Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Jameson Storm

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (56)
Special Occasion (55)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Good for Birthdays (40)
Business Meals (39)
Notable Wine List (30)
Romantic (30)
Worth the Drive (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Fun (12)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
2421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Server could have been more attentive, waited awhile to place food order. All steaks came out under cooked, only sent one back. The bone in NY strip was more fatty than other NY strips I’ve had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for a steak!!! The service and ambience is bar none. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place for celebrating special occasions. You are treated like royalty and served the most delicious food. Cost is high, but all your expectations will surely be met!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

me and my family had a great time--it was my grandaughter birthday

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Too loud. Crowded. Not nearly the club-like atmosphere of the Capital Grille in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

We booked reservations and they took over 10 mins to seat us, even though the restaurant was not busy. We were maybe the first or second table at the restaurant. After being shown to the table, it took another 10 mins before we ordered our drinks. The service was poor. The food was amazing, but for the price of the meal I would expect much better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

Some of the best service in Charlotte and the food never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 5, 2017

They have definitely scale back on making you feel special for a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 5, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary. We requested a booth, and when we got to the table, it was set for two with glitter and rose petals on the table. There was also a handwritten card wishing us a happy anniversary. Peter, our server came to the table and welcomed us, wishing us a happy anniversary. He presented us with complimentary glasses of champagne. He then brought a smoked salmon amuse bouche compliments of the chef. Our entrees were expertly prepared and after dinner, Peter brought out a decorated plate with two small desserts on it. The cheesecake and flourless chocolate espresso cake were the perfect end to a perfect evening. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We had a romantic dinner for my boyfriends birthday. I noted JR occasion on the reservation and the restaurant definitely made it special (decorated the table with rose petals and broifhtnot a surprise dessert at the end of the meal). Thanks capital grille for another great meal!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Our server, Peter, was the best!! The food and wine were exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 2, 2017

This was my first visit to a Capital Grille. I was very pleased, the food and service was excellent. Unfortunately, some overly exuberant diners (associated with Clemson) who were in town for the football game decided that they should conduct a brief pep rally. The server apologized for their lack of class and negative impact on the atmosphere.

If I am back in Charlotte, I will definitely return to The Capital Grille. I will also visit one closer to home.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Celebrated recent birthday. Excellent Steaks and Service! Very enjoyable time with my family.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Service was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2017

very nice to have a special treat for my friends bday. made it an xtra special event for her. thank you.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

We went for anniversary. They treated us like royalty. We loved the whole experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

we were in the restaurant for the thanksgiving night dinner, but after seeing the taste menu, we decided to give it a try. The veal and filet mignon are very good with the wine

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Had Thanksgiving dinner here where we both enjoyed the cast iron garlic shrimp to start and then both had a fabulous steak and the brussel sprouts, followed by Cinnamon ice cream for dessert. Thought we would be about the only people out for Thanksgiving dinner but the restaurant was busy busy and they were sponsoring a Toys for Tots donation that might. What a nice touch! We really enjoyed ourselves, thanks for a great meal.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Love the presentation, service, and atmosphere; however my entire meal was cold. We were very disappointed. Ruined the special evening my husband & I had planned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We dined here for Thanksgiving. Overall, our meal was good, however, my husband ordered his filet mignon medium & it was served well done. The service was attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We had the perfect Thanksgiving Dinner at the Capital Grille. We appreciated an open menu for those of us not eating turkey. The service was wonderful. We would definitely frequent the restaurant again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Capital Grille Charlotte has become our “go to” restaurant for special occasions. The food, service, and atmosphere are top notch. And the menu selections are excellent. Thanksgiving was terrific.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 23, 2017

First Class Service and Food. Becoming a Thanksgiving tradition. My Moms Favorite place in CLT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2017

It was a great place from start to finish, will return soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 17, 2017

The Capital Grille was outstanding as always. It is my favorite restaurant in Charlotte.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 16, 2017

This place lived up to all expectations. The waitress Maryanne was so accommodating, knowledgeable and humerus! The calamari is great as an appetizer and the Halibut and Salmon were amazing as entrees.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Excellent meal, with great service. One of our favorites when we are in town.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Always have a great experience here, whether for business or pleasure. One of our favorites.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Bday celebration got the special - bone in filet with South African lobster -great food and service from Ross. As always the price is about the same, 2 people about $275 with tip - worth the splurge...

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food was great. Service was top notch. It was a birthday celebration and they made it special with the special table decorations and card.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Great service from the table seating to the wine serving. Calamari and crab cakes were fresh and prepared perfectly. Filet mignon was superb. Salmon tasted incredibly delicious. Wine selections greatly complimented the entrees. And the desserts were heavenly. Perfect score. Thank you Ross and Mario!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We Never have we had a bad experience at Capital grill

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2017

An awesome evening....dinner was wonderful! Every time we come the experience leaves us with a desire to come back as soon as possible! From any cut of steak to lamb to seafood...you can't go wrong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Great restaurant, excellent service, I sat at a table for the first time rather than a booth and was too loud for me. Brussell Sprouts were fantastic.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 2, 2017

By far the best steak in Charlotte. Love the brussel sprouts and wonderful wine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 2, 2017

The Capital Grill never disappoints. From friendly, courteous, well-informed waiters to. The quality and diversity if their menu items. Lobster mac and cheese is not to be missed. Their new filet with bone had oustanding flavor, terrific. Attentive service makes the experience all the better, especially for soecial occasions. We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. Always a great experience.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Service is excellent. Found the NYStrip is more to my liking at DrlFriscos but lovely ambiance & care with customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Great service and atmosphere, I always frequent a Capital Grille when I am traveling for business.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.