About The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room

800 Benvenuto Ave
Brentwood Bay, BC V8M 1J8
View Larger Map

Enjoy the stunning floral display gardens, plus the restaurant's historic surroundings and contemporary, fresh local foods. Located in the original Butchart family residence, you can experience spectacular views of the Private Garden, the Italian Garden and Tod Inlet. Indulge in Afternoon Tea in our Spring and Summer seasons, or our High Tea which offers more warm savories from October through the winter months. Lunch and dinner are served seasonally with a strong presence of local sustainable ingredients. Choose from our award winning showcase of Vancouver Island wines. Enjoy adding to your awareness and appreciation of local grapes and vintners. Please note that admission to The Butchart Gardens is required in order to access The Dining Room Restaurant. Our current admission rates are at www.butchartgardens.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Afternoon Tea, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Christmas Tea:
12:00pm - 4:00pm daily (served December 1 - January 6 / EXCEPT Christmas Day 1:00pm - 2:30pm)

Dinner:
5:00pm - 8:00pm daily (served December 1 - January 6 & June 15 - September 15)

Afternoon Tea:
January 7- April 30: 12:00pm - 3:00pm daily
May 1 - Sept 30: 12:00pm - 4:00pm daily
October 1 - November 30: 12:00 - 3:00pm daily

Lunch:
11:30am - 3:00pm daily (served March 1 - September 30)


Cross Street:
Wallace Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 652-8222

Website:
http://www.butchartgardens.com/dining/dining-room

Entertainment:
The Butchart Gardens Entertainment Calendar can be found at http://www.butchartgardens.com/activities/calendar/

Parking Details:
The Dining Room Restaurant is located within The Butchart Gardens, so admission to The Gardens is required. You will be guided to your complimentary parking spot.

During the busiest holiday season dates (December 1-10 and December 16 to January 1) those arriving between 5 pm and 7 pm may have to wait 30 minutes or more to pay and park. Please plan your visit accordingly.

Public Transit:
From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit
http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt

Executive Chef:
Travis Hansen

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Afternoon Tea (47)
Worth the Drive (43)
See All
Scenic View (43)
Romantic (41)
Historic (36)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for a Date (31)
Seasonal (31)
Cozy (30)
Fireplace (22)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Authentic (13)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Live Music (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Fun (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Family Style (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
780 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Hadn't seen my friend for a long time so we walked around the gardens and then had After on Tea. It was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Nice quite place . So classic love the environment

Tags: Historic, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was 4 star. It's a real treat to have the chiefs come to the table and describe how they prepared the meal . The Dinning room experienc is always a treat , servers and all the staff add to the experience by their quality customer service and enjoyable dialogue.

Don't miss out on the tasting experience and then return in the summer etc

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We always spend our anniversary at Butchart Gardens, a beautiful place for us to celebrate a beautiful moment in our lives.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great location, good food, excellent service. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

THE POTATO CRUST WAS LIKE SHOE LEATHER, THE RACK OF LAMB WAS PREFECT, THE GREENS TOOK FOREVER TO CHEW, THE 25 MIN. APPLE DESSERT NEEDS HELP :THE BOTTOM CRUST WAS LIKE RUBBER, APPLES A LONG WAY FROM TENDER & THE SAUCE WAS RIGHT ON. WHAT WOULD YOU CALL THIS ? SAUTE APPLES FIRST, MAKE CIRCLE WITH APPLES, COVER WITH SAUCE ON A PER-BAKED PASTRY, TOP WITH ICE CREAM .

