Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Jameson Storm

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (57)
Special Occasion (57)
Business Meals (46)
See All
Good for Birthdays (43)
Good for a Date (42)
Notable Wine List (33)
Romantic (31)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Fun (14)
Cozy (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Hot Spot (9)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Casual (5)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
2461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Good service. The food was ok, not as good as I was expecting. It's 4 starts overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Certainly one of the best restaurants in Charlotte. We try all new restaurants in the area but come back to Capital Grille for quality.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great time at the The Capital Grille in Charlotte

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good. It was little less than we expected but the service was outstanding. Will be requesting for Denise the next time we go. She was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 3, 2018

My visit to the Capital Grille was mediocre.... well the food. The service was amazing. I ordered the filet (MR) with Brussel sprouts and my boyfriend got the salmon with lobster macaroni. While the salmon was delicious, the filet was disappointing. I’ve had much better at other steakhouses in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2018

For any special occasion, whenever excellent service, wonderful ambience, and absolute finest quality cuisine is desired, look no further, simply choose The Capital Grille. We've been going there for 10 years and have never ever been disappointed. f I were a food critic I would rate them 5 stars.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Food was good. Asked for lamb chops medium...2 of 4 were mediumish and the other 2 were well done. A little off with the temperature. Also they had no creamed spinach....at 7:00pm you’re out of creamed spinach? Yikes!!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Our server, Ross, was amazing! Just the right amount of attentive, listened closely and made great suggestions. Filet was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

It was our 29th Wedding Annuversary and we make reservations on Open Table. It was reconfirmed several times via email. When we got to restaurant our table was not ready, waited about 20 minutes, manager apologize and brought us a glass of Champagne while we waited. I was terribly disappointed there we were finally sat. A table by the kitchen, it was hit and in the aisle where all the traffic was coming and going. We complaint and moved it another table, a bit better, but our experience was dampened. Food was ok our potatoes gratin was burned and the food in general was not as good quality as we experienced in the past. Will not be returning to celebrate any more anniversaries there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We love the food and service there. David Cosby always makes our meal special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Very noisy table beside us. Service was not as good as in past. Food was excellent!! Disappointed for daughters 30th Birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Went there for my birthday! If you like steak it’s the place to go! The service is excellent and the food is worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Service was good. Steak (filet at $45) was dry and basically had no taste. Goodcreamed spinach, au gratin potatoes ok. Had previously been there and was impressed. Probably not again. Not worth the money.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Great place for a special occasion celebration. Rather pricey for everyday dining. We started with the Cast iron garlic shrimp and mozzarella wrapped in prosciutto. The shrimp was good but not great-a little over cooked and the flavor was rather bland considering they were cooked in garlic. The mozzarella, however, was very flavorful. There were four pieces, so definitely shareable. My daughter and I both had the sliced tenderloin with mushrooms. This is a very nice dish but a lot of food for one person!! We should have shared one!!! The men had the Gorgonzola bone in steak which was also a large portion and they were very pleased. We got the Brussels sprouts, which were fabulous, and the mashed potatoes, which were ordinary. For dessert we have the warm chocolate cake. This is like a lava cake and it was yummy!! Overall, we were pleased. Our wait staff was very attentive !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere. Our waiter Peter Karas was the best. Highly recommend asking for him. The lump crab meat, oysters on half shell, wedge salad, and filet were top notch. Very well run establishment. Always our go-to place when in uptown Charlotte.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We had wonderful service and we were not rushed. Waiter treated our 10 year old daughter with respect. Food was excellent as it should be. Large portions. Very happy they recognized our special occasion so much! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We had the most enjoyable evening and loved our waitress, Susanne. Simply the best!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Alex, our waiter, was very attentive and answered all our questions. The food was delicious. The French onion soup and the calamari were excellent! It is a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Great! Food & service were wonderful on Christmas Eve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The food was fantastic and the wait staff was amazing. Great time on Christmas Eve.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Great steakhouse! Love the porcini rubbed ribeye. Sides are always delicious. French green beans cooked al dente. Au gratin potatoes were seasoned perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Xmas dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Service was superb and food was excellent! This has been a very consistent top of the line restaurant. Great attention to details makes a huge difference.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Best in the city all around. Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

The service at this restaurant is always spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 20, 2017

One of the best restaurants we have been to! Will go again on our next visit to Charlotte.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2017

The waiter brought an incorrect dessert and wasn't very accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 19, 2017

The driest, least flavorful filet mignon I've ever tasted. Not worth 2 dollars. My husband felt the same about the bone-in filet. Onion Soup was delicious. Server was attentive. Should have tried Dresslers.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 18, 2017

Overall the food was good. I had the skillet roasted shrimp appetizer. The shrimp was way over cooked. The crust on the apple crostata was not cooked properly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2017

As always, Capital Grille delivers. I was there for my anniversary and it was the best experience. We arrived early and our host informed us our table would be ready on time. The service was great. The food AMAZING. I ordered the tenderloin and lobster entree, my spouse ordered the lamb chops. The food was flavored well, juicy, and tender. We come here from Raleigh every year on our anniversary and we're always pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

The entire "Capital Grill" experience was completely satisfactory. The food was on par with the upper-end chains like Morton's and Ruth Chris.
What made it really special was the quality of the staff. Professionalism, warmth and a genuine desire to serve cannot be faked. Both our main Server, Maryann, and our bar server/New friend, Michael W., displayed professionalism in the job and extraordinary interpersonal skills. I have no doubt that they are both pillars of their respective communities as well. We look forward to a return visit the next time we are in Charlotte.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Outstanding service and incredible food - wonderful for a special occasion like an anniversary or birthday. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Amazing! Going back ASAP!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Service was awesome. Food was even better. Went for an anniversary dinner and couldn’t have been happier. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Wonderful dinner from beginning to end. Not a place to take young children unless they will appreciate the ambiance and food selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Service was spot on. The appetizer was fabulous and my wife’s sliced tenderloin was excellent. The issue was I ordered a Porterhouse steak with poached lobster tails. I started eating the NY Strip Side first and it was excellent, but as I worked my way up to the T, everything on the bone was raw. I contacted the server who sent over one of the floor managers who apologized and gave us a $50 gift card, which is great, but I was happy to pay for the steak cooked correctly. I do have a cooking background and know that cooking a steak with a bone is very different than cooking a bone -in steak. I would have thought a place like this would have people in the kitchen who knew the difference. The manager who gave us the gift card was patronizing in his explanation... we had so looked forward to eating at a Capital Grill...disappointed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Service is perfect. Food is great.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

Delicious food - great $20 lunch menu complete with soup or salad. Our server Joe went above and beyond without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2017

Server could have been more attentive, waited awhile to place food order. All steaks came out under cooked, only sent one back. The bone in NY strip was more fatty than other NY strips I’ve had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.