Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Capital Grille - Indianapolis

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located adjacent to The Conrad Hotel.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

40 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm –11:00pm

Cross Street:
Illinois

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 423-8790

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, Circle Centre Garage, and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Aziz Mountassar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 80 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Business Meals (34)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Romantic (27)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Cozy (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Authentic (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
People Watching (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Four of us ate lunch at the Capital Grille before going to the Colts game. they had a brunch and also lunch menu ...two of us had salads with filet that was amazing and two had brunch items which were delicious!! ...service is awesome ...definitely five star!

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The server Omar was awesome , The hosts choice of A booth and is reserved personality have a lot to desire for a public upscale restaurant

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary! Our food was delicious and Donna was an amazing server!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great meals for all seven of us. Our server was exceptional and knew the menu and wine list.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Maybe it was because of Colts Sunday, but I thought the food was just okay. Main dishes were good, but potatoes on every plate seemed like they were over cooked, dry and made previously. Service was just okay, not great. We were created with..."The kitchen is very backed up" and I just don't feel it sends the right message. I am not one that complains.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was great. The food was great. Couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Best steak ever was the concensus of all six of us at the table. Wait staff was very attentive but unobtrusive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2017

From appetizers to entrees, cocktails to wine list, knowledgeable staff to high quality service, I have found no better fine dining restaurant in Indianapolis.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Wonderful service. The lobster brie mac & cheese wasn't on the lunch menu, but they gladly made it and my table was thankful I ordered it for us all. Super rich, while breaded lightly--the perfect mix of ingredients. Made a typical business lunch a bit more out of the ordinary.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I had the veal chop for a $55 entree I was sorely disappointed. I ordered it medium rare, it was badly charred, partially overdone on the edges and full of gristle besides being unusually small. I've had the chop at other Capital Grilles and was very satisfied. I should have sent it back but it took so l didn't want the rest of my party to have to wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always a dependable and consistent experience at the Grille. Best Lobster Mac N Cheese anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Food was great! Service was excellent (thank you Jordan!). Atmosphere is very cool.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We went to celebrate my birthday on Labor Day. Rachel was our server and she was fantastic. The table was decorated with colorful Italian candies and a birthday card signed by all. From start to finish I was made to feel like royalty!! The lobster bisque was unbelievable--delicious and full of huge chunks of lobster. I then had the lobster roll which was delicious. To end the celebration I was given a complimentary dessert platter with the flourless chocolate torte and the crème brulee cheesecake with HAPPY BIRTHDAY stenciled on the plate in chocolate. What a wonderful way to celebrate a birthday!! Thank you Capital Grille. You always do an amazing job!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great atmosphere and really good food. Couldn't beat the deal for Devour Indy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Ate here late night Friday....very accommodating staff moved our reservation back/forth for us as we were driving in and stuck in unexpected traffic. Server Nathan was a gem with his vast wine knowledge, and menu suggestions. Really had a great time, thanks Capital Grille!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Everything was amazing! We went for Devour Downtown and were blown away by the food. It was the best filet I have ever had. The mashed potatoes and green beans were yummy and the creme brûlée was to die for. The only thing that wasn't amazing was the ranch dressing on my wedge. The wedge itself was great, but the ranch was was to mayonnaisey. Service was great too! 100% we will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Always a first class experience. We will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I think the wine/cocktail list on an iPad is a bit too much of a stretch to integrate technology into the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I've eaten at the Capital Grill on a few occasions. Service is always very strong. I love their "truffle fries".... outrageously delicious...

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Over all everything was great! We will back again very soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Met some friends for the devour. Been there a few times and will be back again:)

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My friend and I decided on Capital Grill for our yearly devour Downtown, the service was beyond excellent, our waiter took great care of us from beginning to end, the food was superb we each had the filet mignon flavor was excellent and prepared just as we both ordered.
I would recommend this restaurant highly to anyone celebrating a special occasion are you just want an excellent meal, Capital Grill is the way to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Denise was our server. She was so much fun, helpful, and efficient. Great meal and good time.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Always good, one of our go to places for a dinner knowing you will always get a good meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

LOVE Capital Grille! You would be missing out if you didn't take advantage of the Generous Pour event! Our server Donna, is the best! We request her every time!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food was amazing as usual and our server was spectacular!!!!!⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I have never been disappointed with anything at The Capital Grille. The ambiance is great, the food always beyond delicious and service impeccable. The prices are a little high, but you get what you pay for!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Went for Devour Indy. Had filet, green beans, mashed potatos and ordered side of creamed corn. Everything was delicious. Dessert was chocolate espresso cake. Best dessert ever! The only negative was the noise level. Very unusual for such elegant surroundings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Brandice aka Brandi has been our mixologist and server for 2 plus years. She has given excellent platinum 💍 service whether at the bar eating lunch at the high tops or on the patio. She always asked if we r on a time restriction which for indy is the only place I gave eaten that has asked.
As a continued downtown diner and supaporter make sure she receives deserved recognition and $$$. Because of her is why we return and refer to your place
One suggestion though why we almost left, u don't serve the aioli with the
truffle fries anymore!!!!!!!!! At least upon request
JMW

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Had the Devour Indy salmon with wedge salad and flourless chocolate cake. The salad was good and the salmon was delicious. Waitress was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 20, 2017

It was my wife's birthday and the atmosphere and service were great. My wife didn't like her initial meal she ordered so they brought an alternative one out - no questions asked.

Good quality food and excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 17, 2017

This was our second trip to Capital Grille, and my friend and I intend to become "regulars." The food and the wine are impeccable, as is the service. This last visit, we celebrated our birthdays, and the complimentary dessert of cheesecake and chocolate mousse was grand! I still have a picture of it, but don't see a way to include a photo in the review. Happy Birthday was written in chocolate! They even sprinkled the table with confetti and gave us a birthday card hand--signed by the staff. They know how to make their patrons feel special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent Anniversary Dinner! Thank you all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I sent this directly to restaurant also. The only thing I have and forgot to put in review was that we asked for cold Patron shots. Bar staff could use a refresher on what a cold shot should be. Ours weren't close to cold. Still good but not cold. Had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We are big fans of the Capital grille and for the last few years have gone there before Colts games for brunch. several times Very disappointed by the limited game day brunch menu that has been started. We will not be going there before Colts games anymore if this approach stays in place. Will still go there for dinner or lunch on other days. This review is only as regards the Colts game day lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Normally, we love our evening at Capital Grill. That was not the case this time. A Saturday night that was crazy busy, the generous pour event coupled with a rather young and not totally with it waiter meant we had an off evening. The generous pour was not so generous. We waited a lot for a pour. It took one hour until we ordered the main course, only to learn then that they were out of the halibut. I went with the porcini rubbed rib eye on the waiters recommendation. Disaster. $53 for a huge fatty piece of meat with no taste of porcini. We asked for a side of brussel sprouts and were given brussel sprout salads. The waiter made them complimentary and apologized. It was not a great dining experience.
We will try again but probably not on a weekend and we will definitely avoid this waiter.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The very best steak in Indianapolis. Capital Grille hits every note, every time. Impeccable service, tremendous menu. Worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Service was impeccable. Food outstanding and served at the right time. Elegant dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was extremely overpriced for the quality of the food. The steak was less than average. The calamari appetizer to the tenderloin and lobster entree was unimpressive. They did have a wine tasting event going on. That was the best part of our experience. Also, Jose our server was amazing. He made the experience as enjoyable as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.