About The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont

5340 North River Road
Rosemont, IL 60018
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Balmoral Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 671-8125

Website:
http://www.capitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Natasha Vitti

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Coconut Cream Pie
Trio Of Handcrafted Ice Creams
Cafe Latte
Cold Shellfish Platter
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico W/15-Year Aged Balsamic
Steak and Lobster
Chocolate Cake
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico
Wine Cellar
Espresso
Cheesecake
Lobster Bisque
Warm Spinach Salad with Bacon
Filet And Lobster
Creme Brulee
French Onion Soup
Chopped Salad With Chilled Shrimp
Wagyu Burger
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Salad
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Sliced Filet W/ Mushrooms
Porcini-Rubbed Delmonico Steak W/ 12-Year Aged Balsamic

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:15PM - 10:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 36 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chicago- Rosemont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
Northwest Suburbs
3 More
Best Food
Northwest Suburbs
Best Service
Northwest Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Rosemont ›

Special Occasion (65)
Romantic (35)
Notable Wine List (32)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Lunch (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Scenic View (3)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I had our anniversary weds n ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I had our anniversary weds night. The staff were outstanding, food was amazing and they gave my wife and beautiful Rose. We had a great time. We forgot how great Capital Grille was. Looking forward to having dinner there again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The attention to detail, the courteous s ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The attention to detail, the courteous staff, the ambiance.... but the top reason to go is the FOOD! The menu top to bottom is excellent, steaks are definitely the best I have ever had (and I have been to many top steak houses). Enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic birthday celebration dinner st ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fantastic birthday celebration dinner start to finish! Server Scott was professional, fun and helpful. I started with a good salad of greens, pears and spiced walnuts. The bone-in ribeye was a perfect medium rare and asparagus and potato sides a nice accompaniment. My husband enjoyed his Filet Oscar as well. Dessert was a beautiful combination of cheesecake, chocolate mousse cake and berries. Lovely place for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is unfortunate how one aspect of a me ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

It is unfortunate how one aspect of a meal can cast such a damper on the entire dining experience. I have dined at several Capital Grill locations in the past and it is one of the few restaurants where I will order a steak because they cook them properly. They know how to cook black and blue. During a client meal on this visit my dry aged strip steak arrived at medium (warm pink center) and the servers were gone before I had a chance to cut into it. By the time anyone had returned I already began eating to minimize interruption. I casually mentioned the temperature of the steak looked a bit more done than rare and the server simply said "We will remove it from your check."

Considering we were all well into our meals, there was not really time to fire another steak. However, considering where we were dining the comped steak amounted to about 10% of the total bill. Not much compensation for such a disappointing entree.

I am sad to say I have to reduce the number of restaurants where I can order steak by one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

It has always been one of my favorite re ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

It has always been one of my favorite restaurants. I love everything about it. Scott was our waiter and he was awesome. The food is always amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Bridget, was excellent and s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our server, Bridget, was excellent and so professional. The service at CG was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Amazing service from the valet to the ho ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing service from the valet to the hostess to the waiter. Beautifully decorated space, elegant lighting and tasteful table settings. Hands-down the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an excellent experience. Value l ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Always an excellent experience. Value lunch plates were excellent. Free parking in garage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have dined at the capital Grille on ma ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I have dined at the capital Grille on many occasions. I know the chefs have changed but this is the first time I could tell in the food. I had the lamb chops and they were not very good. They had no flavor or spice or juice. I was very surprised at this. It was the first time I've ever had a bad meal there.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great. One of my favorite places !!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great. One of my favorite places !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved the relaxed feel of this place, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I loved the relaxed feel of this place, food was absolutely wonderful and best of all our server "Sara Grant" she is amazing. Again thank you Sara

Grace Torres & Family

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille is my all time favorite r ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Capital Grille is my all time favorite restaurant for a great steaks. Always cooked to perfection, fantastic sites and the ultimate in service. The ambiance is very elegant and a great place to take a date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you TCG, Matt Verde, and his wonde ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Thank you TCG, Matt Verde, and his wonderful staff, not to forget Gio for making the evening so complete. My family, my friends, and us never get tired of the experience. Thanks to the professional management team the experience is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time here and I will back. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our first time here and I will back. The service was exceptional!! Our server Javier was very kind and responsive to any requests. The food was fabulous. The chef and his staff did a superb job. Overall great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the restaurant, food, wine...great. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Love the restaurant, food, wine...great....a little too pricey for my husband and I though. We can only go when either of us get a gift card. this time we brought my son and his wife because it was her bday, so we put our 200.00 towards the meal...it still cost each of us 100.00. I wish we could go back more often, but once a year if we are lucky enough to....thanks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. The staff was very ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Wonderful experience. The staff was very solicitous. Great for a special evening. Excellent steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality of food was outstanding

