About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map


You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Frier

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Bone-In Filet W Grilled Asparagus
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake
Cheesecake
Filet Oscar
Lobster and Crab Cakes
French Onion Soup
Desserts: Chocolate Hazelnut Cake, Creme Brulee, Cheesecake
Half Of A Filet Mignon
Ice Cream Trio
Asparagus With Hollandaise Sauce
Chocolate Espresso Cake
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, Basil With 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Godiva Chocolate Almond Mocha
Dry Aged Steak Au Poivre With Courvoisier Cream
Chocolate Almond Mousse
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Lamb Chops
Cheeseburger
Au Gratin Potatoes
Cesar Salad
Caeser Salad
Oysters on the Half Shell
Lobster Bisque
Potatoes Au Gratin
apricot sorbet
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Pot Pie
Chicken Confit, Collard Greens And Creamy White Grits
USDA Prime Ribeye
Cheese wrapped in bacon
Mashed Potatoes
Green beans
porterhouse steak

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
7 More
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Special Occasion (115)
Romantic (73)
Notable Wine List (56)
See All
Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Groups (40)
Great for Lunch (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (6)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1846 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a fabulous experience at Capital ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a fabulous experience at Capital Grille!! It was my boyfriends 25th birthday and we chose the restaurant to celebrate. I let them know on my open table reservation that it was his birthday. When we arrived I had barely stepped into the restaurant with my boyfriends birthday cake before the mater'd greeted me and asked if he could take the cake from me and place it in the back or refrigerate it - AWESOME first impression!! We decided to get a drink at the bar (great service there) and we were given chips to snack on. Once we were able to be seated we notified the hostess and were seated immediately. The table had birthday confetti on it and a birthday card. It was so special. Our server, Antonio, greeted us quickly and asked if we would like a decanter for our bottle of wine that we had brought from home. Even though the wine wasn't expensive, we appreciated that he offered and took him up on the offer. We started with the lobster and crab cake appetizer which was AWESOME. My boyfriend had the special bone in rib eye, I had the 10 oz filet. We shared the lobster Mac and cheese and the potatoes au gratin. Everything was perfect. When it was time for dessert the server brought the complimentary birthday dessert followed by the cake we had brought. Then they took a picture of us with the cake and sliced it. It was the perfect birthday dinner and one we will never forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service by Ken Davis and of course ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service by Ken Davis and of course great food

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Charlotte. Superior f ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Best restaurant in Charlotte. Superior food and outstanding service! Five Star!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst experience at Capital Grille I've ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Worst experience at Capital Grille I've ever had. Steak was horrible, service was non-existent, wine was fabulous. Thank goodness for the wine. My clients were so unhappy with our meal that we had to stop and get sushi after dinner. When we told the waitress that our steaks were all awful, she shrugged her shoulders and walked away. She returned with our bill. This will be my last time to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

Great Anniversary dinner! My girlfriend ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great Anniversary dinner! My girlfriend and I were celebrating our our seven year anniversary and we had an excellent night. The server, Chris, was very nice and knowledgeable of the menu. He also offered recommendations that were really good, such as the prosciutto wrapped mozzarella. I would definitely recommend The Capital Grill and I look forward to this becoming one of our new favorite places in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the Capital Grille. I'm never disa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Love the Capital Grille. I'm never disappointed when I frequent this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful experience! Our se ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Absolutely wonderful experience! Our server was Jim and he was on top of everything without bothering us. The food was perfect and just an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Alex was wonderful. He took ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our waiter, Alex was wonderful. He took wonderful care of us. Our food was fabulous and the atmosphere was great. We enjoy everything about the Capital Grill experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great evening. Took our son to ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Another great evening. Took our son to The Generous Pour. inlove this promotion as we get to taste 7 different wines and then each choose which we would like with our entrees. Ask for Peter...he serves you with elegance

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually go to Capital Grille for wine ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We usually go to Capital Grille for wine and desert after a concert. They have the best flour less chocolate cake and always an excellent selection of wines. This past Thursday, we went there for our 21st wedding anniversary. The service was amazing, the food was delicious! I never liked Brussells sprouts... as probably the rest of the world... well try the one at Capital Grille Charlotte... it will change your life :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best lunch in charlotte

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Best lunch in charlotte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amber, our waitress, was awesome! We wer ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Amber, our waitress, was awesome! We were on a "double date" with another couple, and we participated in the "Generous Pour". She was knowledgeable, funny, and attentive. We had a great time- the food was amazing, the wine was excellent, and we are repeat guests!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable service JR was awesome

