Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Matthew

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 4, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 4, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 4, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Good for a Date (49)
Notable Wine List (44)
Business Meals (41)
Romantic (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Worth the Drive (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Cozy (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Fun (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Casual (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Authentic (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual The Capital Grill was excellent
The server Amy was great and Jeff
The General Mgr was his usual personable
Self and on top of the restaurant. It was
Restaurant week and the place was busy,

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing, service was spectacular! Nikitas was great. Made great suggestions and I can't wait to dine her again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants. Excellent food, excellent service and we go there very often

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

I typically love Capital Grille, however, our experience this time around was horrible. The service was very slow and unattentive and the food was just subpar . I do not know if it's because they were shortstaffed or if corners were cut because it was restaurant week but we were very disappointed with our experience. I would still recommend it just not during restaurant week.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Parking was easy and accomodating. Our party was well cared for and the entire staff was very attentive. Our server, Matthew, was excellent and took good care of us without being overly intrusive. We were at the restaurant for a restaurant week lunch and it was a great value. Appetizer, and desert were perfect as well as my side of fries! I was only a bit disappointed with the sirloin steak as it was a bit tough and I had to cut off more of the non-meaty part of the steak than I remember ever needing to during previous visits. Overall, though, a great take. Still feel it's one of the best steakhouses around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent meal! We try to go during every Restaurant Week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was phenomenal and our waiter, Nikitas, was exceptional!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Always treated so well at the Capital Gill. Love the booths wait staff and the filet.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

As usual... food was amazing, service was phenomenal and know I will NEVER be disappointed here. Friend had the endless pour and was super happy about that... and I, the creature of habit, got my tride and true.. .clear chocolate martini(s).. It's all like water to a thirsty person... so fulfilling!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

My friends and I are never disappointed with our meal at The Capital Grille! Both the food and the service are always excellent! I'm already looking forward to my next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I love this place! The food is fantastic. It has a great atmosphere, and a wonderful staff!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

It all starts with the service! The concierge was absolutely nice and attentive. Our waiter Nick was superb! This all made the food taste really yummy. Thank you
Oh! I almost forgot the 7 glasses of wine tour. You should rotate that through all the seasons. EXCELLENT

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was wonderful and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

The Capital Grill in Chestnut Hill always provides a superb dining experience. The food and the service are always outstanding. I went this time for lunch, with a friend, for restaurant week and we were very pleased with the selections on the prix fixe menu. Truffle fries were delicious!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Noisy inside. Food and service were fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

My experience here was overall perfect!!! The food was great and the service was spectacular. Everything came in a timely fashion and tasted amazing. My husband and I both agreed we would definitely be coming back. Thanks Capital Grill

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Capital Grill is always a wonderful dining experience. Food is excellent and atmosphere and decor are special. It gives aBoston atmosphere and things feel celebratory.
This time service was less than pleasant. Waiter was a bit arrogant and not friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I am never disappointed with a visit to Capital Grille. They consistently deliver the best food with exceptional service. It is a dining delight. Professional staff treat me like a king. I recommend the Kona crusted Sirloin. However, I have never had anything which was not wonderful. Don't forget the Generous Pour, a delightful wine tasting experience available during the summer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food and service are exquisite. Decor is elegant. For birthdays, they provide a menu with the name and a special birthday dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Everything was amazing. The waitstaff is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was delicious and wait staff very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Everything was great - food, service, ambience, effort to make everything special. Plus, it was restaurant week (Dine Out Boston), for which Capital Grille always does a great job. And it was also the Generous Pour. What could be better?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent service by our waiter. Amazing food quality!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great wait staff that caters to your wishes and try's very hard to be accommodating
Our waiter, Moe, was terrific.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Went during resteraunt week, and had a wonderful evening. Our waiter Eli (spelling could be off) was very attentive, and helped us with our wine tasting options. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We always come for restaurant week, in addition to special occasions. We love the Capital Grille❤️❤️
Just wish it hadn't been so noisy. It was really only possible to speak with the person right next to you. Unable to have a "round table" discussion

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The Capital Grille is ordinarily excellent; however, i cannot recommend a visit during Restaurant Week. The food was mediocre, at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Went in for restaurant week, LOVE the generous pour and the filet. Amazing experience and food. Will be back again this week!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I brought my daughters there to celebrate their birthday's. We experienced the Outrageous pour and our waiter, Brian, was very informative. The food was excellent and our interaction with our waiter was bar to none. We can not wait to come back again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great experience. Went for restaurant week so there was a prefix menu that was pretty good value. We also ordered some extras off the main menu.

Everything tastes pretty good. My steak came out overdone but my waiter noticed immediately and brought out a new one. Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We went during restaurant week. The choices were very good. Our server was excellent, informative and friendly. The salad, steaks, and desserts were delicious. The optional wine pour for $28 was over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Went during restaurant week as a test. Excellent service especially by our waiter Sean! Service, atmosphere and menu worth the price!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was amazing and our waiter Renato was marvelous!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The best restaurant in the entire world and this location in particular is the best capital grille every night at the capital grille chestnut hill is the best night of my entire life

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Waiter was terrific, did not rush us and was very professional. We both ordered steak and it would be hard to find one that could be better, amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Sean is the best waiter that I have ever had.
Our second time back for our 10th anniversary.
Love the food......Awesome!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Amazing food and unbeatable service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great suburban location, (NO $20+ valet parking charge), "clubby" steakhouse atmosphere.
Professional wait staff. Great wine promo $28 for unlimited tasting flights .BUT just tooooo expensive! Steaks $45+ a la carte (NY Strip quality was not at level of similar NYC venues. Swordfish $45 for a relatively small very thin slightly overcooked serving. Best bread tray anywhere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Good local place, good drinks, delicious food, good ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I always go to the capital grille in boston and enjoy it very much. I decided to go to chestnut hill for a special business appreciation lunch. The device was slow even though the restaurant was empty. It took the hostess 10 minutes to get us to our table. I ordered the bone in ribeye which was cold and so were the green beans. I requested a cake for dessert and the server just gave us dessert menus with no mention of the request. All in all a total disaster- will never go back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.