Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Troy Roberts

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (40)
Anniversaries (34)
BusinessMeals (32)
See All
GoodForDates (31)
Romance (27)
NotableWineList (26)
Birthdays (26)
QuietConversation (24)
PrePostTheatre (20)
BarSeating (13)
Foodies (12)
Groups (11)
WorthTheDrive (11)
Cozy (10)
Lunch (10)
CreativeCuisine (6)
PrivateRoom (6)
PeopleWatching (6)
VibrantBarScene (5)
HandcraftedCocktails (5)
SundayLunch (5)
NeighborhoodGem (4)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
ComfortFood (3)
Brunch (3)
TastingMenu (3)
Historic (3)
Healthy (3)
HappyHour (3)
PaleoFriendly (3)
HotSpot (2)
ModernDecor (2)
ChildFriendly (2)
AfternoonCoffee (2)
LateNightFind (2)
GlutenFree (2)
Casual (1)
AfternoonTea (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
DisabledAccess (1)
OutdoorDining (1)
Seasonal (1)
GreatBeer (1)
Sort By:
S
1612 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

I enjoyed my special day! The waitress, food and staff were phenomenal!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

The Capital Grille never disappoints! The food, ambiance, and service are first class.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a business lunch at this restaurant while visiting Indianapolis. Great location in downtown, valet parking. As always, consistently outstanding service and food. We are never disappointed with our time at Capital Grille.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 19, 2017

They made our special occasions perfect!!! Thanks team

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very nice Happy Birthday wishes to my friend. She was greeted by all from entering to departure. Lovely note and decorations on table and special dessert. Thanks.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great service!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I wanted to make our 38th anniversary special so we saw the Capitol Grill listed on the internet as top rated in INDY and it certainly was!! We were treated like a king and queen. The steaks were excellent and cooked perfectly. The waiter and staff were exceptional. The table was decorated special for us with a card from the staff and last but not least, a very special desert!! Yummy!! Thank you so much for making our day extra special!! Dave and Debbie F.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food and the service were great, as always: we value Capitol Grill for that! Only comment this time is that the temperature was very cold. One can't enjoy the great food, wine etc if freezing! This may have been because we were early and hardly any others were in the back room where we sat. Another time I'd like to be in the first room or the back if possible: they seemed a little warmer.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Capital Grille was fantastic. They made our 13th anniversary special, and our steaks were cooked to perfection. Best steak for the value imo! Awesome ambiance and nice and quiet, or the bar for less intimate setting. Great restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Wife's Birthday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Again, perfect.

I don't usually like to eat sandwiches or burgers at business lunches, but the Lobster Roll was too good to pass up and it certainly didn't disappoint.

Fast becoming my favorite Indianapolis restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The Chilean sea bass was excellent! The filet was ordered as medium rare -- arrived as medium to medium well. A new steak was delivered, but by then the sides were cold and my husband had filled up on my remaining seafood. They were extremely apologetic and accommodating, though - they comped my cocktail, my lobster bisque, the filet and our two desserts. We were extremely pleased with their level of professionalism and their concern for our satisfaction. If we lived in the area, we would definitely return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food was good, they listed 3 wine and brandy selctions that they were out of. We had Hyde Park the next night and thought it was a complete package. Capital let us down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Good service and wonderful food. Men's restroom lacked hand towels on our arrival, which was reported promptly. 2 hrs later still unresolved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 22, 2017

My friend and I have celebrated our close birthdays for over ten years at The Capital Grille. As always, the food was excellent, the service was superb, and the ambiance excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 22, 2017

As always the food was on point, unfortunately the service was uncharacteristically weak this evening. Restaurant was half full at 8 on a Sunday - taken to a two top at the end of the row, clearly a bad table and not necessary to use it given the other tables free around, asked if we could have another table. Bread was 'coming' for 15 minutes. Drink order taken after 15 minutes. Water empty a half a dozen times. We had our order taken by a server in a different section as I imagine he could see we had been ready for some time. Asked if we needed anything when the food came out - asked for a sauce - it never came.

First time this has happened while dining here, I hope it doesnt happen again as there are so many good steak options downtown.

