Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Jameson Storm

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (72)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Business Meals (35)
Romantic (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Worth the Drive (23)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
People Watching (9)
Casual (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 8 hours ago

Visited Capital Grille for Restaurant Week and it was a perfect meal. Everyone at the table had a steak, from a New York strip to a fillet to porcine rubbed medallions. I can not get over the dark cocoa flavor of the cake to dessert. It was phenomenal. It is my favorite Charlotte special occasion restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

This remains our favorite restaurant in Charlotte. Food is outstanding and service impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed a delicious lunch before a show!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service! our waitress was fabulous and very knowledgeable about the dishes as well as wine. Our food came our perfectly and was cooked to perfection. We had 2 sisters having their birthday and our waitress suggested the perfect desert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

It was a lovely restaurant the staff were awesome. The hostess was great our server is the best ever. Food was great I love the environment and I will sure be visiting again and again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

It was wonderful as always. Very pricey but I know that when I come.
We had a side item that was forgotten and had to hurry and eat some of it before racing to get to our play. Service is always good and used valet service this time which made the experience so much more convenient.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food! Everything was very rich in flavor. We would come back for drinks and desserts, they were so good

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our 5th meal at Capitol Grill. Our previous 4 meals were always incredible with the food as well as the service being just amazing. This time that wasn't the case.

Our server seemed overwhelmed and disorganized from the start and it didn't improve over the course of the meal. Our drinks took forever to arrive as did our apps & entrees. When it did arrive, the quality was there so that saved it from being too disappointing.

My hope is that this was just an off night and our next trip there will get us back to the kind of meal we expect at the Capital Grill.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food is creative and delicious, the service is amazing and the overall experience is outstanding. Charlotte is so fortunate to have an incredible dining destination, especially right across the street from the Blumenthal Theatre. Parking is remarkably easy with their valet service. The appetizer menu contains the best calamari and peppers in the city. The steaks and lobster tails are fresh and grilled to perfection. Simply put, this is the place to complement a night at the theatre, to celebrate a special occasion or to impress a business client.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent service and ambiance. Meal was noteworthy - best filet in years!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Food was good. But $9 for iceberg lettuce that is advertised as "field greens" is not worth it. NY strip was good but dry ( it may have been grass fed beef but was not advertised as such).
Server was conscientious and aware of our time constraints.
Overall it's a nice restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The steaks were not very warm when they came out, my whole family commented their meals were not all that good after we left and the next day. The hottest thing that came out from the kithen was one of the potatoe side dishes. I took my whole family since we received a gift card for Christmas and i can say this was not a good experience. I have dined here before and can say this was one of the worst in regards to the food. There are other steak houses in the Charlotte area comparable in price I would prefer and refer over Capital Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Very nice dinner before show at Blumenthal. Great service and good was good but very expensive. Lobster Mac's cheese is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The lobster bisque was the best I've ever had! Our waiter was helpful and nice and I look forward to dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We came during restaurant week in January. It was good but not great so we decided to give it another try. The bread is hard and almost inedible. The ambiance is great. It is a little hard to get to and parking is a nightmare unless you use valet. It is convenient to Blumenthal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Love to eat in the bar when I'm in town , never disappointed

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Frequent customer but went to a preshow dinner. Ordered a salad and it came out dry. Asked for the peanut thai dressing and they said it would be 20 minutes to prepare.

The olive garden and red lobster is coming out. Too much money to spend on mediocrity

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was really good, however the food needs to come out hot. If I were comparing it to Ruth Chris their Lamb Chops come out hot as well as their sides. The mashed Potatoes as well as the Lamb chops came out just warm- no heat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 30, 2017

20th wedding anniversary

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Capital Grille was great choice for celebrating our anniversary. Food was exceptional as was the service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Fabulous meal to celebrate an anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Alwaysa treat . Very good quality and professional staff

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a wonderful time! They recognized our anniversary and just made the night more romantic! Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We went for our anniversary. It was a wonderful evening and it started when we walked in the door. We were greeted with Happy Anniversary! They made a fuss over us and thanked us for sharing our special evening with them. Everything was wonderful.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great food, superb service. The best place to be for celebrating your anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The old saying, 'you get what you pay for' is true here. Got A+ service and excellent food. Took away one star on the food because my filet came out medium instead of med-rare as I ordered but they did come immediately after serving and asked if all items were cooked as ordered. I simply did not want to hassle and wait and it was great as it was anyway. Other than that super great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Soup was cold. Server was sweet but would come after a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food and service is excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Incredible as always! Capital grille is our favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wonderful as always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always a great meal @ Capital Grille. Service was great!! very attentive to our needs. It made the special occasion there great!!

Tags: Cozy, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I ate half my dinner. Asked them to pack it in doggie bag. They didn't do so. I was cheated out of an expensive meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Best birthday treat ever!!! ❤️

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Always perfectly prepared meals with great menu selections. The service is impeccable, wine poured timely, fresh water often. Our waiter, Peter, was helpful with wine selections and assured our meals were served timely and prepared to our requests.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Five star dining experience. Peter was outstanding, very friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

There was a time when Capital Grille was THE special occasion spot in Charlotte but with the ever-expanding restaurant scene those days are over. Everything we ordered was just okay - steaks were average, side dishes were average, cocktail was average. Nothing was bad but nothing really stood out about the meal or the experience which is disappointing when you spend $250 for dinner for two. With all of the other options available in Charlotte, we have no need to return to Capital Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I enjoy Celebrating at the captail grill.. It's always what we Expect and more..The food is amazing and Cocktails are wonderful ..

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was amazing as always. Our server was David Crosby and he took outstanding care of us. We highly recommend this restaurant and you should ask for David if he's available!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.