About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Frier

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (115)
Good for a Date (100)
Romantic (77)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (77)
Business Meals (65)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Notable Wine List (49)
Pre/post Theatre (49)
Worth the Drive (35)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Cozy (18)
Happy Hour (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Private Room (15)
Creative Cuisine (12)
People Watching (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Authentic (11)
Fun (10)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Family Style (5)
Historic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Vegan (2)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
2153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined a day ago

Capital Grille is my go to! We are outside as the weather was beautiful. As always, the food and service were spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

All I will say is our waiter Tim was excellent!

The food was wonderful as well and the wine was delicious. Did not disappoint!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome meal and our server (Peter Karas) was amazing. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

As one of the best rated and most expensive restaurants of charlotte I was expecting much more. The food is good, but little originality and the mixup of flavor not to our taste.

Although Being an amateur of cheeses the Gorgonzola crusted NY strip was even masking the taste of the meat (which was just average)

The daily special lobster bisque is served in a very small cup and very little attention to detail in the dish presentation. Taste was up to expectation.

The decor is fine, the service is up to par, the food clearly overpriced... we are clearly paying the reputation and the atmosphere...not the food quality.

I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The best steak place in Charlotte. We had the bone in filets and everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Outstanding wine selection and outstanding service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent as usual. This is the best in Charlotte, ideal for a special occasion or business lunch or dinner when you want to impress. Thanks Alex for great service!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day. Service was great but the food took over 1 1/2 hours to come out. Every other aspect was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch on Valentine's Day. Food was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service and food - very pricey but worth it for the right occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Second visit here and it only gets better!!! Great service and awesome food

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As always, all Capital Grilles where I've dined are top shelf with service, food and surroundings. But weekend evening dining at a reasonable time (even with reservations) is excessively noisy and overcrowded. Might recommend 5:30-6:00 or after 9:00 if you can wait that long. Otherwise, A+++.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Great location to eat before enjoying a show of sporting event.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Friend visit

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The experience was overall great. The Lobster Mac and Cheese was excellent. Service was great. The only thing my boyfriend and I did not like much was the main course. It was so plain with a very mild seasoning. Other than that, it was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have been to capital Grille several times and it's always wonderful. I did find this time that the lettuce wedge salad was not as good as usual. It was pretty plain with dressing and no bacon or anything else. My husband's Caesar salad was also not up to the usual standard since his anchovies did not taste right. He said his steak was phenomenal. I had shrimp cocktail for dinner and it was delicious also. Great atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Capitol grille is always good in whatever city we go to eat in. This one however was heads and shoulders above the rest.

I spoke to the restaurant to confirm my reservation a couple days before going to dinner. The 2 mo items conversation was quick and to the point.

When we arrived they had our table waiting and birthday decorations on the table for us. My son turned 17 tonight and they know it. Boy what a difference that made. Then there was a birthday card on the table for him as well.

It only got better from there ... The food was perfect. The waitress was amazing and the night couldn't have been any better.

Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent service and upscale ambiance make the Capital Grill both enjoyable and memorable. Terrific location in Uptown Charlotte makes it perfect for pre and post symphony destination.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Stuffy atmosphere, good service. Definitely an old school feel inside. Food was good but not very inventive. The dry aged NY strip I had was just okay. The value is not there for the expensive prices.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing birthday song

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We returned to the Capital Grille for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the fin dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Was a great dinner except for the fact I was given standard Moet Brut Champagne when I asked and paid for Moet Rosè

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was outstanding and the food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Wonderful service from Alex Fu - interesting sharing of careers with my husband - very knowledgeable about wines and matching foods. We felt welcomed and well taken care of.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Historic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellence in fine dining, a bit on the higher end price wise, but well worth it

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great steaks, great service, great ambiance. Very elegant. Impressive wine list with some nice by-the-glass wines and impeccable service throughout the evening. One of the better values in Charlotte for Restaurant Week.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We enjoyed the Capital Grille during Charlotte's Queens Feast. An excellent value for $35 plus delicious wine of course!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It has always been an excellent place to have dinner. The food is excellent and the wait staff are attentive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Capital Grille is a fabulous restaurant. The food and service is nothing less than exceptional. Never disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for restaurant week. The service was great. The atmosphere was wonderful . The food was delicious. The courteous staff treated us like we were regular , valued customers. It was a great dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awesome food...Clam chowder soup, steak and creme brulee for dessert. John (waiter) was also a great compliment to the food...insightful, thoughtful, attentive and there just when you needed him to be!

