About The Capital Grille - Baltimore

500 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00 pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 703-4064

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking for dinner only, beginning at 5:00pm. Sunday valet parking begins at 4:00pm.

Monday - Friday (lunch): we offer a $2 discount from Lockwood garage; total cost is based on parking garage rates and length of time in the lot.

Executive Chef:
Matthew B. Jaffe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for a Date (46)
Business Meals (39)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Romantic (33)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Casual (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Private Room (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Waterfront (9)
Cozy (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Family Style (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Scenic View (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (0)
Afternoon Tea (0)
Sort By:
S
1969 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Went there to celebrate my son's birthday. Excellent service and food. Gotta try the PORCINI RUBBED BONE-IN RIBEYE WITH 15-YEAR AGED BALSAMIC. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Waiter Carlos was amazing. He was very professional and knowledgeable. And made my wife and I feel very comfortable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

We were looking forward to celebrate our anniversary. Only the hostess acknowledged that. We were sat on a table facing the wall and a private room with no other choice. Service was good but not too attentive. We decided to go else were for dessert. No the best experience I was looking forward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Terrific as usual! My favorite restaurant, never disappoints.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Table location was OK but we had great service by waitress Jackie K.

For a steak restaurant they have a great bread basket.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing salads, top notch service and a perfect place for a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

On a very busy night,Valentine's Day,our server was top notch.Never felt rushed and she spaced the meal wonderfully. My New York strip was huge ,lean and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always coming to Capital Grille is like going home. What we love ❤️ is that everything is consistently perfect and we appreciate that. The food, the service, the atmosphere and all the employees attitude and graciousness keeps it our number one choice. Thanks Jim for your leadership in keeping it that way!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The ambiance was great for our pre Valentines Day dinner. Jazz music was playing and the service was fantastic. Thanks to Paul Q. For answering all of our questions and making good recommendations! The food was amazing! Try the sea bass and lobster bisque!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As always the food and service were great. We look forward to coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Capital Grille Baltimore has the best steaks of any restaurant in the Baltimore Washington Philadelphia Megalopolis; AND, the only kitchen that really understands how to do a Porterhouse Pittsburgh, the only way I fly-- so I just order fish at the other steak houses.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great service, great food, great ambience!! I definitely recommend you give this restaurant a visit or two or three.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Private Room, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Dinner with surgeons

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This luncheon was an early Valentine date that will be remembered for service, food, and a quality dining experience. Service was GREAT!! Server (Paul) addressed me by name, thus showing that he reviewed the reservation and that I was an important guest. Food was superb!!! Was NOT rushed to finish, thus allowing time for conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, People Watching, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Waterfront, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great meal as always! We tried the salmon and the chicken in lieu of the traditional steaks and really enjoyed them. Very well prepared and presented! The service was excellent -- prompt, courteous, and efficient.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

What an amazing experience. The food and staff were wonderful. They always make you feel relaxed and at home. Well done CG! Looking forward to our next dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Once again, Capital Grille hosted an outstanding business dinner for out of town clients. The waiter couldn't have been more attentive, yet invisible. Everything was perfect - menu, food, service, atmosphere. My top choice for important business conversations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Everything about my experience was excellent. It happened to be Restaurant Week, so it was fairly crowded and busy. However, this in NO way affected service, food quality and portions, etc. Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Capital Grille is our favorite place for fine dining in Baltimore. The Steak is outstanding, the Salmon is outstanding, everything is just outstanding!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything was fantastic from the bread through after dinner drinks...kudos to Bryan the bartender for spectacular service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was excellent. We attended for my birthday during restaurant week and were still treated like valued customers. The food was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very good. Enjoyed everything, especially my gf

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful experience and we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was great! He gave us the recommendations for a perfect and enjoyable meal. I loved the wine her paired with my steak. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Horrible service and rude.

We were with a handicapped person. We had a definite reservation made on Opentable . We had to wait an hour with minimal apologies. This was totally unacceptable. We were offered a free drink (a little too late) but had no place to set it down. The staff ignored the handicapped person and when we asked for a chair with arms so that he could better transfer, this was ignored for a long time until he was finally seated in another chair which made it quite difficult. The service was rushed. They continually wanted to take away plates for those who obviously were not finished. This used to be a favorite steak house....no more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Never disappointed. Always great food and impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

It was my first time dining at Capital Grille and I enjoyed every moment. My cousin and I went for Restaurant Week but didn't even order from the menu. Not that we didn't like the selections. We just ordered casually to enjoy the experience! I can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Service was okay. A lot of surprises from the restaurant week menu offered in DC, i.e. a la carte for sides. Wine was amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

It was a Thursday night, unexpectedly crowded and noisy. We arrived a few minutes late, we had a reservation for four, but waited about 25 minutes to be seated. Maybe because it was restaurant week. The food was excellent, but we were rushed....entree served before salads were half eaten. Coffee was brought when desserts were almost finished. We are fans of Capital Grille, but the entire dining experience, this night, was a bit disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

After always being a loyal follower of another steakhouse chain in Harbor East, once trying Capital Grille we've never gone back. Everything is top notch! We had a late lunch for restaurant week and wasn't expecting much from the sirloin, and that was my own fault. It was melt in your mouth delish!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We had a large group for restaurant week and were given a private room to enjoy. We absolutely loved the food. The steak was amazing. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Good service, good food great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Even though we parked in a parking garage before the valet was available, the receptionist arranged for the valet to get our car - very much appreciated. Everything was super. In my opinion, it is the best steakhouse in downtown Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 16, 2017

