About The Cabin

2300 Mt. Werner Circle
The Grand Hotel
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
View Larger Map

The Cabin features complimentary parking, weekly seafood specials, and happy hour at the Steamboat Grand Hotel. The vast menu spans fresh salads, entrees, sandwiches and burgers. Truly something for every taste. It’s a place that is all about fun, value, quality ingredients, served with a hearty helping of Steamboat’s warm hospitality and friendly service.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 10:30am
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Burgess Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 871-5550

Website:
http://www.steamboat.com/things-to-do/dining/the-cabin

Parking Details:
Free valet for diners at the Cabin at the Grand Hotel.

Public Transit:
The free city bus and lodging shuttles stop at the Transit center, 1/2 block from The Cabin Restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Erik Hyslop

Private Party Facilities:
Banquet facilities and meeting rooms are available.

Private Party Contact:
Shannon Ford: 9708715545x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Cabin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

2.5

ambience

3.0

noise

Quiet

0% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
Newest
27 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant was nearly empty when we ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The restaurant was nearly empty when we ate there, and our drinks came fairly quickly, but then our server didn't return for over 20 minutes to take our order, and we waited another 40 minutes for the food, which was marginal at best. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

A very good hotel restaurant.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My girlfriend & I visited the Cabin while staying in the hotel. There was no discount for staying at the lodge but we really didn't expect there to be. Everything was very good, we highly recommend the lobster mac & cheese & the parmesan crusted filet. Very good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to the Cabin for Thanksgivi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been to the Cabin for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner as well as Easter brunch. Great food and the wait and food staff have all been kind and courteous. I would definitely recommend The Cabin especially on special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for Easter, we like the ca ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were there for Easter, we like the cabin, our 2nd time in a couple months. however, since it a buffet, I would suggest keep the hot dishes warm to hot & & the cold dishes cold.... If they would have done that... then they get a 4-5 rating.. now about a 3.53.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

the place has gone down hill

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

manager asked us to fix the problems: food delivered 20 minutes apart, couldn't get wine serviced with meal, one the entries was cold, the replacement not properly cooked and staff not trained. will not go back, of course being empty on a busy Saturday should tell you something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food good, but overpriced

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was good, but WAY overpriced. The decor was very pretty. It was kid friendly and our meals were decent! My steak was nice and the kids enjoyed their meals. My husband ordered an entree and a salad. The server failed to mention that the salad was an entree salad which was a little annoying.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

It was amazing!!!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

It was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine food but SLOW service. We were a ta ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Fine food but SLOW service. We were a table of 8, a large party but only one of three in the whole restaurant. 30 minutes for drinks and over an hour wait for food. If they pick up the pace a bit, five stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Overpriced for a pretentious half-empty restaurant

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We arrived a few minutes (10) early for our reservation for a group of 6, but were informed they would not be able to seat us until our reservation time. When we were seated, the restaurant was slightly over half filled. They also made the couple who did a walk-in just ahead of us sit in the bar area even though there were several empty 2- and 4-top tables.

The flowers on the table were wilted (and I mean drooping over the side of the vase wilted), and when the waiter was asked to replace them he did take them away but never brought a new vase.

The wine glasses had a film on them presumably from the dishwashing detergent, leaving a foamy residue across the surface of the wine. Asked and had them replaced.

I ordered the parmesan crusted filet mignon, medium rare. Was served what would be better defined as a medium 1/2 inch thick sirloin steak. The mashed potatoes were just plain mashed potatoes with no seasoning and no garnishments served alongside. The plate must have sat for some time before it was served as the potatoes had a dry outer-crust on them and along with the mixed greens were cold from the first bite.

My wife had the roast duck breast which was much better than the steak. Two of our party had the lobster mac-and-cheese which did come in an exceptionally large serving size.

Overall, I would expect much better of a restaurant at this price point. Would not recommend nor go there again myself.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Dissapointing

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Did not honor our reservation time.

Then sat another party before us and had told us that the table was not available yet.

Food overprized for what it was and service very slow.

Never returning to The Cabin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Server was very unprofessional.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

We ordered drinks before dinner, mine was a beer. other drinks came and were consumed, beer was delivered after the soup! When I advised server that i did not want beer now as we wanted wine she just laughed! After Entree when Dessert was ordered for other 2 dinners I ordered a Port. After they had finished dessert and I asked where was port, server then decided to order from bar and delivered same. Very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Our 2015 Holiday Eve Dinner w. My Lovely husband

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner buffet and he nicest waitress ever, this was our 5th Annual Holiday week @Steamboat and one of the best. We use ally going on town but we will be back to the Cabin. Thanks for making our holiday delightful ! The Bentley's

