About The Capital Grille - Kansas City

4740 Jefferson Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Country Club Plaza.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
47th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 531-8345

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & private lot available.

Executive Chef:
Clark Grant

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today at 816.531.3288.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 65 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (100)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Good for a Date (69)
See All
Romantic (61)
Notable Wine List (54)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Business Meals (53)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Worth the Drive (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Private Room (20)
Cozy (19)
Fun (18)
Hot Spot (14)
People Watching (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Seasonal (11)
Authentic (10)
Historic (9)
Casual (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1856 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Hunter gave us great service and the salads and onion soup were very good but the fillets were burnt/ black on the outside all the sides were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

I have visited Capital Grille twice in the last month for dinner. Once on a Wednesday, the other a Sunday. I also enjoy visiting their bar for after work martini's. They weren't extremely busy either times we visited, which was nice to get seated and greeted immediately. For the most part, we had a very pleasant meal. I recommend the prosciutto to start off with as an appetizer, they have one of the best Caesar salads in the city, in my opinion. They have great cocktails as well as a beautiful wine list (although priced fairly high compared to other fine dining restaurants).

On my most recent visit I was quite displeased once my steak arrived. I ordered the chef recommended Gorgonzola and Truffle Crusted Dry Aged Bone-In KC Strip. I have enjoyed this before and proceeded to order again at medium rare. When my steak arrived it was medium well. I dont believe anyone should eat a medium well steak and showed it to my server who agreed that it was overcooked. By the time my replacement steak was brought back to me my party was finished eating. The steak was now rare. At this point I did not want to send it back, eat by myself or cause the table to extend their evening. I took it home and brought it up to temperature myself. I was disappointed that I had just spent $50 on a steak that I did not get to enjoy. More importantly though, they did nothing to make-up for it, nothing off the bill, a dessert for the table to share for their mistake and inconvenience. This was a time I should have felt valued as a customer, but did not.

Overall, Capital Grille is a wonderful ambiance and food, but the staff and managers do not make you feel like a valued guest nor care if you return or not.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Booked the reservation through open table which was fine until we got there and open table moved our reservation to 45 minutes later. I did not change it. Lucky for us capital grill is professional to make it right. I question using open table again. They said at the restaurant that they had that problem before.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything we got was amazing! You almost had to roll us out the door! There are very few things on this planet that my boyfriend will say are better than my cooking, but even I can say their brussel sprouts demolish mine! Our steak was perfectly cooked, they even cut it for us. The server was very knowledgeable and attentive. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good, but very predictable. The entrees were very good, but nothing daring or exotic. Standard steak and seafood fare. The noise level can be distracting. Our server was Paul, and he had a thorough knowledge of his menu and wine list. He made the experience that much better.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We decided late Thursday afternoon to go to Capital as an impromptu date night/VDay celebration and skip the weekend rush. What a great idea! The bar was steady, but we easily found a seat to have a cocktail and we didn't have to yell to be heard. When we were ready to be seated, Garrick was our server and he took fantastic care of us. We've been to The Capital many many times before, but his recommendations were spot on with our favorites and the service was prompt and everything came exactly as ordered. The steak was cooked perfectly and we left full and happy. We'll be back, and ask for Garrick as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Has always been constantly perfect with everything from the food to the atmosphere and amazing staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I love my waiter Steve, he is always welcoming and always go out of the way to catered to my wife and I.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Never had a bad steak here. Yes, it is on the pricier side but you are paying for quality and great service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was very impressed. The service and food were outstanding. The only and I mean only negative was the drunken table of twenty-something girls in the bar area; they were cursing loudly and laughing uproariously and annoying everyone. They should have been dealt with. The service was fantastic from the get-go starting in the bar. Once we were seated things were quieter in the dining area and the rest of the evening was very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Saul Colin was our server, and he was OUTSTANDING!! Very knowledgeable about the menu and, was the perfect combo of relaxed and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Stephanie was a fantastic server! The attention to detail for our lunch was amazing. Really made the day special for us.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Awesome experience with the wait staff. Food was terrific and timing of course delivery was perfect

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food and service was exceptional. Our glasses were never empty, the service was attentive, but not overbearing. We had the bone-in filet minion (on special), 22oz ribeye, truffle fries, mushrooms, and an appetizer of lobster crab cakes. The crab cakes were the best we have had, the side sauce was phenomenal as well. Ribeye was cooked to a perfect medium and was crazy tender. The bone in filet was good, but not worth the $20 premium over the base filet minion. OVerall and exceptional dining experience, but definitely expensive. $230 w/ tax/tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always great!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our steaks were under cooked and they were gracious about taking them back. They were never brought up to the right temperature but overall we enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We had an amazing experience at Capital Grille! We were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and they went above and beyond to make the evening extra special. We will definitely be going back for anniversaries to come.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I have dined in this restaurant more than a dozen times and have had very good to excellent experiences. Saturday night was a big disappointment. I was hoping to treat two out-of-town business associates to a nice dinner. I think things went reasonably well at their end but my dining experience was totally unacceptable. I had ordered a piece of plain salmon on a brussel sprout salad. I had requested the salad to be served without bacon and it came with big chunks of bacon. I don't eat bacon for religious reasons so it wasn't possible for me to push it aside. It took the server 15 minutes to check back with our table and so no one ate. My guests saw that I wasn't eating so they didn't want to start to eat which was incredibly awkward. When he brought my salad back it was clear that they had picked off the bacon which made it inedible for me. I didn't want to make a big deal in front of my guests. To add insult to injury the server charged me $49 for a salad I didn't eat. He never asked if everything was OK. It left a terrible taste in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dinner was great when we finally got our table. Waited 45 minutes after our reservation time. This is almost every time we dine on a Saturday. I would not recommend a weekend reservation unless you're ready to commit your evening to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were quite disappointed in our recent visit to the Capital Grille. Frankly our experience was average at best. Decor seemed dated and the food was no better than you would expect at a much lower end chain family style restaurant. Our service was very professional but the loud rather obnoxious conversation another server was repeatedly having with a table near ours ruined what little ambience there was. Much better options in the KC market. Sad, CG was once one of our favorite choices for a special occasion but will not repeat after another failure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and I try to eat at The Capital Grille whenever we are in town because it is always a great meal with excellent service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch and experience.

