About The Capital Grille - Fort Worth

800 Main Street
Fort Worth, TX 76102
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00; Sunday: 4:00pm – 9:00pm

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 348-9200

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet, garage and street parking are available.
Valet parking is $5 per vehicle.

Executive Chef:
Derek Venutolo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Seafood Tower
Chilean Sea Bass With Mushroom Soy Broth
Coconut Cream Pie
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 15-Year Aged Balsamic
Asparagus Soup
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Creme brulee, triple chocolate, double baked cheesecake dessert trio
Salmon
Cheesecake
Lobster And Crab Cake
Lamb Chops
Wagyu Burger
Maine Lobster Roll
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Stoli Doli

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Fort Worth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Overall
Fort Worth
Best Food
Fort Worth
4 More
Best Service
Fort Worth
Best Ambiance
Fort Worth
Best Value
Fort Worth
Most Booked
Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Fort Worth Downtown ›

Special Occasion (93)
Romantic (66)
Notable Wine List (60)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Business Meals (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Cozy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Private Room (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Historic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

salad was wonderful, as was the squash s ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

salad was wonderful, as was the squash soup..oysters a bit heavy on the salt....steak and lamb chops delicious..but also a bit salty....pineapple sorbet delicious as was vanilla ice cream...service totally wonderful!...and it was nice to chat with Chef Derek.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrated a birthday, second time to vi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Celebrated a birthday, second time to visit, Better than we remember! We did have a reservation and had to wait about 30 minutes, which was unfortunate. We rave about the lobster Mac and cheese to friends and family; the steaks are always cooked to perfection, and the whole staff makes you feel welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent service and food. Staff was ve ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent service and food. Staff was very helpful and friendly and the food was prepared exactly as we asked.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Casual, Scenic View, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All of it was just spectacular. Well don ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

All of it was just spectacular. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for my daughter's birthday. I le ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We went for my daughter's birthday. I let them know in advance and they delivered a truly outstanding experience. Glitter on the table, photo of the three of us, 2 rounds of champagne, and a special desert. The hostesses wished her a happy birthday, the restaurant manager came over and wished her a happy birthday, and our waiter was effusive. A great experience.

And the food was outstanding as well.

Highly recommended for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the butternut squash soup was wonderful. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

the butternut squash soup was wonderful....the flet was unbelievably tender.....and Rob's service was outstanding as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I set up a very special late lunch with ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I set up a very special late lunch with them last week where our son proposed to his long-time girlfriend. The Capital Grille wrote "WILL YOU MARRY ME?" in thick chocolate on a platter with dessert. It was magnificent and beyond the call of duty. Of course the food, atmosphere, and service were terrific as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great downtown location for a business l ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great downtown location for a business luncheon, excellent service and great meal.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pacing was perfect. A little bonus ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The pacing was perfect. A little bonus offering of an appetizer from the kitchen was a nice touch. Our waiter, Robert was very attentive.

Overall ....flawless

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and great service. Loved see ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great meal and great service. Loved seeing my friend Bob as one of your managers,

I had known him well from Kona Grill and Capital Grill is a good fit for him. Our waiter

was excellent and very attentive. My steak was super - as well as my wife's steak.

My wife was very impressed as this is the first time she had been there and wanted to

know immediately, when we could come back. Very enjoyable evening over all celebrating

a birthday.

Gerry Goodman / owner - European Motor Cars, Ltd

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite steak and seafood dining op ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our favorite steak and seafood dining option! The bone-in filet is a hit every time it is on the menu. The lobster, shrimp, mussels, in broth is absolutely fantastic!! Rob, our server, always puts us into the perfect wine to complement dinner, and always gets it right.

There really isn't a bad dish on the menu. Everything is great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was very good. Wife really enjoye ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Dinner was very good. Wife really enjoyed the Generous Pour promotion. Our server, Danny was outstanding, very friendly and helpful

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Clam Chowder was good as anything I've h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Clam Chowder was good as anything I've had in Boston, my home town. Loved the food here, service was fabulous!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time as always. Enjoy ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a wonderful time as always. Enjoy spending out anniversary there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for restaurant week and were del ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We went for restaurant week and were delightfully surprised at the wonderful 3 course meal. The appetizer course salad was great. The beef was incredibly tender and flavorful, as well as perfectly cooked. The potatoes was were wonderfully smooth and delicious. The green beans were a little underdone even though I like crisp vegetables. The chocolate flourless cake was to die for! Overall, a wonderful evening. Our waiter seemed very distracted due to the volume of diners, but the attention of the others staff who assisted was wonderful and the food was served in a very reasonable time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for restaurant week and were NO ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We went for restaurant week and were NOT impressed.

Steak was not anything special ,

salmon was somewhat fishy , wedge salad was nothing special , clam chowder was fair not much flavor. The dessert was fine but nothing you cant get elsewhere.

The waiter removed my meal before I was finished with it- my husband was finished so I guess he assumed I was too. He asked if I wanted a to go box and when I said no he took my plate!

I should have said something but did not - my fault.

