About The Capital Grille - Baltimore

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

500 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00 pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 703-4064

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking for dinner only, beginning at 5:00pm. Sunday valet parking begins at 4:00pm.

Monday - Friday (lunch): we offer a $2 discount from Lockwood garage; total cost is based on parking garage rates and length of time in the lot.

Executive Chef:
Matthew B. Jaffe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for a Date (56)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
See All
Business Meals (49)
Romantic (46)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Notable Wine List (39)
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Cozy (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Authentic (11)
Scenic View (10)
Casual (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Fun (7)
Waterfront (6)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Good ribeye. Typical overpriced steakhouse. How can a steakhouse not have baked potato?? Our server said they start the night with 3...yes, THREE!?!? Doesn’t compare to The Prime Rib

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome experience. We will come back! Everything was wonderful from the food to the service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

The service and attentiveness was outstanding. We informed Marcus, our waiter, that we had theater tickets for 8:00. He kept everything on a very comfortable pace, Not rushed nor slow. We Uber'd to the Hippodrome and then returned to the Capital Grill for a night cap and deserts. Everything was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a wonderful belly-filling experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best (but most expensive) meals I have ever had. It’s worth it though, I had the surf and turf which was simply amazing. Best steak I’ve ever had and the lobster was fantastic as well. My girlfriend had the lamb ribs which were very tasty as well. We will most definitely be back for another special occasion in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Just a great experience overall. We usually go to the Cap Grill in DC but they didnt have the reservation time we needed. Everything in Baltimore was perfect, we may start goin there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

As always, the seafood platter was fresh and delicious, and the butternut squash soup tasty although it was served just about warm. Our party each ordered the filet mignon steak with bone in (special ) and it was delicious, tender and served to perfection. Our party enjoyed one with the Kona rub, one just served with a butter glaze and the other filet oscar, all perfectly flavored. Our sides, the creamed spinach as tasty if you like nutmeg, the brussel sprouts was tasty and well done, and the lobster mac and cheese the usual deliciousness.
For dessert the creme brulee was sweet but smooth, the flourless chocolate cake was delectible, but the fresh berries in syrup was the winner!!!
Our cappucinos was enjoyed by all. Thank you Capital Grille for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We always enjoy the Capital Grill! Good service and delicious food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Amazing food and service! No other restaurant like it. Been there on several occasions over the past 2 years and it is by far my favorite. I have never been disappointed and they treat you so very special. Would highly recommend to everyone!!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The service was stellar and the food was delicious. The crab cocktail was the best Maryland crab I've had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Wonderful as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Coconut cream pie was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The Captial Grille in Baltimore was simply amazing. The food was perfectly done, and all courses arrived in a timely fashion. If you want a memorable experience, request Manny as your server, he will take great care of you. After dinner, be sure to have a cocktail with Brian at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Very nice place with such of delicious meat (wonderful), cosy service but a little bit expensive

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 27, 2017

As usual, it was great food and great service. Very reliable.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I had the bone in filet and it was spectacular!! The filet was so tender and delishious with the right amount of seasoning. It melted in your mouth!! Everything we ordered was perfect as well as our waiter! He made very good recommendations for our entree as well as dessert!! Absolutely the best place to have a great and selfish meal!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2017

I enjoyed y birthday the food was delicious! The birthday dessert was a welcomed surprise.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Amazing experience. Our server Paul was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Food and service was great!
Really nice place to celebrate special occasions

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Cozy, People Watching, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Upscale restaurant . Food was very good .a bit pricey

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Server Manuel Harris was excellent. Provided great description of the menu and was attentive .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Perfect. Have eaten here several times and it was flawless each time.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Quality service and food. Marcus our waiter was excellent as always. Matt Jaffe the Chef is exceptional.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Really enjoyed the restaurant and the food was very good. Our waiter (can't recall his name) was exceptional and very entertaining. Little on the pricey side though. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Made our anniversary celebration very special. Paul was wonderful and management attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2017

As always a top notch experience, as expected a prompt and un-intrusive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food and service were excellent. It was a fitting choice for a business dinner. I look forward to visiting this location again on my visits to Baltimore.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My boyfriend and I recently went to the Capital Grille for our 3 year anniversary (I had booked a reservation via OpenTable). Upon arrival we were immediately escorted to a cozy table covered in heart confetti with a sweet anniversary note from the staff. Our waitress, Katie, was amazing. She even brought out a chocolate cake and cheesecake dessert with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate. My boyfriend had the 22oz Delmonico steak, which was incredible, and had asked how it was prepared. Katie asked if we wanted a private tour of the dry again room - which was a definite yes!! The head chef and manager for the evening, Matt, gave us a tour of their dry aging room. He explained the dry again process and how they prepare each type of meat. They even give away what trimmings they can to the local homeless shelter each week. After the tour, we went back to our table where we found a framed picture of us (that Katie took when she brought out the dessert), with an inscription on the back so we always remember our anniversary there. Katie, Matt, and the entire CG staff went above and beyond our expectations! Will definitely be coming back here for any occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Capital Grille is one our favorite restaurants. This was our first time at the Baltimore location. Very pleased that CG has fostered an excellent service model in all locations.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent service. Mark Davis, our waiter, was the perfect waiter. His timing was right on the mark.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Mark is a superb waiter, very knowledgeable and good at what he does. He knew that my guest and I both like soft-shell crabs and made us aware of the restaurant's having them that day. The service was attentive without being intrusive, and it was a very nice though expensive experience. Mark is a real pro, and I am sure that he is valued by management.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wonderful food and atmosphere. Server did not present birthday cake in a very pleasant manner, and announced they were out of candles, in a curt manner. That was the only disappointing part of the evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This was our 3rd time in 2 months attending the generous pour event! We have been coming to this event every year since it started! We always come when Mark Wiedorfer our waiter is working . Best waiter ever, knows all our tastes in wine and food. Thanks Capital Grill.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

It all started with the pleasant valet parking, to the greeting once through the door, no waiting .... reservation was awaiting our arrival:) They were accommodating to our last minute request to dine outside.. The server was very attentive and pleasant. Offered recommendations when asked. Food was amazingly delicious! Thank you for our Anniversay celebration!!!! Do not pass up this restaurant if you visit the Inner Harbor!

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Dining here was a great experience! Ben, the manager was wonderful! We had a not so great filet and he offered to make everything right. Great service, great food, awesome location!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2017

One of the classiest places in the city to dine. Atmosphere is more like a private club than a restaurant. The service was friendly, professional and appropriately reserved. Although a bit pricey, the food was very good to excellent. The only negative- I still cannot figure out how we could receive a bowl of French onion soup with melted cheese that was cold. Of course it was replaced without fanfare.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Impeccable service and "the perfect steak!" The most memorable part though was the chocolate torte with black cheeries.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Capitol Grille never disappoints, with its excellent food and top-notch, professional service. Expect to pay commensurately, but well worth it for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We very very disappointed in our favorite local steakhouse this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Was a good night for my sons bday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.