Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Troy Roberts

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us Easter Sunday for an exceptional prix fixe brunch. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as Shrimp and Grits and more.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Romantic (45)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
See All
Good for a Date (43)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Business Meals (33)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Cozy (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Private Room (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
People Watching (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Authentic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Historic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Casual (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyable meal with a friend; food and service were top-notch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our server, Chris, did a great job! The food service, recommendations for entrees, wine and cocktail service were spot on. The food was fabulous and served at a perfect pace.
We stopped for a nightcap at the bar after dinner and got fantastic service there as well.
Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Awesome steakhouse, and great beer. The waiter was really knowledgeable and professional.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 9, 2017

A day spent in the Capitol City of Indiana would not be complete without a great meal, and Capital Grille is the place to do that. Even if you're not a legislator or lobbyist, you'll be treated like a celebrity in the cozy, old-world atmosphere. The new governor himself wouldn't have gotten more attentive service than we got from our waiter, Monte, who was attentive, informed, and came complete with stories about chefs, ingredients, and southern-style drinking traditions. We had to leave a tour early to make our reservation time, but I don't regret it for a moment, because the time we spent in the Capital Grille was memorable. The mashed potatoes were extraordinary, the iced tea (with a carafe of simple syrup) so right, and my husband ranked his dry-aged steak up there with his 3 best steaks ever. Pricey, and with tiny booths, but it made an every day lunch an occasion. Also enjoyed the Charles II era paintings and the people watching.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This place is ALWAYS good. It never fails to provide great service and great food.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Elegant dining, attentive service, quiet atmosphere, delicious food with generous portions. Excellent choice for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Good but not great food. Some items were excellent and others average. A bit pricey as everything is a la carte. Our service was top notch and it's a pretty cool restaurant. I'm not sure if I'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Another wonderful dining experience at Capital Grille. The food and service are both excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I can recall in the past few years. Our server, Bill, was supremely knowledgeable and kind. Food - both seafood and steaks - were done to perfection. Lively atmosphere even late into the night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As always, the steaks are fabulous. You could expand your sides menu. The Capital Grill in KC has quite. A few more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good experience, great food, and outstanding service!!

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was average and the filet was not warm. Dessert was good. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Reservations is recommended. Staff was very attentive. Food was excellent. Valet was great too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were celebrating our daughter in law's passing of her defense. I put a note about this on the OpenTable reservation. When we arrived, our table was decorated with little metallic confetti and a card signed by all the staff. We have had other celebrations here (it is our 'go to' place for special occasions) and have had the same celebratory treatment. Many staff congratulated our daughter in law on her PhD. Our meal was nothing short of amazing--pricey but delicious!! I had the twin lobster tails and the seared filet--outstanding. Our daughter in law had the sliced filet Oscar--she had asked for it to be medium plus but it was more like rare plus. She was fine with that as she ate the more well done ends and brought the middle slices home. The meats are just amazing. The lobster mac is out of this world. We also had the sautéed spinach (delish), the green beans (yum) and the potatoes au gratin (excellent). Caesar salad is fantastic as was the kale salad. Then for dessert--flourless chocolate espresso cake is soooo good and the coconut cream pie is a must, even if you are too full!! The restaurant gave our daughter in law a beautiful dessert plate with CONGRATULATIONS written on it in chocolate and a piece of the flourless espresso chocolate cake and the cheese cake. As I said before, it is pricey but worth every penny for the amazing service (Thank You MICHAEL!!!), the fabulous food and the attention to detail and to our every need.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Capital Grille is one of our favorite restaurants. Host/ Hostess are not friendly. Ambience is formal. Service is very good. Lobster bisque is best we've ever had. Food is good, but pricey. For 2 of us (with a $42 bottle of wine), bill was about $180 plus tip. Definitely a special occasion place. They Give you a card and dessert if you tell them its a special occasion. Noise level can be high on weekends. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place for a business lunch. 2 for $20 option is the way to go.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The best tasting steak that I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a great Valentine's Day Experience. Derrick was our server and he was very attentive and approachable. Prosciutto wrapped fresh mozz was amazing! Really enjoyed the entire dinner and amibiance of the restaurant. Thank you for everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had the bestest VALENTINE'S DAY EVER here., from the server to the food, everything was exceptional and delicious..........Thank you for a lovely time and memories!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our first time here was amazing! Don't pass up the lobster crab cakes as an appetizer or the au gratin potatoes...so very good. Our mouths were a Wonderland at every bite. I was fearful of a stuffy atmosphere but it was very relaxing and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always great. service, atmosphere and food!What a steakhouse should be!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good service, food was good not excellent. Dessert menu left a lot to be desired. Side were best part of the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always a good spot for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I have never been disappointed....Absolutely great food and service...A bif "10"

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Incredible food and a staff that makes your visit remarkable. Thank you for making our anniversary extra special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of our favorite places in Indy. Great food and service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Capital Grille is our favorite spot for a fancy dinner. The food is always amazing and the service is excellent. Their creme brûlée is to die for!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Jessica Hawkins great server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It's always a treat to dine out with friends at The Capital Grille! Exceptional quality and service every time.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was a wonderful experience. We loved every minute. It was my son's birthday, and "Devour Indy"...so we expected small portions and maybe less service, ...but we were blown away with our waiter, the hostesses, the food. It was all wonderful and we agreed it is one of our favorite places in Indy. We all wished it was not a chain...as we love the "local". This is such a special treat and we will be back again. Thank you to all who gave us so much more than the tab reflected!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food, great service. We enjoyed our evening as we always do here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We ordered steak from Devour Downtown menu. My filet was mealy textured & unseasoned. My husband's was thin, fatty & cooked well done. We spent $185 (including tip). We felt like fools for spending that much money for such poor quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 3, 2017

As always...just awesome!!! Went for Devour which was a good deal but just love the level of service and the quality of the food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great service! Delicious food during Devour Downtown! Lobster bisque was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Love this place. Great service and great food. The place feels so high end too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We were thankful to be given a booth where we could hear each other very well.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

THe food was good as was the service. The décor is old World and very nice with lots of good art work.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Special surprise received for my birthday!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.