About The Capital Grille - Memphis

6065 Poplar Ave
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 683-9291

Website:
http://thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking - Lunch and Dinner

Executive Chef:
Chadwick Norman

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 38 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
9 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (45)
romantic (32)
notable wine list (27)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
good for groups (18)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for lunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (4)
hot spot (4)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The wedge salad should be split. It is h ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

The wedge salad should be split. It is huge. Our filets were properly cooked and tasty. A little over the top on the service, but a nice restaurant that is consistent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding birthday celebration at this ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding birthday celebration at this location. You must try the crab cakes - undeniably the best ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Kyle was a great waiter. Steaks were ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Kyle was a great waiter. Steaks were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We often eat at the Capitol Grill, and a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We often eat at the Capitol Grill, and are never disappointed. The food was excellent and the service was superb. I would recommend the filet and the sea bass for a entree with the potatoes as an excellent side. My fiancé and I are regular guests because the food and service are always top notch. We made our reservations via open table and the grill had our table waiting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Darryl is a terrific server and very att ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Darryl is a terrific server and very attentive. Craig, the manager, stopped by our table and chatted during our visit. Very lovely. Looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love The Capital Grille. The service ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love The Capital Grille. The service was excellent and the food was superb. Our only disappointment was that another guest had unwisely chosen to bring a poorly disruptive toddler, who was allowed to do whatever it pleased. Most of our meal was spent listening to the child shriek as it ran amongst tables. We are parents and understand the demands of small children; they don't belong at a high end restaurant, especially so late in the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfectly cooked good quality steak at p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Perfectly cooked good quality steak at precise temperature was the highlight of my meal but I cannot say the same about my wife’s chicken who happened to be a fish/poultry person. A HUGE chicken was served with little sauce (best thing in the dish) which was little over cooked to our taste. To me, a good quality French fries goes hand to hand with a good quality steakhouse, which I did not felt this occasion perhaps late Monday night appointment can justify that.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. Really couldn't ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great food and service. Really couldn't be better, but you really pay for it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome dining experience. Definitely wi ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Awesome dining experience. Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

By far, one of the better fine dining ex ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

By far, one of the better fine dining experiences I've had among other restaurant favorites. Everything was cooked to perfection with the very best in customer services and satisfaction.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There are good restaurants and then ther ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

There are good restaurants and then there's The Capital Grille/Memphis (#great service and food)!! My husband and I have gone there four times; birthday, Valentine's Day and celebrated our wedding anniversary twice and we were treated like royalty. We've recommended several of our friends and they equally enjoyed it too. I give it 5 stars and two thumbs up!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This evening encompassed another excelle ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This evening encompassed another excellent dinner from start to finish at The Capital Grille! The filet with peppercorn rub and sauce was outstanding as well as the lobster bisque and mashed potatoes. The others in my party thoroughly enjoyed the chicken entree, bib salad, and creamed corn. Lastly, this is the second time having Adam H. as our server and is a true professional. I look forward to many future returns!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent setting for any celebration. T ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent setting for any celebration. The food and service are second to none

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The asparagus soup was delicious wish I ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The asparagus soup was delicious wish I could have gotten it in a bowl rather than the cup. The onion bread with butter is really good. Get the steak medium with a pink ribbon! Save room for desert the molten chocolate cakes with cherries was so good!! Enjoy! Be sure to get a bottle of red wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service, Ambiance, Quality

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The customer service was more than excellent. We asked to be seated in the main dining room and they obliged us with no problem at all. The ambiance was exquisite. Very quiet, personal, and relaxing. The quality of the food was outstanding. I can't say enough about how much I appreciated how well we were treated. This was my first experience and I was simply amazed at the show of perfection extended by the hosts, servers, and management. I do plan to make several more stops at Capital Grille, Memphis.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our first visit to the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We really enjoyed our first visit to the Capital Grill. Outstanding quisine and great wines. Our waiter, Jonathon, was very attentive and friendly. We will definitely be back !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sometime, I wonder why I try other steak ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Sometime, I wonder why I try other steakhouses. Capital Grille continues to be the best. Meals are well timed, Food is cooked perfect, and Service is impeccable. Ask to sit and be wined and dined with Adam; He makes the meal that much better

