Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 4/22
Time
11:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today
Special offers available. See details

The Capital Grille - Houston

4.8
1475 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Perfect For:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Available for private dining events only. Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Lounge: Open daily

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(713) 623-4600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ricardo Vargas
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Yorktown
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet parking. Self parking also available.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 42 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Join us on Mother's Day for an exceptional prix-fixe brunch and endless mimosas. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as our Pan-Seared Salmon with Citrus Crab Salad.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 1475 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.8
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We had an wonderful dining experience! Our server, John, was a compliment to the evening. His friendly, laid back, and witty personality accompanied a great meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was delicious. We all had steaks or lamb chops which were all done to perfection. The side dishes were also very tasty which included mac/cheese and sauteed spinach. The wedge salad was great and big enough to share as were the meat dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great spot for dates! Also has a dedicated gluten free menu which was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Wonderful service and ambiance! Although there were a few large groups and it was mid-week, we received excellent and very attentive service from Jean, our waitstaff server..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We came to the Capital Grille for Easter, as well as to celebrate our daughter's 18th birthday. We have 4 children, ages 8 to 18. We were more than happy with our experience here (our first time to visit). I can imagine that a group which includes so many younger kids at this restaurant is not the servers' favorite scenario! :) However, our kids do know how to behave in a nice restaurant, and our server, Tony, was just great. He was so polite and friendly with all of us and made each of our kids feel very comfortable. The food was outstanding (it was the Easter prix fixe menu which included a few choices for each course) and he made sure to check that all the steaks in the order were prepared just as requested--even my 12 year old son's. He took care of every one of our needs before we even had to ask. The restaurant even provides shawls for those who get cold during the meal. I though that was a great touch. Since it was an Easter birthday, we had a special gift to give to our daughter which we had put into an Easter egg; I also brought along small sparkler candles to put onto her dessert. All I had to do was give these to the hostesses (who were also very warm and friendly) and they took care of the rest with Tony and it was perfect, and all a surprise for her. Another great "extra" for the birthday celebration: when desserts were delivered, they provided my husband and myself complimentary sparkling wine in champagne glasses AND sparkling non-alcoholic drinks (Shirley Temples) in the same glasses for my kids. For the younger ones, that was the highlight of the afternoon! They loved drinking their special drinks out of the fancy glasses. I really appreciated that although we came to such a nice restaurant with young children, we were treated with the same care and attention we would have received had we been an adult-only group. Excellent service, from beginning to end! It was an expensive meal, yes, but worth it. We will most definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Service and food was amazing had a great date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Buena atención! Y todo súper rico

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food and service were excellent. No problems there. In a nearly empty restaurant on a Thursday night celebrating a birthday, we were seated right next to another couple. Ordinarily this would not be a problem, but this pretentious moron spent the evening on his phone loudly discussing some $3 million business deal in order to impress his date. He was too loud and his phone rang too loud. We could not even hear each other at times. Maybe on a slow night you could leave a little space between diners.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Lamb chops were outstanding! I also appreciated the excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Excelente todo

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Jacob fue nuestro mesero y nos brindo una excelente atencion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great! It will become a favorite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I went there for a long overdue date with my wife. It was an excellent experience from start to finish. The service was impeccable. The decor and overall environment was great. Every bite of our meal was outstanding. A great bottle of wine was recommended. This is a place I will definitely come to again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

We dined at the Capital to celebrate our 36 wedding anniversary. They made it very special from the rose petals and single stem rose, to the complimentary dessert and champagne. Will definitely celebrate our 37th at the Capital.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great dinner very good and accommodating for one of us that has special diet

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The best thing that we appreciate is the noise level and the service. Our steak could have been better but notbad enough to complain

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Capital Grille is one of our favorite date night restaurants Consistently perfect service and food! It’s one of the few places left for a quiet , romantic evening .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Our waiter Jeff was outstanding! Food was incredible!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Never disappointed - always a great meal and venue.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

All was excellent; however, the steak was more like well done rather than medium well, unlike prior visits to this specific restaurant. Service was excellent, as always. Carl was our attendant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We make a point of visiting every trip to Houston! They have never failed to amaze us. Before our recent visit, I would not eat Brussels sprouts, now I look forward to eating them again. We have always been so impressed with this location in particular, just amazing!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Great place as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Totally worth the money. Food was delicious and fresh

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The food and atmosphere is always perfect at Capitol Grill. It will always be our go to for good steak and wine for our special events such as birthdays and anniversaries.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

It was very nice and enjoyable

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We had an excellent time and the food was amazing as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We planned a belated Valentine’s Day celebration. It was a large party of 8. Our reservation was for 8:30 and they were running a little behind so the manager came over to apologize and offered us each a complimentary glass of champagne. We had a private corner, food & service were perfect. It was an awesome evening

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

For a woman portions are huge. I usually get 4 oz filet so 10 oz is way to large. Would have a dessert if didn’t try to eat so much. Food was wonderful and will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Wonderful as always

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 16, 2018

The server was seriously inattentive and was rude.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Ordered a medium steak and got a steak with a carbon charred and burned top surface

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

It was very nice but the prices are ridiculous I went for Valentines day and ordered something so small and my bill was 130 dollars

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Tony was excellent server and food was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Fabulous experience. Miguel was great and both managers are so nice and attentive. We also love Paige and Susan. Food and drinks superb! Capital Grille is by far one of our favorite restaurants. Can’t wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Great food, excellent service most visits.
The waitress missed my gift card and charged the full amount to my credit card without using the gift card and could not redo the charges so I was not able to use my gift card this visit. Quite upsetting considering the level of customer service the restaurant prides itself on.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

5 star all the way, excellent, great food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Wonderful evening, my husband and I were out on date night. Food and service was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

One of the best meals I’ve had. Steak was unbelievable and the service was top notch. We always love coming here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Wonderful. As usual

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Capital Grille always knocks it out of the park. Service is great and the food is even better.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
37