Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 16 times today
Special offers available. See details

The Capital Grille - Charlotte

4.8
2639 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Business Meals
You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(704) 348-1400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jameson Storm
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please call for details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
5th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Join us for Father's Day on Sunday, June 17. Enjoy our Wagyu Bone-In NY Strip for a celebration to remember.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 2639 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

My husband is a steak lover,celebrating his birthday i searched for the best ,i seeked and definitely found it at Capital Grille they made my husband felt very special on his day which made me more happier that i chose it,we will be visiting again and again!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is consistent. Never had a more than maybe a missed temperature on rare occasion. Good place to dine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We arrived for our reservation and were seated right away. Our server came right over introduced himself and gave us direction on the drink/wine list on the tablet.
Tim Jackson was our server, and he was attentive and courteous.
Overall the meal was outstanding, the service impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

had the seafood platter and was very pleased. enough for two people if you want it to be your main.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Easily one of my favorite steakhouses in Charlotte! The food is always great and the service is even better. My husband and I go here quite a bit for date night, but we were celebrating our anniversary on our most recent visit. David made our night perfect! He always takes amazing care of us, but he really made us feel special this time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Great night for all 8 of us. Had a small hiccup at first when we were put at the wrong table. That was quickly rectified and the rest of the night ran smoothly. There is something to eat for everyone- even non steak eaters. I'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

I took my boyfriend out for his graduation and it was such a great experience. Everyone was very kind and the food was sublime. There was even a complimentary dessert for our special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Fantastic evening great food, service and company

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Great food and service. Took my dad to celebrate his 80th birthday and we had a great evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

A special request was made to the restaurant to present a special dessert to observe a retirement. It was supposed d to accompany a dessert for the remainder of the attendees. That did not show up until much later. The desserts were supposed to be on a separate bill as had been requested
. When the bill came., all was included on the one bill. A bit embarrassing for myself as the person that hosted the group and for the person trying to provide a special touch to my retirement luncheon. Would not have expected this by the Capital Grille.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

It was my husband’s birthday dinner today. I was thrilled that Capital Grille was able to accommodate a group of 14 with late notice. Our server was definitely 5 star service. Our party had split checks and he closed out our tabs in record time with no errors. The food was great as usual but today service was so on point, I had to leave a review.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very good last night. Service was excellent. Will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I had the deep fried lobster tail. It was too well cooked and crusty.

My wife’s and my son’s meals were great.

I should have had the regular lobster tail not fried. My mistake!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day and the place was hopping, but not too bad. Reservation was good and table was ready as promised. The prices are steep but the style and type of restaurant along with the service and food makes it worth it. Not your everyday place to eat, but special occasions it is!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We ordered the swordfish and South African lobster tail which was outstanding. Two sides were plenty for our table of 4. Each couple solut a salad. The roasted beet salad was delicious. Our server was fabulous. A memorable dining experience which we highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Excellent and attentive staff with amazing food and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Tremendous service. Excellent experience

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The server didn’t submit our order correctly. Our sides were not delivered. The chicken was undercooked. And we were charged for 3 vodkas, but only order two . He said he gave us one on the house , which means he took the 3rd one off, but the 2nd one was supposed to be free because he forgot about it.

Awful experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Wife’s birthday we cone here every year. Always an enjoyable experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Wonderful! Everything was delicious. Special anniversary card & confetti at table when we arrived, topped off with an anniversary dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Joe S was our server and was fantastic! it was so wonderful how he paced the meal out...super enjoyable experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Had a great night and the food was outstanding! The best steak I have had in a long time.
A top notch steak house. Our Server Alex was outstanding and knows his stuff about the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Service was best in class. Food was just ok for the price

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Lovely time. The food and service is excellent. We love our server, David Cosby.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

We loved our server John! Everything was perfect and the location right across from the Blumenthal Center ideal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Excellent service and food. Staff knows the specials and menu well. Outstanding food quality as well as taste.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Pricey but always delivers. Bread is phenomenal. So is Wedge salad and all steaks.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Extremely loud, but everything else was very good. Joe S was a great waiter.
Nice surprise dessert for Anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Celebrating my sons up coming graduation. Service and food was great. My new go to spot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

A bit noisy, but that underlies an excellent dining experience. It’s popular for a reason. The food is incredible, the staff is phenomenal and the efficiency is at a very high level.

They’re accommodative, knowledgeable and non-intrusive. Great dining. It’s the top steakhouse in Charlotte for a reason.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Excellent dinner and service as usual

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Capital Grille is our go to spot for a special night out. Food is always excellent and the updated menu is really great. The kale salad is delicious! Their mushroom side is a must-just divine. We shared the chocolate lava cake and had to fight over the last bite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The Capital Grille made my birthday dinner very special! Upon arrival, there was a sweet card and confetti on the table. Our server, Ryan, did a great job recommending a fabulous wine and our meal was delicious, including the birthday chocolate with candles.
Thanks so much for making my experience amazing!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Entrees took 45 minutes to arrive after placing our order and were room temp by the time they arrived. Had to flag down our server to ask for basic service like refilled water. Just a very subpar experience on all fronts at this price point. Regret not going to Del Frisco’s, which is reliably exceptional 100% of the time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

I wish I could give more than 5 stars! This place is underrated. Such an AWESOME EXPERIENCE! Everything was perfect! Candace Engle is second to none!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Made our anniversary very special from the first step in the door until we left. Alex, our server, was absolutely spot on and perfect in servicing us. He, along with everyone on the staff who pitched in from the note to the special appetizer to special dessert, made the night perfect. Most likely will be making this our every anniversary tradition.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The steak wasn’t hot. Restaurant was at capacity so maybe that’s why. The steak itself wasn’t bad it just didn’t impress me either.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

It's our tradition to hit the Capital Grill for our Anniversary. Food and service are excellent. Met some folks at the bar, had some excellent wine, wonderful dinner. Here's the ultimate validation that their service is 5 STAR. We enjoyed the adult beverages, perhaps too much so, that the valet asked, 'Hey are you guys staying uptown?", Answer YES. Response: "Great, I'll take you to your hotel". WOW! and Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great! Excellent food, atmosphere and service!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
66