About The Capital Grille - Houston

5365 Westheimer Road
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private dining events only. Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Lounge: Open daily

Cross Street:
Yorktown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 623-4600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking. Self parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Ricardo Vargas

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Lobster Mac And Cheese
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster
Birthday!
Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers
Sliced fillet mignon with onions and mushrooms
Wagyu Cheeseburger with Fried Egg and Crisp Onions
Wild Mushroom Cheeseburger
Creme Brulee
Filet Oscar
flourless chocolate cake
Delmonico
Bread Basket
Prime Rib, Potaties Au Gratin, Creamed Spinach & Yorkshire Pudding
Classic Crème Brulée
Wild Mushrooms
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Amuse Bouche
Caesar Salad
Mushroom soup
Au Gratin Potatoes
Coconut Creme Pie
Porcini-Rubbed Delmonico Steak W/ 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Wagyu Burger
carpaccio
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Lobster Pot Pie

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 6:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 42 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Houston
Steakhouse
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

special occasion (40)
romantic (28)
notable wine list (21)
See All
fit for foodies (12)
good for groups (12)
neighborhood gem (6)
great for lunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service from the wait staff, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service from the wait staff, food was delicious, staff attentive and went above board to acknowledge our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jason Joe was our server. He was knowle ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Jason Joe was our server. He was knowledgeable and very pleasant. We also enjoyed the selections of the wine on the Generous Pour program. Food was good as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, as always was exquisite. The s ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food, as always was exquisite. The service was good, very attentive. I had a birthday in my party. They decorated the table and had a card. The only thing I didn't like was my birthday person was given his complimentary dessert before I could order mine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent dinner. Great service. Love th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent dinner. Great service. Love the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service! A bit dark to my ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food and service! A bit dark to my liking, but overall the place is really good! It's our to go place for special occasions and business dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were celebrating our anniv ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and we were pleased that we chose the Capital Grille. The food was excellent and the service was exceptional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, the service and the ambiance w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food, the service and the ambiance were excellent! We love to celebrate special occasions here. They took our picture and did several other really nice things that made the evening outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was Great. From the Very plea ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was Great. From the Very pleasant welcome from the hostess,the friendly service at bar, very knowledgeable waiter that knew the menu front to back, and what wines to pair with meal. The food was Excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille never disappoints! My hus ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Capital Grille never disappoints! My husband and I have been going to Capital Grille from before we were married. We celebrated birthdays there previously and this time we celebrated our wedding anniversary! As always the service was impeccable and the food amazing (the lobster Mac and cheese is always on point along with all their steaks!). We will be coming back again in the future!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was absolutely awesome! She w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our server was absolutely awesome! She was personal without being too much in our business. The food was outstanding! This was our second visit to the Capital Grille, and we loved it even more this time. They celebrated our anniversary with a quiet, yet very touching dessert delivered to our table. We don't like to be the center of attention, so this was an awesome way you recognize our anniversary. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My guest and I enjoyed the ambiance, foo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

My guest and I enjoyed the ambiance, food, wine and professional service. I will be back.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Capital Grille is always top notch. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Capital Grille is always top notch. Food, ambiance and service are the best! Everything was delicious and our waiter, Sean, was very attentive!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halibut special was amazing!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Halibut special was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

It was my 22nd anniversary and they had ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was my 22nd anniversary and they had the table decorated with hearts and rose pedals along with Champaign. My wife was thoroughly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and great food. Quite ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent service and great food. Quite expensive, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The feel of this place is very old world ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The feel of this place is very old world European. A relaxing restaurant that is for adults who want to talk, be heard and like to eat well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We attended The Capital Grille in June f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We attended The Capital Grille in June for a business dinner. The food was exceptional and the service was top notch!

Jean Gundy did an outstanding job for us. Her enchanting personality along with her warm smile added to our dining experience. We were grateful to have her as part of our evening.

I give our overall experience a 10! Thank you for a delightful evening!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Gorgonzola and truffle NY strip was ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The Gorgonzola and truffle NY strip was phenomenal! Definitely recommend it. Meal and service were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice choice

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I decided to revisit The Capital Grille for our 33rd Wedding Anniversary after going there for our 31st. They decorated our table with fresh rose petals, and also a long-stemmed rose which was so nice. Our great choices of Tartar for an appetizer and Filet Oscar and Lamb Chops were definite winners, though I could not get the escargot I wanted, since it is not currently on the menu.

