Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room

Enjoy the stunning floral display gardens, plus the restaurant's historic surroundings and contemporary, fresh local foods. Located in the original Butchart family residence, you can experience spectacular views of the Private Garden, the Italian Garden and Tod Inlet. Indulge in Afternoon Tea in our Spring and Summer seasons, or our High Tea which offers more warm savories from October through the winter months. Lunch and dinner are served seasonally with a strong presence of local sustainable ingredients. Choose from our award winning showcase of Vancouver Island wines. Enjoy adding to your awareness and appreciation of local grapes and vintners. Please note that admission to The Butchart Gardens is required in order to access The Dining Room Restaurant. Our current admission rates are at www.butchartgardens.com

800 Benvenuto Ave
Brentwood Bay, BC V8M 1J8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Afternoon Tea, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
High Tea:
January 7 - March 31: 12:00pm-3:00pm daily

Afternoon Tea:
April 1 - 30: 12:00pm - 3:00pm daily
May 1 - September 30: 12:00pm - 4:00pm daily

Lunch:
March 1 - September 30 11:30am - 3:00pm daily

Dinner:
June 1 - 14: 5:00pm - 7:00 pm
June 15 - September 15: 5:00pm - 8:00pm daily
December 1 - January 6: 5:00pm - 8:00 daily


Cross Street:
Wallace Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 652-8222

Website:
http://www.butchartgardens.com/dining/dining-room

Entertainment:
The Butchart Gardens Entertainment Calendar can be found at http://www.butchartgardens.com/activities/calendar/

Parking Details:
The Dining Room Restaurant is located within The Butchart Gardens, so admission to The Gardens is required. You will be guided to your complimentary parking spot.

During the busiest holiday season dates (December 1-10 and December 16 to January 1) those arriving between 5 pm and 7 pm may have to wait 30 minutes or more to pay and park. Please plan your visit accordingly.

Public Transit:
From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit
http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt

Executive Chef:
Travis Hansen

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Afternoon Tea (24)
Scenic View (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
See All
Great for Lunch (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Historic (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (8)
Romantic (6)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
813 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

We had afternoon tea at the dining room in Butchart gardens. It was amazing! The tea was phenominal! And my gluten free options were really tasty!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The tea was wonderful. I recommend the restaurant for every visit. Lunch, dinner or anytime. The service the food the staff.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service was excellent and the kitchen catered to our gluten and nut allergies. Great experience. Thanks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a fabulous time together at Butcharts for Mother's Day. We had a lovely table in the sunroom overlooking the gardens. My lunch was okay ( the burger ) but wished it was exceptional! Needs a revamp! However my mother loved her salmon in pastry! The hightlite was the lunch experience with good wine, our exceptional server Alessandro...she deserves a raise! and the walk around the amazing gardens afterwords!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was exceptional. It exceeded all expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 10, 2017

As usual excellent meal and enjoyable surroundings

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Afternoon tea...Attentive professional waiter, table with a view of the gardens, don't miss the ginger scones, they are wonderful and served with strawberry jam and cream. We couldn't eat all the little sandwiches and desserts but we enjoyed them later at home. I'm glad we made reservations.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was a lovely experience to have tea in Victoria. The tea was very fragrant and the setting was elegant. I d be happier if we get to use the flowery fancy tea sets

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Afternoon tea was wonderful! Tea was great and the sandwich and scones were so delicious! I loved the scone with Sweetened ginger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Outstanding as usual. Wait staff is most accommodating.

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

When we visit The Gardens it is a pleasure to have tea on the patio. It is a wonderful relaxing time for my wife and I. After walking the garden two times, we still have a hard time wanting to leave.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We brought guests from the USA, and they were very impressed. The elegant surroundings and great service made a very favourable impression.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Perfect English high tea service in British Columbia's classic garden conservatory. Our server (Melissa) was knowledgeable, helpful, and a gracious hostess. Surrounded by cherry blossoms and endless varieties of tulips, the Dining Room's chefs expertly prepared an artisan salad featuring house-smoked trout and breakfast radish, a crisp and savoury seafood pastry with watercress, and a tiered array of tea sandwiches and dessert bites to complete a wonderful luncheon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Afternoon tea was excellent with friendly and attentive staff. A good place to people watch after taking a stroll around the garden

