About The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont

5340 North River Road
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Balmoral Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-8125

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Natasha Vitti

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cafe Latte
Cold Shellfish Platter
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico W/15-Year Aged Balsamic
Steak and Lobster
Coconut Cream Pie
Trio Of Handcrafted Ice Creams
Chocolate Cake
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico
Wine Cellar
Espresso
Cheesecake
Lobster Bisque
Warm Spinach Salad with Bacon
Filet And Lobster
Creme Brulee
French Onion Soup
Chopped Salad With Chilled Shrimp
Wagyu Burger
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Sliced Filet W/ Mushrooms
Porcini-Rubbed Delmonico Steak W/ 12-Year Aged Balsamic

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:15PM - 10:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Northwest Suburbs
4 More
Best Food
Northwest Suburbs
Best Service
Northwest Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Northwest Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Rosemont ›

Special Occasion (73)
Romantic (43)
Fit for Foodies (38)
See All
Notable Wine List (37)
Good for Groups (30)
Great for Lunch (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our first time here and I will back. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 2 days ago

Our first time here and I will back. The service was exceptional!! Our server Javier was very kind and responsive to any requests. The food was fabulous. The chef and his staff did a superb job. Overall great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. The staff was very ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful experience. The staff was very solicitous. Great for a special evening. Excellent steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality of food was outstanding

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Quality of food was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant and awesome food. Nois ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great restaurant and awesome food. Noise level did get pretty high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Hat's off to Capital Grille. We had a ve ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Hat's off to Capital Grille. We had a vegan with us for a business dinner, so I called ahead and asked if they could accommodate this person's diet. The hostess said not a problem, though I had my doubts. Regardless, we forged ahead and, sure enough, our vegan colleague was more than pleased with what was served, particularly the entree. I've always been pleased by the service at Capital Grille, it's a large reason why I like going to them; this evening's results just further cemented that reputation. Nicely done.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Capital Grille is our place for any spec ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Capital Grille is our place for any special occasion. The staff is wonderful and treat you well each and every time. The food is delicious and the atmosphere is always exceptional. Treat yourself to an evening at the Capital Grille.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I arrived at the restaurant only to be t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I arrived at the restaurant only to be told that my table was committed in about 1.5hrs, so I and my guest would need to be finished by that time. (I'd like to see them pull that with one of their regular customers actually) I was ready to tell them to go pound salt, but didn't want to embarrass my guest. We were seated and ordered our dinner and salads. About half way through our salads, the food delivery waiters started to deliver our meals, but quickly realized we were not done with our salads. Again, my guess is that they were trying to rush us to free the table on time. After they main waiter showed up and fumbled around with some excuses, we just moved our salads to the side and started our main meal not having finished. I travel for business to the Chicago area and frequently to the Tampa, FL area. I have dined many times at the Capitol Grille in Tampa and have never once been treated this poorly. When in Chicago I'll definitely choose a different restaurant from here forward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Went for a birthday. They really did it ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went for a birthday. They really did it up big, yet classy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing dinner and can't wait ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had an amazing dinner and can't wait to go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my sister's birthday. Did ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for my sister's birthday. Did not tell the restaurant but our server noticed her card and gift. Then then arranged for the birthday dessert, photo and glass of champagne for us which was very nice.

As always the food was excellent, service was great and attention to detail present (I rate restaurants by whether or not they notice that you need more ice water with you being asked about it - and they do at Capital Grille).

We will definitely be returning for other special occasions.

Also- the summer lunch menu had very nice choices and I enjoyed one of the specials. The watermelon-tomato-arugala salad was very very good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food. Wish I could afford to eat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food. Wish I could afford to eat here every week

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was great and our server was aw ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was great and our server was awesome! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it as,usual great service and food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loved it as,usual great service and food was delicious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great meal great service. A wond ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

What a great meal great service. A wonderful birthday outing

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have always enjoyed Capital Grille and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I have always enjoyed Capital Grille and especially the Rosemont location over the others in the area. I love the ribeye with the aged balsamic, but thought to get the sliced Filet with Cippolini onions and mushrooms and was very disappointed. The Steak had very little flavor and not what I am accustomed too at the Capital Grille. Not to mention the Lobster Bisque was off and wasn't as good as it has been in the past.

Of course the lobster mac did not disappoint and we love the new wine program.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

The host was unwelcoming. Had a reservat ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The host was unwelcoming. Had a reservation decided to sit in the bar area since there were people there instead of the main dining room. The host cancelled my reservation and acted like he didn't know about how open tables's point system worked and made a snarky comment about me wanting my open table points.

We sat at the bar for a while before we were acknowledged. Didn't even want to eat anymore so we ordered a bottle of wine. One and done. There are way better options in Rosemont that make you feel

Appreciated as a guest and give you a better experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

From the service to the scrumptious dish ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

From the service to the scrumptious dishes everything was superb! A special thank you to our server, Bridget for her attention to details. We had a most enjoyable evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unfortunately I was unprepared for the c ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Unfortunately I was unprepared for the cost of average food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Unfortunately, the guests at our table w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Unfortunately, the guests at our table who ordered steak were not satisfied with the quality of the meats or the taste. For those of us who ordered seafood and lamb chops, we were very pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We celebrated our wedding anniversary an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and it was as anticipated--a fantastic dinner! We had the bone in filets with the Brussels sprouts -- awesome!! The evening started off with a glass of complementary sparkling wine and ended with a decadent dessert! A rose and photo were also included.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and I sat at the outdoor patio a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My wife and I sat at the outdoor patio and the ambiance was perfect. Our server Jessica was a gracious host and she was extremely courteous and helpful. After a thorough review of the menu, my wife needed help deciding and Jessica pointed her to wards the Sea Bass, which turned out to be a wonderful choice. We will absolutely return here again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We visited with my parents for their 65t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We visited with my parents for their 65th wedding anniversary and the staff was wonderful. They took a picture, had a card on the table and served desserts on an "Anniversary" platter. The food was as good as usual, so all in all a great time.

