Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room

Enjoy the stunning floral display gardens, plus the restaurant's historic surroundings and contemporary, fresh local foods. Located in the original Butchart family residence, you can experience spectacular views of the Private Garden, the Italian Garden and Tod Inlet. Indulge in Afternoon Tea in our Spring and Summer seasons, or our High Tea which offers more warm savories from October through the winter months. Lunch and dinner are served seasonally with a strong presence of local sustainable ingredients. Choose from our award winning showcase of Vancouver Island wines. Enjoy adding to your awareness and appreciation of local grapes and vintners. Please note that admission to The Butchart Gardens is required in order to access The Dining Room Restaurant. Our current admission rates are at www.butchartgardens.com

800 Benvenuto Ave
Brentwood Bay, BC V8M 1J8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Afternoon Tea, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
NOW SERVING:
Lunch 11:30am - 3:00pm
Afternoon Tea 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Dinner 5:00pm - 8:00pm

SEASONAL MENUS:
Afternoon Tea:
May 1 - September 30

High Tea:
October 1 - November 30 & January 7 - March 31

Christmas Tea:
December 1 - January 6

Lunch:
March 1 - September 30

Dinner:
June 15 - September 15 &
December 1 - January 6


Cross Street:
Wallace Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 652-8222

Website:
http://www.butchartgardens.com/dining/dining-room

Entertainment:
The Butchart Gardens Entertainment Calendar can be found at http://www.butchartgardens.com/activities/calendar/

Parking Details:
The Dining Room Restaurant is located within The Butchart Gardens, so admission to The Gardens is required. You will be guided to your complimentary parking spot.

During the busiest holiday season dates (December 1-10 and December 16 to January 1) those arriving between 5 pm and 7 pm may have to wait 30 minutes or more to pay and park. Please plan your visit accordingly.

Public Transit:
From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit
http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt

Executive Chef:
Travis Hansen

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (113)
Special Occasion (110)
Afternoon Tea (100)
See All
Romantic (78)
Good for Anniversaries (76)
Worth the Drive (72)
Good for a Date (65)
Great for Outdoor Dining (65)
Great for Lunch (61)
Quiet Conversation (61)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Local Ingredients (38)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Cozy (35)
Great for Brunch (29)
Afternoon Coffee (28)
Authentic (24)
People Watching (24)
Seasonal (22)
Fun (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Casual (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Disabled Access (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Organic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1018 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

It was really nice.
I went to there for lunch.
We odered afternoon tea and pasta.
We had a good time.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I brought my mom to Victoria for our annual mother-daughter getaway. High tea was the special occasion on the trip and it was simply excellent. Service was great, the food was splendid and the views unparalleled.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 14, 2017

It was a delightful tea in an absolutely beautiful setting. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

The perfect date night. A casual stroll around the gardens and then a long, delectable meal from a unique menu, with outstanding service, in a gorgeous room overlooking the Italian garden, made for a relaxed, romantic evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Afternoon tea was excellent. Staff was very attentive. Perfect setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We loved dining here after taking in the gardens! The view was amazing and the food was wonderful as well! Would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We were lucky to get an outdoor table overlooking the gardens, although inside seating looked very pleasant. The food and service were excellent. The wine list included a selection of whites and reds from Okanagan region. It was an enjoyable evening!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Special place to have dinner...food was amazing...actually , everything was amazing!

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 7, 2017

My wife and I had the Afternoon Tea. We were quite dissappointed at the food compare to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great experience as always. A bit pricy but the atmosphere is very pleasant and staff is nice. They have gluten free option for afternoon tea. Just have to notify in advance.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The fish was horrible, the food took nearly an hour and a half to be served, such a disappointment! Never coming here again not recommending it to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 6, 2017

While the Butchart Gardens is a world class venue, the restaurant at the former home of Jennie Butchart is a welcoming setting with professional staff and a limited, but excellent menu. The Okanagan wines are superb and the menu selections are varied enough to suit a wide variety of tastes and all are cooked to perfection. It is always a very full house and reservations should be made well in advance. A nice cap to a visit to these beautiful gardens.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2017

A lovely evening overlooking the gardens at the end of a busy day. We had a chance to wander the gardens first for about an hour without the usual crowds which was very special. My only problem was with the booking. Open Table kept losing its internet server contact. So I called the restaurant directly. The hostess said there was no availability at the time we wanted despite the website saying there was. I went back on the website and the time was still available. Shouldn't have been so difficult to make a booking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Exquisite food and quite elegant! The staff is most kind and very polite. Our dinner was delightful, the experience is one we shall hold in our memory for a life time! Thank you!

