Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About The Capital Grille - Kansas City

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Country Club Plaza.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

4740 Jefferson Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
47th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-8345

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & private lot available.

Executive Chef:
Daniel White

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today at 816.531.3288.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

We invite you to make our dining room yours on Thanksgiving Day. Alongside our full menu, we'll be offering our Executive Chef's take on Thanksgiving favorites.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 90 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (44)
Business Meals (40)
See All
Romantic (39)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Notable Wine List (25)
Cozy (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Authentic (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Fun (8)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Casual (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
2059 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Always great for any occasion! It was a early Birthday dinner for my sister and we all loved it!
The waiter was nice, kind of forgot about us @ times.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter was amazing. All of them there are. Place was packed. Had a reservation but only about a 10 minute wait in the bar which was packed. They send servers around in the bar and ask if you want a drink and get it fast. This eliminated having to go stand between people at the bar, try to catch a bartender and order. I thought it was very well thought out and more places should do this.
Food Perfect.
Just have never had a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service from all the staff. It was our anniversary and we were well treated with complimentary desert plate too. It was Saturday night though and the only downside was we felt rushed to eat and go.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

It was awesome. Enjoyed Fred our waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect dinner from the moment we sat down. Service was perfect, cocktails excellent and lobster bisque full of huge chunks of lobster . I asked for a special sauce on my steak and he said no problem. The meal was delicious with everything done just right.
It is expensive but well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

The halibut was incredible and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been going to the capital Grille for years, their service is impeccable, the food is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Was seated fairly quickly and told that our waitress would be right with us. After 10 minutes of nothing -- I stopped someone and asked if we could be waited on. The young lady immediately went to one of the wait staff and he came right over. Steve was outstanding, very knowledgeable and made the experience very enjoyable. After the initial frustration -- things turned out very well -- thanks to Steve.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 14, 2017

We hadn't been to Capital Grill in a long time and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The waitress and the whole staff made my wife's birthday celebration special, going out of their way to do so. Thanks so much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Slow service. Food was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The food was first rate and the wait staff were exceptional

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Seriously the best steak ever. I’ve lived in the Midwest for over 45 years and have had plenty to compare to. Service was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Had the In Fashion cocktail, mozzarella basil tomato salad and the Kona coffee rubbed strip and every thing looked and tasted good. Our waiter was attentive but not intrusive and the valet service made getting out on a damp rainy November night a snap. Capital Grille was a nice memory for our 15th anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Delicious - great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2017

I am a regular here and have enjoyed about everything on the menu. I had a business meeting here and quite frankly it had the noise and ambiance of a sports bar due to the large, rowdy party sitting next to our booth. The noise level was unacceptable- menu items discussed by the server were inaudible - the party next to us kept standing next to our booth with drinks in hand making conversation impossible.
Next, the calamari was not prepared at the quality I expect. A step was omitted ( oil and hot peppers) , yet the server was either perplexed or surprised we mentioned it.
Overall, for a business meeting/ dinner, choose a different venue- Eddie V’s comes to mind- due to the unpredictability of the environment surrounding your booth/ table.
The bar would have been better in this instance !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We celebrated two birthdays and they went out of their way to make it special. The manager and wait team did all the little extra's. They even had table decorated in festive birthday decorations! Food was tremendous and desserts for birthday yummy!!! First class all the way!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 9, 2017

A special occasion restaurant. Superb lobster bisque with loads of lobster! Unique cuts of meat such as bone-on filet mignon. The wine list is extensive with both hard to find selections and value choices. Excellent service. Ask for Zach. My only gripe is that they have a paid valet service. This type of high-end restaurant should offer free parking to their customers.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Came in for a quiet birthday dinner with my boyfriend. Our server Katherine was lovely and made it special! He ordered the peppercorn sirloin which was delicious. My filet was almost perfect, I would have preferred it a tad more cooked. Besides that everything was amazing. Highly recommend the creme brûlée cheesecake!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great service and food. We had a wonderful birthday celebration thanks to Celia & the rest of the team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Joe was our server and he was amazing. I have been to Capital grille multiple times, and today I had the best experience in Capital grille so far because of him! I would love to visit again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great ambience, perfect for special occasions. Great tasting steaks, but slightly overpriced, in my opinion. Service is elite level. Valet parking is a nice touch.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

We enjoyed The Capital Grille as we celebrated our anniversary. The service was excellent! The food was wonderful! The setting was Fabulous! I can't say enough good about our experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 27, 2017

We absolutely had the most delicious dinner and a perfect night out! Our waiter was fun and attentive and the manager was over the top accommodating by coming around and seeing if there was anything he could do to make anything better! I would recommend Capital Grille to anyone who wants to have a fabulous occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Great service. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Absolutely loved their Waygu and Wine special and will return back before it ends. Well worth it. Our server, Jeff, was welcoming and attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 21, 2017

My wife and I went to Capital Grille for our anniversary and everything was so wonderful. All of the staff members were so friendly, the food was delicious (especially the lobster mac and cheese), and the restaurant looked fantastic. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Our go to anniversary restaurant and the service was exceptional! Unfortunately, the steaks tonight were not on point and well over cooked. However, Capital Grille made it right without hesitation. The service was out of this world and more than made up for the rough entree courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Excellent for business lunch or special occasion or a date with your wife

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Did not have all of the different breads or creamed corn. Disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 16, 2017

The service was great and the food was decent but not worth the very high price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary, and they made it a night up remember! Meredith was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Service was perfect. Brad knows the “kind” of service we appreciate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

My boyfriend and I came from Maryland/DC area and typically dine at The Capital Grille in Chevy Chase! I just moved here and Capital Grille being my boyfriends favorite of course made an easy choice for his birthday celebrations! Our server, REDA, was amazing! Very friendly and gave us just enough attention! We both have our favorite dishes we typically order and we were blown away! My steak had great flavors and my boyfriend a week later still hasn’t stopped talking about how his steak cut like butter! By far way better than DC! Great job!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Seasonal, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great time! Our server was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

My wife and I went there for our 19th anniversary dinner. Great food and atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our waiter was exceptional. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We love Capital Grill. The food is always wonderful and the service is typically top notch. Bob took good care of us. Our recent visit was for our son's birthday and he loved it. Loved the bone-in filet chef special. And the special dessert. The sides are always great. The Stoli Doli is my favorite drink, but they have an excellent wine list as well. It's a great place with a good atmosphere and good people that work hard to make your evening memorable.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Delicious food and great atmosphere. The dry rub was a little to charred to eat so I cut it off and the rest of the steak was delicious. The prochetta wrapped mozzarella was a great starter.

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Our waiter, JD was outstanding. The meal was excellent. Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Well, everything was executed to perfection. I had asked for Steve but he wasn't working , so delightful Meredith was our waitress. She was absolutely spot on everything . They had not fixed the table for my birthday, but Meredith had it ready in no time at all. The food was wonderful. I love dining at Capital Grille in Kansas City,MO. All time favorite. Shug. Tell Meredith she was wonderful

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.