About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Hugues Boucher

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Kona Crusted Dry Age Sirloin
Bread Bas
Wagyu Burger
Crab and Lobster Cakes
Ribeye Steak
Coconut Cream Pie
flourless chocolate cake
Seared Tenderloin With Butter Poached Lobster
Creme Brulee
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Lobster Pot Pie

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
Steakhouse
Boston Suburbs
Most Booked
Boston Suburbs
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

special occasion (142)
fit for foodies (76)
romantic (64)
See All
notable wine list (58)
good for groups (51)
great for lunch (39)
neighborhood gem (37)
hot spot (20)
vibrant bar scene (18)
great for brunch (12)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1911 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place to have a great meal

Dined 2 days ago

Great place to have a great meal

food5
ambience5
service5

Never have we had a bad meal. Everything ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Never have we had a bad meal. Everything I rate an A+. Staff, of course food, all service and ambiance is amazing. Love this place!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Ho hum...just another flawless evening w ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Ho hum...just another flawless evening where the food.ambiance and staff were a..plus.....general Jeff does a great job..

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The Capital Grill inBurlington was much ...

Dined 6 days ago

The Capital Grill inBurlington was much better. Salad was much larger at their Burlington location and food portions were greater. Serviceven was excellant

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille Chestnut Hill never disap ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Capital Grille Chestnut Hill never disappoints. Food, ambiance and service are all consistently outstanding. Denise is the most fantastic server! She's professional, attentive and extremely pleasant. I request her every time I dine at Capital Grille. Enjoy!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Brussel sprouts and coconut creme pie.

Dined on June 16, 2016

Brussel sprouts and coconut creme pie.

food3
ambience4
service4

Sadly feel the place is overrated and ov ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Sadly feel the place is overrated and overpriced. Food quality was average only 1 steak out of 3 was good. The truffle fries were frozen fries, mediocre Caesar salad, nice tomato avocado salad, breads were good but old tasting scalloped potatoes. What saved the night was our lovely waitress Judy and her attentive and personable service.

food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Only one out of the four steak dishes wa ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Only one out of the four steak dishes was what it should be. The tuna and halibut were tasteless and dry I would even say awful. I have been here before but will not return. Very disappointing. There are many better places to go. Our server was good and the celebration acknowledgement very nice but did not make up for food quality.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality special occasion top notch

Dined on June 10, 2016

Thankfully I mentioned that we were here for our wedding anniversary. Every single staff member who came to our table said something to us . Made the occasion even more special. The food of course was exceptional - and the gift dessert was an even more special touch, but the thing we'll remember most was the service from the time we arrived to the time we walked out the door. Top class all the way. It's the reason people should get out to a restaurant. Yeah, we paid for it via the prices, but we won't remember the bill....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meal and wonderful service!!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Delicious meal and wonderful service!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meals were delicious, and the servic ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Our meals were delicious, and the service was impeccable. Our server, Jill Cohen was absolutely terrific. She was attentive and seemed to anticipate all of our needs. She made a great experience even more special. Unfortunately, our experience with the hostesses was not positive at all as they were preoccupied and even rude. However, Jill and the delicious food saved the day!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

After being seated , we waited for a lon ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

After being seated , we waited for a longer than reasonable time to be recognized by a waiter. Salads were excellent . Main course not so great. Chicken was dry and tasteless and the stake was somewhat dry and over cooked. For the cost , service and meal , I would go back to the Wildwood Steak House in Marlboro. They have you beat in all the above categories.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food- steak perfect

Dined on June 4, 2016

Delicious food- steak perfect

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille is always a Steak treat

Dined on June 2, 2016

Perfectly cooked steaks. excellent variety on menu. Be careful of the vegetable sides dishes being extremely hot. I burned my thumb on one. Have a nice blister.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steakhouse in Boston!

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

I just wish they could make caesar salad a little bit better.....

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Solid as usual

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

A great experience for our family, as usual. The staff helped accommodate our schedule and table needs to add to our enjoyment of the evening. Food was particularly superb this visit and the specials were great Matthew was solid as a server

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great night to celebrate a birthh ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

What a great night to celebrate a birthhday, everything was excellent from the service to the food and drinks. Far exceeded expectations and quality of the product is A+.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on May 26, 2016

It was my friend's birthday and I know the Capital Grille does birthdays right. And they did. We had a delicious meal, a great server, and a wonderful time. They never disappoint.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great dinner with an "old" friend. ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Had a great dinner with an "old" friend. Our server, May, was very considerate of the fact that we wanted time to chat and she therefore didn't interrupt. Have always enjoyed my meals here and will continue to return as often as I can.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Chestnut Hill hasn't been same as other locations

