About The Capital Grille - Milwaukee

310 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking available at lunch and dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hans Cys

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

flourless chocolate cake
Filet Mignon Topped With Butter Poached Lobster Tail
Gorgonzola And Black Truffle Wagyu Burger*
Creme Brulee
Citrus Glazed Salmon
Bourbon
Shrimp Cocktail
Oysters
New England Clam Chowder
Lobster and Crab Cakes
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Balsamic Porcini Mushroom Crust
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Lobster Bisque
Steak Sandwich
Lamb Chops
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Stuffed With Crab And Shrimp

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Wisconsin
Best Food
Wisconsin
Best Service
Wisconsin
10 More
Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Best Value
Wisconsin
Steakhouse
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
Best Food
Milwaukee
Best Service
Milwaukee
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Best Value
Milwaukee
Steakhouse
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Special Occasion (96)
Romantic (71)
Fit for Foodies (56)
See All
Notable Wine List (53)
Good for Groups (43)
Great for Lunch (33)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1007 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very Good. We had a wonderful time. I w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very Good. We had a wonderful time. I would certainly recommend The Capital Grille in Milwaukee to travelers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

MY WIFE AND I WENT THERE AS ONE OF THE T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

MY WIFE AND I WENT THERE AS ONE OF THE THINGS WE DID FOR OUR 45TH ANNIVERSARY. We had a good time and wonderful meal.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, outstanding food and great se ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

As always, outstanding food and great service. We had reservation for 7pm on Saturday and were seated by 710. The bar atmosphere is great, valet parking a real plus. We have dined here probably 10 times and almost without exception the food and service have been top-shelf.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my girlfriend for our birthdays - f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

Took my girlfriend for our birthdays - food was excellent; they even had confetti on the table and brought us a dessert! Nice touch! Service has always been excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the service from our server, Adam t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

From the service from our server, Adam to the manager, Louis taking us on a tour of the kitchen - to the incredible steaks, we had a great time. They had a rose and a Happy Anniversary card on the table when we arrived. Then when they brought our dessert that we had ordered, they also brought plate with another complimentary dessert with the words, "Happy Anniversary" spelled out in chocolate on the plate. We highly recommend The Capital Grille!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went there for our Anniversary and you ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I went there for our Anniversary and you just can't go to a better restaurant. Everything was awesome. It is pricy, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 2 year a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 2 year anniversary this past weekend and it was completely amazing. Capitol Grille took a photo of us, provides champagne, and decorated the table with roses. I was pleasantly surprised. This will be the only place we celebrate our future anniversaries. Can't wait for year number 3.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is mine and my wife's favorite rest ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is mine and my wife's favorite restaurant. We go every year for our anniversary. The steak is awesome. The lobster mac n cheese is to die for. This restaurant goes out of their way for our anniversary every year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My total Capital Grille experience has a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My total Capital Grille experience has always been excellent, hence I return repeatedly! Now I've got my friends going there as well. We always enjoy the experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW! The staff took our mediocre night, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

WOW!

The staff took our mediocre night, to an AMAZING night. One that will not be forgotten. We went there to celebrate my wife's birthday, had such an delicious meal that we are trying to find a Capital Grille be us.

If we are ever back in Milwaukee again, here's where I would make reservations for and recommend undoubtedly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my birthday at the Capital G ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Celebrating my birthday at the Capital Grille every year is a treat I wait for all year long. The staff goes out of its way to make my birthday lunch very special. They never disappoint. Can't wait for next July 23rd. lol

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was for our 25th anniversary. Awesome ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Was for our 25th anniversary. Awesome servers. Very nice touch with the rose and letter on the table for our anniversary. Complimentary desert and champagne as well. Food was to die for. I definitely had a food coma moment after dinner. If you want a top notch experience then this is the place, hands down

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an excellent meal recently at Cap ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had an excellent meal recently at Captial Grille. Our server was very knowledgeable & very friendly. The food was wonderful, but because of everything separate it gets expensive. A very nice time for a special occasion. Thank you for having us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed the meal. We were not in a hurr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Enjoyed the meal. We were not in a hurry so that may explain why the service was slower.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I used Open Table to make my reservation ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I used Open Table to make my reservation, I was able to let the restaurant know we were celebrating my daughter's 21st birthday, the entire staff was very accommodating from the moment we entered the restaurant. The table was decorated beyond my expectations and our waitress was most helpful in deciding on what wines to try. The happy birthday dessert was very tasty. I will return for dinner and other special events in the near future. Thank you for a most wonderful memory shared by me and my daughter.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always loved The Capital Grille, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have always loved The Capital Grille, in Milwaukee and multiple locations. Our service this time was below par. It was also interesting that although we celebrated a birthday, only confetti was on the table. Maybe things have changed...we used to always receive a dessert, a card (card not expected as we let the restaurant know late that it was a birthday)...but it was a bit disappointing but the caliber of restaurant and our previous experiences.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our server, Peter Balistrieri, was outst ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server, Peter Balistrieri, was outstanding and helped make my mother's 82nd birthday celebration a truly special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter did a great job.....

