About The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room

800 Benvenuto Ave
Brentwood Bay, BC V8M 1J8
View Larger Map

Enjoy the stunning floral display gardens, plus the restaurant's historic surroundings and contemporary, fresh local foods. Located in the original Butchart family residence, you can experience spectacular views of the Private Garden, the Italian Garden and Tod Inlet. Indulge in Afternoon Tea in our Spring and Summer seasons, or our High Tea which offers more warm savories from October through the winter months. Lunch and dinner are served seasonally with a strong presence of local sustainable ingredients. Choose from our award winning showcase of Vancouver Island wines. Enjoy adding to your awareness and appreciation of local grapes and vintners. Please note that admission to The Butchart Gardens is required in order to access The Dining Room Restaurant. Our current admission rates are at www.butchartgardens.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Afternoon Tea, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon Tea:
April 1 - 30: 12:00pm - 3:00pm daily
May 1 - Sept 30: 12:00pm - 4:30pm daily
October 1 - 15: 12:00 - 3:00pm daily

High Tea:
12:00pm - 3:00pm daily (served December 1 - December 22 and December 28 - March 31)

Lunch:
11:30am - 3:00pm daily (served April 1 - September 30)

Dinner:
5:00pm - 8:00pm daily (served June 15 - September 15 & December 1 - January 6)

Christmas Day High Tea 1:00pm - 2:30pm; Christmas Dinner 4:00pm - 7:30pm

Please note The Dining Room will be closed October 15 - November 30 2016

Cross Street:
Wallace Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 652-8222

Website:
http://www.butchartgardens.com/dining/dining-room

Entertainment:
The Butchart Gardens Entertainment Calendar can be found at http://www.butchartgardens.com/activities/calendar/

Parking Details:
The Dining Room Restaurant is located within The Butchart Gardens, so admission to The Gardens is required. You will be guided to your complimentary parking spot.

During the busiest holiday season dates (December 18 to January 1) those arriving between 5 pm and 7 pm may have to wait 30 minutes or more to pay and park. Please plan your visit accordingly.

Public Transit:
From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit
http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt

Executive Chef:
Travis Hansen

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Victoria
9 More
Best Food
Victoria
Best Service
Victoria
Best Ambiance
Victoria
Best Value
Victoria
Fit for Foodies
Victoria
Romantic
Victoria
Scenic View
Victoria
Special Occasion
Victoria
Most Booked
Victoria
Best Restaurants in Central Saanich ›

Scenic View (217)
Special Occasion (214)
Romantic (148)
See All
Great for Lunch (137)
Great for Outdoor Dining (112)
Fit for Foodies (104)
Great for Brunch (77)
Good for Groups (48)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Kid-friendly (28)
Notable Wine List (16)
Hot Spot (10)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The setting is so beautiful and elegant ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined 4 days ago

The setting is so beautiful and elegant yet friendly that it is truly a pleasure and a special feeling just to experience dining here. The food is always delicious, interesting, perfectly prepared and presented with gracious and helpful service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very beautiful setting all around. Reque ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very beautiful setting all around. Request to sit outside is the only way to go. Pretty quiet and definitely serene. Good service and reasonable prices. Only complaint pertains to the payment method. If paying by card, they stand in front of you while you assign of a value for the tip. It was a little awkward for me. Also, there is no 18% option on the machine, just 15 and 20. I went with 20, but felt there should have been an option for 18.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed a good food and nice service! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed a good food and nice service! Our seats were facing to the court garden which was full of flowers. I would like to have seats outside next time. (It was full this time). But, basically, from the any seats, you can enjoy beautiful garden flowers! I will definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bucket list high tea at Butchart gardens ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Bucket list high tea at Butchart gardens was a pleasure. We were celebrating a birthday. Looking out on the garden while having tea is lovely. The ambiance is beautiful and the service outstanding. If you figure garden entrance fee (25usd) plus tea (25usd) is still less than a day skiing or similar day outing with entertainment, it is well worth it. My only complaints were that there was no lemon curd and the earl grey was overly mild.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Couldn't decide between Afternoon Tea or ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Couldn't decide between Afternoon Tea or Lunch, when making the reservation. I really appreciated the option of deciding which to order once I was seated and reviewed both menus - rather than having to specify when making the reservation. The tea selection and presentation was outstanding. I was seated in the garden room - near a window. The setting and ambiance was divine! It was a bright sunny day, unseasonably warm in the Gardens. The flowers were all in bloom and my table allowed me to look out on a fountain, gazebo setting, complete with white picket fence. Tea service was a bit slow - which I appreciated (rather than feeling rushed). The berry trifle was a perfect refreshing start to the service, followed by the traditional tiered sandwiches, sweets, and scone. Highly recommended, if you are visiting the Butchart Gardens!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Their afternoon high tea was better than ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Their afternoon high tea was better than that of the Fairmont Empress. Beautiful ambiance and wonder food!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What a beautiful afternoon meal. A grea ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

