About The Capital Grille - Jacksonville

5197 Big Island Drive, St. Johns Town Center
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in St. Johns Town Center.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm – 9:00pm, Monday - Thurs. 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J. Turner Butler Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 997-9233

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Jared Gilbert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
N.Y. Strip Au Poivre - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Dry Aged Ny Strip (Steak) - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Bread Basket - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Caesar (Salad) - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Sam's Mashed Potatoes  - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Dry Aged Sirloin W/ Fried Egg - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Coconut Cream Pie - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Spinach Salad - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
T-bone steak - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Filet Migno - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Check - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Pan Seared Seabass - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Fried Calamari - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Parmesan Truffle Fries - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Salted Caramel Ice Cream - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Lobster Bisque - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Heirloom Tomato Mousse - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Creamed Corn - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Hazelnut Chocolate Cake - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
3 More
Best Food
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (34)
Notable Wine List (23)
Romantic (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Groups (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Worth the Drive (7)
Private Room (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Cozy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1045 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The table right next to us add a loud c ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

The table right next to us add a loud computer presentation running of a hernia surgery – It was very distracting and inappropriate for a dining experience

When the food arrived the waiter realized he had not put in our clients food order. After sitting for 10 minutes waiting on his order we finally started eating. There was no attempt to turn the business dinner or outing around by management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Very accommodating for one of our group ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Very accommodating for one of our group who is on a very strict diet for health reasons, although the options for our vegetarian were not too great.

Most of us opted for seafood, which was excellent.

Great staff, very attentive without being overly intrusive.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak house. Food and beverage ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent steak house. Food and beverage are top notch. Service accommodating.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our family enjoyed Thanksgiving dinner a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our family enjoyed Thanksgiving dinner at The Capitol Grill, Jacksonville, FL. Our waiter and the rest of the wait staff were exceptionally attentive and friendly. They made our holiday meal a pleasurable experience for us all. We all chose the Thanksgiving Turkey special and weren't disappointed. The turkey was exceptionally moist and tasty and The 12oz portion was large enough for tradional Thanksgiving leftovers . The accompanying sides were delicious as well. Would definitely return and recommend The Capitol Grill to others. Thank-you for a delightful and memorable family Thanksgiving meal!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expectations not met - very disappointed ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Expectations not met - very disappointed - hype was much better than experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We had two friendly servers - one made a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had two friendly servers - one made an excellent wine recommendation. We ordered the prosciutto wrapped mozzarella appetizer which was delicious. For dinner, we each ordered a 10oz filet with the potatoes au gratin as our side. Unfortunately, my filet was undercooked (I ordered it medium but it came out bright red). We waited awhile for a server to come check on us and they took the steak back right away, but when it came back it was still undercooked. Other than that, it was a very delightful experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I normally have great experiences here a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I normally have great experiences here and the food was still excellent, but we went with a high profile friend of hours and she was a little harassed by the waitress, asking if she was famous, who she was, etc. Sometimes people go to a nice meal to not deal with the treatment you'd get at a TGIF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The staff is amazing and the food is eve ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The staff is amazing and the food is even better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sheryl was amazing as always!

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Sheryl was amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was very knowledgeable and friend ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Server was very knowledgeable and friendly. DRA was a little abrupt with water and bread service. Overall good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Steaks cooked perfectly. Maybe a little ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Steaks cooked perfectly.

Maybe a little too much sauce for the Oscar, but good overall.

Bone in filet I recommend.

If they have it try it.

Great calamari if you like spicy.

Server Lindsay was gracious and attentive.

Great job by the entire staff from reception area to servers/helpers/water refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary. Upo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a 'Happy Anniversary' from the hostesses, then proceeded to the table to find a signed card from the staff, hearts sprinkled on the table and a complimentary glass of champagne with raspberries. During dinner everyone that walked by saw the hearts and wished us a Happy Anniv. After a wonderful dinner they brought a complimentary dessert on a plate which also said Happy Anniv. Those small touches made our experience so very special.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but we did not have a good se ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great food but we did not have a good service experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Bartender was attentive drinks were good ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Bartender was attentive drinks were good, moved to dining room and food was great but service was not, wine bottle placed on table and not opened for about 10 min. and we poured our own wine most of he Night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Just I love capital Grille. You can get ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Just I love capital Grille. You can get a good meal at any time. Delicious food and incredible dessert. Been there many times , and always had a fantastic meal .

