Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Aziz Mountassar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:30 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Good for Birthdays (28)
Business Meals (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Romantic (22)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
People Watching (6)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
1626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Very expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

It's my go-to place for sure. Always classic, excellent food and service from a professional staff.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

All of the food we had at this dining experience was excellent. Our waiter Rick Gaede was very knowledgeable and friendly. They asked if we were celebrating an occasion and we were a getaway for the night to celebrate a birthday. They brought us complimentary champagne and dessert samples.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The evening was perfect ! Thanks to your wonderful staff for making sure everything was perfect

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Amazing service, food and ambience - couldn't have asked for a

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

great food and great service. Highly recommended! Next time we are i Indy we will go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

When we arrived the host congratulated us for our anniversary and led us to a festively decorated table.

Our server Bill Turner did everything possible to make our anniversary celebration special for us. He is everything that you would like in a server: prompt, helpful, informative and attentive.
In addition Bill is very knowledgeable about cooking. He knew how everything was prepared almost as if he cooked it himself.

The meal was spectacular. I had oysters, lamb chops, mashed potatoes and the most delicious Brussels sprouts I've ever had.

We topped it off with a celebratory dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food at Capital City Grille is simply delicious. I had an 8 oz filet mignon that was perfectly cooked, accompanied by melt in your mouth mashed potatoes and grilled asparagus with a tasty slight lemon flavor. This was simply one of the best meals I've had in a while. Our waiter was friendly, yet professional, and provided impeccable service. As this was a business lunch, he even asked up if we were in a hurry or had any time constraints. The food at Capital Grille is pricey, but the food is so good that it is worth it. That said, I prefer to go for business meals when I don't personally have to foot the bill. I've eaten here several times and never been disappointed or had a bad meal. I'll be going back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had an exceptional experience. The food was outstanding and our waitperson, Andrea, was attentive and responsive to all of our requests. Very pleased with our dinner and we plan to be back again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 30, 2017

First time visiting Capital Grille. Was an excellent experience. The food was excellent, cooked to correct temp/doneness. Great service! Travis B was our waiter and he did a great job and unexpectedly surprised us with a champagne toast and dessert on behalf of our special occasion evening. 5syar experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I have been been to this Capitol many times but this was the first time my service was subpar. I kept forgetting I had a waiter since I rarely saw him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I enjoyed my special day! The waitress, food and staff were phenomenal!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The Capital Grille never disappoints! The food, ambiance, and service are first class.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We had a business lunch at this restaurant while visiting Indianapolis. Great location in downtown, valet parking. As always, consistently outstanding service and food. We are never disappointed with our time at Capital Grille.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 19, 2017

They made our special occasions perfect!!! Thanks team

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very nice Happy Birthday wishes to my friend. She was greeted by all from entering to departure. Lovely note and decorations on table and special dessert. Thanks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 14, 2017

exceeded our expectations except noise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I wanted to make our 38th anniversary special so we saw the Capitol Grill listed on the internet as top rated in INDY and it certainly was!! We were treated like a king and queen. The steaks were excellent and cooked perfectly. The waiter and staff were exceptional. The table was decorated special for us with a card from the staff and last but not least, a very special desert!! Yummy!! Thank you so much for making our day extra special!! Dave and Debbie F.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food and the service were great, as always: we value Capitol Grill for that! Only comment this time is that the temperature was very cold. One can't enjoy the great food, wine etc if freezing! This may have been because we were early and hardly any others were in the back room where we sat. Another time I'd like to be in the first room or the back if possible: they seemed a little warmer.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Capital Grille was fantastic. They made our 13th anniversary special, and our steaks were cooked to perfection. Best steak for the value imo! Awesome ambiance and nice and quiet, or the bar for less intimate setting. Great restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Wife's Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Again, perfect.

I don't usually like to eat sandwiches or burgers at business lunches, but the Lobster Roll was too good to pass up and it certainly didn't disappoint.

Fast becoming my favorite Indianapolis restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The Chilean sea bass was excellent! The filet was ordered as medium rare -- arrived as medium to medium well. A new steak was delivered, but by then the sides were cold and my husband had filled up on my remaining seafood. They were extremely apologetic and accommodating, though - they comped my cocktail, my lobster bisque, the filet and our two desserts. We were extremely pleased with their level of professionalism and their concern for our satisfaction. If we lived in the area, we would definitely return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I would recommend any steak at the grill, cooked to perfection and good quality. Cocktails are good and they have a good wine selection if it's available. With a holiday weekend some wine items were sold out. Our waiter took our order, double ordered drinks then charged th m to us. After we gave our order we never saw him other then running back and forth to other tables. Someone else dropped our steaks and no one ever checked on us again. We ordered scalloped potatoe dish and the potatoes were not cooked! By far ththe worst waiter ever!!! Shame on him because I believe the Restraunt is better the. The impression it left with us!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food was good, they listed 3 wine and brandy selctions that they were out of. We had Hyde Park the next night and thought it was a complete package. Capital let us down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Good service and wonderful food. Men's restroom lacked hand towels on our arrival, which was reported promptly. 2 hrs later still unresolved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 22, 2017

