About The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

5340 North River Road
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Balmoral Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-8125

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Carlos Ortiz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Business Meals (28)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Romantic (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Cozy (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I made reservations to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. David was our waiter and Lilly was his assistant. They were right on point with their service and David helped out with suggestions from the menu. The bone-in ribeye was to die for. Melts in your mouth. A wedge salad and sides of Brussel sprouts and mashed potatoes rounded out a perfect dinner on a perfect night with the perfect woman.
The restaurant set the table with rose petals, heart decorations and a letter signed by the manager in celebration of our anniversary.
They sent over a complimentary dessert with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, unique dishes, and amazing service, but a little too noisy for a business lunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Top notch service and overall dining experience. A bit loud for a date nite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Capital Grille is usually pretty consistent but my steak was undercooked, vegetables were overlooked and it was very loud. We were hoping to visit which was impossible. Ok but for the price would hope for better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I made reservations here to celebrate a new job and let the staff know. They really went above and beyond to take recognition of the event. The personal touches were really a wonderful surprise! Additionally, I left my cell phone in the car when I dropped it with the valet and he was nice enough to bring it in and ask if I wanted it with me. So thoughtful and professional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My lady needed a nice evening out and a good meal with quality service. Capitol grill Rosemont delivered. From drinks in the bar to excellent food and service and complimentary valet service for diners, it was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

food was fabulous...service was the best...we had an excellent time!!!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Long wait times for service. Guest were left playing muscucal plates and trading dishes. Medium rare dry aged strip was medium well and had to be redone and it tasted like a strip steak from my local market. Disappointing for $460.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We love coming to The Capital Grille often for their delicious food, excellent service and the awesome ambience. They always seem surprise us and delight us with their amazing service!!! We love it and have recommended to many friends and family.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great Dinner With Friends. Service & Food was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner. The staff was extremely accommodating. Every effort and detail was made to provide a special experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

An excellent meal. Good wine recommendations. Attentive but discreet service. Food was fantastic but pricey. Enjoyed the iPad wine list. As the restaurant was not crowded the noise level was very low. Coconut cream pie was amazing - never liked them until I tried this one. Brussel sprouts were the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Best steak in the Chicago area. Excellent wine by the glass.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Excellent service and food! We will always come here for celebrations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

40th Wedding Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Everything was superb. Steaks perfectly prepared ... the family eats meat from medium rare to well done, and all were done perfectly. The hat lava cake was the best I ever had.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Romantic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We took advantage of the offer for The Wine tasting; 7 pours of wines over 90 points. They paired beautifully with our transition from the iron skillet garlic shrimp appetizer to the salad and the tenderloin with lobster tail. Food was cooked to perfection. We ate in the lounge and Nicole was very busy but took excellent care of our table. Outstanding experience and would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We have eaten here many times but tonight was outstanding. The filet was charred nicely on the outside while tender on the inside. The grilled asparagus were amazing tonight; more flavor than usual that made them pop in your mouth. We love Capital Grill and look forward to our next dinner with them. Out waiter Mark was exceptional as well! Well done Capital Grill! Well done!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I was in Rosemont for the Wizard Wold Comic Con, stopped here for spontaneous solo dining, treated very well, got a great table by the window with a view of the whole dining room. I had the Generous Pour deal, $28 for seven wines with WS scores of 90+ , from California/Oregon vineyards (Kendall-Jackson brands), all traditional French styles. Servers were attentive but not pushy. All the food was excellent - I had Bluepoint oysters on the half-shell, crab-lobster cakes with Rémoulade, filet Mignon with Bearnaise sauce. The server, Brian, and the managers were on top of things, personable and professional. As a bonus there were a few celebrities from the conference having dinner as well (Kevin Sorbo, Danny Tejo, etc.).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Overall a very disappointing experience. Steaks were bland and overcooked. Ahi tuna tartare smelled funky. Scallops were very average. This place has gone way downhill. For the price, which is a lot, it should've been much, much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Fabulous, ask for T. He is an amazing server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We went to Capital Grill for our anniversary. We were treated very well. The food was delicious and the service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

