Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Cabin

The Cabin features complimentary parking, weekly seafood specials, and happy hour at the Steamboat Grand Hotel. The vast menu spans fresh salads, entrees, sandwiches and burgers. Truly something for every taste. It’s a place that is all about fun, value, quality ingredients, served with a hearty helping of Steamboat’s warm hospitality and friendly service.

2300 Mt. Werner Circle
The Grand Hotel
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Served daily:
Breakfast: 7 - 10:45 am
Happy Hour: 4-6 pm
Dinner: 5:30-9 pm

Cross Street:
Burgess Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 871-5550

Website:
http://www.steamboat.com/things-to-do/dining/the-cabin

Parking Details:
Free valet for diners at the Cabin at the Grand Hotel.

Public Transit:
The free city bus and lodging shuttles stop at the Transit center, 1/2 block from The Cabin Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ariel Robney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Join us for a special Christmas Eve Dinner Buffet at the Cabin.

Adult/Teen $69 Youth 6-12 $19 Child 0-5 $0 Tax, tip and alcohol additional. In accordance with our 48 hour cancellation policy, a credit card required to book.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

Make family memories with a special Christmas Dinner Buffet at the Cabin
Adult/Teen $69 Youth 6-12 $19 Child 0-5 $0 Tax, tip and alcohol additional. In accordance with our cancellation policy, a credit card is required to book.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Enjoy New Year's Eve at the Cabin, with our regular menu, appetizers and cocktails.

The Cabin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

3.6

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

value

3.2

Noise

Moderate

58% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (27)
Special Occasion (24)
Kid-friendly (17)
See All
Romantic (14)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Scenic View (4)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort by
S
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Buffet was unorganized. Gravy was placed before mashed potato. Sweet potato dish was really low. Not much in the way of salads for Thanksgiving. Could include salad plates. Could of had more than one roll selection. Green beans didn't taste as good as you would expect. For $52 we expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2017

We ate at the Cabin because of location only. We were staying at the Steamboat Grand, we got there around dinner, and it was the convenience of just going downstairs instead of heading back out into the cold to go into the town of Steamboat...where there are many great restaurants. The experience mirrored prior reviews that we had read so we knew it might not be great. That said, the food was actually OK...not fantastic, but definitely better than some of the reviews we had read. The service was where things were a bit sketchy. Or waiter was nice, friendly and relatively attentive but was not overly knowledgeable. When we ordered drinks he didn't tell us that there was an upcharge for the liquors we requested in our cocktails - our drinks ended up costing way more than we'd paid for in other nicer restaurants - $14 & $16! Also, when we asked the cost to add chickens to the salad, he said he thought the cost was an additional $4 (which I thought was low)...the actual cost was $6. These are small things but this is stuff most experienced waitstaff would be able to provide when ordering. He may have been new so the management really needs to work on training...particularly since their busy season is coming up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was cold. The breakfast brunch was terrible. The pancakes were hockey pucks. The tater tots were slimy and cold. Horrible experience. The waitress was pleasant. WOULD NEVER EVER GO BACK!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Loved the chicken entree!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Very very slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was amazing and I had a great meal. The restraunt had a good romantic vibe and was the perfect place to go.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fabulous Easter Brunch! Everything you could dream of and more :-)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We sent one of our meals back to the kitchen for being overdone but were happy with the replacement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Enjoyed the variety on the menu. Gluten free had nice choices

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

On vacation in Steamboat Springs & tried The Cabin. Never again. Hard to find from One Steamboat Place & was brightly lit like a diner. I can't believe this passed for Open Table. The onion soup was so salty I couldn't eat it. The entree was so spicy, it was inedible. The waitress was nice enough to not charge us 2 onion soups & my entree after telling us she tasted my food and agreed the chef went overboard with seasoning....actually tasted my food.
It was a very disappointing experience while vacationing with another couple.
We tried a much better one tonight. Mambo Italiano. Fresh, delicious, well prepared Italian food with great service. Worth a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was dreadful
The wait staff had no idea
Won't answer my complaints!
Never ever again, even after being offered free meals in the past and free desert in the future
Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great decor with an outdoor woods theme!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 27, 2017

While on winter vacation in Steamboat Springs The Cabin is always on our dining list. The atmosphere, food quality and the gracious attitude of the wait staff keep us returning. This visit did not disappoint us in any way!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had the most excellent experience. Even with five kids under the age of eight. Highly recommend!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Unfortunately the service was slow and the food wasn't great. The bread was soggy with way too much butter on our sandwich.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Exceptional food, excellent service at a fair price. I took a New Year's Eve date there for dinner and we had a great time. I highly recommend the Cabin!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 30, 2016

To start the hostess, Jules was the absolute best I've ever seen. She would stop and talk to us while we waited. She went above and beyond service when we had a request. Our waitress was adorable and oh so helpful. The food was fabulous. I had the lobster roll and it was incredible. My husband has the duck and my son had the filet. They both said it was very very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Horrible food and service. Food had no flavor and menu was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The staff is friendly and the decor is warm and inviting. Some of the food was cold, but most enjoyed what they ordered. There were six of us: sandwiches, shepherd pie, filet, vegetarian eggplant dish(tiny).

