About The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont

5340 North River Road
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Balmoral Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-8125

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Natasha Vitti

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Espresso - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Wine Cellar - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Lobster Bisque - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Warm Spinach Salad with Bacon - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Cold Shellfish Platter - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Cafe Latte - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico W/15-Year Aged Balsamic - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Steak and Lobster - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Coconut Cream Pie - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Trio Of Handcrafted Ice Creams - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Chocolate Cake - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Filet And Lobster - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Chopped Salad With Chilled Shrimp - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Sliced Filet W/ Mushrooms - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Porcini-Rubbed Delmonico Steak W/ 12-Year Aged Balsamic - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (32)
Special Occasion (28)
Business Meals (26)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for Groups (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Romantic (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Cozy (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Private Room (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fun (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (0)
Family Style (0)
Great for Outdoor Dining (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Needed a late meal with some friends - ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Needed a late meal with some friends - great steak and really good wait staff

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a steakhouse at least the steak needs ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

In a steakhouse at least the steak needs to be cooked properly. Neither of our steaks were cooked properly The medium had a cold read center, it was rare The medium rare was done medium well The former came back burnt and over done The latter, I choked down a few bites and saved the rest for my dog

They were apologetic enough, polite and adjusted the bill, but we wasted a lot of time trying to get it right.

I have eaten there at least 15 times in the past, for business and pleasure. It used to be better, one of my favorites

Here's hoping for better times in the future. If not, within a five minute drive, there is a Morton's , a Gibson's and a Gene and Giorgetti's

I wish them luck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Our first time at the Capital Grille was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Our first time at the Capital Grille was made very special by our server. He was terrific: attentive, friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner even though we had a late s ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great dinner even though we had a late seating. We did not feel rushed and enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful meal. Far less noisy than my l ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Wonderful meal. Far less noisy than my last visit which made this much more enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our dinner experience was awesome! The s ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our dinner experience was awesome! The staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Mike Sullivan, the GM, approached our group, introduced himself and made sure we were all having a wonderful time Our special thanks to Chef Carlos, whose skills are shown through every dish that comes out of the kitchen. Just right down delicious!

Gil & Laura Perez

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and even better service. Our ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food and even better service. Our waiter Mark C. was top notch!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, best steak house around! Fabu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent, best steak house around! Fabulous seafood! If in the area, it is a must.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business lunch with discussion, got the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Business lunch with discussion, got the table I requested and the service was great. The steaks were overdone. We were in a serious discussion and I could not afford the distraction of sending food back. I noticed my guest's food was similarly over cooked. I have eaten in many Capitol Grille's and this is the first I have had poorly prepared steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We dined mid-afternoon and had the dinin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We dined mid-afternoon and had the dining room to ourselves. Our waiter TJ was great: he made good recommendations and was attentive.

We always have a great meal at Capital Grille!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at Capital Grille ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This was my first time at Capital Grille, but it won't be my last! Food, service and ambiance were superb. Bravo.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Twas a good first time experience for pa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Twas a good first time experience for parents set up by a thoughtful son... EXCEPT for some clumsiness wherein I was almost bathed with Champagne at the strike of the New Year!!! Just took it as a blessing in stead... JOHN you were still very good... but JOSE as the server was a little bit rude... sarcastic when serving water without ice blurting " the water is cold anyway" don't know where he's coming from... serving main course with asparagus falling on the table ... maybe tired or in a hurry but not a reason to be clumsy!!! The supervisor offered to take our pics n cover up their shortcomings.. over all still recommend the place for the good food...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We were at Capital Grill for New Year's ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were at Capital Grill for New Year's eve and had a wonderful experience from the time we stepped in till we left.

Thank you staff and management for making our visit a very special one to remember for years to come.

Even at their busiest time, they accommodated our request and really impressed us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I always eat at Capital Grille, this is ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I always eat at Capital Grille, this is by far one of the best restaurants where I love to go for there steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding ...best lamb c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was outstanding ...best lamb chops I've had in a long time & the lobster mac n cheese was awesome ...from the drinks to the dessert everything was delicious and it was New Years Eve the chef is excellent . We had John as our server and he was absolutely the best very attentive explained the menu made recommendations so when I return and I will I will request John....a little pricey but worth it

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time at the Capital Grill ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a great time at the Capital Grille -

7 of us had dinner on New Year's Eve. The food and service were fantastic! John took great care of us and was an excellent waiter. We all loved the food and had a fantastic time! It's not cheap but the quality is top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as usual!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food and service as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dave was amazing! This was celebration o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Dave was amazing! This was celebration of the end of chemo for my 17-year old niece. Dave was charming, sensitive to the situation, well-spoken, responsive, and very knowledgeable about the wines, drinks, and all menu items. One of the best ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining room is extremely noisy could ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The dining room is extremely noisy could barely hear table conversation. Had to surf and turf and thought the portion was extremely small must've been the tiniest filet I've ever seen sliced in half

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Our waiter was Brian and he was exceptio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our waiter was Brian and he was exceptional. My wife has some food allergies and he was extremely helpful in assisting her with selections and had created a solution for one. Very attentive without being bothersome.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic as always. My favorite restaur ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Fantastic as always. My favorite restaurant. The food and service never disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shane was our outstanding server. Paced ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Shane was our outstanding server. Paced everything perfectly. Split in the kitchen without being asked. Great personality. The food was simply delicious. The Wedge is the PERFECT salad. Tenderloin "sliders" a wonderful little lunch. Don't miss the CG!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Capital Grill. Always have.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Love Capital Grill. Always have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my wife's birthday and it was phe ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2016

It was my wife's birthday and it was phenomenal.

