About The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room; or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with full complementary of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

840 W Sam Houston Parkway N
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
City Centre Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 463-5051

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Meyer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Romantic (13)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Modern Decor (4)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Casual (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my first visit to Capital Grill ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was my first visit to Capital Grille, and I will definitely be back. The lunch plates were excellent; I had the shrimp and my guest had salmon. Loved our server, Gabby. And, I don't know the name of the bartender, but he makes a great lemon drop martini!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing! The drinks were eve ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food is amazing! The drinks were even better. The prices were pretty fair. The server was great just a little slow at times. Overall it is a wonderful place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was a great place. The attention to ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was a great place. The attention to detail is amazing. We were celebrating a birthday and they had birthday confetti on the table along with a hand written birthday note. After a very tasty meal they brought out a bottle of champagne for a birthday toast along with a dessert for the birthday person. Our waiter was awesome he explained the menu and drinks. The dry aged NY Strip was delicious and the Sam's mashed potatoes are to die for. The chef even personally signs a note on every togo bag. We will definitely be back and recommend to people.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grill in City Center is alwa ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

The Capital Grill in City Center is always outstanding for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We an amazing time. Service was outstand ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

We an amazing time. Service was outstanding. Stephen made it a very special night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was once again outs ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food and service was once again outstanding!! They never disappoint! We had both the sea bass and the filet and our table, and they were both divine!! One of my favorite restaurants!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food and service

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

Fabulous food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grill was just as advertised - a ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Capital Grill was just as advertised - a very classy place with outstanding service, atmosphere and food. I have no complaints but will offer a warning that shouldn't be necessary. The place is pricey to the tune of a $300+ bill for my wife and I. You know this going in - so save your pennies.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Capital Grille is our favorite restauran ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Capital Grille is our favorite restaurant as a couple. Having relatively recently moved to Houston, we have been excited to find "our" waiter at one of the local CGs. This is probably not representative of everyone's experience, but we did not receive the phenomenal service that we are used to experiencing at Capital Grille. We'd still highly recommend the food and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Capital Grille was good but not outstand ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Capital Grille was good but not outstanding. The food was properly done and tasty, and the service was good. I felt that the wine list was somewhat limited and the side dish selection was as well. Overall, can't really complain too much and I would eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We felt rushed while eating. They picked ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We felt rushed while eating. They picked up an appetizer plate before we were even finished eating it. other than that, food was good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner with friends. Service was excell ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Dinner with friends. Service was excellent and the steaks cooked to perfection. We also ordered the tuna tartare and the tuna dinner both were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and outstanding service great ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food and outstanding service great ambience highly recommend the Grand Plateau as a starter-amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service extremely slow; had to reask ser ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service extremely slow; had to reask server for several items; too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food and service was great. We were the ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food and service was great. We were there celebrating my birthday. They made it a very memorable experience. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ethan did a great job. Great and consist ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Ethan did a great job. Great and consistent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Capital Grille is always great. Food gre ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Capital Grille is always great. Food great, service great, environment great. Even as busy as it was, we lacked for nothing and had a great lunch conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ethan was a fantastic waiter! Great mea ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Ethan was a fantastic waiter!

Great meal- great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy the Capital Grill. Food an ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Always enjoy the Capital Grill. Food and service always top notch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food Yummy steaks. Cooked per ...

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent food Yummy steaks. Cooked perfectly! Great selection of wine!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cody was our server and was superb. Unde ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Cody was our server and was superb. Understood we had limited time, was courteous, jovial and professional. He deserves a 7th star!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zach may be one of the best servers I ha ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Zach may be one of the best servers I have ever encountered and made the meal that much more enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service is warm and welcoming. Food ch ...

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

Service is warm and welcoming.

Food choices are brief but have great variety.

The day was cold and the soup was hot!

5 in the party and all were very pleased with the lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were both absolutel ...

