About The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont

5340 North River Road
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Balmoral Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-8125

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Natasha Vitti

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cafe Latte - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Cold Shellfish Platter - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico W/15-Year Aged Balsamic - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Steak and Lobster - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Coconut Cream Pie - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Trio Of Handcrafted Ice Creams - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Chocolate Cake - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Espresso - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Wine Cellar - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Lobster Bisque - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Warm Spinach Salad with Bacon - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Filet And Lobster - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Chopped Salad With Chilled Shrimp - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Sliced Filet W/ Mushrooms - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL
Porcini-Rubbed Delmonico Steak W/ 12-Year Aged Balsamic - The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont, Rosemont, IL

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Northwest Suburbs
Best Food
Northwest Suburbs
2 More
Best Service
Northwest Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Rosemont ›

Special Occasion (28)
Business Meals (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (14)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Private Room (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (0)
Sort By:
S
1287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unhappy we were stuck with a table right ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Unhappy we were stuck with a table right by the kitchen

Very noisy and distracting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Our dinner outing last Friday was amazin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our dinner outing last Friday was amazing! Despite of being busy, the staff went out if their way to accommodate us. Monica attended our every request with attention and care. Our dinner, from appetizers to main course we're prepared to oerfection. Chef Carlos' dishes are superb. Chef Carlos goes out of his way to prepare special requests to perfection.

As always, TCG/Rosemont keeps setting high standards. Consistency and dedication to customers are indicative of TCG's dedication to its customers.

Please, see that Monica and Chef Carlos are commended for their commitment and attention.

Sincerely

Gil & Laura Perez

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was wonderful, food was also gre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service was wonderful, food was also great. My daughter and I had a fantastic thanksgiving meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent location and dining experience ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent location and dining experience for either a private function or a business lunch or dinner.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Mark was attentive and profe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our waiter, Mark was attentive and professional.

Everything was fine except that our food was barely warm. The restaurant was half filled, so not super busy. The plates were cool. The quality of the steaks was very good but the fact that our meals were served at a tepid temperature really knocked the whole experience down quite a bit. It was our first experience at the restaurant. Not sure if I would return when something so basic is overlooked.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Went here for our anniversary and the se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Went here for our anniversary and the service was 5 days star and food was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Brian was fantastic. He went ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our waiter Brian was fantastic. He went out of his way to make sure we were happy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the Capital Grille does not di ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

As always the Capital Grille does not disappoint but exceeds your expectations. The steaks and lobster, lobster bisque, wines and desserts are expertly made and presented. Fabulous place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great employees there!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great employees there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our special occasion spot, howev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is our special occasion spot, however this time around, we were a bit disappointed. We made reservations over two weeks in advance and requested a booth, we arrived on time, and were told they were running behind, we had a drink at the bar, then were told that our booth would take more time than they thought, and asked if they could seat us in the bar area, we had plans for after dinner, so we could not really afford to wait additional time, so we endedup sitting in the bar area, not exactly what we had in mind, also as I stated this was a special occasion and for the first time our server did NOT take our picture, we have a picture for every birthday and anniversary we have ever celebrated at Capital Grille, so to be perfectly honest, while our food was excellent, the experience was not what it should have been

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Capital Grille always goes beyond satisf ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Capital Grille always goes beyond satisfying any gourmet food needs. We find our meals consistently great! The wait can be a little long even with a reservation. It's apparent that the restaurant is extremely popular!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service. Server Aaron is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food and service. Server Aaron is outstanding!!! One of our favs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Took my significant other out for his bi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Took my significant other out for his birthday. Our meal was amazing and David our waiter took special care and attention to us for my guys special day. It was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the food and ambiance!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love the food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food & service was excellent! I was ent ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food & service was excellent! I was entertaining customers and they were over the moon with their entrees. It is a meal that leaves a great impression.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was outstanding. The price w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Everything was outstanding. The price will set you back a bit but worth it if you want to impress .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food, service and ambiance. G ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambiance. Good place for business lunch and dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great energy. Great Food! Great Service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great energy. Great Food! Great Service by T!

