About The Capital Grille - Baltimore

500 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Master Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00 pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 703-4064

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking for dinner only, beginning at 5:00pm. Sunday valet parking begins at 4:00pm.

Monday - Friday (lunch): we offer a $2 discount from Lockwood garage; total cost is based on parking garage rates and length of time in the lot.

Executive Chef:
Matthew B. Jaffe

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

mushrooms
Filet Oscar
Homestyle Fries
Filet Mignon
Ribeye
Coconut Cream Pie
Dry Aged Porterhouse With Porcini And Balsalmic Sauce
Truffle Fries
Lobster and Crab Cakes
lobster roll
Seared Sea Scallops
Mini Tenderloin Sandwiches
Carrot & Ginger Soup
Tomato & Watermelon
Wagyu Cheeseburger with Fried Egg and Crisp Onions
Fresh Green Beans
Crab Cocktail
Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries
Fresh Sueezed Mint Lemonade
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Asparagus Soup
Shrimp and Piquillo Peppers with Crisp Bomba Rice
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Lobster Pot Pie
Créme Brulé
steak tartare
Salmon With Citrus Glaze
New England Clam Chowder
Cheesecake
Chocolate Espresso Cake
Roasted Root Vegetables
Maine Lobster Roll
Wagyu Burger
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Maine Lobster Mac N Cheese
10 oz Sirloin
Prosciutto Wraped Mozzerella With Vine Ripened Tomatoes

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 11, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Service
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
7 More
Steakhouse
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
Best Service
Baltimore
Best Ambiance
Baltimore
Most Booked
Baltimore
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (67)
romantic (46)
notable wine list (29)
See All
fit for foodies (26)
great for lunch (24)
good for groups (23)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (8)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1653 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for the generous pour event. My gir ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 2 days ago

Went for the generous pour event. My girlfriend and I had a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Capital Grille's "Generous Pour" is ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Capital Grille's "Generous Pour" is one of the best events for wine lovers in Baltimore.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We did not have a good experience at thi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

We did not have a good experience at this location. I enjoyed my salmon and salad but was ill the next day. My husband's steak was... just not special. It had no flavor and seemed to be baked-no grill marks. We were disappointed in our experience. Not like experiences we've had at other locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Dinner was excellent, we ordered a Chile ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Dinner was excellent, we ordered a Chilean sea bass and steak with pepper both good choices. Our waitress was great, nice personality, there when we needed her and offered information on all our choices. Expensive but I would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, and the service was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was great, and the service was phenomenal. I would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The entire staff was so kind to my husba ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The entire staff was so kind to my husband and I for our 2nd anniversary. They really went above and beyond! Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treated extremely well on our anniversar ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Treated extremely well on our anniversary. This will be our go to place for special occasions. Food was excellent. I had the 10 oz. fillet that was done to perfection. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her sea bass. Nothing left to take home!

A most memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wonderful experience for my w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was a wonderful experience for my wife and me! It was my wife's birthday and when our waiter Carlos found out, he made special arrangements for our dessert which was beautiful and very tasty. We love this place now and being able to walk out the door and cross the street onto the Inner Harbor walk was wonderful. (the valet parking was absolutely convenient!)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was pleasant, helpful and very pr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Staff was pleasant, helpful and very professional. We enjoyed a delicious meal in an atmosphere that was classy and not rushed. Only suggestion-please add an additional choice to the dessert menu that doesn't contain milk or cream. A little pricey, but quality and preparation of food ingredients excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best meals I'll ever eat in m ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

One of the best meals I'll ever eat in my life. An experience my father and I will always remember.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Porcini rubbed bone-in ribeye. Oh my. Am ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Porcini rubbed bone-in ribeye. Oh my. Amazing. The side of au gratin potato was perfect. Definitely shareable by 3 people. Spend the extra $$ on their wine list! The service was wonderful as well. The only negative was their front hostesses - not very welcoming or attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I am never disappointed with the capital ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I am never disappointed with the capital Grille and do most all of my business lunches and dinners as the peace of mind that all will go well versus a circus makes for the perfect business meeting spot

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner celebrating our 30th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Had a great dinner celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary while in Baltimore and the service and food was superb..... Our server went above and beyond to really make our night special.... Hats off to the Capital Grille Baltimore!!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Somewhat overpriced steakhouse. Great an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Somewhat overpriced steakhouse. Great and attentive service with slightly above average food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We;ve eaten here several times. Excelle ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We;ve eaten here several times. Excellent food and service. they know how to treat you as a special couple, person, group--whatever applies. Food always cooked to perfection. Generous portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Manny was incredible. Very a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our waiter Manny was incredible. Very attentive and new his restaurant very well. We wanted for nothing! Food was fabulous but you kind of expect that when booking at The Capital Grill. Bill is high, but the quality of food and level of service is higher!!!! Cannot afford to do it regularly, but it was awesome to treat my father to dinner on Father's Day. Thank you all for making it a great ocassion!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated two June birthdays and the ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We celebrated two June birthdays and the sliced tenderloin was excellent; it was a delightful evening and Manny was a very attentive and cheerful server. You sure do know how to cook a steak! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The presentation of the meal was not up ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The presentation of the meal was not up to standard of other Capital Grille in particular the Tysons Corner location. The steak was a little tough. Two managers touch my table but wasn't aware of the lack of satisfaction. The General Manager gave a sorry excuse why the service wasn't up to standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

