About The Capital Grille - Kansas City

4740 Jefferson Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Country Club Plaza.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
47th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-8345

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & private lot available.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Livers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today at 816.531.3288.

Restaurant Photos

Seared Scallop - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Butternut Squash - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Seafood Platter - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Capital Potato Chips - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Complimentary desserts - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Steak Au Poivre - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
lobster roll - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Clam Chowder - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Wedge Salad - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Kansas City Strip Steak - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Calamari with Chili Tofu Sauce - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Complimentary Dessert - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Chilean Sea Bass - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Parmesan Fries - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Ribeye Steak Sandwich w/ Fries - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
steak tartare - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Cold Platter: Oysters, Jumbo Shrimp, And Lobster - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Angus sirloin, smoked onion jus, Kona onion rings & stir fried vegetables - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Kobe Beef Carpaccio - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Burger - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Ahi tuna - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Lobster - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Wine: The Summer Wine Event - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 65 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Kansas City / Kansas
Most Booked
Kansas City / Kansas
Steakhouse
Kansas City, MO
1 More
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

Special Occasion (62)
Romantic (51)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Notable Wine List (28)
Business Meals (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Private Room (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Outstanding Value (4)
Authentic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have always had good food and great s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

We have always had good food and great service at Capital Grill. However during the holidays the tables and chairs are set so close together that 2 people in our party had to continuously stand up so that some of the people at the table next to us could get to their seats. Just and FYI--we are not large people. Otherwise everything was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love, love, love all the sides. The s ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We love, love, love all the sides. The steaks are wonderful. Love to sit in the bar.

Quality is always fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect dinner experience as always. St ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect dinner experience as always. Stevie is the best server in Kansas City and always treats us like family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entree was perfect for all 4 of us. Side ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Entree was perfect for all 4 of us. Side dishes were cold to luke warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great service and food - a favorite in K ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and food - a favorite in KC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eric our waiter couldn't have been more ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Eric our waiter couldn't have been more fabulous. Wine recommendation spot on . Martini extra dry as requested. Steak was ,as always, delicious. As it was Thanksgiving request for side of stuffing was granted. Definitely will return

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Showed up on Thanksgiving thinking I had ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Showed up on Thanksgiving thinking I had a reservation which turned out not to be the case. The host was able to get three us a table. My family frequents the restaurant a few times a year. Always nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had Thanksgiving dinner and the food ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had Thanksgiving dinner and the food was delicious. I know it was very busy but I did feel a bit rushed and wasn't offered a second cup of coffee. Would absolutely dine here again...holiday or not.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our evening was PERFECT! (Other than th ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our evening was PERFECT! (Other than the fact that it was freezing cold in our area.) The location of our table, the waiter and, of course, the food were outstanding, and if they didn't meet their own expectations a glass of something yummy arrived! It was truly a wonderful evening. Thank you all at "Capital Grille" for the best Thanksgiving!

See you next year!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As is our custom, our family enjoyed the ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

As is our custom, our family enjoyed the Thanksgiving meal at the Capital Grille ; which is always wonderful. The quality of the food, wine and service is absolute. Although the rest of the family ordered steaks, I opted for their special Thanksgiving meal plate which consisted of turkey, mashed potato, and other assorted vegetables. Everything was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kim is fantastic. She made my daughter' ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Kim is fantastic. She made my daughter's birthday very special and food was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille is consistently exception ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Capital Grille is consistently exceptional in every way. I ate at the Chicago and KC locations in the same week and was pleased with both.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steakhouse in KC by far!!!!

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Best steakhouse in KC by far!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food as well as the service was fant ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food as well as the service was fantastic. CG easily has the best steaks I can remember enjoying....ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beef and tuna were first-rate, and gene ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Beef and tuna were first-rate, and generous sides were excellent. Too noisy for us, but all restaurants seem to be these days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were shocked by the service on this v ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We were shocked by the service on this visit. Usually spot on, this time was completely different. The waiter would come by our table and if one of us would catch his eye to, for example, order another glass of wine, he would say "okay" and turn around and leave. He never asked if anyone (we were a party of six) else would like another round...

There were parts of our meal that came pretty late compared to others on the table. Not all of the food ordered was delivered at the same time.

Lastly, the coffee order was completely turned around and no one knew for sure if they had decaf or regular served to them because it was presented in front of the wrong people.

