Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About The Capital Grille - Memphis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

6065 Poplar Ave
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 683-9291

Website:
http://thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking - Lunch and Dinner

Executive Chef:
Chadwick Norman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 38 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Business Meals (35)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Private Room (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. (Our server was Sean.) Food was absolutely excellent and cooked perfectly. Pretty traditional Steakhouse fare but excellent Seafood as well. Had a very delicious dinner and terrific experience all around. We'll be back, and recommend Capital Grille to everyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

It was amazing! My husband and I were celebrating our three month wedding anniversary and we felt so special by the service at Capital Grille--they welcomed us with a "congratulations" and a card as well as a rose! It was a perfect evening as we celebrated with my dad! The food and drinks were phenomenal! Thank you! We will be back very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 3 days ago

I had a wonderful birthday experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

I told them we were coming to celebrate an anniversary. I was very impressed that they said 'congratulations' immediately upon our arrival. There was a Happy Anniversary card on the table and every person who came by the table said 'congratulations.' Then they brought a complimentary dessert. As we were leaving, the hostess again said 'congratulations on your anniversary.' Exemplary service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife had heard about the Capital Grille and we decided to go for our 25th anniversary. Our experience started with the valet parkers who were very cordial. Checkin in, my wife mentioned it was our 25th anniversary. That word spread rapidly to our server and management. We were given a handwritten card welcoming us. The atmosphere was excellent. Since it was a splurge night and we plan to enjoy the leftovers tomorrow, we ordered 2 appetizers. Before the appetizers were served we were given small portions of their lobster salad complimentary. The calamari was outstanding, but be warned the peppers make it a bit hot. The lobster and crab cakes were also very tasty. This appetizer could have made a small meal in itself. My wife ordered the filet oscar which she really enjoyed. I ordered the porcini rubbed bone in ribeye with balsamic glaze. It was absolutely outstanding. My dog will be giving me a helpful vote for the bone I brought home. You need to order sides ala carte. The serving are enough for two, and we ordered the mushrooms which were very tasty. Service was terrific, and we were give complimentary glasses of champaign and a complimentary desert for two for our anniversary. When I was paying the check, David, our server, asked if we had used the valet parking. I told him yes and he took the stub and our bagged left overs so the car would be waiting. It is hard to believe that this is one of the Darden family. Prices are not inexpensive, but you can do well to keep the bill lower by splitting a meal. Portions are very large. We will be

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Wonderful experience for my daughter's special 16th birthday celebration! The entire staff was top tier in every way possible, especially our server Kyle! Kyle is a fantastic professional server!

The dinner itself was delicious and on point!
Spoil yourself here!

She received a beautiful "Happy Birthday" presentation of numerous dessert samples. We were surprised and very appreciative of the kind gesture! The valet staff was also very kind and focused on service :)

Overall, the entire experience was noteworthy and we extend our highest possible rating and recommendation!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

