About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map


You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Frier

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Bone-In Filet W Grilled Asparagus
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake
Cheesecake
Filet Oscar
Lobster and Crab Cakes
French Onion Soup
Desserts: Chocolate Hazelnut Cake, Creme Brulee, Cheesecake
Half Of A Filet Mignon
Ice Cream Trio
Asparagus With Hollandaise Sauce
Chocolate Espresso Cake
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, Basil With 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Godiva Chocolate Almond Mocha
Dry Aged Steak Au Poivre With Courvoisier Cream
Chocolate Almond Mousse
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Lamb Chops
Cheeseburger
Au Gratin Potatoes
Cesar Salad
Caeser Salad
Oysters on the Half Shell
Lobster Bisque
Potatoes Au Gratin
apricot sorbet
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Chicken Confit, Collard Greens And Creamy White Grits
USDA Prime Ribeye
Cheese wrapped in bacon
Mashed Potatoes
Green beans
porterhouse steak

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
7 More
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Special Occasion (102)
Romantic (67)
Notable Wine List (52)
See All
Good for Groups (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Great for Lunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Scenic View (3)
Private Room (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1864 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server, Ken Davis, made our evening ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our server, Ken Davis, made our evening more enjoyable and he was great with our daughters (7 and 4 years old). Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Denise, our server was perfect. Food was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Denise, our server was perfect. Food was beautifully prepared and delicious. Not a single complaint. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never having been to Charlotte we chose ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Never having been to Charlotte we chose the Capital Grille for our family dinner from the outstanding reviews. We were not disappointed. Our waiter, Ken, was courteous, knowledgeable and greatly added to the experience. The food, of course, was superb.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal, John provided outstanding se ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great meal, John provided outstanding service. My wife had a fantastic birthday!! See you soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Capital Grill is consistently great!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The Capital Grill is consistently great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have certain dietary restrictions that ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I have certain dietary restrictions that the chef made concessions for with no problem. The slight modifications were great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

OK--so this is not the first time for th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

OK--so this is not the first time for the Capital Grille and their game was off. Have actually been dining there for 9 years, business, lunch & special occasions. Short version server not on his game this day. Noise level was high considering this was early lunch hour and the dining area was no where near capacity. This was simply a (round) table of loud mouths who wanted to share their conversation with everybody in a 40 foot radius--even after their food was delivered.

The food: Lobster & crab burger served with truffle fries for lunch companion was deemed acceptable, presentation was good. I decided to try the Wagyu Cheeseburger over the Lobster roll & the Lobster/crab burger. Mistake, asked for medium well described as pink center throughout--just right. Burger shows up cut it in half and blood runs across the plate--not good for ground beef. Back to kitchen, returned same burger with new bun and topping--charred to a cinder at this point. Salvaged a few bites and let it go. Knew it was the original burger as I had cut it in half. Kitchen simply charred it beyond recognition, and placed on new bread. I know because when I cut it in half this time the burger was now in quarters. Less than impressive for the Capital Grille. Throughout the lunch we had to repeatedly ask the server for one thing after another--he was off his game and appeared to be in a fog.

Will I return--yes because I deem this a one off situation as we have dined there for over 9 years on a semi-regular basis.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent choice for date night! Except ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent choice for date night! Exceptional service, outstanding lobster bisque and lobster/crab cakes! Filet melts in your mouth. Loved the roasted potatoes.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and SERVICE. Wine list inform ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and SERVICE. Wine list informative and the Spirit selection was good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We took my parents here to celebrate the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We took my parents here to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary and the evening was perfect from beginning to end. The staff was charming and accommodating and took my dad's disability in gracious stride. My parents felt special thanks to the wonderful meal that we experienced under the deft hand of Jim, our table captain for the evening. Excellent food with attentive, unobtrusive service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our evening dining experience was exemp ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our evening dining experience was exemplary. From the attention we received when we entered Capital Grille to the time we walked out to leave our time there was off the chart. Our meal was to die for, from our starters to desserts, my compliments to the chef's as well as the wait staff. What a wonderful evening. Thanks to all at Capital Grille, Charlotte.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic time at Capital Grille in Char ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Fantastic time at Capital Grille in Charlotte.

Special thanks to the waiter George Lee who went the extra mile to ensure I had everything I needed.

Also thanks to the manager Armin Ahrabin who chatted with me and made sure everything was good.

Lastly, that's to the chef who made the best Ribeye Steak (medium +) cooked to perfection.

Great job guys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything....service fantastic...meal w ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything....service fantastic...meal was unbelievable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent! Our waiter was D ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was excellent! Our waiter was David and he was very professional and attentive. He made our birthday dinner very special.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to the Capital Grille to celebra ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went to the Capital Grille to celebrate a family event. We were fortunate to have Ken as our server. His knowledge of the menu was outstanding and he was incredibly personable and friendly.

Two of us got the bone-in beef tenderloin special and requested the blue cheese crust. My brother-in-law loves crispy on the outside and very rare in the inside. He said it was the best he has ever had, which is high praise from him. My tenderloin was a perfect medium and the lobster ordered by the others was delicious!. I am originally from the Maryland/Delaware beach area and commend the Capital Grille on the Jumbo Lump Crab Cocktail-wow. It had the biggest lumps of crab and it was delicious! We enjoyed the oysters and calamari as well. Loved the warm chocolate cake. The cocktails were wonderful. Our only disappointment was the Cabernet Sauvignon. It was not worth the price we paid and mind you, we spent a good bit of money on this dinner for four.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time at the Charlotte ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This was my first time at the Charlotte Capital Grille and I was not disappointed. Everyone at the table took my recommendation and had their steaks with the Kona rub. Raves from all.

