About The Capital Grille - Houston

5365 Westheimer Road
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private dining events only. Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Lounge: Open daily

Cross Street:
Yorktown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 623-4600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking. Self parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Ricardo Vargas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Lobster Mac And Cheese - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Sliced fillet mignon with onions and mushrooms - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Birthday! - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Filet Oscar - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
flourless chocolate cake - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Delmonico - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Bread Basket - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Prime Rib, Potaties Au Gratin, Creamed Spinach & Yorkshire Pudding - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Classic Crème Brulée - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Wild Mushrooms - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Amuse Bouche - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Caesar Salad - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Mushroom soup - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Au Gratin Potatoes - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Coconut Creme Pie - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Wagyu Cheeseburger with Fried Egg and Crisp Onions  - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Wild Mushroom Cheeseburger - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Porcini-Rubbed Delmonico Steak W/ 12-Year Aged Balsamic - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
carpaccio - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Houston, Houston, TX

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 42 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Houston
Steakhouse
Houston
Best Overall
Houston
1 More
Steakhouse
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (33)
Notable Wine List (22)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Scenic View (8)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
People Watching (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great dinner with friends. Wonderful ser ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Great dinner with friends. Wonderful service and the food was excellent. We love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy our dining experience at th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Always enjoy our dining experience at the Capital Grille

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The aged steaks are wonderful--firm but ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The aged steaks are wonderful--firm but tender and tasty. We have eaten at the Capital Grill in Austin and Houston. Both have great steaks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everthing was wonderful!!!!! Definitely ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Everthing was wonderful!!!!! Definitely is in my list of top restaurants in Houston! Thank you!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, the Lobster was excelle ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Love this place, the Lobster was excellent, and they are always so nice even though it is two women and you share, because you don't eat that much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, great food.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our time at this resta ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We really enjoyed our time at this restaurant. The food was great!

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

La comida excelente y el servicio excele ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on November 21, 2016

La comida excelente y el servicio excelente

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Esperaba mas del lugar!!! El pan muy bue ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Esperaba mas del lugar!!!

El pan muy bueno, pedimos calamares fritos muy buenos, los cortes buenos pero nada espectacular. Un filete de pescado sobre una cama de couscus tampoco impresionante, lo que si fue impresionante fue la cuenta, pero en fin es el precio de probar lugares diferentes, no volveria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Friday night dinner. Excellent mixed dri ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Friday night dinner. Excellent mixed drinks, delicious tender perfectly cooked rib eye and filet Oscar and side of creamed corn with bacon was great. Chocolate cake for dessert was good as well. Solid and dependable steakhouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terry was our waiter and he was superb. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Terry was our waiter and he was superb. Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated 45th anniversary at the Capit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Celebrated 45th anniversary at the Capital Grill with family and friends. The table was generously decorated with hearts, roses and other anniversary glitter (nice job). The food was very good, service good and the noise level was energetic. Another couple near by, also celebrating their wedding anniversary, joined us on a toast. I had an aged New York strip and was tasty but a bit over cooked (medium well versus medium). Overall we had a good time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wonderful husband and I were celebrat ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wonderful husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we decided to spend our special evening at Capital Grill. When I called to make our reservation, I casually mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary. We arrived and were greeted by a friendly staff that immediately led us, to our surprise, to the most beautifully decorated corner and private table strewn with rose petals, heart confetti and a gorgeous single rose for me! As we were seated, we simultaneously discovered a wonderful card propped up at the back of our table wishing us a happy anniversary and signed by the entire staff! Are you kidding me? We were COMPLETELY blown away and we hadn't been there more than two minutes! We ask ourselves how it could possibly get any better? It does.

In no time, Jean, our super-hero server, was at our table introducing herself and painting a scrumptious picture of the specials and taking our drink order. It was difficult to pick our entree, but my husband (finally) decided on the bone-in ribeye (a personal recommendation from Jean) and I decided on the halibut topped with crab meat and scallops (substituted for shrimp), which was also a recommendation by Jean when I wished our loud that the shrimp was scallops. My husband wanted a red wine with his steak, but couldn't decide which wine he wanted, so Jean brought him not one, but SIX wine samples out for him to try until he found his favorite. Are you kidding me? Talking about going above and beyond; Jean did.

After some wonderful drinks that included a large ice ball for my husband's rare bourbon he'd ordered, again, thanks to Jean saying they had them, we were served our entrees cooked to perfection. My husband's ribeye was medium-rare and perfect. My halibut was the thickest fillet we'd ever seen, and just as moist, flaky & flavorful. The crab meat and scallops were absolutely delightful and just what my taste buds desired! You have to ask for Jean, she is the best ever! Thank you, Jean!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

NOT VERY GOOD SERVICE, AND TEH MEAT WAS ...

