About The Capital Grille - Kansas City

4740 Jefferson Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Country Club Plaza.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
47th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-8345

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & private lot available.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Livers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today at 816.531.3288.

Restaurant Photos

Seared Scallop
Butternut Squash
Seafood Platter
Capital Potato Chips
Complimentary desserts
Steak Au Poivre
lobster roll
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake
Clam Chowder
Wagyu Burger
Wedge Salad
Kansas City Strip Steak
Calamari with Chili Tofu Sauce
Complimentary Dessert
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Chilean Sea Bass
Parmesan Fries
Ribeye Steak Sandwich w/ Fries
steak tartare
Cold Platter: Oysters, Jumbo Shrimp, And Lobster
Grilled Angus sirloin, smoked onion jus, Kona onion rings & stir fried vegetables
Prime Tomahawk Chop!
Kobe Beef Carpaccio
Maine Lobster Roll
French Onion Soup
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
The Capital Burger
Ahi tuna
Lobster
Wine: The Summer Wine Event

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 65 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Kansas City
Most Booked
Kansas City
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
3 More
Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
Steakhouse
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

Special Occasion (89)
Romantic (70)
Notable Wine List (53)
See All
Fit for Foodies (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Good for Groups (24)
Hot Spot (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Private Room (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

CG nails it every time . Stephan was our ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

CG nails it every time . Stephan was our server-ask for him--he's amazing and made our Anniversay flawless. The food is superb (he orderd the ribeye, me: Gorgonzola bone-in strip), even our drinks (a chocolate martini & old fashion) were the best we've had in KC!! Don't go anywhere else for your special occasion this is THE place in KC!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grill went out of it's way t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The Capital Grill went out of it's way to make you feel special, as opposed to just 2 people at table 25 at 8:00 PM. That means something.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have always loved capital grille, but ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We have always loved capital grille, but this recent visit was lacking in the food department. We've always told everyone how wonderful your food is, but I have to say that this time it wasn't that great. We'll still go back to the other capital grille's, but may not come back to KC. The food quality just wasn't there this time. :(

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was excellent. Great wine list o ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Dinner was excellent. Great wine list of that's your thing. Staff and service were 5 Stars! Would recommend to friends and will return anytime I'm back in KC.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

terrific meal and the service was oustan ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

terrific meal and the service was oustanding, my wife loved the decorations on the table to celebrate the birthday and the wonderful desert. Only complaint was the filet was undercooked, but after it came back it was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This visit was to celebrate our 30th ann ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This visit was to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We had also celebrated our last three anniversaries here also. We were first introduced to Capital Grille in Dallas Texas and

needless to say it was love at first bite. We actually are from Saint Louis Mo and never

miss coming to Capital Grille when visiting KC. I hear Saint Louis will soon be opening

a Capital Grille. You bet I'll go but KC will always be my favorite.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Cozy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I consider Cap Grille a very premium ste ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I consider Cap Grille a very premium steakhouse like a Mortons. So I really don't have a problem with paying a little over $100 per head. What i was disappointed in was the experience and ambiance. Way too loud especially in the bar area. Tables were too close so it didn't feel very private and did help the noise level either. Our server was super attentive but we were sat 15 minutes late despite being 15 minutes early for the reservation. Didn't have a drink for 20 minutes and didn't get the order taken for over 30 minutes. Might have been an off night but I expected better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The food was very good, and our server w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was very good, and our server was excellent. My only complaints were that the noise level was very high and made it very difficult to have a conversation with my dinner companion, and the evening was pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Great food and great service. The staff ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food and great service. The staff is friendly, courteous and willing to go the extra mile.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great experience at the ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We always have a great experience at the Capitol Grille!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambience and service were very good. Foo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Ambience and service were very good. Food was only so so.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Outstanding service. Outstanding food. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Outstanding service. Outstanding food. Outstanding wine list. Very satisfied.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Zach was an amazing waiter. Patient and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Zach was an amazing waiter. Patient and willing to answer all questions. Next time we go back we will be asking for Zach. And we will be going back! Amazing wine, steaks to die for and you have to try the lobster mac and cheese.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was amazing. Waitress was ve ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our service was amazing. Waitress was very personable. Food was amazing along with wine & dessert .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service-surroundings-steaks

