Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

500 Crescent Court, Suite 135
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

Cross Street:
On Maple between Cedar Springs & McKinney

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 303-0500

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
We have complementary valet available at our front door. There is also self-parking available, which is validated for up to three hours.

Executive Chef:
Mathew Ingersoll

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 46 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Business Meals (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Romantic (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Bar Seating (15)
Cozy (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
People Watching (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Private Room (5)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Historic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

It was great!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

mediocre steakhouse chain. Boring and steaks are average. Menus and decor badly in nees of an overhaul..Long overdue!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Capital Grille is one our all time favorites. We love the porcini rubbed bone-in ribeye, lobster mac and cheese , and sautéed spinach. Denton provided superior service and our steak was delivered personally by the executive chef! When he found out that it was my birthday he prepared a celebratory dessert platter with coconut cream pie and espresso cake! Probably my best meal experience ever!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a great experience for Mothers Day. Our server Catherine was absolutely amazing. Let's be real. You can get a good steak anywhere in Dallas. It's the service that makes the difference. With Catherine that's what we got. We will be back because of her outstanding and genuine service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had reservations on Mother's Day and the CG was packed. We were sat at our table 20 minutes after our scheduled reservation, but we didn't really noticed. Free mimosas for Moms helped pass the time.

Despite being overwhelmingly busy we were treated to exceptional service and the food was exactly as ordered.

Top notch.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's day

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mothers Day brunch, one of the 2 days they do brunch a year. Unbelievably great! The place was packed but the service was outstanding. Definitely will do it again next year.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Another great meal at the Capital Grille. The food and service was outstanding. I've eaten at Capital Grilles across the country and the experience is consistantly outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 10, 2017

CG is always excellent regardless of city. Dallas was no acception. Food was excellent as was the service. Best lamb chops anywhere.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Good food; excellent lobster bisque and delicious lobster salad. Very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We went for a little lunch splurge on a Monday and it was a lovely treat. I had a special which was a salad topped w/ filet. My filet was cooked exactly the way I ordered it and the size of the salad was perfect for lunch. My friend had the Maine lobster roll w/ truffle fries and it looked as amazing as my friend said it was. Of course we couldn't pass up the bread and butter and I'm so glad we didn't because the bread was really hot and fresh and you don't find that very often at restaurants. I can't wait until our next lunch splurge!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Capital grille exceeded all expectations and made my best friend's birthday unforgettable. Thank you so much for the service, wonderful meals and the memories!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Outstanding steaks, sides, appetizers, desserts, and drinks. Great atmosphere! Always a great experience at the Capital Grille!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Outstanding service and experience to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Denton was superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The service was great, the got our table ready with a flower and "Happy Anniversary" card. Food was great also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food and ambiance was good. Waiter was pleasant but not attentive. Was celebrating 29th wedding anniversary and didn't turn out to be as special as expected. Waiter also added another tables' food item to our check.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It's a slam dunk. Best of the best. Had South African Lobster paired with my filet. Stupid good. And the service was noticeably better than any place to memory. Totally legit and worth the money!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very nice and enjoyable dinner of my daughter's birthday.
Food was good, not exceptional.
A bit overpriced, in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great ambiance, service, and food! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was amazing as always! The tenderloin and lobster is amazing!!! I have no idea what kind of sauce it was but it's heavenly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Appetizers, entrees and desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I've been to Capital Grille many times. This time I sat in the bar at a booth for 5. Ordered the Capital Cobb as usual. The meat was a poor piece of meat. Trying to tell the server was next to impossible. When I finally was able to (when he brought the check) his response was simply to say, I will tell the chef. No offer to replace the uneaten portion on my plate so I could actually eat my lunch. So, I went back to the office and had an early snack.

Still a good place but never sit in the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had an amazing Easter brunch experience. The menu options were limitless. The only negative was the screaming children at the next table which is not the fault of the restaurant. The overall noise level if the dining was quite high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went there for Easter Brunch, and were pleasantly surprised by the Prix Fix menu, the prices were all inclusive, and what great service! This is our go-to place for special occasions, and have never had a bad time. Keep up the great work!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always enjoy Capital Grille. Staff is friendly (glad to see the bartender returned) with just the right amount of service. We eat here no less than once a month. Nice ambiance and the booths give a nice cozy feeling. Steak is always cooked to perfection. Unity is an excellent by the glass choice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our second visit to a Capital Grill and the Austin location had set the bar very high. This evening was a "get together" with our children to celebrate my husband's birthday and we were relaxed and happy to be together. Our waiter approached the table, did not introduce himself, and instead swings his head around to try to get his hair out of his eyes. This becomes a common, distracting practice throughout the entire evening. We order drinks and appetizers and when he brings them he places them incorrectly in front of my daughter and my son. Next we order salads, and when the waiter brings them, again incorrectly places my son and daughters before them. We order our steaks and the steaks for my son and daughter are a little too rare so them opt to take them home. At each stage of interaction with our waiter he is distracted and disengaged. We had ordered a bottle of wine so we did not ask him for anything further at this time. When the entree plates had been removed the waiter returned with the dessert menus and inquired if anyone would like coffee? No one at the table wanted coffee but my daughter said she might like an after dinner liqueur. The waiter totally ignored her and walked away. When he came back for the dessert order he again began to walk away when I called him back to check with my daughter on her after dinner beverage. He started to walk away without asking anyone else! I asked my son quickly and he placed an order but before I could ask my husband the waiter was gone! It was as if the waiter could not wait to turn the table! The total of our check was almost $600 so what was his hurry?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Nathan and the staff was great. Food was Awesome and it was a great anniversary!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent service by Steven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Always love the food at Capital Grille. Service is usually stellar, but yesterday our server never refilled our drinks, came by the table 3 times in five minutes asking if we were ready to order, took my plate with food still on it (and clearly I wasn't finished as my fork was still in my hand!) and then disappeared when I tried to pay the check. The hostess had to run my card. Felt more like lunch at Chili's than Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Seared Tenderloin with Lobster Tail is a must have if you plan on dining at this establishment. Can't remember better service anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Had a wonder meal only enhanced by very friendly and informative waitstaff! Will definitely be back for the Brussels sprouts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Loved the food and the restaurant , everyone really enjoyed their entree and the setting

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 3, 2017

It was my step fathers bday. The table was covered in confetti. They also brought him a very nice dessert sample plate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was fantastic and Katherine's and Sheila's service was exemplary. Thank you for a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

As always, Capital Grill food and service were awesome!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My wife and I have visited the Downtown Location since before we were married and its been special, but this time was a bit disappointing. We were surprised to see so many people in very casual clothing in the restaurant area, t-shirts and jeans, and some very risqué dresses on some women. I can understand that in the bar area, but not in the fine dining part. Also the caesar salad my wife received looked like something you might get at pappadeux cajun restaurant at lunch, not at Capitol grille on a Saturday night for that price. The dressing was scant, the lettuce looked like iceberg, not romaine. Thankfully our waiter had it removed from our bill, but we were disappointed. I enjoyed my veal chop and the potatoes au gratin and the green beans that had a lovely seasoning of curry added to them. The bartender made my wife an orange martini that she was very happy with and I was thankful that he took the time to listen to my request and quickly put it together. Im not sure my wife will want to return as its not the same standard we remembered for the same price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The NY strip was over cooked on the ends. Other then that the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

What an outstanding restaurant!! Would recommend for a special meal!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We both had steaks, bone-in ribeye and filet, which were excellent tasting and cooked just right.
Crab meat appetizer and dessert were great. Service was attentive and helpful without being intrusive - just right.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.