About The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown

500 Crescent Court, Suite 135
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the Crescent Shops and Galleries.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

Cross Street:
On Maple between Cedar Springs & McKinney

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 303-0500

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
We have complementary valet available at our front door. There is also self-parking available, which is validated for up to three hours.

Executive Chef:
Mathew Ingersoll

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Coconut Cream Pie
10 Oz Lobster Tail
Cheesecake
Lobster Mac 'N' Cheese
Chocolate Truffle Cake
Lobster & Beef Tenderloin Surf & Turf
Lobster
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Aged Balsamic
lobster roll
Spinach
Scotch Tasting
truffle fries with parmesan
Prosciutto Wrapped Mozzarella With Vine Ripe Tomatoes
Roasted Seasonal Mushrooms
Wagyu Cheeseburger
Creme Brulee
Oscar Styled Filet Mignon
mushrooms
Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Wedge Salad
Sliced Filet With Wild Mushrooms And Onions
Chocolate Hazelnut Cake
Steack Porcinni
Grande Plateau
Oysters on the Half Shell
Alaskan King Crab Legs
Bone-In Kona Crusted Sirloin With Shallot Butter
Dry Aged Sirloin
Smoked salmon appetizer
Alaskan King Salmon With Cumber Slaw
Strawberries Capital Grille
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Dry Aged Steak Au Poivre With A Courvoisier Cream Sauce
Roasted Butternut Squash With Cranberry Pear Chutney
Filet Oscar
Seabass
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Delmonico Steak
Tomato And Mozzarella Salad
Stoli Doli
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Miniature Lobster And Crab Cakes
Chocolate Espresso Cake
Steak, Lobster Tails, Potatoes, And Creamed Spinach
Tenderloin With Mushrooms And Cippolini
Pumpernickel Bread With Golden Raisins & Bread Basket
Stoli Doli & Tito's Martini
Alaskan King Salmon Bacon Brussels Sprouts & Carrots Coulis
 Seared Citrus Glazed Salmon

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 46 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Dallas
Most Booked
Dallas
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Special Occasion (64)
Notable Wine List (40)
Romantic (36)
See All
Fit for Foodies (32)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Business Meals (2)
Scenic View (1)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice evening out at the Grille, Val ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice evening out at the Grille, Valet is really the only option but it's free of charge.

We were seated directly for a 630 reservation at 615 the Resturant was already filled to 3/4 capacity. Service was very quick and friendly we never had a empty glass or dish left over from start to finish.

The Stoi Doli is the signature of the Resturant and worth trying we did twice!

For a appetizer mozzarella wrapped in prosciutto was a luxury not to be missed. Followed by bone in filets and poached lobster tails for entrees.

Everything was cooked to excellence the sides were fingerling potatoes, sautéed spinach, & soy finished brussel sprouts they were amazing.

We skipped the in house made desserts and had a final cocktail in place. "The In Fashion" excellent whiskey cocktail made with Russels Reserve bourbon, Grand Mariner, finished with walnut bitters orange ice sphere & Amerna Cherry.

We will back soon bringing friends and family an absolute jewel in Dallas highly recommended to steak and cocktail lovers!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing steaks (we had 8 oz. Filet and K ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing steaks (we had 8 oz. Filet and Kona NY strip)!!! Very attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable server, John! We had the most romantic table in the back corner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The birthday lunch for a friend was outs ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

The birthday lunch for a friend was outstanding in all categories. Our server, Joao Trevisani, was superb. Attentive to just the right degree, gracious, very nice and an excellent host. The food was perfect, and the complimentary birthday dessert was lovely. Capital Grille is never a disappointment!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant week menu. Dinners ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful restaurant week menu. Dinners were all superb. The service was fantastic.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille made Katie's birthday ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Capital Grille made Katie's birthday dinner very special - with a free picture, dessert, and table decoration. The service was great as usual, but I had not experienced their birthday treatment before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent.

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for restaurant week. Salad and b ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We went for restaurant week. Salad and bread were good. NY Strip was not tender or flavorful. I felt like it should have been a better cut of meat than it was. Green beans were al dente, I'm not a fan. The dessert was ok but I've had better.

