About The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

310 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hans Cys

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Birthdays (25)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Business Meals (23)
Romantic (23)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Authentic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Private Room (7)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Historic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (0)
Sort By:
S
1146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed a delicious meal before going to a show. The team (Lindsey, Chef Hans, Troy) really make date night special. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

I often dine at Capital Grille because of the great food. This past summer I treated my sister to her birthday dinner here and she indicated that it was the best birthday meal that she has had in a very long time.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent! The service & the ambiance were excellent! All the personnel were extremely good. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. Seated at the time of our reservation. Friendly service and very accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The Stoli Doli is a wonderful cocktail to start. The steak and the Chilean Sea Bass were both exceptional. I also really loved the kale salad.

Service - fantastic

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service. Brian was outstanding server. Always great to Scott and get his feedback on wine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Took my girlfriend who has been there for business, we were treated to good service and wonderfully cooked and tasting food. Nice touch with Birthday platter for desert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a fantastic experience for my friend's birthday. The table was decorated and included a card from staff. It was an amazing night and the birthday cakes just topped off the fantastic evening. I can't thank you enough for making my best friend's 31st birthday unforgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday. Great environment, great service and great food & wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Lobster bisque soup was great and steak was cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We absolutely love this place. Sara W. is our favorite server. She is so sweet and attentive. We always have a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Been there before for a birthday dinner and was treated to many special additions like a decorated table, card and dessert. We returned again to the same pleasures.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful place to treat my 22 year old son and his friends to a formal meal for his birthday. Hit the right spot for being high end without being pretentious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

great food,drinks and staff ..the steaks are fantastic...still feel like at home there, very welcoming

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and had a beverage at the bar while we waited for our table. The restaurant was very crowded for those celebrating an early Valentines Day. As a result, our regular server became many servers all doing different jobs for us. It sounds chaotic, but it wasn't. We were well cared for and never rushed. Our French onion soup and appetizers were great. The entrees were delivered hot and prepared perfectly. We took desserts home. Too full. We'll be back. It was great.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great atmosphere, wonderful waiter, and as always, delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good, not great. Especially for the price. I enjoyed the meal but was left slightly dissatisfied based on how much it cost. I am willing to pay for great food, but I just felt like there was something lacking.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waiter, Brian, was very attentive to our needs. He asked us at the beginning if we had any time frame to our schedule. Since we were dining before a show, he kept the process moving at a comfortable but well-timed schedule. Brian had great suggestions and was friendly, efficient and professional. We will definitely come back and ask for Brian as our server.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I'm celebrating Valentine's Day and proposing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food. Crab cakes as good as I've had on the east coast. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was our second visit to the The Capital Grille (the last time was approx. 10 months ago) and it was MUCH better the second time around. Service was great as was the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My friend and I had a wondeful lunch- salmon salad and desserts. Everything was so good! Our waiter, Brian was excellent! Explained everything in detail and just a great conversation enjoyed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Consistency that you can count on both accounts food and service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I went here on a recent Monday night before a Bucks game with three other gentlemen. The food was very expensive and for the most part quite good. We really liked the Brussel Sprouts salad. There was an issue with the steaks however. We specifically ordered two of them to be blackened and they were delivered without being blackened. When we pointed this out to the waitress we were told that we were mistaken and that the kitchen told her they were blackened. At that point we were running late and didn't want to argue but, it was surprising from a high end restaurant that this wouldn't have been corrected or at least acknowledged. The bill for four people was $360 which is quite expensive especially since we didn't drink much and the entrees were not properly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The lobster bisque is outstanding! We met for lunch during a convention and it was so convenient. The service was outstanding and the food was gourmet! Would love to go back for a romantic celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great spot for business lunch. Excellent service and the staff can cater to all personality types.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great place for a steak or any meal. Quiet, private with great service and knowledgeable staff. My new go to place in Milwaukee. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Service was excellent. We ordered raw oysters and shrimp cocktail as appetizers and they were great. Clam chowder and French onion soup and Caesar salad were good too. Main courses, we loved the ribeye steak but filet mignon was dry and roasted chicken was not juicy. Side vegetables were great. Cheesecake was so good. Overall I recommend this place for ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Another awesome meal at Capital Grille. Great way to start off 2017!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a very nice dinner with friends on New Year's Eve. The food was tasty and the service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Capital Grille is our favorite place. We are welcomed by all: the valet, front desk, water server, and main server. Our every need is met. A sample of wine was given to see if we'd like a glass or not. We were able to share our delicious wedge salad. Appetizers were great. Try the prosciutto wrapped mozzarella cheese. Amazing! Our sides were perfectly prepared, and steaks were the right color and temp. So tasty. Our server Sophia makes sure that anything we may need or want is served. She's a terrific server. The manager makes sure to visit each table to see if we are well taken care of. We will be back soon.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Met all expectations and then some. Great waitstaff and fool was incredible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good food but is a little pricey since everything in alacarte.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was a friends birthday and they did an exceptional job of creating memories.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful lunch pre-Christmas with excellent steaks and wonderful wine. The sevice was top notch and the waiter was knowledgeable of both menu and wines. Complementary valet parking was efficient.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had a business lunch wit ha long time downtown client. It's location is within walking distance from his office and adjacent to he Federal building and the Grand Avenue Mall.