It was our Anniversary and the restaurant was excellent in preparing the table, providing us a drink to toast each other and a dessert. The entire staff was congratulatory to us and was so friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food is consistently goodand the atmosphere is remarkably good for such a busy place. Always try to eat at a Capital Grille when available.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Always outstanding! The wine selection is quite extensive. The service was flawless. All choices are excellent, but I will order the lobster bisque every time I go.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food and service was amazing! The Kona rub on the steak was the best seasoning I have ever eaten. The coconut cream pie was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Had lunch at the Capital Grille for my sister's birthday. Excellent as always. The food is very good, the service is excellent. We go there regularly for special occasions and have never been disappointed. We were even discussing making some other occasion special just to have another reason to go there.

Will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Professional+++ Everyone is so well schooled in hospitality and putting the customer FIRST. Our waitress, Carol, went over the top. We were with our best friends celebrating our 49th and their 45th Anniversaries. Although we brought wines with us, we opted to just drink our Champagne and took their "Generous Pour" promotion: all the wine you can drink of 10 different excellent wines for $28/pp. And she comped the $25 corkage on our Champagne!!
To the food: excellent steaks, however the next time I will avoid any of the 'special' preparations and just get the steak plain with perhaps some Béarnaise sauce. I had the Gorgonzola/Truffle topping on my strip steak. Not as good as I had hoped. The meat was very tender and flavorful, and I just scraped the topping off. The "Foie gras creme brûlée" was recommended "if you like foie gras". However it was more Creme Brûlée than Foie gras. The others loved their steaks as well, and my wife had excellent sea scallops over a rich polenta preparation.
The Topper was when they brought us two trays, each with two different desserts. The trays spelled out "Happy 45th Anniversary" (and "49th") in chocolate. Complete surprise by the restaurant!! and I didn't mention that the white tablecloth was sprinkled with metallic gold and red hearts. An amazing experience with genuinely attentive service from everyone of the staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything was on point. The asparagus was overcooked but everything else was amazing. The staff was amazing as well. Great wine and great ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was our anniversary and we decided to dine at The Capital Grille in Rosemont. We arrived at the table where there was a rose and a card. Inside was a handwritten message wishing us a happy anniversary. The food was amazing. Our waitress, Alex, was the best. We even had a dessert and two glasses of champagne brought to us to end the night. It was above and beyond ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

While the food here is always good and the location convenient, the real value is if you're lucky enough to have Dave Heidorn as your waiter. Attentive, personable, knowledgeable, he elevates a nice dinner to a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The wine event was great! I have eaten at other Capital Grills, and the food at this location wasn't the same. Is the quality lower because it is an airport/hotel restaurant?

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Have never been disappointed ... Great service, food and vibe !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Best place for celebrating. Extra touches like a greeting card & confetti on tabletop. Menu has something for everyone's taste. It's our go-to place for something extra special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We celebrate our wedding anniversary there every year since we experienced it a few years back with our son and his wife. It's wonderful!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Consistent with other Capital Grille locations I have been to. However, the New York Strip was average at best. It was cooked to the right temperature but a bit chewey and had little taste. The wait staff was appropriately attentive and helpful. It was rather busy for a Monday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This was the very best experience I have ever had at a restaurant. Upon arrival, we were greeted by all. Very friendly and accomodating staff. Our waiter, Milton, was exceptional. Our food was excellent and served hot. As I said, this was the best ending I have ever had while dining. Highly recommend and I will return. Thank you Milton and The Capital Grille!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Server was friendly and efficient, food was excellent but the place is very noisy and feels jumbled. The Capital Grille downtown on St Clair has much nicer atmosphere and ambience. I feel like it's a $100+ evening while this Grille (at O'Hare) was for tourists, travelers & expense accounts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.