Like I said at the beginning. Food was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Bone in fillet was great. Brussel sprout salad was nasty. Really. Nasty. Lobster was really good until I got to the thickest part and then it was undercooked. They gave us desert to compensate for this and I would still consider it great. Horribly loud when we were there. A big group was in the same room. Lots to choose from in Indy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here for a date night. It is definitely more of a special occasion or date night restaurant. The food is pretty pricey. Loved the ambiance and décor of the restaurant. Lighting was really nice. Bathrooms were exceptional. Our food was delicious. We got a shrimp appetizer that was very tasty. I ordered the Clam Chowder. Nothing special. Just normal clam chowder. My boyfriend and I shared the 24 oz Porterhouse and mashed potatoes. The food and sides are all ala carte. However, the sides are definitely enough for two people to share. Everything we ordered was delicious. Our server was extremely attentive and made sure our drinks were always full and we never needed anything. We will definitely plan to come back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had a group of 7 for dinner. It was a business celebration after we got through a tough week. The food was outstanding and the server, Bill, was very nice and helpful. However, dinner took 3.5 hours which was a little excessive. We did not take a long time deciding, but even getting our drinks took half an hour which was surprising since there were only a hand full of tables that were occupied when we sat down at 6:00. To receive our dessert took 40 minutes. While we enjoyed the time together, it was a little lengthy for a group dinner. Bill did apologize for the delay several times and indicated that he appreciated our patience. There was a large table across the room from us that was so noisy and loud that it certainly impacted other guests enjoyment of their dinner. Overall the food was fantastic, however the service and length of time was frustrating for a $175 dinner for one person.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Ambiance-lovely old world style, food delicious, service was good but not great, surprising, as our early reservation was pre-dinner rush. Our waiter was personable and knowledgeable.
We've experienced 5star restaurants around the world.
We were a bit disappointed with the overall experience compared to the higher prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The service was not the best. We asked for a few things more than once like our kids drinks and actually never got any more bread. We dined early bc we had our kids and it seems like it took a while to get our food. The server was very good with our kids and the food was delicious! I think it may have just been an off time for the server and his helper. We will go back for the food and atmosphere for sure!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

An excellent steak house with great service. There are interesting cocktails and excellent wine.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We love the atmosphere as well as the food. We love to treat ourselves to breakfast out some where nice with great food.
At the Capital Grill, the food is wonderful, the servers are always attentive but not overly so.
We and our family have enjoyed many evening meals as well. The steaks are awesome! And the lobster mac and cheese is to die for!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The restaurant was crowded and so it was very noisy. Even with a small table, it was difficult to hear. The food was wonderful and our waiter was attentive.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Capital Grille, Indianapolis, has become our anniversary tradition ! Probably the most reliably outstanding restaurant I know.
For dinner, We enjoyed the calamari as an appetizer, very light and just a little spicy. My husband and I shared a delicious wedge salad, followed by AhiTuna for him and filet for me. Both were perfect. Our waiter, Alex, was very attentive and after dinner, surprised us with champagne and a scrumptious anniversary dessert. I hope we're always able to celebrate at the Capital Grille!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Jose was beyond awesome. He made our celebration very special. Will definitely go agin when we are in Indy

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Still the best breakfast food and dining room in Indianapolis or any other city for that matter.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Always reliable and service is efficient and friendly.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Four of us had a 4:30 reservation for dinner prior to a 7:30 concert on a Saturday. We were seated just off the bar area and were promptly attended to. We had three different steaks and one Chilean Sea Bass with appetizers and desserts. Everything was presented and prepared near perfection. Not an inexpensive dinner however it was worth every penny. Our first time at a Capital Grille and very pleased. I would highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was excellent. Started with the calamari and lobster bisque. Filets were cooked to order along with buttered lobster tails. Macaroni and cheese with lobster was very good but rich.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

An excellent choice for dinner. The food and the service were outstanding! I've visited Capital Grill every year for the past six years and it's always the same. Consistent. A very well managed restaurant indeed!!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Always my first choice when dining in Indy! Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was very slow and there were only 2 other tables of people. I think the chef was not there. No bread until our meal was served and food was just okay

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great menu and friendly and efficient service. As usual, everything was prepared and presented perfectly. We split an entrée and it was the perfect amount.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is our go to place. The bone in filet migon was excellent. Plus we had the cheddar potato soup, Caesar salad, potatos both kind. Staff was very attentive.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had an outstanding server that helped us with the exact food we were looking for. The wine selection was outstanding and it had all price options available for any budget.

I have been coming to this place for many years and having business meetings knowing the food will always be of the highest quality.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Classy traditional steak house, great location, great wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Capital Grill continues to be our family's favorite Indianapolis restaurant. The food is Outstanding and the service Impeccable......

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday brunch

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

What a wonderful Easter brunch! The prix-fixe menu had variety enough to please everyone in our party. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The steak was superb and my Dad asked me to book a reservation for his birthday. Perfect place for a holiday or special occasion. The quality of the food and pampered service are a treat worthy of special day with a comfortable atmosphere that you can enjoy anytime.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.