About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Troy Roberts

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake
Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries
Eggs Benedict
Cold Shellfish Platter
Made to order crock of French Onion Soup
Chocolate Hazelnut Cake
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin Steak
Filet and Mashed Potatoes
French Onion Soup
Steak (Delmonico)
calamari.
Filet Mignon with Lobster Mac and Creamed Spinach
Bombay Sapphire Martini With Bleu Cheese Olives
Wagyu Burger
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin
Filet Mignon With Lobster Mac N Cheese

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Indiana
Best Service
Indiana
Best Ambiance
Indiana
8 More
Steakhouse
Indiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indiana
Best Overall
Indianapolis
Best Food
Indianapolis
Best Service
Indianapolis
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Steakhouse
Indianapolis
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (51)
Romantic (36)
Notable Wine List (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Lunch (16)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1295 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went with Family Members for Devour Down ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went with Family Members for Devour Downtown Event - the special menu was a great value. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Seemed like the waiter want up to the no ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

Seemed like the waiter want up to the normal standard of their wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We were drawn downtown to CG for devour ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were drawn downtown to CG for devour indy. I thought the price/value was fantastic. I have eaten at the CG many times. First time ever I was a little disappointed with my Steak (bone in NY strip). I asked for medium rare and it was most certainly medium (funny thing... I happened to notice the guy at the table next to me ordered the same steak medium rare and gotta say his looked great!). FWIW... the server did ask "how is everything" but I think since they are so used to happy/positive answers she turned away before I could actually say my steak was a little more than med rare. All in all, the steak was good (not great) but all in it was a good value and enjoyable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed an incredible meal before a C ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We enjoyed an incredible meal before a Colts preseason game. Food and service was outstanding. Great ambiance

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an enjoyable anniversary evening! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

What an enjoyable anniversary evening! Excellent food and service! The anniversary plate for dessert was exceptionally delicious too!!! Thank you!!!

The wine combo offering was an elegant touch as well.....we'll be back! :) :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious! Yes, it was expe ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was delicious! Yes, it was expensive, but it is worth the money for the quality/amount of food you get. The atmosphere was great and it was an enjoyable experience. The service was exceptional. If you are going out for a special occasion I would highly recommend The Capital Grille!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was superb as usual. Lobster Bisqu ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was superb as usual. Lobster Bisque is outstanding. Jessica our server was among the best I've had anywhere. She needs a raise!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was very nice but I did feel it was a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was very nice but I did feel it was a bit pricey. The food was excellent along with the service and hostess. It's just my personal feeling about the cost for 3 people.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and meal! Will certai ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent service and meal! Will certainly return to The Capital Grill.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good but not great. Similar price ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

It was good but not great. Similar prices to St. Elmo's, Oceanaire, Ocean Prime, and Morton's but we were prefer all of those over Capitol Grille.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

As usual, delightful business lunch expe ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

As usual, delightful business lunch experience. Had the Cobb salad which was uniquely presented on a large plate with a generous tomato slice and blue cheese wedge in the center with mixed greens, crispy bacon strips, avocado, sliced hard boiled egg with a beautifully grilled bone in chicken breast. Superb as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High standard chain rest. Excellent wait ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

High standard chain rest. Excellent wait etiquette....

As anticipated wonderful food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was delicious as always. We we ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our food was delicious as always. We were celebrating our daughter and her husband's 25th wedding anniversary. I had specifically requested a Bill Turner as a server for the evening since we personally know him, and was assured that would happen along with a special table. It turned out that Bill Turner was not working that evening and the table we received, while nicely decorated with rose petals, was the table just inside the dining room where the bar floor and restaurant carpet begins. Our server did a great job and the rose petals were very thoughtful but the table lacked the ambiance location I expected to see for this occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We celebrated our son's White Coat Day ( ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We celebrated our son's White Coat Day (start of medical school) at the Capital Grille, and it was just perfect: great service and food; quiet, elegant ambiance. Will certainly come back when we get to Indianapolis.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best menu downtown, and impeccable servi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Best menu downtown, and impeccable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful! Looking forward to returning ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Wonderful! Looking forward to returning. Special Occasion restaurant

