About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map


You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Frier

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for Father's Day on Sunday, June 19. Enjoy our Bone-In Tomahawk Ribeye for a celebration to remember.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
11 More
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (140)
romantic (89)
notable wine list (77)
See All
fit for foodies (70)
good for groups (50)
great for lunch (36)
vibrant bar scene (27)
hot spot (19)
great for outdoor dining (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (9)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1754 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Another exceptional meal by this team. N ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Another exceptional meal by this team. Never fails!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have never been disappointed here. Th ...

Dined 6 days ago

I have never been disappointed here. The capital Grille is top notch, though the pring makes it a very special occasion eventci

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a nice anniversary dinner wit ...

Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed a nice anniversary dinner with terrific service and wonderful food. The filet with butter poached lobster tails was amazing. Jennifer Hansbro was our server and we enjoyed her thoroughly. She was very attentive and enhanced our dining experience. Thanks for the classic steakhouse food and first class service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Anniversary experience.

Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic Anniversary experience.

food4
ambience4
service3

Good meal. Service policy and courteous. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Good meal. Service policy and courteous. Price point high for value of meal.

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Shocked to see my $120 wine handled so r ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Shocked to see my $120 wine handled so roughly while in the bottle and when being decanted from a height of 2 feet. I mean, it was nearly foamy. Turned out to be available on the web for $17.

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We dined at the Capital Grille the last ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We dined at the Capital Grille the last time we were in Charlotte. Again, it did not disappoint. We had the filet mignon and ribeye, as well as lobster bisque and mac & cheese with lobster. Amber is an excellent server. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dining Experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

I surprised my husband for his 73rd birthday. Both the food and service were outstanding. Many thanks to both Alexis and David for making this a memorable dining experience. Also kudos to the Capital Grill management for the delicious complimentary deserts.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4

The location is great especially outdoor ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The location is great especially outdoors when there's a live band playing. Food could be better honestly, the best thing we had was dessert!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place for a special meal with ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent place for a special meal with an old friend. Great steaks, great service, though (as expected) a bit pricey.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Honestly cant imagine a better place for ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Honestly cant imagine a better place for our anniversary dinner! Fantastic!

food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome food and service from both waite ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Awesome food and service from both waiters!!

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Hit and miss.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was great, the food was not. My steak was extremely fatty and the grits were so salty I could not eat them. The lobster Mac and cheese was great, so was the salad. I expected more from this restaurant due to the price range that they are in, but unfortunately they did not deliver. I'm extremely dissapointed.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Headed to The Capital Grille for Mothers ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Headed to The Capital Grille for Mothers Day brunch. Was impressed with the ambiance and the locale. Was disappointed in how slow the service was and inattentive the waiter. Given the premium pricing due to the holiday, I was further disappointed with the delivery of the food. It took almost 90 minutes to receive our main course and worst of all it was not hot. The NY strip was served at room temperature and the Lobster Frittata was greasy and light on lobster. Likely will not return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Denise was our server she is the best T ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Denise was our server she is the best Took care of everything When it was one for dessert we were surprised by the managers platter of assortments and champagne Our evening was over the top CAPITAL GRILL CHARLOTTE is the place to go They do it right food was fantastic, friendly staff and a great ambience Thank you Capital Grill staff for making our evening one to remember

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent food as usual!

Dined on May 6, 2016

As always, the food was incredible! We got the lobster crab cakes for an appetizer, and they were awesome! Delicious with a corn salsa and sauce that complimented the dish. We got the market lobster, already stripped off the shell making it easy to eat. So delicious! It was quite busy at the time, so the activity and noise level were high. Unfortunately, the service was lacking. It was impersonal and basically neglectful. I hope they recognize the fact and remedy this problem. We will come back, for the food of course...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was exceptional. Peter was ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Everything was exceptional. Peter was a wonderful server. I will be back soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasurable experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

The evening was for a birthday dinner and it exceeded our expectations. The food was extremely good--HIGHLY recommend the Seared Tenderloin with Butter Poached Lobster Tails and the Chilean Sea Bass with Mushroom Soy Broth. Very Tasty! The service we received from Antonio was impeccable and he not only made the experience inviting, but was pleasant to visit with as he came to the table to welcome us, recommend options, present our meal and check in on us. We will be returning in the future!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was impeccable, the service just right.

