Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Hugues Boucher

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us Easter Sunday for an exceptional prix fixe brunch. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as Shrimp and Grits and more.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Good for Birthdays (32)
Notable Wine List (32)
Romantic (28)
Business Meals (23)
Worth the Drive (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Authentic (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Private Room (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
People Watching (7)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Family Style (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Historic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

I've been here a few times and generally like tis restaurant, but find their steaks inconsistent from visit to visit. This time I found my steak, while cooked to my Medium-rare request, to be dry/chewy on the outside, and quite bland tasting. It tasted like it was cooked, and then left under a lamp for some time. I did not enjoy it. In these type of establishments, consistency is key as steaks are the read and butter of the establishments and should be done with perfection every time. This time, I felt I was at the Outback grill. Poor quality.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely lovely! Had the dry-aged bone-in NY strip and it was perfect. They always make birthdays special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Only problem was we were a party of 6 and they put us at a small table. It seems like it was because we had kids- all the kids were in the same area of the restaurant ... not the "good" tables. This is always frustrating to be relegated to the back of the restaurant because we have children. They are well behaved and paying just as much to eat there!!!! My husband had to
Basically sit in the aisle because they crammed us into a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

This place has self-parking which is quite convenient. The food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

I am disappointed that i can not ...
give six stars to this great place

General jeff runs a super restaurant.
Why go anywhere else for a fun night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Our Server Ely (sorry for misspelling) was AMAZING! Will go back again!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great time. Food was excellent. I really appreciated when the manager came to ask us if everything was great and if we wer enjoying ourselves and if we needed anything else . That makes someone feel important and appreciated. I loved that special touch. Cannot wait for the next time. Great customer service!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great!! Thank you for all your hospitality.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Food prepared to your individual specifications. Tasty. Great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Always consistent with very good food & service. A landmark restaurant in the Chestnut Hill & Boston area. Seasoned staff like Bryan on the bar and Spike, server- Chestnut Hill location.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

As always, The Capital Grill delivers the greatest steaks in the world! Plus excellent service with every detail attended to. My only regret was that the server packed up half my steak and when I got home I realized I had left the bag on the table! Devastating! This is THE place for steak in the Boston area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We had amy ghera as a server and she was fantastic

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Last minute choice for a business dinner with colleagues. I had visited before and expected great food with terrific service. Capitol Grill did not disappoint. Fantastic NY Strip from special menu and the best Martini I have enjoyed in some time. A little pricey for everyday dining, but top choice for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Capital Grille is always top notch. During Restaurant Week it is a great value as appetizer to dessert is less than a usual entree.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at Capitol Grille. We hadn't intended to mention this, but
before seating us the receptionist asked if it were a special occasion. From that point on the staff made it a very special anniversary dinner for us. Marcel, our waiter, even took a picture of us and then presented us with the photo on our way out.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food was average, atmosphere was dark and reminiscent of a old mans cigar bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is a supposedly upscale "formula" restaurant. Food is pricey, service OK, overall underwhelmed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This restaurant is always great. Great service and consistent. I ordered my steak a certain way. It was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

AMAZING Dine Out Boston March dinner menu! For much less than the price of a steak, we enjoyed a marvelous 3-course menu including dry-aged NY strip steaks. As always, service was friendly and very efficient. Memorable meal...

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants and the Chestnut Hill location is the best one.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Just massively overpriced for what it is. Especially wines by the glass. Service was solid. Ambiance is typical steakhouse; ie Morton's, Abe and Louis,etc. Food was good, but no where near worth the price points. It is easy nowadays to find superior fare at half these prices. For the wine list, they are charging 3-4x for what is reasonable. The ambiance is certainly attractive and well appointed, but pretty much the same thing as all the other restaurants of this ilk. There is enormous creativity happening at the moment in the Boston restaurant scene and this is a relic of the past at tomorrow's prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love this place and can't wait to go back. Food was delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Came for dinner during restaurant week. Nice selection and food was very good.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service - both bar and dining room - was fantastic; food was superb. Was very noisy; difficult to hear conversation at our table for four. I do not have problems hearing at other restaurants.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Our monthly Ladies Who Lunch chose this place as part of Restaurant Week and we were not disappointed. Service was great, food was excellent, portions and pricing were spot on. Could have done without the IPAD for the wine list unless you're going to give us the IPAD.
I have found all Capital Grilles to be a tad on the noisy side but I will definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My friends and I always participate in Boston Restaurant week. It's an opportunity for us to try
top notch restaurants that we can't usually afford.
I was delighted with Capital Grille in Chestnut Hill. The table and ambiance was fabulous. Our waiter couldn't provide better service or information. He was great. He gave us all the time we needed and didn't rush us. It was a seamless operation and it was obvious how well the whole team worked together.
I had already viewed the menu on-line.
We both went with the Wedge Blue Cheese salad. Delicious! Not your everyday wedge. Then we had the dry aged steak with greens. Wasn't crazy for the peppers tossed in there, but I managed quite well. The steak... Outstanding!!! Cooked to my requirements. Perfect.
Desert was the crowning glory.. I had the Creme Brulee served with blueberries, raspberries, blackberries and a large half strawberry.
You scored a 10 out of 10 for us and we will definitely be back.

Congratulations and Thank you to all your staff for putting on a WONDERFUL meal.

Patricia Waterson

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Historic, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Organic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The meal was excellent as usual. The service was impeccable. Great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Restaurant Week or "Dine out" Boston made this a Great deal. Waiter was kind of dull and very slow, but it was busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great, great as usual. Very crowded and very noisy, but understandable as it was Boston dining out week. One of our favorite places to dine at.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The Capital Grille is always outstanding in thee quality of food and in the quality of service! Going to this restaurant is always a memorable experience!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

salmon is better than steak for the price for dinning out week

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

FOOD IS ALWAYS AMAZING AND COOKED PERFECTLY. WAIT STAFF ATTENTIVE BUT NOT IN YOUR FACE. WINE SELECTION IS GREAT AND WAIT STAFF KNOWS THEIR WINE IF YOU NEED A RECOMMENDATION AS WELL

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Your iPhone site is for the birds! I made which never got to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Amy was amazing! Great meal as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

One of my fav spots for steak and creme brulee! Never disappoints

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We went to CG for our yearly Anniversary/Wife's Birthday dinner and this was by far our best Experience. The Chestnut Hill location is warm and lively. Our table was decorated with Rose Pedals and some Birthday Confetti. Every staff member that walked by wished us happy anniversary and our waiter offered us a champagne toast on the house. The food was amazing and cooked perfectly. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wife's Bday. Even though it was off the menu, they asked if I'd like to start w some smoked salmon based on previous visits. Very nice touch

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I don't really do reviews. But I'll make this an exception as the CG Chestnut Hill is an exceptional place. Great service and great food. It's my first time here and truly impressed especially the service provided by our waitstaff, Marianna. We'll make this place a part of our dining routine. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Capital Grille remains to be our VERY FAVORITE special-consistently delicious food and outstanding service with exemplary staff all led by Jeffrey Dixon. We continuously receive outstanding wonderful kindness-and hospitality. Thank You

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Authentic, Historic, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I prefer the Boston location. I have been to the Chestnut Hill location twice and the level of service as well as the ambiance pales in comparison.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.