Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About The Capital Grille - Memphis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

6065 Poplar Ave
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 683-9291

Website:
http://thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking - Lunch and Dinner

Executive Chef:
Chadwick Norman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us Easter Sunday for an exceptional prix fixe brunch. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as Shrimp and Grits and more.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 38 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Business Meals (24)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Private Room (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My family and I had an excellent meal. The service level provided was exceptional. Looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always a great place for dinner. Food is excellent and service superb

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 14, 2017

nice experience for a special occasion, enjoyed 2 course lunch specials (salmon with green beans and chicken with mushroom risotto)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Jonathan (server) did a very good job. Attentive but not overbearing. Will request to dine with him again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful dinner! We had a great time celebrating my parents 40th anniversary! Wonderful wine list! Darrel was a wonderful waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding Filet, brussel sprouts, and grapefruit soda!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was amazing, the service was excellent, and they go to great lengths to make you feel special for any special occasion. We always look forward to opportunities to celebrate here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was all delicious. Noise level was sufficiently low that we could hear th background music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything about this dinner experience was outstanding! The lobster bisque was loaded with lobster meat while the filet mignon (au poivre) with Maine lobster tail were prepared and tasted great. Lastly, the server Ryan L. was great and on top of everything start to finish. I will return for many future visits!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My Mother and I enjoyed an evening out for dinner. She thought it was too expensive but with her takeout she was able to eat for 2 more days and she said it was better each day. It's a bit dark but service was great and we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Fireplace, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We have come here previously to celebrate my son's birthday, as it is his favorite establishment for outstanding steaks, of which he is a bit of an aficionado. As always, the service and atmosphere were impeccable. Unfortunately, while the food was very good, three of four steaks ordered medium were served clearly rare, seared externally but deeply red throughout. My wife worked through hers, too embarrassed to raise more of a fuss after our sons had to have their steaks sent back to the grill. Ultimately the guys enjoyed very good steaks done medium, but this time the experience was honestly a bit disappointing for an establishment the caliber of the Capital Grille.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As a business traveler with many options, it was a bit disappointing to have had to send my steak back to the kitchen, disturb the flow of conversation and deal with cold sides while waiting.
Would I go back or recommend?
Not sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always excellent service and food. Period... Zach is knowledgeable and very professional yet easy to talk with.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

As always, the food doesn't disappoint. Service is prompt and courteous, although at times is a little over the top on the pleasantries and graciousness. We will be back again soon. This is a great add for Memphis even though there are two other prime steakhouses nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Phenomenal meal-- the steak melted in our mouth and the brussel sprouts were the best ever!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great place and best service I have ever experienced at a restaurant. Ask for AdAm.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Enjoyed everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This particular dining visit was outstanding from start to finish, which is the typical norm for this restaurant. I want to highlight the excellent service by our server, Adam Hogan. When I received my check, I noticed that the restaurant had remembered a previous problem on a visit from last October and had removed a charge as a courtesy. This was not only impressive due to the gap in time between visits, but it was greatly appreciated. I look forward to my next visits over the course of this year. Thanks again to the entire staff at The Capital Grille for a great dinner and evening!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I celebrated Valentine's Day here. We had reservations @6:00 pm and were seated immediately. You are given an IPad to browse drinks & wine choices. We selected the Capital Grill Cosmo martini which was excellent. We're usually not heavy eaters, so we opted to skip the appetizer and share the Brussels Sprouts salad for starters. I selected the Beef Tenderloin with a pair of lobster tails and my wife selected the Sea Bass with a mushroom cream sauce. She didn't leave a bite and I actually had enough for two. I can't forget to mention the lobster Mac and cheese and the variety of bread. Everything was superb! For dessert, they served complimentary huge chocolate covered strawberries!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The atmosphere and the service were bar none-excellent. We went for valentines day and both the wine and entrees were perfect. This was a 5 star evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This place is AWESOME!!!!!! Food is great. Wait staff is impeccable. The utmost dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Organic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We celebrated Valentine's Day and my Birthday at Capital Grille Memphis on Sunday night and had an absolutely amazing evening. From the specialty cocktail to appetizer, salad and wine selection to the incredible entree and sides, our dinner was the best we have ever had. Our service was impeccable and our waiter made excellent recommendations and wine pairings. To top it off, my wife went home with the long stemmed rose from the table! Perfect night!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Chef Chadwick prepared an amazing meal for us, and our personal waiter made everything so smooth. Wonderful place. Easy on the palet, hard on the wallet.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Birthday was wonderful!! Second time dining at Capital Grille. Food is excellent. Service top notch. Will dine there again once I save enough money😉. Totally worth every penny!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic experience, all phases of our meal were fantastic! Couldn't have been better. Zach was a great server, ask for him by name!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was not as good as expected. Filet came out charred on the outside even though it was cooked as ordered. Seafood not as fresh as expected. Nice atmosphere but a disappointment.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The atmosphere, the food, and the service were all excellent. The entrees were full portions and tasted great. The lobster bisque and the white cheddar potato soup were both bowl licking worthy. We shared the lobster mac & cheese and we'll never order that at any other restaurant again. This was the best we've ever had. It is a bit pricey so we can't afford to go regularly but we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

An absolutely wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Thank you for a beautiful evening. We will come back again. My Husband really enjoyed his birthday dinner and Craig was an awesome host.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was excellent, knowledgeable staff and un rushed. Food was excellent the kona rubbed steak is a great choice

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

JP was a fantastic server, along with the food. JP went beyond to make it a great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent service and product as always. Wine selection is unparalleled and steaks excellent as always.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love this place for special date nights. Always always always great service and delicious steak

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Enjoyed my birthday dinner there.. tried the bone in ribeye which was great . Also tried my wife's sea bass entree which was absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Outstanding lunch with incredible service. Had the tenderloin sliders that melted in my mouth. Too full for dessert, but from previous experience, the desserts are to die for!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great as always. Zach always a professional. He knows exactly what our needs are

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We always enjoy whatever we have here. We decided to go for lunch on the New Year's Day holiday. We were not disappointed the service was wonderful and their lunch selections were awesome. My husband had the clam chowder and shrimp and I had the wedge salad, which was wonderful and the mushroom burger with Parmesan truffle fries. I don't care for the truffle oil next time I will get them without it. We didn't eat all of our food so we could have dessert and it really satisfied before I drop sugar for the next 21 days. We had the brûlée cheesecake and the warm chocolate cake with port cherries and ice cream😍. It made me very happy.
Our server, Brad was great with just the right amount of attentiveness. And he was great at giving suggestions and describing the food and he was right on the money.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a BALL!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We almost always sit with Darryl. Tonight our server was Rachel. She was excellent! Tried the French onion soup tonight, wasn't my favorite. The presentation was excellent though. Lobster Mac, Brussel sprouts and chocolate cake were great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.