About The Capital Grille - Memphis

6065 Poplar Ave
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 683-9291

Website:
http://thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking - Lunch and Dinner

Executive Chef:
Chadwick Norman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 38 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
3 More
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Private Room (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fun (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Casual (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place to indulge!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place to indulge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time customer. Attitude of everyon ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

First time customer. Attitude of everyone was just awesome. Food was really good....over priced but delicious. Only complaint was there was too much time between courses. I'd say accumulative time was 20-30 minutes. I don't mind enjoying a break between courses, but this was just a little too long. I'd be happy to try again when the occasion warrants.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

We had the Thanksgiving entree - turkey ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had the Thanksgiving entree - turkey breast, green beans, brioche stuffing, mashed potatoes. For a $38 entree, I expected more than processed turkey breast. Very bland flavours overall. Good wine list and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The service is always exceptional and th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The service is always exceptional and the food is always tasteful. I like to take clients here when I am in town. Always a go-to for me. I love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Marlon was my server and he was SUPER at ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Marlon was my server and he was SUPER attentive and nice! I thought the salad with gorgonzola had a little too much dressing on it. Next time I will order it to be lightly dressed or on the side. I had the crab meat app as well. I thought the crab meat was slightly fishy. Not bad, just not as fresh as I am used to. I ate it and didn't say anything to Marlon. I have no doubt that he would have insisted to replace it. Lastly I wish that the calamari app could be ordered for one person, especially at lunch time. Too much food to have with a meal as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant for a special ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is a great restaurant for a special occasion. We went for a birthday and they decorated the table and had a hand written card on the table when we arrived. The service was superb and the food was excellent. I highly recommend this location of a national chain. It feels more local with the paintings for famous locals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been here before and tonight did ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have been here before and tonight did not meet their usually standard that we normally get. Marlon is one of their absolute best service members but we went on a night he was out. We will try again, the main courses are extremely pricing for the amount of food but we love to do the apps and share plates.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We were disappointed with our first trip ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were disappointed with our first trip to Capital Grille-Memphis and had not returned for a while. Our two favorite East Memphis restaurants were booked for the night, we did not want to drive downtown, so we decided to give Capital Grille another try.

This time, the food was SUPERB!!! We enjoyed a Frank Family Cab (one of our favorite Napa Valley wineries and one you don't usually see in Memphis). For entrees we had the Sea Bass and the Scallops; both were EXCEPTIONAL in flavor and presentation. Kudos to the Chef and Kitchen Team.

The prices at Capital Grille were a bit high for the overall dining experience. Entrees prices were similar to Erling Jensen or Restaurant Iris, but the overall dining experience is not at that level. Kyle, our server was good: knowledgeable about the menu, the preparation of each dish, adequately attentive, and professional.

Overall, we would rate Capital Grille-Memphis as Good to Very Good with POTENTIAL. We know and appreciate how hard it is to establish and maintain a top-notch restaurant. So we will be back regularly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was great! Service was good. W ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was great! Service was good. We love dining here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh seafood!

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fresh seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I normally enjoy The Capital Grille, but ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I normally enjoy The Capital Grille, but on this particular birthday dinner, it was just not up to par. First off, I always order the filet mignon au poivre, and a New York Strip arrived in its place. The waiter admitted he must have misunderstood my order, and I understand mistakes happen. At first, I was just going to keep it since the sides had already arrived as well, but he stated it could be corrected very quickly. Well, it took at least another 15 minutes before the filet arrived from the manager. Unfortunately, it arrived absolutely rare (blood red) when I order medium. The manager took it back once again, and about another 15 minutes later, the cook brought it out. At this point, I just wanted to be done. The re-cooked steak had very little flavor and was burnt on the edges. I will say that new smaller portion sides were brought out, and the staff was very friendly, but this steak should have never been charged to my bill. I hate this happened, and it will have me reconsidering eating here for awhile with other outstanding offerings out there such as Ruth's Chris and Folk's Folly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Overall, we were very impressed with the ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Overall, we were very impressed with the Capital Grille. The steaks were tender and delicious. However, we were disappointed in the salad and sides as they were nothing special. In particular, the creamed spinach had an overwhelmingly seasoned taste about it that detracted from the spinach flavor. I would not order that again. The fingerling potatoes were fair.

The service, however, was impeccable and Marlon did an excellent job. He was delightful and obviously loves what he is doing.

