Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.55mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room

Enjoy the stunning floral display gardens, plus the restaurant's historic surroundings and contemporary, fresh local foods. Located in the original Butchart family residence, you can experience spectacular views of the Private Garden, the Italian Garden and Tod Inlet. Indulge in Afternoon Tea in our Spring and Summer seasons, or our High Tea which offers more warm savories from October through the winter months. Lunch and dinner are served seasonally with a strong presence of local sustainable ingredients. Choose from our award winning showcase of Vancouver Island wines. Enjoy adding to your awareness and appreciation of local grapes and vintners. Please note that admission to The Butchart Gardens is required in order to access The Dining Room Restaurant. Our current admission rates are at www.butchartgardens.com

800 Benvenuto Ave
Brentwood Bay, BC V8M 1J8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Afternoon Tea, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
High Tea:
January 7 - March 31: 12:00pm-3:00pm daily

Afternoon Tea:
April 1 - 30: 12:00pm - 3:00pm daily
May 1 - September 30: 12:00pm - 4:00pm daily

Lunch:
March 1 - September 30 11:30am - 3:00pm daily

Dinner:
June 1 - 14: 5:00pm - 7:00 pm
June 15 - September 15: 5:00pm - 8:00pm daily
December 1 - January 6: 5:00pm - 8:00 daily


Cross Street:
Wallace Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 652-8222

Website:
http://www.butchartgardens.com/dining/dining-room

Entertainment:
The Butchart Gardens Entertainment Calendar can be found at http://www.butchartgardens.com/activities/calendar/

Parking Details:
The Dining Room Restaurant is located within The Butchart Gardens, so admission to The Gardens is required. You will be guided to your complimentary parking spot.

During the busiest holiday season dates (December 1-10 and December 16 to January 1) those arriving between 5 pm and 7 pm may have to wait 30 minutes or more to pay and park. Please plan your visit accordingly.

Public Transit:
From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit
http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt

Executive Chef:
Travis Hansen

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Afternoon Tea (50)
Scenic View (45)
See All
Worth the Drive (45)
Romantic (41)
Historic (38)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Good for a Date (33)
Cozy (32)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Seasonal (31)
Fireplace (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Live Music (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Fun (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Casual (7)
Family Style (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Private Room (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
789 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed lunch at the Bouchard Gardens. Our meal was delicious.
We enjoyed and shared the Leek soup and Caesar salad, truffled quiche and salmon turnover. The service was kind and gracious.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The only downside to this dining is that you have to pay for an entrance to the Gardens. Granted they are gorgeous but sometimes you'd just like a lunch. Everything was unusually good and also creative. We went on a chilly, rainy day and the fireplaces made it all cozy and good. Definitely will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Exciting high tea celebrating my 80th birthday... everyone born in 1937 treated to a free high tea and gate entry... what a beautiful way to celebrate my birthday. Thank you Boucharts Garden... beautiful as always😚

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Dining Room at Butchart Garden never fails to deliver a culinary taste experience combined with knowledge and pleasant staff. This particular meal was to take advantage of Victoria's "Dine Around Town" promotion, but could just as easily have been another evening out because The Dining Room is always, consistently excellent. During this five course meal, a different chef from the team was free to experiment and put forth their best. Each was a treat to the senses of sight, taste and aroma. We will always rate The Dining Room as one of the finest restaurants in the Victoria area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was called "degustation" and was a great culinary experience for us! We enjoyed it all and really appreciated the wine pairings for each of the dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Can's say enough about the evening; food was right up there with Hawksworth and Le Crocodile in Vancouver.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our five course meal with wine pairings was just delicious. The portions were perfect. Can't wait to do this again next time!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Organic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Hadn't seen my friend for a long time so we walked around the gardens and then had After on Tea. It was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Nice quite place . So classic love the environment

Tags: Historic, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was 4 star. It's a real treat to have the chiefs come to the table and describe how they prepared the meal . The Dinning room experienc is always a treat , servers and all the staff add to the experience by their quality customer service and enjoyable dialogue.
Don't miss out on the tasting experience and then return in the summer etc

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We always spend our anniversary at Butchart Gardens, a beautiful place for us to celebrate a beautiful moment in our lives.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great location, good food, excellent service. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

THE POTATO CRUST WAS LIKE SHOE LEATHER, THE RACK OF LAMB WAS PREFECT, THE GREENS TOOK FOREVER TO CHEW, THE 25 MIN. APPLE DESSERT NEEDS HELP :THE BOTTOM CRUST WAS LIKE RUBBER, APPLES A LONG WAY FROM TENDER & THE SAUCE WAS RIGHT ON. WHAT WOULD YOU CALL THIS ? SAUTE APPLES FIRST, MAKE CIRCLE WITH APPLES, COVER WITH SAUCE ON A PER-BAKED PASTRY, TOP WITH ICE CREAM .

