About The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room

800 Benvenuto Ave
Brentwood Bay, BC V8M 1J8
View Larger Map

Enjoy the stunning floral display gardens, plus the restaurant's historic surroundings and contemporary, fresh local foods. Located in the original Butchart family residence, you can experience spectacular views of the Private Garden, the Italian Garden and Tod Inlet. Indulge in Afternoon Tea in our Spring and Summer seasons, or our High Tea which offers more warm savories from October through the winter months. Lunch and dinner are served seasonally with a strong presence of local sustainable ingredients. Choose from our award winning showcase of Vancouver Island wines. Enjoy adding to your awareness and appreciation of local grapes and vintners. Please note that admission to The Butchart Gardens is required in order to access The Dining Room Restaurant. Our current admission rates are at www.butchartgardens.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Afternoon Tea, Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Christmas Tea:
12:00pm - 4:00pm daily (served December 1 - January 6 / EXCEPT Christmas Day 1:00pm - 2:30pm)

Afternoon Tea:
January 7- April 30: 12:00pm - 3:00pm daily
May 1 - Sept 30: 12:00pm - 4:00pm daily
October 1 - November 30: 12:00 - 3:00pm daily

Lunch:
11:30am - 3:00pm daily (served March 1 - September 30)

Dinner:
5:00pm - 8:00pm daily (served June 15 - September 15 & December 1 - January 6)

Please note The Dining Room will be closed October 15 - November 30 2016

Cross Street:
Wallace Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 652-8222

Website:
http://www.butchartgardens.com/dining/dining-room

Entertainment:
The Butchart Gardens Entertainment Calendar can be found at http://www.butchartgardens.com/activities/calendar/

Parking Details:
The Dining Room Restaurant is located within The Butchart Gardens, so admission to The Gardens is required. You will be guided to your complimentary parking spot.

During the busiest holiday season dates (December 1-10 and December 16 to January 1) those arriving between 5 pm and 7 pm may have to wait 30 minutes or more to pay and park. Please plan your visit accordingly.

Public Transit:
From downtown Victoria, you should take bus #30 or #31, then transfer to bus #75 (at the Royal Oak exchange) which comes right to The Gardens. For BC Transit schedules visit
http://www.bctransit.com/regions/vic/?p=1.txt

Executive Chef:
Travis Hansen

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Butchart Gardens - The Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Value
Vancouver / British Columbia
12 More
Great for Lunch
Vancouver / British Columbia
Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Special Occasion
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Victoria
Best Food
Victoria
Best Service
Victoria
Best Ambiance
Victoria
Best Value
Victoria
Scenic View
Victoria
Special Occasion
Victoria
Most Booked
Victoria
Best Restaurants in Central Saanich ›

Scenic View (71)
Special Occasion (63)
Romantic (52)
See All
Afternoon Tea (50)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Great for Lunch (36)
Historic (35)
Worth the Drive (35)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Good for a Date (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Cozy (23)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Seasonal (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Authentic (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Afternoon Coffee (14)
Fun (13)
Casual (12)
Fireplace (12)
People Watching (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Family Style (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Live Music (2)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
714 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful historic setting. Lovely te ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful historic setting. Lovely tea items. Was perfect to entretain our out of town guests as always. Please keep the traditions

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found the meat dishes to be underdone. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Found the meat dishes to be underdone. Fish dish (cod) was not very good.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Everything that was offered was prepared ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything that was offered was prepared to perfection and presented beautifully. We don't go often but when we do, our expectations are always met.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was an 80th birthday celebration wh ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

This was an 80th birthday celebration which was wonderful

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was wonderful. Food left somethi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was wonderful. Food left something to be desired. My daughter ordered the kids afternoon tea. Some of the items were made previously which resulted in breads being dried out and stale. I'd really love to take my daughter again but because of the quality of the food, I may not.

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Creative and delicious food in a lovely ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Creative and delicious food in a lovely setting. Highly recommended for special occasions. I have eaten here a few times over the years and have had a wonderful experience each time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

None of us had been before. We were ver ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

None of us had been before. We were very impressed and had a wonderful evening. Thank you.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to this wonder ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our second visit to this wonderful location. Like the High Tea at the first visit, the dinner was delicious, the service attentive and the setting delightful. If you plan to visit the gardens or have an annual membership like we do you should consider this treat.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was great except my turnips were ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner was great except my turnips were too raw to eat. Lamb was delicious.

