About The Capital Grille - Memphis

6065 Poplar Ave
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 683-9291

Website:
http://thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking - Lunch and Dinner

Executive Chef:
Chadwick Norman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 38 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (23)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Phenomenal meal-- the steak melted in ou ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

Phenomenal meal-- the steak melted in our mouth and the brussel sprouts were the best ever!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This particular dining visit was outstan ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 3 days ago

This particular dining visit was outstanding from start to finish, which is the typical norm for this restaurant. I want to highlight the excellent service by our server, Adam Hogan. When I received my check, I noticed that the restaurant had remembered a previous problem on a visit from last October and had removed a charge as a courtesy. This was not only impressive due to the gap in time between visits, but it was greatly appreciated. I look forward to my next visits over the course of this year. Thanks again to the entire staff at The Capital Grille for a great dinner and evening!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated Valentine's Day ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I celebrated Valentine's Day here. We had reservations @6:00 pm and were seated immediately. You are given an IPad to browse drinks & wine choices. We selected the Capital Grill Cosmo martini which was excellent. We're usually not heavy eaters, so we opted to skip the appetizer and share the Brussels Sprouts salad for starters. I selected the Beef Tenderloin with a pair of lobster tails and my wife selected the Sea Bass with a mushroom cream sauce. She didn't leave a bite and I actually had enough for two. I can't forget to mention the lobster Mac and cheese and the variety of bread. Everything was superb! For dessert, they served complimentary huge chocolate covered strawberries!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The atmosphere and the service were bar ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

The atmosphere and the service were bar none-excellent. We went for valentines day and both the wine and entrees were perfect. This was a 5 star evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is AWESOME!!!!!! Food is grea ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This place is AWESOME!!!!!! Food is great. Wait staff is impeccable. The utmost dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, , Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Organic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated Valentine's Day and my Bir ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We celebrated Valentine's Day and my Birthday at Capital Grille Memphis on Sunday night and had an absolutely amazing evening. From the specialty cocktail to appetizer, salad and wine selection to the incredible entree and sides, our dinner was the best we have ever had. Our service was impeccable and our waiter made excellent recommendations and wine pairings. To top it off, my wife went home with the long stemmed rose from the table! Perfect night!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Chadwick prepared an amazing meal f ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Chef Chadwick prepared an amazing meal for us, and our personal waiter made everything so smooth. Wonderful place. Easy on the palet, hard on the wallet.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience, all phases of our ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic experience, all phases of our meal were fantastic! Couldn't have been better. Zach was a great server, ask for him by name!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was not as good as expected. Filet ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was not as good as expected. Filet came out charred on the outside even though it was cooked as ordered. Seafood not as fresh as expected. Nice atmosphere but a disappointment.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

The atmosphere, the food, and the servic ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The atmosphere, the food, and the service were all excellent. The entrees were full portions and tasted great. The lobster bisque and the white cheddar potato soup were both bowl licking worthy. We shared the lobster mac & cheese and we'll never order that at any other restaurant again. This was the best we've ever had. It is a bit pricey so we can't afford to go regularly but we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An absolutely wonderful experience

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

An absolutely wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for a beautiful evening. We wi ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Thank you for a beautiful evening. We will come back again. My Husband really enjoyed his birthday dinner and Craig was an awesome host.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent, knowledgeable sta ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was excellent, knowledgeable staff and un rushed. Food was excellent the kona rubbed steak is a great choice

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JP was a fantastic server, along with th ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

JP was a fantastic server, along with the food. JP went beyond to make it a great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and product as always. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent service and product as always. Wine selection is unparalleled and steaks excellent as always.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place for special date nigh ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love this place for special date nights. Always always always great service and delicious steak

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed my birthday dinner there.. tried ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Enjoyed my birthday dinner there.. tried the bone in ribeye which was great . Also tried my wife's sea bass entree which was absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding lunch with incredible servic ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Outstanding lunch with incredible service. Had the tenderloin sliders that melted in my mouth. Too full for dessert, but from previous experience, the desserts are to die for!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as always. Zach always a professio ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great as always. Zach always a professional. He knows exactly what our needs are

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy whatever we have here. W ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We always enjoy whatever we have here. We decided to go for lunch on the New Year's Day holiday. We were not disappointed the service was wonderful and their lunch selections were awesome. My husband had the clam chowder and shrimp and I had the wedge salad, which was wonderful and the mushroom burger with Parmesan truffle fries. I don't care for the truffle oil next time I will get them without it. We didn't eat all of our food so we could have dessert and it really satisfied before I drop sugar for the next 21 days. We had the brûlée cheesecake and the warm chocolate cake with port cherries and ice cream😍. It made me very happy.

