Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Jameson Storm

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Good for a Date (64)
See All
Romantic (47)
Business Meals (44)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Notable Wine List (40)
Worth the Drive (31)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Good for Groups (22)
Cozy (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Fun (12)
People Watching (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Casual (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Scenic View (4)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Pricey, but you remember why really too notch restaurants Are pricey- excellent food/ super service. Memorable for special occasion dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

The most amazing servicer I ever had in a restaurant, so wished I remembered her name! The best meal I've ever had in any upscale restaurant !

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 12, 2017

My husband and I had filet mignon, roasted mushrooms, prosciutto wrapped mozzerella, butternut squash bisque, and shaved brussels sprout salad and it was all delicious! Perfectly prepared and wonderful! Our server, Peter, was fantastic and a delight. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Everything was excellent... The food and service was great 👌🏿👌🏿👌🏿👌🏿

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We love going to this restaurant. It's always nice to be treated well. The food is great. We love the waitstaff, especially David.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was amazing! From the appetizer to the main entree, everything was cooked well! Drinks also were on point!

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Definitely Special occasion. Bit pricey. Overall I would recommend. Service Excellent. Meal outstanding.
Save up and go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Capital grille is always a good choice and the Charlotte location exceeds expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

It was our 5 year anniversary and we really enjoyed the effort that the staff put in by writing us a card and providing outstanding service. Our server Derek was amazing and will ask for him once we go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Entire dining experience was unforgettable! We went there to celebrate my wife's birthday. She was greeted with "Happy Birthday" by the hostess who sat us and the waitperson who served us. When we arrived to our table it was decorated and a birthday card was placed on it. My wife had the roasted chicken and I had the specialty bone-in rib eye. Both were prepared to perfection. Concluded the meal with a surprise Happy Birthday dessert platter. Thanks to all the staff who made this evening special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Joe was a great host. Everything was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Went for a special occasion--work anniversary. They made my coworker feel special-confetti on the table and a personalized dessert. I would definitely recommend for special occasions. I took my husband to a competitor restaurant for his 50th and didn't get this kind of special treatment. And the food was absolutely delicious. I could not have been happier. I eat out a lot and this place truly differentiates itself with great food and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food, great service and good fun! Good time had by all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Excellent service and experience! We celebrated our anniversary and it was honored and we felt special:)
Lobster Mac & cheese was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very poor service the food was ok not fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything was so special. They knew we were dining to celebrate our anniversary so our table was decorated, everyone wished us a Happy Anniversary and included complimentary dessert. Wonderful experience, start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fantastic as always. Yes, it is pricey, but it is always good. Love going there for special events, as they help you feel special.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We went for our son's last meal out before college and are thankful he picked Capital Grille. None of us felt like walking after, we were so full. The lobster mac & cheese remains one of my favorite things in the world. Everything was delicious and J.R., our server, led a great team of waitstaff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

My girlfriend and I were out for a date night, wonder meal and atmosphere

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Amazing food, knowledgeable staff, extremely friendly and helpful servers. I have never been disappointed here.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great job last night! Ross service was top notch! Management does a great job here, check on us twice! Will be back very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Visit Charlotte a few times a year and always like to make it to Capital Grill if I can. Great food and service...and THE WORLDS' BEST calamari!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Simply Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Friends and I are in town for the PGA tourney and we liked it so well we went to Capitol Grill-Charlotte 2 nights in a row.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Waiter was attentive but not overly anxious, food was excellent, and the ambiance was classy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

We arrived and the table was not ready for 20-30minutes and the host offered drinks while we waited. We appreciated the gesture and it made the wait not as much of a problem for our group.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I dined alone and was quite comfortable at the Capital Grille. The wait staff was affable and attentive, and I enjoyed my meal thoroughly! The seared tenderloin with butter poached lobster tails was EXCELLENT. I highly recommend the Capital Grille in Charlotte, and would definitely enjoy dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

One of our favorites, it did not disappoint! Delicious food, great service, and "generous pour" special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We normally love this place and this is the first time we went where things were just "ok".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very nice! Great food! Great atmosphere! Everything you would expect from an uptown/high end restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Amazing experience !!! As a frequent Capital Grille diner I was blown away by the perfection during this visit!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our meal was lukewarm! Took a long time to get the waitresses attention.
Could have gone to Outback Steakhouse for the meal we had. For that kind of money
it should have been piping hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Capital Grille never disappoints. The dry aged steaks are phenomenal and the meal is well paced. We always enjoy the experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Birthday dinner was amazing
Service from Alex amazing
Food amazing
Wine phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This is my absolute favorite restaurant. The food is always fantastic, the atmosphere is perfect and relaxed, and the staff is very helpful and welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Amazing experience. Food was great. Service awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

When they click on all cylinders like they do often, there is no better steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Overall, the restaurant was nice. We visited for Queens Fest and food was ok for the price. If you plan to visit here, be sure to call about the parking. Our reservations were earlier in the day so valet was not an option .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

It was my birthday the food was great atmosphere great and very friendly and knowledgeable staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wonderful service and the food exceeded expectations! Made for a lovely date night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.