About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Hugues Boucher

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin
Bread Bas
Wagyu Burger
Crab and Lobster Cakes
Ribeye Steak
Coconut Cream Pie
flourless chocolate cake
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster
Creme Brulee
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Lobster Pot Pie

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Boston Suburbs
Most Booked
Boston Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

special occasion (89)
notable wine list (46)
fit for foodies (43)
See All
romantic (41)
good for groups (35)
neighborhood gem (33)
great for lunch (30)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (11)
great for brunch (8)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1935 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I went to celebrate our 20th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I went to celebrate our 20th anniversary. Our waiter Joseph was great- Our meal was amazing- the lobster bisque perfect. From start to finish just a great night. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A real new York steak house in chestnut ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

A real new York steak house in chestnut hill..only difference is the staff is courteous and knowledgeable..a plus for the food too..the generous wine pour program is over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was excellent. The noise level wa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner was excellent. The noise level was a bit high, but, we left early

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed! Delicious dinner. Helpe ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Really enjoyed! Delicious dinner. Helped us celebrate special occasion. Great wine. Love the stoli doli.

Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Small plate lunch -- watermelon salad an ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Small plate lunch -- watermelon salad and lobster roll -- is a wonderful value. My friend had a burger, and I ate most of his truffle fries -- delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I took my 15 year old daughter to lunch ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I took my 15 year old daughter to lunch for her birthday. The staff and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Server Sebastian was excellent. He w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our Server Sebastian was excellent. He was very attentive to our needs, friendly and very professional. He made our experience really enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was amazing and the service was imp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was amazing and the service was impeccable. Anyone that goes there I highly recommend Sean as there server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Spike was fantastic. One of t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter Spike was fantastic. One of the best we've ever had in our experiences there. He was attentive, friendly and made some excellent suggestions to get us out of our usual rut.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I go here quite a bit but this time I wa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I go here quite a bit but this time I was not impressed by the food. I decided to order fish and it was on the raw side and it wasn't tuna. Sorry but that's just not what you would expect from capital grille

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

My crab and lobster burger was fabulous, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My crab and lobster burger was fabulous, however my partner's shrimp had no taste and had too many olives .

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

It was excellent. Food was excellent. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was excellent. Food was excellent. Server was excellent.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

As always the service and food was outst ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always the service and food was outstanding. Jaques took care of us and is as mug of a gentleman as any human I have met. Everything from A to Z was flawless including a birthday card from the staff and decorations on the table for my fathers birthday. This restaurant is the top notch as far as dining and only gets better. Thanks much!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Consistently great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just went for our wedding anniversary ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We just went for our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. It was romantic and the food was absolutely delicious. Our teenage children all loved as well. Just perfect!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is what C.G. is known for but I fee ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This is what C.G. is known for but I feel it's all too much! Too much food. Too rich. Expensive. Guilty pleasure once a year- mostly with elderly parents.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The plates were WAAAAAYYYYYY over priced ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The plates were WAAAAAYYYYYY over priced for the value that they delivered. The food wasn't bad, but not stellar. There are much better steak houses in the Boston area. The only way I'll ever go back to Capital Grille is if it's paid for by someone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

The steaks were perfect and the service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The steaks were perfect and the service was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love dining at capital grill, regardl ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We love dining at capital grill, regardless of location. Aside from the great food, service is always impeccable. Need to mention out server Bao--- we've had him at two different occasions and both times he has been friendly, fun and always on point. We will be back to the Chesnut Hill location and WILL request to be seated at Bao's table.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating the one year anniver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were celebrating the one year anniversary of a new employee and he thoroughly enjoyed his evening from having gold "celebration" decals spread across the table to a DELICIOUS meal and the ending couldn't be better with the dessert sampler with the word "celebration" written out in chocolate! With a night like this he'll never want to leave us!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to have a great meal

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great place to have a great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Filet, asparagus, calamari, brussel spr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Filet, asparagus, calamari, brussel sprouts and potatoes were top notch as always.

