About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Hugues Boucher

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for Father's Day on Sunday, June 19. Enjoy our Bone-In Tomahawk Ribeye for a celebration to remember.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
Steakhouse
Boston Suburbs
Most Booked
Boston Suburbs
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

special occasion (150)
fit for foodies (81)
romantic (73)
See All
notable wine list (65)
good for groups (50)
great for lunch (40)
neighborhood gem (39)
hot spot (21)
vibrant bar scene (20)
great for brunch (13)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1893 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great dinner with an "old" friend. ...

Dined 3 days ago

Had a great dinner with an "old" friend. Our server, May, was very considerate of the fact that we wanted time to chat and she therefore didn't interrupt. Have always enjoyed my meals here and will continue to return as often as I can.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Chestnut Hill hasn't been same as other locations

Dined 6 days ago

We always book Capital Grille for special occasions but seem to miss it when it comes to the food at Chestnut Hill. Last few times had issues with temperature of steaks. This time one steak was undercooked and all the sides were cold. We had to send several sides back twice. Service and free sides helped but rhode island is always better.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always love coming here. My steak ca ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We always love coming here. My steak came out a bit rare but it was delicious. I sent it back and it came back still rare and they took it off the bill. Outstanding service all the way around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Jill was outstanding!! We bo ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Our server Jill was outstanding!! We both had the lobster bisque for a starter. My wife had the scallops over asparagus risotto, scallops where large and cooked to perfection and the risotto was delicious. My fillet and lobster tails where outstanding. Steak cooked to perfection and the lobster tails where perfectly butter poached.

food4
ambience2
service2

Disappointed Cap grille has always been ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Disappointed Cap grille has always been a mainstay for class but has slipped significantly in recent years -restaurant was loud dark; waitstaff loud abrasive hurried (Jacques was off this night) -very unpleasant. Not a place to enjoy a leisurely elegant meal as in former days.

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

If your not a regular don't bother - my ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

If your not a regular don't bother - my second time to this establishment and we were basically ignored as the staff were more interested in attending to the 'regulars' at the bar. Such a disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Capital Grill at thi ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

We have been to the Capital Grill at this location several times while visiting Boston College. The food is always excellent! The service and other staff are all outstanding, very friendly. Would highly recommend!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was wonderful and attentive. ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Our server was wonderful and attentive. The food was delicious. Very busy for a Sunday night, but I think it was all due to the graduation and celebrations this month. We would definitely come back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food. Prepared and served with ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Delicious food. Prepared and served with attention to detail using fresh ingredients. Knowledgeable and friendly waitstaff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for Graduation and Mother's Day !

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for Graduation and Mother's Day ! We were quite late for our reservation due to the graduation traffic but they accommodated us rather quickly and with good spirits. Everyone had something to say - congratulations to my daughter, happy Mother's Day to my wife - a mug, a pen and a free desert inscribed with Congratulations on graduating. It was just a terrific afternoon - will go back - Kim our waitress could not have been nicer. Best Regards to the Capital Grill from this last Sunday.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Fantastic food. Highly re ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service. Fantastic food. Highly recommend it!

food5
ambience5
service5

Kona crusted rib eye Lobster Mac n chee ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Kona crusted rib eye Lobster Mac n cheese

food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Anniversary disappointment

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We have celebrated our anniversary at the Capital Grille for the last 6 years. This year the service was slow and quality was lacking. Champagne was delivered flat and it took 15 minutes to get someone's attention. Salad special was delivered with rock hard avocado. In general the meal was not up to Capital Grille standards and the service was not up to anyone's standard.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is my go-to lunch place. I introduc ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

This is my go-to lunch place. I introduced 4 girlfriends to the restaurant today and they agree it has the best salads around. My favorite is the Mediterranean with huge grilled shrimp but the Cobb with tenderloin on it is pretty fantastic as well. And of course, service by Denise is always warm, personable and excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect restaurant for a special occasio ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Perfect restaurant for a special occasion or celebration! Outstanding menu, and as always using only the freshest ingredients. Our steaks were cooked to perfection! Extremely friendly, yet professional staff. Would definitely come back again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Oysters were deliciously fresh. Steak w ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Oysters were deliciously fresh. Steak was overdone though unfortunately. Still delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille's signature steak jus is ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Capital Grille's signature steak jus is back and my family loves it! Seafood appetizers are always fresh. Complimentary birthday cakes were excellent and impressive. Our waiter accommodated all the requests in timely manner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food and excellent service. It was a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time visit. We wanted ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our first time visit. We wanted a special place to celebrate my husband's birthday. This was a great choice! We were treated wonderfully from the minute we walked in. Subtle, yet celebratory extra touches were delightful. The food was superb, our steaks were exactly how we ordered. The waitstaff were totally professional, yet personal. Denise, our waitress made sure we were completely satisfied with our experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for my boyfriends birthday was very ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Went for my boyfriends birthday was very happy with how they helped us celebrate. They decorated the table and gave a free desert..food was amazing!! We got steak and truffle fries and mashed potatoes and shared..flavor was outstanding...would def recommended and will def return again