Dined on April 29, 2016

My wife and I have made the Capital Grill our goto for celebrating special occasions. Yes the food is consistently great, but there are other restaurants that have great food. However, it is the staff that really makes Capital Grill stand out from all the rest. They are obviously well trained but they seem to be able to find people who truly take pride in making sure our dining experience is great. That comes through on every visit!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistency

Dined on April 27, 2016

If you've been to one CG you've been to them all. It's consistently really good and an elegant atmosphere but pricey.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our twins 10th birthday an ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

We celebrated our twins 10th birthday and the restaurant made them feel like rock stars. Capital Grille Charlotte is spectacular!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Very Nice Evening

Dined on April 23, 2016

Meal was exceptional, steaks prepared perfectly. Also acknowledged my birthday with Confetti and complimentary dessert, nice touch. Also wines for any budget as we had a nice Tuscan red for less than $40. Look forward to future visit

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great I would recommend it to an ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Always great I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for great place for delicious food and wonderful service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection from start to finish

Dined on April 22, 2016

It was our 30th anniversary dinner date night and we were pleased from the moment we stepped through the door and the matre'd greeted us to the moment we left the restaurant. Any server not waiting on our table made sure they said happy anniversary as they passed us. Our Server-John was excellent ...outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Near the Top

Dined on April 19, 2016

First timer. My wife and I. Pre Theatre. The lady had the Lobster tail and I 10oz Mingon. We shared the Asparagus. Two cocktails before. Her Lobster tail was excellent, my Mignon good - not excellent. I order preminum beef (as served at Sullivans,Palm, Ruth Chris) ver rare... and it was. However, it was dry outside, tender but not compared to other premium Beef houses. The Asparagus was good but a little more "aldenti" than other frequented establishments. ? Would I recommend ? First I would probably tell them, menu selections same as other uptown premium beef houses but overpriced and slightly under quality. In my estimation. Sorry ! I had a Gentleman Jack Manhattan whic was perfectly prepared. The wife had the same. No desert.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Super food, we both had Chilean Sea Bass ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Super food, we both had Chilean Sea Bass. In addition great spot before going to the Belk Theater next door.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner Before Show

Dined on April 19, 2016

We traveled from the Outer Banks to Charlotte to see Beautiful at the Belk Theater. While searching online for a nearby restaurant, I read some great reviews for Capital Grille and booked a table. We had a wonderful meal and the service was great. We were really impressed when our server offered to refrigerate our leftovers until after the play! Another plus was the short walk across the street to the theater.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Nice, but...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Very attentive staff. Very nice patio area for dining outdoors.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outsanding

Dined on April 17, 2016

The Capital Grille was outstanding again, as always. Outstanding food, service and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on April 17, 2016

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at the Capital Grille and the food and service made it memorable! They understood the importance of the evening to us and did everything to make it special. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Light meal of salad and an appetizer wer ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Light meal of salad and an appetizer were excellent. Service and ambience were great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding s always! Can't wait for nex ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Outstanding s always! Can't wait for next time!

food5
ambience5
service5

The Capital Grille never fails. The ste ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

The Capital Grille never fails. The steak is always superb.

food5
ambience5
service5

The rib eye was absolutely delicious, an ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

The rib eye was absolutely delicious, and the dark bread in the breadbasket is so good. Had dinner here the other night and came back today for the rib eye sandwich - fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5

Service is what stands out. Every aspec ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Service is what stands out. Every aspect was prompt but balanced as our party did not feel rushed.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fantastic meal and service. Sea ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Always a fantastic meal and service. Seafood appetizer is simply the best.

food4
ambience3
service5

The Capital Grille is consistent with th ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The Capital Grille is consistent with the level of Service, Food and Atmosphere. What you expect is most often met and exceeded. There is no risk when deciding to spend time with The Capital Grille family of Restaurants.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

better than before

Dined on March 30, 2016

It is hit and miss with CG, as it is with other restaurants. The expectations are much higher with CG, so when the experience is not above the standard expectation, you feel let down. Our most recent experience was actualy better than the last. Service was improved, as well as the steak preparation - two of the most criticised topics at a steak restaurant. Than you Chris, for for making the night successful, we will most likely return if he is our waiter.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Just OK in Downtown CLT.

Dined on March 30, 2016

Just ok all around. The steaks were flat..and didn't have much taste. I had the sirloin steak. Sides were ok and so were the appetizers. Nice cold glass with my beer. Won't be my first choice for steak in downtown CLT.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!

Dined on March 30, 2016

As always, lunch was perfect at the Grille! The plate lunches are a great idea for lunch. They are quick, very tasty and affordable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.