Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 6/18
Time
10:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

The Capital Grille - Houston

4.8
1498 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Available for private dining events only. Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Lounge: Open daily

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(713) 623-4600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ricardo Vargas
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Yorktown
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet parking. Self parking also available.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 42 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

View Private Dining Details
What 1498 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.9
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Overall, it was a very nice experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We have never been disappointed with any Capital Grille. And this location has simple parking which made everything easy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Bar service is the best

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Service is generally great, but this time it was mediocre, as the waiter did not introduce himself nor was very personal as I have grown accustomed to. The steak portions are generous so my wife and I generally share the porccini steak which is always delightful. Overall, still a great restaurant if you catch a motivated waiter...

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Great food but a total miss on service. Inattentive staff, excruciatingly poor wine service despite ordering a 300.00 bottle of wine. Has me wondering if the management has ever been to Pappas Steakhouse, Vic & Anthony’s, or even Valones or Flemmings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Excellent waiter. Excellent food. The only criticism is the temperature... very very cold. While they tried several times to lower the intensity of the air conditioner, it constantly reverted to very very COLD.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We have been going to this restaurant for 20+ years and the quality and service is always excellent. We have never had to send a steak back for incorrect temperature. The staff is very friendly, especially Jason, who has been assisting us for a long time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Family dining to celebrate graduations.
Great ambience and service. Excellent staff - very friendly and focused.
Only issue was the pepper steak had way too much pepper rubbed in - even for a spice lover like me. Everything else was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Service was impeccable! Lobster was delicious! Lobster was taken out of shell and put back so we didn’t have to get messy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Wonderful ambiance and great food. What more can you ask for. Definitely on my list of favorites.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

In spite of a very busy Mother's Day time at the restaurant, the service was impeccable, the food was delicious and the ambiance was perfect for a family celebrating Mother's Day with Mom!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Don't get me wrong, TCG is a nice place to eat, and the service is always on point, especially Terri (very attentive but not intrusive), but the Sunday Brunch was just meh. We put a premium on the cost, service, and taste vs value matrix, and the food just isnt so spectacular to justify the cost. Good food. Amazing service. Just too pricey. Happy to take clients there when its their choice... I just dont go out of my way to suggest it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We had a delightful time on a business meal. Jay was excellent and on top of everything. The food was exquisite, wine was good, and was a lovely evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

BEST restaurant in Houston! Food, service, and atmosphere is perfect.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

A dated restaurant but has the nice steakhouse feel with low light and dark wood. Very good food and extremely nice staff. Our waiter took the time to write a handwritten note and mailed it to my home, expressing his gratitude for our patronage. Very nice touch. A mature crowd and quite atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We wanted to appreciate our staff and team to a great dinner. The Capital Grille never disappoints from the front to the back everything was wonderful! The valet, hostess, manager, waiter everyone was friendly and the food was on point. Keep up the good work and we will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

This is my favorite special occasion place. They fete us with goodies for our special occasions: a card, decorated table, picture, extra chef's preparations, even bite size desserts. They have a gluten free menu now and had that ready for me since I had let them know ahead of time of my sensitivity. Food is fabulously tasty no matter what we order.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great time. Always consistent food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We had an wonderful dining experience! Our server, John, was a compliment to the evening. His friendly, laid back, and witty personality accompanied a great meal!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Overall, my experience was pretty poor. In a nutshell, we were seated next to s loud table, in a corner behind them, when there were plenty of other empty tables in the restaurant. It was so noisy that my guests and I had to interrupt our conversation and wait for the noise level from the table next to us to subside. I sent a complaint to capital grille on their website. Their response to me was:
1.we are sorry for your experience
2. But we were seating in the area of the next server on the rotation
3. If you didn’t like your seat you could have told the hostess
4. They seat people to see what their reaction will be. If they want s different table they will tell us
5. So he was telling me that if I didn’t like where I was sitting I should have said something about it.