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was done to perfection

Dined on April 19, 2016

A special dinner remembering my husband's birthday ( he was an executive chef and loved this restaurant) and celebrating my parents. I highly recommend chef Evan and our server Bao . The lobster bisque and porterhouse are a must. Thank you for making everything so special...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicios meal, as always. The perfect se ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Delicios meal, as always. The perfect setting to celebrate our engagement.

food5
ambience4
service5

Our server made sure the type of steak w ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Our server made sure the type of steak we described was delivered. Service and timing was spot on! It was a wonderful birthday experience. Thanks to all who made it happen. We will definitely look forward to our return back. Thanks !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Done right !!!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Capital Grille always does it right...from greeting you... to seating you...to the offerings.. to the menu..to the service....& finally to the food !!! Great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Their Cobb salad was superb --

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

High quality blue cheese, tenderloin, and greens -- a bargain at $20!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great dining experience

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

The steaks were outstanding as well as my tuna entree. The only side dish that I wish could have been tastier was the truffle french fries. They could have been much crispier and thinner.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant: The food is GREAT.

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

We have been going to Capital Grill in Chestnut Hill since they opened, 20 years ago, and we never stopped. It is FABULOUS. Never had a bad meal; the wait staff is fabulous....the manager is the best, the girls at the desk are the best, and of course, the chef is the best. We love it and will continue to go there as long as they will feed us. :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect spot for my fiance's birthday di ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Perfect spot for my fiance's birthday dinner and our first date night since or newborn came home. Easily accessible location, complimentary valet, exceptional and thoughtful service, and amazing food. We both had steaks that were absolutely perfect, accompanied by cocktails and scalloped potatoes, and we finished with a dessert sampler that was perfectly portioned. Awesome experience from beginning to end!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as usual, it never disappoints

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Great as usual, it never disappoints

food4
ambience4
service4

perfect, everyone is satisfied...

Dined on April 1, 2016

perfect, everyone is satisfied...

food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious as always! Our meals were exce ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Delicious as always! Our meals were excellent and service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Perfect service,great food and a lovely atmosphere. My family all really enjoyed themselves! Thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nirvana for Easter

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had an Awesome Brunch meal for Easter. The regular Menu and Fixed Menu were available and we mixed and matched from both. Food , Service, and Ambiance were Incredible. Would Highly Recommend the Cap Grille in Chestnut Hill!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Would recommend..

Dined on March 26, 2016

Came here for an anniversary. Only restaurant I've been to in Boston that has put rose petals, and comp'd a lovely/wonderful dessert to help us celebrate! The appetizers were really good (french onion soup, artichoke soup, kalamari, etc...)... the entrees (salmon was excellent)... but my chicken was served cold. I asked if they could reheat it, and they apologized. Comp'd the chicken, and gave us 2 free sides of mashed potatoes (didn't eat tho...). The manager and our waitress were so apologetic. I'd rate this location 4/5 stars. :)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was good you just have to realize t ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was good you just have to realize that you will be paying $13 for two tomatoes, basil, mozzarella and AGED balsamic. Waitress was wonderful! The new method of using a tablet to select your drink was unique but very cumbersome as you have to wait for each person to go through the menus and then pass along the tablet before the waitress comes back.

food5
ambience5
service5

These are the best salads and you can mi ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

These are the best salads and you can mix and match proteins and greens. Today I had huge grilled shrimp on the Cobb salad but they are equally as good on the wedge or the Mediterranean salad. And so is the filet or salmon. You really can't get more bang for $20 in the Chestnut Hill area.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our lunch at the Capital Gril ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch at the Capital Grille in Chestnut Hill. I ordered a delicious salad with avocado and mango for my appetizer. It normally comes with salmon on top, but I chose to order it without the salmon because I ate a bone in sirloin steak after the salad. It was flavorful and delicious and a great value, too at $28! We were given a few desserts to split because it was my birthday. The chocolate dessert was my favorite, but my friend liked the round cheesecake. The service was excellent! My friends ordered shrimp which was served over cous cous. They enjoyed it. We definitely recommend this restaurant. It is pricey for dinner, but the lunch is definitely a great value!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not ask for better service, ask f ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Could not ask for better service, ask for Denise for a server when going you will be treated like royalty .

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was absolutely delicious the ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Everything was absolutely delicious the same as last time we did which potatoes they were very yummy the cream of spinach I don't I like it so much we should have just got the regular sautéed spinach. Everything was still yummy though love that place

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on March 19, 2016

We've had so many wonderful meals at The Capital Grille and this evening did not disappoint! Sebastian our server was amazing. Very knowledgeable about the menu and any questions we had and extremely attentive. Can't say enough about how spectacular the service is at this location.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.