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

The food and service were both absolutely amazing. Our waiter was fun, energetic, attentive and knowledgeable about cocktails and items on the menu. This was our first visit at this location, but I will definitely be back (soon).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been a regular at the capital Grill ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

I've been a regular at the capital Grille for business lunches/dinners but this was the first time going there for our anniversary this year. Put us at a quiet, secluded table complete with a Happy Anniversary card. Superb meal service concluded with complimentary dessert and champagne....impressed even a jaded business guy like me, never mind my wife! She's sold....!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I initially had reservations for three. ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

I initially had reservations for three. At the last minute it was increased to five and they were very accommodating on Thanksgiving day. The food was excellent the staff was very attentive. I will return no questions asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my sister to The Capital Grille f ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

I took my sister to The Capital Grille for Thanksgiving lunch - hamburgers. The burgers (served in the bar) were wonderful and the atmosphere and service were great also. We had a waiter, Matthew, who was very attentive but others servers also checked on us. Hostesses were also very friendly and accomodating. The bar was nice, windows were open, had a bit of street noise from the Beltway, but not too bad. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience, had the pri ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

Excellent dining experience, had the private room since we had a small group and it was perfect to talk to everyone and not have any major background noise. Food was perfect and a definitely a hit with everyone that attended. Service was impeccable and perfectly timed. Thank you!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cody was a fantastic waiter, steak was s ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Cody was a fantastic waiter, steak was supposed to medium rare, wasn't evenly cooked (one side was well done & other was rare)....BUT, flavor and overall dining experience was fantastic. Would definitely give it another try, and w/o ordering the challenging cook of a bone-in steak 😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I came to celebrate our anni ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I came to celebrate our anniversary and couldn't have had a better meal and time out. From the moment we came in and were greeted, everyone was so nice and attentive but not overly attentive. We had commented it was our anniversary and was greeted with table decorations and a card congratulating us on the event and my wife was given a long stem rose before we left. Great food, great service, great people.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent a lovely time there for a birthday ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Spent a lovely time there for a birthday dinner. The table had a few decorations and they provided a complimentary dessert. Chris did an excellent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great, food great service and wonderful ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great, food great service and wonderful atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We waited fur a long time to be served. ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

We waited fur a long time to be served. There was a mix up for who was to service our table. It was never really corrected and we had service issues all during our meal. This staff knew it and made no overture for compensating or apologizing. It was frustrating because we were two females that seemed inconsequential to the staff. I work in the building and have dined there many times with male colleagues and dud but have issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Although I have always liked Capital Gri ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

Although I have always liked Capital Grille food but this time their outstanding customer service and pride in their brand shone through and through. Chef Jeffrey is extremely kind to come see us and Calamari appetizer was exceptionally good. Our order was prepared above par and our server made us feel very comfortable, making our lunch experience extremely enjoyable.

Super impressed by Capital Grille Team, Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good good, good surroundings, good servi ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

Good good, good surroundings, good service and quiet. It is not cheap but the above offsets it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful birthday celebration! ...

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

We had a wonderful birthday celebration! Food and staff was top notch! We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate our Anniversary and ...

 
·Dined on October 18, 2016

We went to celebrate our Anniversary and I had called ahead to request the same table be had before. They worked that out and let me tell you, I think everyone on staff came up and told us happy anniversary!

They made sure we were happy!

Special Thank You to our waiter Steven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved coming to Capital Grille during ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

We loved coming to Capital Grille during their Wagyu & Wine event every year. Great value on a great glass of wine and a superb burger. We enjoy CG at other times of the year as well for special occasions, but this is our favorite time of year to enjoy these great burgers.

Tags: Comfort Food, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience but should have ...

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great dining experience but should have few more items without beef.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

My family came to The Capital Grill to c ...

 
·Dined on October 10, 2016

My family came to The Capital Grill to celebrate my moms 50th birthday. Everything was amazing. Booking the reservation was super convenient, the food was great and Matthew and his team were all amazing servers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.