I won't be back for restaurant week again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We were disappointed in both the food an ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were disappointed in both the food and service. Even with the Restaurant Week price of $45 for dinner, this is still a pricey meal. Our waiter pretty much threw each course on the table, not asking us how our steak was cooked, or inquiring as to whether we wanted coffee with dessert. We each had a glass of wine (not a bottle - drinking responsibly!) and I guess that took us out of the category of serious diners. The salads were good, the steaks were cooked as ordered, but skimpy (not 8 oz. as listed on the menu) and looked strange in the middle of a giant plate. We were given a tiny plate of mashed potatoes and a tiny plate of green beans to "share". Dessert was good. We use Restaurant Week to find new places to return during the rest of the year, but we will not be returning to the Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Business dinner on a Sunday night during ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Business dinner on a Sunday night during restaurant week--the menu was great and the generous pour wine option was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They were very sweet and had the table d ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

They were very sweet and had the table decorated with a red rose, an anniversary card, and some heart shaped confetti. We were celebrating our first anniversary and they helped to make it a special evening. The kona crusted NY strip was delicious as usual. They even provided us with a complementary dessert that said Happy Anniversary in chocolate. Since it was restaurant week, they boxed our restaurant week desserts for us to enjoy at home. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 8 and ate off the Rest ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a group of 8 and ate off the Restaurant Week menu with a couple sides added from the regular menu: truffle fries, creamed corn, and lobster mac & cheese. My husband had the dry aged steak and I had the salmon; everything was delicious, especially the citrus glaze on the salmon. We order the lobster mac & cheese every time we eat here because it's amazing. All the ladies at our table did the Generous Pour and our glasses were never empty. We got to try all 8 of the wines listed and had a very good time! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic as always. Our server ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was fantastic as always. Our server Catherine "Katy" was the best. We always ask for her. Can't think of any problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT: food, service, ambiance. Jaoa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

EXCELLENT: food, service, ambiance. Jaoa was so kind and lovely!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as usual. If you like to ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was great as usual. If you like to taste different wines the Generous Pour was a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My husband and I dined at Capital Grille ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I dined at Capital Grille for Restaurant Week. The meal was divine. The atmosphere was great. The waitstaff was perfection. This has become a favorite of ours!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter great food/ steaks & sides- ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great waiter great food/ steaks & sides- love the ambience & the way staff makes you feel welcome. Felipe the waiter was outstanding. Love the generous pour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very good steakhouse. Ambience of an ol ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very good steakhouse. Ambience of an old style men's club. Beautifully done. Service was outstanding and Steak was perfectly cooked. A little pricey as top of the line steakhouses tend to be, but worth an occasional trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious !! Loved the Restaurant Week ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Delicious !! Loved the Restaurant Week menu and the Generous Pour program.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Capital Grille is one of my favorite res ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Capital Grille is one of my favorite restaurants, with consistently high quality food for either lunch or dinner. I have been to several all over the country. The pan seared trout special was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Their restaurant week menu is awesome. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Their restaurant week menu is awesome. My group people are satisfied with their food and service. We enjoyed at 2016 restaurant week. Thank you very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Fort Worth location ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We have been to the Fort Worth location a dozen times. I took my wife here for her birthday, what we got was a blank card on the table and no mention of her birthday from the restaurant or the waitress.

The men's bathroom had one empty soap dispenser and one broken dispenser. I informed the people at the front. An hour later no one had done anything about it. Everyone was turning over the dispenser to get soap out.

