About The Capital Grille - Memphis

6065 Poplar Ave
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 683-9291

Website:
http://thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking - Lunch and Dinner

Executive Chef:
Chadwick Norman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 38 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
9 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (38)
Notable Wine List (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Groups (19)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was superb! I knew going in that i ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was superb! I knew going in that it was a pricey establishment, I just didn't know HOW pricey. If you have a lot of money and don't mind spending it on a meal, then this is your place. Wait staff was excellent as well as the atmosphere. It was our wedding anniversary, and a nice card was left on the table wishing us a happy anniversary with little heart confetti scattered on the table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Too formal for my taste. More for older ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Too formal for my taste. More for older folks with money to spend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect! Great food and friendly service ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Perfect! Great food and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

over price for their foods especially it ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

over price for their foods especially it's not that good of the taste either. roasted chicken was worst than I got from grocery store like Walmart or Kroger and its cost $ 28 for half of dry and no taste chicken was a rip off. and $44 for a piece of fish with the size of my palm. steak was taste like burned and soaked in black burned sauce. we pay big for this lesson and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Excellent. Now one of my favorites in Me ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent. Now one of my favorites in Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My colleagues and I went for a business ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My colleagues and I went for a business lunch. We had a party of six and were seated immediately. The waiter asked if we had any time constraints and since we had to be back at the office for a meeting he tried to get us out on time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice but very high prices

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very nice but very high prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We ordered lamb chop for myself and chic ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We ordered lamb chop for myself and chicken for my wife. Lamb chop was OK. Chicken was horrible. My wife couldn't eat more than a few bites. My point is: if the restaurant is offering an entree, it has to be of excellent quality. Honestly our exception was very high because of the previous reviews and of course the price tag. We were disappointed/

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Always a pleasant experience! Daryle , o ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always a pleasant experience!

Daryle , our waiter is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is the best! From valet to all ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service is the best! From valet to all wait staff. One of the best places to eat in East Memphis. Great place for lunch or special events. A must for anniversary or birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Adam was an incredible server. Impressiv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Adam was an incredible server. Impressive food and service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Capital Grille never disappoints! From v ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Capital Grille never disappoints! From valet to dessert, the best food and service in Memphis.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good, but it was our server ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was good, but it was our server who made the experience wonderful

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was delicious! I really loved ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was delicious! I really loved the extra attention you get from your waiter. Gabe was very attentive and just when we thought about asking for something he was already there. I liked being served and he made me feel really special. Since this was a business dinner the atmosphere was just right.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great. The food was very ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The service was great. The food was very good. I'll go back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, excellent service and food. C ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

As always, excellent service and food. Can be assured that the food will be consistent from one night to the next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wedge salad should be split. It is h ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The wedge salad should be split. It is huge. Our filets were properly cooked and tasty. A little over the top on the service, but a nice restaurant that is consistent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding birthday celebration at this ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding birthday celebration at this location. You must try the crab cakes - undeniably the best ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Kyle was a great waiter. Steaks were ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Kyle was a great waiter. Steaks were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We often eat at the Capitol Grill, and a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We often eat at the Capitol Grill, and are never disappointed. The food was excellent and the service was superb. I would recommend the filet and the sea bass for a entree with the potatoes as an excellent side. My fiancé and I are regular guests because the food and service are always top notch. We made our reservations via open table and the grill had our table waiting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Darryl is a terrific server and very att ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Darryl is a terrific server and very attentive. Craig, the manager, stopped by our table and chatted during our visit. Very lovely. Looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love The Capital Grille. The service ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love The Capital Grille. The service was excellent and the food was superb. Our only disappointment was that another guest had unwisely chosen to bring a poorly disruptive toddler, who was allowed to do whatever it pleased. Most of our meal was spent listening to the child shriek as it ran amongst tables. We are parents and understand the demands of small children; they don't belong at a high end restaurant, especially so late in the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfectly cooked good quality steak at p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Perfectly cooked good quality steak at precise temperature was the highlight of my meal but I cannot say the same about my wife’s chicken who happened to be a fish/poultry person. A HUGE chicken was served with little sauce (best thing in the dish) which was little over cooked to our taste. To me, a good quality French fries goes hand to hand with a good quality steakhouse, which I did not felt this occasion perhaps late Monday night appointment can justify that.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. Really couldn't ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great food and service. Really couldn't be better, but you really pay for it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome dining experience. Definitely wi ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Awesome dining experience. Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

