About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Troy Roberts

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake
Eggs Benedict
Cold Shellfish Platter
Made to order crock of French Onion Soup
Chocolate Hazelnut Cake
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin Steak
French Onion Soup
Filet and Mashed Potatoes
Steak (Delmonico)
calamari.
Filet Mignon with Lobster Mac and Creamed Spinach
Maine Lobster Roll
Wagyu Burger
Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Bombay Sapphire Martini With Bleu Cheese Olives
Lobster Pot Pie
Filet Mignon With Lobster Mac N Cheese

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Indiana
Best Ambiance
Indiana
Steakhouse
Indiana
7 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indiana
Best Overall
Indianapolis
Best Food
Indianapolis
Best Service
Indianapolis
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Steakhouse
Indianapolis
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

special occasion (57)
romantic (38)
notable wine list (37)
See All
fit for foodies (32)
good for groups (29)
great for lunch (16)
neighborhood gem (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were there to celebrate my son's 14th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were there to celebrate my son's 14th birthday. A BIG thank you to the staff that made him feel so grown-up! In addition, my husband has celiac disease and they paired our table with a gluten-intolerant waitress who completely understood cross-contamination -- we felt totally at ease! Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Capital Grill in several ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

We have been to Capital Grill in several different states...this location did not disappoint. We experienced the same great service and delicious food we have come to expect from the capital g rill

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was terrific! Thank you.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was terrific! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The professionalism of the team

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The professionalism of the team

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meal and ambiance were fantastic. We had ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Meal and ambiance were fantastic. We had a great time catching up with people not seen in a number of years and could carry on multiple conversations without having to yell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The atmosphere at the Capital Grille was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The atmosphere at the Capital Grille was amazing and worked really well for my business dinner meeting. The service and food were excellent. I look forward to dining there again in the near future.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Indianapolis. Had th ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Best restaurant in Indianapolis. Had the salmon special blackened. It was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went for the bone-in filet ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I went for the bone-in filet special and they were absolutely the best cut, best-cooked pieces of beef we've ever eaten. We raise raise beef, my wife and I love to cook/grill, but the perfect char/sear with warm red center and flavor enhanced by the bone were beyond anything we'd ever eaten. St Elmo's can grill a darned good steak but on Friday, July 2, 2016 the Capital Grill absolutely me and my wife away. (The lobster Mac n Cheese was also remarkable).

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always get steak

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always get steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

I have been to several Capital Grill res ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I have been to several Capital Grill restaurants and I often try to book at least one meal when in a town with a CG. However, after this experience and several others, I am not convinced that Capital Grill is worth the money. My ribeye was terrible and the lobster bisque was watered down with very little flavor. My wife found the salmon to be adequate but not outstanding. The bottle of wine we order was poorly presented and poured. I wanted to take the waiter aside and teach him how to properly pour wine into a glass.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Top notch service. Food was amazing the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Top notch service. Food was amazing the mashed potatoes are killer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ridiculously expensive. Good quality ste ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Ridiculously expensive. Good quality steak but not worth *that.*

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Great service, elegant ambience and very ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great service, elegant ambience and very good food. Our waiter Will was quick to highlight special foods and made some excellent wine recommendations. Very comfortable setting and the steaks were excellent.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, great staff

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great service, great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our waiter was very nice and took very good care of me and my wife. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that likes to have a awesome steak at a good price. Even the manager stop by to congratulate us on our 35th anniversary. We will definitely be back very soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a great meal with my wife. The ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Enjoyed a great meal with my wife. The service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT place GREAT food

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

GREAT place; Christine and Emily are fun and great conversationalists at the bar. I had the tenderloine and the Poached Lobster. It was out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille never disappoints!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My 14 year old son and I were in town for the race and hit 3 steak houses in a row Friday-Sunday nights. All were great but Capital Grille the best. Always great service and food, great wine list, and super accomadating. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Girl

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We took our daughter there to celebrate her birthday. Everything about the evening was fabulous. She felt very special!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service Kameka. The best we ha ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent service Kameka. The best we have had during our trip to Indianapolis. Party of 7 & she was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excelent food, wine and service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We have been there mulitple times; it always excellent foood, wine and service . Our service person was professional and personable, we enjoyed her.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very Good

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was delicious, although overpriced in my opinion. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The wait staff was very knowledgeable an ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

The wait staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. The food was wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, all of it, from the food, the s ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing, all of it, from the food, the service everything. Total recommend for anyone looking for a good meal

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very attentive staff. They always are th ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very attentive staff. They always are there to please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Felt it was overpriced, but a good meal ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Felt it was overpriced, but a good meal nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

COLLEGE GRADUATION CELEBRATION

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

IT WAS A PERFECT ENDING TO A FANTASTIC DAY. THE SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT, THE FOOD WAS WONDERFUL AND THE ATMOSPHERE WAS GREAT. THEY EVEN BROUGHT A COMPLEMENTARY CONGRATULATIONS DESSERT TO MY SON AT THE END OF THE DINNER. WE HAVE EATEN THERE BEFORE AND HAVE ALWAYS HAD A GOOD EXPERIENCE.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Service - Our server Bill Turn ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic Service - Our server Bill Turner was outstanding.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not only was the food delicious, the ser ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Not only was the food delicious, the service was exceptional. We celebrated my daughter's college graduation there. Our party was large and we needed to be out within two hours. The server was very helpful and accommodating. We had an array of meals: steak, burgers, and tuna. After our main course, we were served complimentary champagne and a beautiful dessert! We would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, atmosphere, and service. I H ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food, atmosphere, and service. I Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a must if your looking for a gre ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

This is a must if your looking for a great evening. Food and service outstanding.

If you think they don't know how to exceed your expectations, your wrong. After a bit longer wait then expected, they covered the cost of a very nice bottle of wine. I didn't ask for anything, they stepped up and totally exceeded my expectation.

Thank you. You are #1

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you so much for making my friends ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Thank you so much for making my friends birthday a special evening. Our server Scott was over-the-top fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for a work dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Was in town for a conference and the capitol grille was very accommodating. The food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing! We took our 3 mo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Everything was amazing! We took our 3 month old twins and they were very accommodating. Couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice except for the noise

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

In our reservation, we asked for a quiet table for a special father/daughter "date". Half way through a nice dinner, a loud group was seated right next to us - about 12 businessmen having dinner. The food is great and the service normally impeccable. But our request was clearly not honored.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

The Capital Grille was just very average ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The Capital Grille was just very average. The place was empty but yet they still tried to sit us next to the noisy kitchen. Service was just okay. They forgot a dish we ordered. The lobster in general was chewy. The crab cakes were delicious. We will likely not return. Other high end steak houses are just better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Service was very attentive but not intru ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Service was very attentive but not intrusive. Excellent job by Monty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great Food, Excellent Service

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

About what I expected. A very good steakhouse with an ample wine list, dry aged meat, and well-trained staff. Our server was outstanding. Management was also very friendly and accommodating. I will be eating here every time we travel to Indianapolis.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 16 and the wait staff ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

We had a party of 16 and the wait staff did an awesome job making sure all were served at the same time. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't ever worry about a meal here. Gr ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Don't ever worry about a meal here. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.