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Afternoon Tea was wonderful. You get a lot for your money--delicious food, fresh ingredients, a good selection of wonderful Teas, and of course, excellent service at an affordable price.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great burgers and drinks. Comfortable and well lit dining area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Lovely afternoon tea at a reasonable price if you are already planning to visit Buchart Gardens. The food was terrific, the service was excellent and we had a great view of Jennie Buchart's private gardent in Spring bloom.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We were disappointed with the limited choice of dishes on the Spring menu but the food was well presented and the service was good. Main entree size was on the small size so there was plenty of room for dessert. The desserts were delicious, especially the lemon tart with blueberry sorbet and our friends enjoyed their creme brûlées. Good location for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was excellent! The dining room is beautiful and nicely decorated with flower plants! The food and the tea are okay as I expected of afternoon tea. Overall, I am happy with my experience :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The room is beautiful, and the food was delicious. We loved our afternoon there. It was followed by a stroll through the stunning and colorful gardens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Our family was visiting Victoria over the spring break holiday and were in search of an afternoon tea experience at a good price. In our opinion Buchart Garden's afternoon tea was a classic afternoon tea experience at a great price. The ambiance was perfect. The view of the garden was beautiful and made the experience memorable. Would highly recommend to our family and friends.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had tea at the dining room. The sausage rolls, sweets and the tea were delicious, but the sandwiches left much to be desired. Most were bland, but curry chicken was too aggressively seasoned. It had that dry curry powder taste and texture. Did not finish 4 of the sandwiches. The server was very perfunctory and lacking personality.
Overall, a lackluster experience that was not worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Suggestions: Vegan options(without tofu), i.e. curried rice & beans for example. Vegan or vegetarian soup.

The desserts were excellent and the portion size was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We enjoyed lunch at the Bouchard Gardens. Our meal was delicious.
We enjoyed and shared the Leek soup and Caesar salad, truffled quiche and salmon turnover. The service was kind and gracious.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The only downside to this dining is that you have to pay for an entrance to the Gardens. Granted they are gorgeous but sometimes you'd just like a lunch. Everything was unusually good and also creative. We went on a chilly, rainy day and the fireplaces made it all cozy and good. Definitely will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Exciting high tea celebrating my 80th birthday... everyone born in 1937 treated to a free high tea and gate entry... what a beautiful way to celebrate my birthday. Thank you Boucharts Garden... beautiful as always😚

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Dining Room at Butchart Garden never fails to deliver a culinary taste experience combined with knowledge and pleasant staff. This particular meal was to take advantage of Victoria's "Dine Around Town" promotion, but could just as easily have been another evening out because The Dining Room is always, consistently excellent. During this five course meal, a different chef from the team was free to experiment and put forth their best. Each was a treat to the senses of sight, taste and aroma. We will always rate The Dining Room as one of the finest restaurants in the Victoria area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was called "degustation" and was a great culinary experience for us! We enjoyed it all and really appreciated the wine pairings for each of the dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Can's say enough about the evening; food was right up there with Hawksworth and Le Crocodile in Vancouver.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our five course meal with wine pairings was just delicious. The portions were perfect. Can't wait to do this again next time!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Organic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Hadn't seen my friend for a long time so we walked around the gardens and then had After on Tea. It was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Nice quite place . So classic love the environment

Tags: Historic, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was 4 star. It's a real treat to have the chiefs come to the table and describe how they prepared the meal . The Dinning room experienc is always a treat , servers and all the staff add to the experience by their quality customer service and enjoyable dialogue.
Don't miss out on the tasting experience and then return in the summer etc

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We always spend our anniversary at Butchart Gardens, a beautiful place for us to celebrate a beautiful moment in our lives.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great location, good food, excellent service. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

THE POTATO CRUST WAS LIKE SHOE LEATHER, THE RACK OF LAMB WAS PREFECT, THE GREENS TOOK FOREVER TO CHEW, THE 25 MIN. APPLE DESSERT NEEDS HELP :THE BOTTOM CRUST WAS LIKE RUBBER, APPLES A LONG WAY FROM TENDER & THE SAUCE WAS RIGHT ON. WHAT WOULD YOU CALL THIS ? SAUTE APPLES FIRST, MAKE CIRCLE WITH APPLES, COVER WITH SAUCE ON A PER-BAKED PASTRY, TOP WITH ICE CREAM .

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 4, 2017

A very pleasurable dining experience. Food presentation very attractive and service excellent.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2017

For those special occasions, the dining room would be tough to beat. The meal was exceptional with great ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always a great experience. Food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Meal and service was excellent. This place was on my bucket list. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.