About The Capital Grille - Baltimore

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

500 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00 pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 703-4064

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking for dinner only, beginning at 5:00pm. Sunday valet parking begins at 4:00pm.

Monday - Friday (lunch): we offer a $2 discount from Lockwood garage; total cost is based on parking garage rates and length of time in the lot.

Executive Chef:
Matthew B. Jaffe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Generous Pour

Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us July 10 - September 3 for our annual summer wine event, The Generous Pour, featuring some of the country's most highly rated and acclaimed wines. For eight weeks this summer enjoy The Critics' Darlings: 90+ Point Finds for $28 with dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Romantic (39)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Business Meals (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Bar Seating (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Cozy (12)
Fun (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Authentic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Private Room (7)
Scenic View (7)
Waterfront (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Seasonal (6)
Casual (5)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely a night to remember, Our waiter Mark Wiedorfer was his usual expert on the 7 generous pour wines. We always make our reservations aroundMark's days off! A true professional. Thanks Capital Grill. Danny and Elaine Moffett.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Exquisite dining experience! Made even more memorable by our waiter Lawrence whose theatrical style entertained us through the offerings. Coconut cream pie a must!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Capital Grille continues to be my first choice in Steakhouses! Incredible service and wonderful ambiance for any occasion. Food is varied, tasty and outstanding quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Family reunion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Where to start.....everything from the positive energy our greeter gave us to our last bite was awesome. I celebrated a milestone birthday with a very close friend of mine, we both were very pleased with the ambience of the place, the attend to detail that our waitress displayed upon us& especially the exquisite taste that played on our taste buds. We ordered an array of foods & experienced the "generous pour" which made a tasteful difference with our meal. I definitely will return in the near future, thanks again to our waitress Sarabeth for making our experience memorable&very comfortable!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Sara Beth our waitress was phenomenal. So personable & knowledgeable, a true, delightful professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent Food and service. The high stand of service is what I come to expect from Capitol Grille. Well Done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I was having dinner with three younger members of my family as young as 11 years old. Josh our waiter made us feel completely at home provided us with enough information that We could make appropriate decisions. It was an amazing experience and much of that is due to our service. Kudos Josh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Ask for Albert-- his service is perfect. The whole team made our night extra special. And the food was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent service as a person would expect. Meal was not inexpensive but very tasty and prepared very well. I would highly recommend this place for date night or a social gathering.
Downtown and the Harbor is what it is now so know what you are getting into before you make your reservation

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our sever Manny was knowledgeable, courteous, and attentive. The meals and drinks were the best ad what we have come to expect from The Capital Grille. Our favorite place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Loved it. Mark, our server, was great.
The veal tomahawk is a world class piece of meat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We had the most lovely anniversary dinner here - the staff was so amazing and nice that I think we might come back every year! I had the filet Oscar and my husband had the tenderloin with lobster tail - both were so great. The restaurant served us the most wonderful anniversary dessert and we stayed to finish the entire thing. We also got great champagne and they even printed and framed a picture of us! Wonderful experience - would recommend for any special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our waiter, Paul, was exceptional. Really enjoyed a luncheon date w/my husband......

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The steaks are very good, and the service was good, but better suited for a group of business associates than a family. We had a filet and a NY Strip. Both were great. The soft shells were a little mushy and too salty. Also, the wine list is neither interesting nor reasonably priced. We had the Frog's Leap Zin, a wine that normally retails for $25-30 and it was over $70. I certainly understand the need for a wine markup, but the meal is less enjoyable when you can't find any value on the list.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our server Carlos was magnificent and the food was delicious

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

First time dining at The Capital Grille in Baltimore. I treated my husband for father's day. I ordered the bone in ribeye. The seasoning and portion size was perfect. The pairing sides were absolutely delicious. Beautiful ambiance and wonderful and very attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We had an outstanding dinner. My new favorite restaurant in Baltimore. The service was impeccable. We went there to celebrate 3birthdays in the same week and everyone in the place stopped by to see if we were ok and to wish family members a Happy Birthday. I had the best Pittsburgh medium rare steak that I have ever had. My family was very complimentary of food and service. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 15, 2017

My wife and I went for dinner for our 5 year anniversary. The service and food were absolutely excellent. Great place for any special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was amazing coupled with impeccable service. Thank you to everyone @ The Capital Grille

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We were greeted very warmly and seated immediately. Our waitress Katie was very knowledgeable about the menu and gave great suggestions on what we should order. The appetizers, salads and entrees were served in a timely manner. All of the food we ordered to include the Caesar salads, calamari, lobster macaroni and cheese, lamb chops, crab and lobster cakes and salmon dishes were fabulous.

