About The Capital Grille - Baltimore

500 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00 pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 703-4064

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking for dinner only, beginning at 5:00pm. Sunday valet parking begins at 4:00pm.

Monday - Friday (lunch): we offer a $2 discount from Lockwood garage; total cost is based on parking garage rates and length of time in the lot.

Executive Chef:
Matthew B. Jaffe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries
mushrooms
Filet Oscar
Homestyle Fries
Filet Mignon
Ribeye
Coconut Cream Pie
Dry Aged Porterhouse With Porcini And Balsalmic Sauce
Truffle Fries
Lobster and Crab Cakes
lobster roll
Mini Tenderloin Sandwiches
Carrot & Ginger Soup
Tomato & Watermelon
Seared Sea Scallops
Shrimp and Piquillo Peppers with Crisp Bomba Rice
Crab Cocktail
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter
Wagyu Cheeseburger with Fried Egg and Crisp Onions
Fresh Sueezed Mint Lemonade
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Aged Balsamic
Fresh Green Beans
Asparagus Soup
Lobster Pot Pie
steak tartare
Créme Brulé
Salmon With Citrus Glaze
New England Clam Chowder
Cheesecake
Chocolate Espresso Cake
Roasted Root Vegetables
Wagyu Burger
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad
Maine Lobster Roll
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Maine Lobster Mac N Cheese
10 oz Sirloin
Prosciutto Wraped Mozzerella With Vine Ripened Tomatoes

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked
Baltimore
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (87)
Romantic (57)
Notable Wine List (52)
See All
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Scenic View (8)
Business Meals (8)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Waterfront (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (3)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was excellent. Unfortunately, th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was excellent. Unfortunately, there were only 2 vegetarian options for dinner (and they were out of chicken so meat options were limited to seafood or steak). Drinks were lovely and I cannot say enough abut all the wonderful staff.

I hope they consider changing up the menu a bit and adding more chicken and vegetable options (not including the sides).

If you go -try the au gratin potatoes. VERY good. Special occasion as everything is a bit pricey but again, that service cannot be beat.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always first rate! The Capital Grille a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Always first rate! The Capital Grille always delivers excellently prepared food and drink! Service is truly excellent, the cocktails are first rate, and the food is delicious! We always start with the Calamari, so perfectly cooked with Hot Cherry Peppers, spicy and uniquely excellent. Any piece of meat is great, I had the bone-in Dry aged Kona Crusted New York Strip Steak. Perfectly Medium Rare, as flavorful as a steak can be! My wife had the Bone-in Ribeye, Juicy and tender! It was my birthday, they brought a beautiful dessert plate for the table, gratis! A very nice touch! Whether a special occasion, a business meal, or anytime, you can't go wrong with a dinner at the Capital Grille!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took a key business account to dinner ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We took a key business account to dinner here, the experience was excellent overall!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall our experience was average, howe ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Overall our experience was average, however not $239.00 without wine average. Service was excellent with one small omission, no offering of the wine list. We ordered drinks, but were never offered the wine list. The physical location is very tourist, across from the inner harbor. I think that lends to a sub par experience. Also, the men's room was very dirty and smelled. I had to stand back from the urinal because the floor was soaked and very dirty. We ordered a special, the Filet with Crab-meat Ala Oscar. Presentation was poor, it should have been "on a bed of asparagus" , it was placed on a few asparagus diagonally under the steak. We had to ask for more Hollandaise sauce, it was scant. We both had the same entree. The creamed corn side dish was excellent. Dessert was fresh berries and they were, unremarkable. Our server and the entire staff was exceptional, we are grateful for their care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

It was beyond what we remembered it to b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was beyond what we remembered it to be. Will definitely return. Jackie was the best!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, amazing food. Went here ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great service, amazing food. Went here for date and it she was impressed

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was excellent and respectful ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our waiter was excellent and respectful of the time we had to get to our concert.

