About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Hugues Boucher

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin
Bread Bas
Wagyu Burger
Crab and Lobster Cakes
Coconut Cream Pie
Ribeye Steak
flourless chocolate cake
Creme Brulee
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Boston Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Boston Suburbs
Steakhouse
Boston Suburbs
1 More
Most Booked
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

Special Occasion (102)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Notable Wine List (46)
See All
Romantic (45)
Good for Groups (37)
Great for Lunch (34)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Brunch (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1963 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best waitress ever

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 7 hours ago

Best waitress ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the dinner at Capital Grille ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

As always, the dinner at Capital Grille was outstanding. The Filet just melted in your mouth. Our server, Sebastian, (I always ask if he is there) was outstanding. He is a very interesting person. It was restaurant week so it was very crowded, but the meal and the wines (Generous pour as well), were all fantastic. I especially liked the Stags Leap Reserve Cab. It is only available at the winery and Capital Grille. It went famously with the steak.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love their steak and I'm glad they offer ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Love their steak and I'm glad they offer restaurant week, my friend and I get together twice a year for this event to catch up and is always wonderful food and we never feel pressure to leave right away.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The herb crusted chicken was delicious! ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

The herb crusted chicken was delicious! The wait staff was wonderful, but Brianna greeted me at the door with a kind smile and genuine care to make sure my party had a nice evening. She set the mood for a fantastic night, and her attentiveness was superb. Amazing experience; thank you Brianna!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Jill our server, was Amazing! I had such ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Jill our server, was Amazing! I had such a great time and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I had just gone to NYC and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

A friend and I had just gone to NYC and had 2 great meals a the Cspital grill for their restaurant week. Everything perfectly cooked, the wine tasting was fantastic and service impeccable.

However, as we attempted to repeat this great experience at the C. G. Chestnut hill , we were extrimily disappointed.

We ordedr a salad, it was just ok. Our main course, a steak, asked to be cooked medium rare, was NOT COOKED TO ORDER. it was served cold on top as if it had been prepared that morning like banquet stayle.

The plate itself was cold. I would never ever serve a steak on a cold plate... This is a shame and unacceptable in a restaurant like Capitsl Grill. I have gone to this restaurants several times.

They treated us like we don't know how to dine out. Or how food should be prepared. The creme brûlée was undercooked and had no taste.

The wine tasting was the same as in NYC and we were enjoying it up to de desapointing "old steak" at one of the most famous steak houses in the country. What happened ??

Yes... I did asked the waitress after gazing at that said dead meat if that was cooked to order, as she replied "YES" ... What????

The menagerie did take the cost of food from the bill. We told him it was not necessary. We were there to enjoy ourselves antd not to have our bill comped.

We waisted our time, our happy time togher our apatite because of their irresponsible, uncaring staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Very nice birthday celebration. The wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice birthday celebration. The waitstaff made it special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dining during restaurant week. Waited 40 ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Dining during restaurant week. Waited 40 Minutes for our table even though we had a reservation! Hostess admitted they were overbooked. They're ALWAYS overbooked and late during restaurant week. Maybe time for a different approach

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This was our second time going to a Capt ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our second time going to a Captiol Grille restaurant. Our first experience was at the Burlington location and much like that location the staff at Chestnut Hill were excellent, kind and courteous. Unfortunately this time around we had a family with 4 little roudy children sitting right next to us so that did take away from the full 5star experience. Regardless, I love the quality of service and food and will go back in a heartbeat, especially during Restyrant week 😊! I would highly recommend The Capitol Grille!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

First time for Restaurant Week - pleasan ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

First time for Restaurant Week - pleasantly surprised - great service and food was excellent !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

was very disappointed with our dinner ma ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

was very disappointed with our dinner maybe it was because it was restaurant week and not as much effort was put into the meal. first they changed the size of the glass that the drink came in it was smaller that it has been I ordered my steak black and blue and it came out medium I had to send it back and I must say the quality was not there it was very fatty and tough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

My waitress forgot to put the blue chees ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My waitress forgot to put the blue cheese crumbles on my filet. So when the waitress took it back to melt them on, the steak was cooked longer then expected and was a bit dry. Other then that it was a great experience. Just wish the filet was cooked as ordered.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our waiter was amazing and made the whit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our waiter was amazing and made the white chocolate mousse for my birthday per my special request. It was quite loud at the beginning of our meal but was quieter as the night progressed. I will continue to dine here for my birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is consistent. My meal w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This restaurant is consistent. My meal was fabulous. The steak was as ordered.

The service was perfect.