We all really enjoyed the food and the ambiance, being able to chat in a normal

voice with the piano in the background. Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a treat to go to Butchart Gardens ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a treat to go to Butchart Gardens, but especially at Christmas. Wonderful to enjoy a high quality inventive meal after a walk in the frosty air watching the skaters, listening to the carolers and viewing the 12 Days of Christmas spectacular lights. When you book ask for a table overlooking the Italian gardens - there are only a few so request in advance!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely beautiful setting, we were t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely beautiful setting, we were there at Christmas time so we had a window directly over looking the lit gardens. What a special treat. Food was excellent and service was outstanding.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Live Music, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been here previously in the summe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We had been here previously in the summer for our anniversary and had enjoyed a superlative meal so we thought we would go back for their seasonal menu. We arrived early but were seated quite quickly. Menus were at the table but we new they had vegetarian options so my wife did have to ask for the vegetarian menu - which had a lot of options - she chose a harvest pear salad and artisanal potato gnocchi as a main course. She was a little disappointed as the gnocchi in the summer was made with squash but this was one had a very rich fennel and sherry cream sauce which was a little over powering (although I did enjoy hoovering her leftovers) I had sea scallops which I had had in the summer - they were sublime -with forbidden black rice, cured green tomato, saffron aioli and chorizo passata - just out of this world. For my mains I had AAA beef tenderloin which literally melted in my mouth - it was so god and so done to perfection. For dessert we shared a vanilla bean creme brule which was magnificent. Dinner was complemented with a glass of Big Bang Theory which went well with both dishes. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Dinner does come with fresh baked bread but we asked for gluten free - which was a slice of something that was not too tasty and quite spicy.

All in all a wonderfully cooked, served and relaxing meal. Then we got to stroll and take in the Christmas lights in the gardens - an added bonus

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our Afternoon Tea experience was superb! ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Our Afternoon Tea experience was superb! Butchart Gardens Dining Room really knows how to make an occasion special. Everything - food, service, ambience - was excellent. The gluten free savoury pastries were outstanding. Major kudos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our night out, all of the sta ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We enjoyed our night out, all of the staff was professional, friendly and efficient. We were just seated next to a large group so the noise level was high. Was our first time ever dining here and enjoyed every bite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were sat in a porch room that was col ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We were sat in a porch room that was cold - it felt like a hall way.

Would have been better near one of those nice fires!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

As always, Butchart Garden's The Dining ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As always, Butchart Garden's The Dining Room gave us a fantastic evening of service and tremendously crafted food. Their French Onion Soup has a depth a flavor I've never had before, though it was definitely quite salty. The presentation of their Scallops was like food art - almost too pretty to touch! The Mushroom Bisque was heavenly - and this is coming from someone who HATES mushrooms!

Entrees - our table had the 12oz Ribeye, which was cooked to sheer perfection (med-rare0; the Berkshire Pork Loin Chop served with farro risotto was unlike any pork entrée I've ever had - insanely juicy, tender, and melted like butter in your mouth. Our table also had a salmon entrée which was cooked to perfection and beautifully plated.

We ended the meal with the Apple Tarte Tatin with Whiskey Ice Cream - it was delicious, and the apples were caramelized to the point that they tasted like candy! My only note on the dessert was that the served did not give us (individually) knifes to cut the pastry with - though there was one to cut the tarte, when eating it individually, the pastry was tough to cut with a fork so we took turns with the knife she served it with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Cozy, Disabled Access, Historic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a beautiful meal with a gorgeous ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was a beautiful meal with a gorgeous view. It was pricey for sure but we brought family from out of town to see the lights It was worth it though.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Charming setting. Enjoyed our meal. We ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Charming setting. Enjoyed our meal. We ordered mushroom bisque soup and house salad for first course. Loved the favors in the soup. Lamb and pork chops for dinner. Both meals were presented so appealing. The dessert was the apple tartlet which had a lovely apple flavor but the crust was so tuff it was almost impossible to cut. Loved the cocktail.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great afternoon tea presentation. Delici ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great afternoon tea presentation. Delicious and varied with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although we booked ahead for our dining ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Although we booked ahead for our dining table and despite there being many empty tables in nicer parts of the restaurant, we were taken to a small narrow and much colder room at the back of the restaurant. That said, we had a lovely evening with great food and to be there surrounded by the magic of the gardens during the Christmas season is such a pleasure. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Afternoon tea at the Butchart Gardens wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Afternoon tea at the Butchart Gardens was a lovely start to the holiday season, followed by a leisurely stroll to see the beautiful illuminations, hear Xmas music and watch skaters on the ice rink.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were visiting Victoria for our 45th a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We were visiting Victoria for our 45th anniversary. The opening night of the Christmas Lights made it extra special.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, your menu, service and ambianc ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

