About The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

500 Crescent Court, Suite 135
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

Cross Street:
On Maple between Cedar Springs & McKinney

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 303-0500

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
We have complementary valet available at our front door. There is also self-parking available, which is validated for up to three hours.

Executive Chef:
Mathew Ingersoll

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Coconut Cream Pie - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
10 Oz Lobster Tail - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Lobster Mac 'N' Cheese - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Chocolate Truffle Cake - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Lobster & Beef Tenderloin Surf & Turf - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Lobster - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Aged Balsamic - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
lobster roll - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Spinach - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Scotch Tasting  - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
truffle fries with parmesan - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Prosciutto Wrapped Mozzarella With Vine Ripe Tomatoes  - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Roasted Seasonal Mushrooms - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Wagyu Cheeseburger - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Oscar Styled Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
mushrooms - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Wedge Salad - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Sliced Filet With Wild Mushrooms And Onions  - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Chocolate Hazelnut Cake - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Steack Porcinni - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Grande Plateau - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Oysters on the Half Shell - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Alaskan King Crab Legs - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Bone-In Kona Crusted Sirloin With Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Dry Aged Sirloin - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Smoked salmon appetizer - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Alaskan King Salmon With Cumber Slaw  - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Strawberries Capital Grille - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Parmesan Truffle Fries - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Dry Aged Steak Au Poivre With A Courvoisier Cream Sauce - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Roasted Butternut Squash With Cranberry Pear Chutney - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Filet Oscar - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Seabass - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Delmonico Steak - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Tomato And Mozzarella Salad - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Stoli Doli - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Miniature Lobster And Crab Cakes - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Chocolate Espresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Steak, Lobster Tails, Potatoes, And Creamed Spinach - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Tenderloin With Mushrooms And Cippolini - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Pumpernickel Bread With Golden Raisins & Bread Basket - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Stoli Doli & Tito's Martini - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
Alaskan King Salmon Bacon Brussels Sprouts & Carrots Coulis - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX
 Seared Citrus Glazed Salmon - The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown, Dallas, TX

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 46 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Notable Wine List (28)
Romantic (23)
Business Meals (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Bar Seating (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Family Style (3)
Casual (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I like this place, however there are res ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

I like this place, however there are restaurants that can prepare steak better. Appetizer list is amazing though. Atmospere is perfect as well. Service was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, mixup with a meal but they co ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, mixup with a meal but they corrected it very quickly. We had a great time and will be back. We enjoy Capital Grill, we don't go to the Dallas location much but love the Plano location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service, good options. Good overal ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service, good options. Good overall. Very good deserts

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I live nearby so hit this place up often ...

vip
 (Berlin)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I live nearby so hit this place up often. Lamb chops the best anywhere as is calamari. Service especial bar tables is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely incredible food with the best ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Absolutely incredible food with the best service we've had in Dallas! I would recommend this place over and over again. We found a new favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I just wanted soup ($10 for a cup) and I ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I just wanted soup ($10 for a cup) and I felt pressured to buy more, drink more, etc. even though I stated at the outset that all I wanted was the soup. Very frustrating!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value1

Capital Grill made the celebration for o ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Capital Grill made the celebration for our 41st Anniversary very special. The food and service were, as usual, incredible. Love this place! My husband's steak was absolutely PERFECT! The Sea Bass was also pretty great! Special dessert, great coffee. Perfect evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this restaurant several ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to this restaurant several times and the food was always outstanding. There were a few issues this time. We started with an assortment of appetizers. Calamari, steak tartar, lobster bisque, green salad and fresh mozzarella with prosciutto. All were excellent! Unfortunately, the entrés did not fare as well. Filet medallions and lobster tail were excellent, sea bass and miso tasted great but the fish was a bit overdone and sadly my husband's steak was tough to the point of inedible. (The restaurant did comp that entré) Our asparagus was not just charred from the grill it was burned and bitter. Who ever prepped did not remove the woody parts, the potatoes au gratin had wonderful taste but removing a hair from the dish stopped consumption, the desserts, however, were incredible.

We love Capital Grille and will certainly return! I will chalk this up to a uniquely bad day.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

In a word fabulous! We went there after ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

In a word fabulous! We went there after the symphony on NYE. The food and service were outstanding. The only bad thing was this really loud table near us with people who don't know how to act. I realize it was NYE but being as loud as you can and sloppy drunk is not cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at this location ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first time at this location . Overall we enjoyed the dinner. I had the sea bass which was the best piece of fish I have ever had. The restaurant was really crowded which was probably because of NYE, and at other locations the restaurant is normally quiet. Our service was the one downside to our meal-we got no bread and felt like we were kind of forgotten, which I attribute to the amount of filled tables. Usually the waiter only has two maybe three tables. I would return but not on a holiday.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Service was eh. I've been before and thi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was eh. I've been before and this time our waiter looked like he didn't want to be there and didn't recommend anything. No enthusiasm for such a nice place. But the filet was spectacular. My boyfriend ate the whole thing with his eyes closed smiling -so that made it worth it!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I like the downtown Fort Worth location ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I like the downtown Fort Worth location better. It feels more intimate and the ambiance/energy is a step up than the uptown location but it could have been the time of day. It was early. Waiter gave us a 50 gift card to return so we'll be back.

