Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Frier

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us Easter Sunday for an exceptional prix fixe brunch. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as Shrimp and Grits and more.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (114)
Good for a Date (106)
Good for Anniversaries (79)
See All
Romantic (75)
Business Meals (66)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Notable Wine List (48)
Pre/post Theatre (48)
Worth the Drive (34)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Bar Seating (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Cozy (18)
Happy Hour (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Private Room (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Fun (10)
Authentic (10)
People Watching (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Casual (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Historic (5)
Family Style (4)
Scenic View (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 8 hours ago

Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined a day ago

alcoholic beverages were not well made. used lemon in drink that should be served with orange peel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server Peter is the best. Everyone else is pretty great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was so fantastic we felt we had a waiter dedicated just to our table. It was for a birthday and they including a cute plate that said happy birthday with some sweets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great service. Everything was as expected. Recommend this place to anyone looking for a good Filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Great atmosphere, food, and service. Steak was well prepared, we were greeted well and friendly wait staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We asked for and got - the semi-circular booth for my date's birthday so we site side by side. They sprinkled the table with confetti and made it extra special. I got Filet Oscar, she Gorgonzola steak - both awesome but had to get a doggie bag to take it all home. As expected - plan on dropping about $115 per person for a great night of food and great service. We always get our picture taken and framed to add to our Bday pic Cap Grille collection. Great times as always- and expected.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

J.R. Was an amazing server! Definitely my new favorite spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was just ok, the greenbeans way undercooked the lobster tail more like shrimp size, way overpriced.Not going back can get much better value and food many other places in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our server, Peter which we have had often always makes it a fun and entertaining experience. The food is phenomenal and they go above and beyond for a special occasion. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Alway great service, never disapointed we come to this resturant good vaku for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The Capital Grille is my go to. Excellent food and service without fail! Love the place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Romantic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 14, 2017

My steak was over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Being a Charlotte native I was always disappointed in myself for never giving this place a try. I had heard it was an amazing place and knew it had a celebrated status. I recieved some gift cards for Capital Grille so I was excited to give it a try. I felt like it was just a very average expierence, and unfortunately that's not what you pay for when you go out for an evening like that.

Steaks were huge and have awesome potential, but to me don't compete well with Charlotte's other top steakhouses Ruth's Chris, Del Fresco's, Beef N Bottle or Block and Grinder. I know there are other places as well these are just places in my mind right now.

Sides were pretty good, but didn't really standout.

Dessert was average. Didn't look like anything made by a pastry chef. Looked like something that was made in mass production and then certain ingredients added to once ordered. We had the Warm Chocolate Cake with Cherries and ice cream.

Service was really hit and miss. The staff was super friendly and you could tell wanted to bend over backwards for you, but the waiter we had was busy and we saw him only on occasion. I felt like we waited forever to ask questions about the menu and order.

If you go to the Capital Grille I hope you have an amazing evening. As for me I feel like I have checked the box on that place. I doubt I'll be back. It just wasn't special for what it costs to eat there. We spent $200.00 for 2 people. 2 steaks, 2 sides, 1 glass of wine, and 1 dessert plus tip.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had family in town and had a reservation. Everything was delicious from the appetizers to the steaks and the banana pudding ice cream was fantastic! Great service!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always a great meal - There was 4 of us - always greeted with a smile - had twin lobster tails - which were Awesome - a great bottle of wine and cocktails. We went to the play at Belk and came back for more cocktails after. Never had a bad meal here and the service is always friendly and Awesome

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We love the service and the food. The staff there always makes up feel special. We love the detail that server David Crosby puts into his work.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and the service was excellent. It makes for a great evening when everything goes well.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent dinner before the show...........As always.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing; the beef melted in your mouth and the lobster tail was out of this world...highly recommend this dish again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Extremely Overpriced. Stuffy management. Wait staff is their greatest asset. Food is only average.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our waiter (Marvin, I think) was wonderful! He really made our evening special by being so personable and making our dinner a dining experience! He made great recommendations and by allowing us to split our entrees made it easier to try more on the menu! We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It was fine, don't get me wrong - but for a $50 steak I want it to taste like a $50 steak - which it didn't. It was fine, great cocktails, good service - I just feel like if I'm going to go to a place that I know is going to be pricey I want the food part of the meal to live up to its part of the bargain.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Food and ambiance is great. Lobster Mac n cheese is a must !

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service was wonderful. We are not sure if it was the particular night or if this is a new trend at Capital Grill, but the filet and strip steak were both a bit tough and overcooked. The Tartare was as expected. We thought we were being picky but the table next to us complained also about the meat being overdone.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our experience was great! We went to have appetizers and enjoy some cocktails. Our waiter was Greg and he was phenomenal - we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Capital Grille is my go to! We are outside as the weather was beautiful. As always, the food and service were spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 21, 2017

All I will say is our waiter Tim was excellent!
The food was wonderful as well and the wine was delicious. Did not disappoint!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Awesome meal and our server (Peter Karas) was amazing. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

As one of the best rated and most expensive restaurants of charlotte I was expecting much more. The food is good, but little originality and the mixup of flavor not to our taste.
Although Being an amateur of cheeses the Gorgonzola crusted NY strip was even masking the taste of the meat (which was just average)
The daily special lobster bisque is served in a very small cup and very little attention to detail in the dish presentation. Taste was up to expectation.
The decor is fine, the service is up to par, the food clearly overpriced... we are clearly paying the reputation and the atmosphere...not the food quality.
I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The best steak place in Charlotte. We had the bone in filets and everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Outstanding wine selection and outstanding service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent as usual. This is the best in Charlotte, ideal for a special occasion or business lunch or dinner when you want to impress. Thanks Alex for great service!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day. Service was great but the food took over 1 1/2 hours to come out. Every other aspect was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch on Valentine's Day. Food was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service and food - very pricey but worth it for the right occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Second visit here and it only gets better!!! Great service and awesome food

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As always, all Capital Grilles where I've dined are top shelf with service, food and surroundings. But weekend evening dining at a reasonable time (even with reservations) is excessively noisy and overcrowded. Might recommend 5:30-6:00 or after 9:00 if you can wait that long. Otherwise, A+++.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Great location to eat before enjoying a show of sporting event.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Friend visit

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.