The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown

4.7
1960 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Business Meals
  • Good for a Date
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(214) 303-0500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mathew Ingersoll
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
On Maple between Cedar Springs & McKinney
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have complementary valet available at our front door. There is also self-parking available, which is validated for up to three hours.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 46 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

View Private Dining Details
What 1960 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The service was fantastic. She was attentive and very knowledgeable when I needed to have the drink menu explained. I will definitely be back the next time I am in Dallas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Delicious Cobb Salad, filet was exactly as requested.
My favorite lunch spot :-)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated my husbands birthday there, that was amazing, I’m in love with that place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The Capital Grille never fails to meet high expectations. My date ordered Seared Citrus Glazed Salmon with Marcona Almonds and Brown Butter, while I dined on Filet Mignon and Lobster with a side of Au Gratin Potatoes and Grilled Asparagus with Lemon Mosto . The meal was absolutely perfect and the service was nothing short of excellent. The ambience of the restaurant was perfect. The price isn't what you would pay at your average restaurant but the food isn't what you will find at your average restaurant. Great place for a special occasion or that special date. I went early in the evening before they got a lot of patrons waiting to get in. My suggestion is to always get a reservation. I don't think that you can go wrong here unless you're looking for a cheap meal. Five Star service and food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Fathers Day. We came to Capital Grille thinking that they would have their price fixe menu for Father’s Day, but no. I was a bit disappointed about that but service was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Excellent food and service as always. Outstanding steak and lamb chops and sides. Superior service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Top shelf from parking lot in to parking lot out. Wait staff highly professional and attentive. Had fillets and a Strip. Both were magnificent in flavor, quality and preparation. Great experience. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Took my boyfriend for his 30th birthday and he proposed! Everything was perfect and I was very surprised. Many thanks to the staff and Steve for going above and beyond. I am truly grateful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

As the restaurant filled for lunch the noise level increased to a level that made it difficult for me to participate in the discussion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Always a lovely experience but dessert was slow. Wonderful manager made up for it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Love this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

I really appreciate the great service that we received. The scenery was beautiful and also make sure to check out the Crescent Hotel behind the restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Delicious surf and turf.......prepared to perfection. Lobster tasted fresh-caught and the steak melted on the tongue. Sides were flavorful and interesting. Shout out to our server, John, who made the meal better by professional and friendly flawless service. Don’t miss the lobster bisque!
We were celebrating a promotion and the Chef sent out this special dessert! Capital Grille is what makes fine dining FINE!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

For my family, there simply is no better restaurant in Dallas than the Capital Grill! And no better server than Steve. We have been sharing all our special occasions with Steve and the Capital Grill for over 15 years and it is always our first go-to venue for any celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We have been to Capitol Grille many times. It is the restaurant to which we compare all others. It is upscale and conservative, but the ambiance is nice and comfortable. All the food is delicious and the servers are knowledgeable and attentive. For a special occasion, this is the place to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Our server was very attentive, food was good, and they made a point to make my buddy feel special on her birthday. With keep coming back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

The food was excellent, as was the service. Quiet enough for conversation without having to ask someone to turn down the sound. Berry pastry dessert outstanding. Reliable business meal.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 5, 2018

They steaks were not great like they normally are.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

This was the perfect spot for our one year anniversary. The food and service was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The Grill is very consistent year after year. That’s why we keep coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

We reserved the Board Room for our business lunch. Service was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

The Caesar salad is the best. Love the anchovies that compliment this salad, making it a favorite

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Perfect dining

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

We had a great time on Sunday night. Our wait staff was amazing and our waitress Shay was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Outstanding food and atmosphere-we go there annually for our anniversary and other special occasions-never disappoints

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We went out for my husbands birthday and his sister being in town for the weekend. Everything was so wonderful. From the Moscow Mules to the cheesecake!
And Shea, our server made our night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Denton met us with champagne to toast the event & a special dessert for the birthday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Great food, pleasant waiter and atmosphere. Nothing to complain about.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Outstanding food and one of the best server I had in a long time. Excellent and very professional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

First time here and we chose it for its proximity to our hotel. Might have been the best steak I have ever eaten. And the sides are equally amazing. Fun but very classy place. Perfect for our anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

I usually go to the one in Fort Worth, this was my first time dining at the location in Dallas. Besides the strict wait time for sitting due to me having to have all my guests or a certain number in order to sit, everything was great.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2018

I have been to this restaurants on several occasions - never been my favorite steakhouse, but always enjoyed it. My most recent experience was terrible. The service was terrible from the beginning. My food wasn't prepared correctly and had to be sent back to the kitchen. It took them forever to return my food to the table and they just slapped it in front of me and took off. I was left with cold potatoes and spinach and the steak went from being undercooked to burnt. No visit or apology from the manager - nothing. Everyone else at the table had completed their meals and I was left eating by myself. I'm not sure why a manager didn't stop by the table and ask if everything was okay or offer to bring new sides that had been sitting there for a good twenty minutes?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Our Russian Waitress was perfect. Natural. No fluff, nothing artificial. Well poised as a waitress should be in a fine restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Capital Grille in Uptown is a consistent five star experience. We’ve been going since it opened many years ago. Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We were 6 minutes late—dining room was EMPTY!!! They turned us away. So rude. Never again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We had family in from California and a birthday and it all went amazing thanks Capital Grille

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great Service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

I had lunch there with a friend and we both ordered the filet salad. It was delicious! The meat was cooked perfectly. What made the lunch great though was the service. The waiter was very attentive and had no problem accommodating my food allergies (to dairy). He was so nice and overheard my friends say happy birthday to me so after our meal he brought me dessert; a mini cheesecake and mini chocolate cake to share with my friend. It was really nice. I have never had a bad meal at capital grille and the service is always fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It was mother’s day and I was in town to move my son out of his dorm at SMU. He invited his fraternity brother and we had a great time. The boys really enjoyed the steaks This is our favorite place to dine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother's Day Brunch was fantastic! The service was exceptional as was the food!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
49