If you want an elegant meal and great service, you cannot go wrong with "The Capital Grille."

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I frequent this location. The GM, Jim, met us at the door and we were seated right away per our reservations. The staff acknowledged my wife's birthday and was attentive. Food this time was "good", but we have had times when it was great. The selection for my teens was limited although the offered to do a one-off for us.
We will be back, however, this visit was not our best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Steak temps were way off today - no idea why, did not feel like complaining - just ate and left. Otherwise, everything else was great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It was fair, at best. We were very disappointed. Our waiter was great, until he saw that we had several young children who would be ordering off the kids menu and that a few of the adults were sharing entrees. I know waiters count on their tips, but the change in attitude should not be obvious to every adult at the table. That type of treatment is completely unacceptable. On top of that, the food was just ok. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I had put on the Open Table reservation that it was our 1 year wedding anniversary. The minute we checked in, they congratulated us and there was even an anniversary card and little red hearts on the table. The food was great and the service was outstanding! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 30, 2017

As usual, the Capital Grille is the best---always good service, good food and a welcome. OLur waiter Mark is a gem, an experienced but compoetent guy who takes great care of his guests. We look forward to regular dining there.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We went there for our 49th anniversary and everything was perfect. The waiter came and quickly spread some small stars on our table along with a signed note from the staff wishing us a happy anniversary. Then came the food and wine and everything was done to perfection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Carlos was our server and he was absolutely amazing! Because of his service and the fact that multiple employees, managers, and the owner came by to check on us made our experience memorable and for sure will be returning again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at the Capital Grill. We planned an afternoon graduation
celebration for 9 people. All meals were delicious, and the service was exceptional. Our waiter was Marcus. He was very knowledgeable and helpful in our dinner selections. Everyone was very satisfied, and it was a great place to gather our family around an intimate round table!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We were celebrating My daughters graduation from Johns Hopkins and I made a reservation awhile back. It was amazing, comfortable, food was delicious, I would definitely go again. Service was excellent. We own a catering company in New York, so we are very aware of service, food, and attention to detail. This restaurant did not disappoint. Thank you!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The waiter never gave us a warm feeling a bit full of himself. My first impression of the waiter was I have a group of six at a business meeting and how high can I run the bill up. Making his introduction and wine recommendation was his personal favorite starting at $320.00/bottle. I highly doubt this is his first choice and to recommend the most expensive on the Cab list set the tone for the evening. As soon as I ordered a cheaper bottle it was suddenly out of stock. One of my business clients asked his opinion on the blue cheese encrusted steak. His comment was he does not like blue cheese and it would taste like feet (total turn off - wrong answer) that could have been handled in a different way. I went with The Capital Grille because of several past (great) experiences with the Minneapolis location. The Baltimore location is way off, disappointing and will not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

That's the best meal and SERVICE I've had in a long time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was my first visit, referred by a friend in the Baltimore area!!! This restaurant was wonderful, great atmosphere!!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Lots of fun watching Preakness at the bar. Terrific pineapple cocktail. Wonderful service, great lobster and steak. Crab cakes nat next table got rave reviews. Decadent chocolate cake and smooth and rich cheesecake!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Hot Spot, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Capital Grille is a great place for a celebration! The service and staff were attentive and gracious, and the food was delicious. The salmon I ordered was the freshest, and best I've ever had - unexpected for a steakhouse but not Capital Grille. Great quality meats were served with unique sauces and demi-glazes. Desserts are a must-try, especially the ricotta cheesecake, creme brûlée, and a rich chocolate dish that tasted like homemade gelato. Thank you for making my son's graduation night so special.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food and ambiance exceeded every expectation. Enjoyed dinner on the terrace with a picturesque view of the Inner Harbor.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My son graduated from Stevenson university and we choose capital grille for dinner because I often dine at the one in philadelphia GREAT chose

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was stellar!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Steak was outstanding , unfortunately for the first time ever at the Capital Grill , the sides fell short . We had Brussel sprouts & Mushrooms - the sprouts were over sauced and the mushrooms were dry - I mentioned the dryness of the mushrooms and he immediately and without my asking took them off the bill - excellent customer service -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time that I was disappointed. Two steaks at the table were underdone.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.