Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About The Capital Grille - Kansas City

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Country Club Plaza.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

4740 Jefferson Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
47th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-8345

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & private lot available.

Executive Chef:
Daniel White

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today at 816.531.3288.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 90 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (54)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Romantic (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Business Meals (30)
Notable Wine List (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Private Room (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Cozy (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
People Watching (5)
Casual (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1969 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

A+++ service. Went there for dinner for an engagement celebration for me and my fiance and they treated us like ROYALTY!!!! Paul Hayward (our server) and the rest of the staff was very impressive...I have an endless amount of kind words to say for them. THANK YOU!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food and service at Capital Grille is always outstanding, and it was over the top on this occasion. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and they took a picture and presented it printed and framed before dinner was over. The birthday dessert was top notch. Hunter was an outstanding server. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Capital Grille never disappoints. Hunter our waiter created an enjoyable dining experience. The food and wine were perfectly paired.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was amazing and the ambiance was great. Bob our waiter was outstanding. Perfect date night out!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Best steak that I have ever had. Thanks to Eric Spoon our awesome waiter who explained the menu and drinks and made sure we had a good experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and extra special service!- Jesse

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The Capitol Grill makes you feel like a Movie Star. They bend over backwards for you. What amazes me is that if you give them time they can get about any wine you want (even if they don't offer it) or a Dessert from another restaurant. They do it all.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Filet was tender but not much flavor. I was very disappointed for the price I paid!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Capital Grille consistently delivers good steak. This was a bit of an odd experience as drinks were spilled not once, not twice, but three times... The last of which was a glass full of coke spilled into my wife's lap. They handled it as professionally as they could. We still had a good time and our guest claimed it was the best steak she'd ever had. We'll definitely go again in spite of the service errors. I will say, outside of those incidents, our service was exceptional. But three times can't go unmentioned in an honest review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The Capital Grille is a classic upscale steakhouse concept. Dark decor, dim lighting, attentive service. It is also a place to get a well prepared yet pricey steak. We had an old-fashioned at the bar as we had arrived a little early for our 7:45 reservation for a date night. The cocktail was well-balanced and smooth. Then we were seated and met our server Celia. She treated us like royalty. It was obvious that her main concern was that we had a great evening and a great meal. We started with the calamari/ cherry pepper appetizer. The hot cherry peppers and spicy cocktail sauce added a lot of zing. It wasn't too spicy and went well with the cocktails we were still finishing. If I were to have wine with this dish it would probably be something with bubbles. We were having trouble deciding on a side to share. Celia explained that they make most of the side in half portions which helped us choose the creamed corn with bacon and the au gratin potatoes. Celia also explained that any cut of steak could have any preparation. For instance I had a porcini rub on my bone in filet. My husband had Gorgonzola truffle sauce on his bone in strip. The corn was a great side it was sweet and smoky. The au gratin potatoes were crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside. We chose well. I had a glass of the Malbec and Celia recommended a medium body Pinot noir for my husband that would pair with the Gorgonzola on his steak. The steaks were prepared perfectly. The Gorgonzola truffle sauce is a little strong. So if you don't like blue cheese steer clear. We had room for dessert. Kind of. Well we got dessert anyway. After all it's date night, right? The cheese cake had a crime brûlée topping and was served with fresh berries and ta strawberry sauce. The texture was fluffy not dense. Yum.I want more right now.
It was a great evening. Celia took our picture and brought us a framed print before we left. She also brought us some sparkling wine to have with desser

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is our go to for any and all special occasions. This evening was our anniversary and although the food was incredible, as always, the service was disappointing. We waited for close to 10 minutes before our server came to our table. In his defense, he also had a huge party at another table. Our appetizer was delivered to the table and is usually plated for us, they set it down and left. Timing was way off for the meal and we waited almost 30 minutes for our credit card to be processed. Thankfully the food was delicious and the company was outstanding otherwise it would have been a very frustrating evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent food and service. We will go back when we can afford it!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The staff at Capital Grille takes great pride in surprise and delight! They always go above and beyond to make sure you feel special and are having a great experience.
The food is top notch - great combos of flavors. This is a menu you can always count on to impress your business associates.
The atmosphere is just lovely. We needed a bit more privacy for our business meeting, and we got it. And, at the same time, the bar is lively and fun!
Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 28, 2017

As always the food and service were the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday. What dragged this review down was the noise level. This steakhouse is LOUD!! You can't talk to your table partner across the table at peak dinner hour without having to SPEAK UP!

