About The Capital Grille - Jacksonville

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in St. Johns Town Center.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5197 Big Island Drive, St. Johns Town Center
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am – 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 5:00pm – 9:00pm, Monday - Thurs. 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday 4:00pm – 11:00pm, Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J. Turner Butler Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 997-9233

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Jared Gilbert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

We invite you to make our dining room yours on Thanksgiving Day. Alongside our full menu, we'll be offering our Executive Chef's take on Thanksgiving favorites.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (35)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Good for Birthdays (33)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Romantic (26)
Good for Groups (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Bar Seating (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Cozy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Authentic (7)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (6)
People Watching (6)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort by
S
1329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

I was so excited to go to Capital Grille as the one in Pennsylvania was so amazing. But to my surprise it was just average filet mignon. Should have chose a different birthday venue.

I did like how they brought out a happy birthday plate ..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was good, but I was disappointed in my steak. I ordered a NY Strip medium rare. It came medium/medium well. I was hungry so I didn't send it back, but for the price, the steak was tough and not tender. I thought it was over priced for the quality of the steak. The vegetables were delicious and the best part of the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

A really great restaurant that I wouldn’t mind going back to when the pockets recover lol

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding, Bill was attentive to our needs, his recommendations were spot on and the food was clearly The in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Raw food. Terrible service one of the worst meals ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Food and service was very good tonight We were seated in a side room which was very loud and unpleasant. Capital Grille is a terrific steak restaurant but the atmosphere overshadowed the experience this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

This is where you want to take that special person… Birthdays, anniversaries, holidays, business celebrations. I felt like I was treated like royalty! Our party of 9 had a blast! Thank you to the entire staff!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Greatest lunch, so enjoyable...waitress was excellent, service was excellent and delicious lunch. Thanks!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2017

We had dinner for 11, and two waitresses. They were both very good and very friendly, but tended to disappear for long periods which I could not understand because they were not that busy.
Other than that one thing and the lack of black napkins for those wearing black, the service was fine and there were no complaints about the food. I'd say that is pretty good for 11 separate meals coming out all at once to a group of foodies.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Amazing as usual. Adam at the town center in Jax is the best!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Our date night was beautiful. The atmosphere was nice and our server, Evan, was fantastic. His recommendations were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Capital Grille never disappoints! Jason gave excellent service and the food was impeccable!!!! The lobster is well worth the market price and the grapefruit back cocktail was AMAZING. The lobster bisque, filet and sides are ALL delicious....even the bread selection impresses! Thank you CG!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2017

The South African lobster was the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We had an exceptional experience as this was our anniversary dinner and the staff at Capital Grill really went above and beyond with every detail. The flavors were delicious and the service was outstanding. Definitely not our normal spending for a night out but well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Steaks were excellent and prepared to your specifications, I would not recommend the deserts they leave alot to be desired.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Our server Charles made our evening, which was a long time coming, even more special with his superior service, kind and approachable demeanor, and perfect timing.
The food was spectacular, the wine was perfect, and the atmosphere was a wonderful break from our busy lives.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 26, 2017

in Jacksonville. Great food, varied menu, fantastic wine selections.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Excellent in all areas. Bill was very attentive and provided excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Outstanding, elegant and a most in high end restaurants!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

We arrived a few minutes early for a 6:00 reservation and received a friendly, warm greeting from the hostess and were immediately seated. Our water glasses were promptly filled and within a few minutes Lindsey arrived at the table to take our drink order. From pre-dinner cocktails through dessert the service provided by Lindsey was timely, complete, friendly and just top notch. The food was prepared as ordered and was delicious. A wonderful evening of celebration enjoyed by me, my wife and our son. Capital Grille never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 19, 2017

The food was overpriced, cold, overcooked and the portions were very small.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 16, 2017

We had an enjoyable dinner experience, All of our menu selection were excellent. We had the filets, lobster mac and cheese, shrimp cocktail, asparagus and brussel sprout salad. Our server Sara was attentive and ensured we were delighted with our dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2017

It was amazing! And exceeded my expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Our server Shawn was outstanding, personable and made our experience enjoyable. The food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 12, 2017

As always the service was flawless and the food was amazing. This was a first date and our waiter was very careful to provide excellent service and yet not be intrusive. He was great!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2017

As usual a great meal with outstanding service...once the greeter finally figured out how to seat our party.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Went for this years Sip n Savor jax - 3 course dinners $45or $55 pp. Started with New England clam chowder and wedge salad -both good. Usually chowder better of 2 but potatoes slightly undercooked this time. Entrees porcini balsamic tenderloin delicious and at $45 - great value. The bone-in New York strip Kona crusted with shallot cream sauce good but meat not as flavorful. The Sam’s mashed potatoes and green beans both delicious. Creme brûlée desserts good but very shallow so custard to crust ratio could have been better. Good, reasonable bottle of Cabernet. Enjoyable night. Waiter was a bit intrusive and solicitous -otherwise service very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Lobster was rubbery, oysters were small and old, salad was wilted and drowning in dressing. The steak was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Always a great experience at Capital Grille; management, staff, servers, etc.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Simply a phenomenal evening. Warm greeting upon arrival and seated immediately. We began with appetizers of lobster crab cakes and clam chowder. We both decided on steak as our main entree. Both steaks were prepared perfectly. Medium and medium well. Along with the steaks we had Brussel Spouts and Au Gratin potatoes. Service was exceptional. Our server ‘Alex’ was very attentive. He was well versed on all menu items and offered some amazing suggestions. One of those suggestions was a full lobster sautéed in butter. I took him up on that one. ‘Alex’ although very attentive, he was not intrusive. It was an amazing evening. What a fantastic restaurant to celebrate our fifteen year wedding anniversary. As part of our celebration we were treated to cheesecake and flourless chocolate cake. We both highly recommend Capital Grille for your special occasion.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We enjoyed the special restaurant week menu. The choices were very nice and it was a great value compared to the regular a la Carre menu. I got the 8 oz Filet and asked for it to be prepared Kona encrusted for a bit extra charge. It was prepared perfectly. It had a wonderful flavor and it was so tender, I could cut it with my fork. I truly enjoyed my birthday celebration.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

I am a world traveler and “know” of all restaurants in mayors city.

THIS PLACE IS SUPERB and at PAR with any other anywhere. I WAS SHOCKED TO SEE AND HAVE THIS RESTAURANT IN FLORIDA JACKSONVILLE.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Went here for lunch during restaurant week and was blown away by a great steak and fantastic creme brulee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

We went for out an anniversary. The lobster bisque was to watery as well as the taste. The bone in rib eye was cooked exactly as ordered but lacked flavor? Oddly a restaurant of the caliber did not have pepper mills and was not offered from our server. We also witnessed a server at the table next to use serve a shrimp cocktail on ice and the water poured in the guys lap.( the manager should have been called) The scallops were prepared perfectly. We did tell our server the spinach was gritty, but it was a nice treat for our dessert. Coffee would had been nice but was not offered? I wanted it to be so much better? Good... yes. Memorable...no.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Capital Grille raises the bar every time I dine there; no surprise we had an outstanding lunch!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Awesome service by Bill and his team. Food was prepared to our liking and the ambiance was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Amazing food! Great for special occasion only- prepare to empty your pockets!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Always sit in the bar , favorite bar staff in JAX !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.