About The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room

800 Benvenuto Ave
Brentwood Bay, BC V8M 1J8
View Larger Map

Enjoy the stunning floral display gardens, plus the restaurant's historic surroundings and contemporary, fresh local foods. Located in the original Butchart family residence, you can experience spectacular views of the Private Garden, the Italian Garden and Tod Inlet. Indulge in Afternoon Tea in our Spring and Summer seasons, or our High Tea which offers more warm savories from October through the winter months. Lunch and dinner are served seasonally with a strong presence of local sustainable ingredients. Choose from our award winning showcase of Vancouver Island wines. Enjoy adding to your awareness and appreciation of local grapes and vintners. Please note that admission to The Butchart Gardens is required in order to access The Dining Room Restaurant. Our current admission rates are at www.butchartgardens.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Afternoon Tea, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon Tea:
April 1 - 30: 12:00pm - 3:00pm daily
May 1 - Sept 30: 12:00pm - 4:30pm daily
October 1 - 15: 12:00 - 3:00pm daily

High Tea:
12:00pm - 3:00pm daily (served December 1 - December 22 and December 28 - March 31)

Lunch:
11:30am - 3:00pm daily (served April 1 - September 30)

Dinner:
5:00pm - 8:00pm daily (served June 15 - September 15 & December 1 - January 6)

Christmas Day High Tea 1:00pm - 2:30pm; Christmas Dinner 4:00pm - 7:30pm

Please note The Dining Room will be closed October 15 - November 30 2016

Cross Street:
Wallace Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 652-8222

Website:
http://www.butchartgardens.com/dining/dining-room

Entertainment:
The Butchart Gardens Entertainment Calendar can be found at http://www.butchartgardens.com/activities/calendar/

Parking Details:
The Dining Room Restaurant is located within The Butchart Gardens, so admission to The Gardens is required. You will be guided to your complimentary parking spot.

During the busiest holiday season dates (December 18 to January 1) those arriving between 5 pm and 7 pm may have to wait 30 minutes or more to pay and park. Please plan your visit accordingly.

Public Transit:
From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit
http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt

Executive Chef:
Travis Hansen

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Great for Lunch
Vancouver / British Columbia
Special Occasion
Vancouver / British Columbia
10 More
Best Overall
Victoria
Best Food
Victoria
Best Service
Victoria
Best Ambiance
Victoria
Best Value
Victoria
Fit for Foodies
Victoria
Romantic
Victoria
Scenic View
Victoria
Special Occasion
Victoria
Most Booked
Victoria
Best Restaurants in Central Saanich ›

scenic view (184)
special occasion (184)
great for lunch (125)
See All
romantic (116)
fit for foodies (96)
great for outdoor dining (80)
great for brunch (69)
neighborhood gem (37)
good for groups (36)
kid-friendly (20)
notable wine list (11)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea and ev ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea and everyone was on point! Excellent service, delicious spread and lovely setting!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was a positive experience how ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Overall it was a positive experience however we were disappointed with our table location. We had made a reservation months in advance and were stuck in the corner--told there were no other tables available either outside or in the glass windowed area.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

You can't ask for a more gorgeous settin ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

You can't ask for a more gorgeous setting for tea. We thoroughly enjoyed and my boys appreciated the fact that the ladies could order tea while they chose more standard lunch fare. A great way to celebrate a young lady's birthday. Was hoping for more of the rose essence in the tea, but everything else was tasty. Loved their house made ginger scone with clotted cream and jam.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We were very happy with our dining exper ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were very happy with our dining experience. Our party actually arrived quite early and when we asked if we could be seated earlier the hostess accommodated our request. The foodwasdelicious. Ourwaitress was very knowledgeable and with ourchoices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not enough food for the price - we still ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Not enough food for the price - we still left hungry after having salad and dinner

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Dinner was incredible and they were ver ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner was incredible and they were very accommodating to my daughters special food restrictions. We sat on the patio and had a wonderful view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we enjoyed the idea of tea at Butc ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

