Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Troy Roberts

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Mother's Day for an exceptional prix fixe brunch and endless mimosas. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as our Pan-Seared Salmon with Citrus Crab Salad.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Romantic (42)
See All
Good for a Date (42)
Business Meals (35)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Cozy (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Private Room (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (7)
People Watching (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was excellent. Started with the calamari and lobster bisque. Filets were cooked to order along with buttered lobster tails. Macaroni and cheese with lobster was very good but rich.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

An excellent choice for dinner. The food and the service were outstanding! I've visited Capital Grill every year for the past six years and it's always the same. Consistent. A very well managed restaurant indeed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Always my first choice when dining in Indy! Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was very slow and there were only 2 other tables of people. I think the chef was not there. No bread until our meal was served and food was just okay

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great menu and friendly and efficient service. As usual, everything was prepared and presented perfectly. We split an entrée and it was the perfect amount.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is our go to place. The bone in filet migon was excellent. Plus we had the cheddar potato soup, Caesar salad, potatos both kind. Staff was very attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had an outstanding server that helped us with the exact food we were looking for. The wine selection was outstanding and it had all price options available for any budget.

I have been coming to this place for many years and having business meetings knowing the food will always be of the highest quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Classy traditional steak house, great location, great wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Capital Grill continues to be our family's favorite Indianapolis restaurant. The food is Outstanding and the service Impeccable......

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

What a wonderful Easter brunch! The prix-fixe menu had variety enough to please everyone in our party. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The steak was superb and my Dad asked me to book a reservation for his birthday. Perfect place for a holiday or special occasion. The quality of the food and pampered service are a treat worthy of special day with a comfortable atmosphere that you can enjoy anytime.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 15, 2017

it was very good ,we were outside and it was very nice

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 15, 2017

As always the good was good and the service was above average. Support staff take care of details and make sure you want to return

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Came into town for the evening with my spouse and met cousin for dinner. Picked Capital Grille on a whim on Open Table and am so happy I did. Wonderful dinner. Great food selection. Very impressive scotch selection.
We had to wait for my cousin who had just landed at the airport so it took longer than normal. The staff couldn't have been more courteous and accommodating.
Wonderful evening that we look forward to duplicating soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 13, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat . Food is ALWAYS good. Excellent wait staff. Just perfect

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We love the Capital Grille and have dined at several across the country. Sadly the service and the attention here was not great. We had water re-filled only once, but at the end of our meal. We ordered a steak with bleu cheese and 2 hot sides. The steak and sides came out together, steak prepared improperly. They took the steak back to the kitchen. Left the sides which began to get cold. Waited a few more minutes for a hot steak to return. The table was never cleaned of crumbs throughout. And all of this for a 9 pm reservation, so the restaurant was not jammed. May give this CG another try to see if that night was a fluke, but there are other great places in downtown Indy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Always great service fish, steak , cocktails etc. was excellent. I advised the server I would suggest capital Grille updates it's dessert selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Quality food and outstanding service! Our waitress was excellent and very attentive. The lobster and crab burger was so delicious and the truffle fries were outstanding.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We love capital grill. The food is amazing although pricey$$$$. We've been to many upscale restaurants and CG is always at the top of our list. My husband and I both had the porcini rubbed ribeye with balsamic glaze...it was to die for. I always order steak well done and Capital Grill does it to perfection. Many "steak" houses burn my steaks or I end up having to send them back because they are underdone. Then my husband and I end up eating our meals at separate times. Never at Capital Grill. My husbands steak was a perfect medium. My was a perfect well done. Overall excellence. We love this place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great accomodating service and perfectly prepared food. Our knowledgable waitress knew her wine and made excellent recommendations. A very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food is phenomenal. Service and ambiance is fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Jose was great as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Will T. Served us. Our night was great, service was perfect and the food was excellent. We really enjoyed the calamari and 160z bone in filet!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Good food, good service, excellent ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Service was far below CG standards. Food was cooked just OK. Visit the Chicago downtown location 4-5 times a year and everything blows this location away. Waiter needs some training.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Enjoyable meal with a friend; food and service were top-notch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our server, Chris, did a great job! The food service, recommendations for entrees, wine and cocktail service were spot on. The food was fabulous and served at a perfect pace.
We stopped for a nightcap at the bar after dinner and got fantastic service there as well.
Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Awesome steakhouse, and great beer. The waiter was really knowledgeable and professional.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 9, 2017

A day spent in the Capitol City of Indiana would not be complete without a great meal, and Capital Grille is the place to do that. Even if you're not a legislator or lobbyist, you'll be treated like a celebrity in the cozy, old-world atmosphere. The new governor himself wouldn't have gotten more attentive service than we got from our waiter, Monte, who was attentive, informed, and came complete with stories about chefs, ingredients, and southern-style drinking traditions. We had to leave a tour early to make our reservation time, but I don't regret it for a moment, because the time we spent in the Capital Grille was memorable. The mashed potatoes were extraordinary, the iced tea (with a carafe of simple syrup) so right, and my husband ranked his dry-aged steak up there with his 3 best steaks ever. Pricey, and with tiny booths, but it made an every day lunch an occasion. Also enjoyed the Charles II era paintings and the people watching.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This place is ALWAYS good. It never fails to provide great service and great food.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Elegant dining, attentive service, quiet atmosphere, delicious food with generous portions. Excellent choice for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Good but not great food. Some items were excellent and others average. A bit pricey as everything is a la carte. Our service was top notch and it's a pretty cool restaurant. I'm not sure if I'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Another wonderful dining experience at Capital Grille. The food and service are both excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I can recall in the past few years. Our server, Bill, was supremely knowledgeable and kind. Food - both seafood and steaks - were done to perfection. Lively atmosphere even late into the night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As always, the steaks are fabulous. You could expand your sides menu. The Capital Grill in KC has quite. A few more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Visited Capital Grille for date night. We went on a Monday night, so the restaurant was not that crowded and great for quiet conversation. Service was excellent, and our server was attentive without being overbearing. Fantastic wine selection. Food was good, but nothing that changed my life.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good experience, great food, and outstanding service!!

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was average and the filet was not warm. Dessert was good. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Reservations is recommended. Staff was very attentive. Food was excellent. Valet was great too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.