About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Hugues Boucher

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin
Bread Bas
Wagyu Burger
Crab and Lobster Cakes
Coconut Cream Pie
Ribeye Steak
flourless chocolate cake
Creme Brulee
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Boston Suburbs
Most Booked
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

Special Occasion (95)
Notable Wine List (49)
Romantic (44)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for Groups (38)
Great for Lunch (30)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Business Meals (11)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1988 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went to Capital Grille for our weddin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

We went to Capital Grille for our wedding dinner. It was a small, 9 person celebration. The food and service were outstanding. The restaurant provided a champagne toast for the table and a congratulatory dessert for myself and my husband. We weren't rushed and enjoyed every moment. We will definitely return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to celebrate a special occasion ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went to celebrate a special occasion and weren't disappointed. The staff were very nice, wished us a Happy Anniversary multiple times, had a card and special decorations on the table and event brought us a nice dessert. The service was great and the food was good though the steak was under-cooked a bit. But overall we were very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

First time in Boston, looked great onlin ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

First time in Boston, looked great online and decided to give it a try. Best decision ever! Service, food, atmosphere and everything in between was awesome!! Exceeded our expectations and wish we had one in Montana!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner in the Wine Room = PERFE ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Birthday Dinner in the Wine Room = PERFECTION

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter "Spike" was outstanding as us ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our waiter "Spike" was outstanding as usual and the entire staff made us feel very special.

Many thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was Shawn. He was very experi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Our server was Shawn. He was very experienced.

We had the special salad, the special lobster bisque , and the NY strip! All were perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fabulous. Always. Impeccable serv ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Always fabulous. Always. Impeccable service and consistently excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very average. We tried the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was very average. We tried the restaurant week menu and didnt think it was all that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great restaurant, attentive staff, decor ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great restaurant, attentive staff, decor and booths need to be updated. Can't go wrong with the menu and quality of food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Capital grille is consistently excellent ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Capital grille is consistently excellent with food and service. It was packed and noisy when we went with a party of 8. Great fixed price menu compared to regular menu, which is priced for special occasions.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We went for Restaurant Week expecting ru ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week expecting rushed service and smaller portions for the fixed price.

INSTEAD

We received Excellent service from Moe, never feeling rushed

And the Food was the same portion size and Excellent, as usual

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille never disappoints! Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The Capital Grille never disappoints! The steak was juicy! Chowder was amazing and the creme brulee was to die for!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought my family to the Chestnut Hill C ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Brought my family to the Chestnut Hill Capital Grille to try out their Restaurant Week menu. Great service as well as delicious food. Our waiter was very engaging and informative. As for food, my kids really enjoyed the Creme Brulee.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and our waiter wa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was delicious and our waiter was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our bartender, Bryan was excellent! A t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our bartender, Bryan was excellent! A true professional.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service. Exceptional food. G ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent service. Exceptional food. Great for special occasions

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service, server was attentive and p ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Good service, server was attentive and present whenever needed. Food arrived at reasonable time. Steak was perfectly cooked to medium rare. Only downside was the booth seating, wasn't as comfortable as I expected.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my 3rd time dining at Capital G ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

This was my 3rd time dining at Capital Grille for Restaurant Week, but the first at the Chestnut Hill location. The first time was incredible, the 2nd time was OK (3 out of 6 of us sent our steaks back as they were very overcooked), and this time, 1 of us sent her steak back for being overcooked, while unfortunately the rest of us (3 people) got sick from something we ate, likely the flourless chocolate cake dessert (the only thing the other person did not eat). This was so unfortunate since overall, the meal was tasty. The 3 of us all got sick around the same time a few hours later - my guess is a mild form of food poisoning. I hate writing this in the review, as these things happen, but you just don't expect it at an expensive restaurant like The Capital Grille. I called the manager the next day, but he informed me that no one else had called but was apologetic. Aside from the sickness this time, I also wasn't impressed with the service. We waited about 10-15 minutes for a wine list, and another 5-10 minutes for additional wine glasses (there were only 2 on the table for a party of 4). Overall, as much as I want to like this place, the last two experiences have been disappointing, and I will not return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

It was our 20th wedding anniversary & th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

It was our 20th wedding anniversary & they did a great job making our day extra special! Service, food & drinks we're excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Felt like we we're treated as secondary ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Felt like we we're treated as secondary citizen. Visited for restaurant week; had same time reservation as a few others. However we arrived 1 hour before scheduled time and expected to wait as we did with no issue. The issue came when the others scheduled at the same time arrived they were promptly seated within 10 minutes, and we still waited an additional 30 minutes; making it two hours total before we were seated. Would not recommend this location based off customer service, and the food was subpar. Steak was overcooked and dessert (which I took to go) was a spoonful of creme Brule...(Maybe because we ordered from the restaurant week menu)...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Best waitress ever

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Best waitress ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Capital Grill - perfect meal as alwa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The Capital Grill - perfect meal as always! Dine Out Boston is the best time to go to keep the price down but this is a "special occasion" favorite for my family for years. The food has always been first rate, the service has always been first rate and the ambience and noise level that allows conversation make the meal perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at The Capital Grille. Upon entering, we were greeted by the chef! The atmosphere was calm and welcoming. The food was incredible, and our service beyond expectation. My husband and I would highly recommend The Capital Grille.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant week, great value an ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Went for restaurant week, great value and what I enjoy is that CG doesn't change the size or quality for the lower price point. Moe was our waiter, he was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu as well as the wines he was serving. Other feature I enjoy about the Chestnuthill location is the complimentary valet parking !!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Reservation for 6:30. Waited a few minut ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Reservation for 6:30. Waited a few minutes for table to be ready. Restaurant week. Busy. Waiter didn't seem thrilled that we weren't buying the expensive extras like bottles of wine.

