About The Capital Grille - Jacksonville

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in St. Johns Town Center.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5197 Big Island Drive, St. Johns Town Center
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm – 9:00pm, Monday - Thurs. 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J. Turner Butler Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 997-9233

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Jared Gilbert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Business Meals (28)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Romantic (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Private Room (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Seasonal (7)
Authentic (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (5)
Cozy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Always great food @ Capital Grille. Never a disappointment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great environment. The service was great

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

very good food... and great waiter . bill was hi name.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Great time with hubby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place, our dinner was perfect. The porterhouse cooked to perfection and a great choice of sides. Our sever Joy was fantastic and very knowledgeable of the options. Overall a great experience. I also like the complementary valet parking and the fact you can request your car before you leave and will be waiting as you leave.

Tags: Private Room, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and service were equally fantastic. It was one of the best steaks I have ever had. The price is not for the faint of heart though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Overall great quality of service and food. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely outstanding! Food was excellent! Service was nice. Ambience was very pleasent, dinned outside when weather and temperature was perfect, and noise level was minimal, compared to practically intolerable inside.

I would recommend to anyone, for any occasion, just be prepared for the high demand and noisy environment inside.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Love to have lunch in the lounge.

Food always great.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 8, 2017

When in Jax, I always opt for this location for a predictably enjoyable business lunch. The food is always high quality with good portions, nicely plated. The servers are quite attentive, always seem to anticipate your needs. The one competitive advantage CG has is that you can carry on a table conversation with out having to filter out the din from other diners or canned music being piped in. A solid safe bet on many levels. True test, I'll be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Our server was professional and very service oriented. We enjoyed our dinner as we celebrated my wife's birthday with great friends. One of our favorite places to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Overall good experience. Value was not great 2 cocktails for $30. And bone in filet was probably less actual meat than the regular filet for $12 more. Also the filet was well undercooked. Don't get me wrong, good dinner but you expect to be wowed. Service from Bill was top notch, but quality of entrees and salad was not in line with expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

From the time we arrived at the table with friends the server was on top of it all. It was my birthday and the service was outstanding. The steaks were properly prepared. The "birthday dessert" was excellent. The pace of the delivery of the food was very good.

Candace, the server, did a great job and I would recommend her to people who go to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went to celebrate our 10-year wedding anniversary; had to wait 10 minutes for our table even though we had a reservation which they had called to confirm twice. We were seated at a table right next to the open kitchen area -- not exactly cozy. Moved to a private room which was nice. In addition to the appetizers and steak that my husband ordered, I ordered a porcini-rubbed filet medium and the scalloped potatoes as one of our sides. My steak arrived over done and the potatoes arrived "al dente"! We sent both back and my steak came back rare on round #2. I sent it back a second time and when it came back I decided to just eat it because it was getting late at this point. The steak was the same steak i had just tested so it had a huge gash in it which eventually made that part of the steak over done. The rub was also missing. We decided to cancel the potatoes since they never made it back to the table. Our server and management were very attentive and concerned but I would have expected more from a high-end steak house.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing food and service consistently!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Had a wonderful time and Amanda, our server was great! Thanks!

Lucinda Kennedy

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Took clients at their request and food came out cold. Manager apologized and replaced cold food w undercooked burger.

Never had a bad experience at CG until now. Eat at Sarasota and Fort Lauderdale locations regularly - hope it was just a mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place but service was just bad with Joy the server.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

An exceptional evening with outstanding dining and service!!!

Loved the private room.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

All the staff in the bar and lounge were fabulous totally great experience customers loved the evening with Mary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We had excellent attentive service. The food was excellent and it was served timely. The wait staff was not overbearing and respected our space. I would recommend this location for just about any meal or accasion.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food, one of the best crab cakes i've ever had anywhere. The staff was friendly and they are well trained in the knowledge of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We come to Capital Grill a few times a year for special dinners...

While there's no doubt that the steaks are amazingly good, and the server was excellent, the ambiance is crowded, noisy and super busy feeling. Not the the place for a romantic dinner, though the establishment certainly tries. They're good, and the victim of their own success. I'd strongly suggest avoiding Friday & Saturday night.... it's a mob scene during peak hours.

