The Capital Grille - Memphis

4.8
753 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(901) 683-9291
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joshua Burkeen
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet Parking - Lunch and Dinner
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 60 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

View Private Dining Details
What 753 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.8
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The service was excellent and the atmosphere was calming

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Went here for Father's Day and it was an amazing experience. All the way from being greeted to the wait staff to the food. The food was amazing. I had the 10oz filet and it was the best filet I've ever experienced. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for a excellent food and overall dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

It was great. Capital never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Always good, always pricey. When we want to treat ourselves to a great meal, CG is at the top of our "short list". Everything they put on your table is a high quality product that is expertly prepared and delivered with a nice presentation (which is something that is sorely missing at the other top end dining spots in Memphis). We have never been disappointed at CG.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Great meal

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Our server team was great. The food, not so great. Two of us ordered steaks medium rare and server confirmed that would be a “warm red center”. We got raw. COLD red center. One would think a premium steak house could get the steak right. We got our steaks back cooked correctly in about 20 minutes. Of course all of our sides were cold by then. They did bring us some warm mashed potatoes. Also got comped one free dessert.

The lobster Mac and cheese was very good. The mashed potatoes were bland and needed salt.

Definitely not worth the $500 I spent. Very disappointing Fathers Day meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Father's Day lunch was great! Service was fantastic as usual. Would prefer if CG would require other patrons to remove their caps and hats while dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

We enjoyed our first visit to the Capital Grille - we will certainly return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

This was my first experience at the Capital Grille. My special event was my birthday. The Lobster and crab cakes were stupendous. The bone in ribeye and Wagu NY strip were wonderful. The lobster Mac and cheese and the Brussels sprouts were great. The dessert, especially the cheesecake was phenomenal. A must dine place in Memphis. Loved it!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Another excellent dinner at CG. Rachel encouraged us to try a different dessert so we tried the coconut cream pie. It was delicious?? We always get cheesecake and/or espresso cake (which we still got to take with). Excellent meal and excellent service. We love Darryl and Rachel!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Bone in ribeye ahd tons of peppercorn peppers on it. I was inedible. I was hosting a party of 15 and didn't was to complain and for the price I should not have to. Everything else was very nice. The service was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

I always enjoy my visits to The Capital Grille. The service is always friendly and professional. The atmosphere is always upscale and inviting. Lastly, the food is always prepared with great detail and tastes just as great as it looks. This occasion was no different!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

We are always treated with such class and care at Capital Grille. From valet to hostess to excellent service from Gav, the experience was excellent and DELICIOUS in every aspect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Always,celebrate birthdays with friends,love the little decorations,and delicious complimently dessert,but miss the picture. Nice touch with the (champagne).also,when you ask,they will have raisin pumpernickel bread.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Service was off this trip. Asked for no onions on sandwich and it came with it. Asked for bread twice and none showed up. Great food though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Food and service was beyond excellent. Our group had to leave by a certain time, and everything was processed efficiently. Gav was very accomodating to our individual needs.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

I generally enjoy the restaurant across almost any city. The restaurant was not crowded and food very average. The scallops still had sediment that were gritty in my teeth and the steaks were not up to the quality that I am used to getting at the Capital Grill. truly disappointing and will avoid in the future with other options close by.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Server was super knowledgeable and food was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Another great birthday dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Absolutely brilliant
I am in the business and have gone to all the steak houses in Memphis and this is by a stretch the best

Just Fab!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

This particular visit was an excellent dinner at The Capital Grille. All of the food entrees were cooked to perfection and tasted great. This included the bowl of lobster bisque, filet mignon au poivre, mashed potatoes, and cheesecake (which I enjoyed later at home). As customary, the service was outstanding at all levels. I look forward to my next visit again soon this summer!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

This place needs a dress code. Near our table was a group that all the men were dressed in shorts and sneakers. Two men had on logo t-shirts. I’m all for causal dining but this was not up to the standards I expected from the Capital Grill. For what charge I will not be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

This is a very expensive restaurant, but you would be hard pressed to find better steaks or more attentive and professional servers. Love their filets and their side dishes can be shared by 2 or 3 people. The 20 year old tawny port was incredible! Great special occasion restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

This was one of the best anniversary dinners we've had. Celebrating 7 years, and the staff was truly amazing! From the time we arrived to our departure. Upon check in we were greeted with a Happy Anniversary. Immediately escorted to a private heart shaped booth. The ambiance was perfect. John David Macon didn't hold back in making us feel special on our special day! We felt like celebrities!

The food was nothing short of being absolutely amazing!!!!

Our day was capture perfectly and will remain forever close to the heart!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Excellent birthday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Just overall a great place for dinner. Very professional

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Always a great experience. I love the food and ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for Mother’s Day. My husband had the brunch menu which thoroughly enjoyed. The clam chowder was excellent. He’s picky about clam chowder and said this was delish. The filet was very good as well as the mashed potatoes. I tasted those and they were wonderful. Even the strawberries and cream for dessert were wonderful. I had the lamb chops and they were divine. Seasoned perfectly. The creamed spinach was to die for. My daughter had the salmon and she was very pleased. Even the truffle fries had a great taste. To say we were pleased wild be an understatement.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Disappointing. Lobster was extremely over cooked to the point of tough difficult to cut and chew. Asparagus was over cooked . Potato, leek soup was cold. Dessert was great. Wine was perfect temperature and service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The service was awesome! My mother and mother in-law enjoyed the mother's day brunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It was wonderful as usual!!! Daryl is the best!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The Capital Grille was an outstanding choice for Mother's Day holiday brunch. The prix-fixe selections all looked delicious, and it was also nice the full dinner menu was made available. I chose the prix-fixe option and upgraded to lobster bisque soup as my starter, lobster tails with frittata and hash browns as my main course, and finished with creme brulee as my dessert. It was also a nice touch that iced tea was included in the prix-fixe price. Although extremely busy, the service was still friendly and efficient. I will definitely be returning for traditional dinners but will also look forward to future holiday dining as well at The Capital Grille.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I absolutely loved this restaurant. The service was outstanding and so was the steak. It is a bit pricey by worth it for special occasions. I plan to go back sometime this year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It was excellent! Zach did a great job! Food was terrific.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went to Capital Grill to celebrate a graduation. We had been told how great the food was and we were definitely not disappointed. We had lamb chops as an appetizer and they were amazing. We had steaks as our main course and they were cooked to perfection. We were in Memphis for 4 days and ate at several different restaurants. This was our favorite and we will be going back when we visit Memphis. I highly recommend. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We’ve eaten at the Capital grill many, many times however our dinner there recently was not worthy of the money spent. The server got out cocktail order wrong, we had to continually ask for water, the Gorgonzola on our steak looked like guacamole and was headed over the steak when we had requested a Gorgonzola crusts not smothered. We asked for our leftovers to be wrapped up and they only gave us the left from one of us. Something was horribly amiss and it will be a long time before we return again- if ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food was superb along with waiter and overall experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Awesome, a bit expensive but very high quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great food and service as always

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19

Tweets by The Capital Grille - Memphis