Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Hugues Boucher

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 4, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 4, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 4, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (79)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Business Meals (51)
See All
Good for Birthdays (48)
Good for a Date (47)
Notable Wine List (41)
Romantic (36)
Great for Lunch (26)
Worth the Drive (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Authentic (11)
Cozy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Fun (10)
Private Room (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Casual (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
2344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

The lunch was disappointing. The bun of my lobster roll tasted like it was grilled yesterday. I twice had to ask for more water. I've always enjoyed dinner at CG. This was my first, and likely last, lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant was the perfect atmosphere for a special occasion. The meal and the steaks presented were superb and the service is 2nd to None.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent in every way .5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were celebrating my sons birthday and the capitol grill did a great job making it a memorable occasion with his own private menu and confetti on the table. The food was excellent and the desserts amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

If you're going to head to the Capital Grille, it's a much better experience at the one in Back Bay. Our server was over stretched on tables (which he admitted to us) the steak wasn't close to the quality and the overall ambiance is a million times better. The prices are the same so invest in the extra drive time and make it a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My husband is not a meat and potato type guy, so it took years to convince him to go to The Capital Grille. I finally was able to convince him by telling him I would go without him, and that they had great fish as well, so he tagged along. Well, he loved his first experience. Now we go back each year, and I can get my-oh-so-delicious rib eye, and he gets the salmon. While we love the food, we also love the service as it's attentive without being hovering. For special occasions, there is always a special touch or three- rose petals and hearts, special printed menus, a complimentary dessert, and this week, a complimentary toast of champagne as well.
I should also add that the cocktails and the wine list by the glass are excellent, and the free valet service on a pouring night was much appreciated.

This really is our special occasion place; it may not be inexpensive, but I am so happy to indulge!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Enjoyable evening, excellent food and service. Moe was an excellent server. Ask for Moe.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great experience! Graduation celebration and the service was warm accommodating and excellent!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The Capital Grille was wonderful for celebrating my daughter's graduation. Our server Jill was professional and attentive. Are all entrees we're delicious. We appreciated all the small touches that made the night special, decorated table, commemorative menu, special dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We around 5:00 pm reservation to beat the crowds and opted to sit at the bar as opposed to a table. Daniel was our bartender and took our order. He has a consummate professional, drinks were made perfectly and delivered quickly without being pushy. The appetizers and main meals were delicious and the dessert was the cherry on top. We will be back. The restaurant fills up quickly and noise level increases as well, but the place is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Capital Grille wowed us with their friendliness. We got a (rare!) last minute reservation and decided to take our daughter for her 14th birthday. Perhaps not a standard choice, but she loves steak, so it made complete sense. The staff were extremely friendly and wished her a happy birthday when we arrived, and then staff continued to stop by and wish her a great day. It really made her feel special. As always the food was delish. Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Went for son's high school graduation. Very good food. Outstanding service and attention to customers. Incredibly noisy around a big round table. If I were taking a group of 8 again I'd specify a rectangle table not a round one. But, it was worth it all the same, a good celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was outstanding - as always. Our server was kind, polite and attentive. Unfortunately we had to wait 35 minutes for our table despite a 7:00 reservation - we were not seated until 7:35. Our server kindly bought as a delicious appetizer to make up for that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 7, 2017

You always get a good meal at the Capital Grille. I took my friend for her birthday and we shared a salad and lamb chops. The portions are huge and the lamb was perfectly cooked. They always give you a Happy Birthday plate with delicious desserts for the occasion. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Bryan and David on the bar were amazing, as always. Best food we've had there as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had a special HS graduation celebration. Service was superb and food absolutely perfect. My only negative was the limited space between the back of my chair at a table against the wall and the table behind me. My chair was hit more than a few times by passerbys.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

As always, everything was perfect! We went to Capital Grille Chestnut Hill for my daughter's birthday dinner. Food and service were great. They even printed personalized menu for the birthday. We appreciate Manager Jeff's kindness.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Been coming for 15+ years and to be honest this is the first time I have been very disappointed.
Went for a birthday and there were so many issues I'll save your eyes the pain.
2 Appetizer forgotten, 2 steaks significantly overcooked, incorrect drinks and then some.
So far from what The Capital Grille is usually like, it pains me to write this.
Everyone has an off night I guess? Sadly at my expense this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The Capital Grille is my favorite restaurant so anything I write will probably be somewhat biased. The food, particularly the steaks, as well as the wine, drinks, service, and ambiance are all outstanding. It seldom if ever happens, and I am not one to send something back, but on this visit, the bone in filet ($65) that I ordered medium rare was badly overcooked. The waiter immediately got the manager and she quickly whisked away my steak with no questions asked and returned a short time later with one that was perfect. Some folks would say that this should be expected in a high-end steak place but I have dined in other places where they make you feel like you must have ordered it incorrectly. I will always come back to Capital Grille when I want a great steak and a great dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Excellent food and service. Never been disappointed. To me, the best steakhouse. I have eaten at the others in Boston.

