About The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont

5340 North River Road
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Balmoral Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-8125

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Natasha Vitti

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Trio Of Handcrafted Ice Creams
Coconut Cream Pie
Cafe Latte
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico W/15-Year Aged Balsamic
Steak and Lobster
Cold Shellfish Platter
Chocolate Cake
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico
Wine Cellar
Espresso
Cheesecake
Lobster Bisque
Warm Spinach Salad with Bacon
Filet And Lobster
Creme Brulee
French Onion Soup
Chopped Salad With Chilled Shrimp
Maine Lobster Roll
Wagyu Burger
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Lobster Pot Pie
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Sliced Filet W/ Mushrooms
Porcini-Rubbed Delmonico Steak W/ 12-Year Aged Balsamic

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:15PM - 10:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Best Ambiance
Northwest Suburbs
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Rosemont ›

special occasion (80)
romantic (45)
fit for foodies (42)
See All
good for groups (37)
notable wine list (36)
great for lunch (25)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing, delicious and special

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing, delicious and special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am a frequent diner at the Capital Gri ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

I am a frequent diner at the Capital Grille. I've never been disappointed in either the food or service.

I do not eat beef; however, I've always enjoyed the seafood. I do wish they would expand their choices of seafood.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third visit to this restaur ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our third visit to this restaurant; we went there for a birthday celebration, which we informed them on booking. They did low key decoration at the table and a personalized birthday card, which was very special. The food was outstanding on previous visits and this time was as good or better. The waitress we had was exceptional, she made great recommendations and made the dinner very special for us. Very consistent and outstanding food, this will always be our special occasion restaurant. If it was less expensive, we'd go more often, but I can't imagine how that would be possible with the level of service and the quality of food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was there for a very important busines ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I was there for a very important business meeting. We arrived 15 minutes early and sat in the bar area and had drinks. Our table was ready on time and we were escorted to the table in good time. We requested a nice table in a quieter section of the restaurant and we were not disappointed. The ambiance here is perfect for dinner meetings. In addition, the menu is always excellent and each time I return, I see something new. The waiter took our drink order - and by the way, the wine selection is superb! Throughout the evening, the staff attended to our every request and they were also not intrusive - - so that allowed us to conduct our business meeting without interruptions. There was a very good pace to the dinner, and no dirty dishes were left laying on the table very long.... We were able to finish our business dinner and enjoy the evening at the same time. This is one of my favorite restaurants - especially if I need a location near the airport. It is easy to get to, and my colleagues and I enjoy this venue. We have even help company events here and utilized the private dining space as well. The menu options are numerous and the service is always excellent. I only wish there were more locations near our corporate office..... Still, we will continue to frequent this upscale restaurant whenever we can and will enjoy the sophisticated atmosphere, the great service staff, and the wonderful selections of wine. We are fortunate to have such a reputable establishment that we can count on for our business dinners and corporate events. I know that the staff there will do what is needed to make the event go smoothly and assist in any way that they can do ensure that the customer is more than happy with the entire dining experience. I have also dined at The Capital Grille with my family and have enjoyed it very much. Whether you dine here for business reasons or privately, it is always a special event. The attention to detail here- excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak house. Never did we feel ru ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great steak house.

Never did we feel rushed.

The food was prepared perfectly. The service was attentive.

Five stars all the way.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect as expected. The food and servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Perfect as expected. The food and service were right in!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We have been to Capital Grill in Rosemon ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have been to Capital Grill in Rosemont numerous time and have never been disappointed. This time we ordered the Chefs special Fillet In Anjo and wine reduction. It was so tender you could cut it with a fork. Yum!! On the side we had the Brussel Sprouts and lobster Mac n Cheese. Couple that with a few cold glasses of beer and you have. Couple happy humans. Alexandria was our waitress and she was too notch. I would highly recommend Capital Grill. Not cheap but worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was unbelievable. Very atte ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The service was unbelievable. Very attentive but at perfect times...not too much, not too little. Will definitely go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a surprise! Celebrated husband's b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

What a surprise! Celebrated husband's birthday. Restaurant provided a bday card at the table. And server took photo with dessert....presenting a printed copy at the end of the meal.

