Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Hugues Boucher

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Business Meals (43)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Notable Wine List (42)
Romantic (36)
Great for Lunch (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Cozy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Private Room (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
2316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Cap Grill did a great job recognizing my Son's graduation. They turned the dinner into a very special occasion. Well done!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

I know I should be getting steak when dining here but I don't eat it. We started with the calamari which was as good as usual. I then got a Caesar salad that was nothing special but I didn't come with the anchovies I asked for. I got the salmon but the piece I got was so dry I was literally chocking trying to swallow it . We got the au' Gratin potatoes which tasted so much like grease, rather then cheese that I wouldn't eat them. My husband got a steak which he said was delicious. My husband got two non alcohol beers that were $12 a piece, I got two
Cocktails that were delicious at $13 each (Best Buy of the night). I have two $100 gift cards that I will be happy to give away to a steak lover then to waste my night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Capital Grille in Chestnut Hill is consistently great. The manager and staff understand the concept of friendly and professional service and the food is always delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

What an amazing evening. We were celebrating two events and the restaurant and our waitress in particular made the event something we will always cherish. They paid special attention to every detail! We have celebrated here in the past but this evening went above and beyond. Thank you

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We went to the Capital Grill for dinner on our wedding anniversary. The service was great as usual, the restaurant was busy but the noise level was fairly low which is important to me as I have difficulty with background noise. Of course the real reason for choosing the Capital Grill is the food and it was exceptional as expected.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I was sick and couldn't eat or drink anything but...my guests had fabulous meal of red meat and red wine. The birthday dessert was excellent-a nice surprise. We always appreciate the choice of napkin color. We had a server new to us and he was great. (Can't remember his name; sorry) AND we met and connected with a very old family friend! An added bonus.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I usually love Capital Grill especially on special occasions, but this Mother's Day had nothing special. Two (of 5) of our guests were late so I'll give them that. Calamari had so many peppers you couldn't find the calamari. One filet ordered medium came med-well. Espresso came before dessert. Service was slow and there was no celebratory feeling for the night. No pictures no glitter no nothing except a moderately good dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

They were jammed as usual...rightfully so...we came on time..were seated on time..and food was fantastic...the swordfish was the best I had..crabcakes super...sean the server was great and Barbara at reception welcomed us warmly. GM Jeff sure knows how to keep them coming back...
SIX STARS**

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Birthday dinner for my daughter, hostess asked when they called to confirm the reservation and when we arrived the table was sprinkled with sparkles and little birthday cakes very nice touch. She was presented with a birthday card signed by the entire staff and most stopped by the table to wish her a happy birthday. All in all a great dinner. Only downside was my girlfriends steak was over done so they fired another which came back almost raw. Third one was done perfectly and management handled it very well by comping her meal and dessert for the table. Still one of my favorite dinner places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

As usual we were not disappointed as the service, food etc was
wonderful. Service and politeness from Barbara the hostess
with the mostes to our Friendly Lovely server
Jill. The lobster bisque was outstanding. Good for lunch
specials.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We came here for our one year wedding anniversary. There were rose petals on our table which was very sweet. Joseph was a great server. We had the shrimp cocktail, beet salad, French onion soup, filet mignon, porterhouse, creamed spinach and potatoes au gratin - all excellent. Get the creme brûlée cheesecake. Truly enjoyable night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Not going to lie-it's was totally disappointing. If you just gave me the food and didn't tell me where it was from, I would have guessed my grandmother's assisted living home. It was that bad. My husband ordered a filet cooked medium and I ordered a ribeye cooked medium rare. I think they mixed the orders because mine was medium and the filet was bloody. Mine was done more than I'd like but not worth sending back. The problem was that it was completely unseasoned and flavorless. I had to salt it. Several times. My husband asked them to cook his more and it came back barely medium rare. He asked for it to be done just a bit more still and they charred it to a crisp. Like a hockey puck. He ate it because he was starving but did dit was terrible. They didn't charge us for it his steak but really they should have comped more of our meal. It was not good. The mashed potatoes were like glue. The "special salad" was a plate of arugula with a few beets and a hunk of cheese. I've had better salads in business class. The best thing by far were the soy glazed Brussels sprouts. The server was nice but totally rushed and on autopilot. I heard her giving the same shpeil to several tables. I get that you have a patter but it would be nice if it felt a bit more authentic. This was a disappointing experience all around. Bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This place has gone down hill. Starting to feel like the chain restaurant it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very overpriced- steak not hot and fatty. Sat for 5 minutes waiting for steak knives. Also waiter spilled food all over my husband!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 5, 2017

