Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About The Capital Grille - Kansas City

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Country Club Plaza.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

4740 Jefferson Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
47th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-8345

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & private lot available.

Executive Chef:
Daniel White

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today at 816.531.3288.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 90 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (41)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Romantic (38)
Business Meals (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Cozy (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fun (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
2012 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 15 hours ago

Birthday dinner. JD, our service professional, was outstanding and food quality is consistently great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 16 hours ago

Highly recommended. I clicked the birthday button on the occasion question. When we were seated there was a birthday card and confetti on the table! We were impressed and will probably visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

We were celebrating a special occasion and they made it a wonderful evening and one that we will all remember for a long time! Many thanks to helping us create a lasting memory! And full stomachs! It was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Date night with my husband and our waiter Fred was awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We set the reservation and only waited about 10 minutes to be seated. The bar area was extremely loud. People were having a good time. They set us down in a very quiet area with a rose on the table and a couple of glasses of champagne Very impressive. Although they ran out of the slow roasted chicken. The manager bought us an appetizer. We were very impressed with the service provided by the staff. It is our best anniversary dinner to date. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and the price is appropriate. Try it!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Business dinner, but also my Birthday. Great for both.
Food and drink was as expected. Service was exceptional.
Our server Corey was knowledgeable, personable, and worked at the perfect pace.
I will request his table when we return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

The lobster salad is always awesome and the only place I know to get it in town.
The service and atmosphere you can always count on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The waiter was attentive and friendly and gave us a warm welcome. The steak, however, was tough and difficult to eat. The desserts (cheesecake and chocolate cake) were both awesome! Overall a bit pricey for what you get.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I have dined at the Capital Grille in Kansas City and other locations many times. The food is always excellent, the ambience is great, and the service is impeccable. However on Friday night when my sister and I dined at the restaurant the manager was crass and rude and very insensitive to something that happened to me. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our server Zach was great. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We went out of our way to dine there as we had a daughter visiting from Hawaii. It was her birthday and she wondered what Kansas City was noted for. We said BBQ and good steaks! We chose to go to a steak house so I checked trip advisor for the best in the area and Capital Grill was voted number one! We were so glad we chose here! Every thing was excellent. To add to the experience we were treated to champagne, a small appetizing steak sample with marinated onions, and dessert! They took a complementary picture for us and had the table decorated with confetti and a happy birthday sign! What a wonderful introduction for someone who had never been to the city! All our steaks were cooked to perfection and the lobster mac and cheese was to die for! Everyone was so welcoming and nice and our waitress was a jewel! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The oysters were the best I have ever had. The steak was absolute perfection, that melted in my mouth. A friend bought us a bottle of champagne, it too was great. But I do feel that our initial treatment was not impressive. Until they found out our friend was a regular at their restaurant. I do understand VIP's, but for the cost, everyone should be treated like a VIP from the moment they walk through the door. So that was very disappointing and the first impression is a lasting impression. You should never judge a book by its cover, and that is what happened. Our bill was almost $300, I never should have felt that way.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had friends from out of state visiting to celebrate a 60th Birthday and Capital Grille was the perfect place to celebrate! The evening couldn't have been more enjoyable. Our waiter, Zach, went above and beyond to make the birthday girl feel extra special... from decorations on our table to a delicious appetizer and beautiful desserts while being sung "Happy Birthday". He even gave her two roses and took a photo of the group, which he presented to her at the end of the meal (in a frame)!! We couldn't have had a better time!! We are still singing the praises of Zach and the delicious food and wonderful time we had! Thank you!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Our server Lauren was so great. The perfect spot for a quiet, romantic dinner. We are very excited to come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Our dining experience was as fabulous as we could ever imagine. The food was delicious as it always is. From the soup and salad to the most perfect steak, entrees and sides and finished with delicious desserts, our meal at the Captial Grille was the best in Kansas City. The service was what put the evening over the top. Our waitress Rozza was friendly, knowledgeable, conscientious, informative and attentive. She and the other staff members made sure we had everything we wanted or needed before we asked. We were there to celebrate my husband's birthday and all of the staff made a point of wishing him Happy Birthday. The table was decorated with a little confetti and Rozza delivered a special Happy Birthday dessert plate that was beautiful as well as delicious! We happened to be there during a special wine tasting "Generous Pour" event which offered outstanding red and white wines. My husband, a wine fan, had a perfect evening and Birthday celebration!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had an outstanding meal and loved The Generous Pour.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent beef entrée, Marginal shrimp cocktail, Service okay, Dark and noisy, Despite making Reservation via open table Received call from the restaurant Requiring a return call to confirm the reservation--Unnecessary nuisance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Zach was amazing, we have never had service so good. The food was spectacular and we will all be back in the future. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My wife and I have spend 3 anniversary s here and it's always exceptional service and great food . However this last time my wife's steak was over cooked and the replacement is under cook. But as always the service was top shelf and atmosphere was great