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Memorable service JR was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible all around! Generous pour wa ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Incredible all around! Generous pour was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the ambiance in this restaurant. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I love the ambiance in this restaurant. I definitely will return to try some more dishes. The wedge salad was delicious with the bacon and the blue cheese dressing. The salmon was pleasing to the palette. The flourless chocolate cake was very moist. The server, Peter, made the dining experience very memorable. The whole staff was very welcoming and friendly. We can't wait to return to the Capital Grille!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best service ever to go with qn and xcel ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Best service ever to go with qn and xcellent menu. Quality of food is top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Capital Grill is always the best food, b ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Capital Grill is always the best food, best service and best atmosphere. We recommend it especially for special occasions. They go out of their way to help you celebrate. Best restaurant in town!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food as always was excellent. Wait servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food as always was excellent. Wait service from Peter Karas and crew outstanding, above and beyond expectations. Even offered to bring out valet ticket so car would be waiting for us when we exited.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is wonderful beautiful restaur ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food is wonderful beautiful restaurant we went during queens feast and it was still over 100.00 for both my husband and I but we would go back again for a special occasion I had the herbed chicken it was so good and my husband had the filet he said it was very good also

I would recommend this restaurant highly

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and excellent service.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Per recommendation of waiter steak was c ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Per recommendation of waiter steak was cooked medium though I stated I prefered medium rare, it was a little overdone. My date's steak was med rare but somehow not juicy. My liqour drink was very weak and the dessert was adequate. Overall the meal was not worth even the discounted price.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Good food, service excelent, for me is o ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good food, service excelent, for me is one of the best for steak

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid as always, but a lot of family's ( ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Solid as always, but a lot of family's (kids) at the restaurant tonight. Made for very loud environment and not as pleasant as usual. Was a soccer tourney in town and looked like a lot of underdressed, rowdy, loud fans.

Perhaps consider at least a minimum dress code- no shorts, t-shirts, flip flops? At least go business casual? Just my 2 cents.

Meal and service was solid as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The filet Mignot was amazing!!! Side ite ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The filet Mignot was amazing!!! Side items (mashed potatoes and French green beans were also great) had an awesome server who was very attentive. I cannot remember his name but I certainly wish I could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was good but not exceptionable as I r ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was good but not exceptionable as I remember it being. The clam chowder was certainly just ordinary I've had better in far less expensive restaurants. The drinks (Stoli Doli) was a far cry from what they used to be I won't be ordering those again anytime soon. The noise leave was over the top. All around good but not great my dinner at Ruth's Chris the weekend before was superior.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

We had such an amazing time at dinner. T ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had such an amazing time at dinner. The service was excellent. We were greeted and chatted with Richard who made our night so special. Our server Michael was also very friendly, prompt, and informative. Food was delicious and did not take too long! Will definitely be back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Could not be a better dining experience ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Could not be a better dining experience in Charlotte

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great service.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Delicious food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great night with my husband. We were ce ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great night with my husband. We were celebrating my birthday and the food was delicious ! The staff was awesome and we will definitely return. Thanks!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capital Grille made my wife's birthday w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Capital Grille made my wife's birthday wonderful yet again. They go above and beyond to serve our requests. They made her feel like she is their special guest with confetti, a witty note, and Happy Birthday greetings from the moment we walked in. Our server was on top of things per usual. And the Restaurant Week aka Queens Feast deal makes the experience reachable for our modest budget on a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always first class

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always first class

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely Wonderful! Service was top no ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Absolutely Wonderful! Service was top notch! Exactly what you would expect from one of the best restaurants in Charlotte!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy Capital Grille. We took ad ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Always enjoy Capital Grille. We took advantage of Charlotte Restaurant week and had a great meal at a great price. Only issue was a missed drink order - friend ordered a vodka tonic and then when another friend ordered a special drink, the first friend asked for that instead the waitress brought the vodka tonic

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two friends and I went here for Queens F ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Two friends and I went here for Queens Feast because the regular menu is too expensive for our pocketbooks. Food was good, but I've had better. Beautiful ambiance, impeccable service (which should be expected considering the price). They probably have to charge high prices, because of the amount of waitstaff they have to pay. I will not return, there are too many other restaurants to try.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent choice for business. Professio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent choice for business. Professional staff and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bill was relatively low compared to ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The bill was relatively low compared to the normal prices because it was Restaurant week in Charlotte.

The service was great, our server, Laura Yount , was superb.

We were in the back room which was much more quiet than the rest of the restaurant; a very pleasant atmosphere.

Food was great as usual.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't know if it was a new chef but th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I don't know if it was a new chef but the Steak was too salty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for restaurant week, so it was a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We went for restaurant week, so it was a bargain! The set menu had items from the regular menu, unlike some other restaurants. We both had NY Strip steak which was prepared just as we asked. The affable waiter recommended a very nice red wine at a reasonable price. The staff was prompt and courteous. We both enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch at the Capital Grille is a real tr ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Lunch at the Capital Grille is a real treat. The grilled salmon salad was terrific, and the service could not have been better.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great time with great service a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Always a great time with great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.