About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Troy Roberts

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cake
Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries
Eggs Benedict
Cold Shellfish Platter
Made to order crock of French Onion Soup
Chocolate Hazelnut Cake
Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin Steak
Filet and Mashed Potatoes
French Onion Soup
Steak (Delmonico)
calamari.
Filet Mignon with Lobster Mac and Creamed Spinach
Bombay Sapphire Martini With Bleu Cheese Olives
Wagyu Burger
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin
Filet Mignon With Lobster Mac N Cheese

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Indiana
Best Food
Indiana
Best Service
Indiana
11 More
Best Ambiance
Indiana
Steakhouse
Indiana
Most Booked
Indiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indiana
Best Overall
Indianapolis
Best Food
Indianapolis
Best Service
Indianapolis
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Steakhouse
Indianapolis
Most Booked
Indianapolis
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (45)
Romantic (32)
Notable Wine List (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (5)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1322 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our steaks were prepared perfectly...med ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our steaks were prepared perfectly...medium rare. I had a porterhouse and my wife selected one of the NY strip steaks both were flavorful...honestly the strip side of my steak tasted better than the filet side. The portions, flavor, and excellent preparation made for an exceptional value. We passed on appetizer, soup, and salad so we could fully enjoy our entrees and sides. The sides are truly large enough to share....all but the lobster macaroni & cheese and the au gratin potatoes can be ordered in a half portion. Save room for the creme brulee cheesecake and the best flourless chocolate cake we've ever had...you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great food of course, the sea scallops w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food of course, the sea scallops were prepared perfectly. John was our server and was outstanding! He had very good wine recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have a wonderful dinner and great ser ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have a wonderful dinner and great services. We were welcome at the front and taken to table immediately someone was at table as soon as we sat down. He gave us suggestions and made sure everything was satisfying. Food was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Flew into Indianapolis to see an old fri ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 7 days ago

Flew into Indianapolis to see an old friend and stay at Conrad Hotel on Thursday, September 22nd. Dinner reservations for party of three at 7:30. Fifteen minutes after we were seated we still did not have a waiter or drinks. Very disorganized. Steak was delivered medium rare for a medium well order. They took steak back to the grill and cooked it very well and destroyed it. Waiter failed to return to our table. No dessert offer. Cashed out and left very disappointed. Would not return to Indianapolis location. I am a frequent patron of Palm Beach, Orlando and Boca Raton locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Excellent for business dinner with custo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent for business dinner with customers. Great food & service would differently go again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was quite special except the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything was quite special except the cost. The Capital Grille is so very expensive it excludes many diners. If I had not been invited and hosted by a friend I wouldn't have chosen it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the comfortable decor; not a sleek ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Love the comfortable decor; not a sleek warehousey look without a ceiling and loud dining. Worth the money for quietness. Food and service are excellent, too!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was phenomenal. The servi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our experience was phenomenal. The service and food were nothing short of fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I rarely eat here because I don't like t ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I rarely eat here because I don't like to spend that much on lunches, but we visited during Devour Downtown. The lunch is a fantastic value and was absolutely delicious! The salmon was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were staying at the Conrad Hotel atta ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were staying at the Conrad Hotel attached to the Capital Grille. The food is good but the service was inconsistent. We were there twice for breakfast and had a poor experience both times (kitchen staff clearly having problems - our food took forever to arrive). Dinner was better but server didn't seem too thrilled with the busy restaurant for Devour Downtown option. Wasn't attentive and didn't listen well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent experience!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Normally I have found the Capital Grille ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Normally I have found the Capital Grille to be outstanding but my latest dining experience which was during "Devour Downtown" was mediocre. The service was not superior and from my observations it was due to our server having too many tables. The food was good but not outstanding. My filet was pretty tasteless. I took 1/2 of it with me in a carryout bag and discovered later it was not my filet! It was my friend's who was sitting next to me at the table!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great atmosphere and great food! The cre ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great atmosphere and great food! The cream brûlée is the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place to be downtown! Also, ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

My favorite place to be downtown! Also, the generous pour was my favorite part of the night! Jose was our server and he was wonderful! Never missed a beat! Thank you Jose for a wonderful dining experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The aged-new York strip was done to perf ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The aged-new York strip was done to perfection, with a magnificent flavor. The service was exquisite. The flourless chocolate dessert was exceptional. I would rate this restaurant 5 star due to the exceptional service. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although my steak need to be read done t ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Although my steak need to be read done the second steak they brought out was excellent. They also comped a drink.wait staff was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hands down the most wonderful food and v ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Hands down the most wonderful food and value on the Devour menu. Had a fabulous time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a good experience. Our server was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

