About The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre

840 W Sam Houston Parkway N
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room; or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with full complementary of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
City Centre Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 463-5051

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Meyer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Best Service
Houston
2 More
Steakhouse
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Best Restaurants in West Side ›

Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (37)
Notable Wine List (31)
See All
Great for Lunch (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very satisfied with the service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 2 days ago

Very satisfied with the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambience for catching up with friends ou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Ambience for catching up with friends outstanding. Attentiveness was superb from waitstaff. The right amount of serving sizes with delectable glazes. Never had to request water refills. Little touches like warm moust towels even handles on take out bags. Valet was easy and even outside the restaurant was spotless just the way I like it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends went and we ordered off Restaura ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Friends went and we ordered off Restaurant Wk menu. clam Chowder very good and served hot. 2 of us had the Wagu burger which we enjoyed. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great food and a wonderful waitre ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had great food and a wonderful waitress who took excellent care of us.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancee and had an AMAZING date night ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My fiancee and had an AMAZING date night at The Capital Grille. We were so impressed from the second we walked in the door. Wonderful atmosphere, Wonderful service, and the food seriously one of the best meals we've ever had. I recommend Anabella as your server - she great. Very attentive! We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Capital Grille for lunch. Wif ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We enjoyed Capital Grille for lunch. Wife had ordered off the menu (lobster bisque, lobster role) while I ordered from the HRW menu (clam chowder, steak w/ salad, creme brulee).

Everything was good. The clam chowder, bisque and desert were excellent.

Tags: Romance, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food /wine was outstanding.... and ser ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food /wine was outstanding.... and service ( our waiter-Valdamir) was superb!!!!

Overall....a very lovely lunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tony our server was excellent very atten ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Tony our server was excellent very attentive and just overall wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for lunch with a coworker and enjoy ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Went for lunch with a coworker and enjoyed the Houston Week restaurant special. the food was delicious and the service as well.

hank you.

Ana RamirezT

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Service was awesome. There was ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food and Service was awesome. There was a slight misunderstanding between the waitress and us, however she was quick to get the Manager over who then remedied the situation immediately. Their Customer Service is always impeccable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly delightful lunch! Restaurant wee ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Truly delightful lunch! Restaurant week menu was an added bonus and super value. Colby took great care of us. Salmon was delish. Creme Brulee outstanding!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

There were seven of us for dinner, celeb ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

There were seven of us for dinner, celebrating two family birthdays that night. The food, service and ambiance at Capital Grille, City Center, were all excellent! Our server, Roberto Cano, had perfect timing for pouring wine and serving the different courses. He was great!

I had noted in the reservation that we were celebrating birthdays and the restaurant gave each person a card and wished them a happy birthday . The only thing that would have made the evening more perfect is if there had been lighted candles in dessert for the two celebrants.

I did not ask in advance but I did have an expectation that there would be candles.

My Lesson: Remember to ask for what you want.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the time I went in, to the setup of ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

From the time I went in, to the setup of out table, everything was amazing. We decided to have dinner here to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary, and it was magical! We went on a day when it was pouring rain, but the food and staff made us forget of how ugly the weather was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place and atmosphere for a nice di ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great place and atmosphere for a nice dinner. Prices more then a average meal, but worth the price. Food is outstanding. Not somewhere you might go every weekend, but if you are ok spending a little more for something good and nice...this is the place. Especially right now for restaurant month. Great value

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A wonderful lunch in a restaurant that s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A wonderful lunch in a restaurant that seemed really into Houston Restaurant Week(s). And, while the food was lovely, the service provided by our personable, engaging server (Ryan) made the experience outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I gathered our department for a group lu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I gathered our department for a group lunch to celebrate an associate's birthday and a new hire. We also wanted to take advantage of the Houston Restaurant week menu. The selections were great and Capital Grille has about same price as the HRW menu on their lunch menu. Food was really good and I ordered the steak. Service was terrific Colby Russo was our server and she made sure we were welcomed warmly. At the end of lunch, she brought out specially designed dessert plates to our 2 colleagues with the themed celebration. It was a very nice touch and everyone was impressed. I will be back for my own private dining and highly recommend the restaurant. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice outside dining area but can only be ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Nice outside dining area but can only be used when the brutal Houston heat subsides. Would love to go back and dine outdoors when the weather improves. Food was great here. Wine list is ridiculously impressive. Pricey meals but the quality was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated a birthday there and table wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Celebrated a birthday there and table was decorated by the restaurant, took our picture and framed for us, also lavish us with a celebration platter and comp champagne.

