About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Troy Roberts

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for Father's Day on Sunday, June 19. Enjoy our Bone-In Tomahawk Ribeye for a celebration to remember.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Indiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indiana
Best Overall
Indianapolis
4 More
Best Service
Indianapolis
Notable Wine List
Indianapolis
Steakhouse
Indianapolis
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

special occasion (103)
romantic (66)
notable wine list (62)
See All
fit for foodies (50)
good for groups (41)
great for lunch (24)
neighborhood gem (12)
great for brunch (11)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (8)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1252 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very Good

Dined 7 days ago

The food was delicious, although overpriced in my opinion. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff was very knowledgeable an ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The wait staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. The food was wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing, all of it, from the food, the s ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing, all of it, from the food, the service everything. Total recommend for anyone looking for a good meal

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Felt it was overpriced, but a good meal ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Felt it was overpriced, but a good meal nonetheless.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

COLLEGE GRADUATION CELEBRATION

Dined on May 7, 2016

IT WAS A PERFECT ENDING TO A FANTASTIC DAY. THE SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT, THE FOOD WAS WONDERFUL AND THE ATMOSPHERE WAS GREAT. THEY EVEN BROUGHT A COMPLEMENTARY CONGRATULATIONS DESSERT TO MY SON AT THE END OF THE DINNER. WE HAVE EATEN THERE BEFORE AND HAVE ALWAYS HAD A GOOD EXPERIENCE.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Service - Our server Bill Turn ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic Service - Our server Bill Turner was outstanding.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not only was the food delicious, the ser ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Not only was the food delicious, the service was exceptional. We celebrated my daughter's college graduation there. Our party was large and we needed to be out within two hours. The server was very helpful and accommodating. We had an array of meals: steak, burgers, and tuna. After our main course, we were served complimentary champagne and a beautiful dessert! We would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, atmosphere, and service. I H ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food, atmosphere, and service. I Highly recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a must if your looking for a gre ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

This is a must if your looking for a great evening. Food and service outstanding. If you think they don't know how to exceed your expectations, your wrong. After a bit longer wait then expected, they covered the cost of a very nice bottle of wine. I didn't ask for anything, they stepped up and totally exceeded my expectation. Thank you. You are #1

food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you so much for making my friends ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Thank you so much for making my friends birthday a special evening. Our server Scott was over-the-top fantastic

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for a work dinner

Dined on April 22, 2016

Was in town for a conference and the capitol grille was very accommodating. The food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was amazing! We took our 3 mo ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Everything was amazing! We took our 3 month old twins and they were very accommodating. Couldn't have asked for a better experience!

food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Nice except for the noise

Dined on April 16, 2016

In our reservation, we asked for a quiet table for a special father/daughter "date". Half way through a nice dinner, a loud group was seated right next to us - about 12 businessmen having dinner. The food is great and the service normally impeccable. But our request was clearly not honored.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2

The Capital Grille was just very average ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The Capital Grille was just very average. The place was empty but yet they still tried to sit us next to the noisy kitchen. Service was just okay. They forgot a dish we ordered. The lobster in general was chewy. The crab cakes were delicious. We will likely not return. Other high end steak houses are just better.

food4
ambience3
service5

Service was very attentive but not intru ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Service was very attentive but not intrusive. Excellent job by Monty

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Excellent Service

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

About what I expected. A very good steakhouse with an ample wine list, dry aged meat, and well-trained staff. Our server was outstanding. Management was also very friendly and accommodating. I will be eating here every time we travel to Indianapolis.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of 16 and the wait staff ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

We had a party of 16 and the wait staff did an awesome job making sure all were served at the same time. Well done.

food5
ambience5
service5

Don't ever worry about a meal here. Gr ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Don't ever worry about a meal here. Great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Capital Grille never fails to impress...

Dined on April 4, 2016

The food and service were top-notch. This is one of my favorite downtown restaurants; it's always a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fantastic and foods was ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The service was fantastic and foods was absolutely amazing!! They have a extensive wine list to satisfy anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality restaurant

Dined on March 27, 2016

This is a traditional steak and seafood restaurant with a "club" feel to it. Everything that they do is executed very well. The service was great -- very attentive and helpful. The menu selections were traditional but special and every dish was well done and very flavorful. I really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and our server Lauren ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was excellent and our server Lauren was wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

Go for the service alone. Every single second of your dining experience is calculated for the utmost pleasure. The staff brings new light into courteous and professional. This is an old school restaurant with lovely manners and you are taken care of the moment you enter. The food is presented well and delightful. Portions are generous but not overwhelming. You are transported back in time when you dressed for dinner and had polite dinner conversation. I was completely thrilled with my experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

They provided AMAZING customer service!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Not the best of main course, but excellent desert and beverages. Also amazing, the very best I have ever experienced, customer service. They catered to all of our wants and needs. Great atmosphere!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

10/10 experience! Amazing food and better service!