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Wonderful staff, beautiful surroundings, outstanding cuisine - one of the best anniversaries celebrated in 41 years!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This is a beautiful restaurant in a beautiful location. Both the food and the service were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The view inside and outside is amazing. Food was excellent and very affordable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Simply exquisite! They serve a tea that's as lovely as tasty.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Afternoon Tea is excellent. Food was delicious and service excellent. Must do when you go to Victoria and Butchart Gardens. Cheaper than the Fairmont downtown and you get the beauty of the gardens as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

We loved dining here. The food, service and surroundings were first class.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The afternoon tea was so amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 31, 2017

My family and I had a great time having afternoon tea at the Butchart Gardens Dining Room. The setting is lovely but relaxed, and less chaotic than the Empress. Also, for $35/pp for adults and $20/pp for children I think the value is high. The food was delicious and almost more than I could eat - definitely a full lunch's worth. Since we were already planning to visit the gardens it seemed like a no-brainer to do tea there and I'm so glad we did!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Well,it was my 4th time this summer for afternoon tea,,and will be back as soon as I can,,,just enjoy it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Best place to have afternoon tea on the island. Delicious food and tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Lovely time at the Gardens and the tea service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

The gardens are a celebration for the eyes and the sauthe Dining Room for High Tea was perfect espacially on the veranda
We had a great timr
Thank you

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We had a fantastic experience at Butchart for Afternoon Tea. The surroundings and presentation are exquisite. We originally planned to do tea at the Empress Hotel, but so glad we didn't. This was beautiful and half the price! Heartily recommend!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Really enjoyed the whole experience. Fantastic food. Great staff.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Organic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Thank you to the staff for accommodating us when the bus driver made us miss our reservation. It was a very enjoyable experience and we hope to return again soon.

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Casual, Scenic View, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We loved the beautiful setting; been there a few times before. Servers are attentive & professional. The dinner entree selection was lacking and the meal itself was not very flavorful and had an "off" quality to the texture; everything was soft/mushy. Desserts were good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Lovely room. Everyone was very kind and accommodating. Tea was very nice and filling. The trifle was amazing!! Then a nice walk of the gardens. Next time will arrive early to the gardens when they open and enjoy the quiet walk and then enjoy the tea!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fantastic spot! Very gluten free friendly too - I am gluten intolerant and had the high tea. All of the gf options were as good as the glutinous options, rather than poor substitutes like other places do. No extra charge for gf either. Can't beat the view of the gardens and the service was top notch. This is a must do when visiting Victoria, BC. Highly recommend sitting on the balcony outside.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Had a wonderful experience with their Afternoon Tea. Sat out in an atrium room overlooking the gardens. Food was delicious, the handcrafted cocktails amazing, the service impeccable, good variety of teas to choose from and the atmosphere enchanting. Could not have been more pleased with our experience. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food with great view plus a very nice waitress who attended to our needs.

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Outstanding meal, beautiful presentation totally in keeping with the fabulous garden view. Serious contender for top restaurant in Victoria. Definitely worth a Michelin star!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We met friends we had not seen for two years. What a picture perfect place to visit and catch up. We ordered four different mains and we all enjoyed our choices. Service great, views incredible and prices very reasonable. We will go back for sure.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Enjoyed a delicious dinner with a lovely view after a day at the Garden. The food was tasty, not over priced and the view from the veranda was priceless.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We went to dinner at The Dining Room after exploring the park. We wanted to see what the gardens look like at night. I knew it would be a bit pricey, but the food was fabulous and you cannot beat the view and the atmosphere. I would absolutely go again if I make it back. I highly recommend a trip.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Wonderful meal, great service, ambience was perfect. Top notch experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Butchart Gardens Diningroom is elegant yet casual and the food is outstanding and perfectly and creatively done. Plenty of meat, seafood and vegetarian options. Desserts are decadent and if they know it is a special occasion they will add something special to the dessert plate to celebrate the occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.