If you want a good meal and a good steak this is the place to go. The service is wonderful and the staff is friendly. But most importantly, the food is good. Is prepared rash and made specifically to your order. Additionally, if something is wrong, the staff will fix it immediately. It is well worth the money. Just note that the place is a little pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day Bunch and the food and service was absolutely amazing. Will definitely celebrate many more occasions here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been sevarl times and have never been let down. Food and service has been awesome.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice Mother's Day Brunch menu and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service should've been top notch for price. Service was mediocre at best.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server, Adam Daniels, made this eve exceptional. He checked on us often enough but he wasn't noisy. He explained clearly the menu and tried to understand what we like/don't like and made great recommendations. BF and his mom had the dry aged Rib-eye and they were very impressed with the flavor. I had the dry aged NY strip. It was to die for. All in all, we had a great Mother's Day celebration! We will def be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We dined there this past Saturday for our daughters Phd graduation. The table was decorated for graduation and the waiter mentioned it to her plus there was a special dessert for her and a gift card for a return visit. The food was delicious as always. The waiter was very nice considering we had children there too. He took time to explain the kids meals. Loved the Bohemian cocktail!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have dined here before and always had great service. This time was disappointing, and the waitress wasn't very attentive at all. Couldn't keep our drinks filled, and ice was rare. The table next to us was being waited on hand over foot by their wait staff. Never seemed to see our waitress? The manager did come over once when he saw we were waiting w our steaks in front of us bc we were waiting for her to return w an extra plate. (Took forever it seemed) my husband's steak was closer to medium rare than medium and was afraid to send it back for it being over done. With the prices you hate to ruin the steak with overcooking. Just overall wasn't what we usually experience. I even think they changed their lobster mac&chs and it wasn't as great as we had remembered?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our server Jamie was excellent and knowledgable, as well as friendly and engaging making us fell welcome. The food was outstanding as everyone in our party enjoyed their meal and felt relaxed and welcome.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My family and I wanted to get out and have a nice dinner. As soon as we walked throigh the door we felt at home. Our waiter, Gav gave us the ulitmate dining experience! My 7 year old daughter is never engaged with strangers and by the time we left she was asking were Gav was to talk more about how smart she is. I want to thank everyone at Capital Grill for a 5 Star experience and i expect to sed them again really soon. Wow!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Absolutely amazing! The food was great, service impeccable and ambiance welcoming and nostalgic. A great special occasion restaurant

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday lunch. The food and service was amazing.
The pasty chef even prepared a special dessert that we requested.
It was a perfect afternoon

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I've never had a bad steak at Capital Grille. Our server, Sean, was very attentive and friendly. He had the valet bring the car around and even took our leftovers to the car while the bill was being paid. An upscale restaurant with prices that match, it is perfect for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We love the food and staff for making our 11th Wedding Anniversary special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food and service were excellent. I took my niece for her college graduation and special service was provided for the occasion.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great restaurant, valet parking

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Awesome dry aged steaks, and an exhaustive wine menu to boot. The service at Capital Grille was excellent, Sean is truly a service professional. Do your mouth a favor and eat here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We were celebrating our 20th year anniversary and Capital Grille made it very special for us both. The food was outstanding. In addition the service and our waiter, Shawn, was outstanding and attentive. We will definitely choose Capital Grille for any future occasion and recommend it to anyone who wants to have a very memorable dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was alright for lunch. Dinner is typically better. I prefer the steaks here over the seafood. Our server Gav was great. He was very attentive and professional.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Joya is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Rob provide excellent service and the food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner. The food was very good and the service was excellent.
It was our first time there and we will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Had brunch here on Sunday, and had reservations for Monday. Could not wait to return. Brunch and lunch were fabulous. My food was good, even the bread basket was tasty. What really sets this restaurant apart is the service from the moment you drive up until you leave. First class all the way.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Capital Grill (where ever located) never disappoints. You can depend on a fantastic steak, perfectly prepared, a wonderful cocktail and wine list, and great service. If the price bothers you, go somewhere else, but if good food and service is what you're after, this is your spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Joya, Gav and staff were fantastic, as always! Best meal in Memphis! Managing Partner Sarah has the restaurant rocking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We dined for Easter brunch, and had a great time. Everyone in the party ordered from the 3 course menu, and everything was delicious. It was nice the full dinner menu was also available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great time!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Capital Grille is our absolute favorite go-to restaurant when we want fine dining in Memphis! Every time the food is delicious, the service is outstanding, and the ambience is so romantic yet also sophisticated and classy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food, drinks, and ambiance were outstanding. The only thing that could top that was the amazing service!!! It was a wonderful evening!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food was exceptional and the service was top-notch. An excellent wine list makes this the perfect place for dinner and friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Everything was excellent but all of the drinks are short pours not like Ruth Chris or folks Folly

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My family and I had an excellent meal. The service level provided was exceptional. Looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always a great place for dinner. Food is excellent and service superb

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.