Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room

Enjoy the stunning floral display gardens, plus the restaurant's historic surroundings and contemporary, fresh local foods. Located in the original Butchart family residence, you can experience spectacular views of the Private Garden, the Italian Garden and Tod Inlet. Indulge in Afternoon Tea in our Spring and Summer seasons, or our High Tea which offers more warm savories from October through the winter months. Lunch and dinner are served seasonally with a strong presence of local sustainable ingredients. Choose from our award winning showcase of Vancouver Island wines. Enjoy adding to your awareness and appreciation of local grapes and vintners. Please note that admission to The Butchart Gardens is required in order to access The Dining Room Restaurant. Our current admission rates are at www.butchartgardens.com

800 Benvenuto Ave
Brentwood Bay, BC V8M 1J8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Afternoon Tea, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
NOW SERVING:
Lunch 11:30am - 3:00pm
Afternoon Tea 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Dinner 5:00pm - 8:00pm

SEASONAL MENUS:
Afternoon Tea:
May 1 - September 30

High Tea:
October 1 - November 30 & January 7 - March 31

Christmas Tea:
December 1 - January 6

Lunch:
March 1 - September 30

Dinner:
June 15 - September 15 &
December 1 - January 6


Cross Street:
Wallace Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 652-8222

Website:
http://www.butchartgardens.com/dining/dining-room

Entertainment:
The Butchart Gardens Entertainment Calendar can be found at http://www.butchartgardens.com/activities/calendar/

Parking Details:
The Dining Room Restaurant is located within The Butchart Gardens, so admission to The Gardens is required. You will be guided to your complimentary parking spot.

During the busiest holiday season dates (December 1-10 and December 16 to January 1) those arriving between 5 pm and 7 pm may have to wait 30 minutes or more to pay and park. Please plan your visit accordingly.

Public Transit:
From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit
http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt

Executive Chef:
Travis Hansen

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Afternoon Tea (74)
Scenic View (73)
Special Occasion (64)
See All
Romantic (45)
Great for Lunch (42)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Worth the Drive (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Good for a Date (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Afternoon Coffee (23)
Cozy (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Seasonal (17)
Fun (17)
Authentic (16)
People Watching (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Casual (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Historic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
910 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Sat in quiet table on patio for dinner before exploring the gardens. View was beautiful, steak cooked perfectly as well as the vegetables, potatoes and cheese cake was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary with a table overlooking the gardens. The food was creative and attractively presented. The service was attentive without being overdone. Dining here is a great way to finish the day after touring the world famous gardens.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food in a truly beautiful location, and very reasonably priced too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Reservations for afternoon tea, stayed for a great experience.
I had mentioned to a friend that I had looked into doing afternoon tea at a well known place in downtown Victoria, B.C. My friend had mentioned/recommended Butchart Gardens. I was able to make a reservation online. Although the reservation doesn't specify "afternoon tea" or "lunch" you decide that when you sit down for your meal.
Afternoon tea is a special fixed menu. The restaurant makes special accommodations (as best as possible) for those with dietary concerns. We also did the wine flight. It was a great experience. The food was fantastic. Great wine, wonderful tea (which we bought in the gift store before left). The service was great. If you are looking for a place to eat/for afternoon tea I highly recommend Butchart Gardens. I look forward to going back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

The Dining room was pretty good, but foods were so not good tasty.
The waitress was good and great impression for me. because she was quite busy but she cared about me and my friends.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely location in the beautiful gardens.
Service was great..food very good.
Dessert was fab.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

With a reservation made weeks in advance, waited over 10 min before sat for tea with my daughter and 3 granddaughters ages 8, 8 and 10. We were seatedd in back corner near kitchen door feeling like the children were a surprise and care taken to seat us away from others. Childrens tea menu was inviting yet felt children not especially welcomed. Apple juice was their choice but could have been served in the teacup already on table rather than a glass to maintain the tea experience we came for. Tea menu for adults and children was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

When visiting Victoria we return to one of our favorite restuarants, always.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Scenic View, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Good for tourist trap. The setting is unparalleled.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We would have liked a baked potato with the entre. At these prices the meal should at least include soup or salad and desert. $100 is a lot to charge for 2 small pieces of fish that sells for $10 in the supermarket !

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

My wife and I were treating our 18 year-old granddaughter (Victoria) to a special
tea in the afternoon at Butchart Gardens and it was exquisite, unique and a fabulous
experience for all of us. The tea, sandwiches, desserts were original and served with
elegance and taste! We ate outside so the surrounding sights and smells were
without compare. It was relaxing, rewarding and a great memory!

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great spot to relax and continue enjoying the beautiful gardens.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Reservations for tea at Butchart Gardens is a good idea. We had reservations but still had a short wait. The food was excellent. Our server did a good job explaining the food. She was attentive to our needs - water and tea were kept full. The food presentation was typical tea fare and so was the food, except for the savories. The savories were warm and quite tasty. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it. It was all I and and my companions could hold. We will be back.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Amazing experience, couldn't have asked for better service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Beautiful restaurant in a beautiful setting. The Afternoon Tea here was every bit as good as Tea at the Empress Hotel, and the grounds are magnificent.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We visited the Butchart Gardens for our wedding anniversary and enjoyed an absolutely lovely afternoon tea. The food, service and ambiance were wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I thought that this restaurant couldn't possibly be as good as the reviews say, but it was even better! The tea service was perfect in every way and the ambiance of eating in the owner's home made me appreciate the history of the site.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (東京)·Dined on July 8, 2017

