About The Capital Grille - Jacksonville

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in St. Johns Town Center.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5197 Big Island Drive, St. Johns Town Center
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm – 9:00pm, Monday - Thurs. 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J. Turner Butler Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 997-9233

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Jared Gilbert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Report a photo problem

The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
N.Y. Strip Au Poivre - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Dry Aged Ny Strip (Steak) - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Bread Basket - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Caesar (Salad) - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Sam's Mashed Potatoes  - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Dry Aged Sirloin W/ Fried Egg - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Coconut Cream Pie - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Pan Seared Seabass - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Fried Calamari - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Parmesan Truffle Fries - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Salted Caramel Ice Cream - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Lobster Bisque - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
T-bone steak - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Filet Migno - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Heirloom Tomato Mousse - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Creamed Corn - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Spinach Salad - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Check - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL
Hazelnut Chocolate Cake - The Capital Grille - Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Notable Wine List (26)
See All
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for a Date (26)
Business Meals (25)
Romantic (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Private Room (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Seasonal (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Carlos was an excellent server. Everythi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Carlos was an excellent server. Everything was prepared and presented nicely.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is about the 6th or 7th time I have ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is about the 6th or 7th time I have dined at The Capital Grille and it was, by far, the best experience I have had and it was wonderful! If you like filet Mignon, as I do, do not miss the opportunity to have the bone-in filet! It was excellent! Our service team of Alex and Olivia were outstanding and made excellent suggestions. With appetizers, drinks and entrees for four, the total bill with a tip was $400. A little pricey, but well worth it this time. I have not been the biggest fan of TCG, but it exceeded my expectations this time. Great job, Alex and Olivia!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Meisha DuBois, was attentive ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server, Meisha DuBois, was attentive and personable. She made our dining experience special. Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Made a reservation for NYE. Brought a wr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Made a reservation for NYE. Brought a wrong bottle of wine. The waiter never came back to refill our glasses. The restaurant could have made the NYE dinner special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

New Year's Eve. Service was exceptional ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve. Service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy a dining here for specia ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We always enjoy a dining here for special occasions. The food portions are more than ample for two people but easily boxed for take home. Being that it WAS New Year's eve, we were a little disappointed that the tables were not decorated with confetti or New Year's eve fun items, like a hat or a horn/noisemaker, since that's why we arranged to dine there...A special place to bring in the New Year. There were tables for anniversaries and birthdays decorated with confetti so I know it could have been done for New Year's Eve participants & would have made the festivities just a little more fun for New Year's Eve. It would have been a nice touch for those who took the time to make a reservation specifically to enjoy a holiday celebration there...Just to make it more of a celebratory event, as opposed to a nice dining out experience. It won't keep us from returning. Just little attention to details worth mentioning, imho

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best food in Jacksonville. Best service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best food in Jacksonville. Best service (Ryan) in Jacksonville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very good top-end restaurant with the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A very good top-end restaurant with the menu, of course, leaning toward meat. The porcini rubbed, balsamic glazed 22 ounce bone-in ribeye was tremendous, both in size, taste, and tenderness. The grilled fillet was tender and tasty. Both items were cooked exactly as we ordered (the ribeye was medium rare plus, not easy to do correctly). The sides of grilled mushrooms and fingerling potatoes were also very good. Our server Shawn and her assistant Stephen were a combination of class, service, professionalism, and friendliness. Save up your money (if you have to) and eat here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience! Great food and great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great experience! Great food and great service! Worth the money!

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding evening! Everything was good ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outstanding evening! Everything was good - and as to the food - generous portions/ well seasoned/ well prepared and well served.

Always a great evening @ Capital Grille.

RBT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service!! Salmon salad was great, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service!! Salmon salad was great, as well. Not much for youngsters though.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you for the wonderful b'day desser ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful b'day dessert to help us celebrate our granddaughter's 23rd b'day.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure on every level! The f ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always a pleasure on every level! The food, atmosphere and service are excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating my husbands birthday ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were celebrating my husbands birthday with friends and the food and service was outstanding . It's pricey evening for certain with truffle fries being 11.00 and my GLASS of wine $29.00 , however everything was above average and the evening was perfect ! Our server was as close to perfect as you could ask for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. Great food, and our wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great experience. Great food, and our waiter was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent our server was amazing

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent our server was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the food. The only thing is ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We enjoyed the food. The only thing is the service is slow. It takes forever to get what what you ask for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

My wife and I went to Capital Grille for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I went to Capital Grille for our Anniversary (35), while visiting Jax. It was a great choice, the food was excellent, the service was outstanding, and the table location was perfect, away from it all. Very quiet and private. It made the evening very special and memorable. We enjoyed it tremendously. Recommend it highly for special occasions.