Food was superb along with service (attentive without hovering)

Definitely worth a return visit for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening at a wonderful restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great evening at a wonderful restaurant . The host and hostess were very helpful with my 88 year old mother. They were so accommodating since she was with a walker. The food was outstanding. The chef sent us an amazing special gourmet appetizer that was spectacular. The wine was outstanding !! Our waiter Scott Schafer was so professional and prompt . He really new the wine so well we had a great educational experience . The manager ( his name started with M and last name with a V, sorry could not remember) stopped and spoke with us and gave special attention to our mother. This was beyond exceptional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our anniversary and were blo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We went for our anniversary and were blown away by the details and extra attention we received. From walking in the door hearing happy anniversary from the host, cars from staff on table, rose petals and long stemmed rose, special dessert--to walking out and valet saying happy anniversary was really impressive. our server, Sara was really accommodating and I would recommend asking to be seated in her area of you go. And that's before the food which was incredible! Tuna tartare, lobster bisque, Caesar salad, porterhouse med rare and perfect according to hubs and salmon for me---loved every bite. We took most home as we were full after soup (me) and salad (hubs). Capital grille is thee place to go for a special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster Mac and cheese. OMG

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Lobster Mac and cheese. OMG

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dined at The Capitol Grille-Chicago-Rose ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Dined at The Capitol Grille-Chicago-Rosemont on July 8 to celebrate my husband's birthday. I simply noted that in my Open Table reservation and upon arrival they greeted my husband personally & took him to a table that was decorated for his Birthday with a card. The entire experience was lovely & the birthday dessert with champagne was the perfect ending to a great dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

We always have a great meal at Capital G ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We always have a great meal at Capital Grille. Whether it is a business meeting, lunch or a quiet dinner for two, the food is always exceptional, as is the service. The menu is varied enough, that a vegan, vegetarian or steak eater can find what they want and truly enjoy their choice. I love their seafood, especially their shrimp-lobster cakes or, at lunch their shrimp lobster burger.

Both are delicious!!

The wine list is extensive and varied and they have a most complete bar service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not only great steak but great circuses ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Not only great steak but great circuses

A superb place to celebrate special occasions. Greeting card, champagne, huge dessert and photo to top it off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic as usual, service and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food was fantastic as usual, service and personal attention phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow - what a dining experience! I was th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Wow - what a dining experience! I was there with a client. We were lucky enough to get Ewelina (pronounced as if it were Evalina). She was everything you expect from a server at a high-end restaurant and more. Ewelina did a beauty job of balancing attentiveness and space. We had a delicious meal based on her recommendations. Steaks were cooked perfectly. We had the Tuna Tartare appetizer and it was divine! And the creamed spinach was fabulous.

At the end, she came up and said," you were my first table this evening and have been so nice. I'm giving you a complimentary dessert". She gave us one order of Creme Brûlée and one Cheesecake. When we couldn't eat the whole thing, she packaged them up and sent them with us. We stayed a little longer to talk. Ewelina stopped again and said, "since you are still here, please accept this appertif." We left shortly afterwards, giving her a huge tip and vowing to return to this Capital Grille the next time we are in the area. One of the best dining experiences I have ever had - and I'm a foodie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A perfect experience! The food was excel ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A perfect experience! The food was excellent and the staff was attentive and pleasant.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I received the wrong rub on my steak it ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I received the wrong rub on my steak it was the bone in filet I wanted the mushroom but received the pepper

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We schedule an evening every time we are ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We schedule an evening every time we are in town for business (at least quarterly) and would not change a thing. Matt and his first class crew completely pamper us, and we are grateful!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant that goes ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant that goes out of their way to make you feel special. The food is fantastic and a wonderful wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor reminds you of a classy old cl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The decor reminds you of a classy old club. Elegant without being at all stuffy, with dark woods, old paintings, etc. Service was exceptional, with truly professional wait staff. All three of us had steaks which were cooked to perfection and delicious. And you the parmesan truffle fries are not to be missed!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit and we came ba ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our second visit and we came back for the fantastic food. They did not disappoint, the menu isn't huge but everything we've tried so far has been great, so no need for more! We're already planning our next visit there.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was surprised that we were given a din ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was surprised that we were given a dinner menu, while we were there for lunch on Father's Day. I had a $100 gift card a gift from my company for Secretary's Day and I saved it so we can have a decent lunch on Father's Day. Before we went there I printed the lunch menu and I thought the $100 would be enough for the three of us to enjoy the Father's Day with my daughter and husband. But to my surprise - we were handed the Dinner Menu which is triple the price of what we were supposed to order. That's why we just chose 3 entrees (no appetizer, no dessert and just water for our drink) :( I am glad I have extra money in my debit card so we were able to pay extra.

The place is nice and classy and the staff did a really great service to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Full credit to the food - this was one o ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Full credit to the food - this was one of the best steaks I've had in a very long time, if not the best period. Less pleasing was that, after showing up on time for our 7.30 reservation, we had to wait ten minutes for a table with no explanation or apology. That's a service issue but it would be unfair to penalise the waiter for what is out of his/her control, so you can't reflect that in the gratuity. Annoying.

