About The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre

840 W Sam Houston Parkway N
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room; or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with full complementary of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
City Centre Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 463-5051

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Meyer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (17)
Business Meals (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Private Room (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Casual (2)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Fun (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
516 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

food was just ok, waiter very inexperienced and it showed. difficult to understand. valet parking a problem as was parking in general. wait staff seemed understaffed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

As always the food and service were impeccable. I usually have a steak, but feeling the need for something lighter, I opted for the heavenly lobster bisque and a chicken Caesar salad - both were excellent!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Great ambiance , service & food. However, it was a little too noisy for a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. The ambience, food, and hospitality made it a memorable night for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great service, food, and ambiance! Our server, Chris, was excellent. Everyone from the hostess to the dining room manger were spot on!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

One of favorite restaurants in Houston and we eat out a lot.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Always when I have taken clients to CG, we have been overwhelmed by the service staff, that is not bad, opposed to my last visit, that we could not find a staff person, it was bad service. I will probably give them one more chance

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We had delightful waitress, Hannah, and our steaks were very, very good. The glazed Brussels sprouts are to die for - never thought I would say that.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The atmosphere was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's Day date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Second visit here in 3 months. Both times Capital Grille has wowed us. The service and food were once again spot on. I had a bone in porcini rubbed ribeye with a balsamic reduction. I cook a great steak myself, so I am picky about eating steaks out but this one was wonderful. Cooked perfectly to order.

Manager came by, as in past, to make sure our experience was wonderful and it was. Will save up and be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Been here a number of times and never fails to disappoint in service & food. Always a place that makes you feel welcome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The Bar waitstaff was perfect amount of attentive. Food absolutely amazing !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Parking was great, location was fantastic, everyone that was at our table did a great job our main waiter Tony was outstanding.....

Thank you

MikeL

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Perfect location for casual and business dining; great service and excellent food. Good menu selection with reasonable lunch prices (e.g. salads). Good wine selection. Eye pleasing ambiance. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This was my first visit to Capital Grille, and I will definitely be back. The lunch plates were excellent; I had the shrimp and my guest had salmon. Loved our server, Gabby. And, I don't know the name of the bartender, but he makes a great lemon drop martini!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food is amazing! The drinks were even better. The prices were pretty fair. The server was great just a little slow at times. Overall it is a wonderful place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was a great place. The attention to detail is amazing. We were celebrating a birthday and they had birthday confetti on the table along with a hand written birthday note. After a very tasty meal they brought out a bottle of champagne for a birthday toast along with a dessert for the birthday person. Our waiter was awesome he explained the menu and drinks. The dry aged NY Strip was delicious and the Sam's mashed potatoes are to die for. The chef even personally signs a note on every togo bag. We will definitely be back and recommend to people.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The Capital Grill in City Center is always outstanding for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We an amazing time. Service was outstanding. Stephen made it a very special night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food and service was once again outstanding!! They never disappoint! We had both the sea bass and the filet and our table, and they were both divine!! One of my favorite restaurants!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Fabulous food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Capital Grill was just as advertised - a very classy place with outstanding service, atmosphere and food. I have no complaints but will offer a warning that shouldn't be necessary. The place is pricey to the tune of a $300+ bill for my wife and I. You know this going in - so save your pennies.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Capital Grille is our favorite restaurant as a couple. Having relatively recently moved to Houston, we have been excited to find "our" waiter at one of the local CGs. This is probably not representative of everyone's experience, but we did not receive the phenomenal service that we are used to experiencing at Capital Grille. We'd still highly recommend the food and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Capital Grille was good but not outstanding. The food was properly done and tasty, and the service was good. I felt that the wine list was somewhat limited and the side dish selection was as well. Overall, can't really complain too much and I would eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We felt rushed while eating. They picked up an appetizer plate before we were even finished eating it. other than that, food was good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Dinner with friends. Service was excellent and the steaks cooked to perfection. We also ordered the tuna tartare and the tuna dinner both were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food and outstanding service great ambience highly recommend the Grand Plateau as a starter-amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service extremely slow; had to reask server for several items; too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food and service was great. We were there celebrating my birthday. They made it a very memorable experience. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Ethan did a great job. Great and consistent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Capital Grille is always great. Food great, service great, environment great. Even as busy as it was, we lacked for nothing and had a great lunch conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Ethan was a fantastic waiter!

Great meal- great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Always enjoy the Capital Grill. Food and service always top notch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent food Yummy steaks. Cooked perfectly! Great selection of wine!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Cody was our server and was superb. Understood we had limited time, was courteous, jovial and professional. He deserves a 7th star!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Zach may be one of the best servers I have ever encountered and made the meal that much more enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Service is warm and welcoming.

Food choices are brief but have great variety.

The day was cold and the soup was hot!

5 in the party and all were very pleased with the lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The food and service were both absolutely amazing. Our waiter was fun, energetic, attentive and knowledgeable about cocktails and items on the menu. This was our first visit at this location, but I will definitely be back (soon).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I've been a regular at the capital Grille for business lunches/dinners but this was the first time going there for our anniversary this year. Put us at a quiet, secluded table complete with a Happy Anniversary card. Superb meal service concluded with complimentary dessert and champagne....impressed even a jaded business guy like me, never mind my wife! She's sold....!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.