About The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5340 North River Road
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Balmoral Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-8125

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Carlos Ortiz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Business Meals (31)
Good for Birthdays (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

The steak I ordered came out prefect, but my French onion soup was burnt. No one came by to ask me . When we ordered desert and then got the bill, they said sorry about the French onion soup, the desert is on us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The dining experience was superb!
The service we received from Gio was tremendous! Gino's attention to detail is uncanny. Our dinner was prepared to perfection and the entire staff goes out of their way to please every patron.

Thank you, TCG, for selecting the right caliber of management such as Mike Sullivan to be at the helm of this great operation.
Sincerely,

Gil & Laura Perez

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great place for classic steaks and grill dinning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Not what was expected. After waiting 29 minutes for a table against a confirmed reservation, the best they could offer was a table in the bar next to the front door. The halibut was way over cooked, like a swordfish steak. And the "find" of a 92 rated Cabernet at $40 was actually a $15.99 bottle at Total Wine. I get that a markup is usually, but that is a rip off.
Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great food and service. I wish there were a few more special opportunities for lower cost options. The food is really expensive. I love the summer wine promotion. Will be back just for this!! Great idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

TJ took care of us and was the consumate host, tending to every one of our needs.. He definitely enhanced our experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our third experience at this location and it was outstanding. Food was excellent, wine choices were wonderful and the service provided by Mark was exceptional. He was attentive without hovering, and was knowledgeable about menu offerings. His personable service really put this excellent meal over the top.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We booked at the last minute but we did specify that was our anniversary. However, we did tell the greater and even our server, but we didn't even get a congratulations from anyone. A table next door was celebreting their anniversary. Our server recommended the halibut, which was actually atrocious (it was dry and tasteless like an average a piece of frozen fish)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

It was bad and it was expensive and service staff is really more sales than service. Steak over cooked, salad over dressed, fries burnt, wine ridiculously over priced. I left fleeced, kinda sick from too much salt, too much salad dressing and a ruined steak. The bread was good and generous.... $100 per person and we just had a glass of wine each, steak, shared side and a salad. Not coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Out with college friends

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We went here for my Mom's birthday and they went above and beyond in absolutely everyway. Valet, hostess, bartender, server and busser were absolutely amazing. My Mom felt very special and really, really enjoyed our food. The steak was melt in your mouth delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We love the food, the friendly staff and the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My boss and I enjoyed our experience. The sevice was outstanding. Our server, David, was extremely attentive, conscientious about our questions and concerns about the dishes and made very good recommendations. I would definitely schedule another special occasion dinner here. Oh... the cheesecake was superb! Light not too sweet, caramel crust on top... forget about it!!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This was my first visit and it was for a business lunch meeting. The hostess was very professional had me seated promptly even though my guests had not arrived and sent David over to take care of me. David's service was impeccable. My client was 30 minutes late, David took it upon himself to bring me out a sampling of their seasonal soup. He didn't have to do that, it was completely unnecessary but a very welcomed treat. There is no question that I will be returning and I look forward to trying dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent service. Attentiveness to our needs for a party of 11.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

A few mistakes on an appetizer and entree that when brought to waiter and managers attention was rectified. As a regular at Capital Grills do not expect these type of error and one would think with the entree error though rectified this error would have been removed from the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Made a 34th wedding anniversary a special evening!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Elegant decor, attentive wait staff, well informed personnel, great wine selection, steaks were incredible, martinis were well made and ambiance was terrific. Upscale dining, yet comfortable. Our waiter, Mark, was well read, pleasant, great sense of humor and very attentive. Not a hovering entity, he would time his visits to the table so as not to interrupt conversation. The food was prepared exactly as described, flavorful, fresh and nicely appointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our server John was wonderful. Very help

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I dine at Capital Grille quite often. I always have a great experience, with superb service. Except this time, when I'm celebrating my in-laws anniversary. I had to ask for a soft drink 3 times, to finally ask the "bus boy" for one. Our food took forever to come out, and was never acknowledged for the delay. I always get the same dessert (I'm a huge fan of the ice cream). But tonight was charged for two ice creams, and then when I tried to tell the server what I asked for, was basically spoken to as though I was an idiot. I paid the bill (even though he gave the check to my husband) and the server quickly grabbed it from me, dropping my signed copy as he ran away. If this was my first experience at Capital Grille I can tell you I wouldn't go back, and I definitely will not go back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Brian always makes for a special experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Asked for a quiet area away from service prep areas and was led to a table in the highest traffic area of the main dining room. Asked to be relocated to the bar area and was seated next to the door for outside dining. The baked potatoes were cold and my steak was undercooked and my guests steak was over cooked. Wine choices by the glass were very limited and we lost our waiter for 20 minutes at a time.
I have dined at the CG for over 20 years and 30 different locations and this was the worst experience . I will not be returning to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We were put in a private room which was great. We could talk and share our time in a relaxed atmosphere. The food was delicious. We dine here quite frequently though so it was surprising that the server wasn't more familiar with us. Also, when I made the reservation I noted we were celebrating a birthday, but the server seemed unaware of this. Plus, they did not have any of the double chocolate cookies!!! Bring back our cookies! A major disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food was great and the service was better than the food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A wonderful experience of a restaurant doing everything right. The food was excellent, the service was fantastic and our server was refreshingly delightful and personable. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Everything was wonderful - the food, service, conversation, and my date.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

It was my son's 28th birthday and CG had birthday confetti sprinkled on the table! The seared tenderloin and 2 lobster tails special was so delicious, words cannot express. The salmon special was beautifully cooked and was mouth watering. Had to have a few stoli-dolies to complete the meal. CG gave us small ganache cake and cheesecake to celebrate his birthday. A perfect time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was mediocre at best. I have dined in many steak houses and this ranked in the bottom tier of any steak house I have ever been in. Both my steak and my wife's steak were very chewy. Also they claim that dry aged. It had none of that nutty or funky taste a dry aged steak usually has. To add to our disappointment, they seated a family with two young children who misbehaved and cried during most of our meal. That isn't the experience you want when you spend $250 for a dinner. Thanks Capital Grille, we won't be back. Enjoy our money you won't be getting any more if it, hopefully this review prevents others from wasting their money as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Overall had a wonderful dining experience. My husband and I got seated right away, we had a great attentive sever Scott. The food was very good and they even brought us some champagne and dessert to help us celebrate our anniversary. Would recommend this restaurant to my family and friends .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Service in particular was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great celebration for our anniversary
There was a card and rose on our table when we arrived. Beautiful dessert on the house. Service is spot on. Great place for a special occasion. One of our favorites!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great service, great food with wonderful colleagues means a good time. Wonderful experience as usual ...

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Consistently good food and good service. Can always count on a good dining experience at Capital Grille.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Sarah was a fantastic waitress! We will definitely be back soon! Everyone was attentive and I love that they remember my name!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent food, worth the drive. Elegant atmosphere but not stuffy, attentive service. Price point is definitely higher but absolutely worth it for special occasions. Special occasion touches make it feel like they've thought of everything. Would definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had specialty steaks which were both delicious! We had brussel sprouts and au gratin potatoes as the sides. Then we had excellent desserts also. Not on my diet - but great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great place for a business meal that everyone can enjoy

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fabulous bone-in filet with garlic butter. Best steak I've had in awhile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.