Tags: Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Thanks Capital Grille. You made our high school graduation luncheon very special! We appreciated all the special touches and the gift, too!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Took my son out for his 30th birthday. Capital Grille was the perfect place to celebrate such an occasion. There is not one thing that I would have changed. Outstanding food and the service was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Exceptional variety and specials on menu. well prepared with fresh ingredients. attentive, knowledgeable and friendly wait staff. truly a destination restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Love the CAP but a Little disappointed in this visit. I just had the burger off of the bar menu and instead of medium rare it showed up well done.

I Just don't think that should happen at a high-end steakhouse where the burger is $20.

To be clear, they took care of it quickly and the evening was still very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Caring and attentive staff. Lead waitstaff who truly lead, managers always stop by to check. Superbly prepared foods. Accessible wines. Our go to for special occasions or that exceptional night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Amazing experience! Food is good, service is excellent! Our family was there for celebrating my son's graduation. I already told many of our friends how amazing this place is, definitely worthy going for any occasion. Thanks for a perfect night!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We have dined at other Capitol Grill locations, so we expect delicious steaks and great service. Lately however, we received good service. The meals were good. I miss the greatness.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Cap Grill did a great job recognizing my Son's graduation. They turned the dinner into a very special occasion. Well done!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I know I should be getting steak when dining here but I don't eat it. We started with the calamari which was as good as usual. I then got a Caesar salad that was nothing special but I didn't come with the anchovies I asked for. I got the salmon but the piece I got was so dry I was literally chocking trying to swallow it . We got the au' Gratin potatoes which tasted so much like grease, rather then cheese that I wouldn't eat them. My husband got a steak which he said was delicious. My husband got two non alcohol beers that were $12 a piece, I got two
Cocktails that were delicious at $13 each (Best Buy of the night). I have two $100 gift cards that I will be happy to give away to a steak lover then to waste my night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Capital Grille in Chestnut Hill is consistently great. The manager and staff understand the concept of friendly and professional service and the food is always delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

What an amazing evening. We were celebrating two events and the restaurant and our waitress in particular made the event something we will always cherish. They paid special attention to every detail! We have celebrated here in the past but this evening went above and beyond. Thank you

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We went to the Capital Grill for dinner on our wedding anniversary. The service was great as usual, the restaurant was busy but the noise level was fairly low which is important to me as I have difficulty with background noise. Of course the real reason for choosing the Capital Grill is the food and it was exceptional as expected.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I was sick and couldn't eat or drink anything but...my guests had fabulous meal of red meat and red wine. The birthday dessert was excellent-a nice surprise. We always appreciate the choice of napkin color. We had a server new to us and he was great. (Can't remember his name; sorry) AND we met and connected with a very old family friend! An added bonus.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I usually love Capital Grill especially on special occasions, but this Mother's Day had nothing special. Two (of 5) of our guests were late so I'll give them that. Calamari had so many peppers you couldn't find the calamari. One filet ordered medium came med-well. Espresso came before dessert. Service was slow and there was no celebratory feeling for the night. No pictures no glitter no nothing except a moderately good dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

They were jammed as usual...rightfully so...we came on time..were seated on time..and food was fantastic...the swordfish was the best I had..crabcakes super...sean the server was great and Barbara at reception welcomed us warmly. GM Jeff sure knows how to keep them coming back...
SIX STARS**

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Birthday dinner for my daughter, hostess asked when they called to confirm the reservation and when we arrived the table was sprinkled with sparkles and little birthday cakes very nice touch. She was presented with a birthday card signed by the entire staff and most stopped by the table to wish her a happy birthday. All in all a great dinner. Only downside was my girlfriends steak was over done so they fired another which came back almost raw. Third one was done perfectly and management handled it very well by comping her meal and dessert for the table. Still one of my favorite dinner places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

As usual we were not disappointed as the service, food etc was
wonderful. Service and politeness from Barbara the hostess
with the mostes to our Friendly Lovely server
Jill. The lobster bisque was outstanding. Good for lunch
specials.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We came here for our one year wedding anniversary. There were rose petals on our table which was very sweet. Joseph was a great server. We had the shrimp cocktail, beet salad, French onion soup, filet mignon, porterhouse, creamed spinach and potatoes au gratin - all excellent. Get the creme brûlée cheesecake. Truly enjoyable night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Not going to lie-it's was totally disappointing. If you just gave me the food and didn't tell me where it was from, I would have guessed my grandmother's assisted living home. It was that bad. My husband ordered a filet cooked medium and I ordered a ribeye cooked medium rare. I think they mixed the orders because mine was medium and the filet was bloody. Mine was done more than I'd like but not worth sending back. The problem was that it was completely unseasoned and flavorless. I had to salt it. Several times. My husband asked them to cook his more and it came back barely medium rare. He asked for it to be done just a bit more still and they charred it to a crisp. Like a hockey puck. He ate it because he was starving but did dit was terrible. They didn't charge us for it his steak but really they should have comped more of our meal. It was not good. The mashed potatoes were like glue. The "special salad" was a plate of arugula with a few beets and a hunk of cheese. I've had better salads in business class. The best thing by far were the soy glazed Brussels sprouts. The server was nice but totally rushed and on autopilot. I heard her giving the same shpeil to several tables. I get that you have a patter but it would be nice if it felt a bit more authentic. This was a disappointing experience all around. Bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.