Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About The Capital Grille - Memphis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

6065 Poplar Ave
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 683-9291

Website:
http://thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking - Lunch and Dinner

Executive Chef:
Joshua Burkeen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 38 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Romantic (23)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Private Room (5)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a wonderful anniversary dinner. The rib eye rubbed with porcini mushroms excellent and the side dish of a corn(sweet) dish was even better. The bread was easily the winner as each of the different breads were fabulous. I asked for a wine that I figured not available anymore and much to my delite was served and enjoyedOur server was Adam and he made it a complete picture as the service was spot on- not to attentive but there when needed! It truly made for a super 45th Anniversay.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great Steak! We also love the lump crab meat appetizer. Great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I really have no words. From the attentive staff, to the beautiful restaurant, to the amazing food, this was a wonderful dinning experience. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Adam is the best server ever. He pays attention to every single detail. He has a pleasant personality and is very knowledgeable concerning the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Quick Bite, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Fantastic way and place to celebrate. Staff friendly; Extra perks: rose, champagne desert, may evening even more special. Food great but extra touches made the night.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food, wonderful service. One of the best resturants in Memphis!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Wonderful Service and my meal was sooooo delicious

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was pk

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This is my favorite Capital Grille location. Steak is always prepared perfectly and the staff is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Amazing! Top shelf all the way. Lobster/crab cakes out of this world. Bone in filet that is insane! And finish with the warm cake with infused cherries - yeah the cake and molten chocolate middle with ice cream is fantastic!! But those cherries are life changing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The waiter we had was great. He attended to our every need. But for the price of the food, when you specify how you want your food it should be done exactly how you want it. We ordered steaks well done but both were pink inside. I sent mine back and it still came back pink. My fiancée kept his and after mine came back a second time pink, I just kept it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Usually we love capital grill but last night the chicken was dry and not very flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We had a delicious dinner, and very attentive staff. Everything was lovely, and the food was fabulous. We both ordered the kale salad with peanut vinaigrette which was terrific. And we both enjoyed the seared tuna as an entree. Marcus was our waiter & did a super job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Wonderful and amazing food and service. A very special treat for an important business meeting.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Although there are several high quality steak restaurants in Memphis, The Capital Grille serves the most consistent, highest quality filet mignon of them all. The service is extremely courteous and always professional. I always look forward to my next visit at the conclusion of each meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We had a wonderful 1st time experience at The Capital Grille celebrating our 4-year wedding anniversary. The service was just as awesome as the food...we will definately be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great meal! You will pay for the wonderful food and service but it is well worth it. Ask for Rachel she is one of the best servers I have had ever and I am a country club member who has eaten at 5 star restaurants across the country.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Service was friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. (Our server was Sean.) Food was absolutely excellent and cooked perfectly. Pretty traditional Steakhouse fare but excellent Seafood as well. Had a very delicious dinner and terrific experience all around. We'll be back, and recommend Capital Grille to everyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 25, 2017

It was amazing! My husband and I were celebrating our three month wedding anniversary and we felt so special by the service at Capital Grille--they welcomed us with a "congratulations" and a card as well as a rose! It was a perfect evening as we celebrated with my dad! The food and drinks were phenomenal! Thank you! We will be back very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I had a wonderful birthday experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 22, 2017

I told them we were coming to celebrate an anniversary. I was very impressed that they said 'congratulations' immediately upon our arrival. There was a Happy Anniversary card on the table and every person who came by the table said 'congratulations.' Then they brought a complimentary dessert. As we were leaving, the hostess again said 'congratulations on your anniversary.' Exemplary service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 22, 2017

