About The Capital Grille - Houston

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5365 Westheimer Road
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private dining events only. Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Lounge: Open daily

Cross Street:
Yorktown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 623-4600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking. Self parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Ricardo Vargas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 42 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Business Meals (16)
See All
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Romantic (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 12, 2017

The Wagu and wine is awesome. The service is always excellent. Ask for Jessica. She is great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This is the 2nd time I've been to the Capital Grill with the first being at Town and Country. The service was so bad then I was given $200 in Gift Certificates.

The food was better this 2nd time at the Galleria Capital Grill, but the service was torturously slow. This was a Sunday night. Restaurant about 20% full. My party was 3 people. We went strait to the main dish, no appetizers. And it took 2 hours and 20 minutes for just the main dish and desert.

Manager nowhere to be seen until we were done and it was too late to do anything about the poor pace of service. I'd complain and ask for more Gift Certificates, but I will never go back to either Capital Grill again, even if it's free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We made our reservations with out thinking about the October birthday next week. Capitol Grille called the day before to confirm our reservations and asked about any special occasion and I snapped to the birthday coming up. We were a party of 4 and they sat us in a cozy booth.
We shared the butternut squash soup, lobster & crab cakes and the shaved brussel sprout salad.
The soup was velvety in texture with just a hint of curry. Fantastic! The lobster and crab cakes had large chunks of lobster and came two per order. Good thing we had ordered two orders because they were a hit with all of us. Mildly seasoned with the tartar sauce on the side they
were very good. The brussel sprout salad was so good. Loaded with pecans and smoked bacon chucks and a small dollop of goat cheese the vinaigrette made this salad outstanding. The boys had the porcini rubbed bone-in rib eye. The flavor of the rub was fantastic with just a tad of cayenne and balsamic. I had the 10 oz. filet au poivre and it was fantastic, perfectly cooked with the pepper corns and a touch of cognac cream sauce. The other dish was pan-seared scallops with wild mushroom risotto. No complaints here , the scallops were huge and the risotto spot on. The staff gave the birthday boy a nice card and served us champagne for a toast. Fabulous evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 7, 2017

As usual, the Capital Grille was a wonderful dining experience. The food was exceptional and the service was outstanding. Our waiter was very attentive; ensuring we always had what we needed. We were celebrating the purchase of a first home for one of the diners and they made the experience remeberable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

As always, the staff, service & food were outstanding! They have the Best Creme Brûlée in Houston!!
Thanks for making my Mom's Birthday so special!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I was celebrating my birthday with my family. Our waiter was very personable and made that experience that much better. Great meal and ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Amazing atmosphere to celebrate a few things during a date night. Happy to go back anytime!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

we enjoyed dining during Houston Restaurant week. the food was excellent however, their wine list was way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I had a great birthday dinner celebrating at The Capital Grille restaurant. A Wonderful Dining Experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We arrived early for a Friday night, and the place was almost empty but was almost full by the time we left. Our waiter Rene, a veteran of more than 10 years, took excellent care of us and we thoroughly enjoyed everything about this meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 20, 2017

A great place to celebrate an anniversary. The service, the food, the ambience - perfect. An outstanding dining experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

One of the best filets I have had in a long long time. Also, our server, Jeffrey, was fantastic--attentive but not obtrusive and very accommodating in regard to our wine requests.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Great wine list as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Ask for Jay. He was incredibly busy, but he still provided a great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This restaurant never fails to serve the best food. Service is outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Capital Grill never disappoints and the service is always outstanding.
Enjoyed another terrific evening!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Capital Grill is always a great experience!! Generously Pour is a great value !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Celebrated a birthday here. I loved that we got a birthday card signed by the staff, a table decorated with confetti and photos taken by our waitress to remember the night.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

14 of us met there to celebrate my father's 85 birthday. We were lucky enough to get a room in the back (we tend to be loud) and fortunate enough to have Paige be our waitperson. She was OUTSTANDING. The food was very good and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was a return visit and I am ALWAYS impressed by this place!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was great and only surpassed by the service. Loved it.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

A few years ago my husband and I started making it a tradition to have his birthday here every year. I use to call and make the reservations until I found OT. The last two years were tough for us because we had a premie baby, but we started the tradition back up again this year and added friends to it. Capital Grille did NOT disappoint again! Always nice to know I don't have to worry about Birthday plans for my husband. His birthday is in August, during HRW, but we typically order from the regular menu. This year we tried it because our friends wanted to try it, and it was delish. Thank you for being so amazingly consistent! We will see you next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fantastic food from start to finish. Wait staff was professional and attentive. We love this restaurant, one of our top 5 restaurants and we will definitely return. If you haven't eaten here, it's a must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful menu and wine pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

All good but my steak was over cooked . I had asked it to be medium cooked and it came dry. The other steaks were cooked as requested

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

It's my favorite place! Great food ! great service! I love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Subpar steak quality. Table not ready in arrival, 8 min delay. Long long time for service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fabulous server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We hadn't been in years, but went for Restaurant Week. The RR Week menu choices were more than adequate, although the RR Week steak option was (as you'd suspect) on the small side. Good cocktails.

Great service, but they did switch the steak orders when they were served. I ended up with a medium instead of a medium rare (which my sister didn't notice and didn't mind until it was too late to switch them ourselves).

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I've been a customer of the Galleria Capital Grill for around 15 years and have never had a bad meal or experience there. This occasion was for our anniversary and I must say it stands our as my best experience there and among my best dining experiences ever. The primary reason for my having that opinion (and for my posting this review - VERY uncharacteristic!) was our server - Susan Baudier. Susan was knowledgeable about all the food and wine selections offered, gave just the right amount of attention to us, and insured an all around enjoyable experience. I strongly suggest the next time you're selecting a restaurant, give the Galleria Capital Grill serious consideration. And when you're en route, call ahead and mention that you'd prefer that Susan be your server. I guarantee you will be grateful for my suggestion and will repeat the experience - I certainly will!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We went during the HRW. Excellent food as always. We also opted for the generous wine pour, are a gem.Very generous. Love the wine selection they offered. The service was excellent. Thank you Susan. You

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Jason is a stellar waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

My Capital Grille experience was amazing. Rodd was hands down the man that night ensuring to recommend the best entrees, sides, and appetizers. The atmosphere was very elegant, and fit the occasion perfectly even with my party of 15. They were sweet enough to sign a birthday card for me makine me feel even more special. The lamb chops were wonderfully cooked to perfection. No one in my party complained about there food even though it was bit pricey for their liking, so have your wallet ready. I would recommend this restaurant, and I am definitely going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Food was excellent, service was even better. Ask for Susan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Fantastic food and drinks. I would highly reccommend this reataurant for all occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Lovely evening spent enjoying delicious food, celebrating our first wedding anniversary. The entire staff congratulated us on our anniversary and our table was set with a lovely rose, rose petals and a signed card from the staff. The food was incredible and the staff was superb. Thank you Capital Grille for an enjoyable and memorable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Awesome experience. No matter how many time I dine there, they make everyone more special than the last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent food and service as usual. Has a quiet ambiance that permits the diner to enjoy the meal and their company.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Capital Grill a dependable dining choice for business or social meals. The menu selections are delicious and varied. Service is always friendly and efficient. Never an unpleasant surprise. Clients appreciate the ambiance and food.

Tags: Fun, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.