About The Capital Grille - Baltimore

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

500 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00 pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 703-4064

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking for dinner only, beginning at 5:00pm. Sunday valet parking begins at 4:00pm.

Monday - Friday (lunch): we offer a $2 discount from Lockwood garage; total cost is based on parking garage rates and length of time in the lot.

Executive Chef:
Matthew B. Jaffe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Mother's Day for an exceptional prix fixe brunch and endless mimosas. Enjoy our Executive Chef's take on classic brunch dishes such as our Pan-Seared Salmon with Citrus Crab Salad.

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Good for a Date (63)
Business Meals (54)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Romantic (48)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Worth the Drive (28)
Good for Groups (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Private Room (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Cozy (14)
Casual (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fun (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Waterfront (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Family Style (8)
Authentic (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
People Watching (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Historic (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2019 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Capital Grille in Baltimore makes any occasion extra special. Staff extremely friendly and polite. Top line on my "favorite restaurant" list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined 4 days ago

We had dinner with our nephew and his wife. The food was great- filets and salmon. Drinks were great- wine and bourbon. I would recommend for special occasion. Come hungry!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter josh was spectacular!
Great food, tight price and service truly special. The shot a picture of my wife and I with our own camera and, rather than the usual cheesy cardboard frame, they placed into a real one... a touch of great style and courtesy

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was mediocre to poor. Particularly bad was my son's porterhouse steak. He ordered it medium-rare and it arrived an unappetizing gray color that made it both appear and taste steamed . I would think the restaurant has a hot enough oven or grill to create some grill marks, crust or carmelization. It just takes some attention and effort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very disappointing. First glass of sparkling wine was flat and sent back. Steak over cooked. Fish was too fishy and undercooked. Fingerling potatoes were burned and had to send back. Service was very slow and waiter inattentive. Spent over $200 for a very mediocre experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great experience as expected. The wait staff moved us from our original seat when we thought if was going to be near too much foot traffic.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Frog is the best waiter ever. great Easter Sunday Brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I took my husband to The Capital Grille for his 65th birthday along with a friend and the three of us had a fantastic meal. The steaks were a little more rare than requested and we could have sent them back to the kitchen for a little more cooking but they were delicious as they were. We asked for regular fries with our meal but they tasted like they had a bit of truffle oil on them. They were fantastic though. I would order those next time we visit. Grilled asparagus with lemon is also a side I'd order again.

Great vibe and crowd that evening as well as good music being piped in- and the volume was perfect. The restaurant is beautiful.

And now for the best part- our server, Scott. He is quite possibly the best waiter I've ever encountered. He was personable, funny, and attentive. A real professional.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was slow, but it was a busy night so it did not impact her tip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great place to celebrate anything, food and service impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It was our first time here but we frequent other Steakhouses ( Sullivan's, Ruth's Chris, Mortons ... just some we have been to in Baltimore) and our meal was AMAZING! The flavors of the steaks was so spot on I can't wait to go back. I enjoyed the Ribeye marinated with balsamic and I must say that was the best seasoned steak I have ever had in my life. Jim our bartender was friendly but not intrusive, he was knowledgeable and efficient. He was exactly what every bartender should strive to be! Thank you for a wonderful evening we will be back in the near future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 5, 2017

LESS THAN EXPECTED
For a high end steak house I was expecting just a bit more. Lamb chops were average at best and certainly did not live up to the price. My guest had a New York strip steak and a lobster tail. The strip steak was good but not bragging good. The lobster tail surprising enough was the highlight of dinner---absolutely excellent.
The entire staff from the reception desk, floor manager, wait staff to the back waits were well schooled and professional, I can not say anything negative about the staff or management.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This was our first visit to Capital Grille and if we make it back to Baltimore again it definitely won't be our last. We had one of the best meals I can remember in a long time. Great wine selection. Amazing cuts of steak. The service is outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Excellent service. The best in town. Our server went way above and beyond for me and my date.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Second time there. Outstanding as usual. Waiter was super

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I had the Seared Citrus Glazed Salmon (which was delicious and sported a wonderful crust), while my friend had the Sliced Filet Oscar with Lump Crab and Béarnaise, which was truly fantastic. The service was attentive without being annoying. But the big bonus was that its noise level was well within reason -- even a bit quiet -- and how often does that happen in restaurants these days? So great not to have to repeatedly ask one's dining companion to what they just said.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a private dining area for my dinner, which made my recent visit to the restaurant special. Loved it!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I went here to celebrate a friends birthday's. We had made reservations and let them know about her birthday. When we arrived, we saw that the staff had decorated our table and even put out a birthday card. For dessert, they gave her a small birthday cake cheesecake which was delicious.

