About The Capital Grille - Baltimore

500 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00 pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 703-4064

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking for dinner only, beginning at 5:00pm. Sunday valet parking begins at 4:00pm.

Monday - Friday (lunch): we offer a $2 discount from Lockwood garage; total cost is based on parking garage rates and length of time in the lot.

Executive Chef:
Matthew B. Jaffe

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Coconut Cream Pie
mushrooms
Filet Oscar
Homestyle Fries
Filet Mignon
Ribeye
Dry Aged Porterhouse With Porcini And Balsalmic Sauce
Truffle Fries
Lobster and Crab Cakes
lobster roll
Seared Sea Scallops
Mini Tenderloin Sandwiches
Carrot & Ginger Soup
Tomato & Watermelon
Wagyu Cheeseburger with Fried Egg and Crisp Onions
Fresh Green Beans
Crab Cocktail
Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries
Fresh Sueezed Mint Lemonade
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Asparagus Soup
Shrimp and Piquillo Peppers with Crisp Bomba Rice
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Lobster Pot Pie
Créme Brulé
steak tartare
Salmon With Citrus Glaze
New England Clam Chowder
Cheesecake
Chocolate Espresso Cake
Roasted Root Vegetables
Maine Lobster Roll
Wagyu Burger
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Maine Lobster Mac N Cheese
10 oz Sirloin
Prosciutto Wraped Mozzerella With Vine Ripened Tomatoes

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
3 More
Best Service
Baltimore
Most Booked
Baltimore
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (76)
romantic (48)
fit for foodies (31)
See All
good for groups (31)
notable wine list (29)
great for lunch (28)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for brunch (9)
great for outdoor dining (8)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I'll ever eat in m ...

Dined 7 days ago

One of the best meals I'll ever eat in my life. An experience my father and I will always remember.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am never disappointed with the capital ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

I am never disappointed with the capital Grille and do most all of my business lunches and dinners as the peace of mind that all will go well versus a circus makes for the perfect business meeting spot

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great dinner celebrating our 30th ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Had a great dinner celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary while in Baltimore and the service and food was superb..... Our server went above and beyond to really make our night special.... Hats off to the Capital Grille Baltimore!!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We;ve eaten here several times. Excelle ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We;ve eaten here several times. Excellent food and service. they know how to treat you as a special couple, person, group--whatever applies. Food always cooked to perfection. Generous portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Manny was incredible. Very a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our waiter Manny was incredible. Very attentive and new his restaurant very well. We wanted for nothing! Food was fabulous but you kind of expect that when booking at The Capital Grill. Bill is high, but the quality of food and level of service is higher!!!! Cannot afford to do it regularly, but it was awesome to treat my father to dinner on Father's Day. Thank you all for making it a great ocassion!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated two June birthdays and the ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We celebrated two June birthdays and the sliced tenderloin was excellent; it was a delightful evening and Manny was a very attentive and cheerful server. You sure do know how to cook a steak! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The presentation of the meal was not up ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The presentation of the meal was not up to standard of other Capital Grille in particular the Tysons Corner location. The steak was a little tough. Two managers touch my table but wasn't aware of the lack of satisfaction. The General Manager gave a sorry excuse why the service wasn't up to standards.

food4
ambience5
service5

My husband sent his steak back but every ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband sent his steak back but everyone else in our party loved their food. Calamari with hot peppers for app was great.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always Our waitress, Taylo ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent as always Our waitress, Taylor did a superb and impressive job impressing my distinguished guest and former U.S. Senator

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service and food made for a memorable evening. Will definately return .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A+++ / Awesome dining experience

Dined on June 3, 2016

Our family went here to celebrate our grandsons graduation. The food, service, atmosphere were all outstanding. On our way out the staff had framed pictures of us at the table, along with a coffee mug and gift certificates. Just when we thought it couldn't get any better the staff knocked it out of the park. Regards

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

No surprises

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

TheCapital Grille is emblematic of the wave of cookie-cutter "steakhouses" which have burst onto the scene in the last 15 years. Diners at any of them will find food to be very consistent, service to be above average for restaurants of its ilk, and prices to be uniformly high. On the thesis that most business lunches are structured around a convenient location, the East Pratt Street unit in Baltimore fits the bill.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent experience from the warm welcome we received to the outstanding food. A most enjoyable evening. Waiter was most attentive and we never felt rushed. We most definitely will come back and have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

downtown

Dined on May 28, 2016

I like the capital grill. they have free valet parking, excellent truffle fries and caesar salad. the filet mignon looked delicious. they could do a bit better on their tuna. the restaurant is very expensive though.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Steaks cooked to perfection. 10oz filet ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Steaks cooked to perfection. 10oz filet too large to finish in one sitting but leftover still delicious the following day. Side of green beans with tomato a nice combination. Also enjoyed the fingerling potatoes. Peach sorbet a nice way to end the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak!

Dined on May 27, 2016

Server was first class. Steak was not only very tasty... It was largest I have seen for a "premium" steak house

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent! Everything wa ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The service was excellent! Everything was delicious- from salad to special dessert for our anniversary! The steaks were cooked perfect & our server made our dining experience special. Special thanks to Alyssa Hayes for making it a special evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner. Great porterhouse stea ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful dinner. Great porterhouse steak My husband had the lobster tail special and they were delicious too. Great service by Frog. Love that they sent out a complimentary desert when they found out my daughter had just graduated. Expensive but great food. perfect for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Graduation Celebration

Dined on May 18, 2016

Was in town for my daughter's graduation and Capital Grille did not disappoint with their attentiveness and service. We were seated right away and out waitress made sure we were taken care of. We were a group of 14 but everything was seamless and smooth. They even brought out a celebration plate of goodies, which was a very nice touch..

