Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About The Capital Grille - Kansas City

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Country Club Plaza.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

4740 Jefferson Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
47th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-8345

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & private lot available.

Executive Chef:
Clark Grant

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today at 816.531.3288.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us Easter Sunday for an exceptional prix fixe brunch. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as Shrimp and Grits and more.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 65 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (107)
Good for Anniversaries (80)
Good for a Date (80)
See All
Romantic (69)
Notable Wine List (62)
Business Meals (59)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Worth the Drive (33)
Good for Groups (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Cozy (22)
Private Room (22)
Hot Spot (17)
Fun (17)
People Watching (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Happy Hour (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Authentic (13)
Historic (10)
Seasonal (7)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1882 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome restaurant!!!! Love it!!!! The steaks are the best ever!!!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Capital Grille staff went above and beyond for my father in law's 70th birthday. Food, service, people, everything fantastic.
Valet very easy and very convenient as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our server was attentive throughout our dinner. And the manager, Laura, stopped by several times to check on our meal satisfaction. The food was well prepared with excellent presentation. The whole experience was a night to remember. I cannot recommend this restaurant high enough.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Once again, another very pleasant experience dining at the Capital Grill. Our steaks were cooked to exactly our order and were very delicious. Our server, Corey, was not overbearing and "happened" by our table when he was needed. Overall, an outstanding job by the entire staff of the Capital Grill.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Jeff at the bar and Bob at the table-hard to top the service.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Healthy, People Watching, Authentic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was our first visit to Capital Grille, we were Celebrating my Husband's Birthday Dinner, and it was a Fabulous Choice! Every single bite of food we took was an Amazing Experience. From the Cast Iron Garlic Shrimp w/Olive Oil Crostini (fresh cherry tomatoes, and garlic) Appetizer and Adults Only Arnold Palmer's, followed by the Seared Tenderloin w/ Butter Poached Lobster Tails (him), Chilean Sea Bass w/Sake Braised Mushrooms /Miso Butter and Cabbage (me), served with Lobster Mac and Cheese (oh my gosh, I thought I'd died and gone to heaven), Soy Glazed Brussel Sprouts w/ Smoky Bacon Lardons(the sauce and crunchy bacon. . Amazing!), Roasted Mushrooms (3 types, simply Delish), and the bread, served warm with a delicious sweet creamy butter, a real weakness of mine! Every flavor of every dish so brilliantly mastered, the tastes and combinations complimented each other. Did I mention desert? Oh my, the dessert was simply stimulating all over our bodies, we tried/shared the Creme Brûlée w/fresh fruit (blackberries, blueberries, strawberries, and raspberries), and because it was a special occasion, we ordered 2 cheesecakes ( Brûlée style with fresh berries) with a fruit inspired glaze to go! It was the most amazing flavors to grace my lips and palette in awhile! But our meal would not have been so incredible without our Server Zach, not only was he an awesome guy, he was able to give us such an amazing experience with our every course! He was extremely knowledgeable about every entrée, appetizer, drink and dessert and his recommendations were well received! We Loved Every Bite of Every Minute we spent there and we're already planning our next event, and best part is, we don't need an occasion, the entire experience and ambience will bring us back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Experience was great. I had the $56 ribeye and it prepared excellently but the cut of meat was too gristly for my taste. For the price I hoped for a little better cut if meat.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is our favorite place for celebrations! Always friendly & the manager coming over to wish us Happy Anniversary is nice gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The best steak in Kansas City. If you can possibly be seated in Eric Spoon's section, you will enjoy your meal beyond measure.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Need a smaller rib eye for lunch.

$100 for lunch without alcohol explains why it was empty

Service makes up for some of that but not nearly all

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Always a great time here! Our favorite KC restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Amazing. Always a better experience with Stevie!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our experience at the restaurant was wonderful from start to finish. Nice greet at the door, quickly sat, excellent service, delicious food!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

we had to wait approximately 10 minutes past our scheduled reservation to be seated. The food and drinks were very good but maybe a little overpriced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went there for an anniversary dinner. The service was phenomenal. Our waiter, Stevie C. was the man. Made us feel important even to the point where he wouldn't let us out of own napkin in our laps. I had a steak, girlfriend had the salmon and we shared a couple of sides. No complaints here and the drinks were terrific. Prices are a bit steep but for a special occasion it makes it well worth it. Again, Stevie C. He's the man

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Was great can't wait to return soon. My favorite restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food is awesome!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As always, excellent steaks, excellent wait staff! A favorite of ours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 2, 2017

My first visit. Food was good and steak cooked exactly as requested. Conversation friendly. Very conscientious wait staff. Friendly and knowledgeable bartender.

