About The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

310 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hans Cys

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

flourless chocolate cake - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Filet Mignon Topped With Butter Poached Lobster Tail - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Gorgonzola And Black Truffle Wagyu Burger* - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Citrus Glazed Salmon - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Bourbon - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Shrimp Cocktail - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Oysters - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
New England Clam Chowder - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Lobster and Crab Cakes - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Balsamic Porcini Mushroom Crust  - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Lobster Bisque - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Steak Sandwich - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Lamb Chops - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Lobster Stuffed With Crab And Shrimp - The Capital Grille - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Romantic (24)
See All
Business Meals (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Private Room (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fun (5)
Historic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Family Style (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great spot for business lunch. Excellent ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Great spot for business lunch. Excellent service and the staff can cater to all personality types.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a steak or any meal. Qui ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place for a steak or any meal. Quiet, private with great service and knowledgeable staff. My new go to place in Milwaukee. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. We ordered raw o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Service was excellent. We ordered raw oysters and shrimp cocktail as appetizers and they were great. Clam chowder and French onion soup and Caesar salad were good too. Main courses, we loved the ribeye steak but filet mignon was dry and roasted chicken was not juicy. Side vegetables were great. Cheesecake was so good. Overall I recommend this place for ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Another awesome meal at Capital Grille. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Another awesome meal at Capital Grille. Great way to start off 2017!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a very nice dinner with friends o ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a very nice dinner with friends on New Year's Eve. The food was tasty and the service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille is our favorite place. We ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Capital Grille is our favorite place. We are welcomed by all: the valet, front desk, water server, and main server. Our every need is met. A sample of wine was given to see if we'd like a glass or not. We were able to share our delicious wedge salad. Appetizers were great. Try the prosciutto wrapped mozzarella cheese. Amazing! Our sides were perfectly prepared, and steaks were the right color and temp. So tasty. Our server Sophia makes sure that anything we may need or want is served. She's a terrific server. The manager makes sure to visit each table to see if we are well taken care of. We will be back soon.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met all expectations and then some. Gre ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Met all expectations and then some. Great waitstaff and fool was incredible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food but is a little pricey since e ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good food but is a little pricey since everything in alacarte.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Anniversary

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a friends birthday and they did a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was a friends birthday and they did an exceptional job of creating memories.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a wonderful lunch p ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful lunch pre-Christmas with excellent steaks and wonderful wine. The sevice was top notch and the waiter was knowledgeable of both menu and wines. Complementary valet parking was efficient.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a business lunch wit ha long time ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had a business lunch wit ha long time downtown client. It's location is within walking distance from his office and adjacent to he Federal building and the Grand Avenue Mall.

Service and food was very good. We were not rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

limited menu, one meal sent back for bei ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

limited menu, one meal sent back for being undercooked, extremely expensive for what you get, regardless of ala-carte menu or not. moderately loud, some people dressed in jeans and flannel .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Ver nice meal

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Ver nice meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing, as usual! Bone in ribeye and Ko ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Amazing, as usual! Bone in ribeye and Kona Ny strip were well seasoned. Sam's mashed potatoes and creamed spinach hit the spot for comfort food on cold winter night. Tuna tartare app was outstanding as was chock-full-of-lobster bisque. To top off with healthy note, berries with creme anglaise. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Capital Grille came to our minds as ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The Capital Grille came to our minds as a good alternative use of a gift card to the more popular Olive Gardens, etc in the chains of Darden Group restaurants. The decor and introductory staff were first rate. After that, the pacing was sluggish, but we let it slide early on because we were out on date. Our experience with our waiter proved that the BIG CHAIN business of dining was less than transparent, as our waiter pushed the more expensive wines and plates, and seemed to have lost interest in us after we leaned toward a less expensive selection. All that said, my tenderloin and lobster was pretty excellent. I'll never understand how wait staffs lose sight of their guests. Serving their guests is their job.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great as always. This is my favorite pl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great as always. This is my favorite place to go. There was confusion on our order and we were given 2 extra steaks on the house. Very generous gesture.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went for our 2 year anniversary. The am ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went for our 2 year anniversary. The ambience was great. The server, Adam was very accommodating, went above our normal expectations and made our dinner memorable. The food was outstanding also. We will definitely visit again when in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As a non meat eater, it's always a chall ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As a non meat eater, it's always a challenge to dine at steak houses. Capitol Grille offers tasty food options and an accommodating kitchen. This particular night, the restaurant was packed and, we had to wait 15 minutes for our table, and were seated at a too-large table for 6, which made conversation for 4 awkward. I think this had to do with the Badger game, but it was nonetheless not ideal. I admit to being surprised at the crowd considering the high price tag

