About The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown

500 Crescent Court, Suite 135
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

Cross Street:
On Maple between Cedar Springs & McKinney

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 303-0500

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
We have complementary valet available at our front door. There is also self-parking available, which is validated for up to three hours.

Executive Chef:
Mathew Ingersoll

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 46 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (41)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Business Meals (28)
Romantic (28)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Groups (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Hot Spot (7)
People Watching (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (4)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Fun (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Casual (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Food & service wonderful as usual. Always have a delicious meal whenever we visit.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall experience was good. Tried a new wine, but waiter did not let me try before pouring the whole glass. When our steaks came out, did not ask us to cut through to check temp. Ordered medium but was way more cooked than that and very charred on the outside. Service was overall good, just was missing a few things I'm used to seeing at steakhouses.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I realize Valentines Day is very busy however this should be no different than a strong weekend in all reality. Fact is, I've been to other restaurants on Vday, and they HAVE hit the mark so... crab cakes were excellent, 5 star. Salads very average 3 star. Entrees did not meet the mark, 1.5 star. My porcini ribeye steak I asked medium plus, it came out more rare than my hubbys medium rare tenderloin. They "put it back on the grill" and it still came out dripping blood on plate-literally. His steak was ok but the lobster was old tasting and chewy. The asparagus was nothing to write home about 3 star and lobster mac was good but not great- 3.5 star. Service was below average as waiter did not wait to see how steak was first ...and husband was over 1/2 complete with his meal before they came to "recook" mine. 1.5 star. Drinks were lots of ice and beer came out skunky...and yes you know it's skunky when you pour it. 1 star. Sum of whole tells me I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's day

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Shelia was outstanding in all areas. Great sense of humor and took thoughtful and efficient care of our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was amazing but I think the service was the best part. We went did Valentine's Day and were aren't the sort of people who go to expensive restaurants on a regular basis. In sure the waiter knew that but he never made us feel anything besides welcome. He answered questions and explained things while never making us feel like we were being talked down to. Really, the entire staff was like that. We'll definitely be back for future special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

They do a very good job of making you feel welcome.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on February 12, 2017

5 star!

Outstanding service

Outstanding food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great meal and service in packed restaurant on special occasion

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Best steak in Dallas, always consistent and a great wine selection

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing waitstaff. They were attentive and personable. The ambiance was sexy and enticing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We dined at Capital Grille - Dallas Uptown this past Saturday night. Had a table in the far back room. Everyone enjoyed their dinner selections from steaks to lamb to the salmon. Soups and salads were great starters as well.

We will definitely return to Capital Grille.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

IMPECCABLE FOOD❗️

🔺Allergy to CHOCOLATE slipped by service during dessert...Thank Goodness, I caught it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Eat here all the time. One of my favorites for steak. My personal dislikes; lights too high and lack of a dress code. Still one of my favorites for a special dining experience. The bar is great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Always great food & excellent service. Ask for Steven & be prepared for a divine dining experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I treated a friend who had never been. We had a great evening. Never disappoints! The service and food was outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

This is the best in Dallas! Valet service is efficient and uses text messaging to call for car so you don't have to wait. Food is expertly prepared and professionally served. Since I there for a business lunch wait staff did not overpower the lunch. WE were allowed to have our conversation with minimal interruptions. I am a "regular" and such every meal is consistently presented. Thanks Capital Grille.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great Food & Service. Our party of 12 was there to celebrate four family birthdays. Our table was in a private room which was great. Excellent service-they took care of all of our needs plus more. Food was excellent as usual.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always great food and service. We sat in the bar area at a table.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I love The Capital Grille. I have never had a bad experience, and this is my 3rd visit since finding out about them. You will never be disappointed. They are nice from the time you enter, until the time you leave. They have valet which I love. I hate looking for parking spaces, and I do not mind paying for valet, but their valet is free. So, you just give the guys a nice tip. They treat you very well too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Classic restaurant for business lunch. Also great for dinner.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great atmosphere and wonderful food. Our waiter Stephen was excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I like this place, however there are restaurants that can prepare steak better. Appetizer list is amazing though. Atmospere is perfect as well. Service was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good food, mixup with a meal but they corrected it very quickly. We had a great time and will be back. We enjoy Capital Grill, we don't go to the Dallas location much but love the Plano location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great service, good options. Good overall. Very good deserts