Sorry to say we wont go back- we really wanted to like the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Very good meal. They go out of their way ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very good meal. They go out of their way to accommodate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will was great! It was our first time he ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Will was great! It was our first time here and he walked us through the menu. He suggested the restaurant week menu that only happens once a year. We would not have known about it without his suggestion, great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated very promptly and service ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We were seated very promptly and service was great. My steak was very tasty and tender. My only issue was that we were seated by the 3/4 wall to the kitchen and there was some noise associated with that but also I was facing where the wait staff goes in and out of the kitchen and I found the traffic extremely distracting. I'll ask to be away from that area next time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Impeccable service.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was a find for us. The s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This restaurant was a find for us. The steaks were exceptionally well seasoned and cooked to perfection. We were well attended, but never rushed. A delightful evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a Restaurant Week lunch, and it ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

This was a Restaurant Week lunch, and it was superb. They obviously did not care that we came in at a bargain price - they intended and did take great care of us. I upgraded to the lobster bisque, and it was delicious, with pieces of meat, something which we had not previously experienced with lobster bisque. My wife felt that the filet mignon steak salad had best ever steak on it; my salmon was great. The creme brulee was garnished (?) with a strawberry, a blueberry, a blackberry, and a raspberry. Great creme brulee with garnishes like we had never seen before. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and we received a card signed by all plus there were small hearts sprinkled on the table. Could not have been a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A larger group was seated next to us abo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

A larger group was seated next to us about 10 minutes after we were seated. The group received their food before we did. The service was slow. The noodles in the lobster mac were not tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We did restaurant week and the food was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We did restaurant week and the food was great. There regular menu was really impressive. I will be back for the regular menu. Again the food and service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Absolutely amazing service, and with a s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Absolutely amazing service, and with a smile. Danny was able to give us amazing recommendations for our meal, pair a great wine and give us some fun Fort Worth facts. Kaye makes sure that customers are treated exceptionally, and treated like family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Generous Pour, also took advant ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Love the Generous Pour, also took advantage of the Restaurant Week special menu for an all around great dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Capital Grill is always good but really ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Capital Grill is always good but really expensive so can't go here more than a couple times a year. Great service & great food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Wonderful service. The gene ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food. Wonderful service. The generous pour was great with the meal.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Espresso flourless chocolate cake is a m ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Espresso flourless chocolate cake is a must have. Filet medallion salad was excellent. Steak cook perfectly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Typical steakhouse ambience. Our waiter ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Typical steakhouse ambience. Our waiter seemed disinterested. The steak was average. The sides included undercooked green beans and runny mashed potatoes. The prices are similar to the Del Friscos on the same block, but the quality is much lower.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was very good. Two steaks had to be sent back but I don't hold this against the chef, the diners had ordered medium well. Which is a travesty when purchasing steaks of that quality and price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of my favorite restaurants! First t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants! First time at the Ft. Worth location, and it was as special as the one in Plano. Food and service consistently outstanding! Great suggestions from our wait person, as well! We will be back, hopefully soon....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had filets and they were amazingly te ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had filets and they were amazingly tender. The shrimp were tasty. The mashed potatoes were the best I have ever eaten and I never order mashed potatoes. Our waitress gave excellent service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fabulous - food, service, ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was fabulous - food, service, and atmosphere. Would definitely recommend and hope to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We checked out the FW Capital Grille as ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We checked out the FW Capital Grille as part of Restaurant Week 2016. The service was top notch. Everyone made us feel like they really cared about our satisfaction. After a medium-well ordered steak came out undercooked, the server, floor manager and restaurant manager came by to ensure that the problem was resolved to our satisfaction. It was. We were celebrating an anniversary as well and were given a rose and our photo taken. Little table decorations were waiting when we were shown our table. As the restaurant filled, the noise level did not raise to unsatisfactory levels. The creme brulee' dessert was excellent. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Robert's service was extraordinary, as u ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Robert's service was extraordinary, as usual. His timing is impeccable. He is one of the rare waiters who can provide excellent service while recognizing when his presence would be intrusive. The meal was excellent, the ambiance relaxing, and the service wonderful.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met my husband for lunch date as he has ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Met my husband for lunch date as he has never been to Capital Grille in Fort Worth. It was DFW Restaurant Week, so extra value lunch. He loved the atmosphere, the food and service. I am sure we will be going back again soon. Our service provider even had the Chef switch out a dessert for us that was not on the "set menu" for the DFW Restaurant Week meal. Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. The food is always top notch. Since the restaurant is located right across the corner from our office, it is one of the "treat" places to go for special occasions. The lunch menu has reasonable pricing for an occasional reward.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noisy. Hard to hear my friends!! Wait st ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Noisy. Hard to hear my friends!! Wait staff was attentive enough, but not particularly charming. Just business.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always love the food and service, so gla ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always love the food and service, so glad we have our favorite "Downtown" spot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

AS always great food, waitstaff and atmo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

AS always great food, waitstaff and atmosphere. Have been here many times. The first visit

was at the one in DC. Never been unsatisfied. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.