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

They gave away my clients umbrella - doe ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

They gave away my clients umbrella - doesn't make for a very good business lunch! What's the purpose of having a ticket if someone can claim someone else umbrella. To make matters worse, they only offered my client a marketing coupon good for desert. Seriously? As a high-end establishment, they could have at least offered to buy her lunch. If they want to attract VIP clients, they should treat them like one!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I experienced a very elegant ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I experienced a very elegant dining experience, we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary, and it was above reproach. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Scott was fantastic!! Try the Brussel sp ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Scott was fantastic!! Try the Brussel spirits with big cuts of bacon and a glaze. Filet was so tender could cut with a knife. Save room for chocolate cake!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was awesome, the ambiance was perfect!

Dined on May 9, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the wait staff and the food. I forgot my cell phone at my table and I called and the manager said he found it and when I pulled up to go inside, I found him waiting on me with a smile ;-)

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good Service

Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was perfect. Everyone was polite and professional. Our waiter, Kevin, managed to keep everything upscale and classy without making us feel self-conscious. It was our anniversary and they made our day feel very special.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Pricey but Good!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everyone greets with warm smile and hello. Food has always been good. Lobster mac is the favorite. Our waitress was excellent and very attentive to our needs.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to have a total experience.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great place to have a total experience.

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was great atmosphere was just beaut ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was great atmosphere was just beautiful

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

ALWAYS

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Always consistent, Always great food, great service and great for business; ONLY steakhouse in Baltimore that knows how to do a Pittsburgh Steak

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Not impressed with the quality of the se ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Not impressed with the quality of the seafood served . I had ordered the bouillabaisse which is a seafood dish with a supposedly saffron broth,here was no flavor except the saltiness, the dish came with a nice size lobster tail , unfortunately the lobster smelled and tasted iodine, and I had to send it back. The manager was very accommodating and apologizing. My husband had the ribeye steak , he enjoyed his meal which was nice .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal! Our steaks were wonderfu ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Fabulous meal! Our steaks were wonderful and the sushi grade tuna was delicious. Very enjoyable dinner especially with the great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Service and food was outstanding.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Service and food was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A go to everytime we are in Baltimore

Dined on April 13, 2016

The Capitol Grill has always been a favorite of ours when in Baltimore. The best steaks ever, & excellent service.Pricey, but well with it

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Go for appetizers

Dined on April 7, 2016

Hubby and I visited the Capital Grille to celebrate a raise. We started with steak tartare and a spinach salad. Both were great, with the tartare bordering on amazing. We each had a drink also. Mine was called Fire and Ice, and it was mostly ice... Not at all worth the money. Hubby had an In Fashion, and it was delicious. For our entree, I had the Kona crusted steak, rare. Hubby got the steak with gorgonzola and mushrooms, medium rare. The Kona...not good. For the price I was paying, I expected to take a bite and be transported to carnivore heaven. I've had better tasting steak at Outback or Texas Roadhouse. I'm not knocking those restaurants at all, I just would have expected something better from such a prestigious steakhouse. Hubby's was very good but again...not worth the money. From now on, we'll stick to Tio Pepe's or the aforementioned restaurants for steak. If we visit Capital Grille again, however unlikely, we will go for appetizers and maybe a bottle of wine.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a totally wonderful experience

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a totally wonderful experience

food5
ambience4
service4

Have been a regular here each time when ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Have been a regular here each time when in Baltimore. One of the best of the "chain" restaurants and this one is perhaps THE best of the chain. Manager James Kinney is top notch and should teach a class in how to run a restaurant. Dining out at upscale prices should be a balance of not only good food, but a modicum of entertainment and a dash of sizzle. Vibrant bar only adds to the energy!

food1
ambience5
service5
value2

A Little Dissapointed to Say

Dined on March 25, 2016

Prior to this visit, The Capital Grille was my favorite restaurant. I can no longer say so. The service and ambiance was and always have been at the top of my list but the limited lunch menu has hindered my wanting to return. Traditionally I would get the roasted chicken meal. It's no longer an option so I ordered the Blue Cheese Salad w Bacon. Very poor decision. The blue cheese was too much and the poor little single piece of bacon did the salad no justice. Sadly it was a party of 5 of us who ordered lunch and drinks and the drinks were the highlight of my lunch. I will consider coming back for dinner for better menu options.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diane is just the best; she just anticip ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Diane is just the best; she just anticipates everything and does it right. The food is good, the service is great, and it is a real pleasure.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good steak as usual, excellent service

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

I took my wife to this restaurant for our anniversary. The waitress, Liz, was super nice and knowledgeable of the menu. We started with oysters - very well chilled and fresh. We both had steaks which were very good. The free dessert surprised me with how good and fresh it was and enough for both of us. I had parked in a nearby parking garage, and when I asked the waitress if the restaurant validated parking, she said no but that the valet could get my car from the garage for me, and I wouldn't have to pay the garage fee. The car was delivered quickly. I should have realized that a restaurant of this quality would have valet parking.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply outstanding in every way!!

Dined on March 19, 2016

This is our favorite place for special occasions, and actually for any occasion. The food is excellent and the service (we always ask for one of Manny's tables) is the best we have experienced anywhere. Go for a birthday and you will see all the extra attention that this special day produces. Amazing!! It is an expensive place, but the food and service is worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable evening

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

The Capital Grille is our go to "special" restaurant when we have something to celebrate. The food is wonderful and the service is great. The prices are high but you get what you pay for and worth the extra level. As I said, it's for special occasions. Definitely recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.