My dinner party all enjoyed our meals.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille, has given me a reaso ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Capital Grille, has given me a reason to come back each and every single time. (This dinner was a first date) the server was immaculate. Our drinks were made quickly, and the recommendation from the chef was exquisite. I would recommend this to all my friends and family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steaks were cooked perfectly, and excell ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Steaks were cooked perfectly, and excellent service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks - nice side dishes, good wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great steaks - nice side dishes, good wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My husband and I decided to go to the Ca ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2016

My husband and I decided to go to the Capital Grille for our second anniversary and we couldn't be happier with our decision. We were immediately escorted to a quiet table in the corner that was adorned with rose petals and a hand written thank you from Capital Grille for celebrating our anniversary with them and glasses of champagne to start the celebration. The meal was outstanding: lobster and crab cakes, bone in filet, the chef recommended ribeye, lobster mac and cheese (YUM!), and brussel sprouts. Every moment of the meal was better than the previous. To top it all off, we ended the evening with the most delicious cheesecake we have EVER tasted. Highly recommend Capital Grille for any dining experience, but they truly know how to make a special occasion even more memorable!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were really impressed b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

My husband and I were really impressed by how the staff went all out to help us celebrate our anniversary. I would definitely celebrate our next anniversary at the Capital Grill.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the special of the day a steak wit ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I had the special of the day a steak with a bone. I would have been better served getting a big mac! A 3 ounce filet does not cut it with me. TERRIBLE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Outstanding food and service. Waitress ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Waitress was helpful and knowledgeable, pace was excellent. Only possible negative was we waited around 20 minutes for our table despite a reservation, but the bar and bartender were pleasant enough. Would definitely good back again for a special occasion.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Authentic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Capital Grille. Staff is top notch. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Nice Capital Grille. Staff is top notch. Managing Partner, Matthew Verde came out and visiting with me for quite a while and was very helpful and accommodating. I wish I could remember the waiter’s name. He was very good too. Even the hostess at the front was very personable. Capital Grille has done a good job at being consistently good, no matter which of their dining rooms you visit. This one is Rosemont is no exception. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience. Good food and service. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great experience. Good food and service. It was our anniversary and they fussed over us Highly recommend the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

TJ was a wonderful server. He was so fri ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

TJ was a wonderful server. He was so friendly and helpful. I was with my son and we were a little under dressed. But at no time did I feel uncomfortable. The staff was fantastic and made us feel like they were thankful for our business. We'll be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille has always been a favorit ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Capital Grille has always been a favorite. However the last 2 trips to CG have been subpar. Steaks are not nearly the quality they used to be and should be. Darden has a new CEO, I can only assume a cost cutting effort has affected the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

We always have great service and food at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We always have great service and food at this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I made a special request for a birthday ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I made a special request for a birthday and my guest was pleased with the outcome. I ordered a $40+ steak that wasn't as flavorable as one would anticipate for that price. The mash potatoes were also lacking flavor. However, everything else was done well.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and service. Classic ste ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Excellent food and service. Classic steak house with extra high quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been to Capitol Gril many times an ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We've been to Capitol Gril many times and they always deliver. Great service and terrific steaks. If you like Brussels sprouts you have to try theirs. Made with a balsamic glaze. They are the best. Save room for some homemade ice cream. They have different flavors every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food quality and service. J ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Outstanding food quality and service. Jenn was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was over cooked

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Steak was over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I've been to the Rosemont Capital Grille ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I've been to the Rosemont Capital Grille before, however I had poor service once so was a bit gun-shy about booking for an important gathering of international friends. I took a chance, and made sure that I mentioned this when making the reservation, asking that I have a table in the quietest area of the restaurant and a server who would not be pushing me out the door. The Capital Grille listened for sure! I had a fantastic waitstaff, led by Francia Nelson. She not only listened with a good ear for direction, but made all my guests (7) feel special. Further, when Capital Grille phoned to reconfirm my reservation, and I reiterated my need for a quiet location, my party was seated in a closed corner room and Francia turned the music to low. What a wonderful setting for this international group, and the food selection, including a number of specials was fantastic. Our chef stopped in during dessert and our enthusiastic group gave him a round of applause. This was the best reservation I have had here, and all due to the staff really paying attention to my requests and delivering top-notch service and food. I'm definitely back to using The Capital Grille as my "go-to" for all special occasions!

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable experience. Everything was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Unbelievable experience. Everything was perfect. Would highly recommend especially for a special day.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had our anniversary weds n ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2016

My wife and I had our anniversary weds night. The staff were outstanding, food was amazing and they gave my wife and beautiful Rose. We had a great time. We forgot how great Capital Grille was. Looking forward to having dinner there again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The attention to detail, the courteous s ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The attention to detail, the courteous staff, the ambiance.... but the top reason to go is the FOOD! The menu top to bottom is excellent, steaks are definitely the best I have ever had (and I have been to many top steak houses). Enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic birthday celebration dinner st ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fantastic birthday celebration dinner start to finish! Server Scott was professional, fun and helpful. I started with a good salad of greens, pears and spiced walnuts. The bone-in ribeye was a perfect medium rare and asparagus and potato sides a nice accompaniment. My husband enjoyed his Filet Oscar as well. Dessert was a beautiful combination of cheesecake, chocolate mousse cake and berries. Lovely place for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.