Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Aziz Mountassar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Business Meals (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Romantic (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great for Lunch (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
People Watching (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent Anniversary Dinner! Thank you all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

I sent this directly to restaurant also. The only thing I have and forgot to put in review was that we asked for cold Patron shots. Bar staff could use a refresher on what a cold shot should be. Ours weren't close to cold. Still good but not cold. Had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

We are big fans of the Capital grille and for the last few years have gone there before Colts games for brunch. several times Very disappointed by the limited game day brunch menu that has been started. We will not be going there before Colts games anymore if this approach stays in place. Will still go there for dinner or lunch on other days. This review is only as regards the Colts game day lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Normally, we love our evening at Capital Grill. That was not the case this time. A Saturday night that was crazy busy, the generous pour event coupled with a rather young and not totally with it waiter meant we had an off evening. The generous pour was not so generous. We waited a lot for a pour. It took one hour until we ordered the main course, only to learn then that they were out of the halibut. I went with the porcini rubbed rib eye on the waiters recommendation. Disaster. $53 for a huge fatty piece of meat with no taste of porcini. We asked for a side of brussel sprouts and were given brussel sprout salads. The waiter made them complimentary and apologized. It was not a great dining experience.
We will try again but probably not on a weekend and we will definitely avoid this waiter.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

The very best steak in Indianapolis. Capital Grille hits every note, every time. Impeccable service, tremendous menu. Worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Service was impeccable. Food outstanding and served at the right time. Elegant dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was extremely overpriced for the quality of the food. The steak was less than average. The calamari appetizer to the tenderloin and lobster entree was unimpressive. They did have a wine tasting event going on. That was the best part of our experience. Also, Jose our server was amazing. He made the experience as enjoyable as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Birthday luncheon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This is just a wonderful place for fine dining. No two ways about it, it isn't cheap, but you do get incredibly prepared food and the very best service possible. This is the place for that special occasion where you want the very best, and you get it. I will always recommend the dry aged New York strip.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Went for a late lunch; had a delicious meal with family and friends with relaxing, quiet ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our experience at Capital Grille Indianapolis was no different than every other Capital Grill experience we've had – excellent. I informed them that I would have to leave the group early due to a sound check at Lucas Oil Stadium, and they accommodated my entree order first and delivered it within minutes of arrival. I had the seared salmon salad; food quality was excellent, as was the service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Thanks for lending me the umbrella and picking it up at the car!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Good food, good service, a little too noisy for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Very expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

It's my go-to place for sure. Always classic, excellent food and service from a professional staff.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Wow! Great food, knowledgeable server, and the generous pour selections were fabulous! Definitely returning before the Generous Pour option expires!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

All of the food we had at this dining experience was excellent. Our waiter Rick Gaede was very knowledgeable and friendly. They asked if we were celebrating an occasion and we were a getaway for the night to celebrate a birthday. They brought us complimentary champagne and dessert samples.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The evening was perfect ! Thanks to your wonderful staff for making sure everything was perfect

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Amazing service, food and ambience - couldn't have asked for a

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

great food and great service. Highly recommended! Next time we are i Indy we will go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

When we arrived the host congratulated us for our anniversary and led us to a festively decorated table.

Our server Bill Turner did everything possible to make our anniversary celebration special for us. He is everything that you would like in a server: prompt, helpful, informative and attentive.
In addition Bill is very knowledgeable about cooking. He knew how everything was prepared almost as if he cooked it himself.

The meal was spectacular. I had oysters, lamb chops, mashed potatoes and the most delicious Brussels sprouts I've ever had.

We topped it off with a celebratory dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food at Capital City Grille is simply delicious. I had an 8 oz filet mignon that was perfectly cooked, accompanied by melt in your mouth mashed potatoes and grilled asparagus with a tasty slight lemon flavor. This was simply one of the best meals I've had in a while. Our waiter was friendly, yet professional, and provided impeccable service. As this was a business lunch, he even asked up if we were in a hurry or had any time constraints. The food at Capital Grille is pricey, but the food is so good that it is worth it. That said, I prefer to go for business meals when I don't personally have to foot the bill. I've eaten here several times and never been disappointed or had a bad meal. I'll be going back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had an exceptional experience. The food was outstanding and our waitperson, Andrea, was attentive and responsive to all of our requests. Very pleased with our dinner and we plan to be back again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 30, 2017

First time visiting Capital Grille. Was an excellent experience. The food was excellent, cooked to correct temp/doneness. Great service! Travis B was our waiter and he did a great job and unexpectedly surprised us with a champagne toast and dessert on behalf of our special occasion evening. 5syar experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The Capital Grill Indianapolis decorated our table for my partner's 30th birthday and gave everyone free dessert. We felt very well taken care of, and the food is incredible!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I have been been to this Capitol many times but this was the first time my service was subpar. I kept forgetting I had a waiter since I rarely saw him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I enjoyed my special day! The waitress, food and staff were phenomenal!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The Capital Grille never disappoints! The food, ambiance, and service are first class.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We had a business lunch at this restaurant while visiting Indianapolis. Great location in downtown, valet parking. As always, consistently outstanding service and food. We are never disappointed with our time at Capital Grille.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 19, 2017

They made our special occasions perfect!!! Thanks team

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very nice Happy Birthday wishes to my friend. She was greeted by all from entering to departure. Lovely note and decorations on table and special dessert. Thanks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 14, 2017

exceeded our expectations except noise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Capital Grille never disappoints. Service and food was excellent in a beautiful atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I wanted to make our 38th anniversary special so we saw the Capitol Grill listed on the internet as top rated in INDY and it certainly was!! We were treated like a king and queen. The steaks were excellent and cooked perfectly. The waiter and staff were exceptional. The table was decorated special for us with a card from the staff and last but not least, a very special desert!! Yummy!! Thank you so much for making our day extra special!! Dave and Debbie F.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food and the service were great, as always: we value Capitol Grill for that! Only comment this time is that the temperature was very cold. One can't enjoy the great food, wine etc if freezing! This may have been because we were early and hardly any others were in the back room where we sat. Another time I'd like to be in the first room or the back if possible: they seemed a little warmer.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Capital Grille was fantastic. They made our 13th anniversary special, and our steaks were cooked to perfection. Best steak for the value imo! Awesome ambiance and nice and quiet, or the bar for less intimate setting. Great restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Wife's Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Again, perfect.

I don't usually like to eat sandwiches or burgers at business lunches, but the Lobster Roll was too good to pass up and it certainly didn't disappoint.

Fast becoming my favorite Indianapolis restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.