About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Troy Roberts

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Report a photo problem

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Eggs Benedict - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Cold Shellfish Platter - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Made to order crock of French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Chocolate Hazelnut Cake - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin Steak - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Filet and Mashed Potatoes - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Steak (Delmonico) - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
calamari. - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Filet Mignon with Lobster Mac and Creamed Spinach - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Bombay Sapphire Martini With Bleu Cheese Olives - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Filet Mignon With Lobster Mac N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Business Meals (24)
Romantic (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (12)
Cozy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Private Room (4)
People Watching (4)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (0)
Sort By:
S
1486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great meal with great, attentiv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always a great meal with great, attentive service! The filet was cooked perfect and the augratin potatoes were tastey.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a quiet Tuesday night and they we ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 3, 2017

It was a quiet Tuesday night and they were training a new cook. There were a couple snafus in the kitchen with the steaks, but they bent over backwards to make everything right. It was the only time I have ever experienced mistakes at Capital Grille, but the server and manager made every effort to make sure the kitchen snafus didn't detract from the experience. Even the greats make mistakes; it's how they recover that defines them. Capital Grille went above and beyond with the service and the comps. I'll be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Waitress Andrea was great Food and servi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waitress Andrea was great Food and service always top notch

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille was excellent New Yea ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Capital Grille was excellent New Year's Eve 2016. It was stately but the crowd was lively and fun. The food was delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on NYE and had excellent service ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went on NYE and had excellent service from start to finish. We all had something different. The beef was very tender and flavorful. The lobster bisque was amazing. We were too full to try any desserts but they looked great going by our table. Our server did a nice job of being attentive and conversational with us, but not too intrusive. Would definitely recommend and look forward to coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our family decided to have New Years' Ev ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our family decided to have New Years' Eve dinner here because we were guests at the Conrad. We enjoy the intimacy of the hotel and the restaurant . Our server was so patient and efficient. ( I believe his name was Rick). The food was excellent. I had the lobster (the last one) and it was prepared perfectly and the presentation was spectacular. You never know who you will run into. Rick Pitino, coach of Louisville Cardinals was at the table next to us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been to the Capial Grill many ti ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been to the Capial Grill many times but on New Years Eve, we were not impressed... the wait staff was not up to par and the steaks we ordered where terrible and did not meet the usual quality that we expect. They were discounted from our bill and although a nice gesture did not make up for the evening... our bill still came to $250 without entres... service was spotty at best.. We love the normal Capital Grill and are there often.. I am sure it was the overwhelming New Years attendance

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Our experience was very good. Our serve ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our experience was very good. Our server kameka was very knowledgeable and very friendly and recommended great choices for us. We will definitely be going back and making sure kameka is our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grill was exceptional. Servi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Capital Grill was exceptional. Service was outstanding and the food was delicious. Our sever was gracious and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to make late change of plans on New ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had to make late change of plans on New Years Eve and was able to get in. Service was excellent and the menu was full of wonderful choices and made it difficult to pick one. I had the bone in NY strip with Gorgonzola and it was delicious! The meal was expensive but well worth it!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although it was New Years Eve, we dined ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Although it was New Years Eve, we dined at 4:30 and expected our usual excellent dining experience. The food was delious and our server was attentive considering he had several tables. It seemed that 2 or 3 servers were trying to assist one another. Obvious a change from previous visits. Unfortunately, the restaurant was loud, our dining room was overcrowded and conversation was difficult. It also appears the dress attire for Capital Grille has changed to sweats and tennis shoes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Our waiter was phenomenal. We celebrate ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our waiter was phenomenal. We celebrated my daughters birthday and when we arrived, there was birthday confetti on the table; not a lot, just enough to be tasteful. The food was exceptional; no sides come with the entrees however, but can be ordered ala carte. Our waiter brought a birthday dessert for our daughter and a round of champagne. The menu pricing was expensive with the total tab of $300+ plus a tip for 4 people; but given the special occasion, we truly enjoyed ourselves and the experience. Due to the menu pricing, we probably won't go back. My recommendation for this restaurant is to provide a side dish with the entrée and more people may visit this establishment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We had an outstanding Christmas dinner a ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had an outstanding Christmas dinner at the Capital Grill. We were shown to our table decorated with a scattering of rose petals and tiny hearts (although our anniversary was actually 3 days later, I seemed to have mistakenly checked "special occasion anniversary when I made the reservation--oops!) Our waiter was wonderful and the food and wine were wonderful, including an appetizer of lobster and crab cakes. I went traditional with my entrée of filet mignon, while my husband raved over the Chilean Sea Bass. Received a complimentary dessert sampling of flourless chocolate cake and cheesecake, both deliciously indulgent. Very expensive, but it was a special occasion!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very nice dinner, good food and service. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very nice dinner, good food and service. Excellent server.. Mike I think.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Will, our server, provided excellent ser ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Will, our server, provided excellent service. Food was wonderful and exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional dining experience featuring ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Exceptional dining experience featuring splendid menu and charming ambiance.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Christmas eve dinner ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas eve dinner with family and close friends. The service was first-class and the food was outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty meal with good friends. Great wait ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Tasty meal with good friends. Great wait staff. Fun Christmas Eve.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Superb dining experience! Food & servic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Superb dining experience! Food & service was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good, however, they ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was really good, however, they offer nothing that I can't get at several other restaurants. The very biggest issue that we had, which will be a driving decision maker to come back, was how loud the place is. The place has a sophisticated decor, has a pricy menu but a serious loudness problem. Very off-putting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Always delicious and a great place to br ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always delicious and a great place to bring your family. Food has always been delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for any occasion.

