About The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room

800 Benvenuto Ave
Brentwood Bay, BC V8M 1J8
View Larger Map

Enjoy the stunning floral display gardens, plus the restaurant's historic surroundings and contemporary, fresh local foods. Located in the original Butchart family residence, you can experience spectacular views of the Private Garden, the Italian Garden and Tod Inlet. Indulge in Afternoon Tea in our Spring and Summer seasons, or our High Tea which offers more warm savories from October through the winter months. Lunch and dinner are served seasonally with a strong presence of local sustainable ingredients. Choose from our award winning showcase of Vancouver Island wines. Enjoy adding to your awareness and appreciation of local grapes and vintners. Please note that admission to The Butchart Gardens is required in order to access The Dining Room Restaurant. Our current admission rates are at www.butchartgardens.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Afternoon Tea, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon Tea:
April 1 - 30: 12:00pm - 3:00pm daily
May 1 - Sept 30: 12:00pm - 4:30pm daily
October 1 - 15: 12:00 - 3:00pm daily

High Tea:
12:00pm - 3:00pm daily (served December 1 - December 22 and December 28 - March 31)

Lunch:
11:30am - 3:00pm daily (served April 1 - September 30)

Dinner:
5:00pm - 8:00pm daily (served June 15 - September 15 & December 1 - January 6)

Christmas Day High Tea 1:00pm - 2:30pm; Christmas Dinner 4:00pm - 7:30pm

Please note The Dining Room will be closed October 15 - November 30 2016

Cross Street:
Wallace Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 652-8222

Website:
http://www.butchartgardens.com/dining/dining-room

Entertainment:
The Butchart Gardens Entertainment Calendar can be found at http://www.butchartgardens.com/activities/calendar/

Parking Details:
The Dining Room Restaurant is located within The Butchart Gardens, so admission to The Gardens is required. You will be guided to your complimentary parking spot.

During the busiest holiday season dates (December 18 to January 1) those arriving between 5 pm and 7 pm may have to wait 30 minutes or more to pay and park. Please plan your visit accordingly.

Public Transit:
From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit
http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt

Executive Chef:
Travis Hansen

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
9 More
Best Overall
Victoria
Best Food
Victoria
Best Service
Victoria
Best Ambiance
Victoria
Best Value
Victoria
Romantic
Victoria
Scenic View
Victoria
Special Occasion
Victoria
Most Booked
Victoria
Best Restaurants in Central Saanich ›

Scenic View (222)
Special Occasion (205)
Romantic (154)
See All
Great for Lunch (126)
Great for Outdoor Dining (114)
Fit for Foodies (94)
Great for Brunch (65)
Good for Groups (43)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Afternoon Tea (28)
Kid-friendly (26)
Historic (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Cozy (9)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
People Watching (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (6)
Fireplace (5)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
673 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The place & food are wonderful

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined a day ago

The place & food are wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A great value relative to the famous tea ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

A great value relative to the famous tea at the Empress in Victoria: more food, higher quality this year (the Empress has been better in previous years, took a dip this year), more casual ambiance, half the cost, and the best setting of any restaurant I know. Walking through the gardens before and after tea is the perfect accompaniment to an elegant meal.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pasta dish was wonderful; I have had ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

The pasta dish was wonderful; I have had it three times this past summer and my only observation is that it MUST be served with a spoon...pretty difficult to eat linguine without a spoon for "swirling" the pasta! On each occasion, I had to request a spoon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Perfect way to enjoy the gardens. Very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect way to enjoy the gardens. Very laid back. Lots of food for the money.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the High Tea and it was lovely! Defi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had the High Tea and it was lovely! Definitely exceeded my expectations. I've never had High Tea before but we were told by locals Butschart had the best.

