About The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre

840 W Sam Houston Parkway N
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room; or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with full complementary of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
City Centre Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 463-5051

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Meyer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Houston
Steakhouse
Houston
Best Restaurants in West Side ›

Special Occasion (45)
Romantic (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
See All
Notable Wine List (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for a Date (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Cozy (5)
Private Room (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service is warm and welcoming. Food ch ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Service is warm and welcoming.

Food choices are brief but have great variety.

The day was cold and the soup was hot!

5 in the party and all were very pleased with the lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been a regular at the capital Grill ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I've been a regular at the capital Grille for business lunches/dinners but this was the first time going there for our anniversary this year. Put us at a quiet, secluded table complete with a Happy Anniversary card. Superb meal service concluded with complimentary dessert and champagne....impressed even a jaded business guy like me, never mind my wife! She's sold....!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I initially had reservations for three. ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

I initially had reservations for three. At the last minute it was increased to five and they were very accommodating on Thanksgiving day. The food was excellent the staff was very attentive. I will return no questions asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my sister to The Capital Grille f ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

I took my sister to The Capital Grille for Thanksgiving lunch - hamburgers. The burgers (served in the bar) were wonderful and the atmosphere and service were great also. We had a waiter, Matthew, who was very attentive but others servers also checked on us. Hostesses were also very friendly and accomodating. The bar was nice, windows were open, had a bit of street noise from the Beltway, but not too bad. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience, had the pri ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

Excellent dining experience, had the private room since we had a small group and it was perfect to talk to everyone and not have any major background noise. Food was perfect and a definitely a hit with everyone that attended. Service was impeccable and perfectly timed. Thank you!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cody was a fantastic waiter, steak was s ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Cody was a fantastic waiter, steak was supposed to medium rare, wasn't evenly cooked (one side was well done & other was rare)....BUT, flavor and overall dining experience was fantastic. Would definitely give it another try, and w/o ordering the challenging cook of a bone-in steak 😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I came to celebrate our anni ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I came to celebrate our anniversary and couldn't have had a better meal and time out. From the moment we came in and were greeted, everyone was so nice and attentive but not overly attentive. We had commented it was our anniversary and was greeted with table decorations and a card congratulating us on the event and my wife was given a long stem rose before we left. Great food, great service, great people.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent a lovely time there for a birthday ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Spent a lovely time there for a birthday dinner. The table had a few decorations and they provided a complimentary dessert. Chris did an excellent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great, food great service and wonderful ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great, food great service and wonderful atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We waited fur a long time to be served. ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

We waited fur a long time to be served. There was a mix up for who was to service our table. It was never really corrected and we had service issues all during our meal. This staff knew it and made no overture for compensating or apologizing. It was frustrating because we were two females that seemed inconsequential to the staff. I work in the building and have dined there many times with male colleagues and dud but have issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Although I have always liked Capital Gri ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

Although I have always liked Capital Grille food but this time their outstanding customer service and pride in their brand shone through and through. Chef Jeffrey is extremely kind to come see us and Calamari appetizer was exceptionally good. Our order was prepared above par and our server made us feel very comfortable, making our lunch experience extremely enjoyable.

Super impressed by Capital Grille Team, Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good good, good surroundings, good servi ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

Good good, good surroundings, good service and quiet. It is not cheap but the above offsets it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful birthday celebration! ...

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

We had a wonderful birthday celebration! Food and staff was top notch! We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate our Anniversary and ...

 
·Dined on October 18, 2016

We went to celebrate our Anniversary and I had called ahead to request the same table be had before. They worked that out and let me tell you, I think everyone on staff came up and told us happy anniversary!

They made sure we were happy!

Special Thank You to our waiter Steven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved coming to Capital Grille during ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

We loved coming to Capital Grille during their Wagyu & Wine event every year. Great value on a great glass of wine and a superb burger. We enjoy CG at other times of the year as well for special occasions, but this is our favorite time of year to enjoy these great burgers.

Tags: Comfort Food, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience but should have ...

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great dining experience but should have few more items without beef.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

My family came to The Capital Grill to c ...

 
·Dined on October 10, 2016

My family came to The Capital Grill to celebrate my moms 50th birthday. Everything was amazing. Booking the reservation was super convenient, the food was great and Matthew and his team were all amazing servers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was excellent unfortunately while ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Dinner was excellent unfortunately while there our daughter started to fell ill. I can't say enough about or server and the restaurant manager in helping and going beyond themselves to ensures everything was pk with our daughter. We had to cut our dinner short but we will be back soon. Thanks again for your help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Clam chowder was lukewarm and potatoes n ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Clam chowder was lukewarm and potatoes not cooked enough to my liking, but everything else was great. Our waiter was outstanding! I think his name was Ryan (originally from Iowa)

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was not well done it took us ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

The service was not well done it took us 25 minutes just to get our drink order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Went for our anniversary. Excellent food ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Went for our anniversary. Excellent food and steakhouse and I compare that to any top steak house in Houston! Excellent service (friendly, professional but not stuffy). Very easy valet. They gave us a nice dessert to share for our special occasion. Wife and I definitely want to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was perfect and our waitress was ve ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was perfect and our waitress was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we liked our waiter! he's was very effic ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

we liked our waiter! he's was very efficient, knowledgeable and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. We had a patio ta ...