The crab on this car filet was meaty and so delish! The lobster Mac was very good but a little over rated. Still love this place! Always consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The strip steak was excellent, nice and ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The strip steak was excellent, nice and rare as I had ordered. The frites were crispy and delicious. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Great upscale spot to eat in Uptown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had impeccable service. Our waiter ha ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had impeccable service. Our waiter had servedus before and comented that he remembered us.He gave great suggestions as well.The food was first class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dinner! Thank you so much for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Awesome dinner! Thank you so much for making Christmas Eve a special night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Go there as often as I can to dine. Alwa ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Go there as often as I can to dine. Always great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I love the mashed potatoes... very smoot ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I love the mashed potatoes... very smooth and creamy unlike any I have ever had. I was supposed to share but ate the whole plate!!

As always, everything you eat here is outstanding!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic soup and chicken entree

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fantastic soup and chicken entree

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect business lunch. When I need to ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Perfect business lunch. When I need to impress colleagues and have a serious business discussion I always make a reservation at the Capital Grille.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was my son's birthday. They made it g ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was my son's birthday. They made it great, confetti on the table, greeting him with happy birthday & a complimentary birthday dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome steak!

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Awesome steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very comfortable. Steaks and salmon were ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Very comfortable. Steaks and salmon were prepared to our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Capital Grille is always one of my favor ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Capital Grille is always one of my favorites, consistently good food and service regardless of location. The $20 lunch specials are an outstanding value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheesecake was a phenomenal finish t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The cheesecake was a phenomenal finish to a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated approximately 40 minutes ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were seated approximately 40 minutes after our reservation time, which was annoying. They encouraged everyone waiting to grab drinks at the bar, making the bar extremely crowded and difficult to get a drink. Once we were seated, service was good and food was delicious, but given we had 2 drinks at the bar, we didn't get wine with dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Fantastic evening.... wonderful service ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Fantastic evening.... wonderful service in both the bar and dining areas; food was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My family has enjoyed this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My family has enjoyed this restaurant for at least 10 years. It is our go to place for business meetings & special occasions. The employees of Capital Grille are the crème de la crème in Dallas, Steven always provides impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service, outstanding 4 course ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Fantastic service, outstanding 4 course meal. Good presentation was great, we had the crab cake appetizer, the New York strip steak which was perfectly cooked and tender and lobster mac and cheese. We ended the evening with drinks and creek brûlée desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great selection-

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Always a great selection-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent at every level from parking, r ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Excellent at every level from parking, reception, seating, escorting guest to table, servers, food, and value. Stephan was off and Jaoa did an excellent job -- a gracious, excellent professional!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 3 steaks between 4 of us and we s ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had 3 steaks between 4 of us and we still had meat left over. The salads, green beans and truffle fries were all wonderful. We were celebrating 2 birthdays and they brought us a couple of complimentary desserts to help finish off our meals. It was a perfect birthday celebration.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy this place, but this time, ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always enjoy this place, but this time, server could have been a little friendlier. Very distant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Excellent - service, food, atmosphere!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent - service, food, atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here my b-day and the experience wi ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Went here my b-day and the experience will be memorable. The service was amazing and was the best part of the experience. The waiter referred to us by name every time and overheard my boyfriend talking to me about my bday and brought me a beautiful bday dessert. The food is your standard high end steakhouse and was very good. Would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner at Capital ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Capital Grille!! The food was amazing...especially the salad with parmesan vinegarette and the calamari! My husband loved his oysters and I really enjoyed my filet. The star of the show, though, was the Creme Brule Cheesecake. It's seriously the best cheesecake I've ever eaten! So yum! We will DEFINITELY be going back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Spicy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Our Waiter was Steve. He was Fantastic! ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our Waiter was Steve. He was Fantastic! We celebrated our 32nd wedding anniversary. Food & wine excellent. There's a reason we come back again and again. You'll not be disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a birthday celebration. We ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We went for a birthday celebration. We were greeted with a table that had birthday confetti scattered on it and a birthday card from the restaurant. Never had that before at any other place. Our enjoyment continued up from there. Nathan, our waiter was friendly, attentive, informative and overall a joy. The food was excellent, the drinks and wine great. The restaurant's ambiance was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to Capital several times and always ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Been to Capital several times and always great. Took girlfriend and her boys who could have been dressed a little nicer, but plenty of other people dressed similarly. Waiter was Daniel. He could not have more indifferent,rude, and inattentive. Never even checked to see how our meal was. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Nathan was an exceptional waiter. The fo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Nathan was an exceptional waiter. The food was great as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here for special occasions, and ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We come here for special occasions, and simply love the food. We always ask for server Felipe, he is outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.