About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map


You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Frier

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Bone-In Filet W Grilled Asparagus
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake
Cheesecake
Filet Oscar
Lobster and Crab Cakes
French Onion Soup
Desserts: Chocolate Hazelnut Cake, Creme Brulee, Cheesecake
Half Of A Filet Mignon
Ice Cream Trio
Asparagus With Hollandaise Sauce
Chocolate Espresso Cake
Dry Aged Steak Au Poivre With Courvoisier Cream
Godiva Chocolate Almond Mocha
Chocolate Almond Mousse
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, Basil With 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Lamb Chops
Cheeseburger
Au Gratin Potatoes
Caeser Salad
Cesar Salad
Oysters on the Half Shell
Lobster Bisque
apricot sorbet
Potatoes Au Gratin
Maine Lobster Roll
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Lobster Pot Pie
Chicken Confit, Collard Greens And Creamy White Grits
USDA Prime Ribeye
Cheese wrapped in bacon
Green beans
porterhouse steak
Mashed Potatoes

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
11 More
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (87)
romantic (54)
notable wine list (51)
See All
fit for foodies (41)
good for groups (39)
great for outdoor dining (19)
great for lunch (17)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (10)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1792 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ken was a wonderful server. Made us feel ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 2 days ago

Ken was a wonderful server. Made us feel very comfortable and had a lot of fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! ALL staff that ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious! ALL staff that we interacted with were absolutely wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual The Capital Grille is a go to f ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

As usual The Capital Grille is a go to for me when choosing fine dining in Charlotte. I have always been and hope to continue being a patron of the Capital Grille since being introduced to it several years ago. I attended the Queens Feast at The Capital Grille this past weekend and overall was pleased . I do think that the sides that are served with the menu have become a bit smaller than what they used to be, I wished that they had not replaced the creamed spinach with the green beans... The creamed spinach is so much better. I also think the host "Alexis" was a bit uppity towards myself and my party, for no real reason and she never did smile. I also wish that the option for lobster tail would come back... It was an additional 10.00 and I would have paid that if I had the option.

Overall, these are small little "tweaks" or changes that I would like to see. Overall the atmosphere, location, and food are excellent the service minus the hostess Alexis was very good and the overall experience was a very nice night away from the office.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My filet was a little over done, but my ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

My filet was a little over done, but my sister's steak was totally over cooked. The server fixed my sister's steak, but I would have thought the cooks and chefs would have made sure the meat was perfect before leaving the kitchen. I will be back and I'm sure everything will be perfect next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I have never been disappointed with a me ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have never been disappointed with a meal at the Capital Grill. Our waiter Micheal was friendly and knowledgeable. I can't recommend it enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a wonderful experience! The ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

It is always a wonderful experience! They never disappoint.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was tremendous. Mgmt. made them ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was tremendous. Mgmt. made themselves know-they cared.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for The Generous Pour and we wer ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We went for The Generous Pour and we were not disappointed. We sampled 7 wines and then chose what we wanted with our dinner. The Shiraz was lovely as well as the Cab Blend. The Chardonnay went well with the prosciutto and cheese. Just a great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaraunt to impress customers. G ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great restaraunt to impress customers. Great food and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, the Capital Grille was outsta ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always, the Capital Grille was outstanding. I do think it is overpriced, but we still enjoy this restaurant. Just wished it opened a little earlier on Saturdays.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We are always greeted and our table read ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We are always greeted and our table ready! The staff all so accommodating which makes the experience even better. Right in the heart of downtown makes this location wonderful just before a show, or any entertainment. The food is always on point! A great spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was fantastic! I called a few ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The staff was fantastic! I called a few hours prior to my reservation to let the maitre de know that it was my boyfriends birthday dinner and that I wanted my waiter to know that the bill should be given to me at the end of the experience. When we arrived, I gave my name and immediately the staff welcomed us with a Happy Birthday to my BF. When we arrived to our table, there was confetti in the table and a very nice card wishing my BF a happy birthday! WOW! Totally unexpected!

Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable, attentive and courteous.

The food was outstanding!!! I have been to Capital Grille many times and it never disappoints! There are many great steakhouses in Charlotte but this has always been the best food and dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner for Wife's special Birthday . Exc ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Dinner for Wife's special Birthday . Excellent table! Phenomenal service. Excellent cocktails and wine! The appetizer was very good and the meal was world class!!! We couldn't have asked for a better dining experience. And did I mention the very special birthday desert? A very special surprise treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting the Charlotte area from ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were visiting the Charlotte area from Dallas and wanted to have a nice dinner. The food and atmosphere was very good. The dessert was not to our liking but everything else was very tasty. We chose an Australian wine off the wine list and the taste along with the steak was awesome. The valet brought us the wrong car so the wait for the vehicle was longer than it should have been. However they did help us with trying to locate the horse and buggy ride in the city. Overall was a good experience