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Best overall Anniversary dinner experience. Celia H. was wonderful and made this a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Capital Grille does not disappoint. Always a wonderful experience. We were there for the Generous Pour event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Everything was excellent. Had a hard time choosing as the offerings were all intriguing. Waiter was very helpful and attentive, but not intrusive.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The service was excellent as always. The steak was the steak I've been craving for the past 3 months, tender, flavorful, and cooked to perfection. My mother loved the lobster bisque.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Everything about the experience was amazing! The food, drinks and service was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

My wife and I went for date night... The food was great, and our waiter Zach was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We sat at a table that even though the place was hectic it still felt cozy and felt cared for. Also the food was fantastic. Thanks for a great evening.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The entire evening was great. Great celebration with wonderful food and excellent service. Thanks Bob

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Server was rude and inattentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Hunter Scott gave us great service, as usual. And, Chef Danny cooked some excellent steaks to perfection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent dining experience as always. The Capital Grille - Kansas City never disappoints.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Made reservations and indicated that we were celebrating our anniversary. They had our table set up in the very back between two large parties. It was so loud we had to almost shout to have a conversation. The food was awesome as usual but why would anyone place seating like that? Totally ruined our nice dinner and the mood we were hoping for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Corn soup was tasty but just barely warm, sides of sautéed spinach and au gratin potatoes had little taste. KC Strip med rare was a 4 inch high cut you could hardly cut thru much less chew enough to swallow. Even the waiter stated he hadn't seen a strip cut like that before...My husband DID like his lamb...I am NOT a picky person and this was my very first time here and expected much more. Waiter knew it was our anniversary and said he would bring us a champagne toast...I'm not a champagne person but nothing came.
My husband had been there a couple times before and told me it really wasn't that great...but I've lived here most all my life and had heard other positive opinions so I wanted to try it. We won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We had an amazing evening at Capital Grille as we celebrated our anniversary. Garrick Darby was our server and he was very professional and friendly. The entire night exceeded our expectations! We would love to dine again one night - I'm sure that there are cheaper menu items to order that would make that possible. We spent entirely too much money, but it was a very special occasion. My only complaint is that the room was freezing! My nose started running from the cold temperature. Ladies, bring a jacket!

The steaks were perfectly cooked and delicious! The flourless chocolate cake was rich and creamy - what a way to end the meal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

They have a Lobster salad that is very special. Service and atmosphere is always elegant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great service and we're able to accommodate my vegan request. My husband had a great steak.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Our server was great and suggestions were excellent. Thanks for a memorable anniversary experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 26, 2017

This was an absolutely outstanding experience! It was our wedding anniversary and the entire staff made us feel special! No other restaurant has met the excellent standards Capital Grille does in truly celebrating your special occasion!
The food was well-prepared and presented. Our wait staff, Ashley, was exceptional in her care of us. I cannot say enough good things about this establishment! Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We visit Capital Grill yearly, on my wife's Birthday. The best meal that I have ever had, hands down. Thank you for making my beautiful wife feel special!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Fantastic service. Excellent food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.