Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About The Capital Grille - Charlotte

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers—the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. Located in the heart of the Uptown Financial District just blocks from the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte Convention Center, and Time Warner Cable Arena.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.


201 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 348-1400

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for dinner. Parking available in an adjacent private lot for lunch & dinner.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Frier

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (79)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Good for a Date (56)
See All
Business Meals (44)
Romantic (38)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Notable Wine List (29)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Bar Seating (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Fun (11)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
People Watching (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Private Room (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (3)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
2259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, superb service. The best place to be for celebrating your anniversary!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

The old saying, 'you get what you pay for' is true here. Got A+ service and excellent food. Took away one star on the food because my filet came out medium instead of med-rare as I ordered but they did come immediately after serving and asked if all items were cooked as ordered. I simply did not want to hassle and wait and it was great as it was anyway. Other than that super great experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service is excellent

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Soup was cold. Server was sweet but would come after a long time

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Incredible as always! Capital grille is our favorite

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful as always!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always a great meal @ Capital Grille. Service was great!! very attentive to our needs. It made the special occasion there great!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food and service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Best birthday treat ever!!! ❤️

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I ate half my dinner. Asked them to pack it in doggie bag. They didn't do so. I was cheated out of an expensive meal

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Always perfectly prepared meals with great menu selections. The service is impeccable, wine poured timely, fresh water often. Our waiter, Peter, was helpful with wine selections and assured our meals were served timely and prepared to our requests.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Five star dining experience. Peter was outstanding, very friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

There was a time when Capital Grille was THE special occasion spot in Charlotte but with the ever-expanding restaurant scene those days are over. Everything we ordered was just okay - steaks were average, side dishes were average, cocktail was average. Nothing was bad but nothing really stood out about the meal or the experience which is disappointing when you spend $250 for dinner for two. With all of the other options available in Charlotte, we have no need to return to Capital Grille.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was amazing as always. Our server was David Crosby and he took outstanding care of us. We highly recommend this restaurant and you should ask for David if he's available!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I know this was a great place to dine as soon as I walked the door with my guests. We were greeted in seconds and shown to our table. ALL the staff on the way to the table greeted us and welcomed us. We were celebrating 2 birthdays and they had handwritten cards for the two people. There was confetti on the table, very celebratory. The waiter was very accommodating and extremely friendly. They even brought out two little deserts with candles in them at the end of the meal, complimentary. Expect to spend about $100 person and a bit more if you buy alcohol.
Great place to have a wonderful dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Chose CG for our 30th anniversary...and we were not disappointed. Maitre d' greeted us with best wishes and the champagne offered was excellent. Food--as always--was superb. Many thanks to Tim , our waiter, for making this special occasion even better. Will return, no doubt.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Celebrated our 1-year anniversary and were treated like celebrities by the staff. We were really touched by the kindness and attentiveness.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Quiet Friday evening at The Capital Grill....Memorial Day weekend and Speed Street (NASCAR Coke 600 race) was set up outside on Tryon....guessing it kept many diners away. Our balsamic salads were good....15 yr aged balsamic was delicious but the olive oil was not particularly flavorful....tomatoes could have been a bit riper, too. 10 ounce filets were done to perfection (medium rare)...selected since they are the smallest cut of meat on the menu. .. delicious. Service from Tim was excellent. There was a couple dining several tables away who had an extensive (and louder than necessary) conversation with one of the chefs and their server while their son (age 8?) ran around the restaurant in a toque the chef had given him...definitely detracted from our dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Capital Grille does it right when it comes to delicious food and top notch service. I let them know ahead of time that we were coming for a very special birthday, and they went out of their way to make my family member feel special, with complimentary glasses of champagne for the table, dessert for the birthday person, even decorative confetti on the table. Several staff members also told him Happy Birthday. The food and drinks were divine, this is always our favorite place for special occasions. Well done, Capital Grille.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our server was great and very attentive. We took our son and a few of his friends for his 18th birthday. They had birthday confetti on the table already and as soon as the waiter came to great us he acknowledged the birthday boy. Those are the extra touches that make places like the Capital Grille special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Made my birthday such an incredible experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Perfection and I love David he always provides the best service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Maine lobster was great. The lamb chops were exceptional as well. We had the creme brulee with berries for dessert and it was also phenomenal. This is one of our favorite restaurants and we'll definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

While there are many wonderful dining options in Charlotte, The Capital Grille remains my personal favorite, outstanding food served consistently from the kitchen, and truly professional service in the front of the house pair for a flawless experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my Mom for Mother's Day brunch. We dined al fresco and really enjoyed the atmosphere, service and food. The Peach Bellini was especially tasty. We'll go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My son chose Capital Grille to celebrate his 15th birthday. Both he and his younger brother were able to find plenty of options and were both happy with their meals. CG offers a children's menu, which is fantastic for those of us with younger family members often overlooked in more adult-oriented restaurants. The service was fluid and well-organized and everyone took great care of us. The food was wonderful as always.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Alex was awesome, very helpful for visitors. Gave us ideas on what to eat and drink and other places to go to enjoy our time in Uptown!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

They did such an amazing job that I've already sent a note to Capital Grille thanking them for making a special occasion even more special. The food was awesome as well as the service. They went above and beyond with little nice touches which made the whole lunch experience outstanding. They make you feel like royalty the minute you walk in the door! I was VERY impressed!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Delicious food. Impeccable service. When my daughter mentioned it was for an early Mothers Day, I received a lovely, complimentary dessert. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We celebrated my mother's 73rd birthday at Capital Grille. They took exceptional care of her. I highly recommend going here to celebrate any special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had the porterhouse steak, I was not 100% impressed with the taste.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything from the hostess to the end of the evening was spectacular! Everyone was unbelievably nice and welcoming. The food was superb. Having just moved to Charlotte from NYC, this capital grill far surpasses the one in the city. Will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Perfect in every way, from the valet to the food to the waiter and kitchen. Our waiter, Derek, is by far the best waiter I have ever had at any restaurant including Capital Grill. Food was perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Capital Grill Charlotte is a fabulous dining establishment. They do EVERYTHING right. The food, service, menu options, staff, ambience are all wonderful. Of course, the price is high end but very, very worth it.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent wait staff, Derek provided tasty wine selections, and steak was cooked perfectly!Bartender David takes very good care of you, try the Pineapple Martini! Will absolutely return!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Do your research beforehand and make sure there aren't proms, bar crawls and the opera going on at the same time. Traffic was a nightmare but we didn't lose our reservation and our outstanding waiter, David, calmed us down with a really nice Duckhorn. We shared the Filet and the seared Tuna which were both delightful. Too full for dessert but the Warm Chocolate Cake would have been my choice.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 29, 2017

First time here, very nice ambiance and a great service. Will recommend any time....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service was excellent!
Service was excellent!
Service was excellent!
Service was excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Been a customer of The Capital Grille since the 1st one opened in NYC in 2005. We moved to NC 6 months ago and this was our 1st visit to the Charlotte location. Too bad we live 2 1/2 hours away or we'd be there more often. Everything was excellent and this was our best Capital Grille experience. Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.