The Capital Grille - Jacksonville

4.8
1493 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in St. Johns Town Center.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm – 9:00pm, Monday - Thurs. 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(904) 997-9233
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jared Gilbert
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
J. Turner Butler Blvd.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is complimentary.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

View Private Dining Details
What 1493 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

My girlfriend and I both ordered the 10 ounce filet and it was the best we have ever had. The service was great and we would highly recommend to anyone, just be prepared to spend upwards of $100 for your meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

We always go to Capital Grill for special occasions, this time for my wife’s birthday and Fathers Day combination. As usual the food was excellent all the way, from the appetizer Prosciutto wrapped mozzarella, to our entres Lamb Chops for her, File mignon for me all prepared to perfection. We brought our own wine which was a perfect pairing for our meal. To finish a delicious berries crostata with vanilla ice cream. The service was outstanding and our server was fantastic. Net an outstanding experience!! Love it

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Unfortunately, this was our second visit and probably the last. We went for Father's Day and I'm not sure what the issue was, but service was pretty bad and the food was okay, but honestly for that much money - I expect more than "okay". They kept bringing us the wrong stuff , or putting the wrong order in front of the wrong person (there were only four of us). Again, the food was just "okay" and it is very expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

This was a spectacular Father’s Day lunch, complete with a Stoli Doli, lobster bisque and yummy dessert. Of course, Shawn could not have been more accommodating and friendly. CG, you never disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

As always, a wonderful experience. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and very pleasant. The wine list was great, but our food was amazing. We love The Capital Grille and look forward to our return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We went for our 45th anniversary. Our table had a red rose + scattered red stars and hearts. We then had complimentary champagne that was terrific. Our server was awesome and the food great. Lobster Bisque cup had 4-5 huge pieces of tasty lobster & was superb. Steaks great as always. Love their porcini rubbed ribeye with the balsamic on top-great tasting. For desert they provided a complimentary slice of chocolate cake covered with rasberries & on the large plate "Happy Anniversary" was written in a chocolate sauce.
The cocktails and wine were terrific as well & we were not only introduced to the Coravin device to have an awesome glass of wine without opening the cork but they were also able to sell us one of these to take home. The sommelier came to discuss wines and even gave us a sip to try before deciding to purchase.
Overall a wonderful evening in all respects. The server was terrific plus the manager came to talk to us; nice!
Overall a wonderful evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Excellent as usual!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Another great get together for a friend's birthday. We were treated so well, as usual, by Capital Grill. We look forward to another celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

My wife and I had lunch at the capital Grille to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We were delighted when we got there to see that the table was fully prepared for an anniversary lunch that included a beautiful single stem rose! Can’t say enough about the food! My wife had swordfish and I had tuna both of which were prepared to perfection! Our server, Bryan, was excellent, friendly and accommodating throughout the whole meal! Although the lunch was a bit pricey, in our opinion it was well worth it! Truly in this case we got what we paid for! We both would highly recommend capital Grille for any special occasion!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The food was amazing. I was excited to try dry ages NY steak and the flavor🤤. The sides yes they are sharing portion. Would like to go back again

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Excellent service but I have had better food for the price point. Now don’t get me wrong, I am a picky eater, plus and I do have culinary background. My steak was better than most but the balsamic reduction was a tad over powerful and killed the flavor. The sides were ok. The asparagus side, just like the steak, was overpowered by the lemon they added. It took away the flavor.

Would I return, probably but for the price point, there are other options and it would be the service that brings me back. Again that was top notch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Anniversary dinner! It was perfect with a beautiful touch of dessert and champagne to celebrate.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

I understand the draw of the exclusive atmosphere at Capital Grille, but for me it's about the details. The booth we were lead to had greasy finger marks on the bench that I had to wipe since the hostess didn't notice. The Caesar Salad with chicken was fresh and delicious but since the chicken had the skin on, it was a bit of a battle with a less than sharp knife to get my salad ready to eat. The balsamic grape tomatoes served on the side were a very flavorful addition. Overall, very good, but still room for improvement.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

We loved every minute of our dinner. Our server, Mikayla, was wonderful. The food was delicious - French onion soup, lobster bisque, tuna tartar appetizer, swordfish and salmon entrees and roasted mushrooms as a side. Never disappointed there! Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

