Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Frier

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (102)
Good for Anniversaries (79)
Good for a Date (74)
See All
Business Meals (60)
Romantic (58)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Notable Wine List (42)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Worth the Drive (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Bar Seating (24)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Cozy (10)
Fun (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Private Room (8)
Casual (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (7)
People Watching (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Scenic View (4)
Historic (4)
Family Style (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
2235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Capital Grille does it right when it comes to delicious food and top notch service. I let them know ahead of time that we were coming for a very special birthday, and they went out of their way to make my family member feel special, with complimentary glasses of champagne for the table, dessert for the birthday person, even decorative confetti on the table. Several staff members also told him Happy Birthday. The food and drinks were divine, this is always our favorite place for special occasions. Well done, Capital Grille.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our server was great and very attentive. We took our son and a few of his friends for his 18th birthday. They had birthday confetti on the table already and as soon as the waiter came to great us he acknowledged the birthday boy. Those are the extra touches that make places like the Capital Grille special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Made my birthday such an incredible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Perfection and I love David he always provides the best service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Maine lobster was great. The lamb chops were exceptional as well. We had the creme brulee with berries for dessert and it was also phenomenal. This is one of our favorite restaurants and we'll definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

While there are many wonderful dining options in Charlotte, The Capital Grille remains my personal favorite, outstanding food served consistently from the kitchen, and truly professional service in the front of the house pair for a flawless experience.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my Mom for Mother's Day brunch. We dined al fresco and really enjoyed the atmosphere, service and food. The Peach Bellini was especially tasty. We'll go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My son chose Capital Grille to celebrate his 15th birthday. Both he and his younger brother were able to find plenty of options and were both happy with their meals. CG offers a children's menu, which is fantastic for those of us with younger family members often overlooked in more adult-oriented restaurants. The service was fluid and well-organized and everyone took great care of us. The food was wonderful as always.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Alex was awesome, very helpful for visitors. Gave us ideas on what to eat and drink and other places to go to enjoy our time in Uptown!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

They did such an amazing job that I've already sent a note to Capital Grille thanking them for making a special occasion even more special. The food was awesome as well as the service. They went above and beyond with little nice touches which made the whole lunch experience outstanding. They make you feel like royalty the minute you walk in the door! I was VERY impressed!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Delicious food. Impeccable service. When my daughter mentioned it was for an early Mothers Day, I received a lovely, complimentary dessert. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We celebrated my mother's 73rd birthday at Capital Grille. They took exceptional care of her. I highly recommend going here to celebrate any special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had the porterhouse steak, I was not 100% impressed with the taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything from the hostess to the end of the evening was spectacular! Everyone was unbelievably nice and welcoming. The food was superb. Having just moved to Charlotte from NYC, this capital grill far surpasses the one in the city. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Perfect in every way, from the valet to the food to the waiter and kitchen. Our waiter, Derek, is by far the best waiter I have ever had at any restaurant including Capital Grill. Food was perfect.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Capital Grill Charlotte is a fabulous dining establishment. They do EVERYTHING right. The food, service, menu options, staff, ambience are all wonderful. Of course, the price is high end but very, very worth it.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent wait staff, Derek provided tasty wine selections, and steak was cooked perfectly!Bartender David takes very good care of you, try the Pineapple Martini! Will absolutely return!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Do your research beforehand and make sure there aren't proms, bar crawls and the opera going on at the same time. Traffic was a nightmare but we didn't lose our reservation and our outstanding waiter, David, calmed us down with a really nice Duckhorn. We shared the Filet and the seared Tuna which were both delightful. Too full for dessert but the Warm Chocolate Cake would have been my choice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 29, 2017

First time here, very nice ambiance and a great service. Will recommend any time....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service was excellent!
Service was excellent!
Service was excellent!
Service was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Been a customer of The Capital Grille since the 1st one opened in NYC in 2005. We moved to NC 6 months ago and this was our 1st visit to the Charlotte location. Too bad we live 2 1/2 hours away or we'd be there more often. Everything was excellent and this was our best Capital Grille experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Steak was average, not great. Frankly expected better given the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Disappointed this visit with poor service and steaks not done to order. Been coming to Capital Grill for years and had always had a great experience. This was the exception. It was Prom night, which we were not aware, and we were kind of over-looked.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This is a fabulous, top-notch establishment! The food was superb and the service was impeccable! Can't wait to return!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The place was empty and it still took over 5 minutes to be seated. Again with being seated next to the server station. The were 8 people in the whole restaurant and were sitting next to the server station. Every open table reservation I seem to be seated next to the bathroom or server station. The food took forever to come out and it was ok. Been to this place many times and this by far was the worst experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great from beginning to end. Took my daughter for her first visit to Capital Grill and her 13th birthday. The staff treated her like a queen. Fresh roses delivered by the waiter, Derek, was a great starter. The food was exceptional. My daughter was treated to a complimentary cheesecake with candle and a chocolate cake. Really was impressed with the entire meal. I think they have earned a new regular customer, not me, my daughter.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great steaks

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Birthday party for spouse. Outstanding dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 18, 2017

George was my server
He was thoughtful, energetic, and was so polite and treated me like I was truly welcomed, it was my birthday so he presented me with a nice dessert ( on him or the house not sure )
And he had remembered I had been there several times before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was a bit slow, perhaps because we were on the patio. But the food - lamb chops and salmon - was very good, and the weather was perfect for Easter brunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch. Service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The whole experience was wonderful and the service was great. I would recommend anyone to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We love this restaurant. The staff always makes us feel welcome. Our waiter, David C is a gem.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was excellent, team of Peter/David was superb. Wine good , bone in steak (strip) very rare at bone, chewy and just brought home. Ate the end to mid center. Realize bone in can be tricky, but aggravating when you can only enjoy part of the steak. Otherwise, good meal

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great service! The dry aged steak was perfect and the wine list to pair it with was good. We came for our wedding anniversary and will be back for a regular night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Poor wait service and average quality food. Very, very disappointing .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 13, 2017

They truly made us feel special for our anniversary. Food was excellent! Wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We met friends we haven't seen in years for dinner. Capital Grille was the perfect choice! The steaks were amazing and our service was excellent. We weren't rushed which was important on this occasion, yet our servers always seemed to be there when we needed them.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Armin and his team did an outstanding job of taking care of our retirement party for a colleague from the UK. Always a great dining choice.The complimentary champagne toast was a nice touch which they appreciated.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.