About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Frier

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Bone-In Filet W Grilled Asparagus - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Filet Oscar - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Lobster and Crab Cakes - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Desserts: Chocolate Hazelnut Cake, Creme Brulee, Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Half Of A Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Ice Cream Trio - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Asparagus With Hollandaise Sauce - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Chocolate Espresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, Basil With 12-Year Aged Balsamic - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Godiva Chocolate Almond Mocha - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Dry Aged Steak Au Poivre With Courvoisier Cream - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Chocolate Almond Mousse - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Lamb Chops - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Cheeseburger - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Au Gratin Potatoes - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Cesar Salad - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Caeser Salad - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Oysters on the Half Shell - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Lobster Bisque - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Potatoes Au Gratin - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
apricot sorbet - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Chicken Confit, Collard Greens And Creamy White Grits - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
USDA Prime Ribeye - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Cheese wrapped in bacon - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Mashed Potatoes - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Green beans - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
porterhouse steak - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
5 More
Most Booked
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Business Meals (28)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for Groups (23)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Private Room (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
People Watching (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Cozy (8)
Seasonal (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Fun (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1915 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Third time here. Calamari was a bit oil ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Third time here. Calamari was a bit oily and missing flavor which was uncharacteristic compared to previous experience at this location. Had the tuna for main dish - seared to perfection; although the gingered rice had no discernable ginger flavor which was fine by my taste buds nonetheless. Scallops (other main dish) - cooked perfectly and hot when served. Flourless chocolate cake was excellent. They left 2 roses in a vase on the table for my wife's birthday and I appreciated it very much. Overall excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food!! Please order th ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and food!! Please order the lobster mac and cheese

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

For a special treat, Capital Grill rarel ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

For a special treat, Capital Grill rarely disappoints. Peter, best waiter there, made the evening extra special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, as usual

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent, as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Capital Grille is simply our favorit ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The Capital Grille is simply our favorite restaurant in downtown Charlotte for so many reasons. Wonderful food, great service and they just seem to care about you having an enjoyable time. We'll be going back soon you can be sure of that.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very empty when we ar ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The restaurant was very empty when we arrived at 5:15, but they tried to put us right beside the kitchen. Three people came to our table before the waiter came, and when the waiter came, he didn't make it clear that he was our waiter. While the waiter was not rude, he had no personality at all. I had to ask to have my drink refilled twice rather than it being done without prompting. The filet mignon was not seasoned well at all. It didn't have a taste. Everyone was nice, and no one was rude. Since the service was sufficient, and my main course was not very flavorful, I don't have a reason to recommend it to someone else, especially given the expense of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

My 10 fillet had zero flavor. Other than ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My 10 fillet had zero flavor. Other than that, food was good.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed, always good. Worth ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Never disappointed, always good. Worth every penny. This is our go to place for any celebration or special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We felt the restaurant was overrated. We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We felt the restaurant was overrated. We had Thanksgiving lunch there. The ambiance was great and service very polite; however, it felt like more show than substance. After making the reservation I received reminder texts and a telephone call. There was a parade being held on the street at the hour of the reservation, and it would have been nice to have been told on that call about it, so we could have been re-routed before getting stuck! Thanks to the Charlotte police and a follow-up call to the restaurant we were re-routed to a parking garage on Church Street. We were seated in a nice area and could watch parts of the parade. The food came and both seafood plates were loaded with gravy. We were not sure why. Side vegetable dishes (large - shareable) were provided. The food was very good, not great. Upon leaving I asked about the validated parking. The ticket was validated and another man handed me a 2nd ticket. It said $2.00 off. When we tried leaving, using both "validated tickets" we still had to pay $6.00 more to get out! We decided to pay our way out and not return to Capital Grille. There are many other restaurants to try in the Charlotte area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Service and food was excellent.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Service and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaraunt, it was a slow night do ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great restaraunt, it was a slow night do carrying on a conversation was easy. My customer said it was the best meal he's ever had.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. I was very im ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was excellent. I was very impressed with wine selection and there are plenty of options on the menu to choose from for meat and fish lovers alike.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special filet in bone ordered mdm. rare, ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Special filet in bone ordered mdm. rare, served well done. Sent back, took awhile and replacement stringy. Not worth $65. They did comp us, were attentive to issue, and provided dessert for free. Way over priced. Amber, our server, was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Never DISAPPOINTS, FABULOUS DRINKS, WINE ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Never DISAPPOINTS, FABULOUS DRINKS, WINE, AND FOOD.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very bad, waiter was nowhere ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Service was very bad, waiter was nowhere to be found. He seemed very uninterested in serving our table. Maitre d had to fill the water glasses twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

The food, service and ambiance were perf ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The food, service and ambiance were perfect for our date night out

