About The Capital Grille - Baltimore

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

500 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00 pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 703-4064

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking for dinner only, beginning at 5:00pm. Sunday valet parking begins at 4:00pm.

Monday - Friday (lunch): we offer a $2 discount from Lockwood garage; total cost is based on parking garage rates and length of time in the lot.

Executive Chef:
Matthew B. Jaffe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Good for a Date (52)
See All
Business Meals (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Romantic (43)
Notable Wine List (42)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Lunch (21)
Bar Seating (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Scenic View (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Waterfront (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing experience. Our server Paul was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Server Manuel Harris was excellent. Provided great description of the menu and was attentive .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect. Have eaten here several times and it was flawless each time.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Quality service and food. Marcus our waiter was excellent as always. Matt Jaffe the Chef is exceptional.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Really enjoyed the restaurant and the food was very good. Our waiter (can't recall his name) was exceptional and very entertaining. Little on the pricey side though. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Made our anniversary celebration very special. Paul was wonderful and management attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2017

As always a top notch experience, as expected a prompt and un-intrusive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food and service were excellent. It was a fitting choice for a business dinner. I look forward to visiting this location again on my visits to Baltimore.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My boyfriend and I recently went to the Capital Grille for our 3 year anniversary (I had booked a reservation via OpenTable). Upon arrival we were immediately escorted to a cozy table covered in heart confetti with a sweet anniversary note from the staff. Our waitress, Katie, was amazing. She even brought out a chocolate cake and cheesecake dessert with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate. My boyfriend had the 22oz Delmonico steak, which was incredible, and had asked how it was prepared. Katie asked if we wanted a private tour of the dry again room - which was a definite yes!! The head chef and manager for the evening, Matt, gave us a tour of their dry aging room. He explained the dry again process and how they prepare each type of meat. They even give away what trimmings they can to the local homeless shelter each week. After the tour, we went back to our table where we found a framed picture of us (that Katie took when she brought out the dessert), with an inscription on the back so we always remember our anniversary there. Katie, Matt, and the entire CG staff went above and beyond our expectations! Will definitely be coming back here for any occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Capital Grille is one our favorite restaurants. This was our first time at the Baltimore location. Very pleased that CG has fostered an excellent service model in all locations.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent service. Mark Davis, our waiter, was the perfect waiter. His timing was right on the mark.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Mark is a superb waiter, very knowledgeable and good at what he does. He knew that my guest and I both like soft-shell crabs and made us aware of the restaurant's having them that day. The service was attentive without being intrusive, and it was a very nice though expensive experience. Mark is a real pro, and I am sure that he is valued by management.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wonderful food and atmosphere. Server did not present birthday cake in a very pleasant manner, and announced they were out of candles, in a curt manner. That was the only disappointing part of the evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This was our 3rd time in 2 months attending the generous pour event! We have been coming to this event every year since it started! We always come when Mark Wiedorfer our waiter is working . Best waiter ever, knows all our tastes in wine and food. Thanks Capital Grill.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

It all started with the pleasant valet parking, to the greeting once through the door, no waiting .... reservation was awaiting our arrival:) They were accommodating to our last minute request to dine outside.. The server was very attentive and pleasant. Offered recommendations when asked. Food was amazingly delicious! Thank you for our Anniversay celebration!!!! Do not pass up this restaurant if you visit the Inner Harbor!

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Dining here was a great experience! Ben, the manager was wonderful! We had a not so great filet and he offered to make everything right. Great service, great food, awesome location!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2017

One of the classiest places in the city to dine. Atmosphere is more like a private club than a restaurant. The service was friendly, professional and appropriately reserved. Although a bit pricey, the food was very good to excellent. The only negative- I still cannot figure out how we could receive a bowl of French onion soup with melted cheese that was cold. Of course it was replaced without fanfare.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Impeccable service and "the perfect steak!" The most memorable part though was the chocolate torte with black cheeries.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Capitol Grille never disappoints, with its excellent food and top-notch, professional service. Expect to pay commensurately, but well worth it for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We very very disappointed in our favorite local steakhouse this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Was a good night for my sons bday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Outstanding service and great food. We Wil surely be a returning customer

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Lovely time. Made us feel extra special for my husbands birthday. Card, table glitter and dessert. A lovely date night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The tenderloin and lobster was fabulous! And when the waiter found out my spn was starting college here in a couple of days he brout a beautiful chocolate dessert with "congratulations" plate painted on it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Went for the generous pour, second time this year, if you love wine this is a must, when you go always ask for Paul Morales best server ever

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was extremely well prepared, fresh ingredients. Wine list was extensive and well priced. Wait staff were professional and knowledgeable. Service was prompt. Not cheap but worth the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great atmosphere and the food is great. Not to far from the harbor. Try their ribeye!!👌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The service was the best I've had in a while. From the time we walked in the door until we left for the evening I can not recall having better service. The food was equally as good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything about the capital grille is amazing from the atmosphere to the food. Highly recommend dining there if you have never been.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My meal with my client was excellent. Brian and Bryce at the bar took excellent care of us. They are consummate professionals.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great service, as usual. We came as as apart of restaurant week even though we were there less then two weeks ago. The food and experience is to good to pass up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always a pleasure. Food and service are excellent. I highly recommend for anyone looking for a great steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Still probably the best steakhouse in Baltimore to me. Even though Restaurant week, we got seated promptly, good service, despite a couple minor things, they over compensated to make things not just right, even better. Steaks and Tuna were excellent, bread as always, and service took care of us well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We went to the Capital Grille for the 1st time during Restaurant week. We had dinner reservations before the Oriole game on a Saturday evening. Manuel Harris was our waiter and he was excellent. He did such an amazing job. We also received a visit from the Manager and Owner during our meal to check on us. The food was outstanding! The drinks and Manuel's knowledge of the wine list was impressive. What an excellent dinner and such a professional staff. We will come back again. We loved it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

WONDERFUL FOOD AND SERVICE!!! FROM START TO FINSH A GREAT TIME!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Everything but noise was great, but loved the food. We had a round table so we could all face each other.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Eric took really good care of us which made the experience of dining at The Capital Grille more wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2017

TRIFECTA! We hit the trifecta!

SERVICE – Mark, the consummate server - he always makes us feel so welcome and he delivers the best service.

RESTAURANT WEEK MENU – Delicious – we enjoyed the wedge salad with blue cheese and Nueske’s bacon, the Caesar salad with Gran Padano Cheese croutons and the New England clam chowder to start. Our entrees were the Porcini rubbed sliced tenderloin and two 18 oz. bone in Kona rubbed strip steaks. Our steaks were perfectly seasoned and cooked to our specifications. To finish we enjoyed the flourless chocolate espresso cake and two classic crème Brulee.

THE GENEROUS POUR – Superb wines! It was really nice to be able to try the 7 wines that you offered for $28.00 - three whites and four reds.

We thank you for a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Wow! What can we say?! We have chosen this capital grill for many special occasions particularly our anniversary and as always we were so glad we did! Everyone from the reception desk to the bus staff made us feel so welcome and celebrated our special day with us! We can't say enough about our awesome waiter Carlos Ramirez who definitely went above and beyond including taking our picture and framing it for us before we left. And oh, the food! Beyond wonderful and there is just no better place for an amazing meal and feeling like you are at the fine dining establishment it is!
Thank you again to every staff member including managers who stopped by. All of them made it a very special night for us!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.