Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located on Route 9, east of the Atrium Mall.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

250 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Lounge opens at 4:00pm




Cross Street:
Langley Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 928-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking or self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Hugues Boucher

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Mother's Day for an exceptional prix fixe brunch. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as our Pan-Seared Salmon with Citrus Crab Salad.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 30 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Chestnut Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (72)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Notable Wine List (41)
Business Meals (37)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Romantic (35)
Worth the Drive (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Authentic (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Hot Spot (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Private Room (9)
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Casual (6)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 hours ago

Kona crusted steak is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent Lobster Salad. Always wonderful service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

consistently good in all categories for food, service and ambiance
the group I was with was remembering the business meals we used to enjoy at the Pillar House on Rt 128 and we agreed that the Capital Grille in Newton has become our new Pillar House for business lunch meetings in the Newton area

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Birthday dinner 4 out of five of us. They surprised us with little cakes at the end of the meal and decorated the table with sprinkles of birthday cakes. Nice touch

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Capital Grille is one of the better steak chains. There is sufficient variety even for the non-steak lovers. The food is all excellent quality and the service attentive. The food tends to be on the rich side, so it is not a "light" meal. Good for an occasional outing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the greater Boston area!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great lunch menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

It was my son's birthday. I will keep it simple. My steak was undercooked badly and I sent it back and they brought a new one cooked exactly the same. I ordered it medium and it was bloody red all the way through both times.

They set us near a office/coat closet and I had to ask 3 times and then ask for the manager to close the door so that our view was not of the schedules of the staff and the harsh light was shining right there on our table. It was more like being at a baseball game than The Capital Grill that I know in Virginia.

They tried to apologize at the end with desserts for us but the famous coconut cream pie that is my favorite had no coconut cream. It was just crust and whip cream.

I was crying by the time we left. We live in Virginia and flew all the way here to take our son out for dinner for his birthday.

Sadly, I cannot recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Love Cap Grille - this location not up to usual bar of other Cap Grille locations...Food was really a disappointment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I am always impressed by the food and staff at all The Capital Grille restaurants I have dined. I always leave feeling very satisfied in the quality of the meals.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a Capital Grille so there are really no surprises left. It was however the first time having their Steak Oscar. A rare filet with crab meat and asparagus with Hollandaise sauce. Best steak I've ever had at CG. Fortunately ask for rare as it was almost medium rare. If medium rare was the starting point and the steak was equivalently overdone, the steak would have been a ruinous medium plus. This is my new go-to steak at Capital Grille. Well done Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (東京)·Dined on April 16, 2017

They continue to deliver. Food was great. The service is excellent. They could give you a little more for the prices they charge. Our server Spike is the best.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Solid chow and service, another fine meal here. We enjoyed everything we ordered. My suggestions/favorites include lump crab cocktail, wedge salad, kona crusted ny strip, filet, Sam's mashed, creamed spinach, corn, and cheesecake for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I enjoyed a very happy birthday. My filet was cooked perfectly. The service was excellent! The bar was a bit noisy. Still, we enjoyed every minute of our dining experience. Than you

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful for a special occasion....good food ...good service...always welcoming !!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Eavesdropping from the tables around us..it seemed that this was a+ night again at the club Capital grille.
Gm Jeff has a staff that is the best..the same with the food and service.
Keep up the GREAT work..**





