About The Capital Grille - Memphis

6065 Poplar Ave
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 683-9291

Website:
http://thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking - Lunch and Dinner

Executive Chef:
Chadwick Norman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 38 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Private Room (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Authentic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed my birthday dinner there.. tried ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed my birthday dinner there.. tried the bone in ribeye which was great . Also tried my wife's sea bass entree which was absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding lunch with incredible servic ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Outstanding lunch with incredible service. Had the tenderloin sliders that melted in my mouth. Too full for dessert, but from previous experience, the desserts are to die for!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as always. Zach always a professio ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great as always. Zach always a professional. He knows exactly what our needs are

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy whatever we have here. W ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We always enjoy whatever we have here. We decided to go for lunch on the New Year's Day holiday. We were not disappointed the service was wonderful and their lunch selections were awesome. My husband had the clam chowder and shrimp and I had the wedge salad, which was wonderful and the mushroom burger with Parmesan truffle fries. I don't care for the truffle oil next time I will get them without it. We didn't eat all of our food so we could have dessert and it really satisfied before I drop sugar for the next 21 days. We had the brûlée cheesecake and the warm chocolate cake with port cherries and ice cream😍. It made me very happy.

Our server, Brad was great with just the right amount of attentiveness. And he was great at giving suggestions and describing the food and he was right on the money.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a BALL!!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a BALL!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We almost always sit with Darryl. Tonigh ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We almost always sit with Darryl. Tonight our server was Rachel. She was excellent! Tried the French onion soup tonight, wasn't my favorite. The presentation was excellent though. Lobster Mac, Brussel sprouts and chocolate cake were great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great atmsophere and excellent service!! ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great atmsophere and excellent service!! Appetizers and sides were great, but the steak was a bit overcooked (highly unusual because they usually get it spot on). The manager did provide a credit via gift certificate!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Love The Capital Grille !! The entire m ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Love The Capital Grille !! The entire meal was excellent ! We will return !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, and Jamie, our w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was excellent, and Jamie, our waiter, made our Christmas Eve a special occasion. This young man has served us a number of times. He is excellent and is one of the most professional servers I have ever seen. Please keep the South African Lobster Tails on the menu. They are imcomparable!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service has always been outstanding, ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The service has always been outstanding, which is why I have chosen to have our annual family Christmas Eve dinner at this restaurant. We enjoy the ambiance, the quality of the food, and the awesome service each visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my birthday dinner with my family ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

It was my birthday dinner with my family and my first time there. The service was amazing. We felt like we were his primary diners for the night. It was like he didnt have any other tables to wait on. We ordered drinks. I had the Bohemian. LOVE IT. We ordered appetizers. The lobster crab cakes were everything. We ordered our dinner. The lobster bisque was cold and not very good. They removed it immediately and offered to bring us another bowl which we didnt want but they did take it off our tab. The steaks were wonderful. The dry aged steak was still good 2 days later for leftovers. We will definitely dine here again for special occasions. Too pricey for casual nights out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent service.

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I dine her often with a nice sized group ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I dine her often with a nice sized group of my sisters. We often frequent this spot bc the ambiance is great. The service is excellent. The food is top of the line.

Daryl is a remarkable server, with lots of knowledge about the menu, and has a perfect personality for his role. We thank him for the commendable service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to indulge!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great place to indulge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time customer. Attitude of everyon ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

First time customer. Attitude of everyone was just awesome. Food was really good....over priced but delicious. Only complaint was there was too much time between courses. I'd say accumulative time was 20-30 minutes. I don't mind enjoying a break between courses, but this was just a little too long. I'd be happy to try again when the occasion warrants.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

We had the Thanksgiving entree - turkey ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had the Thanksgiving entree - turkey breast, green beans, brioche stuffing, mashed potatoes. For a $38 entree, I expected more than processed turkey breast. Very bland flavours overall. Good wine list and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The service is always exceptional and th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The service is always exceptional and the food is always tasteful. I like to take clients here when I am in town. Always a go-to for me. I love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Marlon was my server and he was SUPER at ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Marlon was my server and he was SUPER attentive and nice! I thought the salad with gorgonzola had a little too much dressing on it. Next time I will order it to be lightly dressed or on the side. I had the crab meat app as well. I thought the crab meat was slightly fishy. Not bad, just not as fresh as I am used to. I ate it and didn't say anything to Marlon. I have no doubt that he would have insisted to replace it. Lastly I wish that the calamari app could be ordered for one person, especially at lunch time. Too much food to have with a meal as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant for a special ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is a great restaurant for a special occasion. We went for a birthday and they decorated the table and had a hand written card on the table when we arrived. The service was superb and the food was excellent. I highly recommend this location of a national chain. It feels more local with the paintings for famous locals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been here before and tonight did ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have been here before and tonight did not meet their usually standard that we normally get. Marlon is one of their absolute best service members but we went on a night he was out. We will try again, the main courses are extremely pricing for the amount of food but we love to do the apps and share plates.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We were disappointed with our first trip ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were disappointed with our first trip to Capital Grille-Memphis and had not returned for a while. Our two favorite East Memphis restaurants were booked for the night, we did not want to drive downtown, so we decided to give Capital Grille another try.