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Hunter was one of the best servers we have ever had. Food was amazing, over the top, fantastic

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I was disappointed with the my dinner at Capital Grille. My steak was supposed to be medium rare plus and it was barely rare. Since it was a sliced filet I couldn't really send it back without it being overdone or having to wait for a new one. My husband thought his steak was cooked well and enjoyed it. The server, drinks and appetizers were great though. We had gift certificates from Capital Grille which is why we went at that time. The server was very nice and let us use both of them. We will go back again because the food is usually very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall food was excellent but pricey. The fresh mozzarella that was recommended to us was nothing compared to what you get from any supermarket in Italy, the tomatoes were not adequate in quality for the price. I had a better appetizer at the local brunch café the next day. However, the service was exceptional and the dining experience was great. Not sure I would go there again to eat steak and drink a glass of wine for 220$ for two without dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food was incredible- best steak and seafood in town! We had a wonderful time! The ambience was delightful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Hunter gave us great service and the salads and onion soup were very good but the fillets were burnt/ black on the outside all the sides were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I have visited Capital Grille twice in the last month for dinner. Once on a Wednesday, the other a Sunday. I also enjoy visiting their bar for after work martini's. They weren't extremely busy either times we visited, which was nice to get seated and greeted immediately. For the most part, we had a very pleasant meal. I recommend the prosciutto to start off with as an appetizer, they have one of the best Caesar salads in the city, in my opinion. They have great cocktails as well as a beautiful wine list (although priced fairly high compared to other fine dining restaurants).
On my most recent visit I was quite displeased once my steak arrived. I ordered the chef recommended Gorgonzola and Truffle Crusted Dry Aged Bone-In KC Strip. I have enjoyed this before and proceeded to order again at medium rare. When my steak arrived it was medium well. I dont believe anyone should eat a medium well steak and showed it to my server who agreed that it was overcooked. By the time my replacement steak was brought back to me my party was finished eating. The steak was now rare. At this point I did not want to send it back, eat by myself or cause the table to extend their evening. I took it home and brought it up to temperature myself. I was disappointed that I had just spent $50 on a steak that I did not get to enjoy. More importantly though, they did nothing to make-up for it, nothing off the bill, a dessert for the table to share for their mistake and inconvenience. This was a time I should have felt valued as a customer, but did not.
Overall, Capital Grille is a wonderful ambiance and food, but the staff and managers do not make you feel like a valued guest nor care if you return or not.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Booked the reservation through open table which was fine until we got there and open table moved our reservation to 45 minutes later. I did not change it. Lucky for us capital grill is professional to make it right. I question using open table again. They said at the restaurant that they had that problem before.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Everything we got was amazing! You almost had to roll us out the door! There are very few things on this planet that my boyfriend will say are better than my cooking, but even I can say their brussel sprouts demolish mine! Our steak was perfectly cooked, they even cut it for us. The server was very knowledgeable and attentive. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very good, but very predictable. The entrees were very good, but nothing daring or exotic. Standard steak and seafood fare. The noise level can be distracting. Our server was Paul, and he had a thorough knowledge of his menu and wine list. He made the experience that much better.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We decided late Thursday afternoon to go to Capital as an impromptu date night/VDay celebration and skip the weekend rush. What a great idea! The bar was steady, but we easily found a seat to have a cocktail and we didn't have to yell to be heard. When we were ready to be seated, Garrick was our server and he took fantastic care of us. We've been to The Capital many many times before, but his recommendations were spot on with our favorites and the service was prompt and everything came exactly as ordered. The steak was cooked perfectly and we left full and happy. We'll be back, and ask for Garrick as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Has always been constantly perfect with everything from the food to the atmosphere and amazing staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I love my waiter Steve, he is always welcoming and always go out of the way to catered to my wife and I.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Never had a bad steak here. Yes, it is on the pricier side but you are paying for quality and great service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Th Capital Grille is the standard for all others to aspire to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was very impressed. The service and food were outstanding. The only and I mean only negative was the drunken table of twenty-something girls in the bar area; they were cursing loudly and laughing uproariously and annoying everyone. They should have been dealt with. The service was fantastic from the get-go starting in the bar. Once we were seated things were quieter in the dining area and the rest of the evening was very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Saul Colin was our server, and he was OUTSTANDING!! Very knowledgeable about the menu and, was the perfect combo of relaxed and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Stephanie was a fantastic server! The attention to detail for our lunch was amazing. Really made the day special for us.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Awesome experience with the wait staff. Food was terrific and timing of course delivery was perfect

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food and service was exceptional. Our glasses were never empty, the service was attentive, but not overbearing. We had the bone-in filet minion (on special), 22oz ribeye, truffle fries, mushrooms, and an appetizer of lobster crab cakes. The crab cakes were the best we have had, the side sauce was phenomenal as well. Ribeye was cooked to a perfect medium and was crazy tender. The bone in filet was good, but not worth the $20 premium over the base filet minion. OVerall and exceptional dining experience, but definitely expensive. $230 w/ tax/tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always great!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our steaks were under cooked and they were gracious about taking them back. They were never brought up to the right temperature but overall we enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.