About The Capital Grille - Jacksonville

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in St. Johns Town Center.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5197 Big Island Drive, St. Johns Town Center
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm – 9:00pm, Monday - Thurs. 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J. Turner Butler Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 997-9233

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Jared Gilbert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Romantic (24)
Business Meals (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Private Room (7)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Healthy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

We had an enjoyable dining experience. We had our two grandsons with us and were warmly greeted by the hostess and seated quickly. Adam our server provided exraordinary attentive and friendly service throughout our evening. We enjoyed the salad and shrimp cocktail appetizers. The kid's filet was excelllent as were the surf and turf entrees. The lobster mac and cheese is always a hit with our one grandson. Overall and excellent dinner experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We always do our Birthdays and anniversary at your Capitol Grill...This is the first time we felt everthing was top notch. Our server Mr Doyle made it a beautiful evening. Hope he will be there the next time we arrive...we will ask for him. We plan to come back in June for no special reason..You do have the best steaks in town...thumps up!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A bit pricey for the small entree. I had the Sea Bass and it was maybe 3" long and 2" thick. At $44.00 not worth it. Waiter and assistant waiter were great.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Pushed to the back room even with advanced reservations for special occasion

Food was not hot and meat over cooked Even the drawn butter was not hot

Brussel sprouts was very good

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Capital Grille has always been one of the BEST in Jacksonville for dinner. They just do it right.
I really LOVE dining here. They put the "SPECIAL" in special occasions. Just AWESOME!
Larry M

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Staff was Awesome! Joy was helpful and familiar with lunch selections. Best Placefor Fine Dining - Jacksonville

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were in Jacksonville for the Players Championship golf tournament and made plans at capital grill for dinner. Our waiter was fantastic. He was attentive to our every need. Perfectly cooked steaks and we were provided with a complimentary desert. Terrific evening

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

WAY, way behind schedule....almost cam across like they purposely overbooked for revenue. When you make a reservation, it shouldn't take 45 minutes to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Sad to say this might be our last trip to the restaurant. Our evening started out wonderful, the hostess staff were great, Amanda the bartender was fantastic and our table was perfect. Then the evening went south. For a fine dining establishment people were being seated in shorts and flip flops. Our waiter was running around in a panic and the whole timing of the meal was wrong. The appetizers were the best part. The steaks were dry and looked like they were plated by a 2 year old. The famed lobster Mac and cheese barely had any lobster. We frequent this restaurant for special occasions and this is not what we expected. Not once did a manager come up and congratulate our anniversary or ask how our meal was. Very disappointing, could have had a better dinner at Outback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was impeccable. The food was well presented but certainly nothing spectacular. I thought $50 for a $9 bottle of wine was a bit outrageous. My biggest complaint though was the noise level. Not where you want to go for conversation. While an above average restaurant, not worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Had a birthday celebration at lunch ant it was fantastic. I had the filet sliders with truffle fries and oyster bisque all of which was terrific. Others had the filet, which looked perfect. Service was excellent - there to take care of us but never interfering with our special time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had great food and great service at the Capital Grille.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Another great evening in Jax with friends, the seating outside is so nice this time of year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

One person in our party her food was not cooked properly. We just mentioned it wasn't right. The manager came over took the steak boxed it up for her to take home fixed her a new one done properly and didn't charge us for it at all. AMAZING customer service!! Will definitely go back just for the service alone. Food was spectacular once mistake was corrected. Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My wife and I were there for our 26th anniversary, we have eaten here many times before. I've even hosted my company Christmas parties here and have spent thousands on the bill. They sat us but no one came to wait on us. After about 10 minutes someone came up and asked us had we been taken care of, of course the answer was no, but I understood, its busy and at 7:00 on a Saturday night this can happen. From that point forward our service was very good, and our waitress was very attentive. However my wife's steak and our mushrooms came out burnt. I don't mean kind of burnt I mean ruined. I couldn't believe they delivered it to the table. I took pictures of it because I could not believe it. She ordered it medium, pink in the center and they brought it out past well done. By the time I was done eating they brought her another steak which was done right this time but needless to say I ate alone and so did she. I could have waited for her but then my steak would have gotten cold. I assumed they would comp her meal but they did nothing but apologize. Apologies are all fine and good but when you ruin someone's meal you comp that portion. I can assure you we will never dine at Capital Grille again. They could have comped her meal for ruining it the first time but they chose to lose a customer instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

