About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Frier

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (114)
Good for a Date (101)
Romantic (80)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (79)
Business Meals (65)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Pre/post Theatre (51)
Notable Wine List (48)
Worth the Drive (35)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Bar Seating (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Great for Lunch (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Cozy (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Private Room (15)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
People Watching (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Authentic (11)
Fun (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Seasonal (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Historic (4)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (3)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
2149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome meal and our server (Peter Karas ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined a day ago

Awesome meal and our server (Peter Karas) was amazing. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steak place in Charlotte. We ha ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

The best steak place in Charlotte. We had the bone in filets and everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding wine selection and outstandi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding wine selection and outstanding service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as usual. This is the best in ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent as usual. This is the best in Charlotte, ideal for a special occasion or business lunch or dinner when you want to impress. Thanks Alex for great service!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Valentine's Day. Service was gr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for Valentine's Day. Service was great but the food took over 1 1/2 hours to come out. Every other aspect was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our lunch on Valentine's Day. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed our lunch on Valentine's Day. Food was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food - very pricey but ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service and food - very pricey but worth it for the right occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second visit here and it only gets bette ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Second visit here and it only gets better!!! Great service and awesome food

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, all Capital Grilles where I'v ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As always, all Capital Grilles where I've dined are top shelf with service, food and surroundings. But weekend evening dining at a reasonable time (even with reservations) is excessively noisy and overcrowded. Might recommend 5:30-6:00 or after 9:00 if you can wait that long. Otherwise, A+++.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service as always. Gr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Great location to eat before enjoying a show of sporting event.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Friend visit

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Friend visit

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The experience was overall great. The Lo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The experience was overall great. The Lobster Mac and Cheese was excellent. Service was great. The only thing my boyfriend and I did not like much was the main course. It was so plain with a very mild seasoning. Other than that, it was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

I have been to capital Grille several ti ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have been to capital Grille several times and it's always wonderful. I did find this time that the lettuce wedge salad was not as good as usual. It was pretty plain with dressing and no bacon or anything else. My husband's Caesar salad was also not up to the usual standard since his anchovies did not taste right. He said his steak was phenomenal. I had shrimp cocktail for dinner and it was delicious also. Great atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Capitol grille is always good in wha ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Capitol grille is always good in whatever city we go to eat in. This one however was heads and shoulders above the rest.

I spoke to the restaurant to confirm my reservation a couple days before going to dinner. The 2 mo items conversation was quick and to the point.

When we arrived they had our table waiting and birthday decorations on the table for us. My son turned 17 tonight and they know it. Boy what a difference that made. Then there was a birthday card on the table for him as well.

It only got better from there ... The food was perfect. The waitress was amazing and the night couldn't have been any better.

Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and upscale ambiance m ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent service and upscale ambiance make the Capital Grill both enjoyable and memorable. Terrific location in Uptown Charlotte makes it perfect for pre and post symphony destination.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Stuffy atmosphere, good service. Definit ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Stuffy atmosphere, good service. Definitely an old school feel inside. Food was good but not very inventive. The dry aged NY strip I had was just okay. The value is not there for the expensive prices.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Amazing birthday song

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing birthday song

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We returned to the Capital Grille for lu ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We returned to the Capital Grille for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the fin dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Was a great dinner except for the fact I ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Was a great dinner except for the fact I was given standard Moet Brut Champagne when I asked and paid for Moet Rosè

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Service was outstanding and the food was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was outstanding and the food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service from Alex Fu - interes ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Wonderful service from Alex Fu - interesting sharing of careers with my husband - very knowledgeable about wines and matching foods. We felt welcomed and well taken care of.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Historic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellence in fine dining, a bit on the ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellence in fine dining, a bit on the higher end price wise, but well worth it

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steaks, great service, great ambia ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great steaks, great service, great ambiance. Very elegant. Impressive wine list with some nice by-the-glass wines and impeccable service throughout the evening. One of the better values in Charlotte for Restaurant Week.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the Capital Grille during Cha ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We enjoyed the Capital Grille during Charlotte's Queens Feast. An excellent value for $35 plus delicious wine of course!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has always been an excellent place to ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It has always been an excellent place to have dinner. The food is excellent and the wait staff are attentive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Capital Grille is a fabulous restaurant. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Capital Grille is a fabulous restaurant. The food and service is nothing less than exceptional. Never disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for restaurant week. The service ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for restaurant week. The service was great. The atmosphere was wonderful . The food was delicious. The courteous staff treated us like we were regular , valued customers. It was a great dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food...Clam chowder soup, steak ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awesome food...Clam chowder soup, steak and creme brulee for dessert. John (waiter) was also a great compliment to the food...insightful, thoughtful, attentive and there just when you needed him to be!

Highly recommended in uptown Charlotte.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed the experience and the manager ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I enjoyed the experience and the manager Brad is Awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Love this restaurant, a must try for alm ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this restaurant, a must try for almost any occasion

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice decor a this particular establishme ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice decor a this particular establishment. Classic steakhouse look. I had a NY strip bone-in, and ordered it medium. Steak was perfectly cooked and very good. Sides and salad were also good. Enjoy!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food. Great service and ambienc ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fabulous food. Great service and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our table had very little lite, and I ha ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our table had very little lite, and I have great vision and could hardly see. Our waitress Denise was great.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The staff was the best and good was grea ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The staff was the best and good was great. Worth the money

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

David's dirty martini's are the best! Fa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

David's dirty martini's are the best! Fantastic server as well.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ross our service consultant was amazing. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Ross our service consultant was amazing. He anticipated our every need. I plan to request him on all of our upcoming visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went during Queen's Feast, so it was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went during Queen's Feast, so it was an excellent value! All four of us could not have been more satisfied with our meals or the service. A perfect evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

For some reason we had the worse service ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

For some reason we had the worse service this time and we eat here frequently. Buy the food was outstanding as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My wife and I had a wonderful time! The ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time! The food was excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I absolutely loved this place. Had a ser ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I absolutely loved this place. Had a server named David and he was amazing. He helped my girlfriend and I navigate the menu and helped us to even save money! He was great. The only bad thing about the restaurant was that it was pretty hot. We were near the kitchen so that might have been it , but my girlfriend and I were in a full out sweat because of how warm it was in there. Other than that it was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.