I recently retired and my staff gave me a gift certificate to Capital Grill. The service was excellent and so was our food. Our waiter along with other staff members could not have been nicer and more pleasant. Great evening for my wife and I. A very nice send off for me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Birthday celebration for my wife and was a great choice. It was our first visit to the restaurant, and though we know it was going to be pricey, it was well worth the cost. The food was outstanding and the service was outstanding. For a special treat for the birthday, they brought us a champagne toast and a dessert to share, that was a great touch (at no extra cost). The steaks were amazing!! Highly recommend this restaurant for those special occasions!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Thank you for making the retirement dinner a very special evening! Service was spectacular!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Wife found 2 hairs in food her salad and calamari. Didn’t really want to complain because waiter was nice. No more visits there. $200 to have hair in your food 🤢🤮Really disappointing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Capital Grill is an excellent restaurant, however due to inattentiveness from the server the experienced was not exceptional. The server never introduced herself, we knew who she was as she kept coming back to our table and had a name tag. The server failed to tell us, what was not available that evening and of course my husband ordered the burrata as appetizer, to be told not available. The server should had started with that when the menus were passed out, so we were aware of what NOT to order. The server advised us of the specials, but did not provide prices for each special. I don't like to be asking for prices, that should be disclosed as not on the menu. So it was a guess when the bill came as we ordered the lobster and not sure what the market price was. Otherwise the food was phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 22, 2018

The food was great. The atmosphere was great. The service was not. We were there for our daughters 21st birthday and not only was the service VERY slow, but I didn't get what I ordered (ordered the bone-in strip and got the regular strip). When our daughter ordered her first drink inside a restaurant, they were kind enough to bring her a small sample but when she said she liked it, it then took 20 minutes to get the actual drink. Didn't want to make a fuss on my daughters big day so I didn't say anything. Steaks were great. Scallops were OK. Service could have/should have been much better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We always enjoy our visits to the Capital Grille in Jacksonville. The food and service are always tops. This time was no different. Great service from Bryan.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Our work group went for lunch to celebrate the completion of a big project. We were well taken care of and even gave a free desert to celebrate! Will be coming back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Great. Xxo

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We celebrated Mother’s Day and had exceptional food and service. The shrimp and salad appetizers were delicious. The filet, porterhouse and lobster tails were excellent. Our server Adam provided extraordinary attentive and helpful service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent as usual

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The service was exceptional and our meals were cooked to order with the freshest ingredients. The Capital Grill is certainly one of my top five restaurants . See you again soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Took my wife here for brunch today. Excellent meal. As always the service was great from all the staff. We especially enjoy Adam. To us he is the best server and always ask for him, you should also. Great place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day and Capital Grille does not disappoint. Still my favorite restaurant in Jax.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Eat food and eat more food

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Dined here with my wife for Mother’s Day dinner. Extremely disappointed with the portion size. Ordered the 16oz bone-in filet mignon “special,” but it was 11 ounces of bone and only 5 ounces of beef (I’m being generous).
I’ve been here many times for lunch and enjoyed it. However, this sad dinner experience has me looking elsewhere for dinner choices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Always amazing

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 9, 2018

I was disappointed. The cost of eating at Capital Grill is rarely under $300.00. Which includes a bottle of wine and tip. I would expect everything to be perfect. My steak was slightly over cooked. My dates lobster was ridiculously chewy and firm. The sides were good and worth there value.
Noise level was so loud, I continually had to ask my date to repeat what she said. I have dined at Capital Grill many times. The wait staff was good but not attentive. I have never been overly impressed. My personal opinion is that Ruth Chris is far superior and a better value. I believe that this will be the last time I dine at Capital Grill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The warm Lobster Roll was fantastic. Please keep it on the menu. Our waiter, Christian, was great, most accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Consistently Excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great food and service. Our Steaks and salmon entrees were delicious. Adam our server provided excellent and attentive service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Took my husband for his birthday and made reservations in advance. They greeted us by wishing him Happy Birthday. Our table had HB confetti on it. Our server, Gwendolyn, was incredible; she was attentive, accommodating and made our visit a wonderful time. The food was outstanding. Because I have a broken wrist, I was having a hard time cutting my food, so Gwendolyn offered to have the kitchen cut my steak - amazing and so very much appreciated! It's the little extras that made this a wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

The Capital Grille is always, ALWAYS a fantastic experience. The service is unmatched, from the front desk to the time that we leave. If I have an important client lunch, this is the safest possible choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Our server John and the Chef provided us with a dining experience - they accommodated our special request for a cheese and fruit board in addition to the amazing food we ordered from the menu.
The blue point oysters were divine.
Dessert for the birthday girl was yummy and special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Celebrated our 11th Anniversary there this weekend. It was our first time at Capital Grille and it definitely won’t be our last! The food was beyond amazing, the staff was super friendly. We can’t wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
38