Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Jameson Storm

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Good for a Date (62)
See All
Romantic (47)
Business Meals (45)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Notable Wine List (36)
Worth the Drive (30)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Good for Groups (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Cozy (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Fun (13)
Happy Hour (12)
People Watching (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Authentic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Ate in the lounge before theater. Great burger and wine option. As always, a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

We searched all weekend for a Good restuarant and we hit the Jackpot. Lobster Crab cakes were the best we've had. The Lobster Mac n Cheese overall 10 stars. Staff friendly will knowledge and David our server sealed the deal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Had dinner at Capital Grille, our waiter Shawn was amazing. He was pleasant, we took his suggestions and we not disappointed. The Lobster bisque was the best I’ve ever had. It was not listed on the menu, but ask for it, they always have it. I also recommend the cheesecake for dessert. Quite possibly the best cheesecake I’ve ever had, and I’ve had a lot. ;)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Each time I'm in Charlotte, I go to the Capital Grille. Doesn't disappoint. Delicious steaks and seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Second time there and have loved the experience on both occasions!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Awesome, thank for such a great experience. Food was amazing, service was great

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Outstanding food! Great service! excellent location!

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The server was exceptional! The food was great, with only one small disappointment. I don't understand why a high end steakhouse would serve maraschino cherries in a Manhattan - yuck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Terrible service for my business dinner. Seated at 6pm and ordered everything shortly afterwards. Told server we needed to keep things moving as some individuals had another evening obligation. We didn't get our food until 7:30pm. Ordered one bottle of Silver Oak. Was told second bottle was unavailable. After much back and forth on a different lower cost wine, miraculously a second bottle of Silver Oak was found. A third was also available but by that time we were fed up and needed to leave.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The food and ambiance was wonderful as always. I've never had a bad meal at this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great night! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The food was excellent, and the wait staff was top notch. I can’t wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Expensive but worth it. The entire experience is a fantastic experience. They make you feel like family. Best food and service in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Ribeye was perfection. Friendly service and wonderful food. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Capital Grille was amazing as always!!! Great food & wonderful service!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We always enjoy eating at Capital Grill. We save for special evenings uptown. Food never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Server was Awesome and the food was spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent! Food was amazing... as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The wine list was too skewed to the expensive wines.Being from n.y. I am used to steep restaurant prices. I did not expect to see equivalent prices in Charlotte

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food combined with the outstanding service make this spot well worth the price!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Pricey, but you remember why really too notch restaurants Are pricey- excellent food/ super service. Memorable for special occasion dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The most amazing servicer I ever had in a restaurant, so wished I remembered her name! The best meal I've ever had in any upscale restaurant !

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 12, 2017

My husband and I had filet mignon, roasted mushrooms, prosciutto wrapped mozzerella, butternut squash bisque, and shaved brussels sprout salad and it was all delicious! Perfectly prepared and wonderful! Our server, Peter, was fantastic and a delight. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Everything was excellent... The food and service was great 👌🏿👌🏿👌🏿👌🏿

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We love going to this restaurant. It's always nice to be treated well. The food is great. We love the waitstaff, especially David.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was amazing! From the appetizer to the main entree, everything was cooked well! Drinks also were on point!

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Definitely Special occasion. Bit pricey. Overall I would recommend. Service Excellent. Meal outstanding.
Save up and go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Capital grille is always a good choice and the Charlotte location exceeds expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

It was our 5 year anniversary and we really enjoyed the effort that the staff put in by writing us a card and providing outstanding service. Our server Derek was amazing and will ask for him once we go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Entire dining experience was unforgettable! We went there to celebrate my wife's birthday. She was greeted with "Happy Birthday" by the hostess who sat us and the waitperson who served us. When we arrived to our table it was decorated and a birthday card was placed on it. My wife had the roasted chicken and I had the specialty bone-in rib eye. Both were prepared to perfection. Concluded the meal with a surprise Happy Birthday dessert platter. Thanks to all the staff who made this evening special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Joe was a great host. Everything was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Went for a special occasion--work anniversary. They made my coworker feel special-confetti on the table and a personalized dessert. I would definitely recommend for special occasions. I took my husband to a competitor restaurant for his 50th and didn't get this kind of special treatment. And the food was absolutely delicious. I could not have been happier. I eat out a lot and this place truly differentiates itself with great food and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food, great service and good fun! Good time had by all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Excellent service and experience! We celebrated our anniversary and it was honored and we felt special:)
Lobster Mac & cheese was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very poor service the food was ok not fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything was so special. They knew we were dining to celebrate our anniversary so our table was decorated, everyone wished us a Happy Anniversary and included complimentary dessert. Wonderful experience, start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fantastic as always. Yes, it is pricey, but it is always good. Love going there for special events, as they help you feel special.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We went for our son's last meal out before college and are thankful he picked Capital Grille. None of us felt like walking after, we were so full. The lobster mac & cheese remains one of my favorite things in the world. Everything was delicious and J.R., our server, led a great team of waitstaff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

My girlfriend and I were out for a date night, wonder meal and atmosphere

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.