About The Capital Grille - Kansas City

4740 Jefferson Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Country Club Plaza.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
47th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-8345

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & private lot available.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Livers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today at 816.531.3288.

Report a photo problem

The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Seared Scallop - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Butternut Squash - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Seafood Platter - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Capital Potato Chips - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Complimentary desserts - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Steak Au Poivre - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
lobster roll - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Clam Chowder - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Wedge Salad - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Kansas City Strip Steak - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Calamari with Chili Tofu Sauce - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Complimentary Dessert - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Chilean Sea Bass - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Parmesan Fries - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Ribeye Steak Sandwich w/ Fries - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
steak tartare - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Cold Platter: Oysters, Jumbo Shrimp, And Lobster - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Grilled Angus sirloin, smoked onion jus, Kona onion rings & stir fried vegetables - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Kobe Beef Carpaccio - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
The Capital Burger - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Ahi tuna - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Lobster - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Wine: The Summer Wine Event - The Capital Grille - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 65 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Romantic (47)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
See All
Good for a Date (45)
Business Meals (39)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Notable Wine List (33)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Private Room (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Happy Hour (11)
People Watching (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (9)
Authentic (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fun (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Historic (4)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1788 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great good . Exceptional service other t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 9 hours ago

Great good . Exceptional service other than the time it took . 2.5 hours for the meal with a baby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Steve C was our server and he was absolu ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 17 hours ago

Steve C was our server and he was absolutely wonderful! We had a great lunch date and the food was delicious! Can't wait to make it back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though it was restaurant week and y ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 18 hours ago

Even though it was restaurant week and you got very busy, the food was still very good and the service was excellent. Thank you so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited the Capital Grille during res ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

We visited the Capital Grille during restaurant week. The restaurant was packed and our reservations were at 11:00. We were seated promptly and the service was excellent as usual.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having previously dined here for special ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Having previously dined here for special occasions, I was completely disappointed in this dining experience at Capital Grille. It was restaurant week, so maybe that had something to do with it, but we've dined here during restaurant week before and had amazing entrees. This time, we questioned whether we had a "true" filet mignon. The green beans were bland and my husband's caesar salad had a few brown leaves in it. Just wasn't the exceptional food as in the past, and paying $47 for a steak, I won't be back. I had read other negative reviews from New Years Eve, but ignored them. Next time, I will take to heart the reviews on here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Outstanding service. Request John Dove a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding service. Request John Dove as your server.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely best steak I ever put in my m ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely best steak I ever put in my mouth! Had filet and strip ordered at our table. Both were cooked to perfection and had a great flavor. Wish I could afford to go more often, but this is definitely a place to save up for if you want a great steak. Server was excellent. Attentive but didn't hover or groan if we hadn't decided on our order because we were catching up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous experience, as always.....the f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous experience, as always.....the food, the service, everything!!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxed atmosphere with classy feel. Ser ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Relaxed atmosphere with classy feel. Service was great but the clam chowder was cold. I expected the soup to be hot. Didn't have to wait long for food which was great since it was during the lunch hour.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful as always!! The Capital Grille ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful as always!!

The Capital Grille gets it right every time!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The good service and food. Wait staff wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

The good service and food. Wait staff was pleasant and attentive. Food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent quality and best steaks ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Always excellent quality and best steaks in town. Outstanding service always sets CG apart.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great and efficient for restauran ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

It was great and efficient for restaurant week. Eric professional yet comedic and his knowledge of the food and menu items was great! He made the experience honestly

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant week. Booked way in ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for restaurant week. Booked way in advance was not disappointed. Food great. Steak cooked perfectly chocolate torte delicious. Stevie our waiter made the experience even better

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant week experience! Th ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful restaurant week experience! The service was impeccable and Saul was fabulous! His wine recommendation paired perfectly with my filet. All 3 courses were delicious and I will definitely be returning back here for a non restaurant week dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my girlfriend here on a date for ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

I took my girlfriend here on a date for her birthday during restaurant week and was very pleased with everything. The food, atmosphere and service were outstanding. Will definitely be coming back soon!

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fabulous dinner! Everything was great fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous dinner! Everything was great food, service and atmosphere! Our server Jo Ellen did a fantastic job of taking care of us and making my friends Birthday special! We were treated with their same great service during restaurant week which was not the case last year! Favorite special dinning restaurant!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Hot Spot, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ordered the crab cakes as an appetize ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We ordered the crab cakes as an appetizer, and they were very good. I had the filet mignon, and my husband and son had the Kona bone-in steak. The filet was tender and great tasting, but the Kona steaks had an even better flavor. The green beans were perfectly cooked to the right degree of tenderness -- not mushy or hard with just a little snap to them), and the potatoes were fabulous! We all had the flourless expresso chocolate cake, which had just the right amount of coffee and chocolate flavors. A wonderful meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, the server was very atte ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food, the server was very attentive. There was a mistake with my meal, and neither the server nor the manager hesitated until I was completely happy. AND, this was during restaurant week, when we weren't spending $100+ on a meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, great atmosphere, and go ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food, great atmosphere, and good place to see people. Definitely higher priced, but we were there for Restaurant Week and they had great menu options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to a few restaurants in my tim ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