We were running late, so we called and they hostess ensured us that our delya, would not be a problem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We went for a business lunch and had a d ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We went for a business lunch and had a delicious meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

From the moment we walked in the door an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

From the moment we walked in the door and was greeted by the hostess, everything was above and beyond what we expected. Our server Michelle was very attentive and made the dining experience fun. Chef Brandon did not disappoint with his perfectly cooked steaks. Would highly recommend this Capital Grille location to anyone looking for a top notch dining experience from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kevin our waiter was great! Great meal! ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Kevin our waiter was great! Great meal! Awesome seabass and Kona steak :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was pricey and NOT tasty. It ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The steak was pricey and NOT tasty. It was very noisy with a large party beside us and the air conditioning was blowing non-stop cold air. The place was crowded so we did not attempt to shift table. Very disappointed in taste of steak Service was good

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

The steaks were all cooked exceptionally ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The steaks were all cooked exceptionally well. The recommendations and knowledge of the staff was second to none. An overall great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great server - was lovely sitting outsid ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great server - was lovely sitting outside overlooking the Harbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to this Capital Grille several ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I've been to this Capital Grille several times in years past and I must say I was disappointed. I think the quality of the food has gone down, the ALA CARTE entrees are relatively small and the prices are off the chart expensive. I can find many restaurants in Baltimore with better food at significantly less prices. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Manny was our waiter and he was fabulous ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Manny was our waiter and he was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant and all the waiters were ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The restaurant and all the waiters were wonderful. Service was outstanding! When we arrived I was asked did we have reservation. When I told them we did, we were asked if we wanted to sit inside or outside. It was such a beautiful day so we chose to sit outside. Our main waiter checked on us on a regular basis. She asked if we were there for a special occasion. When we told her it was for a pre birthday celebration, she gave us 2 glasses of champagne to have a toast and dessert on the house. I have already told many family and friends about this restaurant so I'm sure there will be more guests coming to this restaurant in the near future.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak tartare was very good. Our ser ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The steak tartare was very good. Our server however was not so great. Overall a nice night out but for a $300 dinner for two I was expecting everything to be wonderful not just ok.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This was a delicious choice for a specia ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was a delicious choice for a special occasion dinner. The atmosphere is formal to go along with the celebration theme. The food was outstanding - filet mignon cooked to perfection. While I ordered medium-rare and received rare, I don't mind eating rare steak and thought it tasted even better than if it had been cooked longer. The service was great, very timely with touches of personal conversation as wait staff checked on your enjoyment of the food. The wine list was notable, a little pricey but it goes with the formal and celebratory atmosphere of the restaurant. Overall a wonderful place to go for a special date, celebration, or fancy event.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were sat underneath the AC vent which ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were sat underneath the AC vent which made the lobster cold in seconds. The waiter who was so super nice went to see if there was something he could do but to no avail it was on while we ate dinner. We didn't order dessert because it was so cold. We grab dessert someplace else. Food was A++, Service A++, Price could always be less than what we paid, but it gets an A++! The nicest part, our waiter took a photo of us and placed it into a frame and gave it to us. If that's what Grill Fire does at this location, it gets an A++! We didn't feel rushed at all to finish our meal for another party waiting. Overall my rate is A++! Thanks Grill Fire!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Capital Grille was and is an excellent r ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Capital Grille was and is an excellent restaurant to have dinner for anniversary. This was my husband and I first time there. We're both pleased. We made reservations for 6:45 arrived around 6:30 was taken to our seat right way. The server Eric was great when he spoke of the special for that night he talked a little fast but did not mind repeating himself. Eric even was helpful recommending a wine to have for dinner since me not being a wine person knew what I should have. Both me and my husband order the chef selection: tenderloins with poached lobster tails the steak was tender and juicy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought my wife for our first anniversar ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Brought my wife for our first anniversary dinner here, and it fulfilled all expectations. The server, Kevin, was terribly courteous, promptly seeing to us as we were seated, and was available if we needed anything. The lobster and crab cakes were flaky and rich, and perfectly sized for my wife and I. She ordered the glazed salmon, which was cooked to perfection, and laid quite nicely over a bed of marinated green beans. I ordered the New York Strip with gorgonzola and truffle sauce, which was simply elegant- the truffle sauce tasted divinely sour and contrasted quite nicely with the gorgonzola. My only regret is that we didn't try the creme brulee, which I've heard is exquisitely sweet and deliciously crunchy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE the generous pour event! We part ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We LOVE the generous pour event! We participate in it every year. You always choose terrific wines, and we love learning about and tasting them. And, of course, the food is always top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I don't know where to begin. We had high ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I don't know where to begin. We had high expectations after dining at other Capital Grilles but it was so loud you could not carry on a conversation and the food was tasteless. Everything even the vegetables. A most unenjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Terrific way to spend anniversary from s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Terrific way to spend anniversary from start to finish. Superb experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very bad experience . I made a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had a very bad experience . I made a reservation for 4 people in my name. My colleague and arrived at the front desk to be told that our two guests had not yet arrived. We were shown to a table. We waited with no sign of our guests. After 20 minutes of waiting, we called one of our guests to be told that they had been seated before we arrived and had been waiting for 25 minutes.