By far, one of the better fine dining ex ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

By far, one of the better fine dining experiences I've had among other restaurant favorites. Everything was cooked to perfection with the very best in customer services and satisfaction.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There are good restaurants and then ther ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

There are good restaurants and then there's The Capital Grille/Memphis (#great service and food)!! My husband and I have gone there four times; birthday, Valentine's Day and celebrated our wedding anniversary twice and we were treated like royalty. We've recommended several of our friends and they equally enjoyed it too. I give it 5 stars and two thumbs up!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This evening encompassed another excelle ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This evening encompassed another excellent dinner from start to finish at The Capital Grille! The filet with peppercorn rub and sauce was outstanding as well as the lobster bisque and mashed potatoes. The others in my party thoroughly enjoyed the chicken entree, bib salad, and creamed corn. Lastly, this is the second time having Adam H. as our server and is a true professional. I look forward to many future returns!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent setting for any celebration. T ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent setting for any celebration. The food and service are second to none

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The asparagus soup was delicious wish I ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The asparagus soup was delicious wish I could have gotten it in a bowl rather than the cup. The onion bread with butter is really good. Get the steak medium with a pink ribbon! Save room for desert the molten chocolate cakes with cherries was so good!! Enjoy! Be sure to get a bottle of red wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service, Ambiance, Quality

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The customer service was more than excellent. We asked to be seated in the main dining room and they obliged us with no problem at all. The ambiance was exquisite. Very quiet, personal, and relaxing. The quality of the food was outstanding. I can't say enough about how much I appreciated how well we were treated. This was my first experience and I was simply amazed at the show of perfection extended by the hosts, servers, and management. I do plan to make several more stops at Capital Grille, Memphis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our first visit to the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We really enjoyed our first visit to the Capital Grill. Outstanding quisine and great wines. Our waiter, Jonathon, was very attentive and friendly. We will definitely be back !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sometime, I wonder why I try other steak ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Sometime, I wonder why I try other steakhouses. Capital Grille continues to be the best. Meals are well timed, Food is cooked perfect, and Service is impeccable. Ask to sit and be wined and dined with Adam; He makes the meal that much better

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Graduation Dinner

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Went with relatives after our son's graduation from College before helping him move back to big D. Had a great meal. excellent service. Only regret was there was no room for dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special evening

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Again, this meal was top of the line. Everything was just right. Our waiter was one of the reasons we returned. I hope we can have him each time we are at The Capital Grill .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I usually rate higher than a level two. ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I usually rate higher than a level two. However I made reservation for a party of four, for 2:15. My party and I arrived maybe 10 to 15 minutes early and we were not seated on time. We did not receive our bread until after the third request, my wife had to ask for a refill on her beverage at least two times. Our entrees were good.

We do dine with Capital Grill, frequent but we have never experience service that wasn't acceptable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Mike4all

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding Mothers Day luch. Very excellent food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful but very expensive $500 brunch for 7 -

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful but very expensive - $500 brunch for 7 - 3 of which were kids

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Capital Grille is THE Spot for a spe ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The Capital Grille is THE Spot for a special occasion celebration in Memphis! From decorating our table to complimentary champagne, the staff were just as excited as we were to celebrate! Our Server Zach was one of the best servers I've ever had. He had supreme knowledge of the menu and he constantly checked to make sure our dining experience was superb. The Dry-Aged NY Strip was one of the best steaks I've ever had, and definitely the best steak I've had in Memphis. The lobster MacNCheese was an excellent side dish as well! I will definitely be returning to Capital Grille for any special occasion coming up!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.