About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Frier

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bone-In Filet W Grilled Asparagus - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Flourless Chocolate Expresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Filet Oscar - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Lobster and Crab Cakes - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
French Onion Soup - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Desserts: Chocolate Hazelnut Cake, Creme Brulee, Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Half Of A Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Ice Cream Trio - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Asparagus With Hollandaise Sauce - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Chocolate Espresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, Basil With 12-Year Aged Balsamic - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Godiva Chocolate Almond Mocha - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Dry Aged Steak Au Poivre With Courvoisier Cream - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Chocolate Almond Mousse - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Lamb Chops - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Cheeseburger - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Au Gratin Potatoes - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Cesar Salad - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Caeser Salad - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Oysters on the Half Shell - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Lobster Bisque - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Potatoes Au Gratin - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
apricot sorbet - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Chicken Confit, Collard Greens And Creamy White Grits - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
USDA Prime Ribeye - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Cheese wrapped in bacon - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Mashed Potatoes - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Green beans - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
porterhouse steak - The Capital Grille - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Good for a Date (46)
Romantic (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Business Meals (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Cozy (10)
Private Room (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Seasonal (8)
People Watching (7)
Fun (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2076 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dependable but not great. Just OK steaks ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Dependable but not great. Just OK steaks in a nice setting. Many other better choices nearby though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent meal! Peter is the best server ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal! Peter is the best server in the business. Great service, great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Anniversary

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time the wife and I ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

This was the second time the wife and I dined at Capital Grill. The steaks have always been very good but we have been disappointed in the side dishes on both occasions. This visit we ordered the au gratin potatoes and they were horribly under cooked, crunchy in fact. We sent them back and receive a replacement that was properly cooked. On our other visit they were claiming fresh, handmade mozzarella cheese but instead it appeared to be the packaged pre-sliced variety you get at the grocery store. Additionally, the way they gouge you for a bottle of wine is ridiculous. Fifty dollars more for the same bottle at another restaurant a mile or 2 away is unacceptable. There are many very good steak houses in the area, I doubt we will return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent as always

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderfull food. The chilean sea bass w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderfull food. The chilean sea bass was awesome, melt in your mouth. My husbands filet mignon was great. Service was wonderful. Expensive but well worth it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Everything was re ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent experience. Everything was really good. David did a great job serving us and making recommendations.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Self sustains it's Top 10 spots for stea ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Self sustains it's Top 10 spots for steaks in CLT. Beef and Bottle stills soars over.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food! Porcini crusted steak an ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Delicious food! Porcini crusted steak and lobster mac n cheese was simply made from heaven. We sat in the bar at a table so was pretty noisy. The servers are very knowledgeable and pretty attentive. The night we went was very busy so I did have to ask for water refills. All in all, excellent experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Capital Grille is outstanding. Ever ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The Capital Grille is outstanding. Every menu selection was delicious and portions generous for a steakhouse. We sampled appetizers, salads, steaks and desserts - all delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Charlotte. Our ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Charlotte. Our server, John, was wonderful. We always feel special there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having dined at Capital Grill in DC many ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Having dined at Capital Grill in DC many times we knew it would be a good experience in Charlotte NC. Charlotte Capital Grill is even better in every way.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess had a bit of an attitude when we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Hostess had a bit of an attitude when we asked for a table other than the one that she tried to sit us at - which was adjacent to the bar on the outskirts of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Staff very accommodating, wonderful wine ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Staff very accommodating, wonderful wine suggestion, and once again (second time), maitre d' succeeded in chasing us down at the symphony with a forgotten credit card. How could we possibly go anywhere else??

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hello, I have visited the Capital Grill ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Hello, I have visited the Capital Grille many times over the past 15 years. It's my go to for a romantic date night, dress up night out or just a special occasion. The last couple of times that I've eaten in the dining room...the service has been sub-par. On new years eve, our server Ross was good, but I felt that he had too many tables to take care of and I felt we didn't get the attention we so come to expect at the Capital Grille. And, we were tucked away in a room and felt like we were forgotten. I will really have to think about sitting in the dining room next time as to me it's just not worth it. I've eaten dinner at the bar at least 4 times within the last 2 months and that's now better than sitting in the dining room!? Maybe train your younger servers/staff? Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Amazing. Capital grille made my engageme ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing. Capital grille made my engagement proposal very special!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, , Casual, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and decor were all outstan ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food, service and decor were all outstanding. Salmon was exceptional, sliced filet oscar was the best I have had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary at the Cap ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at the Capital Grille and it was a wonderful evening! The table was set with hearts, two small roses, and a card. The food was wonderful. I had the wedge salad (it was huge) and my husband had the caesar salad. Both were delicious. The wedge was one of the best I have ever had. We both had a steak for our main entree, and again, delicious! The steaks were prepared just as we had asked and were flavorful and tender The cheesecake was very good for dessert. People were dressed in a variety of ways. Some had a suit and tie, while others were very casual with jeans. The offer complimentary valet starting at 6 pm.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service . Highly rec ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food and service . Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I love everything about C ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My husband and I love everything about Capital Grille. From Texas, Illinois, Massachusetts, Nevada and now North Carolina. The experience is unlike anything else. Food is always top notch and service is always very professional. Couldnt have asked for a better date night. I enjoyed the lobster bisque and 8oz lobster very much. However I was slightly disappointed in the steak tartare. I personally didnt feel as though it was seasoned as well as it had been in the past.