As usual, your menu, service and ambiance were superb.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The environment is good. I do like some ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The environment is good. I do like some food with a little bit strong taste, but the food there is tasteless. Overall is ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Afternoon tea was spot on with brilliant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Afternoon tea was spot on with brilliant service, amazing delicacies, all the while surrounded by a floral setting second to none!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The afternoon tea here was a wonderful e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The afternoon tea here was a wonderful experience. The room is a warm, cozy space and the tea service was an ample serving of sweet and savory-all delicious! A perfect compliment to the splendor of the most beautiful gardens I have ever seen. I highly recommend both.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice food, nice view, nice service.

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

nice food, nice view, nice service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the view from the dining room. We ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I love the view from the dining room. We only ordered afternoon tea, it is good and satisfied. Love the ambience and enjoy the view at there. Price is reasonable, worthy for the paying.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Dining Room experience was simply wo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The Dining Room experience was simply wonderful. The staff are very knowledgeable to explain to us the afternoon tea etiquette. The dining experience was very enjoyable. We took our friends from Colorado to stroll the spectacular garden and then for afternoon tea. Chic!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Organic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff and our server gave excellent ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The staff and our server gave excellent customer service. Food and location was perfect!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Family Style, Historic, Fun, Outstanding Value, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place & food are wonderful

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The place & food are wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was a really lovely experience. The o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 26, 2016

It was a really lovely experience. The only disappointment was our server. While she was very efficient she was not very congenial . My husband and I had each ordered a different type of Tea so it was brought in two separate pots. When I questioned if the tea set before me was the one I had ordered she queried "Did you move the pots" ? When I said no we hadn't she seemed annoyed and said we could share the one. It seems really trivial to mention this but really it is all about the experience and our server definitely took away from an otherwise perfect day at Butchart Gardens.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

An authentic Brit Afternoon Tea with san ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

An authentic Brit Afternoon Tea with sanwiches, cake and scones with jam and cream. All washed down by freshly brewed Earl Grey tea while enjoying the spectacular garden views.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Seasonal, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had tea at the restaurant. The food ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We had tea at the restaurant. The food was plentiful (we couldn't even finish it all) and very tasty! Several choices of tea to choose from. Beautiful atmosphere with a great view out our window of the gardens. Lovely afternoon tea

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A great value relative to the famous tea ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2016

A great value relative to the famous tea at the Empress in Victoria: more food, higher quality this year (the Empress has been better in previous years, took a dip this year), more casual ambiance, half the cost, and the best setting of any restaurant I know. Walking through the gardens before and after tea is the perfect accompaniment to an elegant meal.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pasta dish was wonderful; I have had ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The pasta dish was wonderful; I have had it three times this past summer and my only observation is that it MUST be served with a spoon...pretty difficult to eat linguine without a spoon for "swirling" the pasta! On each occasion, I had to request a spoon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Perfect way to enjoy the gardens. Very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Perfect way to enjoy the gardens. Very laid back. Lots of food for the money.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the High Tea and it was lovely! Defi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Had the High Tea and it was lovely! Definitely exceeded my expectations. I've never had High Tea before but we were told by locals Butschart had the best.

Would definitely try to eat outside on the porch as the dining room although very beautiful seemed noisy and a totally different "vibe."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gardens were very well maintained an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The gardens were very well maintained and a pleasure to walk. This was then topped off with an afternoon tea which was comprised of various savory tea sandwiches, sweet delights, and wonderful scones with Devonshire Cream and strawberry preserves. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After walking the gardens we stopped for ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

After walking the gardens we stopped for lunch and the staff was very friendly. Fall day on the patio was amazing overlooking the gardens. Light cocktails and dishes that made the day great. We enjoyed the view and the high tea service looked amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.