About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Troy Roberts

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Romantic (40)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Business Meals (31)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Private Room (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
People Watching (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Historic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Family Style (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fun (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place for a business lunch. 2 for ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for a business lunch. 2 for $20 option is the way to go.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The best tasting steak that I've ever ha ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

The best tasting steak that I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great Valentine's Day Experienc ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great Valentine's Day Experience. Derrick was our server and he was very attentive and approachable. Prosciutto wrapped fresh mozz was amazing! Really enjoyed the entire dinner and amibiance of the restaurant. Thank you for everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time here was amazing! Don't p ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Our first time here was amazing! Don't pass up the lobster crab cakes as an appetizer or the au gratin potatoes...so very good. Our mouths were a Wonderland at every bite. I was fearful of a stuffy atmosphere but it was very relaxing and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great. service, atmosphere and f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always great. service, atmosphere and food!What a steakhouse should be!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service, food was good not excellen ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good service, food was good not excellent. Dessert menu left a lot to be desired. Side were best part of the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a good spot for a business lunch.

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always a good spot for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never been disappointed....Absolu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I have never been disappointed....Absolutely great food and service...A bif "10"

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible food and a staff that makes y ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Incredible food and a staff that makes your visit remarkable. Thank you for making our anniversary extra special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorite places in Indy. Grea ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of our favorite places in Indy. Great food and service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, , Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille is our favorite spot for ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Capital Grille is our favorite spot for a fancy dinner. The food is always amazing and the service is excellent. Their creme brûlée is to die for!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jessica Hawkins great server

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Jessica Hawkins great server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a treat to dine out with fri ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It's always a treat to dine out with friends at The Capital Grille! Exceptional quality and service every time.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a wonderful experience. We lov ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was a wonderful experience. We loved every minute. It was my son's birthday, and "Devour Indy"...so we expected small portions and maybe less service, ...but we were blown away with our waiter, the hostesses, the food. It was all wonderful and we agreed it is one of our favorite places in Indy. We all wished it was not a chain...as we love the "local". This is such a special treat and we will be back again. Thank you to all who gave us so much more than the tab reflected!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. We enjoyed ou ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food, great service. We enjoyed our evening as we always do here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered steak from Devour Downtown me ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We ordered steak from Devour Downtown menu. My filet was mealy textured & unseasoned. My husband's was thin, fatty & cooked well done. We spent $185 (including tip). We felt like fools for spending that much money for such poor quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

As always...just awesome!!! Went for Dev ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 3, 2017

As always...just awesome!!! Went for Devour which was a good deal but just love the level of service and the quality of the food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service! Delicious food during Dev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great service! Delicious food during Devour Downtown! Lobster bisque was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Great service and great ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Love this place. Great service and great food. The place feels so high end too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were thankful to be given a booth whe ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We were thankful to be given a booth where we could hear each other very well.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THe food was good as was the service. T ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

THe food was good as was the service. The décor is old World and very nice with lots of good art work.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Special surprise received for my birthda ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Special surprise received for my birthday!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We took advantage of "Devour Downtown" p ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We took advantage of "Devour Downtown" promotion, but the everyday "plate lunch" special is also reasonable given the ambience and quality of food. I must say that everything we had was very tasty, high quality and attractively presented. Service was highly professional and the ambience is elegant yet friendly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was great as always. Love the ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our meal was great as always. Love the cheeseburger best in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation but we were seated ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had a reservation but we were seated later. This I'm sure was because of Devour Downtown which was fine. We grabbed a drink and when we were seated the management staff was very apologetic. The service was exceptional as is expected at the Capital Grille. We enjoyed a great meal and a nice evening out.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Steaks were ordered Med Rare, Medium ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our Steaks were ordered Med Rare, Medium well on the other two. All thee came out to the table the same. The food was still excellent. I would recommend Capital Grille to anyone. Great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've truest enjoyed my devour Indy at th ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I've truest enjoyed my devour Indy at the Capital Grill. The ambience is of upscale dining, excellent service and really tasty food. I had a medium rare steak-just perfect. I highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wine were excellent. The ho ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and wine were excellent. The hostess was kind enough to add a fifth person to our reservation for a party of four at the last minute The service was not great but not terrible but they were extra busy due to Devour Indy going on.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was our first visit to the Capital ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our first visit to the Capital Grille. From our experience, I have to say that they are a very class act. And, the food that we got to eat was excellent. Unfortunately, my wife became ill just after our steaks had been served. Managing Partner Christopher Porter and his staff went above and beyond to make what could have been a much more unpleasant scene into a very caring environment. When it became apparent it would be necessary, he called the paramedics, and my wife was taken to the hospital. Christopher followed up with multiple phone calls checking on her status. My wife is now better and home from the hospital. Once again, Christopher went above and beyond and sent her a large, beautiful bouquet of flowers to help her feel better. We are both overwhelmed with this level of personal concern and follow-up. Like I said in the beginning of this review - Christopher Porter and his staff at The Capital Grille are all around First Class. I highly recommend them.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service are beyond compare. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food and service are beyond compare. We will be back and definitely going to highly recommended to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined with a party of 8 on a Friday n ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We dined with a party of 8 on a Friday night to try the Capital Grille for a friend's night out. We had reservations at 7:30 pm and finally got to sit down around 8:30pm. We had good service and the food was good except for the green beans. They were like eating raw green beans. We all agreed that we like crisp vegetables but not raw. The waitress did bring out more green beans but they weren't cooked either. We all agreed that for the price you pay to eat at your establishment the food should be excellent. Unfortunately it was far from that. :(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Went during Devour Indy. The food was th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went during Devour Indy. The food was the best I've eaten on a devour menu. I only wish they would have had a wine selection for devour also. It was on the pricier end of devour options throughout the city, but the food was well worth the money. I don't think I would be able to afford this restaurant at other times of the year so I appreciate them participating in the Devour program.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were both top notch.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food and service were both top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a special occasion, ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We were celebrating a special occasion, and had enjoyed Capital before. Donna was delightful, kind, and thoroughly professional! Wow! Great night, and especially as a "Devour" option!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for a lunch during Devour Indy. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went for a lunch during Devour Indy. The food that came was prepared perfectly, but the lack of follow through from the menu was disappointing. We received some items that were unlisted. One person also got spinach instead of the advertised arugula salad. When we asked the waiter why there was no arugula, we got the response "...it's mixed in with the spinach." The lie was awkward, to say the least. It was a disappointing visit to Capital Grille. I expect more from them.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful meal. Our steaks ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful meal. Our steaks were delicious and cooked to perfection, cocktails cold and yummy, and the service was excellent. We will definitely visit this restaurant again in the future.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Donna's service is always excellent

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Donna's service is always excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the old school decor, great for aco ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Love the old school decor, great for acoustics. Warm and cozy. Great food and service. We felt very welcome.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Capital Grille. One of my go to p ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I love Capital Grille. One of my go to places and always will be. Salmon is superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dinner at Capital Grille was my birt ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our dinner at Capital Grille was my birthday celebration. Our servers were excellent giving us time in between courses, filling our water glasses often and topping off dinner with a birthday dessert and Procecco for the table. The food was excellent tasting and plenty to eat.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, , Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.