The waitress was the best we have had in any restaurant.

The salmon was great, and the chicken was good also.

She treated us to a birthday sampling of two delicious desserts.

We had ordered a dessert, so we hit a sugar high, and loved all

three desserts.

We will certainly return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Delicious dinner, with great food and great service, always a delight dining here

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We went for restaurant week. I was slightly disappointed that the Capital Grille didn't pay the usual attention to detail I've grow used to with their food. A few of the steaks and chicken were over cooked and the creme brûlée was partially runny. The service was exceptional as usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our waitress was 100% fantastic. As well as the staff that helped her. Got seated before our reservation time so ne wait at all. Perfect atmosphere. The steak cut like butter and was the juciest steak i have ever had. All around a memorable experience. Thank You.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our server, Pauline, was amazing. I will definitely be requesting her for future nights at Capital!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was delicious and Restaurant Week prices were an awesome value. Highly recommend the Kona crusted KC strip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Filet mignon was cooked very well, tasted great.

Our waiter was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Came here for restaurant Week and it was perfection!!! My husband had the 14oz strip and I had the 8oz filet both were immaculate and needed no sauce! Outstanding service as well, will definitely be back and willing to pay regular price! :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was great! Our server was knowledgeable and entertaining. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great meal & service during Kansas City restaurant week. Will definitely be back .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We went for lunch during Restaurant Week and the food was just as outstanding as with the regular menu. The service was outstanding thanks to John Dove. This is one of my favorite restaurants and this experience just reinforced that.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food and the service was very good. The crowd, due to restaurant week, made the restaurant very noisy .

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent food. It is restaurant week so service suffered a smidge. But was still well above the average restaurant. Restaurant week is really a great way to get out more to the better restaurants and all restaurants around town and the menu is very good. The other day I ate from the regular menu. I like it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My first time back to CG since it opened. Just heard how very expense it is. You get what you pay for! Participated in restaurant week and they didn't miss a beat. They are the only one in KC that included a dessert with lunch. All so perfect especially on Inauguration Day. God bless America.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Finally checked out Capital Grille for KCRW17 and had their filet with an arugula salad. It was excellent as was their choc espresso torte cake. Jesse was our server and he did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great experience, loved making this part our restaurant week experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our annual trip to Capital Grille during Restaurant Week did not disappoint! Steven, our waiter, was fantastic! We'll be back next year (if not before)!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I am new to the KC area and thought Restaurant Week would be a reasonable way to try out some of the restaurants in KC. We were not disappointed. At the last minute, I had to bring my grandson, a 2 year old and the hostess was thoughtful enough to seat us near the kitchen and the bronze Eagle, he was engaged with both. We had an amazing meal and he was so good that upon raising from our booth to leave, the table across and behind us commented that "they didn't realize a child was seated with us" I enjoyed not only a wonderful meal, but the staff was incredibly attentive and patient. You will see us again, with or without children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Corey our waiter did an exceptional job. Food was superb as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Went for Restaurant week, had lunch. Wife loved her Top Sirloin with Arugula, my Cheeseburger was under cooked which they took care of an gave me free. Wedge salad and dessert were wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Outstanding food and service as always. Burger cooked perfectly, and had a fantastic waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Even though it was Restaurant Week, the service was good although a little slow at first. Once we ordered, the food came out quickly and perfectly prepared!! The steaks are fantastic!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Outstanding food. Our server had a haughty attitude. Felt as though he didn't deem us as important as we visited during Restaurant Week. We said we were there for Restaurant Week, yet he asked more than once if we wanted to order appetizers. He made a face when I ordered wine for the table and asked if it was just a glass (no, a bottle please), then asked if anyone other than me was having the bottle of wine. Main courses arrived while we were still eating our soup/salads and we had to hold onto our plates to keep them from being removed while we were eating. Did not get a welcome feeling at all from our server.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great good . Exceptional service other than the time it took . 2.5 hours for the meal with a baby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Was a wonderful experience as always. Best steak in town, wonderful clam chowder.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Best value for Restaurant Week. Tied for first place on service and taste.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Absolutely the BEST lunch experience we have ever had!! Our server Eric actually was the highlight of our visit 2nd only to the fabulous food! He is the epitome of personable funny and knowledgeable customer service! We are already planning our next visit! Thank you! #restaurantweek

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Steve C was our server and he was absolutely wonderful! We had a great lunch date and the food was delicious! Can't wait to make it back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Even though it was restaurant week and you got very busy, the food was still very good and the service was excellent. Thank you so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.