About The Capital Grille - Houston

5365 Westheimer Road
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private dining events only. Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Lounge: Open daily

Cross Street:
Yorktown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 623-4600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking. Self parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Ricardo Vargas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Report a photo problem

The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Lobster Mac And Cheese - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Sliced fillet mignon with onions and mushrooms - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Birthday! - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Filet Oscar - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
flourless chocolate cake - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Delmonico - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Bread Basket - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Prime Rib, Potaties Au Gratin, Creamed Spinach & Yorkshire Pudding - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Classic Crème Brulée - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Wild Mushrooms - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Amuse Bouche - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Caesar Salad - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Mushroom soup - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Au Gratin Potatoes - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Coconut Creme Pie - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Wagyu Cheeseburger with Fried Egg and Crisp Onions  - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Wild Mushroom Cheeseburger - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Porcini-Rubbed Delmonico Steak W/ 12-Year Aged Balsamic - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
carpaccio - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 42 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Business Meals (12)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Scenic View (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Private Room (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Anniversary

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 21 hours ago

Anniversary

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and service

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 21 hours ago

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary he ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary here and enjoyed an excellent evening that exceeded our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

good food , great place , two important ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 13, 2017

good food , great place , two important points to have a great dinner .

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I asked for a quiet table when submittin ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I asked for a quiet table when submitting the reservations. Our table was in a back corner away from the bustle. I expected to have to remind them when we arrived, but they took us straight to the quiet spot. I was impressed. The wait staff was awesome, they weren't too serious and had fun with us. The food wasn't as outstanding as the service, but we took a risk trying selections that were off the beaten path for us. I would like to return and get one of the filets or a dish I am more comfortable with. But overall, it was a great place for a first date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated anniversary and proposed to m ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Celebrated anniversary and proposed to my girlfriend. Staff was wonderful and went out of their way to make this a memorable night. Everything was spot on, from the service, which was beyond excellent, to the food that was perfectly cooked to our liking and served in ample portions. Phenomenal place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried to have a special New Years Eve di ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Tried to have a special New Years Eve dinner with my wife however, instead of being spectacular, it was just average. First, after using OpenTable for reservations, The Capital Grille was unable to get my reservations correct. When they called to confirm, they had my reservation down 2 hours later than requested. When I asked for a earlier time there was one available however, it took several times for them to get it right. I received confirmation emails for two different times...7:15 and 7:30 (I had requested 7:30). We arrived at 7:22 and were told we missed our 7:00 dinner time and that they hold tables only for 15 mins. I showed them the email confirmation and they were eventually able to get us a table. The food was average. The lobster mac and cheese was overcooked and had fried onion ring stuff on top. The steaks were over cooked as well. For the price you pay, you would think their quality would be better. I get much better service at Del Frisco's and other steak houses for the same if not lower price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The Capital Grill Houston Galleria is ou ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Capital Grill Houston Galleria is our favorite high end steak house in Houston! We've been to their competitors, however none come close to food quality, service levels and personal attention offered. Our server Jay was outstanding!! 5 stars. If you go, ask for Jay and have him tell you about the history of your cocktails! None better in Houston!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for an exceptional Christmas E ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Thank you for an exceptional Christmas Eve dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place services was outstanding pro ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great place services was outstanding provide by Jeffrey !!!!!! I was celebrating my anniversary with my wife they made it special we received several extra items on the house ! Thank you capital grille !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I recommend dining at Capital Grille any ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I recommend dining at Capital Grille anytime but it's especially fabulous on holidays. The staff goes to great lengths to make it a very special experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our steaks were cooked to perfection and ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our steaks were cooked to perfection and we loved our salads. This is a great place for a romantic dinner for two. It's a darker restaurants, so I do not recommend it for a group if people have hearing impairments.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating several family occas ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We were celebrating several family occasions in one and we had a great time. The waiter was patient with our lively kids and the food was a treat. Thank you

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I reserved this place to celebrate my gr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I reserved this place to celebrate my graduation with my close friends and family. The process was very smooth and the service was amazing. My husband didn't know what he wanted to eat and our waitress walked him through everything and he ended up ordering something that he loved.

We were there from 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM and we loved it there. I would recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my husband birthday. They made ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Went for my husband birthday. They made it special from the moment we walked in the door. They had a card signed by the employees on the table waiting. Service was wonderful, and the ambiance was perfect. They did a wonderful job. Will definitely be going back just for date night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful after a long, hard day! Very c ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderful after a long, hard day! Very civilized. Service and food were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terry is the best.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Terry is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Capital Grille is an amazing dining ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The Capital Grille is an amazing dining experience. The quality and excellent service makes them a preferred dining venue in Houston for both personal and business purposes. Yes, the Capital Grille is indeed a "Cut-Above". I have dined in all of the top steakhouse in Houston and no one can compete on all levels.

