About The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont

5340 North River Road
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Balmoral Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-8125

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Natasha Vitti

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Business Meals (44)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Romantic (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Cozy (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Great for Lunch (12)
Private Room (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (0)
Great for Outdoor Dining (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was well prepared and service was g ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was well prepared and service was good with one major exception. Our waiter was helpful and attentive, however, two items were brought to our table and put on our bill without having been ordered. I mentioned to the waiter that the Brussels sprouts looked good but I didn't explicitly order them. When the waiter asked if we wanted two plates of oysters, he was told that one order would be fine but we would order more if we needed to. They then both simply showed up. Because it was a business dinner, having to flag down the waiter and give him an explanation was awkward. I have not had this happen before and I have to think that the wait staff at this restaurant wouldn't ordinarily make this kind of mistake. Will probably make a different dining choice next time

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

All I can say is OUTSTANDING...From the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

All I can say is OUTSTANDING...From the second we walked in, to the second we left!!! Food was superb!!! Service....Impeccable!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has quickly become my favorite rest ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

This has quickly become my favorite restaurant. The food is great, and the service is AMAZING! The staff was friendly, attentive and made sure that we were 100% satisfied.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was not the best for capital ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Our service was not the best for capital grills normal. My wife's and my wedge salad was the core and the nasty part we could. It eat. Chilean seabass was awesome as always .

Large group next to us that took over the place we could not even talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was abostley superb, as was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was abostley superb, as was the food. Loved the ipad to make wine selection. The cost of our full tab was shockingly expensive. The wine prices seemed high.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Simple wonderful.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Simple wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ordinary steak house,

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Ordinary steak house,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service and staff and amazing food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and staff and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was very nice and attentive. Sh ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Waitress was very nice and attentive. She brought a birthday treat when we told her it was my husbands birthday.

I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the capital grille for special o ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love the capital grille for special occasions and also for casual dining. Everyone there is so attentive and courteous.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks our food and service was outstan ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Thanks our food and service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic but it was the se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was fantastic but it was the service that really stood out

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food quality was exceptional and wel ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food quality was exceptional and well-exceeded our expectations. Our server was very accommodating as we needed to be through our meal quickly to attend a concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Capital grill consistently provides good ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Capital grill consistently provides good food and service. Lots of space between tables gives you room to enjoy your meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week. Got sat right by the k ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Restaurant week. Got sat right by the kitchen and it was very loud. Our waiter was very cheesy/fake and the valet was slow. Good was very good tho

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was a rocky start. Had 7:15 reservati ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It was a rocky start. Had 7:15 reservations and we were seated at 7:45. I typically don't miss no waiting but half hour, especially it was only 40 minutes wait without reservations.

I will say the server made up for it! He rocked and was great. Food was great.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten here at least a dozen time ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We have eaten here at least a dozen times and it's been great. Very poor experience this and last time. Steak quality was poor and over cooked. Service was slow and forgot dessert. Waited 15 minutes fir the valet. Will not be back.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food great service really nice atm ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food great service really nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent but missed the birthday celebrati ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Decent but missed the birthday celebration in my reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

great service from the moment we walked. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

great service from the moment we walked. Abby called during the day to confirm and asked if we were celebrating anything special. We were celebrating an anniversary with some friends. I didn't think anything about it until they walked us to our table and they had decorated the table with little confetti hearts and a hand written note wishing us a happy anniversary. Our waiter immediately brought out Champaign for the table. Nice touch. it was restaurant week so we had the regular menu and a $33 prix fix menu (or some selections were a $10 up charge) it was a great great selection , but a couple of us upgraded to a bone in strip. I don't think there is anywhere that this quality of meat for $44 in Chicago. it was that good. we did stat with a appetizer off the menu of tuna tartar. then included in the restaurant week menu was salad ( we had a couple cesars and a couple bacon-blue cheese wedge). main courses were excellent and desert was great. we had both a flourless chocolate cake and a cheese cake both excellent. great meal all around...they definitely had their a-game! can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best value offered during C ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Probably the best value offered during Chicago Restaurant Week; just $33 for a steak, side dish, soup/salad and dessert. Most competitors charge $44 for a 3-course dinner during CRW, with a smaller steak. So I was happy to add on a Lobster Tail for $10, and everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is only as good as the service. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food is only as good as the service. And the service was fantastic. Entire staff is very friendly and vigilant to your needs. You get what you paid for, and although prices are on the higher side, the food is well worth it. Some of the best steak I've ever had! Cocktails are a bit pricey but my girl was feeling "good" after the first one. ;)

Amazing food, amazing service, for an amazing night! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service always great food. A visit ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service always great food. A visit from the Som and my evening was complete.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant! The food is amaz ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My favorite restaurant! The food is amazing. The filet mignon was delicious and tender.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At first they had us seated in the loung ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

At first they had us seated in the lounge. It was way too noisy and for our first meal there and with my family we wantd a quieter place to enjoy our dinner. When asked to move us the head lady at the front looked annoyed. She did move us but gave me the impression she was not happy with us. Other than that the dinner was superb!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week menu is such an unbeliev ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Restaurant week menu is such an unbelievably great deal!! So much great food for the money.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, , Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. They used to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent food and service. They used to take a complementary picture of you for a special occasion (it was my birthday) and give it to you in a pretty card but they didn't this time. That should be brought back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Looked forward to a good steak. Ordered ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Looked forward to a good steak. Ordered it medium rare and it was served medium well. Highly disappointed but did not complain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place with delicious food. Our ser ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great place with delicious food. Our server was so friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Took advantage of the restaurant week menu, amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our Restaurant Week lunch tod ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We enjoyed our Restaurant Week lunch today. The food was delicious (especially my burger with truffle fries) and our server, Sarah, was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our feed was very good. Great meal. St ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Our feed was very good. Great meal. Steak was prepared as requested. Salad was crisp and cold. Service good. Price good. Everything was great except the house merlot was pretty bad. I wouldn't recommend that... go another direction there :)

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was fabulous as was the service! A ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was fabulous as was the service! All around A Plus!

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, , Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Healthy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for dinner. Ended up just sit ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Went here for dinner. Ended up just sitting at the bar. Food and service great as always.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I dine here a lot and wan ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My husband and I dine here a lot and wanted to start restaurant week off here since we do love the food and the service.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff at Capital Grille Rosemont was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The staff at Capital Grille Rosemont was top notch from the valet parking team, front desk to our attentive and knowledgeable server Keith. We will be coming back.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as usual and our server Dave is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Amazing as usual and our server Dave is the absolute best!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Capital Grill f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My husband and I went to Capital Grill for Restaurant Week. The food was excellent and Sean Murphy, our server, was attentive, friendly and well versed on the menu. My strip steak was superb and my hubby had the beef tenderloin. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week special menu My third vi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Restaurant week special menu

My third visit and a major disappointment. Steaks were ordinary, perhaps cheaper cut was offered to maintain profit?

Waiter was clearly new and too eager.

Manager on the floor did very well almost saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

Went for a birthday during restaurant we ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Went for a birthday during restaurant week in Chicago. Great special pricing that included all courses. Fabulous food and service at special pricing what's not to like. I especially liked the augratin potatoes. Restaurant week in Chicago is a good time to try new places. I would recommend Capital Grill but would be prepared to pay a higher bill when they are not having a special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Capital Grille - Rosemont was amazing. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Capital Grille - Rosemont was amazing. My family celebrated a birthday there and the staff was outstanding! They wished my sister a happy birthday and even brought out complimentary champagne as well as dessert with candles. The food was delicious and our steaks were all cooked perfectly. It was a great time and we will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.