that is perfect for business and large groups. A great place to impress a client. I have at times treated myself to a great steak at the bar as well.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I am from Maryland. So many restauran ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I am from Maryland.

So many restaurants CLAIM to have a Maryland style crab cake. Capital Grille has a COMBINATION crab and lobster cake that is closer to any actual Maryland style crab cake I have found yet. This opinion includes both Chicago and Milwaukee markets.

Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server, Brian, was knowledgeable and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our server, Brian, was knowledgeable and provided outstanding service and wonderful recommendations. The food and specialty drinks were incredible, too. I will definitely revisit when I'm back in Milwaukee for business or pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Captial Grille for Father's ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We dined at Captial Grille for Father's Day dinner and it was excellent. The food, the drink and our service was exceptional. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always excellent, and lobster ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Service is always excellent, and lobster mac and cheese is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always sumptuous food and outstanding se ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always sumptuous food and outstanding service. Attention to detail is beyond compare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Crème brulee is amazing!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Crème brulee is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We went here for downtown dining week and had a very nice lunch. The food was delicious and the service impeccable!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SPECIAL... ALL CAPS

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Whether you want something for a special occasion or not, this is the place to treat yourself.

The Capital Grill food and service is what anyone could enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The quality of the food was not as good as the prior times I have been here. It was less rich.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food and superior service. Our ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent food and superior service. Our filet was cooked to perfection and the creamed spinach and Caesar salad were great additions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food. Everything was wonderfu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent food. Everything was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Place

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

If you are looking for fine dining, ambience along with excellent food, Capital Grille is "The Place". We have never been disappointed in the food, wine, service or ambience of this great place. Their steaks will never disappoint and their special rubs are excellent, along with all their sides and desserts to top off a wonderful eating experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Capital Grill as Great as Ever

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Always enjoy the Capital Grill. Food is wonderful. Service is professional. Always go there for our anniversary as well as visits from out-of-towners.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week not their best

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had lunch during restaurant week in Milwaukee. As always the service was impeccable. The food is usually the same, but this time lacked something. I had the sirloin hash which is similar to a stew my wife and guest had salmon. They were both on the bland side. I this expect that from Capitol Grill. I will say this is due to the chef making mass quantities of food for restaurant week. We dine here on special occassions throughout the year so we will be back, but will not go for restaurant week again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was warm and upscale at t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The atmosphere was warm and upscale at the same time with classic steakhouse decor. Service was impeccable and every course of food was cooked to perfection. We even got black napkins in place of white for our clothing. I find that to be a lovely touch and sign of attention to detail. A+.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Downtown Dining menu is excellent and as ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Downtown Dining menu is excellent and as always the steaks were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Downtown Dining treat

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great bargain at a very pricey place. Good food and worth the time to check out the restaurant.

It was very busy due to the specials. Our hard rolls were harder and not as warm as I thought, so I asked for replacements. The waitress seemed a bit taken back by my request but complied informing me that that was the nature of a hard roll. True, but, I may have lost a tooth on those.

Other than that and some feelings of being rushed, it was pleasant. The specials may have caused the less than relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good beef hash, clam chowder, and t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Very good beef hash, clam chowder, and terimasu. Salad was fresh but ordinary, salmon was good but didn't stand out. Loved the bread basket. Server was attentive and professional although a little on the serious not cheerful side. We had a very nice time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Service was attentive but not intrusive. The sirloin hash was very good and substantial for a Dining Week lunch special. Great ambiance, open but not cavernous. Everyone in our party enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Restaurant

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We went to the restaurant to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary after going there for our 25th anniversary. I don't think we will be waiting until our 35th wedding anniversary to visit it again--we will go more often. The food was fantastic and the service was great. We did have to wait a little time for our table because the party before us stayed and visited at the table for longer than expected, but the manager apologized (many times) and bought us a round of drinks for waiting. It was totally not necessary, but a very nice gesture. I will recommend this restaurant to all of my family and friends and can't wait to go back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tremendous downtown dining Milwaukee

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a truly memorable meal. The wine, the steak the service could not have been better. We will return soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant Milwaukee has to off ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The best restaurant Milwaukee has to offer. Outstanding in every way.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and atmosphere. Never a disap ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great meal and atmosphere. Never a disappointment. Sofia was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great at everything!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was my 2nd time eating at The Capital Grille for Downtown Dining. Both years their service has been amazing and the food is sooooo good! There are some places who don't have the best of service to people participating in Downtown Dining; however The Capital Grille is so welcoming and treats you just like they would anyone else. I highly recommend them!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, even better food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The service and food was great. I had the Kona ages bone in New York strip and my wife had the filet. Both were done perfectly and we agree they were probably the best steaks we've ever had. We will return for more special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining At its Best

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We have come to love this fine dining experience and look forward to booking when we have special events or out of town guests. The steaks are melt in your mouth quality, sides are appropriate, and service always sublime. Keep it up!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille always consistent

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Despite this being a chain restaurant, I get the local vibe and the staff is largely responsible for that. The food was well prepared despite it being the prix fixe menu for the annual Milwaukee Downtown Dining event. The service was attentive without being bothersome. I will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown dining week for lunch and it wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Downtown dining week for lunch and it was amazeballs!! Great service, great food and we will certainly return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Happy Birthday

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Angel provided great service. Table was decorated for our birthday celebration. Food was excellent. Only negative is that we stood in the bar for 10 minutes and were never even acknowledged. We went elsewhere for a cocktail before dinner. In their defense the seats at the bar were almost full but there was still room for us to be served.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a Pleasure to Dine There

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

It is always a very special dinner whenever we dine there. The staff is attentive but not over bearing. We went there for Milwaukee Downtown Dining and enjoyed our meal with friends who had never been there before. They were impressed by the delicious entrees offered for the event.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner is great again

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The Caesar and Wedge salad were very good. The Filet Mignon and Dry Aged NY Strip were top rated. The sides of French beans Mashed Potatoes were excellent as was the Chocolate Espresso Cake

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and atmosphere. The custo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere. The customer service is almost unmatched.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.