My friend and I have celebrated our close birthdays for over ten years at The Capital Grille. As always, the food was excellent, the service was superb, and the ambiance excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 21, 2017

As always the food was on point, unfortunately the service was uncharacteristically weak this evening. Restaurant was half full at 8 on a Sunday - taken to a two top at the end of the row, clearly a bad table and not necessary to use it given the other tables free around, asked if we could have another table. Bread was 'coming' for 15 minutes. Drink order taken after 15 minutes. Water empty a half a dozen times. We had our order taken by a server in a different section as I imagine he could see we had been ready for some time. Asked if we needed anything when the food came out - asked for a sauce - it never came.

First time this has happened while dining here, I hope it doesnt happen again as there are so many good steak options downtown.

Like I said at the beginning. Food was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Bone in fillet was great. Brussel sprout salad was nasty. Really. Nasty. Lobster was really good until I got to the thickest part and then it was undercooked. They gave us desert to compensate for this and I would still consider it great. Horribly loud when we were there. A big group was in the same room. Lots to choose from in Indy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here for a date night. It is definitely more of a special occasion or date night restaurant. The food is pretty pricey. Loved the ambiance and décor of the restaurant. Lighting was really nice. Bathrooms were exceptional. Our food was delicious. We got a shrimp appetizer that was very tasty. I ordered the Clam Chowder. Nothing special. Just normal clam chowder. My boyfriend and I shared the 24 oz Porterhouse and mashed potatoes. The food and sides are all ala carte. However, the sides are definitely enough for two people to share. Everything we ordered was delicious. Our server was extremely attentive and made sure our drinks were always full and we never needed anything. We will definitely plan to come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had a group of 7 for dinner. It was a business celebration after we got through a tough week. The food was outstanding and the server, Bill, was very nice and helpful. However, dinner took 3.5 hours which was a little excessive. We did not take a long time deciding, but even getting our drinks took half an hour which was surprising since there were only a hand full of tables that were occupied when we sat down at 6:00. To receive our dessert took 40 minutes. While we enjoyed the time together, it was a little lengthy for a group dinner. Bill did apologize for the delay several times and indicated that he appreciated our patience. There was a large table across the room from us that was so noisy and loud that it certainly impacted other guests enjoyment of their dinner. Overall the food was fantastic, however the service and length of time was frustrating for a $175 dinner for one person.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Ambiance-lovely old world style, food delicious, service was good but not great, surprising, as our early reservation was pre-dinner rush. Our waiter was personable and knowledgeable.
We've experienced 5star restaurants around the world.
We were a bit disappointed with the overall experience compared to the higher prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The service was not the best. We asked for a few things more than once like our kids drinks and actually never got any more bread. We dined early bc we had our kids and it seems like it took a while to get our food. The server was very good with our kids and the food was delicious! I think it may have just been an off time for the server and his helper. We will go back for the food and atmosphere for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great food, fast service, personalized attention (the waiter remembered the tea I ordered in my first visit and that I drink luke warm water only!!!), refined deserts (including gluten free options). This is definitely my favorite dining place in downtown Indy. I will be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

An excellent steak house with great service. There are interesting cocktails and excellent wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We love the atmosphere as well as the food. We love to treat ourselves to breakfast out some where nice with great food.
At the Capital Grill, the food is wonderful, the servers are always attentive but not overly so.
We and our family have enjoyed many evening meals as well. The steaks are awesome! And the lobster mac and cheese is to die for!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The restaurant was crowded and so it was very noisy. Even with a small table, it was difficult to hear. The food was wonderful and our waiter was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Capital Grille, Indianapolis, has become our anniversary tradition ! Probably the most reliably outstanding restaurant I know.
For dinner, We enjoyed the calamari as an appetizer, very light and just a little spicy. My husband and I shared a delicious wedge salad, followed by AhiTuna for him and filet for me. Both were perfect. Our waiter, Alex, was very attentive and after dinner, surprised us with champagne and a scrumptious anniversary dessert. I hope we're always able to celebrate at the Capital Grille!

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Jose was beyond awesome. He made our celebration very special. Will definitely go agin when we are in Indy

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.