About The Capital Grille - Baltimore

500 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00 pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 703-4064

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking for dinner only, beginning at 5:00pm. Sunday valet parking begins at 4:00pm.

Monday - Friday (lunch): we offer a $2 discount from Lockwood garage; total cost is based on parking garage rates and length of time in the lot.

Executive Chef:
Matthew B. Jaffe

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for Father's Day on Sunday, June 19. Enjoy our Bone-In Tomahawk Ribeye for a celebration to remember.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
3 More
Best Service
Baltimore
Most Booked
Baltimore
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (118)
romantic (74)
good for groups (49)
See All
notable wine list (48)
fit for foodies (46)
great for lunch (37)
vibrant bar scene (17)
hot spot (17)
neighborhood gem (13)
scenic view (11)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner. Great porterhouse stea ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful dinner. Great porterhouse steak My husband had the lobster tail special and they were delicious too. Great service by Frog. Love that they sent out a complimentary desert when they found out my daughter had just graduated. Expensive but great food. perfect for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Graduation Celebration

Dined 6 days ago

Was in town for my daughter's graduation and Capital Grille did not disappoint with their attentiveness and service. We were seated right away and out waitress made sure we were taken care of. We were a group of 14 but everything was seamless and smooth. They even brought out a celebration plate of goodies, which was a very nice touch..

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

They gave away my clients umbrella - doe ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

They gave away my clients umbrella - doesn't make for a very good business lunch! What's the purpose of having a ticket if someone can claim someone else umbrella. To make matters worse, they only offered my client a marketing coupon good for desert. Seriously? As a high-end establishment, they could have at least offered to buy her lunch. If they want to attract VIP clients, they should treat them like one!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I experienced a very elegant ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I experienced a very elegant dining experience, we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary, and it was above reproach. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Scott was fantastic!! Try the Brussel sp ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Scott was fantastic!! Try the Brussel spirits with big cuts of bacon and a glaze. Filet was so tender could cut with a knife. Save room for chocolate cake!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good Service

Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was perfect. Everyone was polite and professional. Our waiter, Kevin, managed to keep everything upscale and classy without making us feel self-conscious. It was our anniversary and they made our day feel very special.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Pricey but Good!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everyone greets with warm smile and hello. Food has always been good. Lobster mac is the favorite. Our waitress was excellent and very attentive to our needs.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to have a total experience.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great place to have a total experience.

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was great atmosphere was just beaut ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was great atmosphere was just beautiful

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

ALWAYS

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Always consistent, Always great food, great service and great for business; ONLY steakhouse in Baltimore that knows how to do a Pittsburgh Steak

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Not impressed with the quality of the se ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Not impressed with the quality of the seafood served . I had ordered the bouillabaisse which is a seafood dish with a supposedly saffron broth,here was no flavor except the saltiness, the dish came with a nice size lobster tail , unfortunately the lobster smelled and tasted iodine, and I had to send it back. The manager was very accommodating and apologizing. My husband had the ribeye steak , he enjoyed his meal which was nice .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal! Our steaks were wonderfu ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Fabulous meal! Our steaks were wonderful and the sushi grade tuna was delicious. Very enjoyable dinner especially with the great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Service and food was outstanding.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Service and food was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A go to everytime we are in Baltimore

Dined on April 13, 2016

The Capitol Grill has always been a favorite of ours when in Baltimore. The best steaks ever, & excellent service.Pricey, but well with it

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Go for appetizers

Dined on April 7, 2016

Hubby and I visited the Capital Grille to celebrate a raise. We started with steak tartare and a spinach salad. Both were great, with the tartare bordering on amazing. We each had a drink also. Mine was called Fire and Ice, and it was mostly ice... Not at all worth the money. Hubby had an In Fashion, and it was delicious. For our entree, I had the Kona crusted steak, rare. Hubby got the steak with gorgonzola and mushrooms, medium rare. The Kona...not good. For the price I was paying, I expected to take a bite and be transported to carnivore heaven. I've had better tasting steak at Outback or Texas Roadhouse. I'm not knocking those restaurants at all, I just would have expected something better from such a prestigious steakhouse. Hubby's was very good but again...not worth the money. From now on, we'll stick to Tio Pepe's or the aforementioned restaurants for steak. If we visit Capital Grille again, however unlikely, we will go for appetizers and maybe a bottle of wine.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a totally wonderful experience