I do not recommend the tuna tartar with avocado appetizer . Very veiny and freshness was questionable, the tuna tartar at Abe and Louie's is much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We made our dinner reservation for 5pm a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We made our dinner reservation for 5pm as 1,000 extra points were offered for dining at this particular time. We did not receive our 1,000 extra points, just 100 points. Please adjust!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Never have we had a bad meal. Everything ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Never have we had a bad meal. Everything I rate an A+. Staff, of course food, all service and ambiance is amazing.

Love this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ho hum...just another flawless evening w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Ho hum...just another flawless evening where the food.ambiance and staff were a..plus.....general Jeff does a great job..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Capital Grill inBurlington was much ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The Capital Grill inBurlington was much better. Salad was much larger at their Burlington location and food portions were greater. Serviceven was excellant

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The Chestnut Hill Capital Grille is our ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Chestnut Hill Capital Grille is our choice for special occasions. This time we celebrated Father's Day there. Although there was some confusion about whether we could be seated when we arrived, and another, more well known customer, was hastily seated first, we happily solved the situation by having a drink at the bar. Bartender was very friendly and very good! Steaks were perfectly cooked as usual (Filet Mignon and Porterhouse among our choices). Sides were delicious, although we would love it if they added broccoli. Excellent wine list and dessert menu (berries for our daughter, dense chocolate dessert for our son).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Capital Grille Chestnut Hill never disap ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Capital Grille Chestnut Hill never disappoints. Food, ambiance and service are all consistently outstanding. Denise is the most fantastic server! She's professional, attentive and extremely pleasant. I request her every time I dine at Capital Grille. Enjoy!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brussel sprouts and coconut creme pie.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Brussel sprouts and coconut creme pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sadly feel the place is overrated and ov ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Sadly feel the place is overrated and overpriced. Food quality was average only 1 steak out of 3 was good. The truffle fries were frozen fries, mediocre Caesar salad, nice tomato avocado salad, breads were good but old tasting scalloped potatoes. What saved the night was our lovely waitress Judy and her attentive and personable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Only one out of the four steak dishes wa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Only one out of the four steak dishes was what it should be. The tuna and halibut were tasteless and dry I would even say awful. I have been here before but will not return. Very disappointing. There are many better places to go. Our server was good and the celebration acknowledgement very nice but did not make up for food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Quality special occasion top notch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Thankfully I mentioned that we were here for our wedding anniversary. Every single staff member who came to our table said something to us . Made the occasion even more special. The food of course was exceptional - and the gift dessert was an even more special touch, but the thing we'll remember most was the service from the time we arrived to the time we walked out the door. Top class all the way. It's the reason people should get out to a restaurant. Yeah, we paid for it via the prices, but we won't remember the bill....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal and wonderful service!!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Delicious meal and wonderful service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meals were delicious, and the servic ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Our meals were delicious, and the service was impeccable. Our server, Jill Cohen was absolutely terrific. She was attentive and seemed to anticipate all of our needs. She made a great experience even more special. Unfortunately, our experience with the hostesses was not positive at all as they were preoccupied and even rude. However, Jill and the delicious food saved the day!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After being seated , we waited for a lon ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

After being seated , we waited for a longer than reasonable time to be recognized by a waiter.

Salads were excellent . Main course not so great. Chicken was dry and tasteless and the stake was somewhat dry and over cooked.

For the cost , service and meal , I would go back to the Wildwood Steak House in Marlboro. They have you beat in all the above categories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Delicious food- steak perfect

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Delicious food- steak perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Capital Grille is always a Steak treat

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Perfectly cooked steaks. excellent variety on menu.

Be careful of the vegetable sides dishes being extremely hot.

I burned my thumb on one. Have a nice blister.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steakhouse in Boston!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I just wish they could make caesar salad a little bit better.....

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid as usual

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

A great experience for our family, as usual. The staff helped accommodate our schedule and table needs to add to our enjoyment of the evening. Food was particularly superb this visit and the specials were great Matthew was solid as a server

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

What a great night to celebrate a birthh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

What a great night to celebrate a birthhday, everything was excellent from the service to the food and drinks. Far exceeded expectations and quality of the product is A+.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.