Dined on May 23, 2016

We always book Capital Grille for special occasions but seem to miss it when it comes to the food at Chestnut Hill. Last few times had issues with temperature of steaks. This time one steak was undercooked and all the sides were cold. We had to send several sides back twice. Service and free sides helped but rhode island is always better.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always love coming here. My steak ca ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We always love coming here. My steak came out a bit rare but it was delicious. I sent it back and it came back still rare and they took it off the bill. Outstanding service all the way around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Jill was outstanding!! We bo ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Our server Jill was outstanding!! We both had the lobster bisque for a starter. My wife had the scallops over asparagus risotto, scallops where large and cooked to perfection and the risotto was delicious. My fillet and lobster tails where outstanding. Steak cooked to perfection and the lobster tails where perfectly butter poached.

food4
ambience2
service2

Disappointed Cap grille has always been ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Disappointed Cap grille has always been a mainstay for class but has slipped significantly in recent years -restaurant was loud dark; waitstaff loud abrasive hurried (Jacques was off this night) -very unpleasant. Not a place to enjoy a leisurely elegant meal as in former days.

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

If your not a regular don't bother - my ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

If your not a regular don't bother - my second time to this establishment and we were basically ignored as the staff were more interested in attending to the 'regulars' at the bar. Such a disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Capital Grill at thi ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

We have been to the Capital Grill at this location several times while visiting Boston College. The food is always excellent! The service and other staff are all outstanding, very friendly. Would highly recommend!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was wonderful and attentive. ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Our server was wonderful and attentive. The food was delicious. Very busy for a Sunday night, but I think it was all due to the graduation and celebrations this month. We would definitely come back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food. Prepared and served with ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Delicious food. Prepared and served with attention to detail using fresh ingredients. Knowledgeable and friendly waitstaff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for Graduation and Mother's Day !

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for Graduation and Mother's Day ! We were quite late for our reservation due to the graduation traffic but they accommodated us rather quickly and with good spirits. Everyone had something to say - congratulations to my daughter, happy Mother's Day to my wife - a mug, a pen and a free desert inscribed with Congratulations on graduating. It was just a terrific afternoon - will go back - Kim our waitress could not have been nicer. Best Regards to the Capital Grill from this last Sunday.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Fantastic food. Highly re ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service. Fantastic food. Highly recommend it!

food5
ambience5
service5

Kona crusted rib eye Lobster Mac n chee ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Kona crusted rib eye Lobster Mac n cheese

food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Anniversary disappointment

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We have celebrated our anniversary at the Capital Grille for the last 6 years. This year the service was slow and quality was lacking. Champagne was delivered flat and it took 15 minutes to get someone's attention. Salad special was delivered with rock hard avocado. In general the meal was not up to Capital Grille standards and the service was not up to anyone's standard.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is my go-to lunch place. I introduc ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

This is my go-to lunch place. I introduced 4 girlfriends to the restaurant today and they agree it has the best salads around. My favorite is the Mediterranean with huge grilled shrimp but the Cobb with tenderloin on it is pretty fantastic as well. And of course, service by Denise is always warm, personable and excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect restaurant for a special occasio ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Perfect restaurant for a special occasion or celebration! Outstanding menu, and as always using only the freshest ingredients. Our steaks were cooked to perfection! Extremely friendly, yet professional staff. Would definitely come back again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Oysters were deliciously fresh. Steak w ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Oysters were deliciously fresh. Steak was overdone though unfortunately. Still delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille's signature steak jus is ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Capital Grille's signature steak jus is back and my family loves it! Seafood appetizers are always fresh. Complimentary birthday cakes were excellent and impressive. Our waiter accommodated all the requests in timely manner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food and excellent service. It was a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time visit. We wanted ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our first time visit. We wanted a special place to celebrate my husband's birthday. This was a great choice! We were treated wonderfully from the minute we walked in. Subtle, yet celebratory extra touches were delightful. The food was superb, our steaks were exactly how we ordered. The waitstaff were totally professional, yet personal. Denise, our waitress made sure we were completely satisfied with our experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for my boyfriends birthday was very ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Went for my boyfriends birthday was very happy with how they helped us celebrate. They decorated the table and gave a free desert..food was amazing!! We got steak and truffle fries and mashed potatoes and shared..flavor was outstanding...would def recommended and will def return again

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was done to perfection

Dined on April 19, 2016

A special dinner remembering my husband's birthday ( he was an executive chef and loved this restaurant) and celebrating my parents. I highly recommend chef Evan and our server Bao . The lobster bisque and porterhouse are a must. Thank you for making everything so special...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicios meal, as always. The perfect se ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Delicios meal, as always. The perfect setting to celebrate our engagement.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.