Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room

Enjoy the stunning floral display gardens, plus the restaurant's historic surroundings and contemporary, fresh local foods. Located in the original Butchart family residence, you can experience spectacular views of the Private Garden, the Italian Garden and Tod Inlet. Indulge in Afternoon Tea in our Spring and Summer seasons, or our High Tea which offers more warm savories from October through the winter months. Lunch and dinner are served seasonally with a strong presence of local sustainable ingredients. Choose from our award winning showcase of Vancouver Island wines. Enjoy adding to your awareness and appreciation of local grapes and vintners. Please note that admission to The Butchart Gardens is required in order to access The Dining Room Restaurant. Our current admission rates are at www.butchartgardens.com

800 Benvenuto Ave
Brentwood Bay, BC V8M 1J8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Afternoon Tea, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
NOW SERVING:
High Tea 12:00pm - 3:00pm

SEASONAL MENUS:
Afternoon Tea:
April 1 - September 30

High Tea:
October 1 - November 30 & January 7 - March 31

Christmas Tea:
December 1 - January 6

Lunch:
March 1 - September 30

Dinner:
June 15 - September 15 &
December 1 - January 6


Cross Street:
Wallace Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 652-8222

Website:
http://www.butchartgardens.com/dining/dining-room

Entertainment:
The Butchart Gardens Entertainment Calendar can be found at http://www.butchartgardens.com/activities/calendar/

Parking Details:
The Dining Room Restaurant is located within The Butchart Gardens, so admission to The Gardens is required. You will be guided to your complimentary parking spot.

During the busiest holiday season dates (December 1-10 and December 16 to January 1) those arriving between 5 pm and 7 pm may have to wait 30 minutes or more to pay and park. Please plan your visit accordingly.

Public Transit:
From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit
http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt

Executive Chef:
Travis Hansen

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Afternoon Tea (61)
Scenic View (60)
See All
Worth the Drive (51)
Romantic (48)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Good for a Date (40)
Great for Lunch (39)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Cozy (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Authentic (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Casual (15)
Seasonal (14)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Healthy (13)
Fun (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
People Watching (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Organic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2017

I brought my parents because my mom loves the idea of having tea like the English do and Butchart Gardens did not disappoint. The atmosphere, food, and service was perfect! Also, finding a restaurant that provides a complete menu for gluten intolerant people is not something found very often, but with the proper notice Butchart Gardens does just that and we were all thrilled!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Beautiful venue! Ambiance, service and food were all outstanding. The flight was paired perfectly to our tea. Will certainly be back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 25, 2017

High Tea with my wife. A great success! Excellent waitress. We'll be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Great opportunity to share the experience with our family - thanks to Jason - our server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 11, 2017

It is always a treat to have afternoon tea at the Butchart Gardens' Dining Room. The scones and savouries are really delicious, the sandwiches are real tea sandwiches, the desserts are pretty and quite tasty, and the selection of teas is interesting.
cid:EEAC588C-3372-4FDC-AD58-02395BD65530

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2017

A delightful way to enjoy a meal while at Butchart Gardens. We did the high tea in October; high tea in the dining room is only available in the Fall and Winter, and made reservations. The dining room is very quaint and is in what used to be the Butchart residence. While there were a few men there, high tea is probably appreciated more by women. This was my first time to go in October, and while there were a lot of people roaming the gardens, it was nothing like the huge crowds during the summer. Lots of flowers were still out and the Fall colors were beautiful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Seasonal, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

The ambiance can't be beat! We didn't feel rushed at all so the experience was very relaxing. The food was delicious and like most High Teas was a bit on the pricey side. However we left full and satisfied!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We always look forward to our high Tea outings at Butchart Gardens. The menu changes with the seasons and always offers freshly prepared treats. A walk around the gardens finishes off a lovely afternoon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Went for high tea; it was fabulous. Highly recommend!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was mediocre as well as the service. Ambiance is beautiful. Price waaaay too expensive for what you get. Better as a light bite to sit and relax and just share one tea service for two people and can order just another pot of tea.