While we enjoyed the idea of tea at Butchart Gardens, it did not live up to our expectations. Service was slow, beverage tea was so so and same with the food. I was somewhat disappointed not to have "fancy dishes" and traditional servings of savories and sandwiches. While many enjoy changing it up, we are more of the traditional tea types. My friend disliked her green tea and I am a real lover of traditional "British Blend" black tea and I felt it was weak - possibly not enough leaves in the pot. While I would not do this again, I am happy that we tried it while enjoying the beauty of Butchart Gardens.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

We had a memorable anniversary dinner at ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a memorable anniversary dinner at Butchart Gardens with a lovely table on the balcony/veranda. It helped that the weather was spectacular as well! Added to our delicious meal was a lovely concert by the Victoria Symphony. A real gem, not to be overlooked by locals.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were seated outside in a beautiful da ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were seated outside in a beautiful day and it was lovely. Very quiet and obviously beautiful surroundings. I did walk inside and it appeared loud but manageable.

Food was very good, service a little slow on beverage refill but otherwise a great experience and I would recommend dining there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great as always; when the weather's nice ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great as always; when the weather's nice perfect place to

Sit outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

There couldn't be a prettier location an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

There couldn't be a prettier location and the food would have been wonderful anywhere. We each had a specialty cocktail, which were delicious and garnished with bits of flower. Salad was large enough to split. Both entrees (ling cod and pork chop) were excellent, prepared with care, presented beautifully, and absolutely delicious. We opted for a cappuccino martini and rhubarb pound cake for dessert. Both were so tasty and so pretty to look at. This is a definite special occasion restaurant. It is $$$, but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely view of the gardens and lake, sat ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lovely view of the gardens and lake, sat on the terrace. Excellent and professional service - welcoming staff. Reasonably good value afternoon tea and perfect for a special occasion - the sandwiches and pastries were truly excellent, however, the cakes were a little lacklustre and oversweet - two types (the seed cake and the battenburg) were very dry, perhaps suggesting they'd been cut and sat out a while before service. The tea was also on the weak side and the bread was too sweet for our taste! Perhaps I'm being very picky but it wasn't quite as good as other afternoon teas we've enjoyed!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is fabulous but the menu is ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The ambiance is fabulous but the menu is limited, expensive for what you get and I found the food mediocre. I have been for tea before and it was better.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

We went for afternoon tea as a birthday ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went for afternoon tea as a birthday treat for my mum and mother-in-law, a yearly occasion for us. Although the majority of the tea was very tasty, they seem to have an on-going problem with the bread going hard on the sandwiches. Despite that, the rest of the tea was lovely, had a wonderful server and was seated outside for the first time and loved it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food in a splendid setting overloo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food in a splendid setting overlooking the gardens

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My aunt and I had a wonderful afternoon ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

My aunt and I had a wonderful afternoon tea time. Recommend highly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! Unexpected highlight--bald eag ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Loved it! Unexpected highlight--bald eagle flying by as we relaxed at our table outside during our meal. Amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dinner here when ever we're on V ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We have dinner here when ever we're on Vancouver Island. On this occasion, we brought cousins and they were very impressed, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our anniversary dinner ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We really enjoyed our anniversary dinner. Lovely evening on the outdoor balcony. Great food!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family enjoyed eating at The Dining R ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My family enjoyed eating at The Dining Room in Butchart Gardens. The atmosphere was lovely and the food was delicious.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed afternoon tea for the first time ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Enjoyed afternoon tea for the first time and it was awesome. Great presentation, selection and tastes in an awesome location. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ask for a table in the garden if the day ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Ask for a table in the garden if the day is nice...they have balcony seating which is quite nice. I was in the littlest room with a fountain visible through the windows. I thought it was really lovely, but my guests wished I had requested a outdoor table. Mentioning it here- so you know you could ask for such a table. :)