Our server, Brad was great with just the right amount of attentiveness. And he was great at giving suggestions and describing the food and he was right on the money.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a BALL!!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a BALL!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We almost always sit with Darryl. Tonigh ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We almost always sit with Darryl. Tonight our server was Rachel. She was excellent! Tried the French onion soup tonight, wasn't my favorite. The presentation was excellent though. Lobster Mac, Brussel sprouts and chocolate cake were great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great atmsophere and excellent service!! ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great atmsophere and excellent service!! Appetizers and sides were great, but the steak was a bit overcooked (highly unusual because they usually get it spot on). The manager did provide a credit via gift certificate!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Love The Capital Grille !! The entire m ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Love The Capital Grille !! The entire meal was excellent ! We will return !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, and Jamie, our w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was excellent, and Jamie, our waiter, made our Christmas Eve a special occasion. This young man has served us a number of times. He is excellent and is one of the most professional servers I have ever seen. Please keep the South African Lobster Tails on the menu. They are imcomparable!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service has always been outstanding, ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The service has always been outstanding, which is why I have chosen to have our annual family Christmas Eve dinner at this restaurant. We enjoy the ambiance, the quality of the food, and the awesome service each visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my birthday dinner with my family ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

It was my birthday dinner with my family and my first time there. The service was amazing. We felt like we were his primary diners for the night. It was like he didnt have any other tables to wait on. We ordered drinks. I had the Bohemian. LOVE IT. We ordered appetizers. The lobster crab cakes were everything. We ordered our dinner. The lobster bisque was cold and not very good. They removed it immediately and offered to bring us another bowl which we didnt want but they did take it off our tab. The steaks were wonderful. The dry aged steak was still good 2 days later for leftovers. We will definitely dine here again for special occasions. Too pricey for casual nights out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent service.

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I dine her often with a nice sized group ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I dine her often with a nice sized group of my sisters. We often frequent this spot bc the ambiance is great. The service is excellent. The food is top of the line.

Daryl is a remarkable server, with lots of knowledge about the menu, and has a perfect personality for his role. We thank him for the commendable service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to indulge!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great place to indulge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time customer. Attitude of everyon ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

First time customer. Attitude of everyone was just awesome. Food was really good....over priced but delicious. Only complaint was there was too much time between courses. I'd say accumulative time was 20-30 minutes. I don't mind enjoying a break between courses, but this was just a little too long. I'd be happy to try again when the occasion warrants.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

We had the Thanksgiving entree - turkey ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had the Thanksgiving entree - turkey breast, green beans, brioche stuffing, mashed potatoes. For a $38 entree, I expected more than processed turkey breast. Very bland flavours overall. Good wine list and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The service is always exceptional and th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The service is always exceptional and the food is always tasteful. I like to take clients here when I am in town. Always a go-to for me. I love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Marlon was my server and he was SUPER at ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Marlon was my server and he was SUPER attentive and nice! I thought the salad with gorgonzola had a little too much dressing on it. Next time I will order it to be lightly dressed or on the side. I had the crab meat app as well. I thought the crab meat was slightly fishy. Not bad, just not as fresh as I am used to. I ate it and didn't say anything to Marlon. I have no doubt that he would have insisted to replace it. Lastly I wish that the calamari app could be ordered for one person, especially at lunch time. Too much food to have with a meal as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant for a special ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is a great restaurant for a special occasion. We went for a birthday and they decorated the table and had a hand written card on the table when we arrived. The service was superb and the food was excellent. I highly recommend this location of a national chain. It feels more local with the paintings for famous locals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been here before and tonight did ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have been here before and tonight did not meet their usually standard that we normally get. Marlon is one of their absolute best service members but we went on a night he was out. We will try again, the main courses are extremely pricing for the amount of food but we love to do the apps and share plates.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We were disappointed with our first trip ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were disappointed with our first trip to Capital Grille-Memphis and had not returned for a while. Our two favorite East Memphis restaurants were booked for the night, we did not want to drive downtown, so we decided to give Capital Grille another try.

This time, the food was SUPERB!!! We enjoyed a Frank Family Cab (one of our favorite Napa Valley wineries and one you don't usually see in Memphis). For entrees we had the Sea Bass and the Scallops; both were EXCEPTIONAL in flavor and presentation. Kudos to the Chef and Kitchen Team.

The prices at Capital Grille were a bit high for the overall dining experience. Entrees prices were similar to Erling Jensen or Restaurant Iris, but the overall dining experience is not at that level. Kyle, our server was good: knowledgeable about the menu, the preparation of each dish, adequately attentive, and professional.

Overall, we would rate Capital Grille-Memphis as Good to Very Good with POTENTIAL. We know and appreciate how hard it is to establish and maintain a top-notch restaurant. So we will be back regularly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was great! Service was good. W ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was great! Service was good. We love dining here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh seafood!

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fresh seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I normally enjoy The Capital Grille, but ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I normally enjoy The Capital Grille, but on this particular birthday dinner, it was just not up to par. First off, I always order the filet mignon au poivre, and a New York Strip arrived in its place. The waiter admitted he must have misunderstood my order, and I understand mistakes happen. At first, I was just going to keep it since the sides had already arrived as well, but he stated it could be corrected very quickly. Well, it took at least another 15 minutes before the filet arrived from the manager. Unfortunately, it arrived absolutely rare (blood red) when I order medium. The manager took it back once again, and about another 15 minutes later, the cook brought it out. At this point, I just wanted to be done. The re-cooked steak had very little flavor and was burnt on the edges. I will say that new smaller portion sides were brought out, and the staff was very friendly, but this steak should have never been charged to my bill. I hate this happened, and it will have me reconsidering eating here for awhile with other outstanding offerings out there such as Ruth's Chris and Folk's Folly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.