About The Capital Grille - Kansas City

4740 Jefferson Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Country Club Plaza.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
47th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-8345

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & private lot available.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Livers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today at 816.531.3288.

Restaurant Photos

Maine Lobster Roll
Halibut Over Quinoa Wild Rice W/ Honey Lime Vinaigrette & Micro Wasabi
Alaskan Ivory King Salmon
Akaushi Wagyu Beef
South African Cold Water Lobster Tail
Seared Scallop
Butternut Squash
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster Tail
Seafood Platter
Capital Potato Chips
Complimentary desserts
Wagyu Striploin
Steak Au Poivre
lobster roll
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake
Clam Chowder
Wagyu Burger
Wedge Salad
Kansas City Strip Steak
Calamari with Chili Tofu Sauce
Complimentary Dessert
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Chilean Sea Bass
Parmesan Fries
Ribeye Steak Sandwich w/ Fries
steak tartare
Cold Platter: Oysters, Jumbo Shrimp, And Lobster
Grilled Angus sirloin, smoked onion jus, Kona onion rings & stir fried vegetables
King Crab Amuse W Grand Mariner Dressing
King Crab, Chilled, Citrus, Avocado, Micro Arugula
Prime Tomahawk Chop!
Kobe Beef Carpaccio
French Onion Soup
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
The Capital Burger
Ahi tuna
Lobster
King Salmon W Morel Mushrooms
Wagyu Short Rib Amuse W Ponzu
Dry aged bone-in filet
Chef Matt Signature Lamb Lolipop
Wagyu Sirloin W Herb Truffle Butter
Sockeye
Wagyu Oscar Burger
Wine: The Summer Wine Event

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 65 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Kansas City
Most Booked
Kansas City
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
4 More
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Steakhouse
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

Special Occasion (91)
Romantic (61)
Notable Wine List (58)
See All
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Groups (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Great for Lunch (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

excellent experience !!!!!! we had so mu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 2 days ago

excellent experience !!!!!! we had so much fun!!!!!!!!!!!! stevie was great !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Best steaks & Best Lobster M ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Best steaks & Best Lobster Mac & Cheese! I Get it every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was goo and engaging. The re ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The server was goo and engaging. The restaurant was packed as they usually are, so it was quite noisy (but this was expected). What I didn't expect was lukewarm steak and seafood. The food took forever and maybe it was "resting" resting too long. The flavor of the bone in fillet was just ok, yet highly recommended by the server. One of my guests had scallops and they were cold in the center. I know how to cook (not over cook or under cook) scallops...it's pretty simple. Again, very disappointed with the steaks and even the sides of mushrooms and asparagus were tough.

This was a surprise, since I have dined at the CG in Chicago and Indianapolis several times and had great meals at both locations. Overall, not worth the money ($500 for 4 people with a fairly inexpensive wine).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great place for special occasions, would ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great place for special occasions, would definitely return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner at The Capital Grille Kansas City ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Dinner at The Capital Grille Kansas City is always a must when in town. Expectations are met with each visit from food quality, presentation, service and ambiance.

A must for those looking for a high end meal on the Plaza in Kansas City.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great! We usually eat in the bar ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always great! We usually eat in the bar area, but this night was in the dining room, as we were treating my parents to a nice dinner to thank them for helping during our recent move. As always, food, service and atmosphere were great. Whether we come for a full dinner or just cocktails and dessert, we never leave disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed. The wedge salad let ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was disappointed. The wedge salad lettuce had been frozen before prep and had brown tinge with frozen sections that still had not been thawed before serving. The steak was served lukewarm and my spouse received mine and we had to switch plates. The asparagus was cold- no lukewarm about it. For the price point there should be NO mistakes let alone the multiple ones that we experienced. Bright side was the service which was excellent !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Was a great experience! Would highly rec ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Was a great experience! Would highly recommend this!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and ambiance was special f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food, service and ambiance was special for a birthday. I could not have asked for more!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wished for everyone special occasion, ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My wished for everyone special occasion, please get the table not in the traffic by the kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Saul was the best