When booking, I said "I always rely on Capital Grille for birthdays" and they never deceived me. They booked me a private room (no questions asked). Food was magnificent and like it should. Desserts and drinks were not any different. Sides and appetizers in addition to kids food were great. Service was fantastic. I couldn't ask for more. Thanks The Capital Grille!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My visits are usually very pleasurable; ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My visits are usually very pleasurable; however my recent visit was not. We were seated near the door which was very cold. I had reservations well in advance but was told there were no other tables available; yet we saw others being seated further inside the restaurant. We were given a complimentary appetizer for the inconvenience but we would have preferred to have dined without wearing our coats. An evening away (which is rare) was unfortunately and sadly ruined. I would still dine at the Capital Grille again but not during the holiday season. I would also insist on a table well within the restaurant. It was also extremely hectic and loud, but not to be a Scrooge, understandable with holiday parties etc.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Service was exceptional -- if you can ha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Service was exceptional -- if you can have Shane as your server you will have a fabulous experience. I would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always Attentive service Excell ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great as always

Attentive service

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delightful dining experience. A great wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Delightful dining experience. A great way to enjoy an evening with my daughter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at this location. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was my first time at this location. Past experiences are always outstanding, but this one left something to be desired. It was most definitely a unique situation and the waiter would probably remember us. We had meet and greet tickets for a country artist at Joe's Live (the venue down the street). The meet and greet time was for 8:45, so a 6:30 dinner reservation would have been perfect until we placed our order and while waiting for our steak, the venue called (7:20pm) and said they needed us there as soon as possible because they changed the time. We were caught in a hard spot debating if we should take our food to go or skip it. The steak was then delivered and we had ordered them to be prepared medium but they were pretty rare in the middle and considering the circumstances we did not have the time to have the waiter bring them back to the kitchen to be re-fired. We then explained our situation and the waiter worked very quickly to get us out of there and was attentive to getting our food packaged up and held until we could return to pick it up. He said he would have a cab called for us while we pay the bill, but turns out the hostess never called for one though and it left us at the door waiting longer than we had hoped. THANKFULLY, we did end up making our meet and greet and were able to eat our steak afterwards but we had to cook it to the right temperature when we got home. As a steakhouse, I feel a steak ordered medium should come out as so. I know things happen but for the cost, we were bummed and my boyfriend was not super thrilled about going back. He would rather spend the money at one of his other favorite steakhouses. I always raved about Capital Grille so I was upset he was not as impressed as I normally am. The waiter was very attentive and helpful though and accommodated our situation as best he could so thank you! I look forward to dining with Capital Grille again,but maybe not Rosemont.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Capital Grille was outstanding in every ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Capital Grille was outstanding in every way. It's the first time I ever gave a perfect score to a restaurant. Capital Grille at Rosemont was perfection. David was warm, understanding and fun. Perfect service from David and everyone else. Our dining experience was incredible. From salads to Steaks, vegetables and a dessert I will never forget. Cheesecake brûlée with fresh fruit that was light and creamy. Dining perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great birthday celebration....loved the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great birthday celebration....loved the lobster/crab cake appetizer...we had the double

lamp chops and the filet.....just really good....we have eaten here before and again, were

not disappointed....definitely a place to come back to!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food and service as usual. Pri ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Very good food and service as usual. Prices, especially for steaks is very pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Capital Grille/Rosemont was outstanding, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Capital Grille/Rosemont was outstanding, as usual. I took a client to dinner there Monday and he thoroughly enjoyed it too. Top notch food and wine, and terrific service! They have never disappointed in any of my visits. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unhappy we were stuck with a table right ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Unhappy we were stuck with a table right by the kitchen

Very noisy and distracting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

food and service were wonderful. we were ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 2, 2016

food and service were wonderful.

we were seated in a semi-private room that just increased the experience

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of steaks is slipping. I felt l ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Quality of steaks is slipping. I felt like I could have gotten the same steak at the five and dime counter-top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Our dinner outing last Friday was amazin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our dinner outing last Friday was amazing! Despite of being busy, the staff went out if their way to accommodate us. Monica attended our every request with attention and care. Our dinner, from appetizers to main course we're prepared to oerfection. Chef Carlos' dishes are superb. Chef Carlos goes out of his way to prepare special requests to perfection.

As always, TCG/Rosemont keeps setting high standards. Consistency and dedication to customers are indicative of TCG's dedication to its customers.

Please, see that Monica and Chef Carlos are commended for their commitment and attention.

Sincerely

Gil & Laura Perez

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was wonderful, food was also gre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service was wonderful, food was also great. My daughter and I had a fantastic thanksgiving meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food and drinks are always amazing!! Su ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Food and drinks are always amazing!! Super friendly staff! Frequent customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent location and dining experience ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent location and dining experience for either a private function or a business lunch or dinner.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.