Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 27 times today
Special offers available. See details

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

4.7
2653 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Business Meals
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(617) 928-1400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joseph Matthew
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Langley Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Join us for Father's Day on Sunday, June 17. Enjoy our Wagyu Bone-In NY Strip for a celebration to remember.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 2653 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined 2 days ago

We came here for my sister’s graduation. I’ve been here plenty of times before, but have never been so disappointed with the service. The service was really slow. When we were ready to order after 30 minutes of staring at the menu, the waitress blatantly ignored us to serve the next table coming in. The food took an extra 45 to 50 minutes to prepare, which was concerning as it wasn’t crowded, or seemed busy. Overall, it was an awful experience, and what made it worse was that we expected so much better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

This was my first time eating here. The special occasion was my wife's birthday. They impressed us with a nice customized happy birthday menu with her name, decorations, on the table, and a fabulous dessert. The food lived up to the hype. The interior is a little dated, but we will be back again for another special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

As usual the Capital Grille didn’t disappoint
As I had a good business lunch. I always
Get a nice welcome from Barbara the
Hostess and excellent service from Nicole.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

LOVE LOVE CAPITAL GRILL. THE FOOD IS FABULOUS, THE BAR IS GREAT, AND THE STAFF IS FABULOUS.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

We were there for my son's BC graduation lunch (we were one of the first people there after graduation so it wasn't super busy yet) and the service was very disappointing - our appetizer plates weren't cleared yet and a server was bringing our main entree - another waiter had to assist. She also took a long time coming back after we finished eating and to bring coffee. I expect alot more from Capital Grille.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Wish I could write a more positive review as I really enjoy Capital Grille, but this visit was just... off. Quality and taste of food was exceptional as always, but the service left a lot to be desired. Here's a couple examples... my steak was served to my wife; her sliced tenderloin was delivered as just a tenderloin; we sat for a good 20 minutes with no drinks; I was delivered (and charged) for a glass of wine $20 more than what I had ordered. One or two distractions I'd consider normal, but this experience left some things to be desired... especially when it is a special occasion and you're forking out over $250 for two people. Not sure if I will rush back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Steak was good. But not $66 good. Service a little bit slow. And, as usual, noise level way too high.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Wonderful graduation dinner. And even though we were a little later for our reservation on a busy, the staff never made us feel rushed. Great celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

My husband and I had a fantastic lunch.
Service & food were exceptional.
Can't wait to return in the near future.
Our server, Ilya, was exceptional without being intrusive. Great job!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Food and service were great! Price (lunch) was very fair. Steak was prepared exactly to each of our tastes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Celebrated a friends wedding anniversary here! A couple of us joined in as they were visiting from Scotland. My scottish friend wanted a good steak and I could think of no other place. Had , per usual, spectacular service and wine. Had the Kona crusted sirloin and was delicious as ever. Others had the lamb chops, special sirloin dish that had a cherry/cabernet sauce which was incredible. Just a lovely meal that the staff made extra special with rose petals on the table, glass of prosecco for us all and a picture as well! What a lovely way to celebrate and my friends from Scotland will always remember. Thank you!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Seating is mostly booths on side of restaurant open for lunch. Made it a bit difficult for my elderly guests. Food/service very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The perfect dinner. From the food to the service. Absolute perfection.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Service was very nice but forgot four or five things like steak take home; steak sauce; more drinks; soup, etc. steak was very inferior. Tough and tasteless. Beautiful place though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Consistently good fare and service. We return regularly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

As always, Capital Grille is a great choice: from the complimentary valet to the dessert. The food was delicious & the server was attentive & professional. We asked for & received a menu accommodation, without hesitation: thank you, Joseph.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

It was an exceptional experience. I wrote that it was my boyfriends birthday and the restaurant pulled out all the stops! Exceptional food!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

This was a fabulous dining experience in every way. Our waiter (Zan) was so attentive and knowledgeable. The food (though pricey) was delicious and well portioned. We had told the staff beforehand that we were celebrating two birthdays and an engagement. We were surprised that they provided us with free champagne, a beautiful dessert plate and a great picture of our family. Everything was spot on. Only tiny negative was how noisy the restaurant was, which made it slightly hard to easily converse with each other. Best dinner of the evening was the tenderloin with poached lobster tails and best side was the mashed potatoes. Oh my God. Beyond delicious. Thank you, Capital Grille, for a really wonderful celebration dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Everything was excellent celebrating my
Wife’s birthday. Jill my favorite server
Was terrific as usual. I never get a bad
Meal or bad service with Jeff (general
Manager/ partner at the helm.
He runs a tight ship and it shows

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Capital Grill in Chestnut Hill is a fantastic "go to" place for special occasions - we were celebrating a graduation and CG really goes out of their way to make you feel special including decorating the table and special dessert. The service staff go the extra mile to be attentive and provide superior service.
We love this place and will return in the future!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

As usual, the service was excellent. Joseph was very attentive and helpful to my guests, who were visiting from out of town. He brought complimentary champagne for our toast to my son, who graduated from college. I always love brining people to the Capital Grille for their first time because they are invariably amazed at the food and service. Thanks for another memorable experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Food was excellent as was the service from start to finish. Worth the spend and nice way to create a memory.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Celebrating our daughters fashion show

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Capital Grille Chestnut Hill is one of my family's favorites for 20+ years. We love their steaks and service. However, we will not go there for Friday and Saturday dinner. I guess they have some difficulties to handle full house.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

My wife and I took our daughter and her friend who just had their last day of Nursing School. The friend had never been to Capital Grille and was so excited. We went for a late lunch at 1:30 PM. The restaurant wasn't crowded but we got a terrible table behind the bar. The food was great as always but the seating didn't leave a 1st timer awed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

A little too loud...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Perfect as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

There this week for our 61st anniversary, treated like old friends...we always find the food great but be prepared to spend $ 100 plus for lunch....we highly recommend this location...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Overall very good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Even though there was the usual crowd of diners..our reservation was handled immediately..right on time..we had crabcakes..and a great sirloin..done just right..the gm Jeff stops by the tables to see if every one is happy..from what I saw..they were. Great service..great food..that's what the capital grille is all about!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Birthday. Sean our waiter is great .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We had a wonderful afternoon at the Capitol Grille. Our bartender Aron was amazing. He is a complete server, friendly , professional and attentive. Our dinner was amazing and our wine was terrific. We love the Capitol Grille and we will definitely be back.
Barry & Barbara

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Everything was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Very attentive and worth every penny. Steaks are cooked to perfection and service is impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Service is truly exceptional, food speaks for itself. Always a treat. Appreciate the great leadership at this location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Our favorite place for lunch! Truly a great value, between quality of food, and portion sizes. Add to that the great service of Cap Grille, and you have the best lunch around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

A great place! Have never been disappointed! And the food is excellent....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The food was very good but nothing out of this world amazing. For a very expensive piece of steak and chicken, we paid top dollar for something that was pretty standard across cheaper establishments. However, we were very impressed by the service and how professional the staff were. Managers came around and my sure everything was good, and they treated my husband with a dessert platter for his bday. Overall we were extremely impressed and had a wonderful evening out.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Most of us liked our meal, tenderloin was not very tender and did have a lot of waste which is unusual. In addition, the warm chocolate dessert was not warm at all. In fact, it was cold.
Our waiter was amazing and the service is great here.
Everyone is very friendly from the hostess to the waiter to the valet.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

It was a very busy Saturday evening but the host was terrific and seated us at four person booth which allowed for some quiet conversation. Great service and the food was excellent. It will become a regular for us now.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
67