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinner experience was excellent. The ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our dinner experience was excellent. The shrimp cocktail and spinach salad appetizers were very good. Our steak, citrus salmon and lobster mac & cheese side were all delicious. Our ser Adam provided extraordinary service. He was highly professional and was attentive throughout the evening to ensure we were delighted with our dining experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good and servers were very atte ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was good and servers were very attentive. It is definitely a pricier place - entrees averaging $50 with no sides. It was a special occasion, so it was a treat.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We always have outstanding food and serv ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We always have outstanding food and service. They are very accommodating to your needs. It is our favorite steak restaurant in Jacksonville.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent and predictably good food and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Consistent and predictably good food and service. Will continue to use Capital Grille for special events and occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great dinner at Capital Grill celebratin ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great dinner at Capital Grill celebrating a family birthday. Food, service, and atmosphere are always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazingly hospitable. Will to accommodat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Amazingly hospitable. Will to accommodate our every need. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and i loved it. Ryan and M (cann ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My wife and i loved it.

Ryan and M (cannot remember spelling of her name) are amazing servers.

The food is always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service.

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife ordered her steak med well. It l ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

My wife ordered her steak med well. It looked great until she cut into it. The inside was raw! We had a difficult time trying to get our server as she was nowhere in sight. We finally asked another server to get our server. Our server could not be nicer. She apologized and had the steak cooked to a more acceptable level.

Our grilled asparagus was burnt and bitter.

The price point at the place should provide a higher quality. We were not impressed with our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We decided to sit in the bar area rather ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We decided to sit in the bar area rather than the table we reserved. It was absolutely perfect. From the moment we took our places at the bar, the staff was attentive. Matthew and Sunshine made wonderful suggestions and provided outstanding service. The calamari was spicy and tasty and the crab cakes were divine. We nibbled on the most delicious chips as we sipped our cocktails before dinner. A truly, wonderful impromptu dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is unbelievable, and the servic ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food is unbelievable, and the service is great service. We go to the Capital Grill every year for our anniversary. It is expensive, but its is worth the money and the best place to go in Jacksonville to celebrate a special occasion. They take of you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Olivia our server was amazing and person ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Olivia our server was amazing and personable.

We have been many times, food is consistent and yummy!

Thank you for another great experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fine. Nothing more. For th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was fine. Nothing more. For the prices, we expected to be blown away. Fillet Mignon was dry, Peppercorn sauce has so many peppercorns that my steak was crunchy. Disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food and service. The salmon had a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food and service. The salmon had a fun citrus flare

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carlos is an amazing server! The food wa ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Carlos is an amazing server! The food was prepared perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always it was outstanding. The food ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

As always it was outstanding. The food was exceptional and our steaks were cooked perfectly. My only negative on this visit was it was very crowded and seemed a bit disorganized which I have not experienced with them in the past.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Bill the waiter was great.....

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Bill the waiter was great.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fabbulous food and service. The service ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Fabbulous food and service. The service I. He lounge was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. Mentioned that thi ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We had a great time. Mentioned that this was an anniversary event, and the staff went out of their way to tell us, especially my wife, congratulations. Bill, our server, was superb in every regard.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, we had a fabulous experience. O ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Overall, we had a fabulous experience. Our waiter was a little "too funny"... but, otherwise, very enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A wonderful fine dining experience. Exc ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

A wonderful fine dining experience. Excellent in food , service quality preparation and quality.

Terrific wine menu and attentiveness of personnel. Bone in filet mignon was second to none. Look forward to many return visits

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Chris was great. He has great ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Our server Chris was great. He has great reconditions for each course of the menu. Porterhouse steak was cooked perfectly and the Brussels sprouts and lobster mac n cheese were delicious compliments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious, perfectly seas ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Everything was delicious, perfectly seasoned, perfectly cooked. Our cocktails and wine were wonderful. It was a most enjoyable birthday meal :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sheryl is amazing and wonderful!

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Sheryl is amazing and wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch wait staff. Bethany was on th ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Top notch wait staff. Bethany was on the money the entire night.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.