Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Troy Roberts

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (53)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
See All
Romantic (44)
Business Meals (39)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Private Room (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (6)
Historic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Family Style (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Good service and wonderful food. Men's restroom lacked hand towels on our arrival, which was reported promptly. 2 hrs later still unresolved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

My friend and I have celebrated our close birthdays for over ten years at The Capital Grille. As always, the food was excellent, the service was superb, and the ambiance excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

As always the food was on point, unfortunately the service was uncharacteristically weak this evening. Restaurant was half full at 8 on a Sunday - taken to a two top at the end of the row, clearly a bad table and not necessary to use it given the other tables free around, asked if we could have another table. Bread was 'coming' for 15 minutes. Drink order taken after 15 minutes. Water empty a half a dozen times. We had our order taken by a server in a different section as I imagine he could see we had been ready for some time. Asked if we needed anything when the food came out - asked for a sauce - it never came.

First time this has happened while dining here, I hope it doesnt happen again as there are so many good steak options downtown.

Like I said at the beginning. Food was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Bone in fillet was great. Brussel sprout salad was nasty. Really. Nasty. Lobster was really good until I got to the thickest part and then it was undercooked. They gave us desert to compensate for this and I would still consider it great. Horribly loud when we were there. A big group was in the same room. Lots to choose from in Indy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had a group of 7 for dinner. It was a business celebration after we got through a tough week. The food was outstanding and the server, Bill, was very nice and helpful. However, dinner took 3.5 hours which was a little excessive. We did not take a long time deciding, but even getting our drinks took half an hour which was surprising since there were only a hand full of tables that were occupied when we sat down at 6:00. To receive our dessert took 40 minutes. While we enjoyed the time together, it was a little lengthy for a group dinner. Bill did apologize for the delay several times and indicated that he appreciated our patience. There was a large table across the room from us that was so noisy and loud that it certainly impacted other guests enjoyment of their dinner. Overall the food was fantastic, however the service and length of time was frustrating for a $175 dinner for one person.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Ambiance-lovely old world style, food delicious, service was good but not great, surprising, as our early reservation was pre-dinner rush. Our waiter was personable and knowledgeable.
We've experienced 5star restaurants around the world.
We were a bit disappointed with the overall experience compared to the higher prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The service was not the best. We asked for a few things more than once like our kids drinks and actually never got any more bread. We dined early bc we had our kids and it seems like it took a while to get our food. The server was very good with our kids and the food was delicious! I think it may have just been an off time for the server and his helper. We will go back for the food and atmosphere for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

An excellent steak house with great service. There are interesting cocktails and excellent wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We love the atmosphere as well as the food. We love to treat ourselves to breakfast out some where nice with great food.
At the Capital Grill, the food is wonderful, the servers are always attentive but not overly so.
We and our family have enjoyed many evening meals as well. The steaks are awesome! And the lobster mac and cheese is to die for!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The restaurant was crowded and so it was very noisy. Even with a small table, it was difficult to hear. The food was wonderful and our waiter was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Capital Grille, Indianapolis, has become our anniversary tradition ! Probably the most reliably outstanding restaurant I know.
For dinner, We enjoyed the calamari as an appetizer, very light and just a little spicy. My husband and I shared a delicious wedge salad, followed by AhiTuna for him and filet for me. Both were perfect. Our waiter, Alex, was very attentive and after dinner, surprised us with champagne and a scrumptious anniversary dessert. I hope we're always able to celebrate at the Capital Grille!

