Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

500 Crescent Court, Suite 135
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm

Cross Street:
On Maple between Cedar Springs & McKinney

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 303-0500

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
We have complementary valet available at our front door. There is also self-parking available, which is validated for up to three hours.

Executive Chef:
Mathew Ingersoll

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Mother's Day for an exceptional prix fixe brunch and endless mimosas. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as our Pan-Seared Salmon with Citrus Crab Salad.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 46 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Dallas - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Business Meals (40)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Romantic (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Bar Seating (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Private Room (5)
Family Style (4)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 21 hours ago

It's a slam dunk. Best of the best. Had South African Lobster paired with my filet. Stupid good. And the service was noticeably better than any place to memory. Totally legit and worth the money!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Great ambiance, service, and food! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

It was amazing as always! The tenderloin and lobster is amazing!!! I have no idea what kind of sauce it was but it's heavenly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was fantastic. Appetizers, entrees and desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been to Capital Grille many times. This time I sat in the bar at a booth for 5. Ordered the Capital Cobb as usual. The meat was a poor piece of meat. Trying to tell the server was next to impossible. When I finally was able to (when he brought the check) his response was simply to say, I will tell the chef. No offer to replace the uneaten portion on my plate so I could actually eat my lunch. So, I went back to the office and had an early snack.

Still a good place but never sit in the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had an amazing Easter brunch experience. The menu options were limitless. The only negative was the screaming children at the next table which is not the fault of the restaurant. The overall noise level if the dining was quite high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went there for Easter Brunch, and were pleasantly surprised by the Prix Fix menu, the prices were all inclusive, and what great service! This is our go-to place for special occasions, and have never had a bad time. Keep up the great work!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always enjoy Capital Grille. Staff is friendly (glad to see the bartender returned) with just the right amount of service. We eat here no less than once a month. Nice ambiance and the booths give a nice cozy feeling. Steak is always cooked to perfection. Unity is an excellent by the glass choice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our second visit to a Capital Grill and the Austin location had set the bar very high. This evening was a "get together" with our children to celebrate my husband's birthday and we were relaxed and happy to be together. Our waiter approached the table, did not introduce himself, and instead swings his head around to try to get his hair out of his eyes. This becomes a common, distracting practice throughout the entire evening. We order drinks and appetizers and when he brings them he places them incorrectly in front of my daughter and my son. Next we order salads, and when the waiter brings them, again incorrectly places my son and daughters before them. We order our steaks and the steaks for my son and daughter are a little too rare so them opt to take them home. At each stage of interaction with our waiter he is distracted and disengaged. We had ordered a bottle of wine so we did not ask him for anything further at this time. When the entree plates had been removed the waiter returned with the dessert menus and inquired if anyone would like coffee? No one at the table wanted coffee but my daughter said she might like an after dinner liqueur. The waiter totally ignored her and walked away. When he came back for the dessert order he again began to walk away when I called him back to check with my daughter on her after dinner beverage. He started to walk away without asking anyone else! I asked my son quickly and he placed an order but before I could ask my husband the waiter was gone! It was as if the waiter could not wait to turn the table! The total of our check was almost $600 so what was his hurry?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Nathan and the staff was great. Food was Awesome and it was a great anniversary!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent service by Steven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Always love the food at Capital Grille. Service is usually stellar, but yesterday our server never refilled our drinks, came by the table 3 times in five minutes asking if we were ready to order, took my plate with food still on it (and clearly I wasn't finished as my fork was still in my hand!) and then disappeared when I tried to pay the check. The hostess had to run my card. Felt more like lunch at Chili's than Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Seared Tenderloin with Lobster Tail is a must have if you plan on dining at this establishment. Can't remember better service anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Had a wonder meal only enhanced by very friendly and informative waitstaff! Will definitely be back for the Brussels sprouts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Loved the food and the restaurant , everyone really enjoyed their entree and the setting

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 3, 2017

It was my step fathers bday. The table was covered in confetti. They also brought him a very nice dessert sample plate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was fantastic and Katherine's and Sheila's service was exemplary. Thank you for a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

