About The Capital Grille - Houston

5365 Westheimer Road
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private dining events only. Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Lounge: Open daily

Cross Street:
Yorktown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 623-4600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking. Self parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Ricardo Vargas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Sliced fillet mignon with onions and mushrooms
Birthday!
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster
Wagyu Cheeseburger with Fried Egg and Crisp Onions
Wild Mushroom Cheeseburger
Creme Brulee
Filet Oscar
flourless chocolate cake
Delmonico
Bread Basket
Prime Rib, Potaties Au Gratin, Creamed Spinach & Yorkshire Pudding
Classic Crème Brulée
Wild Mushrooms
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Amuse Bouche
Caesar Salad
Mushroom soup
Au Gratin Potatoes
Coconut Creme Pie
Porcini-Rubbed Delmonico Steak W/ 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Wagyu Burger
carpaccio
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 42 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Houston
Best Food
Houston
Best Ambiance
Houston
6 More
Steakhouse
Houston
Best Overall
Houston
Best Food
Houston
Best Service
Houston
Best Ambiance
Houston
Steakhouse
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (39)
Notable Wine List (31)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Groups (19)
Good for a Date (10)
Business Meals (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Every aspect of our dining experience wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Every aspect of our dining experience was perfection our wait staff JeanGundy was always professional but with a smile and genuinely professional in all she did.Steaks heavenly.Desert sinfully delicious and lobster Mac and cheese out of this world.Did I mention the bread ,WOW!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From start to finish a wonderful dining ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

From start to finish a wonderful dining experience. I can't wait to go back

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Scenic View, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic ribeye, cooked perfectly and l ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic ribeye, cooked perfectly and lots of flavor. Mashed potatoes were great. Companion raved about his Oscar. Great meal and tremendous service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service and set up for an an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding service and set up for an anniversary celebration. Always love their steaks.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I met my wife at this Capital Grill and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I met my wife at this Capital Grill and we were returning 14 years later to celebrate our anniversary. They really treated us special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think I already wrote this: all was re ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I think I already wrote this: all was really good,; some drunk patron marred a bit the occasion, but the staff handled the situation very well.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We tried the restaurant week menu for ou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We tried the restaurant week menu for our date night. The mood was great. We were seated in a private quiet booth. We both ordered the wedge salad and the filet medium which came with mashed potatoes and green beans. The steak was amazing ! I didn't care for the potatoes. The green beans were good. My husband ordered us their signature martini in which pineapple was soaked for 7 hours in vodka. It was really yummy. I was so full when our dessert came. We both ordered cheesecake. It came with berries. It was really delicious but I couldn't finish it. Our waiter was so nice and very attentive and efficient. The nicest valet attendant held an umbrella over me and helped me into the car. So very nice as it was pouring. A very nice place for a romantic and quiet dinner. ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food, great service and a must for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, great service and a must for anyone looking for a special place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Capital Grille as HRW,the menu ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We visit Capital Grille as HRW,the menu is wonderful,and the wine selections are great.

Service was a little bit rush, probably because of the restaurant is very busy on the weekend night.

Hope next time we visit then not rush the main course before we finish the appetizer.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Our server Miguel was outstanding. I wou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our server Miguel was outstanding. I would recommend him.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

A little expensive. I had the 14 oz ste ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

A little expensive. I had the 14 oz steak

wedge salad and creme brulee. I will probably try another steak house I might come back you never know. waiter was awesome left him 20 dollar tip.

2 drinks at the bar 21 dollars. Left the waitress a 4 dollar tip....

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The waiter was very helpful regarding bo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The waiter was very helpful regarding both food and wine, and Houston Restaurant Weeks allows us to enjoy a first class meal at a greatly reduced price. We look forward to it every year!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, The Capital Grill knocked it ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

As always, The Capital Grill knocked it out of the park. I love dinning here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crab/lobster cakes were great, followed ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Crab/lobster cakes were great, followed by the 10 oz filet mignon. Jason's wine recommendation was right on, and we got special attention for our special occasion. We keep going back to Capital Grille as the service and food have been very reliable.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but the service at thi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was good but the service at this location was not very good. Our server was standing in the kitchen area talking and drinking her soda. She paid very little attention to our table. I previously dined at the CityCentre location and the service was excellent. I would recommend that location over this one.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I enjoyed my dinner at The Capital Grill ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I enjoyed my dinner at The Capital Grille! I will definitely come back to this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

IN A WORD - FABULOUS! ONE OF THE BEST F ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

