About The Capital Grille - Baltimore

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

500 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00 pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 703-4064

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking for dinner only, beginning at 5:00pm. Sunday valet parking begins at 4:00pm.

Monday - Friday (lunch): we offer a $2 discount from Lockwood garage; total cost is based on parking garage rates and length of time in the lot.

Executive Chef:
Matthew B. Jaffe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (63)
Special Occasion (56)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Romantic (48)
Business Meals (47)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Notable Wine List (34)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Good for Groups (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Private Room (16)
Cozy (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Waterfront (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
People Watching (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Scenic View (5)
Family Style (4)
Historic (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
2044 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Carlos was our server and he was absolutely amazing! Because of his service and the fact that multiple employees, managers, and the owner came by to check on us made our experience memorable and for sure will be returning again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful experience at the Capital Grill. We planned an afternoon graduation
celebration for 9 people. All meals were delicious, and the service was exceptional. Our waiter was Marcus. He was very knowledgeable and helpful in our dinner selections. Everyone was very satisfied, and it was a great place to gather our family around an intimate round table!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating My daughters graduation from Johns Hopkins and I made a reservation awhile back. It was amazing, comfortable, food was delicious, I would definitely go again. Service was excellent. We own a catering company in New York, so we are very aware of service, food, and attention to detail. This restaurant did not disappoint. Thank you!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

The waiter never gave us a warm feeling a bit full of himself. My first impression of the waiter was I have a group of six at a business meeting and how high can I run the bill up. Making his introduction and wine recommendation was his personal favorite starting at $320.00/bottle. I highly doubt this is his first choice and to recommend the most expensive on the Cab list set the tone for the evening. As soon as I ordered a cheaper bottle it was suddenly out of stock. One of my business clients asked his opinion on the blue cheese encrusted steak. His comment was he does not like blue cheese and it would taste like feet (total turn off - wrong answer) that could have been handled in a different way. I went with The Capital Grille because of several past (great) experiences with the Minneapolis location. The Baltimore location is way off, disappointing and will not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

That's the best meal and SERVICE I've had in a long time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was my first visit, referred by a friend in the Baltimore area!!! This restaurant was wonderful, great atmosphere!!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Lots of fun watching Preakness at the bar. Terrific pineapple cocktail. Wonderful service, great lobster and steak. Crab cakes nat next table got rave reviews. Decadent chocolate cake and smooth and rich cheesecake!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Hot Spot, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Capital Grille is a great place for a celebration! The service and staff were attentive and gracious, and the food was delicious. The salmon I ordered was the freshest, and best I've ever had - unexpected for a steakhouse but not Capital Grille. Great quality meats were served with unique sauces and demi-glazes. Desserts are a must-try, especially the ricotta cheesecake, creme brûlée, and a rich chocolate dish that tasted like homemade gelato. Thank you for making my son's graduation night so special.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food and ambiance exceeded every expectation. Enjoyed dinner on the terrace with a picturesque view of the Inner Harbor.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My son graduated from Stevenson university and we choose capital grille for dinner because I often dine at the one in philadelphia GREAT chose

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was stellar!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First time that I was disappointed. Two steaks at the table were underdone.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Steak was outstanding , unfortunately for the first time ever at the Capital Grill , the sides fell short . We had Brussel sprouts & Mushrooms - the sprouts were over sauced and the mushrooms were dry - I mentioned the dryness of the mushrooms and he immediately and without my asking took them off the bill - excellent customer service -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very nice steakhouse. There are other choices but the steaks are the stars. My wife had salmon and said it was excellently prepared. Waitstaff is professional and competent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Six people ordered steak and all six were under cooked. Each was sent back - 2nd time three of the steaks were not cook correctly. Two of the people just took their steak and my steak was sent back a third time.
When it can back it still was not correctly cooked but I took it.
The manager took a bunch of discussion but did the correct thing and comped the meal.
It was my first bad time after over 50 times eating at this chain of restaurants.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great steaks we went to celebrate our anniversary and the service was A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Took my daughter and son-in-law there when I went to visit them in Baltimore from NY. Food was exceptional. They had an oyster on the menu that I never heard of that were spectacular. We all had steak. It was cooked perfectly and the meat was really tender and tasty.
Our waiter knew the menu and made suggestions that proved to be accurate and well intended.
Everything was just right and not pretentious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our server, Sandra, was fantastic. She anticipated and met our needs; this was our first visit with our little one (3 1/2). Beyond that, she provided stellar service as always and is simply a delight in all encounters. She's a keeper!