However that was the only down side. If you dine at the Bar or enjoy some pre dinner cocktails make sure to ask for Alex. She made a wonderful lasting POSITIVE impression on my husband and myself.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good, but not as good as us ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was good, but not as good as usual. The service was frustratingly slow, although the people were friendly enough. It was Christmas Eve and the restaurant did not perform very well or near up to the expectations of previous experiences. Frankly, we were quite disappointed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent service. Our waiter Peter was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent service. Our waiter Peter was amazing!!! Food was so good!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joe S. was our waiter. He provided excep ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Joe S. was our waiter. He provided exceptional service. He was professional and personable. His knowledge about the menu, how foods are cooked and served and what it takes to provide a wonderful dining experience really enhanced our dining experience. Our daughter was visiting us from New York. She has dined several times at The Capital Grille in NYC. She also was highly impressed with Joe S.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, , Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I used to come to the Capital Grille pre ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I used to come to the Capital Grille pretty often. I am annoyed at the pricing. 17.00 for a 5 oz glass of wine is absurd. I can get a great glass of wine many places in Charlotte for a lot less.

Not to mention they price for a ceasar salad is 15.00. Unless I'm at a business dinner I won't come back even for the delicious stoli doli. They have priced themselves out of my business. There are far to many great restaurants in Charlotte.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Excellent food and good service. We had ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food and good service. We had a filet, the Brussels sprout salad, calamari, and lamb chops and it was all very delicious. Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday party

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Birthday party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated promptly at our reservation time. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Seated promptly at our reservation time. Wait staff was very friend. Good food and portion size was surprisingly large.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great experience, but this is on ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Another great experience, but this is one of many. Attentive and cordial staff, server was genuinely showing ownership of the specials he recited from memory. Food was outstanding, especially the bone-in filet mignon, which I cannot recall having seen--or tasted--before. Was my wife's birthday, and the staff made it a point (every one that we interacted with!) to acknowledge that.

Well done! (not the filet though)

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Awesome ambience. The wine l ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food. Awesome ambience. The wine list is also wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Calamari appetizer was amazing as always ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Calamari appetizer was amazing as always, and the parmesan fries are a decent side. Need a little salt. Sea bass was a little tasteless, but cooked perfectly. Steaks were cooked perfectly and service was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our experience was fabulous! We arrived ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our experience was fabulous! We arrived slightly early for our reservation and were seated immediately. Our server was very knowledgeable and gave great suggestions for our meal. The manager came by our table to thank us for our business. We felt like valued customers and formed some happy holiday memories. We look forward to returning soon!

PS - Try the Barollo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy meal with family. Great service. L ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Yummy meal with family. Great service. Location great performance at Blumenthal.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, the service and the wine were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food, the service and the wine were perfect from start to finish. We would highly recommend this location for a business lunch, or a relaxing personal meal - it is always exceptional

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, atmosphere, great! Appetizers, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Service, atmosphere, great! Appetizers, Soups Desserts, Sides all great! Main course steaks came out shelf lamp warm ( low at that)and not as off the grill hot as anticipated and expected. A well done ordered Filet Mignon was cooked well done however it was very dry and unappealing on the plate. It showed no signs of being right off the grill and no presence of freshness. I will be somewhat reserved in my recommendations going forward and most likely will give it another try but maybe something other than steak at a well known steak place, hmmmm ??? I had to rate the overall value as simply "good" since the heavy weighting in my mind and my comments are on the main course, the steak.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Lobster crab cakes were delicious. My f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Lobster crab cakes were delicious. My filet was cooked perfectly for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

The Chilean Sea Bass was amazing and the ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The Chilean Sea Bass was amazing and the bar tender makes some exceptional specialty cocktails!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband and I dined here before a the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband and I dined here before a theater show and received excellent food and service. Peter was our server and made sure we had plenty of time to enjoy our meal before the show. We had the shrimp appetizer, potato and french onion soup with filet and lobster, it was all cooked perfectly and tasted terrific! We will definitely return!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our sever Alex, as well as the entire st ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Our sever Alex, as well as the entire staff , was awesome . Another great experience at the Capital Grille. The 2lb lobster tail was excellent !!

Great job to the valet folks / they took great care of us.

Thanks again !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.