Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room; or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with full complementary of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

840 W Sam Houston Parkway N
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
City Centre Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 463-5051

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Meyer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (22)
Business Meals (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (4)
Fun (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Casual (2)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I dined here for my birthday dinner. I requested a quite booth. We were seated at a booth by the kitchen. There was a birthday card and "birthday" sprinkles on the table. About five minutes later the hostess came to our table and said she noticed I had requested a quite table and offered to move us to another table. We accepted. She was very sweet and accomodating the entire evening. She even moved the bday sprinkles to our new table. Our waiter was amazing (Ethan). The Stolidoli was a delicious martini! Ethan helped us pick out a great wine! Our food was delicious! Filet Oscar and mashed potatoes with ice cream for dessert. The entree was cooked perfectly! The ice cream was delicious and inventive!! A perfect evening for a special day! Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

All in all, an enjoyable experience. Staff was very accommodating and food was very good. Big portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, atmosphere, and service. Our waiter, Christopher, was fantastic.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Princess who waited on us, provided amazing service and made the evening enjoyable. She is very professional, attentive and went out of her way to ensure that we had a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent! The best steak ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great service and very attentive staff without being overwhelming or annoying. Knowledgeable on wine and friendly when someone ordered something that was not to their standards/liking.
Would recommend to friends, date nights, business meetings.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Always wonderful top class service with perfectly prepared and presented food. The staff is first class.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Very nice food and a exceptional server. Wine was great as well but pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent steaks and drinks. $50 for steak, but worth it. Also lobster mac & cheese was really good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Zack was our server and absolutely fantastic. I will drive longer to get to City Center instead of going to the one closer to me by the Galleria any day. Completely different ecperience. The old timers on Westheimer have to catch up with City Center location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great service ! There are many solid steakhouses in Houston but what sets the City Centre Capital Grille location apart is a great GM and a very focused staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My wife and I went for our 32nd wedding anniversary. The service was great. The food was great. We have dined there before, and the experience was good then. This time it was over the top on all aspects. Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 23, 2017

The food was just okay. We came for restaurant week last year and loved everything. This visit I was disappointed In the steak and side dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

First time visit for two of our party. Wonderful food. Fabulous service. We all ordered a Wagyu burger and our waiter, Vladimir, surprised us by also bringing a side dish of the most amazing Brussel sprouts for us to try. The fact that our daughter, who normally doesn't care for Brussel sprouts, ate all of them before even touching her burger says it all. We will definitely visit Capital Grille again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Good steak, like it dry
Great brussel sprouts
Excellent service from Jonathan

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The occasion was for Mother's Day. The service was good but when the food started to come out did not like it. First off the bread and tortilla were hard with no flavor. Second the cesar salad was horrible it had no croutons no cesar dressing and lettuce wasn't crisp, lettuce looked old too. Got charged for a salad that I didn't even eat, took one bite and left the rest. The only decent thing was the meat I ordered, even that the meat wasn't cooked right. I just gave up and didn't want to bother with it no more cause of the occasion. Very disappointed, dissatisfied, and way over priced for the kind of food y'all serve! Would not recommend this place, and will not return! Could I get a response back on my review for capital grill. To know someone actually read it. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My appointment was for a booth at 8:30 pm. We arrived at 8:20 and were lead to a table (not a booth) which we refused to take especially that another booth was open and avaliable. We were asked to wait till the Mgr arrives. While doing so others took the avaliable booth while we stood there watching them... When the Mgr arrived he apologized and promised the next booth which took 35 minutes to become avaliable. Food took forever to be served (another 40 minutes). My stake was ordered medium and was served RAW in the middle. No comps (just verbal apologies) were offered on a $450 dinner bill! I have no reason to ever go back there.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of the best (filet) steaks that I have ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The dry aged porterhouse was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Wedge salad receives a grade of C. Service great, food not so great.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our Server was on point. He made great suggestions and was very polite. The food melted in my mouth, and the portions were not small. The cocktails were delicious and the steaks were the best! 3 of us split calamari and couldn't finish it all. We had the porter house , filet oscar, lobster mac and cheese and the brussel sprouts. Couldn't find one thing to complain about!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great business dinner/drinks location. Food and drinks were fantastic and staff was amazing.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Spectacular service as always.
The food and wine perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The service was extraordinary as usual, the food was magnificent, and the personalized attention was just icing on the cake. I highly recommend Capital Grill at City Centre for any occasion.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

5 stars as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We go to Capital Grille on birthdays and this is the first time that we've gone for Easter Brunch. The food was great, as usual, however the service was slow. We were there almost 2 hours. We will still continue to go for birthdays but won't return for brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful staff . We there to celebrate and my friend's promotion we told them that at the door and they surprised us both with treats throughout the evening. Wonderful place and I could not stop bragging about it .

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were very happy with our recent dinner at Capital Grille City Centre. When the location first opened we had some uneven service and food, but our last two visits have been perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Perfect. Great time. We really enjoy this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great experience. Service was truly excellent. They made my wife feel great on her 50th birthday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food and sevice were very good. Wish the price of the wines are more reasonable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great service and food quality at Capitol. Best for a special occasion or business gathering .

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A very nice evening with friends, waiter stellar and knowledgeable about menu items including the chef's specials. Nice cocktail menu. The shrimp crustin was soggy and didn't particularly care for it. Fresh fish excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Could not have been a better experience. Our server, Mark Anthony was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything on the menu was delicious and the service was phenomenal. The lighting was a little darker than what I would like. Overall it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food. Service and attention to birthday guests - superb! Will return for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love going here , unfortunately this time service was out of sync and waiter disappeared often.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, knowledgeable service, excellent food. A must repeat.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our waiter Christopher was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.