A great steak house with great steaks. I had a wonderful wedge salad with a nice chunk of meat. If that's what you're looking for, you can do no better in Baltimore.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was great as usual - I usually go to the Providence RI location and so it was the same. They were running restaurant week and I have to say even though the food was great, I would not go back. The service was less than decent. I think it was due to the restaurant week happening. The staff was unorganized, slow, inadequate. Specifically asking me to cut into the steak to see if it was to my liking but not providing a knife to do so. We waited longer than expected for the wine, and had to ask about it realizing our server forgot about it. We also asked for Lemon with our water 3 separate times before he remembered. To me, that is not fine dining. It is all about the experience. Restaurant week is about showcasing a menu so folks will try it and come back. You will never get repeat business with staff moving that way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Dinner was fantastic! Our filets were done perfectly and the Mona rub was delicious. We had excellent service. We took advantage of the valet service which is 100% necessary in the Inner Harbor. A great night.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My wife and I joined friends at The Capital Grille last night. This was our first visit, though we've been to most other steak houses in Baltimore and DC, and were looking forward to trying something new, and restaurant week was a good excuse.

Our visit to the Capital Grille was a mixed bag. There was much they got right, but also a few things they really fell down on.

I'll start with the good. Service was all around excellent. The pacing was spot on, and our server was attentive without being over-bearing. I ordered 2 bottles of wine, one of which was a big Napa Cab, which required decanting. I was impressed this was done without me having to ask, and early enough to give the wine time to open before our main course. Ambiance was very nice, and we were quite comfortable. For the most part, the food was delicious. Although there were problems, our server seemed to have a sincere desire to make things right. The manager and head cook both apologized.

Now for the unfortunate. We all ordered the same steak, medium-rare. 2 of the steaks were perfect. The other 2 were well done. We sent both back. Of the replacements, one was acceptable and the other was cold and rare. On the 3rd try it was Ok, and at this point we just wanted to eat. Another issue was that the website stated that restaurant week meals would include green beans and mashed potatoes. The website also listed cheese cake as a dessert option. Our server stated that she was aware of this, but that both were a mistake, and that if we wanted these things, they would be separate. I feel the right thing, would have been to honor what was advertised. We went ahead and ordered our sides, one of which was sautéed wild mushrooms. They must have run out of wild mushroom, as we received all Cremini button mushrooms. It would have been nice to know beforehand.

In the end, I'm not sure I'd return, with all the options out there. My expectations are very high at $120/person, and unfortunately they were not met.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We go every year for restaurant week and they never disappoint! the best of what they have is on the restaurant week menu prepared to perfection!

The service is exemplary! we will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great place for special occasions. Always a treat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service was excellent!!! The food was great but the dessert was amazing! A bit noisy but overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

NEVER DISAPPOINTING!!! ALWAYS A GREAT EXPERIENCE. THE KONA RUBBED STEAK IS UNMATCHABLE. ONE VERY SMALL SUGGESTION WOULD BE TO BRING BACK THE ORIGINAL RECIPE OF THE LOBSTER MAC AND CHEESE. ALTHOUGH CLOSEST IT HAS BEEN IN YEARS, THERE SEEMS TO BE THAT RICH CREAMY SAUCE THAT USED TO ACCOMPANY THE DELECTABLE DISH

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our server, Lawrence, was EXCEPTIONAL! The food was OUTSTANDING! Great evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I'm not sure what the hype is surrounding this place. We've tried on two different occasions and don't see the value for what we're getting, but to each his own. Personally, there are far better restaurants that aren't big chains and they are awesome. So if you're merely looking for an overpriced chain, this is the place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding food, drink, service and atmosphere. Probably the best dining experience I have had in 5 years

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Came for Restaurant Week. Overall the food was good but it took three tries to get one of the guest's lamb chops cooked correctly. Unfortunately, the other 3 guests had finished their meals by the time the other meal was done to the guest's satisfaction. She wound up eating herself.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We always are so delighted when The Capital Grille participates in Restaurant Week. We went on the first day and it was just perfect – 4 of us dined. Mark W., our server, is the consummate waiter. He is there, but not obtrusive. He takes excellent care of us. We each had something different to start; Wedge with blue cheese and Nueske’s bacon, New England clam chowder, and 2 Caesar salads with Gran Padano croutons. We were off to a good start. The bread they serve is so good and fresh. Our second courses were superb. We enjoyed the Porcini Rubbed Sliced Tenderloin, two 8 oz. Filet Mignons, and the 18 oz. Bone-In Dry Aged Kona NY Strip ($10 up charge). The beef was so tender and full of flavor. We all asked for medium rare and the beef came out perfect – it melted in your mouth. We enjoyed several glasses of wine and a bottle of red wine from Sicily. To finish this fantastic meal, we ended with 2 Flourless Chocolate Espresso Cakes and 2 Classic Crème Brulees. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We were in Baltimore for an art exhibit and my husband's birthday. Met my son and his girlfriend at the Capital Grille based on the great location on the harbor and the wonderful reviews. Couldn't have been a better choice! Although we had no idea, turns out it was Restaurant Week, which made me a bit leery because I always wonder if you get the Chef's best efforts during that week. Shouldn't have worried for a second, though! We did order off of the special menu, but added a drinks, a great bottle of wine, appetizer (fantastic calamari) and a couple of sides. From the glazed salmon to chicken dish and steaks, everything was cooked to our exact requests. The decor was comfortable, noise level was moderate to low, and the service was exceptional. The location, just across from the Baltimore Aquarium, made for a perfect walk around the Inner Harbor after a wonderful meal. Would go back in a second next time we are in town!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Healthy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very good dinner with a great restaurant week menu!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The Capital Grille is a great place to celebrate special occassions... they really made us feel special... their staff is very atttentive even to minor details...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.