In a word, it was terrible from start to finish. Every course was served to the wrong person, two of the soups were unintelligible, two steaks were underdone, and one of our guests ended up with a stomach ache after eating the salmon. We would have complained, but the waiter ignored us most of the evening. Well, at least the wine was good- all the restaurant could do to it was open it!
This was our first and last trip to this Capital Grille. We have visited others and they are usually outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Service a bit lacking at the bar; otherwise fine. Always a excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Perfect - went for lunch, my wife had $20 plate (mini tenderloin sandwiches) and I had a perfect burger and a beer. It was a low cost lunch in a classy restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Kona crusted steak is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Excellent Lobster Salad. Always wonderful service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

consistently good in all categories for food, service and ambiance
the group I was with was remembering the business meals we used to enjoy at the Pillar House on Rt 128 and we agreed that the Capital Grille in Newton has become our new Pillar House for business lunch meetings in the Newton area

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Birthday dinner 4 out of five of us. They surprised us with little cakes at the end of the meal and decorated the table with sprinkles of birthday cakes. Nice touch

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Capital Grille is one of the better steak chains. There is sufficient variety even for the non-steak lovers. The food is all excellent quality and the service attentive. The food tends to be on the rich side, so it is not a "light" meal. Good for an occasional outing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the greater Boston area!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great lunch menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

It was my son's birthday. I will keep it simple. My steak was undercooked badly and I sent it back and they brought a new one cooked exactly the same. I ordered it medium and it was bloody red all the way through both times.

They set us near a office/coat closet and I had to ask 3 times and then ask for the manager to close the door so that our view was not of the schedules of the staff and the harsh light was shining right there on our table. It was more like being at a baseball game than The Capital Grill that I know in Virginia.

They tried to apologize at the end with desserts for us but the famous coconut cream pie that is my favorite had no coconut cream. It was just crust and whip cream.

I was crying by the time we left. We live in Virginia and flew all the way here to take our son out for dinner for his birthday.

Sadly, I cannot recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Love Cap Grille - this location not up to usual bar of other Cap Grille locations...Food was really a disappointment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I am always impressed by the food and staff at all The Capital Grille restaurants I have dined. I always leave feeling very satisfied in the quality of the meals.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a Capital Grille so there are really no surprises left. It was however the first time having their Steak Oscar. A rare filet with crab meat and asparagus with Hollandaise sauce. Best steak I've ever had at CG. Fortunately ask for rare as it was almost medium rare. If medium rare was the starting point and the steak was equivalently overdone, the steak would have been a ruinous medium plus. This is my new go-to steak at Capital Grille. Well done Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (東京)·Dined on April 16, 2017

They continue to deliver. Food was great. The service is excellent. They could give you a little more for the prices they charge. Our server Spike is the best.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Solid chow and service, another fine meal here. We enjoyed everything we ordered. My suggestions/favorites include lump crab cocktail, wedge salad, kona crusted ny strip, filet, Sam's mashed, creamed spinach, corn, and cheesecake for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I enjoyed a very happy birthday. My filet was cooked perfectly. The service was excellent! The bar was a bit noisy. Still, we enjoyed every minute of our dining experience. Than you

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful for a special occasion....good food ...good service...always welcoming !!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Eavesdropping from the tables around us..it seemed that this was a+ night again at the club Capital grille.
Gm Jeff has a staff that is the best..the same with the food and service.
Keep up the GREAT work..**





I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Nice booth minimal wait as we arrived early
When we didn't order wine waiter seemed to rush the service. Generous portions one steak perfect the other a bit undercooked for Medium. Would go back again and have been dining at this Capitol grill for Years
I would request different waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The only problem is the hostess forgot to indicate we arrived for our 12:15 pm Reservation and were seated. Once I received your email that we had not arrived, I notified the hostess. She then indicated we had just been seated when in fact we had already paid the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Outstanding service from the moment the valet opened the car door until we departed. Special attention was given to us the entire evening making our anniversary dinner exceptional. The food was prepared and presented to the highest standards. We have had similar experiences, even without a special occasion!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The Capital Grille is very customer focused - all the staff seem intent on creating a memorable, happy experience. I'm a vegetarian, but the other three diners all praised their steaks and chops - the servings were generous, but only my 90 yr old mother had any left to take home. I had the special salad and it was great. The food was cooked to perfection. I'm a little more of a foodie, so I don't get the value proposition of paying $50 of a hunk of meat and ordering everything else a la carte. This is definitely high end meat and potatoes (with surf thrown in if you like that). Their attention to quality is commendable, and the service was outstanding. I prefer a little more local and creative flair for my special occasions, but the person we were feting seemed really happy. Thanks for the pleasant memories.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Traditional steak house with a sophisticated millennial, Chestnut Hill vibe. Delicious high calorie, unhealthy food, rich in cholesterol and high in salt and sugar! Indulge widely in your 20's, less wildly in your 30's and consult your doctor in your 40's (and later) before making reservations more often than twice yearly. If you are older than 65, eat to your heart's content, but check to see if your life insurance is paid up to date. Still, all in all, it's truly yummy, unless you're vegan. Eat, drink and bring money!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The service was great but we were disappointed with the food. Capital Grille is no longer outstanding. My steak was over cooked and I ended up eating alone once the brought me another one. The staff was very apologetic and were amazing dealing with the issue. However, the food should be perfect to begin with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Very good service!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.