About The Capital Grille - Jacksonville

5197 Big Island Drive, St. Johns Town Center
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in St. Johns Town Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm – 9:00pm, Monday - Thurs. 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J. Turner Butler Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 997-9233

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Jared Gilbert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake
N.Y. Strip Au Poivre
Dry Aged Ny Strip (Steak)
Bread Basket
Caesar (Salad)
Sam's Mashed Potatoes
Dry Aged Sirloin W/ Fried Egg
Coconut Cream Pie
Cheesecake
Spinach Salad
T-bone steak
Filet Migno
Check
Filet Mignon
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad
Pan Seared Seabass
Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna
Fried Calamari
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster
Salted Caramel Ice Cream
Lobster Bisque
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Heirloom Tomato Mousse
Creamed Corn
Wagyu Burger
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Hazelnut Chocolate Cake

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:15PM - 10:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
8 More
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Food
Jacksonville
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Best Value
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (60)
Notable Wine List (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
See All
Romantic (36)
Good for Groups (28)
Great for Lunch (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Hot Spot (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
987 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. Ambiance wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. Ambiance was good. Service was very good but a little too attentive with asking if everything was OK. Maybe read the group a little better, when business conversations are in full spate... maybe don't interrupt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was beautiful and the foo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful and the food was incredible, only issue we had was one patron brought in a dog without service markings or vests and it sat in her lap the entire time. Unless it is a service animal it should not be allowed in a restaurant. As she was petting the dog a couple booths over from us all we could think about was there's hair flying in our food. Service animals are trained for a purpose and to preform tasks, I have never seen a service animal sitting in a lap and not on the floor. It is possible the animal was a service dog, but without the vest it points to immediate judgement of people thinking they can do what they want with their dogs.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two leg quarters with no sides for $45.0 ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Two leg quarters with no sides for $45.00, absolutely rediclious. After spending over 100.00 for dinner a person should not be hungry a half of an hour later. The Seasons resturant across the street was much better. I was not impressed by The Capital Grille at all. My chicken was on even that good. Happy Birthday to me *sigh*

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Exceptional customer service, as always! ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Exceptional customer service, as always! The Capital Grille is my favorite restaurant in Jacksonville to celebrate a special and important moment in your life. I have had my son's graduation dinner, my daughters birthday and many other milestone events here and I have always been impressed with the service, the amazing food and beautiful ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great waiter and support staff.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great waiter and support staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time celebrating my daugh ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a great time celebrating my daughter's college graduation. You had the generous pour special that was fabulous. The food was outstanding and the service was wonderful! We had a very memorable time with family and friends. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and great service.

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite part of every meal at Capit ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our favorite part of every meal at Capital Grill is the service we receive from Carlos. We ask for him every visit and it wouldn't be the same without him!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server ms. De bois was lovely and he ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our server ms. De bois was lovely and helpful.

We had a great meal .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food, service and ambiance , Outstanding ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food, service and ambiance , Outstanding ... Always outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attend Capital grill's Generous Pour ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We attend Capital grill's Generous Pour event a few times per season and we always enjoy the selection of wines. They were awesome this year as well. Esp the BV Tapestry. We request our favorite waitress Naomi and she is a pleasure.

Tags: Group Bookings, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding, but even bette ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was outstanding, but even better was our service. Shay, our server, was wonderful. She ensured our din8ng was a special dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meisha was excellent, food was delicious ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Meisha was excellent, food was delicious. Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Generous Pour is a great way to try some ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Generous Pour is a great way to try some high end wines at a great price. It is also a fun way to enjoy with friends and compare reviews! Once we told the waitress that this was a special occasion with friends we wanted to catch up with, she slowed the pace for us and we were the last ones to leave! Wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We received personal, attentive service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We received personal, attentive service from the moment we arrived. Four of us were there to celebrate my 62nd birthday. The table was decorated with birthday confetti (tasteful) and a card. Our server, Alex, couldn't have been better. He started us off with an introduction to the wine selector IPAD - a fun tool. My husband had a martini just the way he likes it, too. The lobster bisque was delicious and included huge pieces of lobster (I think I had a complete claw in mine). We all selected steaks. The bone-in filet mignon was an excellent surprise addition to the menu. All steak and filet choices were large and delicious. Four of us shared 3 sides - lobster (lots of) macaroni and cheese (my daughter's favorite forever), grilled asparagus (also great) and a soy glazed Brussel sprouts dish that we will choose again. The 3 sides more than filled our plates and we were too full for dessert. However, I was thrilled to receive a spectacular Happy Birthday plate from the pastry chef - flourless expresso chocolate cake, whipped cream, berries, cheese cake with a creme brulee topping. There was enough for 4 people to have a taste or two of each, which was the perfect ending to our delicious meal. We will be back! Ask for Alex. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant gets it right! The steak ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant gets it right! The steak tartar was a little bit of a mess but when I walked in I was so impressed by the tables that were decorated with a lovely card, flower(s) and fun confetti to celebrate special occasions for their guests coming in that evening. Super impressed. Service is ALWAYS my biggest compliant or compliment. Our servers were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great evening. Dined at a table in the b ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great evening. Dined at a table in the bar area. Great ambience. Always a little more relaxed than the other areas of restaurant. Enjoyed the Generous Pour and Stoli Dolis. Meal was great. One of our steaks was done a little too well but our friend was presented with another full meal. Great service recovery.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