料理の説明が無かったし、お会計を持っていく時もthank youの一言もなかったのであまり楽しめなかった。
英語があまり話せないというせいかもしれないが、機会的過ぎる。
最初にメニューを持ってきてくれた女性の方は感じが良かった。

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

service was slow, tea wasn't tasty, table appearance was poor

Tags: People Watching, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The atmosphere was delightful. We had tea, which was pricey but good. Be aware that you have to pay admission to the gardens to dine in the dining room.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is a unique review for a unique place. The beauty of the Butchart Gardens is really unsurpassed. The various rooms in the Dining Room restaurant are all lovely and have fantastic views. There is some outdoor dining as well. We were there for afternoon tea, so the menu was set. The tea was great, and the food was delicious also. The service was spectacular - everything was explained to us and the service was fantastic. It's a unique experience, but it's also priced that way. All the afternoon tea options around Victoria, BC are expensive (the tea service at the Fairmont Empress is roughly twice the price) and this one, while overpriced for what you get, is generally in line with what you'll pay elsewhere. What you get here, however, is the beautiful grounds and gardens, and the fantastic service. If you're going to the Butchart Gardens it's a great add-on to a beautiful day.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Stunning environment, gorgeous flowers in my side room, charming server. I did not know I was to use the tea strainer so I had a lot of tea leaves in my cup. I was given a fresh cup to try again. I liked the scone best! The music was soft and perfectly lovely in the background. I spent a most pleasant hour there.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

High tea was disappointing compared to my last visit on Mother's Day! Overpriced for a few small sandwiches with little filling, no interesting warm items..desserts small and tasteless whole thing far to expensive for what you get! Won't return for tea for sure...though love the gardens themselves!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our visit was due to my birth year corresponding with a Butchart Garden celebration year. It was very special for us as it is the year of our diamond wedding. We were extremely pleased with the ambience, the food and the service. We intend to persuade members of our family to visit for high tea when they are here for our celebration at the end of July.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely early dinner on the patio, before proceeding to the Summer Concert. Our table overlooked the beautiful flowers and grounds, weather was perfect. They split our salad for us, and then we both enjoyed the LingCod entree. All the dishes came embellished with a hint of flowers, alluding to the special setting. It was a wonderful way to end an afternoon at the gardens. Highly recommend the restaurant and its attentive service.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Buthart gardens provide an excellent setting for an afternoon tea. Lovely presentation and good food. Service was wonderful

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Glasgow)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Very pleasant way of enhancing a trip to the gardens.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My bucket list is a book called The Great Tea Rooms of America. I've been to many of the destinations including Butchart both 10 years ago and again last week! Butchart had remained number 1 on my personal list since my first visit. It is still a unique experience....we were seated at an outside table ovrelooking the georgeous rose gardens and our service was good! However, the quality of the tea sandwiches has fallen. They are tasty but 95% bread with only a thin layer of tuna, egg salad etc. Seems like they have cut this way back and they are definitely compromising on the quality of the eating experience with this choice. Bring it back Butchart!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Very Good value Good food excellent service very reasonnable price

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our Afternoon Tea at Butchart Garden was one of the Highlights of our trip to the Pacific Northwest to celebrate my daughter receiving her Doctoral Degree. The food, the ambiance, and the service made us feel like two little girls playing dress-up. We kept expecting Alice in Wonderland to pop out at any moment.
Thank you for a very memorable experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The Dining Room at Butchart Gardens is spectacular! It's a bit pricey, but the quality of the food and service merits the cost. This was our top dining experience and a perfect top off to a wonderful visit to Victoria. Get a late reservation on Saturday evening in the summer months so that you finish just before the fireworks display at the gardens.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

only four tiny slices beef with two drinks cost us $80 dollars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent!!! All around, great food, perfectly beautiful atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was good and for the most part the service was good as well. The servers were are friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that in the evening, I had not yet finished with my appetizer and the server brought the main dish and set it on the table, leaving me to exchange the dishes when I was finished with my appetizer. I felt better service would have taken the main dish back to the kitchen and kept an eye on my table to see when I finished with the first course, and then come and picked up that platter and at that point bring out the main dish which would have still been warming while waiting. Also at High Tea I had to request a second set of silverware after having to ask the waiter to remove the first dish because the meat items were still on the plate I did not want to mix them the sweets. These are simply the finer points of good service that I expect from such an establishment as Butchart Gardens.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

A nice afternoon tea service with views of the beautiful Butchart Gardens, nice selection of teas, and a very tasty assortment of sweets and savories.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We always enjoy stopping in for afternoon tea. For us it is a real treat. We can't afford it on a frequent basis,so when we do come it is special.
The service has always been great and so is the food.
Thanks

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very disappointed in comparison to 3 years ago. Like black and white. Every aspect was poor except the venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We went for afternoon tea and it was an amazing experience. Food was fantastic. We ordered gluten free for one of our party and you wouldn't notice the difference.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Delightful dining area on the veranda. Delicious food, with floral decoration. Fine service.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had a lovely tea and lunch experience. The tea sandwiches were fresh even at the end of the tea service . My husband had the salmon turnover which was both aesthetically pleasing and delicious. And, they sat us at a beautiful table overlooking the gardens. Top notch. Would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.