While this might be the norm, the level of service expected at a place like the Capital Grille is high - and they under-delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Absolutely exceptional, friendly, and ac ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Absolutely exceptional, friendly, and accommodating service! JD was superb! Helped make my husband's 65th birthday celebration a wonderfully delightful experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice atmosphere. Filet tasted slightly o ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Filet tasted slightly off....and small. VERY expensive .Service fair for such a high-end restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Food is wonderful.. Waiter was excellent ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food is wonderful.. Waiter was excellent!

Great for Birthdays and Anniversaries

Very romantic!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was excellent, especially the calam ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Food was excellent, especially the calamari and the crab cakes. We'll definitely be back.

Corey did an excellent job as well as our server.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food and wine! Lauren was ...

vip
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great service, food and wine! Lauren was our waitress and did an amazing job!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had better steaks there in the pa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I have had better steaks there in the past. Still a very high quality venue but not the high end value as in the past.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great waiter and outstanding food. My fr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great waiter and outstanding food. My friends 60th.

Thank you for making her birthday special!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience for my wife and I's f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Amazing experience for my wife and I's first wedding anniversary. There were flower petals on the table, exceptional service (both the waitress and the manager congratulated us on the anniversary). The food was outstanding - great portion sizes and my steak was perfectly cooked. We are hoping to make this an anniversary tradition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way too many tables crammed into the bac ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Way too many tables crammed into the back dining room. I basically had to sit in a thoroughfare and got bumped several times by servers and other patrons - all so Capital Grille could squeeze another table into a tiny space. Really disappointing. For a dinner that cost nearly $350 for two people, it was really disappointing to be so crammed.

With that said, our food was excellent and our server (Julie) was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

i asked for a quiet place for a group of ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 13, 2016

i asked for a quiet place for a group of 6. Business dinner. The staff seated us in the perfect place and was quite attentive. Food was excellent!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance little pricy

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great food and ambiance little pricy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food, service and atmosphere were tr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The food, service and atmosphere were truly exceptional. I cannot remember a time that we enjoyed a dining experience as much as we did at the Capital Griile- thanks!

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the Capital Grille on one ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have been to the Capital Grille on one other occasion and my experience was great! I was disappointed in the my experience this past Saturday. The food was good however the waiter was not. I was disappointed because he seemed to rush the group and not allow us time to decide what we wanted, granted it was a late dinner seating. The bigger issue was how the waiter reacted to the champagne bottle that exploded behind the table and got several us drenched. He was very flippant and did not seem to be concerned about the incident. I usually don't respond to surveys but I did feel that it be necessary to write something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

We thoroughly enjoyed the food and servi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the food and service. Our waiter Zach wasvery accomadating and made great suggestions about the food menu. We had excellent service. We will definitely visit this classy restaurant again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The service is polished and refined! Th ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The service is polished and refined! They are well trained and professional. The food, while quite expensive, is fabulous! Perfectly cooked and presented and absolutely delicious!!!!

Great for special occasions!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was fantastic. Steaks were cooked t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was fantastic. Steaks were cooked to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and service! Was so impress ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Amazing food and service! Was so impressed...will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Capital Grille is one of our favorite re ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Capital Grille is one of our favorite restaurants in KC. The best steak, great wine selection and the absolute best personalized service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our wedding anniversary. Att ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We went for our wedding anniversary. Attentive staff. Great food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant came highly recommended. ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The restaurant came highly recommended. Was disappointed in the size of the bone in ribeye. It was tasty but for the price. Would have been better off going to the Waffle House. For 50 dollars plus. You would expect a nice size steak. It was less than 1/2 in thickness. Will go somewhere else next time I am in Kansas City for a steak. Everything else was great. Exceptional service. That was the best part of our dining experience. I loath a thin steak. My family is in the food and beverage and hotel business. I hate giving a bad review. But don't order a bone in ribeye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Wonderful Dining Experience. Service an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Wonderful Dining Experience. Service and the Food was EXCELLENT!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best thing about the whole night was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The Best thing about the whole night was our Great server Paulyn. Her attention to our party made for a very pleasant experience. Thank You Paulyn!!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent and our wait s ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The service was excellent and our wait staff very professional and courteous. The food was outstanding. They will give you a tasting of wine if you desire, if the wine is sold by the glass. This was helpful to us. The prices are a la carte for sides but they are for sharing and plenty to share. I would definitely eat here again when I am in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jo Ellen was probably the best server we ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Jo Ellen was probably the best server we have ever had including our travels throughout the US. I highly recommend making a reservation and requesting her. It's worth the time. She made our experience memorable and it was greatly appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.