We walked around the restaurant and found them at their table. I told their waiter what had happened. He said "not my fault". No one from management came over to apologize or say anything.

I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Awesome. Love the "generous pour". And t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Awesome. Love the "generous pour". And thanks to Jimmy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped by around 8pm for a small plate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Stopped by around 8pm for a small plate and to relax on their outside patio. Great service and sandwich.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding. We very wel ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service was outstanding. We very well accommodated. The food was perfect. This wasn't my first time there and it didn't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Always a great experience! The service a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a great experience! The service and food can't be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to The Capital Grille to celebra ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went to The Capital Grille to celebrate my husband’s birthday. Wow, we were so surprised to see the table decorated for his birthday – such a lovely touch. We were able to enjoy the Generous Pour – seven glasses of wine for $28.00 – 3 whites and 4 reds – all delicious. Mark, our server, always takes the time to make sure we have a wonderful dining experience. My husband had the 10 oz. filet with a gorgonzola sauce. I enjoyed the 22 oz. rib eye – it was so large that we have some for tonight’s dinner. To accompany our meal, we tried the au gratin potatoes. They were soft, rich and loaded with gooey cheese. Mark surprised us with a birthday dessert. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Thank you so much.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was great, as was the service. K ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Dinner was great, as was the service. Katie was our waitress, and 2 other staff members visited our table to inquire about our satisfaction. I was impressed with the amount of attention we were paid.

BUT... I was disappointed with the valet service. The valet broke my sunglasses and did not take responsibility for it.

I'll return to The Capital Grille, but won't use the valet service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a great experience during our din ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a great experience during our diner on Sunday. Our waitress Michelle was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Capital Grille never disappoints. Steak ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Capital Grille never disappoints. Steaks were perfectly prepared and the recommended wine was the perfect pairing. Service was unobtrusive, yet attentive. The side dishes are the right size for sharing. The seating is far enough apart from fellow diners to allow for conversation. Capital Grille is my favorite restaurant for steaks.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my wife's birthday. The food was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was my wife's birthday. The food was amazing and our Waiter Paul was even better. He made it a very memorable evening. We will be back on future visits to the inner harbor.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grille gets everything just ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Capital Grille gets everything just right--it has a broad selection of food in a number of varieties, so one can always find something appealing to select. The service is great without its being intrusive, and I feel very comfortable coming here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was impeccable, service was excelle ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was impeccable, service was excellent. Our waiter, Paul went above and beyond to help us celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the wine and best of all Paul who i ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Love the wine and best of all Paul who is one of the best server any where, everyone makes you feel at home and the wine special is the best any place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and great food! I visi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent service and great food! I visit the Capitol Grille often, not only in Baltimore but the one in DC too. Great for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite Restaurant, however, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is my favorite Restaurant, however, I was disappointed as I have always attended for my birthday with a group of friends and it was always Restaurant week. This is the 5th year for my celebration there. I was upset to learn upon arrival, this year, you apparently did not extend to 2 weeks. I would not ask my friends as a group to spend, what our check was. In the past I would come on the weekend after my Birthday, therefore, I know it was this week. When I made the reservation, I noted Restaurant week in the conversation. Was not told my reservation date wasn't restaurant week.

The waiter (name ommitted), was good, however not outstanding as he did not tend our table for water refills and put each of the take homes (I told him I was taking all) in a separate box. I arrived home with 6 boxes.

You are still my favorite. I guess next year I will have to come the week before if I want a group to attend. I will be back during the year, love the ambiance and the food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent, very attentive service; great ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent, very attentive service; great food value, prepared as requested.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.