About The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre

840 W Sam Houston Parkway N
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room; or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with full complementary of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
City Centre Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 463-5051

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Meyer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Best Service
Houston
2 More
Steakhouse
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Best Restaurants in West Side ›

special occasion (32)
romantic (22)
notable wine list (19)
See All
fit for foodies (14)
good for groups (14)
great for lunch (13)
hot spot (8)
great for brunch (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
385 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We started out with the Shrimp Cocktail. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

We started out with the Shrimp Cocktail. It was very good. I had the wedge salad, which was also very good. Two of us had the Filet Mignon and one had the Lobster. All were very good. We had the brussells sprout and potatoes Au Gratin to share. All were very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The special of halibut with crab was exc ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The special of halibut with crab was excellent and the free birthday desert was delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made a last minute reservation to cel ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We made a last minute reservation to celebrate a birthday at Capital Grille and couldn't have been more delighted with the entire experience. Most places wish you a happy birthday but they went beyond. From the greetings of staff as we were shown to a quiet corner table (just as we had requested) where colorful confetti glitter decorated the table top, throughout the entire evening attention to detail and friendly service accompanied the excellent food. We enjoyed the featured generous pour. We expected a candle with dessert but they added Happy Birthday written in chocolate and took a photo which they presented to us with the check. It all made for a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have had dry aged steaks at several pl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I have had dry aged steaks at several places including other Capitol Grilles, however, this New York was just not good. It was very dry - more than you would expect from a dry aged, but, the most disconcerting part was the flavor, it tasted like liver. I have been to other Capitol Grille's and enjoyed them, I hope this was just an anomaly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent in all aspects

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent in all aspects

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I made a note on my reservation that we ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I made a note on my reservation that we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. When we arrived, the restaurant had reserved the best seats for us - a round booth in the corner. The table was decorated with red confetti hearts and there was a hand written anniversary card. The manager came by to congratulate us. Our server Chris made sure that everything was perfect and made this feel like such a special occasion for us. The food and service were wonderful and it was definitely a memorable anniversary celebration. Highly recommended, and we will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very much enjoyed our Anniversary dinner ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Very much enjoyed our Anniversary dinner at capital Grill. They had a special table for us complete with anniversary card and decorations. Zack our waiter was outstanding. The food was very good also but only gave it 4 stars because of a couple of very minor constructive criticisms. The lobster & crab cakes were very good but could have used just a touch more seasoning - maybe just a little salt - and my wife's steak was ever so slightly over cooked. Still very, very good. She likes them with the center cool, but not cold (essentially room temperature), so just slightly above rare. The high cooking temp & warm plate resulted in more like medium rare. Like I said, very tasty steak, but just a touch a way from perfect.

All in all a fantastic dinner, very well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was magnificent as it always is ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was magnificent as it always is! We had a great time chatting with our guests. Drinks were fabulous. Our sever was overall good. He was a little forgetful but other than that a great personality and a great outgoing individual. Love this restaurant and will come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Capital Grille did an excellent job of m ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Capital Grille did an excellent job of making our anniversary special. They spent time making sure that everything was perfect down to a personnel note on our table. Their eye for detail and the service were amazing.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was superb! Very helpful, fr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The service was superb! Very helpful, friendly and attentive staff. Food was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my French colleague here for the fi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Took my French colleague here for the first time for a business dinner and he was very impressed and will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Recommend sliced fillet minion, very ten ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Recommend sliced fillet minion, very tender and awesome mushrooms on the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food, the service was a little slow but we did have a big party. In the end it was an overall good experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Special occasions

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

You have another location but it couldn't compare to your quality, service or charm.

However, the food at both locations is excellent but I think because it's older it just got tired!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille City Centere

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very good restaurant, just as good as westheimer location. CG doesn't disappoint

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

At $20, the lunch menu is a great deal. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

At $20, the lunch menu is a great deal. The steak and frites was excellent and the portion was generous for a lunch menu, which included a soup or salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kitchen needs work

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The room is well-appointed and the service was attentive and gracious, but the lunch plate --steak frites--was disappointing. The salad was fresh and the frites were crispy, but the steak was gristly and grilled medium-well instead of rare as ordered. The meat was definitely not the quality nor the preparation that Cap Grill is known for.

I've enjoyed this same plate at other Capital Grills and was anticipating similar quality here, all to no avail. I hope the kitchen improves to the level of their other locations.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter, Mat was exceptional @ MOTHER'S DAY brunch! The food was delicious and was served @ appropriate temperatures whether hot or cold. Capital Grille is GREAT

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Don't waist your time and money with it!!!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Based on its price I was expecting a better food and service. I ordered a fried calamari. It says on the menu spicy, so I was expecting a homemade spicy sauce, but I gotta my spicy fried calamari with pieces of jalapeno. Any one can do it!!!