i love it and a server was great. steak was amazing

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

What a wonderful anniversary. The restaurant decorated our table for us and everyone from the food runners to the manager knew our names and wished us a happy anniversary. Kelley made us feel like we were her only guests and we felt as if we were VIP's. We came back to the Capital Grille because we had our first date there and it has never disappointed us no matter which location. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent Job. This restaurant runs like a coordinated team. Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amazing food and superb staff! This restaurant was the best part of my food experience while on vacation in Jacksonville, FL.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We love to go to Capital Grille for our special occasions, even if that occasion is just spending time with friends we haven't seen in a while. This time though our seating was near the kitchen and bussing table. It was not the same quiet environment but he good was fantastic, as always!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We used to live in Las Vegas and the food at that particular Capital Grill was very good. My wife's meal was okay at best but at the price they charge, it was not worth it. I had the salmon and it was just okay. A little on the dry side and not a lot of flavor. Server was very good but no one can make up for less than great food. Way over priced and because of this experience, for sure, I would never go back. Way to pricy for the quality of food they serve. We were really disappointed as we were so looking forward to eating there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food is great as is the ambiance. Good for special occasions

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family made a reservation for Easter brunch. This was our first time..the wait once we arrived was fairly short.
We placed our order for the appetizer which seemed like forever...then the entree was just as long to get to us. My husband got up to check and the server was on the way with our food. Prior to that the waitress had come to see why we did not have our appetizer. Well the food arrived not prepared the way we ordered. My husband likes his steak medium rare..it came medium well..my daughter ordered the mini burgers no cheese and fries she got cheeseburgers and mashed potatoes. They did fix the orders and the manager came over to apologize and he also comped the entire meal. That was really surprising that he would do that being that the meal would have cost over $100.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The staff is incredible only to be topped off by an exquisite menu. The food was excellent and cooked perfectly. The wait staff actually made a point to make sure the steaks were cooked to the correct temperature. An all around tremendous dining experience. Highly recommend to anyone questioning it and we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great service and great food. They were on top of everything. Our server, Sheila (?), was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our appetizer order was wrong but replaced with the correct order. The steaks were not cooked to order twice. The sides were cold and looked as if they were prepared that morning and left out all day.

The lobster bisque was the only thing we ate after spending nearly 2 hours at the restaurant waiting for the food to be cooked correctly, which never happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Capital Grille never disappoints. Food and service always terrific.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

20 minutes late getting seated for our 7:00 reservation. Otherwise very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was excellent and our waiter was so attentive and wonderful!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

As always, we had a very pleasant evening dining with friends. Steak, lobster and salmon all delicious.
Great server, Alex.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 2, 2017

TREMENDOUS service by our waitress Tabitha. Cook and the manager came by to personally say hello. Over all wonderful experience.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The service is amazing. Food is delicious, but be ready to spend some money. It is not inexpensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Celebrated our sons birthday and graduation from JFRD. They rolled out the red carpet for him. Our waiter Alex Davalos was absolutely fantastic! Thank you Capital Grille for making our experience so memorable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Waiter was a little too busy to give us prompt service. Very good when he could find time to spend with us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The Capital Grille is my favorite restaurant - the food is always amazing, the service is spectacular, and you'll never find a better steak anywhere! Try the prosciutto wrapped mozzarella starter - you won't be sorry!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It's my second time dining, I'm not a big steak person but I loved the steaks. Extremely tender and seasoned perfectly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our experience was outstanding at Capital Grille! We will most certainly be back. Our server was great and paid close attention to detail on my birthday! 5 stars!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A Truly outstanding experience, yet again!! Wine list (iPAD based) was exceptional, menu diverse and well presented by the waiter, and the service was some of the best I have seen in the last 20 years! Not inexpensive, but you know that going in, and the truly SUPERB service makes it worth the cost!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Never been disappointed with this restaurant , best steak in town .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary dinner at The Capital Grille and were pleased to find a decorated table for us. Sheryl was wonderful capturing a photo of the evening and also brought us a special appetizer and dessert to cap the night off. All around wonderful dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.