About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Hugues Boucher

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Report a photo problem

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Bread Bas - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Crab and Lobster Cakes - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Coconut Cream Pie - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Ribeye Steak - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
flourless chocolate cake - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Creme Brulee - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill, Chestnut Hill, MA

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Notable Wine List (15)
Business Meals (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Private Room (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
People Watching (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Casual (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service.. No wait.. Fantastic dinn ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service..

No wait..

Fantastic dinner...everyone around us seemed happy...Super experience..A++++++.

Manager Jeff came by to check on us...his personal caring was great..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and great service. I had ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good food and great service. I had the tenderloin with the two lobster tails. MmmmmmMmmmm so much flavor! So delicious! The vegateble sides were also incredicable. The Brussels sprouts with bacon bits my favorite. Mixed mushrooms were incredible. Then desert...all I can say is WOW! So tasty

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, People Watching, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steaks and wine. Exceptional ser ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing steaks and wine. Exceptional service. Our server, Sean, was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived for lunch with a reserva ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

When we arrived for lunch with a reservation, there was noone to greet us and we waited over 5 minutes at the hostess station waiting for someone to come of for another employee to say something. This was not a good start.

Our waiter was very attentive, but the main courses took a long time to arrive. In addition, it was quite noisy until toward the end of our long lunch when some of the surrounding booths had emptied out.

The food was good, but I don't think I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Ilya was great and as always the food wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Ilya was great and as always the food was spectacular! Look forward to visiting again soon!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great service and the food was de ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

We had great service and the food was delicious! It was a special occasion for us and the staff went out of their way to decorate the table and provide a wonderful dessert on the house!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service. The ambience ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fabulous food and service. The ambience is beautiful. The managers are very accommodating for all needs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there on New Year's Eve The serv ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there on New Year's Eve

The server Jill was terrific and as usual the hostess

Barbara took care of us and The General Manager

Jeff was on top of his game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great way to start 2017 with 5 star serv ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great way to start 2017 with 5 star service and food....can they give 6 stars...again gm Jeff keeps it top rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall delighted by dinner, but returne ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Overall delighted by dinner, but returned one dish which arrived cold and was somewhat disappointed that everything else was moderately lukewarm and steaks weren't quite cooked to the right temperature. (It seemed like everything may have just sat too long.) The fact that we still had a great time is a testament to the good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mike the waiter was very knowledgeable, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Mike the waiter was very knowledgeable, attentive and did not push us. The other assistants helped out as well. It's a nice way to celebrate a happy occasion.

Delicious everything, from salads, seafood, entrees, side dishes to split and dessert! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious steaks. Our table ordered Tend ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delicious steaks. Our table ordered Tenderloin, Rib eye, NY Strip, and salmon and everything was cooked to perfection. Our side dishes were au gratin potatoes, asparagus, green beans. Everything was delicious. Unfortunately our server, while efficient and friendly, kept calling all of us "sweetie" and "honey" including my 84 year old mother in law. Even my sons thought this seemed informal and overly familiar for such an expensive and supposedly upscale restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoyed excellent food and service as ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We enjoyed excellent food and service as usual when we recently lunched at The Capital Grille.

Their lunch specials at $20/each, which include an appetizer and main course, are a very good value and the portions are just right for an afternoon meal.

We were celebrating my daughters birthday and the restaurant presented her with a complimentary dessert to go along with her meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My friends birthday lunch was ruined. He ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My friends birthday lunch was ruined. Her steak had to be returned twice. At no point in time was my food remade as it was rock cold by the time the her meal came out. Dessert had berries covered in mold, which I am deathly allergic to. I couldn't believe how terrible the experience was nor the quality of food. Totally unsatisfied. This was my go to restaurant and I will be looking elsewhere.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Fabulous meal. Waiter friendly knowledge ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Fabulous meal. Waiter friendly knowledgeable about menu.

My daughter and I had a wonderful lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great such as food and se ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was great such as food and service.