IN A WORD - FABULOUS! ONE OF THE BEST FOR HOUSTON RESTAURANT WEEK. SUPER SERVICE, GREAT FOOD AND TO MAKE A WONDERFUL EVENING. tHANKS!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and our waiter Terr ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was amazing and our waiter Terry made the evening more pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here during Houston Restaurants W ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We ate here during Houston Restaurants Week. Same service and food as you would receive at times other than HRW. We always plan a meal here during HRW as we have never been disappointed and the food is wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply can't recommend this place. The a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Simply can't recommend this place. The appetizers were good, especially the lump crab cocktail. But, the entrees and sides were mediocre or just plain bad. I got the bone-in Kobe NY strip, but the end was burnt and tough even though I ordered medium-rare. Our side was the sautéed Brussels sprouts and it might have been the strangest dish we've ever had. The pork belly chunks used to flavor the sprouts were so over-smoked that we first thought it was brisket. We'll stick to Vic & Anthony's next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Yes, this is a chain establishment, but ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Yes, this is a chain establishment, but don't let that be your barometer. The interior is old school masculine and dark/cozy; done well however if you like that kind of intimate space. The staff is so proud of their service, they strive hard to make your experience the best possible, that they give you their business card and encourage you to request them on your next visit. The cocktails are creative, the wine list extensive, the food delicious. We ate at Capital Grill in Seattle and wanted to compare it to Houston - both great. Everything we ordered was great I can't pick a favorite. Just order and you will be pleased.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were here for Houston Restaurant Week ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were here for Houston Restaurant Weeks, which will end in a couple of weeks. They donate $7 of each HRW meal to the Food Bank, which means for $38, you get your choice of three appetizers (I recommend Caesar Salad but all were good), several Entrees (I chose the dry aged 14 oz NY steak) and one of three desserts. To make things better, right now they have a wine tasting menu which gives you as much as you want of 7 different wines. Make it a tasting menu, try them all, or whatever you want. I had fun tasting a Cabernet Blend and Stag's Leap Cabernet. The latter was far superior.

If I had to pick one limitation--and it is minor--given the prices they are charging for this charitable event, they depend on turning tables quickly. And, boy do they do that. When I go to Capital Grille, usually it is a 2 to 3 hour event; this time, in and out in 75 minutes. But, I can't blame them for that.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my birthday - the food and s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Celebrating my birthday - the food and service could not have been better and the staff really made the evening a fun, celebratory event!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Susan Baudier was exceptional - can't wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Susan Baudier was exceptional - can't wait to come back and have her help us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had friends visiting from out of town ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had friends visiting from out of town and made reservations for Houston Restaurant Weeks because they had a terrfic menu selection and our friends wanted a good steak. When we got to the restaurant not only was it a HRW menu but it was also Generous Pour. It was AMAZING and our friends considered putting their house on the market and moving to Houston because of our incredible evening there. Thank you Jessica and Paige for the wonderful service! Not only was our evening wonderful, we also received a thank you card from our server! Talk about doing things right!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited during HRW. While we sometimes ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Visited during HRW. While we sometimes visit Capital Grille during other times of the year and have great service, this time was very different as our waiter seemed completely disinterested. Food was very good, as usual, and restaurant was quiet on a rainy night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

A group of us went to dinner to celebrat ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A group of us went to dinner to celebrate birthdays and took advantage of Houston Restaurant Weeks. We had a good time, the food was good, but service lacked a little. We were brought the wrong salads, she didn't get the order of the main course correctly and she mixed up the desserts (she really should have written things down). She also went missing for long periods of time and we couldn't find her. And she said she had worked there for over 8 years, but wasn't sure of everything they could offer from the bar.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Jay is a great waiter! Very knowledgable ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Jay is a great waiter! Very knowledgable in both food and wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a staff appreciation dinner at the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had a staff appreciation dinner at the Capital Grille and our server, Jeff, really took care of us. We had outstanding service and the meal was delicious. It's not easy to keep 14 different people happy but Jeff did so easily and everyone left completely satisfied.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steaks were excellent and cooked exactly ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Steaks were excellent and cooked exactly as we requested.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Beautiful decor.... Wooden paneling, com ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Beautiful decor.... Wooden paneling, comfortable tables and chairs, and excellent food. This is the sort of place you expect people who live in triple-digit house numbers on Kirby to dine. The fantastically attentive waiter and excellent hostesses enhanced the experience. The prices are premium but justified given the premium service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great service.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was incredible. Service was great, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was incredible. Service was great, and restaurant week menu had a good amount of choices!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and service every ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Consistently good food and service every time. Steaks come out perfect even with large groups.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grill is an excellent, consi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The Capital Grill is an excellent, consistent and elegant place for a great steak or seafood meal. We have been going for the last 18 months, since we returned to Houston and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Craig has always been great to us! We lo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Craig has always been great to us! We love this location! Best steak in Houston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

It was a birthday celebration, and the f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It was a birthday celebration, and the food and service were excellent. The birthday extra was a chocolate dessert plus champagne for both of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was excellent.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were there for Restaurant week. The f ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We were there for Restaurant week. The food selection were outstanding and the service excellent. One of us tried the generous Pour and was very generous and great selection.Thank you Jason Joe for outstanding service. You made the night extra special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason was thoroughly attendant to our qu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Jason was thoroughly attendant to our questions . Servings paired with wines were perfectly timed, never rushed. He was always cordial and professional at the same time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.