About The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


310 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hans Cys

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Mother's Day for an exceptional prix fixe brunch and endless mimosas. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as our Pan-Seared Salmon with Citrus Crab Salad.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
See All
Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Business Meals (12)
Cozy (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (8)
Authentic (8)
Private Room (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Historic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Bone in Kona NY Strip was two of the best we have ever tasted. I had the salmon which was light and tasty and just what I was in the mood for. It was our anniversary and we arrived to red hearts and flowers on table, a real rose and a thoughtful card on our table. It was perfect and worth the extra money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great steaks and great service. Our server, Abigail, was very kind, proactive, and friendly. It was nice to have a good meal out- will definitely return when I visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The best. We can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing everything once again at Capital Grille!! The food and service were spectacular and we can't imagine going anywhere else on special occasions (and sometimes lunch too!!) Thanks!

Tags: Historic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Met expectations for consistency for food and service. I love Capital Grille's across the country because I know the level of food quality and service.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We've dined at the Milwaukee location on several occasions. Always a great experience; food and service consistently on point. They really take care of the diners and make sure they have a top notch dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Pregame before Buck's game, great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Good food and perfect atmosphere for a working lunch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Took my fiance out for her birthday, we usually don't go out for fancy dinners but I wanted to make this one special. There were so many options to choose from especially when you search steak house in Milwaukee. We went on a Monday night so a few restaurants were actually close that day. Capital Grille was on the list and hearing all the great reviews I decide to book a reservation. When we got there they have Valet parking which was complimentary, It was a quiet day being a Monday. We were seated right away and our Server was ADAM, He was a great waiter and provided us excellent service. The food was great! For appetizer we had the crab cakes!! that was delicious, a must try. For our entrees we choose the fillet mignon and lobster tail and I had the 24 oz porter house steak. Both was cook to medium rare and came out perfect. We also had the asparagus, lobster mac and cheese. Be careful the lobster macncheese was very hot so i would advise let it cool down before you dig in. I ordered a glass of columbia wine and she ordered a pomegranate mix drink both was delicious with our meal. Towards the meal, Adam also brought out a plate of desert and two glass of champagne to celebrate the birthday dinner. The price is on the higher end but well worth it. We would come back again for a special occasion!! Thank You.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Fantastic meal as always. Client dinner, we both ordered the bone in filet. It did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fantastic evening with my husband topped off with a fantastic meal here and a surprise dessert treat. Thanks to all the staff who made our trip very special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went to celebrate our fathers birthday. We ordered a porterhouse (Two of us)--ordered medium rare and a New York strip ordered rare. one of the Porterhouses was undercooked and the other overcooked. New york strip was spot on. Taste was bland. Parmesan fries were underwhelming. Asparagus was slightly tough and lukewarm. French onion soup was very good. Mushrooms were very good. For close to $300 (no wine) I could never recommend this place. There are much better steak places in Milwaukee and elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

What a wonderful girls lunch we had! Everything was amazing (as usual) Thank you to everyone!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

A birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was outstanding !!! Susie was very nice and funny.

Food was good , but not great. Pricey for what you get.

Overall experience was very good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Sarah has amazing knowledge of both the food and wine. The atmosphere is excellent. We always feel that we have a great experience at Capitol Grill.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I been to the Grille before and have had excellent service and food. This time our server was very inattentive. He approached our table right away and asked for drink orders, 2 people got something and I asked for the wine list. It took over 10 minutes to get a wine list, despite the other people getting their drinks and then another 10 minutes before we received the wine. We saw him bring it out with other drinks for another table, sate the wine down on a counter and there it sat. When our wine was done our server never asked if we wanted another bottle. My steak came and was cooked to medium, the server indicated it was medium rare, depsite it looking like others that had a medium steak. I received a new one and it was cooked perfect. The server then talked down to me on how to order a steak. My husband ordered his steak oscar style and came back plain. The server took care of it right away. They brought my husband a small b-day cake out, when I was in the bathroom. This was very nice, however why wouldn't you wait til I was back. Both my husband and I took home leftovers, only to find out the next day only mine came home and my friend's chicken, which she didn't want. We don't know what happened to our other steak. Overall the food was excellent. Most of us had steak. The vegetables we had were also excellent. I just wish the service was much better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal 50th birthday experience. Not only was the food outstanding but our waiter was very charming and engaging. There were so many special surprises from the moment we sat down to the decorations on the table, birthday card with a picture of the person of honor and a very special birthday dessert at the end.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome service and excellent food. They always make you feel special, especially on a special occasion. My favorite restaurant for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Enjoyed a delicious meal before going to a show. The team (Lindsey, Chef Hans, Troy) really make date night special. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I often dine at Capital Grille because of the great food. This past summer I treated my sister to her birthday dinner here and she indicated that it was the best birthday meal that she has had in a very long time.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent! The service & the ambiance were excellent! All the personnel were extremely good. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent food and service. Seated at the time of our reservation. Friendly service and very accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The Stoli Doli is a wonderful cocktail to start. The steak and the Chilean Sea Bass were both exceptional. I also really loved the kale salad.
Service - fantastic

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service. Brian was outstanding server. Always great to Scott and get his feedback on wine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Took my girlfriend who has been there for business, we were treated to good service and wonderfully cooked and tasting food. Nice touch with Birthday platter for desert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a fantastic experience for my friend's birthday. The table was decorated and included a card from staff. It was an amazing night and the birthday cakes just topped off the fantastic evening. I can't thank you enough for making my best friend's 31st birthday unforgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday. Great environment, great service and great food & wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Lobster bisque soup was great and steak was cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We absolutely love this place. Sara W. is our favorite server. She is so sweet and attentive. We always have a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Been there before for a birthday dinner and was treated to many special additions like a decorated table, card and dessert. We returned again to the same pleasures.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful place to treat my 22 year old son and his friends to a formal meal for his birthday. Hit the right spot for being high end without being pretentious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

great food,drinks and staff ..the steaks are fantastic...still feel like at home there, very welcoming

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and had a beverage at the bar while we waited for our table. The restaurant was very crowded for those celebrating an early Valentines Day. As a result, our regular server became many servers all doing different jobs for us. It sounds chaotic, but it wasn't. We were well cared for and never rushed. Our French onion soup and appetizers were great. The entrees were delivered hot and prepared perfectly. We took desserts home. Too full. We'll be back. It was great.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great atmosphere, wonderful waiter, and as always, delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good, not great. Especially for the price. I enjoyed the meal but was left slightly dissatisfied based on how much it cost. I am willing to pay for great food, but I just felt like there was something lacking.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waiter, Brian, was very attentive to our needs. He asked us at the beginning if we had any time frame to our schedule. Since we were dining before a show, he kept the process moving at a comfortable but well-timed schedule. Brian had great suggestions and was friendly, efficient and professional. We will definitely come back and ask for Brian as our server.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I'm celebrating Valentine's Day and proposing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food. Crab cakes as good as I've had on the east coast. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was our second visit to the The Capital Grille (the last time was approx. 10 months ago) and it was MUCH better the second time around. Service was great as was the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.