I've been to a few restaurants in my time and have never experienced the level of service that CG instills in every single employee, the coat check, waiters, Managers, etc. We will definitely return. The filet Mignon and the Kona crusted steak were the best we've ever had. I didn't know steak could be that amazing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, People Watching, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best deal of them all for restaurant wee ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Best deal of them all for restaurant week. The key way to get in is to plan 6 months in advance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined at the Capital Grill for resturant ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Dined at the Capital Grill for resturant week. 2 filets, 1 salmon and 1-18 oz bone-n-strip were each excellent. Even though the salmon was Atlantic, it was cooked perfectly (still very moist) and the glaze/sauce was delicious. The wedge salad, Cesar Salad and chowder were excellent. The smashed potatoes and green beans were prepared well. The creme brûlée was wonderful. The service was excellent. This was a great value for restaurant week. We will continue to come back often.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! The quality of our food was ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! The quality of our food was great. I ordered my steak well done and it was moist and flavorful but yet done perfectly. One of our guests ordered their steak medium rare and another medium well. All were cooked appropriately. The sides are incredible as well.

They have a great wine list as well as wonderful handcrafted cocktails.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent and amazing.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Always consistent and amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant!! I always have o ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

My favorite restaurant!! I always have ordered the Delmonico steak, but today I ordered the salmon. It was so delicious; I would love to have the recipe. Everything from the salad to the flourless chocolate "cake" was perfect.

Our waiters were delightful, attentive but not intrusive.

Five stars!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't go wrong at a Capitol Grille. Foo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Can't go wrong at a Capitol Grille. Food is always spectacular and SERVICE.. the BEST.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Entire staff including Hunter our te ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

The Entire staff including Hunter our terrific server made us feel very welcome. He explained menu items in delicious detail .His wine knowledge helpful. The list is impressive amazing by the glass selection. We had a great time because of the attentive service. Thank You, we are looking foreword to returning , I will request Hunter.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great lunch with the best servi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great lunch with the best service imaginable. What a wonderful spot this is in the beautiful Country Club Plaza. A top-notch spot!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always amazing!!! I always go for lunch ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Always amazing!!! I always go for lunch for Restaurant Week, because I know that the food will be incredible and the service is always top notch. I loved being greeted at the table by our server by my name (I was first to arrive and had made the reservation). He paid attention to the details and was very friendly and helpful. I was glad that I had our business meeting there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week with my coworkers - we h ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant week with my coworkers - we had a blast & the food was splendid!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Organic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Wait staff surprisingly ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food was great. Wait staff surprisingly inattentive. Took a while to be greeted, then longer to get a drink menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First time we have ever had a bone in fi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 9, 2017

First time we have ever had a bone in filet! It was fabulous! Service and food all rate five stars!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Me and hubby celebrated our anniversary. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Me and hubby celebrated our anniversary. They were kind enough to provide us with a special dessert And they gave us the booth I requested. Food was amazing!! Service was perfect!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at the Capital Grille on New Ye ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined at the Capital Grille on New Years Eve. Though we had a reservation, we waited awhile in the cold, crowded space by the door. Several dishes of the six diners at our table were overcooked. We will go somewhere else next year for our New Years Dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Went for NYE dinner. Experience was good ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for NYE dinner. Experience was good but would not go back...very expensive for the quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I have always loved going to the Capital ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have always loved going to the Capital Grill for all of our special occasions. All of our past experiences have been very good.

I realize it was New Years Eve but we have visited the Capital Grill every year on new years eve for the past 10 years. This was the first time we walked away disappointed in everything Except Service.

Our server was EXCELLENT as always and could not have been better.

The food was fair at best and the noise of the kids at the table next to us created nothing less than the ambiance of a very inexpensive family restaurant.

Kids will be kids but less than perfect food was the true disappointment. The steak did not come out as ordered the first time and the chicken was extremely dry. This failed to stand up to the Capital Grill standards that we have enjoyed in the past.

One bad experience does not ruin a great place but I was disappointed in the food for the first time out of our many visits to the Capital Grill.

We will go back again and hopefully it will be the great culinary experience we have enjoyed in the past.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Dinner in New Year's Eve which happens r ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Dinner in New Year's Eve which happens ribbebour anniversary. Fantastic service and dinner. Their calamari is one of our favorites. We went there specifically so my husband could have the chocolate dessert with cherry reduction and this was very disappointing. It tasted like either it was a day old or it was baked too long. Not at all what we have had before there. The chocolate did not have much taste and dry.

Overall it was a very nice dinner except for our dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual the Captial Grille is such a gr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As usual the Captial Grille is such a great experience. Terresa was our server and she was terrific. The calamari and stoli doli martinis are not to miss. Steaks are the best. The 10oz filet is just the best. One of our favorite restaurants ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our go to restaurant for birthda ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is our go to restaurant for birthdays, anniversaries, and any other special occasion. The food is always delicious, and the service impeccable.

We have taken business associates there as well, and we are always able to speak to one another without yelling. The quiet atmosphere and beautiful decor add to the pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.