About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Hugues Boucher

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Romantic (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Business Meals (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Private Room (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (7)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Family Style (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was excellent! From the serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was excellent! From the service to the food to the ambiance. The dry-aged NY Strip cut like butter and the prosciutto wrapped mozzarella was to-die-for! It was my daughter's birthday and they had confetti on the table, brought her a delicious dessert at the end of the night with Happy Birthday stenciled in chocolate on the plate! It was a great evening from beginning to end. I would highly recommend Capitol Grille for a special occasion or for an impressive date night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines day at the capital grille was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Valentines day at the capital grille was so efficiently run..prices were normal...service excellent...food superb and barbara in a smashing red dress greeting everyone with her great smile...why go anywhere else .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife here. We had been to the C ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Took my wife here. We had been to the Capital Grille in Washington and Orlando. This was also a very wonderful place to dine. The atmosphere is quiet and romantic, the food is excellent and the service is superb.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was very disappointed in the salad that ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Was very disappointed in the salad that I ordered! Lettuce was brown and tomatoes were brown as well. Wasn't inexpensive salad either! Surprising.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

My wife and I went there for an early Va ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I went there for an early Valentine's Day celebration. The choices and the drinks were more than fine - and the atmosphere was, as always, wonderful. Our waiter Jack was more than attentive to all of our requests - he was a gem! When we were departing I mentioned to the hostess that I had thought that, it being Valentine's Day, that female patrons would be given a rose. She said, "I'll be right back" and immediately returned with a long-stem rose. When I saw the delight in my wife's eyes, I was a very happy husband!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service (Moe) was excellent and food was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service (Moe) was excellent and food was even better! The porterhouse was too big to eat in 1 sitting. Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a business lunch or dinn ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great place for a business lunch or dinner. Food consistently top notch. Service superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Capital Grille was a great dining ex ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The Capital Grille was a great dining experience. The food was delicious. The ribeye was over the top flavorful. We also enjoyed the lobster bisque and beet salad. The service was impeccable!! We did not feel rushed. We would definitely dine here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another excellent dining experience at T ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Another excellent dining experience at The Capital Grill. Compliments to the chef and thank you Denise for making our dinner so enjoyable. Once again, we feel like we are the most important guests in the dining room. You are the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The from beginning to end, the staff was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The from beginning to end, the staff was welcoming and attentive and the food was great !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the Kona crusted steak which is o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had the Kona crusted steak which is our favorite and it did not

disappoint. My Birthday dessert capped off a perfect meal!!! Everyone

was so welcoming.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was for 7:15pm, we were ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our reservation was for 7:15pm, we were seated at 7:50pm...it was a long wait for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

My wife and I love this place. They tre ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My wife and I love this place. They treat us with the white glove routine everytime we go there. It is our favorite place in all of Boston. Can't recommend it enough.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak is always excellent and if you ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The steak is always excellent and if you are fortunate enough to have Denise as your server so will the service be! She is so thoughtful and honest and always seems in such a good mood that she starts the evenings off just right. All she wants to do is please and it becomes instantly obvious,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my nephew for his birthday

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Took my nephew for his birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is by far our favorite restaurant i ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This is by far our favorite restaurant in Chestnut Hill area. Everything, from the second you walk in, to the food, which is always outstanding, and the waiter Denise is amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TCG did a wonderful job of making my Mom ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

TCG did a wonderful job of making my Mom's 70th birthday special. We were 8, so perfect for a sideroom (and with 2 little kids that was a great bonus). Moe was fantastic. Helpful, funny, attentive... everything you look for. And the food was delicious. Raves for the lobster mac and cheese. We'll of course be back. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service.. No wait.. Fantastic dinn ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great service..

No wait..

Fantastic dinner...everyone around us seemed happy...Super experience..A++++++.

