About The Capital Grille - Baltimore

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

500 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00 pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 703-4064

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking for dinner only, beginning at 5:00pm. Sunday valet parking begins at 4:00pm.

Monday - Friday (lunch): we offer a $2 discount from Lockwood garage; total cost is based on parking garage rates and length of time in the lot.

Executive Chef:
Matthew B. Jaffe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us Easter Sunday for an exceptional prix fixe brunch. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as Shrimp and Grits and more.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (55)
Business Meals (47)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Romantic (43)
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Worth the Drive (27)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Groups (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Private Room (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Cozy (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Casual (11)
Fun (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Waterfront (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Family Style (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Healthy (6)
People Watching (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Historic (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We went with a large group and had a private room with only a few days' notice. Our waiter was wonderful and very knowledgeable, and all the staff were helpful. Definitely recommended!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent experience in all ways. Our food was very well prepared, service was unobtrusively efficient, and the ambiance was very comfortable for our party of four.

There was but one glitch - several hours before our arrival I received an email from Open Table stating that my reservation had been cancelled by the restaurant. No explanation whatsoever and the record was expunged from my Open Table app.
I called the Restaurant and was able to rebook, but that was angst I did not need. I had flown to Baltimore specifically for this dinner, flew out the next morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

This is my absolute favorite restaurant, especially for special occasions. I took my BF here for his 30th birthday and it did not disappoint. When we arrived to our table the staff had left him a card signed by the staff as well as birthday confetti on the table. It was a special touch. We were then introduced to Paul who gave us exceptional service throughout the meal from letting us take our time with courses (crab cocktail and tomato, mozzarella, basil salad was split) to advising us on a main course (the porcini rubbed steak with balsamic was great as was the lobster mac 'n cheese as always) and even surprised my BF with a complimentary cheesecake with a candle and "Happy Birthday" on the plate as well as 2 glasses of champagne. Was a wonderful touch and much appreciated! We had a wonderful time and will be back again. Thank you Paul and Capital Grille for making our date night and his birthday one to remember! :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service from a staff that truly cares about quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing first time experience. I left a comment about celebrating my dad's birthday, when we arrived at the table there was a card and confetti on the table. The service was great, Greta did a wonderful job . We also parked in the wrong garage and valet got our cars for us so we didn't have to pay for the parking. The service no food were great would highly recommend .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Similar to other CG locations, food and service were excellent, and the recommended wine pairings were spot on.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Probably about the best steaks we've ever had, true for all 4 in our group. Great atmosphere and service. Very nice evening. Pricey but worth it for a special evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a wonderful time...food was excellent.....our waiter Paul was superb....
A great evening was had by all
Jim you were outstanding
Thanks all

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Paul is an excellent server! Everything was perfect for a birthday celebration. The framed pictures was a really nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Chilean Sea Bass was outstanding. Our server was attentive and had a good sense of humor which always helps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

words cant explain the moment, it was more than wonderful.. i would come bk anytime