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a totally wonderful experience

food5
ambience4
service4

Have been a regular here each time when ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Have been a regular here each time when in Baltimore. One of the best of the "chain" restaurants and this one is perhaps THE best of the chain. Manager James Kinney is top notch and should teach a class in how to run a restaurant. Dining out at upscale prices should be a balance of not only good food, but a modicum of entertainment and a dash of sizzle. Vibrant bar only adds to the energy!

food1
ambience5
service5
value2

A Little Dissapointed to Say

Dined on March 25, 2016

Prior to this visit, The Capital Grille was my favorite restaurant. I can no longer say so. The service and ambiance was and always have been at the top of my list but the limited lunch menu has hindered my wanting to return. Traditionally I would get the roasted chicken meal. It's no longer an option so I ordered the Blue Cheese Salad w Bacon. Very poor decision. The blue cheese was too much and the poor little single piece of bacon did the salad no justice. Sadly it was a party of 5 of us who ordered lunch and drinks and the drinks were the highlight of my lunch. I will consider coming back for dinner for better menu options.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diane is just the best; she just anticip ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Diane is just the best; she just anticipates everything and does it right. The food is good, the service is great, and it is a real pleasure.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good steak as usual, excellent service

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

I took my wife to this restaurant for our anniversary. The waitress, Liz, was super nice and knowledgeable of the menu. We started with oysters - very well chilled and fresh. We both had steaks which were very good. The free dessert surprised me with how good and fresh it was and enough for both of us. I had parked in a nearby parking garage, and when I asked the waitress if the restaurant validated parking, she said no but that the valet could get my car from the garage for me, and I wouldn't have to pay the garage fee. The car was delivered quickly. I should have realized that a restaurant of this quality would have valet parking.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply outstanding in every way!!

Dined on March 19, 2016

This is our favorite place for special occasions, and actually for any occasion. The food is excellent and the service (we always ask for one of Manny's tables) is the best we have experienced anywhere. Go for a birthday and you will see all the extra attention that this special day produces. Amazing!! It is an expensive place, but the food and service is worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable evening

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

The Capital Grille is our go to "special" restaurant when we have something to celebrate. The food is wonderful and the service is great. The prices are high but you get what you pay for and worth the extra level. As I said, it's for special occasions. Definitely recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderfully Accommodating

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

We love Capital Grille but this week took our teenager and his vegan friend there for a celebratory dinner. The chef came to the table to discuss her food preferences and asked if he could create her something special rather than just a grilled veggie platter. The end result was a beautiful and delicious vegan pasta dish. Thanks for going outside the "beef" options.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business lunch

Dined on March 11, 2016

had the opportunity for a business lunch and the service was the best! Asking about our time constraints for our next meeting helped a lot. We were not rushed and able to leave 15 minutes early. Five Stars for Service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good lunch menu. Great value and ex ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Very good lunch menu. Great value and excellent food. A special mention to our server Susan who made the experience terrific. I have frequented the Capital Grille for 34 years, first experienced in Providence RI and the quality and attentiveness has never faltered each visit. If you have not been to one please go! You will not be dissapointed.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Excellent Meal at Baltimore Capital Grille

Dined on March 2, 2016

My wife and I decided to have lunch at the Capital Grille. We were greeted by the hostess and promptly seated. Our waiter was very professional and made the meal special. We both had the claim chowder. My wife had a lobster salad. Not only was it delicious, it looked like a work or art. Hats off to the chef! I had the filet with a side of mashed potatoes, which was excellent. Add a couple glass of fantastic wine and you come up with another fantastic meal at the Capital Grille.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steak...awesome desserts...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great steak...awesome desserts...