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great place for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stopped at for a girls' lunch and dri ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We stopped at for a girls' lunch and drinks after picking my daughter up from the airport. I had to change our reservation due to a flight delay. The restaurant was so accommodating. Our lunch was in the bar area. We had such a great time. I definitely recommend the signature martini!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the Capital Grill is excellent ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

As always the Capital Grill is excellent. We have been to several around the country but Indianapolis is special and always excellent! The porcini rubbed rib eye is melt in your mouth and the lobster mac and cheese is the best anywhere! Service is always excellent -- thank you Derrick--- who stored our leftovers and opened Christmas presents until after the show!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jessica was our server and did a outstan ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Jessica was our server and did a outstanding job of making the evening quite special. Have dined there previously and always have had a great experience and wonderful meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent experience! The service and f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent experience! The service and food was beyond our expectations. We arrived for our wedding anniversary and immediately felt special, from the personal card and flowers on the table to the special desert and sparkling wine. It made a special night even better and we would definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place! Love it's inside the hotel. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great place! Love it's inside the hotel. Great food, bone in filet,seafood plate,awesome lobster bisque. Excellant service, a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server latrice was great! Outstandi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our server latrice was great! Outstanding service and very attentive to details. :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a pleasure to enjoy a meal a ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It's always a pleasure to enjoy a meal at The Capital Grille. The food is delicious. The presentation is inviting. And the staff is responsive and unobtrusive.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Donna was terrific. Love the bar with a ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Donna was terrific. Love the bar with all the holiday bustle going on. Great servers in both the bar and restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love The Capital Grille. The food is alw ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Love The Capital Grille. The food is always great, service even better. The atmosphere is what you would expect and they are always welcoming! Will continue coming here most definitely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can not say enough good things about o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I can not say enough good things about our experience. From the moment we entered we were greeted and treated with great service. I took my boyfriend for his birthday and the restaurant did not hold back on the details. I had the Lobster Mac and Cheese and it was good, tasty and had a great deal of lobster. My boyfriend had a steak and he enjoyed it. He eats his meat medium rare and said it was perfect. I would take my family again and would also suggest this for a girls night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding atmosphere and very attentiv ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Outstanding atmosphere and very attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been here multiple times. Had lunc ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Have been here multiple times. Had lunch here twice. Great Waygu burgers. Fried Calamari with Peppers always great. Service and wine list top notch. Just off the lobby of Conrad Indianapolis. Has bar as well as sit down dining. Strongly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service, food, surroundings ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Exceptional service, food, surroundings best dining experience we have ever had

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For four of us to have lunch, 3 had sala ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 29, 2016

For four of us to have lunch, 3 had salads and water and the bill with tip was $94. Yes it's a nice atmosphere and "fine dining" but salads could be bigger and better for the prices and the experience. We probably won't return for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

My wife and I celebrated our 1 year anni ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary there. Had excellent service from Will Tetmeyer and they set us up right with champagne, table decorations, a signed card from the staff, and dessert. Will knew the menu well, gave great food and drink selections, and helped add to our wonderful evening! We will definitely be going back soon!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived late and were needing to leav ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We arrived late and were needing to leave in a timely manner for an event. The staff made sure we were out on time. Everything was great, from our cocktails to our dinners. We had a filet, a peppercorn steak, the sea bass with gingered rice, lamb chops, the brussells sprouts, and the lobster mac 'n cheese. Everyone raved about their meal; they were all cooked to perfection. And really, I'm no fan of lobster with my mac, because usually it makes the mac taste fishy, but this stuff was outstanding. The dish was gone. Skipped dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service by Tyler was great. We had one s ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service by Tyler was great. We had one small issue that was resolved very quickly by the manager Tim. Regardless, food was fantastic, can't wait to go back in January.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jessica our waitress was amazing. Knew w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Jessica our waitress was amazing. Knew when to approach the table and when to stay away. All of her recommendations were spot on. This was probably one of the finest restaurants I've ever been to. We live in San Francisco and have plenty of great places to eat but this place topped them all. We need one in the Bay Area. Will be back!! The lobster mac and cheese was sinful!! Porterhouse steak cooked perfectly and the lobster crab cake OMG. My meal in a nutshell. A bit pricy but willing to pay any price for food and service that is impeccable.

My husband and I travel the country going to football games on Thanksgiving day. Thank you Indy for hosting this year.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.