About The Capital Grille - Houston

5365 Westheimer Road
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private dining events only. Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Lounge: Open daily

Cross Street:
Yorktown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 623-4600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking. Self parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Ricardo Vargas

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Sliced fillet mignon with onions and mushrooms
Birthday!
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster
Wagyu Cheeseburger with Fried Egg and Crisp Onions
Wild Mushroom Cheeseburger
Creme Brulee
Filet Oscar
flourless chocolate cake
Delmonico
Bread Basket
Prime Rib, Potaties Au Gratin, Creamed Spinach & Yorkshire Pudding
Classic Crème Brulée
Wild Mushrooms
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Amuse Bouche
Caesar Salad
Mushroom soup
Au Gratin Potatoes
Coconut Creme Pie
Porcini-Rubbed Delmonico Steak W/ 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Wagyu Burger
carpaccio
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 42 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Houston
Steakhouse
Houston
Best Service
Houston
3 More
Best Ambiance
Houston
Steakhouse
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (39)
Notable Wine List (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Yes, this is a chain establishment, but ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 2 days ago

Yes, this is a chain establishment, but don't let that be your barometer. The interior is old school masculine and dark/cozy; done well however if you like that kind of intimate space. The staff is so proud of their service, they strive hard to make your experience the best possible, that they give you their business card and encourage you to request them on your next visit. The cocktails are creative, the wine list extensive, the food delicious. We ate at Capital Grill in Seattle and wanted to compare it to Houston - both great. Everything we ordered was great I can't pick a favorite. Just order and you will be pleased.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were here for Houston Restaurant Week ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were here for Houston Restaurant Weeks, which will end in a couple of weeks. They donate $7 of each HRW meal to the Food Bank, which means for $38, you get your choice of three appetizers (I recommend Caesar Salad but all were good), several Entrees (I chose the dry aged 14 oz NY steak) and one of three desserts. To make things better, right now they have a wine tasting menu which gives you as much as you want of 7 different wines. Make it a tasting menu, try them all, or whatever you want. I had fun tasting a Cabernet Blend and Stag's Leap Cabernet. The latter was far superior.

If I had to pick one limitation--and it is minor--given the prices they are charging for this charitable event, they depend on turning tables quickly. And, boy do they do that. When I go to Capital Grille, usually it is a 2 to 3 hour event; this time, in and out in 75 minutes. But, I can't blame them for that.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my birthday - the food and s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrating my birthday - the food and service could not have been better and the staff really made the evening a fun, celebratory event!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Susan Baudier was exceptional - can't wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Susan Baudier was exceptional - can't wait to come back and have her help us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had friends visiting from out of town ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had friends visiting from out of town and made reservations for Houston Restaurant Weeks because they had a terrfic menu selection and our friends wanted a good steak. When we got to the restaurant not only was it a HRW menu but it was also Generous Pour. It was AMAZING and our friends considered putting their house on the market and moving to Houston because of our incredible evening there. Thank you Jessica and Paige for the wonderful service! Not only was our evening wonderful, we also received a thank you card from our server! Talk about doing things right!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited during HRW. While we sometimes ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Visited during HRW. While we sometimes visit Capital Grille during other times of the year and have great service, this time was very different as our waiter seemed completely disinterested. Food was very good, as usual, and restaurant was quiet on a rainy night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

A group of us went to dinner to celebrat ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A group of us went to dinner to celebrate birthdays and took advantage of Houston Restaurant Weeks. We had a good time, the food was good, but service lacked a little. We were brought the wrong salads, she didn't get the order of the main course correctly and she mixed up the desserts (she really should have written things down). She also went missing for long periods of time and we couldn't find her. And she said she had worked there for over 8 years, but wasn't sure of everything they could offer from the bar.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Jay is a great waiter! Very knowledgable ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Jay is a great waiter! Very knowledgable in both food and wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a staff appreciation dinner at the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had a staff appreciation dinner at the Capital Grille and our server, Jeff, really took care of us. We had outstanding service and the meal was delicious. It's not easy to keep 14 different people happy but Jeff did so easily and everyone left completely satisfied.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steaks were excellent and cooked exactly ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Steaks were excellent and cooked exactly as we requested.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Beautiful decor.... Wooden paneling, com ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Beautiful decor.... Wooden paneling, comfortable tables and chairs, and excellent food. This is the sort of place you expect people who live in triple-digit house numbers on Kirby to dine. The fantastically attentive waiter and excellent hostesses enhanced the experience. The prices are premium but justified given the premium service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great service.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was incredible. Service was great, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was incredible. Service was great, and restaurant week menu had a good amount of choices!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and service every ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Consistently good food and service every time. Steaks come out perfect even with large groups.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grill is an excellent, consi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The Capital Grill is an excellent, consistent and elegant place for a great steak or seafood meal. We have been going for the last 18 months, since we returned to Houston and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Craig has always been great to us! We lo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Craig has always been great to us! We love this location! Best steak in Houston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