Tags: , Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been going to this location sinc ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We have been going to this location since it opened. Our review has always been high. However, our most recent dinner here was not up to The Capitol Grille standard. First, did not like the parking. Apparently it has been taken over by a service that uses an app. Not very personal. Second, the hostess proceeded to take us to our table but stopped midway next to two tables because our table was not ready. It was very awkward standing there. Third, our server, when he finally came over, was way tooo polite. Thank you for everything we said or did. Annoying after awhile. Fourth, our appetizers arrived before our drinks. Fifth, the appetizer ( prosciutto wrapped mozzarella ) was overcooked, burnt. The tuna was smelly and fishy. Sixth, the entrees, steaks and seafood, were not great. No, the steaks were bad. And the seafood was fishy. Very disappointing evening. Did Capitol Grille change management??? Ugh, if not, they need to.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Post Christmas family time. Had a specia ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Post Christmas family time. Had a special needs eater and all requests were accommodated with ease. Always a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve dinner

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to the Capital Grill ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have been coming to the Capital Grille for years to celebrate our anniversary. We always felt like royalty except for this year. Every year before we were given a glass of champagne after being seated and this year we received none. Although most of the food was wonderful my steak took extra long and was still not cooked the way I had ordered it. We only received a quick apology from the MOD stating there were some issues in the kitchen and that was why food was taking longer than normal. Not sure why my steak came out under cooked since it took extra time. I guess our expectations were very high since we choose to come there every year and have had such wonderful experiences in the past.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Sheryl was our server and she did an out ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Sheryl was our server and she did an outstanding job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The lunch special included beef tenderlo ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The lunch special included beef tenderloin sliders. Beef tenderloin was cooked in round chunks and when you bit into it the chef had not remove the silver skin is moving a lot and I mean a lot of senior to get stuck in between your teeth that shouldn't happen. Next the spoon for coffee was still crowded with leftovers from the washing machine that shouldn't happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding as usual and ou ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food was outstanding as usual and our server Carlos was nothing but phenomenal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was outstanding, food prepare ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The dinner was outstanding, food prepared perfectly, service impecable, great ambiance everything was perfect. We love the place and always enjoy the experience. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and they made it more special with very nice surprises! Lovely evening!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our food was excellent and waitress very ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our food was excellent and waitress very sweet, but there was nobody in the restaurant but yet the food was SO slow to get out. I have never had this experience there but it took at least 20 minutes from ordering to get salads/appetizers and then another 30 to get entrees. We got there at 7:15 and didn't get desserts until 10pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Everything was excellent. The waitress w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything was excellent. The waitress was very friendly and professional. The ambiance was nice. Girls night out was a complete success and everyone was happy!

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dinner , Awesome Service , Beaut ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Amazing Dinner , Awesome Service , Beautiful Setting I really enjoyed myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, needed to adjust my ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was excellent, needed to adjust my reservation time and they were more than willing to make that happen on a Friday night. Over all impressed and would recommend this location to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for a meal for one whilst on a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Came here for a meal for one whilst on a business trip. Excellent food, mostly good service, but I was left waiting for my check for 20 minutes whilst being ignored by the servers - a little disappointing.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I have always enjoyed Capital Grille for ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I have always enjoyed Capital Grille for their lunch. However, the food is fair and the price is high. The soup was ok, the tenderloin was good but the service was very slow on this date. I think it will be a while before I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Will not return. The Manager Jose terri ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Will not return. The Manager Jose terrible. Can't say anything nice so I will not go back !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Absolutely the best restaurant...delicio ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Absolutely the best restaurant...delicious food, excellent service and always makes the diner feel extra special.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, , Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Capital Grille but this lunch was ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I love Capital Grille but this lunch was not the same as others. During lunch, it took 50 minutes from seating to receiving our food. Which meant we had to eat fast to make it out on time. Also, my food temperature was lukewarm. Not the special lunch I was hoping to have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

5 star, always great service...and my wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 8, 2016

5 star, always great service...and my waitress Jennifer.. outstanding

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are so lucky to have a high class res ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We are so lucky to have a high class restaurant like the capital grill here in Jacksonville. We had a wonderful experience. It was worth every penny and more. The service was exceptional. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak cooked perfect, service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent steak cooked perfect, service like no other, desert the best!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The table right next to us add a loud c ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The table right next to us add a loud computer presentation running of a hernia surgery – It was very distracting and inappropriate for a dining experience

When the food arrived the waiter realized he had not put in our clients food order. After sitting for 10 minutes waiting on his order we finally started eating. There was no attempt to turn the business dinner or outing around by management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Very accommodating for one of our group ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Very accommodating for one of our group who is on a very strict diet for health reasons, although the options for our vegetarian were not too great.

Most of us opted for seafood, which was excellent.

Great staff, very attentive without being overly intrusive.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.