The place is cold! Ladies bring a sweater.

The wine list was very diverse in price, so you don't have to spent a lot to get decent choices.

Jeff, our waiter was most efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Really great food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Kona crusted rib eye with shallot butter might be one of the best steaks I have ever had.

The artichoke bisque was wonderful. I will be going back to have the exact same meal at some point.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Oscar Style Filet Mignon speci ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I had the Oscar Style Filet Mignon special, a French onion soup, and a creme brûlée! It was amazing!! My filet was so tender and the sauce complimented it well. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never go wrong here.....

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent as always! I am a believer in you get what you pay for and Capitol Grill always over delivers time and time again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome. My husband and I s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was awesome. My husband and I shared the 24 oz Porter House and it was so tender. Our daughter had the Tenderloin and Lobster Tails in which was excellent. We will definitely be going back for sure. Oh forgot to mention their Pineapple infused Vodka (Martini), WOW!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always love the capital Grille their f ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I always love the capital Grille their food is always superb and on this visit they outdid themselves! I had the lobster and fillet mignon which was cooked to perfection! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my 60th birthday and 18-year anni ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It was my 60th birthday and 18-year anniversary double celebration. Capital Grille made the entire evening very special. Our table was decorated with confetti, rose petals and a long-stemmed rose. Our food was absolutely delicious! Michael at the bar and Mitchell at our table took excellent care of us. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I ordered the French onion soup as my entre, and boy was it amazing. It came out looking just like you would expect a French onion soup to look. It had the perfect melted cheese around the top, and the broth was so good. There was a little bit of bread inside the broth. The surprising part was how big it was. I tried some of the other plates from people in our group, and the Seabass was fresh. They have a good size selection of steaks.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious!! Service was excelle ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was delicious!! Service was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Meal

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food, ambiance and service...

had the Porterhouse with Kona rub

cook medium....excellent...liked it

better than the rib-eye...tasty but lots

of uneatable fat...pricey but worth it

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding food and top notch service! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Outstanding food and top notch service! 5 stars all the way around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Enjoyed a great dinner with great service. Their key lime pie is the best outside of Florida!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Magical Dinner

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We are two teachers that received a 100 gift card to this Capital Grille. It was an amazing dinner from start to finish. We loved all the food we ordered and by the end of the night we were out of words to describe how satisfied we were with our food and service. The wait staff were all very friendly, cordial, and obliging to all of our needs and then some! Great place for a special occasion or a weekend dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overly Expensive with very Average Food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Capital Grill Management Service was excellent. Side orders were overly expensive and tasted like frozen vegetables...for 4 people we have spent 750 USD and we had an average wine (100 usd each)

This is why this restaurant will not be a restaurant for me to visit at least a month...but maybe in another occasion where I know that I can spend that much money...

Thanks.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Exceeds our expectations every time

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Always a great experience, top notch service and the best food in Houston. Love the Capital Grill.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter Rene was very knowledgeable a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

The waiter Rene was very knowledgeable and sharp and the steak was fantastic. I shall return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner out

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

We go here often and are always pleased with the food and service

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at The Capital Grille

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The NCAA Final Four was in Houston this past weekend so TCG was packed; however, we still had a great evening and the wait staff was running as fast as they could to accommodate the overflowing crowd. Another wonderful meal - thank you!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Disappointing experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

I chose Capital Grille because I love steaks and wanted to celebrate my birthday with a great one. I was disappointed with the entire experience. We had a party of 7 and they accommodated our party quickly and efficiently. No complaints there. However, I ordered a medium well steak and it arrived well done. Other steak places ask the customer to cut through it prior to eating to insure accuracy. This was not the case. I had to return it for another one. I hate returning food, but a well done steak is horrible. They did apologize, but that's about it. The sautéed spinach I ordered, first arrived as creamed spinach, so that also had to be returned. In it's place, I got bland sautéed spinach. There was no garlic or seasoning of any kind. One of my friends ordered the lobster mac and cheese. She loves this dish from Capital Grille, however, it also was disappointing and she returned it and chose not to order anything else.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.