About The Capital Grille - Baltimore

500 East Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

You are cordially invited to be wined, dined, and dazzled at The Capital Grille. Enjoy nationally renowned steaks — dry aged and hand-cut on premises by the restaurant's own butchers — the freshest of seafood, creative sides, and irresistible desserts prepared on-site every day. All accompanied by an acclaimed wine list, carefully curated by The Capital Grille's Sommelier, featuring more than 350 labels from around the world. Experience gracious, anticipatory service in the comfortable, sophisticated dining room, or host a flawless event in a private dining room appointed with a full complement of state-of-the-art media technology. A memorable evening or afternoon of fine dining awaits at The Capital Grille.

Download our mobile app to see today's wine list and pairings curated by our Sommelier, make reservations, view upcoming events and purchase gift cards. Anytime, anywhere.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00 pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 703-4064

Website:
http://www.thecapitalgrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking for dinner only, beginning at 5:00pm. Sunday valet parking begins at 4:00pm.

Monday - Friday (lunch): we offer a $2 discount from Lockwood garage; total cost is based on parking garage rates and length of time in the lot.

Executive Chef:
Matthew B. Jaffe

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining or other special events, please contact the Sales Manager today.

Restaurant Photos

Cheesecake with Fresh Seasonal Berries - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
mushrooms - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Filet Oscar - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Homestyle Fries - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Filet Mignon - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Ribeye - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Coconut Cream Pie - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Dry Aged Porterhouse With Porcini And Balsalmic Sauce - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Truffle Fries - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Lobster and Crab Cakes - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
lobster roll - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Mini Tenderloin Sandwiches - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Carrot & Ginger Soup - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Tomato & Watermelon - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Seared Sea Scallops - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Shrimp and Piquillo Peppers with Crisp Bomba Rice - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Crab Cocktail - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin With Caramelized Shallot Butter - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Wagyu Cheeseburger with Fried Egg and Crisp Onions  - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Fresh Sueezed Mint Lemonade - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Porcini Rubbed Delmonico With 12-Year Aged Balsamic - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Fresh Green Beans - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Asparagus Soup - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Lobster Pot Pie - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
steak tartare - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Créme Brulé - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Salmon With Citrus Glaze - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
New England Clam Chowder - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Cheesecake - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Chocolate Espresso Cake - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Roasted Root Vegetables - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Wagyu Burger - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Salad - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Maine Lobster Roll - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Maine Lobster Mac N Cheese - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
10 oz Sirloin - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Prosciutto Wraped Mozzerella With Vine Ripened Tomatoes - The Capital Grille - Baltimore, Baltimore, MD

Private Dining

The Capital Grille offers private dining accommodations for up to 50 guests. From making formal business proposals to making toasts with a gathering of friends, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private event.

The Capital Grille - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Baltimore / Maryland
Special Occasion
Baltimore
Most Booked
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
See All
Business Meals (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (17)
Good for Groups (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Private Room (6)
Waterfront (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (4)
Family Style (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
1760 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food great service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated my mom's 70th birthday and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated my mom's 70th birthday and they went out of their way to make it special. Would recommend to anyone that wants a very special celebration to go to Capital Grille. Paul was our server and he was fabulous!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was really good. Carlos was amazing ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was really good. Carlos was amazing. Thank you for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for Thanksgiving we enjoye ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were there for Thanksgiving we enjoyed all of dishes, but unfortunately we had to call/remind the waiter for many things. It was a very busy night and I think we were very understanding of the circumstances but the service was disappointing.

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Love this place! The food and service is ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Love this place! The food and service is always impeccable