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 4, 2017

A very pleasurable dining experience. Food presentation very attractive and service excellent.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2017

For those special occasions, the dining room would be tough to beat. The meal was exceptional with great ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always a great experience. Food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Meal and service was excellent. This place was on my bucket list. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Romantic and different experience! $100 is a bit much but worth it if you want to treat someone like a princess!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The high tea was good and I am glad that the battenburg cake has been replaced! But, there didn't seem to be enough tea leaves in the pot. It was the very last pour which approached the colour of what the first pour should have been... Didn't mention it to the server as I kept hoping for it to infuse better. Fellow guest had the same experience. Wonder if the kitchen ran out of Earl Grey?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Booked a table for dinner on New Years Eve. We are annual pass holders so the cost of admission isn't an issue. Food was fine. Service was OK. Disappointed we were seated in the "sun room" should have requested a different table at the time of booking. Nothing wrong with the meal or even the service both were average. I had expected a little something more from them. We have in the past enjoyed Christmas time tea in the same location so expected that dinner would be even better. To be honest probably would just eat in the Blue Poppy next time as the food is just as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner at The Dining Room. The staff couldn't do enough for us, our table was situated near a lovely fireplace, and there was live piano music being played in the background. The food and service were outstanding, and we were able to take our time to enjoy and savour. We can highly recommend this restaurant and plan to return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A lovely window table to enjoy an extremely large afternoon tea watching the Christmas lights. A perfect New Year's Eve treat.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

On the upside, beautiful location/surroundings, excellent food. On the downside, waitress less than enthusiastic (probably exhausted), placed in a high traffic area beside the kitchen access (WAY too loud and busy). Will ask for the White Room next time. Atrium (where we were placed) is good if you like loud and busy.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Lovely meal with great ambience. Service pleasant and food served in a timely manner. Christmas lights make a lovely atmosphere. A real Christmas treat. 🎄

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful afternoon at the dining room and then skating and walking after that.

The lights really are fantastic to stroll through. It was a lovely holiday event.

It is definitely a special occasion date as it is expensive.

The service at the dining room was very good, friendly and accommodating (sometimes surprisingly rare to find these days!

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good service and beautiful xmas decor. We would have preferred the trifle be served after the sandwiches not before. We would like the sandwiches to be a bit bigger. Lovely time.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our dining experience at Butchart Gardens Dining Room was outstanding. Ambiance, hospitality, service, the meal, appetizers and desert could not have been better in any way. One of the best dining experiences I have ever had... and definitely the best from an 'all around' perspective. Walking around the gardens decorated for Xmas afterwards was the icing on the cake.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We have been coming at Christmas since our children were teenagers but now I notice it is mostly seniors who are dining. Could be it is too expensive for those with teenagers who now longer eat the kids menu? We brought our teen and preteen grandchildren but they were the only ones of that age that we noticed. Too bad.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Butchart Gardens are a fabulous destination for holiday excursions. We like to dine at "The Dining Room" to top off a day of visiting the light display and grounds. We've never had a negative experience, but this time one of our party had some very underdone potato's, making them totally inedible. It was a bit disappointing. Beautiful outing, however...

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were received pleasantly and treated well. Our food was perfectly prepared and presented. Overall, a very good experience. Thank you!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The entire dining experience was well worth it. Food, setting, and service were all outstanding. I celebrated a wonderful birthday dinner there.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Went with my niece who is gluten and dairy intolerant - mist upsetting was the fact that I noted this on the on-line reservation and when we got there were told it wasn't possible to do anything that was dairy free. Obviously, whoever was reviewing the reservation didn't read this section - my niece was from out of town and it would have been nice to get a call or an email stating this ahead of time as she was so excited to go. The staff tried to accommodate her and we weren't charged for her afternoon tea but it was very disappointing.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Superb dining in a posh and relaxed atmosphere. We visited the Dining Room at the Gardens for the 2nd time in December. Boxing Day dinner was the same high standards we have come to expect from this first class restaurant, Our server, who has been there for 10years, provided brilliant but not intrusive service. The meal was spectacular... the food looked as delicious as it tasted. We were seating in a smaller dining area overlooking the Italian gardens... full of Christmas lights! I would recommend this restaurant to almost everyone. Prices are upscale but worth it! Not suitable for younger or small children.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great service, very corteous and attentive customer service, delicious food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

our meal was a delightful experience and much appreciated. We were there on a rainy winter afternoon, and the solarium provided a warm and cosy environment. We appreciated the effort your chef took to make our meal gluten-free, and the gf pastries were indeed delicious. Less successful were the gf sandwiches, perhaps because the bread was not toasted. That might be something you could try. despite that, however, we had a fine afternoon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

