Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About The Capital Grille - Memphis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

6065 Poplar Ave
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 683-9291

Website:
http://thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking - Lunch and Dinner

Executive Chef:
Joshua Burkeen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

We invite you to make our dining room yours on Thanksgiving Day. Alongside our full menu, we'll be offering our Executive Chef's take on Thanksgiving favorites.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 60 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (29)
Romantic (29)
Business Meals (27)
See All
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort by
S
615 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The Capital Grille is always a wonderful dining experience ! The food, drinks, and service were all incredible! I highly recommend The Capital Grille for fine dining in Memphis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Our favorite restaurant! Food and service is outstanding. Best all around.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

First time. Food was good and so was the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

Had the burger and Caymus Cab in the lounge. Fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing! I love this place! The service is the best I have found in Memphis!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2017

It was my wife’s birthday celebration and we were thoroughly pleased with the service and the food. One of the best experiences that we have had at a restaurant. Our waiter was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 27, 2017

We had an enjoyable dinner at the Capital Grill. I loved tuna tartare and pan-seared sea scallops. Service was impeccable. Thank you, guys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Enjoyed a fantastic meal on our last night in Memphis which was also our first time dining at Capitol Grille. Service was impeccable and the appetizer (calamari) and entrees (filet &lobster for my wife and the Kona rubbed rib eye for me) were all to die for! Shared the Parmesan truffle fries and grilled asparagus and couldn’t finish it all. Wow -wow -wow! Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 25, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my special birthday lunch at The Capital Grille. The entire staff was friendly and even made sure that the au poivre sauce was available for my filet mignon in advance for my reservation. I also appreciated the special desert brought out for the occasion. Overall, I enjoyed my lunch experience just as much as my regular dinner visits to The Capital Grille!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Enjoyed friends for lunch a little business,a lot of catching up! Darrell was our server I highly recommend him, knowledgeable and polite!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 24, 2017

This was our 30th Anniversary dinner and it was exceptional. Capital Grille is pricey, but the food was outstanding, the service was excellent, the attention to details for our celebration was a welcomed surprise. Even if this is just once a year - it's worth every dollar. Capital Grille has become my new favorite place to eat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Shrimp Cocktail served with tough shrimp. Steak was served medium rare instead of medium and potatoes were barely warm. Chef sent out some more shrimp but were not much better. When you spend $50 for a steak you should expect it to be cooked perfectly! My favorite steakhouse in Houston but this one was certainly not up to par!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

My husband and I had a very nice experience at The Capital Grille. Our server, Gav, was awesome. The restaurant did an outstanding job of creating a romantic atmosphere for us to celebrate our anniversary. There was a rose and nice card on the table when we arrived. Everyone was attentive to our needs. The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is the food was a bit disappointing. While Gav did an excellent job of describing and marketing our selections, they just did not live up to our expectations. It wasn't bad, just not great. However, they do serve generous portions. Overall, it was worth the price because the service was outstanding. I definitely recommend this place and we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Everything was excellent from the food to our server!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great and unexpected birthday dessert and photo. We were pleasantly greeted with a birthday card and tinsel already placed on our table. The entire staff was attentive to our needs. We will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. You can't beat the aged steaks and fresh seafood. When we travel, we always make sure we dine at the local Capital Grille. We've never been disappointed with my food or service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Joya was great as always. She makes the Capital Grille a great place for a business lunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Took a friend for her birthday and had a stellar experience! It was a first time visit for my friend who was impressed with the food and the outstanding service. Joya was our main server and provided us with 2 perfect hours....all with a smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We love to dine here on our Anniversary. It's always such a pleasure to visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Great food with impeccable service. What more needs to be said?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Best service in town. Awesome place for a business lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This restaurant started out with very good service and food! They have a great wine list and awesome liquor selection but in our last visit our meal was not prepared well! Even though it was our anniversary we had to eat separate as one of us meal had to be redone! They said they are not going to charge us for the food that they had to prepare two time but they still did.... I used to like this place but I am not going to go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Our server accidental spilled a full glass of red wine on one of my guest. It was a real mess but the staff reacted quickly and recovered the situation with as much grace as possible. Even with this difficult beginning, the food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. This wa a first time visit for two in our party, including the one with a full glass of red wine in his lap.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The Capital Grille serves an excellent lunch (traditionally known more for dinner). On this particular visit, the entire meal was great including the signature cheeseburger, truffle fries, filet mignon, mashed potatoes, and lobster bisque. The only downside is the signature steak sauces including au poivre are not available at lunch. However, our waitress Joya was so nice to add to my personal profile stating they would have it made as a special request automatically for future lunch visits. This is the definition of great service and a well run restaurant. I will definitely be back soon for both lunch and dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Shreveport)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We've been to Capital Grill many times and generally have a great meal and always wonderful service with Zach. This visit had little difference other than their Porcini Rub Steak is subsequently covered in Balsamic.; ruining the Prcini Rub flavor. Not what was expected ...at all.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Second time to visit, and our new favorite place in the Memphis area. Food is absolutely fabulous. Staff is great. Again, food is wonderful!!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always a great meal at Capital Grill. Service is outstanding and while the prices are high, the quality is well worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Service was great as well as the food. A premium price for premium quality.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food was so good, the portions large, service top notch. Winner

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great atmosphere, amazing food and cant beat a very personal server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My only reservation about the restaurant is that it is too pricey to make it a regular experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Have been to the Capitol Grilles all over the USA. Good quality, excellent decor, always greet food. Becoming expensive but worthwhile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Continually serving the best steaks and drinks in town! Service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

A little over priced. Not likely to return. Better food and prices elsewhere.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Our waiter did a great job of detailing everything on the menu and had great knowledge of the wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We've dined here a number of times, for special occasions, and it has always been fantastic. All of the food is absolutely superb, and the entire staff goes out of their way to make their guests feel welcome.

We recently reserved a table here for our anniversary through OpenTable, and before we arrived, they had our table beautifully decorated, gave us a nice hand-written card, and a pink rose. Our dinner also included a free dessert.

Our server was Gav, and he was fantastic in every aspect, from knowledge of the food and the wine, to ordering our car from the valet. In fact, all of the staff members seemed to know our names, and the fact that it was our anniversary, and were super-friendly about it.

Fine dining restaurants, of course, are always pricey. But for special occasions, I've never found a better choice than Capital Grille.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fabulous meal. Sean was fabulous as our server !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We selected this Memphis location to celebrate my wife's birthday. Having eaten numerous times at other Memphis steak restaurants we were anxious to try the Capital Grill for dinner. We had eaten there for lunch. Everyone involved was very courteous. The ambiance leaves a lot to be desired. The lighting at the table was so poor we literally could not read the menu, fortunately we had read it on line prior to arriving and knew what we wanted to order. This is unacceptable. We were told the waiter had a light he could hold enabling us to read the menu. Really? The steaks were excellent but the sides were just ok. We had the filet and bone in NY strip. Sides were potatoes and brussel sprouts. Appetizer was calamari which was good but not excellent. Wine by the glass selection was very limited. Overall the experience was not over the top. With the exception of the steaks and our friendly waiter we were disappointed. We will not be returning for dinner. The bar menu did look inviting so that may be an option. Reputation preceded and invited our visit but reality is another thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Never disappoints food is always outstanding as well as service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Outstanding as always.. the lobster tail was hands down the best I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.