Would definitely try to eat outside on the porch as the dining room although very beautiful seemed noisy and a totally different "vibe."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gardens were very well maintained an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The gardens were very well maintained and a pleasure to walk. This was then topped off with an afternoon tea which was comprised of various savory tea sandwiches, sweet delights, and wonderful scones with Devonshire Cream and strawberry preserves. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious afternoon tea enjoyed by all. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Delicious afternoon tea enjoyed by all. I was particularly impressed by the fact my gluten free option was the same menu! Amazing. Elsewhere the GFO was sparse and nothing like what others were eating. While you do have to pay to get into Butchart Gardens on top of paying for the tea, the Gardens are spectacular. And you could pay about the same in total but just get the Afternoon Tea and maybe it wouldn't be as enjoyable!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal was absolutely delicious! The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our meal was absolutely delicious! The ambience amazing, and the service impeccable!

An evening to remember!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had very nice time at The Butchart Gar ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I had very nice time at The Butchart Gardens.If I come to Victoria again, I want to go The Dining room.Thank you for perfect service.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on vacation and we knew that the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We were on vacation and we knew that the spot to be is in the Gardens. We could have gone to Empress but my wife insists the Butchart Gardens for afternoon tea . It was great, cheaper, more room and better. thank You

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We dined outside and were offered a choi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We dined outside and were offered a choice of tables. We had a corner table near the door to the house and noticed that some diners on the west side struggled with the sun, but our spot was perfect. The cheese plate was great. Service was attentive. The waiter made sure our outside table was adjusted not to rock on uneven pavement, and when a couple of bugs fell in my wine the waiter brought a new glass. Dining on site provides the opportunity to wander nearly deserted grounds at dusk which is an incomparable experience. We visited in September under clear skies and a half moon. Unforgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife commented it was the best meal s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My wife commented it was the best meal she had ever had and the setting was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting. Not cheap but good v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Beautiful setting. Not cheap but good value for overall quality. Excellent friendly service. Though lovely afternoon tea being served, party members could also order from lunch menu. Delicious food. Wine list. But we were quite happy with the on-tap offering by carafe. Be sure to make reservations.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An exquisite ending to a day of touring ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

An exquisite ending to a day of touring the gardens. Perfect late lunch on the terrace. Worth the wait and the wait staff could not have been more polite or helpful. Save room for desserts, well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were completely impressed with the hi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We were completely impressed with the high tea experience at the Butchard Gardens. My aunt has travelled the world and been wined and dined by the best and she stated that she has never

felt as special as she did the day that we had tea. She even had tea in London, England and said that it couldn't compare to this. A special place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually I think tourist destinations don ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Usually I think tourist destinations don't have the best food...at best just flat boring.

This was the exception. We enjoyed a beautiful locale and a wonderful meal.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a must do experience while at Bu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This is a must do experience while at Butchart gardens.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exelent food and setting for a sp ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always exelent food and setting for a special occasion, always perfect experience and enjoyable time.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having been to afternoon tea several tim ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Having been to afternoon tea several times at Butchart Gardens, were very disappointed with the service this last trip. The server was inattentive and was obviously trying to serve as many tables as possible . We felt rushed and not given the attention we had received on previous afternoon tea visits.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

We love coming here whenever we are in V ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We love coming here whenever we are in Victoria. It is great food and incredible ambiance!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Historic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We so enjoyed our dining experience at T ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We so enjoyed our dining experience at The Butchart Gardens- The Dining Room😊 The food was delicious & the presentation was so appealing! The flowers were absolutely beautiful, that surrounded us at our table. Our waitress was very delightful & took fabulous care of us😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place for an enjoyable me ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always a great place for an enjoyable meal in wonderful surroundings

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view and location was amazing. The ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The view and location was amazing. The appetizers and potato with leek soup were incredibly delicious. But the entrees were terrible. The salmon "hot pocket" was disgusting. Mushy and tasteless. We had to send it back. This was a one-time visit for us because we were on vacation in the Pacific Northwest.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

