About The Capital Grille - Jacksonville

5197 Big Island Drive, St. Johns Town Center
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in St. Johns Town Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm – 9:00pm, Monday - Thurs. 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J. Turner Butler Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 997-9233

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Jared Gilbert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake
N.Y. Strip Au Poivre
Dry Aged Ny Strip (Steak)
Bread Basket
Caesar (Salad)
Sam's Mashed Potatoes
Dry Aged Sirloin W/ Fried Egg
Coconut Cream Pie
Cheesecake
Spinach Salad
T-bone steak
Filet Migno
Check
Filet Mignon
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad
Pan Seared Seabass
Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna
Fried Calamari
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster
Salted Caramel Ice Cream
Lobster Bisque
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Heirloom Tomato Mousse
Creamed Corn
Wagyu Burger
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Hazelnut Chocolate Cake

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:15PM - 10:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
8 More
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Food
Jacksonville
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Best Value
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (58)
Notable Wine List (41)
Romantic (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Groups (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Private Room (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Cozy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1001 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my first visit to Capitol Grill ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was my first visit to Capitol Grille and I give it 5 stars - classy ambience, excellent wait staff, amazing aged steak, phenomenal desserts.

Waiter - knew the menu inside and out. Answered all my questions about food prep etc

Ambience - Low beautiful lighting, quiet atmosphere, don't bring a baby please, dark wood

My steak - perfectly aged, prepared and cooked

Dessert - chocolate, perfect size - not tiny nor big, fantastic taste and texture

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ended up at Capital Grille after reading ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Ended up at Capital Grille after reading about them and other participating restaurants in the Sip&Savor Jacksonville event. For $45 per person they provided a four course dinner however, after dinner my family and I agreed we would definitely be back again. The food, environment and waitstaff were all terrific and you definitely get what you pay for. Their clam chowder was perfection, being that it wasn't too heavy in cream. Their aged NY Strip 14oz was more than enough for me and it was tasteful along with their mashed potatoes. And for dessert you can't go wrong with their Creme Brûlée! Other than the food being amazing, my family is huge on service and we got just the perfect amount of service. If you dine there, ask for Christopher; he really knows his menu and is knowledgeable with his wines. He's also very attentive and had us laughing through the night. Over all, this is the place to go! It is pricey but like I said you definitely get what you pay for!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my daughter for her birthday. The s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Took my daughter for her birthday. The service was as good as I've ever experienced. Food was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Second time visiting a Capital Grille an ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Second time visiting a Capital Grille and they keep me smiling. The first location I had ever visited was in NYC, so I thought hmmm... let's see if another location can be just as outstanding. The answer is, yes! Amazing dinner, superb service. Every time I dine at a Capital Grille they make me feel like royalty. We are treated with the utmost respect and attention. The steaks are FABULOUS. In fact, everything we try from the Tuna Tartar to the Lobster Mac & Cheese are just superb! Our closest location to my city (Charleston) is in Charlotte. We are already making plans to dine at that location and beg Capital Grille to come to Charleston. It is truly one of the most exceptional restaurants I have ever had the pleasure of dining in, and we dine out ..... A LOT! If you want to feel special and have food that is worth your money, Capital Grille is your answer. Great job again! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal - very attentive service. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent meal - very attentive service. We were celebrating 2 birthdays and the dessert provided was tasty and beautifully presented. Great appetizers, the lobster bisque was packed full of lobster meat and the sides (we had the mashed potatoes and the creamed spinach) were delicious. The rare and medium rare steaks were perfectly cooked. It was a great dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary there last ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary there last year and we treated wonderful but this year was not memorable, like the restaurant was too busy. Our waiter had that not shaven look that I don't care for even though it is the popular look. No real complaints just busy. The free desert was flourless chocolate cake & cream brûlée cheesecake and was really good.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

This was my first time at the Capital Gr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was my first time at the Capital Grill and the food/service was amazing. My wife and I enjoyed every aspect of the night and would recommend it to anyone not on a budget.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Amazing! Love Jacksonville Capi ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Amazing! Amazing! Love Jacksonville Capitol Grille! Naomi our waitress is simply wonderful! Thank you for an amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth the experience!!!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Worth the experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening with friends. Enjoyed the ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great evening with friends. Enjoyed the Generous Pour.. Nice selection of wines, as always..

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food and drinks. Service was great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good food and drinks. Service was great from the bar to the dining room.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Ambiance wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent food and service. Ambiance was good. Service was very good but a little too attentive with asking if everything was OK. Maybe read the group a little better, when business conversations are in full spate... maybe don't interrupt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was beautiful and the foo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful and the food was incredible, only issue we had was one patron brought in a dog without service markings or vests and it sat in her lap the entire time. Unless it is a service animal it should not be allowed in a restaurant. As she was petting the dog a couple booths over from us all we could think about was there's hair flying in our food. Service animals are trained for a purpose and to preform tasks, I have never seen a service animal sitting in a lap and not on the floor. It is possible the animal was a service dog, but without the vest it points to immediate judgement of people thinking they can do what they want with their dogs.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two leg quarters with no sides for $45.0 ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Two leg quarters with no sides for $45.00, absolutely rediclious. After spending over 100.00 for dinner a person should not be hungry a half of an hour later. The Seasons resturant across the street was much better. I was not impressed by The Capital Grille at all. My chicken was on even that good. Happy Birthday to me *sigh*

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Exceptional customer service, as always! ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Exceptional customer service, as always! The Capital Grille is my favorite restaurant in Jacksonville to celebrate a special and important moment in your life. I have had my son's graduation dinner, my daughters birthday and many other milestone events here and I have always been impressed with the service, the amazing food and beautiful ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great waiter and support staff.

