About The Capital Grille - Memphis

6065 Poplar Ave
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 683-9291

Website:
http://thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking - Lunch and Dinner

Executive Chef:
Chadwick Norman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 38 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
5 More
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (24)
Notable Wine List (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything we had on menu was great. I ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 2 days ago

Everything we had on menu was great. I am gluten free and did not have any problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our evening so much. I had Sc ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our evening so much. I had Scallops that were wonderful and my husband had the bone in filet.

He was very happy with the favor and how tender it was. Our servers were terrific, wine selection he made for me was perfect. Overall a beautiful meal and evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and really wonderful bart ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Delicious food and really wonderful bartender and staff! Will definitely be back extra time we are in Memphis!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very average for the price. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was very average for the price. Service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was exceptional. Service was awesom ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Food was exceptional. Service was awesome. As server and assistant where present and attentive but you did not know they were there which is how it is supposed to be. Overall a great dinner and were even able to add Folk's to reservation as we walked in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic steak and service!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Fantastic steak and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy eating both lunch and din ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I always enjoy eating both lunch and dinner at The Capital Grille! On this particular evening, the dinner and service were outstanding as is always the custom. As far as steak quality, The Capital Grille has the best filet in Memphis (and even better au poivre style). I look forward to many future visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Most entrees on the menu were about $50. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Most entrees on the menu were about $50. The server mentioned and strongly recommended a few other things not on the menu. He failed to mention at any point that (at least one of them) was $105. I surely don't mind spending money on a great meal at a nice restaurant. But I think you mention it out of courtesy when the entree costs more than a full meal for 2 people at most 5 star restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Service was great, wine was great but ch ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was great, wine was great but chicken was dry and had feathers. Management was very responsive and took care of it with sincere apology.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Steak was very good. Folks Folly and Sea ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Steak was very good. Folks Folly and Season's 52 probably have a better steak which is surprising. Expensive...not sure it's worth it. The restaurant is actually kind of noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Exceptional service and excellent food m ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Exceptional service and excellent food make this one of the best restaurants in the city. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was superb! I knew going in that i ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was superb! I knew going in that it was a pricey establishment, I just didn't know HOW pricey. If you have a lot of money and don't mind spending it on a meal, then this is your place. Wait staff was excellent as well as the atmosphere. It was our wedding anniversary, and a nice card was left on the table wishing us a happy anniversary with little heart confetti scattered on the table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Too formal for my taste. More for older ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Too formal for my taste. More for older folks with money to spend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect! Great food and friendly service ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Perfect! Great food and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

over price for their foods especially it ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

over price for their foods especially it's not that good of the taste either. roasted chicken was worst than I got from grocery store like Walmart or Kroger and its cost $ 28 for half of dry and no taste chicken was a rip off. and $44 for a piece of fish with the size of my palm. steak was taste like burned and soaked in black burned sauce. we pay big for this lesson and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Excellent. Now one of my favorites in Me ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent. Now one of my favorites in Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My colleagues and I went for a business ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My colleagues and I went for a business lunch. We had a party of six and were seated immediately. The waiter asked if we had any time constraints and since we had to be back at the office for a meeting he tried to get us out on time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice but very high prices

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very nice but very high prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We ordered lamb chop for myself and chic ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We ordered lamb chop for myself and chicken for my wife. Lamb chop was OK. Chicken was horrible. My wife couldn't eat more than a few bites. My point is: if the restaurant is offering an entree, it has to be of excellent quality. Honestly our exception was very high because of the previous reviews and of course the price tag. We were disappointed/

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Always a pleasant experience! Daryle , o ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always a pleasant experience!

Daryle , our waiter is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is the best! From valet to all ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service is the best! From valet to all wait staff. One of the best places to eat in East Memphis. Great place for lunch or special events. A must for anniversary or birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Adam was an incredible server. Impressiv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Adam was an incredible server. Impressive food and service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Capital Grille never disappoints! From v ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Capital Grille never disappoints! From valet to dessert, the best food and service in Memphis.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good, but it was our server ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was good, but it was our server who made the experience wonderful

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was delicious! I really loved ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was delicious! I really loved the extra attention you get from your waiter. Gabe was very attentive and just when we thought about asking for something he was already there. I liked being served and he made me feel really special. Since this was a business dinner the atmosphere was just right.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great. The food was very ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The service was great. The food was very good. I'll go back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, excellent service and food. C ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

As always, excellent service and food. Can be assured that the food will be consistent from one night to the next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wedge salad should be split. It is h ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The wedge salad should be split. It is huge. Our filets were properly cooked and tasty. A little over the top on the service, but a nice restaurant that is consistent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding birthday celebration at this ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding birthday celebration at this location. You must try the crab cakes - undeniably the best ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Kyle was a great waiter. Steaks were ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Kyle was a great waiter. Steaks were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We often eat at the Capitol Grill, and a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We often eat at the Capitol Grill, and are never disappointed. The food was excellent and the service was superb. I would recommend the filet and the sea bass for a entree with the potatoes as an excellent side. My fiancé and I are regular guests because the food and service are always top notch. We made our reservations via open table and the grill had our table waiting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Darryl is a terrific server and very att ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Darryl is a terrific server and very attentive. Craig, the manager, stopped by our table and chatted during our visit. Very lovely. Looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love The Capital Grille. The service ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love The Capital Grille. The service was excellent and the food was superb. Our only disappointment was that another guest had unwisely chosen to bring a poorly disruptive toddler, who was allowed to do whatever it pleased. Most of our meal was spent listening to the child shriek as it ran amongst tables. We are parents and understand the demands of small children; they don't belong at a high end restaurant, especially so late in the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfectly cooked good quality steak at p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Perfectly cooked good quality steak at precise temperature was the highlight of my meal but I cannot say the same about my wife’s chicken who happened to be a fish/poultry person. A HUGE chicken was served with little sauce (best thing in the dish) which was little over cooked to our taste. To me, a good quality French fries goes hand to hand with a good quality steakhouse, which I did not felt this occasion perhaps late Monday night appointment can justify that.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. Really couldn't ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great food and service. Really couldn't be better, but you really pay for it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome dining experience. Definitely wi ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Awesome dining experience. Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

By far, one of the better fine dining ex ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

By far, one of the better fine dining experiences I've had among other restaurant favorites. Everything was cooked to perfection with the very best in customer services and satisfaction.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There are good restaurants and then ther ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

There are good restaurants and then there's The Capital Grille/Memphis (#great service and food)!! My husband and I have gone there four times; birthday, Valentine's Day and celebrated our wedding anniversary twice and we were treated like royalty. We've recommended several of our friends and they equally enjoyed it too. I give it 5 stars and two thumbs up!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This evening encompassed another excelle ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This evening encompassed another excellent dinner from start to finish at The Capital Grille! The filet with peppercorn rub and sauce was outstanding as well as the lobster bisque and mashed potatoes. The others in my party thoroughly enjoyed the chicken entree, bib salad, and creamed corn. Lastly, this is the second time having Adam H. as our server and is a true professional. I look forward to many future returns!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent setting for any celebration. T ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent setting for any celebration. The food and service are second to none

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.