The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

4.7
1454 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(414) 223-0600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Hans Cys
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

View Private Dining Details
What 1454 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

First time here for hubby birthday dinner it was an overall pleasant experience and awesome date night or special occasion restaurant . The ambiance of the restaurant was great with low lighting , the table was decorated with happy birthday confetti, we were seated in a nice booth by the chef himself, and received a complimentary appetizer prepared just for us by the chef at end of our meal hubby received a complimentary dessert of flourless cake and crepe brûlée cheesecake sampler with a candle in it, all in all the best and customer Service we have experienced in quite a long time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Absolutely fantastic! Brian was attending to our table and had great recommendations and timed all courses to perfection. Highly recommend the burrata - and the lobster bisque was teeming with huge pieces of lobster. Oh, and the lamb...to die for! Love this place!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Drove in from Chicagoland to meet up with Mom (her favorite place). The chef came out to our table to have us try something and spent time talking to us. It was extremely nice. The wine list is fantastic and the food was absolutely great. A perfect place for our family get together.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The food was extremely well made, the drinks were mixed well, and the service was very polite. Would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Dinner at the Capital Grille is always wonderful, and this was no exception!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Great meal, great service, dining week makes it even better

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Great service and food for family celebration. Look forward to coming back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 7, 2018

We went to the bar for a drink prior to dinner. The bartender ignored us, standing at the other end talking to other staff and eating. The bar and the dining room were NOT clean. The table clothes were a mess. Was expecting more form a restaurant with good food and high prices. Our waiter was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

My daughter's salmon was very good but my filet was a little over-cooked. The flourless chocolate cake and coffee were wonderful. Our waiter was very personable and attentive. Love going to Capital Grille.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

I love this place....I'd go just for dessert if it were closer to my house. I love the decor and the service is impeccable. I had an issue with my dinner and they went over and above to keep me a happy customer. I highly recommend the creme brulee!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Seated immediately. Good wine suggestion. Very good service. Steaks done perfectly. Best dessert ever is their flourless chocolate cake.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

I consider The Capital Grille to be the best steakhouse in Milwaukee. We were lucky enough to get a reservation for dinner during 2018 Downtown Dining Week. The steak was perfectly done to order and the meal included mashed potatoes and green beans. The soup and dessert were excellent. I have one word for the dinner -- fabulous.


Unfortunately the regular dining prices keep many of us away and appeal more to businessmen with expense accounts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

DDW - My wife & I had lunch at Capitol Grille on 6/6. The food was excellent as usual. Sophia is the best. The team of Sophia, Lindsey(GM) and Chef Ryan always make it a amazing experience. We will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Excellent food, the service was great. Went for Downtown Dining lunch and the value was exceptional. Very glad we went, now I know what a great place it is!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

I love going to your restaurant, staff is great and you have the best samon ever!!! Love that you participate in the downtown dining. I look forward to the event every year! Keep up the good work!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Great as always. Went for downtown dining week and food, service and ambiance was excellent. They have really good steaks and never disappoint. Love their clam chowder.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The food is always delicious and the wait staff is great. We went during a rather busy time so it was quite loud and the staff wasn't as attentive as usual but that was really out of the ordinary. Typically Capital Grille is know for being a step above.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Expensive but predictably excellent! Complimentary valet parking appreciated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

We attended for downtown dining week. The offering was fabulous! Our food was excellent, steaks done just right, we loved the soy Brussels sprouts. service was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

We experienced the Milwaukee Dining Week menu.I had the best salmon I've ever eaten in my life! My sisters and I had a great time. For us this was a fancy dining experience, and we loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

We attended as part of Downtown Dining. My husband ordered off the regular menu because he didn't care for any of the discounted choices on the lunch menu, but the food was superb. The creamiest New England clam chowder ever, and my lobster bisque was filled with big chunks of lobster. My salmon melted in my mouth, as did my husband's ribeye sandwich. The creme brulee was fabullous. The service was wonderful as well. Even before my husband ordered from the regular menu (in other words, we did NOT receive bargain basement treatment). I liked how the chef himself delivered our entrees, and he came out to chat with us afterward (by this time the lunch crowd had thinned, so he had time). Just marvelous. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Salmon was outstanding ! Service by waiter Bryan was excellent !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

It was a very special time for my sister and I to be together and the restaurant did not disappoint. There was a warm welcome and our server could not do enough. The food was excellent - especially the lobster bisque and the lobster salad and the steak salad. The coconut cream pie was outstanding. Great to offer lunchtime valet parking. We love baltimore capital grille but now love Milwaukee’s too. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Great food, drinks and service. The filet was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

love this place. such a warm atmosphere and great food and drink

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Elegant atmosphere with professional staff. The salmon was cooked exactly to my friend’s request. From soup to entree to dessert everything was delicious. Very high quality and fresh ingredients.
A great place to enjoy conversation over delicious food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Would have liked more entree options for the downtown dining since this location has so much to offer, but salmon was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Great food, service and presentation. We had a relaxing lunch with excellent food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

The Capital Grille in Milwaukee is a great restaurant with an elegant atmosphere and top of the line service, along with fantastic food and wine. While Capital Grille has multiple locations, it definitely doesn't feel like a chain. We visit frequently, and would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Very good service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

overall great, but steak was luke warm :(

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

DDW - My wife & I had dinner at Capitol Grille on 6/3. The food was excellent as usual. Sophia is the best. The team of Sophia, Lindsey(GM) and Chef Ryan always make it a amazing experience. We will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Sophia Fernandez is amazing!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Went there for Downtown Dining and the steak was wonderful and so was the service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Fabulous food as always! Service wasn't as spectacular as it normally is, but very good dining experience overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

As usual Capital Grill provides the best service from the host staff, bartenders, waiters/waitresses and cooks. Steaks are cooked perfectly and the sides are just as good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Absolutely wonderful! We didn’t know it was Restaurant Week, and the menu was an amazing value and just as delicious as the regular menu. Server Nick was also great. We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Great food; wonderful service; beautiful space.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

I've been to the Capital Grille a few times and always enjoyed it. From the food to the service to the ambiance I am happy to say there has never been a misstep in my dinners or lunches!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The wait staff seemed to be in a hurry to clear plates before we were done and food was almost thrown on the table. Not sure if staff was anxious to turn tables, but we felt very rushed

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
37