Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

The Café & Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta

4.7
45 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Afternoon Coffee
  • Good for Birthdays
Complementing Atlanta’s acclaim of being home to the ‘New South’s’ gourmet evolution, The Café & Bar is a sophisticated meeting place for delicious breakfasts, power lunches and elegant dinners.

Inspired by modern American cuisine, the menu offers a flavorful array of locally sourced ingredients of the highest quality. A cozy retreat for pre-or post-dinner drinks, The Bar serves hand-crafted cocktails and vintage wines. For a light snack our bar menu offers a selection of small bites and plates to share. We also have a cigar bar and fire pits, and an incredible selection of fine cognacs, scotches and wines.

In keeping with our Oriental heritage, the hotel also offers a weekly Dim Sum Brunch served buffet-style every Sunday from 10am to 2pm. The brunch features a selection of steamed and fried Dim Sum, weekly specials such as Shanghai Fried Rice and Stir-Fried Bok Choy and loose-leaf teas including Jasmine White Blossom, Shanghai Rose and Imperial Green.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Wine Bar, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast:
6:30am to 10:30am - Monday to Friday
7am to 10:30am - Saturday
7am to 10am - Sunday

Lunch:
11am to 3pm - Monday to Saturday

Brunch:
10am to 2pm - Sunday

Dinner:
5pm to 10pm - Monday to Sunday

Bar:
3pm to 11pm - Sunday to Thursday
3pm to 12am - Friday and Saturday

Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years Eve Special Events and Menus!
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(404) 995-7500
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Stratford Road NE
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking with validation for guests dining in The Cafe & Bar.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Buckhead stop on the Red Line with MARTA.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 45 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.8
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Service was either checking on us every five minutes by different staff members to the point it was distracting and couldn’t complete a sentence or even look at menu. Food ordered was incorrect in addition I had to ask for check multiple times wait 20+ Mins for it to be wrong and physically get up twice to ask for me check then to give staff member card so we could leave.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 19, 2018

We received a gift card and decided to have our anniversary dinner at the Mandarin. The service was impeccable, the food -just ok. Pricey and IMO, very overratted.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

It was my daughters birthday and the staff went out of their way to make her feel special and accommodate our dietary requests. Thanks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

The food and the service was GREAT!! Planning my next meal!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Food was very good, and great ambiance. I would recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Went to MO for Christmas Brunch and was pleasantly surprised at the great selection of food and the first class service we received from the car valet to our waitress.

The worst thing was the buffet was the beef tenderloin ( very tough) and the best thing on the menu was the champagne.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 25, 2017

We went on Christmas Day and the meal was a huge buffet. Everything was delicious, but who can eat that much food? Because it was Christmas, the price was expensive and it had to be paid in advance. That's understandable. The staff was not as well trained as they should have been. For that price the service should have been better. Great food though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Best hotel in Atlanta and wonderful service in the restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

This was my first time there and it was very nice food was good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

Excellent for Thanksgiving. Wonderful and attentive wait staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2017

Awesome. Great

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Food was terrible not many people in Restraunt it had a beautiful setting but overpriced and not very good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 9, 2017

Winfield makes everything here great. He is a master of great hospitality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 30, 2017

Delicious! I enjoyed a bento box with lots of yummy food. The ambiance and service was impeccable. We will definitely be coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2017

It was our 45th anniversary and the dim sum brunch was wonderful. We were treated so incredibly - even a surprise dessert. We loved it and give it the highest praise. It was fun and decadent and so very enjoyable. We will hopefully be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch!!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2017

The dining room must be a walk through pathway to the bar and gardens. We had a young man come though walking his bike, a small dog loose running through the dining room, and a large golden being walked on a leash by a woman through the restaurant. Extremely weird set up for a restaurant in a nice hotel. Food and service was good, just a funny experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2017

First of all you will want to make reservations. Atlanta is a bustling busy city.
They could really use a hostess to seat people as it's a bit awkward standing around looking as if you're lost. Hint, walk all the way in to be seen. They're not ignoring you. They have a small staff so if you're in a hurry or just an impatient sort who needs a lot of attention this Hotel restaurant / bar may frustrate you.
I waited patiently and it was only about 10 minute wait for service. The staff are attentive, courteous and genuinely caring.
My order was fulfilled incorrectly but we were relaxed and engaged in conversation so I didn't really notice the extra few minutes to correct. The Server was super apologetic and poured us some champagne on the house and at the end of dinner he deducted my dinner from my bill for the mistake which was not necessary but it was a nice touch.
The cuisine was exquisite. The atmosphere is relaxed and quiet.
It doesn't seem to me to be a super busy place and it seems their customers are primarily guests or residents of the hotel.
Perhaps that's how they want it. Having mentioned that it's a perfect (out of the main stream) location to get a table for your special occasion when the rest of the city is fighting to get theirs.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 11, 2017

The hotel is beautiful and the restaurant is very nice. BUT the restaurant lacks completely customer service skills. You get seated and wait FOREVER for someone to come. Sometimes you don't even get seated, you have to seat yourself. Hotel is 4 stars but the restaurant has service and the skills of the servers are fit for a motel on the side of the road. They need some serious staff retraining. Every table around us was always complaining of something! For sure will not be back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 25, 2016

This is the first time we were at this restaurant. We were very negatively surprised by the poor service and quite unimpressive menu. I though that coming to this restaurant would be a treat for our special occasion but we were very disappointed. So much so that I did not think that that establishment/service/food deserved any tip at all. A first for me.
Needless to say we are not coming back.