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great waiter and support staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time celebrating my daugh ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a great time celebrating my daughter's college graduation. You had the generous pour special that was fabulous. The food was outstanding and the service was wonderful! We had a very memorable time with family and friends. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and great service.

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite part of every meal at Capit ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our favorite part of every meal at Capital Grill is the service we receive from Carlos. We ask for him every visit and it wouldn't be the same without him!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server ms. De bois was lovely and he ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our server ms. De bois was lovely and helpful.

We had a great meal .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Carlos is awesome!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Carlos is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service and ambiance , Outstanding ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food, service and ambiance , Outstanding ... Always outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attend Capital grill's Generous Pour ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We attend Capital grill's Generous Pour event a few times per season and we always enjoy the selection of wines. They were awesome this year as well. Esp the BV Tapestry. We request our favorite waitress Naomi and she is a pleasure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding, but even bette ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was outstanding, but even better was our service. Shay, our server, was wonderful. She ensured our din8ng was a special dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meisha was excellent, food was delicious ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Meisha was excellent, food was delicious. Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Generous Pour is a great way to try some ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Generous Pour is a great way to try some high end wines at a great price. It is also a fun way to enjoy with friends and compare reviews! Once we told the waitress that this was a special occasion with friends we wanted to catch up with, she slowed the pace for us and we were the last ones to leave! Wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We received personal, attentive service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We received personal, attentive service from the moment we arrived. Four of us were there to celebrate my 62nd birthday. The table was decorated with birthday confetti (tasteful) and a card. Our server, Alex, couldn't have been better. He started us off with an introduction to the wine selector IPAD - a fun tool. My husband had a martini just the way he likes it, too. The lobster bisque was delicious and included huge pieces of lobster (I think I had a complete claw in mine). We all selected steaks. The bone-in filet mignon was an excellent surprise addition to the menu. All steak and filet choices were large and delicious. Four of us shared 3 sides - lobster (lots of) macaroni and cheese (my daughter's favorite forever), grilled asparagus (also great) and a soy glazed Brussel sprouts dish that we will choose again. The 3 sides more than filled our plates and we were too full for dessert. However, I was thrilled to receive a spectacular Happy Birthday plate from the pastry chef - flourless expresso chocolate cake, whipped cream, berries, cheese cake with a creme brulee topping. There was enough for 4 people to have a taste or two of each, which was the perfect ending to our delicious meal. We will be back! Ask for Alex. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant gets it right! The steak ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant gets it right! The steak tartar was a little bit of a mess but when I walked in I was so impressed by the tables that were decorated with a lovely card, flower(s) and fun confetti to celebrate special occasions for their guests coming in that evening. Super impressed. Service is ALWAYS my biggest compliant or compliment. Our servers were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great evening. Dined at a table in the b ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great evening. Dined at a table in the bar area. Great ambience. Always a little more relaxed than the other areas of restaurant. Enjoyed the Generous Pour and Stoli Dolis. Meal was great. One of our steaks was done a little too well but our friend was presented with another full meal. Great service recovery.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

CG is a very special place, the food is ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

CG is a very special place, the food is outstanding, the service is over the top, management is on the floor actively and the place is awesome with great ambiance and elegant. Just a perfect restaurant for any occasion. The Lamb Chops are exceptional the Filet incredible and made perfectly to order. Excellent wine list, but you can bring your own for a corking fee. What else can you ask for, it's perfect!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we have been to capital grille many time ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

we have been to capital grille many times for lunch and dinner but this was the best ever--the food, lamb, steak, lobster, soup, and the desserts were all fantastic!!! Of course, we will be back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome meal. Great food + terrific wait ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Awesome meal. Great food + terrific waitress. Frequent visitor; consistently great food + service. Never disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tabitha is the best server.. we always r ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Tabitha is the best server.. we always request her and love talking to her as we dine. She is so wonderful and attentive. The restaurant and manager was very kind as well. It was so nice of her to come over and check on everything. We love it here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a nice dinner celebrating my ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We enjoyed a nice dinner celebrating my wife's birthday. Our food and service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my wife's birthday here an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday here and it was wonderful. The food was outstanding and the service was attentive. Our server, Bill, answered questions patiently and definitely made a special occasion even better. I highly recommend the Capital Grille!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Together with my best friends, we celebr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Together with my best friends, we celebrated a birthday on July 7, 2016. Birthdays are always special at Capital Grille and the staff is outstanding every time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything about Capitol Grill is tops! ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything about Capitol Grill is tops! We come often and especially like the Lobster salad and salmon salad but everything is good,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Outstanding experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille is outstanding! The food ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Capital Grille is outstanding! The food and service are second to none.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.