Tags: Romance, Special Occasions, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Always a pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice always great ! Never had a bad ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very nice always great !

Never had a bad meal or experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

TCG/Rosemont is just amazing! Upon enter ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

TCG/Rosemont is just amazing! Upon entering you're greeted like royalty. The lounge is always on target and food is succulent. Our thanks to Gio for his extraordinary service and attention and to Matt for running ensuring the best service ever!

Sincerely.

Gil & Laura Perez

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little on the $$ side have had meals a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A little on the $$ side have had meals at similar places for a bit less.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We made reservations for an anniversary ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We made reservations for an anniversary dinner and when we arrived, were promptly seated. Our server was David H., he was spectacular, attention to details was his specialty, aside from knowing the menu inside and out, he thoroughly discussed the “endless pour” option. We ended up going with it and it was very good, he had knowledge of all the wines, made great recommendations. We enjoyed a leisurely two and a half hour diner and were never rushed out at all. I would highly recommend the Capital Grille Rosemont and make sure you request David for your server, it will make the experience that much better. His career is in hospitality and it certainly showed, no disappointments.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought my elderly mother here for a ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We brought my elderly mother here for a special treat/birthday dinner. We all were very satisfied with our meals. The staff was very accommodating towards my mother and she was felt very honored.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice evening- steaks were all over cooke ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Nice evening- steaks were all over cooked which is really unacceptable. Great service, wonderful business dinner Restaurant. Bad kitchen night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Amazing, delicious and special

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing, delicious and special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am a frequent diner at the Capital Gri ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I am a frequent diner at the Capital Grille. I've never been disappointed in either the food or service.

I do not eat beef; however, I've always enjoyed the seafood. I do wish they would expand their choices of seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third visit to this restaur ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was our third visit to this restaurant; we went there for a birthday celebration, which we informed them on booking. They did low key decoration at the table and a personalized birthday card, which was very special. The food was outstanding on previous visits and this time was as good or better. The waitress we had was exceptional, she made great recommendations and made the dinner very special for us. Very consistent and outstanding food, this will always be our special occasion restaurant. If it was less expensive, we'd go more often, but I can't imagine how that would be possible with the level of service and the quality of food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was there for a very important busines ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I was there for a very important business meeting. We arrived 15 minutes early and sat in the bar area and had drinks. Our table was ready on time and we were escorted to the table in good time. We requested a nice table in a quieter section of the restaurant and we were not disappointed. The ambiance here is perfect for dinner meetings. In addition, the menu is always excellent and each time I return, I see something new. The waiter took our drink order - and by the way, the wine selection is superb! Throughout the evening, the staff attended to our every request and they were also not intrusive - - so that allowed us to conduct our business meeting without interruptions. There was a very good pace to the dinner, and no dirty dishes were left laying on the table very long.... We were able to finish our business dinner and enjoy the evening at the same time. This is one of my favorite restaurants - especially if I need a location near the airport. It is easy to get to, and my colleagues and I enjoy this venue. We have even help company events here and utilized the private dining space as well. The menu options are numerous and the service is always excellent. I only wish there were more locations near our corporate office..... Still, we will continue to frequent this upscale restaurant whenever we can and will enjoy the sophisticated atmosphere, the great service staff, and the wonderful selections of wine. We are fortunate to have such a reputable establishment that we can count on for our business dinners and corporate events. I know that the staff there will do what is needed to make the event go smoothly and assist in any way that they can do ensure that the customer is more than happy with the entire dining experience. I have also dined at The Capital Grille with my family and have enjoyed it very much. Whether you dine here for business reasons or privately, it is always a special event. The attention to detail here- excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak house. Never did we feel ru ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great steak house.

Never did we feel rushed.

The food was prepared perfectly. The service was attentive.

Five stars all the way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect as expected. The food and servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Perfect as expected. The food and service were right in!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We have been to Capital Grill in Rosemon ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have been to Capital Grill in Rosemont numerous time and have never been disappointed. This time we ordered the Chefs special Fillet In Anjo and wine reduction. It was so tender you could cut it with a fork. Yum!! On the side we had the Brussel Sprouts and lobster Mac n Cheese. Couple that with a few cold glasses of beer and you have. Couple happy humans. Alexandria was our waitress and she was too notch. I would highly recommend Capital Grill. Not cheap but worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was unbelievable. Very atte ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The service was unbelievable. Very attentive but at perfect times...not too much, not too little. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a surprise! Celebrated husband's b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

What a surprise! Celebrated husband's birthday. Restaurant provided a bday card at the table. And server took photo with dessert....presenting a printed copy at the end of the meal.

Food was superb along with service (attentive without hovering)

Definitely worth a return visit for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.