I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Nice booth minimal wait as we arrived early
When we didn't order wine waiter seemed to rush the service. Generous portions one steak perfect the other a bit undercooked for Medium. Would go back again and have been dining at this Capitol grill for Years
I would request different waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The only problem is the hostess forgot to indicate we arrived for our 12:15 pm Reservation and were seated. Once I received your email that we had not arrived, I notified the hostess. She then indicated we had just been seated when in fact we had already paid the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Outstanding service from the moment the valet opened the car door until we departed. Special attention was given to us the entire evening making our anniversary dinner exceptional. The food was prepared and presented to the highest standards. We have had similar experiences, even without a special occasion!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The Capital Grille is very customer focused - all the staff seem intent on creating a memorable, happy experience. I'm a vegetarian, but the other three diners all praised their steaks and chops - the servings were generous, but only my 90 yr old mother had any left to take home. I had the special salad and it was great. The food was cooked to perfection. I'm a little more of a foodie, so I don't get the value proposition of paying $50 of a hunk of meat and ordering everything else a la carte. This is definitely high end meat and potatoes (with surf thrown in if you like that). Their attention to quality is commendable, and the service was outstanding. I prefer a little more local and creative flair for my special occasions, but the person we were feting seemed really happy. Thanks for the pleasant memories.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Traditional steak house with a sophisticated millennial, Chestnut Hill vibe. Delicious high calorie, unhealthy food, rich in cholesterol and high in salt and sugar! Indulge widely in your 20's, less wildly in your 30's and consult your doctor in your 40's (and later) before making reservations more often than twice yearly. If you are older than 65, eat to your heart's content, but check to see if your life insurance is paid up to date. Still, all in all, it's truly yummy, unless you're vegan. Eat, drink and bring money!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The service was great but we were disappointed with the food. Capital Grille is no longer outstanding. My steak was over cooked and I ended up eating alone once the brought me another one. The staff was very apologetic and were amazing dealing with the issue. However, the food should be perfect to begin with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Very good service!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Our waitress was excellent! Denise was personable, pleasant and very accommodating! Thank you Denise :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Always a winner at lunch time -- everything excellent except salad presentations, which were not as well done as in past visits.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We were celebrating my husband's birthday - the table was set with sparkles - there was a birthday card signed by the staff and a cheesecake - chocolate flourless cake sampler - all nice touches. Our server was very accommodating - we didn't like the first wine we chose - she suggested another which was very good. The service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We visited with my mother-in-law for a dual birthday celebration. Capital Grille is not a "family" restaurant per say (no children's menu, very expensive) but they were incredibly accommodating to our two children. The food was excellent and our waiter was perfectly attentive. A wonderful celebration overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

An establishment that rests on it's history as how I would describe Capital Grille. We ordered the special beet salad and it was anything but special. I have had better salads in Mississippi. The steak was fine but for $69 I had to ask what was I getting. A lot of extra hype for a $25 steak. This steak in the Midwest at this price would not even be on the menu. It would be an embarrassment. This establishment could do MUCH better and should.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Absolutely fantastic food and service! Loved our waiter and the whole staff was extremely pleasant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great experience as always - great for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I've been here a few times and generally like tis restaurant, but find their steaks inconsistent from visit to visit. This time I found my steak, while cooked to my Medium-rare request, to be dry/chewy on the outside, and quite bland tasting. It tasted like it was cooked, and then left under a lamp for some time. I did not enjoy it. In these type of establishments, consistency is key as steaks are the read and butter of the establishments and should be done with perfection every time. This time, I felt I was at the Outback grill. Poor quality.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The Ipad for drink orders confusing vs the old fashion way of asking for a drink from wait staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Absolutely lovely! Had the dry-aged bone-in NY strip and it was perfect. They always make birthdays special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Only problem was we were a party of 6 and they put us at a small table. It seems like it was because we had kids- all the kids were in the same area of the restaurant ... not the "good" tables. This is always frustrating to be relegated to the back of the restaurant because we have children. They are well behaved and paying just as much to eat there!!!! My husband had to
Basically sit in the aisle because they crammed us into a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This place has self-parking which is quite convenient. The food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I am disappointed that i can not ...
give six stars to this great place

General jeff runs a super restaurant.
Why go anywhere else for a fun night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our Server Ely (sorry for misspelling) was AMAZING! Will go back again!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Had a great time. Food was excellent. I really appreciated when the manager came to ask us if everything was great and if we wer enjoying ourselves and if we needed anything else . That makes someone feel important and appreciated. I loved that special touch. Cannot wait for the next time. Great customer service!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everything was great!! Thank you for all your hospitality.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food prepared to your individual specifications. Tasty. Great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.