Very disappointed. My friend ordered the 10oz filet mignon. It was okay.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Always good

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

We regularly come here for special occasions. Service and food is always top notch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Service

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We dined here for our anniversary. Pleasant surprise with the dessert! Server was awesome, food was excellent. Next time we'll take advantage of the complimentary valet. Thank you for the enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service for B-day

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

As always when you want to get treated well w/o asking to be for a special occasion you can always rely on Capital Grill. Everything was perfect to our server, the food the atmosphere, and the overall experience. We had a great booth, and this is the type of place where you can go and have an intimate discussion. Great evening.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was an amazing experience gre ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Overall it was an amazing experience great service, everyone made me feel welcome. Definitely will be coming here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good as Ever

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The Capitol Grill in City Centre continues to out perform almost all of the Houston west side foodie venues. Their wine list is not inundated with the standard Houston California restaurant cabernets and the constantly changing list allows the diner to select from many excellent old world wines that highly compliment their excellent menu choices. Attention to presentation detail continues to be a hallmark of the restaurant. The staff seems to really enjoy their labor and that positive vibe is felt by most of the customers. We enjoyed both of our entres (a scallop dish for me and a surf and turf item for her) which were enhanced by a bottle of a well priced, quality village level white Burgundy as well as an excellent glass of a red Rhone that my wife used to wash down the beef portion of her entre. We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Could not be better

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Dinner with a friend was wonderful in all aspects. Becoming one of our favorites. Our server, Molly was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, delicious food, very nice ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Great service, delicious food, very nice ambiance. We'll be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for an special occasion

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

The staff was very friendly. They found out it was our anniversary and gave us a card. Manager corrected the issue with one of the plates being under cooked.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always sit at the bar. Jessica is th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We always sit at the bar. Jessica is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent steaks and sides. I recommend ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellent steaks and sides. I recommend getting something prepared uniquely to the Capital Grille like the aged balsamic rib eye.

The ambience is a bit boring and reminded me on a business waiting lounge. The service is good although our server was a bit of a stiff. Not a big deal but definitely something to consider if you are looking for a first date kind of place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The combination of great food, pleasant ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The combination of great food, pleasant atmosphere and top-notch service made our night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I have been to the city center location a few times in the last few months and the food, service, and atmosphere have been excellent. I will be back. Their attention to detail was on point.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was great! Food was delicious.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Waiter was great! Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great all around

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The food and service were superb. We'll definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good and service was excel ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was very good and service was excellent!! Princess was our server and we will ask for her again when go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great people Make Great resturants!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Each time we come to the Capital Grill is for a special occasion. They have ALWAYs gone above and beyond! The level of integrity each employee has for thier guests is unbelieveable! from the second you are greeted by someone opening the front door to the last morsel of food has been savored they ensure you are totally satisfied!

Thank you for having us and helping us to celebrate!

Steve and Josh Palmisano

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday delight

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Reservations were made, but the table was not available. Chris, the manager, made us comfortable in the lounge, and found the primo table for us with a wait of less than 10 minutes.

Chef presented us with a complimentary appetizer, the server was quite attentive to our needs,

the food superb!!

Table had a birthday card for my guest and the birthday desert, again served by the chef, was decadent. 5tars does not cover this memorial evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our first visit to the Capital Grille at this location. The food and ambiance was very good, but the service was outstanding. Our waiter Chris did a great job of taking care of us. Everyone went out of thier way to make us feel welcome and at home.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch Time at Capital Grill

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

There is no better place in west Houston for lunch than Capital Grill at City Center. The menu can be light with their tasty salads or a cup of soup or you can make it a feast with their excellent choices of steak or maybe a favorite fish. All the food is prepared perfectly and plated beautifully. They have an extensive wine list with many available by the glass. Save a little room for one of their sweet deserts or just enjoy a fresh baked cookie with your coffee.

Oh, and don't worry about the parking even though you know it's going to be crowded in City Center. The valets are friendly and quick to get you your car out. Don't let the $8 valet sign upset you. Just get your ticket validated when you walk in and throw a few dollars at the driver when you get your car.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brussels sprout salad the best part of the meal

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We arrived on time for our Valentines 6PM reservation but were told our table would not be ready for about 15 minutes. Brussels Sprout salad was very good. My filet was very good but my husband did not care for his chilean sea bass . He said he has better at other restaurants. Service was good, not great but decent.

We have been there many times but will return to their other location on Westheimer after our experience with the horrible valet outside the restaurant. It was very understaffed on Valentines and very disorganized, Huge line and wait time of at least 20 plus minutes.To top it off the valet dropped our key fob down the inside of the seat by the middle console making it incredibly hard to retrieve.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The lobster and crab cakes were great!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The lobster and crab cakes were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.