About The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre

840 W Sam Houston Parkway N
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room; or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with full complementary of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
City Centre Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 463-5051

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Meyer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Houston
Best Restaurants in West Side ›

Special Occasion (67)
Romantic (42)
Notable Wine List (35)
See All
Great for Lunch (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Groups (23)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Business Meals (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (3)
Cozy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter, Chris, was amazing!!!! I can ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 2 days ago

Our waiter, Chris, was amazing!!!! I can't express in words how awesome he was. Now the management...is something that needs to be worked on. The manager was very polite, attentive, and welcoming to EVERYONE BUT US! I know this was something done deliberately, because we were the nucleus of the surrounding tables. He never took the time to acknowledge us, despite this being out first time to Houston, Texas (as a whole), and Capital Grille!!! I'm not sure if he deemed us young-looking, or what, but this experience from the management staff left a very "distasteful" taste in our mouths.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Felt like our waiter constantly was chan ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Felt like our waiter constantly was changing dishes, silverware, glasses.

Crazy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Been going for years...the food is great ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Been going for years...the food is great and the surroundings always entertaining....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two meat eaters and a fish eater found h ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Two meat eaters and a fish eater found happiness here. This was an after work event where good wine and food helped cement established relationships. The service was friendly and helpful while being attentive. The wine list robust while still offering plenty of single glass options. The best part were the bone in filet and daily fish special (red snapper with fried oysters). The food exceptionally prepared and presented. The Only surprise was the price; expensive meal but very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We will be back. Excellent service, ambi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We will be back. Excellent service, ambiance. Wait staff very attentive, genuinely interned in us having a good time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate our 1 year annivers ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We came to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and since the beginning to the end of our experience, we were extremely satisfied by our experience. Shawn was our waiter and he was awesome! He had great food recommendations and was very accommodating. I love the ambiance I love the food and I love the service. We would definitely come back and recommend this restaurant to our family and friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant Weeks Menu and pricing gave u ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Restaurant Weeks Menu and pricing gave us the opportunity to try the City Center location of Capital Grille. Because we were seated next to a table with a large party (at least 10 adults) and a crying/fussing/yelling baby the ambiance was not the best. This was not the fault of the restaurant but marred our experience in any event. The filet was excellent. The NY strip was

kinda tough. Caesar salad was ok, but nothing to write home about. Bread basket offered delicious choices. Desserts were very nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Tried the Houston Restaurant Weeks three ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Tried the Houston Restaurant Weeks three course offerings at this popular restaurant. The place was buzzing even on a Sunday evening.

Course 1 - Wedge salad's wedge was ice cold with great dressing and bacon accompaniment.

Course 2 - CG knows steaks. Both filet and bone-in NY strip were quality meats cooked to medium rare perfection.

Course 3 - Small, round cheesecake. Tasty enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Loved it. Generous pours were fabulous. ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Loved it. Generous pours were fabulous. Meal

Was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sept 1, we booked Capital Grille for a g ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Sept 1, we booked Capital Grille for a group lunch to celebrate a colleagues birthday. Prior to the event, Maddi from the restaurant, called and wanted to check on us to see how she can help and confirm our reservation. It was good that she called since we had about 20 in our party and she helped and arranged to have us get a private room for the lunch. From the start we were seated immediately and we had 2 really good wait staff assigned for our room. The room was really impressive and everyone was commenting on how organized the lunch was. Our orders came on time and all enjoyed their meal. Capital Grille allowed us to pay individually and they were so nice to not automatically add gratuity on the bill (although they could have). Overall, our work group enjoyed our celebration. Thanks so much to the staff at Capital Grille for making /helping us organize a memorable birthday group lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak and potatoes melted in t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Excellent steak and potatoes melted in the mouth. Perfect meal and great wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did a wonderful job for a friends Birthd ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Did a wonderful job for a friends Birthday with the dessert!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed with our meal ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were very disappointed with our meal and overall dining experience. Our steaks were mediocre and the Creme Brûlée neither caramelized nor crisp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was delicious!! But unfortunately o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was delicious!! But unfortunately our waitress performance was very poor. It seemed she was too busy chasing the tip $$ from her bigger party or assumed we weren't going to tip her good, that she totally forgot about us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

My party enjoyed the Houston Restaurant ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My party enjoyed the Houston Restaurant Weeks menu and the Generous Pour wine event. I gave Capital Grille a "Very Good" overall rating in spite of the service that did not live up to their norm and certainly did not meet my expectations. Multiple requests were made for a refill on bread and butter and consistently on wine refills. It is my opinion that our waiter was probably servicing too many tables, and since we were in a corner, we were the last to receive his attention. For this reason, I generously rated the service as "Fair" instead of "Poor". In any case, the food was exceptional, as I have come to expect. I won't harshly ding my overall rating for Capital Grille on this single, less than attentive, service incident.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We had outstanding food and service . A ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had outstanding food and service .