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Over priced and over rated by my account ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Over priced and over rated by my account. Beautiful setting but a rather limited menu. For the money, try one of the other options at the gardens.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent service and atmosphere. Highly ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent service and atmosphere. Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We made a 2:30 reservation expecting to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We made a 2:30 reservation expecting to have a late lunch, but when we saw the afternoon tea menu there was no doubt that we would have the afternoon tea. It was beautifully prepared and presented. Our favorites were the sausage roll, cucumber with ginger cream cheese sandwich, and the chicken curry sandwich. The desserts were beautiful. The marzipan encased cake was dreamy. The scone was a beautiful ending. We also ordered one pairing (spirits) to add to our enjoyment. The beautiful porch was a perfect setting for our dining experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, great food, great service, b ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always, great food, great service, beautiful scenery. Very willing to accommodate high tea substitutions for my four year old daughter. Only negative was that I requested a window seat and instead was seated right in the middle of the dining room next to the washroom.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A large family get trip to Victoria and ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A large family get trip to Victoria and we had to do High Tea at a special location and Butchart was the perfect place. We had no wait for out table. Service was awesome, food was great and every little detail seemed to have been addressed. Every member of the family loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing high tea, very supportive of glu ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Amazing high tea, very supportive of gluten alleries--gave me the same exquisite dining experience as those with a regular tea. Unforgettable ambiance and experience. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First, make reservations so you wont be ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

First, make reservations so you wont be disappointed at not getting a table.

We sat outside with a view of the lawn facing the Garden's dock in the distance. My wife was enthralled and just delighted. Then the food came, which was excellent as well. All dishes, from salad to desert, were wonderful. I really enjoyed the tiramisu which was excellent! Only slight negative was the service was a smidge slow, but that just gives you more time to sit there and enjoy the place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had high tea and it was perfect. Abou ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had high tea and it was perfect. About 9 or 10 tea choices, both black and herbal, each person had their own large pot. Also reasonable wine options, we tried a carafe of the Big Bang red on tap and found it very good. Food was generous and delicious. Both sweet and savory. Ambiance on the outside terrace was very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went to Butchart Garden ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My husband and I went to Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room to enjoy Afternoon Tea. It was a wonderful experience and I would recommend it to all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the salmon for lunch, which was ou ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I had the salmon for lunch, which was outstanding. My friend had your beef burger. She found it over-cooked and didn't eat much of it. However, she is 80 years old and quite finicky about food.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My mom and I love to go have the tea. Th ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My mom and I love to go have the tea. The food is outstanding and presentation is lovely. All the staff are very accommodating. I think Butchart gives the tourists an experience they will always remember. My mom and I give 5 stars!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting from the States. Found this to ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Visiting from the States. Found this to be an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience is great. Our server was ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The ambience is great. Our server was very friendly. We had their legendary high tea on the balcony. The savory sandwichs are to die for, but some of the sweets are a bit on the too sweet side. And the scones are hard. Overall we had a great time. Definitely will recommend to friends that enjoys high tea.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for Afternoon Tea with my mother. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Went for Afternoon Tea with my mother. Helpful and kind wait staff. Food had a lovely presentation and the taste was okay. Bread and cakes were a little dry. Tea was delicious! Had the tea berry tea and would definitely recommend it! A very enjoyable experience, and didn't feel rushed. Setting was beautiful, looking out at the Italianate Garden. Would recommend the experience to anyone looking for a little bit of charm in a beautiful setting - Butchart Gardens.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was pretty good, definitely gre ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was pretty good, definitely great for the value compared to the Empress--half the price and twice as good. However, the ambiance is extremely loud, the atmosphere is nowhere near as nice, the rooms are dark...and their special anniversary tea is tasteless. The bachelor button tea is delicious, however! The maitre'd is salty, waitress is inexperienced...I'm making this sound dreadful, but it wasn't. I've had perfect high tea and experiences, and this wasn't it, but we had a lot of fun. It was a good day. It was, however can our anniversary, and it wasn't quite special enough, to be totally honest. But who cares? We were celebrating each other, not the tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Enjoyed the lunch, with nice service.... ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Enjoyed the lunch, with nice service....sorry no expresso or café Americano....unusual in this day & age....a good special occasion place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful food, fantastic view of the ga ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Wonderful food, fantastic view of the gardens and excellent service!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We assumed the setting would be lovely a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We assumed the setting would be lovely and it was as expected. What we didn't anticipate was how marvelous the meal would be. Such a pleasant, delicious surprise. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.