What a beautiful way to spend Christmas Day dinner. The food was spectacular and the service was outstanding! Thank you so very much!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A perfect way to celebrate Christmas; tour the fabulous illuminated gardens, warm up before the fire, then enjoy a scrumptious dinner.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A lovely venue for afternoon tea, particularly when decorated for Christmas. Service was excellent. The kitchen quickly made substitutions for seafood allergies. Look forward to coming here again.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had an initial reservation for 3:00 pm because that was the only time open. I didn't realize that was for Afternoon Tea and not dinner (totally my error). When I asked to reschedule, if they had a table, the manager was very friendly and suggested 5:00 pm for dinner. It was outstanding and the food was exquisite. Top service, food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were under the impression that our reservation was for the dining room Christmas dinner menu. Your website was deceptive and we ended up with a reservation for tea in the late afternoon. It was embarrassing and not at all what we wanted. We won't be going back for dinner at Butchart Gardens although they were very accommodating in spite of Open Table's mistake. We won't be using Open Table to make reservations in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Afternoon tea at Butcharts is always a treat. So we decided to take the family for a skate on the Butcharts rink and worked up an appetite for the Christmas tea. We had a nice table overlooking the rear garden. The tea was delicious but I missed the vol au vent which has always been my favorite part of the tea in the past. Instead we were given a trifle to cleanse the palette which seemed an odd starter on a wintery day. I would definitely have tea there again but I hope they bring back the vol au vent.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Every trip to Victoria includes a visit to Butchart Gardens. Here today to see the gardens all aglow in Christmas lighting and to enjoy high tea in the dining room. Fine dining in elegant, casual surroundings. We have eaten here many times, and each time look forward to the consistently excellent food, service, and ambience that is the dining room at Butchart. Definitely will be back next time in Victoria.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Dining at the Butchart Gardens is, quite simply, magical whether it's on the outside porch in summer or the dining room at Christmas. We are lucky to have such a place near Victoria.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

There is no more beautiful place to dine than at Butchart's Gardens, every season it's beautiful in a different way. At Christmas they have fabulous live music and you look out on the breathtaking light display from a beautiful period building gorgeously decorated inside and out. However I find the food only moderately good when it should be fabulous in such a setting and for this price point. In my opinion it would just take a little more effort and originality for the menu to match the setting.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I was very disappointed overall. We booked 2-3 weeks in advance. Although the food was excellent, we were walked past 2 warm, bright rooms that were only partly full, and seated in the far corner of a cold empty room away from the fireplace. It felt like we paid a lot of money for an isolating experience. :-(

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our experience was a bit of a surprise. We used the online Open Table reservation ststem to book a dinner on December 23 for 6:00 p.m. A family event then became a conflict for us so we went back online to change our reservation for dinner to another day. From the Butchart Gardens website we select holiday dinner and make a reservation. The Open Table reservation system shows the dates and time slots available. The later times were not available so we selected an early 3:45 reservation for December 22 (thinking this is an early dinner but the dinner menu looked fabulous). When we arrived, we were surprised to find out that we were booked in for "tea" and not the dinner. When we inquired, we were informed that the online reservation system is not very clear about noting the "tea" times and "dinner " times. Hungry, we decided to try the "tea" anyway and while we had a pleasant "tea" experience with wonderful tasting niblets, we arrived expecting dinner. We would ask that the Butchart Gardens website and Open Table online reservation system be explicitly clear as to the times of "dinner" and the times of "tea". In the end, our experience at Butchart Gardens was beautiful, with a walk around the gardens to view the lights. We did, however, end up going for dinner somewhere else afterwards. Sincerely,

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Always a special experience, I would highly recommend it to anyone willing to pay for some exquisite food and enjoy dinning like you have never signed before. Bon Appetit!