Dined on March 26, 2016

My fiance and I visited this restaurant as we saw it was rated one of the number 1 restaurants in Indianapolis. I expected a high priced place with so-so food and pushy waiters. Instead we received one of the best dinners we have ever had. Our server, Bill, was incredibly knowledgeable about everything served at the restaurant and was able to give us recommendations based on our tastes. He was touch and go since he was busy with something in the back but kept sending other servers to check on us and apologized each time he came back to us. But we didn't mind at all! His service and the food was so amazing that we were in the best mood. Even the workers that served our appetizers and filled our water were wonderful and very professional and fun. After dinner, Bill found out we were visiting the city for the first time and was able to recommend a list of places for us to visit. Now the food - simply amazing. We had the calamari appetizer as recommended by Bill which was incredible, french onion and clam chowder soup (YUM!), green beans to share and the lobster special and lamb. Everything was indescribably mouth watering. I would definitely recommend this place for all kinds of outings. It is pricey, but well worth it! OH! Also be sure to try their signature drink, the pineapple martini - delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome. Aaron and Brandeis are the best

Dined on March 23, 2016

Awesome. Aaron and Brandeis are the best

food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive but worth it for a special occ ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Expensive but worth it for a special occasion. Too bad they cannot institute a "take off your hat in the restaurant policy".

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the sides. The Porterhouse was won ...

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Love the sides. The Porterhouse was wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 27, 2016

I booked a reservation here after reading many reviews. We were going out to celebrate my husband's birthday. I let the restaurant know this when they called to confirm my reservation. We were a party of 4 and we all agreed we would love to go back again sometime even though we live a few hours away. The food was fantastic! The lobster Mac and cheese really is as good as all the other reviews said it was. Our server was excellent and really took the time to explain the menu and specials in depth and answer any questions we had. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and we would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

We were celebrating my son's 32nd birthday. Besides the wonderful dinner and waitstaff, the restaurant made Matt's birthday very special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience EVERY time we eat a ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Excellent experience EVERY time we eat at Capital Grille

food5
ambience5
service5

Our service and food made the total expe ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our service and food made the total experience amazing! This restaurant is one of Indy's true gems. We will be back!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Underwhelmed for the price

Dined on February 14, 2016

So my husband and I love food and for this Valentine's day we decided to try The Capital Grille. I will start with the good things; 1) Despite being slammed our waiter was friendly and helpful when recommending dishes and throughout the meal. 2) The sides and french onion soup are delicious. 3) Even for the Valentine's weekend the ambience was nice and for the most part we could talk using our normal speaking voices. The not so great parts; 1) The crab and lobster cake appetizer was not correctly shelled. There were pieces of the exoskeleton inside the cakes which makes for a certainly unpleasant crunch. 2) I ordered the special which was a horseradish encrusted ribeye. Had I known it was going to be charred I would not have ordered it at all as I am not a fan of burnt meat. Also it had little to no flavor and for the first time when enjoying a steak out, I was tempted to request A1. 3) Overall the food was not worth the price. The steak was similar quality to that of an Applebee's or Friday's but was easily double the price. 4) We ordered the lava cake dessert hoping to end the meal on a high note and were disappointed when the cake was presented. It was cold, dry, and mostly inedible worst $11 ever spent in my opinion. Frankly if you enjoy overpaying for crummy food or are only enjoying drinks and appetizers then this is the place for you; however, if you are looking to titillate your taste buds and savor the dining experience I would definitely recommend leaving this place in the rearview.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incedible as always. Bone i ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was incedible as always. Bone in NY Strip with shallot butter was fantastic

food5
ambience4
service3

Service started questionably. Server too ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Service started questionably. Server took forever to bring water to table and was very slow on iced tea refills. This was lunch and there were few people there. The food was outstanding and I would go back just because of that hoping to get better service.

food5
ambience4
service5

Steaks was the primary at our table and ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

Steaks was the primary at our table and all of the ones in our party we very satisfied. Several said it was close to best steak they have had. Very very good bone in filet that I had as well. Our party of eight was pleased with food and service. Price is high when you add in the alacarte

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice!

Dined on February 10, 2016

Good food and wine. Our server offered us recommendations that were helpful. It is a nice place to take work colleagues, especially if you want to impress them.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good steak, a bit of a wait

Dined on February 7, 2016

We went during Devour Downtown, so the value was excellent. We had a reservation for 9:15 but did not get to sit down until 9:45, though we received good bar service in the meantime. Our server was excellent. Porcini rubbed tenderloin was very good, the green bean accompaniment was delicious. Flour-less chocolate cake is a bit too rich for my taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service.

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable dinner, excellent food an ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner, excellent food and service. The server explained food and made recommendations. Very nice for special meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.