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding customer service and 5 star ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Outstanding customer service and 5 star menu and food. One of our best dining experiences to date.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome. Our favorite place to eat in Ch ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Awesome. Our favorite place to eat in Charlotte! Excellent all around!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best restaurant uptown. Great ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Still the best restaurant uptown. Great food with great service equals a great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked The Capital Grille- Charlotte ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We booked The Capital Grille- Charlotte for a special occasion dinner with my parents and for our son's 18th birthday. This restaurant is pricey, but so worth it. My son had the ribeye, my parents had the filet and lobster surf and turf, and I had the salmon. We shared mashed potatoes and spinach. The meal was topped off with a special birthday plate, and they kindly decorated the table with birthday confetti. Our son is gluten free, so they provided a dessert size flourless chocolate cake. The wait staff was outstanding and our head waiter went above and beyond for our table. I would highly recommend this restaurant. My mom commented that this was the best she has ever eaten.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought our 18 year old for his birthday ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Brought our 18 year old for his birthday dinner. It was his first time at Capital Grille and his first experience of DINING out at a finer restaurant, versus just "going out to eat!" The Capital Grille staff was amazing, especially Amber Johnson, our main server/Captain. The personal extra touches, like photos at the table, birthday card from Capital Grille, the attention to detail, all put it over the top. Oh, and the food, as always, was wonderful. We had a blast and the 18 yo will never forget this dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is always great, as well as ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The ambiance is always great, as well as most of the service. After overhearing another table, we realized that we were not made aware of the specials for that evening. A gentleman serving water accidentally over poured a glass of water & instead of offering, we had to ask for an extra napkin to cover the spot as it was under one of our elbows. Our lobster crab cakes were a little overdone, but the New York Strip steak was done to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I love that when my husband and I walked ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I love that when my husband and I walked in that they acknowledged that it was our anniversary and escorted us to our table where it was decorated with a card! My lobster crabs cakes was DELISH!! The environment was very nice....But, my husband didn't care for his baked chicken! 😔

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible dinner! And we had the best s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Incredible dinner! And we had the best service as always!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for lunch while celebrating our 18t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Came for lunch while celebrating our 18th anniversary. The lunch menu is very pricey....spent $55 for 2 people for 2 entrees and 2 non-alcoholic beverages.

That being said, the food was delicious, the service was amazing and they made celebrating our anniversary special. Our waitress brought us 2 roses in a small vase to take home and brought us a dessert (on the house) and wrote "Happy Anniversary" on the plate. Would recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

took the wife to the capitol grille for ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

took the wife to the capitol grille for a belated anniversary celebration. while the food was quite good our server was terrific. we will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille continues to be my family ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Capital Grille continues to be my family's goto spot for special occasions. The ambiance, service, and food are absolutely top notch. Our waiter, John, was very attentive and professional. For special occasions, Capital Grille adds those special little touches that make the experience memorable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, a classic and classy steakhou ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As always, a classic and classy steakhouse dinner. Nice for a formal or business meal. Service was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent steak! Melts in your mouth. A ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent steak! Melts in your mouth. A special place for a special occasion meal. Always above average on everything. Go and have dinner and then enjoy walking around in downtown Charlotte.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable evening but disappointed in en ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Enjoyable evening but disappointed in entrée choice. First time having lobster there and it was dry. Too pricey to not have been delicious! Will definitely make a different selection next visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

We took my daughter and her boyfriend fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We took my daughter and her boyfriend for her 20th birthday. Our waiter was extremely friendly, patient and knowledgeable with wine list and entrees. Strangely enough we all ended up getting seafood, salmon, scallops and sea bass. The seafood was fresh, perfectly cooked and seasoned. Of course hands down as always the lobster mac and cheese was our favorite side. The new side we tried was the brussell sprouts and bacon. It was spectacular! Lastly, my daughter ordered creme brulee cheesecake. Do I even have to tell you this was fantastic!?!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Star Service Five Star Food Could ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Five Star Service

Five Star Food

Could not ask for them to do anything better. Top Notch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Excellent service. Excel ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service. Excellent ambience. Great start of an evening with my love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nick was possibly the best waiter experi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Nick was possibly the best waiter experience I have encountered in 40+ years of fine dining, always close but never too close or bothersome.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite restaurant in uptown Charlo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in uptown Charlotte! We always enjoy dining there before a show or any special occasion that brings us into town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and good food

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great service and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We booked this restaurant to visit befor ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We booked this restaurant to visit before attending a show. I can't say enough about the service (Sherry was a phenomenal server, and called us by name when she arrived at our table. I noticed that she said a sweet goodbye to another customer as they left for the evening, offering a personal touch!), the food and the vibe of the restaurant. Sherry's suggestions based on our likes and dislikes were spot on--we were very happy with all of our menu selections. It was our first time dining at Capital Grille and I hope it will not be the last! It was a wonderful evening!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good steak and prepared well, it is just ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Good steak and prepared well, it is just over priced. Definitely only consider for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The Capital Grille Charlotte is one of o ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The Capital Grille Charlotte is one of our favorite fine dining restaurants. The food is incredible! The staff makes you feel special...a top notch restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a lovely very dining experienc ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As always a lovely very dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.