Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Matthew

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (66)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for Birthdays (45)
See All
Good for a Date (44)
Notable Wine List (35)
Business Meals (32)
Romantic (31)
Good for Groups (25)
Worth the Drive (21)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Cozy (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Disabled Access (6)
Fun (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Authentic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is always great. Iyllia was our server and he too was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall experience was good, but for almost $300 for two people, I expected to be wowed a bit more. The ribeye was very mediocre. Harry Carey's Italian Steakhouse in Chicago is the best I've had and this wasn't close. The In Fashioned and Lobester Mac & Cheese were fantastic, service was perfect, but the main dishes left a bit to be desired.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

We returned to the Capital Grille to celebrate a work accomplishment; our night there exceeded our expectations. Our server, Sean, was the consummate professional whose outstanding service and pacing made the evening very special and memorable. From the details of the smattering of glittery celebratory stars on the tablecloth when we arrived to the chef's attention to very serious food allergies, the evening could not have been more perfect. The iPad at table side made the selection of wine very easy. My husband had a wedge salad and, for the main course, beef tenderloin with lobster which were mouth watering and beautifully presented. The modified heirloom tomato and field green salad was delicious as was the 10 ounce filet mignon. We shared French green beans and tomatoes as well as wild mushrooms which were both prepared perfectly. For dessert my husband had a variety of delectable treats presented with a chocolate 'Congratulations' on the plate. I had a bowl of fresh, mouth watering berries. Although the restaurant was extremely crowded, the noise level was perfect and never once interfered with our special evening out. In short, the food and the ambiance are what make Capital Grille an outstanding restaurant; the exceptional service is what turns the evening into a very memorable occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

The BEST dinner at service in the Chestnut Hill area! Our hostess, Bartender and Waiter were OUTSTANDING and very accommodating! I live in San Francisco and have already recommended this place to peers in the Boston Area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food and service are always impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Service and food was
Excellent get way to celebrate our birthdays.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I went here with my love for our 4 yr dating anniversary and wanted it to be somewhere special. The food, service and literally everything was amazing. worth every penny

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The people watching is a no charge bonus to the great meal and service you get at capital grille...why go anywhere else for a fun night..they are one floor UP from top of the line....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Denise our server was great..Food as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Our waiter Sebastian was terrific and very attentive.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was excellent but the service was mediocre the waitress seem to be very rushed and preoccupied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 21, 2017

If you haven't been to this restaurant .You're missing the boat..top of the line in food and service.
Stop reading this and make your reservation now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always a great experience here. Came for my boyfriend's birthday and was seated at a table covered in birthday confetti! Our waiter, Bao, gave us plenty of time to check out the cocktail menu and then respected our time by not rushing us to order too quickly. Wedge salad was a great start and steaks were seasoned and cooked perfectly. We saved some room for dessert but brought the leftovers home! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Good dinner for a special occasion. Food was good. Service was good (they brought a nice complimentary dessert for the couple celebrating their 40th wedding anniversary). But the place is under construction essentially. The bar is a construction zone, and it is cramped with the blocking off of certain sections. With a high end place like Cap Grille, I thought it would be a nice courtesy to at least forewarn guests that the place is in a bit of disarray. In general, I love the Capital Grille, but I would stick to the Burlington location until construction is over. Give it til November 2017 to be safe. And I noticed that they gave me a different year on the bottle of wine I requested. Someone needs to pay attention to what is available on the wine list and wine fridge. I didn't send the bottle back as it was a business situation, but it just felt a little bait and switchy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Another excellent dinner at Capital Grille. It's our go-to for family birthdays and special occasions. Denise, our server, makes a five star restaurant six stars! We look forward to many more great experiences there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Going early brought the noise level down
However if not ordering alcohol, wait staff seems to "blow you off".
Calamari excellent but a bit too much for two to split. The portobello ribeye has a bit too much balsamic vinegar for my husbands taste, should have gone with the Kona rub a much better flavor with the steak.
Planning on going back next Friday with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Outstanding as always! The food is delicious, ambience lovely, service attentive, and experience memorable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2017

It was a wonderful lunch with excellent service. The food was delicious.

Tags: Quick Bite, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

All four of us who ordered steak (filet, NY Strip and Porterhouse I think) were entirely pleased. The salads were excellent, too. Brussell sprouts excellent.

The service was very pleasant, and very good, except the order of expresso at the end was nearly forgotten. The server did not charge us for it, which is very professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We had great food and great service! I would give them five stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food.
Excellent service by Sean.
Very enjoyable birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Outstanding as always!! Great food and great service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great waiter and food. Loved the prosciutto and mozzarella appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

A very nice meal was had by all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We had a great dinner. We were a party of 10 with a picky elderly Dad/ Grandpa. Our waiter was great with him and his list of special requests and special dietary needs. They brought out a birthday cake plate for the birthday Mom/ Grandma. It was a great night! I especially love when you are a big party that they have round tables so everyone can talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Once again TCG was great. This time we even had the kids. The food and service were good as they always are, and the staff even helped me do something special for my wife's 40th birthday. We keep going back because we trust TCG to do a great job.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great waiter, food always reliably good. Lobster macaroni was a fun side.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

As usual The Capital Grill was excellent
The server Amy was great and Jeff
The General Mgr was his usual personable
Self and on top of the restaurant. It was
Restaurant week and the place was busy,

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food was amazing, service was spectacular! Nikitas was great. Made great suggestions and I can't wait to dine her again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. Excellent food, excellent service and we go there very often

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I typically love Capital Grille, however, our experience this time around was horrible. The service was very slow and unattentive and the food was just subpar . I do not know if it's because they were shortstaffed or if corners were cut because it was restaurant week but we were very disappointed with our experience. I would still recommend it just not during restaurant week.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Parking was easy and accomodating. Our party was well cared for and the entire staff was very attentive. Our server, Matthew, was excellent and took good care of us without being overly intrusive. We were at the restaurant for a restaurant week lunch and it was a great value. Appetizer, and desert were perfect as well as my side of fries! I was only a bit disappointed with the sirloin steak as it was a bit tough and I had to cut off more of the non-meaty part of the steak than I remember ever needing to during previous visits. Overall, though, a great take. Still feel it's one of the best steakhouses around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent meal! We try to go during every Restaurant Week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

The food was phenomenal and our waiter, Nikitas, was exceptional!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Always treated so well at the Capital Gill. Love the booths wait staff and the filet.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2017

As usual... food was amazing, service was phenomenal and know I will NEVER be disappointed here. Friend had the endless pour and was super happy about that... and I, the creature of habit, got my tride and true.. .clear chocolate martini(s).. It's all like water to a thirsty person... so fulfilling!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 16, 2017

My friends and I are never disappointed with our meal at The Capital Grille! Both the food and the service are always excellent! I'm already looking forward to my next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

I love this place! The food is fantastic. It has a great atmosphere, and a wonderful staff!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 15, 2017

It all starts with the service! The concierge was absolutely nice and attentive. Our waiter Nick was superb! This all made the food taste really yummy. Thank you
Oh! I almost forgot the 7 glasses of wine tour. You should rotate that through all the seasons. EXCELLENT

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The service was wonderful and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.