It was a good experience. Our server was a bit standoff. We respected it in his service fee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

This was our first visit to the Capital ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was our first visit to the Capital Grille, but it won't be our last! We participated in Devour Downtown and enjoyed our experience. Will T. was our waiter and was attentive without being overbearing. The food was delicious and nicely presented. Glad we tried it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service doesn't get any better when ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service doesn't get any better when you have a server like Donna. She is truly a gem!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille never disappoints!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Capital Grille never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing food and amazing service ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always amazing food and amazing service that goes above and beyond! This is a Devour Downtown must!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille is an old-school "ste ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The Capital Grille is an old-school "steakhouse-style" restaurant, and when that's what you want they do just fine. We love the Devour Downtown lunch menu the best, but have also been there for dinner a few times over the years. You can tell by their menu exactly what they do. All of it is at least very good, and some is outstanding. But if you want a more contemporary cuisine, this is not really your place.

Generally less noisy than other steakhouses in town. Wait staff is always friendly and helpful, and not as stuffy and you would expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Our waitress Jessica was outstanding. S ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our waitress Jessica was outstanding. She timed each course perfectly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The absolute best value for the biannual ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The absolute best value for the biannual, Devour Downtown event.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ribeye sandwich was wonderfully deliciou ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Ribeye sandwich was wonderfully delicious, and service was great! Capital Grille never fails me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with Family Members for Devour Down ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Went with Family Members for Devour Downtown Event - the special menu was a great value. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Seemed like the waiter want up to the no ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Seemed like the waiter want up to the normal standard of their wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We were drawn downtown to CG for devour ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We were drawn downtown to CG for devour indy. I thought the price/value was fantastic. I have eaten at the CG many times. First time ever I was a little disappointed with my Steak (bone in NY strip). I asked for medium rare and it was most certainly medium (funny thing... I happened to notice the guy at the table next to me ordered the same steak medium rare and gotta say his looked great!). FWIW... the server did ask "how is everything" but I think since they are so used to happy/positive answers she turned away before I could actually say my steak was a little more than med rare. All in all, the steak was good (not great) but all in it was a good value and enjoyable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed an incredible meal before a C ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We enjoyed an incredible meal before a Colts preseason game. Food and service was outstanding. Great ambiance

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an enjoyable anniversary evening! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

What an enjoyable anniversary evening! Excellent food and service! The anniversary plate for dessert was exceptionally delicious too!!! Thank you!!!

The wine combo offering was an elegant touch as well.....we'll be back! :) :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious! Yes, it was expe ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was delicious! Yes, it was expensive, but it is worth the money for the quality/amount of food you get. The atmosphere was great and it was an enjoyable experience. The service was exceptional. If you are going out for a special occasion I would highly recommend The Capital Grille!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was superb as usual. Lobster Bisqu ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was superb as usual. Lobster Bisque is outstanding. Jessica our server was among the best I've had anywhere. She needs a raise!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was very nice but I did feel it was a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was very nice but I did feel it was a bit pricey. The food was excellent along with the service and hostess. It's just my personal feeling about the cost for 3 people.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and meal! Will certai ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent service and meal! Will certainly return to The Capital Grill.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good but not great. Similar price ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

It was good but not great. Similar prices to St. Elmo's, Oceanaire, Ocean Prime, and Morton's but we were prefer all of those over Capitol Grille.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

As usual, delightful business lunch expe ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

As usual, delightful business lunch experience. Had the Cobb salad which was uniquely presented on a large plate with a generous tomato slice and blue cheese wedge in the center with mixed greens, crispy bacon strips, avocado, sliced hard boiled egg with a beautifully grilled bone in chicken breast. Superb as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High standard chain rest. Excellent wait ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

High standard chain rest. Excellent wait etiquette....

As anticipated wonderful food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was delicious as always. We we ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our food was delicious as always. We were celebrating our daughter and her husband's 25th wedding anniversary. I had specifically requested a Bill Turner as a server for the evening since we personally know him, and was assured that would happen along with a special table. It turned out that Bill Turner was not working that evening and the table we received, while nicely decorated with rose petals, was the table just inside the dining room where the bar floor and restaurant carpet begins. Our server did a great job and the rose petals were very thoughtful but the table lacked the ambiance location I expected to see for this occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.