About The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5340 North River Road
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Balmoral Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-8125

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Natasha Vitti

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Good for Birthdays (42)
Business Meals (41)
Notable Wine List (27)
Romantic (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Cozy (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Private Room (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Casual (8)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (6)
People Watching (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Authentic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (0)
Live Sports (0)
Great for Outdoor Dining (0)
Scenic View (0)
Sort By:
S
1474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and food was great. A bit loud for communicating with a larger group of folks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

I took my mom and sister inlaw here on Friday night it was our first time trying this restaurant and he heard good things about the restaurant from friends. We celebrated my mom's birthday the three of us had a great time. we told our waiter it was my mom's birthday he surprised her and we all took a group picture together. he was the best server I'd ever had he was very helpful and sweet to my mom. made the special day even better. The food was outstanding we loved everything. If you really like Oysters I definitely recommend getting them here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Private Room, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I always have a good experience here. Good food, good, friendly service and nice atmosphere. It's not too loud - I feel like I can carry on a conversation without shouting. The menu choices are varied, maybe a little pricey, but seems worth it. Also, the bartender made me a good old-fashioned.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Party of 6 friends for dinner, all ordered the porcini rubbed bone-in ribeye...6 clean bones sent back to the kitchen! Delicious and Outstanding. Javier (main server) was efficient, but still let us enjoy the dining experience. It was a Friday night, during the first weekend of the Men's NCAA Basketball tournament so it was quite loud at our 6:45 pm reservation. Otherwise the Capital Grille-Rosemont delivered the experience you would expect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went to the restaurant for my parents birthday. Our waiter Aaron was amazing. He was very attentive and made the occasion very special. He took a group picture of us and printed 4 copies. We had our own private room and champagne on the house. It was a memorable experience.
Thank you

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We have been to this restaurant multiple times and we are always pleased with our experience. The food is amazing, the service is outstanding, and the whole experience is hard to beat. This is where we go every year for birthdays or anniversary. Capital Grille has always been one of our favorite restaurants, and this location is no exception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service was excellent and the food was wonderful our server was Monica and she was very attentive,we will definitely be back

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

i am ALWAYS pleased with the Capital Grille experience. the food is wonderful.the ambiance is comfortable & homey, the service is superb! one can't go wrong dining at any of the Capital Grilles in this area!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My son's bday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our waiter Mark provided excellent service. He was very attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Third and last time I will go here, I always have a reservation, and always get seated 45 minutes later. Food is too expensive and worse every time I go. Filet came raw, and ordered Medium, place is too noisy. $9 for ice cream, really?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was perfection as always. Service was wonderful. The only thing I didn't care for was the waiter handing me an iPad for the wine list. Other than that everything was wonderful!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We have not had dinner at The Capital Grille in years, only cocktails. What a pleasant surprise, dinner was amazing. And, the service was astonishing. We will definitely be back for dinner, and add this restaurant to our rotation of restaurants.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Took over 30 minutes to get our table when I had reservations. First time this has happened. Not happy about that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Capitol grille is a favorite. This one did not disappoint. Very solid meal. A little costly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We experienced slow service, dry beef, and the best service came from the bus boy serving coffee. We paid almost $100 for two filets which were served dry and were cooked and then reheated at the requested steak preparedness. It was obvious the kitchen was not well organized to handle a room full of diners. Even the desserts were served late and the is no excuse for a delayed in serving simple desserts - the real profit area of a restuarant. Drinks were priced at the market, however on the small side.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

David was our waiter. He gave exceptional service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We celebrated my husbands 40th birthday here at Capital Grille. Our table was decorated with beautiful, fun, confetti and a hand written card to celebrate the occasion. We were greeted with champagne and they made a "kiddy" champagne for our daughter so she could toast with us as well, I thought that was very thoughtful. The food was fabulous. Our server (Giovanni) was attentive, efficient, and well spoken. He gave us quick, simple suggestions and was not intrusive at all. The food was outstanding!! My husband was presented with a lovely dessert plate which had been decorated to end his birthday celebration dinner. We absolutely had a wonderful time!!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent service and food. We celebrate birthdays and anniversary's and always enjoy ourselves. The staff is great and make you feel special. The porcini rubbed rib-eye is fantastic as well as the lobster mac and cheese. Two thumbs up Capital Grille!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our food was delicious and the service was outstanding. My husband had filet oscar. It was done to perfection and delicious. I had Chilean sea bass. It was like butter. It's my favorite fish and it was prepared perfectly. Our waiter was attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was well prepared and service was good with one major exception. Our waiter was helpful and attentive, however, two items were brought to our table and put on our bill without having been ordered. I mentioned to the waiter that the Brussels sprouts looked good but I didn't explicitly order them. When the waiter asked if we wanted two plates of oysters, he was told that one order would be fine but we would order more if we needed to. They then both simply showed up. Because it was a business dinner, having to flag down the waiter and give him an explanation was awkward. I have not had this happen before and I have to think that the wait staff at this restaurant wouldn't ordinarily make this kind of mistake. Will probably make a different dining choice next time

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

All I can say is OUTSTANDING...From the second we walked in, to the second we left!!! Food was superb!!! Service....Impeccable!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This has quickly become my favorite restaurant. The food is great, and the service is AMAZING! The staff was friendly, attentive and made sure that we were 100% satisfied.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our service was not the best for capital grills normal. My wife's and my wedge salad was the core and the nasty part we could. It eat. Chilean seabass was awesome as always .

Large group next to us that took over the place we could not even talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was abostley superb, as was the food. Loved the ipad to make wine selection. The cost of our full tab was shockingly expensive. The wine prices seemed high.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Simple wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ordinary steak house,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service and staff and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Waitress was very nice and attentive. She brought a birthday treat when we told her it was my husbands birthday.
I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love the capital grille for special occasions and also for casual dining. Everyone there is so attentive and courteous.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Thanks our food and service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was fantastic but it was the service that really stood out

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food quality was exceptional and well-exceeded our expectations. Our server was very accommodating as we needed to be through our meal quickly to attend a concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Capital grill consistently provides good food and service. Lots of space between tables gives you room to enjoy your meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Restaurant week. Got sat right by the kitchen and it was very loud. Our waiter was very cheesy/fake and the valet was slow. Good was very good tho

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It was a rocky start. Had 7:15 reservations and we were seated at 7:45. I typically don't miss no waiting but half hour, especially it was only 40 minutes wait without reservations.

I will say the server made up for it! He rocked and was great. Food was great.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We have eaten here at least a dozen times and it's been great. Very poor experience this and last time. Steak quality was poor and over cooked. Service was slow and forgot dessert. Waited 15 minutes fir the valet. Will not be back.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food great service really nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Decent but missed the birthday celebration in my reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

great service from the moment we walked. Abby called during the day to confirm and asked if we were celebrating anything special. We were celebrating an anniversary with some friends. I didn't think anything about it until they walked us to our table and they had decorated the table with little confetti hearts and a hand written note wishing us a happy anniversary. Our waiter immediately brought out Champaign for the table. Nice touch. it was restaurant week so we had the regular menu and a $33 prix fix menu (or some selections were a $10 up charge) it was a great great selection , but a couple of us upgraded to a bone in strip. I don't think there is anywhere that this quality of meat for $44 in Chicago. it was that good. we did stat with a appetizer off the menu of tuna tartar. then included in the restaurant week menu was salad ( we had a couple cesars and a couple bacon-blue cheese wedge). main courses were excellent and desert was great. we had both a flourless chocolate cake and a cheese cake both excellent. great meal all around...they definitely had their a-game! can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.