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was PERFECT ! ..It started w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

the service was PERFECT ! ..It started with a HAND WRITTEN Anniversary card and ended with a "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate on a dessert plate. Was it pricey ?, sure , you know that walking in the front door. But for special occasions it is WELL WORTH it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great experience. Our first ti ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Overall a great experience. Our first time at the Indy location but definitely not the last! The seafood was excellent and the wine recommendation was spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and the staff ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was excellent and the staff went out of their way to ensure that my wife and I had a fantastic time celebrating our anniversary

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there to celebrate my son's 14th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were there to celebrate my son's 14th birthday. A BIG thank you to the staff that made him feel so grown-up! In addition, my husband has celiac disease and they paired our table with a gluten-intolerant waitress who completely understood cross-contamination -- we felt totally at ease! Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Capital Grill in several ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We have been to Capital Grill in several different states...this location did not disappoint. We experienced the same great service and delicious food we have come to expect from the capital g rill

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was terrific! Thank you.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was terrific! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The professionalism of the team

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The professionalism of the team

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meal and ambiance were fantastic. We had ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Meal and ambiance were fantastic. We had a great time catching up with people not seen in a number of years and could carry on multiple conversations without having to yell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The atmosphere at the Capital Grille was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The atmosphere at the Capital Grille was amazing and worked really well for my business dinner meeting. The service and food were excellent. I look forward to dining there again in the near future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Indianapolis. Had th ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Best restaurant in Indianapolis. Had the salmon special blackened. It was superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went for the bone-in filet ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I went for the bone-in filet special and they were absolutely the best cut, best-cooked pieces of beef we've ever eaten. We raise raise beef, my wife and I love to cook/grill, but the perfect char/sear with warm red center and flavor enhanced by the bone were beyond anything we'd ever eaten. St Elmo's can grill a darned good steak but on Friday, July 2, 2016 the Capital Grill absolutely me and my wife away. (The lobster Mac n Cheese was also remarkable).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always get steak

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always get steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

I eat at various Capital Grille's around ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I eat at various Capital Grille's around the country and am always happy with the meal and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to several Capital Grill res ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I have been to several Capital Grill restaurants and I often try to book at least one meal when in a town with a CG. However, after this experience and several others, I am not convinced that Capital Grill is worth the money. My ribeye was terrible and the lobster bisque was watered down with very little flavor. My wife found the salmon to be adequate but not outstanding. The bottle of wine we order was poorly presented and poured. I wanted to take the waiter aside and teach him how to properly pour wine into a glass.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Top notch service. Food was amazing the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Top notch service. Food was amazing the mashed potatoes are killer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ridiculously expensive. Good quality ste ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Ridiculously expensive. Good quality steak but not worth *that.*

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

The best dessert I have ever had IN MY L ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The best dessert I have ever had IN MY LIFE! My husband saved and treated me to dinner at The Capital Grille. The experience was amazing and I cannot wait to return. My steak au poivre was perfection and the sauce was beyond delicious. My husband's steak, if possible, was better than mine (I think the aged bourbon sauce put it over the top). There are two things that put this experience over the top....our waitress Stephanie and the coconut cream pie! I have never tasted anything so delectable in my years and I have had A LOT of desserts! We will definitely return and I hope my new best friend will be there to greet me and send me on my way with a smile :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, elegant ambience and very ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great service, elegant ambience and very good food. Our waiter Will was quick to highlight special foods and made some excellent wine recommendations. Very comfortable setting and the steaks were excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, great staff

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great service, great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our waiter was very nice and took very good care of me and my wife. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that likes to have a awesome steak at a good price. Even the manager stop by to congratulate us on our 35th anniversary. We will definitely be back very soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a great meal with my wife. The ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Enjoyed a great meal with my wife. The service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT place GREAT food

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

GREAT place; Christine and Emily are fun and great conversationalists at the bar. I had the tenderloine and the Poached Lobster. It was out of this world.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille never disappoints!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My 14 year old son and I were in town for the race and hit 3 steak houses in a row Friday-Sunday nights. All were great but Capital Grille the best. Always great service and food, great wine list, and super accomadating. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Girl

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We took our daughter there to celebrate her birthday. Everything about the evening was fabulous. She felt very special!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.