What a beautiful afternoon meal. A great way to celebrate my friend's birthday. We loved it and will return whenever we visit Victoria.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This was a lovely way to celebrate our a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was a lovely way to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious and artistically plated. We were seated on the terrace which gave us a nice view of the gardens. Dinner was pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent meal,.loved the local input. T ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent meal,.loved the local input. The wines were great and service fantastic

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic- delicious food and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic- delicious food and superior service

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Casual, Healthy, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was nothing short of WONDERFUL! Food ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was nothing short of WONDERFUL! Food, service and ambiance! All fabulous. Views of the beautiful gardens and quiet enough to talk and have a romantic meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Private Room, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Historic, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service but overprice ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food and service but overpriced. Certainly fine for the rare special occasion but not likely to be a regular choice, especially since there is the added cost of entrance to the gardens.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We had a wonderful time. Your afternoon ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Your afternoon tea was much better food and price wise then some other more expensive hotel that I could mention, and your staff was not condescending to us either as was the other Hotel staff. We also enjoyed the fact that you did not have a dress code, and that we were allowed to wear our nice shorts and tank tops on such a hot day.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Queen's tea ever. Sandwiches and s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best Queen's tea ever. Sandwiches and scones were perfect in every way. The aperitif was wonderful. The sweets were decadent. Highest recommendations for service, setting, and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful afternoon tea experie ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a wonderful afternoon tea experience. Our server was courteous, knowledgeable and friendly. The tea sandwiches and ambiance were both spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! Enjoyed my first experience wi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fabulous! Enjoyed my first experience with high tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Dining Room was a quiet respite in t ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Dining Room was a quiet respite in the middle of our touring the Gardens. Food was okay. We saw for almost ten minutes before our waiter showed up and he never seemed to be around when we needed something. The room was elegant and the views of the garden stunning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Went to this resturant on a Thursday Eve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went to this resturant on a Thursday Evening and had a 3 course meal. We sat outside on the deck overlooking the grass with a view of the Japenese Garden entrance and a slice of the water. Scenary was beautiful, the only downer was this couple behind us that thought the rest of the resturant cared what they were talking about. As an American from NY it takes a lot for me to call someone loud and obnoxious but this guy was awful. Appetizers although small were very good. Our server did make the point that the scallops were only served in quantity of (3) but we could add the (4th) for $4. Glad they made the offer but it felt a little weird. I had the Gnocchi with Beef and it was outstanding. Highly reccommend this dish to anyone visting. My wife had the cod and she thought "It was good, not great".

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

We ordered the "Afternoon Tea". It was b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We ordered the "Afternoon Tea". It was beautifully presented and the teas were delicious. Over the top is the beautiful garden setting in which to enjoy it all. I highly recommend dining at the end of your visit to the gardens. It is icing on the cake of such a remarkable experience as the Butchart Gardens!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

What a special experience!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

What a special experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a unique atmosphere. And everythin ...

vip
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Such a unique atmosphere. And everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We reserved a 2:30 table, so we could ei ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We reserved a 2:30 table, so we could either order lunch or tea. We chose lunch because we were hungry. I ordered a special drink ($10) and it was pretty bad. tasted like a Shirley Temple.

