About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Troy Roberts

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Eggs Benedict - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Cold Shellfish Platter - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Made to order crock of French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Chocolate Hazelnut Cake - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin Steak - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Filet and Mashed Potatoes - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Steak (Delmonico) - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
calamari. - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Filet Mignon with Lobster Mac and Creamed Spinach - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Bombay Sapphire Martini With Bleu Cheese Olives - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Filet Mignon With Lobster Mac N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Indiana
Best Food
Indiana
Best Service
Indiana
7 More
Best Ambiance
Indiana
Steakhouse
Indiana
Best Overall
Indianapolis
Best Food
Indianapolis
Best Service
Indianapolis
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Steakhouse
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (40)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (31)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Notable Wine List (22)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (5)
Family Style (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Historic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love The Capital Grille. The food is alw ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Love The Capital Grille. The food is always great, service even better. The atmosphere is what you would expect and they are always welcoming! Will continue coming here most definitely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can not say enough good things about o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

I can not say enough good things about our experience. From the moment we entered we were greeted and treated with great service. I took my boyfriend for his birthday and the restaurant did not hold back on the details. I had the Lobster Mac and Cheese and it was good, tasty and had a great deal of lobster. My boyfriend had a steak and he enjoyed it. He eats his meat medium rare and said it was perfect. I would take my family again and would also suggest this for a girls night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding atmosphere and very attentiv ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding atmosphere and very attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been here multiple times. Had lunc ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Have been here multiple times. Had lunch here twice. Great Waygu burgers. Fried Calamari with Peppers always great. Service and wine list top notch. Just off the lobby of Conrad Indianapolis. Has bar as well as sit down dining. Strongly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service, food, surroundings ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional service, food, surroundings best dining experience we have ever had

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For four of us to have lunch, 3 had sala ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 29, 2016

For four of us to have lunch, 3 had salads and water and the bill with tip was $94. Yes it's a nice atmosphere and "fine dining" but salads could be bigger and better for the prices and the experience. We probably won't return for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

My wife and I celebrated our 1 year anni ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary there. Had excellent service from Will Tetmeyer and they set us up right with champagne, table decorations, a signed card from the staff, and dessert. Will knew the menu well, gave great food and drink selections, and helped add to our wonderful evening! We will definitely be going back soon!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived late and were needing to leav ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We arrived late and were needing to leave in a timely manner for an event. The staff made sure we were out on time. Everything was great, from our cocktails to our dinners. We had a filet, a peppercorn steak, the sea bass with gingered rice, lamb chops, the brussells sprouts, and the lobster mac 'n cheese. Everyone raved about their meal; they were all cooked to perfection. And really, I'm no fan of lobster with my mac, because usually it makes the mac taste fishy, but this stuff was outstanding. The dish was gone. Skipped dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service by Tyler was great. We had one s ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service by Tyler was great. We had one small issue that was resolved very quickly by the manager Tim. Regardless, food was fantastic, can't wait to go back in January.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jessica our waitress was amazing. Knew w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Jessica our waitress was amazing. Knew when to approach the table and when to stay away. All of her recommendations were spot on. This was probably one of the finest restaurants I've ever been to. We live in San Francisco and have plenty of great places to eat but this place topped them all. We need one in the Bay Area. Will be back!! The lobster mac and cheese was sinful!! Porterhouse steak cooked perfectly and the lobster crab cake OMG. My meal in a nutshell. A bit pricy but willing to pay any price for food and service that is impeccable.

My husband and I travel the country going to football games on Thanksgiving day. Thank you Indy for hosting this year.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capitol Grille is connected to the C ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Capitol Grille is connected to the Conrad hotel in downtown Indianapolis. The ambiance is very striking & elegant. The paintings on the walls were captivating. The wine & cocktail selections were excellent. Steak & seafood options were all delicious. Our server was very knowledgeable & friendly. Fun place to dine that's not too noisy like many other downtown restaurants. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here for the Game Day brunch bef ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We went here for the Game Day brunch before the Colts game. The food is very good and only a little more expensive than restaurants that are much less nice--roughly $13 to $20 for entrees big enough without a lot of side items.

However, it is not cheap. Two nice entrees, two beers, and one Bloody Mary still cost $80 with tax and tip. Still, nice place to sit, great service, etc.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Atmosphere is excellent. Menu and food t ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Atmosphere is excellent. Menu and food terrific. Service was spectacular, particularly our server, Donna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Services and food is always superb. Anyt ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Services and food is always superb. Anything you could ever want!