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Saul was the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always consistently great! One of my fa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

always consistently great! One of my favorite places to take anyone from out of Kansas City. Been going there since it opened. I have never had anything but outstanding meals and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simple review, can't go wrong at Capital ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Simple review, can't go wrong at Capital Grille in KC.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent. Would h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Would highly recommend to others for a special evening. Other than two loud customers at a nearby table it was very enjoyable evening for our anniversary. Thanks for the anniversary desert.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the price I expect perfrction. Usua ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

For the price I expect perfrction. Usually they deliver. Not this time! And on my wife's birthday. They over cooked my steak the first time, sent it back. They brought another one out almost completely raw and it wasn't porccuini rubbed like I ordered. My wife's filet was med rare when she ordered medium. Obviously they reversed who's steak was whos. I left it alone and stayed positive as to not ruin my wife's birthday vibe. For a 400$ tab this was unacceptable. Poor value. Outback can deliver better execution and at a sixth of the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

The attention to detail at Capitol Grill ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The attention to detail at Capitol Grill is truly the best. We were treated very well. The food was fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine was excellent food was good, nice s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wine was excellent food was good, nice special touch for our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Steaks and seafood were delicious as usu ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Steaks and seafood were delicious as usual. Appetizers were incredible and the service was friendly and professional.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional food preparation. The calama ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Exceptional food preparation. The calamari is outstanding! The table service is as professional and attentive as one could expect from a white tablecloth restaurant of this quality.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was by far one of the best restaura ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was by far one of the best restaurants we have had dinner. our only complaint was the wine price by the glass was a bit overboard I would recommend this restaurant as one great place to have a fine dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit pricey, but food was very good, an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A bit pricey, but food was very good, and service was outstanding! Pretty noisy too, but restaurant was packed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The Capital Grille is always a five star ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Capital Grille is always a five star dining experience. It's one of our top two steak restaurants and a favorite place for dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. They coordinated ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was great. They coordinated an order of flowers that were waiting on our table as well. Excellent, friendly service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

we love coming to the Capital Grill - ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

we love coming to the Capital Grill - our server Hunter was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great value and incredible service. Alw ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great value and incredible service. Always can depend on the Capitol Grille

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated my friend's birthday & had ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We celebrated my friend's birthday & had a wonderful time. We have made celebrating our birthdays at Capital Grille an annual occasion. The food is always delicious & our server, Stevie C is the best!!! We always request Stevie C & he helps make any occasion especially memorable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pricey considering all sides are se ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very pricey considering all sides are separate. Food presentation of meat without sides is poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner at ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner at Capital Grille. Everything was perfectly prepared. We had oysters on the half shell, caprese salad and the bone-in ribeye. Our service was excellent as well.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were superb. The t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food and service were superb. The temperature of the restaurant was quite chilly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Mr. Spoon, was outstanding a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waiter, Mr. Spoon, was outstanding and went above and beyond to make our dining experience exceptional. It was our 16 year anniversary and we brought our 8 year old daughter and she had a great time as well. She said they treated her like royalty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our anniversary. Stevie C. m ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went for our anniversary. Stevie C. made our dining experience a lifelong memory. He made us feel we were his only table. The entire experience from entering the restaurant to leaving was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant for food and servic ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent restaurant for food and service.

The noise level was VERY DISTRACTING AND DISAPPOINTING. Also it seemed that they really try to pack everyone in by placing tables quite close together. Our waiter had to squeeze by the lady sitting at the adjacent table in order to serve us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary and everythi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went for our anniversary and everything was top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was cooked perfectly, however ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The steak was cooked perfectly, however the lobster Mac and cheese was a bit over cooked and tough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Disappointing. Service has declined sign ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Disappointing. Service has declined significantly since Bart has left. Food very average. This place used to be a gem. It's now just another "chain".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Service went down hill as the evening pr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Service went down hill as the evening progressed , timing of food delivery was off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Porterhouse steak and spinach salad can' ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Porterhouse steak and spinach salad can't be beat. The Generous Pour wines were above and beyond wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for our special night.

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Perfect for our special night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Whenyou first come in its very noisy but ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Whenyou first come in its very noisy but you can't hear it in the back. Other then that I had a very pleasant dinner. They cater to your every need with a smile..

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.