About The Capital Grille - Houston

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5365 Westheimer Road
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private dining events only. Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Lounge: Open daily

Cross Street:
Yorktown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 623-4600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking. Self parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Ricardo Vargas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 42 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Romantic (9)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Family Style (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Though it's $$, definitely worth the money to celebrate special occasion

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent! From the time we stepped in the front door, it was an exception dining experience. We had a selection of meat, seafood and, of course, the macaroni/lobster dish. It was all prepared beautifully and the steak was perfect. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food, ambiance, and professional staff. Long time favorite of mine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The steaks and sides (asparagus and au gratin potatoes) were all delicious. The waitstaff was excellent and we never felt rushed. The desserts were out of this world- chocolate espresso flourless cake and the cheesecake w/a creme brûlée style topping were the perfect ending to an amazing dinner experience. They had my favorite rosé as well- Whispering Angel.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was adequate. The room was pleasant and quiet but the food was very sub-par compared to previous visits. Steaks were burnt on the outside. The potato au gratin tasted like it was from a box. The server was pleasant but wearing a dirty smock/jacket. Not on the level of the other high end steak houses in town.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 8, 2017

There was the effort but the food lacked this time andcwith an important business guest I was dissatisfied- and bewildered because you all are usually so good !!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service! Susan was our server, we xome here every year and we request her, she provides the best service one could ever ask for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had an excellent experience for our combined birthday celebration. I had the pleasure of The Capital Grille in Chicago on many dates and took business executives there as a thank you, so I knew the quality. Our server was Susan - highly recommend her to complement the experience. She took great care of us throughout! We had special attention (the fun Happy Birthday confetti on the tablecloth and a card signed by the staff) from beginning to end. Excellent steaks! And everything in between through to the amazing creme brulee - We will be back!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Love this place!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Everything was very good. The wine list is excellent and contained some unexpected treasures.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Everything about the experience was great. The service was amazing, our waitress was very attentive and funny, had great conversation. The food was simply amazing, had the 15 year dry aged balsamic rib-eye and was not disapointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The Capital Grille is always a great place for a fantastic meal. The service is always impeccable!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Meal was incredible. Our server Jeff was the best! There were quite a bit of kids having dinner before prom so the atmosphere was pretty energetic, but it was great to see everyone so dressed up. Food, as always, was incredible. There isn't a thing on the menu I wouldn't order or recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and experience for Mother's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day. Great experience. Jessica is the best server

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Unfortuantely the service for my son's graduation was poor. Far too many mix ups and delays for service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fabulous!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Fantastic dinner, the filet and sea bass were excellent. Susan our waitress was fantastic. A great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything was great as always. Our friends thought it was fabulous and will come back. We love this place. Great people and service. You feel special.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Excellent, as always. Never disappointed by the Capital Grill

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

First Time Diner

My wife and I dined this past Saturday night for the first time and we will be back. Both the food and service were excellent. Steaks were perfectly cooked and the sides were delicious. Nice selection of half bottles for those whose spouses (or dates) don't drink. Had a nice Barolo.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The meal was outstanding and our wait staff, Susan Baudier is one of the main reasons that I come to this particular Capital Grill. Susan is just simply the BEST!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wait staff could have been more crisp - spilled expensive wine, dropped a utensil on my wifes dress, kept poring ice and little water

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Apparently we were there when very few others were and the quiet was refreshing. Having eaten at your restaurants over many years I had experience and was surprised. Scarlett the service person was attentive, jovial, friendly and thorough. Martini's were great and food was served timely with skill.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Once again, an outstanding experience. Thank you

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great quality steaks and great service to match. Each dish was prepared exactly to order and tasted great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great Steaks and spectacular lobster mac n cheese
I crave it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We love the Capital Grill. Food is always great and excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food, and service as always! Not to mention the best steaks in Houston too!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, People Watching, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a lovely time! We were celebrating a birthday, and had an exceptional experience. Jason Joe was our server and he was professional, attentive, and we would ask for him again. I had the Filet Oscar and it was wonderful. We also had the delicious lobster mac and cheese and the Stoli Doli. Fun night and we will be back. Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I made this reservation for my friend to take his wife out for their anniversary. He told me how amazing it went and the romantic setting the staff set up. Thank you so much!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Things have changed here, and not for the better. It's been a year or so since we last dined here. The transition to the ipad wine and cocktail list is actually annoying to me - it seems more difficult to find something. The tuna tartare appetizer was spot-on. However, once our entrees arrived, we were a bit disappointed. Neither of us cared much for our steaks (not cooked very well, flavorless, and the Oscar topping on mine was not very good). Sides (mushrooms, lobster mac) were fantastic as always. We seemed to remember specialty coffee drinks from our last visit, but they've disappeared from the menu. My date got the Godiva coffee, which turned out like an adult milkshake - very good. I was so disappointed in the steak that I wound up going to Saltgrass Sunday to satisfy my craving. When a $20 steak beats a $50 one, there's no reason for us to return to The Capital Grille (well, except for maybe the lobster mac).

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

It was our one year anniversary and it was great. It started off with a bummer because they were out of the Tomahawk steak. Overall Food was excellent and our server Miguel was nice and happy throughout our dinner experience. Wine was excellent as well with our complimentary dessert. We got a picture at the end which really made us happy. Miguel is great asset to the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Reunión vgggggggggghhh

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Reservations were canceled in us. Then they found us a small table. Appetizer was cold. Brussels sprouts were marginal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Consistently excellent service and food. Can't miss with their always expertly prepared steaks and seafood. A porcini-rubbed ribeye was tender and flavorful, as was was my Chilean sea bass. Also a Nice selection of appetizers - we enjoyed an wonderful smoked salmon on this visit

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Special occasions such as an anniversary deserve a special place to celebrate. The Capital Grille doesn't disappoint with it's trademark exceptional service (THANK YOU!, Jay Bautch), delectable food dishes, and deep wine list. We look forward to our next visit!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful food, service, ambience. It's a real treat for a special occasion!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Exceptional service and great quality food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing food and service. I love it! Always consistent. Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.