The dinning room seemed a bit too loud for my taste.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a disappointing lunch. Dinner has ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was a disappointing lunch. Dinner has always been wonderful. The steak sandwich for lunch left a lot to be desired. I asked for Rare and Half was well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Thanks for the wonderful evening The foo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Thanks for the wonderful evening The food and service were great. We can't wait to return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Amy was great! We had a gr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our waitress Amy was great! We had a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Perfect martinis!! Excellent service whi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Perfect martinis!!

Excellent service while waiting at the bar and from our server Mohammed .

Only downside Space is tight and so hard to feel comfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dined with two clients and colleague. We ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Dined with two clients and colleague. We had a great waiter,she was attentive, but, sensitive to the business discussion s taking place. Food,drink was excellent! Never disappointed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy the Capital Grille for d ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We always enjoy the Capital Grille for date night, special occasions when we don't want to drive into Boston or when we have family visiting from out of town. Sebastian provided us with superior service and was a breath of fresh air. We will be requesting him from now on.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Still too long a wait with reservations ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Still too long a wait with reservations

Seated nearly 25 minutes after reservation which was already relatively late (830)

Common problem in many Capital Grilles I have dined at

Once seated service was fine and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent! Shawn is the best.

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent! Shawn is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fantastic meal & fabulous servi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always a fantastic meal & fabulous service! never disappoints!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an excellent lunch to celebrate t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We had an excellent lunch to celebrate two birthdays. The wedge salad and the bone in sirloin was outstanding. Very nice touch with the birthday dessert. This is definitely a restaurant that we will return to soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, hostess very accommod ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Excellent service, hostess very accommodating on preferred table selection, excellent table service from Kristina, good food selection well prepared, generous proportions, decent meal value

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was excellent except for the ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everything was excellent except for the lobster on the lobster and filet. The flavor was top notch but the texture was a bit stringy; out of season. But, I should know better because steamed in July is how and when to eat lobster. Otherwise, others had the bone in filet which was also great. You can't go wrong at Capital Grille; it's fun, full of activity, civilized, and delicious. Happy Holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good. The waiter was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food was very good. The waiter was not great. Seemed to have somewhat of an attitude, which I've never found at Capital Grille. The waitstaff has always been friendly and helpful.

We eat dinner here a lot and have always loved it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was terrific, and our server wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was terrific, and our server was just the best. A little too loud for our comfort...neighbors had high-pitched voices and it was difficult for us to hear eachother across our booth table. Otherwise, a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our 47 ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 47th wedding anniversary.

When I was called earlier in the day to confirm my reservation, I was asked if it was a special occasion and when I said yes, I was asked what and how many years.

Upon arriving, we found rose petals sprinkled on the table and 2 glasses of complementary Champagne waiting for us.

Everyone who came to the table wished us a Happy Anniversary and half a dozen people who work at the restaurant signed a card for us.

At the end of the meal we were treated to a complementary dessert and photograph.

Every gesture was appreciated very much. The food was wonderful and we can't wait to go back to the restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, People Watching, Wood Oven, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening out for our family Tha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful evening out for our family Thanksgiving celebration. Kudos to Capital Grill for great service, delicious food, and for making our evening special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, a pleasant experience in good ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

As always, a pleasant experience in good, service and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was excellent! Top notch- ver ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our server was excellent! Top notch- very professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Atmosphere, quiet. Matthew was an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great Atmosphere, quiet.

Matthew was an excellent waiter.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food and fantastic service by o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food and fantastic service by our waitress, Denise .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Very great meal. It was my son's 22 Bir ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Very great meal.

It was my son's 22 Birthday, and they made him feet like a King.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice always.

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very nice always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Thanks again to general Jeff and his sta ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Thanks again to general Jeff and his staff..especially sean for making our visit another smiling experience....food

and service A+...

That's what Capital grille is all about.

.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fine but our reservation wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was fine but our reservation was at 830pm and we were only seated at 920pm. It was very chaotic and seemed very poorly managed at the hostess counter. Waiting 50 min after our reservation was scheduled definitely made it tough to have an enjoyable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.