About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Hugues Boucher

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Bread Bas - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Crab and Lobster Cakes - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Coconut Cream Pie - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Ribeye Steak - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
flourless chocolate cake - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Boston Suburbs
Steakhouse
Boston Suburbs
Most Booked
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

Special Occasion (64)
Notable Wine List (33)
Good for Birthdays (28)
See All
Romantic (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Business Meals (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Private Room (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
2030 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service, hostess very accommod ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service, hostess very accommodating on preferred table selection, excellent table service from Kristina, good food selection well prepared, generous proportions, decent meal value

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was excellent except for the ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was excellent except for the lobster on the lobster and filet. The flavor was top notch but the texture was a bit stringy; out of season. But, I should know better because steamed in July is how and when to eat lobster. Otherwise, others had the bone in filet which was also great. You can't go wrong at Capital Grille; it's fun, full of activity, civilized, and delicious. Happy Holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good. The waiter was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food was very good. The waiter was not great. Seemed to have somewhat of an attitude, which I've never found at Capital Grille. The waitstaff has always been friendly and helpful.

We eat dinner here a lot and have always loved it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was terrific, and our server wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was terrific, and our server was just the best. A little too loud for our comfort...neighbors had high-pitched voices and it was difficult for us to hear eachother across our booth table. Otherwise, a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our 47 ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 47th wedding anniversary.

When I was called earlier in the day to confirm my reservation, I was asked if it was a special occasion and when I said yes, I was asked what and how many years.

Upon arriving, we found rose petals sprinkled on the table and 2 glasses of complementary Champagne waiting for us.

Everyone who came to the table wished us a Happy Anniversary and half a dozen people who work at the restaurant signed a card for us.

At the end of the meal we were treated to a complementary dessert and photograph.

Every gesture was appreciated very much. The food was wonderful and we can't wait to go back to the restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, People Watching, Wood Oven, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening out for our family Tha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful evening out for our family Thanksgiving celebration. Kudos to Capital Grill for great service, delicious food, and for making our evening special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, a pleasant experience in good ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

As always, a pleasant experience in good, service and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was excellent! Top notch- ver ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our server was excellent! Top notch- very professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Atmosphere, quiet. Matthew was an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great Atmosphere, quiet.

Matthew was an excellent waiter.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food and fantastic service by o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food and fantastic service by our waitress, Denise .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Very great meal. It was my son's 22 Bir ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Very great meal.

It was my son's 22 Birthday, and they made him feet like a King.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks again to general Jeff and his sta ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Thanks again to general Jeff and his staff..especially sean for making our visit another smiling experience....food

and service A+...

That's what Capital grille is all about.

.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fine but our reservation wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was fine but our reservation was at 830pm and we were only seated at 920pm. It was very chaotic and seemed very poorly managed at the hostess counter. Waiting 50 min after our reservation was scheduled definitely made it tough to have an enjoyable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

I brought my boyfriend here for his birt ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I brought my boyfriend here for his birthday. He requested a steak dinner and based on my experience with The Capital Grille in Boston we couldn't go wrong. It was a very busy night, so highly suggest reservations. They made the night special by providing my boyfriend a nice card signed by some of the staff and had confetti on the table to make it a bit festive. Our server, Denise, was great; friendly, attentive, and helpful. Our food was delicious and cooked perfectly. We had a Kona crusted dry aged sirloin with shallot butter, a dry aged NY sirloin, au gratin potatoes, and asparagus. At the end, the restaurant provided a complimentary birthday dessert for my boyfriend, which was wonderful. Great night.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and service as always! Dani ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing food and service as always! Dani at the bar was great! Our server (Spike?) was fantastic! They really made our 10 year anniversary special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

OFF NIGHT - A SATURDAY I have been to t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

OFF NIGHT - A SATURDAY

I have been to this location many times before and was satisfied. This time it was a busy Saturday night and it was very loud and seating was literally on top of each other with the tables. Had a party of 4 and all ordered steaks. 2 of the steaks came undercooked and we sent only 1 back. It came back again undercooked. Didn't eat it and a manager came to apologize and took that off the bill. Nice gesture but still made for a bad night. Typical very pricey steak restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Mo, our waiter was terrific and taught m ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Mo, our waiter was terrific and taught me some cooking tips.

Best lamb chops ever and large portion

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night to have dinner at the restau ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great night to have dinner at the restaurant. We were seated right away and the waiter was attentive. The steak, potato and Spinach were outstanding. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was great.He went out of his way ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Server was great.He went out of his way to take care of us and make us feel special

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for a birthday celebration Every ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We went for a birthday celebration Everything was great from the service to the food. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was wonderful way to celebrate my h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This was wonderful way to celebrate my hubby a birthday. We are well, we both had filet mignon which was cooked to perfection. The lobster Mac and cheese were a hit and the clam chowder outshines any I have ever had. The desert on the house with a nice picture of the two of us was a very classy touch to celebrate his 61st birthday. Much better than having the staff come over and sing happy birthday. Jill was a wonderful host. Thank you and please thank her.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The staff always goes above and beyond t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The staff always goes above and beyond to make sure we have an unforgettable experience. Mission accomplished! Thank you so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and luncheon menu. $20 ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent service and luncheon menu. $20 for an app and lobster roll. Excellent quality.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the capital grille, usually. Thi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I love the capital grille, usually. This evening not so much. our waiter was I think less experienced for fine dining. Served from the wrong side, passed food infront of me to others, and most annoying interrupted conversations at table to ask about water or drinks. Should have waited to be recognized, not interrupted mid sentence. Lastly shame on them for jamming tables so close. In the two hours at the table the wait staff knocked the back of my chair no less than 18 times while serving others or clearing.

