About The Capital Grille - Baltimore

500 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00 pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 703-4064

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking for dinner only, beginning at 5:00pm. Sunday valet parking begins at 4:00pm.

Monday - Friday (lunch): we offer a $2 discount from Lockwood garage; total cost is based on parking garage rates and length of time in the lot.

Executive Chef:
Matthew B. Jaffe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries
mushrooms
Filet Oscar
Homestyle Fries
Filet Mignon
Ribeye
Coconut Cream Pie
Dry Aged Porterhouse With Porcini And Balsalmic Sauce
Truffle Fries
Lobster and Crab Cakes
lobster roll
Mini Tenderloin Sandwiches
Carrot & Ginger Soup
Tomato & Watermelon
Seared Sea Scallops
Shrimp and Piquillo Peppers with Crisp Bomba Rice
Crab Cocktail
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Wagyu Cheeseburger with Fried Egg and Crisp Onions
Fresh Sueezed Mint Lemonade
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Fresh Green Beans
Asparagus Soup
Lobster Pot Pie
steak tartare
Créme Brulé
Salmon With Citrus Glaze
New England Clam Chowder
Cheesecake
Chocolate Espresso Cake
Roasted Root Vegetables
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Maine Lobster Mac N Cheese
10 oz Sirloin
Prosciutto Wraped Mozzerella With Vine Ripened Tomatoes

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, features seven remarkable wines from Rebels, Rule Breakers & Game Changers who have forever changed the landscape of wine. $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baltimore / Maryland
Steakhouse
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked
Baltimore / Maryland
6 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
Best Service
Baltimore
Best Ambiance
Baltimore
Most Booked
Baltimore
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (104)
Romantic (74)
Notable Wine List (54)
See All
Fit for Foodies (50)
Great for Lunch (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Scenic View (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome. Love the "generous pour". And t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome. Love the "generous pour". And thanks to Jimmy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped by around 8pm for a small plate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Stopped by around 8pm for a small plate and to relax on their outside patio. Great service and sandwich.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding. We very wel ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was outstanding. We very well accommodated. The food was perfect. This wasn't my first time there and it didn't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Always a great experience! The service a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great experience! The service and food can't be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to The Capital Grille to celebra ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went to The Capital Grille to celebrate my husband’s birthday. Wow, we were so surprised to see the table decorated for his birthday – such a lovely touch. We were able to enjoy the Generous Pour – seven glasses of wine for $28.00 – 3 whites and 4 reds – all delicious. Mark, our server, always takes the time to make sure we have a wonderful dining experience. My husband had the 10 oz. filet with a gorgonzola sauce. I enjoyed the 22 oz. rib eye – it was so large that we have some for tonight’s dinner. To accompany our meal, we tried the au gratin potatoes. They were soft, rich and loaded with gooey cheese. Mark surprised us with a birthday dessert. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Thank you so much.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was great, as was the service. K ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Dinner was great, as was the service. Katie was our waitress, and 2 other staff members visited our table to inquire about our satisfaction. I was impressed with the amount of attention we were paid.

BUT... I was disappointed with the valet service. The valet broke my sunglasses and did not take responsibility for it.

I'll return to The Capital Grille, but won't use the valet service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a great experience during our din ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a great experience during our diner on Sunday. Our waitress Michelle was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Capital Grille never disappoints. Steak ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Capital Grille never disappoints. Steaks were perfectly prepared and the recommended wine was the perfect pairing. Service was unobtrusive, yet attentive. The side dishes are the right size for sharing. The seating is far enough apart from fellow diners to allow for conversation. Capital Grille is my favorite restaurant for steaks.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my wife's birthday. The food was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was my wife's birthday. The food was amazing and our Waiter Paul was even better. He made it a very memorable evening. We will be back on future visits to the inner harbor.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille gets everything just ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Capital Grille gets everything just right--it has a broad selection of food in a number of varieties, so one can always find something appealing to select. The service is great without its being intrusive, and I feel very comfortable coming here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was impeccable, service was excelle ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was impeccable, service was excellent. Our waiter, Paul went above and beyond to help us celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the wine and best of all Paul who i ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Love the wine and best of all Paul who is one of the best server any where, everyone makes you feel at home and the wine special is the best any place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and great food! I visi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent service and great food! I visit the Capitol Grille often, not only in Baltimore but the one in DC too. Great for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite Restaurant, however, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is my favorite Restaurant, however, I was disappointed as I have always attended for my birthday with a group of friends and it was always Restaurant week. This is the 5th year for my celebration there. I was upset to learn upon arrival, this year, you apparently did not extend to 2 weeks. I would not ask my friends as a group to spend, what our check was. In the past I would come on the weekend after my Birthday, therefore, I know it was this week. When I made the reservation, I noted Restaurant week in the conversation. Was not told my reservation date wasn't restaurant week.

The waiter (name ommitted), was good, however not outstanding as he did not tend our table for water refills and put each of the take homes (I told him I was taking all) in a separate box. I arrived home with 6 boxes.