I sent it back and made another choice. It was also terrible, but I decided to not complain. The food I can't remember. The best part is of course the lovely room and the views of the garden.

It is worth going just for that. I recommend asking for a table on the veranda outside.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Historic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome! Both my visiting sister and I h ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Awesome! Both my visiting sister and I had not been there in 20 years. Spectacular and the Tea was superb! Far better than your competitors!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Butchart Gardens for our 12th an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went to Butchart Gardens for our 12th anniversary and had afternoon tea while there. Food was yummy....tea was flavorful and eating out on the patio gave us a beautiful view of the Italian Garden. Tea was cheaper here than the Empress if you were looking for a different option. Though, there are places to have high tea all over town as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The terrarium ambiance was great. The me ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The terrarium ambiance was great. The meal and service is over priced for the level of quality you get. The hot dog stand outside of the ice cream/snack area was GREAT!!! The dining room should be reserved for times in which you aren't very hungry and you're just after an ambiance experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

delicious and wonderful

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

delicious and wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad food, bad service. The high tea pric ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Bad food, bad service. The high tea price is not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The Dining Room has some very nice views ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Dining Room has some very nice views of the garden, and you obviously can't beat the beautiful ambiance created by all those flowers. The food was very good, and our server gave us great recommendations, was very attentive, and treated us really well. It was a lovely evening at Butchart!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming garden setting for afternoon te ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Charming garden setting for afternoon tea. Wonderful variety of savory and sweet treats. Excellent service in a welcoming atmosphere. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time to come to the Gardens for T ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Second time to come to the Gardens for Tea, and so, I must like it! Ambiance is lovely, and charming in the sun garden, and everyone enjoyed her selection of hot tea. The custard with cream and fruit was served first, and so light and delicious. Found the tier of plates very well presented...savory on bottom, with sweets and then a scone on top. Notable finger sandwich was the cucumber with ginger cream cheese. From each plate there were favorites at the table. The scone at the end seemed ordinary only by comparison. There seemed to be plenty of food, and also food acceptable to any male in attendance.

A fun experience, now twice, with predictable foods.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Really enjoyed our experience. Each tim ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Really enjoyed our experience. Each time it is a treat to come here!

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Victoria, and of course ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were visiting Victoria, and of course Butchart Gardens. Lovely dining room, great dinner and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely lunch in a lovely settin ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a lovely lunch in a lovely setting. We had the salmon turnover and the quiche, which were both quite tasty. Our server was very attentive. Not much to add, other than I recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant on Vancouver island. Fan ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best restaurant on Vancouver island. Fantastic food, stellar service, great ambiance

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After a day of stunning garden viewing t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

After a day of stunning garden viewing the calm of the dinning room was relaxing to the senses. The formal dining area has old lead glass and lots of charm. Excellent local menu.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gorgeous setting overlooking the gardens ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Gorgeous setting overlooking the gardens and a beautiful dining room. The service was so friendly, efficient and warm. Afternoon tea could have been a stuffy, formal affair but instead was fun and casual. There was plenty of food for a light lunch and the tea selection was great. A little pricey but worth it for a special occasion!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My self and a group of friends went the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My self and a group of friends went the Butchart Gardens for a girls day out it was a wonderful day, the gardens are beautiful. We had High Tea at the Dining Room it was exceptional, the presentation was great we spent a good 10 minutes taking pictures of the food before we started eating, everything was delicious. I would highly recommend the gardens and the Dining Room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were able to sit out on the terrace w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were able to sit out on the terrace with views towards the Italian Garden on one side and the Rose Garden on the other. Service was excellent with a good variety of afternoon tea items. A lovely occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly beautifully arranged food, ex ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Incredibly beautifully arranged food, exquisite taste and preparation. Absolutely so impressed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the Afternoon Tea out on the bal ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Enjoyed the Afternoon Tea out on the balcony and the scenery, food and service were all wonderful!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.