I used to order my steak medium rare but it all seems to have changed. I now order it medium! Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Professional management (Rick was a grea ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Professional management (Rick was a great server) : excellent kitchen: no hassles. Great tradition - great future.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to the Capital Grille wa ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our first visit to the Capital Grille was outstanding. We were seated immediately and the service was fantastic. I enjoyed a vegetarian dish that was superb, and my wife sampled one of the specials - a "bone-in" filet that was cooked to perfection. Highly recommend this if you want a find dining experience in Indy!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered a chicken Ceasar salad and the ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I ordered a chicken Ceasar salad and the romaine was limp and soggy and the chicken breast was tasteless. They had no warm bread available until halfway through our meal. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

although we were a few minutes early for ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

although we were a few minutes early for our reservation we were seated promptly and in a booth, my favorite. Service and food were both outstanding, as we have come to expect from this restaurant

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! What wonderful experience and defin ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wow! What wonderful experience and definitely will go back!!! Everything was an outstanding experience !!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! We came here to celebrate my husban ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wow! We came here to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday, and were not disappointed. With great service, a quiet table, excellent food, and great wine, he loved it. We will return the next time we are in Indianapolis. Even the cheapest Merlot on the wine list was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our wait staff was wonderful as was food ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Our wait staff was wonderful as was food and atmosphere. I was a little disappointed in that we were celebrating the 29th year of my husband's successful kidney transplant which I reported on our opentable RSVP - but it was never acknowledged in any way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The noise became unbearable as several l ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The noise became unbearable as several large parties gathered in the back room. It is overcrowded and those standing visit have their rears practically in your face as you sit nearby trying to enjoy your meal. They need private rooms are eliminate about half their tables. It ruined our evening although the food was very good. Our waiter was distracted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Outstanding venue for celebrating a birt ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Outstanding venue for celebrating a birthday. Service and food was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

9 of us ate here during convention. Ever ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2016

9 of us ate here during convention. Everyone was pleased was , food great, and not pricey. Total bill $1200. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary celebration while in town fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Anniversary celebration while in town for business......the staff was very kind & treated us to a lovely special evening complete with a long stem rose, card, heart glitter decorating the table and a duo of delicious complimentary desserts. The food was very good as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and even better service. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food and even better service. Perfect for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food and service as always. Hig ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fabulous food and service as always. Highly recommended.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite 'first class' special occas ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Our favorite 'first class' special occasion dinner restaurant in downtown Indy! Celebrated our wedding there last year and our 1 year anniversary there last week! They always welcome us like family and make our experience so memorable! & Absolutely by far the best filet in town!!!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was quick to mark us a no ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The restaurant was quick to mark us a no-show (we were a few minutes late and their internal clocks were set 4-5 minutes fast) but once seated the food was wonderful and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I enjoy fine dining several times a year ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I enjoy fine dining several times a year, but I would never say I'm an expert. However from reading the reviews I thought I may be in for an amazing meal... It was just ok!!! The mashed potatoes were basic not unique I think I make them just as good at home. It was my anniversary so the atmosphere was nice for my husband and I but we like great food too and this was just ok including the steak! When we leave a restaurant we always say would we come back and my husband answered "Not necessarily"

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent service and food as always! L ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent service and food as always! Lunch after morning symphony makes for a great day and the restaurant is so convenient to Hilbert Theater!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my son for his birthday and everyth ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Took my son for his birthday and everything was outstanding!! Service was wonderful and they went out of their way to help us celebrate.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my husband's birthda ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were celebrating my husband's birthday. Our server's name was Bill, and he was more than helpful and professional. The food was beyond delicious! I ordered the bone-in ribeye with the porcini rub and balsamic glaze...out of this world! My husband ordered a filet and lobster tail, which was equally delicious! We ordered their cheesecake for dessert and it was the perfect ending to the meal. We will for sure return!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall our experience was very good. O ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Overall our experience was very good. Our waiter, Monte, was top notch. My steak was excellent. I had the porterhouse and my wife had the filet. I thought the food prices were on the low side and were of great value. I thought many of the wines were overpriced even for the restaurant segment. I assume this is a coordinated strategy. Charge less for the food and create an environment to sell the higher margin wines. It worked on us. Dessert was excellent and the cheese cake is fantastic.

I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had a fillet and lobster surf and turf s ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Had a fillet and lobster surf and turf special. Medium rare to perfection. Perfectly salted. I've been to hundreds of steakhouses all over and would rate this place in the top three. Give it a go. For me it put st Elmo's to shame.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Decor is a bit strange. Our waiter had t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Decor is a bit strange. Our waiter had terrible breath; I just wanted him to stop talking to me. But he was fine, borderline too bothersome. Food was wonderful. Had steak tartar, wedge salad, steak and lobster. Finished with creme brule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Perfect evening celebrating 32 years of ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Perfect evening celebrating 32 years of marriage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was exceptional. Thank ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Food and service was exceptional. Thanks for a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Miss Donna always takes such great care ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Miss Donna always takes such great care of us. She and the staff are always accommodating to us, especially with a two year old. Thank you for making our time out so successful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.