Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 24 times today
Special offers available. See details

The Capital Grille - Memphis

4.7
700 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Perfect For:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(901) 683-9291
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joshua Burkeen
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet Parking - Lunch and Dinner
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 60 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Join us on Mother's Day for an exceptional prix-fixe brunch and endless mimosas. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as our Pan-Seared Salmon with Citrus Crab Salad.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 700 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We absolutely love Rachel, Darrel and heratio
They always make our dining experience memorable

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

The staff and food make this restaurant 5 stars. It’s my go to lunch spot and nighttime special dinning!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Wife's birthday and we had blast. Thank you. Our pretty waitress is awesome....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great experience. Staff was 💯

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Brunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My husband and I love Capital Grille, it is our favorite spot and it feels like we are the only two that they are taking care of when we go. Love It

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Our server Darryl was AMAZE-BALLS! He was funny, knowledgeable, and always ready and able to assist us through our dining experience! I can’t wait to return❤️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The food was outstanding and the experience was amazing. My date and I went for a 1 year anniversary and they offered free samples of their specialty steak, seasonal sorbet, and free cappuccino cake. I highly recommend this restaraunt to any and everyone!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The Service was excellent, however the steaks were horrible. On the porterhouse that was ordered, half of the filet side was fat, something I have never experienced when eating a porterhouse. The meat was tasteless also.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

First time dining at Capital Grill. What an incredible experience. Menu offering will please everybody's food preference. Wait staff attentive making the dining experience even more special. The wine list will not disappoint you. Overall , a great experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We received excellent service from our waiter, Zach.

Food was mediocre at best. And definitely not a good value for the money given Memphis has so many other excellent steak houses.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

As usual, good food and service. Soup du jour was more of a broth with cream added, not impressed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

John David made sure our service was prompt and made us feel very welcomed and special. We are both Darden employees and this was our first time dining at Capital. We will be returning!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The service was excellent! We went for our anniversary and they made our night extremely special. We certainly felt pampered!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Attentive service with a personable staff. In the bar; there are great reasonable options for entrees

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We had a great birthday celebration, the food and service are excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

If any place in Memphis wants or needs to know how a steak should be, send your kitchen staff here to eat, there are so called steak places in Memphis, but this place actually gives steak justice!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Good food and service. Zack was an exceptionally good waiter

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

The food is always to die for. The service is impeccable. You pay for what you get!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Celebrating my mom and husbands birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Every detail of our experience at The Capital Grille was exceptional. We made reservations to treat our very special eleven year old to a very special birthday dinner and the staff went above and beyond any dining experience we’ve ever had. From a birthday card to a chef’s hat and apron signed by the entire staff, they made him feel like he was a celebrity. Our server, Gav, was engaging and knowledgeable and timed everything perfectly so that we felt comfortable and not rushed but well attended. The Maître D’ was so nice and courteous and Chef Josh came out and introduced himself to us and told our son Happy Birthday, even calling him by name. The food was delicious and as my son remarked it was “beautifully plated & masterfully prepared.” We had a perfectly cooked steak and lobster and some wonderful cocktails. This was a top to bottom, dynamite dining experience. This will be a yearly tradition. Many thanks to all who made it so special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2018

I always enjoy eating at The Capital Grille, and today’s lunch visit was no exception with a few hiccups. First of all, I was contacted the day prior and confirmed my reservation with a nice lady and even was reassured that the au poivre cream would be ready and prepared for my lunch visit (for the filet mignon). I arrived and was seated promptly in a requested nice booth. The lobster bisque was outstanding as always. I ordered my traditional filet mignon with mashed potatoes and mentioned the au poivre style offered at dinner and requested for my lunch in advance. The very nice waitress returned and stated that the au poivre cream was not available. This is the second time in a row I have been told it would be available for my visit and then be told once I arrive it is not. Keep in mind it was the restaurant who originally told me to request this before each lunch, and it would never be a problem (obviously it is). In any case, I didn’t make a big deal and still ordered the entree. I ordered the filet mignon medium plus (light pink center), and it arrived blood red in parts (medium rare to rare). I was on a lunch visit and didn’t have time to get a new steak (and don’t believe in re-cooking an existing one since it always comes out dry and tasteless). Both myself and waitress were cordial and told her I would eat most of the steak that I could, but the cook needs to learn the correct temperature of a steak. The managers were very nice in taking it off the bill (without any request from me) so that was appreciated. Lastly, the smaller South African lobster tail was delicious as well. Kudos to Abby for being a very nice and great server as well as the manager for following up. However, I may stick to dinner in the future since I really like the au poivre style offered, and it certainly seems to be a no-go at lunch even when otherwise promised.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

We got married on February 19, 2018. We had a very lovely dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Great service from Lori. They made our special day even better. Great kids meals and great seafood

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Service and food was exceptional as always. Management is always on top of things

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

This was our Valentines Day weekend celebration. Our server was outstanding and the overall experience was amazing!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I heard great things about this restaurant ..everything was incredible UNTIL OUR FOOD ARRIVED. Lobster choice was a 1lb crustacean, lol..really? On top of that, it was WAY OVERCOOKED, and my husband's steak was simply ORDINARY. The property is nice, ambiance nice, staff was incredible..too bad the food was so...blah. ESPECIALLY for the prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Everything was excellent! The computer says I have to use 50 letters, Still everything was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Everything was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

It was our first visit for Valentine's Day. The ambiance was perfect as well as the salmon and ribeye. Oh, and the brussel sprouts were delicious! I wish I had taken pictures to share!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentines Day with my wife and another couple. Even thought it was a busy nice due to V-day they did a great job, food as as consistent as our past experiences (very good) and it the service was exactly what we have come to expect at this caliber of restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Always great

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Food was good. Waiter was wonderful. We did an early Valentine Dinner. Not a large crowd so it was awesome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Loved our experience again. The wait staff is very mindful and Adam was great. Food delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

We had a lovely evening with a beautiful rose and card waiting on the table (which we regretfully left behind), excellent food and great service!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

After a long week, one of my business partners and I needed a respite to decompress and make a new plan. Capital Grill was so wonderful we could have stayed all day and night! The food and service was impeccable. Thank you, Capital Grill for a wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 5, 2018

Great service. Food was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Love the mashed potatoes and truffle crusted NY Strip!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Rubbed balsamic bone in ribeye was not hot and had way too much fat and mushiness for a primo steak. Disappointing. Everything else was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Wonderful food, drinks, and atmosphere, and the service is even better!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18

Tweets by The Capital Grille - Memphis