About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map


You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Frier

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Bone-In Filet W Grilled Asparagus
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake
Cheesecake
Filet Oscar
Lobster and Crab Cakes
French Onion Soup
Desserts: Chocolate Hazelnut Cake, Creme Brulee, Cheesecake
Half Of A Filet Mignon
Ice Cream Trio
Asparagus With Hollandaise Sauce
Chocolate Espresso Cake
Dry Aged Steak Au Poivre With Courvoisier Cream
Godiva Chocolate Almond Mocha
Chocolate Almond Mousse
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, Basil With 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Lamb Chops
Cheeseburger
Au Gratin Potatoes
Caeser Salad
Cesar Salad
Oysters on the Half Shell
Lobster Bisque
apricot sorbet
Potatoes Au Gratin
Maine Lobster Roll
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Lobster Pot Pie
Chicken Confit, Collard Greens And Creamy White Grits
USDA Prime Ribeye
Cheese wrapped in bacon
Green beans
porterhouse steak
Mashed Potatoes

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
11 More
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (79)
notable wine list (47)
romantic (44)
See All
fit for foodies (38)
good for groups (30)
great for lunch (21)
great for outdoor dining (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (12)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1776 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak dinner I've had in Charlotte. ...

Dined 3 days ago

Best steak dinner I've had in Charlotte. Great service, great food, super nice restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first wedding anniversary and ...

Dined 4 days ago

It was our first wedding anniversary and I let the restaurant know before hand. They put heart confetti on the table with a sweet card. After we had a delicious meal they surprised us with a lovely dessert plate that spelled out "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate. Very special and it made our evening. Highly recommend it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Capital Grille never disappoints. Th ...

Dined 7 days ago

The Capital Grille never disappoints. This is my second time at this particular one and it was solid both times. The food was great, the service was great. Pricey but worth the money.

food5
ambience5
service5

Shawn was awesome and the food was great ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Shawn was awesome and the food was great, everything on point.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went back to the Capital Grille after ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We went back to the Capital Grille after 3 years for a date night and had an amazing time. We were fortunate to sit outside on a great evening. The food along with the service from Shawn was just outstanding. It's definitely not a cheap meal but well worth when you look at the overall experience. Just a heads up if you want to dine outside: make sure you request that in your reservation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fantastic dining experience! Se ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a fantastic dining experience! Service and food was wonderful!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine at the Capital ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at the Capital Grill. Service was excellent, thank you David Crosby! And the Bone in Filet is fantastic!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent as always! Had a bottle of win ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent as always! Had a bottle of wine, a well-prepared filet, asparagus, and a warm double chocolate cake dessert with ice cream... left fat and happy. The Capital Grille provides superior service, food, and ambiance coupled with a fabulous wine selection. Would highly recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at The Capital Grille is always a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Dinner at The Capital Grille is always amazing! We celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary here. From the complimentary champagne toast to the lovely roses, everything was perfect! The food is simply exceptional! And the service is outstanding. If you want to make it special, then The Capital Grille is the place to be!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My daughter and I were in town for a wed ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

My daughter and I were in town for a wedding and made a quick decision to go out on the town for a nice dinner, celebrating my birthday. We were treated like royalty. Service was phenomenal, food was superb, wait staff - Dave - was extremely knowledgeable on the wine selections and especially on the menu options. We definitely made the best choice.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best food in Charlotte. Great servic ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

The best food in Charlotte. Great service. Money well spent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything you'd think The Capital Grill ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything you'd think The Capital Grille would be!

food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Great meal

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

One of the best meals in a long time. I normally frequent Del Friscos but have family in town and took them somewhere close. Everyone loved it as the Grille definitely made a good impression for the first time visitors.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great special and service!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Our Server was wonderful - she was so attentive and had a lovely demeanor. She anticipated and filled every need. The special was outstanding. We were celebrating a friend's success and it truly was a special celebration.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was extraordinarily awesome and ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

The food was extraordinarily awesome and the service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good

Dined on May 28, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First ever dining experience at The Capi ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

First ever dining experience at The Capital Grille, and I will be returning as quickly as possible! The food, service, and atmosphere were all impeccable. I will be requesting the same server upon my next visit, because he was so accommodating as well as knowledgable concerning the selections. He offered a number of suggestions which did not disappoint. This dinner occasion was to celebrate my birthday, and I was greeted with a birthday card. This is an establishment that really take the little things into consideration. After all it is the nuances of a meal and not the food itself that truly make an amazing dining experience. In my opinion this is the best restaurant in Charlotte.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Rebecca our waitress was very attentive ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Rebecca our waitress was very attentive and also knowledgeable of the menu

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, polite staff

Dined on May 26, 2016

I've been to the Capital Grille twice, and both times had the lobster mac. It is amazing. The portions are a good size and are shareable so the prices aren't too bad. The waitstaff are always very attentive and polite, although I've sat outside both times, the noise level inside isn't bad at all. It's a good place for a nice dinner, a date, special occasion, etc. everything on the menu looks fantastic. I will continue to visit the Capital Grille!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Overall Experience

