About The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown

500 Crescent Court, Suite 135
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the Crescent Shops and Galleries.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

Cross Street:
On Maple between Cedar Springs & McKinney

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 303-0500

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
We have complementary valet available at our front door. There is also self-parking available, which is validated for up to three hours.

Executive Chef:
Mathew Ingersoll

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Coconut Cream Pie
10 Oz Lobster Tail
Cheesecake
Lobster Mac 'N' Cheese
Chocolate Truffle Cake
Lobster & Beef Tenderloin Surf & Turf
Lobster
lobster roll
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Scotch Tasting
truffle fries with parmesan
Spinach
Prosciutto Wrapped Mozzarella With Vine Ripe Tomatoes
Wagyu Cheeseburger
Roasted Seasonal Mushrooms
Creme Brulee
Oscar Styled Filet Mignon
mushrooms
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Wedge Salad
Sliced Filet With Wild Mushrooms And Onions
Chocolate Hazelnut Cake
Steack Porcinni
Grande Plateau
Oysters on the Half Shell
Alaskan King Crab Legs
Bone-In Kona Crusted Sirloin With Shallot Butter
Dry Aged Sirloin
Smoked salmon appetizer
Alaskan King Salmon With Cumber Slaw
Strawberries Capital Grille
Roasted Butternut Squash With Cranberry Pear Chutney
Dry Aged Steak Au Poivre With A Courvoisier Cream Sauce
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Seabass
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Filet Oscar
Delmonico Steak
Stoli Doli
Tomato And Mozzarella Salad
Maine Lobster Roll
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Lobster Pot Pie
Chocolate Espresso Cake
Miniature Lobster And Crab Cakes
Steak, Lobster Tails, Potatoes, And Creamed Spinach
Pumpernickel Bread With Golden Raisins & Bread Basket
Stoli Doli & Tito's Martini
Tenderloin With Mushrooms And Cippolini
Alaskan King Salmon Bacon Brussels Sprouts & Carrots Coulis
 Seared Citrus Glazed Salmon

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 46 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Dallas - Fort Worth
Steakhouse
Dallas
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (65)
notable wine list (38)
romantic (37)
See All
fit for foodies (29)
good for groups (24)
great for lunch (19)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My long time girlfriend and I are retire ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

My long time girlfriend and I are retired and we eat out a lot. We have been eating at Capital Grille for longer than I can remember. We have about 4 places we think of as special and Capital Grille in on that short list. We eat there once or twice a month. Most notable these days is the lack of a dress code. I asked and they do not have one. Hard to think of a place being special when the folks sitting at the next table are in shorts and tennis shoes. We just do our own thing and always dress up for our 4 special places. On our last visit I was asked by Capital Grille to make comments about my experience. This time the service was lacking and more like you would expect in a casual restaurant. When drinking a $22 glass of wine ($29 a bottle at the store), you drink the glass dry. While the wine glass had no more than a half sip left, the waiter did not ask if my date was through and made it disappear in a nano second, when we declined another glass of wine. Our last few trips have shown a direction of service headed for 3 stars. One other thing is the lighting. It is a steak house and we like the ambiance a little darker. The bar is perfect, but the dining room is too bright to be considered a romantic experience. Eddie V is a good example of romantic lighting. We discussed it and will continue to eat at the Capital Grille, but not as often. We would give up a little on the food for the ambiance and service on our special dining nights. I have witnessed a move to a more casual attitude and believe that is just times a changin. You do not see shorts or shirts untucked at Cafe Pacific, which we consider to have a romantic cozy atmosphere and a place for special occasions. I will say the greetings at the arrival desk is great. They act like you are family and have been waiting to see you. As we prepared to leave, a lady walked by dressed very well, behind her was a guy in jeans, untucked shirt and tennis shoes. I do not get it. Great bar and where we will eat now.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Dentin was our server and did a fabulous ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

Dentin was our server and did a fabulous job anticipating everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good and fast service, waiters very cour ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good and fast service, waiters very courteous and effective, food excellent! Not so noisy so we could have a nice talk while dining.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had the chicken for dinner, we all ord ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the chicken for dinner, we all ordered the shared sides, the mac & cheese, mashed potatoes, asparagus, Brussels sprouts....everything was great! Even the shot that the shot that the waiter brought to us!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining. Really like the Generous ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great dining. Really like the Generous Pour promotion!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Capital Grille Uptown Dallas never disap ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Capital Grille Uptown Dallas never disappoints. Denton, our wonderful server, was flawless. The hostess and bar staff were amazing. The food was perfection and the wine Generous Pour event was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was horrible, had a special n ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our server was horrible, had a special night planned (proposal planned) but his shitty attitude towards us ruined it.. BTW, I worked in restaurants for 8 years and I normally do not vent, but he was not cool....

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The food was very good, the service was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was very good, the service was excellent. I would say the only reason I would not recommend it is simply it is overpriced. I have visited several very nice places in Dallas that has equal to and even better food and service at a more acceptable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Typically eat lunch at Capital Grille an ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Typically eat lunch at Capital Grille and have never been disappointed. The times I have eaten dinner was always a treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food/ Wonderful service. Worth ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Amazing food/ Wonderful service. Worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live adjacent to the Crescent and fre ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We live adjacent to the Crescent and frequent the Capital Grille. We typically eat in the bar area as it is usually a great spot to land and relax. This visit was marred by a patron and her two young daughters sitting at a table and using the speaker on her cell phone for conducting a personal phone call. Completely rude and obviously setting a bad example for her children. Of course, the two daughters had their faces buried in their iPhones as well. Go figure. Chris, the bartender, was very courteous and apologetic. As usual the food and service were stellar.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived early so that we could make a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We arrived early so that we could make a 7:30 live performance and alerted our waiter.

