Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About The Capital Grille - Memphis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

6065 Poplar Ave
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 683-9291

Website:
http://thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking - Lunch and Dinner

Executive Chef:
Joshua Burkeen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Capital Grille - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (26)
Good for a Date (26)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Notable Wine List (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Shreveport)·Dined 3 days ago

We've been to Capital Grill many times and generally have a great meal and always wonderful service with Zach. This visit had little difference other than their Porcini Rub Steak is subsequently covered in Balsamic.; ruining the Prcini Rub flavor. Not what was expected ...at all.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Second time to visit, and our new favorite place in the Memphis area. Food is absolutely fabulous. Staff is great. Again, food is wonderful!!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always a great meal at Capital Grill. Service is outstanding and while the prices are high, the quality is well worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Service was great as well as the food. A premium price for premium quality.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food was so good, the portions large, service top notch. Winner

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great atmosphere, amazing food and cant beat a very personal server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My only reservation about the restaurant is that it is too pricey to make it a regular experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Have been to the Capitol Grilles all over the USA. Good quality, excellent decor, always greet food. Becoming expensive but worthwhile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Continually serving the best steaks and drinks in town! Service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

A little over priced. Not likely to return. Better food and prices elsewhere.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Our waiter did a great job of detailing everything on the menu and had great knowledge of the wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We've dined here a number of times, for special occasions, and it has always been fantastic. All of the food is absolutely superb, and the entire staff goes out of their way to make their guests feel welcome.

We recently reserved a table here for our anniversary through OpenTable, and before we arrived, they had our table beautifully decorated, gave us a nice hand-written card, and a pink rose. Our dinner also included a free dessert.

Our server was Gav, and he was fantastic in every aspect, from knowledge of the food and the wine, to ordering our car from the valet. In fact, all of the staff members seemed to know our names, and the fact that it was our anniversary, and were super-friendly about it.

Fine dining restaurants, of course, are always pricey. But for special occasions, I've never found a better choice than Capital Grille.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fabulous meal. Sean was fabulous as our server !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We selected this Memphis location to celebrate my wife's birthday. Having eaten numerous times at other Memphis steak restaurants we were anxious to try the Capital Grill for dinner. We had eaten there for lunch. Everyone involved was very courteous. The ambiance leaves a lot to be desired. The lighting at the table was so poor we literally could not read the menu, fortunately we had read it on line prior to arriving and knew what we wanted to order. This is unacceptable. We were told the waiter had a light he could hold enabling us to read the menu. Really? The steaks were excellent but the sides were just ok. We had the filet and bone in NY strip. Sides were potatoes and brussel sprouts. Appetizer was calamari which was good but not excellent. Wine by the glass selection was very limited. Overall the experience was not over the top. With the exception of the steaks and our friendly waiter we were disappointed. We will not be returning for dinner. The bar menu did look inviting so that may be an option. Reputation preceded and invited our visit but reality is another thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Never disappoints food is always outstanding as well as service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Outstanding as always.. the lobster tail was hands down the best I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

My wife and I was on vacation. We enjoyed the overall experience. Our waiter was Sean and he was an exquisite waiter and very informative.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food and service was excellent and top of the line from thr beginning to the end. Rob, our server, was helpful and attentive. He carefully and professionally explained the menu. I ordered the salmon which was divine. The lobster macaroni and cheese was exquisite. This was our first time dining here and it most definitely won't be our last!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great experience, love the capital Grille

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Very good, but very expensive. Corporate finance may push back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The Capital Grill's service was excellent, but its food was mediocre for the exorbitant price.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always such a pleasure to dine at Capital Grille. Food is always exceptional and the service is the best in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful place, Great service, Bartenders are very attentive and they have a great bar menu. So price can be reasonable. Try the tip steak on the bar menu. $18 for 6 oz's of filet. Then go with the Generous Pour wine promo. $26 for all types of wine.

Tags: Great Beer, Organic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Fantastic Darrel was awesome. Made my wife's Birthday fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

My husband and I came here to Celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was great as well as the food. The staff is highly trained in customer service which we greatly appreciate. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We don't live in Memphis but we love to go to the Capital Grille for special occasions, anniversaries, birthdays, etc.
Everything is top notch from the minute you drive up to the front door. The food is wonderful and I've said on many occasions to my husband that "this is the best meal I've ever eaten." I personally LOVE the seared tenderloin with butter poached lobster tails. They are amazing from the first bite!!
The portion size on all salads and entrees is large, so you're definitely getting your monies worth. The lobster Mac and cheese is a must as a side dish!! The desserts are wonderful!! The service is impeccable!!! If they know you've come for a special occasion, they make you feel SO special the entire time you're there. I can't wait to go back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Best dining experience and service in Memphis!
VERY expensive and the food is delicious. Very upscale and loved every minute of our dining experience. We were there for a birthday celebration and we could not have picked a better place to celebrate. Everyone working there seemed to love his or her job there and made us feel very welcome.
Appetizers- cast iron shrimp- served hot & was delicious
Soup- seasonal corn soup- fresh and delicious taste
Entree-Porterhouse and ribeye steaks
Sides- Au gratin potatoes, creamed spinach, lobster mac & cheese
Dessert- flourless chocolate cake & cheesecake
Everything was delicious and we had a LOT of leftovers to enjoy at home!
We will definitely return again and hopefully very soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was a wonderful anniversary dinner. The rib eye rubbed with porcini mushroms excellent and the side dish of a corn(sweet) dish was even better. The bread was easily the winner as each of the different breads were fabulous. I asked for a wine that I figured not available anymore and much to my delite was served and enjoyedOur server was Adam and he made it a complete picture as the service was spot on- not to attentive but there when needed! It truly made for a super 45th Anniversay.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great Steak! We also love the lump crab meat appetizer. Great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I really have no words. From the attentive staff, to the beautiful restaurant, to the amazing food, this was a wonderful dinning experience. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Adam is the best server ever. He pays attention to every single detail. He has a pleasant personality and is very knowledgeable concerning the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Quick Bite, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Fantastic way and place to celebrate. Staff friendly; Extra perks: rose, champagne desert, may evening even more special. Food great but extra touches made the night.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food, wonderful service. One of the best resturants in Memphis!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Wonderful Service and my meal was sooooo delicious

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was pk

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This is my favorite Capital Grille location. Steak is always prepared perfectly and the staff is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Amazing! Top shelf all the way. Lobster/crab cakes out of this world. Bone in filet that is insane! And finish with the warm cake with infused cherries - yeah the cake and molten chocolate middle with ice cream is fantastic!! But those cherries are life changing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The waiter we had was great. He attended to our every need. But for the price of the food, when you specify how you want your food it should be done exactly how you want it. We ordered steaks well done but both were pink inside. I sent mine back and it still came back pink. My fiancée kept his and after mine came back a second time pink, I just kept it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Usually we love capital grill but last night the chicken was dry and not very flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We had a delicious dinner, and very attentive staff. Everything was lovely, and the food was fabulous. We both ordered the kale salad with peanut vinaigrette which was terrific. And we both enjoyed the seared tuna as an entree. Marcus was our waiter & did a super job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.