We started with lobster bisque and tomato and mozzarella salad with a 15 year aged balsamic vinegar. Both were simply divine. For the main course, we ordered the surf and turf and salmon. The strip lobster and salmon was phenomenal.

The service was outstanding. We were treated like royalty. I've never had better restaurant service in my life. I would like to thank the staff from the bar to the wait staff for the excellent and attentive service. It was an experience we will always remember.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Awesome food and better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Excellent choice for a business lunch/dinner when at the Inner Harbor in Baltimore.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Quick Bite, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great steak. Great sides. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This was my first time eating here and it was a wonderful experience. The food was delicious and the service awesome. I entertain clients a lot of the time and will definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great service, great food, great atmosphere. The guest setting around us were very friendly and everyone was complimenting and congratulating each other on their occasion for having dinner that night. Very pleasant evening.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Delicious food! Our server Katie was very attentive. Even asked the chef to make us a creamed corn side dish not on the menu anymore. Steaks were just what we were looking forward to. Manager came by a few times to check on us during the meal too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Date Night is always special when we dine here. The porcini rub ribeye is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Had lunch here with friends. Great deal at lunchtime: soup or salad + a choice of three entrees for only $20.00. Food was outstanding, chowder plus a large portion of salmon for the entree. Formal but very pleasant surroundings. Service was also very good. Will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We went with a large group and had a private room with only a few days' notice. Our waiter was wonderful and very knowledgeable, and all the staff were helpful. Definitely recommended!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent experience in all ways. Our food was very well prepared, service was unobtrusively efficient, and the ambiance was very comfortable for our party of four.

There was but one glitch - several hours before our arrival I received an email from Open Table stating that my reservation had been cancelled by the restaurant. No explanation whatsoever and the record was expunged from my Open Table app.
I called the Restaurant and was able to rebook, but that was angst I did not need. I had flown to Baltimore specifically for this dinner, flew out the next morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is my absolute favorite restaurant, especially for special occasions. I took my BF here for his 30th birthday and it did not disappoint. When we arrived to our table the staff had left him a card signed by the staff as well as birthday confetti on the table. It was a special touch. We were then introduced to Paul who gave us exceptional service throughout the meal from letting us take our time with courses (crab cocktail and tomato, mozzarella, basil salad was split) to advising us on a main course (the porcini rubbed steak with balsamic was great as was the lobster mac 'n cheese as always) and even surprised my BF with a complimentary cheesecake with a candle and "Happy Birthday" on the plate as well as 2 glasses of champagne. Was a wonderful touch and much appreciated! We had a wonderful time and will be back again. Thank you Paul and Capital Grille for making our date night and his birthday one to remember! :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great service from a staff that truly cares about quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing first time experience. I left a comment about celebrating my dad's birthday, when we arrived at the table there was a card and confetti on the table. The service was great, Greta did a wonderful job . We also parked in the wrong garage and valet got our cars for us so we didn't have to pay for the parking. The service no food were great would highly recommend .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Mark, our waiter, did a fine job taking care of us and did well with wine parings. The steaks .... not the quality of Capital Grille in Plano, Texas or Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Would I eat there again for a business dinner? probably not. The service was great, the ambiance just what was required for or discussion, but the food could have been better. (We had dinner two nights later at the Baltimore Four Seasons and the food was awesome).

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Similar to other CG locations, food and service were excellent, and the recommended wine pairings were spot on.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Probably about the best steaks we've ever had, true for all 4 in our group. Great atmosphere and service. Very nice evening. Pricey but worth it for a special evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a wonderful time...food was excellent.....our waiter Paul was superb....
A great evening was had by all
Jim you were outstanding
Thanks all

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Paul is an excellent server! Everything was perfect for a birthday celebration. The framed pictures was a really nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Chilean Sea Bass was outstanding. Our server was attentive and had a good sense of humor which always helps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

words cant explain the moment, it was more than wonderful.. i would come bk anytime

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Had a great 50th birthday dinner! Carlos was professional and attentive, with a great memory and went above and beyond the call. Thank you for everything!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Absolutely wonderful food and fantastic service. Our server, Joshua, is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.