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As usual, dinner at the Capital Grill was wonderful. Food, service, everything was great. Our sever, Patrick, was on top of everything!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Everything was perfect. Mark was amazing! Thank you, Capital Grille, for a great special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Overall, I enjoyed the Capital Grille. My waiter was a bit overly attentive and I feel that he could have been a little less intrusive. He also seemed to be trying way too hard to "perform." I would have preferred a waiter who is able to make you feel welcome without resorting to "gimmicky" language and ultra-hip mannerisms. I enjoyed my food very much, but I would rather have a server who is a bit more low-key.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Service was excellent and food was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 26, 2017

It was our Wedding Anniversary. Our service and food were both excellent. Our greeting was perfect and our table was just as I requested.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Had great meal with great people They made it very special for my daughter

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Capital Grille in Baltimore makes any occasion extra special. Staff extremely friendly and polite. Top line on my "favorite restaurant" list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had dinner with our nephew and his wife. The food was great- filets and salmon. Drinks were great- wine and bourbon. I would recommend for special occasion. Come hungry!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our waiter josh was spectacular!
Great food, tight price and service truly special. The shot a picture of my wife and I with our own camera and, rather than the usual cheesy cardboard frame, they placed into a real one... a touch of great style and courtesy

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was mediocre to poor. Particularly bad was my son's porterhouse steak. He ordered it medium-rare and it arrived an unappetizing gray color that made it both appear and taste steamed . I would think the restaurant has a hot enough oven or grill to create some grill marks, crust or carmelization. It just takes some attention and effort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very disappointing. First glass of sparkling wine was flat and sent back. Steak over cooked. Fish was too fishy and undercooked. Fingerling potatoes were burned and had to send back. Service was very slow and waiter inattentive. Spent over $200 for a very mediocre experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great experience as expected. The wait staff moved us from our original seat when we thought if was going to be near too much foot traffic.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Frog is the best waiter ever. great Easter Sunday Brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I took my husband to The Capital Grille for his 65th birthday along with a friend and the three of us had a fantastic meal. The steaks were a little more rare than requested and we could have sent them back to the kitchen for a little more cooking but they were delicious as they were. We asked for regular fries with our meal but they tasted like they had a bit of truffle oil on them. They were fantastic though. I would order those next time we visit. Grilled asparagus with lemon is also a side I'd order again.

Great vibe and crowd that evening as well as good music being piped in- and the volume was perfect. The restaurant is beautiful.

And now for the best part- our server, Scott. He is quite possibly the best waiter I've ever encountered. He was personable, funny, and attentive. A real professional.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was slow, but it was a busy night so it did not impact her tip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great place to celebrate anything, food and service impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday. The staff had decorated our table in a Birthday theme, and my girlfriend received a birthday card.
The food was very good and the restaurant did their very best to help out with our dietary restrictions. However, it's worth noting that this is primarily a steakhouse, so there are not a whole lot of healthy and/or vegetarian options.
All in all, this was a great dinner mainly thanks to the excellent service and very delicious food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It was our first time here but we frequent other Steakhouses ( Sullivan's, Ruth's Chris, Mortons ... just some we have been to in Baltimore) and our meal was AMAZING! The flavors of the steaks was so spot on I can't wait to go back. I enjoyed the Ribeye marinated with balsamic and I must say that was the best seasoned steak I have ever had in my life. Jim our bartender was friendly but not intrusive, he was knowledgeable and efficient. He was exactly what every bartender should strive to be! Thank you for a wonderful evening we will be back in the near future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 5, 2017

LESS THAN EXPECTED
For a high end steak house I was expecting just a bit more. Lamb chops were average at best and certainly did not live up to the price. My guest had a New York strip steak and a lobster tail. The strip steak was good but not bragging good. The lobster tail surprising enough was the highlight of dinner---absolutely excellent.
The entire staff from the reception desk, floor manager, wait staff to the back waits were well schooled and professional, I can not say anything negative about the staff or management.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This was our first visit to Capital Grille and if we make it back to Baltimore again it definitely won't be our last. We had one of the best meals I can remember in a long time. Great wine selection. Amazing cuts of steak. The service is outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Excellent service. The best in town. Our server went way above and beyond for me and my date.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Second time there. Outstanding as usual. Waiter was super

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.