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on November 5, 2016

NOT VERY GOOD SERVICE, AND TEH MEAT WAS NO SOMTHING SPECIAL, AS IT SHOULD BE; IT WAS NOISIE

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great place...we love it everytime we go ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great place...we love it everytime we go...the food is always great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Private Room, People Watching, Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on anniversary and it was perfect. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Went on anniversary and it was perfect. Great service. They even did a dessert and picture at the end. Wife was very pleased. Great experience will be dining again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious steaks and impeccable service ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Delicious steaks and impeccable service made for a memorable anniversary dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wagyu and wine in the bar. Best deal in ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wagyu and wine in the bar. Best deal in town!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The menu, service and food are absolutel ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The menu, service and food are absolutely outstanding. It is a great place to celebrate a special event where everything is first class.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all around. Exceptional servic ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent all around. Exceptional service, exceptional food. Pricey, but we knew it would be, and worth every penny.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as always, service was im ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Food was great as always, service was impeccable. The butter cake was ofcourse the best part!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the herb chicken. Huge mistake. It ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I had the herb chicken. Huge mistake. It was dry. It seemed like they left under heat lamp too long. My friend had tenderloin and lobster. She loved it. The crab cakes were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

As always the Capital Grille delivers gr ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on October 26, 2016

As always the Capital Grille delivers great food and service. Our server Jean was awesome and provided the perfect amount of attention and competence on the menu. The bread is always perfect. While it might seem a bit pricey to some. You never feel as if the price exceeds your experience. Thus I never feel sticker shock on the tab. This place like all Grille across the US execute and make it happen for customers. Great food and great service. Why my gf and i always choose it. Thank you again Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently the best filet mignon aroun ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Consistently the best filet mignon around. I have yet to be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service were excellent. From th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food and service were excellent. From the table decorations, pre-dinner champagne to the desert, the restaurant did all it could to make our anniversary special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food and great atmosphere

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Delicious food and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great service. And it was a p ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Good food, great service. And it was a pleasant change not to have to fight with the valet and still get good parking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for our anniversary and the staf ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We went for our anniversary and the staff was extremely sweet. We had rose petals on the table, a sign card from the whole staff , a rose and they took a picture to give us. I strongly recommend asking for Jeff as he has been in the business for 20 yrs and knows his stuff. He was attentive without being a nuisance. He gave us a wonderful desert that had Happy Anniversary written on the plate. The atmosphere is very old money but elegant We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While our waiter was tentative at first, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

While our waiter was tentative at first, he seemed to have fizzed out with additional customers as our wine glasses were left empty despite having half a bottle and empty plates were not collected. Manager walked passed us twice and didn't seem to have noticed our empty wine glass and plates. I had to reach out for his attention. Services such as this would certainly ensure we'll never return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was good as it always is at Capital ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was good as it always is at Capital Grilles and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steakhouse in town! The food and th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Best steakhouse in town! The food and the service are always terrific

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I let them know it was for a birthday an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I let them know it was for a birthday and when we arrived there was confetti on the table and a signed birthday card. We also got a complimentary dessert and small appetizer of the kitchen's choosing. What delightful surprises! My husband and I are very weight conscious so we split everything: the wedge salad, 24 oz strip steak au poivre, roasted fingerling potatoes. I was relieved that splitting the meal was cheerfully done. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented. The portions are so generous that even after splitting everything, we had enough left over to take home and have for dinner. So we actually got 4 meals out of 1, which made it a great value. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I ate at The Capital Grille ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My wife and I ate at The Capital Grille for our 5 year Anniversary. We were treated like royalty as soon as we opened the door till we left. Rene was a wonderful waiter and treated us very well. We will definitely come back again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every aspect of our dining experience wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Every aspect of our dining experience was perfection our wait staff JeanGundy was always professional but with a smile and genuinely professional in all she did.Steaks heavenly.Desert sinfully delicious and lobster Mac and cheese out of this world.Did I mention the bread ,WOW!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From start to finish a wonderful dining ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

From start to finish a wonderful dining experience. I can't wait to go back

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Scenic View, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic ribeye, cooked perfectly and l ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic ribeye, cooked perfectly and lots of flavor. Mashed potatoes were great. Companion raved about his Oscar. Great meal and tremendous service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service and set up for an an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding service and set up for an anniversary celebration. Always love their steaks.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I met my wife at this Capital Grill and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I met my wife at this Capital Grill and we were returning 14 years later to celebrate our anniversary. They really treated us special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think I already wrote this: all was re ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I think I already wrote this: all was really good,; some drunk patron marred a bit the occasion, but the staff handled the situation very well.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We tried the restaurant week menu for ou ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We tried the restaurant week menu for our date night. The mood was great. We were seated in a private quiet booth. We both ordered the wedge salad and the filet medium which came with mashed potatoes and green beans. The steak was amazing ! I didn't care for the potatoes. The green beans were good. My husband ordered us their signature martini in which pineapple was soaked for 7 hours in vodka. It was really yummy. I was so full when our dessert came. We both ordered cheesecake. It came with berries. It was really delicious but I couldn't finish it. Our waiter was so nice and very attentive and efficient. The nicest valet attendant held an umbrella over me and helped me into the car. So very nice as it was pouring. A very nice place for a romantic and quiet dinner. ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.