About The Capital Grille - Houston

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5365 Westheimer Road
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private dining events only. Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Lounge: Open daily

Cross Street:
Yorktown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 623-4600

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet parking. Self parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Ricardo Vargas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 42 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (19)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Business Meals (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

This was a return visit and I am ALWAYS impressed by this place!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was great and only surpassed by the service. Loved it.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful menu and wine pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

All good but my steak was over cooked . I had asked it to be medium cooked and it came dry. The other steaks were cooked as requested

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

It's my favorite place! Great food ! great service! I love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Subpar steak quality. Table not ready in arrival, 8 min delay. Long long time for service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fabulous server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We hadn't been in years, but went for Restaurant Week. The RR Week menu choices were more than adequate, although the RR Week steak option was (as you'd suspect) on the small side. Good cocktails.

Great service, but they did switch the steak orders when they were served. I ended up with a medium instead of a medium rare (which my sister didn't notice and didn't mind until it was too late to switch them ourselves).

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I've been a customer of the Galleria Capital Grill for around 15 years and have never had a bad meal or experience there. This occasion was for our anniversary and I must say it stands our as my best experience there and among my best dining experiences ever. The primary reason for my having that opinion (and for my posting this review - VERY uncharacteristic!) was our server - Susan Baudier. Susan was knowledgeable about all the food and wine selections offered, gave just the right amount of attention to us, and insured an all around enjoyable experience. I strongly suggest the next time you're selecting a restaurant, give the Galleria Capital Grill serious consideration. And when you're en route, call ahead and mention that you'd prefer that Susan be your server. I guarantee you will be grateful for my suggestion and will repeat the experience - I certainly will!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We went during the HRW. Excellent food as always. We also opted for the generous wine pour, are a gem.Very generous. Love the wine selection they offered. The service was excellent. Thank you Susan. You

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Jason is a stellar waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

My Capital Grille experience was amazing. Rodd was hands down the man that night ensuring to recommend the best entrees, sides, and appetizers. The atmosphere was very elegant, and fit the occasion perfectly even with my party of 15. They were sweet enough to sign a birthday card for me makine me feel even more special. The lamb chops were wonderfully cooked to perfection. No one in my party complained about there food even though it was bit pricey for their liking, so have your wallet ready. I would recommend this restaurant, and I am definitely going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Food was excellent, service was even better. Ask for Susan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Fantastic food and drinks. I would highly reccommend this reataurant for all occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Lovely evening spent enjoying delicious food, celebrating our first wedding anniversary. The entire staff congratulated us on our anniversary and our table was set with a lovely rose, rose petals and a signed card from the staff. The food was incredible and the staff was superb. Thank you Capital Grille for an enjoyable and memorable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Awesome experience. No matter how many time I dine there, they make everyone more special than the last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent food and service as usual. Has a quiet ambiance that permits the diner to enjoy the meal and their company.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Capital Grill a dependable dining choice for business or social meals. The menu selections are delicious and varied. Service is always friendly and efficient. Never an unpleasant surprise. Clients appreciate the ambiance and food.

Tags: Fun, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Wait staff helped celebrate our anniversary. We really appreciate it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Fantastic service and food as always.....great restaurant!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Though it's $$, definitely worth the money to celebrate special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent! From the time we stepped in the front door, it was an exception dining experience. We had a selection of meat, seafood and, of course, the macaroni/lobster dish. It was all prepared beautifully and the steak was perfect. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food, ambiance, and professional staff. Long time favorite of mine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The steaks and sides (asparagus and au gratin potatoes) were all delicious. The waitstaff was excellent and we never felt rushed. The desserts were out of this world- chocolate espresso flourless cake and the cheesecake w/a creme brûlée style topping were the perfect ending to an amazing dinner experience. They had my favorite rosé as well- Whispering Angel.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderful time with my husband. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was adequate. The room was pleasant and quiet but the food was very sub-par compared to previous visits. Steaks were burnt on the outside. The potato au gratin tasted like it was from a box. The server was pleasant but wearing a dirty smock/jacket. Not on the level of the other high end steak houses in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 8, 2017

There was the effort but the food lacked this time andcwith an important business guest I was dissatisfied- and bewildered because you all are usually so good !!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service! Susan was our server, we xome here every year and we request her, she provides the best service one could ever ask for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had an excellent experience for our combined birthday celebration. I had the pleasure of The Capital Grille in Chicago on many dates and took business executives there as a thank you, so I knew the quality. Our server was Susan - highly recommend her to complement the experience. She took great care of us throughout! We had special attention (the fun Happy Birthday confetti on the tablecloth and a card signed by the staff) from beginning to end. Excellent steaks! And everything in between through to the amazing creme brulee - We will be back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Everything was very good. The wine list is excellent and contained some unexpected treasures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Everything about the experience was great. The service was amazing, our waitress was very attentive and funny, had great conversation. The food was simply amazing, had the 15 year dry aged balsamic rib-eye and was not disapointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The Capital Grille is always a great place for a fantastic meal. The service is always impeccable!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Meal was incredible. Our server Jeff was the best! There were quite a bit of kids having dinner before prom so the atmosphere was pretty energetic, but it was great to see everyone so dressed up. Food, as always, was incredible. There isn't a thing on the menu I wouldn't order or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Supurb dining experience! I went with a group of girlfriends for mother's day and everything was perfect!! The Waiter was very friendly, our table was ready upon arrival dressed in rose petals, drinks were awesomeness, and our meals were cooked to perfection! Honestly not one complaint, A+ all the way. :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and experience for Mother's Day

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

For ambiance and service it's a great place. I was a little disappointed in the NY Strip steak.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day. Great experience. Jessica is the best server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Unfortuantely the service for my son's graduation was poor. Far too many mix ups and delays for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.