 
·Dined on September 30, 2016

Wonderful experience. We had a patio table with a very nice quiet atmosphere and delicious food. Managers were tending to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Chris, was amazing!!!! I can ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our waiter, Chris, was amazing!!!! I can't express in words how awesome he was. Now the management...is something that needs to be worked on. The manager was very polite, attentive, and welcoming to EVERYONE BUT US! I know this was something done deliberately, because we were the nucleus of the surrounding tables. He never took the time to acknowledge us, despite this being out first time to Houston, Texas (as a whole), and Capital Grille!!! I'm not sure if he deemed us young-looking, or what, but this experience from the management staff left a very "distasteful" taste in our mouths.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint is I booked a restaura ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

My only complaint is I booked a restaurant and time that was 1000 points, but I was only awarded 100. Why is that?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was exceptional. They held n ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service was exceptional. They held nothing back to help us celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our dinner was fantastic. Thank you for making our special day that much more special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First visit to th his restaurant. Love t ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

First visit to th his restaurant. Love the ambiance, menu selection and attentiveness of staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Felt like our waiter constantly was chan ...

 
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Felt like our waiter constantly was changing dishes, silverware, glasses.

Crazy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Been going for years...the food is great ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Been going for years...the food is great and the surroundings always entertaining....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two meat eaters and a fish eater found h ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Two meat eaters and a fish eater found happiness here. This was an after work event where good wine and food helped cement established relationships. The service was friendly and helpful while being attentive. The wine list robust while still offering plenty of single glass options. The best part were the bone in filet and daily fish special (red snapper with fried oysters). The food exceptionally prepared and presented. The Only surprise was the price; expensive meal but very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We will be back. Excellent service, ambi ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We will be back. Excellent service, ambiance. Wait staff very attentive, genuinely interned in us having a good time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate our 1 year annivers ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We came to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and since the beginning to the end of our experience, we were extremely satisfied by our experience. Shawn was our waiter and he was awesome! He had great food recommendations and was very accommodating. I love the ambiance I love the food and I love the service. We would definitely come back and recommend this restaurant to our family and friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant Weeks Menu and pricing gave u ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Restaurant Weeks Menu and pricing gave us the opportunity to try the City Center location of Capital Grille. Because we were seated next to a table with a large party (at least 10 adults) and a crying/fussing/yelling baby the ambiance was not the best. This was not the fault of the restaurant but marred our experience in any event. The filet was excellent. The NY strip was

kinda tough. Caesar salad was ok, but nothing to write home about. Bread basket offered delicious choices. Desserts were very nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Tried the Houston Restaurant Weeks three ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Tried the Houston Restaurant Weeks three course offerings at this popular restaurant. The place was buzzing even on a Sunday evening.

Course 1 - Wedge salad's wedge was ice cold with great dressing and bacon accompaniment.

Course 2 - CG knows steaks. Both filet and bone-in NY strip were quality meats cooked to medium rare perfection.

Course 3 - Small, round cheesecake. Tasty enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Loved it. Generous pours were fabulous. ...

 
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Loved it. Generous pours were fabulous. Meal

Was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sept 1, we booked Capital Grille for a g ...

 
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Sept 1, we booked Capital Grille for a group lunch to celebrate a colleagues birthday. Prior to the event, Maddi from the restaurant, called and wanted to check on us to see how she can help and confirm our reservation. It was good that she called since we had about 20 in our party and she helped and arranged to have us get a private room for the lunch. From the start we were seated immediately and we had 2 really good wait staff assigned for our room. The room was really impressive and everyone was commenting on how organized the lunch was. Our orders came on time and all enjoyed their meal. Capital Grille allowed us to pay individually and they were so nice to not automatically add gratuity on the bill (although they could have). Overall, our work group enjoyed our celebration. Thanks so much to the staff at Capital Grille for making /helping us organize a memorable birthday group lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak and potatoes melted in t ...

 
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Excellent steak and potatoes melted in the mouth. Perfect meal and great wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did a wonderful job for a friends Birthd ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Did a wonderful job for a friends Birthday with the dessert!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed with our meal ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were very disappointed with our meal and overall dining experience. Our steaks were mediocre and the Creme Brûlée neither caramelized nor crisp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.