This time, the food was SUPERB!!! We enjoyed a Frank Family Cab (one of our favorite Napa Valley wineries and one you don't usually see in Memphis). For entrees we had the Sea Bass and the Scallops; both were EXCEPTIONAL in flavor and presentation. Kudos to the Chef and Kitchen Team.

The prices at Capital Grille were a bit high for the overall dining experience. Entrees prices were similar to Erling Jensen or Restaurant Iris, but the overall dining experience is not at that level. Kyle, our server was good: knowledgeable about the menu, the preparation of each dish, adequately attentive, and professional.

Overall, we would rate Capital Grille-Memphis as Good to Very Good with POTENTIAL. We know and appreciate how hard it is to establish and maintain a top-notch restaurant. So we will be back regularly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was great! Service was good. W ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was great! Service was good. We love dining here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh seafood!

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fresh seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I normally enjoy The Capital Grille, but ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I normally enjoy The Capital Grille, but on this particular birthday dinner, it was just not up to par. First off, I always order the filet mignon au poivre, and a New York Strip arrived in its place. The waiter admitted he must have misunderstood my order, and I understand mistakes happen. At first, I was just going to keep it since the sides had already arrived as well, but he stated it could be corrected very quickly. Well, it took at least another 15 minutes before the filet arrived from the manager. Unfortunately, it arrived absolutely rare (blood red) when I order medium. The manager took it back once again, and about another 15 minutes later, the cook brought it out. At this point, I just wanted to be done. The re-cooked steak had very little flavor and was burnt on the edges. I will say that new smaller portion sides were brought out, and the staff was very friendly, but this steak should have never been charged to my bill. I hate this happened, and it will have me reconsidering eating here for awhile with other outstanding offerings out there such as Ruth's Chris and Folk's Folly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Overall, we were very impressed with the ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Overall, we were very impressed with the Capital Grille. The steaks were tender and delicious. However, we were disappointed in the salad and sides as they were nothing special. In particular, the creamed spinach had an overwhelmingly seasoned taste about it that detracted from the spinach flavor. I would not order that again. The fingerling potatoes were fair.

The service, however, was impeccable and Marlon did an excellent job. He was delightful and obviously loves what he is doing.

Whenever they offer another coupon, we will probably go back. Otherwise, it was too pricey in comparison to the food quality.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Capital is a great place to get a relaxi ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Capital is a great place to get a relaxing meal or host a lunch meeting. The restaurant is quiet, so you can easily hear those you're dining with. The service was so great, you don't even have to think about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Met a friend for the special wine and bu ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Met a friend for the special wine and burger pairing. Great options, enjoyed the service and the different options.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been to Capital Grille several time ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Have been to Capital Grille several times and the food is always very good. The service was very slow this time to the point where we were brought out a small tasting to tied us over until our appetizer arrived. After that we had to wait for second course and main course as well. Would still recommend the restaurant based on past experiences.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Dinner was outstanding throughout the en ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Dinner was outstanding throughout the entire meal. The lobster bisque is always great and loaded with lobster claw meat as well as the traditional filet. Au poivre style is extremely tasty. The mashed potatoes are always great, and the creamed corn is outstanding as well. Our server Zach was very nice and professional as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FABULOUS! I can not brag enough about ou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

FABULOUS! I can not brag enough about our meal, staff or overall experience. Worth every penny. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. Service decent- ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was excellent. Service decent- I was able to get a reservation on short notice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We've visited this restaurant several ti ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We've visited this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed with the food. The atmosphere is sophisticated and the service is very good. My only complaint was on our last visit - which was a very late lunch with very few other tables - our waitress was a bit too attentive :) She was young and probably trying to do a good job, but it was intrusive. However, better than no attention. We will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We celebrated our Anniversary and it was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We celebrated our Anniversary and it was a wonderful experience. Great food, impeccable service and a ideal ambiance. We do prefer to eat early around 1700-1730, so that might figure in but it was a nice night and we will be back. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice services, made our night special!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Nice services, made our night special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fabulous!! Great food, great service an ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fabulous!! Great food, great service and the stoli doli's are amazing!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Always a treat ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great food and service. Always a treat when we go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely experience, as usual.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Lovely experience, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Marlon was wonderful!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Marlon was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First non-business dinner visit to Capit ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

First non-business dinner visit to Capital Grille. Wife and I had a wonderful experience from valet parking onward. Server Michael was high energy and engaging, and very knowledgeable on menu and options. Plus, he readily customized sides to our taste. Food was great - steak and lobster for me, scallops for wife. Highly recommend the sprouts and asparagus sides! For dessert, tried both the cheesecake and coconut cream. Coconut lived up to its top billing among friends! To wrap up, Michael had our car ready as we walked out the door. We shall be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything we had on menu was great. I ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everything we had on menu was great. I am gluten free and did not have any problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.