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 4, 2017

A very pleasurable dining experience. Food presentation very attractive and service excellent.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2017

For those special occasions, the dining room would be tough to beat. The meal was exceptional with great ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always a great experience. Food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Meal and service was excellent. This place was on my bucket list. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Romantic and different experience! $100 is a bit much but worth it if you want to treat someone like a princess!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The high tea was good and I am glad that the battenburg cake has been replaced! But, there didn't seem to be enough tea leaves in the pot. It was the very last pour which approached the colour of what the first pour should have been... Didn't mention it to the server as I kept hoping for it to infuse better. Fellow guest had the same experience. Wonder if the kitchen ran out of Earl Grey?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Booked a table for dinner on New Years Eve. We are annual pass holders so the cost of admission isn't an issue. Food was fine. Service was OK. Disappointed we were seated in the "sun room" should have requested a different table at the time of booking. Nothing wrong with the meal or even the service both were average. I had expected a little something more from them. We have in the past enjoyed Christmas time tea in the same location so expected that dinner would be even better. To be honest probably would just eat in the Blue Poppy next time as the food is just as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner at The Dining Room. The staff couldn't do enough for us, our table was situated near a lovely fireplace, and there was live piano music being played in the background. The food and service were outstanding, and we were able to take our time to enjoy and savour. We can highly recommend this restaurant and plan to return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A lovely window table to enjoy an extremely large afternoon tea watching the Christmas lights. A perfect New Year's Eve treat.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

On the upside, beautiful location/surroundings, excellent food. On the downside, waitress less than enthusiastic (probably exhausted), placed in a high traffic area beside the kitchen access (WAY too loud and busy). Will ask for the White Room next time. Atrium (where we were placed) is good if you like loud and busy.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Lovely meal with great ambience. Service pleasant and food served in a timely manner. Christmas lights make a lovely atmosphere. A real Christmas treat. 🎄

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful afternoon at the dining room and then skating and walking after that.
The lights really are fantastic to stroll through. It was a lovely holiday event.
It is definitely a special occasion date as it is expensive.
The service at the dining room was very good, friendly and accommodating (sometimes surprisingly rare to find these days!

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good service and beautiful xmas decor. We would have preferred the trifle be served after the sandwiches not before. We would like the sandwiches to be a bit bigger. Lovely time.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our dining experience at Butchart Gardens Dining Room was outstanding. Ambiance, hospitality, service, the meal, appetizers and desert could not have been better in any way. One of the best dining experiences I have ever had... and definitely the best from an 'all around' perspective. Walking around the gardens decorated for Xmas afterwards was the icing on the cake.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We have been coming at Christmas since our children were teenagers but now I notice it is mostly seniors who are dining. Could be it is too expensive for those with teenagers who now longer eat the kids menu? We brought our teen and preteen grandchildren but they were the only ones of that age that we noticed. Too bad.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Butchart Gardens are a fabulous destination for holiday excursions. We like to dine at "The Dining Room" to top off a day of visiting the light display and grounds. We've never had a negative experience, but this time one of our party had some very underdone potato's, making them totally inedible. It was a bit disappointing. Beautiful outing, however...

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were received pleasantly and treated well. Our food was perfectly prepared and presented. Overall, a very good experience. Thank you!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The entire dining experience was well worth it. Food, setting, and service were all outstanding. I celebrated a wonderful birthday dinner there.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Went with my niece who is gluten and dairy intolerant - mist upsetting was the fact that I noted this on the on-line reservation and when we got there were told it wasn't possible to do anything that was dairy free. Obviously, whoever was reviewing the reservation didn't read this section - my niece was from out of town and it would have been nice to get a call or an email stating this ahead of time as she was so excited to go. The staff tried to accommodate her and we weren't charged for her afternoon tea but it was very disappointing.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Superb dining in a posh and relaxed atmosphere. We visited the Dining Room at the Gardens for the 2nd time in December. Boxing Day dinner was the same high standards we have come to expect from this first class restaurant, Our server, who has been there for 10years, provided brilliant but not intrusive service. The meal was spectacular... the food looked as delicious as it tasted. We were seating in a smaller dining area overlooking the Italian gardens... full of Christmas lights! I would recommend this restaurant to almost everyone. Prices are upscale but worth it! Not suitable for younger or small children.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great service, very corteous and attentive customer service, delicious food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

our meal was a delightful experience and much appreciated. We were there on a rainy winter afternoon, and the solarium provided a warm and cosy environment. We appreciated the effort your chef took to make our meal gluten-free, and the gf pastries were indeed delicious. Less successful were the gf sandwiches, perhaps because the bread was not toasted. That might be something you could try. despite that, however, we had a fine afternoon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

What a beautiful way to spend Christmas Day dinner. The food was spectacular and the service was outstanding! Thank you so very much!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A perfect way to celebrate Christmas; tour the fabulous illuminated gardens, warm up before the fire, then enjoy a scrumptious dinner.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A lovely venue for afternoon tea, particularly when decorated for Christmas. Service was excellent. The kitchen quickly made substitutions for seafood allergies. Look forward to coming here again.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had an initial reservation for 3:00 pm because that was the only time open. I didn't realize that was for Afternoon Tea and not dinner (totally my error). When I asked to reschedule, if they had a table, the manager was very friendly and suggested 5:00 pm for dinner. It was outstanding and the food was exquisite. Top service, food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were under the impression that our reservation was for the dining room Christmas dinner menu. Your website was deceptive and we ended up with a reservation for tea in the late afternoon. It was embarrassing and not at all what we wanted. We won't be going back for dinner at Butchart Gardens although they were very accommodating in spite of Open Table's mistake. We won't be using Open Table to make reservations in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.