Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Jameson Storm

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (89)
Good for a Date (69)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
See All
Business Meals (52)
Romantic (47)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Notable Wine List (39)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Worth the Drive (31)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Cozy (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Fun (13)
People Watching (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Casual (9)
Seasonal (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Scenic View (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
2329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Great job last night! Ross service was top notch! Management does a great job here, check on us twice! Will be back very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Visit Charlotte a few times a year and always like to make it to Capital Grill if I can. Great food and service...and THE WORLDS' BEST calamari!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Simply Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Friends and I are in town for the PGA tourney and we liked it so well we went to Capitol Grill-Charlotte 2 nights in a row.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Waiter was attentive but not overly anxious, food was excellent, and the ambiance was classy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We arrived and the table was not ready for 20-30minutes and the host offered drinks while we waited. We appreciated the gesture and it made the wait not as much of a problem for our group.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

I dined alone and was quite comfortable at the Capital Grille. The wait staff was affable and attentive, and I enjoyed my meal thoroughly! The seared tenderloin with butter poached lobster tails was EXCELLENT. I highly recommend the Capital Grille in Charlotte, and would definitely enjoy dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

One of our favorites, it did not disappoint! Delicious food, great service, and "generous pour" special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We normally love this place and this is the first time we went where things were just "ok".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very nice! Great food! Great atmosphere! Everything you would expect from an uptown/high end restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Amazing experience !!! As a frequent Capital Grille diner I was blown away by the perfection during this visit!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our meal was lukewarm! Took a long time to get the waitresses attention.
Could have gone to Outback Steakhouse for the meal we had. For that kind of money
it should have been piping hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Capital Grille never disappoints. The dry aged steaks are phenomenal and the meal is well paced. We always enjoy the experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Birthday dinner was amazing
Service from Alex amazing
Food amazing
Wine phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Amazing experience. Food was great. Service awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Overall, the restaurant was nice. We visited for Queens Fest and food was ok for the price. If you plan to visit here, be sure to call about the parking. Our reservations were earlier in the day so valet was not an option .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

It was my birthday the food was great atmosphere great and very friendly and knowledgeable staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wonderful service and the food exceeded expectations! Made for a lovely date night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Went for Restaurant Week and enjoyed it very much
Great bargain Great steak

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Alex was a wonderful server. We always love coming to the Capital Grille because the food, service, and overall experience is always exceptional. This was no different. Restaurant week is always a madhouse, but you wouldn't know it from the quality of food and service at the Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The food was amazing! Impeccable service from start to finish.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We went for Queensfeast and absolutely enjoyed every minute of it. We had the best wait staff, the food was excellent and we will for sure go back. I would recommend to anyone celebrating a special occasion or restaurant week.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent food, value and service. Perfect destination for anytime dinner, a special occasion or event.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The food was great and our waiter provided great service as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

At these prices, the food should be perfect. Most of it was, but the shrimp was dry and overcooked, and didn't taste fresh.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2017

As usual the Capital Grill was outstanding in almost every category. Even though it was Queen's feast, the meals they served was fit for a Queen and a King! Everyone at our table got something different (4), and all were raving about the food as well as the service. This is the fourth time we have dined at the CG, and have never been disappointed.

We spent our 47th wedding anniversary at the Capital Grille, and will probably be back for our fiftieth.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2017

my filet mignon was undercooked and sinewy. service was good, but lights went out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2017

For many years it's been our Tradition to dine@The Capital Grille for Charlotte Restaurant Week. Certainly, the Steak is the best in town.
Plus the service is always first rate
We especially enjoyed our Server Paige this visit, and the unique Generous Pour Wine Tasting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Perfect meal, excellent service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

It's been a long time since I've been here and after my recent visit my review is mixed. To begin with my girlfriend and I decided to go here for restaurant week on a monday. Our reservations were for 7:30 p.m. and we were 10 minutes early. When we arrived the front desk informed us it would be a 5-10 minute wait, well 30 minutes later we were still waiting since the place was packed. When we were finally seated we looked over the menu and I ordered the strip steak and she ordered the filet migon. The food was outstanding!!!!

To sum it up if you go to this restaurant DON'T GO ON RESTAURANT WEEK!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

My first experience at CG--- and it has gone to the top of my favorites list ...( which is quite an achievement ) exceptional service, down to a wait server occasionally cleaning our table of crumbs! Upscale ambiance, and a fillet grilled to perfection -- be sure to treat yourself !!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was decent, but service was awful. Our waiter passed by us several times without checking on us, and was often just no where to be found. We waited 20mins for him to bring us water that we asked for, then another 10 just for our drinks. Once we got out food, he immediately brought us the check & said thanks for coming in, when we weren't even half way through our dinner. We told him we were going to look at the dessert once we were done and his facial expression looked as if our time at the restaurant had expired.
We visited during queens feast. Doubt I'll be back. I'm sure there are other good servers, and the food was decent, just not sure I'll return when I visit next

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

ONE WORD........ AWESOME!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Came here for Queen feast. LOVE the food. Steak is well done. Services was good too. There's complimentary party after 6pm on Sunday which makes it even better.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

It was our anniversary and they worked so hard to make it special but the cooks cooked my husbands extra rare blue filet black and medium in the inside. The server never checked to make sure it came out right so after 10 mins my husband ate part of the meal, having no hopes of getting a rare one in time to eat with me. They took it off the bill but put a damper on our experience.
Mine was incredible. Extra rare filet and the special anniversary touches were so sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

It's our favorite restaurant. Our server, David, is the best. He made our evening even more special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The best meal I have had out in my life,our server John was fantastic and very attentive without being overbearing.The food was fantastic, best calamari I ever had, steaks were complimented with a perfect blend of seasonings and the sides(mashed potatoes,green beans) were delicious,and for desert the creme brûlée was an amazing treat that should not be missed.Over all an easy 5 stars from start to finish!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Mithoon Patel was the best!!!!! The service was great. The lobster mac and cheese was great. The chicken was a little dry but beside that it was great.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Visited Capital Grille for Restaurant Week and it was a perfect meal. Everyone at the table had a steak, from a New York strip to a fillet to porcine rubbed medallions. I can not get over the dark cocoa flavor of the cake to dessert. It was phenomenal. It is my favorite Charlotte special occasion restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Yummmmm! Service was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.