About The Capital Grille - Houston

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5365 Westheimer Road
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private dining events only. Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Lounge: Open daily

Cross Street:
Yorktown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 623-4600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking. Self parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Ricardo Vargas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Mother's Day for an exceptional prix fixe brunch and endless mimosas. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as our Pan-Seared Salmon with Citrus Crab Salad.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 42 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Business Meals (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Romantic (9)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Groups (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wait staff could have been more crisp - spilled expensive wine, dropped a utensil on my wifes dress, kept poring ice and little water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Apparently we were there when very few others were and the quiet was refreshing. Having eaten at your restaurants over many years I had experience and was surprised. Scarlett the service person was attentive, jovial, friendly and thorough. Martini's were great and food was served timely with skill.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Once again, an outstanding experience. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great quality steaks and great service to match. Each dish was prepared exactly to order and tasted great.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great Steaks and spectacular lobster mac n cheese
I crave it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We love the Capital Grill. Food is always great and excellent service.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food, and service as always! Not to mention the best steaks in Houston too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, People Watching, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a lovely time! We were celebrating a birthday, and had an exceptional experience. Jason Joe was our server and he was professional, attentive, and we would ask for him again. I had the Filet Oscar and it was wonderful. We also had the delicious lobster mac and cheese and the Stoli Doli. Fun night and we will be back. Thank you.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I made this reservation for my friend to take his wife out for their anniversary. He told me how amazing it went and the romantic setting the staff set up. Thank you so much!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Things have changed here, and not for the better. It's been a year or so since we last dined here. The transition to the ipad wine and cocktail list is actually annoying to me - it seems more difficult to find something. The tuna tartare appetizer was spot-on. However, once our entrees arrived, we were a bit disappointed. Neither of us cared much for our steaks (not cooked very well, flavorless, and the Oscar topping on mine was not very good). Sides (mushrooms, lobster mac) were fantastic as always. We seemed to remember specialty coffee drinks from our last visit, but they've disappeared from the menu. My date got the Godiva coffee, which turned out like an adult milkshake - very good. I was so disappointed in the steak that I wound up going to Saltgrass Sunday to satisfy my craving. When a $20 steak beats a $50 one, there's no reason for us to return to The Capital Grille (well, except for maybe the lobster mac).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

It was our one year anniversary and it was great. It started off with a bummer because they were out of the Tomahawk steak. Overall Food was excellent and our server Miguel was nice and happy throughout our dinner experience. Wine was excellent as well with our complimentary dessert. We got a picture at the end which really made us happy. Miguel is great asset to the restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Reunión vgggggggggghhh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Reservations were canceled in us. Then they found us a small table. Appetizer was cold. Brussels sprouts were marginal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Consistently excellent service and food. Can't miss with their always expertly prepared steaks and seafood. A porcini-rubbed ribeye was tender and flavorful, as was was my Chilean sea bass. Also a Nice selection of appetizers - we enjoyed an wonderful smoked salmon on this visit

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Special occasions such as an anniversary deserve a special place to celebrate. The Capital Grille doesn't disappoint with it's trademark exceptional service (THANK YOU!, Jay Bautch), delectable food dishes, and deep wine list. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful food, service, ambience. It's a real treat for a special occasion!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Exceptional service and great quality food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing food and service. I love it! Always consistent. Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The things done on my visit were truly appalling. I ordered a steak with the Kona preparation and they brought out the wrong Steak. Instead of fixing it they tried to cover it up and and serve the same balsamic Steak. This was quite evident and I told them what they did. There was no argument. But they brought out the next Steak strangely quickly at the end of the night. To me, someone who has worked fine dining, it appeared that they fried my Steak to get it out quickly. When I said something they looked embarrassed and offered me a new Steak but my fear at this point was what they might do next. This is something I'd expect at outback or some unprofessional place. Not capital grille. I will say they took the Steak off the check but I barely ate any of it. They even gave me a $75 gift certificate. I don't want any of that. I wanted the meal that I ordered. I've eaten at the capital grille at least 50 times. This happened once before so it's not a one time thing. I still love cap grille but this was seriously upsetting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Solid 4.5 stars. Excellent. Yes we would go back. Longer version: I had been to this particular Cap Grille before, and a family friend wanted to go try as reward for a celebration of a received academic award. Paige was our server who was excellent. Just enough advice and attention to give her 5 stars. We split the calamari appetizer - just enough spice and "heat" from the peppers to make it interesting. The kale salad was also split - a full salad each would of been too much. Very good. My friend had the 22 oz Bone In Rib-Eye with a peppercorn sauce on the side. Excellent - perfectly cooked to order and very tasty. I had the sea bass - excellent as well. The asparagus side now comes in a smaller portion which is now a perfect size for 2. Very good. Two people with a glass of wine and perhaps a cocktail will be near $300 with the tip, so this is not a cheap evening, but this is not Outback steakhouse either. It was busy for a Tuesday night so get reservations, especially for a booth. Enjoyable meal - yes we would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary here and enjoyed an excellent evening that exceeded our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 13, 2017