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Nice place and good menu. Wine list is nice too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food on the buffet for Christmas was delicious but the setting in the hallway in bright lights was not very cozy or inviting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I made this reservation months ago based on the menu. We were never informed that it would be a buffet until after our drinks were served. We were not told how much the buffet would cost per person. Also, the food choices were limited and had virtually nothing for kids. The price for the adult portion was very expensive. I would have appreciated knowing how much it was. I only found out when I got the bill. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving buffet and the first table we were seated at had cold air conditioning blowing down on us. They were great about giving us a different table. Re: food - it was a buffet so the cold food was good and the correct temperature, but all of the hot food was lukewarm. I guess it is hard to keep those serving trays heated with sterno. The person assigned to our table was friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The Cabin serves delicious, gourmet food with great service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The restaurant was nearly empty when we ate there, and our drinks came fairly quickly, but then our server didn't return for over 20 minutes to take our order, and we waited another 40 minutes for the food, which was marginal at best. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2016

My girlfriend & I visited the Cabin while staying in the hotel. There was no discount for staying at the lodge but we really didn't expect there to be. Everything was very good, we highly recommend the lobster mac & cheese & the parmesan crusted filet. Very good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been to the Cabin for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner as well as Easter brunch. Great food and the wait and food staff have all been kind and courteous. I would definitely recommend The Cabin especially on special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were there for Easter, we like the cabin, our 2nd time in a couple months. however, since it a buffet, I would suggest keep the hot dishes warm to hot & & the cold dishes cold.... If they would have done that... then they get a 4-5 rating.. now about a 3.53.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2016

manager asked us to fix the problems: food delivered 20 minutes apart, couldn't get wine serviced with meal, one the entries was cold, the replacement not properly cooked and staff not trained. will not go back, of course being empty on a busy Saturday should tell you something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was good, but WAY overpriced. The decor was very pretty. It was kid friendly and our meals were decent! My steak was nice and the kids enjoyed their meals. My husband ordered an entree and a salad. The server failed to mention that the salad was an entree salad which was a little annoying.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Love this restaurant, the food and service has been consistently very good over the years. We are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 30, 2016

It was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Fine food but SLOW service. We were a table of 8, a large party but only one of three in the whole restaurant. 30 minutes for drinks and over an hour wait for food. If they pick up the pace a bit, five stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We arrived a few minutes (10) early for our reservation for a group of 6, but were informed they would not be able to seat us until our reservation time. When we were seated, the restaurant was slightly over half filled. They also made the couple who did a walk-in just ahead of us sit in the bar area even though there were several empty 2- and 4-top tables.

The flowers on the table were wilted (and I mean drooping over the side of the vase wilted), and when the waiter was asked to replace them he did take them away but never brought a new vase.

The wine glasses had a film on them presumably from the dishwashing detergent, leaving a foamy residue across the surface of the wine. Asked and had them replaced.

I ordered the parmesan crusted filet mignon, medium rare. Was served what would be better defined as a medium 1/2 inch thick sirloin steak. The mashed potatoes were just plain mashed potatoes with no seasoning and no garnishments served alongside. The plate must have sat for some time before it was served as the potatoes had a dry outer-crust on them and along with the mixed greens were cold from the first bite.

My wife had the roast duck breast which was much better than the steak. Two of our party had the lobster mac-and-cheese which did come in an exceptionally large serving size.

Overall, I would expect much better of a restaurant at this price point. Would not recommend nor go there again myself.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2015

We ordered drinks before dinner, mine was a beer. other drinks came and were consumed, beer was delivered after the soup! When I advised server that i did not want beer now as we wanted wine she just laughed! After Entree when Dessert was ordered for other 2 dinners I ordered a Port. After they had finished dessert and I asked where was port, server then decided to order from bar and delivered same. Very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Did not honor our reservation time.
Then sat another party before us and had told us that the table was not available yet.
Food overprized for what it was and service very slow.

Never returning to The Cabin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2015

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner buffet and he nicest waitress ever, this was our 5th Annual Holiday week @Steamboat and one of the best. We use ally going on town but we will be back to the Cabin. Thanks for making our holiday delightful ! The Bentley's

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2015

We had a party of 8 and clearly this restaurant was not ready to be open for the season yet. While the restaurant looks very charming with the Aspen Tree décor, it turned out to have a very limited menu which differed greatly from what the online version showed, and from the 4 or (maybe 5) main courses that were offered, we were advised that the risotto was actually no longer on the menu as it was basically not very good. From the limited wine list, the first 2 selections were not in stock. After the initial pour of the wine we finally selected, the bottle was left on the table and we were advised to pour our own as the server did not want guess how we wanted the wine distributed after that. No offer to decant a $135 bottle of Cab. The food was incredibly salty especially the edamame and the main chicken dish. Veggie sides on some dishes were very over cooked while same veggies on others were very under cooked, with the carrots being basically raw. Those that selected the filet (4 of us) were happy with the meat itself. They began cleaning the restaurant while several tables were still eating and it was only about 8:45 or 9:00 pm. Overall, I would encourage you to look for dining alternatives to this restaurant as Steamboat has many other offerings if you are looking for an enjoyable experience - not at all worth the $500 price tag for 8 people (includes tip).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 6, 2015

They tout themselves as fine dining, but limited menu would be ok if what was served was actually good. Prime rib not good at all. Bar drink terrible. And ambiance was so bad there were people there in swim suits. Didn't make me feel like it was worth the money I paid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 4, 2015

We went there for the 4th of July and the Luau was worth every penny and they had games set up for the kids. After dinner we had a great view of the fireworks. It was a great day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.