About The Café & Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta

3376 Peachtree Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30326
View Larger Map

As the center of Atlanta’s celebrated dining scene, Buckhead is the perfect location for our acclaimed gourmet restaurant, The Café & Bar.

The Café & Bar’s modern American menu demonstrates a fresh approach to traditional dishes. Breakfast specialties include a grilled vegetable frittata with warm goat cheese and plum tomato compote, while lunchtime features a choice of gourmet sandwiches. Sunday brunch highlights include Buttermilk Chicken & Waffles and the succulent Ridgefield Farms Burger. Dinner is dictated by the organic produce we source and is prepared with flair in dishes such as rutabaga puree alongside the Scottish salmon fillets.

Open for breakfast, lunch, Sunday brunch and dinner, the atmosphere in The Café & Bar transforms with the hours, moving from casually relaxed to suitably elegant in the evenings.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:30am; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Stratford Road NE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 995-7545

Website:
http://www.mandarinoriental.com/atlanta/fine-dinin

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking with validation for guests dining in The Cafe & Bar.

Public Transit:
Buckhead stop on the Red Line with MARTA.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Café & Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for a Date (2)
See All
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
23 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The server was racist , she didn't check ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The server was racist , she didn't check on us , late serving ( the two tables who got in later than us had the food before us)or refilling water . However , she had the time talking to other people . Bad service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Stayed the night and ate at the restaura ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Stayed the night and ate at the restaurant with our two kids who are 11 and 8. The younger one was well catered for with a kids menu and the older one loved the fish on the menu. The restaurant was very comfortable and quiet. The service was excellent and friendly as well as professional. The menu was a little limited but all excellent.

As with most hotel restaurants it was pretty pricey but worth it for a treat. Great place for a romantic city break.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing 2 parties in restaurant Wi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Disappointing

2 parties in restaurant

Wine selection limited

Food cold and mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My first time here, at my wife suggestio ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2016

My first time here, at my wife suggestion, and we'll be back! Loved that it was a peaceful, attentive, delicious experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lack of service

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2016

No one at valet parking. Had to wait 10 minutes for the host or hostess to sit us.

Short on service employee. Waited too long for our meal. Two other tables that we were ahead of got their food first? The employee that was there tried to his best. Just needed more employee. I expected more from mandarin hotel.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Valentine's Day

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Made reservations and was told 3 hrs before that they only had one menu of items for Valentine's Day . Then once we decided we didn't want that menu they not only made us move but only had bar food available . Never again but our second waitress Lauren was excellent but the first one in the dinning area (African American) wasn't very pleasant

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Marginal... But expect to pay 20% "SVC Charge"

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Could have gotten comparable service and food everywhere in Atlanta. We expected more from the Mandarin Oriental. Only one waiter was working on Valentine's Day... (he did get assistance from some of the hotel staff)... the compulsory 20% "service charge" that was added to our table (just the 2 of us) along with inadequate or poorly trained valets, sealed our opinions that we would not return....

M.O., you have got to improve in Atlanta... There are so many better options in this premium price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

What a pleasant surprise.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a great time at the Mandarin Oriental Cafe & Bar. We decided to go here as an early Valentines Day treat to ourselves. We thought that we would not run into the same crowds that we might have at other restaurants. We could not have been more pleased. We basically had the entire restaurant to ourselves. We ordered the Caprese Flatbread and the tomatoes were on point. Additionally, we ordered the Scallop appetizer. It was just the right amount. For our entrees we ordered the Crab Cakes and the Indian Butter Chicken. Perfect portions and cooked to perfection. It's a great place, and we will be back for both the food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food. Only if service could matc ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Awesome food. Only if service could match up. Very classy setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Not thanksgiving!

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 26, 2015

Poor value. Went for thanksgiving brunch. Price was $220 for two. Had none of the food you would anticipate with thanksgiving other than turkey. No sweet potatoes, no dressing, no mashed potatoes. Just a real let down overall. If your going to say thanksgiving brunch, please have thanksgiving food.

Seated next to 3 piece band with horn, just way to loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

Disappointed

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2015

Mandarin Oriental is normally a 5-star establishment across the board. The cafe at this location seems to be an afterthought. The cafe is small and the menu is limited as compared with other Mandarin Oriental locations. Management at this location don't appear to have much interest in improving it either. The staff that was present was excellent and working very hard to take care of the customers, but they were understaffed. The food was good but not very interesting.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great service and great food

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2015

The maitre d and the entire staff were so professional and considerate, I would definitely be going back. I had an egg white frittata and it was delicious, my friend had crab cakes and loved it. The smiles from the servers and their constant checking in was some delightful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too pricy!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 24, 2015

The food was tasty but too expensive for what it was. Main course was rice with only a few very small bits of meat with 2 Dorito sized chips (papadam).. Drinks were 40% expensive more than at comparable restaurants. Physical plant was attractive and quiet. (Almost no one there) It doesn't surprise me since I do not think it is good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Nice place

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 11, 2015

Small restaurant tucked away in a boutique hotel. We ate breakfast and dinner during our stay. Very good meals, attentive staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Meal

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 1, 2015

We really enjoyed Sunday brunch. Nice wine list, and the short rib and eggs were delicious. Quiet and great decor. Surprised more Atlanta folks don't know about this!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine Day Special

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Dinner was amazing, servicer was attentive, maybe too attentive...

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Holiday Brunch

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2014

Lovely setting for a holiday brunch with dear friends! Perfect ambience for conversation and an attentive staff, delicious food, with a festive and beautiful decor. We enjoyed our mid-morning breakfast and never felt rushed nor ignored. This is one of the most beautiful settings for a quiet meal in Atlanta!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cafe is perfect for a business lunch or ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2014

Cafe is perfect for a business lunch or ladies luncheon - for anyone who wants a quiet conversation. Delicious dining options. perfect, unobtrusive service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Better places

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2014

I had the crab cake and it was way more cake than crab. For the price, it at least should have been really good cake, but that wasn't the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Quiet

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2014

We were looking for a quiet place where we could talk. This is one of the best quiet places. The food is very good, but not outstanding. It's a little expensive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

exceeded my expectations

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 23, 2014

We tried The Cafe during Buckhead Restaurant Week. Hotel cafes are usually overpriced and "good" at best. Our experience was terrific. The buffalo mozzarella, Steelhead salmon and Asian pear tart were all delicious and a great value ($35 fixe prix). Our server, Lauren, was helpful, attentive. I was very pleased with the food and service. Try it!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice scenery. Only!!!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 1, 2014

The scenery is nice. The parking is crazy busy and in tight space since the share their space with another restaurant. The food was terrible. Nothing really nice to say. The food had no seasoning and tasted like something that would be served at a hospital. I left feeling hungry. And the salad was nothing but a head of lettuce chopped in half with dressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Perfect

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2014

Great Food, Great Service. Server went way out of her way to make us happy. Just perfect. Her recommendations were right on!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.