My wife had heard about the Capital Grille and we decided to go for our 25th anniversary. Our experience started with the valet parkers who were very cordial. Checkin in, my wife mentioned it was our 25th anniversary. That word spread rapidly to our server and management. We were given a handwritten card welcoming us. The atmosphere was excellent. Since it was a splurge night and we plan to enjoy the leftovers tomorrow, we ordered 2 appetizers. Before the appetizers were served we were given small portions of their lobster salad complimentary. The calamari was outstanding, but be warned the peppers make it a bit hot. The lobster and crab cakes were also very tasty. This appetizer could have made a small meal in itself. My wife ordered the filet oscar which she really enjoyed. I ordered the porcini rubbed bone in ribeye with balsamic glaze. It was absolutely outstanding. My dog will be giving me a helpful vote for the bone I brought home. You need to order sides ala carte. The serving are enough for two, and we ordered the mushrooms which were very tasty. Service was terrific, and we were give complimentary glasses of champaign and a complimentary desert for two for our anniversary. When I was paying the check, David, our server, asked if we had used the valet parking. I told him yes and he took the stub and our bagged left overs so the car would be waiting. It is hard to believe that this is one of the Darden family. Prices are not inexpensive, but you can do well to keep the bill lower by splitting a meal. Portions are very large. We will be

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Wonderful experience for my daughter's special 16th birthday celebration! The entire staff was top tier in every way possible, especially our server Kyle! Kyle is a fantastic professional server!

The dinner itself was delicious and on point!
Spoil yourself here!

She received a beautiful "Happy Birthday" presentation of numerous dessert samples. We were surprised and very appreciative of the kind gesture! The valet staff was also very kind and focused on service :)

Overall, the entire experience was noteworthy and we extend our highest possible rating and recommendation!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day Bunch and the food and service was absolutely amazing. Will definitely celebrate many more occasions here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

If you want a good meal and a good steak this is the place to go. The service is wonderful and the staff is friendly. But most importantly, the food is good. Is prepared rash and made specifically to your order. Additionally, if something is wrong, the staff will fix it immediately. It is well worth the money. Just note that the place is a little pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been sevarl times and have never been let down. Food and service has been awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice Mother's Day Brunch menu and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service should've been top notch for price. Service was mediocre at best.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server, Adam Daniels, made this eve exceptional. He checked on us often enough but he wasn't noisy. He explained clearly the menu and tried to understand what we like/don't like and made great recommendations. BF and his mom had the dry aged Rib-eye and they were very impressed with the flavor. I had the dry aged NY strip. It was to die for. All in all, we had a great Mother's Day celebration! We will def be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We dined there this past Saturday for our daughters Phd graduation. The table was decorated for graduation and the waiter mentioned it to her plus there was a special dessert for her and a gift card for a return visit. The food was delicious as always. The waiter was very nice considering we had children there too. He took time to explain the kids meals. Loved the Bohemian cocktail!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have dined here before and always had great service. This time was disappointing, and the waitress wasn't very attentive at all. Couldn't keep our drinks filled, and ice was rare. The table next to us was being waited on hand over foot by their wait staff. Never seemed to see our waitress? The manager did come over once when he saw we were waiting w our steaks in front of us bc we were waiting for her to return w an extra plate. (Took forever it seemed) my husband's steak was closer to medium rare than medium and was afraid to send it back for it being over done. With the prices you hate to ruin the steak with overcooking. Just overall wasn't what we usually experience. I even think they changed their lobster mac&chs and it wasn't as great as we had remembered?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our server Jamie was excellent and knowledgable, as well as friendly and engaging making us fell welcome. The food was outstanding as everyone in our party enjoyed their meal and felt relaxed and welcome.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My family and I wanted to get out and have a nice dinner. As soon as we walked throigh the door we felt at home. Our waiter, Gav gave us the ulitmate dining experience! My 7 year old daughter is never engaged with strangers and by the time we left she was asking were Gav was to talk more about how smart she is. I want to thank everyone at Capital Grill for a 5 Star experience and i expect to sed them again really soon. Wow!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Absolutely amazing! The food was great, service impeccable and ambiance welcoming and nostalgic. A great special occasion restaurant

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday lunch. The food and service was amazing.
The pasty chef even prepared a special dessert that we requested.
It was a perfect afternoon

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I've never had a bad steak at Capital Grille. Our server, Sean, was very attentive and friendly. He had the valet bring the car around and even took our leftovers to the car while the bill was being paid. An upscale restaurant with prices that match, it is perfect for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We love the food and staff for making our 11th Wedding Anniversary special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food and service were excellent. I took my niece for her college graduation and special service was provided for the occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great restaurant, valet parking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Awesome dry aged steaks, and an exhaustive wine menu to boot. The service at Capital Grille was excellent, Sean is truly a service professional. Do your mouth a favor and eat here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.