Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Aziz Mountassar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

We invite you to make our dining room yours on Thanksgiving Day. Alongside our full menu, we'll be offering our Executive Chef's take on Thanksgiving favorites.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (40)
Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Romantic (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Notable Wine List (23)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
1711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

great service as always. Steaks were not quite what we ordered with respect to doneness but close enough for a great meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server, Bill Turner, was amazing! He was so personable and extremely knowledgeable of the wine list. He made a remarkable suggestion that I would order again and again!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 15, 2017

We choose the Capital Grille to celebrate milestones in life. I would still recommend them, but our experience was really horrible.

Hoping this was a one off situation. Nothing met the standards that we were used to from the appetizer to the main entree.

Lot's of broken glasses and craziness at the bar as well (we had a cocktail before dinner). The staff seemed very stressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2017

This was the first time in have been disappointed dining at Capital Grill. I ordered a wedge salad which was supposed to have blue cheese and bacon on it. It came with dices pieces (not crumbled, or crispy) chunks of fat tasting a little like bacon but way tougher. The blue cheese was a sour blue cheese dressing, not blue cheese crumbles. I sent it back and asked my waiter for a new salad with ranch dressing and blue cheese crumbles. The diced, fatty "bacon" was still disgusting. The scallops with wild mushroom risotto had way more mushrooms than risotto. All in all, not a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

We ate at The Capital Grill for our anniversary. This is the second anniversary dinner we have had hear. The food was outstanding. The tenderloin was one of the best I have ever had and the brussel sprouts were unique and very good. We had an excellent waiter who was present but not in our faces and very helpful. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Amazing food, excellent service! The birthday card was a great surprise at our table!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The service was spotty. They tried to make amends, which was thoughtful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We were a party of 10, and we dined early (5pm), food served was temped. Although was tasty just not at a temperature that would have enhanced the food and dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Great experience! Excellent service! Will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Great food and services still my favorite place in Indy to go for dinner

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Food was very good with excellent service. The decor is a little dark and drab and looks like all the other Capitale Grilles. My entree was not cooked to my satisfaction and the chef imediately came out and prepared it perfectly. A little overpriced but good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Wonderful meal, great service. Very happy overall. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Very good, as always. Tend to try entrees other than steak and feel rewarded. Jose was a very good and attentive server.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2017

I always enjoy lunch at The Capital Grille to meet business colleagues. Great atmosphere and food, quiet dining, and typically very attentive service. The salad with grilled salmon is perfect for lunch, and consistently well executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food wonderful, wine selection also. The only reason I did not give the highest star for "ambiance" was because the room we were in strikes me as less elegant than the rest of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Best restaurant ever. Impeccable food and service. We often share an appetizer and entree, and they artfully split it up for us. Their homemade mozzarella with tomatoes and balsamic is fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Unbelievable deal with all you can drink Mimosa's for $14.00 from 10-1 for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Awesome food and service !! Great to be next to Conrad best steak and halibut phenomenal!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Went to Capital Grille to celebrate my son's 21st birthday. Overall, I was disappointed inthe experience. While the steaks were quite good, the calamari appetizer was soggy and poorly prepared. The steak tartare also was unappetizing. The meal was very expensive but unfortunately was not up to the standards one would expect for a restaurant of this caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2017

service was just ok..lobster mac and cheese was excellent, rest of our meal just good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

The food and service were excellent! Will definitely put this on my short list of restaurants for business dinners!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2017

One of the only Capital Grille's that serves breakfast. If get the chance, tru the pepper steak hash skillet. Very nice flavor, had it two days in a row.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Overall, not worth the price paid -- Of what our table had, we would recommend the au gratin potatoes. Aside from that, the filets and apple crostata were average, at best. The atmosphere was quite noisy. For the price paid, there are better restaurants to choose from.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The brunch is so amazing at Capital Grille, my wife and I have talked about it ever since we visited a few years ago. We went back recently for our first overnight trip in Indy in a long time, and this was the first reservation we made! Lobster eggs benedict is unlike any other breakfast dish we've had anywhere else, and nothing can match it. I usually don't like English muffins, and theirs was perfectly toasted without drying out, topped with a perfectly poached egg and a hollandaise sauce with just enough lemon to complement the expertly cooked lobster.

We also had the peppered steak hash, which was very good as well. But you owe it to yourself to try the lobster eggs benedict!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 13, 2017

I am a huge fan of The Capital Grille. As you can tell from my other visit across the county. When I travel I first look for a Capital Grille. The Grille in Indianapolis just missed the mark. The service was terrible and the food quality was just ok. When we ordered the meal the waiter completely forgot to bring the salad. They brought out the main course and then I asked what about the salad. He said my bad I can go get it right now. Well at this point the main course arrived and we just proceeded without the Ceaser Salad. It's a shame when the total bill is well over $500 and they just can't get the order right. They need to review their process in Indianapolis.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Excellent dinner. Atmosphere and service was 5 star.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was excellent and wait staff was attentive. Wine list was good. Went with a group of 8 and the experience was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Tasty lunch of burgers & salmon salad. Bread basket was excellent. Main challenge was a very noisy table of about 10 people nearby that detracted from The Capital Grille's usual dignified ambiance. The excessively loud laughter & conversation disrupted several tables & accounts for my "fair" rating for ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Everyone is wonderful there. Truly first class dining. Food is to die for. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Jose was a great server and the food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Only slightly negative comment would be sound level of waiting area was loud enough to drown out conversation until the party was seated then became cozy.

This is a 5 star restaurant and you feel it from the beginning to the end.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Consistently excellent food with excellent service. As with most steak houses they are a bit pricy, with cocktails you should figure $100 per person or thee about. But for a good steak and good ambiance they hit all the right moves.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

We loved our server; he was attentive, respectful, interested, and informative. The food was delicious-the salmon was tender, moist, and flavorful; the cheesecake was airy and fresh with a light sugar glaze. Top notch in every way!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Four of us ate lunch at the Capital Grille before going to the Colts game. they had a brunch and also lunch menu ...two of us had salads with filet that was amazing and two had brunch items which were delicious!! ...service is awesome ...definitely five star!

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The server Omar was awesome , The hosts choice of A booth and is reserved personality have a lot to desire for a public upscale restaurant

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary! Our food was delicious and Donna was an amazing server!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great meals for all seven of us. Our server was exceptional and knew the menu and wine list.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Maybe it was because of Colts Sunday, but I thought the food was just okay. Main dishes were good, but potatoes on every plate seemed like they were over cooked, dry and made previously. Service was just okay, not great. We were created with..."The kitchen is very backed up" and I just don't feel it sends the right message. I am not one that complains.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Bone in Rib Eye is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was great. The food was great. Couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.