We had to change tables because one person from my party could not get in the booth. I love a booth and they were wonderful about it.

My only complaint is the sides are getting smaller and smaller. I'm guessing it is because it is the specials but there were not enough for the three of us who ordered restaurant week.

And the chips (fresh) at the bar make it for me.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille was a great place to cele ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Capital Grille was a great place to celebrate my son's graduate degree (and CPA) with my wife. The three of us enjoyed filet migon and porterhouse steaks, crab cakes and chowder. Our server was always near by, but never imposed herself while we talked and spent quality family time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic dinner with sean as the server ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

fantastic dinner with sean as the server--an expert on wine and the great menu..thanks again for a memorable night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food with excellent se ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Consistently good food with excellent service and lively atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Same menu for lunch in all different loc ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Same menu for lunch in all different locations of Capital Grill, but the food seems to be better at Burlington than in Chestnut Hill. A couple of us had the lobster roll, and it seems like there are more lobster stuffed in Burlington.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

A little noisy due to a related large pa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A little noisy due to a related large party. Service was very slow, for no reason that was apparent. Food was on par with prior outings, very good but, regrettably, lacks prime meats (although also the expense). Overall a good value, but for the service. The "generous pour" program promotion is wonderful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great as usual. Love the birthday extras ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great as usual. Love the birthday extras!!! Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food is good, consistently ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

As always the food is good, consistently and the service, although the server lacked

personality he did become a little friendlier towards tip time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just consistently good food with wonderf ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Just consistently good food with wonderful service

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent meal. We went for my son's 13 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent meal. We went for my son's 13th birthday and he was treated like a king.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Terrific waiters who ar ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food. Terrific waiters who are very funny. Great atmosphere. Dining at the Capital Grille always make for a truly delightful evening out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I went to the Capital G ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to the Capital Grille Chestnut Hill for our anniversary. The day before the restaurant called to confirm and asked if it was a special occasion. I told her it was our anniversary. When we arrived we had a very cute table with complimentary champagne and the table decorated. Our waiter Matthew J was absolutely awesome. He was attentive and polite without being pushy or hovering. His level of service was absolutely outstanding and just based on my experience at this location I would 100% go back if he was our waiter. He was just wonderful. The evening ended with a complimentary dessert and photo. We had an amazing evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went there for a birthday celebration ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went there for a birthday celebration. Service was excellent as usual, food was great. And they gave us a complementary birthday desert. We would definitely go back for another celebration!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was outstanding and the service ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. They went above and beyond to make my mom's birthday very special. I always enjoy the Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We started with oysters on the half shel ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We started with oysters on the half shell. I had the Gorgonzola and truffle encrusted dry aged my strip, which was superb, my husband had the porterhouse again an excellent choice, with a side of au gratin potatoes (out it this world) and a side of roasted wild mushrooms.

Our server Matt was exceptional.....

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to celebrate our 20th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My wife and I went to celebrate our 20th anniversary. Our waiter Joseph was great- Our meal was amazing- the lobster bisque perfect. From start to finish just a great night. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A real new York steak house in chestnut ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

A real new York steak house in chestnut hill..only difference is the staff is courteous and knowledgeable..a plus for the food too..the generous wine pour program is over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was excellent. The noise level wa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Dinner was excellent. The noise level was a bit high, but, we left early

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed! Delicious dinner. Helpe ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Really enjoyed! Delicious dinner. Helped us celebrate special occasion. Great wine. Love the stoli doli.

Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Small plate lunch -- watermelon salad an ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Small plate lunch -- watermelon salad and lobster roll -- is a wonderful value. My friend had a burger, and I ate most of his truffle fries -- delicious!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I took my 15 year old daughter to lunch ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I took my 15 year old daughter to lunch for her birthday. The staff and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Server Sebastian was excellent. He w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our Server Sebastian was excellent. He was very attentive to our needs, friendly and very professional. He made our experience really enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was amazing and the service was imp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was amazing and the service was impeccable. Anyone that goes there I highly recommend Sean as there server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Spike was fantastic. One of t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter Spike was fantastic. One of the best we've ever had in our experiences there. He was attentive, friendly and made some excellent suggestions to get us out of our usual rut.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I go here quite a bit but this time I wa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I go here quite a bit but this time I was not impressed by the food. I decided to order fish and it was on the raw side and it wasn't tuna. Sorry but that's just not what you would expect from capital grille

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

My crab and lobster burger was fabulous, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My crab and lobster burger was fabulous, however my partner's shrimp had no taste and had too many olives .

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

It was excellent. Food was excellent. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was excellent. Food was excellent. Server was excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.