The setting is so beautiful and elegant ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The setting is so beautiful and elegant yet friendly that it is truly a pleasure and a special feeling just to experience dining here. The food is always delicious, interesting, perfectly prepared and presented with gracious and helpful service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reserved a verandah table days in advanc ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Reserved a verandah table days in advance, only to not have that fulfilled on arrival and was seated inside. Although the food was very good, service could have been better, as more emphasis was put on clearing and setting tables, versus serving seated guests. This has happened on the past two occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Very beautiful setting all around. Reque ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Very beautiful setting all around. Request to sit outside is the only way to go. Pretty quiet and definitely serene. Good service and reasonable prices. Only complaint pertains to the payment method. If paying by card, they stand in front of you while you assign of a value for the tip. It was a little awkward for me. Also, there is no 18% option on the machine, just 15 and 20. I went with 20, but felt there should have been an option for 18.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed a good food and nice service! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We enjoyed a good food and nice service! Our seats were facing to the court garden which was full of flowers. I would like to have seats outside next time. (It was full this time). But, basically, from the any seats, you can enjoy beautiful garden flowers! I will definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bucket list high tea at Butchart gardens ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Bucket list high tea at Butchart gardens was a pleasure. We were celebrating a birthday. Looking out on the garden while having tea is lovely. The ambiance is beautiful and the service outstanding. If you figure garden entrance fee (25usd) plus tea (25usd) is still less than a day skiing or similar day outing with entertainment, it is well worth it. My only complaints were that there was no lemon curd and the earl grey was overly mild.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Couldn't decide between Afternoon Tea or ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Couldn't decide between Afternoon Tea or Lunch, when making the reservation. I really appreciated the option of deciding which to order once I was seated and reviewed both menus - rather than having to specify when making the reservation. The tea selection and presentation was outstanding. I was seated in the garden room - near a window. The setting and ambiance was divine! It was a bright sunny day, unseasonably warm in the Gardens. The flowers were all in bloom and my table allowed me to look out on a fountain, gazebo setting, complete with white picket fence. Tea service was a bit slow - which I appreciated (rather than feeling rushed). The berry trifle was a perfect refreshing start to the service, followed by the traditional tiered sandwiches, sweets, and scone. Highly recommended, if you are visiting the Butchart Gardens!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Their afternoon high tea was better than ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Their afternoon high tea was better than that of the Fairmont Empress. Beautiful ambiance and wonder food!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What a beautiful afternoon meal. A grea ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

What a beautiful afternoon meal. A great way to celebrate my friend's birthday. We loved it and will return whenever we visit Victoria.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This was a lovely way to celebrate our a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was a lovely way to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious and artistically plated. We were seated on the terrace which gave us a nice view of the gardens. Dinner was pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent meal,.loved the local input. T ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent meal,.loved the local input. The wines were great and service fantastic

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic- delicious food and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic- delicious food and superior service

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Casual, Healthy, Cozy, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was nothing short of WONDERFUL! Food ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was nothing short of WONDERFUL! Food, service and ambiance! All fabulous. Views of the beautiful gardens and quiet enough to talk and have a romantic meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Private Room, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Historic, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service but overprice ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food and service but overpriced. Certainly fine for the rare special occasion but not likely to be a regular choice, especially since there is the added cost of entrance to the gardens.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We had a wonderful time. Your afternoon ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Your afternoon tea was much better food and price wise then some other more expensive hotel that I could mention, and your staff was not condescending to us either as was the other Hotel staff. We also enjoyed the fact that you did not have a dress code, and that we were allowed to wear our nice shorts and tank tops on such a hot day.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Queen's tea ever. Sandwiches and s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best Queen's tea ever. Sandwiches and scones were perfect in every way. The aperitif was wonderful. The sweets were decadent. Highest recommendations for service, setting, and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful afternoon tea experie ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a wonderful afternoon tea experience. Our server was courteous, knowledgeable and friendly. The tea sandwiches and ambiance were both spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! Enjoyed my first experience wi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fabulous! Enjoyed my first experience with high tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.