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We met friends here for a birthday celeb ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We met friends here for a birthday celebration. They had confetti on the table as well as a birthday card. Many employees (at least 3) wished her a happy birthday. Our food was all wonderful, although a bit pricey seeing everything was ala carte. The steaks and sauces were all very tasty. Dessert was a plate that was chocolate screen printed with another happy birthday message with flourless chocolate cake on one side and cheese cake on the other. Memorable night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As always, lunch at The Capital Grille w ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 1, 2016

As always, lunch at The Capital Grille was delicious and the staff was attentive. We are going back next week...can't wait to have the lobster mac 'n cheese which is out of this world good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual - service and food were outstan ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 28, 2016

As usual - service and food were outstanding! Try to conduct all business lunches at Capital Grille

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 15th Wedding anniversary was great. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our 15th Wedding anniversary was great. Capital Grill thought of all the little details and made my wife feel very special.

Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, perfect. From the service to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As always, perfect. From the service to the food to the extra birthday touches - Capital Grille delivers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving day. Wife had to work and t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving day. Wife had to work and too much for me to cook.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First time here, for Thanksgiving dinner ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

First time here, for Thanksgiving dinner. The turkey meal was outstanding -- almost like home. The booth was very comfortable, and the staff all very professional! Enjoyed the decor -- nice mix of English club and hunting lodge. Any place with a portrait of Golda Meir is OK by me! Creative dessert menu, though I was probably too full to enjoy completely. My friend and I said we'd definitely like to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the first time we went out for T ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is the first time we went out for Thanksgiving and we were very happy with our decision and choice of restaurants. We had a small group of 3 with one being my 93 year old mother-in-law who loves Thanksgiving. It was a joy to see that she had such a nice experience and truly enjoyed the meal and day. I would happily have Thanksgiving at Capital Grill next year. The restaurant was full with many families, but noise was not an issue. The environment was warm and inviting and the thanksgiving meal was one of the best Thanksgiving feasts I have had the pleasure to enjoy. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They took fabulous care of us on Thanksg ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

They took fabulous care of us on Thanksgiving. Even had a congratulations dessert for my son who had just graduated from boot camp. We had not even requested it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always amazing food and service, expensi ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always amazing food and service, expensive but will be back for special occasions!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service, as always, was imp ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food and service, as always, was impeccable. Thank you for another wonderful celebration! We go every year for birthdays and anniversaries and can't imagine going anywhere else. Please do not ever get rid of the Lobster Bisque! It truly is amazing!

Thank you!!!! We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal in every aspect! Lobster ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fantastic meal in every aspect! Lobster mac n cheese is to die for! Filet was melt in your mouth delicious and the creme brûlée was amazing as well. Our waitress was very attentive and courteous. Definitely recommend dining here for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was extremely attentive! From ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The staff was extremely attentive! From giving us black napkins so we wouldn't get lint on our pants to making sure our orders were exactly the way we requested.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was exquisite and the meal w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The service was exquisite and the meal was excellent. My wife had a memorable experience for her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food on our visit was excellent, exc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food on our visit was excellent, except for the brussels sprouts, which were a little bit under-cooked. They were still tasty though. Our server, Abigail, was great. When I told her we were celebrating my friend's birthday, she offered a complimentary birthday dessert, which came with a long-stem red rose for the birthday girl! A very lovely experience overall. It was my first visit, but I will certainly be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed my recent dining experience for ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Enjoyed my recent dining experience for lunch with a client at Capital Grille. Hostesses and waitstaff were exceptionally prepared and friendly, aiming to and succeeding at pleasing my guest and me with service and tasty food. Will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was excellent, service outstanding ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Steak was excellent, service outstanding. Wedge salad, truffle fries and flourless cake- delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attended a conference at the Milwaukee C ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Attended a conference at the Milwaukee Center with three friends and we wanted a nice dinner one of the nights. The Capital Grille was very conveniently located and we had a wonderful dinner. One of the other attendees recommended a few menu items and she was right on the money with the recommendations. Notably the mashed potatoes ( who would have thought!) and coconut cream pie for dessert. I personally loved the butternut squash soup. My friends had different cuts of beef and raved! Our server (Bryan) was attentive without being intrusive and gave thoughtful recommendations. Will return for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently outstanding food and servic ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Consistently outstanding food and service in a great venue. My favorite Milwaukee restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy a night out at Capital Gri ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Always enjoy a night out at Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very much overpriced on every item - fro ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very much overpriced on every item - from drinks through the menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.