good food , great place , two important points to have a great dinner .

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I asked for a quiet table when submitting the reservations. Our table was in a back corner away from the bustle. I expected to have to remind them when we arrived, but they took us straight to the quiet spot. I was impressed. The wait staff was awesome, they weren't too serious and had fun with us. The food wasn't as outstanding as the service, but we took a risk trying selections that were off the beaten path for us. I would like to return and get one of the filets or a dish I am more comfortable with. But overall, it was a great place for a first date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Celebrated anniversary and proposed to my girlfriend. Staff was wonderful and went out of their way to make this a memorable night. Everything was spot on, from the service, which was beyond excellent, to the food that was perfectly cooked to our liking and served in ample portions. Phenomenal place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Tried to have a special New Years Eve dinner with my wife however, instead of being spectacular, it was just average. First, after using OpenTable for reservations, The Capital Grille was unable to get my reservations correct. When they called to confirm, they had my reservation down 2 hours later than requested. When I asked for a earlier time there was one available however, it took several times for them to get it right. I received confirmation emails for two different times...7:15 and 7:30 (I had requested 7:30). We arrived at 7:22 and were told we missed our 7:00 dinner time and that they hold tables only for 15 mins. I showed them the email confirmation and they were eventually able to get us a table. The food was average. The lobster mac and cheese was overcooked and had fried onion ring stuff on top. The steaks were over cooked as well. For the price you pay, you would think their quality would be better. I get much better service at Del Frisco's and other steak houses for the same if not lower price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Capital Grill Houston Galleria is our favorite high end steak house in Houston! We've been to their competitors, however none come close to food quality, service levels and personal attention offered. Our server Jay was outstanding!! 5 stars. If you go, ask for Jay and have him tell you about the history of your cocktails! None better in Houston!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Thank you for an exceptional Christmas Eve dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great place services was outstanding provide by Jeffrey !!!!!! I was celebrating my anniversary with my wife they made it special we received several extra items on the house ! Thank you capital grille !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I recommend dining at Capital Grille anytime but it's especially fabulous on holidays. The staff goes to great lengths to make it a very special experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our steaks were cooked to perfection and we loved our salads. This is a great place for a romantic dinner for two. It's a darker restaurants, so I do not recommend it for a group if people have hearing impairments.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We were celebrating several family occasions in one and we had a great time. The waiter was patient with our lively kids and the food was a treat. Thank you

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I reserved this place to celebrate my graduation with my close friends and family. The process was very smooth and the service was amazing. My husband didn't know what he wanted to eat and our waitress walked him through everything and he ended up ordering something that he loved.
We were there from 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM and we loved it there. I would recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Went for my husband birthday. They made it special from the moment we walked in the door. They had a card signed by the employees on the table waiting. Service was wonderful, and the ambiance was perfect. They did a wonderful job. Will definitely be going back just for date night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderful after a long, hard day! Very civilized. Service and food were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Terry is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The Capital Grille is an amazing dining experience. The quality and excellent service makes them a preferred dining venue in Houston for both personal and business purposes. Yes, the Capital Grille is indeed a "Cut-Above". I have dined in all of the top steakhouse in Houston and no one can compete on all levels.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 5, 2016

steaks, service, and ambience excellent. quietly elegant, very nicely priced and wide ranging wine list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We come ever year for our Anniversary. Love it! Tradition will continue and our friends loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.