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I live nearby so hit this place up often. Lamb chops the best anywhere as is calamari. Service especial bar tables is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Absolutely incredible food with the best service we've had in Dallas! I would recommend this place over and over again. We found a new favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I just wanted soup ($10 for a cup) and I felt pressured to buy more, drink more, etc. even though I stated at the outset that all I wanted was the soup. Very frustrating!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Capital Grill made the celebration for our 41st Anniversary very special. The food and service were, as usual, incredible. Love this place! My husband's steak was absolutely PERFECT! The Sea Bass was also pretty great! Special dessert, great coffee. Perfect evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to this restaurant several times and the food was always outstanding. There were a few issues this time. We started with an assortment of appetizers. Calamari, steak tartar, lobster bisque, green salad and fresh mozzarella with prosciutto. All were excellent! Unfortunately, the entrés did not fare as well. Filet medallions and lobster tail were excellent, sea bass and miso tasted great but the fish was a bit overdone and sadly my husband's steak was tough to the point of inedible. (The restaurant did comp that entré) Our asparagus was not just charred from the grill it was burned and bitter. Who ever prepped did not remove the woody parts, the potatoes au gratin had wonderful taste but removing a hair from the dish stopped consumption, the desserts, however, were incredible.

We love Capital Grille and will certainly return! I will chalk this up to a uniquely bad day.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

In a word fabulous! We went there after the symphony on NYE. The food and service were outstanding. The only bad thing was this really loud table near us with people who don't know how to act. I realize it was NYE but being as loud as you can and sloppy drunk is not cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first time at this location . Overall we enjoyed the dinner. I had the sea bass which was the best piece of fish I have ever had. The restaurant was really crowded which was probably because of NYE, and at other locations the restaurant is normally quiet. Our service was the one downside to our meal-we got no bread and felt like we were kind of forgotten, which I attribute to the amount of filled tables. Usually the waiter only has two maybe three tables. I would return but not on a holiday.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was eh. I've been before and this time our waiter looked like he didn't want to be there and didn't recommend anything. No enthusiasm for such a nice place. But the filet was spectacular. My boyfriend ate the whole thing with his eyes closed smiling -so that made it worth it!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I like the downtown Fort Worth location better. It feels more intimate and the ambiance/energy is a step up than the uptown location but it could have been the time of day. It was early. Waiter gave us a 50 gift card to return so we'll be back.

The crab on this car filet was meaty and so delish! The lobster Mac was very good but a little over rated. Still love this place! Always consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (London)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The strip steak was excellent, nice and rare as I had ordered. The frites were crispy and delicious. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Great upscale spot to eat in Uptown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had impeccable service. Our waiter had servedus before and comented that he remembered us.He gave great suggestions as well.The food was first class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Awesome dinner! Thank you so much for making Christmas Eve a special night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Go there as often as I can to dine. Always great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I love the mashed potatoes... very smooth and creamy unlike any I have ever had. I was supposed to share but ate the whole plate!!

As always, everything you eat here is outstanding!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fantastic soup and chicken entree

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Perfect business lunch. When I need to impress colleagues and have a serious business discussion I always make a reservation at the Capital Grille.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was my son's birthday. They made it great, confetti on the table, greeting him with happy birthday & a complimentary birthday dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Awesome steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Very comfortable. Steaks and salmon were prepared to our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Capital Grille is always one of my favorites, consistently good food and service regardless of location. The $20 lunch specials are an outstanding value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The cheesecake was a phenomenal finish to a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were seated approximately 40 minutes after our reservation time, which was annoying. They encouraged everyone waiting to grab drinks at the bar, making the bar extremely crowded and difficult to get a drink. Once we were seated, service was good and food was delicious, but given we had 2 drinks at the bar, we didn't get wine with dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Fantastic evening.... wonderful service in both the bar and dining areas; food was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My family has enjoyed this restaurant for at least 10 years. It is our go to place for business meetings & special occasions. The employees of Capital Grille are the crème de la crème in Dallas, Steven always provides impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.