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sadly, a Major Let-Down

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

We had a party of 8 and clearly this restaurant was not ready to be open for the season yet. While the restaurant looks very charming with the Aspen Tree décor, it turned out to have a very limited menu which differed greatly from what the online version showed, and from the 4 or (maybe 5) main courses that were offered, we were advised that the risotto was actually no longer on the menu as it was basically not very good. From the limited wine list, the first 2 selections were not in stock. After the initial pour of the wine we finally selected, the bottle was left on the table and we were advised to pour our own as the server did not want guess how we wanted the wine distributed after that. No offer to decant a $135 bottle of Cab. The food was incredibly salty especially the edamame and the main chicken dish. Veggie sides on some dishes were very over cooked while same veggies on others were very under cooked, with the carrots being basically raw. Those that selected the filet (4 of us) were happy with the meat itself. They began cleaning the restaurant while several tables were still eating and it was only about 8:45 or 9:00 pm. Overall, I would encourage you to look for dining alternatives to this restaurant as Steamboat has many other offerings if you are looking for an enjoyable experience - not at all worth the $500 price tag for 8 people (includes tip).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Not very good

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

They tout themselves as fine dining, but limited menu would be ok if what was served was actually good. Prime rib not good at all. Bar drink terrible. And ambiance was so bad there were people there in swim suits. Didn't make me feel like it was worth the money I paid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Fantastic

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 5, 2015

We went there for the 4th of July and the Luau was worth every penny and they had games set up for the kids. After dinner we had a great view of the fireworks. It was a great day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was spot on. Food was very good ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 11, 2015

Service was spot on. Food was very good and portions were great. The salad selection had a lot to offer.

Wine list was ample.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Disappointed

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 11, 2015

Our second trip to The Cabin was nowhere as nice as our first a few years ago. We had reservations and were on time but still had to wait 5+ minutes for them to "set our table". We were seated at the very back of the restaurant in a room with 3 tables of large parties of 12+ people. Needless to say service was extremely poor. Server was nice but had no control over situation. Received soup & salad 40 mins after we were seated and soup was lukewarm. Main entrees good but then it took forever to get check. They did take our soup & salad off the final bill when we complained when asked how the dinner was but that took another 15 minutes to get taken care of. The Cabin is spoken of highly in Steamboat but our expectations were not met by a long shot. Considering the cost of our dinner, we would not recommend The Cabin and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Not as good as the reviews.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 10, 2015

We ate here based upon the positive reviews. The baked goods, especially the pretzels, were very good. The main courses were underwhelming, especially the pasta dish. Out of five orders, only one was acceptable, and that was a sandwich - made with the good baked goods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Nice place for dinner

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 8, 2015

Our family of five had a pretty good dinner. We had a reservation and were seated right on time. The staff was very friendly. The food was pretty good. We liked the food better when we ate here last year. The seared tuna was not very good at all (a bit on the mushy side) but the rib eye was very good. The fried mac and cheese was also very good! Overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was good. The waitress was plea ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

The food was good. The waitress was pleasant and would have been attentive if she hadn't had about 8 tables seated within 15 minutes of each other; unfortunately, she didn't have much help, even with the tasks of bread and refilling drinks. The noise level was very loud. There was a large group at the bar when we came in and we were able to request a table at the back. But soon every table was filled, and almost all were families. I usually don't label a Resturant both romantic and kid-friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Just a slightly fancier Ruby Tuesday's

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

The crab soup had a strong spice that overpowered the dish. It was watery and the crab bits were clearly from frozen crab. The onion soup did not have enough broth and was overly salted. The ribs had way too much sauce and were rubbed with something so hot I had to stop eating after two ribs. Usually I can take a moderate amount of heat, but this was way more than I could do and not pointed out on the menu. The filet was okay, although it was over peppered. The flour less pudding with cherries was gross. So much cinnamon that it was in edible. We felt like the whole dinner was just spiced out of wack. The only things good were the bread and the creme brûlée.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Disappointed

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on December 27, 2014

This was our third dining experience at The Cabin and we could have not been more disappointed. It started off with the server bringing us two pieces of bread stating that they were running out. My wife's scallops were so salty that she was unable to eat it them. My daughter ordered a ceasar salad without the anchovies and to our surprise it came with them. I ordered a Jordan 2010 at the beginning of the dinner and had to remind the server twice that we wanted the wine opened. It came 1 hour into the exhausting two and a half hour meal. When we finished our meal we had our dinner plates sitting at least 40 minutes in front of us without anybody clearing the table. We were offered complementary dessert at the end of the meal as the server obviuosly felt that the experience was lacking. The Cabin is unfortunately not worthy of my recommendation. Too many other very good establishments in the Steamboat area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

very over priced for the options availab ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 26, 2014

very over priced for the options available on the buffett

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

The Cabin was a wonderful restaurant. The food

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 22, 2014

and service were outstanding. We will definitely be back. Thanks!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but a little noisy

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 28, 2014

I wish the hostess would have seated us (a couple) in a quieter part of the restaurant. We were in an area with several big groups of people, lots of unruly kids....and as we walked to the buffet on Thanksgiving, we noted that further back in the restaurant there were several tables in a much quieter section.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Never had a worse thanksgiving diner in my life.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

The food was of the lowest quality, nothing seemed to be made fresh, all pre-packaged food, then heated. Worth about $8.99 not $59.99

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 22, 2014

The drinks were made wrong after specific directions were given. Rose's lime juice was old and tasted like it. The waitress was stretched very thin and forgot the check after she said she'd be right back with it. Very limited menu and the special's should be written down and in the menu's

so you can think about them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.