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Quality of food was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant and awesome food. Nois ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great restaurant and awesome food. Noise level did get pretty high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Hat's off to Capital Grille. We had a ve ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Hat's off to Capital Grille. We had a vegan with us for a business dinner, so I called ahead and asked if they could accommodate this person's diet. The hostess said not a problem, though I had my doubts. Regardless, we forged ahead and, sure enough, our vegan colleague was more than pleased with what was served, particularly the entree. I've always been pleased by the service at Capital Grille, it's a large reason why I like going to them; this evening's results just further cemented that reputation. Nicely done.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Capital Grille is our place for any spec ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Capital Grille is our place for any special occasion. The staff is wonderful and treat you well each and every time. The food is delicious and the atmosphere is always exceptional. Treat yourself to an evening at the Capital Grille.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I arrived at the restaurant only to be t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I arrived at the restaurant only to be told that my table was committed in about 1.5hrs, so I and my guest would need to be finished by that time. (I'd like to see them pull that with one of their regular customers actually) I was ready to tell them to go pound salt, but didn't want to embarrass my guest. We were seated and ordered our dinner and salads. About half way through our salads, the food delivery waiters started to deliver our meals, but quickly realized we were not done with our salads. Again, my guess is that they were trying to rush us to free the table on time. After they main waiter showed up and fumbled around with some excuses, we just moved our salads to the side and started our main meal not having finished. I travel for business to the Chicago area and frequently to the Tampa, FL area. I have dined many times at the Capitol Grille in Tampa and have never once been treated this poorly. When in Chicago I'll definitely choose a different restaurant from here forward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Went for a birthday. They really did it ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went for a birthday. They really did it up big, yet classy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing dinner and can't wait ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had an amazing dinner and can't wait to go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my sister's birthday. Did ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for my sister's birthday. Did not tell the restaurant but our server noticed her card and gift. Then then arranged for the birthday dessert, photo and glass of champagne for us which was very nice.

As always the food was excellent, service was great and attention to detail present (I rate restaurants by whether or not they notice that you need more ice water with you being asked about it - and they do at Capital Grille).

We will definitely be returning for other special occasions.

Also- the summer lunch menu had very nice choices and I enjoyed one of the specials. The watermelon-tomato-arugala salad was very very good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food. Wish I could afford to eat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food. Wish I could afford to eat here every week

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was great and our server was aw ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was great and our server was awesome! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it as,usual great service and food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loved it as,usual great service and food was delicious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great meal great service. A wond ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

What a great meal great service. A wonderful birthday outing

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have always enjoyed Capital Grille and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I have always enjoyed Capital Grille and especially the Rosemont location over the others in the area. I love the ribeye with the aged balsamic, but thought to get the sliced Filet with Cippolini onions and mushrooms and was very disappointed. The Steak had very little flavor and not what I am accustomed too at the Capital Grille. Not to mention the Lobster Bisque was off and wasn't as good as it has been in the past.

Of course the lobster mac did not disappoint and we love the new wine program.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

The host was unwelcoming. Had a reservat ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The host was unwelcoming. Had a reservation decided to sit in the bar area since there were people there instead of the main dining room. The host cancelled my reservation and acted like he didn't know about how open tables's point system worked and made a snarky comment about me wanting my open table points.

We sat at the bar for a while before we were acknowledged. Didn't even want to eat anymore so we ordered a bottle of wine. One and done. There are way better options in Rosemont that make you feel

Appreciated as a guest and give you a better experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

From the service to the scrumptious dish ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

From the service to the scrumptious dishes everything was superb! A special thank you to our server, Bridget for her attention to details. We had a most enjoyable evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unfortunately I was unprepared for the c ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Unfortunately I was unprepared for the cost of average food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Unfortunately, the guests at our table w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Unfortunately, the guests at our table who ordered steak were not satisfied with the quality of the meats or the taste. For those of us who ordered seafood and lamb chops, we were very pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We celebrated our wedding anniversary an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and it was as anticipated--a fantastic dinner! We had the bone in filets with the Brussels sprouts -- awesome!! The evening started off with a glass of complementary sparkling wine and ended with a decadent dessert! A rose and photo were also included.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and I sat at the outdoor patio a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My wife and I sat at the outdoor patio and the ambiance was perfect. Our server Jessica was a gracious host and she was extremely courteous and helpful. After a thorough review of the menu, my wife needed help deciding and Jessica pointed her to wards the Sea Bass, which turned out to be a wonderful choice. We will absolutely return here again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We visited with my parents for their 65t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We visited with my parents for their 65th wedding anniversary and the staff was wonderful. They took a picture, had a card on the table and served desserts on an "Anniversary" platter. The food was as good as usual, so all in all a great time.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Always a pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice always great ! Never had a bad ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very nice always great !

Never had a bad meal or experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

TCG/Rosemont is just amazing! Upon enter ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

TCG/Rosemont is just amazing! Upon entering you're greeted like royalty. The lounge is always on target and food is succulent. Our thanks to Gio for his extraordinary service and attention and to Matt for running ensuring the best service ever!

Sincerely.

Gil & Laura Perez

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.