Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Frier

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Mother's Day for an exceptional prix fixe brunch. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as our Pan-Seared Salmon with Citrus Crab Salad.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (119)
Good for a Date (103)
Good for Anniversaries (90)
See All
Romantic (74)
Business Meals (64)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Pre/post Theatre (49)
Notable Wine List (47)
Worth the Drive (37)
Bar Seating (28)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Great for Lunch (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Cozy (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fun (12)
Authentic (11)
Private Room (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Casual (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
People Watching (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Family Style (5)
Historic (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

George was my server
He was thoughtful, energetic, and was so polite and treated me like I was truly welcomed, it was my birthday so he presented me with a nice dessert ( on him or the house not sure )
And he had remembered I had been there several times before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was a bit slow, perhaps because we were on the patio. But the food - lamb chops and salmon - was very good, and the weather was perfect for Easter brunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The whole experience was wonderful and the service was great. I would recommend anyone to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We love this restaurant. The staff always makes us feel welcome. Our waiter, David C is a gem.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was excellent, team of Peter/David was superb. Wine good , bone in steak (strip) very rare at bone, chewy and just brought home. Ate the end to mid center. Realize bone in can be tricky, but aggravating when you can only enjoy part of the steak. Otherwise, good meal

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great service! The dry aged steak was perfect and the wine list to pair it with was good. We came for our wedding anniversary and will be back for a regular night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Poor wait service and average quality food. Very, very disappointing .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 13, 2017

They truly made us feel special for our anniversary. Food was excellent! Wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We met friends we haven't seen in years for dinner. Capital Grille was the perfect choice! The steaks were amazing and our service was excellent. We weren't rushed which was important on this occasion, yet our servers always seemed to be there when we needed them.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Armin and his team did an outstanding job of taking care of our retirement party for a colleague from the UK. Always a great dining choice.The complimentary champagne toast was a nice touch which they appreciated.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The steak and salad were not up to par.
Have dined here many times.
Hope this is a one off and not a trend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This place was awesome Great atmosphere great food great service thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Terrible service. Waitress was very dirty and not professional. Food was sub par. Go to Fleming's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I ordered the lamb chops Parmesan truffle fries and lobster mac n cheese, my husband got the porterhouse with the Gorgonzola cheese sauce. Both the meats were delicious however the truffle fries lacked the truffle flavor, I was very disappointed with them. The mac n cheese would have been better had it had more lobster in it, there was only about 2 or 3 pieces in it which is the first time that has ever happened I must say it is usually full of lobster meat and perfect! We ordered a cheesecake to go which we thought they gave us but the restaurant called and said they forgot it and we were no t far so we drove back to get it which was so worth it! The cheesecake was amazing!!!!!! However, when we were going through our take out boxes we discovered someone else's half eaten bone in filet..... weird..... and I also feel sorry for the folks that are missing their meat....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I shared the 14oz bone-in filet with my mother, and it was perfect! We altered the lobster mac and cheese and asked instead for bacon mac and cheese with truffle oil. We had this in NYC and knew it was delicious. They did not disappoint at this location in making it either! Ridiculously amazing! Other sides we shared were sautéed spinach and asparagus. We concluded with the carrot cake. Absolutely fantastic! My husband shared the veggies and had the tuna. The service was great. I can't say anything negative at all. Can be pricey, but the portions are enough to share.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I took my wife here for our 14 year wedding anniversary I ordered a dry aged new york strip medium rare ,it was cooked to perfection ,lobster mac and chesse was delicious as well,my wife ordered herb chicken breast with a mushroom ricotta ,we had pancetta wraped in mozzarella and a cesar salad for our apps, and wine infused chesse cake with a chocolate double layer cake with homemade whip cream every thing we put in our was mouth was on point would make reservations here again just enjoyed the experience!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The service was great! They asked if we were on a time schedule, which was nice, and made sure our food came out timely!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Food and service always excellent. Management always makes sure special requests are looked after and perfectly executed. Well trained staff and attention to detail are always a formula for success! Give it a try :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Always consistent! Great steaks and perfectly done. Excellent service.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wish patrons would dress better than jeans and logo t-shirt. Can you institute a dress code? Also wish patrons would stay off their cell phones and NOT Facetime. It ruins a very expensive meal.

Service was outstanding. Au gratin potatoes were underdone and we should have sent them back, but didn't. Coconut cream pie is fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The service was great! There was a good wine list and the food was wonderful. Quite pricey but we were there for our anniversary and it was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 24, 2017

alcoholic beverages were not well made. used lemon in drink that should be served with orange peel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent service, very attentive, great food and creative combinations. Well paced courses. Excellent splurge, may not be suitable for small children

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Our server Peter is the best. Everyone else is pretty great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Service was so fantastic we felt we had a waiter dedicated just to our table. It was for a birthday and they including a cute plate that said happy birthday with some sweets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food, great service. Everything was as expected. Recommend this place to anyone looking for a good Filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great atmosphere, food, and service. Steak was well prepared, we were greeted well and friendly wait staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We asked for and got - the semi-circular booth for my date's birthday so we site side by side. They sprinkled the table with confetti and made it extra special. I got Filet Oscar, she Gorgonzola steak - both awesome but had to get a doggie bag to take it all home. As expected - plan on dropping about $115 per person for a great night of food and great service. We always get our picture taken and framed to add to our Bday pic Cap Grille collection. Great times as always- and expected.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

J.R. Was an amazing server! Definitely my new favorite spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was just ok, the greenbeans way undercooked the lobster tail more like shrimp size, way overpriced.Not going back can get much better value and food many other places in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our server, Peter which we have had often always makes it a fun and entertaining experience. The food is phenomenal and they go above and beyond for a special occasion. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always a joy eating here! The South African lobster tails and the lamb chops are our favorite. Great service and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Alway great service, never disapointed we come to this resturant good vaku for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The Capital Grille is my go to. Excellent food and service without fail! Love the place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Romantic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 14, 2017

My steak was over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Being a Charlotte native I was always disappointed in myself for never giving this place a try. I had heard it was an amazing place and knew it had a celebrated status. I recieved some gift cards for Capital Grille so I was excited to give it a try. I felt like it was just a very average expierence, and unfortunately that's not what you pay for when you go out for an evening like that.

Steaks were huge and have awesome potential, but to me don't compete well with Charlotte's other top steakhouses Ruth's Chris, Del Fresco's, Beef N Bottle or Block and Grinder. I know there are other places as well these are just places in my mind right now.

Sides were pretty good, but didn't really standout.

Dessert was average. Didn't look like anything made by a pastry chef. Looked like something that was made in mass production and then certain ingredients added to once ordered. We had the Warm Chocolate Cake with Cherries and ice cream.

Service was really hit and miss. The staff was super friendly and you could tell wanted to bend over backwards for you, but the waiter we had was busy and we saw him only on occasion. I felt like we waited forever to ask questions about the menu and order.

If you go to the Capital Grille I hope you have an amazing evening. As for me I feel like I have checked the box on that place. I doubt I'll be back. It just wasn't special for what it costs to eat there. We spent $200.00 for 2 people. 2 steaks, 2 sides, 1 glass of wine, and 1 dessert plus tip.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had family in town and had a reservation. Everything was delicious from the appetizers to the steaks and the banana pudding ice cream was fantastic! Great service!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always a great meal - There was 4 of us - always greeted with a smile - had twin lobster tails - which were Awesome - a great bottle of wine and cocktails. We went to the play at Belk and came back for more cocktails after. Never had a bad meal here and the service is always friendly and Awesome

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We love the service and the food. The staff there always makes up feel special. We love the detail that server David Crosby puts into his work.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.