My husband sent his steak back but every ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband sent his steak back but everyone else in our party loved their food. Calamari with hot peppers for app was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always Our waitress, Taylo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent as always

Our waitress, Taylor did a superb and impressive job impressing my distinguished guest and former U.S. Senator

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service and food made for

a memorable evening. Will definately

return .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A+++ / Awesome dining experience

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our family went here to celebrate our grandsons graduation. The food, service, atmosphere were all outstanding. On our way out the staff had framed pictures of us at the table, along with a coffee mug and gift certificates. Just when we thought it couldn't get any better the staff knocked it out of the park.

Regards

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No surprises

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

TheCapital Grille is emblematic of the wave of cookie-cutter "steakhouses" which have burst onto the scene in the last 15 years. Diners at any of them will find food to be very consistent, service to be above average for restaurants of its ilk, and prices to be uniformly high.

On the thesis that most business lunches are structured around a convenient location, the East Pratt Street unit in Baltimore fits the bill.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent experience from the warm welcome we received to the outstanding food. A most enjoyable evening. Waiter was most attentive and we never felt rushed. We most definitely will come back and have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

downtown

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I like the capital grill. they have free valet parking, excellent truffle fries and caesar salad. the filet mignon looked delicious. they could do a bit better on their tuna. the restaurant is very expensive though.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Steaks cooked to perfection. 10oz filet ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Steaks cooked to perfection. 10oz filet too large to finish in one sitting but leftover still delicious the following day. Side of green beans with tomato a nice combination. Also enjoyed the fingerling potatoes. Peach sorbet a nice way to end the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great steak!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Server was first class. Steak was not only very tasty... It was largest I have seen for a "premium" steak house

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent! Everything wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The service was excellent! Everything was delicious- from salad to special dessert for our anniversary! The steaks were cooked perfect & our server made our dining experience special. Special thanks to Alyssa Hayes for making it a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner. Great porterhouse stea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful dinner. Great porterhouse steak My husband had the lobster tail special and they were delicious too. Great service by Frog. Love that they sent out a complimentary desert when they found out my daughter had just graduated. Expensive but great food. perfect for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Graduation Celebration

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Was in town for my daughter's graduation and Capital Grille did not disappoint with their attentiveness and service. We were seated right away and out waitress made sure we were taken care of. We were a group of 14 but everything was seamless and smooth. They even brought out a celebration plate of goodies, which was a very nice touch..

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They gave away my clients umbrella - doe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

They gave away my clients umbrella - doesn't make for a very good business lunch! What's the purpose of having a ticket if someone can claim someone else umbrella. To make matters worse, they only offered my client a marketing coupon good for desert. Seriously? As a high-end establishment, they could have at least offered to buy her lunch. If they want to attract VIP clients, they should treat them like one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife and I experienced a very elegant ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I experienced a very elegant dining experience, we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary, and it was above reproach. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scott was fantastic!! Try the Brussel sp ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Scott was fantastic!! Try the Brussel spirits with big cuts of bacon and a glaze. Filet was so tender could cut with a knife. Save room for chocolate cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was awesome, the ambiance was perfect!

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the wait staff and the food. I forgot my cell phone at my table and I called and the manager said he found it and when I pulled up to go inside, I found him waiting on me with a smile ;-)

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good Service

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was perfect. Everyone was polite and professional. Our waiter, Kevin, managed to keep everything upscale and classy without making us feel self-conscious. It was our anniversary and they made our day feel very special.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey but Good!!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Everyone greets with warm smile and hello. Food has always been good. Lobster mac is the favorite. Our waitress was excellent and very attentive to our needs.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great place to have a total experience.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Great place to have a total experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great atmosphere was just beaut ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was great atmosphere was just beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

ALWAYS

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Always consistent, Always great food, great service and great for business; ONLY steakhouse in Baltimore that knows how to do a Pittsburgh Steak

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Not impressed with the quality of the se ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Not impressed with the quality of the seafood served . I had ordered the bouillabaisse which is

a seafood dish with a supposedly saffron broth,here was no flavor except the saltiness, the dish came with a nice size lobster tail , unfortunately the lobster smelled and tasted iodine, and I had to send it back. The manager was very accommodating and apologizing.

My husband had the ribeye steak , he enjoyed his meal which was nice .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.