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Had a great 50th birthday dinner! Carlos was professional and attentive, with a great memory and went above and beyond the call. Thank you for everything!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Absolutely wonderful food and fantastic service. Our server, Joshua, is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great waiter. Pricey, steaks entrees seemed to be $40-50 a la carte. It isn't a cheap night, but great for special occasions. Went to dinner before Amy Schemer show at Royal Farms Areana. Came back for coffee and dessert afterwards. About 5 blocks from Areana. Took short Uber there and walked back and took around 10 mins. Safe area and parking garage connected so it made the night very easy. Had Gorgonzola NY Strip and it was fantastic. Side on Crispy Brussels sprouts was awesome and calamari to start with hot peppers was the Bomb. Perfect place if you are going to RoFo for a game, show or event. Fun Night.
** Only issue was not a lot of bar area options. No tables dedicated to sitting in the bar area, only bar stools or standing so that made having coffee and dessert a little challenging until bar stools opened up.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great brussel salad and sea bass. Excellent service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great time as always at The Capital Grille -- our waiter Paul was friendly, knowledgable, and very attentive. The preparation and presentation of the food was excellent and the wine by-the-glass selections were truly outstanding. Thanks again to the staff at The Capital Grille!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food and service were excellent. We knew the portions were large so we split an appetizer, entree and a side and it was more than enough food for two good eaters (one male, one female). The kitchen was very accommodating and had divided our steak in the kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Jimmy is the best! Manny was a terrific server and all the staff incredibly welcoming! Hihgly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I love Capital Grille's steaks. The steaks are flavorful and tender but I think their sides are just ok and overpriced. Our party of 3 ordered Lobster mac and cheese and green beans to share. The vegetables lacked seasoning and arrived at room temperature. We ordered margaritas and send them back because they were so bitter. Please do not go unless you have at least $100 per person to spend on dinner. The steaks were delicious but I have had better dining experiences for less money.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The Capital Grille is my favorite steakhouse in Baltimore. It is expensive though. We got great food but with 2 cocktails, 2 glasses of CHEAP wine, salads, steaks, and sides, we spent $250 on just 2 of us. Not apps or dessert. It was crazy expensive. Outstanding food though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Treated my birthday like family. Waiter was funny and personal - impeccable service. Gave us a photo. Food was fantastic. I loved it

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Went there to celebrate my son's birthday. Excellent service and food. Gotta try the PORCINI RUBBED BONE-IN RIBEYE WITH 15-YEAR AGED BALSAMIC. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Waiter Carlos was amazing. He was very professional and knowledgeable. And made my wife and I feel very comfortable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We were looking forward to celebrate our anniversary. Only the hostess acknowledged that. We were sat on a table facing the wall and a private room with no other choice. Service was good but not too attentive. We decided to go else were for dessert. No the best experience I was looking forward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Terrific as usual! My favorite restaurant, never disappoints.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Table location was OK but we had great service by waitress Jackie K.
For a steak restaurant they have a great bread basket.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing salads, top notch service and a perfect place for a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

On a very busy night,Valentine's Day,our server was top notch.Never felt rushed and she spaced the meal wonderfully. My New York strip was huge ,lean and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always coming to Capital Grille is like going home. What we love ❤️ is that everything is consistently perfect and we appreciate that. The food, the service, the atmosphere and all the employees attitude and graciousness keeps it our number one choice. Thanks Jim for your leadership in keeping it that way!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The ambiance was great for our pre Valentines Day dinner. Jazz music was playing and the service was fantastic. Thanks to Paul Q. For answering all of our questions and making good recommendations! The food was amazing! Try the sea bass and lobster bisque!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As always the food and service were great. We look forward to coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Capital Grille Baltimore has the best steaks of any restaurant in the Baltimore Washington Philadelphia Megalopolis; AND, the only kitchen that really understands how to do a Porterhouse Pittsburgh, the only way I fly-- so I just order fish at the other steak houses.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great service, great food, great ambience!! I definitely recommend you give this restaurant a visit or two or three.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Private Room, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Dinner with surgeons

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This luncheon was an early Valentine date that will be remembered for service, food, and a quality dining experience. Service was GREAT!! Server (Paul) addressed me by name, thus showing that he reviewed the reservation and that I was an important guest. Food was superb!!! Was NOT rushed to finish, thus allowing time for conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, People Watching, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Waterfront, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great meal as always! We tried the salmon and the chicken in lieu of the traditional steaks and really enjoyed them. Very well prepared and presented! The service was excellent -- prompt, courteous, and efficient.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

What an amazing experience. The food and staff were wonderful. They always make you feel relaxed and at home. Well done CG! Looking forward to our next dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Once again, Capital Grille hosted an outstanding business dinner for out of town clients. The waiter couldn't have been more attentive, yet invisible. Everything was perfect - menu, food, service, atmosphere. My top choice for important business conversations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Everything about my experience was excellent. It happened to be Restaurant Week, so it was fairly crowded and busy. However, this in NO way affected service, food quality and portions, etc. Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.