Food: For couples, have the 24 oz Porterhouse, and share. French Onion soup is grand. The wine was nice. Great meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

All of our food was absolutely wonderful -prepared and presented beautifully. Our server was very knowledgeable and personable with a great sense of humor that we appreciated greatly. He (Fred) made our anniversary celebration very special. We will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

By far the best restaurant I've tried in KC so far. Been to many restaurants in the Country Club Plaza area and nothing tops this yet. First time here and it exceeded my expectations. I was there for an anniversary and everyone who greeted us from the door to our waiter and many more would congratulate us and we received a complimentary dessert for the anniversary and a free picture. By far the best customer service experience in a restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great food, great service, love the filet Oscar, we always share as portions are generous so may be a better value for us than some, always enjoy the atmosphere, usually we choose to sit in the bar as we are always in town on Monday & Tuesday so usually quiet in there also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Amazing food and they go out of their way to make your night extra special!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Random night out without the kids! Was a great meal and great service. I always enjoy my time at this location and will continue to make regular visits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great dining experience and the food is second to none. Best steaks in Kansas City area.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Reda did a fantastic job!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday and from the moment we arrived, they made him feel special. We were impressed by the service and the food. We highly recommend The Capital Grille.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We were there for a business dinner. The steaks were great and the service was top notch. Our waiter , Saul Colin, was attentive and took a personal interest in us and our experience. He gave us his business card and asked for referrals to others in our business group. Very professional marketing on behalf of this fine restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

WE took our family for Sunday Father's Day brunch, and were amazed that there wasn't a menu to suit our family... the prices were ridiculous, and the food wasn't very good. Probably won't be back! The corn chowder was nothing but cream, no corn. The shaved brussel sprouts salad was awful...asked for some grilled chicken on it...no strips, but a big hunk of chicken, thigh attached to a breast...
Not good...very disappointed.
The steaks were good, but who needs a $50+ steak for lunch???!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The Capital Grille was a disappointing experience, and not worth the price. Our party of 4 was 'seated' at a table with 3 chairs that was set for 2 people. Much scurrying around to fix. It then took a long time to bring us water, and even longer to ask if we would like a cocktail or glass of wine. The food was alright but nothing special. They brought the wrong entrée to one of our party. The corn side dish was supposed to have bacon but none was detected. Kansas City has many better restaurants from which to choose than this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Capital never fails. Filet & Strip Med Rare. Our waiter, Zach not stuffy or pretentious but went out of his way to make a great evening for us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

A beautiful meal every time we

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Birthday. My steak was tough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food & service were excellent. Tables a bit too close for an upscale restaurant. Lewd and loud group of men at an adjacent table made loud & despicable comments about our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our waiter as the best. He really paid attention to the deals.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Service and food was excellent. Best Filet Mignon we have had in KC

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 6, 2017

My date and I enjoyed a 14 ounce Kansas City Strip. It was prepared exactly as requested, tender, and juicy. The side dishes of potatoes au gratin and sautéed spinach were excellent.

The service at the table was impeccable. I was offered a dark napkin for my dark pants. I enjoyed the jazzy/bluesy music.

My date felt, given our 5:15 pm reservation, the hostess could've seated us quicker. My date also felt the waitstaff attire looked "back of the house."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 5, 2017

It was the best steak I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We booked this for my parent's anniversary--the staff treated them above and beyond to provide the best experience possible--even surprised them at the end with a special dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Charisse is outstanding. We always return to see her!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. The had decorated our table with rose petals, gave us free champagne and a personalized dessert as well. The food was very good but pricey. When I have a special occasion in the future I will consider returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Not what we expect from that place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Excellent all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.