Again, great food food, attentive service but just chaotically busy, crowded and noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The flavor and crust on the filet was outstanding! The side dishes and french onion soup didn't disappoint either. We also appreciated our down-to-earth waitress Olivia who provided excellent, friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Cold lobster. Sent it back came out hot. Over priced for what it was. Manager came to the table and was rude as he interrupted our conversation without saying excuse me. It came off as a stiff must do according to company rules. Not a sincerely presentation. We were not offered anything special for our troubles.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Bread was so hard you couldn't even break it. We were at the end of the lunch hour so we clearly received the end of the lunch version

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Capital Grill is one outstanding restaurant. Be assure you will always get a phenomenal meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The service was as always outstanding and the food very good in just the right amounts. Never a big fan of setting by the kitchen, especially on what looked to be a slow Monday night.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We try to go to Capitol Grille at least once or twice a year for a special occasion. It is always great and the service is great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Capital grille was great night out. Steaks were perfect and bar staff were great and very personable

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

As usual, the food was superb and the service was very efficient and expedient. Our waiter's personality was a little like a drill sergeant and a tad intimidating, but, that said, the service he and his assistant provided was very good. It's pricey, but I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food, exceptional service! What more can you ask for? The steaks were cooked perfectly, and everything was on point. I've never had a complaint. Just for reference, I never give a 5 star review with just one visit, so you know Capital Grille has measured up at least twice!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Thank you so much!!!! I truly enjoyed my birthday dinner!!!!!

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Carlos was an excellent server. Everything was prepared and presented nicely.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is about the 6th or 7th time I have dined at The Capital Grille and it was, by far, the best experience I have had and it was wonderful! If you like filet Mignon, as I do, do not miss the opportunity to have the bone-in filet! It was excellent! Our service team of Alex and Olivia were outstanding and made excellent suggestions. With appetizers, drinks and entrees for four, the total bill with a tip was $400. A little pricey, but well worth it this time. I have not been the biggest fan of TCG, but it exceeded my expectations this time. Great job, Alex and Olivia!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server, Meisha DuBois, was attentive and personable. She made our dining experience special. Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Made a reservation for NYE. Brought a wrong bottle of wine. The waiter never came back to refill our glasses. The restaurant could have made the NYE dinner special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve. Service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We always enjoy a dining here for special occasions. The food portions are more than ample for two people but easily boxed for take home. Being that it WAS New Year's eve, we were a little disappointed that the tables were not decorated with confetti or New Year's eve fun items, like a hat or a horn/noisemaker, since that's why we arranged to dine there...A special place to bring in the New Year. There were tables for anniversaries and birthdays decorated with confetti so I know it could have been done for New Year's Eve participants & would have made the festivities just a little more fun for New Year's Eve. It would have been a nice touch for those who took the time to make a reservation specifically to enjoy a holiday celebration there...Just to make it more of a celebratory event, as opposed to a nice dining out experience. It won't keep us from returning. Just little attention to details worth mentioning, imho

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best food in Jacksonville. Best service (Ryan) in Jacksonville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A very good top-end restaurant with the menu, of course, leaning toward meat. The porcini rubbed, balsamic glazed 22 ounce bone-in ribeye was tremendous, both in size, taste, and tenderness. The grilled fillet was tender and tasty. Both items were cooked exactly as we ordered (the ribeye was medium rare plus, not easy to do correctly). The sides of grilled mushrooms and fingerling potatoes were also very good. Our server Shawn and her assistant Stephen were a combination of class, service, professionalism, and friendliness. Save up your money (if you have to) and eat here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great experience! Great food and great service! Worth the money!

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outstanding evening! Everything was good - and as to the food - generous portions/ well seasoned/ well prepared and well served.

Always a great evening @ Capital Grille.

RBT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service!! Salmon salad was great, as well. Not much for youngsters though.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful b'day dessert to help us celebrate our granddaughter's 23rd b'day.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always a pleasure on every level! The food, atmosphere and service are excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were celebrating my husbands birthday with friends and the food and service was outstanding . It's pricey evening for certain with truffle fries being 11.00 and my GLASS of wine $29.00 , however everything was above average and the evening was perfect ! Our server was as close to perfect as you could ask for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great experience. Great food, and our waiter was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.