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Jose was beyond awesome. He made our celebration very special. Will definitely go agin when we are in Indy

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Still the best breakfast food and dining room in Indianapolis or any other city for that matter.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Always reliable and service is efficient and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Four of us had a 4:30 reservation for dinner prior to a 7:30 concert on a Saturday. We were seated just off the bar area and were promptly attended to. We had three different steaks and one Chilean Sea Bass with appetizers and desserts. Everything was presented and prepared near perfection. Not an inexpensive dinner however it was worth every penny. Our first time at a Capital Grille and very pleased. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was excellent. Started with the calamari and lobster bisque. Filets were cooked to order along with buttered lobster tails. Macaroni and cheese with lobster was very good but rich.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

An excellent choice for dinner. The food and the service were outstanding! I've visited Capital Grill every year for the past six years and it's always the same. Consistent. A very well managed restaurant indeed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Always my first choice when dining in Indy! Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was very slow and there were only 2 other tables of people. I think the chef was not there. No bread until our meal was served and food was just okay

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great menu and friendly and efficient service. As usual, everything was prepared and presented perfectly. We split an entrée and it was the perfect amount.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is our go to place. The bone in filet migon was excellent. Plus we had the cheddar potato soup, Caesar salad, potatos both kind. Staff was very attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had an outstanding server that helped us with the exact food we were looking for. The wine selection was outstanding and it had all price options available for any budget.

I have been coming to this place for many years and having business meetings knowing the food will always be of the highest quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Classy traditional steak house, great location, great wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Capital Grill continues to be our family's favorite Indianapolis restaurant. The food is Outstanding and the service Impeccable......

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

What a wonderful Easter brunch! The prix-fixe menu had variety enough to please everyone in our party. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The steak was superb and my Dad asked me to book a reservation for his birthday. Perfect place for a holiday or special occasion. The quality of the food and pampered service are a treat worthy of special day with a comfortable atmosphere that you can enjoy anytime.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 15, 2017

it was very good ,we were outside and it was very nice

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 15, 2017

As always the good was good and the service was above average. Support staff take care of details and make sure you want to return

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Came into town for the evening with my spouse and met cousin for dinner. Picked Capital Grille on a whim on Open Table and am so happy I did. Wonderful dinner. Great food selection. Very impressive scotch selection.
We had to wait for my cousin who had just landed at the airport so it took longer than normal. The staff couldn't have been more courteous and accommodating.
Wonderful evening that we look forward to duplicating soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 13, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat . Food is ALWAYS good. Excellent wait staff. Just perfect

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We love the Capital Grille and have dined at several across the country. Sadly the service and the attention here was not great. We had water re-filled only once, but at the end of our meal. We ordered a steak with bleu cheese and 2 hot sides. The steak and sides came out together, steak prepared improperly. They took the steak back to the kitchen. Left the sides which began to get cold. Waited a few more minutes for a hot steak to return. The table was never cleaned of crumbs throughout. And all of this for a 9 pm reservation, so the restaurant was not jammed. May give this CG another try to see if that night was a fluke, but there are other great places in downtown Indy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Always great service fish, steak , cocktails etc. was excellent. I advised the server I would suggest capital Grille updates it's dessert selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Quality food and outstanding service! Our waitress was excellent and very attentive. The lobster and crab burger was so delicious and the truffle fries were outstanding.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We love capital grill. The food is amazing although pricey$$$$. We've been to many upscale restaurants and CG is always at the top of our list. My husband and I both had the porcini rubbed ribeye with balsamic glaze...it was to die for. I always order steak well done and Capital Grill does it to perfection. Many "steak" houses burn my steaks or I end up having to send them back because they are underdone. Then my husband and I end up eating our meals at separate times. Never at Capital Grill. My husbands steak was a perfect medium. My was a perfect well done. Overall excellence. We love this place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great accomodating service and perfectly prepared food. Our knowledgable waitress knew her wine and made excellent recommendations. A very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food is phenomenal. Service and ambiance is fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Jose was great as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Will T. Served us. Our night was great, service was perfect and the food was excellent. We really enjoyed the calamari and 160z bone in filet!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Good food, good service, excellent ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Service was far below CG standards. Food was cooked just OK. Visit the Chicago downtown location 4-5 times a year and everything blows this location away. Waiter needs some training.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.