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great experience at Capital Gril ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I had a great experience at Capital Grille for Thanksgiving Dinner. The food was wonderful and the staff took good care of me during my visit. I did move from my table to the bar after I finished dinner to have a drink and was ignored by the bartender that came on after I was served. I laid my money out on the counter to pay since he obviously wasn't interested in serving me an additional drink and my original server actually saw how long I waited and came up and cashed me out. I don't want to take away from the food and the dining service because it was wonderful, but the bar definitely needs to step it up.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Expected it to be good and it was! Atten ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Expected it to be good and it was! Attentive servers, nice atmosphere. Menu had something for most.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My steak was rare when I asked for mediu ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My steak was rare when I asked for medium/medium well. Had to send it back and then got it back well done. When you pay over $50 for a steak, you expect it to be cooked correctly and certainly not well done when sent back. Didn't end up eating it and took home. Very disappointing, and no apology.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

phenomenal food. Exceptional customer se ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

phenomenal food. Exceptional customer service. The ideal dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Capital grill celebrating my ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went to Capital grill celebrating my son's birthday. As expected, the steaks were awesome. They were done to perfection and overall the food was excellent. I felt the service was subpar though. We felt that the waiter stopped by periodically but never really attended to our table. After finishing one bottle of wine for four poodle our glasses remained empty till after our meals were served. So we debated on having wine with our meal which shouldn't happen. Service needs to be improved.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

We celebrated my husbands birthday and w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We celebrated my husbands birthday and we enjoyed ourselves. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and took a picture and provided us a framed copy. 😄

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Capital Grille. It can accommod ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Love the Capital Grille. It can accommodate my low carb diet with ease. I've been to locations throughout the region and the service at the downtown Baltimore restaurant is superior. That being said, I ordered a medium Filet with creamed spinach for dinner. For some reason my filet was chewy, not tender as it normally is. I didn't complain on site because I was entertaining a friend and kept thinking that something was off but couldn't believe it was the actual beef given their usual high standards. Eating left overs the next morning reinforced my initial perspective. I will try this location once more because I hope my experience was an anomaly. If not, I wont be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

This is a great place for special occasi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 7, 2016

This is a great place for special occasions. They will make you feel comfortable and a priority. I got just what I was hoping for: GREAT service, delicious food, impressive atmosphere, etc. BTW, the Brussels sprouts were the best I've ever tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive, as always. But again food wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Expensive, as always. But again food was mediocre - under-cooked but over-sauced steak. Sides were fine - but served lukewarm. Waiter presented menu and disappeared. Dinner finally arrived, served by others. No one stopped to ask if everything was fine (it wasn't); no follow-up when asked. Manager reduced bill, but it was too late. I have never had a good dining experience at any Capital Grill outside of Washington DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Wonderful evening and our service and me ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful evening and our service and meal could not have been any better...

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was not as attentive as I wou ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wait staff was not as attentive as I would expect. The food was delicious. The oysters and the beef were excellent but the asparagus was soggy bbbbovercooked.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great care and attention to detail from ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great care and attention to detail from the service staff. Timing of service staff was excellent as they always seemed to be there when we were ready. Knowledgeable, friendly, and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a little problem when ordering an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a little problem when ordering and one of the meals was delayed, but the manager and witness both apologized and comped us a bottle of wine. Now that was worth the wait, and it did not take any time. We were fine just getting together and catching up so we had all the time in the world.

Great night

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a great meal!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time celebrating our anniver ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Our second time celebrating our anniversary with the Capital Grill and once again they managed to outshine themselves. Service was on point our server Scott wow the man deserves an award amazing service. We enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing! While the quality was gre ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Disappointing!

While the quality was great, our food was over cooked. It appears our server or the kitchen, did not do a good job of timing , and upon checking where we were on eating appetites, our server mentioned he would slow down

delivery of our food. This must have meant "hold" our already ready food! Our Steaks were over cooked and mine was dry and hard.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Came for a special occasion celebration ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Came for a special occasion celebration - food was outstanding! Loved the complimentary valet parking, as well. Big plus when visiting downtown restaurants and trying to figure out where to park! Ambiance was really nice, customer service was great. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Capital Grill is my favorite restau ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The Capital Grill is my favorite restaurant. Great customer service. My meal is always prepared correctly. The chef of this restuarant is outstanding. The presentation of the staff in knowing the menu is flawless. Most importantly is that my customer service from Marcus was superb. Thanks.

