About The Capital Grille - Jacksonville

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in St. Johns Town Center.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5197 Big Island Drive, St. Johns Town Center
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm – 9:00pm, Monday - Thurs. 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J. Turner Butler Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 997-9233

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Jared Gilbert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us Easter Sunday for an exceptional prix fixe brunch. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as Shrimp and Grits and more.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Business Meals (29)
Notable Wine List (23)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Private Room (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (5)
Cozy (5)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

It's my second time dining, I'm not a big steak person but I loved the steaks. Extremely tender and seasoned perfectly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A Truly outstanding experience, yet again!! Wine list (iPAD based) was exceptional, menu diverse and well presented by the waiter, and the service was some of the best I have seen in the last 20 years! Not inexpensive, but you know that going in, and the truly SUPERB service makes it worth the cost!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Never been disappointed with this restaurant , best steak in town .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary dinner at The Capital Grille and were pleased to find a decorated table for us. Sheryl was wonderful capturing a photo of the evening and also brought us a special appetizer and dessert to cap the night off. All around wonderful dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I was so disappointed! I took my daughter there so she could experience and "adult" dinner out and she was ready to leave when we received our salads! We sat for 30 minutes with only water (I ordered a drink) and even then our glasses were half full. We only had appetizers and salad and it took forever. The caesar salad was the same color as the plate, there was absolutely no green lettuce and very little flavor. The server kept apologizing for it being so "busy" yet, other people around us, who arrived after us were being served in a more timely manner. I won't be returning particularly considering the bill at the end of a partial meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Carlos was amazing as usual!! He food was amazing and Chef Jared was on point!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The many meals only one negative experience. Our server at lunch, Jennifer always positive and really friendly...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent food, though somewhat expensive. Great for special occasions or business dinners.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything was excellent as usual. My hubby enjoyed his surprise date night and his rib-eye. The lamb chops were superb as well. Our waitress Candace was nice and on time as usual. Will be back again soon for date night.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A fabulously wonderful experience. The service, atmosphere and cuisine are absolutely exceptional. This is now our "Go To" restaurant for special occasions and special people. OUTSTANDING!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants and this one did not disappoint! We highly recommend the bone in filet. It was cooked to perfection. Cocktails were perfectly made. It was a great dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Usually like it. Time between apps and waitress taking our dinner order was over :30!!! Too long and we had to ask another server to find her so we could order. Steaks slightly overcooked. We enjoy Cpital Grill in Paramus NJ and sometimes Jacksonville and have never complained before. All 4 of us are very well travelled and we're disappointed with our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Amazing food, exceptional service, beautiful atmosphere. Portions are large enough to share. It's rare to find such creative gastronomy. A truly special and classy place. The servers take pride in their job, they got a big tip from us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 24, 2017

went to Capital while visiting family in Jacksonville and had an amazing experience. The calamari and Crème Brule are to die for. Our server Victoria was amazing. will be back again

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Always great food @ Capital Grille. Never a disappointment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great food and great environment. The service was great

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

very good food... and great waiter . bill was hi name.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great time with hubby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place, our dinner was perfect. The porterhouse cooked to perfection and a great choice of sides. Our sever Joy was fantastic and very knowledgeable of the options. Overall a great experience. I also like the complementary valet parking and the fact you can request your car before you leave and will be waiting as you leave.

Tags: Private Room, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and service were equally fantastic. It was one of the best steaks I have ever had. The price is not for the faint of heart though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Overall great quality of service and food. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely outstanding! Food was excellent! Service was nice. Ambience was very pleasent, dinned outside when weather and temperature was perfect, and noise level was minimal, compared to practically intolerable inside.

I would recommend to anyone, for any occasion, just be prepared for the high demand and noisy environment inside.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Love to have lunch in the lounge.
Food always great.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 8, 2017

When in Jax, I always opt for this location for a predictably enjoyable business lunch. The food is always high quality with good portions, nicely plated. The servers are quite attentive, always seem to anticipate your needs. The one competitive advantage CG has is that you can carry on a table conversation with out having to filter out the din from other diners or canned music being piped in. A solid safe bet on many levels. True test, I'll be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Our server was professional and very service oriented. We enjoyed our dinner as we celebrated my wife's birthday with great friends. One of our favorite places to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Overall good experience. Value was not great 2 cocktails for $30. And bone in filet was probably less actual meat than the regular filet for $12 more. Also the filet was well undercooked. Don't get me wrong, good dinner but you expect to be wowed. Service from Bill was top notch, but quality of entrees and salad was not in line with expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

From the time we arrived at the table with friends the server was on top of it all. It was my birthday and the service was outstanding. The steaks were properly prepared. The "birthday dessert" was excellent. The pace of the delivery of the food was very good.

Candace, the server, did a great job and I would recommend her to people who go to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went to celebrate our 10-year wedding anniversary; had to wait 10 minutes for our table even though we had a reservation which they had called to confirm twice. We were seated at a table right next to the open kitchen area -- not exactly cozy. Moved to a private room which was nice. In addition to the appetizers and steak that my husband ordered, I ordered a porcini-rubbed filet medium and the scalloped potatoes as one of our sides. My steak arrived over done and the potatoes arrived "al dente"! We sent both back and my steak came back rare on round #2. I sent it back a second time and when it came back I decided to just eat it because it was getting late at this point. The steak was the same steak i had just tested so it had a huge gash in it which eventually made that part of the steak over done. The rub was also missing. We decided to cancel the potatoes since they never made it back to the table. Our server and management were very attentive and concerned but I would have expected more from a high-end steak house.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing food and service consistently!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Had a wonderful time and Amanda, our server was great! Thanks!

Lucinda Kennedy

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Took clients at their request and food came out cold. Manager apologized and replaced cold food w undercooked burger.

Never had a bad experience at CG until now. Eat at Sarasota and Fort Lauderdale locations regularly - hope it was just a mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place but service was just bad with Joy the server.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

An exceptional evening with outstanding dining and service!!!
Loved the private room.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

All the staff in the bar and lounge were fabulous totally great experience customers loved the evening with Mary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We had excellent attentive service. The food was excellent and it was served timely. The wait staff was not overbearing and respected our space. I would recommend this location for just about any meal or accasion.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food, one of the best crab cakes i've ever had anywhere. The staff was friendly and they are well trained in the knowledge of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We come to Capital Grill a few times a year for special dinners...
While there's no doubt that the steaks are amazingly good, and the server was excellent, the ambiance is crowded, noisy and super busy feeling. Not the the place for a romantic dinner, though the establishment certainly tries. They're good, and the victim of their own success. I'd strongly suggest avoiding Friday & Saturday night.... it's a mob scene during peak hours.
Again, great food food, attentive service but just chaotically busy, crowded and noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The flavor and crust on the filet was outstanding! The side dishes and french onion soup didn't disappoint either. We also appreciated our down-to-earth waitress Olivia who provided excellent, friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.