Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About The Capital Grille - Kansas City

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Country Club Plaza.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

4740 Jefferson Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
47th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-8345

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & private lot available.

Executive Chef:
Clark Grant

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today at 816.531.3288.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 90 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (62)
Special Occasion (60)
Good for a Date (57)
See All
Romantic (48)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Business Meals (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Private Room (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Cozy (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
People Watching (9)
Authentic (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Historic (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (0)
Sort By:
S
1925 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was enjoyable and Jevene was a terrific server!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Having dined at other Capital Grille's, we were not impressed by the Kansas City location. We were given probably the worst table in the restaurant - a booth right outside the kitchen, adjacent to the computer/register where all the wait staff gathered. It was noisy with chatter so there was no way we were going to have a lovely or special evening. Our food was good, but certainly not great. We were pleased they were able to accommodate our food allergies. Initially, the server did not speak to the chef as he was busy and we had significant concerns when the food was served. At that point, after speaking to the manager or hostess who walked by, the chef came out and rectified everything by remaking the food within the allergy specifications and taking the necessary precautions. He couldn't have been nicer about it, and we truly appreciate his extra efforts. He did everything he could to resolve the situation and we compliment him for his handling of the situation. But, the situation occurred because of the flighty waiter who didn't do a good job up front addressing the allergies. So the other food that had been initially served sat for a while while we resolved the allergy issues, and then we finally ate it, it wasn't hot and had definitely sat out too long. So our table ate in two shifts: first was the initial food, and then one guest ate after everyone else after the allergy meal had been remade. For a higher end restaurant, we would have expected better, especially from a Capital Grille. Again, all because the waiter didn't properly handle the situation from the beginning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Well known for a great steak house and it was good. The service was excellent. The atmosphere was good

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Stevie gives exceptional service. Will go back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place for a special occasion, or even everyday dining if you can afford it. Great food and great service. Good wine list. Cocktails are great. Try a Stoli Doley (sp?), it's their homemade drink with Stolichnaya vodka which has been infused with fresh pineapple--I think the pineapple sits in the vodka for a week or something like that. Hence the Stoli and Dole (pineapple) name, get it? It's dangerously good. The service is on par with other high-end restaurants, with one server who is the "captain" and several waiters under her or him, who assist with waters, serving, clearing plates, etc. You'd never know this is a chain unless someone told you. There is some regional and local artwork with a huge portrait of our local Mr. Hall of Hallmark fame.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Another wonderful visit to Capital Grille in Kansas City. I took my wife for their Mother's Day Brunch. The special menu offered variety and great pricing. Jeff at the bar and Brett in the dining room continue to make Capital Grille our favorite restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Celebrating my sons graduating from college and one with a masters degree. Steaks were excellent, especially the special ribeye preparation. The selection of breads is the best in KC and the sides all were well prepared. They gave us a celebration desert as well to top everything off. One of the best restaurants in KC!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Capital grille will always try to make a special evening even more so
Great attention to detail and wonderful food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First class service. Food is great - best steak in town. Any cut is great! Stevie C is a rock-star. He could write a book about customer treatment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our anniversary dinner was excellent. A dinning experience like no other. Long steamed rose for the wife and a desert on the house. Steak and lobster were perfect, service was great Brett was helpful with selection and there for anything we needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The overall passion that the chef's have is amazing. A hand prepared rub made just for myself, was a touch that was unexpected and marvelous. The attentiveness and overall service was magnificent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was my husband's 50th birthday. The table was decorated and he had a special dessert platter. The wait staff were very attentive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Really happy with the entire experience. Great meal, great ambience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is a great restaurant. My wife and I went for our anniversary and we were very please with the service and food. Every item we ordered was as good or better than any like item we've had anywhere else in the world. The staff paid special attention to us for our event while not hovering over us. This is a premier steak house so expect to pay premier prices. Although it is expensive, you'd pay much more for this type of service and food anywhere else. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was absolutely fabulous! Our server was so professional and attentive but not intrusive. Everything came out timely and perfectly prepared.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Pure perfection. Wait staff was extremely attentive to needs and highly knowledgeable regarding the menu. Dishes were cooked with precision. Overall, an excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Fantastic in everyway....on a scale of 1-10 we give the Capitol Grill a 20

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very good experience. Arrived a little before our reservation time and were seated promptly. Celia was excellent at offering full descriptions of menu items and chef specials.
She and the other staff made this special occasion for us very memorable for us. Well worth the drive for us and have recommended to a number of our family and friends. Again , thanks the great memories of our special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Exceptional, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 18, 2017

we went here for a business meeting and our server was attentive and funny. he did not forget anything, kept our drinks refilled and the atmosphere fun. i had the salmon & it was delicious. i know my coworkers had different meals-herb chicken, cast iron dinner...it was all wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Private Room, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The Kona steak was delicious. The brussel sprouts were very tasty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This place always delivers when you want a great steak in KC, especially if you are near or staying around the Plaza. Service is phenomenal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I had planned dinner for our 30th wedding anniversary and when we arrived our table was decorated to mark the occasion. Steve took great care of us throughout the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Excellent drinks and service . Kale salad was great way to start. Drinks were made perfectly. Decided on their excelled Tuna! Yup, it's really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband and I went to the Capital Grille to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and each person, it seemed, went out of their way to make the evening memorable. The food was wonderful and the service second-to-none!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Luxurious atmosphere and taste everywhere. Food was excellent. Service was even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The Capital Grille is always very accommodating. Steve was great, very helpful, made our experience very enjoyable. The food was fabulous, everything prepared just right. We'll be back next Saturday night with guests!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

One of the best filets I've had. Prepared exactly right and extremely tender. Went to a neighboring redtaurant the next night and ordered a similar sized cut and what a difference . Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Capital Grille never disappoints. Always great service and an exceptional meal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Capital Grill is always fantastic, but the noise level is loud. Business meetings should request a private room.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Such a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This is our anniversary restaurant and this year was our fifth. Every year we are treated exceptionally and this time was no different. I can't say enough good things about The Capital Grille and plan on returning for years to come.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food is nice and the service is good, good recommendation of wine. One of the best restaurants in Plaza.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great service! Friendly staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Awesome restaurant!!!! Love it!!!! The steaks are the best ever!!!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We love the lobster bisque. It is a specialty item not listed on the menu. Delicious! Also, the service is fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Capital Grille staff went above and beyond for my father in law's 70th birthday. Food, service, people, everything fantastic.
Valet very easy and very convenient as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.