Food was very delicious and service was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited knowing that it was Houston R ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We visited knowing that it was Houston Restaurant Weeks. Once the servers knew we were also celebrating one of our friends bring cancer-free, they were unbelievably accommodating, providing dessert, champagne, and a rose for her. Thank you for making her day one she will never forget!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been to Capital Grille many times. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Have been to Capital Grille many times. They are consistent in their service and food. Love the place. We are taking friends on the 20th.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service usual. They even remember ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great service usual. They even remembered were there just year earlier exact same fate

Day.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, convenient location and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Delicious food, convenient location and very attentive service. Definately recommend Capital Grille.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our anniv ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary. The food was very good. The wait staff was very friendly. The atmosphere was not overly loud so conversation was easy. We had a very pleasant time. We will return again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything about our visit made the expe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything about our visit made the experience that much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was the absolute BEST!! She a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server was the absolute BEST!!

She anticipated our needs and also remembered part of our party's previous meal requests.

She deserves a STAR.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, Generous pour wine was a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was good, Generous pour wine was a value,and Waiter was informed. Overall good experience !!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

restaurant week menu, filet mignon , mas ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

restaurant week menu, filet mignon , mash potatoes outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It seems the quality of service at this ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It seems the quality of service at this location has declined. I have asked my assistant not to book me for lunch here going forward. I hope things improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Irritably slow service. We had a busin ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Irritably slow service.

We had a business lunch at The Capital Grille on Friday Aug 5. Everything was excellent except for the service which was extremely slow. Our waiter was never to be seen and was not prompt at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Great food. Great service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took a friend for a nice visit. Nice me ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Took a friend for a nice visit. Nice menu for Houston Restaurant Weeks. Excellent food and great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time dining with The C ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was my first time dining with The Capital Grille and I was very impressed! Our waitress was a month out of training but knew the menu well and had great recommendations! Would definitely go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food could be better

 
 (Monterrey)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food could be better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was my first disappointing meal at ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was my first disappointing meal at Capital Grille- City Centre. In the past we were bowled over with great service and great food. This was a special birthday occasion for my husband and my children came to dinner to enjoy this occasion with us. We even paid for their babysitters.

The waiter was unattentive and spoke in such a low tone we could barely hear him. The maitre d' came by and was too efficious, not stopping for an answer. There was no sommelier, omnly a computer ipad handed to us. One of the steaks was overcooked and given to the wrong patron. We switched steaks at the table but it was even too overdone for my son who likes medium rare. My procsuitto appetizer was average to poor in flavor. We were eagerly waiting this reservation as we just returned home from a 3 week vacation in Scandinavia on ly to be disappointed and slightly embarrassed. Our original waitress was not on premise- maybe she doesn't work there anymore but the staff needs more education and manners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Fabulous restaurant! We were warmly rec ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Fabulous restaurant! We were warmly received by waitstaff and management who couldn't have been more attentive and helpful! Christopher did a superb job waiting on us. Our food selections were outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tony was great, the steaks were fantasti ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Tony was great, the steaks were fantastic, the espresso cake delicious. Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! The food, the wines recommend ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent! The food, the wines recommended and the services! It was all outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome experience, food great, service ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Awesome experience, food great, service also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We started out with the Shrimp Cocktail. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We started out with the Shrimp Cocktail. It was very good. I had the wedge salad, which was also very good. Two of us had the Filet Mignon and one had the Lobster. All were very good. We had the brussells sprout and potatoes Au Gratin to share. All were very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.