Tags: , Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

steaks, service, and ambience excellent. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 5, 2016

steaks, service, and ambience excellent. quietly elegant, very nicely priced and wide ranging wine list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come ever year for our Anniversary. L ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We come ever year for our Anniversary. Love it! Tradition will continue and our friends loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

our waiter kind of disappear from time t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

our waiter kind of disappear from time to time. My lamb chops was not consistent, some pieces were dry and some were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great dinner with friends. Wonderful ser ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great dinner with friends. Wonderful service and the food was excellent. We love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy our dining experience at th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Always enjoy our dining experience at the Capital Grille

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The aged steaks are wonderful--firm but ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The aged steaks are wonderful--firm but tender and tasty. We have eaten at the Capital Grill in Austin and Houston. Both have great steaks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everthing was wonderful!!!!! Definitely ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Everthing was wonderful!!!!! Definitely is in my list of top restaurants in Houston! Thank you!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, the Lobster was excelle ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Love this place, the Lobster was excellent, and they are always so nice even though it is two women and you share, because you don't eat that much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, great food.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our time at this resta ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We really enjoyed our time at this restaurant. The food was great!

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dad and I had a wonderful time at one of ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Dad and I had a wonderful time at one of our favorite restaurants in Houston - Capital Grille for Thanksgiving! What a spread they had! It had to be one of the best Thanksgiving meals we have had in a while. Yum! It was a very special day for my dad and I.

Thanks to Capital Grille for doing a bang up job as always. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La comida excelente y el servicio excele ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on November 21, 2016

La comida excelente y el servicio excelente

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Esperaba mas del lugar!!! El pan muy bue ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Esperaba mas del lugar!!!

El pan muy bueno, pedimos calamares fritos muy buenos, los cortes buenos pero nada espectacular. Un filete de pescado sobre una cama de couscus tampoco impresionante, lo que si fue impresionante fue la cuenta, pero en fin es el precio de probar lugares diferentes, no volveria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Friday night dinner. Excellent mixed dri ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Friday night dinner. Excellent mixed drinks, delicious tender perfectly cooked rib eye and filet Oscar and side of creamed corn with bacon was great. Chocolate cake for dessert was good as well. Solid and dependable steakhouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terry was our waiter and he was superb. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Terry was our waiter and he was superb. Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated 45th anniversary at the Capit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Celebrated 45th anniversary at the Capital Grill with family and friends. The table was generously decorated with hearts, roses and other anniversary glitter (nice job). The food was very good, service good and the noise level was energetic. Another couple near by, also celebrating their wedding anniversary, joined us on a toast. I had an aged New York strip and was tasty but a bit over cooked (medium well versus medium). Overall we had a good time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wonderful husband and I were celebrat ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wonderful husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we decided to spend our special evening at Capital Grill. When I called to make our reservation, I casually mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary. We arrived and were greeted by a friendly staff that immediately led us, to our surprise, to the most beautifully decorated corner and private table strewn with rose petals, heart confetti and a gorgeous single rose for me! As we were seated, we simultaneously discovered a wonderful card propped up at the back of our table wishing us a happy anniversary and signed by the entire staff! Are you kidding me? We were COMPLETELY blown away and we hadn't been there more than two minutes! We ask ourselves how it could possibly get any better? It does.

In no time, Jean, our super-hero server, was at our table introducing herself and painting a scrumptious picture of the specials and taking our drink order. It was difficult to pick our entree, but my husband (finally) decided on the bone-in ribeye (a personal recommendation from Jean) and I decided on the halibut topped with crab meat and scallops (substituted for shrimp), which was also a recommendation by Jean when I wished our loud that the shrimp was scallops. My husband wanted a red wine with his steak, but couldn't decide which wine he wanted, so Jean brought him not one, but SIX wine samples out for him to try until he found his favorite. Are you kidding me? Talking about going above and beyond; Jean did.

After some wonderful drinks that included a large ice ball for my husband's rare bourbon he'd ordered, again, thanks to Jean saying they had them, we were served our entrees cooked to perfection. My husband's ribeye was medium-rare and perfect. My halibut was the thickest fillet we'd ever seen, and just as moist, flaky & flavorful. The crab meat and scallops were absolutely delightful and just what my taste buds desired! You have to ask for Jean, she is the best ever! Thank you, Jean!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

NOT VERY GOOD SERVICE, AND TEH MEAT WAS ...

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on November 5, 2016

NOT VERY GOOD SERVICE, AND TEH MEAT WAS NO SOMTHING SPECIAL, AS IT SHOULD BE; IT WAS NOISIE

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great place...we love it everytime we go ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great place...we love it everytime we go...the food is always great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Private Room, People Watching, Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on anniversary and it was perfect. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Went on anniversary and it was perfect. Great service. They even did a dessert and picture at the end. Wife was very pleased. Great experience will be dining again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious steaks and impeccable service ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Delicious steaks and impeccable service made for a memorable anniversary dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wagyu and wine in the bar. Best deal in ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wagyu and wine in the bar. Best deal in town!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.