Tags: Family Style, Private Room, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

TCG Baltimore as always exceeded my expe ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

TCG Baltimore as always exceeded my expectations! The food was delicious and service excellent. TCG is one of my favorite places to host special events as well. You won't find better staff to work with.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I visited Capital Grille on a dinner dat ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I visited Capital Grille on a dinner date with my fiance and we absolutely loved our experience. The waiter was outstanding, the food was very scrumptious and the prices were reasonable. We were seated for two and our bill totaled $130.00. I will definitely visit this location again.

Thank you!!!!!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife likes fine dinning. She asked me ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My wife likes fine dinning. She asked me to surprise her with a romantic steak dinner somewhere near the harbor. We hAve been to almost every restaurant in Baltimore except Capital Grille. The food was fabolus and theservice was great. Alittle pricey but portions were worth the over all cost. We would return again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We have been to Capital Grille on 3 occa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We have been to Capital Grille on 3 occasions......so we obviously like it. The bone-in steaks are so delicious and we have never been disappointed! Steaks and probably other items are not served with any sides.....though they are delicious. This is not a casual affair and plan on spending $200-$300 per couple, which includes wine and dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great overall experience with a nice tou ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great overall experience with a nice touch at the end with a complimentary Happy Anniversary dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner. The porcini r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. The porcini rubbed ribeye was delectable. The seafood tower was a great start, with fresh delicious shrimp, oysters and Lobster . The wedge salad was crispy fresh! Our server Markus was a real professional who added greatly to the evening. Enjoy!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat is really great. Pricy but valuable ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Meat is really great.

Pricy but valuable for quality you get in plate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous and the service ex ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The food was fabulous and the service excellent. Went there to celebrate our anniversary. When we arrived we received two glasses of champagne and a complimentary dessert at the end of our meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still our favorite restaurant, Best Stea ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Still our favorite restaurant, Best Steaks in the City, we have tried them all.

We get the coconut pie , we get two to go

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

Service was excellent. Unfortunately, th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Service was excellent. Unfortunately, there were only 2 vegetarian options for dinner (and they were out of chicken so meat options were limited to seafood or steak). Drinks were lovely and I cannot say enough abut all the wonderful staff.

I hope they consider changing up the menu a bit and adding more chicken and vegetable options (not including the sides).

If you go -try the au gratin potatoes. VERY good. Special occasion as everything is a bit pricey but again, that service cannot be beat.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always first rate! The Capital Grille a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Always first rate! The Capital Grille always delivers excellently prepared food and drink! Service is truly excellent, the cocktails are first rate, and the food is delicious! We always start with the Calamari, so perfectly cooked with Hot Cherry Peppers, spicy and uniquely excellent. Any piece of meat is great, I had the bone-in Dry aged Kona Crusted New York Strip Steak. Perfectly Medium Rare, as flavorful as a steak can be! My wife had the Bone-in Ribeye, Juicy and tender! It was my birthday, they brought a beautiful dessert plate for the table, gratis! A very nice touch! Whether a special occasion, a business meal, or anytime, you can't go wrong with a dinner at the Capital Grille!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took a key business account to dinner ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We took a key business account to dinner here, the experience was excellent overall!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall our experience was average, howe ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Overall our experience was average, however not $239.00 without wine average. Service was excellent with one small omission, no offering of the wine list. We ordered drinks, but were never offered the wine list. The physical location is very tourist, across from the inner harbor. I think that lends to a sub par experience. Also, the men's room was very dirty and smelled. I had to stand back from the urinal because the floor was soaked and very dirty. We ordered a special, the Filet with Crab-meat Ala Oscar. Presentation was poor, it should have been "on a bed of asparagus" , it was placed on a few asparagus diagonally under the steak. We had to ask for more Hollandaise sauce, it was scant. We both had the same entree. The creamed corn side dish was excellent. Dessert was fresh berries and they were, unremarkable. Our server and the entire staff was exceptional, we are grateful for their care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

It was beyond what we remembered it to b ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was beyond what we remembered it to be. Will definitely return. Jackie was the best!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, amazing food. Went here ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great service, amazing food. Went here for date and it she was impressed

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was excellent and respectful ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our waiter was excellent and respectful of the time we had to get to our concert.

We were running late, so we called and they hostess ensured us that our delya, would not be a problem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We went for a business lunch and had a d ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We went for a business lunch and had a delicious meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.