You are still my favorite. I guess next year I will have to come the week before if I want a group to attend. I will be back during the year, love the ambiance and the food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent, very attentive service; great ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent, very attentive service; great food value, prepared as requested.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service...always cons ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food and service...always consistent...pricey, but worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food as always. Steak (filet Kona ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food as always. Steak (filet Kona crusted) was amazing. Generous Pour is a great way to taste new wines. Well worth the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!! We had a wonderful time!! T ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent!!! We had a wonderful time!! The food was awesome and service 1st rate!! Lovely evening!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place but usually only do as a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love this place but usually only do as a treat. Staff is very attentive and responsive, food is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, but on the expensive side. I ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good food, but on the expensive side. It's great that they participate in restaurant week.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Went during Restaurant Week. Despite the ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Went during Restaurant Week. Despite the busy restaurant atmosphere, our server took incredibly good care of us. The Restaurant Week menu was substantial, and every item that came to the table was highly delectable. Could not have possibly had a better restaurant experience. Truly top-notch restaurant with excellent service to boot. Would not hesitate to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

always a pleasure dining at the capitol. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

always a pleasure dining at the capitol. steaks are always cooked as requested. the only small isse is that the mac and cheese has lost it specialness. i will not be ordering this dish again as it used to be my favorite butfor the price, i expect the luxury of the rich dish offered when we begab eating at the capitol many years ago.not just this trip but times before. service always attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The service and food was excellent!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service and food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good but the service was be ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was good but the service was better. I've been to multiple Capital Grille locations and this one had the best service, hands down!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was very nice and prompt. The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waiter was very nice and prompt. The steak was cooked to my liking. My date really enjoyed her lobster crab cakes. The drinks are amazing. Looking forward to visiting again soon

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A memorable dining experience

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A memorable dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose our meals from the restaurant w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We chose our meals from the restaurant week menu. Even though prices were lower than usual, the meals were prepared perfectly. Our server, Paul, was attentive and knowledgeable. We were very pleased with our experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Paul was excellent. The Manag ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our waiter Paul was excellent. The Managers came by to introduce themselves. The filet was sent back. because it was over cooked. The next one was under cooked.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated my husband birthday and ev ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We celebrated my husband birthday and everything was good except the filet migon.All of us had filet migon and was not happy. I was very disappointed in the filet very dry. I have been to other steak houses like Ruth Chris and the flavor was wonderful. Otherwise, our side dishes were very good and our waitress was great. Thank you

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I was there for restaurant week. The ser ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I was there for restaurant week. The service was poor and the except for the Manager on duty who finally took my order. the quality of the food was far below my expectations. If looking for a nice place to eat, I would look else where.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

As always the service was impeccable! Fo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

As always the service was impeccable! Food was delicious! Great meal! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In a word, “Superb”! Mark Wiedorfer, our ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

In a word, “Superb”! Mark Wiedorfer, our waiter, is the best and delivers the best service. The Capital Grille is a cut above all the other steakhouses. Our dinners were enhanced by your offering of “The Generous Pour.” Being given the opportunity to taste such fine wines along with our meals was exceptional. Thank you for participating in Restaurant Week and a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We returned to the Capital Grille becaus ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We returned to the Capital Grille because Marcus provides exceptional service. We were thrilled that Marcus was our server a second time. He is amazing. The food was phenomenal. Everything was cooked and seasoned to perfection; we did not need to salt anything. The quality of the food and service makes this restaurant a definite go-to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service . Never disa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent food and service . Never disappointed. Restaurant week bargain

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the lunch and would definitel ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We enjoyed the lunch and would definitely come back. Did not enjoy the price of parking even with a $2 COUPON. $20 dollars is too much to pay for parking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely ambiance, great service. Not the ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Lovely ambiance, great service. Not the best Cesar salad but the filet mignon was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lee was a great server. Recently acquire ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Lee was a great server. Recently acquired from the Ruth's Chris steakhouse and now with the best in fine dining at the capital grille! My favorite place for some amazing dining and service. Kudos!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were outstandin ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food and the service were outstanding. My husband, friends, and I went to the Capital Grille for the Restaurant Week menu. The entrees offered were excellent and a great deal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, my experience at the Capital Gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Overall, my experience at the Capital Grille wasn't great- the food was not comparable to the price, and the service of the wait staff and manager were lacking.

My boyfriend and I ordered medium rare Filets, both of which came out less than rare. We also ordered a large side of Fingerling potatoes, which first came out as a small order. Shortly after being brought the rest of our large order, they were taken away with the steaks to be recooked. We were then told by the waiter that the potatoes were "dropped" and another order had to be made after we were given our correctly cooked steaks. Both the manager and the waiter were not apologetic whatsoever, which made for a less than desirable anniversary dinner for us. As someone who has been in the restaurant industry for many years, I understand mistakes happen. However, there is no excuse for poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was great and most importantly, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was great and most importantly, your entire staff made my wife and myself feel special. It was a great overall experience. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.