Capital Grille remains one of my go to places for business dinners.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good food and always good service ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always good food and always good service at the CG

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a fabulous experience at Capital ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a fabulous experience at Capital Grille!! It was my boyfriends 25th birthday and we chose the restaurant to celebrate. I let them know on my open table reservation that it was his birthday. When we arrived I had barely stepped into the restaurant with my boyfriends birthday cake before the mater'd greeted me and asked if he could take the cake from me and place it in the back or refrigerate it - AWESOME first impression!! We decided to get a drink at the bar (great service there) and we were given chips to snack on. Once we were able to be seated we notified the hostess and were seated immediately. The table had birthday confetti on it and a birthday card. It was so special. Our server, Antonio, greeted us quickly and asked if we would like a decanter for our bottle of wine that we had brought from home. Even though the wine wasn't expensive, we appreciated that he offered and took him up on the offer. We started with the lobster and crab cake appetizer which was AWESOME. My boyfriend had the special bone in rib eye, I had the 10 oz filet. We shared the lobster Mac and cheese and the potatoes au gratin. Everything was perfect. When it was time for dessert the server brought the complimentary birthday dessert followed by the cake we had brought. Then they took a picture of us with the cake and sliced it. It was the perfect birthday dinner and one we will never forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service by Ken Davis and of course ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service by Ken Davis and of course great food

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Charlotte. Superior f ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Best restaurant in Charlotte. Superior food and outstanding service! Five Star!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst experience at Capital Grille I've ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Worst experience at Capital Grille I've ever had. Steak was horrible, service was non-existent, wine was fabulous. Thank goodness for the wine. My clients were so unhappy with our meal that we had to stop and get sushi after dinner. When we told the waitress that our steaks were all awful, she shrugged her shoulders and walked away. She returned with our bill. This will be my last time to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

Great Anniversary dinner! My girlfriend ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great Anniversary dinner! My girlfriend and I were celebrating our our seven year anniversary and we had an excellent night. The server, Chris, was very nice and knowledgeable of the menu. He also offered recommendations that were really good, such as the prosciutto wrapped mozzarella. I would definitely recommend The Capital Grill and I look forward to this becoming one of our new favorite places in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the Capital Grille. I'm never disa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Love the Capital Grille. I'm never disappointed when I frequent this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful experience! Our se ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Absolutely wonderful experience! Our server was Jim and he was on top of everything without bothering us. The food was perfect and just an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Alex was wonderful. He took ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our waiter, Alex was wonderful. He took wonderful care of us. Our food was fabulous and the atmosphere was great. We enjoy everything about the Capital Grill experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great evening. Took our son to ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Another great evening. Took our son to The Generous Pour. inlove this promotion as we get to taste 7 different wines and then each choose which we would like with our entrees. Ask for Peter...he serves you with elegance

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually go to Capital Grille for wine ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We usually go to Capital Grille for wine and desert after a concert. They have the best flour less chocolate cake and always an excellent selection of wines. This past Thursday, we went there for our 21st wedding anniversary. The service was amazing, the food was delicious! I never liked Brussells sprouts... as probably the rest of the world... well try the one at Capital Grille Charlotte... it will change your life :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best lunch in charlotte

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Best lunch in charlotte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amber, our waitress, was awesome! We wer ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Amber, our waitress, was awesome! We were on a "double date" with another couple, and we participated in the "Generous Pour". She was knowledgeable, funny, and attentive. We had a great time- the food was amazing, the wine was excellent, and we are repeat guests!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable service JR was awesome

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Memorable service JR was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible all around! Generous pour wa ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Incredible all around! Generous pour was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the ambiance in this restaurant. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I love the ambiance in this restaurant. I definitely will return to try some more dishes. The wedge salad was delicious with the bacon and the blue cheese dressing. The salmon was pleasing to the palette. The flourless chocolate cake was very moist. The server, Peter, made the dining experience very memorable. The whole staff was very welcoming and friendly. We can't wait to return to the Capital Grille!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best service ever to go with qn and xcel ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Best service ever to go with qn and xcellent menu. Quality of food is top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Capital Grill is always the best food, b ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Capital Grill is always the best food, best service and best atmosphere. We recommend it especially for special occasions. They go out of their way to help you celebrate. Best restaurant in town!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food as always was excellent. Wait servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food as always was excellent. Wait service from Peter Karas and crew outstanding, above and beyond expectations. Even offered to bring out valet ticket so car would be waiting for us when we exited.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is wonderful beautiful restaur ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food is wonderful beautiful restaurant we went during queens feast and it was still over 100.00 for both my husband and I but we would go back again for a special occasion I had the herbed chicken it was so good and my husband had the filet he said it was very good also

I would recommend this restaurant highly

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and excellent service.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Per recommendation of waiter steak was c ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Per recommendation of waiter steak was cooked medium though I stated I prefered medium rare, it was a little overdone. My date's steak was med rare but somehow not juicy. My liqour drink was very weak and the dessert was adequate. Overall the meal was not worth even the discounted price.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Good food, service excelent, for me is o ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good food, service excelent, for me is one of the best for steak

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid as always, but a lot of family's ( ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Solid as always, but a lot of family's (kids) at the restaurant tonight. Made for very loud environment and not as pleasant as usual. Was a soccer tourney in town and looked like a lot of underdressed, rowdy, loud fans.

Perhaps consider at least a minimum dress code- no shorts, t-shirts, flip flops? At least go business casual? Just my 2 cents.

Meal and service was solid as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.