CG is a very special place, the food is ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

CG is a very special place, the food is outstanding, the service is over the top, management is on the floor actively and the place is awesome with great ambiance and elegant. Just a perfect restaurant for any occasion. The Lamb Chops are exceptional the Filet incredible and made perfectly to order. Excellent wine list, but you can bring your own for a corking fee. What else can you ask for, it's perfect!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we have been to capital grille many time ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

we have been to capital grille many times for lunch and dinner but this was the best ever--the food, lamb, steak, lobster, soup, and the desserts were all fantastic!!! Of course, we will be back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome meal. Great food + terrific wait ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Awesome meal. Great food + terrific waitress. Frequent visitor; consistently great food + service. Never disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tabitha is the best server.. we always r ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Tabitha is the best server.. we always request her and love talking to her as we dine. She is so wonderful and attentive. The restaurant and manager was very kind as well. It was so nice of her to come over and check on everything. We love it here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a nice dinner celebrating my ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We enjoyed a nice dinner celebrating my wife's birthday. Our food and service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my wife's birthday here an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday here and it was wonderful. The food was outstanding and the service was attentive. Our server, Bill, answered questions patiently and definitely made a special occasion even better. I highly recommend the Capital Grille!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Together with my best friends, we celebr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Together with my best friends, we celebrated a birthday on July 7, 2016. Birthdays are always special at Capital Grille and the staff is outstanding every time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything about Capitol Grill is tops! ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything about Capitol Grill is tops! We come often and especially like the Lobster salad and salmon salad but everything is good,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Outstanding experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille is outstanding! The food ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Capital Grille is outstanding! The food and service are second to none.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated right away with reservation and t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Seated right away with reservation and the food was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated a friend's birthday. Great fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Celebrated a friend's birthday. Great food, great ambience, great wine

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings, Brunch, Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server Bill was excellent. Great eve ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our server Bill was excellent. Great evening. Ask for Bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Capital Grille delivered just what we we ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Capital Grille delivered just what we were looking for: great food, excellent service and a relaxing ambiance. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had been there many times but this visit ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had been there many times but this visit made us think we didn't want to ever return; took a long time for our dinners to arrive. Brussels sprout burned on outside but raw inside; co diner asked for med rare but it came out well done. It was Father's Day so that may have been the problem. Very disappointing meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

You can always get good food there. The ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

You can always get good food there. The service is always excellent. Was there on Sunday for Father's Day and return on Tuesday at 6 PM for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Father's Day dinner-- we rarely eat in i ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Father's Day dinner-- we rarely eat in in dining room (prefer the bar) but since we had the hubs parents it made sense to go to a table. They had some great specials in addition to the regular menu fare and we all availed ourselves of them. The best part about dining in the dining room (like a grown up!) was our exceptional service from Alex. He doted on Mom & Dad and made them feel special--which made us feel special! Everyone had a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a special occasion in th ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place for a special occasion in the dining room where they go 'all out' to make a special presentation at your table, or casual dining at the bar. We love the wait staff and bartenders - Adam and Candace, Sunshine and Matt at the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Capital Grille made our anniversary ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wow! Capital Grille made our anniversary dinner celebration one to remember ! From the warm greeting by Natalie who always addresses us by name, to the nice card from sweet Olivia, to the always excellent service by Tabitha, and the outstanding food (always), we will not wait for another anniversary to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server this evening was Chris Elliot ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server this evening was Chris Elliott. He was amazing. Would recommend to anyone. He recommend somethings and he was spot on. He explained some dishes that we will try on our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The entire evening was fantastic! I tol ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The entire evening was fantastic! I told them when I made the reservation that it was our anniversary. We arrived to our table decorated with heart graffiti, a singe red rose and a card signed by the staff. Our waiter was very professional, yet sweet and genuine. She made our visit special! The meal, as expected, absolutely delicious! Then to top it off, they brought out a dessert tray with "Happy Anniversary " stenciled in chocolate and two amazing desserts. Can't say enough about how special The Capital Grille made our anniversary dinner!!

Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our evening!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Enjoyed our evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.