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fellowship with Friends

Dined on February 28, 2016

I have eaten at the Capitol Grille Baltimore quite a few times and the dining experience is always very good. For some it would probably be considered a little pricy but these days you get what you pay for! Most of the time when we are a small group we tend to get the same waiter who is very good and the manager always makes a special effort to make us feel comfortable and taken care of. Would recommend to anyone as an excellent spot to enjoy when in the Baltimore area.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent overall experience.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food. fantastic service. Pricey but well worth it. The wait staff is the nest that I have ever encountered. Our server, Liz, was excellent. Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Overpriced, and loud.

Dined on February 28, 2016

My title says most of it. The waiter was obnoxiously pretentious, and catered to the table of five next to us, while neglecting our needs. The food was mediocre, at best. I had requested a quiet table many days in advance of our visit only to be seated in a room so noisy we could not talk over the table to each other at times. I will never go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was excellent. Definite ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Definitely a fine dining experiences of Baltimore

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service and food but nothing spectacular

Dined on February 27, 2016

Delicious food and mostly excellent service but not worth $200. Nothing stood out as AMAZING, and when I think of the Capital Grille, I think something, if not everything, should be amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great steaks, excellent desserts, top no ...

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Great steaks, excellent desserts, top notch service and great setting. One of the premier steak houses in the US. We enjoyed the evening and the consistency.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Go there to "dine".

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The food is always good. Do yourself a favor and order a lobster. The service is superlative. Highly recommend Mark Wiedorfer. The best waiter!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant!

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

My husband and I have eaten here on multiple occasions, without ever being disappointed. Our last visit here was special as we were taking my parents from New Jersey for my Dad's birthday, and to celebrate finding out I was pregnant with a baby boy!! Our server, Manuel, was wonderful, attentive, and knowledgable. The other staff members were friendly as well, from the bussers to the hosts to the managers. I really appreciated that they even surprised us with celebration desserts, and they gave us a free bar drink after my mom spilled hers (we didn't expect this since it was her fault)! In addition to the service, the food is amazing! I highly recommend the kona crusted steak and the prosciutto/mozzarella appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

This restaurant is hands down a must visit. My girlfriend and I went on Valentine's Day,and what a treat it was. The bar is a great social spot, with a wonderful variety of drinks. The food was awesome,as well as the service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

I went to The Capital Grille for the first time this Valentine's Day! From the moment you walk in the door till the moment leave, is enjoyable. Calming atmosphere, quiet, great for table conservation. As well as the food is amazing! Top notch, full of flavors! Great employees! Amazing all over experience

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

suburb service.

Dined on February 14, 2016

To my surprise and I was able to booked a reservation for valentine's Day only a few days before the holiday. I was skeptical about the evening because I was sure it would be crowed and service would be compromised.To my evtreme delight We were greeted immediately entering the restaurant. I gave the hostess my name and we were escorted to our table in record time. There was absolutely no wait! Scott, our waiter was friendly were versed about the specials ,the wine and the menu. Our drink order was made and like magic ,Scott was back at our table with our drinks ( which were great). As we pondering over the menu Scott was patient and suggestive.we never felt rushed or uneasy.we made our choice of entrees,they were served hot,quick and tasty. I had the surf and turf ,which was a special for the holiday ....suberb!!! I highly recommend that dish be a staple on the menu .I recommend Capital Grille,suburb service ,great food and friendly staff.we couldn't have ask for anything more.Thank you Capita Grille for making our valentine's Day amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service; good food

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went here for Valentine's Day supper. It was our first visit here and the decorum reminded us of The Prime Rib. We were greeted by name and walked immediately to our table. Kevin our waiter was phenomenal and provided suggestions from pre-dinner drinks to accompanying sides. The portions were well sized, but I feel the sides are a bit over-priced. The steaks and seafood were delicious and cooked perfectly though. We plan to return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As always our experience was excellent a ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

As always our experience was excellent at Capital Grille. Our server Mark knows us so well & our expectations he always exceeds them. It's like coming home to family. Jim & Cece the managers are always visible assuring every customer is well taken care of. This well oiled machine keeps us coming back & continue to make Capital Grille our favorite restaurant.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.