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak dinner I've had in Charlotte. ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Best steak dinner I've had in Charlotte. Great service, great food, super nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

It was our first wedding anniversary and I let the restaurant know before hand. They put heart confetti on the table with a sweet card. After we had a delicious meal they surprised us with a lovely dessert plate that spelled out "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate. Very special and it made our evening. Highly recommend it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille never disappoints. Th ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The Capital Grille never disappoints. This is my second time at this particular one and it was solid both times. The food was great, the service was great. Pricey but worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shawn was awesome and the food was great ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Shawn was awesome and the food was great, everything on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went back to the Capital Grille after ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went back to the Capital Grille after 3 years for a date night and had an amazing time. We were fortunate to sit outside on a great evening. The food along with the service from Shawn was just outstanding. It's definitely not a cheap meal but well worth when you look at the overall experience.

Just a heads up if you want to dine outside: make sure you request that in your reservation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fantastic dining experience! Se ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a fantastic dining experience! Service and food was wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure to dine at the Capital ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at the Capital Grill. Service was excellent, thank you David Crosby! And the Bone in Filet is fantastic!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always! Had a bottle of win ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent as always! Had a bottle of wine, a well-prepared filet, asparagus, and a warm double chocolate cake dessert with ice cream... left fat and happy. The Capital Grille provides superior service, food, and ambiance coupled with a fabulous wine selection. Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dinner at The Capital Grille is always a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Dinner at The Capital Grille is always amazing! We celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary here. From the complimentary champagne toast to the lovely roses, everything was perfect! The food is simply exceptional! And the service is outstanding. If you want to make it special, then The Capital Grille is the place to be!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I were in town for a wed ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My daughter and I were in town for a wedding and made a quick decision to go out on the town for a nice dinner, celebrating my birthday. We were treated like royalty. Service was phenomenal, food was superb, wait staff - Dave - was extremely knowledgeable on the wine selections and especially on the menu options. We definitely made the best choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best food in Charlotte. Great servic ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The best food in Charlotte. Great service. Money well spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything you'd think The Capital Grill ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything you'd think The Capital Grille would be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

One of the best meals in a long time. I normally frequent Del Friscos but have family in town and took them somewhere close. Everyone loved it as the Grille definitely made a good impression for the first time visitors.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Great special and service!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our Server was wonderful - she was so attentive and had a lovely demeanor. She anticipated and filled every need. The special was outstanding. We were celebrating a friend's success and it truly was a special celebration.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was extraordinarily awesome and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The food was extraordinarily awesome and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First ever dining experience at The Capi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

First ever dining experience at The Capital Grille, and I will be returning as quickly as possible! The food, service, and atmosphere were all impeccable. I will be requesting the same server upon my next visit, because he was so accommodating as well as knowledgable concerning the selections. He offered a number of suggestions which did not disappoint. This dinner occasion was to celebrate my birthday, and I was greeted with a birthday card. This is an establishment that really take the little things into consideration. After all it is the nuances of a meal and not the food itself that truly make an amazing dining experience. In my opinion this is the best restaurant in Charlotte.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rebecca our waitress was very attentive ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Rebecca our waitress was very attentive and also knowledgeable of the menu

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food, polite staff

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I've been to the Capital Grille twice, and both times had the lobster mac. It is amazing. The portions are a good size and are shareable so the prices aren't too bad. The waitstaff are always very attentive and polite, although I've sat outside both times, the noise level inside isn't bad at all. It's a good place for a nice dinner, a date, special occasion, etc. everything on the menu looks fantastic. I will continue to visit the Capital Grille!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Overall Experience

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great experience. Wine was phenomenal. (Caymus 2013 Cab) Apps were great. Calamari and crab cakes. Sides were amazing. (Lobster mac, mushrooms and brussell sprouts) Wish steak would have been cooked a bit less, but it was remedied. Highly recommend. Best Cap Grille that I've dined in.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Another exceptional meal by this team. N ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Another exceptional meal by this team. Never fails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have never been disappointed here. Th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I have never been disappointed here. The capital Grille is top notch, though the pring makes it a very special occasion eventci

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a nice anniversary dinner wit ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We enjoyed a nice anniversary dinner with terrific service and wonderful food. The filet with butter poached lobster tails was amazing. Jennifer Hansbro was our server and we enjoyed her thoroughly. She was very attentive and enhanced our dining experience. Thanks for the classic steakhouse food and first class service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Anniversary experience.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Fantastic Anniversary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good meal. Service policy and courteous. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Good meal. Service policy and courteous. Price point high for value of meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Shocked to see my $120 wine handled so r ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Shocked to see my $120 wine handled so roughly while in the bottle and when being decanted from a height of 2 feet. I mean, it was nearly foamy. Turned out to be available on the web for $17.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.