He helped us coordinate ordering times and delivery times, so that we were on-time and

not rushed. And the steaks were memorable.... the coffee rubbed, bone-in ribeye was

the best I've witnessed in a long time. My wife was having a birthday, so we received

a surprise dessert as well. All in all, a great early evening.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff and management were as usual e ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The staff and management were as usual excellent, polite and helpful.

Unfortunately the food was not up to par. My husband steak was not cooked as ordered and it didn't have a good flavor and his potatoes were way off. My lamb was excellent and cooked to perfection but my wedge salad was a little skimpy. The other couple had tuna and it didn't taste fishy but had a strange flavor. Overall the food was not up to Capital Grille's reputation and not nearly as good as what we have enjoyed in other parts of the country or even as good as the Capital Grille in Frisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We were expecting a restaurant up to par ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We were expecting a restaurant up to par with Del Frisco's or Ruth Chris. The Capital Grill just didn't measure up, in our opinion. Others may disagree. But for us it was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Excellent dinner experience. We met an o ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent dinner experience. We met an old friend for dinner and had lots of catching up to do. Wait staff did not rush us....had an enjoyable evening of great conversation and delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, nice place but service is not ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good food, nice place but service is not good for such an expensive upscale place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Good food but not as good as other steak ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Good food but not as good as other steak restaurants that I have been at. Excellent service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Continues to be the best filet in Dallas ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Continues to be the best filet in Dallas. Services was exceptional. Really wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I am always a fan of Capital Grille, whe ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I am always a fan of Capital Grille, where the service and food are consistently top notch. A business lunch here is always a delight, but asking for a quiet table will make the meal more memorable. The burger with black truffle and gorgonzola was awesome. The tomato salad is simply and elegant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding as usual. Unli ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was outstanding as usual. Unlike our previous experiences we had a very poor waiter. We essentially had to pour our own wine and he was a little sullen. However, that has never happened at the Capital Grille before so we will be returning.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Celebrated our wedding anniversary. Eve ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Celebrated our wedding anniversary. Everyone was so welcoming! Service as always was very warm and professional. We appreciate that there is no problem with allowing us to split courses. This is one of our favorite places to celebrate occasions in Dallas, even if the occasion is let's just go out and have a nice dinner. Our thanks to Scott, Steve and Matt, as well as all of the others for making this a memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted an elegant restaurant to celeb ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We wanted an elegant restaurant to celebrate a special anniversary, and The Capital Grill was the perfect choice. The server was personable but not intrusive, and the food was delicious. The manager stopped by and was able to share insights into the wine we had selected to match our steaks. This is our go-to for fine dining.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

STEAK IS MY FAVORITE AND I FIND CAPITAL ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

STEAK IS MY FAVORITE AND I FIND CAPITAL GRILLES TO BE THE BEST FOR HIGH END EATING

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our office group eats their fairly frequ ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our office group eats their fairly frequently. We usually like the bar rather than the dining room and always like Leah in the bar and Steve in the dining room.

We've been eating there for 20 years or more I believe.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food! Very pleased with the serv ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Awesome food! Very pleased with the service as well. Our waitress was very patient and helped us out tremendously...

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance was fantastic. Food was as goo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Ambiance was fantastic. Food was as good as it gets and the service was spectacular. Steve was our waiter, he was extremely knowledgable and attentive. I would recommend the Capital Grille to anyone for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at the Capital Gr ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This was my first time at the Capital Grille and everything was stellar. I was attending with group from work and the food, along with service, was more than I imagined. Hope to come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal. Probably my 12th ti ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a great meal. Probably my 12th time to visit, and souch a great spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience at Capital Gri ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Always a great experience at Capital Grille! Waiter very attentive, food was fabulous and a nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Steven, was intuitively atte ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Our waiter, Steven, was intuitively attentive. The meal was flawless. All a bit above expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, an outstanding dining experien ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

As usual, an outstanding dining experience. Great for celebrating our anniversary!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere was great and our server was ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Atmosphere was great and our server was fantastic in knowing when to ask if we needed anything additional. Great experience and this is why I choose Capital Grille.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We trust The Capital Grille

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

If you want a truly fork-tender, well-seasoned, excellent quality piece of beef, The Capital Grille never disappoints. We only make it to Dallas a couple of times each year but, when we do, we try to fit it into our schedule. When you visit infrequently, it's important that each meal be consistent, and that's what we find here.

We're not drinkers, so I can't speak about the quality of the bar or wine cellar. But we've never been unhappy with anything we've tried here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an amazing Mother's Day brunch! Vile ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had an amazing Mother's Day brunch! Vilena went way out of her way to make sure we enjoyed it, everything was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very slow service

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day. Yes, it's going to be busy, but Capital Grille should have had appropriate number of wait staff. Our waiter was MIA several times. Our group went through 3 baskets of break, and two round of drinks before appetizer were put down. When we ordered cocktails it took forever to receive. We arrived at 12:15P for our reservation and had to wait. Once seated we did not walk out until after 2P. Way too long.

The acoustics in the restaurant are horrible. It made it very difficult to hold a conversation with the person sitting next to you.

The food was superb. Steaks cooked perfectly, lobster tender and sweet.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Very special Mother's Day

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very special Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always!!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Capital Grille

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The ambiance was great. My waitress Catherine was awesome, she made our experience great. The food on the other hand was basic. I would give Capital Grille another chance during lunch.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very Nice

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Enjoyed the Capital Grill in Uptown Dallas, Great Location with Great Steaks and Great Service, my Strip was coked just right and very tender, nice tomato, basil, fresh mozzarella salad, the potato dishes and desserts were equally as good, we shall return on our next visit to Dallas, Scott Dibble was a fantastic Host and made us feel at home, Thanks Scott.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.