Manager Jeff came by to check on us...his personal caring was great..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and great service. I had ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very good food and great service. I had the tenderloin with the two lobster tails. MmmmmmMmmmm so much flavor! So delicious! The vegateble sides were also incredicable. The Brussels sprouts with bacon bits my favorite. Mixed mushrooms were incredible. Then desert...all I can say is WOW! So tasty

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, People Watching, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steaks and wine. Exceptional ser ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing steaks and wine. Exceptional service. Our server, Sean, was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived for lunch with a reserva ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

When we arrived for lunch with a reservation, there was noone to greet us and we waited over 5 minutes at the hostess station waiting for someone to come of for another employee to say something. This was not a good start.

Our waiter was very attentive, but the main courses took a long time to arrive. In addition, it was quite noisy until toward the end of our long lunch when some of the surrounding booths had emptied out.

The food was good, but I don't think I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Ilya was great and as always the food wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Ilya was great and as always the food was spectacular! Look forward to visiting again soon!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great service and the food was de ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We had great service and the food was delicious! It was a special occasion for us and the staff went out of their way to decorate the table and provide a wonderful dessert on the house!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service. The ambience ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fabulous food and service. The ambience is beautiful. The managers are very accommodating for all needs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there on New Year's Eve The serv ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there on New Year's Eve

The server Jill was terrific and as usual the hostess

Barbara took care of us and The General Manager

Jeff was on top of his game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great way to start 2017 with 5 star serv ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great way to start 2017 with 5 star service and food....can they give 6 stars...again gm Jeff keeps it top rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall delighted by dinner, but returne ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Overall delighted by dinner, but returned one dish which arrived cold and was somewhat disappointed that everything else was moderately lukewarm and steaks weren't quite cooked to the right temperature. (It seemed like everything may have just sat too long.) The fact that we still had a great time is a testament to the good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mike the waiter was very knowledgeable, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Mike the waiter was very knowledgeable, attentive and did not push us. The other assistants helped out as well. It's a nice way to celebrate a happy occasion.

Delicious everything, from salads, seafood, entrees, side dishes to split and dessert! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious steaks. Our table ordered Tend ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delicious steaks. Our table ordered Tenderloin, Rib eye, NY Strip, and salmon and everything was cooked to perfection. Our side dishes were au gratin potatoes, asparagus, green beans. Everything was delicious. Unfortunately our server, while efficient and friendly, kept calling all of us "sweetie" and "honey" including my 84 year old mother in law. Even my sons thought this seemed informal and overly familiar for such an expensive and supposedly upscale restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoyed excellent food and service as ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We enjoyed excellent food and service as usual when we recently lunched at The Capital Grille.

Their lunch specials at $20/each, which include an appetizer and main course, are a very good value and the portions are just right for an afternoon meal.

We were celebrating my daughters birthday and the restaurant presented her with a complimentary dessert to go along with her meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My friends birthday lunch was ruined. He ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My friends birthday lunch was ruined. Her steak had to be returned twice. At no point in time was my food remade as it was rock cold by the time the her meal came out. Dessert had berries covered in mold, which I am deathly allergic to. I couldn't believe how terrible the experience was nor the quality of food. Totally unsatisfied. This was my go to restaurant and I will be looking elsewhere.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Fabulous meal. Waiter friendly knowledge ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Fabulous meal. Waiter friendly knowledgeable about menu.

My daughter and I had a wonderful lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great such as food and se ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was great such as food and service.

The dinning room seemed a bit too loud for my taste.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a disappointing lunch. Dinner has ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was a disappointing lunch. Dinner has always been wonderful. The steak sandwich for lunch left a lot to be desired. I asked for Rare and Half was well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Thanks for the wonderful evening The foo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Thanks for the wonderful evening The food and service were great. We can't wait to return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Amy was great! We had a gr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our waitress Amy was great! We had a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Perfect martinis!! Excellent service whi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Perfect martinis!!

Excellent service while waiting at the bar and from our server Mohammed .

Only downside Space is tight and so hard to feel comfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dined with two clients and colleague. We ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Dined with two clients and colleague. We had a great waiter,she was attentive, but, sensitive to the business discussion s taking place. Food,drink was excellent! Never disappointed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.