About The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


310 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hans Cys

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us Easter Sunday for an exceptional prix fixe brunch. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as Shrimp and Grits and more.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Romantic (22)
Business Meals (18)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Fun (8)
Private Room (7)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Historic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (0)
Sort By:
S
1154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

We went to celebrate our fathers birthday. We ordered a porterhouse (Two of us)--ordered medium rare and a New York strip ordered rare. one of the Porterhouses was undercooked and the other overcooked. New york strip was spot on. Taste was bland. Parmesan fries were underwhelming. Asparagus was slightly tough and lukewarm. French onion soup was very good. Mushrooms were very good. For close to $300 (no wine) I could never recommend this place. There are much better steak places in Milwaukee and elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

What a wonderful girls lunch we had! Everything was amazing (as usual) Thank you to everyone!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

A birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was outstanding !!! Susie was very nice and funny.

Food was good , but not great. Pricey for what you get.

Overall experience was very good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Sarah has amazing knowledge of both the food and wine. The atmosphere is excellent. We always feel that we have a great experience at Capitol Grill.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I been to the Grille before and have had excellent service and food. This time our server was very inattentive. He approached our table right away and asked for drink orders, 2 people got something and I asked for the wine list. It took over 10 minutes to get a wine list, despite the other people getting their drinks and then another 10 minutes before we received the wine. We saw him bring it out with other drinks for another table, sate the wine down on a counter and there it sat. When our wine was done our server never asked if we wanted another bottle. My steak came and was cooked to medium, the server indicated it was medium rare, depsite it looking like others that had a medium steak. I received a new one and it was cooked perfect. The server then talked down to me on how to order a steak. My husband ordered his steak oscar style and came back plain. The server took care of it right away. They brought my husband a small b-day cake out, when I was in the bathroom. This was very nice, however why wouldn't you wait til I was back. Both my husband and I took home leftovers, only to find out the next day only mine came home and my friend's chicken, which she didn't want. We don't know what happened to our other steak. Overall the food was excellent. Most of us had steak. The vegetables we had were also excellent. I just wish the service was much better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal 50th birthday experience. Not only was the food outstanding but our waiter was very charming and engaging. There were so many special surprises from the moment we sat down to the decorations on the table, birthday card with a picture of the person of honor and a very special birthday dessert at the end.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome service and excellent food. They always make you feel special, especially on a special occasion. My favorite restaurant for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Enjoyed a delicious meal before going to a show. The team (Lindsey, Chef Hans, Troy) really make date night special. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I often dine at Capital Grille because of the great food. This past summer I treated my sister to her birthday dinner here and she indicated that it was the best birthday meal that she has had in a very long time.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent! The service & the ambiance were excellent! All the personnel were extremely good. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent food and service. Seated at the time of our reservation. Friendly service and very accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The Stoli Doli is a wonderful cocktail to start. The steak and the Chilean Sea Bass were both exceptional. I also really loved the kale salad.
Service - fantastic

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service. Brian was outstanding server. Always great to Scott and get his feedback on wine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Took my girlfriend who has been there for business, we were treated to good service and wonderfully cooked and tasting food. Nice touch with Birthday platter for desert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a fantastic experience for my friend's birthday. The table was decorated and included a card from staff. It was an amazing night and the birthday cakes just topped off the fantastic evening. I can't thank you enough for making my best friend's 31st birthday unforgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday. Great environment, great service and great food & wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Lobster bisque soup was great and steak was cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We absolutely love this place. Sara W. is our favorite server. She is so sweet and attentive. We always have a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Been there before for a birthday dinner and was treated to many special additions like a decorated table, card and dessert. We returned again to the same pleasures.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful place to treat my 22 year old son and his friends to a formal meal for his birthday. Hit the right spot for being high end without being pretentious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

great food,drinks and staff ..the steaks are fantastic...still feel like at home there, very welcoming

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and had a beverage at the bar while we waited for our table. The restaurant was very crowded for those celebrating an early Valentines Day. As a result, our regular server became many servers all doing different jobs for us. It sounds chaotic, but it wasn't. We were well cared for and never rushed. Our French onion soup and appetizers were great. The entrees were delivered hot and prepared perfectly. We took desserts home. Too full. We'll be back. It was great.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great atmosphere, wonderful waiter, and as always, delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good, not great. Especially for the price. I enjoyed the meal but was left slightly dissatisfied based on how much it cost. I am willing to pay for great food, but I just felt like there was something lacking.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waiter, Brian, was very attentive to our needs. He asked us at the beginning if we had any time frame to our schedule. Since we were dining before a show, he kept the process moving at a comfortable but well-timed schedule. Brian had great suggestions and was friendly, efficient and professional. We will definitely come back and ask for Brian as our server.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I'm celebrating Valentine's Day and proposing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food. Crab cakes as good as I've had on the east coast. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was our second visit to the The Capital Grille (the last time was approx. 10 months ago) and it was MUCH better the second time around. Service was great as was the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My friend and I had a wondeful lunch- salmon salad and desserts. Everything was so good! Our waiter, Brian was excellent! Explained everything in detail and just a great conversation enjoyed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Consistency that you can count on both accounts food and service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I went here on a recent Monday night before a Bucks game with three other gentlemen. The food was very expensive and for the most part quite good. We really liked the Brussel Sprouts salad. There was an issue with the steaks however. We specifically ordered two of them to be blackened and they were delivered without being blackened. When we pointed this out to the waitress we were told that we were mistaken and that the kitchen told her they were blackened. At that point we were running late and didn't want to argue but, it was surprising from a high end restaurant that this wouldn't have been corrected or at least acknowledged. The bill for four people was $360 which is quite expensive especially since we didn't drink much and the entrees were not properly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The lobster bisque is outstanding! We met for lunch during a convention and it was so convenient. The service was outstanding and the food was gourmet! Would love to go back for a romantic celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great spot for business lunch. Excellent service and the staff can cater to all personality types.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great place for a steak or any meal. Quiet, private with great service and knowledgeable staff. My new go to place in Milwaukee. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Service was excellent. We ordered raw oysters and shrimp cocktail as appetizers and they were great. Clam chowder and French onion soup and Caesar salad were good too. Main courses, we loved the ribeye steak but filet mignon was dry and roasted chicken was not juicy. Side vegetables were great. Cheesecake was so good. Overall I recommend this place for ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Another awesome meal at Capital Grille. Great way to start off 2017!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a very nice dinner with friends on New Year's Eve. The food was tasty and the service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Capital Grille is our favorite place. We are welcomed by all: the valet, front desk, water server, and main server. Our every need is met. A sample of wine was given to see if we'd like a glass or not. We were able to share our delicious wedge salad. Appetizers were great. Try the prosciutto wrapped mozzarella cheese. Amazing! Our sides were perfectly prepared, and steaks were the right color and temp. So tasty. Our server Sophia makes sure that anything we may need or want is served. She's a terrific server. The manager makes sure to visit each table to see if we are well taken care of. We will be back soon.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Met all expectations and then some. Great waitstaff and fool was incredible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.