Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room; or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with full complementary of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

840 W Sam Houston Parkway N
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
City Centre Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 463-5051

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Meyer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Birthdays (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (21)
Great for Lunch (16)
Business Meals (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Casual (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
623 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

OMG. Is all I kept saying while eating. The lamb chops were the best I had. The porterhouse steak was cooked to perfection. I will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This was the second time I have dined at The Capital Grill in 3 weeks. My wife and I travel expansively and seek out stellar dining experiences and use trip advisor and open table for help in new places to get reliable references. TCG was everything it was purported to be and exceeded our expectations in all categories.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The food was excellent, as usual the South Africn Lobster is so good and tasty. Love that cold water taste. We also had the bone-in filet mignon which tasted better.

Lobster crab cakes, creamed spinach and lobster mac n cheese were good additions.
Warm bread and butter.

Overall, an excellent meal and enjoyable night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2017

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The potato-leek soup was amazing and the Bibb lettuce salad was refreshing. The table was split on the monkfish – one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Wonderful experience! Capital Grille really made our 1 year anniversary memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was good, but the service left much to be desired. The waitor didnt show up at our table for at least 15 minutes after we were seated. They are also stingy with the drinks. $13 for a martini where the glass is about 3/4 full, (and that is with three olives in the glass) not to mention the small martini glass to begin with. The service was poor, for example, it took 25 minutes to get my second drink, and the waitor blamed the delay on someone else who was supposed to bring the drinks out to our table, seems like a communication breakdown on the waitor's part to me. When this other person finally showed up with the drink (after the waitor figured out that I was still waiting), there was no smile, no hello, and no apology; in fact, she did not say a single word to anyone at our table. She looked angry to have to come out to our table. The waitor did not apologize either. Needless to say, I will not be returning. There were four of us, and to spend so much on a meal and not receive great service is totally unacceptable. I will stick to Eddie V's in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We ordered from the Restaurant Week menu. My wife had the filet and shrimp and I had the 18 oz. Kona crusted Strip steak. Both were excellent. This was an anniversary celebration and I had let the restaurant know in advance and they had specially decorated our table for the occasion. If you have a special occasion to celebrate this would be an excellent location. A little on the expensive side, but worth the extra cash if you can afford it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We stopped in to experience the Wagyu & Wine offering, so we sat in the bar/lounge area. Our server did not do an exceptional job, however, everything else was excellent and overshadowed that part.
My wine was a very good deal as part of the Wagyu & Wine special and my wife's cocktail was made extremely well. The wagyu burger was cooked perfectly and our tenderloin sliders and mozzarella, tomato, basil salad were awesome. We were made to feel at home by the General Manager, Chris, as he welcomed us, asked how things were, and even greeted us outside as we waited to pick up our car from the valet.
Definitely a great meal and we plan to return soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 29, 2017

it was njce and cozy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 26, 2017

The entire dining experience was superb. The waiter we had was excellent and the attention to detail was beyond our expectations. we can safely say that this will be on our top for dining spots(we have removed Perrys steakhouse-they could learn a lot from this restaurant).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The service was amazing. I would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Enjoyed the Houston Restaurant Week extension with friends after working long days during Hurricane Harvey. The food was great! I like that they offered some additional items for a slight upcharge. My husband said that the lobster bisque was definitely worth the additional $5. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The service was excellent as well the food. The table was prepared as I requested for my friend's birthday. Will come back soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Little pricey but great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Restaurant week was great value. Large portions awesome steaks! Will go back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Unfortunately not as good experience as usual tonite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My date and I were seated at a table close to other people and we couldn't talk freely. The ambience was not that bad but you m'd expect more for the price you pay there. Food was good but excessively expensive, and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Wonderful evening, food, service and everything for an 80th B/D Celebration could not have been better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We went there because of houston restaurant week . We were exciited that we can have good quality of meals as good value . But I was so desalinated that the meat was so bad. Alomst cooked last night. The waiter brought the foods so quickly and come to say hi every 10min-very disturbing our conversiation. I went Capital grills several time but bad representation this time.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

It was amazing. The service and food was just great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We went for our anniversary during the Houston Restaurant Weeks event. The food was great - my wife and I had the NY Strip Steak and our daughter had the salmon. Totally enjoyed the food. But what really made it an excellent evening and dinner was our waiter - Rodrigo Mosquella. Rodrigo was very knowledge about the food and wine and was very pleasant. It is people like him that makes for a good dinner or restaurant experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our server Richard was great. The food was wonderful as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We dined at The Capital Grille for Houston Restaurant Weeks, with a 5:30 reservation on a Saturday. We had previewed the menu and knew what we wanted, but we were pleasantly surprised by the Generous Pour that was available for $28 per person. We both took advantage of that, and our server Richard was on top of it all night long. My husband's strip steak was cooked to perfection, and my salmon was frankly the best I'd ever had. Cheesecake and Crème Brulee topped off the meal. My only complaint would be that - maybe - the green beans were a little too crunchy. My husband doesn't like them that way, but I do.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

the filet mignon was delish!!!!! BEST STEAK EVER!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Everyone greeted me; I felt welcomed and like they were glad to have my business. The wine was very good and reasonable. Shrimp Bisque was excellent. Great selection of breads. All of our food was very good and well prepared. It was easy to carry on a conversation at our table. Zach was an outstanding waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food is always good and Service is wonderful. One of my favorite restaurants...especially this location. The owner does a great job paying special attention to every detail.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

My friend and I had a delightful lunch. The ambience is very nice, the service is terrific, the wait staff is friendly and the food was well prepared and very tasty. I will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday this party weekend at Capital Grill and could not have had a better time! Our server Mark was superior and attentive in every way! The manager Gabriella was amazingly accommodating when 2 unexpected guests arrived. Without any hesitation she offered to reset the table (even though we told her we could squeeze them in) so we could be comfortable. She was very gracious about it and it was all reset within minutes. Mark was exceptional and the food was perfect! All in all it was a wonderful night for all 10 attendees and we look forward to coming back very soon. Thank you for making it an awesome birthday celebration for us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great service Food was excellent Even brought us a complimentary anniversary desserts and champagne
Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had our anniversary dinner here this year. We were lucky to be able to order off the Houston Restaurant Weeks menu. It's a great bargain. Our steaks were cooked perfectly and all of the food was enjoyable. We asked for a booth which made it a little quieter as the restaurant was very busy and a bit loud. To celebrate our anniversary they brought us a tasting plate desert. Wow! We enjoy wine and found the "generous pour" with 7 wine tastings to be great. Our waiter, Yoshio, couldn't have been better. Thank you so much for a lovely evening. We are returning again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Vlad was a very good and attentive server. We do not drink and so often are treated less favorably by servers because of this fact. We didn't sense this in any way. The staff was friendly in general and the food was very good!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The service was fantastic and we went during Restaurant Week. They were very professional!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent service by Alyssa. Great food. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

everything is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The server, Alyssa Keller, made the event! The Mac and cheese with lobster was the best!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

(Waiter) Christopher was outstanding during our birthday lunch! His recommendations were spot on and the food was fabulous. The complimentary valet parking is always another great reason to select Capital Grille

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Lack of attention to detail created a mess from start...service fair but food a HUGE disappointment... too many people tried to make it better but at the end of the night, spending a dime was too much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food and service were fantastic. I highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We were treated so great received exceptional service from Ethan our server. The food was amazing! Can't wait to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We visited the capital grill during restaurant weeks and lived it. The food and service were both excellent. We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.