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Graduation Dinner

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Went with relatives after our son's graduation from College before helping him move back to big D. Had a great meal. excellent service. Only regret was there was no room for dessert.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special evening

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Again, this meal was top of the line. Everything was just right. Our waiter was one of the reasons we returned. I hope we can have him each time we are at The Capital Grill .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I usually rate higher than a level two. ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I usually rate higher than a level two. However I made reservation for a party of four, for 2:15. My party and I arrived maybe 10 to 15 minutes early and we were not seated on time. We did not receive our bread until after the third request, my wife had to ask for a refill on her beverage at least two times. Our entrees were good.

We do dine with Capital Grill, frequent but we have never experience service that wasn't acceptable.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Mike4all

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding Mothers Day luch. Very excellent food and service

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful but very expensive $500 brunch for 7 -

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful but very expensive - $500 brunch for 7 - 3 of which were kids

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Capital Grille is THE Spot for a spe ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The Capital Grille is THE Spot for a special occasion celebration in Memphis! From decorating our table to complimentary champagne, the staff were just as excited as we were to celebrate! Our Server Zach was one of the best servers I've ever had. He had supreme knowledge of the menu and he constantly checked to make sure our dining experience was superb. The Dry-Aged NY Strip was one of the best steaks I've ever had, and definitely the best steak I've had in Memphis. The lobster MacNCheese was an excellent side dish as well! I will definitely be returning to Capital Grille for any special occasion coming up!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dinner

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Our decision to dine at Capital Grille was last minute -- what a delightful experience! The service was immaculate -- attentive, not overbearing. The menu had a very nice selection and each item ordered was absolutely delicious. Yes, we will certainly go back to Capital Grille.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an awesome experience from servic ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

It was an awesome experience from service to food quality. Elegant ambiance...just what I expected :) Will definite come back for more... Thank you for a wonderful dining experience...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Fine Dining

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

A group of six went for a special occasion. The scallops and 22 oz. bone in rib eye were excellent. I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions if you are comfortable with the very high prices.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always have the same excellent experi ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

We always have the same excellent experience each time we eat here. I'm very picky about how my steak is cooked and they get it right each time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service by Jamie! Love seeing ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent service by Jamie! Love seeing the always accommodating and professional Sarah, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered surf and turf and my wife orde ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I ordered surf and turf and my wife ordered one of the specials, African lobster tail and she added a filet with it. Was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent lunch visit! The lobster bisqu ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellent lunch visit! The lobster bisque, filet mignon, and mashed potatoes were all outstanding as well as the service. As typical with this restaurant, the hostess and management staff were friendly and readily available if needed. My only wish would be for the steak sauces available at dinner (au poivre and red wine) to be available at lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the new spring/summer menu. Service ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Love the new spring/summer menu. Service was excellent as always. Food fantastic. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, nice place to celebrate birthday!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Royal treatment on your birthday! Large tender shrimp and fresh vegetables.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Simply Amazing

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

There are not many places that I eat anymore that I leave feeling satisfied on every level --- but Capital Grille does exactly that. Incredible food, outstanding service, wonderful atmosphere, undeniably one of the best overall values for a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an incredible experience. Our se ...

vip
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Always an incredible experience. Our server is always Brad Posey and he is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I can some up our experience in one word WONDERFUL!! Our waiter Derrick was excellent!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very elegant atmosphere. The service was ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Very elegant atmosphere. The service was definitely five star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoyed eating at the capital ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We always enjoyed eating at the capital grille

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love love love

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Steaks and everything are fantastic; love the vibe!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had a 16oz bone in ribeye . it was good ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

had a 16oz bone in ribeye . it was good but the bone was 10ozs. creamed spinach wasn't very good. there was a 22 oz rib eye on the menu for $47 but the waiter said there was a 16 oz rib eye on a chefs special. it wasn't very specila. the smaller ribeye was $60.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.