Both things are not what expect when you are paying over $100 for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Fine dining for lunch. Reasonably priced ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fine dining for lunch. Reasonably priced for a nice lunch. Dinner is also nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We went to the Capital Grille on Dallas ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went to the Capital Grille on Dallas Restaurant Week. The $45 menu and the "Generous Pour" wine program at $28 per person were both excellent values. Our waiter was very good but seemed slightly more interested in serving tables other than ours.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food and wine were excellent. The se ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food and wine were excellent. The service was a little slow. It was really busy though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were celebrating a birthday and they ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and they know how to celebrate with their customers..always such pleasure to dine and celebrate there

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific as usual. Top lunch spot in Up ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Terrific as usual. Top lunch spot in Uptown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hosted a birthday celebration that grew ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Hosted a birthday celebration that grew from 5 to 8 people. The hostess graciously accommodated my request both times I called to increase the reservation. All of our adult guests enjoyed the Generous Pour and Restaurant Week specials. We love Capital Grille but it gets a little too loud during Restaurant Week. Service, which is normally 5 stars, suffers a bit because the place is so crowded and because they are serving up to seven different wines to each guest during Generous Pour. That is A LOT to ask of any wait staff member. Still, we had a great dinner and will undoubtedly return again and again. It is one of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A deliciously memorable anniversary even ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A deliciously memorable anniversary evening, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great place to have a nice dinn ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a great place to have a nice dinner at

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was excellent. The service was good ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was excellent. The service was good. The noise level was a bit too loud though. I will recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, a great time, great food and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As always, a great time, great food and great service. We were a bit disappointed to hear that our waiter from the past several visits was no longer at this location, but the great service continued and we will continue to frequent this location for special occasions and date nights.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed friends joining us for the Ge ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We enjoyed friends joining us for the Generous Pour event which was excellent. We all enjoyed it! Last year the waiter served the wine as if it was coming from their own wine stock! Not so generous pours. Great waiter and with a group of 6 that is not easy but he handled it very well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great decor and feel to this restaurant. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great decor and feel to this restaurant. My wife and I chose this as our destination for our anniversary dinner. We have fallen in love with the bone-in fillet and scalloped potatoes. We were there on a Sunday evening and it was not as crowded as other nights. We were very pleased with the quality of food and service we received.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We are generally not steak house people ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We are generally not steak house people but we do love Capital Grill The food is cooked perfectly and every request remembered. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch was excellent and Melanie in the b ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Lunch was excellent and Melanie in the bar was outstanding. Our normal server Sheila was not available but the lady we had was Russian (don't remember her name) and she was equally outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My long time girlfriend and I are retire ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My long time girlfriend and I are retired and we eat out a lot. We have been eating at Capital Grille for longer than I can remember. We have about 4 places we think of as special and Capital Grille in on that short list. We eat there once or twice a month. Most notable these days is the lack of a dress code. I asked and they do not have one. Hard to think of a place being special when the folks sitting at the next table are in shorts and tennis shoes. We just do our own thing and always dress up for our 4 special places. On our last visit I was asked by Capital Grille to make comments about my experience. This time the service was lacking and more like you would expect in a casual restaurant. When drinking a $22 glass of wine ($29 a bottle at the store), you drink the glass dry. While the wine glass had no more than a half sip left, the waiter did not ask if my date was through and made it disappear in a nano second, when we declined another glass of wine. Our last few trips have shown a direction of service headed for 3 stars. One other thing is the lighting. It is a steak house and we like the ambiance a little darker. The bar is perfect, but the dining room is too bright to be considered a romantic experience. Eddie V is a good example of romantic lighting. We discussed it and will continue to eat at the Capital Grille, but not as often. We would give up a little on the food for the ambiance and service on our special dining nights. I have witnessed a move to a more casual attitude and believe that is just times a changin. You do not see shorts or shirts untucked at Cafe Pacific, which we consider to have a romantic cozy atmosphere and a place for special occasions. I will say the greetings at the arrival desk is great. They act like you are family and have been waiting to see you. As we prepared to leave, a lady walked by dressed very well, behind her was a guy in jeans, untucked shirt and tennis shoes. I do not get it. Great bar and where we will eat now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Delicious! Comfortable yet very nice! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Delicious! Comfortable yet very nice! Waiters & staff are friendly. Food is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dentin was our server and did a fabulous ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Dentin was our server and did a fabulous job anticipating everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good and fast service, waiters very cour ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good and fast service, waiters very courteous and effective, food excellent! Not so noisy so we could have a nice talk while dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food, service, and ambience were all ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food, service, and ambience were all fantastic. I highly recomend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.