Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Aziz Mountassar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Business Meals (38)
Romantic (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Groups (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1687 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the only Capital Grille's that serves breakfast. If get the chance, tru the pepper steak hash skillet. Very nice flavor, had it two days in a row.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall, not worth the price paid -- Of what our table had, we would recommend the au gratin potatoes. Aside from that, the filets and apple crostata were average, at best. The atmosphere was quite noisy. For the price paid, there are better restaurants to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

I am a huge fan of The Capital Grille. As you can tell from my other visit across the county. When I travel I first look for a Capital Grille. The Grille in Indianapolis just missed the mark. The service was terrible and the food quality was just ok. When we ordered the meal the waiter completely forgot to bring the salad. They brought out the main course and then I asked what about the salad. He said my bad I can go get it right now. Well at this point the main course arrived and we just proceeded without the Ceaser Salad. It's a shame when the total bill is well over $500 and they just can't get the order right. They need to review their process in Indianapolis.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Excellent dinner. Atmosphere and service was 5 star.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was excellent and wait staff was attentive. Wine list was good. Went with a group of 8 and the experience was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Tasty lunch of burgers & salmon salad. Bread basket was excellent. Main challenge was a very noisy table of about 10 people nearby that detracted from The Capital Grille's usual dignified ambiance. The excessively loud laughter & conversation disrupted several tables & accounts for my "fair" rating for ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Jose was a great server and the food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Only slightly negative comment would be sound level of waiting area was loud enough to drown out conversation until the party was seated then became cozy.

This is a 5 star restaurant and you feel it from the beginning to the end.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Consistently excellent food with excellent service. As with most steak houses they are a bit pricy, with cocktails you should figure $100 per person or thee about. But for a good steak and good ambiance they hit all the right moves.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

We loved our server; he was attentive, respectful, interested, and informative. The food was delicious-the salmon was tender, moist, and flavorful; the cheesecake was airy and fresh with a light sugar glaze. Top notch in every way!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Four of us ate lunch at the Capital Grille before going to the Colts game. they had a brunch and also lunch menu ...two of us had salads with filet that was amazing and two had brunch items which were delicious!! ...service is awesome ...definitely five star!

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The server Omar was awesome , The hosts choice of A booth and is reserved personality have a lot to desire for a public upscale restaurant

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary! Our food was delicious and Donna was an amazing server!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great meals for all seven of us. Our server was exceptional and knew the menu and wine list.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Maybe it was because of Colts Sunday, but I thought the food was just okay. Main dishes were good, but potatoes on every plate seemed like they were over cooked, dry and made previously. Service was just okay, not great. We were created with..."The kitchen is very backed up" and I just don't feel it sends the right message. I am not one that complains.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Bone in Rib Eye is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was great. The food was great. Couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Best steak ever was the concensus of all six of us at the table. Wait staff was very attentive but unobtrusive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2017

From appetizers to entrees, cocktails to wine list, knowledgeable staff to high quality service, I have found no better fine dining restaurant in Indianapolis.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Wonderful service. The lobster brie mac & cheese wasn't on the lunch menu, but they gladly made it and my table was thankful I ordered it for us all. Super rich, while breaded lightly--the perfect mix of ingredients. Made a typical business lunch a bit more out of the ordinary.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I had the veal chop for a $55 entree I was sorely disappointed. I ordered it medium rare, it was badly charred, partially overdone on the edges and full of gristle besides being unusually small. I've had the chop at other Capital Grilles and was very satisfied. I should have sent it back but it took so l didn't want the rest of my party to have to wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always a dependable and consistent experience at the Grille. Best Lobster Mac N Cheese anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Food was great! Service was excellent (thank you Jordan!). Atmosphere is very cool.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We went to celebrate my birthday on Labor Day. Rachel was our server and she was fantastic. The table was decorated with colorful Italian candies and a birthday card signed by all. From start to finish I was made to feel like royalty!! The lobster bisque was unbelievable--delicious and full of huge chunks of lobster. I then had the lobster roll which was delicious. To end the celebration I was given a complimentary dessert platter with the flourless chocolate torte and the crème brulee cheesecake with HAPPY BIRTHDAY stenciled on the plate in chocolate. What a wonderful way to celebrate a birthday!! Thank you Capital Grille. You always do an amazing job!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great atmosphere and really good food. Couldn't beat the deal for Devour Indy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Ate here late night Friday....very accommodating staff moved our reservation back/forth for us as we were driving in and stuck in unexpected traffic. Server Nathan was a gem with his vast wine knowledge, and menu suggestions. Really had a great time, thanks Capital Grille!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Everything was amazing! We went for Devour Downtown and were blown away by the food. It was the best filet I have ever had. The mashed potatoes and green beans were yummy and the creme brûlée was to die for. The only thing that wasn't amazing was the ranch dressing on my wedge. The wedge itself was great, but the ranch was was to mayonnaisey. Service was great too! 100% we will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Always a first class experience. We will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I think the wine/cocktail list on an iPad is a bit too much of a stretch to integrate technology into the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I've eaten at the Capital Grill on a few occasions. Service is always very strong. I love their "truffle fries".... outrageously delicious...

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Over all everything was great! We will back again very soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Met some friends for the devour. Been there a few times and will be back again:)

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My friend and I decided on Capital Grill for our yearly devour Downtown, the service was beyond excellent, our waiter took great care of us from beginning to end, the food was superb we each had the filet mignon flavor was excellent and prepared just as we both ordered.
I would recommend this restaurant highly to anyone celebrating a special occasion are you just want an excellent meal, Capital Grill is the way to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Denise was our server. She was so much fun, helpful, and efficient. Great meal and good time.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Always good, one of our go to places for a dinner knowing you will always get a good meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

LOVE Capital Grille! You would be missing out if you didn't take advantage of the Generous Pour event! Our server Donna, is the best! We request her every time!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food was amazing as usual and our server was spectacular!!!!!⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I have never been disappointed with anything at The Capital Grille. The ambiance is great, the food always beyond delicious and service impeccable. The prices are a little high, but you get what you pay for!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Went for Devour Indy. Had filet, green beans, mashed potatos and ordered side of creamed corn. Everything was delicious. Dessert was chocolate espresso cake. Best dessert ever! The only negative was the noise level. Very unusual for such elegant surroundings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.