Dined on May 24, 2016

Great experience. Wine was phenomenal. (Caymus 2013 Cab) Apps were great. Calamari and crab cakes. Sides were amazing. (Lobster mac, mushrooms and brussell sprouts) Wish steak would have been cooked a bit less, but it was remedied. Highly recommend. Best Cap Grille that I've dined in.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another exceptional meal by this team. N ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Another exceptional meal by this team. Never fails!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have never been disappointed here. Th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I have never been disappointed here. The capital Grille is top notch, though the pring makes it a very special occasion eventci

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a nice anniversary dinner wit ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We enjoyed a nice anniversary dinner with terrific service and wonderful food. The filet with butter poached lobster tails was amazing. Jennifer Hansbro was our server and we enjoyed her thoroughly. She was very attentive and enhanced our dining experience. Thanks for the classic steakhouse food and first class service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Anniversary experience.

Dined on May 20, 2016

Fantastic Anniversary experience.

food4
ambience4
service3

Good meal. Service policy and courteous. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Good meal. Service policy and courteous. Price point high for value of meal.

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Shocked to see my $120 wine handled so r ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Shocked to see my $120 wine handled so roughly while in the bottle and when being decanted from a height of 2 feet. I mean, it was nearly foamy. Turned out to be available on the web for $17.

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We dined at the Capital Grille the last ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We dined at the Capital Grille the last time we were in Charlotte. Again, it did not disappoint. We had the filet mignon and ribeye, as well as lobster bisque and mac & cheese with lobster. Amber is an excellent server. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dining Experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

I surprised my husband for his 73rd birthday. Both the food and service were outstanding. Many thanks to both Alexis and David for making this a memorable dining experience. Also kudos to the Capital Grill management for the delicious complimentary deserts.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4

The location is great especially outdoor ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The location is great especially outdoors when there's a live band playing. Food could be better honestly, the best thing we had was dessert!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place for a special meal with ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent place for a special meal with an old friend. Great steaks, great service, though (as expected) a bit pricey.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Honestly cant imagine a better place for ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Honestly cant imagine a better place for our anniversary dinner! Fantastic!

food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome food and service from both waite ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Awesome food and service from both waiters!!

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Hit and miss.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was great, the food was not. My steak was extremely fatty and the grits were so salty I could not eat them. The lobster Mac and cheese was great, so was the salad. I expected more from this restaurant due to the price range that they are in, but unfortunately they did not deliver. I'm extremely dissapointed.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Headed to The Capital Grille for Mothers ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Headed to The Capital Grille for Mothers Day brunch. Was impressed with the ambiance and the locale. Was disappointed in how slow the service was and inattentive the waiter. Given the premium pricing due to the holiday, I was further disappointed with the delivery of the food. It took almost 90 minutes to receive our main course and worst of all it was not hot. The NY strip was served at room temperature and the Lobster Frittata was greasy and light on lobster. Likely will not return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Denise was our server she is the best T ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Denise was our server she is the best Took care of everything When it was one for dessert we were surprised by the managers platter of assortments and champagne Our evening was over the top CAPITAL GRILL CHARLOTTE is the place to go They do it right food was fantastic, friendly staff and a great ambience Thank you Capital Grill staff for making our evening one to remember

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent food as usual!

Dined on May 6, 2016

As always, the food was incredible! We got the lobster crab cakes for an appetizer, and they were awesome! Delicious with a corn salsa and sauce that complimented the dish. We got the market lobster, already stripped off the shell making it easy to eat. So delicious! It was quite busy at the time, so the activity and noise level were high. Unfortunately, the service was lacking. It was impersonal and basically neglectful. I hope they recognize the fact and remedy this problem. We will come back, for the food of course...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was exceptional. Peter was ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Everything was exceptional. Peter was a wonderful server. I will be back soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasurable experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

The evening was for a birthday dinner and it exceeded our expectations. The food was extremely good--HIGHLY recommend the Seared Tenderloin with Butter Poached Lobster Tails and the Chilean Sea Bass with Mushroom Soy Broth. Very Tasty! The service we received from Antonio was impeccable and he not only made the experience inviting, but was pleasant to visit with as he came to the table to welcome us, recommend options, present our meal and check in on us. We will be returning in the future!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was impeccable, the service just right.

Dined on April 29, 2016

My wife and I have made the Capital Grill our goto for celebrating special occasions. Yes the food is consistently great, but there are other restaurants that have great food. However, it is the staff that really makes Capital Grill stand out from all the rest. They are obviously well trained but they seem to be able to find people who truly take pride in making sure our dining experience is great. That comes through on every visit!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistency

Dined on April 27, 2016

If you've been to one CG you've been to them all. It's consistently really good and an elegant atmosphere but pricey.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.