A very memorable evening and anniversary .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very satisfied with the service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very satisfied with the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went with a co-worker for Houston Rest ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I went with a co-worker for Houston Restaurant Weeks - it was a delight from the seating hostess through paying the check. The Capital Grill outdid itself for the lunch offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience for catching up with friends ou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Ambience for catching up with friends outstanding. Attentiveness was superb from waitstaff. The right amount of serving sizes with delectable glazes. Never had to request water refills. Little touches like warm moust towels even handles on take out bags. Valet was easy and even outside the restaurant was spotless just the way I like it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends went and we ordered off Restaura ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Friends went and we ordered off Restaurant Wk menu. clam Chowder very good and served hot. 2 of us had the Wagu burger which we enjoyed. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great food and a wonderful waitre ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had great food and a wonderful waitress who took excellent care of us.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancee and had an AMAZING date night ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My fiancee and had an AMAZING date night at The Capital Grille. We were so impressed from the second we walked in the door. Wonderful atmosphere, Wonderful service, and the food seriously one of the best meals we've ever had. I recommend Anabella as your server - she great. Very attentive! We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Capital Grille for lunch. Wif ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We enjoyed Capital Grille for lunch. Wife had ordered off the menu (lobster bisque, lobster role) while I ordered from the HRW menu (clam chowder, steak w/ salad, creme brulee).

Everything was good. The clam chowder, bisque and desert were excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food /wine was outstanding.... and ser ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food /wine was outstanding.... and service ( our waiter-Valdamir) was superb!!!!

Overall....a very lovely lunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tony our server was excellent very atten ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Tony our server was excellent very attentive and just overall wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for lunch with a coworker and enjoy ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Went for lunch with a coworker and enjoyed the Houston Week restaurant special. the food was delicious and the service as well.

hank you.

Ana RamirezT

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Service was awesome. There was ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food and Service was awesome. There was a slight misunderstanding between the waitress and us, however she was quick to get the Manager over who then remedied the situation immediately. Their Customer Service is always impeccable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly delightful lunch! Restaurant wee ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Truly delightful lunch! Restaurant week menu was an added bonus and super value. Colby took great care of us. Salmon was delish. Creme Brulee outstanding!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

There were seven of us for dinner, celeb ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

There were seven of us for dinner, celebrating two family birthdays that night. The food, service and ambiance at Capital Grille, City Center, were all excellent! Our server, Roberto Cano, had perfect timing for pouring wine and serving the different courses. He was great!

I had noted in the reservation that we were celebrating birthdays and the restaurant gave each person a card and wished them a happy birthday . The only thing that would have made the evening more perfect is if there had been lighted candles in dessert for the two celebrants.

I did not ask in advance but I did have an expectation that there would be candles.

My Lesson: Remember to ask for what you want.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the time I went in, to the setup of ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

From the time I went in, to the setup of out table, everything was amazing. We decided to have dinner here to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary, and it was magical! We went on a day when it was pouring rain, but the food and staff made us forget of how ugly the weather was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place and atmosphere for a nice di ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great place and atmosphere for a nice dinner. Prices more then a average meal, but worth the price. Food is outstanding. Not somewhere you might go every weekend, but if you are ok spending a little more for something good and nice...this is the place. Especially right now for restaurant month. Great value

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A wonderful lunch in a restaurant that s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A wonderful lunch in a restaurant that seemed really into Houston Restaurant Week(s). And, while the food was lovely, the service provided by our personable, engaging server (Ryan) made the experience outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I gathered our department for a group lu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I gathered our department for a group lunch to celebrate an associate's birthday and a new hire. We also wanted to take advantage of the Houston Restaurant week menu. The selections were great and Capital Grille has about same price as the HRW menu on their lunch menu. Food was really good and I ordered the steak. Service was terrific Colby Russo was our server and she made sure we were welcomed warmly. At the end of lunch, she brought out specially designed dessert plates to our 2 colleagues with the themed celebration. It was a very nice touch and everyone was impressed. I will be back for my own private dining and highly recommend the restaurant. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice outside dining area but can only be ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Nice outside dining area but can only be used when the brutal Houston heat subsides. Would love to go back and dine outdoors when the weather improves. Food was great here. Wine list is ridiculously impressive. Pricey meals but the quality was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated a birthday there and table wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Celebrated a birthday there and table was decorated by the restaurant, took our picture and framed for us, also lavish us with a celebration platter and comp champagne.

Food was very delicious and service was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited knowing that it was Houston R ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We visited knowing that it was Houston Restaurant Weeks. Once the servers knew we were also celebrating one of our friends bring cancer-free, they were unbelievably accommodating, providing dessert, champagne, and a rose for her. Thank you for making her day one she will never forget!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been to Capital Grille many times. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Have been to Capital Grille many times. They are consistent in their service and food. Love the place. We are taking friends on the 20th.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service usual. They even remember ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great service usual. They even remembered were there just year earlier exact same fate

Day.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, convenient location and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Delicious food, convenient location and very attentive service. Definately recommend Capital Grille.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our anniv ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary. The food was very good. The wait staff was very friendly. The atmosphere was not overly loud so conversation was easy. We had a very pleasant time. We will return again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.