Tags: Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 7, 2017

even thought I got appointment before two days . I asked them to arrange good seat for us because that is my birthday and I hope the seat is closed the window. However, they arranged nothing as same as common who were just coming

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

My friends and I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the high tea set but because the heater was broken (according the the very nice lady helped our table), the whole time spend in the dining room was uncomfortably warm and hot, which really effect our appetite........ had to wrap the foods up and finish at home. Otherwise would enjoyed better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The tea is a good value and the ambiance is gracious,relaxed and elegant, an unusual combination to achieve. Situated in the heart of a world class garden, this is how you should complete your tour of the grounds. Some might say that having to pay the gardens entry fee and then the cost of the tea is too much but I would argue that, in combination, this tea is less expensive and is a MUCH better value than tea at the Empress when delivering that Vancouver Island experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We had the tea which included lots of cakes and savory items. Very good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 26, 2017

This was a return visit to Butchard Gardens after 51 years - we visited the gardens on our honeymoon! Having lunch in the lovely garden room of the house made the day extra special for us - leaving us with many wonderful memories.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

If you're looking for British afternoon tea this is a very good place to find it.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had afternoon tea after seeing the gardens. We ate outside and were offered a blanket if we got too chilly. Everything was so lovely and the food and tea was flavorful and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful afternoon tea outside on the terrace with a beautiful garden view.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Came all the way from Perth Australia as this was on my Bucket List. TICK

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Nice romantic experience in a beautiful setting. The food is what one would expect of a British tea - finger sandwiches, sweets and of course a good choice of tea. The pace is good and the setting fantastic.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

The service level and distinguished atmosphere makes the Dining Room at Butchart Gardens a perfect spot to have brunch or Authentic Afternoon Tea in the most beautiful and tranquil restaurant situated in a garden setting.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Lovely setting & nice High Tea. Recommend & I would enjoy coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

We paid a visit to Butchart Gardens and had a wonderful afternoon Tea to celebrate my wife's Birthday whilst we were in Canada. What a wonderful afternoon. I cannot say enough about it except when you are at the Gardens have the Afternoon tea you will NOT be disappointed

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We love to have high tea at The Butchart Gardens, especially with the wine flutes!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

It was really nice.
I went to there for lunch.
We odered afternoon tea and pasta.
We had a good time.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I brought my mom to Victoria for our annual mother-daughter getaway. High tea was the special occasion on the trip and it was simply excellent. Service was great, the food was splendid and the views unparalleled.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

My daughter and I went for afternoon tea. The location was lovely, and the service was fine, but to be honest, I was disappointed by the food, especially the savouries. Also, we were seated next to a large party from a tour group, and it was quite noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 14, 2017

It was a delightful tea in an absolutely beautiful setting. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

The perfect date night. A casual stroll around the gardens and then a long, delectable meal from a unique menu, with outstanding service, in a gorgeous room overlooking the Italian garden, made for a relaxed, romantic evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Afternoon tea was excellent. Staff was very attentive. Perfect setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We loved dining here after taking in the gardens! The view was amazing and the food was wonderful as well! Would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We were lucky to get an outdoor table overlooking the gardens, although inside seating looked very pleasant. The food and service were excellent. The wine list included a selection of whites and reds from Okanagan region. It was an enjoyable evening!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Special place to have dinner...food was amazing...actually , everything was amazing!

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We absolutely loved having lunch at Butchart Gardens - seeing the gardens from our table on the veranda was a special treat and the food was remarkably good. So were the cocktails! Loved it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 7, 2017

My wife and I had the Afternoon Tea. We were quite dissappointed at the food compare to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great experience as always. A bit pricy but the atmosphere is very pleasant and staff is nice. They have gluten free option for afternoon tea. Just have to notify in advance.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The fish was horrible, the food took nearly an hour and a half to be served, such a disappointment! Never coming here again not recommending it to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 6, 2017

While the Butchart Gardens is a world class venue, the restaurant at the former home of Jennie Butchart is a welcoming setting with professional staff and a limited, but excellent menu. The Okanagan wines are superb and the menu selections are varied enough to suit a wide variety of tastes and all are cooked to perfection. It is always a very full house and reservations should be made well in advance. A nice cap to a visit to these beautiful gardens.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2017

A lovely evening overlooking the gardens at the end of a busy day. We had a chance to wander the gardens first for about an hour without the usual crowds which was very special. My only problem was with the booking. Open Table kept losing its internet server contact. So I called the restaurant directly. The hostess said there was no availability at the time we wanted despite the website saying there was. I went back on the website and the time was still available. Shouldn't have been so difficult to make a booking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.