Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room; or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with full complementary of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

840 W Sam Houston Parkway N
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
City Centre Way

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 463-5051

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Meyer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 32 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Houston - CityCentre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Birthdays (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (22)
Business Meals (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Authentic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
602 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for our anniversary during the Houston Restaurant Weeks event. The food was great - my wife and I had the NY Strip Steak and our daughter had the salmon. Totally enjoyed the food. But what really made it an excellent evening and dinner was our waiter - Rodrigo Mosquella. Rodrigo was very knowledge about the food and wine and was very pleasant. It is people like him that makes for a good dinner or restaurant experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Our server Richard was great. The food was wonderful as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We dined at The Capital Grille for Houston Restaurant Weeks, with a 5:30 reservation on a Saturday. We had previewed the menu and knew what we wanted, but we were pleasantly surprised by the Generous Pour that was available for $28 per person. We both took advantage of that, and our server Richard was on top of it all night long. My husband's strip steak was cooked to perfection, and my salmon was frankly the best I'd ever had. Cheesecake and Crème Brulee topped off the meal. My only complaint would be that - maybe - the green beans were a little too crunchy. My husband doesn't like them that way, but I do.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Everyone greeted me; I felt welcomed and like they were glad to have my business. The wine was very good and reasonable. Shrimp Bisque was excellent. Great selection of breads. All of our food was very good and well prepared. It was easy to carry on a conversation at our table. Zach was an outstanding waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is always good and Service is wonderful. One of my favorite restaurants...especially this location. The owner does a great job paying special attention to every detail.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

My friend and I had a delightful lunch. The ambience is very nice, the service is terrific, the wait staff is friendly and the food was well prepared and very tasty. I will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday this party weekend at Capital Grill and could not have had a better time! Our server Mark was superior and attentive in every way! The manager Gabriella was amazingly accommodating when 2 unexpected guests arrived. Without any hesitation she offered to reset the table (even though we told her we could squeeze them in) so we could be comfortable. She was very gracious about it and it was all reset within minutes. Mark was exceptional and the food was perfect! All in all it was a wonderful night for all 10 attendees and we look forward to coming back very soon. Thank you for making it an awesome birthday celebration for us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great service Food was excellent Even brought us a complimentary anniversary desserts and champagne
Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had our anniversary dinner here this year. We were lucky to be able to order off the Houston Restaurant Weeks menu. It's a great bargain. Our steaks were cooked perfectly and all of the food was enjoyable. We asked for a booth which made it a little quieter as the restaurant was very busy and a bit loud. To celebrate our anniversary they brought us a tasting plate desert. Wow! We enjoy wine and found the "generous pour" with 7 wine tastings to be great. Our waiter, Yoshio, couldn't have been better. Thank you so much for a lovely evening. We are returning again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Vlad was a very good and attentive server. We do not drink and so often are treated less favorably by servers because of this fact. We didn't sense this in any way. The staff was friendly in general and the food was very good!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The service was fantastic and we went during Restaurant Week. They were very professional!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent service by Alyssa. Great food. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

everything is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The server, Alyssa Keller, made the event! The Mac and cheese with lobster was the best!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

(Waiter) Christopher was outstanding during our birthday lunch! His recommendations were spot on and the food was fabulous. The complimentary valet parking is always another great reason to select Capital Grille

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Lack of attention to detail created a mess from start...service fair but food a HUGE disappointment... too many people tried to make it better but at the end of the night, spending a dime was too much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food and service were fantastic. I highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We were treated so great received exceptional service from Ethan our server. The food was amazing! Can't wait to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We visited the capital grill during restaurant weeks and lived it. The food and service were both excellent. We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food quality excellent with great service to match.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Enjoyed the Restaurant Weeks menu. Great waiter and overall service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a great evening! You can't beat the combo of Houston Restaurant Weeks and the Generous pour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Dinner as well as service were outstanding, restaurants was very loud not exactly where I'd go for a date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Always enjoy oureading meal here and the service from the minute we walked in the door was outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great night as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Great place to grab a steak and do some business! We loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was perfect. Very knowledgeable waiter that was helpful but not intuitive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I met a friend for lunch and our food selections were outstanding! I enjoyed lobster bisque and the lobster salad. My guest enjoyed the watermelon salad and the shrimp with noodles and ginger broth. The complimentary valet parking seals the deal for me!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We love this place for steaks in Houston. If you sit in one of the smaller rooms on the right when you enter, the noise level is low. The service is always wonderful and the steaks are great. Right now they are doing their Generous Pour which is a great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fab meal + Generous pour made it perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I had veal tomahawk it was good. The varieties of the bread & taste good. We enjoyed our dinner,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed another spectacular Anniversary celebration at Capital Grill. Service and food are always impeccable. It is too expensive for us to enjoy on any type of regular basis, but we frequently go for special occasions. On this occasions, my wife's ribeye was a perfect rare and my strip was sublimely tender. If looking (and I do mean looking) for something not exactly perfect, we would have enjoyed a more creative/better sauce to accompany our lobster & crab cakes. They were wonderful in an of themselves, and don't miss the corn on butter lettuce that is served with them, but the sauce was a pretty pedestrian - essentially plain white tarter sauce. Again, an exceedingly minor comment, but if looking ......

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our experience was excellent! The service was the best and our server Yoshio was extremely friendly and attentive. The food was also amazing. The stakes were perfectly tender and juicy and cooked to perfection. We had a great time and we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our server on Weds June 21 2017 was awesome. He is a keeper!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My husband and I dined here for my birthday dinner. I requested a quite booth. We were seated at a booth by the kitchen. There was a birthday card and "birthday" sprinkles on the table. About five minutes later the hostess came to our table and said she noticed I had requested a quite table and offered to move us to another table. We accepted. She was very sweet and accomodating the entire evening. She even moved the bday sprinkles to our new table. Our waiter was amazing (Ethan). The Stolidoli was a delicious martini! Ethan helped us pick out a great wine! Our food was delicious! Filet Oscar and mashed potatoes with ice cream for dessert. The entree was cooked perfectly! The ice cream was delicious and inventive!! A perfect evening for a special day! Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

All in all, an enjoyable experience. Staff was very accommodating and food was very good. Big portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food, atmosphere, and service. Our waiter, Christopher, was fantastic.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Princess who waited on us, provided amazing service and made the evening enjoyable. She is very professional, attentive and went out of her way to ensure that we had a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent! The best steak ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great service and very attentive staff without being overwhelming or annoying. Knowledgeable on wine and friendly when someone ordered something that was not to their standards/liking.
Would recommend to friends, date nights, business meetings.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.