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had the Christmas Seasonal Afternoon Tea as we have done in years past and I guess this year the menu was changed a little. We weren't aware that the Cornish pasty and Chicken and mushroom vol-au-vent (two of our favorite items) were no longer on the Christmas tea menu. Instead the selection included a West Coast seafood turnover (overcooked salmon in a golden pastry) and a Turkey sausage roll which was a little on the chewy side. Was surprised to have sugar packets instead of nicely presented cubed sugar like I have had at other afternoon tea services. My husband bit into a sandwich to discover a chicken bone and for that we were compensated the cost of the flight of wine we ordered and my husband had to walk from the washroom to the table to dry his hands on a napkin since the paper towel dispenser was empty. The service and ambiance were exceptional and it was a beautiful night to walk through the garden all lit up for Christmas.

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

For the past three Christmas Seasons ourselves and two other expat couples from the Prairies visit Butchart Gardens, view the lighted displays and then gather for dinner at the restaurant. Each year we "request" the same table in the same area (table 30 in the Breakfast Room). We appreciate that specific tables cannot be guaranteed but we always put our request into our Open Table reservation request. This year we received a call on the previous Wednesday to confirm our Sunday reservation and I specifically (again) mentioned our table request. My understanding was that we would be able to have our requested table.

On Sunday, we arrived at our designated time but were taken to another table (#29), next to our requested table #30. We mentioned to the waitress/hostess we had requested table 30 where two other couples were seated. She mentioned quietly that one of the couples were part owners of Butchart so had seniority over us. Somehow this didn't seem correct particularly when we had made the reservation and request November 19th and had received a call from the restaurant to confirm our arrival. I appreciate that he/she may in fact be an owner of the restaurant/gardens but one would think that makes it even more inappropriated to "bump" your paying customers from their chosen & requested table.

In the end, our special evening at table 29 was disappointing as our view was blocked by a wall column whereas, table 30 had a full picture window view of the lights & gardens. All in all it was a disapointment as our expectations weren't met and this year may in fact be our last Christmas get together at Butchart's Dining Room. Perhaps a more accommodating restaurant would better appreciate our continued patronage.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Although our chances to come to dine at the Gardens is rare, (we try to come once a year), it is a special treat. We were way late for our reservations, due to bad weather and other complications, but were treated so graciously as soon as we arrived.

The food of course was amazing and the service was impeccable.

Thanks for making it a very special and enjoyable meal for all.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a quiet corner of the restaurant. The service was good although they were strict on the reservation time. The food and dessert was delicious. The view was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The dining room at Burchart is a special place for celebrations. Enjoy the gardens and amazing food with a great local wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I took a special friend to Butchart's to celebrate her birthday!! It was a great evening !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A very pleasant evening to stroll the Christmas Gardens and then a wonderful meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great place to enjoy nature and good food in very pleasant surroundings.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Absolutely wonderful! We went for afternoon tea & were very happy with the lovely table they provided. They even added an extra little something for our anniversary! Very attentive, checking how things are going. The food was delicious, the tea was hot & the music was festive. This is by far the best place for afternoon tea! We had gone to the Empress last month & for double the price of here it was a real disappointment....so we will continue to come to the Butchart Gardens for their lovely afternoon tea! And the 12 Days of Christmas lights after were breathtaking.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

A beautiful setting for a special celebration or a date. We love celebrating our anniversary here each year, always with a walk through the gardens (which are so spectacular at Christmastime). Some years we add in dinner and this year we enjoyed a lovely meal. I love the ambience that welcomes guests in with the grand piano and burning fireplace in the parlour where we leave our coats. The dining room is beautiful with the reflection of the lights outside and the inside decor that brings you to the grand times when such houses existed in the grandness. Beautiful space, great service and dinner was very good. The wine was excellent as was the service and the pianist made our evening - wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Cozy, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.