PS: on the other hand the furniture and the building looked quite nice. The valet parking was very good too.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 23, 2016

Received a gift card for this restaurant and was very disappointed at the experience. I thought this was an "upscale" restaurant so was shocked when we were told to seat ourself when we walked in. The bartender came from behind the bar to get our drink order. The waiter was less than enthusiastic about the menu when we asked for recommendations. The fish (snapper) was so fishy tasting, I had to send back. My husband's dish (short ribs) were good. Will not be going back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2016

It is a very elegant environment and the staff was amazing. Upon being seated I informed the hostess it was my wife's birthday and within minutes they delivered a full glass of champagne on the house.

For dinner my wife had the risotto and I the sea bass, both dishes were full of flavor and wonderful. After dinner they sent out a tasty chocolate cherry cake treat for my wife again on the house.

The staff and chief had truly made the evening memorable. We can't thank them enough.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 8, 2016

The server was racist , she didn't check on us , late serving ( the two tables who got in later than us had the food before us)or refilling water . However , she had the time talking to other people . Bad service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2016

Stayed the night and ate at the restaurant with our two kids who are 11 and 8. The younger one was well catered for with a kids menu and the older one loved the fish on the menu. The restaurant was very comfortable and quiet. The service was excellent and friendly as well as professional. The menu was a little limited but all excellent.
As with most hotel restaurants it was pretty pricey but worth it for a treat. Great place for a romantic city break.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 10, 2016

Disappointing
2 parties in restaurant
Wine selection limited
Food cold and mediocre

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2016

My first time here, at my wife suggestion, and we'll be back! Loved that it was a peaceful, attentive, delicious experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2016

No one at valet parking. Had to wait 10 minutes for the host or hostess to sit us.
Short on service employee. Waited too long for our meal. Two other tables that we were ahead of got their food first? The employee that was there tried to his best. Just needed more employee. I expected more from mandarin hotel.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Made reservations and was told 3 hrs before that they only had one menu of items for Valentine's Day . Then once we decided we didn't want that menu they not only made us move but only had bar food available . Never again but our second waitress Lauren was excellent but the first one in the dinning area (African American) wasn't very pleasant

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Could have gotten comparable service and food everywhere in Atlanta. We expected more from the Mandarin Oriental. Only one waiter was working on Valentine's Day... (he did get assistance from some of the hotel staff)... the compulsory 20% "service charge" that was added to our table (just the 2 of us) along with inadequate or poorly trained valets, sealed our opinions that we would not return....

M.O., you have got to improve in Atlanta... There are so many better options in this premium price range.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a great time at the Mandarin Oriental Cafe & Bar. We decided to go here as an early Valentines Day treat to ourselves. We thought that we would not run into the same crowds that we might have at other restaurants. We could not have been more pleased. We basically had the entire restaurant to ourselves. We ordered the Caprese Flatbread and the tomatoes were on point. Additionally, we ordered the Scallop appetizer. It was just the right amount. For our entrees we ordered the Crab Cakes and the Indian Butter Chicken. Perfect portions and cooked to perfection. It's a great place, and we will be back for both the food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2016

Awesome food. Only if service could match up. Very classy setting.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 26, 2015

Poor value. Went for thanksgiving brunch. Price was $220 for two. Had none of the food you would anticipate with thanksgiving other than turkey. No sweet potatoes, no dressing, no mashed potatoes. Just a real let down overall. If your going to say thanksgiving brunch, please have thanksgiving food.

Seated next to 3 piece band with horn, just way to loud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 25, 2015

Mandarin Oriental is normally a 5-star establishment across the board. The cafe at this location seems to be an afterthought. The cafe is small and the menu is limited as compared with other Mandarin Oriental locations. Management at this location don't appear to have much interest in improving it either. The staff that was present was excellent and working very hard to take care of the customers, but they were understaffed. The food was good but not very interesting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2015

The maitre d and the entire staff were so professional and considerate, I would definitely be going back. I had an egg white frittata and it was delicious, my friend had crab cakes and loved it. The smiles from the servers and their constant checking in was some delightful

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2015

The food was tasty but too expensive for what it was. Main course was rice with only a few very small bits of meat with 2 Dorito sized chips (papadam).. Drinks were 40% expensive more than at comparable restaurants. Physical plant was attractive and quiet. (Almost no one there) It doesn't surprise me since I do not think it is good value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2015

Small restaurant tucked away in a boutique hotel. We ate breakfast and dinner during our stay. Very good meals, attentive staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2015

We really enjoyed Sunday brunch. Nice wine list, and the short rib and eggs were delicious. Quiet and great decor. Surprised more Atlanta folks don't know about this!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2015

Dinner was amazing, servicer was attentive, maybe too attentive...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2014

Lovely setting for a holiday brunch with dear friends! Perfect ambience for conversation and an attentive staff, delicious food, with a festive and beautiful decor. We enjoyed our mid-morning breakfast and never felt rushed nor ignored. This is one of the most beautiful settings for a quiet meal in Atlanta!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 6, 2014

Cafe is perfect for a business lunch or ladies luncheon - for anyone who wants a quiet conversation. Delicious dining options. perfect, unobtrusive service.

Report
Helpful
1
2