Service and food was very good. We were not rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

limited menu, one meal sent back for being undercooked, extremely expensive for what you get, regardless of ala-carte menu or not. moderately loud, some people dressed in jeans and flannel .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Ver nice meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Amazing, as usual! Bone in ribeye and Kona Ny strip were well seasoned. Sam's mashed potatoes and creamed spinach hit the spot for comfort food on cold winter night. Tuna tartare app was outstanding as was chock-full-of-lobster bisque. To top off with healthy note, berries with creme anglaise. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The Capital Grille came to our minds as a good alternative use of a gift card to the more popular Olive Gardens, etc in the chains of Darden Group restaurants. The decor and introductory staff were first rate. After that, the pacing was sluggish, but we let it slide early on because we were out on date. Our experience with our waiter proved that the BIG CHAIN business of dining was less than transparent, as our waiter pushed the more expensive wines and plates, and seemed to have lost interest in us after we leaned toward a less expensive selection. All that said, my tenderloin and lobster was pretty excellent. I'll never understand how wait staffs lose sight of their guests. Serving their guests is their job.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great as always. This is my favorite place to go. There was confusion on our order and we were given 2 extra steaks on the house. Very generous gesture.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went for our 2 year anniversary. The ambience was great. The server, Adam was very accommodating, went above our normal expectations and made our dinner memorable. The food was outstanding also. We will definitely visit again when in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As a non meat eater, it's always a challenge to dine at steak houses. Capitol Grille offers tasty food options and an accommodating kitchen. This particular night, the restaurant was packed and, we had to wait 15 minutes for our table, and were seated at a too-large table for 6, which made conversation for 4 awkward. I think this had to do with the Badger game, but it was nonetheless not ideal. I admit to being surprised at the crowd considering the high price tag

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We met friends here for a birthday celebration. They had confetti on the table as well as a birthday card. Many employees (at least 3) wished her a happy birthday. Our food was all wonderful, although a bit pricey seeing everything was ala carte. The steaks and sauces were all very tasty. Dessert was a plate that was chocolate screen printed with another happy birthday message with flourless chocolate cake on one side and cheese cake on the other. Memorable night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 1, 2016

As always, lunch at The Capital Grille was delicious and the staff was attentive. We are going back next week...can't wait to have the lobster mac 'n cheese which is out of this world good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 28, 2016

As usual - service and food were outstanding! Try to conduct all business lunches at Capital Grille

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our 15th Wedding anniversary was great. Capital Grill thought of all the little details and made my wife feel very special.

Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As always, perfect. From the service to the food to the extra birthday touches - Capital Grille delivers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving day. Wife had to work and too much for me to cook.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.