Highly recommended in uptown Charlotte.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I enjoyed the experience and the manager Brad is Awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this restaurant, a must try for almost any occasion

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice decor a this particular establishment. Classic steakhouse look. I had a NY strip bone-in, and ordered it medium. Steak was perfectly cooked and very good. Sides and salad were also good. Enjoy!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fabulous food. Great service and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our table had very little lite, and I have great vision and could hardly see. Our waitress Denise was great.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The staff was the best and good was great. Worth the money

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

David's dirty martini's are the best! Fantastic server as well.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Ross our service consultant was amazing. He anticipated our every need. I plan to request him on all of our upcoming visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went during Queen's Feast, so it was an excellent value! All four of us could not have been more satisfied with our meals or the service. A perfect evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

For some reason we had the worse service this time and we eat here frequently. Buy the food was outstanding as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time! The food was excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I absolutely loved this place. Had a server named David and he was amazing. He helped my girlfriend and I navigate the menu and helped us to even save money! He was great. The only bad thing about the restaurant was that it was pretty hot. We were near the kitchen so that might have been it , but my girlfriend and I were in a full out sweat because of how warm it was in there. Other than that it was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Date Night

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The service was AMAZING. We waited longer than normal for having a reservation however the hostesses and management staff were AWESOME and mad the wait worthwhile with complementary Champagne .

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We went to Capital Grille for Restaurant Week and as usual it was excellent !!!The food and service were great ! Plus we had the best waitress ever ... Sherry !!! We will definitely be back !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I made a reservation on Wednesday 1/25/17 to enjoy a splurge date with my wife. We wanted to enjoy the Queens Feast, a 3 course structured meal. I walked in by myself, the wife was still parking after waiting 10 minutes out front for a valet attendant. To her disappointment, the valet service is after 6pm, but you do not know that until you walk up to the valet podium to see the sign. I politely waited about 10 minutes for a hostess to seat me & the wife arrived a few minutes later after parking in a garage that didn't feel safe to her. Sherry was our waiter & was very pleasant as well as informative. The food was good but not unusually spectacular & it did arrive in a reasonable time. The bill appeared high for the structured Queens Feast, but we attributed it to the second glass of wine she had. With the lighting so dim & the receipt print faded we paid the bill with the intent of checking it at home. After walking my wife to her car in the shady parking garage near by she drove me to my car parked in the street. Once home we reviewed the receipt to discover a 3rd $35 Queens Feast was charged in error. I called & was transferred to a manager I assume that apologized & assured me it would be credited. I'm not sure who's error it was, but Sherry now gets tipped on the overcharged bill & walks away with a bonus percentage on an already fair 20% while we are merely given an I'm so sorry... we will gladly return to Del Frisco's & Ruth Chris for our future uptown steakhouse experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Having been a patron of your restaurant before I was very pleased to find the food exceptional as always and our waiter Michael was above and beyond par We definitely will be visiting again

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Vegan, Bar Seating, Authentic, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The service was phenomenal and will really make you feel like you entered a much more classy, relaxing decade, than today's busy world. The food was great. It wasn't the best I've ever eaten however. For the price of the food I wanted it to be. The atmosphere is amazing. Richly decorated and relaxing with low lighting and a warm glow. The filet mignon is good, but not served with any butter, sauce to take it over the top. I don't regret going but wanted more a more memorable feast.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent! I will be back. I had a wonderful time for my first experience there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.