As for the food, filet was luke warm at best on arrival, baked patatoe was cold, butter wouldn't even melt on it. veggies were nice and hot. The fillet was tender and fall apart delicious but cool.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Reastaurant was understaffed for the amo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Reastaurant was understaffed for the amount of business ona Monday evening. We sat for 25 minutes with many large obtrusive appetizer plates and bowls in front of us. Steaks were all uncharacteristically cooked one step more than requested and seamed a bit thin. Ribeyes were delivered bone in without being told. It was almost as if they had extras and pushed them out of the kitchen on us. Overall it was a good meal, but not up to Capitol Grill standards

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

For some reason they couldn't control th ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

For some reason they couldn't control their air conditioning system and at least 6 times we asked them to turn it off. It was so bad that 2 other tables by us people were dining with their coats on. Then the last time we commented which was after our meal they turned the heat on until it was sweltering hot.

Unfortunately the A/C was so strong that it literally cooled our meals off and after a few minutes they were actually cold.

Besides this the Chilean Sea Bass was completely flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

As always great! thank you...we will be ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As always great! thank you...we will be back! what else can I say!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and service were great, ambiance no ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food and service were great, ambiance not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

My husband and I enjoyed our 15th annive ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our 15th anniversary sipping in fashions and catching up as we nibbled on the warm and tasty bread. We decided to do tapas and ordered a variety of appetizer which were delicious. Our waiter was top notch and ensured a delightful evening. We arrived on time for our reservations and were seated promptly. On arrival we were asked whether we were celebrating a special occasion and found fresh rose petals on our table when seated. It was a wonderful meal and experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A nice steak house with decent dry aged ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

A nice steak house with decent dry aged beef, decent wine list on the pricey side.

Staff is fine, some are better than others of course, perhaps i should ask for specific waiters, next time.

The meat is well cocked to your liking, the sides are tasty, the mac and lobster cheese is to die for.

Dessert list is nice, traditional. Overall good but pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Highly recommend The Capital Grille Ches ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Highly recommend The Capital Grille Chestnut Hill. From the moment we entered the Hostess greeted us with Happy Anniversary (i had noted on my Open Table reservation it was our "day"). The table was prepared with loose rose petals which my wife clearly loved. Our server Mabil was very pleasant, served us complementary champagne and after dinner a very nice dessert. Very very nice, very thoughtful. Many thanks for a beautiful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was "perfect", which is hard ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Everything was "perfect", which is hard to find in a restaurant these days. Other than waiting 15 minutes with a reservation we had a great table and an superb waiter. The food was excellent! Chowder and Caesar salad were great and the porterhouse steak was cooked to perfection. It was our anniversary and they had little hearts on the table and served a complimentary dessert that was also great. It can't get much better when dining out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While the steaks we ordered were great, ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

While the steaks we ordered were great, surprisingly, it was everything else on the menu that was the highlight of the meal. The pear salad was exceptional and the soy-glazed brussel sprouts were outstanding. The other factor that made the meal exceptional was Erika, our waitress. She was warm, sincere and fun. Made the meal a true pleasure. We had her once before on a visit to the restaurant and we forgot how much she enhanced the dining experience. We'll definitely ask for her next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Solid Steakhouse.. Good food. Exceptiona ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Solid Steakhouse.. Good food. Exceptional service. Dark wood. ambiance. Pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wait staff was amazing and no wonder it' ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Wait staff was amazing and no wonder it's our favorite place for special occasions. They make you feel great from start to finish. Food has unbelievable taste. Looking forward to returning again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everyone we encountered was kind and pro ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Everyone we encountered was kind and professional. Our waiter Matthew was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The capital Grille in Chestnut Hill has ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The capital Grille in Chestnut Hill has delicious steaks and outstanding service.

I enjoyed my tuna tartare appetizer and my Kona crusted sirloin. My girlfriend ordered a fillet, and she said that it was delicious. Our server, Sean, really made the night. He was outstanding in every way. He was efficient, knowledgeable, and very pleasant.

I do recommend this lovely restaurant.

I also ordered a small bottle of sparkling rose. It was wonderful. There were about two glasses in the bottle .

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good food and service

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were there for parents weekend at BC. ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We were there for parents weekend at BC. Made the reservation months ago. Hadn't seen our don for 6 months, noted it was special occasion on open table and with hostess. Got seated next to 12 business men who were drunk and loud. Next to kitchen back entrance with wait staff coming and going constantly. Several people sitting at the deuce by the table were reseated, as they were bumped often by wait staff. Service was good. Food ok. Not as good as our capital grill in twin cities. They didn't care who we were or if it was indeed special occasion. Lousy table, mediocre food and no attention. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.