Whenever they offer another coupon, we will probably go back. Otherwise, it was too pricey in comparison to the food quality.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Capital is a great place to get a relaxi ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Capital is a great place to get a relaxing meal or host a lunch meeting. The restaurant is quiet, so you can easily hear those you're dining with. The service was so great, you don't even have to think about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Met a friend for the special wine and bu ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Met a friend for the special wine and burger pairing. Great options, enjoyed the service and the different options.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been to Capital Grille several time ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Have been to Capital Grille several times and the food is always very good. The service was very slow this time to the point where we were brought out a small tasting to tied us over until our appetizer arrived. After that we had to wait for second course and main course as well. Would still recommend the restaurant based on past experiences.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Dinner was outstanding throughout the en ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Dinner was outstanding throughout the entire meal. The lobster bisque is always great and loaded with lobster claw meat as well as the traditional filet. Au poivre style is extremely tasty. The mashed potatoes are always great, and the creamed corn is outstanding as well. Our server Zach was very nice and professional as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FABULOUS! I can not brag enough about ou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

FABULOUS! I can not brag enough about our meal, staff or overall experience. Worth every penny. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. Service decent- ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was excellent. Service decent- I was able to get a reservation on short notice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We've visited this restaurant several ti ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We've visited this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed with the food. The atmosphere is sophisticated and the service is very good. My only complaint was on our last visit - which was a very late lunch with very few other tables - our waitress was a bit too attentive :) She was young and probably trying to do a good job, but it was intrusive. However, better than no attention. We will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We celebrated our Anniversary and it was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We celebrated our Anniversary and it was a wonderful experience. Great food, impeccable service and a ideal ambiance. We do prefer to eat early around 1700-1730, so that might figure in but it was a nice night and we will be back. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice services, made our night special!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Nice services, made our night special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fabulous!! Great food, great service an ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fabulous!! Great food, great service and the stoli doli's are amazing!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Always a treat ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great food and service. Always a treat when we go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely experience, as usual.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Lovely experience, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Marlon was wonderful!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Marlon was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First non-business dinner visit to Capit ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

First non-business dinner visit to Capital Grille. Wife and I had a wonderful experience from valet parking onward. Server Michael was high energy and engaging, and very knowledgeable on menu and options. Plus, he readily customized sides to our taste. Food was great - steak and lobster for me, scallops for wife. Highly recommend the sprouts and asparagus sides! For dessert, tried both the cheesecake and coconut cream. Coconut lived up to its top billing among friends! To wrap up, Michael had our car ready as we walked out the door. We shall be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything we had on menu was great. I ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everything we had on menu was great. I am gluten free and did not have any problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating a birthday during lu ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday during lunch and were treated to champagne and dessert on the house. A card and birthday confetti were already in place at the table when we were seated. Although we had dined there before and knew about the card and confetti, the champagne and dessert were a surprise. What delightful ways to make a birthday lunch special. The food and desserts were delicious, and the waiter both knowledgeable and friendly without being intrusive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our evening so much. I had Sc ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We enjoyed our evening so much. I had Scallops that were wonderful and my husband had the bone in filet.

He was very happy with the favor and how tender it was. Our servers were terrific, wine selection he made for me was perfect. Overall a beautiful meal and evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and really wonderful bart ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Delicious food and really wonderful bartender and staff! Will definitely be back extra time we are in Memphis!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was nonexistent on a random Wedne ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Server was nonexistent on a random Wednesday for lunch, there were three tables in entire dining room. Ordered salad with no dressing, it came delivered drenched. Server never came back, lunch break I guess. Flagged down another server who took salad back. Other guest at table finished lunch. Then salad returned, I sadly finished lunch solo. No management, no apologies. Typical Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The food was very average for the price. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was very average for the price. Service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was exceptional. Service was awesom ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Food was exceptional. Service was awesome. As server and assistant where present and attentive but you did not know they were there which is how it is supposed to be. Overall a great dinner and were even able to add Folk's to reservation as we walked in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic steak and service!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Fantastic steak and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy eating both lunch and din ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I always enjoy eating both lunch and dinner at The Capital Grille! On this particular evening, the dinner and service were outstanding as is always the custom. As far as steak quality, The Capital Grille has the best filet in Memphis (and even better au poivre style). I look forward to many future visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Most entrees on the menu were about $50. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Most entrees on the menu were about $50. The server mentioned and strongly recommended a few other things not on the menu. He failed to mention at any point that (at least one of them) was $105. I surely don't mind spending money on a great meal at a nice restaurant. But I think you mention it out of courtesy when the entree costs more than a full meal for 2 people at most 5 star restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Service was great, wine was great but ch ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was great, wine was great but chicken was dry and had feathers. Management was very responsive and took care of it with sincere apology.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Steak was very good. Folks Folly and Sea ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Steak was very good. Folks Folly and Season's 52 probably have a better steak which is surprising. Expensive...not sure it's worth it. The restaurant is actually kind of noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Exceptional service and excellent food m ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Exceptional service and excellent food make this one of the best restaurants in the city. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come here at least once a month. Darr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We come here at least once a month. Darryl is our favorite waiter!! He always sends us home with a little treat for our two dogs. We tend to order the same thing every time we go: petite filet with blue cheese, bone in filet with lobster tail, Brussel sprouts, Mac and cheese. I had the wedge salad the last time I was there and oysters instead of our usual. Was great also. My son always orders a desert and clears his plate. Little pricey but worth it!! We will be back soon I'm sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.