Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room; or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with full complementary of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

840 W Sam Houston Parkway N
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
City Centre Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 463-5051

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Meyer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Mother's Day for an exceptional prix fixe brunch and endless mimosas. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as our Pan-Seared Salmon with Citrus Crab Salad.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Business Meals (20)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Family Style (2)
Casual (2)
People Watching (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was extraordinary as usual, the food was magnificent, and the personalized attention was just icing on the cake. I highly recommend Capital Grill at City Centre for any occasion.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

5 stars as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We go to Capital Grille on birthdays and this is the first time that we've gone for Easter Brunch. The food was great, as usual, however the service was slow. We were there almost 2 hours. We will still continue to go for birthdays but won't return for brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful staff . We there to celebrate and my friend's promotion we told them that at the door and they surprised us both with treats throughout the evening. Wonderful place and I could not stop bragging about it .

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were very happy with our recent dinner at Capital Grille City Centre. When the location first opened we had some uneven service and food, but our last two visits have been perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Perfect. Great time. We really enjoy this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great experience. Service was truly excellent. They made my wife feel great on her 50th birthday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food and sevice were very good. Wish the price of the wines are more reasonable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great service and food quality at Capitol. Best for a special occasion or business gathering .

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A very nice evening with friends, waiter stellar and knowledgeable about menu items including the chef's specials. Nice cocktail menu. The shrimp crustin was soggy and didn't particularly care for it. Fresh fish excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Could not have been a better experience. Our server, Mark Anthony was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything on the menu was delicious and the service was phenomenal. The lighting was a little darker than what I would like. Overall it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food. Service and attention to birthday guests - superb! Will return for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love going here , unfortunately this time service was out of sync and waiter disappeared often.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, knowledgeable service, excellent food. A must repeat.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our waiter Christopher was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always a great experience. Staff pays attention to detail and very accommodating. Very pleasant atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything was wonderful, except when the waitress determined that we weren't going to be a big spending table, eye contact ceased, and she started moving really fast. I actually wanted to order some more items, but she wouldn't even look at me. She got us out of there as fast as she could. Ruthless!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful staff and superb food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Been to the Capital Grill at City Center many times. Consistent great food. Mr. Fannin the General Manager runs an outstanding establishment. His servers are very, very good. I have used this location for business and family meals and celebrations. The lunch menu, especially the salmon is outstanding. Thank you Capital Grill.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This is the 2nd time my friend and I have celebrated our birthdays at Capital Grill. They do a spectacular job in making it special with an individualized card, sparklies on the table, special champagne and dessert. Best place in town for a special occasion and the food is always the best! No one does steaks better and our waiter was awesome.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I called the restaurant that my lunch reservation was for my son's birthday. We were very surprised to see our table was decorated for his birthday. He also received a birthday card from the restaurant. We also got a complimentary desert! Our server was great and took awesome photos! The manager came and greeted us. Love the food, ambience and excellent service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Fun, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

food was just ok, waiter very inexperienced and it showed. difficult to understand. valet parking a problem as was parking in general. wait staff seemed understaffed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

As always the food and service were impeccable. I usually have a steak, but feeling the need for something lighter, I opted for the heavenly lobster bisque and a chicken Caesar salad - both were excellent!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great ambiance , service & food. However, it was a little too noisy for a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. The ambience, food, and hospitality made it a memorable night for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great service, food, and ambiance! Our server, Chris, was excellent. Everyone from the hostess to the dining room manger were spot on!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

One of favorite restaurants in Houston and we eat out a lot.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Always when I have taken clients to CG, we have been overwhelmed by the service staff, that is not bad, opposed to my last visit, that we could not find a staff person, it was bad service. I will probably give them one more chance

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We had delightful waitress, Hannah, and our steaks were very, very good. The glazed Brussels sprouts are to die for - never thought I would say that.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The atmosphere was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's Day date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Second visit here in 3 months. Both times Capital Grille has wowed us. The service and food were once again spot on. I had a bone in porcini rubbed ribeye with a balsamic reduction. I cook a great steak myself, so I am picky about eating steaks out but this one was wonderful. Cooked perfectly to order.
Manager came by, as in past, to make sure our experience was wonderful and it was. Will save up and be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Been here a number of times and never fails to disappoint in service & food. Always a place that makes you feel welcome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The Bar waitstaff was perfect amount of attentive. Food absolutely amazing !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Parking was great, location was fantastic, everyone that was at our table did a great job our main waiter Tony was outstanding.....

Thank you

MikeL

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Perfect location for casual and business dining; great service and excellent food. Good menu selection with reasonable lunch prices (e.g. salads). Good wine selection. Eye pleasing ambiance. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This was my first visit to Capital Grille, and I will definitely be back. The lunch plates were excellent; I had the shrimp and my guest had salmon. Loved our server, Gabby. And, I don't know the name of the bartender, but he makes a great lemon drop martini!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food is amazing! The drinks were even better. The prices were pretty fair. The server was great just a little slow at times. Overall it is a wonderful place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was a great place. The attention to detail is amazing. We were celebrating a birthday and they had birthday confetti on the table along with a hand written birthday note. After a very tasty meal they brought out a bottle of champagne for a birthday toast along with a dessert for the birthday person. Our waiter was awesome he explained the menu and drinks. The dry aged NY Strip was delicious and the Sam's mashed potatoes are to die for. The chef even personally signs a note on every togo bag. We will definitely be back and recommend to people.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.