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our waiter did a great job.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious but pricey. The s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was delicious but pricey. The sides should be included for the price. We will be back to dine again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was above and beyond and the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was above and beyond and the food was incredibly delicious! Wow. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Capital Grill always serves up a sup ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The Capital Grill always serves up a superb meal. It is an outstanding, classic steak house that is perfect for business and large groups. A great place to impress a client. I have at times treated myself to a great steak at the bar as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I am from Maryland. So many restauran ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I am from Maryland.

So many restaurants CLAIM to have a Maryland style crab cake. Capital Grille has a COMBINATION crab and lobster cake that is closer to any actual Maryland style crab cake I have found yet. This opinion includes both Chicago and Milwaukee markets.

Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server, Brian, was knowledgeable and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our server, Brian, was knowledgeable and provided outstanding service and wonderful recommendations. The food and specialty drinks were incredible, too. I will definitely revisit when I'm back in Milwaukee for business or pleasure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we walked into the resta ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

From the moment we walked into the restaurant we knew this would be special. Our Grey Goose martinis, dirty with blue cheese stuffed olives, were wonderful. We ordered the seafood tower and it was outstanding. They even removed the lobster from the shell so we didn't need to fight to get it out. Our steaks were cooked to perfection and the wine list allowed me to choose a pinot that was outstanding and wonderful with our meal. The sides were great. The brussel sprouts were outstanding.

This was truly an amazing experience!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined at Captial Grille for Father's ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We dined at Captial Grille for Father's Day dinner and it was excellent. The food, the drink and our service was exceptional. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always excellent, and lobster ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Service is always excellent, and lobster mac and cheese is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always sumptuous food and outstanding se ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always sumptuous food and outstanding service. Attention to detail is beyond compare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Crème brulee is amazing!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Crème brulee is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We went here for downtown dining week and had a very nice lunch. The food was delicious and the service impeccable!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SPECIAL... ALL CAPS

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Whether you want something for a special occasion or not, this is the place to treat yourself.

The Capital Grill food and service is what anyone could enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The quality of the food was not as good as the prior times I have been here. It was less rich.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food and superior service. Our ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent food and superior service. Our filet was cooked to perfection and the creamed spinach and Caesar salad were great additions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food. Everything was wonderfu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent food. Everything was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Place

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

If you are looking for fine dining, ambience along with excellent food, Capital Grille is "The Place". We have never been disappointed in the food, wine, service or ambience of this great place. Their steaks will never disappoint and their special rubs are excellent, along with all their sides and desserts to top off a wonderful eating experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Capital Grill as Great as Ever

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Always enjoy the Capital Grill. Food is wonderful. Service is professional. Always go there for our anniversary as well as visits from out-of-towners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week not their best

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had lunch during restaurant week in Milwaukee. As always the service was impeccable. The food is usually the same, but this time lacked something. I had the sirloin hash which is similar to a stew my wife and guest had salmon. They were both on the bland side. I this expect that from Capitol Grill. I will say this is due to the chef making mass quantities of food for restaurant week. We dine here on special occassions throughout the year so we will be back, but will not go for restaurant week again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was warm and upscale at t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The atmosphere was warm and upscale at the same time with classic steakhouse decor. Service was impeccable and every course of food was cooked to perfection. We even got black napkins in place of white for our clothing. I find that to be a lovely touch and sign of attention to detail. A+.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Downtown Dining menu is excellent and as ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Downtown Dining menu is excellent and as always the steaks were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Downtown Dining treat

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great bargain at a very pricey place. Good food and worth the time to check out the restaurant.

It was very busy due to the specials. Our hard rolls were harder and not as warm as I thought, so I asked for replacements. The waitress seemed a bit taken back by my request but complied informing me that that was the nature of a hard roll. True, but, I may have lost a tooth on those.

Other than that and some feelings of being rushed, it was pleasant. The specials may have caused the less than relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.