Filet over cooked. Didn't send back as it would have taken too long for a new one and everyone else would have been done.

Not a very friendly waiter. Maybe because they were busy when we it there. Have had him before and he was fine.

Overall enjoyed meal but that might have been the company I was with and restaurant was irrelevant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

As always, the dinner at Capital Grille ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

As always, the dinner at Capital Grille was outstanding. The Filet just melted in your mouth. Our server, Sebastian, (I always ask if he is there) was outstanding. He is a very interesting person. It was restaurant week so it was very crowded, but the meal and the wines (Generous pour as well), were all fantastic. I especially liked the Stags Leap Reserve Cab. It is only available at the winery and Capital Grille. It went famously with the steak.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love their steak and I'm glad they offer ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love their steak and I'm glad they offer restaurant week, my friend and I get together twice a year for this event to catch up and is always wonderful food and we never feel pressure to leave right away.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The herb crusted chicken was delicious! ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The herb crusted chicken was delicious! The wait staff was wonderful, but Brianna greeted me at the door with a kind smile and genuine care to make sure my party had a nice evening. She set the mood for a fantastic night, and her attentiveness was superb. Amazing experience; thank you Brianna!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Jill our server, was Amazing! I had such ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Jill our server, was Amazing! I had such a great time and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I had just gone to NYC and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A friend and I had just gone to NYC and had 2 great meals a the Cspital grill for their restaurant week. Everything perfectly cooked, the wine tasting was fantastic and service impeccable.

However, as we attempted to repeat this great experience at the C. G. Chestnut hill , we were extrimily disappointed.

We ordedr a salad, it was just ok. Our main course, a steak, asked to be cooked medium rare, was NOT COOKED TO ORDER. it was served cold on top as if it had been prepared that morning like banquet stayle.

The plate itself was cold. I would never ever serve a steak on a cold plate... This is a shame and unacceptable in a restaurant like Capitsl Grill. I have gone to this restaurants several times.

They treated us like we don't know how to dine out. Or how food should be prepared. The creme brûlée was undercooked and had no taste.

The wine tasting was the same as in NYC and we were enjoying it up to de desapointing "old steak" at one of the most famous steak houses in the country. What happened ??

Yes... I did asked the waitress after gazing at that said dead meat if that was cooked to order, as she replied "YES" ... What????

The menagerie did take the cost of food from the bill. We told him it was not necessary. We were there to enjoy ourselves antd not to have our bill comped.

We waisted our time, our happy time togher our apatite because of their irresponsible, uncaring staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Very nice birthday celebration. The wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very nice birthday celebration. The waitstaff made it special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dining during restaurant week. Waited 40 ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Dining during restaurant week. Waited 40 Minutes for our table even though we had a reservation! Hostess admitted they were overbooked. They're ALWAYS overbooked and late during restaurant week. Maybe time for a different approach

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This was our second time going to a Capt ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This was our second time going to a Captiol Grille restaurant. Our first experience was at the Burlington location and much like that location the staff at Chestnut Hill were excellent, kind and courteous. Unfortunately this time around we had a family with 4 little roudy children sitting right next to us so that did take away from the full 5star experience. Regardless, I love the quality of service and food and will go back in a heartbeat, especially during Restyrant week 😊! I would highly recommend The Capitol Grille!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

First time for Restaurant Week - pleasan ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

First time for Restaurant Week - pleasantly surprised - great service and food was excellent !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

was very disappointed with our dinner ma ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

was very disappointed with our dinner maybe it was because it was restaurant week and not as much effort was put into the meal. first they changed the size of the glass that the drink came in it was smaller that it has been I ordered my steak black and blue and it came out medium I had to send it back and I must say the quality was not there it was very fatty and tough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

My waitress forgot to put the blue chees ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My waitress forgot to put the blue cheese crumbles on my filet. So when the waitress took it back to melt them on, the steak was cooked longer then expected and was a bit dry. Other then that it was a great experience. Just wish the filet was cooked as ordered.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding experience!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Outstanding experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was amazing and made the whit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our waiter was amazing and made the white chocolate mousse for my birthday per my special request. It was quite loud at the beginning of our meal but was quieter as the night progressed. I will continue to dine here for my birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is consistent. My meal w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This restaurant is consistent. My meal was fabulous. The steak was as ordered.

The service was perfect.

We had to change tables because one person from my party could not get in the booth. I love a booth and they were wonderful about it.

My only complaint is the sides are getting smaller and smaller. I'm guessing it is because it is the specials but there were not enough for the three of us who ordered restaurant week.

And the chips (fresh) at the bar make it for me.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille was a great place to cele ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Capital Grille was a great place to celebrate my son's graduate degree (and CPA) with my wife. The three of us enjoyed filet migon and porterhouse steaks, crab cakes and chowder. Our server was always near by, but never imposed herself while we talked and spent quality family time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.