It was a birthday celebration, and the f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It was a birthday celebration, and the food and service were excellent. The birthday extra was a chocolate dessert plus champagne for both of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was excellent.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were there for Restaurant week. The f ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We were there for Restaurant week. The food selection were outstanding and the service excellent. One of us tried the generous Pour and was very generous and great selection.Thank you Jason Joe for outstanding service. You made the night extra special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason was thoroughly attendant to our qu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Jason was thoroughly attendant to our questions . Servings paired with wines were perfectly timed, never rushed. He was always cordial and professional at the same time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Capital Grille does it extremely well re ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Capital Grille does it extremely well regardless of the city in which the particular restaurant is located. It is one of my favorite places to dine when I travel. I had the scallops on this trip which were excellent. For a business dinner, ask for a quiet location within the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

By far one of the best restaurants in Ho ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

By far one of the best restaurants in Houston. he service from the minute you walk in the door is literally outstanding. Every measure is taken to insure a remarkable experience. The wine list is incredible. The food, simply among the top 5 spots in Houston. The folks there made you feel like you were the only table in the entire place and were completely on top of their game...without being all over you. Each time we had a mere thought about something it was already on the way. In an era where customer service is declining or dead...they still get it. We will be back again and again and bring guests and friends. Thanks!! This visit was to celebrate our 31st anniversary...by far one of the best meals in the last three decades!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service from the wait staff, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent service from the wait staff, food was delicious, staff attentive and went above board to acknowledge our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jason Joe was our server. He was knowle ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Jason Joe was our server. He was knowledgeable and very pleasant. We also enjoyed the selections of the wine on the Generous Pour program. Food was good as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, as always was exquisite. The s ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food, as always was exquisite. The service was good, very attentive. I had a birthday in my party. They decorated the table and had a card. The only thing I didn't like was my birthday person was given his complimentary dessert before I could order mine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent dinner. Great service. Love th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent dinner. Great service. Love the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service! A bit dark to my ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food and service! A bit dark to my liking, but overall the place is really good! It's our to go place for special occasions and business dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were celebrating our anniv ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and we were pleased that we chose the Capital Grille. The food was excellent and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, the service and the ambiance w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food, the service and the ambiance were excellent! We love to celebrate special occasions here. They took our picture and did several other really nice things that made the evening outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was Great. From the Very plea ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was Great. From the Very pleasant welcome from the hostess,the friendly service at bar, very knowledgeable waiter that knew the menu front to back, and what wines to pair with meal. The food was Excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille never disappoints! My hus ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Capital Grille never disappoints! My husband and I have been going to Capital Grille from before we were married. We celebrated birthdays there previously and this time we celebrated our wedding anniversary! As always the service was impeccable and the food amazing (the lobster Mac and cheese is always on point along with all their steaks!). We will be coming back again in the future!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was absolutely awesome! She w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our server was absolutely awesome! She was personal without being too much in our business. The food was outstanding! This was our second visit to the Capital Grille, and we loved it even more this time. They celebrated our anniversary with a quiet, yet very touching dessert delivered to our table. We don't like to be the center of attention, so this was an awesome way you recognize our anniversary. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My guest and I enjoyed the ambiance, foo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

My guest and I enjoyed the ambiance, food, wine and professional service. I will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Capital Grille is always top notch. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Capital Grille is always top notch. Food, ambiance and service are the best! Everything was delicious and our waiter, Sean, was very attentive!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halibut special was amazing!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Halibut special was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

It was my 22nd anniversary and they had ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was my 22nd anniversary and they had the table decorated with hearts and rose pedals along with Champaign. My wife was thoroughly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and great food. Quite ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent service and great food. Quite expensive, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The feel of this place is very old world ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The feel of this place is very old world European. A relaxing restaurant that is for adults who want to talk, be heard and like to eat well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We attended The Capital Grille in June f ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We attended The Capital Grille in June for a business dinner. The food was exceptional and the service was top notch!

Jean Gundy did an outstanding job for us. Her enchanting personality along with her warm smile added to our dining experience. We were grateful to have her as part of our evening.

I give our overall experience a 10! Thank you for a delightful evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.