As always, Capital Grill food and service were awesome!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My wife and I have visited the Downtown Location since before we were married and its been special, but this time was a bit disappointing. We were surprised to see so many people in very casual clothing in the restaurant area, t-shirts and jeans, and some very risqué dresses on some women. I can understand that in the bar area, but not in the fine dining part. Also the caesar salad my wife received looked like something you might get at pappadeux cajun restaurant at lunch, not at Capitol grille on a Saturday night for that price. The dressing was scant, the lettuce looked like iceberg, not romaine. Thankfully our waiter had it removed from our bill, but we were disappointed. I enjoyed my veal chop and the potatoes au gratin and the green beans that had a lovely seasoning of curry added to them. The bartender made my wife an orange martini that she was very happy with and I was thankful that he took the time to listen to my request and quickly put it together. Im not sure my wife will want to return as its not the same standard we remembered for the same price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The NY strip was over cooked on the ends. Other then that the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

What an outstanding restaurant!! Would recommend for a special meal!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We both had steaks, bone-in ribeye and filet, which were excellent tasting and cooked just right.
Crab meat appetizer and dessert were great. Service was attentive and helpful without being intrusive - just right.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food and service were excellent as they always are. My last couple of visits have been for lunch which I always enjoy. I was surprised however to see how much the prices have gone up for the evening menu. Except for a few Choices, most entrées start in the mid to high $40 range with a veal chop at $55 which shocked me.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Steven is wonderful - great experience. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Awesome experience! Greg was incredible and the food was absolutely superb!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

No where near as great as they think it is. Nick and Sams much better. Chef needs to back of on salt. Had to send back salad. My lamb was just ok. Nothing better than I can get at Central Market. Overrated. Filet and lobster was good but not over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nice ambiance, excellent food and wine list. Service exceptional! A little pricey; for us, will come again for celebration of special occasion. Location is a real plus!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Live the cozy atmosphere

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The steak was fantastic and the service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Quiet and peaceful. Excellent service. Delicious lobster mac n cheese and lobster bisque. Lamb chops were also very good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

They grill my favorite steak to perfection and the french onion soup is delightful.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Private Room, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful .. lobster Mac and cheese, steak, brussel sprouts... delicious

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Most consistent restaurant chain I've ever been too. Always good and has. Ever disappointed. Tuna is family favorite and well as the porcini rub on any steak!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food was great! Service was outstanding! Overall experience was excellent!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I asked for a quiet table when I made a reservation 5 days in advance. There were 6 of us and we wanted to be in a location where we could enjoy talking. We were taken to a table in the main aisle and walkway in a noisy location out in the open, and there were plenty of other good tables to the side and booths. It was like pulling teeth to get another table, but we finally got moved over one table.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Had another great celebratory lunch at Capital Grill. My guest was celebrating a birthday and the attentive service made it very special. From the confetti to the congratulations and birthday candle it was just great. And the food was equally good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food & service wonderful as usual. Always have a delicious meal whenever we visit.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Overall experience was good. Tried a new wine, but waiter did not let me try before pouring the whole glass. When our steaks came out, did not ask us to cut through to check temp. Ordered medium but was way more cooked than that and very charred on the outside. Service was overall good, just was missing a few things I'm used to seeing at steakhouses.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I realize Valentines Day is very busy however this should be no different than a strong weekend in all reality. Fact is, I've been to other restaurants on Vday, and they HAVE hit the mark so... crab cakes were excellent, 5 star. Salads very average 3 star. Entrees did not meet the mark, 1.5 star. My porcini ribeye steak I asked medium plus, it came out more rare than my hubbys medium rare tenderloin. They "put it back on the grill" and it still came out dripping blood on plate-literally. His steak was ok but the lobster was old tasting and chewy. The asparagus was nothing to write home about 3 star and lobster mac was good but not great- 3.5 star. Service was below average as waiter did not wait to see how steak was first ...and husband was over 1/2 complete with his meal before they came to "recook" mine. 1.5 star. Drinks were lots of ice and beer came out skunky...and yes you know it's skunky when you pour it. 1 star. Sum of whole tells me I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's day

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.