This exchange told me:
1. The manager doesn’t know much
2. Capital grille is not a top tier restaurant because top tier restaurants do not make excuses
3. Their hostess staff is not well trained. Because a well trained hostess would not put two parties right next to each other in an empty restaurant
4. The manager on duty is not very good for directing this to happen

Basically my takeaway from all this is that I cannot trust capital grille Galleria to provide me with a world class dining experience without my vigilance and , if required, intervention. In a nutshell, they do not provide exceptional value and are not worth the money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The food and service was great. However, it was a little pricey than expected and it was quiet darkly lit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was delicious. We all had steaks or lamb chops which were all done to perfection. The side dishes were also very tasty which included mac/cheese and sauteed spinach. The wedge salad was great and big enough to share as were the meat dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great spot for dates! Also has a dedicated gluten free menu which was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Wonderful service and ambiance! Although there were a few large groups and it was mid-week, we received excellent and very attentive service from Jean, our waitstaff server..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We came to the Capital Grille for Easter, as well as to celebrate our daughter's 18th birthday. We have 4 children, ages 8 to 18. We were more than happy with our experience here (our first time to visit). I can imagine that a group which includes so many younger kids at this restaurant is not the servers' favorite scenario! :) However, our kids do know how to behave in a nice restaurant, and our server, Tony, was just great. He was so polite and friendly with all of us and made each of our kids feel very comfortable. The food was outstanding (it was the Easter prix fixe menu which included a few choices for each course) and he made sure to check that all the steaks in the order were prepared just as requested--even my 12 year old son's. He took care of every one of our needs before we even had to ask. The restaurant even provides shawls for those who get cold during the meal. I though that was a great touch. Since it was an Easter birthday, we had a special gift to give to our daughter which we had put into an Easter egg; I also brought along small sparkler candles to put onto her dessert. All I had to do was give these to the hostesses (who were also very warm and friendly) and they took care of the rest with Tony and it was perfect, and all a surprise for her. Another great "extra" for the birthday celebration: when desserts were delivered, they provided my husband and myself complimentary sparkling wine in champagne glasses AND sparkling non-alcoholic drinks (Shirley Temples) in the same glasses for my kids. For the younger ones, that was the highlight of the afternoon! They loved drinking their special drinks out of the fancy glasses. I really appreciated that although we came to such a nice restaurant with young children, we were treated with the same care and attention we would have received had we been an adult-only group. Excellent service, from beginning to end! It was an expensive meal, yes, but worth it. We will most definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Service and food was amazing had a great date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Buena atención! Y todo súper rico

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food and service were excellent. No problems there. In a nearly empty restaurant on a Thursday night celebrating a birthday, we were seated right next to another couple. Ordinarily this would not be a problem, but this pretentious moron spent the evening on his phone loudly discussing some $3 million business deal in order to impress his date. He was too loud and his phone rang too loud. We could not even hear each other at times. Maybe on a slow night you could leave a little space between diners.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Lamb chops were outstanding! I also appreciated the excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Excelente todo

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Jacob fue nuestro mesero y nos brindo una excelente atencion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great! It will become a favorite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I went there for a long overdue date with my wife. It was an excellent experience from start to finish. The service was impeccable. The decor and overall environment was great. Every bite of our meal was outstanding. A great bottle of wine was recommended. This is a place I will definitely come to again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

We dined at the Capital to celebrate our 36 wedding anniversary. They made it very special from the rose petals and single stem rose, to the complimentary dessert and champagne. Will definitely celebrate our 37th at the Capital.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great dinner very good and accommodating for one of us that has special diet

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The best thing that we appreciate is the noise level and the service. Our steak could have been better but notbad enough to complain

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Capital Grille is one of our favorite date night restaurants Consistently perfect service and food! It’s one of the few places left for a quiet , romantic evening .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Our waiter Jeff was outstanding! Food was incredible!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Never disappointed - always a great meal and venue.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
38