About The Capital Grille - Jacksonville

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in St. Johns Town Center.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5197 Big Island Drive, St. Johns Town Center
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm – 9:00pm, Monday - Thurs. 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J. Turner Butler Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 997-9233

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Jared Gilbert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Good for Birthdays (34)
Romantic (30)
Business Meals (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Groups (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Fun (7)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Casual (5)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The level of service wasn't commensurate with the price. For instance, I had to request black napkin despite the fact that I was wearing a dark color. We had to send back the appetizer because it was over cooked. My soup was brought to me before we were half way done with the Appetizer, just to name a few mishaps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Always a JOY when Joy is our server. Everything was cooked perfectly, the wine was excellent, and the atmosphere was just right. Thank you for another excellent evening!
If you want a baked potato, ask! They have a few and the one I had was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Slow service on Sundays. We were there before on a Sunday and the same damn thing. Not enough waitstaff. Other than that, great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a great experience. I would suggest they not premake Caesar salad and then refrigerate, this causes the lettuce to be soggy and dressing too thick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We dined at Capital Grill on August 26. We sat in a nice booth as requested. Our waiter Jason Burke was nice enough. He told us about some of the specials including Filet mignon bone in. Suggesting the flavor was so much better. What he neglected to tell us that the steak was 20.00 more for the bone in which I had removed before serving. So when the bill arrived I saw the price was different from the filet bone out which my dining companion had ordered. The rest of the meal and the wine was good.
When I questioned Jason he quickly sent a manager to our table to Fix the problem. He did rectify the problem by removing our dessert and after dinner drinks. I felt like he should have told us up front, Oh by the way the bone will cost you 20.00! Money never being the issue here just up front honesty.
So needless to say it will be a long time before I done there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Friendly greeting, Outstanding service, Very nice for special occasions

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 25, 2017

My server was great. Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great place. We'll definitely be back. Food is delicious and fresh.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Cheryl was awesome and so was the dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

I love Capital Grille however they made our foot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Thanks for a Great evening. Filet on the Bone outstanding.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Service was great, however my mid rare NY Strip was mid well, as was my wife's Porter house, we had been on the go for 12 straight hours and hadn't eaten all day and were starving, so we ate it anyway, I'm sure they would have fixed it if we had complained but we couldn't wait for them to cook another 2 steaks, French Onion Soup was delicious as were the sides, we'll be back and we wont be quite so hungry as not to ask for a redux on our steaks. If the need arises.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Our daughters steak was undercooked and cold so we had to send it back. The waitress was very nice but somewhat slow in between courses and unfortunately we had very loud people next to us. The wine list was very good. We have frequented Capital Grille and this was not one of our better visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

WONDERFUL!!!! Wife and I chose CG for our 37th Wedding Anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The staff was friendly and attended to our every need. Gwendolyn was most knowledgeable/friendly/caring and made us feel at home. She was the perfect host, always being there at the right time. Thank you CG (Gwendolyn) for making our special occasion worth remembering.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Tapas, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Capital Grill is our "go to" restaurant for special occasions. It has always been consistently good. This time, however, the service was below par. We actually went without water in our glasses for at least 10 minutes, and if we hadn't brought our own wine ($25 corking fee) we probably would have gone without wine even longer!! The food was excellent, as always, and they DID serve us a very tasty (complimentary) 30th anniversary dessert. We will be back, with expectations of good food AND service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Joy is a joy -- she makes a special evening even more so. We loved our filets and the spinach with garlic was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

My sister who was visiting from New York and she paid for the food she was asking for a juicy steak the New York strip she like it almost well done the waiter suggested that bone in 18 oz she got the 14 oz without the bone dry and kind of tuff and when she told the waiter he said he made a mistake and orders the wrong one and the yes he brought 2 bits desert witch we didn't eat . I had a reservation I called and asked if they can take us earlier, I was told your table will be ready In tree minut so I walked in , they made us wait 17 min that's why I won't be comfortable to come and bring friends and families to your restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

AMAZING time!! We took our two boys tonight for dinner for their 1st time and they loved it!! Chef Justin was great and came to chat with the kids and Jason our waiter was top notch, even the manager David was nice and talked to the boys!! Thank you guys for a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Dinner was fantastic. We were seated within minutes of arriving. Staff was great. Need to especially call out our server Bethany. She was perfect. Just the right amount of attention, a sweet smile and complete knowledge of the menu. Couldn't have been a nicer evening.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 3, 2017

It was good, but I've really come to expect great from Capital Grille. Atlanta is the best one that I've experienced...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Book it for a special occasion, aged porterhouse was great, we've been going here for years and they never disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Had a great time like we always do, food & service has always been 100% +

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great bone-in filets and lobster/crabcakes. Wine was excellent too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great Service, great food and great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent meal, amazing service. Pricey but everything was on point. It is a little loud but it was a busy Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Shawn took really good care of us and she made the dinner really special. I will request her the next time I go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary here with friends and family. We all enjoyed the food and atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had our usual server Adam who was awesome. He has great knowledge of the menu and helped us with our selections. Would highly recommend him to anyone seeking great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our first visit. We've been to just about every big name steak house in the USA, and this place ranks at the top for service and food quality and preparation. The chef came and asked our opinion of the steak evening special, which was fabulous. We've found a new favorite in Jacksonville. Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Awesome server who was well-versed in wine! Veal tomahawk chop was delish. Scallops were huge. And the food gras creme bulee was amazing. Thanx, Tiffany!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A fabulous dinner, professional waitress and memorable evening. We will return soon!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Classy place, with professional staff, they are oriented to catering to your every need!
Please with the food as well and needless to say it's a great place to make a good impression with!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Shawn was an awesome server. When we go back we will ask for her. There was absolutely nothing that I would change about our dining experience there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

What an amazing meal! As always they exceeded my expectations and the food was so awesome.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

If you are in the area and have the time, don't miss The Generous Pour at the Capital Grill. A great way to try several highly rated wines while enjoying great food. At lunch, the burgers are a great value and a delicious meal. We drove 178 miles for this lunch and were not disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We went to Capitol Grille to grab a nice dinner with our son and his girlfriend. It was great! The server (Alex) was professional and just overall outstanding! The food was excellent. We kept the sides to a minimum as we had had appetizers and it was perfect - the steaks and veal chop my husband had were cooked exactly as requested. Super restaurant - great beverages! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great bone in ribeye, cooked to perfection and well seasoned. This place always remains consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We had our 20th anniversary and the evening was wonderful, the food was outstanding along with the wine.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.