Ambience is standard high-end Steak place (and none the worse for that), but because it is the sort of place you might go for a special occasion there were several large parties and that did make it quite noisy.

Good wine list but, strangely, no interesting beers.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Please request Javier Quito as your host ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Please request Javier Quito as your host. He was outstanding as well as the rest of the crew members. This is not a cheap night out but The Capital made it very memorable and that is what we were looking for. They under promise and over deliver.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Matthew Verde is the Very Best at Capito ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Matthew Verde is the Very Best at Capitol Grill!

He always makes our dinning experience special

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Excellent service. We were c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food. Excellent service. We were celebrating a graduation and they really treated us so well and gave us a private area. First class restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Monica is top shelf as a server

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Service was super from Monica!

Food always good, never a disappointment

Pleasant environment for a business discussion or date night

Thank you Monica for your attention to detail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An off night at Capital Grille

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

As always, our food was wonderful. Great salad, chilean sea bass, filet, brussel sprouts. However, this is the first time the service was not up to par. Our server appeared to be out of her element. Very spacey...when my husband asked for her to hand him the regular pepper shaker, she took it and proceeded to put the pepper on his food. This was not the grinder type pepper shaker....it was a normal pepper shaker.

We were only a table of two people. Once two other tables with four people each were seated, she basically disappeared. Very strange evening.

Again, the food was wonderful.....but service means so much. We will not be going back for quite a while.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

2nd time visiting - both times great!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Capital Grille is an upscale steak-and-seafood place where you can go for a really good, well prepared meal. This is my 2nd visit to this location and the staff there always does a great job making you feel special. Everything from nice friendly conversation about the menu to taking a snapshot of your special guest and giving you a print at the end of the meal. The food is amazing as well...great steak preparations and generous portions.

At this location there is a free valet parking option, but if for some reason you don't want to valet park you can proceed into the hotel parking garage to the upper level and park yourself. Just take your ticket with you and they will validate at the restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the calibre of downtown location.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We have dined @ Capital Grille in Streeterville many times and only twice at this location. The difference is quite obvious. Don't believe we will be going back to this location. Too bad. Didn't come close to the service or ambiance of the downtown location.

The steak itself (Bone-in Rib-eye, 24oz) looked haggard and not solid. Their bartender and their waiter didn't know that a Hendrix gin martini comes with cucumber bc when I asked for a cucumber garnish they brought me a plain martini and then 5 minutes later brought me a small plate of diced cucumber!! I chuckled, put the diced cukes in my Martini glass, & later explained to our waiter how the garnish is usually served. The Ceasar salad was beyond boring, and not very good for $10. And unfortunately, something about this location lends itself to loud mouths. We had to endure a table next to us with two women talking so loudly (outside voices) that it ruined our dinner among others surrounding that table. Everyone kept looking at these two with daggers. Thankfully, they came half-way through our meal.

Just overall, nowhere near as "classy" as Streeterville location aND with subpar service for the price.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great spot for a business lunch! I alway ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great spot for a business lunch! I always enjoy the food and service at Capital Grille. My clients in this area always ask to come back. Definitely one of my favorites!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've rice was exceptional . Selection a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We've rice was exceptional . Selection and food excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly and doting servers - made ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Very friendly and doting servers - made it a special evening

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was awesome . Our waiter gave u ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was awesome . Our waiter gave us great recommendations for wine and appetizers.

Will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time, but not the last

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We were celebrating an event and looking for an upscale restaurant so decided based on all of the great reviews to try Capital Grille. The food was beyond outstanding, the restaurant and service was all quite nice. The only reason I didn't score the highest in service was our waiter spilled water near me when clearing the table and although it missed me, the table, through the tablecloth was soaked. I didn't want to make a big deal (it wasn't) and the bus boy covered with cloth napkins, but every time I rested my left arm my sleeve got wet and it was uncomfortable. Again, not a big deal but awkward throughout coffee and dessert. I think he could have comped a dessert or coffee, but maybe he didn't realize it was uncomfortable. Outside of that, everything was great. We talked about the food the next day, it was that good. Not inexpensive, but well worth it for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I generally go to Ruth's ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

My husband and I generally go to Ruth's Chris for special occasions but decided to try the Capital Grille for our anniversary this year.

We were very pleased. Dinner was wonderful, the service was excellent and we had a great time. Of course, as with all higher end steak houses, not inexpensive but worth the cost.

My husband loved the crock of french onion soup. The steaks were perfectly cooked and the dessert was excellent as well. We may be changing our allegiances for special occasion dinners from now on.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Over priced for the quality.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Nice ambiance, but the overall quality of the food did not match the cost of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.