About The Capital Grille - Jacksonville

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in St. Johns Town Center.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5197 Big Island Drive, St. Johns Town Center
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm – 9:00pm, Monday - Thurs. 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J. Turner Butler Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 997-9233

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Jared Gilbert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Romantic (30)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Notable Wine List (26)
Business Meals (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Bar Seating (13)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1260 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had our usual server Adam who was awesome. He has great knowledge of the menu and helped us with our selections. Would highly recommend him to anyone seeking great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our first visit. We've been to just about every big name steak house in the USA, and this place ranks at the top for service and food quality and preparation. The chef came and asked our opinion of the steak evening special, which was fabulous. We've found a new favorite in Jacksonville. Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Awesome server who was well-versed in wine! Veal tomahawk chop was delish. Scallops were huge. And the food gras creme bulee was amazing. Thanx, Tiffany!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A fabulous dinner, professional waitress and memorable evening. We will return soon!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Classy place, with professional staff, they are oriented to catering to your every need!
Please with the food as well and needless to say it's a great place to make a good impression with!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Shawn was an awesome server. When we go back we will ask for her. There was absolutely nothing that I would change about our dining experience there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

What an amazing meal! As always they exceeded my expectations and the food was so awesome.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

If you are in the area and have the time, don't miss The Generous Pour at the Capital Grill. A great way to try several highly rated wines while enjoying great food. At lunch, the burgers are a great value and a delicious meal. We drove 178 miles for this lunch and were not disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We went to Capitol Grille to grab a nice dinner with our son and his girlfriend. It was great! The server (Alex) was professional and just overall outstanding! The food was excellent. We kept the sides to a minimum as we had had appetizers and it was perfect - the steaks and veal chop my husband had were cooked exactly as requested. Super restaurant - great beverages! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great bone in ribeye, cooked to perfection and well seasoned. This place always remains consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We had our 20th anniversary and the evening was wonderful, the food was outstanding along with the wine.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Belated Father's Day celebration and took advantage of the phenomenal Generous Piur

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The staff made sure our celebration was special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The ambience, food, and service was excellent....always consistently pleasant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Service too slow, 2 hrs to eat, after an hour they told us that they di not have , what we ordered.
The captain came to apologized .
Terrible experience with party that we invited from out of the country.
Waiter di not have experience or was to bussy with other tables.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Best lobster roll in town! My friends had burgers and Cobb Salad, always goos!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Perfect Fathers Day gift, excellent meal, the steak was perfectly done and so was everything else. We had a great time and our server was very friendly and helpful, which made everything more enjoyable. Great place for that special occasion or at anytime you want to enjoy a great meal.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a Wonderful meal with Great service. Chris Elliott was our server and did a superb job. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Really enjoyed everything, however I do think pricing for cocktails are very high!! $13 for a scotch is crazy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food. Wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I was celebrating my 50th birthday with friends and extremely thankful that I came here 😀

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Love this restaurant, but the last two times I have come with my wife it was quite lengthy in getting our entrees. One also has be to be very specific as to booth preference. We were in both on main aisle coming from reception area where the waiters seemed to congrats. Very disappointing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service and food were wonderful. It was a memorable meal and we enjoyed it immensely. Will return again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always a great experience...delicious food and great place for special occasions.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Our birthday gal chose Capital Grille. We had not been here as a group for some time, but we know now that this will be a popular repeat. We were treated to a glass of prosecco and the staff topped it off with a birthday platter of a few desserts. Capital Grille made our day and celebration.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We wisked right in, hostess was cordial and very efficient. Table was ready and waiting for us. Bill, our server, was absolutely wonderful and full of knowledge about the menu and preparation of the dishes. Could not have been more pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Wonderful as always

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My husband and I have dined at many Capital Grille's over the years… We have been to this location many times at lunchtime...sat at the bar....and had a great time. We wanted to have a nice quiet date night, so I made a reservation for the main restaurant... anticipating the noise level on a Saturday night being quite high at the bar. Boy were we mistaken, we were sat in the back room with four other tables... The service was terribly slow, and they set up a table for eight with a toddler at 9 o'clock at night in the same small room. We asked to be moved to a table in the main dining area only to be sat next to another large group using foul language and kids running freely around the dining room. If this is indicative of the type of people that are dining at this particular Capital Grille, we'll pass. Be careful… Seemed more like family night at Golden Corral than a night at an upscale restaurant where the bill totaled over $250. Date night ruined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Overall outstanding and our favorite so far in Jacksonville. We were a little late due to traffic, called in and the hostess was very nice - assured us our table would be waiting...and it was. Our waiter, Bethany, took exceptional care of us. She knew what she was talking about, was pleasant and went over and above expectations. My steak was prepared to perfection, tender and flavorful. My wife's shrimp were perfectly cooked and spiced. Our table was by the pass line and we enjoyed watching the activity. The executive chef even came over to chat a little. To top it all off, Bethany brought me a free "Congratulations" desert to celebrate my new job. Completely unexpected and a very nice thing to do. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food did not disappoint, as usual. Service was splendid as was the wine. Wonderful to have this level of dining 3 miles from home!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Although the service was first class, the food was not the level I would expect from a 5 star restaurant. A nice meal but a sub-par effort from the kitchen. I would recommend Mortons, Hyde park and others before returning to Capital Grille. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Best crab and lobster cakes ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Our dinner experience was excellent. Our shrimp and salad appetizers were excellent. Our filet entrees and lobster Mac & cheese were delicious. Adam our server provided extraordinary attentive service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had an enjoyable dining experience. We had our two grandsons with us and were warmly greeted by the hostess and seated quickly. Adam our server provided exraordinary attentive and friendly service throughout our evening. We enjoyed the salad and shrimp cocktail appetizers. The kid's filet was excelllent as were the surf and turf entrees. The lobster mac and cheese is always a hit with our one grandson. Overall and excellent dinner experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We always do our Birthdays and anniversary at your Capitol Grill...This is the first time we felt everthing was top notch. Our server Mr Doyle made it a beautiful evening. Hope he will be there the next time we arrive...we will ask for him. We plan to come back in June for no special reason..You do have the best steaks in town...thumps up!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A bit pricey for the small entree. I had the Sea Bass and it was maybe 3" long and 2" thick. At $44.00 not worth it. Waiter and assistant waiter were great.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.