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fantastic service-surroundings-steaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite in KC. The steaks were perf ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our favorite in KC. The steaks were perfect as was the service. Don't miss the lobster Mac and cheese. We eat at this location 2 or 3 times a year when visiting relatives in KC. Reservations are a little hard to come by on weekends, so call early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having Stevie as our server made our nig ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Having Stevie as our server made our night was it was. His knowledge of the menu, humor, and attitude turned an already special night into one we won't soon forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We save dining at Capital Grille for spe ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We save dining at Capital Grille for special occasions. The food is wonderful and service is always excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing food. And very expens ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very disappointing food. And very expensive. Salad was limp & chicken tough. The complimentary cookie was delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

My wife and I went to Capital for her bi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My wife and I went to Capital for her birthday. The food was excellent, service second to none, and the Generous Pour 2016 lived up to years past! We will be back (hopefully soon!)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are terrific. Capital ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food and service are terrific. Capital Grille is clearly a top notch steakhouse / restaurant and worthy of visiting for special occasions.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was absolutely amazing...unti ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything was absolutely amazing...until our waitress dropped the ball. We must have waited at least 20 minutes after we declined dessert before she came back to get us our bill. And that was after my husband said something to the manager. I will recommend this place to my friends, but our experience was not very good. One bad experience doesn't make it a bad place. I am sure she was busy, but seriously? 20 minutes is a long time to be waiting for the check.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was amazing and service was great.O ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was amazing and service was great.Our server Joe was wonderful. We happened to be there the night of a flash flood in KC. My elderly parents needed a place to wait and sit while we tried to find transportation. The floor manager took them into the restaurant and sat them at a table, because the restrooms were flooding and they didn't want my parents to sit in those available chairs. She was super kind to us during a very stressful time for us and the restaurant. I wish I had taken note of her name because I am so grateful. We will be back for sure!

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special thanks to our server! They Roya ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Special thanks to our server! They Royals game was on and he kept us informed every inning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent experience !!!!!! we had so mu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

excellent experience !!!!!! we had so much fun!!!!!!!!!!!! stevie was great !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with exceptional service. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent food with exceptional service. It's pricey, but you should know that going in and either go or don't depending on your budget. Everything was prepared precisely and the service was attentive without being intrusive. Our server knew her stuff and was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food! Best steaks & Best Lobster M ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food! Best steaks & Best Lobster Mac & Cheese! I Get it every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was goo and engaging. The re ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The server was goo and engaging. The restaurant was packed as they usually are, so it was quite noisy (but this was expected). What I didn't expect was lukewarm steak and seafood. The food took forever and maybe it was "resting" resting too long. The flavor of the bone in fillet was just ok, yet highly recommended by the server. One of my guests had scallops and they were cold in the center. I know how to cook (not over cook or under cook) scallops...it's pretty simple. Again, very disappointed with the steaks and even the sides of mushrooms and asparagus were tough.

This was a surprise, since I have dined at the CG in Chicago and Indianapolis several times and had great meals at both locations. Overall, not worth the money ($500 for 4 people with a fairly inexpensive wine).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great place for special occasions, would ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great place for special occasions, would definitely return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner at The Capital Grille Kansas City ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Dinner at The Capital Grille Kansas City is always a must when in town. Expectations are met with each visit from food quality, presentation, service and ambiance.

A must for those looking for a high end meal on the Plaza in Kansas City.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great! We usually eat in the bar ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always great! We usually eat in the bar area, but this night was in the dining room, as we were treating my parents to a nice dinner to thank them for helping during our recent move. As always, food, service and atmosphere were great. Whether we come for a full dinner or just cocktails and dessert, we never leave disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed. The wedge salad let ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was disappointed. The wedge salad lettuce had been frozen before prep and had brown tinge with frozen sections that still had not been thawed before serving. The steak was served lukewarm and my spouse received mine and we had to switch plates. The asparagus was cold- no lukewarm about it. For the price point there should be NO mistakes let alone the multiple ones that we experienced. Bright side was the service which was excellent !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Was a great experience! Would highly rec ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Was a great experience! Would highly recommend this!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and ambiance was special f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food, service and ambiance was special for a birthday. I could not have asked for more!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wished for everyone special occasion, ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My wished for everyone special occasion, please get the table not in the traffic by the kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Saul was the best

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Saul was the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always consistently great! One of my fa ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

always consistently great! One of my favorite places to take anyone from out of Kansas City. Been going there since it opened. I have never had anything but outstanding meals and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simple review, can't go wrong at Capital ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Simple review, can't go wrong at Capital Grille in KC.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent. Would h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Would highly recommend to others for a special evening. Other than two loud customers at a nearby table it was very enjoyable evening for our anniversary. Thanks for the anniversary desert.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.